New MacBooks and Recommendations

renfred89

Arch-Supremacy Member
Reaction score
Noob qn here...

Is it true that whether MB, MBA or MBA, all the components (include SSD and RAM) are soldered to the board?

Got friend say don't get MBA cos that's the case but seem to have read somewhere that al are like that now.

Sorry ah, noob here....

MB and MBA have RAM and SSD soldered onto the logic board, cannot be upgraded unless u change the whole board.

MBP has soldered RAM but replaceable SSD.

ceecookie

Arch-Supremacy Member
Reaction score
MB and MBA have RAM and SSD soldered onto the logic board, cannot be upgraded unless u change the whole board.

MBP has soldered RAM but replaceable SSD.

Touch Bar models have soldered SSDs so its not replaceable in future.

As for Applecare for Macbook, i was speaking to Apple Store staff about this ytd - she claimed need to purchase within 60 days. Either she got confused with applecare+ for other products or its a hint applecare+ is abt to launch for macbook

renfred89

Arch-Supremacy Member
Reaction score

As for Applecare for Macbook, i was speaking to Apple Store staff about this ytd - she claimed need to purchase within 60 days. Either she got confused with applecare+ for other products or its a hint applecare+ is abt to launch for macbook

oh.. didn't check on the touch bar variant.. thanks for correcting..

charleslin

High Supremacy Member
Reaction score
I just ordered the i5 2017 rMBP 13. But this morning I realised the rMBP 2015 13 refurb model is in stock already. I tried calling to cancel but it's like too late it's already shipped to be received tomorrow. Wondering if I should just keep it. I'm just using it for emails and watching YouTube/Drama.

Sent from Xiaomi REDMI NOTE 4 using GAGT

Just saw the refurbished store after seeing your post.

Seems like a pretty value purchase for the base 2015 Retina model.

If it's just for normal work use, no gaming or video encoding stuffs.