[AMA] I am a veterinarian. Ask me anything :D

iCandy

Reaction score
Given the age of your dog (8 year old) and the vague symptoms, I do agree with your vet that a further work up is needed. When you visit your vet, did he/she run any tests?

Besides blockage I am thinking of megaesophagus since you mention regurgitation

Hi lycans, thanks for replying. We did a blood test which returned with optimistic results. I mentioned the regurgitation to the vet but at that point it was more on vomiting. Since the vomiting stopped, is that a good sign? Of course now the regurgitation is a concern.

lycans

Arch-Supremacy Member
Reaction score
Hi lycans, thanks for replying. We did a blood test which returned with optimistic results. I mentioned the regurgitation to the vet but at that point it was more on vomiting. Since the vomiting stopped, is that a good sign? Of course now the regurgitation is a concern.

The thing is, how do you differentiate between true vomiting vs regurgitation?? Both terms have specific medical meanings and have different pathology. Assuming you are right, that the vomit has stopped but now ur dog has regurgitation. Then I think some imaging works would be beneficial to see whats going on

Last edited:

iCandy

Reaction score
The thing is, how do you differentiate between true vomiting vs regurgitation?? Both terms have specific medical meanings and have different pathology. Assuming you are right, that the vomit has stopped but now ur dog has regurgitation. Then I think some imaging works would be beneficial to see whats going on

I define the current situation of regurgitation as his repulsion of undigested food within 30 mins of his meal, coming out in a tube-like shape.. vomiting would be like a puddle of food and/or bile. At least that's what i think it is :/

Thanks, I'll discuss this with the vet!

lycans

Arch-Supremacy Member
Reaction score