Thomson Medical vs KK vs Mt Alvernia vs Gleneagles.. go where give birth best?

WussRedXLi

Not really. My gynae only came in at the last 20 minutes to complete the delivery. The bulk of my labour was made easier because of the excellent service by the midwives.

Heh heh.....mine both kena a bit of slight complication, so need real specialist who is good in high-risk pregnancies. Coz mother got condition (auto-immune condition called SLE), which affects the baby in some ways, eg irregular heartbeat, possibility.. Anyway is LSCS.

The actual delivery procedure took only 3-5 mins or so. :s22:

So basically the "bulk" of the work is done pre-pregnancy (monitoring) and a bit of post monitoring.

I even have my own 3MHz ultrasound scope and KY jelly, coz 60 mins must rush to hospital to deliver if the fetus is in distress.....3rd trimester :D

Anyway, nothing happen in the end. Just need to monitor the heck of it.

CCCustom

My daughter delivered at Mount A, at the time still staying at my mother's so it was a 5-min drive, so we got a gynae whose clinic is there :o Come Sep my son will be delivered there as well, same gynae.

Apparently Big Eyes got the same gynae The Other Half did :o

georgemcics

we did consider, but for maternity insurance, we were advised that there is a waiting period of 1 year before the policy can be claimed

and the premium is not any cheaper also.. a couple of thousands?

the policy present to me and my wife like not nice one...

seems like not easy to claim and the coverage didnt rollover to after give birth

to me i feel like gambling lo. pay such high premium then deliver everything smooth the money kana makan lo

WussRedXLi

we did consider, but for maternity insurance, we were advised that there is a waiting period of 1 year before the policy can be claimed

and the premium is not any cheaper also.. a couple of thousands
?

Of coz when the parent is already aiming for private, the $$ preparation set aside is already there. With 8k cash bonus nowadays (6k CDA max), not a biggie ba.

A family bought close to 20k of air purifiers (IQAir) during the 2015 Haze for their infants. :D Actually cannot blame them, coz landed house (big), plus all out of stock anyway.

Another eg. Pre-school enrichment ain't cheap too. Just basic chinese + english eg Berries + LCentral already a few K a year. Not talking about Pat's or what childcare.

matrix05

Not really. My gynae only came in at the last 20 minutes to complete the delivery. The bulk of my labour was made easier because of the excellent service by the midwives.

If it is normal delivery w/ no complications, midwives are more experienced and can do the job better then the doc. The doc no value add.
But if got complication, then another story.

CoricopatXu

KK. If anything goes wrong and your baby needs to be in the NICU, they'll transfer you back to KK anyway.

Both my kids were premature, so KK was the safest place to be. We went the KKH private route, though, not the subsidised one. I have no complaints.

Edit: my deliveries were totally unmedicated- no laughing gas, no pethidine, no epidural. It wasn't a conscious choice, I just didn't feel it was necessary at that point in time. I guess that helped to save cost? I didn't know until I saw the eventual bill.

georgemcics

the 1st time my wife give birth at TMC got someone try the jacuzzi birth method...
kpkb until i cannot sleep..

that one ah... really got people do one ah....

when we go for the tour we saw the tub we like seriously......

CoricopatXu

that one they claim is what ah lesser pain right...

something like more natural ah....

I don't know. I didn't use painkillers for either of my deliveries but I didn't deliver in water. Just seems kind of weird to me..

WussRedXLi

KK. If anything goes wrong and your baby needs to be in the NICU, they'll transfer you back to KK anyway.

Both my kids were premature, so KK was the safest place to be. We went the KKH private route, though, not the subsidised one. I have no complaints.

Edit: my deliveries were totally unmedicated- no laughing gas, no pethidine, no epidural. It wasn't a conscious choice, I just didn't feel it was necessary at that point in time. I guess that helped to save cost? I didn't know until I saw the eventual bill.

SGH also has a Risk Pregnancy specialised clinic, my number 2 was transferred from Mount E to SGH..... and of coz private route so just went for Class A ward there. Needed to see Prof Tan Hak Koon there....Head of the OB/Gyn.

serangoon1

Thomson not bad

On way to operating theatre

Most nurses I saw are either pinoy or from china

I thought to myself siao liao

Really heaved a sigh when the first assistant to gynae turned out to be a local lady.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.