NUS - Data Science and Analytics

xWildFangz

Do you think the cut off for this course will increase over the years? Since data science is getting increasingly popular.

And how is the gender and nationality ratio in this course just curious! Do you all take common modules with other fos courses?

I think the cutoff will increase since big data is getting increasingly important with regards to handling/storing them and not throwing them away (i.e. data wastage).
Yes, we have to clear Faculty Requirements by taking SP1541 as well as another 3 modules (of which 2 will usually be fulfilled by your major itself) so usually you just need to clear one more (i.e. SP1541 + ________).
Most of our modules overlap with Statistics majors so we'll have a lot of common modules with them only.

ScarletQueen

Hello, I'm a senior in high school, and I'm still confused about the majors in uni. I am actually interested in statistics, but data science also seems interesting. Can anyone tell me the major difference between data science and computer science, and data science and statistics? Thank you.

Darkzi0n

Hello, I'm a senior in high school, and I'm still confused about the majors in uni. I am actually interested in statistics, but data science also seems interesting. Can anyone tell me the major difference between data science and computer science, and data science and statistics? Thank you.

data sci is stats + computing.

NPNTBoy

Do you think the cut off for this course will increase over the years? Since data science is getting increasingly popular.

i guess it will stay at around this cut off.

And how is the gender and nationality ratio in this course just curious! Do you all take common modules with other fos courses?

As data science is heavy on statistics and computing, we do share many common modules with stats (and cs majors).

as mentioned, data sci = stats + com sci. but i'd say it leans more towards stats as it form the fundamentals of data science.

How is data science different from business analytics?

business analytics is geared more towards the business side. as such, you'd learn more about business - marketing, business management, operations/business research and decision making.

data science and analytics, on the other hand, focuses more on stats and computing such as machine learning, networks, time series analysis, statistical analysis of data, data processing, data mining and so on.

overall, i would say business analytics is a more focused subset of dsa in the field of business.

Darkzi0n

Wah gg sia 50% prc.. guess I am sticking to business analytics with better nationality ratio lol

i rather get second upper in a course thats more rigorous than a first class in a course that's neither here nor there.

Darkzi0n

Mind elaborating more? Isit because there is a mixture of too many modules from different faculties in biz analytics so it is not very specialised? I have always thought that the biz analytics course gonna have better prospects than data analytics.
And which course are you from?

yes. too mixed. personally, i dont think biz modules add much value, but my view could be influenced by my course of study and the nature of my work. i was from stats + econs and my work now is predominately in the field of data sci.

i have also worked with 2 interns from biz analytics, but found their ability to write efficient code is not their strong suit... i was expecting them to write much more efficiently than me given they have taken more CS mods than me... but that wasn't the case...

anyway, that's jus my view nia. heard from my intern that those in the BA course that jus graduated didnt have alot of difficulties securing a job.

ScarletQueen

@Darkzi0n why didn't you be an actuary? Is it true that there's a qualifying test every year?

Also, does that mean DS is better than BA?

Darkzi0n

Do you have any info where do the newly graduated BA students end up in? As business analysts or data scientists? And their starting pay?

No idea. Nvr ask. But probably jus average pay for a typical student. When u hear ppl say data scientIst/analyst are in high demand, they mean ppl with experience.

@Darkzi0n why didn't you be an actuary? Is it true that there's a qualifying test every year?
Also, does that mean DS is better than BA?

Too hard to enter cos Of the industry is too small. May sound like sour grape but I do believe wat I'm doing now is much more interesting

xWildFangz

Too hard to enter cos Of the industry is too small. May sound like sour grape but I do believe wat I'm doing now is much more interesting

What are you doing now? :O

I'm having issues deciding if I should stay in Stats/Data Science or jump to CS OTL.

xWildFangz

Data sci related work.

What is otl? Jus take double Maj or double deg Loh.

Already taking double major actually.
Probably not gonna try for double degree haha.

OTL is the term used to express a situation where you are so upset that you feel like getting on your hands on the floor and knees down to start crying. (googled cause idk how to explain HAHA)

Darkzi0n

Already taking double major actually.
Probably not gonna try for double degree haha.

OTL is the term used to express a situation where you are so upset that you feel like getting on your hands on the floor and knees down to start crying. (googled cause idk how to explain HAHA)

lol okay, learn something new. jin jialat, old liao, cannot keep up with the new lingo liao

anyway, y u wan to jump to CS?

ScarletQueen

so fresh grad in data science isn't that useful if they're only looking for people with lots experience?

NPNTBoy

so fresh grad in data science isn't that useful if they're only looking for people with lots experience?

that's why from AY17/18 onwards, dsa majors have a choice to go for a 1.5year long internship that, i believe, the school would help them find some positions in decent coys so as to allow them to gain more industrial experiences.

xWildFangz

lol okay, learn something new. jin jialat, old liao, cannot keep up with the new lingo liao

anyway, y u wan to jump to CS?

I like coding a lot ahaha. Orbital also seemed kinda fun when I did it this holiday break. But CS is probably way deeper than what I'm experiencing now so I don't know if I should just stay or jump to try out in CS. Furthermore, I might end up wanting to work as a software engineer or something related to CS if I don't get enough experience to be a data scientist.

jsks12

Hi TS & all,

I will be matriculating this coming Aug as a freshmen to DSA. But I'm quite lost as to the kind of mods recommended to bid for Y1S1/S2?

I have been pre-allocated with 2 mods (GER1000 & DSA1101) so I would need to bid for 3 more modules. I have not declared any additional majors/minors, should I?

What are the 3 modules do seniors have to recommend...? :(

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.