HWZ AMD Ryzen R5 Owners Klub

ah_khoo

if AMD can come out with an Agesa as good as makin Dual channel running at d speed single stick can run now, happy days are near... :D

index.php

fat hope thou... :o

badbad2000

no igpu for ryzen cpu, so have to use dedicated gpu. there will be no signal if u plug into the mobo output.

not sure about vmware, but linux they still fixing some bug, you can read here.
https://www.extremetech.com/computing/254750-amd-replaces-ryzen-cpus-users-affected-rare-linux-bug

I am using it as home lab and nas. I always use serial port for server and appliance installation, so far no one can answer if the serial port really need the igpu to work. I don't need any display port to work as Long as the serial port work. I can output to putty or hyperterminal for installatation. That's y I love the extra core from ryzen.

TsQ

Hi ... need help on RAM. I hv the Asrock AB350 K4 Gaming with a Ryzen 5 1600. Looking to buy 2 x 8GIG ram now but not sure which to get as i also fear compatible problem. ALL these i list here is NOT certified by Asrock but they are certified by AMD

Cheapest : Kingston HyperX Fury 16GB DDR4-2666 CL16
Ard $245 : Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-2666/3000MHz
Ard $245 : Kingston HyperX Predator 16GB DDR4-3200
What I really want : Corsair Vengeance RGB 16GB DDR4 2666MHz C16

Anyone hv any idea which one will hv compatible issue with the Asrock Board?

ah_khoo

Dont go for brand. Go for ryzen friendly sticks, those with samaung b die. Look for Vengeance rgb 3466.:D

MoneyFace =p

Dont go for brand. Go for ryzen friendly sticks, those with samaung b die. Look for Vengeance rgb 3466.:D

I rather go for something i can enjoy visually than going for the almost intangible performance gain...

ah_khoo

I rather go for something i can enjoy visually than going for the almost intangible performance gain...
I admit gskill rgb looks better with d light but Vengeance rgb is not bad either. Its a matter of whether u will compromise abit for d performance (i would say by some distance for scenario hynix afr vs samsung b die) instead of goin all out for d look. Vengeance rgb is more affordable too. :)

Calikura

Got my 1600 stable at 3.80GHz@1.4V (cannot rise any higher liao cuz exceed my 70 degree limit liao :() stress load cap @ 73 degree but gaming wise cap around 60s :s12:

also switch from (2800 CL14-14-14-25-1T) to (2933 CL14-14-14-34-1T)

Still refuse to load 3200 even on CL16-16-16-36-1T o well

2933 at those timings should already be giving you solid performance. Anyway, if you still wish to experiment with 3200, run at 2T with Geardown disabled, and/or loosen tRCD and tRP to 18 cycles.

robolee

2933 at those timings should already be giving you solid performance. Anyway, if you still wish to experiment with 3200, run at 2T with Geardown disabled, and/or loosen tRCD and tRP to 18 cycles.

16-18-18-18-36 also no go :( mine is an hynix ram so i am content with my current timing

ah_khoo

16-18-18-18-36 also no go :( mine is an hynix ram so i am content with my current timing

Thing is asus b350 strix was not so hynix friendly in my opinion. Not sure with d latest bios (agesa 1006a/1006b) but back then 1006 doesnt give much head room to my afr sticks. Hemce i jumped to another brand n never look back. :D

But like others pointed out its d real world performance that matters. if 2933 can go 14 14 14 1t all d way then just stick to it. Not every board can do 14 17 17 1t @ 3200 with hynix sticks. :o

poooooo

Thing is asus b350 strix was not so hynix friendly in my opinion. Not sure with d latest bios (agesa 1006a/1006b) but back then 1006 doesnt give much head room to my afr sticks. Hemce i jumped to another brand n never look back. :D

But like others pointed out its d real world performance that matters. if 2933 can go 14 14 14 1t all d way then just stick to it. Not every board can do 14 17 17 1t @ 3200 with hynix sticks. :o
If ppl just turn off the fps counter no one will really notice the difference ;p

dharennath

Hi all,

Thinking of getting a R5 1400 due to its cheaper price among the R5 family. Seen a few bundles with MB for below SGD 400 and am spoilt for choice so would like some recommendations..This PC would be mainly for home use.
Would be playing games such as LoL, CSGO, DOTA2. Doing some programming also.
Leaning towards the Asus b350m-A at the moment

Asus b350+/M-A
asrock ab350m/gaming k4
gigabyte ab350m gaming
gigabyte a320M
msi b350m mortar

Looking to pair tgt with a 1050ti/8gb RAM/1tb HDD

Many thanks!!!!

dharennath

Asus B350 Plus for ATX
Asrock AB350M Pro4 or MSI B350 Mortar/Bazooka for MATX.

Really cannot squeeze that $100 for 6 core R5 1600? Also, if you have external HDD, consider changing the 1TB internal HDD to SSD.

I could top up for the 1600 but am skeptical if I might "overkill" especially for what I would be using this PC for..

robolee

Asus B350 Plus for ATX
Asrock AB350M Pro4 or MSI B350 Mortar/Bazooka for MATX.

Really cannot squeeze that $100 for 6 core R5 1600? Also, if you have external HDD, consider changing the 1TB internal HDD to SSD.

I could top up for the 1600 but am skeptical if I might "overkill" especially for what I would be using this PC for..

1600 is for multi-task+gaming+streaming at the same time. if you are not doing these settle for 1400 as 1500x are not worth it.

for me 1050ti not worth it sia, rather you try and get 1060 3gb ver :s12:

singupingu

What is overkill when Intel is going 6 cores i5 and i7 for their upcoming Coffee Lake? You're future-proofing the specs, or so they say.
If your programming stuff can leverage multi-core performance, it's worth it. There's reason why 1600 is the most value for money buy out there.

Nonetheless, can't force you either. If you think it's pointless, 1400 is the next good buy.

Sent from PM me if you wanna build a DIY PC or wanna learn how to make one yourself :D using GAGT

watzup_ken

I feel R5 1400 is still a good CPU. For the same amount of money, you can only get an i5 that is 4c/4t and no chance to OC. The socket for Intel is also a dead end, which means you must change mobo in order to upgrade in the near future. All AMD chips allow overclocking, so you can still squeeze some performance out.

muddle

I feel R5 1400 is still a good CPU. For the same amount of money, you can only get an i5 that is 4c/4t and no chance to OC. The socket for Intel is also a dead end, which means you must change mobo in order to upgrade in the near future. All AMD chips allow overclocking, so you can still squeeze some performance out.

You might want to compare against intel's kopi i3 since it will be 4c/4t as well

watzup_ken

You might want to compare against intel's kopi i3 since it will be 4c/4t as well

You don't have to wait till Coffee Lake. The current Kaby Lake i5 should give you a good idea how it performs against the Ryzen 5 chip. However, going Coffee Lake means you need to get a new Z370 motherboard, which will not be cheap since it is not the Budget chipset.

-Synchronicity-

Super pointless for those non-ocable chips to get z370 as well. It seems like thats the only chipset intel is releasing on oct 5....

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.