Need some info for SCDF:)

Ebb136

1) You needs to have skill to make judgement as a Commander. There will not be enough stations if every RC are promoted for the appointment of station commander every 2 years of services. There are other positions like Investigating Officer & etc after your RC tour.

2) If ground work is what you want, sign on Section commander cause SO are groom to take up Management position (Eg: admin work). But with a degree & you sign on as Section commander is a bit wasted.

Ikr...that's why I feel quite conflicted. A degree but signing as a section commander cause I wanna do more groundwork rather than administrative work...

Bing88

Hi guys I'm thinking of signing on scdf but I'm not sure of whether to sign as a Section commander or as a rota commander. (I have a degree).
I wanna live that station life for as long as possible. I heard that as an SO, you an RC for about 2 years before he/she might become a commander of a station. I was wondering where else he/she might be posted to after then...?
Should I sign as SO or as a section commander, I just wanna be part of the action for as long as possible... don't judge...
SOs and Section commanders pls guide, thanks

You know that the salary of a SC and a RC is different by 1k++?
If you sign as a RC, you need to go through a officer tour. You will be probaly staying in fire station as a rc for 1 year only then post out to somewhere eles(HQ,marine fire station, CDA, NSTI) depend on their manpower. Maybe after a few years you might come back to fire station to serve as a commander of fire station.

Ebb136

You know that the salary of a SC and a SC is different by 1k++?
If you sign as a RC, you need to go through a officer tour. You will be probaly staying in fire station as a rc for 1 year only then post out to somewhere eles(HQ,marine fire station, CDA, NSTI) depend on their manpower. Maybe after a few years you might come back to fire station to serve as a commander of fire station.

Yeah I know, 1k a month is q a sum. But let's say I sign as Section com, throughout my tour and rank promotions, will i always be in a fire station?
@Bing88

Franzz

Yeah I know, 1k a month is q a sum. But let's say I sign as Section com, throughout my tour and rank promotions, will i always be in a fire station?
@Bing88
Not really. You can always be posted to CDA/NSTI as instructor or HQ as support staff. I have seen early 30s guys doing those stuff, even when they are kinda fit.

Franzz

Your degree is local uni? Just try for SO first. At least officer cadets are more civilised and sane. The men I had back in my days all had a screw loose in their head. Imagine having to work with them on a daily basis sia.

Franzz

You know that the salary of a SC and a SC is different by 1k++?

Yeah can try for specialised unit like Marine. Sure get to play the toys everyday. Once specialised, most likely you stay there longer.

The Marine commander is my former OC. No nonsense fella. Hard but fair. Nothing but respect for him.

Bing88

@Bing88

1 of my friend who is SC stay in the fire station for almost 15 years already. I not sure about SC tour. Need ask someone else.

Kyoji83

I will advice you to left your degree out of CV to complicated recruitment process cause Recruiter may reject you cause you are over qualified.

So they will pay you & offer you the rank of CPL or SGT base on your next highest qualification like Nitec, Higher Nitec, Polytechnic Diploma, GCE A but never recognized Private Diploma.

Ikr...that's why I feel quite conflicted. A degree but signing as a section commander cause I wanna do more groundwork rather than administrative work...

Kyoji83

SC mostly is SGT or SSG. Needs to fight for WO2 promotion in order to consider for the next ground appointment which is Dy RC.

1 of my friend who is SC stay in the fire station for almost 15 years already. I not sure about SC tour. Need ask someone else.

reddevil0728

I will advice you to left your degree out of CV to complicated recruitment process cause Recruiter may reject you cause you are over qualified.

So they will pay you & offer you the rank of CPL or SGT base on your next highest qualification like Nitec, Higher Nitec, Polytechnic Diploma, GCE A but never recognized Private Diploma.
then how u answer about the gap of so many years on ur CV?

Franzz

Ebb degree is private degree? If really private degree, can forget about SO interview. Private degree is worse off than SIM deg hor.

But if got recognised degree, best go thru SO application. If can get in congrats, next time sian can apply other ministry SO position as Div 1 officer.

wuzirong

Query

Hello, enlisting tomorrow, anything else to add on to my packing list?

Permanent marker
Towel
Toothpaste + toothbrush
Soap and shampoo (2 in 1)
Nail Clippers
prickly heat
detergent (powder) + brush
laundry bag
hangars +pegs
underwear
alarm clock
plasters
surface cleaner (this is my febreeze)
wet wipes
colored tape
portable chargers
qualifications + healthbooklet + ic + estatement

is this too much of too little? please help thanks!!

chikoloko

Hello, enlisting tomorrow, anything else to add on to my packing list?

Permanent marker
Towel
Toothpaste + toothbrush
Soap and shampoo (2 in 1)
Nail Clippers
prickly heat
detergent (powder) + brush
laundry bag
hangars +pegs
underwear
alarm clock
plasters
surface cleaner (this is my febreeze)
wet wipes
colored tape
portable chargers
qualifications + healthbooklet + ic + estatement

is this too much of too little? please help thanks!!

im enlisting tomorrow too!! i think that should be enough

Zerox01

I’m currently a fire fighterand already posted to unit. Is there any way for me to change vocations still? I don’t mind being a admin.

Silverback84

I’m currently a fire fighterand already posted to unit. Is there any way for me to change vocations still? I don’t mind being a admin.
Down pes or get multiple charges on your record. No other way.

reddevil0728

You usually those that you don’t mind they wouldn’t give you

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.