[OFFICIAL] Taiwan Guide and Taiwan related matters - Part 8

kevin301

Hi guys going taiwan in Oct..ya i know still far away haha
Any idea if its possible to hire private van or mini bus to the following places with luggages?
Day 1 From taoyuang airport to Chiayi
Day 2 from Chiayi to Alishan or fengchihu
Day 3 from Alishan to Hualien
Day 5 from Hualien to Taipei
We have 7 adults and 2 kids

Sent from Samsung SM-G935F using GAGT

With so many people and small kids in a vehicle, I'd suggest not trying to cover so much of Taiwan. End up lots of "touch n go" only.

The east and west coasts aren't well connected due to the huge mountain in the middle, so Alishan - Hualien will take a long time to cover. Suggest to stick to 1 coast for a trip of such duration.

any reason why you've shortlisted the places though?

calkel20

With so many people and small kids in a vehicle, I'd suggest not trying to cover so much of Taiwan. End up lots of "touch n go" only.

The east and west coasts aren't well connected due to the huge mountain in the middle, so Alishan - Hualien will take a long time to cover. Suggest to stick to 1 coast for a trip of such duration.

People say, people do lor.:s13:

Bubblebum

Any idea if its possible to hire private van or mini bus to the following places with luggages?

Wahh. Gonna spend alot of time travelling from place to place and 1 day cover 1 place?

calkel20

Wahh. Gonna spend alot of time travelling from place to place and 1 day cover 1 place?

Red is the most siong one.
Oct also can have typhoon...

Takagi

long drive sia

almost 3/4 days gone

KingOfSbw

long drive sia

almost 3/4 days gone
Thanks all, ya understand will be quite xiong
Have discussed with the group, Day 3 will be alishan to cingjing
Day 4 will be cinging to hualien
Our group wanna explore as places as possible leh
Estimated each journey takes 3 to 4hrs ba if no jam, so when reach the next location just nice for hotel check in?
Still in the midst of discussin of the itinerary but we already bought SQ tix for 19 Oct to 28 Oct

MiImbEn

shagg but ok la

上车睡觉,下车尿尿

just prepare motion sickness pill in advance for those who know they easily get one... mountain road super easy motion sickness then u spoil the trip

calkel20

Thanks all, ya understand will be quite xiong
Have discussed with the group, Day 3 will be alishan to cingjing
Day 4 will be cinging to hualien
Our group wanna explore as places as possible leh
Estimated each journey takes 3 to 4hrs ba if no jam, so when reach the next location just nice for hotel check in?
Still in the midst of discussin of the itinerary but we already bought SQ tix for 19 Oct to 28 Oct

Day 3 alishan to cingjing will take u more than 1/2 a day.
I will say a 4-5 hours ride.
Same for Cingjing to Hualien.
Basically cingjing to hualien will be a whole day with attractions.
Quite tiring for some but magnificent view for the rest in the group.
Just make sure not one in the group got motion sickness, if not really green like HULK liao.

calkel20

shagg but ok la

上车睡觉,下车尿尿

just prepare motion sickness pill in advance for those who know they easily get one... mountain road super easy motion sickness then u spoil the trip

Basically all mountain road.
Cannot even speed on a mini bus.

rootz

If from Alisha to hualien, I would propose taking train.

Did that from Hualien to Alisan before. But the journey is long. With nice scenic view of the East Coast.

Delsamor

Those electric bike at kenting is it safe to ride? I have no road experience except road cycling in sg. I see the road in kenting like very easy, no traffic light. Can I just ride slowly (25kmph) and stay at the left side? I have no fear when lorry or bus zoom fast beside me..just that I don't know the traffic rules in TW only.

pinpinpin

alishan..... the hotels all booked out or mostly booked out....

mar period

pinpinpin

Not surprising ma.
YOu can do day trip from chiayi if you do not mind.

any recommendation? im hoping to do a 2 days 1 night there......

Some of the house can view sea cloud directly, so considering dont want to rush to see sunrise at dont know what peak.

Day 1 Taoyuan to Taichung.

Day 2 Taichung to Chia yi, take alishan railway to feiqihu. Then go alishan.

calkel20

any recommendation? im hoping to do a 2 days 1 night there......

Some of the house can view sea cloud directly, so considering dont want to rush to see sunrise at dont know what peak.

Day 1 Taoyuan to Taichung.

Day 2 Taichung to Chia yi, take alishan railway to feiqihu. Then go alishan.

Day 2 from taichung to chiayi quite impossible.
Due to the fact, you need time to get to xinwuri station by train.
Then HSR to chiayi hsr station.
From chiayi hsr station, still need to take a bus to chiayi train station to take the train to fenchihu. So mafan.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.