Introduction to the world of headphones

fevernova

theatreofdreams said:
what are the differences between open and closed headphones? heard that in the case of Sennheiser PX100 (open) vs PX200 (closed), the cheaper PX100 is the more favourite choice.

Isolation, soundstage, bass, spelling, price....you name it...But closed headphones tend to suffer from reverberations due to it being closed and so on...Btw, PX100 leaks...So if you don't mind then that's alright. If you want the PX200, then you could probably up your budget more and try the ES7 by audio technica. It has a less boomy bass than the PX100 which sounds uncontrolled and vry unrefined to me. The ES7 has a tight and controlled bass as compared to cans around that category and price range. Alternatively, there's the Sony V6 which i really like but its not that portable. The V6's are really really comfortable too!

afbug1

n6a2wh6k said:
damn i really like larry works, but witout hearing it personally. its hard whelter it worth the dough.

i am trying to get beyer headphones. not sure which is a better choice - consumer or their professional series. think reviews state DT880 is the best compare to their flagship model Dt990.

no mentioned abt DT150 or 250

You can try the new 06 versions of the 880 and 990 at Anything Audio, located at 3rd level, Parklane Shopping Mall, Selegie Rd.

If you want to know more about other top end headphones, look for the guy i quote below. =:p

fevernova said:
This is bad. You are the official IEM and earphones guy...Now u want a peice of the Headphone world....NO!!! Go away! lol....Professor Afbug1 :s13:

Look at the bigger picture. I review 3 cheap ones, hoping to snare more people into headphones. :evil: When they upgrade, they should be looking for you. :s13: I asked you to review yours many moons ago, now its really time you write something. lol.

Quick question, K701 or AD2000 for you?

fevernova

afbug1 said:
You can try the new 06 versions of the 880 and 990 at Anything Audio, located at 3rd level, Parklane Shopping Mall, Selegie Rd.

If you want to know more about other top end headphones, look for the guy i quote below. =:p

Look at the bigger picture. I review 3 cheap ones, hoping to snare more people into headphones. :evil: When they upgrade, they should be looking for you. :s13: I asked you to review yours many moons ago, now its really time you write something. lol.

Quick question, K701 or AD2000 for you?

Hmmmz, AD2000 when I'am in a mood for a brighter overall presentation. K701 when I'am at night chilling... :s13:

fevernova

Btw, curse you....I was like saying, its time for some musical enjoyment and stopped drooling over the GS-1000s over at headfi when u posted them up again on Sgheadphones.... =:p I'am talking to Todd about them now.... :o

afbug1

fevernova said:
Btw, curse you....I was like saying, its time for some musical enjoyment and stopped drooling over the GS-1000s over at headfi when u posted them up again on Sgheadphones.... =:p I'am talking to Todd about them now.... :o

WTF?! You getting them? At such a price? :s31: Yeah i agree it looked like a killer grado, esp its larger sound chamber. The new pads, will it be made for sale like flats?

Curse me again, i say dump your E5 and get the E500. :s13: I tot of getting them, the thing holding me back is UE's xXx. Pornstar lol.

fevernova

I shall get those GS-1ks :evil:

Btw, the UE xXx bothers me because I'am afraid that they may need some adjusting and remolding stuff after some years as the shape of your ears change or whatever. Moreover, some argue its mediocre lifespan.... :s8: But they sure look uber cool...The E500 looks like some metallic marble to me...Btw, the GS-1ks are butt ugly...

afbug1

fevernova said:
I shall get those GS-1ks :evil:

Btw, the UE xXx bothers me because I'am afraid that they may need some adjusting and remolding stuff after some years as the shape of your ears change or whatever. Moreover, some argue its mediocre lifespan.... :s8: But they sure look uber cool...The E500 looks like some metallic marble to me...Btw, the GS-1ks are butt ugly...

UE xXx is likely to be the same design as their SF line. How they're going to cram in 3 drivers, i dun know. :s22: It will be universal fit, no remolding i guess.

Personally, i find the GS1K not bad looking. Cutesy big tyre pads on them. But if you fit a smaller pad, i think it will look ugly. There are some pics of flats on them at headfi.

fevernova

Btw, the more i look at them GS-1k's the more i irk at the sight of those plastic headband adjusters and cheesecloth that they used for covering the drivers. And i thought of it, I'am paying $1000 USD for something that's made out of cheap wood, plastic and comes in who knows? A larger pizza box? But then, this is what u get in the world of headphones...After all, ATH-L3000 drivers are available for around $130 for a matched pair...And I doubt even $300 goes into making the leather...

Hmmmz, why am i ranting?? :s8: =:p Its time to BUY BUY BUY!!!

n6a2wh6k

fevernova said:
Btw, the more i look at them GS-1k's the more i irk at the sight of those plastic headband adjusters and cheesecloth that they used for covering the drivers. And i thought of it, I'am paying $1000 USD for something that's made out of cheap wood, plastic and comes in who knows? A larger pizza box? But then, this is what u get in the world of headphones...After all, ATH-L3000 drivers are available for around $130 for a matched pair...And I doubt even $300 goes into making the leather...

yo fevernova, shall i get the darth beyer mods, i believe it will beat many of the higher end model with the mods

afbug1

fevernova said:

Haha i also cannot tahan the plastic box joint. Will get loose over time. At least, have a screw tightener like the other Joe Grado's. Dun bet your money on it, it might come in a deep dish pizze box! :s22:

Why they're so expensive? For Grado's case, its probably hand made by them. For bigger companies, they can sell cheaper like Senn but i read Tyll said before, companies like Senn and Ety got some very establish and expensive research equipment and department. He went on a tour of their HQ apperantly. Their measuring device can cost tens of thousands, so said Ety. So i guess the moeny goes into R&D besides operations. But yes, i agree that the upper end Grados are overpriced.

As for some AT, its probably limited editions and exclusive. Like exotic? L3000 is like a headphone equivilent of a McLaren road car? :s22:

Anyway buy buy buy sounds familar.......

fevernova

Hmmm, if you go clubsnap, there's this guy called ESPN who always uses BUY BUY BUY....Took that off him...haha. GS-1 Purchased. mwuahahahhaha. Btw, I think Sgheadphones has becomed sort of like a biased forum in the sense that there are a few long time members who are knowledgable and all and somehow, they happen to like the beyer sound and they post in almost every thread about beyers and all. Its not that i like beyers but comone, there's gotta be cans out there other than beyers right? Where are the AKGs ATHs and Senns? Or maybe the Grados and Staxes....And ultrasone?

afbug1

Haha ok, so you got that from espn. Yeah i saw before.

Well i guess Beyers are popular cos its price. Cheaper. I tried the W1000, dun like. I acutally prefer the much cheaper AD500. I need to spend more time with the W1000 and AD2000 and maybe K701.

Waah! GS1K! Got your PS1 already? Judgeing from its bagel pads, i think it got lotsa bass. Put flats on.... :s31:

fevernova

afbug1 said:
Haha ok, so you got that from espn. Yeah i saw before.

Well i guess Beyers are popular cos its price. Cheaper. I tried the W1000, dun like. I acutally prefer the much cheaper AD500. I need to spend more time with the W1000 and AD2000 and maybe K701.

Waah! GS1K! Got your PS1 already? Judgeing from its bagel pads, i think it got lotsa bass. Put flats on.... :s31:

AHHH!!!! Don't remind me of those PS-1's...My search for them has been a futile one.... :s8: Btw, I too dislike the W1000's. For me, my theory is this: If you don't like it, forget spending more time with it. Usually, spending more time with something that you don't really like gives me the feeling that you've just spent cash on something u dislike and try to enjoy it so as to make the money u spent on it worthwhile kinda excuse...But of course, its not necessarily true.

Anyways, try the AD2000, imo, its so much better than the W1000. Even hellbreath gave it a thumbs up and said that it sounded so much better than the W1000.

afbug1

SpiritAngelo said:
o_O whoa ~ kinda confused ~
Juz wanna know if PMX100 is a good investment?

PMX100 is the neckband verison of the PX100. SQ should be the same but how it actually fit and sound might be different because of the neckband.

n6a2wh6k said:
any one knows the price of stax?
Stax i got on idea. You can check out the price list at sgheadphones.

fevernova said:
AHHH!!!! Don't remind me of those PS-1's...My search for them has been a futile one.... :s8: Btw, I too dislike the W1000's. For me, my theory is this: If you don't like it, forget spending more time with it. Usually, spending more time with something that you don't really like gives me the feeling that you've just spent cash on something u dislike and try to enjoy it so as to make the money u spent on it worthwhile kinda excuse...But of course, its not necessarily true.

Anyways, try the AD2000, imo, its so much better than the W1000. Even hellbreath gave it a thumbs up and said that it sounded so much better than the W1000.

What i mean was some headphones dun impress 1st hand. Need some time to grow on you. I also dun really listen to it for long, only 5 mins and its off my head. I think the much cheaper AD500 is better. Of cause if i dun like the W1000. i will not buy it. lol.

Recently, i have a thing for headphones with 2 metal tubes on top of the headband. :s13:

fevernova

afbug1 said:
PMX100 is the neckband verison of the PX100. SQ should be the same but how it actually fit and sound might be different because of the neckband.

Stax i got on idea. You can check out the price list at sgheadphones.

What i mean was some headphones dun impress 1st hand. Need some time to grow on you. I also dun really listen to it for long, only 5 mins and its off my head. I think the much cheaper AD500 is better. Of cause if i dun like the W1000. i will not buy it. lol.

Recently, i have a thing for headphones with 2 metal tubes on top of the headband. :s13:

I can make u some headphones with two metal tubes on top of the headband :D Hmmm, lets see, AD2000, AD1000, W5000, SONY SA5000 (if u don't count in the cloth headband that covers the metal stuff)...And the AD series from AT and maybe the AKG K1000 ? Btw, W1000 also has metal tube underneath those plastic tubes. :s13:

fevernova

I seriously need to get a more than decent source and amp....But I can't help it. I'll collect headphones until I'am satisfied before I start off with a source. For now, I'am keeping my eye on the Meridian G08 source and maybe a RKV amp with impedancer...It seems to be quite an alright setup.... :s13:

Zephyron

^
*looks at Fevernova's computer specs*
I get the point @_@

Wah lau you're rich *lol*

Where's your Orpheus though? :D

fevernova

No lah...I ain't rich. Its just a hobby that I'am vry devoted in....I beleive that there are a hell lot of people in Singapore who'se into headphones and have a way better system than me. People spend money on handphone and computer but I spend mostly on headphones...That's all.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.