HoNg KoNg TrIp...Hooray!!~~

universe

huat08 said:
Hi bro n sis,

would like to chk whether
1) is those goods that the factory outlet that been posted in this tread authentic one??? meaning are they water goods???If not how can be selling so cheaply??? Wondering if anyone noe would there be any good discount lately at the factory outlets at i be flying over next week...

2) New Territories is in Hk right? If i wanted to go to New Territories do i need to bring passport or sth like that?

3) Do your usually leave ur passport in the hotel room? Is it safe?

1) some factory outlet are water gds, i went there a most of them have cut labels
2)new territories to hk is like hougang to singapore, thus by right, no need passport
3) i usually carry my passport when i go overseas.in case of anything, need to have identification, not to forget some shops have discount for foreigners (look out for visitor guide @ airport)

shiyuan

hi all,

can i check if 4th march to 15th march is a festive period or any special period in hong kong?

i saw their hotel prices all jacked up quite a large amount.

huat08

universe said:
1) some factory outlet are water gds, i went there a most of them have cut labels
2)new territories to hk is like hougang to singapore, thus by right, no need passport
3) i usually carry my passport when i go overseas.in case of anything, need to have identification, not to forget some shops have discount for foreigners (look out for visitor guide @ airport)
ohoh...will get the tourist guide book at the airport...universe, what do you mean by cut label? means defect one? Sorry abit kuku...

qqspot

huat08 said:
Hi bro n sis,

would like to chk whether
1) is those goods that the factory outlet that been posted in this tread authentic one??? meaning are they water goods???If not how can be selling so cheaply??? Wondering if anyone noe would there be any good discount lately at the factory outlets at i be flying over next week...

2) New Territories is in Hk right? If i wanted to go to New Territories do i need to bring passport or sth like that?

3) Do your usually leave ur passport in the hotel room? Is it safe?
Answer Below:

1) Depends what you want to buy or what you after? Some or mostly are from Factory EOL/Not QC products.

2) New Territories is confirm at Hog Kong. You can go http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/New_Territories
If you do not believe me.

If i wanted to go to New Territories do i need to bring passport or sth like that?
No need, you are still in/within Hong Kong. Is quite safe in Hong Kong, something like Singapore.

3) It will be depands on you. Most of the Hotels rooms are quite safe. Some hotels will have a SAFE in the room or you can let the counter staff to keep your passprot for safekeeping.

huat08, bon voyage...
I hope all the answers, able to help you on your Hong Kong trip.

>o^

qqspot

CharmanderWong said:
eh, DONT go out into the streets without any form of identification, its a law in HK that everyone have to bring their HK resident cards or passports/photocopy of passport/some form of identification for visitors. HK police do perform spot checks on the streets if they find suspicious characters.

Its a good practice to keep a photocopied passport(the page with the photo) somewhere safe, in case the passport gets lost.
If i can recall last year, i even got spot check by the Hong Kong police once.
They will ask you where you going and etc. I show them my Singapore IC, and they just let me go.
Dun worry they will not check your bags, like Singapore MRT do. Unless you really look like terrorist. :D Just replied to them here for hoilday in cantonese.

Actually, you can just bring your Singapore IC will do to show some proof or form of ID for visitors. Or you may want to photocopy your passport like what CharmanderWong said.

Unless, you are going to Macau, Shen Zhen, Zhu Hai, Mainland China or leave the Country (Hong Kong). Then please kindly bring the passport along with you.

If i am not wrong they also have a tourist hotline enquries in Hong Kong. By the HKTB, i just cannot remember the hotline, but i used to call them when i got lost in Hong Kong.
If i am not wrong HKTB hotline can be found on HKTB leaflets.
Please take note the hotline only open on daily working hours.

huat08

thanks for the info qqspot...at first thought that New Territories is Shen Zhen...know that Shen Zhen is in China that y thinking whether need passport...but new territories is Sin Jie so still in HK. Nv See the map properly hee...

qqspot

iso9003drx said:
As i will be going alone to HK in april 5D4N, is there anything to look for like safety and other ? And is there possible to cover the whole HK in just 5D4N?.
2. I will exchange about S$500 cash to HK doller, do you think that amount enough? As i not the type of people which fully buy, eat, buy, play.
3. Can share your trips detail for those who go 5D4N ?
4. I will be staying this hostel TWH - Tai Wan Hotel( sorry it should be a hostel, not sure why the name call hotel), any good recommend? Budget about S$40-45per night.
5. Does HK people fully speak chinese or english?
Mmmm.... so far i can only think of these question, will post more if got. Thank guy:):)
Answers:

1) Going Hong Kong alone is safe as Singapore. But just do not flash you money on the streets. A plus point if you know how to speak cantonese.

Is not possible to cover HK with 5D4N, but is it only possible to cover with Hong Kong tourist attraction. Can be found at [size=-1]http://www.discoverhongkong.com/[/size]
Hong Kong had 1,104 square kilometres (had less than 25% is developed).
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hong_Kong#Geography

2) iso9003drx, is depands on your personal budget. A simple meal at Kopitiam (cha chang ting) in HK will cost you HK$20+. Unless you will like to try street foods (Ta Pai Tong) usualy cost you HK$10+ (without drinks).
Resturant avg bill will start from HK$100+
I hope this is a benchmark guide for you...
For me, 5D4N in HK for HK$500 will only cover my 2 return airport express & transports. FYGI (For Your Gudie Lines

3) You can read here
http://forums.hardwarezone.com/forumdisplay.php?f=89
[size=-1]http://www.discoverhongkong.com/
http://www.gohk.gov.hk/eng/welcome/wc_intro.html
[/size][size=-1]http://www.centamap.com/[/size]

4) Good Recommend, check here!!
http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?t=1279412&page=73&pp=15
http://www.studiostudio.com.hk/
Is Studio Apartment within Hostel Rates. I not promo the apartment. Reviewed, Is just that the place & location make me want to go back again and agin to stay there.
If you like the place please kindly PM me and let me know!!
Only HK$350 - 450 per night 2 times cheaper then normal Hotel rates. If you can find a Studio Apartment cheaper then me, please let me know.
Hotels Avg Rates; HK$500 - HK$3000+

5) Hong Kong people speak Cantonese. They can understood English no worries. Some understood "putonghua" (Chinese, Mandrain) & their roots dialects.

iso9003drx, bon voyage...

>o^

qqspot

huat08 said:
ohoh...will get the tourist guide book at the airport...universe, what do you mean by cut label? means defect one? Sorry abit kuku...
HWZ HKT..H wiki = Label Cut
What universe mean was thoese clothes you saw/bought was direct/original from the OEM factories/direct factories.
They are not QC/fail QC or out source or OEM clothes/products.

Example below:
Means, If you bought a LV Bag from Orchard road. You paid S$5000+
If you bought a LV Bag from the Factory outlets or warehouse you paid 5% - 60% less then you bought from Orchard Road, BUT WITHOUT THE LV TAG/LABEL!!

Everything is the same but just the label tag had been cut off.

qqspot

Found a few HK guru/experts/season travelers here:D

CharmanderWong
s7460597
universe

Did i miss out anyone?=:p

iso9003drx

:) Thank for your info.

qqspot said:
Answers:

1) Going Hong Kong alone is safe as Singapore. But just do not flash you money on the streets. A plus point if you know how to speak cantonese.

Is not possible to cover HK with 5D4N, but is it only possible to cover with Hong Kong tourist attraction. Can be found at [size=-1]http://www.discoverhongkong.com/[/size]
Hong Kong had 1,104 square kilometres (had less than 25% is developed).
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hong_Kong#Geography

2) iso9003drx, is depands on your personal budget. A simple meal at Kopitiam (cha chang ting) in HK will cost you HK$20+. Unless you will like to try street foods (Ta Pai Tong) usualy cost you HK$10+ (without drinks).
Resturant avg bill will start from HK$100+
I hope this is a benchmark guide for you...
For me, 5D4N in HK for HK$500 will only cover my 2 return airport express & transports. FYGI (For Your Gudie Lines

3) You can read here
http://forums.hardwarezone.com/forumdisplay.php?f=89
[size=-1]http://www.discoverhongkong.com/
http://www.gohk.gov.hk/eng/welcome/wc_intro.html
[/size][size=-1]http://www.centamap.com/[/size]

4) Good Recommend, check here!!
http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?t=1279412&page=73&pp=15
Is Studio Apartment within Hostel Rates. I not promo the apartment. Reviewed, Is just that the place & location make me want to go back again and agin to stay there.
Only HK$350 - 450 per night 2 times cheaper then normal Hotel rates. If you can find a Studio Apartment cheaper then me, please let me know.
Hotels Avg Rates; HK$500 - HK$3000+

5) Hong Kong people speak Cantonese. They can understood English no worries. Some understood "putonghua" (Chinese, Mandrain) & their roots dialects.

iso9003drx, bon voyage...

>o^

shiyuan

qqspot said:
Hello Shiyuan, maybe i can help you a bit.
Is a Studio Apartment.
Only HK$350 - 450 per night 2 times cheaper then normal Hotel rates.

Usually during Festival, Weekend, HKTB Promo, Tourist Season, Exhibition period in Hong Kong & Macau.
The Hotels, Hostels, Studio Apartments & properties will have a auto rents hikes!!

Or you can say auto jack up like what the Flights Airliners do in Singapore.
Q, i really told pm u long time ago... mayb u forgot bout me

huat08

may i ask normally how long does it take to finish shopping all the factory outlet in 1) Yip Fat Factory Building, 2) Citigate

is there alot of things(ie. factory outlet in Provident Centre at North Point???

Brainstorm

hi, anyone can help ? whether any tranformer toy robot sold in HK ( eg. shops or toy'R'us ) or shen zhen shopping center ? is it cheap ?

thanks

qqspot

shiyuan said:
Q, i really told pm u long time ago... mayb u forgot bout me
Sorry shiyuan, i remember your nick ar!! Anyway i had booked the room for you at Studio Studio on the dates you wanted to stay.

I will contact you tonight ar, regard about your room.

s7460597

Brainstorm said:
hi, anyone can help ? whether any tranformer toy robot sold in HK ( eg. shops or toy'R'us ) or shen zhen shopping center ? is it cheap ?

thanks

I'm too old to play with transformers. There's a street in Wan Chai lined with toy wholesalers. You can try your luck there. Can't tell you about price as my kids also not into transformers.

jestin_ng

qqspot said:
Sorry shiyuan, i remember your nick ar!! Anyway i had booked the room for you at Studio Studio on the dates you wanted to stay.

I will contact you tonight ar, regard about your room.

btw.. how many people can stay in 1 studio? any additional charges?

Brainstorm

s7460597 said:
I'm too old to play with transformers. There's a street in Wan Chai lined with toy wholesalers. You can try your luck there. Can't tell you about price as my kids also not into transformers.

thanks ... will take a look over there

SianzRong

jestin_ng said:
btw.. how many people can stay in 1 studio? any additional charges?

Yeah hw many ppl in 1 studio apartment? are they diffferent sizes? more info pls?

Thanks~

Sherra

Btw, can a debit card be used in HK to sign for stuffs like the way Credit card is used?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.