ahah from the looks both
naganoseow

and andine need to upgrade their wifi adaptor lor
both using too old wifi liao

Loirev

they cant even co-ordinate with opennet to get the job done, cheap is useless when they is no service to be delivered.

Issues with Opennet is not new, and all the RSP do face issues with them.
I believe IDA has stepped in on the issues.

Solving it, is not as simple as you think.
Opennet outsource to Singtel. I am not sure if Singtel subs it out further to its subsidiaries or sub contractors.

Singtel may not report the status of each job back to Opennet immediately, most likely in a batch at the end of the day. Opennet then updates the RSP. (Eg. M1, Myrepublic, Starhub)

Things don't operate like DHL, status updates every step of way.
Sometimes it might just be a human mistake at Opennet, activate the wrong port. :s13:

Not all RSP are having their own OpCo, eg. Myrepublic depends on NC.
So that adds another layer. The whole NGN involves quite a lot of parties in the background, which makes troubleshooting more difficult and lengthy.

While is frustrating when hiccups happen, that is how our SG NGN is structured.
Hopefully things improve in the near future.

Michael Faraday

Issues with Opennet is not new, and all the RSP do face issues with them.
I believe IDA has stepped in on the issues.

Solving it, is not as simple as you think.
Opennet outsource to Singtel. I am not sure if Singtel subs it out further to its subsidiaries or sub contractors.

Singtel may not report the status of each job back to Opennet immediately, most likely in a batch at the end of the day. Opennet then updates the RSP. (Eg. M1, Myrepublic, Starhub)

Things don't operate like DHL, status updates every step of way.
Sometimes it might just be a human mistake at Opennet, activate the wrong port. :s13:

Not all RSP are having their own OpCo, eg. Myrepublic depends on NC.
So that adds another layer. The whole NGN involves quite a lot of parties in the background, which makes troubleshooting more difficult and lengthy.

While is frustrating when hiccups happen, that is how our SG NGN is structured.
Hopefully things improve in the near future.

i think the cock up between m1 and opennet is merely human error which to end users like us have to take the hit in spite of waiting for 2 weeks for 1st installation, yet is still sloppy. how can this be tolerate? how much times is m1 needed to get the job done? ;)

the answer for me to any RSP would be, u either do it right the very first time, or you don't have to do it all ;) just my 2.5 cents worth. thanks for your reply. cheers. D

naganoseow

was using an old D-Link Wireless g adapter and achieve only 18+ Mbps download and upload speed on the EnGenius ESR9850 router.

just bought a TP-Link Wireless N adapter and only got better 45+ Mbps download and 32+ Mbps upload speed...... still a far cry to 100 Mbps.

j_t_fusion

was using an old D-Link Wireless g adapter and achieve only 18+ Mbps download and upload speed on the EnGenius ESR9850 router.

just bought a TP-Link Wireless N adapter and only got better 45+ Mbps download and 32+ Mbps upload speed...... still a far cry to 100 Mbps.

getting a download speed for +/- 50mbps for wireless-n is considered normal already, especially if you are using the 2.4ghz spectrum.

i last time got try putting my laptop which is using 150mbps wireless-n just beside my tp-link 300mbps wireless-n router and do a wireless speed test.

the result is +/- 50mbps for download speed.

so now i am paying $39 for 100mbps but i am only using 50mbps, but it is still cheaper than other 50mbps plans.

pker88

aiyor depemd on your router and yor comp location is a major part
like mine i got same speed as wired and wirelless
i am testing on my macbook pro which an ultlized the full speed of my engenious dual band 2.4 to 5ghz
even my samsung s3 can achieve same speed on wirless too

even test my speed not in same room but another room or kitchen

it migh be router too
hard to say is router or your adaptor issue now
since we duno how your home is layout too
what u can do now if u want good speed is get the best equipment then come back ask us for advice lor

both 2.4 and 5ghz gimme good same speed only the freq 2.4 gimme more range lor

equiupment play a major part too and tyour home layout too

AhWise

aiyor depemd on your router and yor comp location is a major part
like mine i got same speed as wired and wirelless
i am testing on my macbook pro which an ultlized the full speed of my engenious dual band 2.4 to 5ghz
even my samsung s3 can achieve same speed on wirless too

even test my speed not in same room but another room or kitchen

it migh be router too
hard to say is router or your adaptor issue now
since we duno how your home is layout too
what u can do now if u want good speed is get the best equipment then come back ask us for advice lor

both 2.4 and 5ghz gimme good same speed only the freq 2.4 gimme more range lor

equiupment play a major part too and tyour home layout too

thanks brother pker88 for helping out on the enquiry here =)

me too just install my fibre 2 days back, my setup as per below:

TP > ONT > Linksys WRT120N > HomePlug > Desktop

Achieve average speed of 50Mbps via wired HomePlug, guess my router is the limitation there. Been using Linksys for so long, guess about time to test out Asus?

The brother below down Asus RT66 looks so tempting.. Guess i need more savings before i can get a Asus router :D *Support Support*

pker88

thanks brother pker88 for helping out on the enquiry here =)

me too just install my fibre 2 days back, my setup as per below:

TP > ONT > Linksys WRT120N > HomePlug > Desktop

Achieve average speed of 50Mbps via wired HomePlug, guess my router is the limitation there. Been using Linksys for so long, guess about time to test out Asus?

The brother below down Asus RT66 looks so tempting.. Guess i need more savings before i can get a Asus router :D *Support Support*

np
before u not on m1 fibre Meh?

homeplug is a bad way to test if u want speed lor
since all of our home is wired up diff and old or new

get a n56 lor good enought liao
no need spend for the most epic 66 asus model ahha

mad_man

given that m1 is still offering 199 for the ea4500 and the n56 going at 189... the n56 sleek design really nice, but the ea4500 seems cheaper given the offer by m1... experts.. which should i go for in term of long term usage and support..

AhWise

Had fibre at my GF place previously, now subscribe under my parents home using homeplug. Ya maybe looking at Asus 56 :)

np
before u not on m1 fibre Meh?

homeplug is a bad way to test if u want speed lor
since all of our home is wired up diff and old or new

get a n56 lor good enought liao
no need spend for the most epic 66 asus model ahha

Loirev

given that m1 is still offering 199 for the ea4500 and the n56 going at 189... the n56 sleek design really nice, but the ea4500 seems cheaper given the offer by m1... experts.. which should i go for in term of long term usage and support..

Go for the N56, if your wallet can afford, go for the N66.
E4500 is nice looking, but is internal antenna.

For me, I prefer the Asus due to the external antenna.
Also if signal abit weaker, you can always change to a bigger antenna.

naganoseow

getting a download speed for +/- 50mbps for wireless-n is considered normal already, especially if you are using the 2.4ghz spectrum.

i last time got try putting my laptop which is using 150mbps wireless-n just beside my tp-link 300mbps wireless-n router and do a wireless speed test.

the result is +/- 50mbps for download speed.

so now i am paying $39 for 100mbps but i am only using 50mbps, but it is still cheaper than other 50mbps plans.

latest speedtest...
65 Mbps Download
32 Mbps Upload
speed can varies vastly at different timing.

somehow have been experiencing intermittent disconnection on M1, never have such problem before when using Singnet ADSL.

pker88

latest speedtest...
65 Mbps Download
32 Mbps Upload
speed can varies vastly at different timing.

somehow have been experiencing intermittent disconnection on M1, never have such problem before when using Singnet ADSL.

u need to tell us u using wirelesses or wired
first before we can advice
and have u been torrenting
when u kanna dc
depend n where u access u kanna. dc as tour info provided is too general

pker88

ya if u get 4500 Linksys under m1 then. cheaper if not it damn costly

but if u got a wifi router mow use first see how then consider
according to ahwise u ztilll got a grace to consider if u still want to. Linksys with m1 after u sign up fibre

unless rhw t&c changed

ya n56 asus got mixed results
if the user got more budget then to for rhw n66 or ac66

if not just stick to cheap engenous lor
like my self I got a dualband enegenuis cheap esr600 dual band. before I sign up fibre

to try try as I'm not willing to pay up to 200$ or more for a. router

naganoseow

u need to tell us u using wirelesses or wired
first before we can advice
and have u been torrenting
when u kanna dc
depend n where u access u kanna. dc as tour info provided is too general

me using wireless adapter all the time.
have this problem while using G adapter earlier and now N adapter also happen.
no torrenting, just normal web surfing.
it disconnect itself then after a while connect back again automatically.

我要买GT-R!

ya if u get 4500 Linksys under m1 then. cheaper if not it damn costly

but if u got a wifi router mow use first see how then consider
according to ahwise u ztilll got a grace to consider if u still want to. Linksys with m1 after u sign up fibre

unless rhw t&c changed

ya n56 asus got mixed results
if the user got more budget then to for rhw n66 or ac66

if not just stick to cheap engenous lor
like my self I got a dualband enegenuis cheap esr600 dual band. before I sign up fibre

to try try as I'm not willing to pay up to 200$ or more for a. router

what are your thoughts for the esr600h?
i thought you were trying to sell it off in the marketplace?

我要买GT-R!

me using wireless adapter all the time.
have this problem while using G adapter earlier and now N adapter also happen.
no torrenting, just normal web surfing.
it disconnect itself then after a while connect back again automatically.

try setting 20MHz only for your wireless settings on your esr9850, see if that helps......

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.