CDL Hospitality Trusts *Official* (SGX: J85)

DPU Yield on $1.93 market price: 5.94%
NAV:$1.60
Gearing: 25.20%

CDL HTrust down from high of $2.01 for no apparent reason?
Time to jump on board?

MikeDirnt78

why not? this is a good reit. buy in small batches.

if it goes down, you buy more. it is absolutely safe to average down good stocks. if it goes up, you should be happy.

Hi, I've been trying to analyse this counter based on what I've read in the book Get Rich With Dividends.
It looks at cash flow, free cash flow, and payout ratios.

I got some values but they seem quite off.

Capture.PNG

Source: Poems

So to get FCF, I take 1-2. And to get payout ratio, I take 3/FCF.
Am I doing it right? If so, why does it appear that CDL's distributions are not sustainable?

Capture2.PNG

Thanks Gurus.

BTW, CDLHT seems set to fly:
Capture3.PNG

addict951

BUy on buang!
1 lot 1 lot buy downwards for Jan 2013 bountiful CD

MikeDirnt78

Wannabe Richer you are analysing too much. :D

keep your analysis simple. what you are trying to do is like what all the analysts are trying to do with their target prices. they are always crunching a bunch of rubbish numbers. you can apply them in theory but not in practice.

Paul Lee

What you are doing makes sense for companies that pay dividends out of accounting profit.

But you forget that REIT is a different type of animal. They pay their distributions out of their operating income.

So in one word: the analysis you do is spot on, just that it does not applies for REIT and business trust in general. Which is why it looks that their distributions is not sustainable.

For REIT, most would look at debt-asset ratio, NAV, price-to-book ratio.

addict951

Like ranging leh
cannot pierce 2.03 solidly
jin pek cek
tmr ish crucial
hope dun break down else your chart buang

doody_

Like ranging leh
cannot pierce 2.03 solidly
jin pek cek
tmr ish crucial
hope dun break down else your chart buang

Lol that's usually the problem with TA... it either goes as projected, or dies.

xP hope for success bah. Anyway this stock got quite high margin of safety with its dividends and fundamentals. Not like penny - buang liao then must cut.

Some-one

I think it is a good time to remind all of you here

"Bull markets are born on pessimism, grow on skepticism, mature on optimism, and die on euphoria. The time of maximum pessimism is the best time to buy, and the time of maximum optimism is the best time to sell."

--Sir John Templeton

:)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.