EDMW Knife Collectors

vespaguy

Master Member
Reaction score
Thanks vespaguy. Im actually new to all these...have only been using SAKs so far. Am thinking of getting one small and one large edc blade. any suggestions?

sure, but need more info.
- what kind of use are you putting your EDC through?
- what kind of materials are you cutting?
- are you concerned about edgeholding, ease of sharpening?
- do you like maintaining your tools regularly / do you use them in wet and saltwater environments?
- are you ok with visible folder handles or do you prefer deep carry pocket clips?
- SAKs are non-locking, mostly. are you looking for a locking mechanism? there are many out there - linerlocks, framelocks, lock-backs, tri-ad locks, button locks etc.
- what budget are you looking at?
- have you considered fixed blades?

For EDC, I look for folders (because I do not wish to carry fixed blades in Singapore, but do not mind when camping) that have these characteristics:

- good steel. N690 (cheap and good), CPM154V, S35V/S30 (not a big fan though), ELMAX, VG10, RWL34. The better the edgeholding normally translates to harder steels which in turn make it more difficult to sharpen. Conversely, AUS8 or the Sandvik steels are quite easy to sharpen.

- good size in the hand, not too big, not too small. I max out at 3.5" blade for weekend/jeans use. I prefer 3-3.25" blade for weekday. It's important to have a balance between my use and scaring non-users.

- I prefer thinner blades that slice well since I am not a 'hard' user - I don't pry with my knives, so blades of 3mm stock are efficient. That said, a 4mm-5mm blade stock that is hollow ground works well if left thin at the edge. Thick 'macho' blades do not interest me at all - if it can't slice food properly, it doesn't interest me much, I use my blades mainly for food prep.