EDMW Knife Collectors

Sigmazxcs

Reaction score
Me neither. I fly the littlest brother - 320! :D

Waaaa, I'm only Cat B1 engineer trainee. :( hope to sign on air force though!

As for the steels, I'm no expert but I remember most carbon steel develops rust except for certified ones like CRES (Corrosion REsistent Steel), chromium steel and molybdenum-chromium steels. I'm not sure of the material code but a common molybdenum-chromium steel is 4130 steel. Otherwise, workshop practice is to oil all tool grade steel with mineral oil before the weekends.

Frankly speaking, with all the humidity and salty air in landlocked Singapore, I'd prefer to stick to quality steels like 154CM and S30V. Much more reliable IMO.

vespaguy

Master Member
Reaction score
S30V sucks (well.. to me) - it's just not as easy to sharpen as 154V and I don't find the edgeholding to be significantly better than 154V. I prefer N690, CTS-XHP, 154V, and ELMAX.

Good luck - I hope you get into the Air Force.

Last edited:

alantcy

Reaction score
I like ZDP.
The Manbug i have never need to resharpen at all and surprisingly hasn't rust on me yet after 3-4 months of carry.
Still push cuts paper 'til this day.

vespaguy

Master Member
Reaction score
just chanced upon this big folder from a post on BF, thought you guys might be interested. Seems reasonably priced and if they actually got the D2 to 60-62RC, that would be nice. Looks to be feature packed, too big for me though...I like smaller folders from 3.0-3.5"bladelength =:p

https://extremaddiction.com/D_Defender.php

Dendra Defender. 5 1/4" closed framelock. 3 3/4" stonewash finish D2 tool steel blade with wavy top edge, dual thumb studs, extended tang and thumb ridge. Hardened to 60-62 HRC. Black G-10 handle with 3D treatment on front and titanium on back. Features the Roto Block lock. Lanyard hole. Stainless pocket clip. Includes blade tension tool. Made by Lion Steel
Made in Italy
Price $149.89 (USD)

Last edited:

Mayduza

Reaction score