Air conditioning - Any recommendations please??

Slayer1

Hi guys..need yr advice. I called up Coolserve to do normal wash for my single split Daikin but they said I need to do chemical wash and quoted 400+ for the blower and compressor.
My single split unit is about 1 and half year already. Did normal wash 3 times within this period. Is it really necessary to do chemical washing? Also got lobang for aircon servicing be it normal washing or chemical which is more reasonable pricing. Thanks.

S1

hume17

How much did you pay for it?

I got my Mitsubishi Electric System 3.
1 MXY4A28VA
2 MSYGE10VA
1 MSYGE13VA

All in for $3000..

$3000 all in is cheap. I got quotation change all piping (grade 22), 1/2" insulation, total $3700.

terumo

To Slayer1,

$400 for indoor & outdoor chemical is a bit high.
You might wan to source around for another quote?

Hellowei

AirCon

hello everyone!

I am looking to install aircon for the very first time, in a ~20 year old HDB. Probably looking for a system 3 (3 rooms), usage will be minimal, at night when it is warm.

May i know if anyone has any recommendations? I read some posts and it seems like mitsubishi seems to be quite popular.

Also, i chanced upon this promotion leaflet from courts: can anyone advise me if the mitubishi system 3 inverter is reasonable?

Fans-Air-Coolers-Air-Conditioners-Sona-EuropAce-Mistral-Honeywell-KDK-Dyson.jpg
<-- bottom right corner, only mitsubishi one

many thanks in advance!

edit:

also, I went to the HDB website and realised that my flat ' has not been provided with higher electrical loading. You will need to apply for an HDB permit to install new 15 Amps power points for air-conditioners or other higher capacity equipment/appliances (e.g. high powered IT equipment).'

does this mean I necessarily have to do this before installing aircon?

think i quoted this link b4...dunno if u seen it...
but interesting to check it out...

Compare Air Conditioners - Comparison of air conditioner satisfaction

buying aircon isnt just buy a product...you are buying a package....check out their aircon reviews.

dont rush ...take time to decide and pick and know more abt aircons....

Hellowei

whats the max? maybe i could stretch to 3.1 or 3.2

I saw Giant Imm selling aircon panasonic 3 sys inverter at $2799 with installation. But not sure if i can trust Giant.

Hi ..just for your info. Giant does not have their own service team and installer....they subcontract out all their jobs..check with Giant ..do they have consumer service hotline for their aircon products..just in case when things fail ..how they resolve their consumer complaints

derrickgoh

Is it true that for air-con, brands like Daikin and Carrier are better 'cos they specialise in air-con only unlike say Mitsubishi, LG, etc which sell different things?

Also, if one is staying in a small flat, say a 45 square metre 2 room HDB. Would a single unit air con be enough? To me I guess its enough but my friend was saying, even though 2 room flat is small, but if have only 1 air con, will be very taxing on the aircon to try and cool the whole flat.

He suggested having split unit with 2 air con - 1 in bedroom the other in living room. So when you are in living room watching TV you on that aircon then when going to bed then turn off and then turn on the aircon in bedroom.

Which is the better method?

HearTs54

hi all i also just come back from courts, this salesman recommend me Fujitsu and he really explain in details compare to mitsubishi starmex.

1. anyone got any comments for Fujitsu?? i thought of getting this.

2. anyone got any comments on buying air-con from Courts??

thanks for any input

Didjerama

hi all i also just come back from courts, this salesman recommend me Fujitsu and he really explain in details compare to mitsubishi starmex.

1. anyone got any comments for Fujitsu?? i thought of getting this.

2. anyone got any comments on buying air-con from Courts??

thanks for any input

Dun mind me saying this but u go differet shops different salesman wil recommend diff brands

But courts got to be the last place i buy anything from.grossly expensive

dreamer75

HearTs54

Dun mind me saying this but u go differet shops different salesman wil recommend diff brands

But courts got to be the last place i buy anything from.grossly expensive

thanks for the feedback, but after courts i went best denki and look the prices are the same. any courts offer to dismantile and delivery free etc...

anyway i will look around again maybe at neighbourhood stores and gaincity

stanicmail

For more information, for those who are interested in Mitsubishi Heavy System 3 Inverter, TPY Best Tech (Row of shops near Court and Fork & Spoon Foodcourt) is charging $2650 ( w installation ), excluding bracket which costs $150.

I am not related to them. They just installed my air-con recently and I find it so far so good.

Do they do air con cleaning and service?

F3Rm1nat0r

guys for very low usage (use about 2 hours a day), what air con will your recommend that will last the longest and needs least maintenance?

my choices are between daikin
3MKD75DVM - FTKD35DVM / FTKD25DVM x 2

and

Mitsubishi Heavy Industries
SCM60 - SRK35ZJ / SRK25ZJ x 2

HearTs54

hi all i have a qn here, might be stupid pls dun flame.

i need to get a new aircon but i can wait, is it a good time to get now or should i wait ?

any chance will the prices drop or its always constant or increasing.

thanks!

retrozz

Currently looking at cooling my living and dining area (30sqm) single split. Aircon choices not much given i need about 18,000+ btu and outdoor unit has to be compact.
Panasonic CU-18NKZ,
Fujitsu AOAR18JC/ AOAR24JC
Toshiba RAS-18SACV/ RAS-22SACV.
Sharp AUX18MSV ($1,399 promo) while most brands are $1600 onwards.
Any suggestion which brand(s) more reliable?

joffluex

Hi does anyone know how to calculate BTU, I'm quite confused by all the different methods mentioned on the Internet. I'm looking at an area of 7.9m x 5.65m. Thanks in advance!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.