New HDB BTO Flat - How do you connect your Home Fiber Network

lengwee8

Reaction score
use a philips screwdriver and pry open the faceplate the is beside ur POT.

inside should be all ur termination of cat6 cables.

Inside this box is it a patch panel to the 3 bedrooms and the living room? So you would need to place your router near this box and connect it to the patch panel?

Last edited:

civicguy

Banned
Reaction score
Inside this box is it a patch panel to the 3 bedrooms and the living room? So you would need to place your router near this box and connect it to the patch panel?

Hi bro. I am not an expert but it seemed so from the readings I did these few days. You can see some photos here

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/garage-sales-18/services-fiber-telephone-point-lan-data-ethernet-point-conversion-services-4390951.html

From what I see, for me, I will do exactly what I do now at my present place. Use the ViewQwest router in the main door box above but not wireless. Use my Asus wireless router as a wireless access point in the middle room LAN for better reception for whole house.

lengwee8

Reaction score
i managed to change all my rooms RJ11 to RJ45 points.

total cost incur = less than $60 bucks

mine is cat6 cables prelaid for us. finished within 2hrs.

Hi bro, you did it yourself or engage someone to do it?
$60 to change all the points, or $60 to change for each point?

alice9

Master Member
Reaction score

ya i want to ask also, u did it yourself or ask someone to do it? i moving in soon, now also headache how to lay my network

sosibor

Reaction score
i managed to change all my rooms RJ11 to RJ45 points.

total cost incur = less than $60 bucks

mine is cat6 cables prelaid for us. finished within 2hrs.

please share with me the contact of the company/person who did the conversion for you.

thank you.

misato

Supremacy Member
Reaction score
From what I can see, he basically re-terminated the points in his rooms to RJ45 standards.