EDMW Knife Collectors

Frozenboiboi

I agree, i find that Benchmade's quality isn't very good despite it being a mcuh better known brand than Spyderco.
And interestingly, taiwan made spydercos are really good. The laser cutting of sages, chokwe, etc puts the enduras and calys to shame. The regular sized manix2 is one of the greatest value knife too, that i agree.

sojourn88

I have to day that I am surprised that spyderco's outsourced blades have higher qc than the USA made ones... .

this i agree... Spyderco's Tenacious is a good example.. thats made in China..and a couple of other models made in Taichung are good Quality Control too..whoever is running the factory knows their stuff and they know how to control it well... unlike my bad experience with the Germans , Boker... who unfortunately do not control their factories in China (Boker Plus brands, i am not sure about Magnum by Boker though)

sojourn88

As you guys have seen my collection, I'm a bigger Spyderco fan than Benchmade. Simply because they have higher value-per-dollar.

i like the way you put it..haha.. higher value-per-dollar...yes so far i have not much complaints on spyderco and ZT.. my benchmade the shoki...also has a uncentered blade, alot of people dont mind, but it is that special value-added that Benchmade must provide to give you the "shiok" feeling...if a $40 Tenacious is able to do it, why can't a $150 Benchmade?

anyway, how do you rate "value per dollar" for brands like Brous, and Boker hailing from solingen? (not boker plus)

worcer

Bro, don't mind my noobness .. first post in this thread. I like knives too and my branded knife is Becker Knives BK-7.

I also have a leatherman supertool 300 which is my EDC cos I always help relatives & friends fix things & the supertool 300 is very versatile.

Anyway, my question for all the experts here is: do you all have any recommendations for a multi tool with similar versatility as the supertool 300 but more robust?

And also recommendations for a knife sharpener?

Bk 7? That is in cpm 3v or the 1095 steel?

Multitool some peopl feel vitorinox is better but if u need plier, leatherman still a better choice. Just that multitool should be used only on camping trips which u need minmum weight for carrying. All situation just use the tool for the job... Safe a lot of trouble really.

For knife sharpening, if u lazy then buy a sharpening system. Or u wan learn sharpening like me, buy a stone and watch youtube video.

If u more into buying system to sharpen, u must decide these points...

1) steel u are sharpening. For super steel like zdp189, use diamond stone for ease.

2) if u wan to save money, buy from dealextreme.

3) if u just wan trouble free, basic set should get spyderco sharpmaker.

squarebox

i like the way you put it..haha.. higher value-per-dollar...yes so far i have not much complaints on spyderco and ZT.. my benchmade the shoki...also has a uncentered blade, alot of people dont mind, but it is that special value-added that Benchmade must provide to give you the "shiok" feeling...if a $40 Tenacious is able to do it, why can't a $150 Benchmade?

anyway, how do you rate "value per dollar" for brands like Brous, and Boker hailing from solingen? (not boker plus)

I've no experience with any of them yet but my current opinion:
Brous - Fancy overpriced D2 with hollow grinds knives...
Boker - Simply overpriced. They always fail to add a their touch to the purchased design (e.g ZT improved the 0801 with a steel lock insert with the Todd Rexford "Singularity") and cut-cost in every department which I feel defames the maker's name. In other words, just lazy money-hungry company or lack of passion. Even for their fixed blades $175 for N690Bo 2.5" hollow grind knife when bark river has $150ish 3V 3.5" convex knife, I will take the bark river every time...

Both have relatively low value-per-dollar from the get-go...

vespaguy

I wasn't aware BM had upped its price. Hmmm.

Regarding Spydies, can't say I buy enough to be able to reflect the norm but:

- Domino from taichung had an edge about as sharp as a butter knife. I bought it aftermarket but the seller said he didn't use it. Who knows?

- S110V Manix 2 from Golden had an edge about as sharp as a paper cutter - looked like a 120 grit edge that would only tear paper.

- para 2 S30V (from Colorado too) had an edge that barely sliced paper.

my earlier experience with Spydercos - Delica, Endura (both in VG10), Lum Chinese (ZDP189) all had scary sharp edges. I wonder what is happening to Spyderco's legendary edges.

On the other hand, BM's edges are nicely polished and sharp. And I find their customer service leaps and bounds above Spydercos - primarily, they will not charge you shipping after fixing your knife.

I agree with the observation on Boker. They are charging way too much for the collabs which feature only 440C steel.

ZT is the manufacturer to watch, and they're hitting the ball out of the park with every collab.

I like the CRKT hijinx collab with Ken Onion but with an MSRP of $500 and only Sleipner steel, I won't be buying it. I like the bladeshape though and judging from my Fossil, CRKT seems to make great flippers.

For general use (ie. not specialised cutting like hunting or cooking or cardboard breaker :)), I find hollow sabre ground blades more than adequate and aesthetically more pleasing than the other 2. Hollow grinds also mean that you don't need to thin the edge over time compared to full flat or flat grinds.

sojourn88

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/general-merchandise-bazaar-261/%5Bwts%5D-brous-blades-knives-silent-soldier-flipper-ssf-4687727.html#post85930342

check out the pre-order for Brous Silent Soldier Flipper (SSF) ..this is just coming in, new model at Generation 3, featuring Hollow Grind, and weighing lesser. The older model is Gen 2 flat grind, and slightly cheaper.
Expected arrival at supplier USA side, on this Wednesday 28MAY.
Past experience show this model goes off the shelves fast...
Pre-order now to avoid disappointment.

updated with other Gen2 models and also the rarer Framelock models.

1.SSF.jpg

vespaguy

vespaguy

Thanks, there's something about natural materials that can't be matched by synthetics like g10, micarta, CF. that mammoth is 10,000years old. So much time and essence is captured in there :)

chengkhi

Sg market too small, may have better luck selling at other forums to non locals ....
I have had edmw users pm me to offer me for my knives then suddenly disappear when i accepted...
Same for other forums, Sgreans ask and offer, then disappear ... Lol so rude, at least let me know when you dun wan it.

mamba2012

Sg market too small, may have better luck selling at other forums to non locals ....
I have had edmw users pm me to offer me for my knives then suddenly disappear when i accepted...
Same for other forums, Sgreans ask and offer, then disappear ... Lol so rude, at least let me know when you dun wan it.

Haha, all too common here as well... There just aren't too many people who appreciate well built custom knives and nice productions as well.

sojourn88

S

indeed.. same experience for me..ask and disappear..never reply pm, never reply whatsapp, never put in a email address, or even never put any contactable means too..haha.. no matter what i treat it as part and parcel of doing business here... no reply means no interest lor... although sometimes certain items are hard to get and if missed the boat will be gone forever, or sometimes certain items only available at a particular time spot where there is a good discount....haha..like right now..it is US Memorial Day..so some sites have good discount on just for these 2 days.

sojourn88

tempting poison here:

Paul Letourneau Subterfuge:
PaulLetourneauSubterfuge1A.jpg

PaulLetourneauSubterfuge1B.jpg

Paul Letourneau Subterfuge2:
PaulLetourneauSubterfuge2A.jpg

PaulLetourneauSubterfuge2B.jpg

found these customs at just below USD200.. what do you guys think?
although I am always wondering where I will put it...

Paul Letourneau - Subterfuge
Overall 7-1/4", 4" Stonewashed CPM S30V Steel Blade, Black G-10 Handles

Paul Letourneau - Subterfuge 2
Overall 8-1/4", 5" Stonewashed CPM S30V Blade, Green G-10 Handles

vespaguy

Anyone got a ZT 0300/0560 for sale?

0300/0560 are LARGE folders. Why not 0566? more pocket friendly, same quality steel but cheaper (it does not have a titanium handle or milled textured handles though).

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.