How to start Investing. Books, Sites.

haoKRR

Reaction score
no need broker la, haha. just trade on your own first.
but anyone "using" broker?

newbie here. waiting for my account to be created from DBSV

Perisher

Greater Supremacy Member
Deluxe Member
Reaction score
what I heard is that SCB holds our shares instead of us, and i dont really like that idea.

Any other plus points SCB have over DBS? newbie here

Actually, every stock brokerage in the world does the same thing bar SG.
And even our local brokerage use custodian when you buy anything outside of SG market.
So if you use DBS to buy US counter, same as SCB liao.

And not much +point other than the huge difference in comms and no other whatsoever fees.

Bedokian

Reaction score
what I heard is that SCB holds our shares instead of us, and i dont really like that idea.

If you use the cash upfront of most brokerages here, they will be the custodian of your shares as well. Same goes for foreign securities. In fact, CDP itself is like a huge custodian.

waxqube

Reaction score

Actually that can be a plus point because companies send a lot of stuff that I don't really need... (e.g. printed annual reports)

haoKRR

Reaction score
Actually that can be a plus point because companies send a lot of stuff that I don't really need... (e.g. printed annual reports)

If you use the cash upfront of most brokerages here, they will be the custodian of your shares as well. Same goes for foreign securities. In fact, CDP itself is like a huge custodian.

Actually, every stock brokerage in the world does the same thing bar SG.
And even our local brokerage use custodian when you buy anything outside of SG market.
So if you use DBS to buy US counter, same as SCB liao.

And not much +point other than the huge difference in comms and no other whatsoever fees.

so is it a good thing to have it with us?
and by DBS, does it really mean we have the stocks "in our pocket"? lol

Bedokian

Reaction score