View Full Version : Who is using stock red/back speaker cables for their mid/high end MM speakers
Philip
10-05-2005, 04:40 PM
Interested in upgrading? How much are u willing to pay if I provide such service?
Phil
AhHuat
10-05-2005, 04:43 PM
still using stock cables for my mw550....
wat cables u recommend? budget below 100 :o
Philip
10-05-2005, 04:52 PM
I will not recommend expensive cables for a start because its not efficient. Max is 20% of the speaker cost.
I recommend Pro Audio grade brands like Belden/Klotz/Canare which cost $6 & below per meter . Termination will depends on the speaker model. Nickel or gold plated metal RCA plugs at $4 & below.
I do e marketing, termination & testing.
Phil
jujubean
10-05-2005, 05:04 PM
bro can provide more info menz?
jujubean
10-05-2005, 05:05 PM
still using stock cables for my mw550....
wat cables u recommend? budget below 100 :o
HUAT ah.
:s13: :D
bencheongcm
10-05-2005, 05:08 PM
I want to do an upgrade on my speaker's cable but dunno how to buy... maybe you help me buy and I will pay you ? Using MW550
AhHuat
10-05-2005, 05:08 PM
HUAT ah.
:s13: :D
juju...wat spkr u using now? :o
AhHuat
10-05-2005, 05:09 PM
I will not recommend expensive cables for a start because its not efficient. Max is 20% of the speaker cost.
I recommend Pro Audio grade brands like Belden/Klotz/Canare which cost $6 & below per meter . Termination will depends on the speaker model. Nickel or gold plated metal RCA plugs at $4 & below.
I do e marketing, termination & testing.
Phil
bro...how many meters do i need?
wats termination?
:o
Philip
10-05-2005, 05:09 PM
You can do a search to find out the model normally recommended by people..
Phil
I want to do an upgrade on my speaker's cable but dunno how to buy... maybe you help me buy and I will pay you ? Using MW550
You don't need expensive speakers cables. For something of decent price and performance, the QED oeiginal is more than enough. If not, QED micro also can.
Philip
10-05-2005, 05:13 PM
bro...how many meters do i need?
wats termination?
How many meter I can't advise u. That depends on where u mount your speakers & how far its from your sub.
Termination is RCA on sub end & bare on e other end. Bare end will be soldered to make it more durable.
If I do all the dirty job for you.. how much are u willing to pay for service?
Phil
Philip
10-05-2005, 05:16 PM
You don't need expensive speakers cables. For something of decent price and performance, the QED oeiginal is more than enough. If not, QED micro also can.
Most branded cable companies don't make cables, most of e time its OEM from people like Belden. So its better to use pro audio stuff.
Phil
How many meter I can't advise u. That depends on where u mount your speakers & how far its from your sub.
Termination is RCA on sub end & bare on e other end. Bare end will be soldered to make it more durable.
Phil
By right, you aren't allow to advertise your products/services thus pls don't say things till so obvious leh.
dethangel
10-05-2005, 05:18 PM
You bought silver solder eh? ... Not cheap 1 roll .. :s13:
Using klotz speaker cables for my Tangent 4000s ....
To those who are to embark .. just a word of advice, try to avoid silver cables as they might make your system too bright.
AhHuat
Phil
i guess same length as the stock cables....
ur dirty job as in helping me buy the things and solder the things?
Philip
By right, you aren't allow to advertise your products/services thus pls don't say things till so obvious leh.
Or.. anyway.. just testing. See whether can do freelance.
Phil
bencheongcm
10-05-2005, 05:22 PM
is the moster cable S14 a good pick ?
Most branded cable companies don't make cables, most of e time its OEM from people like Belden. So its better to use pro audio stuff.
Phil
Whats pro audio? Never heard of that brand before?
Philip
10-05-2005, 05:25 PM
You bought silver solder eh? ... Not cheap 1 roll .. :s13:
Using klotz speaker cables for my Tangent 4000s ....
To those who are to embark .. just a word of advice, try to avoid silver cables as they might make your system too bright.
I got silver solder from states & they cost a bomb. Not worth it for MM speakers.
Silver cables will work well with dark sounding speakers. So it got its worth too.. likewise for silver coated copper cables.
Phil
is the moster cable S14 a good pick ?
Me not a monster cable believer. I prefer QED, Van Den Hul, Nordost and Kimber Kable. AFA also not bad.
I got silver solder from states & they cost a bomb. Not worth it for MM speakers.
Silver cables will work well with dark sounding speakers. So it got its worth too.. likewise for silver coated copper cables.
Phil
One more thing, they work pretty well for tube amps too.
Philip
10-05-2005, 05:27 PM
Yup.. plus testing to make sure that it works.
But if u want to cut cost best is to do it yourself. Or you can pay e shop owner to terminate for u.
Phil
dethangel
10-05-2005, 05:29 PM
Me not a monster cable believer. I prefer QED, Van Den Hul, Nordost and Kimber Kable. AFA also not bad.
I'm using VDH on my studio monitors... they're silver cables... IMO ..as expected.. the sound is ruined compared to Cable Talk UK made cables which i'm using ...
But the brands you mentioned most of them would be out of reach to normal consumers.
Pro audio refers to brands like - Cerwin Vega, Peavey, Crown just to name a few.
Philip
10-05-2005, 05:29 PM
Whats pro audio? Never heard of that brand before?
DUH. I mean Professional Audio stuff.
Those industrial people don't go for fancy brand like QED, Nordost, Monster & etc. They use professional grade component. No bull**** high performance stuff.
Phil
bencheongcm
10-05-2005, 05:30 PM
any shop in SLS you recon to buy it from ?
Philip
10-05-2005, 05:33 PM
Yes.. me too.. plus Monster Cable is a big bully in e market.
For all potential upgraders out there.. NEVER NEVER spend too much on accessories like cables because they can only improve to a certain extend. Plus its ridiculous to spend more than 20% on these stuff. Might as well upgrade to better speaker.
Here is where brand like Belden & etc gives e best bang of buck.
Phil
AhHuat
10-05-2005, 05:34 PM
Yup.. plus testing to make sure that it works.
But if u want to cut cost best is to do it yourself. Or you can pay e shop owner to terminate for u.
Phil
hmm...the problem is i dunno how to diy myself lol...
maybe u can help me do the things...
as for price , i dunno wat range is suitable le...
Philip
10-05-2005, 05:38 PM
hmm...the problem is i dunno how to diy myself lol...
maybe u can help me do the things...
as for price , i dunno wat range is suitable le...
Hehe.. heres where I come into the picture. I done my homework & got 10++ year experience in this area.
Phil
DUH. I mean Professional Audio stuff.
Those industrial people don't go for fancy brand like QED, Nordost, Monster & etc. They use professional grade component. No bull**** high performance stuff.
Phil
Oh IC. :s13: For something cheap and good, I will go for Belden.
Yes.. me too.. plus Monster Cable is a big bully in e market.
For all potential upgraders out there.. NEVER NEVER spend too much on accessories like cables because they can only improve to a certain extend. Plus its ridiculous to spend more than 20% on these stuff. Might as well upgrade to better speaker.
Here is where brand like Belden & etc gives e best bang of buck.
Phil
Fully agreed.No point spending too much on cables esp. for MM speakers. One more thing, just want to point ou that interconnects even more important. Having good speaker cables won't help if interconnects are crappy.
Vittra
10-05-2005, 05:41 PM
I'll be interested too if the difference is noticable after the switch.
Price vs Performance difference.
btw...i using supplied cables for my MW550 too.
oracle00
10-05-2005, 05:45 PM
Interested in upgrading? How much are u willing to pay if I provide such service?
Phil
yo bro.. check ur pm
Philip
10-05-2005, 05:45 PM
A rough estimate for a 5.1 speaker.
3 runs of 3m for Left, Center, Right & 2 runs of 5m for Surrounds.
19m x $4/m = $76
5 RCA x $3/pcs = $15
Total material cost will be $91
Phil
Philip
10-05-2005, 05:54 PM
One more thing, just want to point ou that interconnects even more important. Having good speaker cables won't help if interconnects are crappy.
Here is where I disagree. Have you open up both stock interconnect & speaker wire? I did.. both sucks big time. Its basically multi-strand super thin copper wires.
To put things into perpective based on e above observation.. speaker wires does more damage to audio quality.
1. They are normally longer hence signal deteoriation is also higher too.
2. Interconnects carry low voltage while speaker cable is much higher. So the latter carry much higher current & those thin cables will result in higher resistance. Its like driving a 10 wheeler in a narrow country mud track.
Phil
Philip
10-05-2005, 05:56 PM
yo bro.. check ur pm
Replied.
For those interested PM me & I will assess on a case by case basis. Strictly no obligation.
Phil
XcoldstarX
10-05-2005, 09:53 PM
my red and black cables not thick enuff...sometimes i listen halfway the right channel no sound becuz the wire come out from the socket....need a better quality and thicker cable
Philip
10-05-2005, 11:42 PM
my red and black cables not thick enuff...sometimes i listen halfway the right channel no sound becuz the wire come out from the socket....need a better quality and thicker cable
If thickness is your problem. Just cut off e existing bare wire & strip off e jacket. Twist the new bear wire & u r done. But if u want quality then get new cables.
Phil
Philip
11-05-2005, 12:41 AM
below $100 count me in...... i am using the stock cable as well n know nuts on those wires n soldering connectors but wished to improve the quality of my speakers output but if got add in the DIY power connector in xtreme forum is best best :s13:
Har? What DIY power connector? U referring to DIY powercord is it? E material cost of a belden shielded powercord is around $2X for a 1m run.
Phil
i'm more interested in interconnects as the positioning of my amp and cpu doesn't really allow for those off-the-shelves 1-1.5m ones. i need at least about 2m. so now my setup is decent enough except for the crappy 5m long interconnect dug out from my drawer which i bought from SLT years ago... :D
btw last time there was this very famous belden coaxial installation cable... forgot the number... got a pair diy-ed from someone... walao i almost flipped. from then on i'm really doubtful of diy-ed cables coz human factor is so prevalent (worksmanship) and probably the cable itself... i mean, it's an installation cable and if it was supposed to be so cheap and good, i dun understand why cable makers won't use it and pass it off as premium stuff.
btw yes, i do believe speaker cables make a slightly greater impact than interconnects, though the golden rule still applies... garbage in, garbage out. last time i was very "yim zhim" one... little little thing can hear the difference and will be bothered by it. now, also sian liao... dun really bother too much.
so phil, can recommend something for my interconnect? :)
Philip
11-05-2005, 01:00 AM
i'm more interested in interconnects as the positioning of my amp and cpu doesn't really allow for those off-the-shelves 1-1.5m ones. i need at least about 2m. so now my setup is decent enough except for the crappy 5m long interconnect dug out from my drawer which i bought from SLT years ago... :D
btw last time there was this very famous belden coaxial installation cable... forgot the number... got a pair diy-ed from someone... walao i almost flipped. from then on i'm really doubtful of diy-ed cables coz human factor is so prevalent (worksmanship) and probably the cable itself... i mean, it's an installation cable and if it was supposed to be so cheap and good, i dun understand why cable makers won't use it and pass it off as premium stuff.
btw yes, i do believe speaker cables make a slightly greater impact than interconnects, though the golden rule still applies... garbage in, garbage out. last time i was very "yim zhim" one... little little thing can hear the difference and will be bothered by it. now, also sian liao... dun really bother too much.
so phil, can recommend something for my interconnect? :)
MM I/C got 1 big fundamental problem which is why I didn't made mine. Remember both ends are those stereo pins which carries 2 channels? It is almost impossible to use coax cables since they r too thick to fit into e connector. Using those 4 cores multi-strand is more feasible in this case.
What is your budget? Maybe I can workout something for u.
I think u r referring to e so-called thousand dollar cable made from Belden 89259. Got a pair of those & they r pretty good. Very clean & tight but not fast enough compared to my Nordost blue heavens.
Phil
Philip
11-05-2005, 01:20 AM
http://bwccat.belden.com/ecat/images/products/1813A.GIF
1813A, Paired - 2 Conductors Cabled, Microphone and Musical Instrument Cable.
This fit e bill pretty nicely. Terminate with Canare F series stereo pin would be perfect.
Phil
MM I/C got 1 big fundamental problem which is why I didn't made mine. Remember both ends are those stereo pins which carries 2 channels? It is almost impossible to use coax cables since they r too thick to fit into e connector. Using those 4 cores multi-strand is more feasible in this case.
What is your budget? Maybe I can workout something for u.
I think u r referring to e so-called thousand dollar cable made from Belden 89259. Got a pair of those & they r pretty good. Very clean & tight but not fast enough compared to my Nordost blue heavens.
Phil
that time i tried is not on pc... it's between my cdp to amp so both ends are rca. yah i see the number now i recognise... 89259... clean and tight but a tad too thin and somehow i dun feel any soul from the music which is one of the most important factor to me... as in it sounded as though it's just reproducing sound instead of music.
http://bwccat.belden.com/ecat/images/products/1813A.GIF
1813A, Paired - 2 Conductors Cabled, Microphone and Musical Instrument Cable.
This fit e bill pretty nicely. Terminate with Canare F series stereo pin would be perfect.
Phil
how muchie for a 2m rca to stereo jack interconnect?
Philip
11-05-2005, 09:21 AM
that time i tried is not on pc... it's between my cdp to amp so both ends are rca. yah i see the number now i recognise... 89259... clean and tight but a tad too thin and somehow i dun feel any soul from the music which is one of the most important factor to me... as in it sounded as though it's just reproducing sound instead of music.
Soul?? Are you referring to warmth instead?
Have you managed to reproduce that kind of effect with any particular brand of I/C? Digital stuff r not renounce for such characteristic. LP & tube will suit u well.
how muchie for a 2m rca to stereo jack interconnect?
No idea, I will have to check with my supplier. Let me know your budget first.
Phil
Soul?? Are you referring to warmth instead?
Have you managed to reproduce that kind of effect with any particular brand of I/C? Digital stuff r not renounce for such characteristic. LP & tube will suit u well.
No idea, I will have to check with my supplier. Let me know your budget first.
Phil
hmm... maybe can say that, but not exactly the usual kind of warmth that typical ICs can produce (though differing standards)... there's just something missing... aiya at the end of the day it could just be psychological effect also since while i'm listening i know in my head that IT'S AN INSTALLATION CABLE. :s13: but well, sound is subjective. ultimately the listener must feel good. :)
my budget.............. hmmm... not exceeding $50, possible?
oracle00
11-05-2005, 09:48 AM
Yo bro..
These are my speaker cables and interconnect pics:
Speaker Cables:
http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y183/oracle00/SpeakerCables_1.jpg
http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y183/oracle00/SpeakerCables_3.jpg
http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y183/oracle00/SpeakerCables_2.jpg
As you can see, the speaker cables are in quite a bad condition and the way it is connected to the plug is extremely unprofessional :o
Can u do anything abt it huh? The exposed part of the speaker cables can be cut off so that the connection can be improved?
Will post the pics of the interconnect separately.
Thanks!
oracle00
11-05-2005, 09:49 AM
some more pics of my speaker cables:
http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y183/oracle00/CablestoSpeakers_2.jpg
http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y183/oracle00/CablestoSpeakers_1.jpg
http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y183/oracle00/CablestoAmp_1.jpg
http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y183/oracle00/CablestoAmp2.jpg
oracle00
11-05-2005, 09:51 AM
pics of my interconnects:
http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y183/oracle00/Interconnect_2.jpg
http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y183/oracle00/Interconnect_3.jpg
http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y183/oracle00/Intercnn_CD_2.jpg
http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y183/oracle00/Intercnn_Amp_3.jpg
Yo bro..
These are my speaker cables and interconnect pics:
Speaker Cables:
http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y183/oracle00/SpeakerCables_1.jpg
http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y183/oracle00/SpeakerCables_3.jpg
http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y183/oracle00/SpeakerCables_2.jpg
As you can see, the speaker cables are in quite a bad condition and the way it is connected to the plug is extremely unprofessional :o
Can u do anything abt it huh? The exposed part of the speaker cables can be cut off so that the connection can be improved?
Will post the pics of the interconnect separately.
Thanks!
For your case, cut off the wires. Forget about the banana plugs. Use a contact cleaner like dexoit from caig labs (the same company that makes pro gold) to clean the terminals. You could also use pro gold to enhance things a little (only very slight difference). Then connect your cables directly to the terminals on your speakers and amp. Can see that you are using bi-wiring, thus be careful about the polarity.
oracle00
11-05-2005, 10:15 AM
For your case, cut off the wires. Forget about the banana plugs. Use a contact cleaner like dexoit from caig labs (the same company that makes pro gold) to clean the terminals. You could also use pro gold to enhance things a little (only very slight difference). Then connect your cables directly to the terminals on your speakers and amp. Can see that you are using bi-wiring, thus be careful about the polarity.
thanks for ur advice :D actually hor... i forgot i am using bi-wiring liao.. haha... how did u know i am using bi-wiring..
i got this setup quite some time back and am a total noob in this area... btw how do i connect my cables directly to the terminals on my speakers and amp?? nothing for me to tighten my cable wires to my speakers and amp?
Philip
11-05-2005, 10:15 AM
OMG, your cables & plugs are badly oxidised. Plus algae are growing too.. This is bad man..
I will need to check whether the speaker cable is damaged. If those green **** grows inside the cable. Its time to say bye bye to it.
For a start you might like to clean up all your binding post with contact cleaner.
I will recommend re-terminating the speaker cable with solder type banana plugs.
If u have the budget I will recommend new speaker cable using Canare 4S11 biwire cable with special quad star geometry. $5/m. Used by many 3rd party branded cable out there.
The interconnect looks pretty ok. Just some polishing will do. But if u want to try some inexpensive model. Can try out e Belden 89259 terminated with Canare F10. Material cost start at $42 for 1m pair.
Phil
dethangel
11-05-2005, 10:25 AM
Oh my .... :eek:
Cable Talk 4? .... I'm using CT 3 ... very pleased with the sound.
I guess you bought those after market banana screw on plugs. I used to have those until it ruined a length of silver speaker cables (as phil mentioned.. the oxidation went into the cables itself! ... then now they're all black - blame my dad cos he wanted it.) ... i also support proper termination as oxdation settles in very fast.
At least 1 once a mth or 2 .... not more... unplug everything .. clean contacts as ISIS mentioned with deoxit ... your system should not suffer from oxidation at the terminals. Another way is to buy caps to cover your unsed RCA inputs on your amps.
ISIS .. where to get deoxit? ... =:p
oracle00
11-05-2005, 10:29 AM
OMG, your cables & plugs are badly oxidised. Plus algae are growing too.. This is bad man..
I will need to check whether the speaker cable is damaged. If those green **** grows inside the cable. Its time to say bye bye to it.
For a start you might like to clean up all your binding post with contact cleaner.
I will recommend re-terminating the speaker cable with solder type banana plugs.
If u have the budget I will recommend new speaker cable using Canare 4S11 biwire cable with special quad star geometry. $5/m. Used by many 3rd party branded cable out there.
The interconnect looks pretty ok. Just some polishing will do. But if u want to try some inexpensive model. Can try out e Belden 89259 terminated with Canare F10. Material cost start at $42 for 1m pair.
Phil
haha... so bad ah... ok ok... first thing first... where do i get this contact cleaner? any hardware store can buy? or must go adelphi to buy? ISS mentioned dexoit.. so i say dexoit ppl will know already huh?
can pm ur quote on ur suggested steps? re-terminating speaker cable with solder type banana plugs? actually last time when i buy the cables, that guy also say that but i dont know how to do it so in the end it became like that..
is the speaker cable which u recommend better than wat i am having currently (assuming still can use).. i spend quite a bomb on those cables.. monster cable talk 4...
is my interconnect (audioquest) good? i think i also spend quite a bit of money there although can't remember.. think even more ex than cables..
oracle00
11-05-2005, 10:31 AM
Oh my .... :eek:
Cable Talk 4? .... I'm using CT 3 ... very pleased with the sound.
I guess you bought those after market banana screw on plugs. I used to have those until it ruined a length of silver speaker cables (as phil mentioned.. the oxidation went into the cables itself! ... then now they're all black - blame my dad cos he wanted it.) ... i also support proper termination as oxdation settles in very fast.
At least 1 once a mth or 2 .... not more... unplug everything .. clean contacts as ISIS mentioned with deoxit ... your system should not suffer from oxidation at the terminals. Another way is to buy caps to cover your unsed RCA inputs on your amps.
ISIS .. where to get deoxit? ... =:p
haha... mine setup seems to be really very chialat... all of u bros are like :eek: over it...
where to buy those caps huh? wat i say to the shopkeeper? i wan to buy caps :s13:
Here is where I disagree. Have you open up both stock interconnect & speaker wire? I did.. both sucks big time. Its basically multi-strand super thin copper wires.
To put things into perpective based on e above observation.. speaker wires does more damage to audio quality.
1. They are normally longer hence signal deteoriation is also higher too.
2. Interconnects carry low voltage while speaker cable is much higher. So the latter carry much higher current & those thin cables will result in higher resistance. Its like driving a 10 wheeler in a narrow country mud track.
Phil
I have never tried the cable before, thus I am not sure of how the stock cables perform.
Even though speaker cables are longer, the signal strength (amplitude) is far higher. The signal carried by interconnects is far weaker. This also makes them more susceptible to interference/noise. This is also why shielding is needed for interconnects or rather all forms of signal cables (cables carrying digital signals are less susceptible to noise) but not the case for speaker cables.
Philip
11-05-2005, 10:38 AM
hmm... maybe can say that, but not exactly the usual kind of warmth that typical ICs can produce (though differing standards)... there's just something missing... aiya at the end of the day it could just be psychological effect also since while i'm listening i know in my head that IT'S AN INSTALLATION CABLE. :s13: but well, sound is subjective. ultimately the listener must feel good. :)
my budget.............. hmmm... not exceeding $50, possible?
Based on your profile. I will assume u r using integrated amp. Does your M audio comes with RCA out? I will have to do some research to find a warmth cable for u. Confirm your setup & I will see whether I can work out a solution at $50. Might have to use less than ideal plugs thought.
Phil
s1eck
11-05-2005, 10:41 AM
Need your soldering skill:
1 pair of Interconnect (Mogami 2803 + Eichmann Bullets RCAs)
1 pair of Bi-wire spk cable ( Canare 4s11G + 8 X Bananas & 4 X spades )
Can recommend those bananas & spades?
Deavenger
11-05-2005, 10:44 AM
there see mine..
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v601/kennyseah17/PICT0975web.gif
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v601/kennyseah17/PICT0973web.gif
btw just to add.. phil experience is very good.. helped me alot when i wanted to improve my speaker sound..
phil.. you should have done this long ago.. dun waste talent like that..
btw do you want to do the power cable for me?? still thinking about it as the hissing still there.. i went to the creativex and that guy told me its because i turn my pc volume to full tts why i get the hissing sound.. at first i believe and tried.. but then even when my pc is off .. there is still that sound..
Philip
11-05-2005, 10:48 AM
I have never tried the cable before, thus I am not sure of how the stock cables perform.
Even though speaker cables are longer, the signal strength (amplitude) is far higher. The signal carried by interconnects is far weaker. This also makes them more susceptible to interference/noise. This is also why shielding is needed for interconnects or rather all forms of signal cables (cables carrying digital signals are less susceptible to noise) but not the case for speaker cables.
What you said is true too because e impact of noise will be higher. But other than that, the longer speaker cable has far more problems on top of this. Anyway, there are many school of thoughts involved. But at the end of the day remember there is no pointing spending too much on MM speakers because they are not meant for serious listening.
Phil
Philip
11-05-2005, 10:56 AM
Need your soldering skill:
1 pair of Interconnect (Mogami 2803 + Eichmann Bullets RCAs)
1 pair of Bi-wire spk cable ( Canare 4s11G + 8 X Bananas & 4 X spades )
Can recommend those bananas & spades?
If you are too loaded.. can get the super branded one like those rhodium Cardas plug. But since its a 4s11, I would recommend affordable gold plated plug. I'm using some I got from Farnell & it has not oxidised even after 3 years.
Phil
Philip
11-05-2005, 11:05 AM
btw do you want to do the power cable for me?? still thinking about it as the hissing still there.. i went to the creativex and that guy told me its because i turn my pc volume to full tts why i get the hissing sound.. at first i believe and tried.. but then even when my pc is off .. there is still that sound..
No problem BUT I can’t guarantee it will resolve your hissing problem.
What a shielded power cord will do is to minimised noise interference from external source like your AC adaptor & etc. However if the problem starts from the upper chain like your power-strip, you have not address the root of your problem.
Try this. Unplug your interconnect from the PC to your sub & try again. This will eliminate the possibility of a ground loop from your PC side. If it still hiss, use a long extension cord & try other 3 pin wall sockets. If the hiss is still there, the problem most probably your powercord.
Not that I don't want to earn your $$$ but I also want a satisfied customer.
Phil
For those who are thinking of changing their speaker cables and want it cheap, here is a tip for cheap and good cables: Remember our cat 5e cables? They are really cheap.
http://www.tnt-audio.com/clinica/triple_t_e.html
What you said is true too because e impact of noise will be higher. But other than that, the longer speaker cable has far more problems on top of this. Anyway, there are many school of thoughts involved. But at the end of the day remember there is no pointing spending too much on MM speakers because they are not meant for serious listening.
Phil
Actually, speaker cable length doesn't really matter unless you are talking about very long lengths. I was talking about lengths like 2-5m of speaker cables. Are you referring to cables of 20-30m long?
oracle00
11-05-2005, 11:52 AM
Phil
yo bro... can gimme a quote for the re-termination of my speaker cables? assuming no need to replace them... what solder-type banana plugs is good and would not oxidise one? i can meet u to pass u the cables :D
s1eck
11-05-2005, 12:01 PM
If you are too loaded.. can get the super branded one like those rhodium Cardas plug. But since its a 4s11, I would recommend affordable gold plated plug. I'm using some I got from Farnell & it has not oxidised even after 3 years.
Phil
I go for performance/price ratio. Are the bananas and spades from Farnell solderable ones?
I have seen your work on the DIY powerstrip,very nicely done.
Philip
11-05-2005, 12:23 PM
Actually, speaker cable length doesn't really matter unless you are talking about very long lengths. I was talking about lengths like 2-5m of speaker cables. Are you referring to cables of 20-30m long?
I'm speaking in general.
yo bro... can gimme a quote for the re-termination of my speaker cables? assuming no need to replace them... what solder-type banana plugs is good and would not oxidise one? i can meet u to pass u the cables :D
For e time being I will charge $10 flat rate for service charge for 2 piece or less. The more cables, better economic of scale, less transport & etc so will be cheaper.
Real gold plated one will do. Would recommend those from Farnell. Cost around $3 or less per piece if I remember correctly.
I go for performance/price ratio. Are the bananas and spades from Farnell solderable ones?
I have seen your work on the DIY powerstrip,very nicely done.
Farnell got both type. If the wire is thick then use crimp type, else I recommend solder, more durable contact & helps to prevent e copper from oxidising. Thanks for your compliment.
Phil
oracle00
11-05-2005, 01:03 PM
ok bro.. me onz... so mine will be 2 speaker cables and 8 banana plugs... so my cost will be 30+? can help me get contact cleaner as well?
Philip
11-05-2005, 01:08 PM
ok bro.. me onz... so mine will be 2 speaker cables and 8 banana plugs... so my cost will be 30+? can help me get contact cleaner as well?
I will PM you with the exact quote once I confirm the price of the banana plugs. BTW, you will need 12. I don't recommend bear wire at the amp side. Because its going to toast your amp if the wire become lose & short circuit. But the choice is yours. Let me know again.
Phil
oracle00
11-05-2005, 01:10 PM
I will PM you with the exact quote once I confirm the price of the banana plugs. BTW, you will need 12. I don't recommend bear wire at the amp side. Because its going to toast your amp if the wire become lose & short circuit. But the choice is yours. Let me know again.
Phil
oh yah.. forgot abt the other side.. only counting the speaker side =:p . will wait for ur pm
Deavenger
11-05-2005, 02:31 PM
No problem BUT I can’t guarantee it will resolve your hissing problem.
What a shielded power cord will do is to minimised noise interference from external source like your AC adaptor & etc. However if the problem starts from the upper chain like your power-strip, you have not address the root of your problem.
Try this. Unplug your interconnect from the PC to your sub & try again. This will eliminate the possibility of a ground loop from your PC side. If it still hiss, use a long extension cord & try other 3 pin wall sockets. If the hiss is still there, the problem most probably your powercord.
Not that I don't want to earn your $$$ but I also want a satisfied customer.
Phil
if i change the interconnect cables.. will it help?? if yes what brand should i buy??
dethangel
11-05-2005, 02:34 PM
Correct me if i'm wrong.. but its due to the quality of components used in the MW550 itself that causes the hiss.
Philip
11-05-2005, 03:05 PM
if i change the interconnect cables.. will it help?? if yes what brand should i buy??
What you need to do now is to troubleshoot to isolate the root of e problem before u consider the remedy. U can overhaul all the cables but it does not address the issue if they are not the culprit. Plus very soft hissing is normal for all speakers. But if you can hear it 1 to 2m away then I think something is wrong.
Correct me if i'm wrong.. but its due to the quality of components used in the MW550 itself that causes the hiss.
Hissing is a complicated problem. There are many reasons why speaker hiss. Noisy power supply, ground loops, interference, loose or corroded contacts are just some of the possibilities.
Recently my center hiss too but it goes away after I switch my speaker off.
Phil
Deavenger
11-05-2005, 03:54 PM
hmm ..let me clarify.. my spearkers dun hiss when i off.. i have already rearranged my speakers.. they are no longer on my table.. it is 2 m away from me.. still can hear the hiss when mw control is at three leds on..
AhHuat
11-05-2005, 04:00 PM
my mw do hiss when i listen closely...
when 1-2m away cant hear it....
with 3leds on too
Philip
11-05-2005, 04:44 PM
hmm ..let me clarify.. my spearkers dun hiss when i off.. i have already rearranged my speakers.. they are no longer on my table.. it is 2 m away from me.. still can hear the hiss when mw control is at three leds on..
U mean off your PC?
That is not right for sure.
Based on your description, sounds like the hissing originate from your source.
Try this.. disconnect the stereo pin from the PC & connect to your walkman. discman, MP3 & etc etc. Does it hiss?
Phil
Philip
11-05-2005, 10:13 PM
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v97/tmwong/banana.jpg
Gold plated 4mm banana plug
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v97/tmwong/spade.jpg
Gold plated spade
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v97/tmwong/cord.jpg
My DIY power cord (sleeve jacket is optional)
ragnarok95
11-05-2005, 10:29 PM
Phil...cant wait for you to help me fix up the cables :D
Philip
11-05-2005, 10:38 PM
Phil...cant wait for you to help me fix up the cables :D
Yours will be using e better Canare 4S11 (http://www.canare.com/index.cfm?objectid=ED10B882-3048-7098-AF6C24CDB73FA68E)
These cables use the same Canare 4S11 Star quad cable used in high quality "Live sound" applications. It has a special PE Conductor insulation (dielectric) which is much better at resisting oxidation over a long period of time than pvc, and has a consistant combination of low capacitance, low inductance, and low series resistance. It consists of 4 - 14 AWG conductors in a "quad helix" geometry. Wired in the "Star Quad" fashion (2 - 14 AWG conductors per polarity) inductance is lower than many "exotic" high end cables and it generally has far lower capacitance. 11AWG is also excellent at allowing long cable runs with low resistance.
4-Conductor Speaker Cable
Four-conductor configuration minimizes noise and polyethylene insulation reduces induction rate to boost frequency characteristics.
APPLICATIONS
* PA SYSTEMS
* HI-FI SPEAKERS
* DC POWER LINES
FEATURES
* SUPER FLEXIBILITY, EVEN IN SUB-ZERO WEATHER
* STAR QUAD DESIGN REDUCES EMI NOISE
* LOW CAPACITANCE & RESISTANCE
oracle00
11-05-2005, 11:04 PM
yo bro.. replied ur pm liao... confirmed onz...
Philip
11-05-2005, 11:15 PM
yo bro.. replied ur pm liao... confirmed onz...
Replied.
Phil
TopGun
11-05-2005, 11:46 PM
This is what i did.
total 30m of Belden 1860A at $3/m each. 5x Canare F-10 at $7 each.
Total including soldering cost me abt $110 after discount from LHS.
Philip
12-05-2005, 08:21 AM
This is what i did.
total 30m of Belden 1860A at $3/m each. 5x Canare F-10 at $7 each.
Total including soldering cost me abt $110 after discount from LHS.
Thats a good price. I will be using 1860A too. Maybe u can share with the folks e kind of sound u r getting.
Phil
oracle00
12-05-2005, 09:28 AM
Replied.
Phil
me replied liao too
Philip
14-05-2005, 04:00 PM
Work in progress..
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v97/tmwong/4S11.jpg
Canare 4S11 terminated with Canare F10. Heat shrink will be next..
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v97/tmwong/F10.jpg
Canare F10 close up
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v97/tmwong/pcord.jpg
Belden shielded powercord with UK Permaplug
Phil
Philip
14-05-2005, 09:03 PM
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v97/tmwong/1960.jpg
Belden 1960A terminated with Canare F10
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v97/tmwong/termination.jpg
Bare wire termination for satellite end with color coding.
MoOmUzik, your order is completed. The Belden 1960As & power cord is yours. If u can drop by either Sembawang or YCK MRT during the weekdays, I can pass it to you. If not probably next weekend at SLS with e rest of e guys.
Phil
Philip
15-05-2005, 08:02 AM
wow all the 6 cables completed? sibei kins mens :s13:
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v97/tmwong/yummy.jpg
Hhehe.. spend my afternoon on your cables. All bare wire ends are soldered & contact points r all shiny. Meaning good soldering...
Test drived on my MW550. High end extension got visible improvement.. & satellites seems to give out some bass.. compared to my OFC cables. But thats on my setup lar.
Phil
ragnarok95
15-05-2005, 08:08 AM
Phil, possible to meet you in YCK station rather than sls?
Philip
15-05-2005, 08:23 AM
Phil, possible to meet you in YCK station rather than sls?
How about Fri at 6pm?
Yours should be ready by then... need to get some heat shrink for your super thick 4S11.
Phil
ragnarok95
15-05-2005, 08:27 AM
fri around 630-645 can? Cos my workplace near harbourfront, so need time to reach yck...btw, money inside ur account liao...
Philip
15-05-2005, 08:29 AM
fri around 630-645 can? Cos my workplace near harbourfront, so need time to reach yck...btw, money inside ur account liao...
Too late leh.. I knock off at 6 leh.
U want to pick it up at Sembawang MRT bor?
Phil
ragnarok95
15-05-2005, 08:30 AM
Sembawang should not be a problem then, since its just 3 stop away fr yck :D
Philip
15-05-2005, 08:31 AM
Sembawang should not be a problem then, since its just 3 stop away fr yck :D
Okie doky then... piss.. if u r interested. Can drop by my place to check out my HT.. =:p
Phil
ragnarok95
15-05-2005, 09:24 AM
haha...thank man...but dun think so, cos goin else where after collecting the cables, hehe...
Thanks for the offer man!
Philip
15-05-2005, 09:25 AM
haha...thank man...but dun think so, cos goin else where after collecting the cables, hehe...
Thanks for the offer man!
No prob.
Phil
ragnarok95
15-05-2005, 09:27 AM
will transfer the rest to your account on thurs :D Hope u dun mind :)
Philip
15-05-2005, 09:28 AM
will transfer the rest to your account on thurs :D Hope u dun mind :)
No worries.. pay me when u get e goods! =:p
Must be satisfied mah.. 4S11 god damn thick man...
Phil
ragnarok95
15-05-2005, 09:29 AM
cables thicker than the one u posted up few post ago?
Philip
15-05-2005, 09:32 AM
cables thicker than the one u posted up few post ago?
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v97/tmwong/4S11.jpg
This 1 lar.. very difficult to terminate coz its bloody thick but I strongly believe its going to deliver man.
Made in japan somemore.. hahahaa...
Phil
ragnarok95
15-05-2005, 09:34 AM
i trust your skill man :D :D
Philip
15-05-2005, 09:38 AM
i trust your skill man :D :D
Guaranteed!
Phil
Philip
17-05-2005, 12:07 AM
http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y183/oracle00/CablestoSpeakers_2.jpg
http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y183/oracle00/CablestoAmp2.jpg
From this...
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v97/tmwong/bananas.jpg
To this.. =:p
Now its back to tip top condition.
oracle00, your stuff is ready. Weekdays can collect at Sembawang or YCK MRT.
Phil
Deavenger
17-05-2005, 12:16 AM
hi phil. sorry .. want to bother you about hissing sound again..
last nite.. the hissing sound suddenly disappeared.. but today came back again..
with this , can you diagnose further..
feel like changing the stock orange , green , orane jack cables.. can recommend..you think this is th cause??
Philip
17-05-2005, 12:23 AM
hi phil. sorry .. want to bother you about hissing sound again..
last nite.. the hissing sound suddenly disappeared.. but today came back again..
with this , can you diagnose further..
feel like changing the stock orange , green , orane jack cables.. can recommend..you think this is th cause??
Don't think its e interconnects because e hiss should be there as long as u r using e cable. Last time I experience hissing but it goes away after I switch off e sub. Perhaps something inside e sub is overheating. Try to off it & see if it works.
Phil
PsyNidE
17-05-2005, 12:31 AM
Hi .. i feel like changing da stock cables for my Klipsch PM 2.1 but unsure on wats da total length i nid 2 buy .. i guess those brands like QED or Belden wud do juz fine .. i'm staying @ wdlands, admiralty area btw ..
Philip
17-05-2005, 12:35 AM
Hi .. i feel like changing da stock cables for my Klipsch PM 2.1 but unsure on wats da total length i nid 2 buy .. i guess those brands like QED or Belden wud do juz fine .. i'm staying @ wdlands, admiralty area btw ..
If u r on a budget. Then try e Belden 1860A, if not the Canare 4S11. I will check out 4S8 which is cheaper but slightly thinner.
Phil
PsyNidE
17-05-2005, 12:40 AM
If u r on a budget. Then try e Belden 1860A, if not the Canare 4S11. I will check out 4S8 which is cheaper but slightly thinner.
Phil
hv u upgraded da PM 2.1 for anyone else b4? so roughly da total length dat need 2b bought is ard da sme length rite? da two speakers r on my desk & da subwoofer is below on da rite.
Philip
17-05-2005, 12:54 AM
hv u upgraded da PM 2.1 for anyone else b4? so roughly da total length dat need 2b bought is ard da sme length rite? da two speakers r on my desk & da subwoofer is below on da rite.
Nope.. now help people upgrade a MW550 & MW250D.
PM2.1 using Mono-miniplug-to-bare speaker cable. Length u need to measure for yourself, can't help u there. Minimum I recommend is 2.5m.
I recommend using Canare plugs. Performance stuff! http://www.canare.com/files/Catalog11page_28.pdf
Phil
Philip
17-05-2005, 12:58 AM
Anyway.. found this article on some monster cable! haha.. I think e Belden 1860A can beat it anytime. Plus those alcheapo plastic plugs look really lame..
http://www.exhardware.com/reviews.php?Id=73&Page=3
Phil
lalabling
17-05-2005, 01:32 AM
is it worth upgrading cables for altec mx 5021 ? just the wire for sats or do i have to change the sub connect as well ?
Philip
17-05-2005, 08:23 AM
is it worth upgrading cables for altec mx 5021 ? just the wire for sats or do i have to change the sub connect as well ?
R your stock cables alcheapo black/red super thin cable? If so.. you can try something affordable to improve e performance.
Phil
ragnarok95
17-05-2005, 08:25 AM
CAnt wait for friday :D :D :D
Philip
17-05-2005, 08:28 AM
CAnt wait for friday :D :D :D
Yours will be next. Yesterday order $20 worth of heat shrink just for your cable. I'm thinking since e overall thickness of your cable at e satellite end is pretty thick... do you mind paying more to terminate them with plugs to make them look more professional. Will try to source for $2 per piece one.. so add another 8 bucks in total.
Phil
ragnarok95
17-05-2005, 08:34 AM
Its fine with me ;)
As long as the 2 cables can fit inside my speakers :D
Philip
17-05-2005, 09:12 AM
Its fine with me ;)
As long as the 2 cables can fit inside my speakers :D
That one no worries.. Ok will source for e plugs then.
Phil
ragnarok95
17-05-2005, 09:14 AM
Does the plug really a need? If its not a must and it can still fit, maybe i dun need it, can use the $8 to invest in other things....
Philip
17-05-2005, 09:18 AM
Does the plug really a need? If its not a must and it can still fit, maybe i dun need it, can use the $8 to invest in other things....
The combine thickness of 2 wires will definitely be thicker than what the spring clips can take. So I will need to cut off some strands & twise both wires into one then solder it to strenghten e overall twist.
With e plugs, I can solder both on.. it will look neater with e plugs. Electrically there is no diff.
Phil
ragnarok95
17-05-2005, 09:24 AM
Then ok, thanks, you can carry on with the plug thing :D :D
oracle00
17-05-2005, 01:20 PM
To this..
Now its back to tip top condition.
oracle00, your stuff is ready. Weekdays can collect at Sembawang or YCK MRT.
Phil
:love: swee swee la brudder.... haha really big contrast man :D ... wkday diff to collect for me lei... i sms u again on the collection.. prob this sat!
thanks mate for ur wonderful work on my cables! :deg:
Philip
17-05-2005, 01:29 PM
:love: swee swee la brudder.... haha really big contrast man :D ... wkday diff to collect for me lei... i sms u again on the collection.. prob this sat!
thanks mate for ur wonderful work on my cables! :deg:
Nice right? The heat shrink work wonders here..
Okie doky..
Phil
ragnarok95
17-05-2005, 01:33 PM
phil, if u dun mind, i will like to transfer the rest to you on thurs, cos need to go to bank :)
Cant wait to hook the cable up..... :D :D
SOrry but, do cables need burning in? :s11:
Philip
17-05-2005, 01:42 PM
phil, if u dun mind, i will like to transfer the rest to you on thurs, cos need to go to bank :)
Cant wait to hook the cable up..... :D :D
SOrry but, do cables need burning in? :s11:
No problem.. I will confirm the pricing on Wed evening after I secure the spring clip plugs.
Yes they do but I believe your cable will give u improvement the min you switch over. Simply no fight, 4 vs 2 cores, More & thicker strands per core, special geometry for noise reduction & professional gold/nickel RCA plugs.
Heheh.. make you drool first!
Phil
ragnarok95
17-05-2005, 01:46 PM
hahha....the plugs dun need to get so ex one...those like u told me $2 per piece is enough :D
Money need to be reserve for some other hardwares :)
Philip
17-05-2005, 01:49 PM
hahha....the plugs dun need to get so ex one...those like u told me $2 per piece is enough :D
Yeah I know, I said $2 type remember?
Phil
Philip
17-05-2005, 10:37 PM
Ok folks, to avoid misunderstanding. Pls specify e termination or connector used for your speaker cable or interconnect
http://www.canare.com.hk/images/F-09.gif
This is RCA
http://www.canare.com.hk/images/F-11.gif
This is Mini phone mono
http://www.canare.com.hk/images/F-12.gif
This is Mini phone stereo
Or simply bare wire.
Heres some configuration used by various speakers.
MW550/250D/GMX 2.1
Speaker = RCA-to-Bare
Interconnect = 2 way Mini phone stereo
Aego2
Speaker = RCA-to-Bare
Interconnect = 2 way RCA-to-Mini phone stereo
Phil
Philip
19-05-2005, 12:48 AM
upz jus got my cables n all connected :D did some light testing of mp3.. can hear difference as now the sound produce is cleaner n sharp :)
Hahaha.. know u just can't resist e temptation leh! =:p
Still tell me late already, probably test tomorrow. Anyway, let e cable run-in for a while, will sound better as time goes by.
Phil
Philip
19-05-2005, 12:50 AM
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v97/tmwong/4s11b.jpg
Just completed the last pair for this round of order!! Super thick made-in-japan Canare 4S11!!
Add another $4.8 for those 4 plugs. $1.20 each.. happy bor?? Solder type.. not those screw-on one.
Phil
ragnarok95
19-05-2005, 06:15 AM
Just completed the last pair for this round of order!! Super thick made-in-japan Canare 4S11!!
Add another $4.8 for those 4 plugs. $1.20 each.. happy bor?? Solder type.. not those screw-on one.
Phil
SONG LA!!!!!!!! :D
IF you need decebt abd cheap RCA plugs, go LHS and get those Nutrek ones. $10 for a pack of 10.
ragnarok95
19-05-2005, 08:51 AM
IF you need decebt abd cheap RCA plugs, go LHS and get those Nutrek ones. $10 for a pack of 10.
Thanks ISS :D
But i think phil already settle it......
OMG! What happened to my spelling? :s13:
Philip
19-05-2005, 10:23 AM
Thanks ISS :D
But i think phil already settle it......
Yup.. I do the walking, marketing & packaging! :s13:
Cheap plugs can't last as long as e good one. I got F-10 which lost a bit of its shine after using it for 4 years. No oxidation, no algae, no rust..
F-10 is one of the best performance low price RCA.
Phil
ragnarok95
19-05-2005, 10:25 AM
Phil, so how? can confirm everything with me? Thank dude!
Philip
19-05-2005, 10:30 AM
Phil, so how? can confirm everything with me? Thank dude!
$52.8 lor. Aya.. just pass me the balance tomorrow lar..
Phil
Philip
19-05-2005, 07:18 PM
Going to commence my 2nd round of orders. Anyone interested & would like to get your cable by next week better PM me by today.
Phil
Philip
19-05-2005, 09:26 PM
When I heard 4S11... my jaw dropped!!
The mid(vocal) is really pronouce & sweet. High end extension is as good as the Belden 1860A. But its doesn't go as low as the Belden.
Phil
ragnarok95
19-05-2005, 09:34 PM
Cant wait for tomorrow to pair it up with my 250D...
With this setup, my 250D is goin to stay with me for very very long :)
Philip
19-05-2005, 09:37 PM
Cant wait for tomorrow to pair it up with my 250D...
With this setup, my 250D is goin to stay with me for very very long :)
This is a kick arss cable for pop, vocal, classical & jazz.
Phil
TopGun
19-05-2005, 09:52 PM
Thats a good price. I will be using 1860A too. Maybe u can share with the folks e kind of sound u r getting.
Phil
Improvement in clarity. Made all my MP3s sound like crap. LOL.
Tried with DVD, concert etc... clarity improved.
Philip
19-05-2005, 09:54 PM
Improvement in clarity. Made all my MP3s sound like crap. LOL.
Tried with DVD, concert etc... clarity improved.
Hahaha.. interesting observation. Maybe it is revealing enuff to show the flaws of MP3 compression.
I tried it on my setup & its pretty balance for both MP3s & CDs.
Phil
Magz1986
19-05-2005, 10:10 PM
getting all excited, cant wait for mine too. :D
Philip
19-05-2005, 10:26 PM
getting all excited, cant wait for mine too. :D
If nothing goes wrong I will ask for deposite tomorrow then e cables should be ready by next week.
Phil
Magz1986
19-05-2005, 10:49 PM
great, will pm you my contact.
Deavenger
19-05-2005, 11:14 PM
Don't think its e interconnects because e hiss should be there as long as u r using e cable. Last time I experience hissing but it goes away after I switch off e sub. Perhaps something inside e sub is overheating. Try to off it & see if it works.
Phil
wah so long never visit this thread.. but i was having hissing since the first day..lol
rayeonsg
19-05-2005, 11:40 PM
Wow, all you guys talking stirred up good memories of quality sound leh!
I still have some QED flat speakers somewhere.
Need some advice from you pro, those speakers mentioned in the thread which is good for warm sound like a pair of old Roger Studio 3 bi-wired? Cheers!
Philip
20-05-2005, 12:30 AM
wah so long never visit this thread.. but i was having hissing since the first day..lol
Err bro did u troubleshoot bor.. I don't mind earning your $$$ but can't guarantee it will solve e hissing.
Try these steps..
1. Disconnect all interconnect & just power on your speakers! If hiss go step 2, not step 5.
2. Change e powercord, If hiss go step 3, else e powercord is e culprit.
3. Try another power point. If hiss, go step 4, else power point is e culprit
4. Try different speaker cable, If hiss go step 5, else its e speaker cable
5. To this point, almost can be sure its not your speaker problem but I will not rule out a faulty control pod. Time to test e PC, go step 6.
6. Try different interconnect, If hiss got step 7, else its e interconnect
7. Try different soundcard & install latest driver. If hiss go step 8, else its e card h/w or s/w issue.
8. GOD BLESS U. E problem lies somewhere in your PC. Interference & etc etc.
Phil
Length of the cable also affects the sound
Err bro did u troubleshoot bor.. I don't mind earning your $$$ but can't guarantee it will solve e hissing.
Try these steps..
1. Disconnect all interconnect & just power on your speakers! If hiss go step 2, not step 5.
5. To this point, almost can be sure its not your speaker problem but I will not rule out a faulty control pod. Time to test e PC, go step 6.
7. Try different soundcard & install latest driver. If hiss go step 8, else its e card h/w or s/w issue.
Phil
Sometime the problem stems from noisy power line in the house.
For those that has UPS(models with noise clamping)/power conditioner/regulator, can also try to plug the speakers it to for checking.(For UPS, check that it can deliver the rated power of the speaker before using, don't overload the UPS).
Takeshi_0
20-05-2005, 12:37 AM
Phil
looks pretty good! :) :s12:
Philip
20-05-2005, 12:37 AM
Wow, all you guys talking stirred up good memories of quality sound leh!
I still have some QED flat speakers somewhere.
Need some advice from you pro, those speakers mentioned in the thread which is good for warm sound like a pair of old Roger Studio 3 bi-wired? Cheers!
Hard to tell because we will need to know e characteristic of your speaker first. Remember, cable is to compliment e speaker NOT to alter its overall characteristic. Mission r bright by nature, so we can only use speaker cable to minimise e brightness.. not to alter it to warm or etc.
In addition, e equipments like amp/CD will have a much profile impact on e overall sound then accessories like speaker cable & etc.
Why I'm providing this service is because most mid/high end MM speakers can perform much better if not for those lousy stock cables which sucks big time. I'm not trying to convert them into a pair of Sonus Faber or Dynaudio so as to speak.
Phil
Philip
20-05-2005, 12:41 AM
Sometime the problem stems from noisy power line in the house.
For those that has UPS(models with noise clamping)/power conditioner/regulator, can also try to plug the speakers it to for checking.(For UPS, check that it can deliver the rated power of the speaker before using, don't overload the UPS).
Unless it is so unfortunate that e whole unit is plague with this problem which is rare. There will be other tell tale signs like snowy TV, flickering lightings, piak sound from speakers & etc for such extreme cases.
Using different power points from another part of e house will be ideal to isolate such problem. Normally e kitchen & hall will have a separate power circuit.
In addition to UPS, those affordable power filtering powerstrip are also pretty good for such purpose. The belkins are a good start.
Phil
Philip
20-05-2005, 12:47 AM
Length of the cable also affects the sound
For good speaker cables, length is not a real big issue. E.g. Canare 4S11 is rated 0.9 ohm per 100m & Belden 1860 is rated 1.6 ohm per 1000 ft.
Coupled with feature like quad star geometry (4S11), noise rejection from interference is pretty high too.
Phil
Hard to tell because we will need to know e characteristic of your speaker first. Remember, cable is to compliment e speaker NOT to alter its overall characteristic. Mission r bright by nature, so we can only use speaker cable to minimise e brightness.. not to alter it to warm or etc.
In addition, e equipments like amp/CD will have a much profile impact on e overall sound then accessories like speaker cable & etc.
Why I'm providing this service is because most mid/high end MM speakers can perform much better if not for those lousy stock cables which sucks big time. I'm not trying to convert them into a pair of Sonus Faber or Dynaudio so as to speak.
Phil
Are you able to do me a pair of speaker cables, need bout 3 meters in length, and a pair of interconnects and a power cable
My Setup:
Arcam Alpha 8 Int Amp, Arcam Alpha 7 CDP, B&W DM601
Now using some moulded speaker cables (unknown brand)
Normal power cable
Canare L2T-25 cable and Nakamichi(dunno real or not) RCA heads (This one my fren soldered for me, but somehow Im not too happy with the sound.
Budget, abt than $200 can do?
bencheongcm
20-05-2005, 10:09 AM
phil juz wonder when can you do the next job ? :D
Deavenger
20-05-2005, 10:23 AM
Try these steps..
Phil
wah .. at least now you give me detailed advice..ok ok .. i will go try.. ..
I will like to ask you about my living room surround system too..
i wan good sounds but changing wires is out cos i already concealed the wire in my wall , false ceiling etc..
i am using a pioneer home entertainment system (can't remember the model but it is the one that has a seperate amp and player).. the problem is my satelite speakers are on the wall close to ceiling..
so i find the base rather hard to control.. sigh i really dun know how to explain..need to learn more then can ask you.
i am a sucker for good sound but a real noob at it man..
Deavenger
20-05-2005, 10:25 AM
Try these steps..
Phil
I think i can rule out step 4.. cos the speaker hissing comes from almost all the speakers..the creative guys told me when you on your comp and if your comp volume is full, it will be like that. however the strange thing is that when my comp is off also got hissing...
so dun think it is pc problem also...unless you tell me that when pc is on .. there is transmission to the speakers too..
rayeonsg
20-05-2005, 10:47 AM
Phil
My set is more than 10 years old. Normally alternate between my old Cyrus2(Mission) & Beard Amp to drive a speaker pair of Cyrus 780 & Rogers Studio 3 using Quad FM1 tuner & Denon TU260L tuner/Pioneer PD-801 CD player. Sound are compensated with VDH cables & audioquest interconnects, more balance, less forward & punchy, more relax pace.
Is your Canre able to replace my VDH single wire c/w banana plugs, as I want to bi-wire.
My Beard/Cyrus(Mission)/Quad made in England, Denon/Pioneer from Belgium.
And or course price is a concern. Cheers!!
Philip
20-05-2005, 11:21 AM
Magz1986, livewarez & bencheongcm. Check PM..
Phil
livewarez
20-05-2005, 12:05 PM
Phil, replied you. Thanks
Philip
20-05-2005, 12:42 PM
Are you able to do me a pair of speaker cables, need bout 3 meters in length, and a pair of interconnects and a power cable
My Setup:
Arcam Alpha 8 Int Amp, Arcam Alpha 7 CDP, B&W DM601
Now using some moulded speaker cables (unknown brand)
Normal power cable
Canare L2T-25 cable and Nakamichi(dunno real or not) RCA heads (This one my fren soldered for me, but somehow Im not too happy with the sound.
Budget, abt than $200 can do?
Is your B&W bi-wireable? If so.. you can benefit by using bi-wires.. This enable you to bypass the crossover in your speakers which spilt e audio signal to your tweeker & mid/low driver(s). You can try Canare 4S11. Check out my earlier comments on its characteristic.
You can also try shielded powercord for better noise reduction.
I can't find L2T-25 but there is a L2T-2S. This is a twisted pair with shield. Its a notch better than stock cables if your friend knows how to make full use of e shield. You can try coax which gives better noise reduction like e Belden 89259. I have a pair & feel its handle e low pretty well & sounds clean. However I have since replace them with Nordost Blue Heavens which I feel is "faster".
Nevertheless, I would like to qualify here. If u r using stock cables & wires then e tendency of getting improvement is very high. But if u r already on after market product like QED, Monster (Yuck), Cable Talk & etc. The mileage will different. I would say it will sound different instead of obvious improvement. But good thing about this is the cable I'm offering is cheaper than most brand name so its worth a try.
Phil
Philip
20-05-2005, 12:45 PM
I think i can rule out step 4.. cos the speaker hissing comes from almost all the speakers..the creative guys told me when you on your comp and if your comp volume is full, it will be like that. however the strange thing is that when my comp is off also got hissing...
so dun think it is pc problem also...unless you tell me that when pc is on .. there is transmission to the speakers too..
It sounds like your speaker problem.. does it hiss at low level too? E.g. e stock volume when u off & on e speakers. If so.. then something is wrong, else I won't give much of a thought if the prob occurs only near max.
Carry your sub to e hall or kitchen & hook up e front only. Power it up & see whether e prob still occurs.
As for your Pioneer setup.. Errr. sad to say I would consider Pioneer as capable compared to others like Marantz, Denon, Yamaha, Rotel & etc. Unless you are using their top range model. Drop by extremeplace & do your homework. 1st bottleneck is your equipment, 2nd bottleneck is your speaker placement. Ceiling is too high on e 1st place.
Phil
Philip
20-05-2005, 12:56 PM
My set is more than 10 years old. Normally alternate between my old Cyrus2(Mission) & Beard Amp to drive a speaker pair of Cyrus 780 & Rogers Studio 3 using Quad FM1 tuner & Denon TU260L tuner/Pioneer PD-801 CD player. Sound are compensated with VDH cables & audioquest interconnects, more balance, less forward & punchy, more relax pace.
Is your Canre able to replace my VDH single wire c/w banana plugs, as I want to bi-wire.
My Beard/Cyrus(Mission)/Quad made in England, Denon/Pioneer from Belgium.
And or course price is a concern. Cheers!!
No problem on that.. I can make a set of biwire Canare 4S11 terminated with Deltron banana plugs (See above on e Cable Talk project). PM me with e length u need & I will give u a quotation.
But hor.. as I mention earlier.. I can't gurantee improvement since u r already on branded cables.
Phil
s1eck
20-05-2005, 08:17 PM
Phil,will you able to procure 5m of 4s11 "G" version ( OFC )?
ragnarok95
20-05-2005, 08:27 PM
Just get my 4S11 fr phil.....
Replace my stock cables, took me quite a while before i can hear the diff....haha...after that its a uphill ride ;)
Tested it with "Duel" and "Kismat" by Bond, Bomfunk mc - Freestyler, "neverland" by F.I.R....all sound so so so sweet...with a bit of punch that my stock cables is missing....i like that punch :D
Somehow, my bass improve, so actually need to lower the bass a bit....hahah
Overall, im damn impress by this 4S11....Thank phil ;)
*PS- Im beginning to hate this 4S11....its just so sweet for me to handle :eek:
Philip
20-05-2005, 08:35 PM
Just get my 4S11 fr phil.....
Replace my stock cables, took me quite a while before i can hear the diff....haha...after that its a uphill ride ;)
Tested it with "Duel" and "Kismat" by Bond, Bomfunk mc - Freestyler, "neverland" by F.I.R....all sound so so so sweet...with a bit of punch that my stock cables is missing....i like that punch :D
Somehow, my bass improve, so actually need to lower the bass a bit....hahah
Overall, im damn impress by this 4S11....Thank phil ;)
*PS- Im beginning to hate this 4S11....its just so sweet for me to handle :eek:
Glad u like it...
It will get even sweeter as time goes by but I think I have to charge more for 4S11.. take me hell a lot more time, effort & material to make your pair. But its fun!!
Phil
ragnarok95
20-05-2005, 08:38 PM
Becos of its thickness? :)
Philip
20-05-2005, 08:43 PM
Phil,will you able to procure 5m of 4s11 "G" version ( OFC )?
G!!! Where u get to hear about 4S11 G??
Canare website never say got G leh..
http://www.canare.com/index.cfm?objectid=ED7479EC-3048-7098-AF06286428706042
Phil
Philip
20-05-2005, 08:46 PM
Thats right.. its thick & I need to deal with 4 cores instead of 2.
4S11 is unique in e sense that it got special geometry PLUS you are actually using 2 cores per channel so its 2 x AWG14.. that my man is super thick!
On top of that e F10 plugs are also high quality stuff made from Nickel & Gold plated for optimum contact.
Last but not least.. my soldering skills lar!!
Phil
windwaver
20-05-2005, 08:46 PM
Depends on your length. Normal HDB flats 16 gauge can liao.
s1eck
20-05-2005, 08:48 PM
G!!! Where u get to hear about 4S11 G??
Canare website never say got G leh..
http://www.canare.com/index.cfm?objectid=ED7479EC-3048-7098-AF06286428706042
Phil
here you go:
http://www.canare.com.hk/speaker_cables.htm
Philip
20-05-2005, 08:53 PM
here you go:
http://www.canare.com.hk/speaker_cables.htm
I see.. my reference is their global website. Need to ask my supplier if they bring in e G version.
However, might not be necessary depends on e construction. OFC is used to prevent oxidation of e copper. But if the copper is safely concealed in its insulation jacket & solder, it will not be exposed to oxygen anyway.
Phil
s1eck
20-05-2005, 08:57 PM
I see.. my reference is their global website. Need to ask my supplier if they bring in e G version.
Phil
ok thks.appreciated.
bencheongcm
20-05-2005, 08:58 PM
Magz1986, livewarez & bencheongcm. Check PM..
Phil
sorry phil the lastest I will deposit is tommorw... hope it wun cost you any problem...
However, might not be necessary depends on e construction. OFC is used to prevent oxidation of e copper. But if the copper is safely concealed in its insulation jacket & solder, it will not be exposed to oxygen anyway.
Phil
Besides preventing oxidation, OFC also means that the Metal Latice of the copper is of more oderly manner where the fuse oxygen does not affects the flow of electorn, and thus the electrons can move more smoothly.
But so far the improvement is only seen with high grade calibrating machines, whether it can be heard is subjective.
Philip
20-05-2005, 09:02 PM
sorry phil the lastest I will deposit is tommorw... hope it wun cost you any problem...
DUH! By tomorrow 12pm can?
Phil
Philip
20-05-2005, 09:04 PM
Besides preventing oxidation, OFC also means that the Metal Latice of the copper is of more oderly manner where the fuse oxygen does not affects the flow of electorn, and thus the electrons can move more smoothly.
But so far the improvement is only seen with high grade calibrating machines, whether it can be heard is subjective.
Hehehe.. thats e science behind it... BUT e most obvious diff is e oxidation. Beside, good cables does not necesssarily employ OFC material.
Phil
Philip
20-05-2005, 09:06 PM
hehe look like u haf more n more supporter for ur workmanship
Got any new revelation with your 1860A bor?
Phil
Philip
20-05-2005, 09:28 PM
hmm duno le i noob in this kind of stuff on speaker got nice sound come out i can sit back n relax liao haha...btw got any kind of recommendation of those jazzy or bassy or other kind of music to fully blast out the power of these speakers
If u wan bass.. try this
http://www.blueman.com/
Their drum is oversized!! Perfect for bass head!
DRUMS
Blue Man's drums span from 6 inches to 6 feet in diameter. In many cases, Blue Man Group tune their drums to exact notes so that the percussion can follow the chord progression of the songs.
DRUM WALL
The Drum Wall is a two-story structure with seven percussion stations. The Drum Wall is a permanent fixture of Blue Man Group-Live at Luxor and has been seen on a 1999 appearance of "The Tonight Show with Jay Leno."
Be warned.. its going to kill your sub if you r not careful!!
Phil
bencheongcm
20-05-2005, 10:03 PM
DUH! By tomorrow 12pm can?
Phil
really sorry coz I need a fren to help me do it :o
Philip
20-05-2005, 10:08 PM
really sorry coz I need a fren to help me do it :o
Ok I will trust u & go ahead. But do remember to transfer e amount over tomorrow.
Phil
Fedorov
20-05-2005, 10:16 PM
Hey Phil, i feel like getting the canare cables also. will it be able to produce clearer sounds thru the horn tweeter? koz me slack floorstanding Kenwood speaker's horn tweeters are suffering fm clarity...ive tried changing to QED Silver annivasary, the sound is brighter, but still slightly muffled, even with the grills taken off.
i dun think i wanna change me av receiver (kenwood also, model is 8882D if ure interested LOL) and at most i may change me speakers...but right now i wanna ensure that i can go thru the cheapest channel...
i usually play smooth jazz and the occasional power metal cd on it. sometimes will play my vinyls as well...(will replace that lousy onkyo soon....grrrr)
edit: or do u think the source is the issue? ie the player i use (kenwood also.... :s13: )
bencheongcm
20-05-2005, 10:19 PM
Ok I will trust u & go ahead. But do remember to transfer e amount over tomorrow.
Phil
check PM :D
thanks
Philip
20-05-2005, 10:30 PM
check PM :D
thanks
Got it!! :)
Phil
Philip
20-05-2005, 10:34 PM
Hey Phil, i feel like getting the canare cables also. will it be able to produce clearer sounds thru the horn tweeter? koz me slack floorstanding Kenwood speaker's horn tweeters are suffering fm clarity...ive tried changing to QED Silver annivasary, the sound is brighter, but still slightly muffled, even with the grills taken off.
i dun think i wanna change me av receiver (kenwood also, model is 8882D if ure interested LOL) and at most i may change me speakers...but right now i wanna ensure that i can go thru the cheapest channel...
i usually play smooth jazz and the occasional power metal cd on it. sometimes will play my vinyls as well...(will replace that lousy onkyo soon....grrrr)
edit: or do u think the source is the issue? ie the player i use (kenwood also.... :s13: )
No guarantee dude.. but its worth a try since its pretty afforable. However 4S11 are biwires.. are your speaker biwireable? If just want bare wires, can drop by LHS @ SLT & buy them. Canare 4S11. $5/m.
But if u want termination, I can help you on that but I will need to charge u.
Phil
bencheongcm
20-05-2005, 10:45 PM
Got it!! :)
Phil
look forward to it :D
Fedorov
20-05-2005, 10:49 PM
No guarantee dude.. but its worth a try since its pretty afforable. However 4S11 are biwires.. are your speaker biwireable? If just want bare wires, can drop by LHS @ SLT & buy them. Canare 4S11. $5/m.
But if u want termination, I can help you on that but I will need to charge u.
Phil
Hey man thnx for the reply. no my speakers are not bi-wireable...its a kenwood hahaha! so i can get the Canare 4S11 at LHS (acronym for?) aye? cool cool. also wanna check wat kind of terminating plugs u got? heard u use silver solder?
how much isit to terminate 8?
hmm duno le i noob in this kind of stuff on speaker got nice sound come out i can sit back n relax liao haha...btw got any kind of recommendation of those jazzy or bassy or other kind of music to fully blast out the power of these speakers
I always use Zhang Hui Mei's Ting Hai as reference.
Is your B&W bi-wireable? If so.. you can benefit by using bi-wires.. This enable you to bypass the crossover in your speakers which spilt e audio signal to your tweeker & mid/low driver(s). You can try Canare 4S11. Check out my earlier comments on its characteristic.
--> The speakers are bi-wired, but the amp is not...so, I get 4 banana plugs on 1 side and 2 on the other side, wonder if it will defeat the purpose.
Also my speakers have the option of using spade instead of banana plug, would it make a diff?
You can also try shielded powercord for better noise reduction.
Any recommendation, the branded ones are way way out of my budget (Probably there are better ways of spending my money rather than a $400 power cable)
I can't find L2T-25 but there is a L2T-2S.
Sorry, it's a L2T-2S
This is a twisted pair with shield. Its a notch better than stock cables if your friend knows how to make full use of e shield.
What u mean by make full use? How?
You can try coax which gives better noise reduction like e Belden 89259. I have a pair & feel its handle e low pretty well & sounds clean. However I have since replace them with Nordost Blue Heavens which I feel is "faster".
How much are they per metre?
Nevertheless, I would like to qualify here. If u r using stock cables & wires then e tendency of getting improvement is very high. But if u r already on after market product like QED, Monster (Yuck), Cable Talk & etc. The mileage will different. I would say it will sound different instead of obvious improvement. But good thing about this is the cable I'm offering is cheaper than most brand name so its worth a try.
I seen a Silver cable going for $6.5 a metre, what do you think? I like clean dry sound, but Im afraid it will kill the bass...
Also looking at the cable, it is so much thinner than my fren's Silver Audio cable.
Of coz, I would need your service in soldering, I made a mess the last time I tried, end up asking my fren to do for me.
How much would you think this whole cable upgrade thingy would cost?
Phil[/QUOTE]
rayeonsg
21-05-2005, 12:54 AM
No problem on that.. I can make a set of biwire Canare 4S11 terminated with Deltron banana plugs (See above on e Cable Talk project). PM me with e length u need & I will give u a quotation.
But hor.. as I mention earlier.. I can't gurantee improvement since u r already on branded cables.
Phil
Ok understand, 3 metres each side bi-wired to my speakers, Amp side, single banana plugs will do.
BTW, what made is your speakers being drive on? Just curious. Cheers! :)
Philip
21-05-2005, 08:16 AM
Hey man thnx for the reply. no my speakers are not bi-wireable...its a kenwood hahaha! so i can get the Canare 4S11 at LHS (acronym for?) aye? cool cool. also wanna check wat kind of terminating plugs u got? heard u use silver solder?
how much isit to terminate 8?
I recommend banana plugs over spade. Spade can get losen over time.. banana is firm.
I use these gold plated banana plugs. Mine which is 3 years old are as good as new.
I don't use silver solder for MM projects.. not cost efficient.. unless u want to pay extra lar.. a small roll cost a bomb man. Mine imported from states.
Phil
Philip
21-05-2005, 08:23 AM
--> The speakers are bi-wired, but the amp is not...so, I get 4 banana plugs on 1 side and 2 on the other side, wonder if it will defeat the purpose.
Also my speakers have the option of using spade instead of banana plug, would it make a diff?
Any recommendation, the branded ones are way way out of my budget (Probably there are better ways of spending my money rather than a $400 power cable)
What u mean by make full use? How?
How much are they per metre?
I seen a Silver cable going for $6.5 a metre, what do you think? I like clean dry sound, but Im afraid it will kill the bass...
Also looking at the cable, it is so much thinner than my fren's Silver Audio cable.
Of coz, I would need your service in soldering, I made a mess the last time I tried, end up asking my fren to do for me.
How much would you think this whole cable upgrade thingy would cost?
Ayo.. u didn't read e thread lar.. Biwire advantage is u can bypass e speaker crossover circuit. So your tweeter & mid/low are totally separated.
Belden shielded powercord. Its thick & good. I'm using it on my HT.
Sorry trade secret! :s13: 98259 is going at $9/m
Silver cables generally are bright. It all depends on your taste. If u want clean some.. all my recommendation will do. Don't quite understand your definition of dry though.
Thickness is not e main factor in a good cable! Material, geometry, construction & etc counts too.
Check PM.
Phil
Philip
21-05-2005, 08:32 AM
Ok understand, 3 metres each side bi-wired to my speakers, Amp side, single banana plugs will do.
BTW, what made is your speakers being drive on? Just curious. Cheers! :)
Check PM.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v97/tmwong/screen.jpg
I use full set of Mission 77 speakers.
Using;
Ecosse CS4.4 biwire (Front)
Ecosse CS2.15 (Center)
Belden 1810A (Rear)
The Ecosse cost me around $400 but that was before I get to know about Belden or Canare. Would have got them instead.. then will spend last than $100. ^#*#(@*#*@#
Phil
hi philip,
did u recieve my pm?
Philip
21-05-2005, 08:47 AM
hi philip,
did u recieve my pm?
Oh yes.. sorry.. that 1 I need to source for e rigth angle mini plug. Will let u know again.
Phil
Philip
21-05-2005, 05:08 PM
oh.. ok. thx!
Sorry dude.. my suppliers & SLT don't carry right angle mini plugs.
Phil
Philip
21-05-2005, 05:09 PM
ok thks.appreciated.
4S11 G might be coming in July.
Phil
Fedorov
21-05-2005, 06:54 PM
I recommend banana plugs over spade. Spade can get losen over time.. banana is firm.
I use these gold plated banana plugs. Mine which is 3 years old are as good as new.
I don't use silver solder for MM projects.. not cost efficient.. unless u want to pay extra lar.. a small roll cost a bomb man. Mine imported from states.
Phil
aiya my wan not mm speakers la....is for my home theater system...juz trying to revive the sound of my kenwood system...i dun think my receiver sux that much...i juz wanna try get to the root of the muffled tweeters problem. very sian everytime play on the system i know i missing out on the clarity...i juz hope its not the characteristic of the speaker...otherwise really consider changing liaoz.
that whole system last time cost over 5K, and it cants beat a 3K system which consists of a pioneer receiver and B&W 600 series....
s1eck
21-05-2005, 09:32 PM
4S11 G might be coming in July.
Phil
can quote a figure per meter?
Philip
22-05-2005, 12:26 AM
can quote a figure per meter?
Can't disclose right now because it depends on e stock availability & latest pricing when it arrival Singapore.. thats if it made it on e 1st place.
Phil
Philip
22-05-2005, 12:29 AM
aiya my wan not mm speakers la....is for my home theater system...juz trying to revive the sound of my kenwood system...i dun think my receiver sux that much...i juz wanna try get to the root of the muffled tweeters problem. very sian everytime play on the system i know i missing out on the clarity...i juz hope its not the characteristic of the speaker...otherwise really consider changing liaoz.
that whole system last time cost over 5K, and it cants beat a 3K system which consists of a pioneer receiver and B&W 600 series....
U can try e 4S11 lor.. no guarantee.. because I got a bad feeling its your Kenwood amp & speakers.
Errr.. pioneer is also not my cup of tea. B&W is a good start.
Let me know if u want to give it a shot.
Phil
Philip
22-05-2005, 12:02 PM
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v97/tmwong/miniplug.jpg
New product!! =:p 2 ways Mini-plug interconnect for PC to speaker.
Initial impression. Improvement in low end extension. The bass just got a good boast! :D
Phil
adrianng
22-05-2005, 03:51 PM
hey...
wat do u recommend for interconnect from PC to my ageo that uses mini plug to RCA??
And will there be improvement??
Thks
Last time heard from a SLS uncle, sometimes cable too short is no good also, he was saying something like the sound too fast, no rollback, making the sound restrained......
At that time I understood what he meant, but dunno how to explain
Philip
23-05-2005, 01:10 AM
hey...
wat do u recommend for interconnect from PC to my ageo that uses mini plug to RCA??
And will there be improvement??
Thks
That is a challenge to make. Could try using 1800F.
Phil
Philip
23-05-2005, 01:17 AM
Last time heard from a SLS uncle, sometimes cable too short is no good also, he was saying something like the sound too fast, no rollback, making the sound restrained......
At that time I understood what he meant, but dunno how to explain
Err.. never heard of such theory.. theres no way e sound or electrical signal can rollback or feedback to e source.
Phil
ragnarok95
23-05-2005, 01:18 AM
phil check pm again, thanks!
Philip
23-05-2005, 01:27 AM
phil check pm again, thanks!
Replied.
Phil
adrianng
23-05-2005, 02:13 AM
That is a challenge to make. Could try using 1800F.
Phil
u think can i hear the different??
i already upgraded the cable liao... dunno wanna spend any more on a $300 speaker...
the 1800F is a 110 ohms instead of the usual 75.. izzit ok??
last question.. wat is digital cable n a normal cable??
Thks
Philip
23-05-2005, 02:22 AM
u think can i hear the different??
i already upgraded the cable liao... dunno wanna spend any more on a $300 speaker...
the 1800F is a 110 ohms instead of the usual 75.. izzit ok??
last question.. wat is digital cable n a normal cable??
Thks
I can't guarantee.. some people can't differentiate between a mini-compo & high end tube setup. U said leh?
What did u upgrade? If u r using stock.. tendency of hearing a diff will be higher..
75ohm is rated for digital coax & other application. 110ohm is also for digital transmission.
For analog.. there is not such thing as 75ohm or 110ohm.. doesn't matter.
1 is for digital transmission.. e other for analog lor.
I might source for a good 4 core cable for miniplug-to-2 way RCA. 1900F only got 3 cores.
Phil
Slayer1
23-05-2005, 11:01 AM
Hi Phil, sent u a pm :)
Anyway would you be able to construct a customized E-MU 0404 9-PIN to 0.25m Female RCA IN with 0.25m 3.5mm Female Stereo Output. Its to connect my Klipsch ProMedia 2.1 to my E-MU 0404 soundcard. Something like the below photo :
http://www.cp3paintball.com/fidaudio/images/0404ad2.jpg
The pinout of the D9 header as below :
http://www.fiberpi.com/connectordiagram.jpg
Please let me know. Appreciate it.
S1
Philip
23-05-2005, 06:19 PM
Hi Phil, sent u a pm :)
Anyway would you be able to construct a customized E-MU 0404 9-PIN to 0.25m Female RCA IN with 0.25m 3.5mm Female Stereo Output. Its to connect my Klipsch ProMedia 2.1 to my E-MU 0404 soundcard. Something like the below photo :
http://www.cp3paintball.com/fidaudio/images/0404ad2.jpg
The pinout of the D9 header as below :
http://www.fiberpi.com/connectordiagram.jpg
Please let me know. Appreciate it.
S1
Don't quite understand...
R u saying a stereo miniplug (male) for stereo out & 2 x RCA (female) for stereo in.
Phil
adrianng
23-05-2005, 08:46 PM
I can't guarantee.. some people can't differentiate between a mini-compo & high end tube setup. U said leh?
What did u upgrade? If u r using stock.. tendency of hearing a diff will be higher..
75ohm is rated for digital coax & other application. 110ohm is also for digital transmission.
For analog.. there is not such thing as 75ohm or 110ohm.. doesn't matter.
1 is for digital transmission.. e other for analog lor.
I might source for a good 4 core cable for miniplug-to-2 way RCA. 1900F only got 3 cores.
Phil
i onli upgraded the speaker to chord carnival silver plus.... then the interconnect i just use the cheap Daiyo OFC cable...
Btw the one u recommend is roughly how much??
Philip
23-05-2005, 08:56 PM
i onli upgraded the speaker to chord carnival silver plus.... then the interconnect i just use the cheap Daiyo OFC cable...
Btw the one u recommend is roughly how much??
$14 for 1 meter set inclusive of termination but thats exclude labour
Phil
Philip
24-05-2005, 10:31 AM
2nd round of orders completed. Pls PM me for collection details.
Phil
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v97/tmwong/miniplug.jpg
New product!! =:p 2 ways Mini-plug interconnect for PC to speaker.
Initial impression. Improvement in low end extension. The bass just got a good boast! :D
Phil
philip, i would like this 2 way mini interconnect. pls check your pm. thx!
Philip
24-05-2005, 11:48 AM
philip, i would like this 2 way mini interconnect. pls check your pm. thx!
Replied.
Phil
adrianng
25-05-2005, 04:09 PM
hey Philip...
i really dun understand wat is digital cable... in wat case we use digital one??
i really dunno wat to go wif...
pls advise...
thks
Philip
25-05-2005, 04:21 PM
hey Philip...
i really dun understand wat is digital cable... in wat case we use digital one??
i really dunno wat to go wif...
pls advise...
thks
Digital cable is for SPDIF IN & OUT which uses either RCA or toslink connectors.
U don't need digital cable unless ya speaker can take digital in.
Phil
Webbyboy
25-05-2005, 04:26 PM
Hi Philip, so what wires are good for MW550? :D
ragnarok95
25-05-2005, 04:32 PM
U might want to try out 4S11? :D
adrianng
25-05-2005, 04:33 PM
Digital cable is for SPDIF IN & OUT which uses either RCA or toslink connectors.
U don't need digital cable unless ya speaker can take digital in.
Phil
ok understood thks...
so other then the 1800F, still got which model u think is suitable for me?
i have read from other forum... saying they using Canare RCA connector... is $7... izzit necessary?? (from LHS)
Philip
25-05-2005, 04:33 PM
Hi Philip, so what wires are good for MW550? :D
Belden 1860A... already 1 happy MW550 user.. today another 2 more will have a chance to try out this cable on their GMX2.1 & GW750.
Phil
Philip
25-05-2005, 04:35 PM
ok understood thks...
so other then the 1800F, still got which model u think is suitable for me?
i have read from other forum... saying they using Canare RCA connector... is $7... izzit necessary?? (from LHS)
1800F is a proven solution. Go internet & do a search on it. There are other solutions too but won't be cheap.
Thats e 75ohm crimp plug. Its best for digital interconnect but can use for analog too.. if u dun mind e price that is.
Phil
Philip
25-05-2005, 10:15 PM
livewarez & Magz1986, any feedback on e cables??
Phil
livewarez
26-05-2005, 12:07 AM
Can only post feedback tomorrow. Can't wait to try it. :)
Magz1986
26-05-2005, 12:09 AM
I would say the most significant difference so far is the bass.
Still listening, hoping to have better results. :D
Btw, Phil.. The bare end of the wire abit too thick ah, cant go into the subwoofer.. Have to force it in... Overall, I would say. Damn good workmanship.
Cheers :)
Philip
26-05-2005, 12:22 AM
I would say the most significant difference so far is the bass.
Still listening, hoping to have better results. :D
Btw, Phil.. The bare end of the wire abit too thick ah, cant go into the subwoofer.. Have to force it in... Overall, I would say. Damn good workmanship.
Cheers :)
Give it some time to run-in. Will sound better as time goes by.
U are getting double bass boast! From 1800F & 1860A. Both improve bass performance. Your high end & clarity should have improve too. Play some instrumental music to test it out.
Another possibility is e bass is too strong & overshadow your vocal & high end, lower ya bass gain.. don't use e original bass setting anymore.
Err? Wait till u c e 4S11.. that 1 even thicker! :P So far no complain from e MW series guys.. maybe GMX hole a bit small.. hahaha..
Thanks for e compliment!
Phil
Philip
26-05-2005, 12:23 AM
Can only post feedback tomorrow. Can't wait to try it. :)
Yes pls.. Do keep us updated.
Phil
Magz1986
26-05-2005, 12:32 AM
Give it some time to run-in. Will sound better as time goes by.
U are getting double bass boast! From 1800F & 1860A. Both improve bass performance. Your high end & clarity should have improve too. Play some instrumental music to test it out.
Another possibility is e bass is too strong & overshadow your vocal & high end, lower ya bass gain.. don't use e original bass setting anymore.
Err? Wait till u c e 4S11.. that 1 even thicker! :P So far no complain from e MW series guys.. maybe GMX hole a bit small.. hahaha..
Thanks for e compliment!
Phil
Yeah, i agree. GMX hole damn small.
Will let it run and post my feedback again. :D
My bass setting is at the very minimum, but i can still feel the punch of it. :s13:
Philip
26-05-2005, 12:35 AM
Yeah, i agree. GMX hole damn small.
Will let it run and post my feedback again. :D
My bass setting is at the very minimum, but i can still feel the punch of it. :s13:
I see... wah kao.. super bass liao... hahaha... if u don't like strong bass.. move your sub further away from e wall..
Phil
Magz1986
26-05-2005, 12:40 AM
I see... wah kao.. super bass liao... hahaha... if u don't like strong bass.. move your sub further away from e wall..
Phil
Nah, suits me best. I'm a bass man.
Philip
26-05-2005, 12:50 AM
Nah, suits me best. I'm a bass man.
Good for u!! :s13:
This combo should be great for Rock, Techno, Pop & etc.
Phil
RadEoNic
26-05-2005, 12:51 AM
hey philip, i'm using the stock fps 1800 cables
u think it's a good idea to get better cables?
Philip
26-05-2005, 12:53 AM
hey philip, i'm using the stock fps 1800 cables
u think it's a good idea to get better cables?
Stock? I got FPS2000 before.. are u referring to those black super thin speaker cable?? If so.. yes!! DITCH IT!!
Phil
RadEoNic
26-05-2005, 12:55 AM
Stock? I got FPS2000 before.. are u referring to those black super thin speaker cable?? If so.. yes!! DITCH IT!!
Phil
wah
reply so fast sia
cypm in a minute
Philip
26-05-2005, 12:59 AM
wah
reply so fast sia
cypm in a minute
Still hanging around mah...
Phil
Phil
The one that comes with the FPS2000 is extremely thin, even thinner(or maybe same size) than my casing fans.
Confirm must change!
Any simple high guage cable will do, preferable OFC.
I change those to some Japanese OEM brand, OFC and the quality improved quite a bit. :D
Can also try to take out the heatsink, clean away the small and crappy thermal goo(looks like white silicon based), and apply artic silver. :D
RadEoNic
26-05-2005, 01:07 AM
wah biang, even sub also put artic silver
expensive leh
so phil, my request do-able?
Philip
26-05-2005, 01:12 AM
wah biang, even sub also put artic silver
expensive leh
so phil, my request do-able?
Of course.. check PM Pls. =:p
Phil
RadEoNic
26-05-2005, 01:14 AM
replied u already
hope u dun find me too n00bish for ur liking
Philip
26-05-2005, 09:11 AM
replied u already
hope u dun find me too n00bish for ur liking
Na.. don't worry I'm a noob once.. thats why I do entertain most queries because its good to share regardless of whether u r employing my service.
Phil
Philip
27-05-2005, 11:42 PM
BengChong & Livewire.. report time! =:p
Phil
TopGun
28-05-2005, 12:32 AM
Just some info,
my setup
MW550
Prodigy LT for music, Soundstorm to ddts for dvd and all other purposes.
Belden 1860A, canare F-10 connectors.
Prodigy LT connect to MW550 via analog. Cheapo stereo cable used. (maybe time to change)
Soundstorm to ddts via custom made optical cable. ddts to mw550 via cable provided by ddts.
Verdict. Improve clarity, bass.
Your mps will sound 'lousy'.. be warned! :P
livewarez
28-05-2005, 01:23 AM
BengChong & Livewire.. report time! =:p
Phil
Here's my report. :)
Using Gigaworks with 3 x 1860A for the front speakers with ...... forgot what's the connector name. Anyway, all tests was only on the front speakers with the rest of the speakers muted.
Tried some musics CDs, concert DVDs and movies. Would say that sound of the instruments have improved on clarity, clean and crisp. Bass was "cleaner" (dunno if that is a better word to describe) too...
Cables done were very pro, very good workmanship.
Verdict..
Upgrade and ditch the stock cables to maximise the performance of your speakers.
Hairyworm
28-05-2005, 03:32 AM
Using Klipsch GMX 2.1. I only changed the cable of control pod to the PC. I can hear tt the hissing sound did decrease a lot. Nx is changing the stock red and black cables. Any suggestions?
Fiend
28-05-2005, 07:02 AM
how about doing service to change out the caps and resistors in the inbuilt amp... heh
Philip
28-05-2005, 08:41 AM
Here's my report. :)
Using Gigaworks with 3 x 1860A for the front speakers with ...... forgot what's the connector name. Anyway, all tests was only on the front speakers with the rest of the speakers muted.
Tried some musics CDs, concert DVDs and movies. Would say that sound of the instruments have improved on clarity, clean and crisp. Bass was "cleaner" (dunno if that is a better word to describe) too...
Cables done were very pro, very good workmanship.
Verdict..
Upgrade and ditch the stock cables to maximise the performance of your speakers.
Great.. another believer in "ditch e stock" :s13:
Anyway.. give it some more time to run-in.. will sound better..
Phil
Philip
28-05-2005, 08:44 AM
Using Klipsch GMX 2.1. I only changed the cable of control pod to the PC. I can hear tt the hissing sound did decrease a lot. Nx is changing the stock red and black cables. Any suggestions?
Ask Magz1986 lor.. he upgraded his GMX2.1 speaker cables & interconnect.
Phil
Philip
28-05-2005, 08:46 AM
how about doing service to change out the caps and resistors in the inbuilt amp... heh
Upgraded parts will be caps, ADC, DAC, clock, opamp, transformer & etc etc. But that 1 cost a bomb. Not cost efficient for MM/PC speakers.
Phil
Philip
28-05-2005, 08:52 AM
Bengchong enjoy his new cables until MIA liao! ahahaha... :s13:
Alo?? U there??
Phil
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.