View Full Version : Aston Villa Forum
skweam
26-06-2005, 11:24 PM
CALLING all VILLA fans.!:)
http://img344.imageshack.us/img344/3019/villa9vx.jpg (http://img344.imageshack.us/my.php?image=villa9vx.jpg)
ahyip999
27-06-2005, 09:40 PM
CALLING all VILLA fans.!:)
Looks like there's no Villa Fans here :s13:
fumofumo
28-06-2005, 12:19 AM
i've got a feeling that there might be more Blackburn fans (still-staying-loyal from the 94/95 glory days) than villians :P
at least u r a loyal villa fan... there's too many fair-weather fans out there (full of Reds and Blues). well... u r the only 2nd villa fan i've met so far.
skweam
28-06-2005, 12:50 AM
i've got a feeling that there might be more Blackburn fans (still-staying-loyal from the 94/95 glory days) than villians :P
at least u r a loyal villa fan... there's too many fair-weather fans out there (full of Reds and Blues). well... u r the only 2nd villa fan i've met so far.
haha hus the other one? im a vill fan since im in primary 3 in 1997.been to the ground .FANTASTIC.
CALLING ALL VILLA FANS!!
skweam
28-06-2005, 05:34 PM
CALLING VILLAINS!!
fumofumo
28-06-2005, 06:40 PM
haha hus the other one? im a vill fan since im in primary 3 in 1997.been to the ground .FANTASTIC.
CALLING ALL VILLA FANS!!
my fren was a section-mate from BMT (3 yr ago) ... but lost contact liao. can't help u. :P
skweam
29-06-2005, 12:40 AM
LOLOLOLOL ok then fumo fumo
zencro
29-06-2005, 06:01 PM
Well, here's a Villa fan! :s12:
skweam
29-06-2005, 07:53 PM
u sure ure one?! YAY.come on.check their history and current club. a very UNDERDOG team.
nearly got to the europe 2 season ago.last season did no better than 2 seasons ago coz of players injury.
United_Treble
29-06-2005, 08:03 PM
im a devoted villian, anything can i help? ANGELS RULES
fumofumo
29-06-2005, 09:05 PM
stop being a lamer. (that's y i hate quite a number of the so-called "big clubs' fans" who r so arrogant)
It's super obvious u r a ManU fan.
Pls respect each other's clubs. No need to be sacastic abt clubs with a much smaller fanbase.
pringles321
29-06-2005, 09:28 PM
something for the villa fans....
http://www.4thegame.com/club/avfc/news/173386/phillips_agrees_villa_switch.html?cC=1
Phillips agrees Villa switch
Wednesday 29 Jun 2005
Southampton striker Kevin Phillips will become Aston Villa's fourth summer signing providing he passes a medical.
The ex-England international was given permission to discuss terms with Villa after the clubs agreed a £750,000 fee for the transfer and should put pen to paper on a two-year contract in the near future.
Kevin Phillips Southampton 2004/05 profile size
KEVIN PHILLIPS
Villa had a bid for Phillips rejected during the January transfer window but the 31-year-old has been allowed to move on following Saints' relegation from the Premiership.
Phillips established a reputation as one of the most dangerous forwards in England by scoring 115 times in 209 league games during his six-year spell with Sunderland.
The Black Cats' relegation in 2003 prompted his £3.25million move to Southampton, where he scored 23 times in 64 top-flight outings.
The deal for Phillips follows the arrivals of Patrik Berger, Aaron Hughes and Stuart Taylor at Villa Park and ends David O'Leary's search for a prolific striker, after a lack of goals undermined his side's bid to clinch a UEFA Cup place last term.
zencro
29-06-2005, 09:34 PM
I have always liked Phillips, I'm so glad he's coming to Villa! :D
I think our forwards are looking good. Vassell (Fav Villa player), Angel, Moore and now Phillips :s12:
Next season will be the 4th season I'm supporting Villa. :s7:
martinweng
29-06-2005, 10:45 PM
I have always liked Phillips, I'm so glad he's coming to Villa! :D
I think our forwards are looking good. Vassell (Fav Villa player), Angel, Moore and now Phillips :s12:
Next season will be the 4th season I'm supporting Villa. :s7:
i tink villa is like blackburn, charlton, tottenham, all these easily 4gotten teams..
pringles321
29-06-2005, 10:52 PM
think it is because local fans only go for more 'established' clubs (Man U, Arsenal, Liverpool and recently Chelsea)... seldom do u see ppl toking abt 'smaller' clubs....
most ppl's version of soccer is EPL or ENGLAND National squad... maybe could be due to lack of TV exposure of other leagues....
martinweng
29-06-2005, 10:55 PM
think it is because local fans only go for more 'established' clubs (Man U, Arsenal, Liverpool and recently Chelsea)... seldom do u see ppl toking abt 'smaller' clubs....
most ppl's version of soccer is EPL or ENGLAND National squad... maybe could be due to lack of TV exposure of other leagues....
but actually oso bo bian wad..
since if u're watching other nations' league, u naturally would pick some teams dats impressive or leaves a gd image for u.
i would support not support newcastle if i was living in manchester or liverpool. would support my local team as usual.
skweam
29-06-2005, 10:56 PM
stop being a lamer. (that's y i hate quite a number of the so-called "big clubs' fans" who r so arrogant)
Pls respect each other's clubs. No need to be sacastic abt clubs with a much smaller fanbase.
i extremely agree wid u.alot of youngsters support stronger teams bcoz they wanna be better than their frens.
i especially respect those southampton fans in singapore,formed by a small group.
yeah i agreed that villa strikers are getting better!cant waid for Vassel tho,i wan him to relieve the 2001-2002 era where he scored a beautiful bicycle kick debut goal for England,heh actually i made a scrapbook of Vassel and Aston villa during the World Cup 2002,i cut newspapers articles and paste in a book,that year Aston villa were published in newspaper more than i can remember.
haha,i have always thought Luke Moore was better than his brother,hey Zencro u got read abt Stefan Moore move to QPR?they announce their purchase of Stefan Moore to the press even b4 Aston Villa agreed?!!?!!
anyways,ive been a Villain supporter for 8 seasons.i love underdogs.
come in come in ASTONVILLA FANS!!
skweam
29-06-2005, 10:58 PM
something for the villa fans....
http://www.4thegame.com/club/avfc/news/173386/phillips_agrees_villa_switch.html?cC=1
Phillips agrees Villa switch
Wednesday 29 Jun 2005
Southampton striker Kevin Phillips will become Aston Villa's fourth summer signing providing he passes a medical.
The ex-England international was given permission to discuss terms with Villa after the clubs agreed a £750,000 fee for the transfer and should put pen to paper on a two-year contract in the near future.
Kevin Phillips Southampton 2004/05 profile size
KEVIN PHILLIPS
Villa had a bid for Phillips rejected during the January transfer window but the 31-year-old has been allowed to move on following Saints' relegation from the Premiership.
Phillips established a reputation as one of the most dangerous forwards in England by scoring 115 times in 209 league games during his six-year spell with Sunderland.
The Black Cats' relegation in 2003 prompted his £3.25million move to Southampton, where he scored 23 times in 64 top-flight outings.
The deal for Phillips follows the arrivals of Patrik Berger, Aaron Hughes and Stuart Taylor at Villa Park and ends David O'Leary's search for a prolific striker, after a lack of goals undermined his side's bid to clinch a UEFA Cup place last term.
hey thanks!yeah another striker to end the striker crisis,tho i expected and PRAYED that the striker will be taller and younger.hahaha.
skweam
29-06-2005, 11:00 PM
but actually oso bo bian wad..
since if u're watching other nations' league, u naturally would pick some teams dats impressive or leaves a gd image for u.
i would support not support newcastle if i was living in manchester or liverpool. would support my local team as usual.
hey i asked u wad ARROWHEAD in fm2005 means? is that a website?
ok end of FM2005 discussion,only i can published.ahahahhaahah.
kahmun7
29-06-2005, 11:05 PM
sorry if this is lame, but I can't help it...
wonder if Phillips is going to sink his third club.. har har har..
he was in 2 relegated teams... Sunderland and Southampton..
Villa next?
ok... I'm only kidding... a bit lame, but I have to get it out of my system.
martinweng
29-06-2005, 11:05 PM
hey i asked u wad ARROWHEAD in fm2005 means? is that a website?
ok end of FM2005 discussion,only i can published.ahahahhaahah.
its a training scheme. if u wan it u can ask for it at the FM2005 thread. I think Montoya has it.
skweam
29-06-2005, 11:06 PM
lol i pm u.aahahhah
skweam
29-06-2005, 11:08 PM
sorry if this is lame, but I can't help it...
wonder if Phillips is going to sink his third club.. har har har..
he was in 2 relegated teams... Sunderland and Southampton..
Villa next?
ok... I'm only kidding... a bit lame, but I have to get it out of my system.
i dunno abt philips tho,i think he will be overshadowed by vassel,angel and moore.
i never have hoped him to be a villain.
zencro
30-06-2005, 09:06 AM
S.Moore moved to QPR? Are you sure it's nt a loan cos I don't see why Villa has to sell S.Moore.
Also, why don't you want Phillips as a Villain? I was also thinking of the heights of the Villa forwards. They are not the tallest but they sure are strong players.
And also Arsenal's reserve keeper Stuart Taylor has also moved to Villa. So the summer captures so far are Berger, Hughes, Phillips and Taylor.
EDIT: I checked and Moore has indeed left Villa for QPR on a 3 year deal. Sigh, he never really managed to prove himself.
skweam
30-06-2005, 03:21 PM
yeah but in the cm series also showed that Luke moore was much better than his brother but both are excellent strikers.
zencro
30-06-2005, 07:47 PM
I don't really have an opinion of S.Moore as I didn't get to see him play much. But I have high hopes for L.Moore. :)
skweam
30-06-2005, 08:30 PM
yeah!!
uppppzz uppppzzz for all villain fans...whic is two currently...
skweam
01-07-2005, 01:00 AM
come on in AV fans!
pringles321
01-07-2005, 01:10 AM
http://www.football.co.uk/aston_villa/story_12427.shtml
O'Leary happy with recruitment
Thursday June 30 2005
Aston Villa are continuing to pursue other targets after signing striker Kevin Phillips on Wednesday.
Phillips, who has joined from Southampton, follows Patrik Berger, Aaron Hughes and Stuart Taylor in making the move to Villa Park.
Manager David O'Leary has declared himself "delighted with the way things have gone so far this summer" but the club have intimated that their spending may not be finished yet.
While speculation in April of a £20million kitty has proved somewhat hopeful, the West Midlanders have the capacity to exceed the £2million spent to date.
O'Leary's interest in Manchester City captain Sylvain Distin is well documented but there has been no comment from either club in some weeks.
It is thought that the two parties are yet to agree on a fee for the defender with Villa edging upwards from an initial bid of £5million and City boss Stuart Pearce refusing to budge on a £7million valuation which has already scared off Everton.
The arrival of Phillips will likely end the Villans' interest in Newcastle striker Craig Bellamy but a lightweight strikeforce may yet get re-inforcements in the form of a target man.
Porto striker Benni McCarthy, who almost joined Villa four years ago, and Norwich hitman Dean Ashton are among the names to have been linked.
Operations Director Steve Stride will be in charge of any further purchases as chairman Doug Ellis continues to recover from a triple heart by-pass operation.
And O'Leary has saluted the work done by Stride in signing the initial quartet, telling the club's official website: "He has done a fantastic job. He's got the players in for me and we're still working hard together.
"I identified the players we needed and gave my list of players to the board. They've delivered four of them already.
"This can be a very frustrating time for managers. You know what you want to do, but it doesn't always go according to plan, but it's gone very smoothly for us so far and Steve deserves a lot of credit for that.
"The chairman's illness meant he was left with a lot on his plate, but we've spoken constantly and he's delivered the goods.
pringles321
01-07-2005, 01:13 AM
http://www.tribalfootball.com/june/englhnews3300605.html
Taylor: Villa can get me into England squad
tribalfootball.com - June 30, 2005
New Aston Villa signing Stuart Taylor says his move from Arsenal was made with England recognition in mind.
He said: "I played for England Under-21s and the aim was always to play for the senior side. That's still the case.
"But I'm not going to get ahead of myself. My first aim is to work hard here at Villa, get a chance and then prove I'm worth a place in the side.
"I think it's a bit early to be thinking beyond that but of course I am ambitious.
"I worked with some great people at Arsenal. Bob Wilson was my coach for a long time and I worked with David Seaman. You can't help but learn from people like that. Now I'm looking forward to working with David O'Leary.
"From what I see and hear, he's a very good manager and he's done a good job at Villa so far.
"My aim is to be as good as I possibly can. I want to initially fight for a place.
"If I do that, it's up to me to stay in the side. I want to play as much as I can and hopefully help this football club progress."
Taylor spent some of last season on loan at Leicester City and has seen his career take a sideways slant after he picked up a nagging shoulder injury.
He admits he should perhaps have quit the former champions earlier.
"Maybe I should have left Arsenal 12 months ago, but I'd just signed a new deal and wanted to see what happened," he said.
"But the time is right now for me to move on and I'm delighted to be here at Villa.
"I think it could be an exciting season for the club and it's a new beginning for me, so I can't wait to get into it.
"It's nice to be here for the start of pre-season training, rather than coming in later on when you've got to meet everyone and catch up.
"I know a few of the lads from going away with the England Under-21s and it's easy enough to settle down at a football club. The banter is the same at most clubs and I'm looking forward to meeting all the boys."
pringles321
01-07-2005, 01:14 AM
http://www.tribalfootball.com/june/englinews7300605.html
Laursen can be like new Villa signing
Martin Laursen says recovery from knee surgery is progressing well.
While his Aston Villa team-mates have been enjoying a well-earned break, Laursen has been putting in the hours in an effort to ensure he does not suffer another campaign like last term.
Following a �3million summer move from AC Milan last year, the Denmark international centre-back had made just three appearances when he suffered a serious knee injury which ruled him out for six months.
"It was difficult because it was my first season at a new club in a different country," said Laursen to the club's website.
"The supporters were brilliant though - even when I was injured they were always behind me - and I'm just doing my best to give something back to them with my performances.
"My knee is doing very well. I have worked with a Belgian specialist from three days after the season finished with Aston Villa.
"We made a program for the summer and we have also discussed one for the pre-season with Villa because I will have to undertake something a little bit different.
"I have worked all through the break, training three or four times a week to get fit for pre-season.
"I am doing very well. The knee doesn't hurt, it is not swollen and I am very positive about things."
skweam
01-07-2005, 12:27 PM
http://www.tribalfootball.com/june/englinews7300605.html
Laursen can be like new Villa signing
Martin Laursen says recovery from knee surgery is progressing well.
While his Aston Villa team-mates have been enjoying a well-earned break, Laursen has been putting in the hours in an effort to ensure he does not suffer another campaign like last term.
Following a �3million summer move from AC Milan last year, the Denmark international centre-back had made just three appearances when he suffered a serious knee injury which ruled him out for six months.
"It was difficult because it was my first season at a new club in a different country," said Laursen to the club's website.
"The supporters were brilliant though - even when I was injured they were always behind me - and I'm just doing my best to give something back to them with my performances.
"My knee is doing very well. I have worked with a Belgian specialist from three days after the season finished with Aston Villa.
"We made a program for the summer and we have also discussed one for the pre-season with Villa because I will have to undertake something a little bit different.
"I have worked all through the break, training three or four times a week to get fit for pre-season.
"I am doing very well. The knee doesn't hurt, it is not swollen and I am very positive about things."
hey thanks pringles ure a big help to those hu comes in and interested in knowing what goes on in aston villa.
ure a big help altho i have read them b4 thanks! are u a villa fan by the way??
zencro
01-07-2005, 01:42 PM
I hope Laursen will make a complete recovery and partner Mellberg in the center of defence, And I rather Villa not get Distin, I don't feel he's good.
skweam
01-07-2005, 02:31 PM
i want the current defence and also liam ridgewell to play regularly.however i have doubts about delaney...these CM and FM games are too influential,they always put delaney as a rubbish player.
hopefully Stuart Taylor will get chances to play in the goal mouth.Altho i love Sorensen.
pringles321
01-07-2005, 03:52 PM
hey thanks pringles ure a big help to those hu comes in and interested in knowing what goes on in aston villa.
ure a big help altho i have read them b4 thanks! are u a villa fan by the way??
i saw the news so juz post here and let other villa fans noe abt the news.... i Liverpool fan BTW...
zencro
01-07-2005, 03:57 PM
Delaney is good because he's consistent, he almost never puts in a bad performance. Ridgewell is promising but he seems to be lacking in speed. And I can't wait for Davis to play a full season.
zencro
01-07-2005, 03:59 PM
Yeah and about Taylor, it'll be interesting to see how many games he will be playing as it'll be very, very tough to knock Sorenson off in the first XI.
skweam
01-07-2005, 04:40 PM
Yeah and about Taylor, it'll be interesting to see how many games he will be playing as it'll be very, very tough to knock Sorenson off in the first XI.
yeah that was wad i thought too,hopefully he will be contented to be a bench warmer for a little while b4 he gets his chance anyway hes 24 years old but then again,sorensen is 4 years his senior,so both are conzidered young for a goalkeeper.
i remember last time when taylor played for arsenal he used to fall down whenever taking a goalkick,funny guy.
hu do u think is their next target?? i think it will be another striker and a defender.and probably a midfielder.man...astonvilla have a small squad..thats wad i like!no arrogant players hu think they should be in first team.
skweam
01-07-2005, 04:53 PM
OMG!!
Mirror: FIERY former Aston Villa defender Alpay Ozalan - David Beckham's old sparring partner - has been released by Japan's Urawa Reds after picking up THREE red cards in just SEVEN matches. The Reds tore up Alpay's contract six months early following talks with the 32-year-old. The former Turkey international arrived in Japan with a history of disciplinary problems and has been unable to keep his volatile temper in check.
PITY HIM!!
come singapore and play.u can sleep in my house.
United_Treble
01-07-2005, 11:09 PM
for ur infor, i more hate those people who assume he right in judging thing but he noe NUTS, sorry to tell u that i 101% not a mu fan, why cant i support villa
skweam
02-07-2005, 12:26 AM
for ur infor, i more hate those people who assume he right in judging thing but he noe NUTS, sorry to tell u that i 101% not a mu fan, why cant i support villa
hey how were we suppose to noe,the way u post ur msg and ur nick made us very suspicious.we're sorry if we judge u wrongly.
and why not? be a villain fan,the more the merrier.
i am thoroughly overjoyed when i found another Villain fan in singapore.(Like Zencro)!
skweam
02-07-2005, 11:18 AM
come on Villains come in.!!
skweam
03-07-2005, 02:26 PM
calling all villains.
skweam
03-07-2005, 10:35 PM
Phillips Tipped For Success
Kevin PhillipsNewboy Kevin Phillips has been tipped for success by the man who tried to lure him to Villa Park three years ago.
Graham Taylor believes David O'Leary has pulled off a masterstroke in securing the 31-year-old's services and is convinced the former Southampton man will be a hit.
As he completed the signing, O'Leary told www.avfc.co.uk: "We have to admit that we struggled on the goalscoring side of things last season and Kevin Phillips will hopefully help us put that right next season."
Taylor is sure Phillips will do just that. He added: "Scoring goals in the Premiership has been the one basic problem, which I think Kevin Phillips will solve.
"In the first season I was there, we lost nine games 1-0. If we'd won five of them, we'd have finished sixth. So looking at the records, it's not been good.
"Kevin Phillips, even at 31, will bring an end to that. He's not going to charge through defences, but give him the ball in the penalty area and he'll score.
"He's good at linking up play, as was shown with his partnership with Niall Quinn at Sunderland and Peter Crouch at Southampton. What Kevin will do is score you goals, as his record shows."
skweam
03-07-2005, 10:37 PM
HUH?!?
People: Wigan could move for former Villa bad boy Alpay, released by Japanese side Urawa Red Diamonds
Alpay coming back!!
kinda like him.very tough.
skweam
03-07-2005, 10:39 PM
Phillips Tipped For Success
Kevin PhillipsNewboy Kevin Phillips has been tipped for success by the man who tried to lure him to Villa Park three years ago.
Graham Taylor believes David O'Leary has pulled off a masterstroke in securing the 31-year-old's services and is convinced the former Southampton man will be a hit.
As he completed the signing, O'Leary told www.avfc.co.uk: "We have to admit that we struggled on the goalscoring side of things last season and Kevin Phillips will hopefully help us put that right next season."
Taylor is sure Phillips will do just that. He added: "Scoring goals in the Premiership has been the one basic problem, which I think Kevin Phillips will solve.
"In the first season I was there, we lost nine games 1-0. If we'd won five of them, we'd have finished sixth. So looking at the records, it's not been good.
"Kevin Phillips, even at 31, will bring an end to that. He's not going to charge through defences, but give him the ball in the penalty area and he'll score.
"He's good at linking up play, as was shown with his partnership with Niall Quinn at Sunderland and Peter Crouch at Southampton. What Kevin will do is score you goals, as his record shows."
graham taylor...wad an extra.he basically ruined Aston Villa.
fumofumo
04-07-2005, 10:21 AM
sorry villa fans for ruining this thread, but i juz can't let this go off like that.
looking at ur past posts, none is on villa and mostly on pro-manu, anti-arsenal. i may be wrong to judge u, but looking at ur past posts and behaviour, i'm not convinced by even a bit that u r a devoted villa fan (despite wat u claimed):
guessed u dun understand the meaning of the word "DEVOTED". maybe u defination is different from mine, here's a defination from Dictionary.com
---
de·vote
tr.v. de·vot·ed, de·vot·ing, de·votes
1. To give or apply (one's time, attention, or self) entirely to a particular activity, pursuit, cause, or person.
2. To set apart for a specific purpose or use: land devoted to mining.
3. To set apart by or as if by a vow or solemn act; consecrate: a temple devoted to Apollo.
---
some ironic stuff abt u from "Manchester United Forum" thread
http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?t=59384&page=1666&pp=15
anywa this is mu thread, not for u non mu fan to make noise
guess i'm not an as5 to assume, am i?
i dunno abt u, but i'm proud to call myself a devoted Blackburn fan, supporting for more than 10 years liao (since 93/94). Watched most of BB's match on SCV this season even if it's 3am in the morning, watching BB's matches is no. 1 priority, even if the other channel's on ManU-Arsen, Chelsea-Barca (which i missed in order to watch BB vs West Brom i think), etc.
skweam
04-07-2005, 04:35 PM
fumofumo is the kind of truthfull people that i can relate to.wahlandeh,eh united treble stop iitlah,im just trying to find more aston villa fans in singapore.i have been very curious ever since i started supporting astonvilla if there are other fans like me.come on stop the nonsense and go back to supporting man u,a club where lots of youngsters/oldies are dillusional about.
zencro
05-07-2005, 06:51 PM
I used to support ManU when I first watching football which was ManU's treble winning year. I mean, almost everyone supported Manu then. But after 2 seasons, I stopped supporting them, and in 2002, I started supporting Villa, have been a Villian ever since!
United_Treble
05-07-2005, 07:39 PM
fumofumo is the kind of truthfull people that i can relate to.wahlandeh,eh united treble stop iitlah,im just trying to find more aston villa fans in singapore.i have been very curious ever since i started supporting astonvilla if there are other fans like me.come on stop the nonsense and go back to supporting man u,a club where lots of youngsters/oldies are dillusional about.
he purposely come find trouble one, u look back from this thread c who reply offensively to whose post 1st, if he say he devoted villian, trust me, i wun reply to his post too
United_Treble
05-07-2005, 07:47 PM
sorry villa fans for ruining this thread, but i juz can't let this go off like that.
looking at ur past posts, none is on villa and mostly on pro-manu, anti-arsenal. i may be wrong to judge u, but looking at ur past posts and behaviour, i'm not convinced by even a bit that u r a devoted villa fan (despite wat u claimed):
guessed u dun understand the meaning of the word "DEVOTED". maybe u defination is different from mine, here's a defination from Dictionary.com
---
de·vote
tr.v. de·vot·ed, de·vot·ing, de·votes
1. To give or apply (one's time, attention, or self) entirely to a particular activity, pursuit, cause, or person.
2. To set apart for a specific purpose or use: land devoted to mining.
3. To set apart by or as if by a vow or solemn act; consecrate: a temple devoted to Apollo.
---
some ironic stuff abt u from "Manchester United Forum" thread
http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?t=59384&page=1666&pp=15
guess i'm not an as5 to assume, am i?
i dunno abt u, but i'm proud to call myself a devoted Blackburn fan, supporting for more than 10 years liao (since 93/94). Watched most of BB's match on SCV this season even if it's 3am in the morning, watching BB's matches is no. 1 priority, even if the other channel's on ManU-Arsen, Chelsea-Barca (which i missed in order to watch BB vs West Brom i think), etc.
1st u ASSUME me not a villa fan, now u GUESS i dunno meaning of devoted, can u pls dun assume and guess, and where u copy e meaning of devote, ur eng not that gd either, and ask urself why can i be devoted villian and mu e next support team? devote doesn mean i cant like other team too, in real life relationship oso, i do have wife but i admit i like other gal too, and i nv offend u b4 what, u like to view my past post right, u browse again my posts lo, did i mention anything bad abt blackburn, nonono. sorry villa fan, if this guy nv start war with me, i oso wun bother to type these things
fumofumo
05-07-2005, 09:31 PM
and ask urself why can i be devoted villian and mu e next support team? devote doesn mean i cant like other team too, in real life relationship oso, i do have wife but i admit i like other gal too,
ok loh... if like dat u call 'devote' then i really nothing to say. . . i rest my case.
(sees even more irony in Boro thread.. (http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?t=1055536))
and i nv offend u b4 what, u like to view my past post right, u browse again my posts lo, did i mention anything bad abt blackburn, nonono.
i'm just not happy abt ur particular post claiming that u are a 'DEVOTED' villa fan (from my pt of view, it lacks credibilty... oh well, feel free to ignore my views then. I apologise if i really maligned u. )
skweam
05-07-2005, 11:57 PM
i actually saw the boro thread,i ignore his claims.
skweam
07-07-2005, 02:35 AM
oh damn were lagging behind.
zencro
07-07-2005, 04:47 PM
I've noticed O'Leary is renewing his interest in Bellamy. Although he's a good player, I would not like a player which may result in low morale in the club to join the club.
fumofumo
07-07-2005, 05:03 PM
Hughes and Bellemy meeting! (http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/tm_objectid=15709056%26method=full%26siteid=94762%26headline=football%2dspy%2d%2dit%2dlooks%2drover%2dfor%2dbellamy%2d-name_page.html)
IT LOOKS ROVER FOR BELLAMY
BLACKBURN boss Mark Hughes had a secret meeting with Craig Bellamy last night as he tried to talk the Welshman into joining him.
Hughes and Bellamy were locked in talks at the Vale of Glamorgan hotel where they were both guests at a wedding - with Sparky desperate to sign the Newcastle United striker.
Bellamy is undecided about his future after being given time to sort out his move before a return to training at Newcastle next Monday. Everton have spoken to Bellamy and Aston Villa and Celtic are interested.
----
-at July 7 2005, 01:59 AM (UK)
Sky sports are reporting that Craig Bellamy is having a medical at Blackburn Rovers today.
Keep in touch with all the latest news on BRFCS.com
quote from a BRFCS forumer:
just rung Sky Bet and the customer services rep person confirmed that the betting has been suspended because it is believed that he has already signed for a club. I asked if he knew which one, he said nope but the information was that he had signed for a club.
--
!!!
fumofumo
07-07-2005, 05:17 PM
I've noticed O'Leary is renewing his interest in Bellamy. Although he's a good player, I would not like a player which may result in low morale in the club to join the club.
News from 06 Jul (http://www.teamtalk.com/teamtalk/News/Story_Page/0,7760,1767_558022,00.html), came out just before the news of Bellemy taking medical at Blackburn.
Aston Villa seems favourites after Everton slightly cooled their interest... (and b4 Blackburn popped out the news)
skweam
08-07-2005, 01:03 AM
bellamy and huges should go together,the welsh club! :)
skweam
08-07-2005, 01:07 AM
Bellamy: I'm not a destructive influence
Craig Bellamy is determined to prove he is not a 'destructive influence' at Blackburn following his move from Newcastle on Thursday.
The 25-year-old fell out with Magpies manager Graeme Souness earlier this year and then spent the second half of last season on loan at Celtic.
The Scottish side, along with Everton and Aston Villa, were interested in signing Bellamy but the player has opted to link up again with Mark Hughes, who was his manager for Wales until, coincidentally, he moved to Ewood Park to replace Souness last season.
Bellamy told Sky Sports News: 'This is about Craig Bellamy being happy and me showing people I'm not a destructive influence.'
Bellamy has signed a four-year deal with Rovers and is determined to improve while at Ewood Park.
He added on Sky Sports News: 'I'm 25, I've a lot to improve on. I can get better as a player and that's why I'm here - to be with people who have worked with me since I was 19.
'Football moves on, it's about me now and trying to do as well as I can for Blackburn Rovers.
'They can give me every chance to improve as a player, I'm nowhere near the finishing line yet. I've got more levels.'
Bellamy admitted linking up with ex-Wales manager Hughes and former international team-mate Robbie Savage was a factor in his decision, but he believes he will have to force his way into the first team.
'I've got to play well and have to win my place,' he added. 'Just because I have been bought doesn't mean I will play straight away. I have to earn the right.'
Bellamy was not pleased with being played out of position by Magpies boss Souness, one of several disagreements the pair had before the striker was loaned to Celtic.
The former Coventry player refused to criticise his former boss though, adding: 'I'm not getting into any slanging matches.'
I TOLD U ALL ALREADY!!
zencro
08-07-2005, 04:14 PM
Well, I feel it's good that Bellamy did not join Villa. We have already 4 strikers, getting 1 more in would means that 1 of our striker may not even get a game all season.
pringles321
08-07-2005, 06:45 PM
http://www.squarefootball.net/article/inbrief.asp?iid=1106
Aston Villa: Longest Serving Player
Lee Hendrie is a rarity in the modern game- the longest serving player at his hometown club. Villa awarded the midfielder his first professional contract in 1994 and he’s stayed at the club since then despite being unable to convince two managers that he should be a first-team regular.
Hendrie’s unbroken spell at the club puts him ahead of Gareth Barry and Darius Vassell who both came on to the staff in 1997 and have also played for the single professional club. Life hasn’t always gone smoothly for a player who got into the England Under-21 and full international side well before current midfield regulars Steven Gerrard and Frank Lampard. He won his single full cap under Glenn Hoddle in November 1998 but Kevin Keegan and Sven-Goran Eriksson both passed him over regularly.
At club level Hendrie lost out in John Gregory’s 5-3-2 formation and he probably didn’t have big enough lungs to fit into Graham Taylor’s plans. His career has enjoyed a boost under David O’Leary who has selected him regularly while bemoaning some of the off-field headlines that the player attracts.
With so few homegrown players in squads these days, it’s perhaps inevitable that the few who are, will draw too much attention from the media. Hendrie’s career could have taken a different course if he’d moved away from Villa but then again, the preference for box-to-box midfielders like Gerrard and Lampard would probably always have doomed his England chances.
Lee Hendrie is something of throwback both in his unbroken service at his local club and his style that resembles an inside forward type. Going into 2005/6 he has 286 appearances in all competitions; yet Barry, three years behind him as a pro, has 272 games, which shows how neglected Hendrie’s abilities were at some points in his Villa career.
pringles321
08-07-2005, 06:52 PM
http://www.fansfc.com/astonvillafootballclub/news.asp?newsid=141861
Aston Villa ‘keeper set for move
11:53 7/8/2005
Aston Villa Football Club looking set to lose a goalkeeper in the coming days.
It seems likely that Wayne Henderson will sign for Bristol City, following the arrival at Villa Park for former England Under-21 international Stuart Taylor.
Henderson, a Republic of Ireland Under-21 international, knows his scope for first team opportunities at the Premiership club are little, and would jusmp at the chance of moving to the Robins.
pringles321
08-07-2005, 06:58 PM
http://www.tribalfootball.com/july/englnews8080705.html
Hughes: Villa as big as Newcastle
tribalfootball.com - July 8, 2005
Aston Villa officially unveiled new defender Aaron Hughes yesterday.
Northern Ireland's skipper was paraded alongside Villa's other summer buys Patrik Berger, Kevin Phillips and Stuart Taylor.
The former Newcastle defender, 25, said: "I believe I am joining a club of the same stature as Newcastle and I think we can do big things here.
"David O'Leary has bought well this summer and the ingredients are here to be pushing for Europe at least."
pringles321
08-07-2005, 06:59 PM
http://www.tribalfootball.com/july/englisnews9080705.html
Leeds boss wants Villa, Birmingham target Bakke to stay
tribalfootball.com - July 8, 2005
Leeds boss Kevin Blackwell wants to hold onto midfielder Eirik Bakke.
Birmingham and Aston Villa have been linked with the Norway international, but Blackwell told the PA: "There's been nothing concrete from anybody.
"Eirik at this moment is a Leeds player and that's all that bothers me. If Eirik is fit he'd be a big boost to any team, especially in the Championship.
skweam
08-07-2005, 11:31 PM
wow.agreed about hendrie.he is the longest serving player here.hope he could get a call up in the near future.
zencro
08-07-2005, 11:36 PM
I hope so too but it seems unlikely. He did got a call-up once but that was the only time.
skweam
08-07-2005, 11:47 PM
yeah.
god.this thread is etting dryer.hope the season starts soon.cannot waid to talk more about how we're gonna win Man u or Arsenal.ahahaha.
6 mins b4 some man u or arsenal fans come flame here.
pringles321
09-07-2005, 10:43 PM
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=336771&cc=4716
Saturday, July 9, 2005
Aston Villa keeper Thomas Sorensen has spelt out his desire to remain at the club on a long-term basis.
Sorensen is expected to open talks soon about signing a new contract with the Birmingham club.
The Denmark international is entering the final 12 months of the three-year deal he signed when he moved from Sunderland for £2million in the summer of 2003.
Sorensen now faces competition from Stuart Taylor after he moved to Villa Park from Arsenal last week, but he is still keen to tie up his future.
He said: 'The manager has been pretty busy signing players over the summer and still has some work to do. It was always our intention that we would leave it (a new contract) and that those signings would take precedence.
'Then we would look at my situation after that, but nothing has changed. I am still committed to Aston Villa big style.
'I want to remain a part of things here for a very long time. I really honestly believe there are some terrific things happening at the club right now.'
Sorensen, like striker Juan Pablo Angel, returned to training on Wednesday with the rest of his team-mates despite being given extra time off because of international commitments in June.
He said: 'It was just a case of I couldn't really wait to get back. I'm really confident we can have a really good year.'
Skipper Olof Mellberg, Eric Djemba-Djemba, Ulises de la Cruz and Nolberto Solano will all be back training on Monday after an extra five days' break because of their various World Cup commitments with their respective countries in June.
pringles321
09-07-2005, 10:44 PM
http://www.tribalfootball.com/july/englinews2090705.html
Villa to offer £7M for Man City's Distin
tribalfootball.com - July 9, 2005
Aston Villa boss David O'Leary is ready to make a £7 million offer for Manchester City defender Sylvain Distin.
O'Leary, still reeling after missing out on Craig Bellamy to Blackburn, is set to up his offer to £7million.
He had an initial bid of £5.5m rejected for Distin, 27.
Villa spokesman Steve Stride said: "Just because Craig Bellamy has decided to go elsewhere that does not mean our plans grind to a halt. We're working hard to strengthen the squad before the season."
yellowsubmarine
09-07-2005, 10:52 PM
Didnt know Villa so rich to offer £7m for a defender. But Sylvain Distin? Hmmm...
http://www.tribalfootball.com/july/englinews2090705.html
Villa to offer £7M for Man City's Distin
tribalfootball.com - July 9, 2005
Aston Villa boss David O'Leary is ready to make a £7 million offer for Manchester City defender Sylvain Distin.
O'Leary, still reeling after missing out on Craig Bellamy to Blackburn, is set to up his offer to £7million.
He had an initial bid of £5.5m rejected for Distin, 27.
Villa spokesman Steve Stride said: "Just because Craig Bellamy has decided to go elsewhere that does not mean our plans grind to a halt. We're working hard to strengthen the squad before the season."
zencro
09-07-2005, 11:21 PM
Villa is supposed to have 20m to spend this summer and I don't agree on 7m for Distin at all!
skweam
09-07-2005, 11:43 PM
Villa is supposed to have 20m to spend this summer and I don't agree on 7m for Distin at all!
why not? or do you want alpay to come back??i want alpay back tho.a strong and notorious player! haha.no strikers will dare go near him!
skweam
10-07-2005, 12:27 AM
Aston Villa have the best youth team ever.
GK:
Robert Olejnik:
One of the most wanted goalkeeper 2 years ago. Many top european clubs like Juventus, Inter wanted to sign him. He is from Austria and is now 18 years of age. Signed for Villa instead at the age of 16.
DF:
Gary Cahill:
A superb defender with a bright future aead of him as predicted by David O'Leary(DOL). He was loaned to Burnley last season and was the highlight of the team!! Amazingly he won 10 awards at Burnley's Supporters Player Gala. He is currently 18 and could probably be back at Burnley if DOL feels he isnt ready for first team football.
MF:
Peter Whittingham:
A left-sided midfielder who was rejected by Coventry when he was a youth player because he was too small had a fantastic season debut for Aston Villa. He played a lot of first team football under DOL who rate him very highly. He is now 19 years old and is playing for Englands U-20. One to watch for the future.
Steven Davis:
Another player who had a fantastic debut season which saw him winning the Aston Villa Youth Player Of the Year. Davo, as called by his team mates had shown alot of promising performance for Villa which had earned him a call up for Northern Ireland when he was only 19! The midfielder is a fast dribbler who would not be afraid to take on defenders and score a goal. His first goal was against Southampton when Aston Villa were 2-0 down. He created a goal and scored the winning goal. Definitely one to watch in the future.
ST:
Gabriel Agbonlahor:
Aston Villa was known for producing talented strikers. Strikers like Stefan Moore and Luke Moore. A more recognizable one is Darius Vassell whohad even won an England call up. However a rising star will soon graced the English Premier League. His name is Gabriel Agbonlahor. A speedy striker with a powerful shot. This guy had brokened Vassell's youth team goalscoring record of 39 goals. Agbonlahor had scored an awesome 43 goals for Aston Villa's youth team which saw them reaching the FA Youth Cup Final. The striker have a great future ahead of him and is now training regularly with the first team. Agbonlahor is a very promising striker who would not surprised many if he gets a call up.
Villa Youth Team
Aston Villa is widely known for their excellent youth team. They are currently the best in England winning the youth league back to back two years ago. Even the likes of Liverpool Youth Academy could not match up with them ( Liverpool were trashed by Villa twice in the youth league with scorelines 6-1 and 4-0. Dun be proud Liverpool supporters:) )
Some of the youth players could be featured in this season's (2005/2006) league. Players like Agbonlahor could make his debut this season.
Done By : scafT.
zencro
10-07-2005, 12:54 AM
Yeah, Villa's youth team, couldn't be more pround of them. :D
And I think Distin is massively over-rated with a 7m price-tag. If Distin comes in, means he will get a starting place, I mean O'Leary will not be letting 7m pounds sitting on the bench, which will mean Laursen getting booted to the bench. I feel that the Laursen-Mellberg line-up is better than a Mellberg-Distin line-up What we need is a back-up like Ridgewell, so that Samuel or Delaney will not get played out of position as a centre-back as they did so many times last season. If O'Leary is going to spend 7m on Distin to take Laursen's place, i rather he spend less on Riggot from Boro.
skweam
10-07-2005, 01:07 AM
Yeah, Villa's youth team, couldn't be more pround of them. :D
And I think Distin is massively over-rated with a 7m price-tag. If Distin comes in, means he will get a starting place, I mean O'Leary will not be letting 7m pounds sitting on the bench, which will mean Laursen getting booted to the bench. I feel that the Laursen-Mellberg line-up is better than a Mellberg-Distin line-up What we need is a back-up like Ridgewell, so that Samuel or Delaney will not get played out of position as a centre-back as they did so many times last season. If O'Leary is going to spend 7m on Distin to take Laursen's place, i rather he spend less on Riggot from Boro.
holy crap u are rite! i forgot Laursen existed! haha. ya ah, wad would happen to laursen hu trained earlier than the rest so that he could be fit again. Like that Distin will not be worth it. We will have a power struggle in Defence as both Distin and Mellberg are both captains. oh damn.....just keep ridgewell. buy another left or right defender.
did u noe that mellberg was voted the most handsome swedish man by a Gay magazine in sweden. i nearly **** laughing.
zencro
10-07-2005, 12:06 PM
holy crap u are rite! i forgot Laursen existed! haha. ya ah, wad would happen to laursen hu trained earlier than the rest so that he could be fit again. Like that Distin will not be worth it. We will have a power struggle in Defence as both Distin and Mellberg are both captains. oh damn.....just keep ridgewell. buy another left or right defender.
did u noe that mellberg was voted the most handsome swedish man by a Gay magazine in sweden. i nearly **** laughing.
I'm not gay but i find him ruggedly handsome :s13:
skweam
10-07-2005, 05:21 PM
I'm not gay but i find him ruggedly handsome :s13:
yeah like a hollywood actor.thats why hes our captain.
skweam
12-07-2005, 12:02 AM
oh gawd..this thread dropped back to page 2....
hmm lets waid for season to start.
if i buy my jersey i will post here. :)
United_Treble
12-07-2005, 12:25 AM
oh gawd..this thread dropped back to page 2....
hmm lets waid for season to start.
if i buy my jersey i will post here. :)
dun bother to post la, u open mouth stink
skweam
12-07-2005, 01:54 AM
ooo trespasser wid no football knowledge.
forget it pple wid no passion dun come here.
skweam
13-07-2005, 12:50 AM
YES!
New Villa official website.
http://www.avfc.premiumtv.co.uk/page/Home/0,,10265,00.html
pringles321
13-07-2005, 09:36 AM
http://skysports.planetfootball.com/list.asp?hlid=291405&CPID=8&CLID=&lid=2&title=Villa+eye+Spanish+starlet&channel=football_home
Villa eye Spanish starlet
by Francisco Acedo - created on 12 Jul 2005
Aston Villa are eyeing a swoop for Spanish starlet Ruben Corcobado Soto.
The 18-year-old has flown to England and will train with David O'Leary's side for the next week.
Ruben played much of last season with Numancia B and he was the star performer for the Sorian outfit.
He was also involved on numerous occasions with Numancia's first team.
Aston Villa's scouts spotted Ruben and have now approached the Segunda outfit about a deal and they have agreed to let their youngster train in the Second City.
Ruben himself is delighted with the chance and is hopeful of sealing a move.
"For me this is a fantastic chance, but the decision will be made by the English coaches," he said.
skweam
13-07-2005, 05:41 PM
wow.nice.a spanish player.that will be a first.
Anyway Aston Villa signed two Australian youngster,one of them is called Herd or smth...
hmmmm...
skweam
15-07-2005, 05:03 PM
Olly Ready To Go
Olof MellbergOlof Mellberg is raring to go after his first real summer break for years and believes Villa will benefit from his extended vacation.
The Villa skipper, who ended last season on the treatment table, made just one international appearance this summer as he recharged for the coming season.
And he Swede believes that rare break from football will hold him in good stead as he prepares for his fifth season at Villa Park.
He told www.avfc.co.uk: "We've all had a good break this summer. There has been no World Cup or European Championships, which has been good. It has given us more time to recover.
"It's always a long Premiership season and those few extra weeks when there is no tournament will be important in the long term.
"Pre-season training is not a problem if you're fit and you feel well. It's only really hard if you pick up an injury or you don't feel well.
"It was a big disappointment for me that I ended last season injured. It was very frustrating. I want to get through this pre-season feeling OK.
"Then my aim is to avoid any injuries next season. That's not always easy over a long season, but if we can have fewer injuries this time, we have a better chance. That's why it is important that we do all the work at this time of the year."
Mellberg believes David O'Leary is starting to mould the side he wants at Villa Park and believes the manager's third season at the helm could be one to remember.
And the Villa skipper is determined to hit the ground running next term after ending the 2004-05 campaign on the treatment table.
He added: "We've got to look to improve. Since I came here, the club has changed managers twice, but I think the club has kept the players it wanted to keep.
"Every summer the managers have kept the players they wanted to keep and added a couple of players. That has meant we have been looking to improve every season.
"That goes for this season as well. I think the club have kept the players they wanted to keep and we've added a few interesting signings. So we've got to look up."
http://www.avfc.premiumtv.co.uk/page/News/HeadlinesDetail/0,,10265~685104,00.html
nice i cant waid. we need someone hu could really lead!
pringles321
18-07-2005, 09:18 PM
http://www.tribalfootball.com/july/englinews7180705.html
Villa boss O'Leary in Barcelona talks for Saviola
tribalfootball.com - July 18, 2005
Aston Villa boss David O'Leary has jetted to Spain for talks with Barcelona over striker Javier Saviola.
Reports in England and Spain suggested on Sunday that manager David O'Leary has flown to the Catalonian capital to discuss a one-year deal.
O'Leary is said to be hopeful that Villa striker Juan Pablo Angel, who made his name at River Plate alongside Argentinian superstars Saviola, Pablo Aimar and Ariel Ortega, can convince the diminutive front man to spend next season in the Premiership.
pringles321
18-07-2005, 09:20 PM
http://www.tribalfootball.com/july/englinews8180705.html
Man City ready to test Villa resolve over Vassell
tribalfootball.com - July 18, 2005
Manchester City boss Stuart Pearce is expected to test Aston Villa's resolve over striker Darius Vassell.
Vassell, 25, is on a shortlist of strikers City boss Stuart Pearce is considering and it is believed he would receive encouragement from the West Midlands club.
Vassell is one of Villa manager David O'Leary's few saleable assets, commanding a fee of around £4million.
skweam
19-07-2005, 06:39 AM
wtf.
receive envouragement from us??? to sell vassel??
wads the world coming to...
skweam
20-07-2005, 08:39 PM
Mirror:
Darius Vassell's spectacular fall from grace took another twist yesterday as Aston Villa prepared to cut him loose without a fight. A year on from his heartbreak at Euro 2004, where his missed penalty cost England a place in the semi-finals, Vassell is set to be shipped off to Manchester City in a cut-price deal. The Villa striker made just 22 appearances last season due to a combination of injury and a loss of form.
guys theyre selling vassell..
noooo.....
skweam
21-07-2005, 05:37 PM
YEAH..
must buy shirt and print saviola's name on the shirt...
erm any guys do that for a loned player?
skweam
21-07-2005, 05:38 PM
YEAH
can print saviola's name on a villa shirt sia.
erm any fans do this for a loaned playeR?
pringles321
22-07-2005, 10:15 AM
http://skysports.planetfootball.com/list.asp?hlid=293350&CPID=34&CLID=&lid=2&title=Friendlies+round-up&channel=football_home
Friendlies round-up
by James Pearson - created on 21 Jul 2005
Luke Moore was the star of the show as he scored six goals in Aston Villa's 14-0 rout of Swedish club Gallstads FK.
Nolberto Solano got the scoring underway with a brace with Juan Pablo Angel and Kevin Phillips adding further goals.
Further strikes from Phillips and Angel made it 6-0, with David O'Leary ringing the changes at half-time making no less than nine substitutions.
Moore grabbed his first after 59 minutes and added his second from the penalty spot with Lee Hendrie making it 9-0 shortly after.
Moore then completed his hat-trick before Liam Ridgewell got in on the act with 75 minutes played.
There was no stopping Moore though and he bagged another three to cap a magnificent one-man show.
Elsewhere, much-maligned striker Michael Ricketts scored in each half as Leeds United overcame Halifax 2-0.
Celtic were denied their first pre-season win after being held by Sporting in a 2-2 draw.
Douala opened the scoring for the Portuguese giants, but Aiden McGeady equalised past Sporting goalkeeper Ricardo.
John Hartson fired The Bhoys in front just before the break and it looked like that might prove the winner, until Douala's late second snatched a share of the spoils.
zencro
22-07-2005, 10:37 AM
Woooo! 14-0! :s22:
zencro
22-07-2005, 10:40 AM
I wish Vassell wouldn't go. He's my fave.. :s27:
skweam
22-07-2005, 12:11 PM
wah zencro where u go sia....this thread getting drier.
wah 6 goals.
is the club really that lousy??
hahaha
sleepyhealer
23-07-2005, 11:44 AM
Aston Squad is very thin.... They are a good squad but once they have a lot of injuries then they will have a lot of trouble challenging the top players. I like Hendrie Lee
skweam
23-07-2005, 11:57 AM
Aston Squad is very thin.... They are a good squad but once they have a lot of injuries then they will have a lot of trouble challenging the top players. I like Hendrie Lee
thanks man.
yeah but they proved last year that they could still stay in th top half despite lots of injuries an a thin squad!
skweam
23-07-2005, 07:26 PM
kaoz...i think good omen for Aaron hughes and Liam Ridgewell, Mark Delaney injured again.
guys i think Vassell will be gone by next week....
zencro
24-07-2005, 02:35 AM
Been busy lately :o
I'm really feeling sorry for the lad, he's always getting himself injured.
skweam
24-07-2005, 02:47 AM
yeah...very weak.
hes probably going to man city,
zencro
26-07-2005, 10:14 AM
Sigh, looks like Vassell is going definitely which means an extra place in the squad. Hmm, a new player or maybe promote Agbonlahor to the first team squad? =:p
skweam
26-07-2005, 10:53 AM
why sell, i think his fitness/form fall terribly.mabe thats why the selling.
agbonlahor is one to watch man.
skweam
26-07-2005, 04:57 PM
DOL Explains Vass Move
Darius VassellDavid O'Leary this evening explained why he gave the green light for Darius Vassell to have talks with Manchester City, reflecting: "I think he's gone stale at Villa."
The England striker flew back to the UK yesterday for talks and a medical at the City of Manchester Stadium and is expected to complete a move shortly.
Vassell's likely departure will come as a surprise to some, but O'Leary believes the fresh challenge is exactly what the striker needs as he bids to force his way back into the Egland set-up.
The Villa boss reflected: "I think people saying the same things about Darius for so many years. He's got set in his ways a little bit and his car probably knows the way to the training ground on its own! I have to say he's a lovely boy and I felt he needed a new challenge.
"The bottom line is we were looking for more goals from Vass. His record speaks for itself. He's not exactly been prolific for us and that's where he'll be looking to improve at Manchester City. I'm sure he'll look to get back into the England team with this move.
"We wish him well if it happens. He's been a lovely boy to deal with here and we never had any problems with him whatsoever."
Vassell made his debut against Middlesbrough in August 1998 - five months after signing his first professional contract. Soon afterwards he scored two goals against Stromsgodset in the UEFA Cup that set him on his way.
The England striker has made 106 league starts for Villa with an extra 54 appearances from the bench, scoring 35 league goals. He has also started 17 cup matches, with 22 substitutes' appearances - scoring 10 times to complete a Villa record of 45 goals in 199 games.
Last season, a broken ankle sustained in October meant he made just 17 league and cup starts. He scored just three goals against Southampton, QPR and West Brom.
skweam
26-07-2005, 04:59 PM
wah kao major change sia..
http://img344.imageshack.us/img344/3494/vassel8sv.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
bye vassell...
zencro
27-07-2005, 02:05 AM
I will always miss him.. :sad:
zencro
27-07-2005, 02:07 AM
O'Leary sets sights on Baros
Aston Villa manager David O'Leary is set to step up his bid to sign Liverpool striker Milan Baros in the next 48 hours following the departure of Darius Vassell.
Villa will receive around £2.5million for the services of Vassell who is set to sign a four-year deal with Manchester City believed to be worth around £30,000 a week.
But that will leave O'Leary with only summer signing Kevin Phillips plus club-record signing Juan Pablo Angel and rookie Luke Moore to compete for places in attack.
Villa return from their pre-season tour of Sweden on Wednesday and that is when O'Leary will attempt to open meaningful talks over 23-year-old Baros with Liverpool, who are currently on Champions League duty.
The midlands club are understood to be prepared to pay £5million to £6million for the Czech Republic international - surplus to requirements after the arrival of Peter Crouch - while Liverpool would prefer £7million.
O'Leary is hoping he can help Baros to produce the kind of deadly finishing which has brought him 25 goals in 37 appearances for his country rather than his stop-start form on Merseyside.
O'Leary has around £9million left of his summer transfer kitty to spend after capturing Phillips, Aaron Hughes, Patrik Berger and Stuart Taylor so far this summer for around £3million.
In an ideal world he would like to have enough money left over if he lands Baros to also be able to sign a proven central defender.
The need to strengthen in that department has also been heightened now that Martin Laursen is facing a further spell on the sidelines with his knee problem.
Meanwhile, Taylor has spelt out his determination to push for a senior spot at Villa after his move from Arsenal.
O'Leary wants his current number one Thomas Sorensen - plus midfielder Gavin McCann - to sign new long term contracts as they enter the final year of their current deals.
But Taylor is determined to push for a spot. He said: 'I've come to Villa as number two but I want to push for a place. Thomas is a great keeper but it's up to me to push him all the way. I've got to look to impress.'
Vassell was having his medical this evening and an announcement by City is not expected until tomorrow.
Baros is good but I don't see the reason why he would sign for Villa really. :s31:
But it'll be great if he does join the club :)
skweam
27-07-2005, 02:48 AM
baros will sign. i believe he will.
but i think oleary knew that vassel is injury prone....so he is letting him golah.
zencro
30-07-2005, 11:57 PM
Thread is getting dry, so some news to spark it.
Baros agrees terms with Schalke 04
Liverpool striker Milan Baros has agreed personal terms with German club Schalke, according to coach Ralf Rangnick.
The Bundesliga club will now turn their attention towards negotiating a fee with the European champions for the Czech Republic international.
That could be a stumbling block to the deal going through, as the clubs are some way apart with their valuation of the 23-year-old.
'We have agreed everything with Baros and his agent,' said Rangnick.
'Early next week, we will make moves towards Liverpool.'
Liverpool are reportedly seeking a fee in the region of £7million for a player who has played no part in their Champions League qualifying matches so far, thereby allowing him to be available for future European games this season.
Rangnick is confident a compromise can be found, with a loan move possible to allow Schalke, who will compete in the Champions League, to obtain the required funds for a permanent move.
'We have plenty of time and aren't going to give in to Liverpool's demands immediately,' he said.
skweam
31-07-2005, 08:57 PM
goddamit.
wahlao.
then hu. we have currently 2 senior strikers. back to square one.
maybe they should try owen.
zencro
01-08-2005, 02:32 AM
Yeah, add in Moore and we have 3 strikers in the first team. It'll be great if Owen joins but I seriously doubt he would do that. Big headache now..
AshleyRiot
01-08-2005, 03:09 AM
Some dirt on your best player...
http://www.nufc.com/
Really unexpected... :s22:
skweam
01-08-2005, 12:41 PM
Some dirt on your best player...
http://www.nufc.com/
Really expected... :s22:
hmmm....
why did he do wad i told him to...
Jorgensen
01-08-2005, 12:59 PM
i believe this coming season Luke Moore will have more first team actions after depature of Vassell.He's of premiership class.
Is De le cuz a surplus to the team?Mark Delany is the current first choice right back?
zencro
01-08-2005, 01:22 PM
Lol at Solano.. :s13:
Delaney is the first-choice right-back... when fit. He is very, very injury-prone. De la Cruz is not really a good right back, he is more suited to play as a wing back.
skweam
01-08-2005, 02:48 PM
i believe this coming season Luke Moore will have more first team actions after depature of Vassell.He's of premiership class.
Is De le cuz a surplus to the team?Mark Delany is the current first choice right back?
HI.
yeah agreed that luke is gonna get more first team this season.
hope he dun struggle.
think that delaney is an OK right back. im actually wanna see how Aaron hughes perform.
zencro
02-08-2005, 12:45 PM
Outpriced Schalke give up on Baros
Schalke have pulled out of the race to sign Milan Baros from Liverpool.
The Bundesliga side had wanted the 23-year-old Czech Republic striker to boost their strike force for their domestic and Champions League campaigns.
However, the club's general manager Rudi Assauer spoke to Liverpool on the phone on this morning and it soon became clear a deal would not be struck, with the Anfield side ruling out any loan move.
'The club (Liverpool) only wants to sell,' said Assauer to club website www.schalke04.de.
'Eight to 10million euros is impossible so Milan Baros will not be moving to Schalke.'
Well, there's still a possibility.
skweam
02-08-2005, 03:16 PM
Outpriced Schalke give up on Baros
Schalke have pulled out of the race to sign Milan Baros from Liverpool.
The Bundesliga side had wanted the 23-year-old Czech Republic striker to boost their strike force for their domestic and Champions League campaigns.
However, the club's general manager Rudi Assauer spoke to Liverpool on the phone on this morning and it soon became clear a deal would not be struck, with the Anfield side ruling out any loan move.
'The club (Liverpool) only wants to sell,' said Assauer to club website www.schalke04.de.
'Eight to 10million euros is impossible so Milan Baros will not be moving to Schalke.'
Well, there's still a possibility.
how much do we left again.
i dun mind donating some.
haha.GOGO BAROS>
zencro
02-08-2005, 08:34 PM
how much do we left again.
i dun mind donating some.
haha.GOGO BAROS>
Hmm, although we were promised a substantial amount to spend, I doubt Doug Ellis will wanna pay 7m pounds for a player. I hope we get Baros but we don't exactly have any incentives like european football to attract him. :s27:
zencro
02-08-2005, 08:58 PM
Everton confirm: We want Baros
Everton have confirmed they are interested in signing Milan Baros from Liverpool.
The striker's days at Anfield appear to be numbered after manager Rafael Benitez admitted he would consider offers for the 23-year-old Czech.
Aston Villa and West Ham have already been linked with Baros and Everton chief executive Keith Wyness today confirmed Baros was one of a number of strikers they had targeted.
'We are looking at a number of different striking options and we are currently reviewing them all,' Wyness told the Liverpool Echo.
'Baros is one of the names on the list.'
Btw, I checked soccernet just now and realised that Villa is missing from the table, there are "2 Blackburns". Lol..
skweam
03-08-2005, 12:32 AM
Everton confirm: We want Baros
Everton have confirmed they are interested in signing Milan Baros from Liverpool.
The striker's days at Anfield appear to be numbered after manager Rafael Benitez admitted he would consider offers for the 23-year-old Czech.
Aston Villa and West Ham have already been linked with Baros and Everton chief executive Keith Wyness today confirmed Baros was one of a number of strikers they had targeted.
'We are looking at a number of different striking options and we are currently reviewing them all,' Wyness told the Liverpool Echo.
'Baros is one of the names on the list.'
Btw, I checked soccernet just now and realised that Villa is missing from the table, there are "2 Blackburns". Lol..
OMG YEAH!!
two blackburns...hey u got see the picture of Andrew Johnson?? see the fans ??
VILLA FANS.
and one boy is pointing a middle finger at him.
zencro
04-08-2005, 11:18 AM
FT: Hinckley 1-8 VILLA
Gabriel AgbonlahorVilla's second string proved far too strong for Hinckley and ran out comfortable winners.
Gabriel Agbonlahor topped the scoring with four, while Luke Moore shipped in with a hat-trick. Peter Whittingham completed the scoring.
The hosts had the first chance of any note on ten, when Brown met a right-wing corner and headed against the crossbar.
Three minutes later it was Villa's turn to hit the woodwork as Whittingham met Moore's ball, but fired against the post.
Villa had the lead on 18 as Agbonlahor raced onto a long ball, rounded the keeper and slotted home.
Moore almost doubled the lead two minutes later, breaking into the box before firing straight at keeper Price.
Agbonlahor grabbed his and Villa's second of the night on the half-hour mark. Again he met a long ball and this time he chipped the advancing Price.
The rookie striker completed his hat-trick seven minutes later, meeting Berson's inch-perfect pass and slotting past the keeper.
Djemba-Djemba almost made it 3-0 six minutes before the break as he beat three men before forcing an impressive save from Price.
Agbonlahor wasted no time in adding to his tally after the interval, firing into the top corner less than a minute into the second-half.
Hinckley pulled one back on 56 as Lenton pounced on a loose clearance and tapped in from close range.
Moore made it 5-1 on 59 as de la Cruz raced past two defenders and found the striker free in the box.
Moore turned provider on 65, sending Whittingham clear and the midfielder slotted home.
Villa's seventh came four minutes later as substitute Kabeya sent Moore clear and the striker made no mistake.
Moore completed his hat-trick on 82 with a solo effort, racing through the Hinckley rearguard before rounding off the scoring.
Villa played the last seven minutes with just ten men as Gary Cahill left the field with a nose injury.
VILLA: Henderson, de la Cruz, Foley, Cahill, Williams, Berson, Carew, Djemba-Djemba, Moore, Agbonlahor, Whittingham. Subs: Paul (for Berson 60), Olejnik (for Henderson 47), Kabeya (for Carew ht), Ward (for Djemba 60), Grant (for Foley 76), Caney (for de la Cruz 60), Green (for Agbonlahor 76).
Woo Hoo! :s13:
skweam
08-08-2005, 12:52 PM
wo ho ho.
sorry late reply.
skweam
14-08-2005, 03:17 AM
ok i think all of u noe the update.
i din watch the match :s27: got scv, but parents dun wanna subscribe soccer.ahaha.
FT scoreline is 2-2. the truth is after reading all the feedback from non villa supporters, villa are still gelling together.
sorensen, as usual, at his best.
i am happy for phillips for scoring on his debut. and also for Davis for his first goal of season :) .
a plus point to note is that Djemba2 is a first eleven.
looking forward to villa second match.
United_Treble
14-08-2005, 03:19 AM
ok i think all of u noe the update.
i din watch the match :s27: got scv, but parents dun wanna subscribe soccer.ahaha.
FT scoreline is 2-2. the truth is after reading all the feedback from non villa supporters, villa are still gelling together.
sorensen, as usual, at his best.
i am happy for phillips for scoring on his debut. and also for Davis for his first goal of season :) .
a plus point to note is that Djemba2 is a first eleven.
looking forward to villa second match.
so coincident im look for mu 2nd match (united v villa 20th april, old trafford)
skweam
14-08-2005, 01:06 PM
so coincident im look for mu 2nd match (united v villa 20th april, old trafford)
ho ho ho.
okok, not coincidence rite if u knew the next match will be against us and u came here? :s8:
hahahaha.
k k .
United_Treble
14-08-2005, 04:00 PM
ho ho ho.
okok, not coincidence rite if u knew the next match will be against us and u came here? :s8:
hahahaha.
k k .
seriously i already noe mu fixtures for this mth, i was looking for villa match (last yr 3-1) as soon as we beat everton, then i came to this thread :)
skweam
14-08-2005, 04:14 PM
seriously i already noe mu fixtures for this mth, i was looking for villa match (last yr 3-1) as soon as we beat everton, then i came to this thread :)
haha.okok.
may the best team win and bow out humbly.
skweam
14-08-2005, 04:32 PM
our two heroes :)
http://img362.imageshack.us/img362/6439/0102652722239005at.jpg (http://img362.imageshack.us/my.php?image=0102652722239005at.jpg)
zencro
14-08-2005, 09:40 PM
I missed the damn game as well! :s27:
But Djemba didt start the game, it was Davis and McCann, I'm so glad to see McCann playing again.
ManU will be pwned by Villa! :s12:
skweam
14-08-2005, 10:36 PM
I missed the damn game as well! :s27:
But Djemba didt start the game, it was Davis and McCann, I'm so glad to see McCann playing again.
ManU will be pwned by Villa! :s12:
yeah man.
and ur last sentence...shhh....i always have this kind of superstition to be humble and everything will go to plan.
haha,
i wan a draw, but predict a lost...
zencro
19-08-2005, 12:56 PM
Thread is getting dry..:s16:
Juve claim Villa are in for Miccoli
Juventus claim either Aston Villa or Benfica will buy Italian forward Fabrizio Miccoli in the next 48 hours.
The Serie A champions want to find a permanent new home for the forward, who played at Fiorentina last season after joining them in a deal which ended up with his rights being co-owned by both Juve and the Viola.
'We need to sell a striker, and that would be Miccoli,' said Juventus general director Luciano Moggi.
'In a couple of days time, we will know whether he will go to Benfica or Aston Villa.'
Miccoli's permanent departure from Juve was all but sealed last summer when he criticised them for choosing to retain Alessandro Del Piero's services instead of his own.
Even if Miccoli, 26, were to stay in Turin, he would struggle to break into the starting line-up.
The Italian international is surplus to requirements as David Trezeguet, Del Piero, Marcelo Zalayeta and Adrian Mutu are ahead of him in the pecking order at the Stadio Delle Alpi.
skweam
19-08-2005, 06:09 PM
Thread is getting dry..:s16:
haha....i read this already....but never post..
i wanna noe how many villa fans are therE???
and Liverpool are actually wanting SOLANO to go there!!
i reject whole-heartedly man...
zencro
19-08-2005, 07:19 PM
I'm not surprised Liverpool wants him, he's by far Villa's best player last season. If Solano leaves the club, it would be a a very big disaster.
skweam
19-08-2005, 07:36 PM
solano is the best that has ever happened apart from Angel's 20 goal the 2 previous seasons.
hey zencro, against Man united kevin phillips and Davo not going due to injuries!!
zencro
19-08-2005, 10:59 PM
solano is the best that has ever happened apart from Angel's 20 goal the 2 previous seasons.
hey zencro, against Man united kevin phillips and Davo not going due to injuries!!
Damn! :s27:
Probably means Angel will be starting as the sole forward. I'm really worried Laursen will become like Delaney. :s31:
Tmr's line-up will probably be something like that:
GK: Sorenson
FB: Samuel
FB: Hughes
**: Mellberg
**: Ridgewell
LM: Barry
RM: Solano
CM: McCann
CM: Davis
CM: Hendrie/ Djemba
CF: Angel
skweam
20-08-2005, 12:38 AM
serious lone forward??
they got luke moore?
or probably baros??
HAHHAHAHHA
zencro
20-08-2005, 11:37 AM
Yeah, I think O'Leary is gonna pack the midfield. It's ManU afterall.
zencro
23-08-2005, 10:44 AM
I won't block Solano transfer, says O'Leary
Aston Villa manager David O'Leary will not stand in the way of Nolberto Solano if the Peruvian international winger tells him he wants to leave Villa Park.
Solano has been linked with a move to Liverpool as a makeweight in the Milan Baros deal and the former Newcastle United ace hinted last week a switch to Anfield would be appealing.
O'Leary has insisted he has had no contact from Liverpool but admits Solano has been to see him to discuss the speculation over his future.
O'Leary said: 'I will never keep someone, at any club I am at, who wants to leave the club. That is the bottom line.
'I signed Nobby Solano and I think for the price we paid I could not believe we did not have any more opposition for him.
'But I will never keep anyone who wants to leave. The player came to see me and I told him the same I as am telling you, no-one from Liverpool has made contact with me about it and Nobby was fine.
'I have heard rumours and everything else and I don't know where the rumour has come from.
'But Nobby has seen the headlines and he has asked about it. But no-one has made an offer to me about it.
'There are rumours every day in football and we worry about other things than that.'
Solano, who is out of contract at the end of the season, was on the bench against Manchester United last weekend.
But O'Leary added: 'He will start against Portsmouth tomorrow night.'
Damn! He cannot leave! :s27:
Keo_86
23-08-2005, 10:55 AM
good luck to baros and villa...your team has just bought a great player......but it's just too bad tat rafa wants him to leave....
skweam
23-08-2005, 06:15 PM
Damn! He cannot leave! :s27:
why??
i hope he stays.
although the loyalty is really a question...
when he was brought on as a sub for villa againts manu, the fans Cheered for him sia...they still believe in him!
gonna watch the match tonite, Villa vs Pompey!!
just got channel 23 ahahahaha.
zencro
23-08-2005, 10:11 PM
yeah, i know solano is not loyal to villa but that doesn't make him a bad player.
Yeah! Villa v Pompey, it'll be our first win of the season!
skweam
24-08-2005, 04:13 PM
yeah, i know solano is not loyal to villa but that doesn't make him a bad player.
Yeah! Villa v Pompey, it'll be our first win of the season!
wah all i can say is knn.
i watched the match this morning.
i felt that Solano was not in the wrong. Villa after lose Solano were like in Old Trafford defening for their lives.
Although Villa were left wid 10 men, i feel that they perform better than Pompey.
Villa's defending qualities were far off better than Pompey. Usually the defending would be panicking and sliding carelessly against their opponent, but not Villa SIA!
it was the other way round IMO! Pompey's players concede more Freekicks through tackling/sliding than Villa! Villa were very cool throuhout. Nearly all the players impressed me.
This is the first Villa match i had watch since 6 years ago when Villa scored a winning goal through Merson to win against Everton at Villa Park!.....i was 10 then. haha.
I feel that Villa field quite a young team.
Sorensen
Hughes
Mellberg
Ridgewell
Barry
Whittingham
Davis
Mccann
Solano
Phillips
Angel
Subs:
Moore
De La Cruz
Davis and Mccann really impressed in midfield!!! Davis, hu was the smallest person(after Phillips left) on the field, cannot stop running!! Now i know why hes so hyped up!! Mccann defended really well! he dispossessed the opponent easily. He intercepted passes from the opponent from the midfield wid coolness. The defence was also outstanding. Mellberg,Barry,Ridgewell and hughes were fantastic. Ridgewell particularly impressed me. He was really good on the ball and his defending is superb! Mellberg and barry were forever fantastic. haha.
Attacking wise is not really good. Pointing out that our goal came from an own goal is not something to be proud of. Angel seriously lack something. When delacruz was brought on, things looked alive. Hopefully Baros will be the final missing fang .
zencro
24-08-2005, 07:43 PM
Now you know why I'm so glad McCann's back from injury and how excited I am about Davis.:D
Btw, I slept through the match! I went "Holy F***!" when I woke up at 5+ :s27:
And it seems to me that we are having the same problems as last season. We have a total of 8 shots on target in 3 matches compared to the oppositions who have a total of 29 shots! I really hope Baros will turn things around.
Also, Vassell scored his first goal for Man City. Great for him! :s12:
United_Treble
24-08-2005, 10:53 PM
i got this feeling but i hope it wasnt true, i hope villa wun relegate
United_Tremble
24-08-2005, 11:36 PM
i got this feeling but i hope it wasnt true, i hope United_Treble wun fart
skweam
25-08-2005, 01:49 AM
Now you know why I'm so glad McCann's back from injury and how excited I am about Davis.:D
Btw, I slept through the match! I went "Holy F***!" when I woke up at 5+ :s27:
And it seems to me that we are having the same problems as last season. We have a total of 8 shots on target in 3 matches compared to the oppositions who have a total of 29 shots! I really hope Baros will turn things around.
Also, Vassell scored his first goal for Man City. Great for him! :s12:
i yhink will improve one lah. From the way they play, i think wid addition of Baros, Villa can get into europe.
about time too.
yeah Vassell looked bloody good sia!! omg the way he score , steve darby said "Romariosh" hahaha. good to see him settle down very fast!
skweam
25-08-2005, 01:50 AM
i got this feeling but i hope it wasnt true, i hope villa wun relegate
haha relegate?? over my dead body! From the way they play, its hard to see them slide further then below top 10 this season!
skweam
25-08-2005, 02:36 AM
http://img80.imageshack.us/img80/8259/0102652728991001kq.jpg (http://img80.imageshack.us/my.php?image=0102652728991001kq.jpg)
i confirm go buy his jersey already!!
zencro
25-08-2005, 09:23 AM
Where are you gonna buy yours? :D
skweam
25-08-2005, 10:03 AM
go weston at queensway shopping centre lah. heh heh.
do they do names??
lucky Villa fan, jerseys are cheaper then the rest! ahahahah.
United_Treble
25-08-2005, 03:21 PM
haha relegate?? over my dead body! From the way they play, its hard to see them slide further then below top 10 this season!
i noe they r playing good soccer, so i wish my feeling is not true
skweam
25-08-2005, 06:20 PM
i noe they r playing good soccer, so i wish my feeling is not true
hahaha ok lah.
fumofumo
27-08-2005, 09:33 PM
JUST the one change for Rovers as Garry Flitcroft comes into Mark Hughes starting line-up.
He'll likely slot into central midfield with Steven Reid moving to right back to cover for the suspended Lucas Neill.
Andy Todd has passed a fitness test and lines up alongside Ryan Nelsen at the back. Shefki Kuqi has shaken off a knock and keeps his place up front.
For Aston Villa, new signing Milan Baros starts at the expense of Juan Pablo Angel.
VILLA: Sorensen, Samuel, Mellberg, Ridgewell, Hughes, Whittingham, Barry, McCann, Davis, Phillips, Baros. Subs: Taylor, Cahill, Moore, Berger, Angel.
ROVERS: Friedel, Reid, Todd, Nelsen, Matteo, Emerton, Flitcroft, Tugay, Savage, Pedersen, Kuqi. Subs: Enckelman, Gresko, Mokoena, Jansen, Johnson.
Source (http://www.rovers.premiumtv.co.uk/page/News/NewsDetail/0,,10303~705757,00.html)
oh, i support blue and white :D
skweam
28-08-2005, 01:04 AM
Fantastic match i shall say with Baros scoring and NEARLY scoring more!
Baros looked extremely lively after forcing his way into the first 11 ahead of Angel and i feel that he is gonna stay there longer.
Funny stuff i noticed was that Baros wears his short the other way round!! i think its those kinds of shorts lah . ahah.
Mccann nearly scored for Villa as his shot missed the post by a few inches. Baros tried a bicycle kick which the commentator said it was way off by 6 feet ahahahah...
Olof was devilish earlier when he got a yellow card for lunging at Pederson!! i lke those kind of players!!
yay 1-0 i think this is a build up which is a good sign of more to come!!
skweam
28-08-2005, 01:06 AM
heh heh, add on, still watching the match but full time already.
got to say Blackburn's got no chance to get near Sorensen! Good match i shall say!
skweam
28-08-2005, 02:56 AM
wah today our 2 debutants are superb!
Baros was shining throughout, better match than last time, he is the missing puzzle.
got yellow carded for diving.. hahahaha.. i belive he was trying to evade friedel and den come into contactlah....walao ref..
Berger came on as sub and quickly made an impression!
hes vision is superb! he create this long ball for baros hu have nno defenders infront of him except for friedel, then he pull the ball to his right, unmarked phillips hu shot and hit the POST!!!
United_Treble
28-08-2005, 03:34 AM
wah today our 2 debutants are superb!
Baros was shining throughout, better match than last time, he is the missing puzzle.
got yellow carded for diving.. hahahaha.. i belive he was trying to evade friedel and den come into contactlah....walao ref..
Berger came on as sub and quickly made an impression!
hes vision is superb! he create this long ball for baros hu have nno defenders infront of him except for friedel, then he pull the ball to his right, unmarked phillips hu shot and hit the POST!!!
well done i think as time goes by baros will be villa's ace
skweam
28-08-2005, 12:50 PM
well done i think as time goes by baros will be villa's ace
yeah. hope villa got more can be better than last season!
skweam
28-08-2005, 01:01 PM
Soccernet
Ridgewell powered in a goal-bound header, but Todd scrambled back to clear the ball off the line.
AVFC.com
Villa made a great start as they exerted pressure early on, Dominic Matteo having to clear Gareth Barry's header over the bar in the second minute after good work from Steven Davis in the middle of the park.
?????????????????
it was neither of them!! ahahhahahaha. the journalists screwed.
the person hu headed the early attempts was Aaron Hughes!!ahahaha....omg....
zencro
29-08-2005, 10:17 AM
Yeah! Great start by Baros! I think we will expect some rockets from Berger this season :)
Next stop, Upton Park!
skweam
29-08-2005, 04:41 PM
Yeah! Great start by Baros! I think we will expect some rockets from Berger this season :)
Next stop, Upton Park!
didu watch did u watch did u watch!?!?!??!
wah i was so proud!!
baros was like unstoppable!! gonna buy a jersey but dunno hus name to put!!
davis or baros???
zencro
30-08-2005, 12:53 PM
I didn't watch, just caught the highlights. I would get Baros since he will be more recognisable as a striker.
skweam
30-08-2005, 02:38 PM
I didn't watch, just caught the highlights. I would get Baros since he will be more recognisable as a striker.
hmm...yeah i knew ull answer that. ahha..
but jersey costs at 90 bucks sia wahlao...
zencro
31-08-2005, 04:39 PM
Bouma completes Villa transfer from PSV
Aston Villa have completed the £3.5million signing of PSV Eindhoven defender Wilfred Bouma.
His arrival follows those of Milan Baros, Kevin Phillips, Patrick Berger, Aaron Hughes and Stuart Taylor this summer.
Bouma, 27, ends his long association with PSV to join David O'Leary's side.
He began his career with PSV, making his debut in the 1994/95 season, and aside from loan spells with MVV and Fortuna Sittard, has played all his club football for the Phillips Stadion outfit.
'I am really delighted to be joining Villa,' said the Holland international.
'It is a big club and I am really looking forward to playing for them in the Premier League.'
Bouma won four Dutch league titles with PSV, and although Villa have not been English champions since 1981, the adaptable defender believes the team O'Leary has assembled is full of potential.
'I know Aston Villa want to be challenging at the top of the table and I want to help. I want to do my best to improve the club,' he told the club's website.
'The manager David O'Leary was a massive reason for my signing for Villa. I had a great talk with him and he made it clear that he believes in me and my ability.
'That gives me confidence and that's important for me. I had a good feeling about Villa - with their history of being a big club and the people I have spoken to from the club were all very helpful. That's why I chose Aston Villa.
'Villa Park is also a really great stadium and I look forward to my first game for the club.'
Bouma is capable of playing either at left-back or in the centre of defence, and he played a major role in PSV reaching the semi-finals of last season's Champions League.
A former PSV team-mate of Jaap Stam and Ruud van Nistelrooy, he completed a medical this morning prior to the completion of his transfer.
But O'Leary must wait before seeing his new acquisition in action on the training pitch, with Bouma making a quick exit after his medical to team up with his Holland team-mates ahead of their World Cup qualifiers against Armenia and Andorra.
Woo Hoo! I didn't even know Villa was interested. Now that we have acquired another good defender, we are looking at a good season ahead! :s12:
zencro
31-08-2005, 04:43 PM
Birmingham Res 1-1 VILLA Res FT
It was honours even for Villa and Birmingham City as the reserves derby at St. Andrew's finished 1-1.
Luke Moore opened the scoring for the claret and blue side before Neil Kilkenny equalised for the home side - both goals coming before half-time.
Villa took the lead on three minutes, Jamie Ward racing down the wing before an immaculate cross to Moore, who bulleted a header past Nico Vaesen.
Kevin MacDonald's men certainly dominated the early play without necessarily creating too many clear-cut chances.
Lee Hendrie nearly made it two on 14 minutes, with a 30-yard half-volley that Vaesen did very well to save at the second attempt.
Birmingham equalised on 16 minutes courtesy of a Kilkenny header from 14 yards out, following an excellent cross from Matthew Birley.
Kilkenny almost doubled the goals' tally for Blues on 26 minutes, his 25-yard right-footer brilliantly parried away by Taylor.
Patrik Berger saw a sweet drive only just sail over the bar on 37 minutes before Christian Kabeya headed a Njazi Kuqi chance off the line two minutes later.
Gary Cahill cut a good ball back on 49 minutes and it was well met by Gabriel Agbonalhor. Unfortunately, his competent shot was deflected wide of Vaesen's post.
Asa Hall hit a phenomenal shot from the edge of the box for Birmingham on 57 minutes but this was matched by a incredible flicked save by Taylor on to his post. Kuqi should have given Blues the lead on 65, after a ball over the top of the Villa defence. But with only Taylor to beat from eight yards out, he hit his shot over the bar.
Berger hit a free-kick over the bar on 78 minutes, after a 10-minute period of few chances. He went even closer two minutes later with a long range effort, which Vaesen did well to palm away.
Tebily had an excellent chance to win the match saved by Taylor at the death, as the game finished honours even.
Team: Taylor; Paul Green, Foley, Cahill, O'Halloran; Berger, Hendrie, Ward, Kabeya; Moore, Agbonlahor. Subs: Paul, Williams, Lund, Grant, Olejnik (gk).
Oh well, cannot wait for the premiership clash! :s13:
zencro
31-08-2005, 05:17 PM
Now that Newcastle has sold Jenas, they will most probably renew their interest in Solano. This is the busiest season we had ever in terms of transfers!
skweam
31-08-2005, 06:08 PM
Now that Newcastle has sold Jenas, they will most probably renew their interest in Solano. This is the busiest season we had ever in terms of transfers!
cant be lah they wanted Solano back.
i dun think the player wanna go back too...
zencro
31-08-2005, 07:21 PM
cant be lah they wanted Solano back.
i dun think the player wanna go back too...
Guess we'll have to wait and see. Anyway, I'll say Villa's prospects look brighter than Newcastle's. We have a nicely-rounded side now and Newcastle has been doing nothing but adding attackers and further weakening their defense with the sale of Jenas. Hope Solano stays! :D
zencro
01-09-2005, 12:19 AM
Bakke In The Big Time
Eirik Bakke has signed for Villa on loan from Leeds United until the end of January.
The Norwegian, who became David O'Leary's seventh summer capture, passed his medical and agreed terms on a five-month contract this afternoon.
The midfield maestro became O'Leary's second signing at Leeds on a five-year contract from Norwegian second division side Sogndal for £1.75m in May 1999.
Bakke impressed the former Leeds manager in a short trial at the end of the 1998-99 season and in his second appearance for Norway in their 6-0 romp over Jamaica two weeks later and was quickly snapped up to become the first close season arrival.
He has struggled with injury over the past few seasons but is hoping to recapture his best form under his former boss.
This is really good. I have always liked him at Leeds a couple of seasons ago. :D
skweam
01-09-2005, 04:57 AM
This is really good. I have always liked him at Leeds a couple of seasons ago. :D
WOAH.
welcome backe Bakke. good signing . Definitely one of he best players in Norway.
zencro
01-09-2005, 01:33 PM
Solano makes it two for Toon as Milner joins Villa
Nolberto Solano tonight completed his return to Newcastle less than an hour before the closure of the transfer window.
The 30-year-old Peruvian arrived back at St James' Park just 19 months after making a £1.5million move to Aston Villa.
Teenager James Milner will spend the rest of the season on loan at Villa, but Solano's return will come as a further boost to the Magpies at the end of a day on which they unveiled record signing Michael Owen.
Solano, who has signed a two-year deal with the option of a further 12 months, was delighted to begin a second spell at the club.
'It's great to be back at Newcastle and I hope we can have a really successful season here,' he told the club's official website.
Chairman Freddy Shepherd added: 'It's great to have Nobby back and I am sure all the fans are thrilled by the news.'
The fans who gathered earlier to welcome Owen to Tyneside chanted the South American's name in the hope he would join, and they got their wish shortly before the midnight deadline after he passed a medical.
The former Boca Juniors player was signed by Kenny Dalglish for £2.5million in August 1998 and proved popular as he and Frenchman Laurent Robert set about the task of providing the supply to Alan Shearer.
However, he fell out with Sir Bobby Robson over his trips to South America to represent his country after at one point agreeing to put his international career on hold, and he was eventually sold to Villa in January last year.
Robson's replacement Graeme Souness attempted to re-sign him in January, and his persistence has now been rewarded.
Since his departure and that of Robert, Newcastle have been short of both natural width and dead-ball specialists, and Solano will provide both.
His return will restore strength in depth to the Magpies midfield after Jermaine Jenas's departure for Tottenham and take Souness' spending since his arrival on Tyneside through the £50million barrier.
Milner, 19, emerged from the youth set-up under Villa boss David O'Leary at Leeds.
But having moved to St James' last summer, he struggled to make an impact at first-team level.
Sigh, I'm really disappointed in Solano. I think he will be booed when he comes back to Villa Park. Milner has been good whenever he plays but he doesn't get a lot of games. Not the player to fill Solano's shoes.
skweam
01-09-2005, 06:07 PM
Sigh, I'm really disappointed in Solano. I think he will be booed when he comes back to Villa Park. Milner has been good whenever he plays but he doesn't get a lot of games. Not the player to fill Solano's shoes.
i dun think Milner is an answer for Solano...wahlao..now i doubt where they can reach next...bloody unloyal player.
martinweng
01-09-2005, 06:10 PM
i dun think Milner is an answer for Solano...wahlao..now i doubt where they can reach next...bloody unloyal player.
i dunno, but if 20000 fans chant for my name, and the chairman would answer my transfer value and bid for me, i wont say i wont wanna go back.
skweam
01-09-2005, 08:06 PM
i dunno, but if 20000 fans chant for my name, and the chairman would answer my transfer value and bid for me, i wont say i wont wanna go back.
its not about that.
its about the statement he made went Liverpool wanted him.
I thought he did not meant it, but when Solano went back to Newcastle, now i realised wad the situation like in Aston Villa...
walao...solano thinks he go to Villa halfway and den got Player of the year he big-headed already, can sign for anyone...seriously his loyalty should be questioned.
zencro
02-09-2005, 12:40 PM
its not about that.
its about the statement he made went Liverpool wanted him.
I thought he did not meant it, but when Solano went back to Newcastle, now i realised wad the situation like in Aston Villa...
walao...solano thinks he go to Villa halfway and den got Player of the year he big-headed already, can sign for anyone...seriously his loyalty should be questioned.
I'm still feeling absolutely gutted. Oh well, maybe it's a good thing. I rather have a team of players who all have the disire to play and perform for Villa.
skweam
02-09-2005, 07:48 PM
I'm still feeling absolutely gutted. Oh well, maybe it's a good thing. I rather have a team of players who all have the disire to play and perform for Villa.
yeah, but now hu takes over right-midfield?? delacruz..? haha or maybe Angel!
but i noe Hendrie and Bakke can play right mid.
zencro
03-09-2005, 01:53 AM
We actually have quite alot of options for a right midfield. Hendrie, Bakke, DLC, Milner.
Angel as right wing? :s13:
zencro
03-09-2005, 01:54 AM
I'll Fill Yer Boots
James Milner admits it will be difficult to fill Nobby Solano's boots - although he is looking for