View Full Version : Blackburn Rovers Thread (EPL's Meanest Team)
Pages :
[
3]
simon84
01-02-2006, 08:44 AM
wow good deal for bentley.
sinema pongolle dunnnoe can make it or not. looks kind of light weight
fumofumo
01-02-2006, 10:20 AM
pongolle's highly rated in france. he's a gd (loan) signing, though i'd prefer a big and powerful striker instead of a pacy one. we all know Kuqi aint the cut for the full 90min...
simon84
01-02-2006, 09:24 PM
sinema can't play later against man utd..
still will be a kuqi and bentley parnership
fumofumo
02-02-2006, 03:52 AM
Todays line up:
ROVERS: Friedel, Neill, Todd ©, Nelsen, Gray, Reid, Tugay, Savage, Pedersen, Bentley, Kuqi.
Subs: Enckelman, Emerton, Mokoena, Johnson, Peter.
MAN UTD: Van der Sar, Neville ©, Evra, Ferdinand, Brown, Ronaldo, Rooney, Saha, Vidic, Richardson, Fletcher.
Subs: Howard, van Nistelrooy, Park, Silvestre, Pique.
fumofumo
02-02-2006, 06:10 AM
wat a match.... 4-3. bentley's hat-trick, ferdy sent off, savage stretchered off, 6min of injury time, and kuqi misses another sitter...
ah well, 3 pts in the bag, but savage is a concern here. he's been one of the main driving force for us this season. awww... :(
ADDED: seems that savage broke his leg. no gurantee this is accurate.
Bentley's hat-trick is the first against ManYooo in the Premiership. =D
PootPoot
02-02-2006, 06:17 AM
again a match full of errors. but this time going rovers way. goodgame! bentley celebrate 3 1/2 yrs contract with hattrick. haha
slip from arsenal, spurs means that rovers closing down 4th! Go Go Go!
http://www.photoi.org/share/upload3/1/2/629548836/table.jpg
Swakoo
02-02-2006, 10:50 AM
i saw the jersey at 'la vanita' at peninsula
both home and away also have.
if i remember correctly, they selling for S$80
cool, i'll check them out...
wah you guys got quite a few jerseys ah...
the red ones atre nice.. are they still at the store?
saw the results, another good 3 points but our squad is really getting depleted man...
fumofumo
02-02-2006, 12:49 PM
Savage's shin is badly bruised, will have an x-ray but it is just a precaution. *phew*
ferguson's still moaning abt this and that
United boss Sir Alex Ferguson accused Rovers of playing a poor brand of football in which 'they foul all the time' and slammed referee Phil Dowd's decision to send off Ferdinand.
Ferguson said: 'Rio did it twice in two minutes while their centre-back Andy Todd committed about 10 fouls in the first half and was not punished.'
On the incident which left Savage on a stretcher, Ferguson added: 'Rio says he hasn't touched him so I will just have to see the video.'
Ferguson added: 'Tonight we didn't get what we deserved. They (Blackburn) didn't really play any football at all in the first half and they were just surviving yet they were 3-1 up.
'We equalised, then there was a schoolboy error at the back between Rio and Van der Sar and the penalty was harsh... the ball was just going straight to van der Sar and it was a soft penalty from the linesman.'
he's obviously in a state of denial. someone pls wake him up.
penalty was harsh .... ? he's blind or what? wes brown definitely did it on purpose!
PootPoot
02-02-2006, 01:03 PM
confirm he blind. wes brown hands was like naruto chars running with arm on the back. its like he was making a rasengan with his hand behind. lol.. he old liao cannot blame..
http://www.photoi.org/share/upload3/1/2/165370946/snapshot20060202130252.jpg
yellowsubmarine
02-02-2006, 09:30 PM
Old Fergie has really lost his plot. His tinted glasses must have made him mistaken Rovers' Blue n White for Wolves orange kit. Rio played well against Wolves doesnt mean he will play well against Rovers. Who does he think Rio is?
Well done to Rovers! and Bentley! A fantastic win for us!
fumofumo
02-02-2006, 09:44 PM
noticed that no one wore man utd jerseys on the streets today.
i wore my rovers one today just to piss them off :D :D
(no, i dun usualli wear my jerseys after a rovers win hor.)
on my msn still got man u fan still sour abt the result. waahaahahaaa~
yellowsubmarine
02-02-2006, 10:42 PM
noticed that no one wore man utd jerseys on the streets today.
i wore my rovers one today just to piss them off :D :D
(no, i dun usualli wear my jerseys after a rovers win hor.)
on my msn still got man u fan still sour abt the result. waahaahahaaa~
This will differentiate the real Manu fans from the fake ones.
yellowsubmarine
02-02-2006, 10:47 PM
http://img93.imageshack.us/img93/731/snoopdog2gj.jpg
http://img336.imageshack.us/img336/2137/fergie7ap.jpg
PootPoot
03-02-2006, 05:05 PM
With the club rediscovering the winning habit that has been missing for so long, they are also beginning to attract new investors.
The club have announced a new three-year shirt sponsorship deal - to commence from the start of next season - with internet betting company bet24.com, believed to be worth around £6million.
While Rovers are still some way from returning to the days when they ruled the Premiership roost under sugar daddy Sir Jack Walker, these are promising times for Williams, Hughes et al.
"This deal says we are enjoying a healthy phase, and a decent period in our history," said Williams.
now the question, is this the logo going to be on the shirt? o.O?
http://www.bet24.com/bet24NetWeb/images/header3/bet24com_logo.gif
yellowsubmarine
03-02-2006, 10:06 PM
The logo looks kinda ugly. Still prefer Lonsdale. But since a shirt sponsorship brings in money for the club, i dont mind. =p
Things are looking a little rosy for Rovers right now.
simon84
04-02-2006, 10:29 AM
use ur avartar pic on the jersey nicer
fumofumo
04-02-2006, 10:13 PM
ROVERS are unsurprisingly unchanged fromt the side that started against Manchester United on Wednesday night.
Robbie Savage has recovered from the knock sustained in the midweek match and starts.
Florent Sinama-Pongolle has to settle for a place on the bench along with Brett Emerton, Peter Enckelman, Aaron Mokoena and Sergio Peter.
Lucas Neill makes his 150th Premiership start for Rovers.
The home side make two changes, Nigel Quashie comes in for his debut, whilst Ronnie Wallwork returns after suspension.
WEST BROM: Kuszczak, Albrechtsen, Davies, Clement, Robinson, Inamoto, Wallwork, Quashie, Greening, Horsfield, Campbell (c). Subs: Kirkland, Carter, Kozak, Martinez, Ellington.
ROVERS: Friedel, Neill, Todd (c), Nelsen, Gray, Reid, Tugay, Savage, Pedersen, Bentley, Kuqi. Subs: Enckelman, Emerton, Mokoena, Sinama-Pongolle, Peter.
still no bellers...
yellowsubmarine
04-02-2006, 10:44 PM
Good to see Peter among the subs and Savage alright after that clash with Snoop Dog.
Rovers, please build on that victory over Manutd... predicting a narrow victory for Rovers..
yellowsubmarine
04-02-2006, 11:56 PM
Half-time: A below-par Rovers 2-0 down against West Brom. Bring on Pongolle!
fumofumo
05-02-2006, 01:04 AM
well, west brom aint that bad... >_<
yellowsubmarine
05-02-2006, 01:43 AM
We were poor tonight. Wasted a wonderful chance to move up even further the table. Now we are in 9th.
Co'mon Rovers!
Kiwi8
05-02-2006, 01:53 AM
well, west brom aint that bad... >_<
I'm baffled. Why is it that a team that can beat Man U occasionally, can lose to a relegation-haunted West Brom... no offence intended. :s11: :s11: :s11:
yellowsubmarine
05-02-2006, 03:22 AM
I'm baffled. Why is it that a team that can beat Man U occasionally, can lose to a relegation-haunted West Brom... no offence intended. :s11: :s11: :s11:
3 words for you.
"This is football"
Nothing is for certain in this world of football. =:p
Kiwi8
05-02-2006, 03:35 AM
3 words for you.
"This is football"
Nothing is for certain in this world of football. =:p
I think it's because whenever Mark Hughes plays against his master (Sir Alex Ferguson), he'll extra motivate himself to perform better than his master. ;)
PootPoot
05-02-2006, 02:38 PM
sad result. could have go close the gap. hope to find form again next week.
PootPoot
07-02-2006, 02:24 PM
Blackburn Rovers have begun talks to turn Zurab Khizanishvili's season-long loan stay from Rangers into a permanent one.
The 24-year-old Georgia international has made 22 appearances for Rovers since his arrival from Ibrox and has made a good impression, despite being sent off twice this season.
Rovers chairman John Williams told the Evening Telegraph: "We have every intention of trying to convert Zurab's loan into a permanent arrangement.
"Talks have already taken place."
A fee of around £500,000 is likely to be enough to bring to an end Khizanishvili's four-and-a-half-year stint in Scotland, where he has also played for Dundee.
Meanwhile, Rovers have also been linked with a move for former Celtic winger Didier Agathe, who is a free agent after his Bhoys contract was cancelled by mutual consent.
yellowsubmarine
07-02-2006, 11:38 PM
Blackburn Rovers have begun talks to turn Zurab Khizanishvili's season-long loan stay from Rangers into a permanent one.
The 24-year-old Georgia international has made 22 appearances for Rovers since his arrival from Ibrox and has made a good impression, despite being sent off twice this season.
Rovers chairman John Williams told the Evening Telegraph: "We have every intention of trying to convert Zurab's loan into a permanent arrangement.
"Talks have already taken place."
A fee of around £500,000 is likely to be enough to bring to an end Khizanishvili's four-and-a-half-year stint in Scotland, where he has also played for Dundee.
Meanwhile, Rovers have also been linked with a move for former Celtic winger Didier Agathe, who is a free agent after his Bhoys contract was cancelled by mutual consent.
£500,000 i think is a good deal for Rovers. It will be better getting him on a permanent deal as he is already getting used to playing for Rovers in the Premiership instead of getting a new player in. Plus, he's only 24. =:p
simon84
15-02-2006, 07:54 PM
can't believe they are not telecasting the match between blackburn and sunderland today. they rather replay the fa cup between arsenal and bolton :s27:
yellowsubmarine
15-02-2006, 10:24 PM
can't believe they are not telecasting the match between blackburn and sunderland today. they rather replay the fa cup between arsenal and bolton :s27:
Precisely. ESPNStar's getting disgusting. There aint any other bigger matches LIVE together at the same time yet they are not showing Rovers' game LIVE. :s8:
fumofumo
15-02-2006, 10:25 PM
yah...disappointed that no match tonite. gaaah. wasted 80cents buying the papers to check the tv schedules.
anyway, i've got a feeling that rovers will win big tonite.
yellowsubmarine
15-02-2006, 11:04 PM
yah...disappointed that no match tonite. gaaah. wasted 80cents buying the papers to check the tv schedules.
anyway, i've got a feeling that rovers will win big tonite.
Wah, heng ah! I used only 70cents to buy the newpaper, saved 10cents. :s13:
Your feeling is opposite of mine. I think Rovers will screw up tonight (again) and Stead will be the chief of destruction.
*Pray that i will be proven wrong*
fumofumo
15-02-2006, 11:16 PM
Wah, heng ah! I used only 70cents to buy the newpaper, saved 10cents. :s13:
Your feeling is opposite of mine. I think Rovers will screw up tonight (again) and Stead will be the chief of destruction.
*Pray that i will be proven wrong*
hmmm... then i hope i will be correct. i kinda got the last one spot-on (fren was going to bet on rovers win , but i disuade him from doing so coz *it juz didn't feel right*)
anyone's going on tml Football Crazy?
fumofumo
16-02-2006, 08:12 AM
and 3 points in the bag. back into business. :D
yellowsubmarine
16-02-2006, 09:48 PM
Yah, a huge relief! Now, we are up to 7th spot. The highest so far this season. Bellamy must continue to stay injury-free. We need his goals.. =:p
fumofumo
16-02-2006, 10:29 PM
nice to see bellemy scoring as many league goals as owen so far this season (7) :D
gaah...when can i see rovers on tv... next wekend? (vs the just-one-point-above-us gooners)
still no idea how sinama's playing.
yellowsubmarine
17-02-2006, 11:41 PM
nice to see bellemy scoring as many league goals as owen so far this season (7) :D
gaah...when can i see rovers on tv... next wekend? (vs the just-one-point-above-us gooners)
still no idea how sinama's playing.
I'm confident our game will be shown on tv. Cos we are playing ARSENAL. They are a big team with so many fans in Singapore, EspnStar wont dare to offend the Arsenal fans here. :s13:
PootPoot
18-02-2006, 11:04 PM
was playing fm and got tired of the old kits so i did creased kits of the new kits on polls with the sponsor. tot it be interesting to see how it turns out. :s22:
only did kit 1 and 2 though.
http://www.photovideoi.com/share/upload/2006/02/18/23/blackburnnew.png http://www.photovideoi.com/share/upload/2006/02/18/23/blackburnnew2.png
yellowsubmarine
19-02-2006, 12:06 AM
Wah! How did you do it one. I prefer the one with the red rim at the neck. Looks sleek, also the crest is on left chest. Nice! The bet24 logo looks.. :s8:
I hate placing the crest in the middle ever since, we wore something similar during our European exploits a few years back.
was playing fm and got tired of the old kits so i did creased kits of the new kits on polls with the sponsor. tot it be interesting to see how it turns out. :s22:
only did kit 1 and 2 though.
http://www.photovideoi.com/share/upload/2006/02/18/23/blackburnnew.png http://www.photovideoi.com/share/upload/2006/02/18/23/blackburnnew2.png
PootPoot
19-02-2006, 03:41 AM
acty quite easy and look at the site u made surely peanuts for u. just need a template for the wrinkles and paint up the design.. heres the rest.. now i can cont my game. :s13:
http://www.photovideoi.com/share/upload/2006/02/19/3/bb.png
btw is the result out?
PootPoot
20-02-2006, 07:18 PM
not sure if u guys saw this compliation of MGP from SP.
well check it out im still dling thou..
Here (http://www.soccerfanatics.net/soccervideo/5962996l.wmv.html)
yellowsubmarine
22-02-2006, 10:50 PM
not sure if u guys saw this compliation of MGP from SP.
well check it out im still dling thou..
Here (http://www.soccerfanatics.net/soccervideo/5962996l.wmv.html)
Yup, i just saw it! Loads soooooooo slow, but it was worth it! =)
Nearly every goal is a gem! Rovers need to hold on to him for as long as possible. He's such an asset.
yellowsubmarine
24-02-2006, 10:23 PM
acty quite easy and look at the site u made surely peanuts for u. just need a template for the wrinkles and paint up the design.. heres the rest.. now i can cont my game. :s13:
http://www.photovideoi.com/share/upload/2006/02/19/3/bb.png
btw is the result out?
WINNERS Source (http://www.rovers.premiumtv.co.uk/page/News/NewsDetail/0,,10303~786293,00.html)
http://www.rovers.premiumtv.co.uk/javaImages/ae/85/0,,10303~2852270,00.gif
http://www.rovers.premiumtv.co.uk/javaImages/af/85/0,,10303~2852271,00.gif
PootPoot
25-02-2006, 04:09 AM
omfg.......... damn ugly lol!
i meant the logo. =:p
fumofumo
25-02-2006, 11:53 PM
1/2time 1-0
arsenal hardly got any chances.
are they burnley in disguise? :D
PootPoot
26-02-2006, 12:03 AM
yeah.. but i wonder hows pedersen's hamstring injury. hope he can play against spurs.
AhHuat
26-02-2006, 12:57 AM
solid win for blackburn
:)
PootPoot
26-02-2006, 01:00 AM
how about that! win against united and arsenal. if can win chelsea and liverpool ho sey already!! cos those 2 match also at home. :s22:
6 homes 5 aways to go.
yellowsubmarine
26-02-2006, 01:18 AM
It was well deserved win for Rovers! Please tell Arsenal, possession dont win you games. We just need 1% of the possession to sink them. Every Rover played their hearts out. The entire team deserved the credit. We've gunned down the gunners and are above them! Next up, Spuds.
Hope Pederson will be fine. *cross fingers*
Souljer
26-02-2006, 01:40 AM
Good play, Blackburn. Obviously Mark Hughes has done his homework well unlike the Real Madrid coach.
chengsun
26-02-2006, 01:40 AM
Good job done!, Congratulation! Mark Hughes is much better then souness
simon84
26-02-2006, 04:16 AM
very shiok win.
quite nail biting at the end though.
gilberto sux to the max.
keep giving us possession
fumofumo
26-02-2006, 12:22 PM
after reading arse wenger's post-match comments, i think he's in a self-deniel mode. arsenal had been poor for most of the match. same goes for SAF.
ask you guys eh... any idea where in london/oxford got any megastores or something to buy (rovers) merchandises? Got fren who might be going there and i want to ask him to buy stuff for me (but he wun be back till june, and i have to draw up a list)
Of coz if can i'm trying to psycho him to go to pop by blackburn (which is a little far). :D and heard that the Rovers store ain't really equipped (since Sports World is running the store)
fumofumo
26-02-2006, 12:29 PM
Hope Pederson will be fine. *cross fingers*
me thinks shd be fine. If it were serious, there would be news on him so far.
shd be just a strained to the hamstring. He wasn't realy limping when he walked off.
yellowsubmarine
26-02-2006, 04:48 PM
very shiok win.
quite nail biting at the end though.
gilberto sux to the max.
keep giving us possession
Tugay towards the end of the first half also gave away possesion needlessly. Thankfully, the magnificent Todd was there to neutralise the attack with his interception on Henry/Fabregas.
yellowsubmarine
26-02-2006, 04:52 PM
ask you guys eh... any idea where in london/oxford got any megastores or something to buy (rovers) merchandises? Got fren who might be going there and i want to ask him to buy stuff for me (but he wun be back till june, and i have to draw up a list)
Of coz if can i'm trying to psycho him to go to pop by blackburn (which is a little far). :D and heard that the Rovers store ain't really equipped (since Sports World is running the store)
Im not sure eh. Maybe you wanna try the BRFC Supporters Forum (http://www.brfcs.co.uk/mb/) and ask those Rovers supporters living in London.
fumofumo
28-02-2006, 10:27 AM
found this in BRFCS. shd be useful ^^
http://www.890564.com/brfc/braindump/0506last11.gif
PootPoot
28-02-2006, 11:51 AM
found this in BRFCS. shd be useful ^^
looking at it..
http://www.photovideoi.com/share/upload/2006/02/28/11/hmm.png
bolton have a interesting fixtures against those 3 one shot with westham 2nd.. :s13: and also i think they have missing fixtures. they should have 2 games more then the rest but maybe cos of fa cup so haven fix.
:s12: kill the spuds!! :s12:
yellowsubmarine
28-02-2006, 10:43 PM
This is exciting time for Rovers! Lets hope we can bring the winning mentality we have against big team into games against midtable teams and lower teams. These are the games that we ought to get points from.
But we have to do so without Pedersen. Damn disappointing. :s8:
Hopefully Peter can use his chance well.
PootPoot
02-03-2006, 08:48 PM
ya man.. 3 weeks without pedersen.. heng liverpool and chelsea still far away. spurs, boro and villa heng ah! team killer injuried.
dammad
03-03-2006, 10:15 PM
sweet~ draw is a gd result i think
PootPoot
05-03-2006, 12:18 PM
tonite is the nite!! rape spuds!!
PootPoot
06-03-2006, 12:49 AM
jialat leh, screw by linesmen for goal one(mido last touch one), and goal 2 by the ref(keane handle ball also). heng pull one back liao sinama.. sian
fumofumo
06-03-2006, 12:57 AM
45 more minutes to go... come think think of it, we dun deserved to be 2-1 down.
PootPoot
06-03-2006, 01:56 AM
45 more minutes to go... come think think of it, we dun deserved to be 2-1 down.
nooo!! dont deserve this result leh sian..
yellowsubmarine
06-03-2006, 02:04 AM
The better team didnt win today. Its a shame.
This is the best performance i seen Rovers play. The battling qualities that they showed when they are 2-0 down. Spurs dint deserve it, but they still got the 3 points in the end. Thats the cruelty of football at times.
Well done Rovers!
Jermaine84
06-03-2006, 12:12 PM
got to agree its one of the best game blackburn had.. hard to imagine its the same club label as bully not long ago.. with the aggression n skill blackburn can go really far :)
yellowsubmarine
08-03-2006, 12:02 PM
got to agree its one of the best game blackburn had.. hard to imagine its the same club label as bully not long ago.. with the aggression n skill blackburn can go really far :)
Thanks for compliments. But it still frustrating to play well(really well) and lose a game. :(
yellowsubmarine
08-03-2006, 12:05 PM
Rovers star nabbed over 'assault'
CONTROVERSIAL Wales and Blackburn Rovers striker Craig Bellamy was overnight in connection with an alleged assault on a young woman in a Cardiff city centre nightclub.
The 26-year-old star was released on bail after being questioned about an incident at the Number 10 club in February.
He is due to report back to police after further inquiries.
Bellamy was born in Cardiff, and returns regularly to visit his parents and other family members.
"We are investigating the alleged assault of a 19-year-old woman," a South Wales police spokesman said.
"A 26-year-old man was arrested on suspicion of assault and has been released on police bail pending further inquiries."
The alleged victim complained of suffering bruising to her arm and neck.
Blackburn Rovers declined to comment, saying it was not a club issue.
Source (http://www.theadvertiser.news.com.au/common/story_page/0,5936,18388281%255E23215,00.html)
Hope Bellamy doesnt get jailed, if not. thats really a massive blow to Rovers.
fumofumo
12-03-2006, 01:36 AM
wtf... 20min gone. villa almost scored. so many chances for them so far.
wtf
wtf
wtf
wtf... >_< could have been 3-0 to villa
fumofumo
12-03-2006, 02:23 AM
1-0. w00t~!
fumofumo
12-03-2006, 02:47 AM
2-0 bellers. now i understand how spud's fans felt last wk.
yellowsubmarine
12-03-2006, 11:51 AM
SONG BO, Villa? Whahaha
Unbeaten away since October? lol. Too bad you came to Ewood Park.
This is a football lesson taught by Rovers to you. Chances dont win you games. Spurs taught us last week, and we are teaching you this week. Sit up and listen!
waitforyou
13-03-2006, 04:19 AM
anywhere in Singapore can find Blackburn away long sleeves jersey? tks
yellowsubmarine
14-03-2006, 09:30 PM
anywhere in Singapore can find Blackburn away long sleeves jersey? tks
Which season you looking for? Is it this season's black one?
waitforyou
15-03-2006, 01:27 AM
Which season you looking for? Is it this season's black one?
ya, this season's one. you know where got sell? :s12:
PootPoot
18-03-2006, 11:54 PM
Wooot!! Belly and Pedersen.
belly a nice solo effort and pedersen with his wicked freekick just outside the box near the right corner kick area. hope can continue. at least west ham seems not interested in the race.
yellowsubmarine
19-03-2006, 12:36 AM
Rovers back 3-2 up!
Bellamy again. Savage was sent off.
Live radio feed from here:
http://www2.100centuryfm.com/staticweb/onair_players/onair_century100/player/onair.asx
PootPoot
19-03-2006, 12:49 AM
WWW!!! com on.. faster blow whistle.. wah 4mins added on.. siao bo..
WOOO!!! EWOOD PARK Wins again.
:s12: MOM: Bellamy :s12:
ys: boro commentators damn kao peh. lol
yellowsubmarine
19-03-2006, 12:57 AM
YEAH!! We did it!
10 men ROVERS defeated Boro! Up the Rover!
Kiwi8
19-03-2006, 01:02 AM
Wow... a good performance against the current UEFA Cup quarterfinalist! :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek:
PootPoot
19-03-2006, 01:11 AM
hope spurs lose to birmingham. that would make the race so tight!
and birmingham will be able to get out of the zone. :s22:
yellowsubmarine
20-03-2006, 08:12 PM
hope spurs lose to birmingham. that would make the race so tight!
and birmingham will be able to get out of the zone. :s22:
Sianz, Spurs are too good for Blues. I was hoping Birmingham can win just this one game. Pity, looks like Birmingham are in some Sh1t.
yellowsubmarine
25-03-2006, 11:44 AM
Rovers vs Sunderland game live tonight over StarSports 10.54pm!
PootPoot
26-03-2006, 01:34 AM
A reid solo effort in the first half and the rest is all sunderland. sad for sunderland... but rovers now 5th!! :s12: :s12:
yellowsubmarine
26-03-2006, 02:11 AM
A reid solo effort in the first half and the rest is all sunderland. sad for sunderland... but rovers now 5th!! :s12: :s12:
Yah, Sunderland played well in the second half. It was nervous watching the game. Rovers seem to accept just a 1 goal lead. Crap but still it was 3 points. Thanks goodness.
Now the race for 4th is on!
ScudMissile
26-03-2006, 09:42 PM
Straits Time , Rob Hughes predicted that Rovers will finish between 7th and 10th . WTF !!
waitforyou
26-03-2006, 10:29 PM
Yah, Sunderland played well in the second half. It was nervous watching the game. Rovers seem to accept just a 1 goal lead. Crap but still it was 3 points. Thanks goodness.
Now the race for 4th is on!
it was Sunderland all the way, quite disappointing to watch really.
fumofumo
28-03-2006, 01:45 AM
gah. away to KL over the last 2 weekends so din get to watch the matches. glad rovers won both.
think i gonna stay up and pray west brom beats spuds...
yellowsubmarine
28-03-2006, 01:37 PM
gah. away to KL over the last 2 weekends so din get to watch the matches. glad rovers won both.
think i gonna stay up and pray west brom beats spuds...
In that case, please stay away from Singapore from now till end of the season so Rovers can win ALL of them...... =p
yellowsubmarine
28-03-2006, 01:39 PM
Sianz..... just checked Soccernet. Spuds won their game against West Brom. Last penalty from Keane won it for them. :s8:
yellowsubmarine
01-04-2006, 04:00 PM
Another Rover caught by the police (http://www.lancashireeveningtelegraph.co.uk/sport/blackburnrovers/roverslatest/display.var.720464.0.rovers_star_to_face_court.php) :s8:
yellowsubmarine
01-04-2006, 11:33 PM
Ex-Rovers Jon Stead finally opens his Premiership account for Sunderland against Everton!!
fumofumo
04-04-2006, 05:07 AM
1-1 with Wigan. me thinks we a bit lucky to get a draw. In that case, please stay away from Singapore from now till end of the season so Rovers can win ALL of them...... =p
me watching at kopitiam instead of my home jus now. dun blame me leh. T_T
OT: maybe going genting in 2 weeks time. meanwhile pray hard for the results.
any pattern in the next few games is purely coincident.
yellowsubmarine
04-04-2006, 11:55 AM
1-1 with Wigan. me thinks we a bit lucky to get a draw.
me watching at kopitiam instead of my home jus now. dun blame me leh. T_T
OT: maybe going genting in 2 weeks time. meanwhile pray hard for the results.
any pattern in the next few games is purely coincident.
Which kopitiam opened so late? hehe.. just joking about you staying away from Singapore.
Yah, we were just abit fortunate to get a point. Overall it was a below-par performance, we werent lethal enough to finish our chances. Wigan werent any better as well. But 1 point is not gonna do our hopes of the top 4 any good..
The next game is Saturday! Against Pompey and its live! :s12:
ternest
06-04-2006, 10:32 PM
Another Bburn fan here!!!
Anyways, i thought that bburn played badly against wigan.. and the ref was very weird, haha, but if benefited bburn so doesn't really bother me.
Can't help but feel that it's gonna be tough finishing in the top 4 especially with tough games coming up.. hope for the best!
waitforyou
07-04-2006, 02:46 PM
let's start by hoping Arsenal lose against Man Utd this weekend!
yellowsubmarine
07-04-2006, 04:17 PM
But first we have to beat Pompey to take advantage IF Arsenal loses to Man Utd. It's gonna be a tough game against Pompey.
ternest
07-04-2006, 04:49 PM
But first we have to beat Pompey to take advantage IF Arsenal loses to Man Utd. It's gonna be a tough game against Pompey.
yah, pompey like on a good run recently.. Anyway, i hope that Mark Hughes will beefen up the defence at the end of the season.. Noticed that the goals bburn let in mostly got to do with our defenders being a little too slow.. They got the aerial advantage, but the combination of nelson and todd or even khizanishvili is a little slow..
yellowsubmarine
07-04-2006, 11:22 PM
yah, pompey like on a good run recently.. Anyway, i hope that Mark Hughes will beefen up the defence at the end of the season.. Noticed that the goals bburn let in mostly got to do with our defenders being a little too slow.. They got the aerial advantage, but the combination of nelson and todd or even khizanishvili is a little slow..
Yup, Redknapp has turned their fortunes around. And they have very quick strikers as well, esp Lua Lua. But hopefully Todd will return to the team and also we get to see Pongolle up front partnering Bellamy. Both will offer alot of pace to our attack.
ternest
08-04-2006, 02:20 AM
i read the team news on the bburn website, they say that bellamy got a back injury.. Hope he can shake it off, otherwise sianz... I think Todd is fit but Hughes is prefering Khizanishvilli.
yellowsubmarine
08-04-2006, 10:43 PM
1-0 up Rovers, through our hitman Bellamy. It was harsh on Portsmouth after they completely dominated Rovers before Rovers took the lead.
Pompey still look very threatening though.
yellowsubmarine
08-04-2006, 10:46 PM
It was coming. 1-1 Lua Lua.
ternest
08-04-2006, 11:22 PM
BELLAMY!!!!!!!!!! 1-2!!!!
yellowsubmarine
08-04-2006, 11:25 PM
He's carrying the whole Rovers team on his shoulders alright.
Co'mon!!!
yellowsubmarine
08-04-2006, 11:44 PM
They came back again. 2-2 :s8:
fumofumo
09-04-2006, 12:43 AM
well.... not too bad of a result, especially lookiing at portsmouth recent form.
one point gained towards UEFA qualifications.
Ronaldo_7
09-04-2006, 12:53 AM
woo... Bellamy is good... gave BB the lead twice... but end up drawing with Pompey... :)
masashi
09-04-2006, 01:15 AM
Just love the way Blackburn plays, but always can't seem to hold on to the lead...This can be summed up as not being resilient enough. Maybe next season will be better.
ternest
09-04-2006, 01:17 AM
woo... Bellamy is good... gave BB the lead twice... but end up drawing with Pompey... :)
Yup, bellamy was really the driving force for bburn.. But really feel that the defence is really too slow... they were getting stretched by lua-lua..
ternest
10-04-2006, 02:23 PM
Man U beat Arsenal! Haha, that's good for Bburn's cause!!
yellowsubmarine
10-04-2006, 10:21 PM
Yeah, thats good news! At least we still stay ahead of them. =:p
PootPoot
11-04-2006, 06:30 AM
The Georgian international had been on loan at Ewood Park since season and has been a key part of Rovers defence, helping the club to mount a push for Champions League football.
The 24-year-old defender has signed a three-year deal for an undisclosed fee.
He told Rovers World: "Everything is finished, I'm now a Rovers player and I'm really happy to stay here.
"It was a dream come true to play in the Premier League and to be part of a top-six club. It is a very friendly club and I was happy to sign, I'm looking forward to being here for a few years.
"To come on loan and have such a great season is wonderful, the team has done really well and we are still fighting for the Champions League or UEFA Cup.
"When I came here everyone thought we would be battling against relegation, but we are up there as a top-six club."
ternest
12-04-2006, 03:32 PM
haha, must post something to keep this thread on top..
Do you all use bburn when playing Football Manager 2006?
yellowsubmarine
12-04-2006, 06:45 PM
Yeah i do! But i never play for a long time liao. Haha...
But i havent uninstall yet.
ternest
12-04-2006, 11:27 PM
Yeah i do! But i never play for a long time liao. Haha...
But i havent uninstall yet.
haha, i always play then sell pedersen to chelsea for 40mil then Nelson also can sell for around 15mil! :D
yellowsubmarine
13-04-2006, 12:40 PM
Congrats to Portsmouth! They didnt let us down by not allowing Arsenal to leave Fratton Park with more than a point! We are on level points with them and also level games, though their goal difference is enormous. =:p
ternest
13-04-2006, 01:26 PM
Congrats to Portsmouth! They didnt let us down by not allowing Arsenal to leave Fratton Park with more than a point! We are on level points with them and also level games, though their goal difference is enormous. =:p
I think as long as bburn manage a draw with liverpool and chelsea and at the same time win the other fixtures then we can see them in Europe next season!!
Sun. 16 14:30 UK Blackburn v Liverpool Ewood Park English Premiership
Wed. 19 19:45 UK Birmingham v Blackburn St Andrews Stadium English Premiership
Sat. 29 17:15 UK Charlton v Blackburn The Valley English Premiership
Tue. 2 20:00 UK Blackburn v Chelsea Ewood Park English Premiership
Sun. 7 15:00 UK Blackburn v Man City Ewood Park English Premiership
As long as they maintaint their form (Bellamy's form) then it isn't that impossible! All the Way!!!! :s12:
Tokieda
13-04-2006, 01:44 PM
the pressure is on spurs and arsenal, one is underachiever while arsenal must have european champions league football. blackburn is less pressured, i will not be surprised if blackburn nicks it.
fumofumo
13-04-2006, 07:21 PM
i got play Football Manager too (with Rovers of coz). used the name Mark Hughes Jr... hehehe.
now in 2011. MGP, Paul Gallagher and McEveley still in my first team; Emerton, Reid still in my team too (rotation).
Rovers academy kids also not bad, every year pwnage the Under18s Group. and now got a (comp generated) 8mil 17yr old who haven kicked a ball for rovers can't be bad by any accounts ^^
even avg attendence is above 30k (including 05/06)
BUT... it's just a game T_T
now only need to translate this into real life...
ternest
13-04-2006, 11:13 PM
i got play Football Manager too (with Rovers of coz). used the name Mark Hughes Jr... hehehe.
now in 2011. MGP, Paul Gallagher and McEveley still in my first team; Emerton, Reid still in my team too (rotation).
Rovers academy kids also not bad, every year pwnage the Under18s Group. and now got a (comp generated) 8mil 17yr old who haven kicked a ball for rovers can't be bad by any accounts ^^
even avg attendence is above 30k (including 05/06)
BUT... it's just a game T_T
now only need to translate this into real life...
haha, i always end up only have like 2 or 3 original players left wan.. No offence to the players, but the big money offers too hard to resist! My favourite buy is D'Alessandro, very good in the game! better than what we see at Portsmouth now!
yellowsubmarine
15-04-2006, 04:31 PM
Rovers are interested in Fowler. This is an interesting one.
Blackburn manager Mark Hughes has joined the queue of clubs wanting to sign Robbie Fowler if the striker does not earn a new contract at Liverpool after this season.
Liverpool boss Rafael Benitez has yet to make a decision on Fowler's future and that has alerted a number of clubs, with Bolton manager Sam Allardyce and now Hughes expressing an interest.
"Robbie's been a top player for a long time," said Hughes, whose side host Liverpool at Ewood Park on Sunday.
"You don't lose that overnight. His movement is amazing and he's looking very good.
"Robbie has always been a very clever player. His ability to take chances is something he has never lost, he was born with that.
"If he became available I'm sure a number of clubs would be interested. He's the type of player I would ask about. We'll see what the situation is."
Source (http://www.football365.com/news/story_182717.shtml)
fumofumo
16-04-2006, 09:27 PM
MARK Hughes has named an unchanged side for the third consecutive game for the visit of Liverpool this afternoon.
The only change to the sixteen from last week is Sergio Peter is named on the bench for the ineligible Florent Sinama-Pongolle.
Liverpool make three changes, with Sissoko, Warnock and Morientes coming in for Gerrard, Kewell and Crouch.
ROVERS: Friedel, Neill, Khizanishvili, Nelsen (c), Gray, Bentley, Reid, Savage, Pedersen, Dickov, Bellamy. Subs: Enckelman, Emerton, Kuqi, Mokoena, Peter.
LIVERPOOL: Reina, Finnan, Hyppia, Riise, Cisse, Fowler, Alonso, Morientes, Sissoko, Carragher (c), Warnock. Subs: Dudek, Kromkamp, Kewell, Luis Garcia, Traore.
Source (http://www.rovers.premiumtv.co.uk/page/News/NewsDetail/0,,10303~816040,00.html)
skweam
16-04-2006, 09:30 PM
go for europe guys.
and i just realised that Villareal supports Blackburn ahahhahahahhahahhahahhhhahahah
fumofumo
16-04-2006, 10:05 PM
wtf. that MUST be offside.
i have a strong feeling this game will end in 0-1. damn.
how many times must the ref screw rovers when playing against liverpool?!
waitforyou
16-04-2006, 10:23 PM
the assistant refree is blind! he can fu*king hold the yellow flag for the rest of his career.
fumofumo
16-04-2006, 11:28 PM
. . .
liverpool did the double over us this season.
both times the ref is the matchwinner. >_<
yellowsubmarine
16-04-2006, 11:52 PM
I dont think we played well, we didnt really trouble the Liverpool defence. They practically allowed us to attack them in the second half. We just pass the ball, pass and pass, pass and pass... just didnt find the killer ball to break the Liverpool defence. A point will be a good result, but we have nothing. :s8:
The Champions League dream is over. But still got UEFA Cup spot to fight for! Hope the players can pick themselves up against Birmingham and keep the 6th spot.
ceLsius
16-04-2006, 11:55 PM
Liverpool defence is excellant from the match I see. Top class defence.
Kiwi8
17-04-2006, 12:09 AM
wtf. that MUST be offside.
i have a strong feeling this game will end in 0-1. damn.
how many times must the ref screw rovers when playing against liverpool?!
the assistant refree is blind! he can fu*king hold the yellow flag for the rest of his career.
Sorry, that goal wasn't offside.
Although Cisse was in an offside position, and tried to play the ball, he did not touch it in the end. Thus he was not interfering with play. Hence the goal stood.
yellowsubmarine
17-04-2006, 12:43 AM
Sorry, that goal wasn't offside.
Although Cisse was in an offside position, and tried to play the ball, he did not touch it in the end. Thus he was not interfering with play. Hence the goal stood.
You dont have to apologise, you are right, he didnt touch it in the end. But the intention was there when he raised that foot. Some refs give it, some dont. Its just tough luck from Rovers' point of view.
Kiwi8
17-04-2006, 12:54 AM
You dont have to apologise, you are right, he didnt touch it in the end. But the intention was there when he raised that foot. Some refs give it, some dont. Its just tough luck from Rovers' point of view.
In practice, intent to play the ball is penalised, but that's only if no other onside player is running towards the ball. In tonite's match, Morientes was the onside player who was available to chase the ball. Hence the intent from Cisse doesn't constitute interference.
fumofumo
17-04-2006, 01:07 AM
i still stand firm of my view that the Cisse was waaaay offside and yes, interferring with play.
even if this wasn't rovers, hell, my view is still the same. Offside that is.
well, screw fifa which comes up with this rule where the intepretation is not clear at all.
1-0 to the ref.
Kiwi8
17-04-2006, 01:15 AM
i still stand firm of my view that the Cisse was waaaay offside and yes, interferring with play.
even if this wasn't rovers, hell, my view is still the same. Offside that is.
well, screw fifa which comes up with this rule where the intepretation is not clear at all.
1-0 to the ref.
Sorry man... the rules are actually very clear. It's just that some referees and even some football professionals dun really understand them.
Read the wikipedia article here for more information. (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Offside_law_%28football%29)
fumofumo
17-04-2006, 03:24 AM
remember abt Bolton's tactics at the start of the season? they had men in offside postiion and the guys in offside postion will run into onside position (and not touching the ball) while the guys who are onside runs into the box.
initially the stand was: ok, the guys who are offisde are not interfering with play, so it's onside.
but after some woo-haa, the fa has decided that they were interferring with play, so that's the end of bolton's tatics which is set to confuse opponents in the first place.
Kiwi8
17-04-2006, 03:28 AM
remember abt Bolton's tactics at the start of the season? they had men in offside postiion and the guys in offside postion will run into onside position (and not touching the ball) while the guys who are onside runs into the box.
initially the stand was: ok, the guys who are offisde are not interfering with play, so it's onside.
but after some woo-haa, the fa has decided that they were interferring with play, so that's the end of bolton's tatics which is set to confuse opponents in the first place.
Please provide the source link that the FA had changed their minds.
Anyway, I think the following will clarify your doubts.
http://mysite.wanadoo-members.co.uk/corshamref/sub/offhist.htm
Towards the end of the page, IFAB advice on the application of Law 11, Decision 2:
“A player in an offside position may be penalised before playing or touching the ball if, in the opinion of the referee, no other team-mate in an onside position has the opportunity to play the ball.
If an opponent becomes involved in the play and if, in the opinion of the referee, there is potential for physical contact, the player in the offside position shall be penalised for interfering with an opponent.”
ahgohgoh
17-04-2006, 04:01 AM
you still have no answer to this kiwi...
"Interfering with an opponent means preventing an opponent from playing or being able to play the ball by clearly obstructing the opponent's line of vision or movements or making a gesture or movement which, in the opinion of the referee, deceives or distracts an opponent."
Stalker_Ultimate
17-04-2006, 06:24 AM
"Interfering with an opponent means preventing an opponent from playing or being able to play the ball by clearly obstructing the opponent's line of vision or movements or making a gesture or movement which, in the opinion of the referee, deceives or distracts an opponent."
Cisse clearly attempted or made a gesture/movement to play the ball and thereby deceived and/or distracted Blackburn defenders and goal keeper. Take a look at the video replay and see what those Blackburn defenders and goalkeeper were moving and positioning when the ball went towards Cisse and he attempted to play the ball, and the answer is clear that he interfered with play.
Enough said.
Stalker_Ultimate
17-04-2006, 06:25 AM
Oh... so u feel that Cisse committed offside offence ah?
Well, in practice, a player having intent to play the ball while in an offside position is penalised, but provided no other onside teammate is available to chase after the ball. If there was another onside teammate chasing after the ball, then no offside offence would be committed by the previous player as long as he did not touch the ball or obstruct his opponents' view or movement. :)
Please provide the source link that the FA had changed their minds.
Anyway, I think the following will clarify your doubts.
http://mysite.wanadoo-members.co.uk/corshamref/sub/offhist.htm
Towards the end of the page, IFAB advice on the application of Law 11, Decision 2:
“A player in an offside position may be penalised before playing or touching the ball if, in the opinion of the referee, no other team-mate in an onside position has the opportunity to play the ball.
If an opponent becomes involved in the play and if, in the opinion of the referee, there is potential for physical contact, the player in the offside position shall be penalised for interfering with an opponent.”
Hahaha. From the above, quite obviously, you've blindly applied one of rules to this situation.
Why?
The rule you have cited is just saying that the offside player may be penalised in situations where no other onside player has the opportunity to play the ball. The rationale of that rule is that since no other onside player has the opportunity to play the ball, it means that the only player that has the opportunity to play the ball is the offside player and therefore he should be prevented from doing so. This is quite logical and clear.
If you understand why this rule is there and its rationale, then you would understand that this rule applies specifically to the situation where no other onside player has the opportunity to play the ball because in such a situation, it's clear that the only player who has the opportunity to play the ball is the offside player and therefore he should be penalised.
Again, if you really understand what have already been said, then you would also realise that this rule doesn't say that the offside player should NOT be penalised if other onside player has the opportunity to play the ball.
In maths terms, "If A=B, then C=D" doesn't mean that "If A not=B, then "C not=D".
A=1, B=1 and C=0, then D must be = 0.
But if A=1, B=2 and C=0, then D can be any number and not necessarily be not=0.
This is where "interference test' comes in because the underlying rationale for all rules are there to ensure fairer play. In the past, the offside player will be penalised regardless. However, FIFA found that if an offside player is penalised even when he totally has no involvement in the play nor affect any opponents, it will slow down the game unncessarily. As a result, to speed up the game, play is allowed if a player is deemed "not interfering" with play since he has no bearing on the outcome.
If the offside player is deemed to be "interfering with play", for fairness, then the old offside rule rationale comes back into play and he should be penalised regardless of whether other onside player has the opportunity to play the ball or whether he touches the ball.. The rationale is simple. Once the offside player interferes with play, he affects the opponents (defenders and goal keeper's positions) and thereby creates space or draw opponents away to allow his onside team mates to play or try to play the ball or score. Whether an offside player is interfering with play is common sense (test of reasonableness) and it doesn't require him to actually touch the ball. Even by running forward or sideway to draw away opponents is interfering with play because it creates space from and draw away markers from his team mates. To avoid being penalised, the offside player has to run backwards and make it clear that he makes no attempt to play the ball or draw defenders away before his onside team mate get the ball. Whether the offside player touches the ball is not important. What is important is whether he interferes with play. Any attempt to touch a ball within a few inches and coming to an offiside player can, in all reasonableness, be deemed to be interferng with play. Cisse clearly attempted to play the ball and therefore was interfering play and may be penalised.
If you blindly take a rule, interprete it in a reverse angle and apply it without thinking about the rationale behind the rule, then you would end up in an absurd rule and contradicting conclusion.. Why? Here's why : You are actually saying that an offisde player may not be penalised if other onside players have the opportunity to play the ball. First of all, it's against the basis of the rules (why they are there). You're actually saying that an offside player should not be penalised as long as onside players have the opportunity to play the ball regardless of whether he interferes with play (such as by blocking the view of the goal keeper or impeding the movement of opponents). Clearly this is not the rule and against the principles behind all the rules (which are there to ensure fairer play). Secondly, you're beginning with a rule which points to the specific situation where no other onside players have the opportunity to play the ball. The fact that a Liverpool player then played the ball subseqeuntly clearly tells you that an onside player has the opportunity to play the ball and this is not the situation that the original rule is intended for (where no onside player has the opportunity to play the ball) in the first place. The original rule doesnt apply to the situation here and yet you apply it with a twist is contradictory because it's totally not relevant in the current situation. That's why you ended up contradicting your reverse interpretation of the original rule by later saying that Cisse didn't block the goal keeper and therefore not interfering with play when your reverse interpretation of the rules says that an offside player may not be penalised if other onside players have the opportunity to play the ball.
My advice to you is "Don't read rules blindly" and "Don't reverse interprete rules" but understands the rationale behind the rules (why there are there and therefore know how to interprete them). Otherwise, you will end up with absurd and contradictory/inconsistent interpretation of the rules.
If you don't really understand what I've said, then read and re-read. If still can't understand, then ask yourself which rule are you trying to apply, what is the situation specified in the rule, does the rule apply to the current situation, did you reverse interprete the rule to make it apply to the current situation, what does your revese interpretation rule says in words, is your reverse interpretation absurd, where did the rule and the reverse interpretation rule says about inteference (in reality, they didn't), what can logically be seen as interference with play in the eyes of fair play, what is the basis of all soccer rules, how Blackburn goalkeeper and defenders reacted when Cisse attempted to play the ball, how far was Cisse away from the ball, whose direction was the ball rolling towards, would any reaonable man expected Cisse to get the ball when it came, was it very easy for Cisse to get the ball, who does a reasonable man expect to get the ball when it was headed into the box ........ etc. Only if you get all the correct answers, then you can get a clear and unequivocal answer.
:D
takuyazzz
17-04-2006, 10:43 AM
Hahaha. From the above, quite obviously, you've blindly applied one of rules to this situation.
Why?
The rule you have cited is just saying that the offside player may be penalised in situations where no other onside player has the opportunity to play the ball. The rationale of that rule is that since no other onside player has the opportunity to play the ball, it means that the only player that has the opportunity to play the ball is the offside player and therefore he should be prevented from doing so. This is quite logical and clear.
If you understand why this rule is there and its rationale, then you would understand that this rule applies specifically to the situation where no other onside player has the opportunity to play the ball because in such a situation, it's clear that the only player who has the opportunity to play the ball is the offside player and therefore he should be penalised.
Again, if you really understand what have already been said, then you would also realise that this rule doesn't say that the offside player should NOT be penalised if other onside player has the opportunity to play the ball.
In maths terms, "If A=B, then C=D" doesn't mean that "If A not=B, then "C not=D".
This is where "interference test' comes in because the underlying rationale for all rules are there to ensure fairer play. In the past, the offside player will be penalised regardless. However, FIFA found that if an offside player is penalised even when he totally has no involvement in the play nor affect any opponents, it will slow down the game unncessarily. As a result, to speed up the game, play is allowed if a player is deemed "not interfering" with play since he has no bearing on the outcome.
If the offside player is deemed to be "interfering with play", for fairness, then the old offside rule rationale comes back into play and he should be penalised regardless of whether other onside player has the opportunity to play the ball or whether he touches the ball.. The rationale is simple. Once the offside player interferes with play, he affects the opponents (defenders and goal keeper's positions) and thereby creates space or draw opponents away to allow his onside team mates to play or try to play the ball or score. Whether an offside player is interfering with play is common sense (test of reasonableness) and it doesn't require him to actually touch the ball. Even by running forward or sideway to draw away opponents is interfering with play because it creates space from and draw away markers from his team mates. To avoid being penalised, the offside player has to run backwards and make it clear that he makes no attempt to play the ball or draw defenders away before his onside team mate get the ball. Whether the offside player touches the ball is not important. What is important is whether he interferes with play. Any attempt to touch a ball within a few inches and coming to an offiside player can, in all reasonableness, be deemed to be interferng with play. Cisse clearly attempted to play the ball and therefore was interfering play and may be penalised.
If you blindly take a rule, interprete it in a reverse angle and apply it without thinking about the rationale behind the rule, then you would end up in an absurd rule and contradicting conclusion.. Why? Here's why : You are actually saying that an offisde player may not be penalised if other onside players have the opportunity to play the ball. First of all, it's against the basis of the rules (why they are there). You're actually saying that an offside player should not be penalised as long as onside players have the opportunity to play the ball regardless of whether he interferes with play (such as by blocking the view of the goal keeper or impeding the movement of opponents). Clearly this is not the rule and against the principles behind all the rules (which are there to ensure fairer play). Secondly, you're beginning with a rule which points to the specific situation where no other onside players have the opportunity to play the ball. The fact that a Liverpool player then played the ball subseqeuntly clearly tells you that an onside player has the opportunity to play the ball and this is not the situation that the original rule is intended for (where no onside player has the opportunity to play the ball) in the first place. The original rule doesnt apply to the situation here and yet you apply it with a twist is contradictory because it's totally not relevant in the current situation. That's why you ended up contradicting your reverse interpretation of the original rule by later saying that Cisse didn't block the goal keeper and therefore not interfering with play when your reverse interpretation of the rules says that an offside player may not be penalised if other onside players have the opportunity to play the ball.
My advice to you is "Don't read rules blindly" and "Don't reverse interprete rules" but understands the rationale behind the rules (why there are there and therefore know how to interprete them). Otherwise, you will end up with absurd and contradictory/inconsistent interpretation of the rules.
If you don't really understand what I've said, then read and re-read. If still can't understand, then ask yourself which rule are you trying to apply, what is the situation specified in the rule, does the rule apply to the current situation, did you reverse interprete the rule to make it apply to the current situation, what does your revese interpretation rule says in words, is your reverse interpretation absurd, where did the rule and the reverse interpretation rule says about inteference (in reality, they didn't), what can logically be seen as interference with play in the eyes of fair play, what is the basis of all soccer rules, how Blackburn goalkeeper and defenders reacted when Cisse attempted to play the ball, how far was Cisse away from the ball, whose direction was the ball rolling towards, would any reaonable man expected Cisse to get the ball when it came, was it very easy for Cisse to get the ball, who does a reasonable man expect to get the ball when it was headed into the box ........ etc. Only if you get all the correct answers, then you can get a clear and unequivocal answer.
wah...like reading my business law, company law and income tax act interpretation sia...but thumbs up to your explanation and some of your analogies...
hiei02
17-04-2006, 11:13 AM
don't mind me in this forum but wat i quite agree with stalker-ultimate, cisse was obviously intending to interfere with play by sticking out a leg when the ball was headed to him. whether the ball touched him or not is another issue, fact is that he did attempted to touch the ball. it was just plain lucky that cisse unintentionally "dummied" the ball to morientes..
Kiwi8
17-04-2006, 01:41 PM
When Cisse tried to play the ball, what did the Blackburn players do? They simply raised their hands to call offside, without even checking to see any incoming players running to take the ball (Morientes). Deceive and distraction? Cisse did not draw the Blackburn away by running towards the ball. Cisse did not block the Blackburn players from running towards the ball.
This does not constitute the necessary deception and distraction that is required.
Kiwi8
17-04-2006, 01:41 PM
Agree.
Agree.
Sorry, this is where I disagree. If there were other onside players having the opportunity to play the ball, the offside offence criteria is more stringent to include only the following:
a) Interfering with play: playing or touching the ball passed or touched by a teammate.
b) Interfering with an opponent: preventing an opponent from playing or being able to play the ball by clearly obstructing the opponent's line of vision or movements or making a gesture or movement which, in the opinion of the referee, deceives or distracts an opponent.
c) Gaining an advantage by being in an offside position: playing a ball that rebounds to him off a post or crossbar or playing a ball that rebounds to him off an opponent having been in an offside position.
Having said that, Cisse is clearly not committing (a) nor (c). (b) is contentious. We shall get back to it later.
Agree. Fair enough.
Disagree. Whether the offside player touches the ball or not is very important nowadays. Now the contentious matter is whether Cisse's actions caused distraction or deception. We shall get back to this later.
If you blindly take a rule, interprete it in a reverse angle and apply it without thinking about the rationale behind the rule, then you would end up in an absurd rule and contradicting conclusion.. Why? Here's why : You are actually saying that an offisde player may not be penalised if other onside players have the opportunity to play the ball.
First of all, it's against the basis of the rules (why they are there). You're actually saying that an offside player should not be penalised as long as onside players have the opportunity to play the ball regardless of whether he interferes with play (such as by blocking the view of the goal keeper or impeding the movement of opponents). Clearly this is not the rule and against the principles behind all the rules (which are there to ensure fairer play). Secondly, you're beginning with a rule which points to the specific situation where no other onside players have the opportunity to play the ball. The fact that a Liverpool player then played the ball subseqeuntly clearly tells you that an onside player has the opportunity to play the ball and this is not the situation that the original rule is intended for (where no onside player has the opportunity to play the ball) in the first place. The original rule doesnt apply to the situation here and yet you apply it with a twist is contradictory because it's totally not relevant in the current situation. That's why you ended up contradicting your reverse interpretation of the original rule by later saying that Cisse didn't block the goal keeper and therefore not interfering with play when your reverse interpretation of the rules says that an offside player may not be penalised if other onside players have the opportunity to play the ball.
This whole chunk sounds lofty, but u have to read it in the current context of the video.
When Cisse tried to play the ball, what did the Blackburn players do? They simply raised their hands to call offside, without even checking to see any incoming players running to take the ball (Morientes). Deceive and distraction? Cisse did not draw the Blackburn away by running towards the ball. Cisse did not block the Blackburn players from running towards the ball.
ternest
17-04-2006, 03:35 PM
Agree.
Agree.
Sorry, this is where I disagree. If there were other onside players having the opportunity to play the ball, the offside offence criteria is more stringent to include only the following:
a) Interfering with play: playing or touching the ball passed or touched by a teammate.
b) Interfering with an opponent: preventing an opponent from playing or being able to play the ball by clearly obstructing the opponent's line of vision or movements or making a gesture or movement which, in the opinion of the referee, deceives or distracts an opponent.
c) Gaining an advantage by being in an offside position: playing a ball that rebounds to him off a post or crossbar or playing a ball that rebounds to him off an opponent having been in an offside position.
Having said that, Cisse is clearly not committing (a) nor (c). (b) is contentious. We shall get back to it later.
Agree. Fair enough.
Disagree. Whether the offside player touches the ball or not is very important nowadays. Now the contentious matter is whether Cisse's actions caused distraction or deception. We shall get back to this later.
This whole chunk sounds lofty, but u have to read it in the current context of the video.
i think the simple fact that cisse made an action towards the ball seems like intent... But ya, the bburn defence took for granted that they were going to get the decision and stopped in their tracks.. overall, i think the goal should not have stood.. a draw is perhaps a fairer results since bburn were totally unable to break the liverpool defence..
yellowsubmarine
18-04-2006, 12:55 AM
Which defender in this world doesnt raise his hand to appeal for offside when he see the opposing player in an offside position.
Anyway after all that chunk of theory from you, your point is that the goal should stand and Cisse is not gulity of been active in the buildup to the goal. So be it. You got your point across. Thanks for explaining to us. :)
yellowsubmarine
20-04-2006, 12:14 AM
Birmingham vs Rovers at 5am StarSports Channel 24 - Delayed telecast.
I dont understand why Starhub doesnt wanna show this live on Channel 24.
Kiwi8
20-04-2006, 12:23 AM
Birmingham vs Rovers at 5am StarSports Channel 24 - Delayed telecast.
I dont understand why Starhub doesnt wanna show this live on Channel 24.
Maybe they dun want it to affect the viewership of the UEFA Champions League match between Arsenal and Villarreal? :P
yellowsubmarine
20-04-2006, 12:37 AM
Maybe they dun want it to affect the viewership of the UEFA Champions League match between Arsenal and Villarreal? :P
But majority of the neutral fans will surely watch the Arsenal/Villarreal game. It's a "bigger" game.
I think Starhub just dont want to pay extra cost for the live game. 5am delayed telecast. What a timing.
Kiwi8
20-04-2006, 01:20 AM
But majority of the neutral fans will surely watch the Arsenal/Villarreal game. It's a "bigger" game.
I think Starhub just dont want to pay extra cost for the live game. 5am delayed telecast. What a timing.
Well, not surprising. Starhub even wants to charge $10 for the World Cup, even for those subscribers with the Sports Group. They're bloodsuckers. :o
ternest
20-04-2006, 02:53 AM
4 MINS: Reid slides on the wet surface and catches Butt, a free-kick for the home side. Cunningham takes Lucas Neill clears initially but Pennant gets the ball into the area, Martin Taylor gets the ball in the box but Rovers clear their lines.
3 MINS: Another early sight of goal from Bentley, from 25 yards he shoots high over the bar.
3 MINS: Lucas Neill feeds the ball through to David Bentley, he flicks the ball with his thigh before it opened up in front of him, he takes an early shot but it is well wide.
1 MINS: A low cross into the area from Pennant is put behind by Todd for an early home corner. The winger takes the corner Sutton heads the ball well wide.
0 MINS: Birmingham City get the game underway kicking from right to left.
ternest
20-04-2006, 02:54 AM
6 MINS: Nelsen fouls Pennant on the right touchline, he takes the free-kick low to the near post and Pedersen volleys the ball out of play on the halfway line.
ternest
20-04-2006, 02:56 AM
9 MINS: Emerton tries to thread the ball through to Bellamy but it runs through to goalkeeper Maik Taylor.
8 MINS: Johnson runs across the path of Reid, the Rovers man fouls Johnson, yet another free-kick into the area, Taylor heads down and it bounces through to Brad Friedel.
ternest
20-04-2006, 02:57 AM
10 MINS: A poor pass from Savage as he picks out Pennant, the Birmingham man tries to find Heskey but he's offside. Friedel gathers.
ternest
20-04-2006, 02:58 AM
11 MINS: Conditions are poor, it has been pouring down all afternoon and evening here.
ternest
20-04-2006, 02:59 AM
12 MINS: Pennant whips a ball across the area, Julian Gray strikes the ball right-footed, Friedel makes a super save to tip the ball over the bar.
ternest
20-04-2006, 03:01 AM
13 MINS: Pennant takes the corner kick, Rovers clear their lines. But yet another free-kick is conceded by Rovers, Zura this time the offender. Pennant takes Neill gets the ball away.
ternest
20-04-2006, 03:03 AM
16 MINS: Emerton puts a high ball into the area, Savage wins the header but the ball bounces through to the goalkeeper.
15 MINS: A very scrappy opening fifteen minutes, numerous fouls have meant there has been no flow to the game.
ternest
20-04-2006, 03:07 AM
19 MINS: Damien Johnson crosses from the right, Emile Heskey climbs at the back post to head over the bar.
ternest
20-04-2006, 03:08 AM
21 MINS: Bentley's through ball almost finds Bellamy, Maik Taylor has to boot the ball out of play.
ternest
20-04-2006, 03:09 AM
22 MINS: Pennant slides through the back of Reid, Uriah Rennie just gives the foul and nothing more.
ternest
20-04-2006, 03:10 AM
22 MINS: Bentley chips the ball over the top for Robbie Savage to run onto, he turns and plays it into Pedersen but the Norwegian fires it wide.
ternest
20-04-2006, 03:11 AM
23 MINS: Bellamy, twisting and turning, wins a corner off Martin Taylor. Pedersen takes the kick left footed but it is claimed high by Maik Taylor in the centre of the goal.
ternest
20-04-2006, 03:13 AM
25 MINS: Pennant wins a corner off Lucas Neill. The Birmingham winger takes the kick, it is headed down by Sutton straight at Nelsen and the New Zealander clears the danger
ternest
20-04-2006, 03:14 AM
26 MINS: Neill crosses from the right, but the ball deflects straight into the arms of Maik Taylor.
ternest
20-04-2006, 03:16 AM
29 MINS: Kenny Cunningham is booked for a foul on David Bentley
ternest
20-04-2006, 03:18 AM
31 MINS: A long throw into the Rovers area sees the ball arrive with Sutton but he hits the ball well out of play.
ternest
20-04-2006, 03:20 AM
33 MINS: Pedersen takes the corner it goes over everyone and Birmingham clear their lines forcing Rovers back.
32 MINS: Whilst the game has been very scrappy, David Bentley has looked good up front, the Rovers man wins a free kick on the right after being fouled by Tebily. Pedersen takes the kick, Cunningham heads behind for a corner kick.
ternest
20-04-2006, 03:22 AM
34 MINS: Savage takes a free kick, it is cleared behind for another corner. Pedersen takes it to the near post, Taylor heads clear. Rovers twice put crosses into the area but both times a black boot fails to connect.
ternest
20-04-2006, 03:23 AM
36 MINS: Butt takes the corner kick, Savage clears away at the near post.
35 MINS: Pennant has perhaps picked up an injury. Meanwhile a Birmingham free kikck into the area is cleared only to Damien Johnson and he hits it well but Friedel is equal to his efforts, diving to his left to push the ball around the post.
ternest
20-04-2006, 03:25 AM
38 MINS: Jermaine Pennant is replaced by Mario Melchiot. Cunningham takes the free-kick, Pedersen heads the ball away.
37 MINS: Reid tries to win a header but only succeeds in fouling Sutton, Birmingham have a free-kick centrally about 35 yards out.
ternest
20-04-2006, 03:26 AM
39 MINS: More good play from Bentley as he wins a corner off Martin Taylor. Pedersen goes across to the right to take, but again Maik Taylor claims as the ball is too close to the Northern Ireland international.
ternest
20-04-2006, 03:31 AM
43 MINS: Birmingham should have taken the lead, a high ball up is won by Heskey, Julian Gray gets in behind the Rovers defence he squares it for Sutton to score but he somehow puts the ball wide from inside the six yard box. A huge let-off for Rovers.
43 MINS: A long ball forward from Zura sees Savage go down in the area, the Welshman claims for a penalty but nothing is given.
ternest
20-04-2006, 03:34 AM
45 MINS: Birmingham sweep forward through Tebily and then Melchiot, the Birmingham sub finds Julian Gray in space, he shoots early but wide of Friedel's right hand post.
ternest
20-04-2006, 03:34 AM
HALF TIME: Birmingham City 0 Rovers 0. Not much between them, but the home side has had the better of the few chances.
ternest
20-04-2006, 03:50 AM
46 MINS: Morten Gamst Pedersen has been replaced at half-time by Sergio Peter as Rovers get the second half underway
ternest
20-04-2006, 03:55 AM
49 MINS: David Bentley with a long-range effort that sees Maik Taylor scrambling across goal to see the ball go just wide of the far post.
ternest
20-04-2006, 03:57 AM
51 MINS: A good cross from the left by Sergio Peter, Sadler has to head behind under pressure from Emerton.
ternest
20-04-2006, 03:58 AM
52 MINS: Peter's corner kick finds Emerton on the opposite corner, he wins a corner on the left. Short to Reid but Sadler heads away.
ternest
20-04-2006, 04:00 AM
54 MINS: A cross from Bentley is cleared only to Zura, his bouncing effort is spilled by the 'keeper but Taylor grabs at the second attempt.
ternest
20-04-2006, 04:01 AM
55 MINS: Melchiot is fouled by Neill on the right, the home side have a free-kick close to the touchline. Gray takes left-footed Martin Taylor comes round the back but plants his header wide.
ternest
20-04-2006, 04:02 AM
56 MINS: Tebily is booked for a foul on Sergio Peter.
waitforyou
20-04-2006, 12:28 PM
sian, 1-2 defeat. there goes the CL ambition. hopefully can win our last few matches and get into Europe. Newcastle is on form right now.
yellowsubmarine
20-04-2006, 02:02 PM
Very disappointing display. Newcastle are just behind us! Wake up ROVERS! :mad:
Stalker_Ultimate
21-04-2006, 12:17 AM
Mark Hughes and Steve Bruce are ex-Man U and should be good buddies.
yellowsubmarine
21-04-2006, 12:27 AM
Mark Hughes and Steve Bruce are ex-Man U and should be good buddies.
Whaha, i think got more ManU-connection buddies around in the Premiership. McClaren and Bryan Robson as well.
waitforyou
23-04-2006, 08:37 PM
are we in danger of losing the UEFA cup spot? considering Blackburn still have to play Chelsea.
yellowsubmarine
24-04-2006, 01:18 AM
are we in danger of losing the UEFA cup spot? considering Blackburn still have to play Chelsea.
Yah, things are looking abit shaky suddenly. We have the exact goals scored, goals conceded, points with Newcastle. But we have one game in hand, if we lost to Charlton, we will definitely drop to 7th. We have a bad run of late. This Charlton game is a must win game if Rovers still want to play in the UEFA Cup next season.
yellowsubmarine
24-04-2006, 04:33 PM
Spurs are reportedly targeting a growing number of Blackburn Rovers players according to reports in the Sunday press.
Spurs have long been admirers of Rover's wide man, Morten Gamst Pedersen but the Daily Star suggested on Sunday that Martin Jol is now eyeing striker Craig Bellamy and full back Lucas Neill.
The paper claims Bellamy is a potential replacement for Mido, who has failed to agree a permanent deal at Spurs and that Neill is set to replace Canadian, Paul Stalteri.
Neill has just one year left on his present contract with Rovers and so could be available at a knock down price.
:s8: Source (http://www.all3points.co.uk/cat/spurs/bla240406.php)
yellowsubmarine
28-04-2006, 02:02 PM
Some players news update:-
Reid - Apparently very close to signing a new contract with Rovers, and the player himself wants to stay at the club.
Gallagher - Recalled back from Stoke and could feature against Charlton over the weekend.
Todd - Could missed the last 3 games of the season after a cartilage damage against The Big Club.
Tugay - Is fit again after 3 weeks of calf injury
Source (http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id=366114&cc=4716)
swalk21
28-04-2006, 04:40 PM
Poor subby :D
simon84
28-04-2006, 10:18 PM
quite worried about blackburn also.
luckily newcastle dun have an easy run in as well. they have to play chelsea as well.
yellowsubmarine
29-04-2006, 10:28 PM
quite worried about blackburn also.
luckily newcastle dun have an easy run in as well. they have to play chelsea as well.
We also got to play Chelsea in our next game. :(
Anyway the game against Charlton is live on tv later. 12.10am
:s7:
simon84
30-04-2006, 03:00 AM
YEAH! EXCELLENT PERFORMANCE. when tugay's playing, we are different. :)
lets hope tottenham can do us a favour by beating bolton tomorrow
ternest
30-04-2006, 03:09 AM
YEAH! EXCELLENT PERFORMANCE. when tugay's playing, we are different. :)
lets hope tottenham can do us a favour by beating bolton tomorrow
Finally a win!! Yup, but i think it's time hughes start thinking of beefing up the midfield. Tugay is not exactly getting younger! I think d'alessandro of portsmouth is a good option!
yellowsubmarine
01-05-2006, 05:11 PM
Finally a win!! Yup, but i think it's time hughes start thinking of beefing up the midfield. Tugay is not exactly getting younger! I think d'alessandro of portsmouth is a good option!
Actually Pompey alot of good players. O'Neill, Taylor, Mendes and D'Alessandro.. Hopefully Hughes can find a replacement for Tugay next season...
simon84
02-05-2006, 08:36 PM
John Terry, Claude Makelele, Didier Drogba and Michael Essien have not travelled to Blackburn.
the match is at 3am. blackburn still need 2 points from last 2 games to secure 6th
simon84
02-05-2006, 08:39 PM
d alessandro is a winger, how to replace tugay.
i think reid will partner savage regularly next season.
but i feel reid despite his good performances, his range of passing and his vision is very poor.
rackun
02-05-2006, 09:54 PM
blackburn all the way
waitforyou
03-05-2006, 01:04 AM
how abt getting Dunn back now that Birmingham is relegated? feels he could still do a good job.
simon84
03-05-2006, 01:15 AM
yah good idea
but dunn quite injury prone leh
PootPoot
03-05-2006, 02:22 AM
how abt getting Dunn back now that Birmingham is relegated? feels he could still do a good job.
yeah i always liked dunn and duff. if only they all come back. woot...
PootPoot
03-05-2006, 02:30 AM
Blackburn Rovers: Friedal, Gray, Khizanishvili, Neill, Bentley, Pedersen, Reid, Savage, Tugay, Bellamy, Pongolle. Subs: Enckelman, Mokoena, Peter, Dickov, Kuqi
Chelsea: Cudicini, Horno, Gallas, Carvalho, Diarra, Geremi, Lampard, Maniche, SWP, Crespo, Gudjohnson. Subs: Pidegly, Johnson, Cole, Duff, Cole
Go Go Rovers!! chelsea no makelele!! rapeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee them! :s12:
ternest
03-05-2006, 03:46 AM
SAVAGE SCORES!!!!!!!!! Way to go!!!!!! :s12: :s12: :s12: :s12:
ternest
03-05-2006, 03:47 AM
1-0 at half time!!!!!!!!! 45 minutes to Europe!!!!!!
ternest
03-05-2006, 03:49 AM
Actually d'alessandro is more suited to be central midfield. He used to play there for wolfsburg. I think reid is not the kind of creative midfielder, need a riquelme-type player.. HAhaha, but I don't think riquelme will be interested in bburn...
simon84
03-05-2006, 03:50 AM
yeah
anyway we only need 2 points from the last 2 games.
if can get 3 here, solves all the problem
ternest
03-05-2006, 04:48 AM
Europe beckons!!!! We beat the champions!!!!
simon84
03-05-2006, 04:58 AM
YES!!!
quite heng also, they could have had 3 penalties
Ronaldo_7
03-05-2006, 05:08 PM
congrats ~! i watch the 1st half only... Bentley wasted... open goal he miss after Bellamy's attempt.. Gudjohnsen also hit the posts haha.. but the goal u guys think is Savage or Reid? i think is Savage... Reid might have got a touch but its too minimal to notice bah... :)
next season good luck in Europe
yellowsubmarine
04-05-2006, 02:38 AM
congrats ~! i watch the 1st half only... Bentley wasted... open goal he miss after Bellamy's attempt.. Gudjohnsen also hit the posts haha.. but the goal u guys think is Savage or Reid? i think is Savage... Reid might have got a touch but its too minimal to notice bah... :)
next season good luck in Europe
Yeah, same to Man Utd too. Thanks for helping us along the way this season. 6 points off the Red Devils aint an easy feat. Hee....
Ronaldo_7
04-05-2006, 05:56 PM
Yeah, same to Man Utd too. Thanks for helping us along the way this season. 6 points off the Red Devils aint an easy feat. Hee....
-.-" wah come gloat on ur victories! haha.. juz kidding... :)
Cheers
yellowsubmarine
04-05-2006, 10:26 PM
-.-" wah come gloat on ur victories! haha.. juz kidding... :)
Cheers
I was kidding too. Peace dude! :)
Ronaldo_7
05-05-2006, 12:14 AM
I was kidding too. Peace dude! :)
sure thing :) cya ard
Jermaine84
05-05-2006, 11:24 AM
Blackburn would need to bring in some decent European players to have a decent Uefa cup run n epl season.. hope Sinama's loan deal would become permant like Bentley.. as an Arsenal fan i was damn pissed when i heard news Bentley goe to Blackburn.. a future super star imo
PootPoot
06-05-2006, 05:27 PM
i was glad to see this news. cant wait to see whos coming in.. as usual surely must wait till comfirm den got news.. hughes style.. =:p
Blackburn Rovers boss Mark Hughes admits he'll be looking for a step up in quality in his signings this summer.
"The club's ambitions match mine," confirmed Hughes, with that kind of thinking making a decision to pledge his future to Rovers an easy one.
"Any changes I have wanted to make, be it off the field or bringing in players, they've always supported everything I've tried to do.
"The chairman has been very active in that situation. You have to give him the right reasons as to why you want to do things and why you want to bring certain players in.
"But from that point onwards the club has backed me. Having the support of the chairman and the board is very important if you want to be successful as a club.
"That's one of the main reasons I felt I could commit to the club because I get support as and when I need it.
"Obviously, you have to understand where we are because gone are the days of spending huge amounts of money. I don't have that luxury.
"I think it's fair to say there is a limit when it comes to spending a certain amount on a player.
"But I'd like to think that because we have done better this season than we did last season then we will have more money.
"But it has to be the right player, and it may be we have to push that little bit harder to get that player in.
"Ideally there will be a figure the club would like to work with.
"But if the right player becomes available and he is a little bit more expensive then we may have to push the boat out, and I'm sure the club will."
yellowsubmarine
07-05-2006, 09:38 AM
Hey guys! Put yourself in the Rovers fan world map. The link below will show you all the Rovers fans around the world.
http://www.frappr.com/blackburnroversfansmap
yellowsubmarine
08-05-2006, 01:49 AM
YES!!!! Rovers beat Man City 2-0 despite having Tugay sent off to finish the season with 63 point!!! Wat an ending to the season!
United_Treble
08-05-2006, 01:51 AM
YES!!!! Rovers beat Man City 2-0 despite having Tugay sent off to finish the season with 63 point!!! Wat an ending to the season!
do u think it great?
yellowsubmarine
08-05-2006, 01:54 AM
do u think it great?
Absolutely.
So...did you lose money? WHaha... try again next season... whahaha
simon84
08-05-2006, 02:29 AM
hey they wore the bet 24 jersey just now.
looks uglier than the lonsdale 1
Jermaine84
08-05-2006, 09:37 AM
hey they wore the bet 24 jersey just now.
looks uglier than the lonsdale 1
AC Milan also got ' bet2win' type of logo.. veri unsightful le
PootPoot
09-05-2006, 11:00 AM
looks like hughes still want petrov and sutton.
and maybe hughes can try wayne bridge for LB. gray not really consistent. bridge looks good after his move to fulham.
yellowsubmarine
09-05-2006, 10:21 PM
looks like hughes still want petrov and sutton.
and maybe hughes can try wayne bridge for LB. gray not really consistent. bridge looks good after his move to fulham.
Yah, Bridge will be a good buy. I like Frank Quedreue too.
swalk21
09-05-2006, 10:26 PM
Subby, I want to sell Henry to you.
yellowsubmarine
10-05-2006, 10:46 PM
Subby, I want to sell Henry to you.
Ok, deal's done. We already send Dickov on his way to London..
simon84
12-05-2006, 05:50 AM
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/columns/story?id=367614&root=england&cc=4716
check this out.
craig bellamy is the number 1 signing of the season
yellowsubmarine
12-05-2006, 08:40 PM
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/columns/story?id=367614&root=england&cc=4716
check this out.
craig bellamy is the number 1 signing of the season
And big spurs are after our players again! From Pedersen to Neill to Bellamy!! Cant they find good players from elsewhere? I dislike big spurs even more now. :o
simon84
13-05-2006, 04:38 AM
they even want to buy bebetov. how many strikers they want sia
yellowsubmarine
16-05-2006, 12:20 AM
Will Bellamy be here next season? I really dunno. Mark Hughes IS confident Bellamy will stay but i'm not too sure. If Liverpool or Man Utd comes knocking, its as good as gone. If Bellamy leaves, i rather he leaves for Chelsea. Cos Chelsea will definitely pay alot of money for him.
simon84
16-05-2006, 01:37 AM
i dun think mourinho would want bellamy. i dun think they can get along. lols.
yellowsubmarine
17-05-2006, 10:31 PM
i dun think mourinho would want bellamy. i dun think they can get along. lols.
Now ever Newcastle and Spurs are eyeing Neill. Sianz liao........ :s8:
simon84
18-05-2006, 02:22 AM
where u get the source?
yellowsubmarine
18-05-2006, 07:06 PM
where u get the source?
I got it from newsnow.co.uk, u do a search on Blackburn Rovers, you will see transfer news linking to Bellamy and Neill everyday.
and Neill is not signing a new contract till after world cup. :s8:
simon84
20-05-2006, 10:05 PM
it's ok
dailystar says
Blackburn Rovers are leading the race to sign Chelsea striker Eidur Gudjohnsen.
PootPoot
20-05-2006, 10:36 PM
Paul Dickov has left Blackburn Rovers after rejecting the offer of a new two-year contract at Ewood Park.
The 33-year-old striker was also offered deals by Sheffield United and Everton but is expected to join his former club Manchester City.
Rovers chairman John Williams told the Lancashire Evening Telegraph: "Paul has been released by the club after he decided not to accept our offer of a new contract.
"I don't think there was any problem with the terms we offered him, it was more of a football decision.
"We'd like to thank Paul for his efforts over the last two years, and we wish him all the best for the future."
Swee... karate man gone.. although i like his determination, but sometimes his temper and sillyness and poor finishing makes me hope he leaves. sweee.. hope gudjohsson comes.
yellowsubmarine
21-05-2006, 07:57 PM
Gone too is Amoruso. Finally a chunk of wages has slashed off. :D
I'm hoping for Gudjohnsen as well, he's a very smart footballer and very skillful but not sure if he's the ideal partner for Bellamy.
simon84
22-05-2006, 04:16 AM
i think can.
blackburn can only attack thru GMP and bellamy's connection. he can be the 2nd link since he's so clever
PootPoot
25-05-2006, 06:47 PM
Blackburn Rovers boss Mark Hughes is ready to make an offer for Birmingham City striker Emile Heskey.
Hughes will offer £3.5 million for Heskey after receiving little encouragement from Chelsea striker Eidur Gudjohnsen and Celtic's John Hartson.
Hughes is also weighing up a move for Benni McCarthy, of FC Porto.
:(
yellowsubmarine
26-05-2006, 12:04 AM
This is seriously bad news... i mean the heskey one... heskey goal ratio is not very good. i hope Mark Hughes doesnt buy for the sake of buying. £3.5m is way overpriced.
PootPoot
27-05-2006, 12:45 AM
Blackburn Rovers have dropped their interest in Chelsea striker Eidur Gudjohnsen.
Rovers boss Hughes had identified Gudjohnsen as a potential strike-partner for Craig Bellamy and recently spoke to Jose Mourinho to ask if the 27-year-old was available.
A source at the club told the Lancashire Evening Telegraph: "We were interested in Eidur but it now looks like he's going elsewhere, which means we'll switch our attention to other targets."
no choice i guess.. hassan chose elsewhere.. gudjohnsson wans elsewhere... so left hesky..
more bad news..
Bellamy's future, however, is shrouded with some doubt. Sources inside the Wales camp last week claimed the striker's departure from Blackburn was being openly discussed by the players.
Cardiff-born Bellamy is a boyhood Liverpool fan and could well be interested in Champions League football.
However, Mark Hughes at Blackburn will work feverishly to keep his high speed attacker.
jeremyteocx
27-05-2006, 09:23 AM
hey guys another avid blackburn supporter signing in here! cool to know that there are blackburn supporters around, kind of hard to find any around these days ...
hmm losing bellamy would be a blow, but i seriously feel one reason he is doing so well at bburn, and the same applies to robbie savage, is the presence of mark hughes ... somehow or rather he can handle them very well ...
hmm at one point of time i felt that bellamy's best strike partner was dickov ... i rem the way the paired up against man utd not so long ago ... their lightning pace was tremendous and left the man utd defence wandering ... a pity dickov started to drift away from the first team and now he is gone, the only player whose pace is somewhat similar to dickov now i think is bently, but bently is still young and learning ....
hmm i definitely would not want to see heskey coming our way ... i felt that he was way below par this season playing for birmingham ... missing easy chances ... the only advantage of having heskey is the physical presence of a striker ... but in that we already have kuqi ... so no point having heskey ... we need someone who is more clinical in his finishing ...
yellowsubmarine
29-05-2006, 12:15 AM
Yes, losing Bellamy will be a big blow to Mark Hughes's plan because i believe he's building the team around Bellamy. Right now Liverpool and Spuds seems the one likely to be interested as Morientes and Mido has both left.
I hope Heskey wont be coming in to REPLACE Bellamy.. :(
jeremyteocx
29-05-2006, 09:38 AM
hmm and cisse is leaving too, geez hopefully bellamy will stay, if he leaves the scenario is becoming like when shearer left blackburn, and the aftermath was sad, very sad ...
hopefully the hard fought uefa cup place will be strong enough to make him wanna stay ...
yellowsubmarine
29-05-2006, 10:46 AM
Ya. just read the news this morning. die man. 2 strikers leaving. Beneitez sure make a bid for Bellamy. At Liverpool, there's Champion League football to look forward too... :s8:
jeremyteocx
29-05-2006, 11:14 AM
hmm sad sad ... lets just wait and hope for the best ... anw it has been a while since ive seen blackburn hit the transfer headlines ... juz hope this time we can make a more prominent signing ...
yellowsubmarine
29-05-2006, 11:09 PM
Not sure if you guys seen this before already.
A clip of the goals in the recently concluded season. A very very fantastic clip.
5mins long, worth the wait!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2whm_U-si2Q
PootPoot
30-05-2006, 07:12 PM
Tottenham are keeping tabs on Lille striker Peter Odemwingie.
The 24 year-old Nigeria international is also a long-term target for Blackburn Rovers boss Mark Hughes, who has followed Odemwingie since his days in Belgium.
waitforyou
30-05-2006, 09:57 PM
Gudjohnsen would have been a really good signing but with him being link to clubs the like of Man Utd & Barcelona, it would have been extremely difficult to sign him.:(
yellowsubmarine
31-05-2006, 11:46 AM
Tottenham are keeping tabs on Lille striker Peter Odemwingie.
The 24 year-old Nigeria international is also a long-term target for Blackburn Rovers boss Mark Hughes, who has followed Odemwingie since his days in Belgium.
There's the same old Spurs again. Always linking themselves with everyone that is available in the transfer market. :s8:
jeremyteocx
01-06-2006, 12:38 PM
Not sure if you guys seen this before already.
A clip of the goals in the recently concluded season. A very very fantastic clip.
5mins long, worth the wait!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2whm_U-si2Q
nice clip :)
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.