PDA

View Full Version : Problems with ST585? List here

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7

gray
25-07-2005, 11:31 PM
Sometimes, microfilter do play a part, it can be faulty or half-working only, thus such result. Remove the microfilter and turn off modem, then start using phone direct to socket, see whether if this problem still exist. If the microfilter is working well, it should be hard or NOT noticable in change of volume at all.

And I still had this problem that SingTel did not fix for my line.

Yup, normal phone does the job pretty well. If not, get Panasonic/Siemens ones, Philips phone are known for sudden death after a period of time.

Thanks will try that. My issue is not so much with the volume, the problem is that calls sound bright (sharp treble), and a little hollow. There can also be static noises infrequently.

liangtam
25-07-2005, 11:59 PM
This used to be one of my problem. The hollow sound is still there although the static is gone now.

Static noise can be caused by the poor phone cord of yout fixed phone. If you've got a new one recently, then it must had been the line.

chaicka
26-07-2005, 12:04 AM
Yup, static noise occurs if the physical phone cable is not in good shape. Example: The socket pins have oxidized, phone cable copper wires inside have oxidized (rare but does occur if laid wrongly like under the tiles without any trucking).

princess086
26-07-2005, 01:49 AM
Hi, just want to share some of my experience with you guys, I came across some XDSL enable line with the black MF attach to the phone point the phone will not have any dial tone but when I change to a white MF ( another type I mean ) and attach his phone to the white MF guess what working perfectly. Next I use the MF in another one of his room and it works.His internet connect was fine, I’m not too sure of the reason why but its seem to be working this way. :s11:

chaicka
26-07-2005, 01:55 AM
Polarity?

Do you know that there is polarity in the phone line, and I have with me a tester to test the polarity...:D
Used to carry with me everywhere I go when I use dial-up alot last time.

tak
26-07-2005, 09:37 PM
Hi, just want to share some of my experience with you guys, I came across some XDSL enable line with the black MF attach to the phone point the phone will not have any dial tone but when I change to a white MF ( another type I mean ) and attach his phone to the white MF guess what working perfectly. Next I use the MF in another one of his room and it works.His internet connect was fine, I’m not too sure of the reason why but its seem to be working this way. :s11:

please do not disclose what u do during your work duties....

misato
27-07-2005, 01:03 AM
Was testing with the Wireless capabilities of the 585...

------------------------
Ethernet Client-> WRouter -> WClient
Without Encryption, avg is ard 2400kb/s 19mbps peak ard 2590kb/s or 21mbps efficiency 38.8%

WClient -> WRouter -> Ethernet Client
Without Encryption, max is avg is 21mbps to peak ard 2900kb/s or 23mbps efficiency 43.9%

Ethernet -> WRouter -> WClient
With WPA-PSK TIKP, i get a usage of stable 1465kb/s or 12mbps with peak around 15mbps, efficient 27.7% This performance applies for the rest of the encryption methods.

With WPA-PSK TIKP, i get a usage of stable 2563kb/s or 21mbps with peak around 22mbps, efficient 40.7% This performance applies for the rest of the encryption methods.
------------------------

From the figures... it shows that if the encrytion is left to the router, there is a potential performance hit of up to 40%+ which is a very big gap. So RallyArt, would you kindly feedback to alcatel regarding this performance issue.

chaicka
27-07-2005, 01:30 AM
Was testing with the Wireless capabilities of the 585...

------------------------
Ethernet Client-> WRouter -> WClient
Without Encryption, avg is ard 2400kb/s 19mbps peak ard 2590kb/s or 21mbps efficiency 38.8%

Without Encryption, max is avg is 21mbps to peak ard 2900kb/s or 23mbps efficiency 43.9%

Ethernet -> WRouter -> WClient
With WPA-PSK TIKP, i get a usage of stable 1465kb/s or 12mbps with peak around 15mbps, efficient 27.7% This performance applies for the rest of the encryption methods.

With WPA-PSK TIKP, i get a usage of stable 2563kb/s or 21mbps with peak around 22mbps, efficient 40.7% This performance applies for the rest of the encryption methods.
------------------------

From the figures... it shows that if the encrytion is left to the router, there is a potential performance hit of up to 40%+ which is a very big gap. So RallyArt, would you kindly feedback to alcatel regarding this performance issue.
Well, in my personal opinion, that performance is within competitive range with other 802.11g (non-Super G, non-MIMO, non-SRX or watsoever enhanced technology)...

Check out reviews across the internet and compare a wide range of 802.11g devices, the throughput is around there...

Oso, u may wanna set ur Ethernet Client's (assume it's a PC) to 100 Full Dup, and also, see if the ST585 end can set the ports (in CLI maybe) to statically 100 Full Dup. DON'T run in auto...u expert in networking should know this rule of thumb rite ;)

misato
27-07-2005, 08:05 AM
Well, in my personal opinion, that performance is within competitive range with other 802.11g (non-Super G, non-MIMO, non-SRX or watsoever enhanced technology)...

Check out reviews across the internet and compare a wide range of 802.11g devices, the throughput is around there...

Oso, u may wanna set ur Ethernet Client's (assume it's a PC) to 100 Full Dup, and also, see if the ST585 end can set the ports (in CLI maybe) to statically 100 Full Dup. DON'T run in auto...u expert in networking should know this rule of thumb rite ;)
It is running in full 100BT. I have checked n double check via CLI.

The perfomance issue (not a problem) i'm refering to is when a Ethernet Client xfer file to a Wclient, the throughput has a variation of 40% differences in performance when compared to the Wclient xfer the file Ethernet Client.

In a normal network environment, key services such as files services are always on the Ethernet segment for best performance, be them serving Wireless or Wired client, the same applies to SOHO or home network.

So for Ethernet -> Wirless, the router handles all the encryption, as Ethernet Client dont do WPA or WEP. When i check on the CPU utlization rate of the 585, its hanging at around 11%, 10% when wireless is disabled. Therefore, the 585 should have enough power to provide a higher encrypted throughput for its ethernet -> wireless services. Also, 12mbps encrypted stream for a ethernet -> wireless connections is sad, where the reverse is so much faster (2x mbps) when the encrypting is done by the client

chaicka
27-07-2005, 08:34 AM
What I meant is statically fix the net devices to 100 Full Duplex mode instead of Auto-Negotiation mode.

Auto negotiation mode has its issues and experienced network engineers as well as system engineers/administrators would always fix it to 100 Full Duplex and not let it run as Auto.

Even when implementing Cisco solutions, it is also a good practise to set core connections to static 100 full duplex. Remember, u need both ends of the connections in static 100 full duplex mode.

Once this is done, u will see an increase in throughput. Also, it eliminates potential future network problems. Oh, btw, an experienced unix administrator will know this thing very well ;) Rite, unix admins out there...:s13:

misato
27-07-2005, 10:30 AM
What I meant is statically fix the net devices to 100 Full Duplex mode instead of Auto-Negotiation mode.

Auto negotiation mode has its issues and experienced network engineers as well as system engineers/administrators would always fix it to 100 Full Duplex and not let it run as Auto.

Even when implementing Cisco solutions, it is also a good practise to set core connections to static 100 full duplex. Remember, u need both ends of the connections in static 100 full duplex mode.

Once this is done, u will see an increase in throughput. Also, it eliminates potential future network problems. Oh, btw, an experienced unix administrator will know this thing very well ;) Rite, unix admins out there...:s13:
I know what you mean.
The point i'm coming from is the wireless -> wired vs wired -> wireless throughput. Tests were dont under the same condition and same time, so network factor variation shouldnt be of a big consideration.

Anyway as i said.. its a bugging issue.. but it is not a problem with the current firmware. By today standards, encryption is a basic requirement for a wireless environment, be it home or office. Therefore there should be some empathies on the performance in a encrypted environment.

Shinji_U
27-07-2005, 02:01 PM
Any new updates to the firmware of st585?

RallyArt.. I think there's an issue with the restore configuration of the st585... after restoring a backup ini, there seems to be conflicting settings displayed in the CLI and GUI...

For example..

1. In the GUI under dynamic DNS, my old DYDNS profile isn there, but after double checking from the CLI, its there, which explains the error of hostname error as I try to create the same host name using no-ip.

2. Wireless, in the GUI the wireless is enabled, and all my clients are conencted via wireless, but CLI shows that wireless is disabled, and after setting to enabled from CLI, the router reboots with wireless off and I have to go to CLI and enable the wireless.

Hope the restore config bug could be solved.

And hope that there will be new firmware out for us st585 users to play around with.

:D

chaicka
27-07-2005, 02:10 PM
Shinji_U, can double confirm ur statistics so that I will record 1 set of it only, instead of the current 2 taken due to different firmware testing.

Now that u got a new unit, can take the stats again?

Shinji_U
27-07-2005, 02:18 PM
Shinji_U, can double confirm ur statistics so that I will record 1 set of it only, instead of the current 2 taken due to different firmware testing.

Now that u got a new unit, can take the stats again?
Ok, will do a screeny when I get home tonight.

:)

Shinji_U
29-07-2005, 12:18 PM
Ok, here is the latest stats... :D

http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/768243041/st585_dsl_050729.gif

chaicka
29-07-2005, 12:24 PM
Can see tat ur line is much stable now, compared to initial stage...

Shinji_U
29-07-2005, 12:46 PM
Can see tat ur line is much stable now, compared to initial stage...

Yup.. but I think they did alot of changes at the DSLAM ba, was disconnected quite often in the middle of the night...

chaicka
29-07-2005, 01:58 PM
Possible...But depends on what kind of disconnection - a dsl syn drop or a PPP session drop.
PPP session drop may means their authentication/access servers are dropping the PPP session...while ur DSLAM is still working fine.

princess086
30-07-2005, 12:34 AM
Possible...But depends on what kind of disconnection - a dsl syn drop or a PPP session drop.
PPP session drop may means their authentication/access servers are dropping the PPP session...while ur DSLAM is still working fine.

What could be the Possible problem if ppp connection drop?

chaicka
30-07-2005, 12:57 AM
If it's PPP session drop, that would be a headache to pinpoint the fault, cause the possible causes are juz too many and without in-depth log or error message (maybe can turn on debug mode on DSLAM and/or Access Server, dun think CPE has such capabilities or if lucky, the access server has sufficient info to work on), it's hard to troubleshoot.

That's why I hate to troubleshoot PPP-related issues...

princess086
30-07-2005, 09:49 AM
If it's PPP session drop, that would be a headache to pinpoint the fault, cause the possible causes are juz too many and without in-depth log or error message (maybe can turn on debug mode on DSLAM and/or Access Server, dun think CPE has such capabilities or if lucky, the access server has sufficient info to work on), it's hard to troubleshoot.

That's why I hate to troubleshoot PPP-related issues...

what you mean is although line sync stable and line does not have much error and the problem can still due to DSLAM or access server?

chaicka
30-07-2005, 11:19 AM
I am not good with words and theoritical explainations. Check out how PPP works and you will understand better. By checking/researching yourself, it actually stays in your mind better. When u are done, maybe u can post ur understanding on it and well, I believe others more expert pple will correct if there is any mistake (in a positive and constructive way).

Sometimes, if we explain it, it's too technical and layman of the forum may not understand. So, wanna give it a try. Treat it as u learn something new.

Oh, btw, DSLAM dun handle PPP authentications. If I recall correctly, the equipment that handles PPP authentication and session is called Access Servers. Correct me if I am wrong, my memory is getting rusty after moving into my current role...;)

boinkboink
30-07-2005, 09:24 PM
I realized that USERID and PASSWORD is not required to access router setup page. Is this normal?

boinkboink
30-07-2005, 11:20 PM
What i know by default dont have

Still does not prompt me despite setting the userid/password. I'm lost.

wireXD
31-07-2005, 12:01 AM
Still does not prompt me despite setting the userid/password. I'm lost.

You have to telnet in and do it manually. Here are the steps :

_{wirexd}=>user
{wirexd}[user]=>flush
{wirexd}[user]=>add
name = yournamehere
password = passwordhere
Please retype password for verification.
password = passwordhere
role = Administrator
[hash2] =
[descr] = Admin
[defuser] = y
[defremadmin] =
:user add name=someone password=_CYP_eca3525d4c22173144170ed2c5b77c18 role=Admin istrator descr=Admin defuser=enabled
{wirexd}[user]=>saveall

boinkboink
31-07-2005, 07:58 AM
You have to telnet in and do it manually. Here are the steps :

_{wirexd}=>user
{wirexd}[user]=>flush
{wirexd}[user]=>add
name = yournamehere
password = passwordhere
Please retype password for verification.
password = passwordhere
role = Administrator
[hash2] =
[descr] = Admin
[defuser] = y
[defremadmin] =
:user add name=someone password=_CYP_eca3525d4c22173144170ed2c5b77c18 role=Admin istrator descr=Admin defuser=enabled
{wirexd}[user]=>saveall

Oh man WireXd, thanks for you guide. At last it works. Phew.......

dforster
31-07-2005, 10:49 AM
I am not good with words and theoritical explainations. Check out how PPP works and you will understand better. By checking/researching yourself, it actually stays in your mind better. When u are done, maybe u can post ur understanding on it and well, I believe others more expert pple will correct if there is any mistake (in a positive and constructive way).

Sometimes, if we explain it, it's too technical and layman of the forum may not understand. So, wanna give it a try. Treat it as u learn something new.

Oh, btw, DSLAM dun handle PPP authentications. If I recall correctly, the equipment that handles PPP authentication and session is called Access Servers. Correct me if I am wrong, my memory is getting rusty after moving into my current role...;)

U right Chaika,

The PPP is handled by a BRAS Server (Broadband, Remote Access Server). However rarely are these servers, but usually routers, somewhere in the centre of the network (should be at least two). These terminate the the PPP streams after authentication (RADIUS or Similiar) to a virtual router, which connects through to the internet. So all the internet streams needs to term on on these BRAS, which then allows filtering and such. I not sure if singnet needed larger BRAS for the new speed, hopefully so, or the new internet just lumped in with everyone else?

boinkboink
31-07-2005, 12:47 PM
I hope someone from this forum could help me out in the port forwarding setting.

Ok, I need to access my webcam from the internet. I've set (for my Camera) port 8080.

Now, the biggest headache is what should I do to the port forwarding setting for Speedtouch.

Kindly, someone could tell me the values I should fill in for the following parameters.

(1) protocol
(2) port range
(3) translate to
(4) trigger protocol
(5) trigfer port

Please help. Thanks.

chaicka
31-07-2005, 01:20 PM
U right Chaika,

The PPP is handled by a BRAS Server (Broadband, Remote Access Server). However rarely are these servers, but usually routers, somewhere in the centre of the network (should be at least two). These terminate the the PPP streams after authentication (RADIUS or Similiar) to a virtual router, which connects through to the internet. So all the internet streams needs to term on on these BRAS, which then allows filtering and such. I not sure if singnet needed larger BRAS for the new speed, hopefully so, or the new internet just lumped in with everyone else?
Hi dforster,

Thanks for sharing info. Seriously, I do hope that SingTel/SingNet will look into the issues of PPP sessions dropping frequently more seriously, and if need to, time to deploy more AS or replace older AS.

How the infrastructure for AS setup is largely unknown to us, the consumers. But, based on what consumers are experiencing with these PPP sessions dropping, and some extremely problematic cases, it must be addressed now as it's a timebomb waiting to explode.

boinkboink
31-07-2005, 02:32 PM
Gents, hgow do i make this modem to bridge mode? Please help. Thanks.

dforster
01-08-2005, 09:14 PM
Could one of you generous guys, post your mrtg.cfg in relation to ST585? walking and cfgmaker dont seem to work, even though I set a RO comunity?, and I'm not that much of a mrtg expert anyway?

chaicka
03-08-2005, 12:16 AM
To those on ADSL2+ 10/25mbps plan, experiencing issues, can post in here instead?

Together with VRnet, we can try to help and narrow down the cause of the problem.

Shinji_U
03-08-2005, 08:56 AM
Any new firmware for st585?

I'm presently immobilized at home... got 5 stiches on my foot from some freak accident... so... one week stuck at home.... lol.... wonder what cna I do sia...

:(

keat84
03-08-2005, 09:31 AM
any 1 know how to set the IPQoS? i tried it but no work T_T ... i want to set bt to low IE to high .. mean i can surf smooth when downloading...

1 more thing is .. why everytime i power off and on again ... my setting will go to default? my firewall already disabled but show enabled at telnet. izzit firmware not stable? T_T advised pls... tq

Shinji_U
03-08-2005, 09:38 AM
any 1 know how to set the IPQoS? i tried it but no work T_T ... i want to set bt to low IE to high .. mean i can surf smooth when downloading...

1 more thing is .. why everytime i power off and on again ... my setting will go to default? my firewall already disabled but show enabled at telnet. izzit firmware not stable? T_T advised pls... tq
Yes, the present firmware has this issue where the settings i nthe GUI does not tally with that in the CLI... so sometimes you see in CLI is shows enabled but in GUI its disabled. As for powering off and the settings it returns to default, I've never encounter that issue before... not very sure either...

keat84
03-08-2005, 10:45 AM
any 1 got any firmware about the router? old 1 also can .. i rather use old 1 -_- if more stable ... the GUI look nice but function sux ... the aztech 1 look simply but powerful... lolz... that y alcatel sux -_-

chaicka
03-08-2005, 12:07 PM
Old one? Old one dun work, oni this particular firmware has been certified to work with Hua Wei's ADSL2+ DSLAM.

Wait for the next firmware release bah...

Aztech is one crap piece of junk tat even lifetime free supply of it, I wun even use it.

Alcatel suxs? User dunno how to use, then call the device suxs? How abt u buy a Jaguar car, but u juz pass ur driving license but start driving the car. Pple start calling "Hey, Jaguar suxs" juz becoz they see u driving it and ur skills suxs but pple juz jump to conclusion and say ur car suxs. :s13:

The problem u face with tis ST585 is due to the heavy customization of code in order to get it certified for H.W's DSLAM. Look at ST570, ST580, all are based on the same core v4.x and they perform well and surpass most other SOHO-class CPEs. Aztech??? Not even near it...

keat84
03-08-2005, 12:48 PM
ok ... sorry ... my bad ... xD

Shinji_U
03-08-2005, 12:57 PM
any 1 got any firmware about the router? old 1 also can .. i rather use old 1 -_- if more stable ... the GUI look nice but function sux ... the aztech 1 look simply but powerful... lolz... that y alcatel sux -_-

I think you got it wrong.. Aztech sux big time for your information. Even prolink's ADSL modem is a few times better than Aztech ADSL modems...

The firmware for the st585 now is the first version, so expect a few bugs here and there, nothing new in the IT industry is not filled with bugs, it takes time and effort to solve those bugs, and as for us consumer, all we can do is feedback as much as possible and hopefully they can fix the bugs, then we wait. Patience is a virtue. As for Aztech... I don't even look at their products, cause there are much better products out there that is way better, at the same price...

:D

keat84
03-08-2005, 02:27 PM
lolz... ok

liangtam
03-08-2005, 03:05 PM
Some models of Aztech modem really suxs(including one of theirs featuring alcatel chip), the others are okay. On the other hand, D-Link modems are similarly priced and with lifetime warranty.

ged_is
04-08-2005, 05:20 PM
I read through most of this thread and the adsl2 statistic thread
Found that there are people having the same problem as me

I need to use the singnet proxy or I am unable to surf using IE. Pages will only load halfway
Everything else works.
Why do I need to use the singnet proxy?
My starhub connection is still active so when I switch over to starhub I don't experience problem with IE at all

My FEC and CRC Errors are high. similar to the screen captures with high FEC errors.

My DSL connection establishes very fast but my internet connection takes about 5 minutes

When I do a tracert, the first hop is about 199ms

Any suggestions or can shed some light on the proxy? Will be very grateful for any help.

chaicka
04-08-2005, 05:32 PM
I am suspecting some transparent proxies issue right now. Personally hit some problems which is suggesting so...and I have reported the issue, but well, the helpdesk cannot simulate the problem over there, so I will be forwarding more supporting details and screenshots shortly (tonight).

Hopefully, they will recognize the issue and escalate appropriately to the relevant team to look into it.

chaicka
04-08-2005, 05:34 PM
Guys, any one knows what are the chipsets of the DSLAMs SingTel is having?
Juz need to know if there are other GSPN chipsets DSLAM(s) beside the Hua Wei MA5100 series.

Seems like we ain't the only ones hitting problems...so wanna sort out if it's all due to GSPN chipset.

Tears
05-08-2005, 03:31 AM
Suddenly, cannot go into http://speedtouch.lan....

keat84
05-08-2005, 07:21 AM
try 192.168.1.64

Tears
05-08-2005, 11:37 AM
Still cannot..... prompts me for my user name and password..... which is it? My ISP ID and password???

AhmadH
05-08-2005, 11:50 AM
Still cannot..... prompts me for my user name and password..... which is it? My ISP ID and password???

My second pc also have this problem but never prompt me the user name and password.
The lan icon prompts me that is limited or no connection.Try to repair unable to connect.

Tears
05-08-2005, 11:52 AM
Right now, I'm waiting for the technician to call me back~~

psyko
05-08-2005, 12:06 PM
How I wish...Juz checked out, I have been right.....my block wun be able to support SNBB10/25 (or even if by marginally it does), it wun get good speed.

Juz confirmed that all the local DSLAMs around my block ain't ADSL2+ DSLAM....hahaha...and the nearest ADSL2+ DSLAM is too far in terms of loop length.

Too bad...

How can I check for this myself? I'm planning to upgrade to ADSL2 within the next few weeks.

chaicka
05-08-2005, 12:11 PM
You can't...Only SingTel staff have access to those info...

psyko
05-08-2005, 12:36 PM
Guess I'll take the risk.

But does anyone happen to know about the DSLAMs in AMK area? My block is about 15 minutes walk away from the AMK MRT along Ave 1.

jhquek
05-08-2005, 01:33 PM
Guess I'll take the risk.

But does anyone happen to know about the DSLAMs in AMK area? My block is about 15 minutes walk away from the AMK MRT along Ave 1.
ask your neighour?
put notice on your block lift?
haha.
may help. serious.

daze
06-08-2005, 02:14 AM
I read through most of this thread and the adsl2 statistic thread
Found that there are people having the same problem as me

I need to use the singnet proxy or I am unable to surf using IE. Pages will only load halfway
Everything else works.
Why do I need to use the singnet proxy?
My starhub connection is still active so when I switch over to starhub I don't experience problem with IE at all

My FEC and CRC Errors are high. similar to the screen captures with high FEC errors.

My DSL connection establishes very fast but my internet connection takes about 5 minutes

When I do a tracert, the first hop is about 199ms

Any suggestions or can shed some light on the proxy? Will be very grateful for any help.

i seem to be having the same problem, my Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 14,5 / 32,0

High error seconds for local, high CRC and HEC errors for down.

Another thing i find annoying is the BT speed is even slower than my 512 connection previously. Slow i can still take, but to have so much errors.

Example, i want to download a file say 175MB.

Download speed is running say 30kb/s and after a while the total amount downloaded become 50MB, but the completed file is only 10%, which is 17.5MB/ the other 32.5MB all having errors, CRC maybe.

Completely annoys me.

Anyway to make it at least run smoother?

http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/2090745242/dsl_th.jpg (http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/2090745242/dsl.jpg)

After connecting for 28 mins, only downloading 1 BT, 2 online game accounts and web surfing. So much errors.

Finished downloading the 175 MB file and the total data download was 296 MB, 121MB was wasted

RallyART®
07-08-2005, 12:21 AM
i seem to be having the same problem, my Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 14,5 / 32,0

Another thing i find annoying is the BT speed is even slower than my 512 connection previously. Slow i can still take, but to have so much errors.

After connecting for 28 mins, only downloading 1 BT, 2 online game accounts and web surfing. So much errors.

Finished downloading the 175 MB file and the total data download was 296 MB, 121MB was wasted

Hi, did you ensure that MF are put in every single phone socket of the house? does the errors only come at night when lights are on ..etc? You can also try to change the modem to another socket in the home to try (choose the one nearest to the DP)....trust me...all these may look trivial or to some a complete waste of time but it DOES makes a LOT of difference...

chaicka
08-08-2005, 02:48 AM
Hi, did you ensure that MF are put in every single phone socket of the house? does the errors only come at night when lights are on ..etc? You can also try to change the modem to another socket in the home to try (choose the one nearest to the DP)....trust me...all these may look trivial or to some a complete waste of time but it DOES makes a LOT of difference...
;)....alot of the users dun know tat...every single bit of action done to ensure good line quality counts...:D

daze
08-08-2005, 10:02 AM

I'll try to install a MF on the other socket when i get home today. But fyi, after having been connected for like 1 day, my CRC error on download has been 5XXX,XXX , the other errors are also in the 7 digit area. Maybe can post another picture tonight if it does not reset.

The only time i feel the connection is smooth is slightly after midnight, i have no idea why but my online gaming is much smoother, although downloads still not very good, anyway i have contactd Singnet to send technicians to come down and test my line, and i'll see how that goes, thanks for the help and info you rendered.

daze
08-08-2005, 07:10 PM
http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/1694581122/dsl2_th.jpg (http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/1694581122/dsl2.jpg)

Look at the number of errors

princess086
08-08-2005, 07:20 PM

Example, i want to download a file say 175MB.

Download speed is running say 30kb/s and after a while the total amount downloaded become 50MB, but the completed file is only 10%, which is 17.5MB/ the other 32.5MB all having errors, CRC maybe.

Completely annoys me.

Anyway to make it at least run smoother?

http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/2090745242/dsl_th.jpg (http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/2090745242/dsl.jpg)

what type of bt cilent you are using which can calculation one??
and right now than i know thoes error have impact on download/uploade speed so much

chaicka
08-08-2005, 10:53 PM
First of all, p2p software(s) reporting error bytes DOES NOT EQUAL to the error bits that is reporting by the CPE.

daze
09-08-2005, 11:00 AM
First of all, p2p software(s) reporting error bytes DOES NOT EQUAL to the error bits that is reporting by the CPE.

I use bit comet, even when i dun use BT but just play onine gaming, still quite a fair bit of errors and lag until i disconnected from the game server and that happens only very rarely while i was on magix. Now like happens often.

Another thing, the other PC in my house using wireless sometimes now is unable to detect the wireless signal, need to restart the 585 then can work. each time i restart the 585 will take a long time to get connected to the internet even after the dsl signal is on.

frozened
09-08-2005, 12:49 PM
something is wrong with the wireless signal for the 585. i'm thinking of getting a 3m lan cable instead to fix this solution since the router is near my bedroom.

holocaust
10-08-2005, 03:31 PM
http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/286313762/crappy.jpg

Singtel Adsl2+ 10mbps plan

ferrischia
10-08-2005, 04:06 PM
anyone tried calling? it's almost non existance, tried calling a few times today, always let me listen music. nobody pick up the line. being holding on to the line for at least 10-15 mins.

chaicka
10-08-2005, 05:33 PM
http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/286313762/crappy.jpg

Singtel Adsl2+ 10mbps plan

Something is seriously wrong wif ur service. Report to SingNet/SingTel, and send them the screenshot, they ought to know what's wrong juz by looking at it liao...;)

RallyART®
10-08-2005, 10:42 PM
Hi all,

Just had a confirmation that high FEC that you see is actually another reporting error on the ST585 itself. So nothing to be alarmed :) and performance is not compromised

chaicka
11-08-2005, 01:41 AM
Hi all,

Just had a confirmation that high FEC that you see is actually another reporting error on the ST585 itself. So nothing to be alarmed :) and performance is not compromised
CRC Errors???
HEC Errors???

I doubt CRC Errors are false alarm by the CPE too rite...

RallyART®
11-08-2005, 10:17 AM
CRC Errors???
HEC Errors???

I doubt CRC Errors are false alarm by the CPE too rite...

Nope...the CRC is not false reporting... And in fact, it is an important figure to note. Not so much on the number but how fast it is rising per minute that makes a difference.

HEC is not so much of a problem.

chaicka
11-08-2005, 10:40 AM
Hahaha...I thought the ST585 firmware so screw up to even false report CRC errors ;)

Ya, know the impact of CRC errors since ADSL days...:D

holocaust
12-08-2005, 09:39 PM
Something is seriously wrong wif ur service. Report to SingNet/SingTel, and send them the screenshot, they ought to know what's wrong juz by looking at it liao...;)

Ok contacted singtel, their getting their tech guys to take a look at my line.....
Tried every single possible combination w/mf, w/o mf, and i try hookin directly w/ no telephone got me sync to G992.3 weird ? sumtimes can syn to 800+kb upstream but get line Attn:26.5.

Wats worst today was router wasnt responding...had to give it a few hard factory resets b4 it decided to work. Not to mentioned the frequent dcs. For now i hav my cable which is ending in 2 wks..

lockweld
14-08-2005, 11:28 AM
anyone got their port forwarding working? mine is not well. all others are a-ok except port forwarding. see this maplist just for ur info.

http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/82841506/thomson_cli.jpg (http://www.photoi.org)

The 585 is installed by VRnet fyi.

efeist
14-08-2005, 12:49 PM
hmmm it seems port forwarding doesnt work for me with the udp ports or is it singnet doesnt allow udp ports? anyway rallyart can you please send me the port forwarding guide too? still very blurr about the functions of the st585i as the manual doesnt explain much(my manual is even a potocopied copy)

chaicka
14-08-2005, 01:29 PM
hmmm it seems port forwarding doesnt work for me with the udp ports or is it singnet doesnt allow udp ports? anyway rallyart can you please send me the port forwarding guide too? still very blurr about the functions of the st585i as the manual doesnt explain much(my manual is even a potocopied copy)
Get it urself...
www.vrnet-inc.com/distribution.html

RallyART®
14-08-2005, 01:30 PM
anyone got their port forwarding working? mine is not well. all others are a-ok except port forwarding. see this maplist just for ur info.

http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/82841506/thomson_cli.jpg (http://www.photoi.org)

The 585 is installed by VRnet fyi.

Hi are you sure the port forwarding is not working? It seems from your screen shot that is has already been mapped. How do you test your port forwarding or what program did you use to conclude that the port forwarding is not wokring?

RallyART®
14-08-2005, 01:30 PM

Its also in the CD itself under "user guides" folder

lockweld
14-08-2005, 03:29 PM
Hi are you sure the port forwarding is not working? It seems from your screen shot that is has already been mapped. How do you test your port forwarding or what program did you use to conclude that the port forwarding is not wokring?

Asked my friend who is on MOL to surf to my site and also ftp in. I use bridge mode and my linux router to do the port forwarding it just works. Did a few factory reset to the 585 and it's still not working. And does anyone here have problems with VPN?

Shinji_U
14-08-2005, 05:35 PM
got something interesting in the IDS... by default the IDS for spoofed packet is disabled... I enabled it via CLI... wonder what it really does...

http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/1848563981/ids_050814.gif

lockweld
14-08-2005, 07:46 PM
Hi RallyART®, the port forwarding definitely is not working. I've tried using 585 and my diy router (pc with ipcop installed), the diy router work perfectly fine but not the 585. You can check out if my web server is up by going here -> http://spite.detest.org

RallyART®
14-08-2005, 08:42 PM
Hi RallyART®, the port forwarding definitely is not working. I've tried using 585 and my diy router (pc with ipcop installed), the diy router work perfectly fine but not the 585. You can check out if my web server is up by going here -> http://spite.detest.org

Hi are you using the ST585 now? I can access your webserver...php server right?

lockweld
14-08-2005, 09:10 PM
Hi are you using the ST585 now? I can access your webserver...php server right?

nopes.. not using it right now. i'm using ipcop as router and it does the port forwarding nicely. i just can't to seem get ST585 to work, the port forwarding part.

misato
14-08-2005, 09:13 PM
Your problem reminds me shinji ones when he first got his 585. Common complain of slowness and unable to port forward? So after a new one has been changed, somehow he magically able to port forward in the same way he did with the last.

lockweld
14-08-2005, 11:01 PM
Your problem reminds me shinji ones when he first got his 585. Common complain of slowness and unable to port forward? So after a new one has been changed, somehow he magically able to port forward in the same way he did with the last.

Yeah been following this thread even before i got my ST585 :) . I don't have problems with surfing or downloading stuff using p2p application, cos i rarely download stuff using p2p, except for ISOs image of FreeBSD/Linux distros. Should i call VRnet to change mine as well?

misato
14-08-2005, 11:26 PM
The choice is yours to summon captain VRnet :D

But for someone like you who is knowledgable in networking, do trying cover all base before giving them a call. As each session waste your time and theirs.

monicalf
15-08-2005, 01:08 PM
My ST585 does tend to 'hang' at times after some period.

The LED lights of the ethernet and internet is not blinking as initial normal way. The lights just stay on.

BT transfers still maybe go on but the surfing part is gone. Cannot surf any page on my browser. Unless I restart my PC and ST585.

Whats the problem here ?? *not the 1st time, having this since gotten my ST585 last thurs*

chaicka
15-08-2005, 01:25 PM
This symptom may not be due to ST585...

What's ur BT settings? If u open up to many sessions, and ur BT uses the full upstream bandwidth, of coz u will encounter problem surfing or other internet activities...coz all choked up by ur BT open sessions.

lockweld
15-08-2005, 04:12 PM
The choice is yours to summon captain VRnet :D

But for someone like you who is knowledgable in networking, do trying cover all base before giving them a call. As each session waste your time and theirs.

Wow... called them twice, hold on to the phone like 10-15 minutes each time but no one answered. Where did the support guys go? This is a joke man... Is the thread starter VRnet staff? Maybe he wanna contact me direct?

monicalf
15-08-2005, 07:33 PM
This symptom may not be due to ST585...

What's ur BT settings? If u open up to many sessions, and ur BT uses the full upstream bandwidth, of coz u will encounter problem surfing or other internet activities...coz all choked up by ur BT open sessions.

thanks for responding.

if ya refering to my BT bandwidth at the point of time when I re-discovered it came 'hang' again, only 1 active session, the other 2 are stopped, cos I only can DL one by one, overall, UL - 39kbps & DL - 20+ kbps. Funny... 10mbps...

chaicka
15-08-2005, 07:42 PM
thanks for responding.

if ya refering to my BT bandwidth at the point of time when I re-discovered it came 'hang' again, only 1 active session, the other 2 are stopped, cos I only can DL one by one, overall, UL - 39kbps & DL - 20+ kbps. Funny... 10mbps...
I am not referring to the number of downloads, but the number of sessions (meaning the number of connected peers, and the number of "sessions" opened by peers either local to remote or remote to local in the router. These are the killers of p2p...which choke the pipeline.

lockweld
15-08-2005, 09:08 PM
Strange. Very strange indeed. Now when i asked my gf to surf to http://spite.detest.org/ and ftp in to my server the ST585 is working. Will KIV it for a few days. Can someone here reconfirm that it's working, ie the webpage at the above url will show you php info page? Thanks.

chaicka
15-08-2005, 09:12 PM
a... are you using windows xp SP2 if i'm not wrong windowsSP2 only allow 10 sessions(by default). That could be one of the reason causing connection to hang(not sure also).
How many times must we correct the faulted idea of XP SP2 allows only 10 connections?!?!?!

STOP misleading less savvy pple wif tat crap...it is totally crap.

RallyART®
15-08-2005, 10:39 PM
Wow... called them twice, hold on to the phone like 10-15 minutes each time but no one answered. Where did the support guys go? This is a joke man... Is the thread starter VRnet staff? Maybe he wanna contact me direct?

Hi hi so sorry for the experience. If you want to do an exchange or test the modem, feel free to walk in to our office during office hours 9-5pm mondays to friday. Those people who cannot reach the heldpesk, you can email productsupport@vrnet-inc.com. All emails will be replied within 24 hrs.

princess086
15-08-2005, 10:46 PM
How many times must we correct the faulted idea of XP SP2 allows only 10 connections?!?!?!

STOP misleading less savvy pple wif tat crap...it is totally crap.

I think I had also confused by the article which I had read before (base on my understanding lever). care to enlighten me more about this.

chaicka
15-08-2005, 10:56 PM
I think I had also confused by the article which I had read before (base on my understanding lever). care to enlighten me more about this.
Search the forum...I believe cciRRus or a few others posted a very extensive explanation on it b4...

liangtam
16-08-2005, 01:18 PM
The WinXP 10 TCP limitation should be ok for those BASIC user who only surf net, check emails and ciao! type. For opening up more than 10 TCP HTTP/FTP based connection to massively download big files like a few linux distro at once, is perfectly fine. The speed will go smooth after awhile like 5 minutes.

But when it comes to P2P, especially BT, this will change. Due to the massive opening and closing of TCP connection every few ten minutes when each peer's client switches to share with you, you will notice the limitation of WinXP SP2 is hitting user HARD. Not to mention, the few minutes wait loading your webpage and tracker list while P2P.

So I think patch would be good.

legacyZZZ
16-08-2005, 08:16 PM
Those who have port forwarding problems might want to try this.

Instead of opening a range like 2000-2010. Open individual ports, like...
2000-2000
2001-2001
2002-2002

I found that doing it this way seems to work. Whereas opening a range DOESN'T work.

lockweld
16-08-2005, 09:39 PM
Hi hi so sorry for the experience. If you want to do an exchange or test the modem, feel free to walk in to our office during office hours 9-5pm mondays to friday. Those people who cannot reach the heldpesk, you can email productsupport@vrnet-inc.com. All emails will be replied within 24 hrs.

Hi RallyART®, the modem's fine now. It's working and i received mails from VRnet too. As i said all is well last night when i asked my gf to surf to my site and also to test out ftp. All other stuff is working great so i think my problem more or less solved. There's one thing still left to be resolved. I can't seem to vpn to my workplace. Seems that GRE or protocol 47 ain't in that box? Cos i can vpn to my workplace without forwarding ports or anything before (using MOL 6500 + IPCop as my router, no upnp no forwarding done) I'm not sure. Any tips to get vpn working? I'm using normal ms pptp cos i can't be bothered to install the vpn client. Over my office end i also did set my vpn to be pptp and not ipsec. If only this works i can have peace. Anyway, thanks RallyART®!

Cheers

chaicka
16-08-2005, 09:47 PM
The WinXP 10 TCP limitation should be ok for those BASIC user who only surf net, check emails and ciao! type. For opening up more than 10 TCP HTTP/FTP based connection to massively download big files like a few linux distro at once, is perfectly fine. The speed will go smooth after awhile like 5 minutes.

But when it comes to P2P, especially BT, this will change. Due to the massive opening and closing of TCP connection every few ten minutes when each peer's client switches to share with you, you will notice the limitation of WinXP SP2 is hitting user HARD. Not to mention, the few minutes wait loading your webpage and tracker list while P2P.

So I think patch would be good.

There is no such thing as 10 sessions limitation....the whole thing is abt 10 half-open connection at one moment but it can has 100s, if not 1000s of full connections open.

What's there in SP2 to "hitting user HARD"??? My p2p performs the same in both XP SP1 and SP2 machine except the initial period of connecting to other peers and seeds, both still ultimately max out my internet connection bandwidth when sufficient seeds and peers with high upstream send to me.

chaicka
16-08-2005, 09:55 PM
SpeedTouch CPEs default should have support for outgoing VPN tunnelling without the need to open up any ports, thus I believe ST585 should too.

Misato or Shinji_U, can u guys confirm this?

Check error messages or logs to sort out the exact cause of failure to establish the VPN tunnel. Eg. Did the failure happen during retrieval of key or handshaking or authentication or watsoever. That will let u noe if the problem is related to the CPE or not.

One possible cause I see based on the limited info provided is authentication failed. Due to ur office domain is different from the domain ur home PC is in, u need to specify domain/userid instead of juz userid, then password. I may be wrong but do check for error messages and logs.

daze
16-08-2005, 10:31 PM
Nope...the CRC is not false reporting... And in fact, it is an important figure to note. Not so much on the number but how fast it is rising per minute that makes a difference.

HEC is not so much of a problem.

How much per minute is considered bad?

The singtel tehnician came and said my line is working fine.

liangtam
16-08-2005, 10:32 PM
No, don't get me wrong, I said it as 10 TCP limitation because it was termed like this but it was not just only 10 but more at one time after awhile.
Simply, all TCP connection will open up and run normally exceeding 10 open at any one time.

I notice that only 10 TCP connection can be opened per few second for my case, so lets say 10 per 5 second, I can open and establish about 40 TCP connection running in 20sec.

But there's a problem when it comes to P2P as mentioned, since the constant open and closes of port from peers and track, you got to wait a few second up to minute or more just for peer to connect to you, how about the timeouts that the peer client's think of your PC. Simply, those who are limited are always in disadvantage on downloading fast because the data that the peer tries to sent will be delayed.

Isn't that correct? But of course, P2P will run fine after awhile should the peer constantly send you and provide you with faster speed than many trying to connect to you but sends at slow speed.

lockweld
16-08-2005, 11:14 PM
SpeedTouch CPEs default should have support for outgoing VPN tunnelling without the need to open up any ports, thus I believe ST585 should too.

Misato or Shinji_U, can u guys confirm this?

Check error messages or logs to sort out the exact cause of failure to establish the VPN tunnel. Eg. Did the failure happen during retrieval of key or handshaking or authentication or watsoever. That will let u noe if the problem is related to the CPE or not.

One possible cause I see based on the limited info provided is authentication failed. Due to ur office domain is different from the domain ur home PC is in, u need to specify domain/userid instead of juz userid, then password. I may be wrong but do check for error messages and logs.

I don't need to log on to the domain. Just need connection then RDC in to my pc at work. But now my VPN not working... Oh well think i'll just google around for some answers. :). Seen this problem when i installed Smoothwall v2 and found out that they don't support GRE or protocol 47. There's a hack in which u need to edit some files in Smoothwall but then IPCop does the job well, ie letting me vpn thru, i just dump Smoothwall. This is the same problem i've having with ST585. It will just stop at the authentication part and poof! no connection is made. Checked my username n password is correct (i'm the one who add myself :) ).

monicalf
16-08-2005, 11:31 PM
Funny to mention this. I am still quite clueless about whats happening to my connection in terms should I call VRnet to get a 'optimise' settings to overcome my slow DL bandwidth even my surfing pages are moving very slow like 56.6k modem. BTW I am running only 1 BT session at the posting of this stats below.

Uptime: 0 days, 0:46:06
Modulation: G.992.5 Annex A
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1.023 / 23.736
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 85,29 / 43,33
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 4,5 / 15,0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 2,0 / 9,0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 6,0 / 7,0
Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / GSPN
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): 0
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 50 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 553.648.128 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 382
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 365

princess086
16-08-2005, 11:33 PM
Funny to mention this. I am still quite clueless about whats happening to my connection in terms should I call VRnet to get a 'optimise' settings to overcome my slow DL bandwidth even my surfing pages are moving very slow like 56.6k modem. BTW I am running only 1 BT session at the posting of this stats below.

can provide more information on it what do you mean slow??
care to post the result like FTP,tracert,ping ect...
looks ok base on your line reading.

chaicka
16-08-2005, 11:47 PM

Your CRC Errors in juz 46mins is considered high...do u constantly get such high CRC Errors?

If so, please escalate to SingTel, there is something wrong as such high CRC Errors is definitely abnormal.

The CRC Errors (since confirmation tat the ST585 dun have a false alarm on CRC Errors) is sufficient to PROVE to those SingNet/SingTel pple there is a line problem. If those technician not skilled to resolve, get them to escalate to the engineer level.

princess086
16-08-2005, 11:55 PM
Your CRC Errors in juz 46mins is considered high...do u constantly get such high CRC Errors?

If so, please escalate to SingTel, there is something wrong as such high CRC Errors is definitely abnormal.

The CRC Errors (since confirmation tat the ST585 dun have a false alarm on CRC Errors) is sufficient to PROVE to those SingNet/SingTel pple there is a line problem. If those technician not skilled to resolve, get them to escalate to the engineer level.

a.. do you have any guide line to follow for adsl 2+?

chaicka
16-08-2005, 11:58 PM
ADSL2+....still haven't establish a firm guideline...
Think I mentioned it before in one of these ADSL2+ threads...coz pls refer to my prevent post. ;)

monicalf
17-08-2005, 12:13 AM

CRC errors usu. 350+ per hr is considered high.
How do I escalate to singtel to engineer level, I kena once many years back when still wid Magix?

so its back again call them to check my land line izzit ??
but i think i forgot the number. hehe

chaicka
17-08-2005, 12:52 AM
CRC errors usu. 350+ per hr is considered high.
How do I escalate to singtel to engineer level, I kena once many years back when still wid Magix?

so its back again call them to check my land line izzit ??
but i think i forgot the number. hehe
Call 1608 or Call SingNet Helpdesk and juz report CRC Errors very high, >300 per hour, and they should know how to handle liao...

misato
17-08-2005, 07:52 AM
Link Information

Uptime: 7 days, 18:45:05
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 995 / 22.974
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [GB/GB]: 38,64 / 9,47
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 2,5 / 13,0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 1,5 / 10,0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 6,5 / 5,5
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 19.871 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 22.071
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 17.558

Is my CRC error high? an avg of 118 /hr

keat84
17-08-2005, 08:01 AM
Uptime: 1 day, 2:51:45
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1.031 / 22.164
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [GB/GB]: 7,37 / 11,71
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12,5 / 23,0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 8,0 / 20,0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 6,5 / 7,0
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 2.113 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 1.705
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 1.392

Any 1 having problem when playing rakion or gunz? my ping is 999 ... cannot even play game .. wonder why ... already forward port also no work ... haiz...

RallyART®
17-08-2005, 09:37 AM
Link Information

Uptime: 7 days, 18:45:05
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 995 / 22.974
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [GB/GB]: 38,64 / 9,47
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 2,5 / 13,0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 1,5 / 10,0
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 19.871 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 22.071
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 17.558

Is my CRC error high? an avg of 118 /hr

How is your internet speed? stable??

wireXD
17-08-2005, 09:46 AM
Hey Rally,

How is the wildcard thing going? and under what circumstances will the modem reboot by itself? It rebooted by itself and freezes with only the power led on.

RallyART®
17-08-2005, 09:49 AM
For those that have high CRC errors, please please ensure that your phone sockets at home are all attached with Micro Filters and if you have any telephone line that is plugged into a 56K modem (either external or internal) please take them out and see if the CRC still increase. 95% of customers that I attended having this issue is due to internal line......

RallyART®
17-08-2005, 09:53 AM
Hey Rally,

How is the wildcard thing going? and under what circumstances will the modem reboot by itself? It rebooted by itself and freezes with only the power led on.

Hi so sorry for the delay, they have not get back to me regarding the wildcard but i suspect its a firmware bug. As for your modem reboot, does it happens often? If the power light lights and is in red, the modem is in protection mode, which means that either you had did some configuration or did somehitng that will do harm to the modem or there. Just off the modem for about 5 mins and turn it on again..the light will still be in red but after 2-5 mins, it will go back to green and boots itself up.

wireXD
17-08-2005, 10:05 AM
Hi so sorry for the delay, they have not get back to me regarding the wildcard but i suspect its a firmware bug. As for your modem reboot, does it happens often? If the power light lights and is in red, the modem is in protection mode, which means that either you had did some configuration or did somehitng that will do harm to the modem or there. Just off the modem for about 5 mins and turn it on again..the light will still be in red but after 2-5 mins, it will go back to green and boots itself up.

No worries about the delay. Yeah the light is in red but i ain't do anything while it happened. I just saw that all my connections were lost as in msn, icq etc. It remains at that stage and i have to do afew hard reboot to get it back online. It happens only once so far but i have to restart it every 4-5 days as my connection will drop to 300kb max somehow?

misato
17-08-2005, 12:49 PM
How is your internet speed? stable??
So far not much complains.. but surfing seems to be problematic, on and off, using proxy.singnet will help for those sites that cant be accessed / or very slow access spd. Might be due to CRC? can be a factor if you ask me. Dont have any PPP/ line connection problems, as far as what the 585 logs tells me.

the main reason why i posted my stats again is to have something for others to compare to. As ADSL2+ is a very new standard, so we do not have a database for reference for the performance perimeters unlike ADSL.

Since no communication is perfect and free from interferences, there is bound to be CRC error time to time. The question is, Is CRC common on ADSL2+? If yes.. how much is considered normal/good/bad?

wireXD
17-08-2005, 02:00 PM
So far not much complains.. but surfing seems to be problematic, on and off, using proxy.singnet will help for those sites that cant be accessed / or very slow access spd. Might be due to CRC? can be a factor if you ask me. Dont have any PPP/ line connection problems, as far as what the 585 logs tells me.

the main reason why i posted my stats again is to have something for others to compare to. As ADSL2+ is a very new standard, so we do not have a database for reference for the performance perimeters unlike ADSL.

Since no communication is perfect and free from interferences, there is bound to be CRC error time to time. The question is, Is CRC common on ADSL2+? If yes.. how much is considered normal/good/bad?

Some sites that cannot access? or total blockout? The dns failed in the ST585 couple of times, so i manually added singnet's dns to the NIC instead of using the ST585 as dns server.

wireXD
17-08-2005, 02:21 PM
http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/374588675/singnetfail.jpg (http://www.photoi.org)

This is what i meant Rally, the total bandwidth drops to that all of a sudden. I have to restart the modem for things to go back to normal.

zapp!
17-08-2005, 02:36 PM
Hi thot maybe i try my luck here to see if can offer some solution to my problem.

Just got my 10mbps plan activated on Monday, i switched over from Magix Premium. Upon DSL sync i get G992.1 instead of 992.5 and up/down data rate is 1000/81xx.

Singtel sent pple to do line check bla bla today and after they certify ok, modulation is still G992.1. Called Singtel said to contact VRNET. I contacted the installer for my place already, coming down on Friday to see if it is modem problem. However, i still suspect it could be backend problem tho Singnet said their side is all OK.

Here is the current line info after doing factory reset:

Link Information

Uptime: 0 days, 0:02:02

Modulation: G.992.1 Annex A

Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1.120 / 8.128

Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [KB/KB]: 152,00 / 717,00

Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12,5 / 19,5

Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 10,0 / 22,0

SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 6,0 / 17,5

Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 0 / 0

CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0

HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0

monicalf
17-08-2005, 05:21 PM
For those that have high CRC errors, please please ensure that your phone sockets at home are all attached with Micro Filters and if you have any telephone line that is plugged into a 56K modem (either external or internal) please take them out and see if the CRC still increase. 95% of customers that I attended having this issue is due to internal line......

actually I would like to check my internal line first and resolve/eliminate any possible factors before contacting singtel ppl to come down to check. Don't have much offdays to waste.

but problem facing to a idiot who dunno anything abt checking internal line?
Any suggestions here. Thanks

legacyZZZ
17-08-2005, 05:25 PM
Hi thot maybe i try my luck here to see if can offer some solution to my problem.

Just got my 10mbps plan activated on Monday, i switched over from Magix Premium. Upon DSL sync i get G992.1 instead of 992.5 and up/down data rate is 1000/81xx.

Singtel sent pple to do line check bla bla today and after they certify ok, modulation is still G992.1. Called Singtel said to contact VRNET. I contacted the installer for my place already, coming down on Friday to see if it is modem problem. However, i still suspect it could be backend problem tho Singnet said their side is all OK.

Same thing happened to me. They also wanted to sent a field tech down to check my line. I told them NOT to waste time and it is a back end problem. 2 hours later, modulation switched from 992.1 to 992.5.

Tell them FIRMLY it is a back end problem.

legacyZZZ
17-08-2005, 05:34 PM
Rallyart,

I called VRNet to enquire about.....

1. Reboot issue with the modem.
2. Port forwarding not working when a range of ports is used (but works when opening port by port)

An installer that was passing by did an exchange for a new modem. First few days all went well. Yesterday the modem rebooted twice and hung once, today it rebooted again. Do I need to get it replaced again?

Addition information......

Link Information

Uptime: 0 days, 4:57:09
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1.048 / 22.851
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [GB/MB]: 1,18 / 126,37
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 6,5 / 17,0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 4,0 / 15,5
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 6,0 / 6,0
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 167 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 587.202.560 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 182
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 158

_=>nat maplist
Idx Type Interface Outside Address Inside Address
Use
1 NAPT Internet 219.74.75.xxx:21 192.168.1.1:21
2 NAPT Internet 219.74.75.xxx:1863 192.168.1.1:1863
3 NAPT Internet 219.74.75.xxx:6891 192.168.1.1:6891
4 NAPT Internet 219.74.75.xxx:6892 192.168.1.1:6892
5 NAPT Internet 219.74.75.xxx:6893 192.168.1.1:6893
6 NAPT Internet 219.74.75.xxx:6894 192.168.1.1:6894
7 NAPT Internet 219.74.75.xxx:6895 192.168.1.1:6895
8 NAPT Internet 219.74.75.xxx:6896 192.168.1.1:6896
9 NAPT Internet 219.74.75.xxx:6897 192.168.1.1:6897
10 NAPT Internet 219.74.75.xxx:6898 192.168.1.1:6898
11 NAPT Internet 219.74.75.xxx:6899 192.168.1.1:6899
12 NAPT Internet 219.74.75.xxx:6900 192.168.1.1:6900
13 NAPT Internet 219.74.75.xxx:8010 192.168.1.1:8010
14 NAPT Internet 219.74.75.xxx:1716 192.168.1.1:1716
15 NAPT Internet 219.74.75.xxx:1717 192.168.1.1:1717
16 NAPT Internet 219.74.75.xxx:1718 192.168.1.1:1718
17 NAPT Internet 219.74.75.xxx:8020 192.168.1.1:8020
18 NAPT Internet 219.74.75.xxx:8777 192.168.1.1:8777
19 NAPT Internet 219.74.75.xxx:20045 192.168.1.1:20045
20 NAPT Internet 219.74.75.xxx:27900 192.168.1.1:27900
21 NAPT Internet 219.74.75.xxx:59 192.168.1.1:59
22 NAPT Internet 219.74.75.xxx:113 192.168.1.1:113
23 NAPT Internet 219.74.75.xxx:2000 192.168.1.1:2000
24 NAPT Internet 219.74.75.xxx:2001 192.168.1.1:2001
25 NAPT Internet 219.74.75.xxx:2002 192.168.1.1:2002
26 NAPT Internet 219.74.75.xxx:2003 192.168.1.1:2003
27 NAPT Internet 219.74.75.xxx:2004 192.168.1.1:2004
28 NAPT Internet 219.74.75.xxx:2005 192.168.1.1:2005
29 NAPT Internet 219.74.75.xxx:3389 192.168.1.1:3389
30 NAPT Internet 219.74.75.xxx:[6660-6670] 192.168.1.1:[6660-6670]
31 NAPT Internet 219.74.75.xxx:6901 192.168.1.1:6901
32 NAPT Internet 219.74.75.xxx unmapped
1 NAPT LocalNetwork any:80 127.0.0.1:8080
2 NAPT LocalNetwork any:1080 127.0.0.1:8080
3 NAPT LocalNetwork any:8080 127.0.0.1:8080

chaicka
17-08-2005, 08:09 PM
Wow...really stretch the ST585 to the limit...

I see FTP, Ident, MSN, IRC, HTTP, Socks and ...hmmmm....wat's port 59.

daze
17-08-2005, 08:33 PM
Call 1608 or Call SingNet Helpdesk and juz report CRC Errors very high, >300 per hour, and they should know how to handle liao...

300 per hour? 5 mins i ready got 500+ down crc errors and they going to send down technician to test my line again. even downloading from their singnet ftp to get 50 meg file took so long it timeout. And i am only surfing HWZ website.

http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/1743108759/dsl3_th.jpg (http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/1743108759/dsl3.jpg)
http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/477218681/dsl4_th.jpg (http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/477218681/dsl4.jpg)

Super song hor, i dun need fast, i just want stable and less lag connection.

princess086
17-08-2005, 08:45 PM
300 per hour? 5 mins i ready got 500+ down crc errors and they going to send down technician to test my line again. even downloading from their singnet ftp to get 50 meg file took so long it timeout. And i am only surfing HWZ website.

http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/1743108759/dsl3_th.jpg (http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/1743108759/dsl3.jpg)

Do make sure that you have attach MF in you phone point.Or you might want to unpug all the phone in your house and pug in the modem directly to the phone point and monitor the error again.

daze
17-08-2005, 09:10 PM
Do make sure that you have attach MF in you phone point.Or you might want to unpug all the phone in your house and pug in the modem directly to the phone point and monitor the error again.

you think that will help? the day the tehnician came and tried that, no difference

Lags until dc again........haahahahahaha

downloading from their ftp at 7k BITS per seconds, super FAST hor

chaicka
17-08-2005, 09:49 PM
Simple:

Get the technician to terminate a long loop tat they have with them from the DP, and then lay the cable on the floor all the way until the point where ur wall socket currently is (this is to simulate the loop length between DP and ur CPE), and connect the CPE to that temp loop.

Perform all the necessary diagnostics, and see if the problem still persists. If so, then it's definitely either CPE problem or the backend problem. If not, then it may be ur internal wiring problem, which will means it's ur property thus it's ur responsibility as they dun cover internal wiring.

Give a tips: Instead of proving the problem is SingTel/SingNet's which is so difficult to prove sometimes, simply prove it is not ur problem by the followings:

1. Prove it's not ur internal wiring (which the above mentioned test will prove).
2. Prove it's not ur system problem (simply use another system, or best, let the technician use his laptop).

That's the only 2 areas tat u as the consumer is liable. Prove these 2 areas no problem, then u can throw the ball back into their court.

Sometimes, it's juz a twist in perspective and approach and u got urself off the hook, instead of cracking the head...;)

chaicka
17-08-2005, 09:58 PM
One more tips:

Keep all the evidence (screenshots, work order, emails, traceroutes, pings, etc) from the beginning until the whole ticket is closed. Even closed, keep it handy in case u need it later (personal practise is keep at least 1/2 or 1 year). These are solid evidences (remember best got time/date stamp) which might come in handy when needed - eg. reporting a case with CASE.

legacyZZZ
17-08-2005, 10:20 PM
Wow...really stretch the ST585 to the limit...

I see FTP, Ident, MSN, IRC, HTTP, Socks and ...hmmmm....wat's port 59.

mIRC DCC listening port.

ANd the dang modem reboot another 2 times today.

Do I need to replace it again?

RallyART®
17-08-2005, 10:41 PM
Some sites that cannot access? or total blockout? The dns failed in the ST585 couple of times, so i manually added singnet's dns to the NIC instead of using the ST585 as dns server.

Hi from what you reported, it does not seems to me it is the dns...its related to the problem where your download will drop after certain time. Before you restart your modem, can you check what is the CRC errors in the modem. Highly suspect that this is the case (of course assuming you are doing all this using wired connection?)

RallyART®
17-08-2005, 10:45 PM
mIRC DCC listening port.

ANd the dang modem reboot another 2 times today.

Do I need to replace it again?

Hi, yup got your case escalated to me. You are saying that the port forward in a range is not working right? What I am sure is that I have created a port range from 20-100 and turn on my web server and ftp server (port 80 and 21 respectively) and forward this application to my pc. Both service is able to get up and running concurrently. I need more information as in the exact application you use.

RallyART®
17-08-2005, 10:52 PM

http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/477218681/dsl4_th.jpg (http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/477218681/dsl4.jpg)

Just for my information, can I know which area are you in? I know there are some areas having the same problem as you (Assuming yours is not internal line issue) If singtel tested on the DP and found the same errors, just leave the job to them. I know most modems would have failed to synchronise with your CRC or fail to maintain a connection of more than a day.

legacyZZZ
17-08-2005, 11:01 PM
Hi, yup got your case escalated to me. You are saying that the port forward in a range is not working right? What I am sure is that I have created a port range from 20-100 and turn on my web server and ftp server (port 80 and 21 respectively) and forward this application to my pc. Both service is able to get up and running concurrently. I need more information as in the exact application you use.

Your case will work because the FTP and Webserver uses a single port.

But programs that use random ports within a range doesn't seem to work when you open a range of ports in NAT. Examples would be mIRC, MSN Messenger, America's Army.

The moment I change from port range to individual ports, everything works well.

So far, my modem has rebooted 5 times and hung once in the last 2 days. Do I need to replace it again?

wireXD
17-08-2005, 11:02 PM
Hi from what you reported, it does not seems to me it is the dns...its related to the problem where your download will drop after certain time. Before you restart your modem, can you check what is the CRC errors in the modem. Highly suspect that this is the case (of course assuming you are doing all this using wired connection?)

Hey,

The dns issue is just my reply to misato and its been solved period. The sudden drop in bandwidth after certain days of use is what i meant. It drop to 300kb and below and it won't go back up unless i restart it. The following is my current status and it usually stays like that without much changes.

http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/885216238/singnetfail23.jpg (http://www.photoi.org)

RallyART®
17-08-2005, 11:13 PM
Hey,

The dns issue is just my reply to misato and its been solved period. The sudden drop in bandwidth after certain days of use is what i meant. It drop to 300kb and below and it won't go back up unless i restart it. The following is my current status and it usually stays like that without much changes.

http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/885216238/singnetfail23.jpg (http://www.photoi.org)

I am quite sure its due to the CRC...make, try to unplug all telephones and 56K modem from the wall socket and plug the rj11 wire direct from the socket to the modem.

Remember, ADSL 2+ is at least 2x more sensitive then adsl, somemore, it is running at full bit rate...

princess086
17-08-2005, 11:15 PM
A…. may I ask 1 crc error equivalent to how many bits

RallyART®
17-08-2005, 11:20 PM
Your case will work because the FTP and Webserver uses a single port.

But programs that use random ports within a range doesn't seem to work when you open a range of ports in NAT. Examples would be mIRC, MSN Messenger, America's Army.

The moment I change from port range to individual ports, everything works well.

So far, my modem has rebooted 5 times and hung once in the last 2 days. Do I need to replace it again?

Hi your case is very interesting and it defintely warrant a new firmware...do you mind a beta firmware to be installed? For others that want the firmware, i am sorry I am not releasing it to public as I am still in the evaluation stage and will only try it on selected cases.

If its ok, I will need you to come to my office again and I will instruct my colleagues to do it.

soyabeanmilkdrink
17-08-2005, 11:27 PM
Hi your case is very interesting and it defintely warrant a new firmware...do you mind a beta firmware to be installed? For others that want the firmware, i am sorry I am not releasing it to public as I am still in the evaluation stage and will only try it on selected cases.

If its ok, I will need you to come to my office again and I will instruct my colleagues to do it.

It would be better if you PM him about it, dun u think so? After all, you are like the unofficial 'representive' of VRNET here, and lots of Singnet customers would be reading this...and what you post here may just cause you unnecessary trouble. ;)

legacyZZZ
17-08-2005, 11:28 PM

Beta firmware does not scare me.....provided it doesn't introduce more bugs, lol.

I just remembered. Yesterday after the modem reboot, all config was lost. As I was reconfiguring it (entering NAT ports), the modem hung.

jhquek
17-08-2005, 11:33 PM
It would be better if you PM him about it, dun u think so? After all, you are like the unofficial 'representive' of VRNET here, and lots of Singnet customers would be reading this...and what you post here may just cause you unnecessary trouble. ;)
No point RallyArt's PM is full 90% of the time. haha
Like u said due to the number of singnet users reading..

RallyART®
17-08-2005, 11:42 PM

haha u sound like you know me personally leh...?? can pm me who u are? ur nick sounds familiar...

anyway all other request will be turned down flat...unless I really seee the need. Releasing beta fimrware to the public is defintely a no..no..

misato
18-08-2005, 12:00 AM
Relasing the firmware no?
How about posting the bug fix / features list of the beta firmware to get us all excited?

Of course, i dont mind testing out beta firmware as well.

princess086
18-08-2005, 12:13 AM

Do keep us in the loop when the check is done :)

legacyZZZ
18-08-2005, 12:45 AM
Rallyart,

When can i come over to test the firmware and change a new modem? I really cannot tollerate this modem, it rebooted again! 6 times in 3 days.

RallyART®
18-08-2005, 09:13 AM
Rallyart,

When can i come over to test the firmware and change a new modem? I really cannot tollerate this modem, it rebooted again! 6 times in 3 days.

Hi can you PM me your adsl number and your name? You can come anytime during office hours. I do not think it is the hardware as you had already changed one before. I am going to load the firmware into your current modem and see if the problem occur. Also, is your modem "standing" or lying flat on the table?

juve10
18-08-2005, 09:41 AM
I tried to connect another PC on wireless to the ST585 but couldnt get to internet nor ping gateway although the wireless adapter shows connected.
I'm using Netgear WG121 USB 2.0 adapter will there be any compability issue? Any other products that is suitable if the netgear is not.
Also my ST585 wireless show that i'm in region Europe & my wireless USB is in Asia, any issue with this. If so, how can I change my ST585 region to Asia? :s11:
Lastly i set mt ST585 WEP on but when I set it on the netgear it cant connect but when I disable on the netgear then it can connect...
Pls advise. Tks in advance.

daze
18-08-2005, 11:35 AM
Just for my information, can I know which area are you in? I know there are some areas having the same problem as you (Assuming yours is not internal line issue) If singtel tested on the DP and found the same errors, just leave the job to them. I know most modems would have failed to synchronise with your CRC or fail to maintain a connection of more than a day.

I am living in Teck Whye which is near CCK MRT. Lets just hope the Singtel staff will find out whats wrong and fix it up for me. :s22:

chaicka
18-08-2005, 01:09 PM
Teck Whye.....kekeke, most likely if u are near the main road, then ur line may be terminated to Bt Panjang exchange where there is a ADSL2+ DSLAM. Given ur attenuation, it's almost certain ur line is terminated at BP exchange.

cHAo_tURTLe
18-08-2005, 01:54 PM
princess sucks :s8: :s8:

princess086
18-08-2005, 02:28 PM
I am living in Teck Whye which is near CCK MRT. Lets just hope the Singtel staff will find out whats wrong and fix it up for me. :s22:

cck area should not be a problem.

princess086
18-08-2005, 02:30 PM
princess sucks :s8: :s8:

You Really very chao stink tURTLe :D

legacyZZZ
18-08-2005, 02:44 PM
Hi can you PM me your adsl number and your name? You can come anytime during office hours. I do not think it is the hardware as you had already changed one before. I am going to load the firmware into your current modem and see if the problem occur. Also, is your modem "standing" or lying flat on the table?

Modem is standing up, for better cooling.

You have PM.

daze
18-08-2005, 05:18 PM
Teck Whye.....kekeke, most likely if u are near the main road, then ur line may be terminated to Bt Panjang exchange where there is a ADSL2+ DSLAM. Given ur attenuation, it's almost certain ur line is terminated at BP exchange.

You mean the main roads at Ten Mile Junction? I living near the temples there, not very nearby. If i draw a line from my block to say Ten Mile Junction shopping centre, its 750M. Where is the BP exchange u talking about?

chaicka
19-08-2005, 12:40 AM
You mean the main roads at Ten Mile Junction? I living near the temples there, not very nearby. If i draw a line from my block to say Ten Mile Junction shopping centre, its 750M. Where is the BP exchange u talking about?
BP Exchange is juz somewhere opposite the Ten Mile Junction, and it's within a 2km radius of ur block.

daze
20-08-2005, 06:38 PM
The Singtel Technician came again today, this time he used a black device to connect to varies telephone points in my house and letting it run for a while each time.

There he showed me that the signal strength and crc was only about 2 for say 5 mins. Connection is not bad but the high crc errors he said is not cause by the lines in my house, which he says could be caused by the modem and ask me to check with the modem vendor.

Maybe i'll try on monday.

princess086
20-08-2005, 07:18 PM
The Singtel Technician came again today, this time he used a black device to connect to varies telephone points in my house and letting it run for a while each time.

There he showed me that the signal strength and crc was only about 2 for say 5 mins. Connection is not bad but the high crc errors he said is not cause by the lines in my house, which he says could be caused by the modem and ask me to check with the modem vendor.

will you mind try out something.
disconnect your accound and resync your line(mean pull out the telephone line from the modem and put back again) after doing this reconnect back your account back.
and do a ftp test again.each time you resync the line you will get a different reading.
and thoes whoes upload is arround 900++ resync the line you will see the different.

princess086
20-08-2005, 07:32 PM

did they try using their own modem Hua Wei maybe

deman88
20-08-2005, 10:45 PM
Anyone can give me some comments on my connection.
i playing online fifa2005 abit slow, my connection still lagg lar.
thank.
http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/526638853/dsl.jpg

boinkboink
21-08-2005, 08:04 AM
Hi Guys,

I found rather weird reading whenever I do a tracert. For some reason, the ping time for my router is HIGH when I execute "tracert" command. However, when I did a "ping" command, all seems well.

I remember this issue is being brought in this thread, but, I found no answer to the problem I am facing. Anyone could advise me on this one?

My ping and tracert reseults are shown below.

C:\Documents and Settings\xxx>tracert 192.168.1.254

Tracing route to dsldevice.lan [192.168.1.254]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms dsldevice.lan [192.168.1.254]

Trace complete.

C:\Documents and Settings\xxx>tracert www.google.com

Tracing route to www.l.google.com [66.249.89.99]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 130 ms 199 ms 199 ms dsldevice.lan [192.168.1.254]
2 9 ms 25 ms 9 ms bb219-74-64-1.singnet.com.sg [219.74.64.1]
3 * * 8 ms bb-165-21-135-69.singnet.com.sg [165.21.135.69]

4 8 ms 8 ms 8 ms 202.166.126.42
5 8 ms 9 ms 8 ms 202.166.126.37
6 9 ms 8 ms 8 ms 203.208.182.77
7 9 ms 9 ms 8 ms 203.208.182.237
8 98 ms 98 ms 97 ms 203.208.172.230
9 146 ms 98 ms 98 ms ge-0-0-0.tokjx-cr3.ix.singtel.com [203.208.172.2
10]
10 98 ms 98 ms 98 ms 203.208.173.90
11 96 ms 95 ms 95 ms gi5-1.cr1.nrt1.asianetcom.net [202.147.0.177]
12 98 ms 99 ms 98 ms gi0-0.gw1.nrt4.asianetcom.net [202.147.1.113]
13 135 ms 133 ms 138 ms GoogleInc.gw1.nrt4.asianetcom.net [203.192.131.7
0]
14 132 ms 134 ms 133 ms 66.249.89.99

Trace complete.

chaicka
21-08-2005, 09:32 AM
It has been mentioned why this is so in this thread (or in another thread but posted by RallyART). Please read from the first page of this thread.

daze
21-08-2005, 11:29 AM
did they try using their own modem Hua Wei maybe

Yes he did, he used his Hua Wei Modem and used it to ftp into singnet and surf net for quite a while and seem quite fast.

shpesft
21-08-2005, 09:30 PM
Hi Guys,

A newbie here trying to set up the ST 585. When I first got it I linked my two PCs at home with wired ethernet wires. I wanted to link my dad's laptop using wireless connection. Got a Planex Wan card for the laptop. I've already configured the WAN card and it can connect to the ST router. I've also enabled the interface for the wireless network for the router.

However, the interface for the WAN card on the Home Network shows the laptop is inactive no matter what I do. I've already resetted the ST and my laptop but nothing helps! The router can obviously see the WAN card and the laptop can detect my ST but I just can't get the connection to work. I hope you guys can help.

TIA.

princess086
21-08-2005, 10:00 PM
Yes he did, he used his Hua Wei Modem and used it to ftp into singnet and surf net for quite a while and seem quite fast.

He pull a line from DP or the same phone point you use for the modem

Cloudsky
21-08-2005, 10:02 PM
Just asking a quick question about the St585, will the stability and the speed of the network be affected drastically if i choose to use the wired option?

chaicka
21-08-2005, 10:13 PM
wired will perform better than wireless...

Tears
22-08-2005, 01:52 AM
I still having disconnections by itself, although not as frequent as before......
what is SNTP not configured anyway??
The singnet ppl keep saying we monitored your line and the signal is very good...... but they don tell me an answer why it still dc out of the blue...... anyone has similar problems?
Don't know if it's the modem or ISP problem now.....

chaicka
22-08-2005, 10:18 AM
Depends on wat kind of D/C...PPP sessions ain't foreverlasting...it drops on and off...how bad will depends on numerous factors.

Galaa
22-08-2005, 11:46 AM
I tested out my connection on www.dslreports.com tried the varies sites they listed there to test. Connection to their US servers I can get Download speeds of around 6k average. However my upload speed is 30k! Anyone knows whats wrong?

tanliwei
22-08-2005, 12:32 PM
Hi, I've looked through all the replies from page 1 and am still thoroughly confused. I'm wondering if there are any other layman (noobs) like me out there who are experiencing the same problems but have not really much idea what the terms used in this thread means...

Basically, I got the 585 on Saturday, and the problem is that the modem disconnects every couple of hours and I have to manually reset, surfing is laggy in terms of response time, and port forwarding through the interface is impossible.

Am I right to say that the problem may be with 1) system, 2) 585, 3) wiring, and 4) everything else outside of house wiring?

Anyway I got so pissed off I fixed up my old 2WIRE to the 10mb line, and have been getting 800+kBps downloads, superfast response time, and no more disconnects. It runs perfectly now, except I'm wondering if I'm fully utilising the bandwidth.

So what I would like to ask is if:
1) This fully means that the problem is with the router and no other factors? Or there might still be more complex external factors that are stopping the 585 from working properly.
2) What other tests, in as layman terms as possible, should I conduct to establish the cause of the service disruption?

I understand that some of these issues have been covered in various previous posts, but perhaps a consolidated user-friendly faq could be created for quick resolution of issues, both for present and future users. Maybe it could be put up on the VRNet site as well together with the other guides for users to refer to themselves, instead of summoning the techies.

princess086
22-08-2005, 12:35 PM
I still having disconnections by itself, although not as frequent as before......
what is SNTP not configured anyway??
The singnet ppl keep saying we monitored your line and the signal is very good...... but they don tell me an answer why it still dc out of the blue...... anyone has similar problems?
Don't know if it's the modem or ISP problem now.....

Go to modem page and see the connect logs see what kind of dissconnection occure.

shenwu
22-08-2005, 01:38 PM
hi there, my connection seems to be giving me rubbish download speed. I'm on 10mbps plan and i can barely even hit 300KB per sec dl speed even from local server. Tried dling a file from ndp website and starhub ftp server, won't even go past 200KB/s.

So the question is, do i need to do anything about the modem or is my phone line just damn plain lousy? I am able to sync at ADSL2+ but the download speed....haiz

tanliwei
22-08-2005, 07:12 PM
Something tells me these figures are SOOO wrong...

DSL Connection
Link Information

Uptime: 0 days, 0:20:59
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1.043 / 15.347
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 1,25 / 15,11
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12,5 / 22,5
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 20,5 / 39,0
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 1.087 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 637.534.208 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 46.268
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 23.072

Any takers? I don't really want to have to call anyone down to fix it unless I really have to. Thanks in advance.

chaicka
22-08-2005, 07:16 PM
Something tells me these figures are SOOO wrong...

DSL Connection
Link Information

Uptime: 0 days, 0:20:59
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1.043 / 15.347
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 1,25 / 15,11
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12,5 / 22,5
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 20,5 / 39,0
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 1.087 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 637.534.208 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 46.268
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 23.072

Any takers? I don't really want to have to call anyone down to fix it unless I really have to. Thanks in advance.
10Mbps Plan?

Besides the high Attenuation, and the high CRC Errors, there is nothing wrong.

daze
22-08-2005, 07:30 PM
He pull a line from DP or the same phone point you use for the modem

He used his black device at varies points and used the laptop from my same phone point.

Do you think i should get a modem change?

tanliwei
22-08-2005, 08:04 PM
10Mbps Plan?

Besides the high Attenuation, and the high CRC Errors, there is nothing wrong.

Thanks for replying. Yup it's 10Mbps...

So does the high attenuation and CRC point towards a line problem? I've double checked the filter and even removed the phone, but it's no help.

So what would I have to do/who might I have to contact?

chaicka
22-08-2005, 09:07 PM
High CRC error does point towards poor performance. If ur line juz got activated, give it a few business days. So far, there have been cases whereby the errors quiet down after a few business days. Possible that the backend engineers do some fine tuning after the vendors report that the CPE has been installed.

If the high CRC errors still persist, then report to SingTel/SingNet.

Juz remember, it's not quite possible to obtain absolute 0 CRC errors on such high speed connection, but it shouldn't be too high. You may ask what's the guideline...as much as I would like to provide a reasonable one that everyone can fall back on, I haven't really figure out ADSL2+ like I have for ADSL, thus, no official guidelines from me yet.

batigol0902
22-08-2005, 11:29 PM
High CRC error does point towards poor performance. If ur line juz got activated, give it a few business days. So far, there have been cases whereby the errors quiet down after a few business days. Possible that the backend engineers do some fine tuning after the vendors report that the CPE has been installed.

If the high CRC errors still persist, then report to SingTel/SingNet.

Juz remember, it's not quite possible to obtain absolute 0 CRC errors on such high speed connection, but it shouldn't be too high. You may ask what's the guideline...as much as I would like to provide a reasonable one that everyone can fall back on, I haven't really figure out ADSL2+ like I have for ADSL, thus, no official guidelines from me yet.

Haiz.. I ever report high CRC errors to them too (like 2 years ago?) but they keep asking me to check with my modem vendor, then they also said modem ok. After only some serious negotiations between singnet and me that they send a linesman to check my line. In the end its really some line issues... Don't get me wrong i'm not flaming them, just sharing some of my personal experience a few years back

cLip6z
22-08-2005, 11:33 PM
ic. i think this is similar to my problems. i will try calling them to SHOOT them =[

chaicka
22-08-2005, 11:50 PM
Haiz.. I ever report high CRC errors to them too (like 2 years ago?) but they keep asking me to check with my modem vendor, then they also said modem ok. After only some serious negotiations between singnet and me that they send a linesman to check my line. In the end its really some line issues... Don't get me wrong i'm not flaming them, just sharing some of my personal experience a few years back
With this ADSL2+ service, SingTel is more "forecoming"...;)

Those were the days...if u were even among the magix pioneers, it was even more worse.

chaicka
22-08-2005, 11:52 PM
ic. i think this is similar to my problems. i will try calling them to SHOOT them =[
I think I gonna agree with our PM in his speech on Rally yesterday...

If u expect a good customer service, u gonna learn to be polite and courtesy to the one providing customer service to u. It takes both hands to clap, and it takes both the consumers as well as the CSOs to turn Singapore into a country with good customer service.

RallyART®
23-08-2005, 12:08 AM
Hi all, just found out that there are quite a lot of pple facing UDP port forwarding problems. People facing this problem can try these steps:

1) Open a command prompt window and key in "telnet 192.168.1.254"
2) Next, key in "nat tmpladd intf=Internet outside_addr=0.0.0.1 inside_addr=192.168.1.200 access_list=192.168.1.200 protocol=udp outside_port=2001 inside_port=2001" (Please change the inside ip address and ports accordingly. leave the outside port as 0.0.0.1)
3) Key in "saveall"
4) To confirm, key in "tmpllist" and see that the port is inside.
5) It might be necessary to turn off the firewall, key in "firewall config state=disabled"
6) Lastly, key in "saveall"

maxyorkie
23-08-2005, 10:33 AM
The guy from Vrnet came to my place on Saturday and tried quite awhile and when he tried to ping singnet ftp,only 2981 kbits/sec and no response from singnet when he tried to call them.

By the way,my set came without a box ..just in a plastic bag with the ethernet cable,CD and installation guide for singnet.I suspect it's those returned set. Hope I can get some advice here. Thanks.

dforster
23-08-2005, 10:52 AM
same happened with me. The singtel side was not activated yet so was still on old ADSL link. you can either wait a few business days and will prob improve or hassle the singnet person (call them) and they can give you more accurate info on when the singtel side will be fixes. The VRnet is just a contractor guy working for singnet, so dont hassle him.

As for the modem, I would'nt worry, unless you think something is wrong later.

RallyART®
23-08-2005, 11:08 AM
The guy from Vrnet came to my place on Saturday and tried quite awhile and when he tried to ping singnet ftp,only 2981 kbits/sec and no response from singnet when he tried to call them.

By the way,my set came without a box ..just in a plastic bag with the ethernet cable,CD and installation guide for singnet.I suspect it's those returned set. Hope I can get some advice here. Thanks.

Hi for the modem, I can assure you it is not a return set. Its the OEM pack. The modem had just launched for a while definitely there will not be so many return sets to give out right?

maxyorkie
23-08-2005, 12:03 PM
Thanks for assurance..at least the installer should bring along the box and open in front of
us,it gives a sense that the item is new..just my 2 cents.

rainwu
23-08-2005, 01:09 PM
Thanks for assurance..at least the installer should bring along the box and open in front of
us,it gives a sense that the item is new..just my 2 cents.

mmh... y not try to b an installer for a day urself... carrying 8 boxes of modems and go to customers place by bus or bike( if u have one) and see if you rather bring OEM pack or the full package.
Frankly speaking, these guys don earn that much to drive a car, therefore it is easier for them to carry modems in OEM pack. Well, sucknet r payin them so little per job that i guess they have no other choice than to try to do more per day in order to earn their living.
so guys, try to b more understand. even if the modem comes along with the box, does that means it 100% new??

P.S(my bf happen to b an installer :p)

liangtam
23-08-2005, 01:56 PM
With box or no box really does not matter, I done this job before.
Of course, even with box, those PT installer can also accidently drop it, and it may still spoils even if in box.
Of course, I never drop one before :)

chaicka
23-08-2005, 02:33 PM
mmh... y not try to b an installer for a day urself... carrying 8 boxes of modems and go to customers place by bus or bike( if u have one) and see if you rather bring OEM pack or the full package.
Frankly speaking, these guys don earn that much to drive a car, therefore it is easier for them to carry modems in OEM pack. Well, sucknet r payin them so little per job that i guess they have no other choice than to try to do more per day in order to earn their living.
so guys, try to b more understand. even if the modem comes along with the box, does that means it 100% new??

P.S(my bf happen to b an installer :p)

First of all, it's not SingTel/SingNet paying little for installation work. It used to be more but got streamlined, partially due to the quality of service rendered too. Furthermore, installation vendors go thru a few "hands" and each "hand" wanna earn abit, thus end up installers earn less.

But, I wun say the pay suxs man. $2x per hour (if u are even that slow to install only 1 CPE per hour), it's still much much higher than most part time job out there. Mac pays only $5 (I think, dun have the latest price liao), or other office part time work I have seen so far from agencies, at most under normal circumstances, is $10-12 per hour.

I do agree that bring the whole box along is kinda tough as it's very bulky, and end up the installer need to run back to office to grab more CPEs which thus reduce efficiency, and time is wasted.

Last but not least, ur bf is afterall, an installer. Maybe he is a student, maybe he is an engineer in day work, watever. This is meant as a part-time work afterall, and requires low level of knowledge. You can't expect an installer to be paid the salary of a consultant who slogs like crazy, heavy responsibilities on his shoulders on solutions, architecture & infrastructure designing right?!

hangyong
23-08-2005, 02:47 PM
[QUOTE=chaicka]$2x per hour (if u are even that slow to install only 1 CPE per hour), it's still much much higher than most part time job out there. Mac pays only $5 (I think, dun have the latest price liao), or other office part time work I have seen so far from agencies, at most under normal circumstances, is $10-12 per hour./QUOTE]

kaoz... installer earn that much ah??

liangtam
23-08-2005, 02:52 PM
Nope, some company don't offer $20 even, 1 digit sum also got and transport ownself come up.

Errm, Mac is $3+/per hour i think + free lunch of a set meal.

rainwu
23-08-2005, 03:30 PM
First of all, it's not SingTel/SingNet paying little for installation work. It used to be more but got streamlined, partially due to the quality of service rendered too. Furthermore, installation vendors go thru a few "hands" and each "hand" wanna earn abit, thus end up installers earn less.

But, I wun say the pay suxs man. $2x per hour (if u are even that slow to install only 1 CPE per hour), it's still much much higher than most part time job out there. Mac pays only $5 (I think, dun have the latest price liao), or other office part time work I have seen so far from agencies, at most under normal circumstances, is $10-12 per hour.

I do agree that bring the whole box along is kinda tough as it's very bulky, and end up the installer need to run back to office to grab more CPEs which thus reduce efficiency, and time is wasted.

Last but not least, ur bf is afterall, an installer. Maybe he is a student, maybe he is an engineer in day work, watever. This is meant as a part-time work afterall, and requires low level of knowledge. You can't expect an installer to be paid the salary of a consultant who slogs like crazy, heavy responsibilities on his shoulders on solutions, architecture & infrastructure designing right?!

Well sucknet start to pay less for each job,, of course installation vendors got to give less as well. heard from him that he had to do ibook delivery soon.. So actually he is an installer cum delivery man. As u had said , it use to be more and understand from him installation was much easier than. Nowaday they have so many steps and procedure to follow, it seems like his is doing more while earnin less.

last but not least. don really agree that this job only requires a low level of knowledge . Try asking your granny to setup the modem.

maxyorkie
23-08-2005, 03:32 PM
it didn't cross my mind that there so many boxes...i empathise with them,in fact the installer did a fine job,trying to fix the problem. :)

chaicka
23-08-2005, 03:33 PM
[QUOTE=chaicka]$2x per hour (if u are even that slow to install only 1 CPE per hour), it's still much much higher than most part time job out there. Mac pays only $5 (I think, dun have the latest price liao), or other office part time work I have seen so far from agencies, at most under normal circumstances, is $10-12 per hour./QUOTE]

kaoz... installer earn that much ah??
Nope, not all. It depends on which vendor u working for, and how many "hands" it has gone through.

Juz like construction, there is the main contractor (tier 1), and many sub-contractors (tier 2), and even some sub-sub-contractors (tier 3 and onwards).

So if u work as an installer for a vendor that is at the bottom of the food chain, ur renumeration of coz will be lower, coz tier 1 wanna earn (30%), tier 2 wanna earn (30%), tier 3 wanna earn (25%), and by the time u as tier 4 gets, it's left only with 15% of the original sum.

But, so far I have not seen single digit amt yet...maybe it does exist...

maxyorkie
23-08-2005, 03:38 PM
i noticed the wireless security default is wep...and when i configured it to wpa psk,my notebook has connection but i can't surf. appreciate any help here.

chaicka
23-08-2005, 03:41 PM
Well sucknet start to pay less for each job,, of course installation vendors got to give less as well. heard from him that he had to do ibook delivery soon.. So actually he is an installer cum delivery man. As u had said , it use to be more and understand from him installation was much easier than. Nowaday they have so many steps and procedure to follow, it seems like his is doing more while earnin less.

last but not least. don really agree that this job only requires a low level of knowledge . Try asking your granny to setup the modem.

It is lower among the IT field, as the skillset required is not even a tech support level, thus u expect an installer to be paid better than those doing tech support work, which is more tedious, more responsibility, more stressful, lots of unpaid overtime, weekend/holiday burnt, etc?

I did say it's low level, but does not mean zero level. I doubt your granny ain't in the low level range leh...

Pls lah, even a secondary school kid can perform installation work, if he is savvy enough and hardworking enough to learn the ropes. I have seen many secondary school kids tat smart, smarter than their school's TA.

liangtam
23-08-2005, 03:50 PM
But, so far I have not seen single digit amt yet...maybe it does exist...
Yes, I mentioned in the PM long ago sent to you, but pls don't reveal out.

desertman
23-08-2005, 07:53 PM
1 bug i observed is that when the modem gets disconnected to the net, it hangs and have to be manually be restarted.

to rallyart: could u advice me on this: i am getting very high crc errors, 200 ++. singtel had already escalated a line check and everything is fine. sent my modem to be changed, problem persists. also, although i turned on dmz by assigning a local ip to my device, all seems to be okay(bt msn and all) with the exception of mIRc. i am unable to send files as they gives the error 'unable to connect'. pls advice me, pm me for me email if needed

princess086
23-08-2005, 11:11 PM
1 bug i observed is that when the modem gets disconnected to the net, it hangs and have to be manually be restarted.

to rallyart: could u advice me on this: i am getting very high crc errors, 200 ++. singtel had already escalated a line check and everything is fine. sent my modem to be changed, problem persists. also, although i turned on dmz by assigning a local ip to my device, all seems to be okay(bt msn and all) with the exception of mIRc. i am unable to send files as they gives the error 'unable to connect'. pls advice me, pm me for me email if needed

For your modem to be hang could be the cause of too much crc error.
You might want to escalated for a line check again and this time round request for a experience lineman.

for your second problem do a port by port fowarding should be able to resolve your problem.

Galaa
23-08-2005, 11:41 PM
My problem (http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?t=1091756)

I emailed the company whom Singtel did the installation for me. The tech support guy told me that there might be problems opening UDP ports with this modem.

I have no problems opening TCP ports (required for hosting WC3 which I can hold successfully after opening ports) but I cannot get my UDP ports to work...

Anyone able to open UDP ports and able to host servers which requires that?

chaicka
23-08-2005, 11:58 PM

200++ is within how long?

200++ for a few hours, or a day, or more than a day does not warrant as high.

Provide a screenshot of the line statistics, and we will address it...

chaicka
24-08-2005, 12:00 AM
My problem (http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?t=1091756)

I emailed the company whom Singtel did the installation for me. The tech support guy told me that there might be problems opening UDP ports with this modem.

I have no problems opening TCP ports (required for hosting WC3 which I can hold successfully after opening ports) but I cannot get my UDP ports to work...

Anyone able to open UDP ports and able to host servers which requires that?
Have u performed the steps that RallyART has provided?

Hi all, just found out that there are quite a lot of pple facing UDP port forwarding problems. People facing this problem can try these steps:

1) Open a command prompt window and key in "telnet 192.168.1.254"
2) Next, key in "nat tmpladd intf=Internet outside_addr=0.0.0.1 inside_addr=192.168.1.200 access_list=192.168.1.200 protocol=udp outside_port=2001 inside_port=2001" (Please change the inside ip address and ports accordingly. leave the outside port as 0.0.0.1)
3) Key in "saveall"
4) To confirm, key in "tmpllist" and see that the port is inside.
5) It might be necessary to turn off the firewall, key in "firewall config state=disabled"
6) Lastly, key in "saveall"

dforster
24-08-2005, 10:34 AM
Anyone had this before.

Yesterday my ST585 completely factory reset itself. Zero config, synced up at 221Kb/2Mb to DSL. PPPoe down (no username/password), all port forwarding lost. DHCP working, but when go to a web page, got the ST intro screen asking if I want to follow the setup wizzard.

I tried to config the unit, by bypassing the setup wizards, but the settings would not hold (ie manaually entered the PPPoE username/password. Only when I followed the wizard (which is only a couple of steps anyway), did the settings take and the DSL re-synced at the correct speed? Word of advise to follow the wizard if this happens.

Ahyone else seen this?

maxyorkie
24-08-2005, 01:27 PM
i just subscribed to 10mbps.how to check that i'm getting the speed ? sorry i'm very new to this. when i ping the ftp at singnet web,it shows 2867kbits/sec. is this ok ?

chaicka
24-08-2005, 07:54 PM
Show us ur Line Statistics

Jacgy78
24-08-2005, 09:37 PM
RallyART

Is it possible for me to bring my modem down to ur office and u help me open the ports? I tried the method u gave me and got errors. But when I tried tmpllist i do see the specific port being open (not opened by telnet, rather by the opened by the modem menu probably) but I still cant connect to my Teamspeak server. However when I use back my ST 570 Im able to connect to my TS server, so confirm there's nothing wrong with my programme...I tried the server on both my PCs and they don work as well.

Currently using old modem in order to continue hosting my TS server.

Big mistake of me not to ask the technician to open for me when installating...I thought it'll be easy cos I can easily configure my old modem to open ports and thought same brand will be similar...

RallyART®
24-08-2005, 11:23 PM
Sorry above post is mine. Accidently posted with my gf's account...

Hi, may I know what is the error message that u encounter? Of course u can bring the modem to my office and we will do it for u. But are u able to test the server on the spot? ie are u using a laptop?

Please send me a PM

RallyART®
24-08-2005, 11:36 PM
Hi all,

I would urge all post to be relevant to the problems of the ST585 which we are trying hard to solve. Things like how much installers earn, how many installations he do per day or how much difficulty he has to carry x number of modems, what your BF is doing or going to do, - is totally irrelevant to this thread.

Your comments and answers to such questions might mean nothing to you but to some, its sensitive information...

princess086
25-08-2005, 12:24 AM
RallyART

Is it possible for me to bring my modem down to ur office and u help me open the ports? I tried the method u gave me and got errors. But when I tried tmpllist i do see the specific port being open (not opened by telnet, rather by the opened by the modem menu probably) but I still cant connect to my Teamspeak server. However when I use back my ST 570 Im able to connect to my TS server, so confirm there's nothing wrong with my programme...I tried the server on both my PCs and they don work as well.

Currently using old modem in order to continue hosting my TS server.

Big mistake of me not to ask the technician to open for me when installating...I thought it'll be easy cos I can easily configure my old modem to open ports and thought same brand will be similar...

you might want to try the telnet again.
things you might want to take note
- do a ipconfig and check your LAN ip address
- when doing telnet the inside address add in you lan ip address and do the same for the access addr.
- set a static ip address for you computer to to lock the lan ip address.

maxyorkie
25-08-2005, 11:32 AM

hi chaicka,i'm sorryi'm not sure how to do it ,can you show the way :). thanks. :)

desertman
25-08-2005, 07:55 PM
http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/515883171/stats.jpg (http://www.photoi.org)
here is my line status, its ALWAYS this high tts y . regarding ur remedy of forwarding the ports, doesnt me turning on dmz allows all ports to be opened. if its so tt i need to foward the ports, ne idea wat ports r needed to be fowarded

chaicka
25-08-2005, 08:55 PM
21 Hours and CRC errors only 580 is NOT HIGH at all. In a personal opinion, it's within acceptable range.

FEC Errors, as RallyART has mentioned, it's a bug in the firmware, it's a false alarm so can ignore it for now.

beettooth
25-08-2005, 09:10 PM
for my case i have frequent d/c of my internet access, and under the PPP settings, concentrator name it shows Trojan. is this normal?

desertman
25-08-2005, 10:01 PM
how abt not being able to send files in irc?

princess086
25-08-2005, 11:44 PM
He used his black device at varies points and used the laptop from my same phone point.

Do you think i should get a modem change?

you mean black modem??

princess086
25-08-2005, 11:47 PM
for my case i have frequent d/c of my internet access, and under the PPP settings, concentrator name it shows Trojan. is this normal?

can shown a screen shot

lockweld
26-08-2005, 12:03 AM
Man this thread is growing :) . Still waiting for VRnet to reply regarding my issue with vpn. Hope they can find a solution to it. I think ST585 will be good if some of the stuff i listed below is available. I think i just miss my IPcop badly thats all. :)

1) Multiple DDNS client. If one fails the other will still be up. It's just a matter of remembering the names that you've supplied.
2) NTP client and server for your local lan. Sounds good?
3) SSL the config page by default and push it to another port not commonly used, for eg 445

legacyZZZ
26-08-2005, 01:10 AM
how abt not being able to send files in irc?

TO send files in IRC. Goto mIRC DCC options, first port "1024", last port "1030".

Go to 585, tool box, game and application sharing. Create a new game/application. Call it mIRC or something. Do not open a range of ports. Instead, add port by port.

Protocol "tcp" port range "1024" translate to "1024"
Protocol "tcp" port range "1025" translate to "1025"
Protocol "tcp" port range "1026" translate to "1026"
Protocol "tcp" port range "1027" translate to "1027"
Protocol "tcp" port range "1028" translate to "1028"
Protocol "tcp" port range "1029" translate to "1029"
Protocol "tcp" port range "1030" translate to "1030"

Next, bind this application to you computer IP address.

Happy sending.

princess086
26-08-2005, 11:40 PM
Man this thread is growing :) . Still waiting for VRnet to reply regarding my issue with vpn. Hope they can find a solution to it. I think ST585 will be good if some of the stuff i listed below is available. I think i just miss my IPcop badly thats all. :)

1) Multiple DDNS client. If one fails the other will still be up. It's just a matter of remembering the names that you've supplied.
2) NTP client and server for your local lan. Sounds good?
3) SSL the config page by default and push it to another port not commonly used, for eg 445

what kind of vpn client you are using

hellslayer
27-08-2005, 12:02 AM
i need help here.

i dl 1 bt files which the tracker is in UDP. i try to forward the udp and even enable dmz, but still my dl speed is capped at 10kB. those bt with http tracker i got no problem. cam anyone help me out?

Shinji_U
27-08-2005, 12:56 AM
Any updated firmware since the last time I posted? So far my ST585 is working properly and has not rebooted for 28 days.

lockweld
27-08-2005, 12:59 AM
what kind of vpn client you are using

MS (pptp) & Nortel Contivity 4.65 (ipsec)

maxyorkie
27-08-2005, 10:20 AM
This is what I'm getting,is this normal?

DSL Connection

Link Information

Uptime: 0 days, 1:05:07

Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 448 / 3.488

Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [KB/MB]: 782,00 / 5,28

Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 11,5 / 0,5

Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 2,0 / 3,5

SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 24,0 / 30,5

Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ALCB

chaicka
27-08-2005, 12:31 PM
This is what I'm getting,is this normal?

DSL Connection

Link Information

Uptime: 0 days, 1:05:07

Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 448 / 3.488

Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [KB/MB]: 782,00 / 5,28

Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 11,5 / 0,5

Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 2,0 / 3,5

SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 24,0 / 30,5

Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ALCB

Your ADSL2+ line has not been activated, as ur CPE is performing a DSL sync @ ADSL1 modulation G.992.1 only. ADSL2+ is G.992.5 modulation.

Check with SingNet/SingTel on ur ADSL2+ line activation. Make sure ask for waiver until the day you obtain ADSL2+ sync.

Other than that, there ain't any point to comment since it's not even on an ADSL2+ line yet.

TRIGGA39
29-08-2005, 10:42 PM
http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/450091631/dslreport1_th.bmp (http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/450091631/dslreport1.bmp)

Can some one advice me if there's anything wrong with my connection?

Connected last thursday,found that download from bt,ftp,etc...is slow as hell except in the morning 5am to 10am,speed suddenly picks up very fast!

:s11:

princess086
29-08-2005, 11:35 PM
http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/450091631/dslreport1_th.bmp (http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/450091631/dslreport1.bmp)

Connected last thursday,found that download from bt,ftp,etc...is slow as hell except in the morning 5am to 10am,speed suddenly picks up very fast!

your line no problem la

kayes20
30-08-2005, 01:06 AM
I just joined the 10mbps bandwagon and regretted it nearly immediately.

My gf even said I paid extra to get a downgrade.

I used to be on E5660 and 1.5mbps where everything is smooth and nice.

Upon changing to ST585 and 10mbps, I notice the following immediately:

1. surfing speed is solw, erratic and prone to hanging.
2. azureus (BT) now only get a pathetic 1-2kbps
3. router is very restrictive and a lot of features do not work (port forwarding etc)

Mine was installed by VRnet and not knowing them but seeing their guy trying to help out here, I have no comment.

But again, I can't fail but to note that perhaps the ST585 was released with a hack firmware.
I am actually looking for a replacement ADSL 2+ router now (Zyxel Prestige 660HW Series)

Is anybody able to confirm alternative router to the POS ST585?

killachicken
30-08-2005, 03:03 AM
Failed to assign the public IP address. (failed to set spoofing pool unnumbered)

this comes up when i try to assign the public ip add...whats that?

TRIGGA39
30-08-2005, 04:20 AM
your line no problem la
no problem?
princess086,some 1 say high crc error can have some effect and mine is high within 1hr +.ALso,the erratic download speed & the high error sec value,could it be my modem is faulty or its Singnet skrewing up again?

rallyart,could u pls give some comment? :s22:

Here's another shot at 4.23am aug 30th 05:

http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/1008189434/dslreport1_th.bmp (http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/1008189434/dslreport1.bmp)

wireXD
30-08-2005, 10:12 AM

I don't see anything wrong with it, the SN Down is a little low but it changes everytime the modem can get a better reading (refresh at that page to see the difference). Line Attenuation is favourable and sync is good. Your CRC errors is actually low too. As for BT and FTP there can be many reasons as i personally can get speeds over 10mbps with BT and FTP speeds is very good as well.

chaicka
30-08-2005, 10:13 AM
I just joined the 10mbps bandwagon and regretted it nearly immediately.

My gf even said I paid extra to get a downgrade.

I used to be on E5660 and 1.5mbps where everything is smooth and nice.

Upon changing to ST585 and 10mbps, I notice the following immediately:

1. surfing speed is solw, erratic and prone to hanging.
2. azureus (BT) now only get a pathetic 1-2kbps
3. router is very restrictive and a lot of features do not work (port forwarding etc)

Mine was installed by VRnet and not knowing them but seeing their guy trying to help out here, I have no comment.

But again, I can't fail but to note that perhaps the ST585 was released with a hack firmware.
I am actually looking for a replacement ADSL 2+ router now (Zyxel Prestige 660HW Series)

Is anybody able to confirm alternative router to the POS ST585?

As mentioned hundred times, no other ADSL2+ ready CPEs have been proven to be able to obtain a DSL Sync with the ADSL2+ DSLAMs deployed here. ST585 is the only one available at current. Wait for the next firmware release to fix those bugs.

Well, first of all, if u have taken due consideration that this ADSL2+ is a new technology, and if u have no patience, no tolerance towards hipcups, then u shouldn't even jump onboard so early. In a personal opinion, u are responsible for ur own decisions and actions.

The same applies when wireless broadband (assume it's based on WiMAX) gets launched here....it's the same for those who are going to jump onboard immediately at first availability - be prepared to face more hipcups and issues than ADSL2+, coz ADSL2+ is afterall, an extension from ADSL which those guys already have years of experience based on the pioneer Magix roll-out days, thus they are more prepared.

The Challenger Pack didn't get its name for nothing....

hangyong
30-08-2005, 12:29 PM
for those who are massive BT downloaders and using the 585, have you ever thought that it might be the BT that is causing all the problems?

I am currently on 1.5mbps and using CISCO routers. Without BT, everything is fine, once some joker start BT, no one else can surf, in or out. EVERYTHING else is not working other than BT.

And then, some of my friends who runs BT, complains that their 10mbps line keep getting d/c, but I have never heard of that from friends who hardly BT.

So, can those who complains you always d/c, inform of your BT status and the number of files you are downloading at that moment when kena d/c?

chaicka
30-08-2005, 12:38 PM
It is not the number of files downloading that matters, it is the number of open sessions that matters.

Juz an example:

Vigor 2900V / 2900VG / 2900VI / 2900VGI
Release Date : 17 Jun 05
Firmware Version : v2.5.6

[Improvements & Corrected Problems] :
• Correct MSN Messenger hang up when UPnP enabled problem.
• Correct DHCP IP conflicts problem.
• Correct NAT loopback problem.
• Improve Wireless interoperability with Intel Centrino platform.
• Some VoIP improvements:
• Increase NAT sessions from 2500 to 15,000.
• Correct QoS direction classify problem.
• Correct DHCP client behind D-Link DSL-302G with Half-Bridge mode.
• Other minor problem corrections.

Look at the increment of NAT sessions (which is the sessions I am talking abt, every router has its sessions limitation)...It's not surprise to see low-end CPEs having a low sessions limitation.

misato
30-08-2005, 12:52 PM
Wow.. from 2500 to 15000... does that thing have enough memory/CPU power to support that much session?

As chaicka said, its the session thats hidering BT performance. Each session takes up the router proccessing power and memory. A busy cpu could mean higher latency, dropped sessions or both. Not enough memory will limit the amount of task your router can carry out.

hangyong
30-08-2005, 01:32 PM
It is not the number of files downloading that matters, it is the number of open sessions that matters.

Juz an example:

Vigor 2900V / 2900VG / 2900VI / 2900VGI
Release Date : 17 Jun 05
Firmware Version : v2.5.6

[Improvements & Corrected Problems] :
• Correct MSN Messenger hang up when UPnP enabled problem.
• Correct DHCP IP conflicts problem.
• Correct NAT loopback problem.
• Improve Wireless interoperability with Intel Centrino platform.
• Some VoIP improvements:
• Increase NAT sessions from 2500 to 15,000.
• Correct QoS direction classify problem.
• Correct DHCP client behind D-Link DSL-302G with Half-Bridge mode.
• Other minor problem corrections.

Look at the increment of NAT sessions (which is the sessions I am talking abt, every router has its sessions limitation)...It's not surprise to see low-end CPEs having a low sessions limitation.

ya lor... I said files because every file you download has a number of connections to peers, and to each peer, there can be a number of sessions....

so a file a already a number of sessions. Imagine some joke in the network downloading 50 files, each connecting to 50 peers, and each peer has 50 sessions.... thats a total 125000 sessions... I think even the CSICO 2800 series cannot tahan...

but then... cable hardly got such problems only people complain slow, no disconnection (dunno if I am right on this).

chaicka
30-08-2005, 01:52 PM
CMs oso has its own limitations, it's juz how the code handles such situations.

Like u said, even Catalyst 2800 series oso has its limitations...

Cable dun d/c becoz it does not use PPP, whereas ADSL does. When ur CPE totally choked, how would the PPP overheads transmit or receive, thus the PPP session kena drop loh, after a x timeout when the AS didn't receive the ACK.

That's why p2p is such a messy tool if used wrongly, as it's the major root cause of problems faced by many users (as well as CSOs) nowadays.

killachicken
30-08-2005, 02:07 PM
Everytime i try to assign a public ip address.. the following message pops up

"Failed to assign the public IP address. (failed to set spoofing pool unnumbered)"

and it doesnt get assigned...what is the problem anyone know?

chaicka
30-08-2005, 02:13 PM
Where are u assigning public ip address? in the WAN interface?

Show a screenshot, then we will know what u talking abt.

killachicken
30-08-2005, 02:21 PM
http://www.photoi.org/share/my.php?f=1291578259&image=problem.bmp

heres the photo

hangyong
30-08-2005, 02:33 PM
http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/1291578259/problem.bmp

heres the photo

is that possible at all since bridge mode is not enabled in this model...

killachicken
30-08-2005, 02:43 PM
I did a software reset and all is alright now.. now im wondering if my internet actually running at 10mbps..

killachicken
30-08-2005, 02:53 PM
oh and btw... i hate routers..now i cant create games in lancraft but only in bnet.. cant dcc send.. my sending in msn is slow..bit torrent is not working..

i already assigned the public ip address which i assume is the same as dmz in linksys routers right?
my firewall off using telnet.. my norton internet security disabled..
all cant work..argh.. i hate routers. :<

chaicka
30-08-2005, 02:54 PM
oh and btw... i hate routers..now i cant create games in lancraft but only in bnet.. cant dcc send.. my sending in msn is slow..bit torrent is not working..

i already assigned the public ip address which i assume is the same as dmz in linksys routers right?
my firewall off using telnet.. my norton internet security disabled..
all cant work..argh.. i hate routers. :<
That's not the fault of routers, but the fault of users.

u dunno how to swim, dun say swimming truck big....:s13:

hencanz
30-08-2005, 03:18 PM
hi, just got my 10mbps installed yesterday...

its weird tat the VRnet guy never inform me tat i need to have MF for every sockets tat have phone on it...luckily i've been followiing these few ADSL2+ threads closely since i've decided to jump ship from MOL. so got some very helpful advice from u guys...

below is my result using
http://ndt-hc.twaren.net:7123/

only 1 MF on the socket tat's used by the modem

WEB100 Enabled Statistics:
Checking for Middleboxes . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Done
running 10s outbound test (client to server) . . . . . 195.45Kb/s
running 10s inbound test (server to client) . . . . . . 231.77kb/s

after all other sockets connected wif MF

WEB100 Enabled Statistics:
Checking for Middleboxes . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Done
running 10s outbound test (client to server) . . . . . 719.74Kb/s
running 10s inbound test (server to client) . . . . . . 3.90Mb/s

my NDP video still quite slow, ard 400kb/s only...still looking for other thing tat can be tweaked... :)

chaicka
30-08-2005, 04:34 PM
Tweak ur OS MTU to 1492 which is the optimized settings for PPPoE-based connections, furthermore, disable unnecessary stuffs that u dun need on the router (the less redundant tasks running, the better the performance).

Eg. I dun need DHCP on the router, since I have an internal server with DHCP, DNS, etc etc running. So I kill off DHCP server, DNS server on the router, thus freeing up more router resources (memory + processing power) to perform other duties.

killachicken
30-08-2005, 04:58 PM
yea precisely im too dumb to set up such stuff...i prefer regular plug and play or normal modems..haha
so anyone can help me out?

legacyZZZ
30-08-2005, 05:35 PM
To RallyArt & Weiwen.

Thanks guys. Seems the 5.3.2.6 works great.

FIXED....Port forward now works perfectly, can open a range of ports.
FIXED....Router has not hang/freeze while configuring.

Will monitor further and see if it still restarts.

Not fixed....Trace route still returns high times on the router.

batigol0902
30-08-2005, 08:03 PM
Hmm... Lets just pray hard that the restart problem will not happen.. So did the guy replaced another 585 with the new firmware for u or he flashes the f/w over to the existing 585?

ApacheBoy
30-08-2005, 08:04 PM
who is weiwen?????

kayes20
30-08-2005, 11:01 PM
LOL @ Challenger Pack!

Anyway, I can't stand it anymore, I will try to exchange my router or at least update to the beta firmware.
Router without port forwarding is like Penguin. A bird that can't fly...

princess086
30-08-2005, 11:44 PM
LOL @ Challenger Pack!

Anyway, I can't stand it anymore, I will try to exchange my router or at least update to the beta firmware.
Router without port forwarding is like Penguin. A bird that can't fly...

what kind of game your are playing