PDA

View Full Version : Problems with ST585? List here

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7

legacyZZZ
31-08-2005, 02:19 AM
Hmm... Lets just pray hard that the restart problem will not happen.. So did the guy replaced another 585 with the new firmware for u or he flashes the f/w over to the existing 585?

Same modem, just a firmware flash.

hencanz
31-08-2005, 08:44 AM
Oh no, my modem keep getting disconnected both WLan & Internet after a few hours & it has to be restarted twice b4 can successfully connect to internet...so far 4 times already...

yesterday afternoon i just showed chaicka my line was ok. but now the CRC Errors really high this time.

Link Information

Uptime: 0 days, 0:27:55

Modulation: G.992.5 Annex A

Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1.027 / 22.499

FEC Errors (Up/Down): 131.078 / 0

CRC Errors (Up/Down): 558.104.604 / 18

HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 15

chaicka
31-08-2005, 10:34 AM
The high CRC Error is on the upstream...

Please check and ensure ur internal is all proper....eg. Microfilter installed on all wall socket which has analog devices like Cordless Phones, Wired Phones, Fax, Laptop (some use it for Dial-up), Modem, etc.

Your downstream is still all OK, juz upstream has gone haywired, which may or may not be ur internal problem.

Try restart the router, then use purely wired connection (laptop or PC ethernet link to router, dun use the WLAN at all) and see if problem persist.

zepil99
31-08-2005, 10:43 AM
hi guys,

my modem went dead last night (i think dead)

when i power it on, only the power light is green, the ethernet, WLAN, DSL and Internet light all not light up.

i cannot even get into the modem http page as my comp cannot get a IP address from it.

Just call Singnet help desk, they ask me to reset my modem, which i did not try last night. Will go back home to try tonight. not sure if it will help.

any1 knows what is the likely cause, or has encounter it before

hencanz
31-08-2005, 11:17 AM
The high CRC Error is on the upstream...

Please check and ensure ur internal is all proper....eg. Microfilter installed on all wall socket which has analog devices like Cordless Phones, Wired Phones, Fax, Laptop (some use it for Dial-up), Modem, etc.

Your downstream is still all OK, juz upstream has gone haywired, which may or may not be ur internal problem.

Try restart the router, then use purely wired connection (laptop or PC ethernet link to router, dun use the WLAN at all) and see if problem persist.

yup i've already have MF on all sockets tat have phones connected.

ok, i'll try to use wired connection tonite

thx...

chaicka
31-08-2005, 12:09 PM
Could be varies reasons for high upstream errors...so u gonna do some troubleshooting.

Btw, juz to share, there was a case in this forum, whereby the cable (phone or network cables, cannot recall) was routing very near to a power socket in the bedroom, and the user had many problems, and if I recall, including disconnection I think, so u may wanna search this forum (basically, it's all in this or the other ADSL2+ thread, total 3 key threads to check) for that user's post and see if ur situation match his/hers.

hencanz
31-08-2005, 03:40 PM
Could be varies reasons for high upstream errors...so u gonna do some troubleshooting.

Btw, juz to share, there was a case in this forum, whereby the cable (phone or network cables, cannot recall) was routing very near to a power socket in the bedroom, and the user had many problems, and if I recall, including disconnection I think, so u may wanna search this forum (basically, it's all in this or the other ADSL2+ thread, total 3 key threads to check) for that user's post and see if ur situation match his/hers.

wooo...my modem phone cable is just resting beside the power socket, i'll go & check later.

thx for the tip...

ged_is
31-08-2005, 05:28 PM
Now most of my stuff working
The phone line is near the power socket.
Strangely when I turn on my computer, it causes the modem to go out of sync and generates alot of CRC errors.
When I restart the modem using the web interface, the modem syncs again and the problem goes away.
I also experience wireless network problem.
Page cannot be displayed. Slow
Found out the cause was due to WEP 64bit encryption. When I switch to WPA encrpytion all the problems go away.
The CRC upstream errors are also false alarms.
I had gigantic CRC upstream error. I just ignore it because it has no effect at all

ged_is
31-08-2005, 05:32 PM
I think the firmware is abit buggy.
Waiting for a fix
Also I found that the setting 'http interception' when enabled causes problem with https (security) sites if you are using singnet proxy.
hope all these helps until the new firmware comes along

chaicka
31-08-2005, 07:50 PM
Now most of my stuff working
The phone line is near the power socket.
Strangely when I turn on my computer, it causes the modem to go out of sync and generates alot of CRC errors.
When I restart the modem using the web interface, the modem syncs again and the problem goes away.
I also experience wireless network problem.
Page cannot be displayed. Slow
Found out the cause was due to WEP 64bit encryption. When I switch to WPA encrpytion all the problems go away.
The CRC upstream errors are also false alarms.
I had gigantic CRC upstream error. I just ignore it because it has no effect at all

Your case sound so familiar, like the case I mentioned (or was it u...sorry, my memory so poor nowadays)...

Hmmm, RallyART, can confirm if the Upstream CRC Errors are false alarm like that FEC Errors too?

ged_is, how u know there is no effect? Maybe ur upstream speed suxs big time u oso wun noe. Wanna do a test? I can open up my hosting server and u try uploading to it, see wat speed u get.

hellslayer
31-08-2005, 11:52 PM
To RallyArt & Weiwen.

Thanks guys. Seems the 5.3.2.6 works great.

FIXED....Port forward now works perfectly, can open a range of ports.
FIXED....Router has not hang/freeze while configuring.

Will monitor further and see if it still restarts.

Not fixed....Trace route still returns high times on the router.

Oo... where u get the firmware? can send me?

hencanz
01-09-2005, 11:24 AM
last nite I tried using wired ethernet & discovered the connection is almost twice as fast when compared to using WLan...

- on Ethernet can get 1.8Mb/s constant

- on WLan already struggling to get ~900kb/s

i'm using internal Airport Card 802.11G & the signal is full strength...
but somehow the test at http://ndt-hc.twaren.net:7123/ indicated that i got Duplex Mismatch...IIRC, 802.11G only works in half duplex right?

complicated... :s22:

chaicka
01-09-2005, 11:32 AM
That's why it has been mentioned, that to get the best performance out of ur high speed broadband, use wired connections...

hencanz
01-09-2005, 01:52 PM
That's why it has been mentioned, that to get the best performance out of ur high speed broadband, use wired connections...

oh, ok...i'm now on wired connection to test whether still can keep disconnecting or not...

btw, if tat's the case, isn't using WLan defeats the purpose of high speed broadband?

chaicka
01-09-2005, 04:16 PM
Wireless LAN throughput can reach up to 20+ Mbps (for 802.11G), but as wireless is very very subjective and varies according to the surroundings + other factors...

Wired is the most stable form of networking to-date, thus u still see all important interconnect infrastructure are still all wired base.

hencanz
02-09-2005, 10:01 AM
Wireless LAN throughput can reach up to 20+ Mbps (for 802.11G), but as wireless is very very subjective and varies according to the surroundings + other factors...

Wired is the most stable form of networking to-date, thus u still see all important interconnect infrastructure are still all wired base.

ic...i've always tot tat 54Mbps is more than enuf for 10Mbps broadband, but i didn't realize the overhead & environment factors...

anyway, after some tweaking the MTU, TCP & UDP send/recv space on my OS X. i got constant 1.2MB/s d/l on wireless & 2.1MB/s on wired connection.

and i found out the culprit of disconnection pbm, its Azureus...have to find another bt client for my Mac...

chaicka
02-09-2005, 11:25 AM
It's most likely not Azureus, but the settings/configuration of any p2p software that u use...

p2p will choke up the NAT sessions available if misconfigured, and thus halt/freeze the CPE and some more advanced CPEs will attempt to re-initiate or re-connect.

So u see why p2p is such a pain in the a$$ for ISPs, esp. when there is a vast majority of p2p users who know nuts, or can't be bothered attitude, to properly configure their p2p software to suit their broadband connection. Settings are dependent on the service you have, and fine-tuning will stablize the environment, the connection, and thus the overall broadband experience.

hencanz
02-09-2005, 12:04 PM
It's most likely not Azureus, but the settings/configuration of any p2p software that u use...

p2p will choke up the NAT sessions available if misconfigured, and thus halt/freeze the CPE and some more advanced CPEs will attempt to re-initiate or re-connect.

So u see why p2p is such a pain in the a$$ for ISPs, esp. when there is a vast majority of p2p users who know nuts, or can't be bothered attitude, to properly configure their p2p software to suit their broadband connection. Settings are dependent on the service you have, and fine-tuning will stablize the environment, the connection, and thus the overall broadband experience.

agreed, i've read lots of complaints on bt killing connections on many forums.

not sure about others, but i'm using only Azureus for p2p...i guess its current settings kills my connection, other than tat the connection would be stable for days...now just need to tune it for optimum settings with minimum disruption to the network as possible.

anyway, bro, got any advice on how to increase the performance of the wireless connection?
actually I can just settle with wired connection since its much faster, but the thing is i'm not very satisfied with the 802.11g connection. :(

hencanz
04-09-2005, 03:38 PM
alrite!...after some intense tweaking on my OS X TCP/UDP & sock buffer...i've managed to increased the speed of my wireless connection. UNIX rulez! :D

now getting about 13Mbps with wireless & 16Mbps with wired, already more than wat Singtel promised...and so far Azureus has not killed my connection anymore after i reduced the connections & bandwidth used. bt now running ard 300KB/s+...still not very fast, but ok lah...and for $48/mth (minus off the iBook sold)...nothing to complaint liao... :s13:
mucho betta than my previous $78/mth 56k-speed-MOL6500... :alien:

thx chaicka for the helpful info given here... :)

chaicka
04-09-2005, 05:07 PM
U r welcomed...

Glad that u put in effort to tweak as it really improves overall networking, every little bit of tweaking here and there will sum up to a significant improvement.

Glad to see another happy consumer :)

csthiang
04-09-2005, 08:10 PM
I have done port forwarding for 585 to forward port 80 to one comp with apache, ppl from internet have no problem accessing the website, with domain name or ip. But internally, if i put in the domain or public ip address, the modem GUI will load instead of the website.

I tried changing the GUI port to 8010, but if i enter my domain or public ip address, nothing will load, but externally no prob.

RallyART®
04-09-2005, 08:58 PM
I have done port forwarding for 585 to forward port 80 to one comp with apache, ppl from internet have no problem accessing the website, with domain name or ip. But internally, if i put in the domain or public ip address, the modem GUI will load instead of the website.

I tried changing the GUI port to 8010, but if i enter my domain or public ip address, nothing will load, but externally no prob.

Hi what you are facing is a limitation faced by most customers, even other brands. The router in ST585 disabled loopback by default due to security reasons. In fact in most Corporate, they get by this limitation by having internal DNS servers that point to the internal IP address of the router. Do you want to have it enabled? If yes, send me a PM...

chaicka
04-09-2005, 08:59 PM
There is nothing wrong...it's exactly functioning as per normal.

When ur internal system access the domain name or ip (i.e. www.abc.com or ur wan ip), it goes to the router (CPE) since the dns is pointing to that wat.

For ur internal to resolve, u need an internal dns server (be it those build in the router, or ur own dns server running on win2k, win2k3, linux, unix, etc). Your internal dns server will have A records that point to ur web server, and u will need to point ur internal client machines to point to that internal dns server too.

Anyway, bottomline is the whole setup of urs. There is nothing wrong with the CPE nor internet connection.

Juz imagine companies have both internal dns servers, as well as external dns servers. Why would there such a need? Plain simple: One is for external parties to resolve dns to ip addresses, while the other is for internal parties to resolve dns to internal ip addresses.

dracoid4
04-09-2005, 11:03 PM
I just mine installed on 2/9 Friday. Having some problem with the wireless connection. Always get disconnected everynow and then. Change to different channel but still didn't work. Any suggestion?

RallyART®
04-09-2005, 11:29 PM
I just mine installed on 2/9 Friday. Having some problem with the wireless connection. Always get disconnected everynow and then. Change to different channel but still didn't work. Any suggestion?

I think more information is needed before anybody here can try to help.
What wireless client are you using? and what OS? Using windows zero config or client's utility?
What is the signal strength when you can connect?

dracoid4
04-09-2005, 11:49 PM
I think more information is needed before anybody here can try to help.
What wireless client are you using? and what OS? Using windows zero config or client's utility?
What is the signal strength when you can connect? using ibook MacOSX. 802.11g. Signal is full but then cannot access internet after that the signal will be lost. Won't be able to find the router at all until I reset the router.

RallyART®
05-09-2005, 12:07 AM
using ibook MacOSX. 802.11g. Signal is full but then cannot access internet after that the signal will be lost. Won't be able to find the router at all until I reset the router.

How many PC do you have connected wirelessly? When you say reset, do you press the default button or just power on and off? Did you restart your ibook at the same time also or you only need to reset the modem but you leave the ibook as it is? Have you tried the notebook wirelessly elsewhere?

So far, I have not come across wireless problems from the St585 similar to yours. Would be interested to know more.
;)

dracoid4
05-09-2005, 12:31 AM
How many PC do you have connected wirelessly? When you say reset, do you press the default button or just power on and off? Did you restart your ibook at the same time also or you only need to reset the modem but you leave the ibook as it is? Have you tried the notebook wirelessly elsewhere?

So far, I have not come across wireless problems from the St585 similar to yours. Would be interested to know more.
;)

Only one notebook wireless and one pc wired. I tried quite number of time.
1) I tried changing the setting of the wireless network eg channel. ST585 will like hanged when i click apply and the PC lan connection is lost and after a while it can reconnect back for PC. After that I can detected the wireless network again althought the setting didn't change.
2) I reset the router from the GUI.
3) I reset the notebook, but got error connecting to the network.
4) I have to disconnect from the internet then i change the setting of the wireless network successfully without the hang mentioned in one. Or after the hang, I can change with no problem.

sunseer
05-09-2005, 06:30 PM
Hi Guys,

Here is mine conenction for today.... reset mine modem this morning ard 7am++... Below show is the data until around 630pm...

DSL Connection

Link Information

Uptime: 0 days, 10:34:12

Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1.055 / 16.886

Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/GB]: 955,37 / 2,07

Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12,5 / 23,0

Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 17,0 / 34,5

SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 6,5 / 6,0

Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / GSPN

Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0

Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0

Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0

Loss of Link (Remote): 0

Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 3.811 / 0

FEC Errors (Up/Down): 637.534.208 / 0

CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 19.299

HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 17.641

IT seem my line got issue =_=... This morning.... i was d/ced from the internet.... as in i cant goes out to the internet at all... I was forced to do a reboot on the modem b4 I am allowed to goes online again... Wonder wat causing it??

Every connection just freeze there.. no indication of d/c from internet at all... I even checked the internet connection status in the modem.. it showed "Connected"...

Here is my ping status

C:\>tracert www.google.com.sg

Tracing route to www.l.google.com [66.249.89.99]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 64 ms 108 ms 91 ms speedtouch.lan [192.168.1.254]
2 10 ms 10 ms 9 ms bb219-74-64-1.singnet.com.sg [219.74.64.1]
3 7 ms 8 ms 7 ms 202.166.124.109
4 * 11 ms 7 ms 202.166.124.49
5 8 ms 8 ms 8 ms 202.166.126.42
6 7 ms 8 ms 8 ms 202.166.126.37
7 19 ms 8 ms 8 ms 203.208.182.77
8 9 ms 8 ms 8 ms so-0-0-0.sngc3-cr2.ix.singtel.com [203.208.172.1
30]
9 41 ms 50 ms 49 ms so-0-1-1.hkgcw-cr2.ix.singtel.com [203.208.154.6
2]
10 41 ms 55 ms 40 ms 72.14.196.5
11 41 ms 40 ms 39 ms 64.233.175.13
12 104 ms 91 ms 91 ms 66.249.94.230
13 101 ms 103 ms 92 ms 66.249.89.99

Trace complete.

At the point of above info been capture... I am runnig 2 Bittorrent 1 downloading & 1 uploading.... with upload speed caped at 20KB/s..

pls help to verify if mine line got issue?

TIA

sunseer
05-09-2005, 06:47 PM
After i posted the above post.... i did a reboot on modem... and i get the following stats.... =____=

DSL Connection

Link Information

Uptime: 0 days, 0:03:50

Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1.007 / 15.920

Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [KB/KB]: 29,00 / 108,00

Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 61 / 0

FEC Errors (Up/Down): 603.979.776 / 0

CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 2.212

HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 2.210

it getting worst =_= @ Time 1846hrs i stay @ 6th floor Lorong Ah Soo mine exchange is the one behind Upper Serangoon Shopping Center...

Think I need to call singtel to do some line check .... :o

princess086
05-09-2005, 07:42 PM
After i posted the above post.... i did a reboot on modem... and i get the following stats.... =____=

DSL Connection

Link Information

Uptime: 0 days, 0:03:50

Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [KB/KB]: 29,00 / 108,00

Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 61 / 0

CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 2.212

HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 2.210

it getting worst =_= @ Time 1846hrs i stay @ 6th floor Lorong Ah Soo mine exchange is the one behind Upper Serangoon Shopping Center...

Think I need to call singtel to do some line check .... :o

ok go to the modem page and keep on press refresh and obsever the crc error by sec
and take each time you press and obsever the crc error increase by how much each time you press refresh.

sunseer
05-09-2005, 08:38 PM
From wat i observed.... it have an increment of 2-3 CRC Error for every 2-3sec..

But once in awhile... i dont increase at at for about 5sec... after tat it start again. The pattern just keep randomize..

:o

chaicka
05-09-2005, 10:18 PM
Hi Guys,

Here is mine conenction for today.... reset mine modem this morning ard 7am++... Below show is the data until around 630pm...

DSL Connection

Link Information

Uptime: 0 days, 10:34:12

Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1.055 / 16.886

Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/GB]: 955,37 / 2,07

Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 3.811 / 0

CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 19.299

HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 17.641

IT seem my line got issue =_=... This morning.... i was d/ced from the internet.... as in i cant goes out to the internet at all... I was forced to do a reboot on the modem b4 I am allowed to goes online again... Wonder wat causing it??

Every connection just freeze there.. no indication of d/c from internet at all... I even checked the internet connection status in the modem.. it showed "Connected"...

Here is my ping status

1 64 ms 108 ms 91 ms speedtouch.lan [192.168.1.254]
2 10 ms 10 ms 9 ms bb219-74-64-1.singnet.com.sg [219.74.64.1]
3 7 ms 8 ms 7 ms 202.166.124.109
4 * 11 ms 7 ms 202.166.124.49
5 8 ms 8 ms 8 ms 202.166.126.42
6 7 ms 8 ms 8 ms 202.166.126.37
7 19 ms 8 ms 8 ms 203.208.182.77
8 9 ms 8 ms 8 ms so-0-0-0.sngc3-cr2.ix.singtel.com [203.208.172.1
30]
9 41 ms 50 ms 49 ms so-0-1-1.hkgcw-cr2.ix.singtel.com [203.208.154.6
2]
10 41 ms 55 ms 40 ms 72.14.196.5
11 41 ms 40 ms 39 ms 64.233.175.13
12 104 ms 91 ms 91 ms 66.249.94.230
13 101 ms 103 ms 92 ms 66.249.89.99

Trace complete.

At the point of above info been capture... I am runnig 2 Bittorrent 1 downloading & 1 uploading.... with upload speed caped at 20KB/s..

pls help to verify if mine line got issue?

TIA

Fine tune ur number of connections/sessions in the p2p software.....it may be ur opened connections/sessions choking up the pipeline. I believe if u dun p2p, the problem wun be there at all.

chaicka
05-09-2005, 10:19 PM
From wat i observed.... it have an increment of 2-3 CRC Error for every 2-3sec..

But once in awhile... i dont increase at at for about 5sec... after tat it start again. The pattern just keep randomize..

:o

Can u do the same monitor but without p2p traffic going on? Simply try downloading some large files repeatedly over http or ftp to generate the traffic.

sunseer
05-09-2005, 10:40 PM
Can u do the same monitor but without p2p traffic going on? Simply try downloading some large files repeatedly over http or ftp to generate the traffic.

Beginning of transfer of files of 1GB rach from singnet ftp... Speed Around 1.1MB/s - 1.6MB/s. All p2p app off. only irc conencted to irc server not sending or reciving any file...

but msning and surf some webpage and ftping above file...

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

DSL Connection
Link Information

Uptime: 0 days, 3:49:25

Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 287,72 / 732,28

Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 2.572 / 0

FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0

CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 22.818

HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 20.327

--------------------------------------------------------

End of traffering of 1 GB file from singnet ftp result...

DSL Connection

Link Information

Uptime: 0 days, 3:56:27

Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/GB]: 312,25 / 1,46

Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 2.641 / 0

CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 23.054

HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 20.483

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Rseult is around 33 CRC errors been generated per min....

But from wat i see in this thread... mine Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 17,0 / 34,5 <<< is consider super high... Am i right??

chaicka
05-09-2005, 11:17 PM
It's not super high....there are others with 30+ SNR but without problem wif their line.
At current, as long as it's not >40dB, I still dun consider it high.

However, ur CRC really is abnormally high.

Can check ur internal wiring like if the phone cable is near power socket or power cables?
Escalate to SingTel is necessary (juz take note if the fault lies wif internal wiring, u may be charge for the service) to perform a line check and make sure u inform them u are getting very high CRC errors, and also, capture screenshots to support ur claims (in case u need to show proof).

sunseer
05-09-2005, 11:26 PM
It's not super high....there are others with 30+ SNR but without problem wif their line.
At current, as long as it's not >40dB, I still dun consider it high.

However, ur CRC really is abnormally high.

Can check ur internal wiring like if the phone cable is near power socket or power cables?
Escalate to SingTel is necessary (juz take note if the fault lies wif internal wiring, u may be charge for the service) to perform a line check and make sure u inform them u are getting very high CRC errors, and also, capture screenshots to support ur claims (in case u need to show proof).

mine telephone wall outlet is a distance from the power socket.... ard 1m - 1.5m away...

When the installer came tat day to install mine modem....the line DSL signal was not even activiaited.... it took them arpound 44-5 hr to activiated it... not until i call and ask for a fast respond... sad... den use 1 day of modem.... the next morning modem totally no light suddendly... call VRNet for an excahnge.....

cureently i am still doing the download testing w/o any p2p....

will reflect the result later....

sunseer
05-09-2005, 11:43 PM
Below is the tracert while the file of size 5GB is still transferring from singnet ftp... at a speed quite constantly at 1.6MB/s..

Tracing route to www.l.google.com [66.249.89.104]

1 32 ms 99 ms 99 ms speedtouch.lan [192.168.1.254]
2 19 ms 20 ms 20 ms bb219-74-64-1.singnet.com.sg [219.74.64.1]
3 18 ms 18 ms 18 ms 202.166.124.109
4 17 ms 18 ms 18 ms 202.166.124.49
5 18 ms 18 ms 18 ms 202.166.126.42
6 15 ms 15 ms 15 ms 202.166.126.37
7 18 ms 18 ms 18 ms 203.208.182.77
8 17 ms 18 ms 18 ms so-0-0-0.sngc3-cr2.ix.singtel.com [203.208.172.1
30]
9 49 ms 53 ms 50 ms 203.208.172.218
10 49 ms 50 ms 50 ms 72.14.196.5
11 52 ms 52 ms 50 ms 64.233.175.13
12 109 ms 105 ms 105 ms 66.249.94.230
13 93 ms 96 ms 101 ms 66.249.89.104

Trace complete.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

2nd time tracerting...

1 79 ms 100 ms 99 ms speedtouch.lan [192.168.1.254]
2 31 ms 18 ms 20 ms bb219-74-64-1.singnet.com.sg [219.74.64.1]
3 18 ms 18 ms 19 ms 202.166.124.109
4 * 18 ms 18 ms 202.166.124.49
5 17 ms 18 ms 18 ms 202.166.126.42
6 18 ms 18 ms 18 ms 202.166.126.37
7 18 ms 18 ms 18 ms 203.208.182.77
8 18 ms 18 ms 18 ms so-0-0-0.sngc3-cr2.ix.singtel.com [203.208.172.1
30]
9 50 ms 50 ms 54 ms 203.208.182.70
10 48 ms 49 ms 50 ms 72.14.196.5
11 53 ms 50 ms 51 ms 64.233.175.13
12 105 ms 105 ms 105 ms 66.249.94.230
13 105 ms 105 ms 105 ms 66.249.89.99

Trace complete.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Result below show after ard 2.5GBof the total 5GB which have been transferred stats...which was continuing after the finished of tranferring of the 1GB file follow by a 500MB file from singnet ftp... to pc...

DSL Connection

Link Information

Uptime: 0 days, 4:25:00

Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/GB]: 412,86 / 4,57

Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 2.860 / 0

CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 23.419

HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 20.793

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Finished transferring of the 5GB file from singnet ftp....Result as below...

DSL Connection

Link Information

Uptime: 0 days, 5:01:43

Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/GB]: 511,98 / 7,64

Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 3.134 / 0

CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 23.852

HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 21.151

chaicka
05-09-2005, 11:45 PM
Juz checking coz there were cases whereby the phone cables sharing the same trucking with power cables and thus interference which result in poor DSL. There is another case in this forum juz awhile back, whereby the user's phone cable actually pass by a power socket in one of the room, and every time that power socket is power on or off, it cause dropping of dsl sync.

No idea what can be the cause for ur case, so juz run some basic check around ur phone cables (oso make sure that all analog devices are connected via microfilter), then escalate the case to SingTel.

sunseer
06-09-2005, 12:00 AM
Juz checking coz there were cases whereby the phone cables sharing the same trucking with power cables and thus interference which result in poor DSL. There is another case in this forum juz awhile back, whereby the user's phone cable actually pass by a power socket in one of the room, and every time that power socket is power on or off, it cause dropping of dsl sync.

No idea what can be the cause for ur case, so juz run some basic check around ur phone cables (oso make sure that all analog devices are connected via microfilter), then escalate the case to SingTel.

Thks for ur quick respond.. appreciated it.. I have did some Screen capture.. and have went thru my hse regarding the MF.. mine current line only have 2 wall outlet.. which both are not connected to any analog devices...

Will monitor a few more days b4 escalte to singtel.. thks!

hellslayer
06-09-2005, 01:07 PM
alamak... y my bt so slow? i'm on 10mbps. here tweak there tweak. still so slow. even my http dl using flashget also cannot get over 800k.. my bt max only 10k... i did port forward. the very 1st week, the speed is woot, super fast, 1 bt file can hit 400k.. but after 25th aug... the speed drop to a terrible 10-20k. Oo. help help. off peak or peak hr all same. now my router gui access page is much slower compare to last week. funny.

buyaodawo
06-09-2005, 04:04 PM
Anyone know why my LAN IP on my xbox and PC changes even though I set it to Same IP always?

Eg. My PC is set on public IP. so I got a wan IP for my PC. And my xbox is on 192.168.1.64. Sometimes it just happened that it swaps around and my xbox gets the wan IP. And my PC gets the lan IP 192.168.1.64 or 192.168.1.65.

Is there something wrong with the firmware? It gets annoying cos I have to reset my port forwarding everytime it happens.

And how come transfering of files within the lan network from my PC to my laptop will lag my internet connection? I can barely surf when I transfer files within my network..... My latency will shoot up sky high. It didn't happen to me before when I was using a linksys router with a starhub modem.

Lastly is there a replacement yet for this sucky 585 ADSL2+ modem/router? :(

Thx !

chaicka
06-09-2005, 09:16 PM
Anyone know why my LAN IP on my xbox and PC changes even though I set it to Same IP always?

Eg. My PC is set on public IP. so I got a wan IP for my PC. And my xbox is on 192.168.1.64. Sometimes it just happened that it swaps around and my xbox gets the wan IP. And my PC gets the lan IP 192.168.1.64 or 192.168.1.65.

Is there something wrong with the firmware? It gets annoying cos I have to reset my port forwarding everytime it happens.

And how come transfering of files within the lan network from my PC to my laptop will lag my internet connection? I can barely surf when I transfer files within my network..... My latency will shoot up sky high. It didn't happen to me before when I was using a linksys router with a starhub modem.

Lastly is there a replacement yet for this sucky 585 ADSL2+ modem/router? :(

Thx !
It's ur setup.

Go figure how NAT/NAPT works...

How can ur PC get a public IP and yet other machines using private IP still access internet?

dracoid4
07-09-2005, 12:07 AM
Well got my 585 changed today. But got problem again. This time is worst. The whole wireless interface disappeared!! no option at all?

hellslayer
07-09-2005, 12:15 AM
Oo.... ST585 really that bad hur? now i hardly use my snbb due to poor bt speed.

princess086
07-09-2005, 12:33 AM
Well got my 585 changed today. But got problem again. This time is worst. The whole wireless interface disappeared!! no option at all?

what you mean??? care to show more info

dracoid4
07-09-2005, 01:21 AM
what you mean??? care to show more info
http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/88511887/st585nowirless_th.jpg (http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/88511887/st585nowirless.jpg)

Here you got. I did a screencap of the interface. One will realise that there is only Ethernet connection but no wireless connection. I damn unlucky!!! Maybe better off using back ST570 which is what I doing now.

elu
07-09-2005, 01:23 AM
alamak... y my bt so slow? i'm on 10mbps. here tweak there tweak. still so slow. even my http dl using flashget also cannot get over 800k.. my bt max only 10k... i did port forward. the very 1st week, the speed is woot, super fast, 1 bt file can hit 400k.. but after 25th aug... the speed drop to a terrible 10-20k. Oo. help help. off peak or peak hr all same. now my router gui access page is much slower compare to last week. funny.

I get 3xxkB/s with good torrents, 1.x MB/s on good servers and latency has been pretty fine since my 256K SNBB days :)

It's the send that's puzzling though, DCC sends thru mIRC can never pass 90kB/s.

10mbps user here.

buyaodawo
07-09-2005, 06:40 PM
It's ur setup.

Go figure how NAT/NAPT works...

How can ur PC get a public IP and yet other machines using private IP still access internet?

I have no clue how it works thats why I am asking.

I was following the instructions from the pple at VRNET. I asked them why my IP swaps around sometimes when I am using always same IP. They never say anything also.

RallyART®
07-09-2005, 11:56 PM
http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/88511887/st585nowirless_th.jpg (http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/88511887/st585nowirless.jpg)

Here you got. I did a screencap of the interface. One will realise that there is only Ethernet connection but no wireless connection. I damn unlucky!!! Maybe better off using back ST570 which is what I doing now.

hi,
My colleagues told me of your problem, think you are really unlucky. Anyway how's the new modem doing now?

TyL3r_DuRd3n
08-09-2005, 12:33 AM
Do I have to keep disable and enable the WiFi in the ST585 so my I can join my network again?

The problem is, after using the wifi connection with iBook for a few hours, the connection dropped really bad and the airport will lose signal with the ST585. When I tried to rejoin, it didn't allow me to. I went to the router's wireless access setting at my router, i disabled wifi and enabled it again. it worked. Do I have to do this again and again for as long as I own this router?Anyone else have the same problem as me?

elu
08-09-2005, 03:25 AM
Do I have to keep disable and enable the WiFi in the ST585 so my I can join my network again?

The problem is, after using the wifi connection with iBook for a few hours, the connection dropped really bad and the airport will lose signal with the ST585. When I tried to rejoin, it didn't allow me to. I went to the router's wireless access setting at my router, i disabled wifi and enabled it again. it worked. Do I have to do this again and again for as long as I own this router?Anyone else have the same problem as me?

Ya same problem. But instead of hours, I rarely get to surf wirelessly on my ibook for more than 30min before it gradually slows down and finally lose connection. Then have to restart the modem.

slash
08-09-2005, 09:48 AM
this is my 10mbps connection overnight stats

somehow, the only 'exceptional' difference from the 512k plan from qala previously , is the price im paying.... more.

The CRC errors, are acceptible? Or should i call singnet to resolve?

http://la-kopi.com/~slash/misc/del-dsl.gif

wireXD
08-09-2005, 10:31 AM
this is my 10mbps connection overnight stats

somehow, the only 'exceptional' difference from the 512k plan from qala previously , is the price im paying.... more.

The CRC errors, are acceptible? Or should i call singnet to resolve?

http://la-kopi.com/~slash/misc/del-dsl.gif

0.4 per 10 hrs is very low. Mine would reach that level in less than 10 mins so yeah its pretty much acceptable. That would depends also if your using it the entire time? idling without data would meant lower CRC naturally.

dforster
08-09-2005, 11:43 AM
using ibook MacOSX. 802.11g. Signal is full but then cannot access internet after that the signal will be lost. Won't be able to find the router at all until I reset the router.

I got similiar thing. An IBM R40e with linksys 54G PCMCIA card. quite often on bootup the laptop wont see the wireless. it appears in the 'AP search', and I click connect and type in WEB, but wont join. I change to a second linksys card, changed between windows management and linksys software, tried different versions of software. It always happens about 50% of boot ups. HOWEVER a Dell Laptop with intel wireless chip, always connect.

Resetting the linksys sometimes gets it working. My next step is to try a different PCMCIA card.

andywl123
08-09-2005, 06:19 PM
I am currently real noob with this new modem pls help. I am unable to set a password for the user interface to this modem. I went to user management and change password to my password, however when i go to the page they do not prompt me for the password. Currently the default user is Adminiatrator even when i add new users I am unable to change the default user and I am also unable to switch user. Is there something wrong with my modem. Please help. Thks

hellslayer
09-09-2005, 12:01 AM
for the past 2 weeks, i always get DC easily at night, ard 10-12pm. i never dl anything, juz playing game only, GWonline. i DC not cos the server kick me, but the whole internet juz die off. cannot ping. connection die. once the connection die, i need ard 10-15mins or more b4 i can dial in successfully. like tat how? si beh jialat leh. everytime DC DC DC.

is izt normal for adsl2+ to behave like tat?? if really like tat, might as well dun go online. sucky leh. or is izt my ST585 got problem??

sianz... up 1hr+, down 10-15mins.

Neclord
09-09-2005, 02:28 AM
hi i have a problem with the st585..

i've jus formated my computer and installed azureus... i then proceeded to do port forwarding but it doesn't work even when i made an unnamed application with the port range i want. I keep getting the NAT error in azureus... Help? Must i restart the router for it to take effect? Before i formatted the com it worked... :(

thx

slash
09-09-2005, 09:50 AM
hi i have a problem with the st585..

i've jus formated my computer and installed azureus... i then proceeded to do port forwarding but it doesn't work even when i made an unnamed application with the port range i want. I keep getting the NAT error in azureus... Help? Must i restart the router for it to take effect? Before i formatted the com it worked... :(

thx

NAT error, u r behind firewall?

i'm using norton internet security, previously encountered same NAT error also, just went to allow the program for all access will do. if not, open port 6881 TCP & UCP manually.

hencanz
09-09-2005, 10:01 AM

Ya same problem. But instead of hours, I rarely get to surf wirelessly on my ibook for more than 30min before it gradually slows down and finally lose connection. Then have to restart the modem.

hi, TyL3r_DuRd3n & elu

unfortunately this is a bug in OS X 10.4 Tiger...i have the same situation with urs on My iMac G5, connection via AirPort is extremely unstable, signal will drop, slow down & eventually disconnected, nothing will work until i restart the modem...right now i just wire the damn connection to iMac's gigabit ethernet...:s13:

the whole Mac community is pissed with the pbm...loads of ppl have this issue, but somehow a few guys here have the solution, u can try this guy's trick, somehow ppl claimed it works. http://forevergeek.com/apple/tiger_causing_wifi_problems.php#7517

i'll try his trick tonite...

TyL3r_DuRd3n
09-09-2005, 02:51 PM
hi, TyL3r_DuRd3n & elu

unfortunately this is a bug in OS X 10.4 Tiger...i have the same situation with urs on My iMac G5, connection via AirPort is extremely unstable, signal will drop, slow down & eventually disconnected, nothing will work until i restart the modem...right now i just wire the damn connection to iMac's gigabit ethernet...:s13:

the whole Mac community is pissed with the pbm...loads of ppl have this issue, but somehow a few guys here have the solution, u can try this guy's trick, somehow ppl claimed it works. http://forevergeek.com/apple/tiger_causing_wifi_problems.php#7517

hencanz,

I have done the procedure listed in that page. Now still waiting for errors to happen. Hehe.

Btw, prior to this, I have updated the AirPort 4.2 a few days back. I hope the tricks can work. Will update you when I get dc. ;)

cubetc
09-09-2005, 07:33 PM
Hi Guys,

Is it normal for my "Concentrator Name to appear as "Trojan"

Home > Broadband Connection > Internet Services > Internet > PPP Settings: Concentrator Name: Trojan

Neclord
09-09-2005, 08:58 PM
i opened the ports needed in the router AND my sygate firewall... still have NAT error. someone help!

sunseer
09-09-2005, 09:31 PM
Hi Guys,

Home > Broadband Connection > Internet Services > Internet > PPP Settings: Concentrator Name: Trojan

Mine also is like this -> Concentrator Name: Trojan

Damn... should ask singnet to chnaged it...the name itself is making ppl feels creepy

sunseer
09-09-2005, 09:32 PM
i opened the ports needed in the router AND my sygate firewall... still have NAT error. someone help!

Do not forward ports in range... open each port individually... like below

TCP 9000-9000

instead of in a range like below

TCP 9000-9002 << Currently ST585 got issues with port forwarding if you open ports in a range...

elu
09-09-2005, 09:34 PM
hi, TyL3r_DuRd3n & elu

Thanks for the pointer. Do update us if you manage to surf on SkynetGlobal with the fix :)

sunseer
09-09-2005, 09:36 PM
:o Have contacted Singtel using 1608... fixed an appointment for tomorrow Morning (10 September 2005) 9-11am....

I also told their helpdesk personnel to relay a message to the technical personnel who will be coming down to my house tomorrow.. to bring a looping cable.

so tat he can test weather from the DP outside my house to my modem already causing the HIGH CRC error issue..

Hope the technician can help me solve the HIGH CRC issue =__= :s12: :s12:

Neclord
09-09-2005, 10:24 PM
Do not forward ports in range... open each port individually... like below

TCP 9000-9000

instead of in a range like below

TCP 9000-9002 << Currently ST585 got issues with port forwarding if you open ports in a range...
Azureus still reports NAT error with the port forwarded. b4 i formatted my com, it worked with a range of ports....

chaicka
09-09-2005, 11:43 PM
:o Have contacted Singtel using 1608... fixed an appointment for tomorrow Morning (10 September 2005) 9-11am....

I also told their helpdesk personnel to relay a message to the technical personnel who will be coming down to my house tomorrow.. to bring a looping cable.

so tat he can test weather from the DP outside my house to my modem already causing the HIGH CRC error issue..

Good for u...and if it's proven that their looping cable to ur wall socket dun have the problem, it means ur internal wiring is the cause, and u may be charge for the service, and if u wanna rewire, u may be charge too as internal wiring is not their premises.

Do remember to simulate with heavy load (exclude p2p) in order to accelerate the CRC Errors to appear (if there is still line problem, heavy load will definite cause the errors to show).

sunseer
09-09-2005, 11:52 PM
Good for u...and if it's proven that their looping cable to ur wall socket dun have the problem, it means ur internal wiring is the cause, and u may be charge for the service, and if u wanna rewire, u may be charge too as internal wiring is not their premises.

Do remember to simulate with heavy load (exclude p2p) in order to accelerate the CRC Errors to appear (if there is still line problem, heavy load will definite cause the errors to show).

Just hope for the best... If it really is internal wiring issue.... No choice but to re-wire.. :o

Will be downloading using singnet ftp to do the test :yawn:

Y.Y now my internet speed is like hell.... so slow... download speed burst... den suddendly slow down to 1-2k... den back to high speed... den no movement... den 1k.. den 2k.. den 0 and keep repeating ....

chaicka
09-09-2005, 11:55 PM
Just hope for the best... If it really is internal wiring issue.... No choice but to re-wire.. :o

Will be downloading using singnet ftp to do the test :yawn:
Dun juz rely on singnet ftp...tat one they will use to test speed.
But when u wanna test load vs crc errors, generate heavy load from multiple sources. That will help to narrow down if the crc errors shooting up due to pure heavy load and line quality, or due to heavy load and DSLAM problem.

Pardon me, dunno how to put into proper words.

Break the load test into two part then - 1. pure singnet ftp load, 2. mix load (http, ftp from varies load sources). That should be enuf to prove. Doubt need to do 3rd part - mix load from load and overseas.

chaicka
09-09-2005, 11:59 PM
As u can see, troubleshooting is a troublesome and difficult process if one really wan to do a proper troubleshooting to identify root cause. The staged testing is to streamline the possible causes and with analysing the outcome, one can narrow down where the real problem is.

i.e.: If part 1 & 2 no prob but part 3 got prob, it means somehow along the routes (afterall, CPE connect to DSLAM, DSLAM connect to switches/routers, etc).

princess086
10-09-2005, 01:32 AM
Hi Guys,

that is a bras name

princess086
10-09-2005, 01:36 AM

Made sure they dont bring a pro link modem( white colour one)
if best that can bring a ADSL 2 + modem (hua wei also white colour one)
check crc error how much it increase by per second
and test it for at lease 45min

cubetc
10-09-2005, 04:06 AM
that is a bras name

thx, have a great weekend!!!

sunseer
10-09-2005, 11:10 AM
Made sure they dont bring a pro link modem( white colour one)
if best that can bring a ADSL 2 + modem (hua wei also white colour one)
check crc error how much it increase by per second
and test it for at lease 45min

Only 1 personnel from the s call wiring team came... he went to change my cable dunno at wat looping place.. re terminate my conenction point outside my hse..

The crc now seem slightly lower.... The guy ask me to monitor and see ... if still cannot then call their wiring testing team... which he said is another team... =___=

So for now have to do some testing..

princess086
10-09-2005, 11:41 AM
Only 1 personnel from the s call wiring team came... he went to change my cable dunno at wat looping place.. re terminate my conenction point outside my hse..

The crc now seem slightly lower.... The guy ask me to monitor and see ... if still cannot then call their wiring testing team... which he said is another team... =___=

So for now have to do some testing..

how much it increasing per second
follow chaick advice

Neclord
10-09-2005, 12:08 PM
anyone knows how to do port forwarding via CLI? thx

chaicka
10-09-2005, 01:25 PM
Read the CLI Guide (downloadable @ SpeedTouch website). That guide is straight forward enuf for even non-techie to understand.

Neclord
10-09-2005, 02:12 PM
which interface am i suppose to do port forwarding for? there are so many interfaces in the list...

ethif1 to ethif4
wlif1 to wlif4
RELAY
bridge
OBC
ethport1
atm_Internet
ethport2 to ethport4
WLAN
WLAN_WDS1 to WLAN_WDS4
ethoa_Internet
Internet_ppp
Internet
LocalNetwork

hencanz
10-09-2005, 04:02 PM
hencanz,

I have done the procedure listed in that page. Now still waiting for errors to happen. Hehe.

Btw, prior to this, I have updated the AirPort 4.2 a few days back. I hope the tricks can work. Will update you when I get dc. ;)

oh, i hope it works, coz not all the tips they listed work for some ppl... :)

in fact it didn't work for me...:(
so i'm trying another tricks, i ripped out my airport card & reinstall the OS again...& put the card back in... :s13:

hencanz
10-09-2005, 04:11 PM
Thanks for the pointer. Do update us if you manage to surf on SkynetGlobal with the fix :)

no pbm...:)

but unfortunately we have to wait for 10.4.3 update from Apple or wait for Skynet side to fix the incompatibility pbm, because all other network can be connected but not Skynet...

sunseer
10-09-2005, 09:08 PM
:o how much it increasing per second
follow chaick advice

Here my stats after they did some wiring... 10 hours later stat..

http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/828046164/adsl_10_sept_05_stats_th.jpg (http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/828046164/adsl_10_sept_05_stats.jpg)

dracoid4
10-09-2005, 11:06 PM
hi,
My colleagues told me of your problem, think you are really unlucky. Anyway how's the new modem doing now?
Yah no problem with the wireless now.

gray
11-09-2005, 02:29 PM
My 10MB line is giving extreme grief. I have been experiencing frequent disconnection from my line. Sometimes for no apparent reason, sometimes when I am doing heavy downloading. And it often takes mins up for the connection to be reconnected. Have called a few times to Singnet, they tell me to call VR Net. Called VR Net, but there line is always so hot, leave messages for them to call back but have not heard from them. Asked Singtel to get VR Net to call me, until now no action.

Really frustrating exercise since getting ADSL2+. As I am typing this, I got another disconnection, took me 5 mins to get the bloody line connected again.

chaicka
11-09-2005, 02:34 PM
Have u check to ensure that ur phone line is not near any power cables or power socket (like one of the case mentioned here), furthermore, ensuring that the analog devices (phones, fax machine, laptop, etc) are connected to a microfilter (even single analog device MUST pass thru microfilter), and that the CPE (ST585 here I presume) is not going through any microfilter, or if it is, it's connected to the DSL port of those two port microfilter.

You may wanna plug the CPE directly to the wall socket without any other analog devices and see if the problem still persist. That will narrow down if u got faulty microfilters.

Yashimuro
11-09-2005, 04:56 PM
Hi all . After using the SNBB 10mb , i think i have some problem with my Bitcomet . The download speed max can only reach 10kb/s only . Can someone help me with this problem ?

jhquek
11-09-2005, 05:01 PM
Have u check to ensure that ur phone line is not near any power cables or power socket (like one of the case mentioned here), furthermore, ensuring that the analog devices (phones, fax machine, laptop, etc) are connected to a microfilter (even single analog device MUST pass thru microfilter), and that the CPE (ST585 here I presume) is not going through any microfilter, or if it is, it's connected to the DSL port of those two port microfilter.

You may wanna plug the CPE directly to the wall socket without any other analog devices and see if the problem still persist. That will narrow down if u got faulty microfilters.
I would advise to place a microfilter at the point with the CPE plugged into the phone circuit also.

Personally encountered 1 case where the loss in signal is cause by the phone socket to the CPE.
Line speed dropped till ADSL standards rather than ADSL2+

Put more microfilters, it does help. :)

chaicka
11-09-2005, 05:10 PM
Provided the microfilters are the newer type which has two output ports - 1 for DSL, 1 for Phone.
Older microfilter with only 1 port is meant purely for analog device, so DUN ever put those into the wall socket and plug ur CPE into it coz it will juz kill the dsl signal.

TyL3r_DuRd3n
12-09-2005, 01:13 AM
Any positive likelihood the new (READ: stable) firmware for ST585 modem will be released?

When I was still using ST570 for 1500kbps, the download speed for wifi was stable 99% of the time. The download speed for ST585 (wifi) on 10mbps is 150KB/s when it was supposed to hit 1.5MB/s and above. Are the software engineers for this modem division hearing our plight in this thread?

TyL3r_DuRd3n
12-09-2005, 01:55 AM
I still have the disconnection with the ST585 after more than an hour of an extensive surfing with my iBook.

gray
12-09-2005, 06:27 PM
Just came back home, there is a MASSIVE drop in my download speedtest from ftp://ftp.singnet.com.sg/. Typically, I can get a consistent maxed out download of 2.5Mb/sec downloading the 100M, 500M files etc. It has now dropped to 1.3Mb/sec. I am on the 10 Mb plan.

Caught my download line attenuation changing:

Normal: Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 4,0 / 14,0
Just Now: Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 3,5 / 13,5

This is the first time I have seen the attenuation changed. I restarted the moedm and it is back to the 14.0/4.0 levels. But download from the Singnet ftp still remains at 1.3 Mb/Sec.

What gives?

princess086
12-09-2005, 07:01 PM
Just came back home, there is a MASSIVE drop in my download speedtest from ftp://ftp.singnet.com.sg/. Typically, I can get a consistent maxed out download of 2.5Mb/sec downloading the 100M, 500M files etc. It has now dropped to 1.3Mb/sec. I am on the 10 Mb plan.

This is the first time I have seen the attenuation changed. I restarted the moedm and it is back to the 14.0/4.0 levels. But download from the Singnet ftp still remains at 1.3 Mb/Sec.

What gives?

post your line state again and obsever the error by per second.
see how much error generate per second

gray
12-09-2005, 07:05 PM
post your line state again and obsever the error by per second.
see how much error generate per second

Current line stat. FEC error fluctuates. Sometimes high, then clear up, then come back again.

------------

Link Information

Uptime: 0 days, 0:57:29

Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1.035 / 23.940

Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 19,79 / 688,18

Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 6,5 / 17,0

Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 4,0 / 14,0

SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 6,5 / 6,5

Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 55 / 0

FEC Errors (Up/Down): 553.648.128 / 0

CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 63

HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 54

gray
12-09-2005, 07:17 PM
Not 1 min after I posted this message, I got disconnected again. Arggghhhh... Disconnections are happening all too frequently, a couple of times each day.

Try calling VRNet for the umpteenth time, but no response. Had told Singnet to ask VRNet to call me on 2 separate occassions, and until now no calls received at all.

chaicka
12-09-2005, 07:20 PM
Current line stat. FEC error fluctuates. Sometimes high, then clear up, then come back again.

------------

Link Information

Uptime: 0 days, 0:57:29

Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1.035 / 23.940

Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 19,79 / 688,18

Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 4,0 / 14,0

SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 6,5 / 6,5

Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 55 / 0

CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 63

HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 54
Didn't u bother to read?

It's mentioned in early posts of this thread, and repeated several times, that FEC Error is false positive, so ignore FEC errors.

Your CRC has no prob. Your disconnection is the DSL signal lost or PPP session lost? Check the log. Or it's juz ur wireless client cannot connect to the router?

Btw, if u using iBook, I think I saw some posts in other thread that there is some issue with ibook's airport.

sunnyee
12-09-2005, 07:21 PM

What gives?
Same here still can 2mb++ download in the morning but not now

chaicka
12-09-2005, 07:22 PM
I still have the disconnection with the ST585 after more than an hour of an extensive surfing with my iBook.
Saw some post abt the wireless problem of iBook, thus the issue may not be ST585. Check it out...

chaicka
12-09-2005, 07:24 PM

What gives?

Your 1.3Mb/sec is MByte or mbit?

ftp clients normally report/display speed in megabytes/s. If so, that's 1.3Mbyte/s * 8=10.4 mbit/s which is more than ur SNBB10mbit plan.

gray
12-09-2005, 07:24 PM
Am one of the first few users of ADSL2+ in Singapore and until now I still have problem with disconnections and pages taking forever to load.

This has been a really frustrutrating experience. Had to spend some much time troubleshooting this crappy broadband, Singtel linesmen came down on 4 separate occassions to tell me my line is fine. I reinstall my OS just to make sure I this was not causing the problem.

Really feel like cancelling ADSL and going back to Maxonline. At least I had never once experienced connectivity issue with my 3 years with them.

gray
12-09-2005, 07:26 PM
Didn't u bother to read?

It's mentioned in early posts of this thread, and repeated several times, that FEC Error is false positive, so ignore FEC errors.

Your CRC has no prob. Your disconnection is the DSL signal lost or PPP session lost? Check the log. Or it's juz ur wireless client cannot connect to the router?

Btw, if u using iBook, I think I saw some posts in other thread that there is some issue with ibook's airport.

Forgive me if I sound harsh, but yes i DID read. I just mentioned my observation about FEC errors, I am not blaming my connectivity issues on FEC.

I am not using wireless, using the ethernet cable.

chaicka
12-09-2005, 07:27 PM
Any positive likelihood the new (READ: stable) firmware for ST585 modem will be released?

When I was still using ST570 for 1500kbps, the download speed for wifi was stable 99% of the time. The download speed for ST585 (wifi) on 10mbps is 150KB/s when it was supposed to hit 1.5MB/s and above. Are the software engineers for this modem division hearing our plight in this thread?

10mbit/s would give u a theoritical speed of 1.25MByte/s, what is ur supporting factor to say it's supposed to be 1.5MB/s?

gray
12-09-2005, 07:29 PM
Your 1.3Mb/sec is MByte or mbit?

ftp clients normally report/display speed in megabytes/s. If so, that's 1.3Mbyte/s * 8=10.4 mbit/s which is more than ur SNBB10mbit plan.

I am not using a FTP client. I am simply copying and pasting using Explorer. Measuring the download speed using DU Meter and it is in mB/Sec.

chaicka
12-09-2005, 07:32 PM
I am not using a FTP client. I am simply copying and pasting using Explorer. Measuring the download speed using DU Meter and it is in mB/Sec.
Pal, I have expected that coz u posted the URL.
Explorer reports the speed in KBytes/s or MBytes/s, not in bits.

Since u say it's mB/Sec, then it's MegaBYTES/Second.

So, 1.3mBytes/s * 8 = 10.4 mbits/s and u are getting MORE THAN what you are paying for.

gray
12-09-2005, 07:40 PM
Pal, I have expected that coz u posted the URL.
Explorer reports the speed in KBytes/s or MBytes/s, not in bits.

Since u say it's mB/Sec, then it's MegaBYTES/Second.

So, 1.3mBytes/s * 8 = 10.4 mbits/s and u are getting MORE THAN what you are paying for.

I know that I am getting more than what I am paying for. On this drop of speed, I am wondering why this has only happened today and whether any other users are experiencing this. I am not quibbling that I am getting short changed by Singnet for the therotical download speed.

I am reading the speed off DU Meter, not Explorer and it is shown as mB/Sec.

chaicka
12-09-2005, 07:43 PM
I know that I am getting more than what I am paying for. On this drop of speed, I am wondering why this has only happened today and whether any other users are experiencing this. I am not quibbling that I am getting short changed by Singnet for the therotical download speed.

I have tested ftp using tat site b4...it varies sometimes, it's quite normal. Maybe try again later?

Furthermore, if u using wireless to connect to the ST585, speed may varies too. Dun forget, WLAN is never consistent and it's dependent on many factors.

For DUMeter, u can set it to show as kbits/s or kbytes/s.
http://img371.imageshack.us/img371/4370/duopt6el.png

princess086
12-09-2005, 07:44 PM

what kind of problem your are facing?

gray
12-09-2005, 07:47 PM
I have tested ftp using tat site b4...it varies sometimes, it's quite normal. Maybe try again later?

Furthermore, if u using wireless to connect to the ST585, speed may varies too. Dun forget, WLAN is never consistent and it's dependent on many factors.

For DUMeter, u can set it to show as kbits/s or kbytes/s.
http://img371.imageshack.us/img371/4370/duopt6el.png

Thanks for advice, will try again later. From my limited experience, it has always been 2.5 mB/Sec from this site. So, I am quite surprise to see the drop, perhaps on Singnet's backend, they have decided to cap the speed. In any case, I am ok with 1.3 mB/Sec since this is what I had paid for.

I am only using the ethernet connection, no wireless at all. My main problems are with the increasing disconnections and pages taking forever to load.

chaicka
12-09-2005, 07:57 PM
Thanks for advice, will try again later. From my limited experience, it has always been 2.5 mB/Sec from this site. So, I am quite surprise to see the drop, perhaps on Singnet's backend, they have decided to cap the speed. In any case, I am ok with 1.3 mB/Sec since this is what I had paid for.

I am only using the ethernet connection, no wireless at all. My main problems are with the increasing disconnections and pages taking forever to load.
Page load problem, try disabling "Web Browsing Interception" (Not recommended, and may not solve problem) or use proxy.singnet.com.sg and see if it improves.

For disconnection, can check the log on ST585? It should log the cause of the disconnection. U must identify if it's DSL Sync lost or PPP session dropped, in order to know the root cause of the d/c.

degrimreaper
12-09-2005, 08:02 PM
Hi Guy check with you all is there anything wrong with my broadband connection result pasted as per below :

Link Information

Uptime: 0 days, 3:53:09

Modulation: G.992.1 Annex A

Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 640 / 3.488

Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 175,86 / 84,73

Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 11,5 / 5,0

Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 7,0 / 8,0

SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 8,0 / 30,5

Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ALCB

Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 1 / 0

CRC Errors (Up/Down): 2.014 / 0

HEC Errors (Up/Down): 742 / 0

I realised that that iam facing a CRC and HEC errors on the Up side issit gonna affect my downloading speed ??? And how should i go around to rectify the issue thanx in advance .

princess086
12-09-2005, 08:06 PM
Hi Guy check with you all is there anything wrong with my broadband connection result pasted as per below :

Link Information

Uptime: 0 days, 3:53:09

Modulation: G.992.1 Annex A

Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 640 / 3.488

Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 175,86 / 84,73

Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 11,5 / 5,0

Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 7,0 / 8,0

SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 8,0 / 30,5

Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ALCB

Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 1 / 0

CRC Errors (Up/Down): 2.014 / 0

HEC Errors (Up/Down): 742 / 0

I realised that that iam facing a CRC and HEC errors on the Up side issit gonna affect my downloading speed ??? And how should i go around to rectify the issue thanx in advance .

you are on 10M or 1500

degrimreaper
12-09-2005, 08:12 PM
you are on 10M or 1500

Me on 1500 connection .

hencanz
12-09-2005, 11:12 PM

bro, i notice this as well..normally i would get more than 2MByte/s when d/l NDP video..but this evening when i tried again, it couldn't go pass 1.3MByte/s...

and the Twaren Network Diagnostic (http://ndt-hc.twaren.net:7123/) i would always get 15-16Mbit/s, but now it less than 10Mbit/s...

these few nites, always got lag spike..pages couldn't finish loading very often...

Tears
13-09-2005, 12:42 PM
bro, i notice this as well..normally i would get more than 2MByte/s when d/l NDP video..but this evening when i tried again, it couldn't go pass 1.3MByte/s...

and the Twaren Network Diagnostic (http://ndt-hc.twaren.net:7123/) i would always get 15-16Mbit/s, but now it less than 10Mbit/s...

these few nites, always got lag spike..pages couldn't finish loading very often...

Same here...... and the ftp readings at the singnet page also shown that the speed is lousier these few days :s13:

hencanz
13-09-2005, 02:40 PM
Same here...... and the ftp readings at the singnet page also shown that the speed is lousier these few days :s13:

wah, probly they regulate all the bandwidth to the correct speed already...

actually we can't complaint also, cos we're not supposed to get more than 10mbps in the 1st place... :s13:

nightkids86
13-09-2005, 03:06 PM
wah, probly they regulate all the bandwidth to the correct speed already...

actually we can't complaint also, cos we're not supposed to get more than 10mbps in the 1st place... :s13:

singnet adjusted the connection speed liao ah ??
drop to 10mbps .. no longer 22mbps for 10Mbps user liao :s27:

chaicka
13-09-2005, 03:20 PM
singnet adjusted the connection speed liao ah ??
drop to 10mbps .. no longer 22mbps for 10Mbps user liao :s27:
Pissed for wat?

You paid for 10mbps service and now they are giving u 10mbps service as per rightfully so, what's wrong with that. You cannot expect forever to be paying for a 10mbps service but having the service of those 25mbps users right, who are paying more $$$ than u.

nightkids86
13-09-2005, 04:31 PM
Pissed for wat?

You paid for 10mbps service and now they are giving u 10mbps service as per rightfully so, what's wrong with that. You cannot expect forever to be paying for a 10mbps service but having the service of those 25mbps users right, who are paying more $$$ than u.

not pissed la

i also not asking for more ...
anyway the connection is unlimited
i may jus dl it a few hr slower only
i'm very fine with it :s12:

hoping singnet can increase the upload speed ...

chaicka
13-09-2005, 05:11 PM
:)
ur icon is the pissed icon ma...:s13:

Upload speed of 1mbps is the max obtainable oredi right now...wanna increase oso no more buffer to increase with, coz ADSL2+ max upstream is 1mbps (if I recall correctly).

gray
13-09-2005, 06:30 PM
Page load problem, try disabling "Web Browsing Interception" (Not recommended, and may not solve problem) or use proxy.singnet.com.sg and see if it improves.

For disconnection, can check the log on ST585? It should log the cause of the disconnection. U must identify if it's DSL Sync lost or PPP session dropped, in order to know the root cause of the d/c.

Hi chaicka,

First disconnection of the day after surfing for 15 mins. Not quite sure what messages to look out in the Event Log but got the following 2 Error messages when using the "Check Connectivity to the Internet".

1st ST585 msg: "Connection could not be established: Disconnected by user"
Gray's comment: I did not disconnect the modem.

2nd ST585 Msg:

"Test Results
DSL Tick
ATM Tick
Ethernet Tick
PPP Cross (Your connection is currently down.)"

For the event log, let me know what I should copy. I had noticed that the items shown in the Event Log when the connection was down is different from the event log items when the connection is up again. I did not clear the event log, it is possible to find out all event items since the modem was turned on? Thanks.

princess086
13-09-2005, 07:04 PM
Hi chaicka,

First disconnection of the day after surfing for 15 mins. Not quite sure what messages to look out in the Event Log but got the following 2 Error messages when using the "Check Connectivity to the Internet".

1st ST585 msg: "Connection could not be established: Disconnected by user"
Gray's comment: I did not disconnect the modem.

2nd ST585 Msg:

"Test Results
DSL Tick
ATM Tick
Ethernet Tick
PPP Cross (Your connection is currently down.)"

For the event log, let me know what I should copy. I had noticed that the items shown in the Event Log when the connection was down is different from the event log items when the connection is up again. I did not clear the event log, it is possible to find out all event items since the modem was turned on? Thanks.

Your one big problem ppp connection very hard to trace one

gray
13-09-2005, 07:27 PM
Argghhh, Got disconnected again. Tried loging on to the speedtouch.lan page. Was not successful for the first few tries, eventually managed to. Results

1st Connectivity Check:

Test Results
DSL Tick
ATM Tick
Ethernet Tick
PPP Cross (Disconnected by user)

Modem restarts itself and try to reconnect, Internet light turns red, but after a few minutes is unsuccessful and stops trying to connect. Had to manually clicking on Connect. Tried this a few times and eventually after more than 5 minutes, finally managed to connect.

2nd Connectivity Check:

Test Results
DSL Tick
ATM Tick
Ethernet Tick
PPP Cross (Your connection is currently down.)

sunnyee
13-09-2005, 07:31 PM
Hi all

Just installed the ST585 yesterday in my hall. Its seems that the wireless signal is pretty weak. Just 3 meters away from my room only got a 36mbs connection. Is there anywhere to increase the signal. Thanks.

chaicka
13-09-2005, 07:40 PM
Argghhh, Got disconnected again. Tried loging on to the speedtouch.lan page. Was not successful for the first few tries, eventually managed to. Results

1st Connectivity Check:

Test Results
DSL Tick
ATM Tick
Ethernet Tick
PPP Cross (Disconnected by user)

Modem restarts itself and try to reconnect, Internet light turns red, but after a few minutes is unsuccessful and stops trying to connect. Had to manually clicking on Connect. Tried this a few times and eventually after more than 5 minutes, finally managed to connect.

2nd Connectivity Check:

Test Results
DSL Tick
ATM Tick
Ethernet Tick
PPP Cross (Your connection is currently down.)
Can post the log of ST585?

gray
13-09-2005, 07:42 PM
Can post the log of ST585?

Current log, looks like everytime the modem restarts, the previous logged events all cleared.

Edit: Event Log removed

chaicka
13-09-2005, 08:00 PM
Ok, finally u understand wat I was asking for.

Anyway, it should be something like this (screenshot taken from the virtual ST580):
http://img370.imageshack.us/img370/4986/syslog8ow.png

Since it's the CPE that rebooted itself, there are two options I would recommend:

1. Look for snmp software (u may wanna try kiwisyslog or WallWatcher) and use snmp method to capture all the syslog activities since the CPE reboot and all log get lost. This way, whatever activities will be captured by the snmp software and saved on ur PC.

Sample:
http://img369.imageshack.us/img369/7307/ww5hf.png

Pardon for the poor sample, but it should be able to log something like those entries in yellow, but more like the activities of what the router is doing, including initiating DSL, ethernet, etc.

The syslog is important coz it will help determine what is happening prior to the self-reboot.

2. Contact the vendor who supplied/installed the CPE. Let them change another unit for u and try your luck to see if the problem happens again. If it still does, then it may not be the CPE causing the problem. It may be other reasons like power spiking in ur residential which trigger the device to self-reboot, faulty power adapter of the CPE, etc etc which triggers it.

I experienced one case whereby the power adapter somehow cannot supply sufficient current/voltage to the router, and the router keeps self-rebooting every few mins over and over and over in a loop. After changing the power adapter to one that works (the vendor actually digged and tested a few power adapter all having the same problem until finally found one that works properly though all these power adapter, made in china, have exact same specs).

chaicka
13-09-2005, 08:02 PM
Btw, it appears u running BT?

gray
13-09-2005, 08:44 PM
Ok, finally u understand wat I was asking for.

Anyway, it should be something like this (screenshot taken from the virtual ST580):
http://img370.imageshack.us/img370/4986/syslog8ow.png

Since it's the CPE that rebooted itself, there are two options I would recommend:

1. Look for snmp software (u may wanna try kiwisyslog or WallWatcher) and use snmp method to capture all the syslog activities since the CPE reboot and all log get lost. This way, whatever activities will be captured by the snmp software and saved on ur PC.

Sample:
http://img369.imageshack.us/img369/7307/ww5hf.png

Pardon for the poor sample, but it should be able to log something like those entries in yellow, but more like the activities of what the router is doing, including initiating DSL, ethernet, etc.

The syslog is important coz it will help determine what is happening prior to the self-reboot.

2. Contact the vendor who supplied/installed the CPE. Let them change another unit for u and try your luck to see if the problem happens again. If it still does, then it may not be the CPE causing the problem. It may be other reasons like power spiking in ur residential which trigger the device to self-reboot, faulty power adapter of the CPE, etc etc which triggers it.

I experienced one case whereby the power adapter somehow cannot supply sufficient current/voltage to the router, and the router keeps self-rebooting every few mins over and over and over in a loop. After changing the power adapter to one that works (the vendor actually digged and tested a few power adapter all having the same problem until finally found one that works properly though all these power adapter, made in china, have exact same specs).

Thanks.

1. Tried installing Wallwatcher you had on. But seems to have a problem running it properly, it requires the LAN Address and Port of my Router, not sure how to get this. (Need some help with this, am a Banker with limited IT skills)
2. Will request for an exchange as soon as I can get intouch with VRNet.

gray
13-09-2005, 08:45 PM
Btw, it appears u running BT?

Yes, was running Bitcomet for a short while just now, but this is not the problem since I only had it installed yesterday, my disconnection and web page loading pages goes back a long long while.

chaicka
13-09-2005, 09:00 PM
Ok. Not offense for those questions. I am juz trying to remotely diagnose the root cause of the problem. Afterall, I cannot physically see and touch, so limited on how much I can help.

For the LAN IP address, easy, check on ur PC wat's the gateway ip address, should be 192.168.x.x and that's ur router's LAN ip address. This can either be done running ipconfig command in command (DOS) prompt, or in XP, go to ur Local Area Network network icon and click on status, then select the support tab. It will show u everything about ur PC's ip address, dns server ip address, and the gateway ip address.

feilong
14-09-2005, 03:10 AM
After reading through so many pages, i gathered there are bugs with the GUI on the ST585
Any news as to when a more stable firmware will be out?

I'm trying to configure the Port Forwarding so my online game will work but it seems
that I am unable to do so as I can't even assign a com

At the GUI screen - the page will refresh if I try to select my computer on the local LAN
Attached screenshot (the computer I'm trying to add is sin-p-12)
http://img164.imageshack.us/img164/6333/screen8ic.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

This is definitely not normal so what's a logical next step?
router is faulty? Router firmware is 5.3.2.2

In any case, can anyone share a working config file for the router?
i've downloaded the CLI interface from speectouch webby but crunching it all over again... :'(

princess086
14-09-2005, 01:57 PM
After reading all the port forwarding problem.few things you all might to try.
After done port forwarding and it wont work can turn off the modem fire wall.
stictc ip won't be needed as the modem recognize by computer name.

1) do port fowarding for 585 modem
2) turn off the firewall in the modem
3) for thoes who are facing modem rebooting can try to turn of the web Intercept function on the modem
4) thoes who sometime facing "networks error " the massage is refering to page cannot be display

chaicka
14-09-2005, 03:21 PM
i long for a massage too....neck stiff, shoulders aching, and lower back ache too...:s13:

princess086
15-09-2005, 12:03 AM
After reading through so many pages, i gathered there are bugs with the GUI on the ST585
Any news as to when a more stable firmware will be out?

I'm trying to configure the Port Forwarding so my online game will work but it seems
that I am unable to do so as I can't even assign a com

At the GUI screen - the page will refresh if I try to select my computer on the local LAN
Attached screenshot (the computer I'm trying to add is sin-p-12)
http://img164.imageshack.us/img164/6333/screen8ic.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

This is definitely not normal so what's a logical next step?
router is faulty? Router firmware is 5.3.2.2

In any case, can anyone share a working config file for the router?
i've downloaded the CLI interface from speectouch webby but crunching it all over again... :'(

how about you might want to check your computer name at
go to control panel >> system >> go to remote your computer full name

feilong
15-09-2005, 02:00 AM
how about you might want to check your computer name at
go to control panel >> system >> go to remote your computer full name

erhm, the computer name is correct .
i can surf fine but torrent/MMOs don't work
it doesnt work for the other computers as well :(

princess086
15-09-2005, 08:28 AM
erhm, the computer name is correct .
i can surf fine but torrent/MMOs don't work
it doesnt work for the other computers as well :(

care to try to disable the firewall
1) command prompt
2) type 'telnet 192.168.1.254
3) type 'firewall config state=disabled'
4) saveall
5) exit

if still cannot you might email vrnet for help at producthelpdesktop@vrnet-inc.com

abused_employee
15-09-2005, 10:27 AM

How can i use PPPOA on the ST585i?
I am not able to change the configuration.
The configuration say Singtel blah blah..
Is it possible to create my own config?

feilong
15-09-2005, 12:18 PM
1) command prompt
4) saveall
5) exit

if still cannot you might email vrnet for help at producthelpdesktop@vrnet-inc.com

thanks bro.
i read through your other thread and disabled the firewall already.
but the port forwarding on the web GUI interface still can't use.

Think i have to email them about this matter.

thanks again :)

abcdef
16-09-2005, 02:22 PM
Hi. I'm just following this track coz i'm also encountering the problem of dropped connection after some time (maybe a few hours to a day or two). For the past few occasions my solution was to switch off the ST585 and power it on again. Later i just used the GUI to do a restart of the modem.

Have yet to see if exactly which part of the internet connection is failing.

I called up Singnet after failing to get thru VRnet. The guy suggested that i remove the microfilter connected to the modem and hook the modem directly to the wall socket (ie. no sharing with phone). Gonna try that out tonight and will remove all 2 phones from the wall socket and see how it goes.

Has anyone else encountered this before? Is it due to the ST585 firmware? or faulty powersupply as mentioned by someone?

Ok. Not offense for those questions. I am juz trying to remotely diagnose the root cause of the problem. Afterall, I cannot physically see and touch, so limited on how much I can help.

For the LAN IP address, easy, check on ur PC wat's the gateway ip address, should be 192.168.x.x and that's ur router's LAN ip address. This can either be done running ipconfig command in command (DOS) prompt, or in XP, go to ur Local Area Network network icon and click on status, then select the support tab. It will show u everything about ur PC's ip address, dns server ip address, and the gateway ip address.

Neclord
16-09-2005, 04:03 PM
Finally got the damn port forwarding working even with the router firewall set to "standard". My previous windows did not have the windows firewall/internet connection sharing service install (custom windows cd) so i thought wth and reinstalled windows again with a normal winxp cd with SP2. Forwarded the ports in the router and windows firewall and now my azureus is working well again with green health...:D so maybe the problem is with the service?

xanthus_f
17-09-2005, 03:07 PM
just started using ST 585i beginning sept, all seems fine till few days ago, started to get the connection problem. modem is directly connected to the phone socket. 1 wk ago connection always on, 1 wk later, kept disconnecting every hour. and after the modem reset itself, it took quite a while before i can get connected back online.
irritating isn't it? :s27:

hellslayer
17-09-2005, 08:01 PM
me too pal... it was alright for the 1st week, but after tat..... the modem seems to dc itself from internet very frequent. BT was super, DL from web, ftp was super. then, after the very 1st week, all the dl was reduced, especially bt. mtu = 1492.

1 question: everytime i fresh boot my modem,ST585, is izt normal to get FEC Errors (Up/Down): 587.202.560 / 0 ?? normal?

chaicka
17-09-2005, 09:36 PM
Read RallyART's post, the FEC Error is false positive. Ignore tat for now, hopefully tat is fixed in the next firmware release.

Shingoz
18-09-2005, 12:34 AM
Btw guys what does Error Seconds means? Seems to have it no matter how many connection i make.
"Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 42 / 0"

Another thing is BitComet issue, not really good at reading the logs but this seems like i'm facing some issues?

Default tracker optimization rules file loaded.
IP rules file: ipfilter.dat loaded, 0 entries.
Start Listening at TCP Port:16777
Start Listening at UDP Port:16777
Windows XP ICF Status: Firewall port is opened.
Update Local IP: 192.168.1.64
Windows XP ICS Status: WAN IP: 219.74.241.xx
Windows XP ICS Status: PortMapping Successfully Added.
Windows XP ICS Status: WAN IP: 219.74.241.xx
Windows XP UPnP Status: Found WANConnectionDevice [THOMSON] []
Windows XP UPnP Status: Found Service: urn:schemas-upnp-org:service:WANDSLLinkConfig:1
Windows XP UPnP Status: Error occur when Adding Port Mapping!
Windows XP UPnP Status: Found Service: WANPPPConnection
Windows XP UPnP Status: WAN IP: 219.74.241.xx
Windows XP UPnP Status: Port Mapping Existed!
Windows XP UPnP Status: Found Service: urn:schemas-upnp-org:service:WANDSLLinkConfig:1
Windows XP UPnP Status: WAN IP: 219.74.241.xx
UDP tracker report: WAN IP = 219.74.241.xx
Connected to UDP helper tracker on 2005-09-18 00:30

Shingoz
20-09-2005, 12:08 AM
Another thing is BitComet issue, not really good at reading the logs but this seems like i'm facing some issues?
Anyone can help? Am i doing it correctly or....?

boinkboink
20-09-2005, 12:02 PM
This modem works just fine for the pass 1.5 months. All of a sudden, the following problem surfaces.

- Gets high CRC errors both upstream and downstream when I switch the modem on for long hours (usually after 5 hours). If this happens, I was forced to switch off and turn it back on. Even so, it will take about 10 minutes before I get connection (validation of userid/password).

- DDNS service no longer works. The modem just refuse to update my ip to Dyndns.org service.

- Extremely high response time for the first hop (internal route). Typically the value is 200-300ms. Chaicka/RallyArt clarified that this is a reporting bug. Funny thing is that such high response value does not exist the first time time I received the modem.

- FEC Errors. I am getting value like 568,xxx,xxx for both upstream and downstream.

Tried calling VRNET, but I was put onhold for more than an hour (before I hung up).

Chaicka/RallyArt, I appreciate if you address the issues above. Thanks.

chaicka
20-09-2005, 12:42 PM
First of all, juz to clarify, I do not work for VRnet, nor any of the ISPs nor in the network related field. I specialise in collaboration services, but scope beyond tat (multi-roles).

As per my understanding, the current firmware of ST585 has two bugs -

1. First Hop Ping result in high value
2. FEC Errors false reporting high value

As such, ignore these two issues for now, concentrate on the CRC errors and try to narrow down possible causes that can contribute to its occurence. U may start by looking into the changes made recently in reverse order. These changes can be power points, power cables, position of ur phone cables, change of phone, change of microfilter, etc.

AhmadH
20-09-2005, 12:47 PM
Use for about 1 month then I am unable to connect to the internet.
Only the power led and the dsl led light up.
The rest of the led light did not light up.
Also unable to reset the modem.

boinkboink
20-09-2005, 02:43 PM
First of all, juz to clarify, I do not work for VRnet, nor any of the ISPs nor in the network related field. I specialise in collaboration services, but scope beyond tat (multi-roles).

As per my understanding, the current firmware of ST585 has two bugs -

1. First Hop Ping result in high value
2. FEC Errors false reporting high value

As such, ignore these two issues for now, concentrate on the CRC errors and try to narrow down possible causes that can contribute to its occurence. U may start by looking into the changes made recently in reverse order. These changes can be power points, power cables, position of ur phone cables, change of phone, change of microfilter, etc.

Hi Chaicka,

All this while, I thought you are somehow related to VRNET. Sorry for the wrong assumption.

I've not done anything to my phoneline, settings, etc... recently. The problem just happened. Makes me wonder if there is a problem with my modem instead.

ApacheBoy
20-09-2005, 03:44 PM
1) command prompt
4) saveall
5) exit

yo bro, i tink u gt the email wrong la.....

is producthelpdesk or producthelpdesktop????

chaicka
20-09-2005, 05:09 PM
Hi Chaicka,

All this while, I thought you are somehow related to VRNET. Sorry for the wrong assumption.

I've not done anything to my phoneline, settings, etc... recently. The problem just happened. Makes me wonder if there is a problem with my modem instead.
Can post the log captured in the CPE?

I think that should aid in diagnostic.

princess086
20-09-2005, 05:55 PM
yo bro, i tink u gt the email wrong la.....

is producthelpdesk or producthelpdesktop????

sorry should be producthelpdesk@vrnet-inc.com

princess086
20-09-2005, 05:58 PM
This modem works just fine for the pass 1.5 months. All of a sudden, the following problem surfaces.

- Gets high CRC errors both upstream and downstream when I switch the modem on for long hours (usually after 5 hours). If this happens, I was forced to switch off and turn it back on. Even so, it will take about 10 minutes before I get connection (validation of userid/password).

- DDNS service no longer works. The modem just refuse to update my ip to Dyndns.org service.

- Extremely high response time for the first hop (internal route). Typically the value is 200-300ms. Chaicka/RallyArt clarified that this is a reporting bug. Funny thing is that such high response value does not exist the first time time I received the modem.

- FEC Errors. I am getting value like 568,xxx,xxx for both upstream and downstream.

Tried calling VRNET, but I was put onhold for more than an hour (before I hung up).

Chaicka/RallyArt, I appreciate if you address the issues above. Thanks.

The crc increase by how(per second) much when problem occur?

boinkboink
20-09-2005, 09:05 PM
Can post the log captured in the CPE?

I think that should aid in diagnostic.

The image can be found from the following link.

http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/1777112803/oh_man.jpg

chaicka
20-09-2005, 10:08 PM
I am referring to the system log of the CPE, not the line stats of the CPE.

princess086
21-09-2005, 12:14 AM

- Gets high CRC errors both upstream and downstream when I switch the modem on for long hours (usually after 5 hours). If this happens, I was forced to switch off and turn it back on. Even so, it will take about 10 minutes before I get connection (validation of userid/password)..
you mean you can run soomthly for about 1h - 5 hours after problem occure you will not able to surf internet but you modem is connected???

sunnyee
22-09-2005, 12:40 AM
Hi all,

Just like to check is there any dmz function in this ST585 router. Thanks

Chee_Hian
23-09-2005, 04:37 PM
Hi all experts, just to check...do i need to set port forwarding if i am running the 585i in bridge mode.

DXMachina
23-09-2005, 05:07 PM
How do you set the ST585 to bridge mode? What are the pros and cons of bridge mode? If I'm not wrong, the router becomes just a modem right?

boinkboink
23-09-2005, 08:42 PM
you mean you can run soomthly for about 1h - 5 hours after problem occure you will not able to surf internet but you modem is connected???

I mean 1.5 months. The CRC error usually happens after the modem is turned on for more than 5 hours. Anyway. I've hard reset my modem and all seems to be working again. But bow, my port forwarding doesn't work. Cheh !!!!

Can anyone here advice me how to set this piece of equipment to BRIDGE mode?

playplay
24-09-2005, 12:56 AM
Hi guys,
i need help on my ST 585. I am currently 10Mpbs SNBB subscriber. I have called singnet technical staff down to my house and did a line test. They said it was ok and in their acceptable range.

The problem i faced is when i play my online game (knight online US) i got disconnected from the game server in ard 5mins to 10mins. I went to Singnet Technical Helptools and tested on the FTP. i get the speed of 179.3 kbits/sec Initially startup the speed was about 10Mpbs. But after that the speed went down. Modem Ethernet and Internet keeps on blinking green although there werent any activities. I didnt do any files download/upload/FTP during my whole online but still got disconnected from game server. Its not lagging at game server. i tested it with my other modem at the same time.
(http://www.singnet.com.sg/technical/helptools/)
This modem has just been 1 to 1 exchange with VRNet. Its been the same problem i faced even with the modem firmware upgraded to 5.3.2.6
Heres a list of stats i got from the modem

Uptime: 0 days, 2:18:11
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1.031 / 19.988
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 12,24 / 153,34
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 13,0 / 28,0
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 6.505 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 331.021
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 167.018

I am running on ethernet. Can someone help me solve my problem or advise me whats the problem. Why is the download speed slowed down after certain time of usage? Modem/Phoneline/Firmware problem?
I tried using my 2Wire 1800 modem. Although the speed is only 8Mbps for down and 1Mbps for up. But at least its still has a stable FTP rate unlike ST 585 which can drop down to 200kbits/sec. i never had such a problem til this 10Mbps plan. Surfing net seems ok. but not for my gaming. I cant even play a single online game at this rate of disconnection. Its worst than my 512k.
If you know the answer or willing to help me, you can email me at
k l c h u a 7 8 @ y a h o o . c o m . s g

Encephelon
24-09-2005, 01:08 AM
how does one do port forwarding? i'm on ST585

Chee_Hian
24-09-2005, 09:15 AM
Sorry to ask again, bridge mode still need to do port forwarding? It should just work like a standard modem right; not need to set port forwarding anymore?

princess086
24-09-2005, 10:33 AM
Sorry to ask again, bridge mode still need to do port forwarding? It should just work like a standard modem right; not need to set port forwarding anymore?

bridge mode will act like a pure modem.

Chee_Hian
24-09-2005, 11:13 AM
Thanks...will go try it out...still using my speedtouch home for my 10mb snbb

hellslayer
25-09-2005, 10:01 AM
ask u all, y my modem ST585 keep DC? there are 5 lights, but only 2 are lighted - Power n Ethernet.... the left suddenly off when i surf net... this thing happen for afew times since ydae. is the modem go to :s22: :s22: ?

xanthus_f
25-09-2005, 12:30 PM
ask u all, y my modem ST585 keep DC? there are 5 lights, but only 2 are lighted - Power n Ethernet.... the left suddenly off when i surf net... this thing happen for afew times since ydae. is the modem go to :s22: :s22: ?
i got the same problem. got to tweak a configuration setting.
disable URL filtering.

hellslayer
25-09-2005, 02:37 PM
i got the same problem. got to tweak a configuration setting.
disable URL filtering.

Web Browsing Interception: Disabled

Still same.

still got wad tweak?

xanthus_f
25-09-2005, 06:51 PM
Web Browsing Interception: Disabled

Still same.

still got wad tweak?
that's all i was told to tweak.
after that delete my old account and create another broadband connection (the normal userid and password).

_dXter
26-09-2005, 10:56 AM
Btw guys what does Error Seconds means? Seems to have it no matter how many connection i make.
"Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 42 / 0"

Getting this "Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 42 / 0" very recently too, and I am suspecting it is causing my frequent disconnection from online games and corrupt file downloads.

I am also looking for an explanation or possible cause of this error too.

Shishiro_7
26-09-2005, 11:17 AM
I was planning to try portforwarding.
I got to the speedtouch.lan page
Then they prompt for username n password?
wats the username and password?
i tried "administrator" and leave the password blank but is doesn't work!
help help

chaicka
26-09-2005, 11:39 AM
For those facing Errors (local) and u are using wireless, try connect direct to the CPE using wired connection, and see if the problem persists. Some of u may find that using wired will solve the problem, which means ur wireless setup may have some issues.

hellslayer
26-09-2005, 12:08 PM
nope. i'm on wired, still got CRC errors... btw, i disable the wireless. Danger to use. lol.

hellslayer
26-09-2005, 12:10 PM
I was planning to try portforwarding.
I got to the speedtouch.lan page
Then they prompt for username n password?
wats the username and password?
i tried "administrator" and leave the password blank but is doesn't work!
help help

beside the On/Off switch, there is this little reset button, press n hold to clear all the setting. then u create a account urself, dun use the default Administrator.. < i think the account is bugged.

peepee
26-09-2005, 11:41 PM
how does one do port forwarding? i'm on ST585

Yah! can some kind soul show us a step by step guide for port f/warding. I already disable the firewall...."-" instead of disable. Going blind liao and I know my port not f/warded as Bitcomet all local only.

Using 585 with 10MBBS.

chaicka
26-09-2005, 11:57 PM
The guide on how to do port forwarding is already mentioned in one of these ADSL2+ threads.

The pdf document is available for download at VR-net but seems nobody bother to even check the manufacturer or vendor website first.

sunnyee
27-09-2005, 03:39 PM
Hi all

Anyone facing frequent disconnection while using the wireless connection of the ST585.

princess086
27-09-2005, 05:53 PM
Hi all

Anyone facing frequent disconnection while using the wireless connection of the ST585.

You mean evey 5 to 10min disconnection???

sunnyee
27-09-2005, 09:24 PM
No coz I`m sharing the services with my brother so he face disconnection quite frequently but not in the range of 5-10min

abcdef
27-09-2005, 11:34 PM
I faced it once. My wireless connections all failed to work. But the wired ones are ok. Disabled and re-enabled wireless but no use. In the end restarted the modem and now is all ok so far.

desertman
29-09-2005, 11:42 PM
1 problem i observed is that 585 users for sum reason cannot send files through irc even though ports are fowarded even on dmz. got solution to this?

passpass
30-09-2005, 11:14 PM
st585 user . here is my bt log:
Update Local IP: 192.168.1.65
Windows XP ICS Status: WAN IP: 219.888.888
Windows XP UPnP Status: WAN IP: 219.888.888

please tell me why error occur? is my port forwarding wrong? because my bt speed is hell!
thanks in advance!

Shingoz
30-09-2005, 11:23 PM
Hmm i posted something similar before and was told it's because you've already got it successful on the upper half - so it should be working fine.

passpass
01-10-2005, 09:15 AM
Hmm i posted something similar before and was told it's because you've already got it successful on the upper half - so it should be working fine.

so its not portforwording cause my bt slow. thanks. shingoz.

princess086
01-10-2005, 09:29 AM

base on the logs port fowarding will done successful should not have any problem.
Are you on SP2.try to off the UPNP in your BT software and one bt file user one ports

passpass
01-10-2005, 03:23 PM
base on the logs port fowarding will done successful should not have any problem.
Are you on SP2.try to off the UPNP in your BT software and one bt file user one ports
thanks princess086! your advice working, turning off udnp in bitcomet then no more error log.

passpass
01-10-2005, 08:18 PM
are you on SP2
no, im not on sp2. does it matter?

hangyong
02-10-2005, 10:36 AM
Rallyart,

Would like to check out on something.

I saw that in expr, we can actually tagg packets with IP priority or DSCP.

Hope you can help me with the requirement I need.

1. I need to tag packets going to my vid conference device, on port 1720 (TCP) and 5000-5008(TCP+UDP) on LAN IP 192.168.1.70

What I wanna do is basically to make voice/video traffic to be streamed at ef priority in and out of the router.

How would the config line look like?

I have checked the CLI guide, but am still not very sure.

Basically, what is happening is that in the house, someone using BT big time. At the same time, I am surfing and serving web. So when BT is active, surfing/serving can sometime timeout.

What I wanna achive is to make BT with normal priority, and other traffic like vid/voice with ef priority.

Thanks in advance.

princess086
02-10-2005, 11:44 AM
Rallyart,

Would like to check out on something.

I saw that in expr, we can actually tagg packets with IP priority or DSCP.

Hope you can help me with the requirement I need.

1. I need to tag packets going to my vid conference device, on port 1720 (TCP) and 5000-5008(TCP+UDP) on LAN IP 192.168.1.70

What I wanna do is basically to make voice/video traffic to be streamed at ef priority in and out of the router.

How would the config line look like?

I have checked the CLI guide, but am still not very sure.

Basically, what is happening is that in the house, someone using BT big time. At the same time, I am surfing and serving web. So when BT is active, surfing/serving can sometime timeout.

What I wanna achive is to make BT with normal priority, and other traffic like vid/voice with ef priority.

Thanks in advance.

a... may i ask what is DSCP
and one more thing if tcp port is open between 5000 - 5008 am i still able to open udp port between 5000 - 5008??

hangyong
02-10-2005, 08:58 PM
ok.. another issue that urks me....

with firewall on, SNMP from LAN to the router cannot work.

hangyong
02-10-2005, 09:02 PM
a... may i ask what is DSCP
and one more thing if tcp port is open between 5000 - 5008 am i still able to open udp port between 5000 - 5008??

DSCP is used to tag packets with certain attributes. e.g. you can tag all incoming packets into the router that is using port 1720. And these packets are treated with priorities or simply just best effort. for transmission out fo the router via the atm interface.

yes you can.

princess086
03-10-2005, 12:45 AM
DSCP is used to tag packets with certain attributes. e.g. you can tag all incoming packets into the router that is using port 1720. And these packets are treated with priorities or simply just best effort. for transmission out fo the router via the atm interface.

yes you can.

o icic DSCP= Differentiated Services Code Point one of the qos function.

chaicka
03-10-2005, 05:06 AM
ok.. another issue that urks me....

with firewall on, SNMP from LAN to the router cannot work.

Yup...dunno if it's a bug or it's by design.
Anyway, this has hinder remote monitoring capability....misato found tat out some time back when we were working on using a hosting service to do MRTG monitoring of our connections.

chaicka
03-10-2005, 05:09 AM
o icic DSCP= Differentiated Services Code Point one of the qos function.
DSCP...hmmm, does it require a thorough network support in order to work?

I recall that there is some QoS thing for LAN in the past, but it requires the switches, NICs, and any related network devices to support it in order to work, coz the packets are tagged with extra headers and so these network devices need to know/support the extra headers in order to have a true QoS. Else, the QoS is juz on the router itself, but loose its priority weighting once it leaves the router.

feilong
03-10-2005, 11:42 AM
Can anyone advise me on the number to call to get the Singtel people to come
check the phone lines?

The service has been unuseable the pass couple of days....
(either inet connection drops or connected but simply can surf)

I dunno if its a modem problem or line problem so anyone can help?

hangyong
03-10-2005, 04:24 PM
Can anyone advise me on the number to call to get the Singtel people to come
check the phone lines?

The service has been unuseable the pass couple of days....
(either inet connection drops or connected but simply can surf)

I dunno if its a modem problem or line problem so anyone can help?

bro, best if you call singnet and ask them to setup a line test for you.

hangyong
03-10-2005, 04:28 PM
ok.. below is the result by connecting the connection from DP outside of my house to the modem.

still getting 35.5db for att, but can sync at 15mbps now...

so conclusion.... not my problem...

from the lines man, I am only about 200m away from the local exchange. and that he is getting about 20db att under my block.

Lines in this area is pretty screwed man... not very old estate somemore... 8years at most.

http://www.filmgrain.com/adsl2/20051003directfromdp.jpg

hangyong
03-10-2005, 04:57 PM
lines man has gone over to local exchange to get something done, e.g. changing the circuit.

below is the new sync speed I am getting after he recrimps the wire at the DP outside my house.

this is with microfilter and all and is connected the normal way I would. and its really not that much different from directly conneting to DP.

so... even more to prove that its not my problem.

http://www.filmgrain.com/adsl2/20051003normal.jpg

hangyong
03-10-2005, 04:59 PM
ok... linesman called and line is patched!

look at the difference!

although not hitting 25mbps, I am already a happy man... 25mbps is not possible anyway.... best thing is... hardly any CRC errors now!

to the linesman, Rosly.... THANK YOU VERY VERY VERY VERY VERY VERY VERY VERY VERY MUCH!

thank you for being so professional and knowing what you are doing.... and fixing up the line for me

http://www.filmgrain.com/adsl2/20051003ok.jpg

chaicka
03-10-2005, 05:29 PM
14.5dB = approximately 200m??? I doubt so.....

200m of loop length may not even get u pass 5 block radius if u stay high floors...so 14.5dB should still be within 1km loop length, and glad to see ur line finally can get line rate close to 24mbps.

Without low or no CRC errors, ur line is VERY GOOD, and so...enjoy ur ADSL2+, u finally got what u planned :D

So, can I add ur stats to the compilation? ;)

chaicka
03-10-2005, 05:38 PM
hangyong,

Juz to let u know, there is so far another 25mbps user, with the following stats:

36. efeist (25Mbps Plan)

Signal-to-Noise Margin/Ratio (Downstream, ATU-C) : 06.5 dB
Signal-to-Noise Margin/Ratio (Upstream, ATU-R) : 06.5 dB

Attenuation (Downstream) : 08.0 dB
Attenuation (Upstream) : 00.0 dB

Floor/Storey (optional, but helps to determine loop length) : 08

ATU-C Line Rate (Downstream) : 24,184 kbps
ATU-R Line Rate (Upstream) : 01,031 kbps

I bet he must be a happy, satisfied 25mbps user....line rate >24mbps......solid man.

hangyong
03-10-2005, 05:47 PM
14.5dB = approximately 200m??? I doubt so.....

200m of loop length may not even get u pass 5 block radius if u stay high floors...so 14.5dB should still be within 1km loop length, and glad to see ur line finally can get line rate close to 24mbps.

Without low or no CRC errors, ur line is VERY GOOD, and so...enjoy ur ADSL2+, u finally got what u planned :D

So, can I add ur stats to the compilation? ;)

oh, please do.. I din realised that I was posting here.. tot I was posting in your thread... so sorry to spoil this thread like that.. sorry Rallyart....

anyway, 200m is direct line. from my place to the block.

I just did a short walk over and now I know where is the DSLAM! carpark is the substation for power, so I am sure singtel lines would not pass under it, and carpark is between my block and the DSLAM. So there should be some detour around there, add in this and that, loop length should be about 1km I would presume.

Oh.. I stay on 14th floor btw.

hangyong
03-10-2005, 05:50 PM
hangyong,

Juz to let u know, there is so far another 25mbps user, with the following stats:

36. efeist (25Mbps Plan)

Signal-to-Noise Margin/Ratio (Downstream, ATU-C) : 06.5 dB
Signal-to-Noise Margin/Ratio (Upstream, ATU-R) : 06.5 dB

Attenuation (Downstream) : 08.0 dB
Attenuation (Upstream) : 00.0 dB

Floor/Storey (optional, but helps to determine loop length) : 08

ATU-C Line Rate (Downstream) : 24,184 kbps
ATU-R Line Rate (Upstream) : 01,031 kbps

I bet he must be a happy, satisfied 25mbps user....line rate >24mbps......solid man.

fwah.. 0db? att?? gosh! I am sure he is one happy man too...

ok... now, chiacka, your turn to change to ADSL2.... am running some monitoring service to monitor the connection. running some traffic monitoring also. http://traffic.filmgrain.com. Can see when it was disconnected.

chaicka
03-10-2005, 05:57 PM
oh, please do.. I din realised that I was posting here.. tot I was posting in your thread... so sorry to spoil this thread like that.. sorry Rallyart....

anyway, 200m is direct line. from my place to the block.

I just did a short walk over and now I know where is the DSLAM! carpark is the substation for power, so I am sure singtel lines would not pass under it, and carpark is between my block and the DSLAM. So there should be some detour around there, add in this and that, loop length should be about 1km I would presume.

Oh.. I stay on 14th floor btw.

I am still rough guessing....think 10-12m = 1dB of attenuation should be a safe bet...:D
Hope someone really can provide a more accurate guess...tat will help us in doing diagnostic.

feilong
04-10-2005, 04:15 PM
bro, best if you call singnet and ask them to setup a line test for you.

call the singnet cust service/tech line or is there some specific number?
I see you have good results after the line done up....

DXMachina
04-10-2005, 06:02 PM
Can someone advise me on how to set the ST585 into a bridge? Do I need some special firmware in order to do this?

chaicka
04-10-2005, 07:54 PM
u need to search the forum...it's been mentioned dozen times...

hangyong
04-10-2005, 08:15 PM
call the singnet cust service/tech line or is there some specific number?
I see you have good results after the line done up....

oh.. sorry.. singnet helpdesk... 68486933.... and make sure you read this thread first to know what to do....

btw, I believe you stay in Jurong West ext also right? If so, please PM me your block, so that I can estimate your readings....

peepee
04-10-2005, 09:43 PM
Hi! I have read the manual and "think" I port forwarded already but just check BC and it's all local. Can any bro who is kind enough to give a step by step guide? I stay in CCK and using Singnet 10MBBS.How to bump up the speed?

http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/1629557017/image1.jpg

princess086
04-10-2005, 11:27 PM
Hi! I have read the manual and "think" I port forwarded already but just check BC and it's all local. Can any bro who is kind enough to give a step by step guide? I stay in CCK and using Singnet 10MBBS.How to bump up the speed?

http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/1629557017/image1.jpg

off the modem firewall will help a lot.but you will have to do it in telnet.

feilong
05-10-2005, 01:31 AM
oh.. sorry.. singnet helpdesk... 68486933.... and make sure you read this thread first to know what to do....

btw, I believe you stay in Jurong West ext also right? If so, please PM me your block, so that I can estimate your readings....

Thanks, I will call them in the morning.
I have a feeling the line is the culprit coz my attentuation is at 16.5/34.5
(SN margin is 6.5/6.5)
Biggest problem is getting a proper connection as the line just fails after a few hours
(big redlight, reset modem, use for a while, next morning, red light again)

I wasnt around when the guys from VR-Net came but they did mention to the folks
at home that the line could be a source of problem

Hope the Singnet support staff dun give me grief when I ask for line test :(

and yup, PM sent :)

hangyong
05-10-2005, 11:17 AM
RallyART,

I am getting another problem.

I am using a DLink DVC-1000 video conference device with your ST585.

Port 1720(TCP) and 15328-15333(TCP+UDP) has also been forwarded to the LAN IP of the DVC on the router.

I am very sure port forwarding has been done correctly as I did it the same way as I did for my servers and I can access the servers in my LAN from the WAN.

What happens is this:

1. People from WAN calls to my WAN IP uing MS Netmeeting
2. The DVC rings and answers the call
3. traffic/connection is unable to be setup.
4. call is dropped

I have no problem calling to other places. I mean from LAN to WAN, no prob. from WAN to LAN, above happens.

peepee
05-10-2005, 09:17 PM
off the modem firewall will help a lot.but you will have to do it in telnet.

Hi! The firewall already diable as I read from here the instruction which was crystal. I now have a dash and not "diable" in my firewall indicator.

Can see whether below setting for portforwading is correct? My listen port in BC is 6881

http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/624429869/image1.jpg (http://www.photoi.org)

AcCom
05-10-2005, 09:46 PM
Uptime: 0 days, 0:04:50
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1.051 / 23.441
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [KB/KB]: 312,00 / 768,00
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 4,5 / 13,0
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 4 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 6
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 7

Getting this for 10Mbps plan... i think there is some FEC errors there.. pro here please advise. BTW>.. i am getting alot of problem from the ST585.. the internet connection is connected however i am unable to surf at all.. restarting solve the problem though.. the thing is this at least happen twice aday...

Thanks..

hangyong
05-10-2005, 09:57 PM
Uptime: 0 days, 0:04:50
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1.051 / 23.441
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [KB/KB]: 312,00 / 768,00
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 4,5 / 13,0
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 4 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 6
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 7

Getting this for 10Mbps plan... i think there is some FEC errors there.. pro here please advise. BTW>.. i am getting alot of problem from the ST585.. the internet connection is connected however i am unable to surf at all.. restarting solve the problem though.. the thing is this at least happen twice aday...

Thanks..

your line is VERY VERY GOOD friend... and I dun think its the ST585 giving you problem... you BT right?

chaicka
05-10-2005, 10:27 PM
RallyART,

I am getting another problem.

I am using a DLink DVC-1000 video conference device with your ST585.

Port 1720(TCP) and 15328-15333(TCP+UDP) has also been forwarded to the LAN IP of the DVC on the router.

I am very sure port forwarding has been done correctly as I did it the same way as I did for my servers and I can access the servers in my LAN from the WAN.

What happens is this:

1. People from WAN calls to my WAN IP uing MS Netmeeting
2. The DVC rings and answers the call
3. traffic/connection is unable to be setup.
4. call is dropped

I have no problem calling to other places. I mean from LAN to WAN, no prob. from WAN to LAN, above happens.

Try to identify if there is any error logs in either the CPE, ur DVC, or the calling parties' netmeeting. Error log will help identify where the error occurred and thus, help in troubleshooting. E.g. There may be extra things u need to enable for authentication to work. Not sure how DVC works, so no clue to provide u...juz go thru the logs for now, see if u pick anything up.

chaicka
05-10-2005, 10:29 PM
your line is VERY VERY GOOD friend... and I dun think its the ST585 giving you problem... you BT right?

:)...Some pple think that with 10mbps connection, they can now increase from 300 sessions in BT to 3000 or even like someone, 4000 per torrent, and choke the CPE...

princess086
05-10-2005, 10:38 PM
Hi! The firewall already diable as I read from here the instruction which was crystal. I now have a dash and not "diable" in my firewall indicator.

Can see whether below setting for portforwading is correct? My listen port in BC is 6881

http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/624429869/image1.jpg (http://www.photoi.org)

you have only half disable the firewall only.
if you put the port range so much you could choke the modem a lot and in the end more worst.
remove the first port maping and redo for the your BT port and remeber one bt file for one port if one port is use for that computer you cant use the same port for other computer that the law.

DXMachina
05-10-2005, 10:42 PM
Can anyone give some comments about my stats? How's my line quality? Because frankly, I have a very vague idea as to what all these networking jargon mean. :p

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v521/Sepulture/untitled.gif

Also, if I use BitComet often, should I enable UPnP in the Speedtouch web config???

princess086
05-10-2005, 11:05 PM
Can anyone give some comments about my stats? How's my line quality? Because frankly, I have a very vague idea as to what all these networking jargon mean. :p

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v521/Sepulture/untitled.gif

Also, if I use BitComet often, should I enable UPnP in the Speedtouch web config???

to fully disable
1.) Go into Command Prompt (Start > Run > Type in "cmd" & hit the enter key)
2.)At the Command Prompt, type in: "telnet speedtouch.lan<--(gateway of your router. Alternatively, u can also use 'dsldevice.lan' or the gateway address)"
3.)Next, you will be prompted to enter your user name and password. Make sure u have administrator power for your account. ( default should be Administrator and no password needed.)
4.)Next, type: "firewall"
5.)follow by: "config state=disabled"
6.)type: "saveall" to save all of ur settings.
7.)Finally: "exit" to log out
http://img253.imageshack.us/img253/1948/telnetdisablefirewall0gk.jpg

Now, ur firewall is fully disabled. This time when u go back into ur router config through the web browser, u will notice that the firewall security status changes into: -
http://img188.imageshack.us/img188/3476/webguiafterfirewalldisabled9aj.jpg

all this taken from vrzone.

DXMachina
05-10-2005, 11:42 PM
Thanks princess, I've disabled the firewall totally now...so is my line normal given the stats above? Also, should I enable or disable UPnP?

Edit: I think princess wanted to quote peepee, but clicked on my post instead. =:p

princess086
05-10-2005, 11:52 PM
Thanks princess, I've disabled the firewall totally now...so is my line normal given the stats above? Also, should I enable or disable UPnP?

Edit: I think princess wanted to quote peepee, but clicked on my post instead. =:p

your line still ok.as the port forward done you wont need it in your bt software any more so can disable the upnp fuction in the bt software

ToOtWaI
06-10-2005, 12:38 AM
this is my stats

http://yozora.org/images/untitled.JPG

noticed that i have high CRC/HEC error. is that good or bad amount?

if is bad, how can i resolve it? running on 10MB

AcCom
06-10-2005, 01:05 AM

Thankx..but i dun download stuff..

AcCom
06-10-2005, 01:06 AM
:)...Some pple think that with 10mbps connection, they can now increase from 300 sessions in BT to 3000 or even like someone, 4000 per torrent, and choke the CPE...

bro.. i dun use BT at all..and seriously its disconnecting everyday.. n i dun face this problem when i am using cable..

chaicka
06-10-2005, 01:24 AM
bro.. i dun use BT at all..and seriously its disconnecting everyday.. n i dun face this problem when i am using cable..
yoz...not implying it's u...:), juz tat there are such pple out there.

Maybe u can help us to understand ur problem more by providing line stats, log of ur CPE (CPE means Customer Premises Equipment, which in this case, refer to ur ST585 or whatever ADSLx router u are using).

*Edited*
Pardon me, juz saw ur line stats. It looks fine to me.
Pls help us by providing the log of ur CPE, then help us understand how is ur infra setup like wat LAN or WLAN connection used to connect ur PC/laptop to the CPE, how many clients in ur place, etc...the more we can understand abt ur infra, the better position we are in to give our opinion.

batigol0902
06-10-2005, 03:59 AM

Is it possible for you to do a screen capture of your DSL connection & the event log message when you start facing problem? I saw that your readings indicate you are up for 5 mins. If i am not wrong, your problem will only start after 1 - 2 hours right? Then you will have to restart the ST585 in order to connect again isit?

ToOtWaI
06-10-2005, 07:06 AM
ermm.. need some help here. coz i noticed that bt seems extremely slow. even with a good seed n lots of peers (unless they are not uploading) i am getting sub 3kB/s per download. i am using MOL6500 as well. noticed that MOL instead gives me a much stable download (less fluctuations) in MSN, IRC etc.

chaicka
06-10-2005, 08:00 AM
ermm.. need some help here. coz i noticed that bt seems extremely slow. even with a good seed n lots of peers (unless they are not uploading) i am getting sub 3kB/s per download. i am using MOL6500 as well. noticed that MOL instead gives me a much stable download (less fluctuations) in MSN, IRC etc.
Post elsewhere, pls dun hijack pple's thread for something not related to the topic.

AcCom
06-10-2005, 12:22 PM
Is it possible for you to do a screen capture of your DSL connection & the event log message when you start facing problem? I saw that your readings indicate you are up for 5 mins. If i am not wrong, your problem will only start after 1 - 2 hours right? Then you will have to restart the ST585 in order to connect again isit?

Hi, i will try to do a screen capture tonight. But if i am not wrong..the event log message will be erase after every restart? i am not sure if there is alot left.. And you are right about being up for 5mins..cuz the modem will stop responsing after 1-2 hrs or sometime 5-6 hrs... then i have to restart it in order to connect again. Thanks..

AcCom
06-10-2005, 12:23 PM
yoz...not implying it's u...:), juz tat there are such pple out there.

Maybe u can help us to understand ur problem more by providing line stats, log of ur CPE (CPE means Customer Premises Equipment, which in this case, refer to ur ST585 or whatever ADSLx router u are using).

*Edited*
Pardon me, juz saw ur line stats. It looks fine to me.
Pls help us by providing the log of ur CPE, then help us understand how is ur infra setup like wat LAN or WLAN connection used to connect ur PC/laptop to the CPE, how many clients in ur place, etc...the more we can understand abt ur infra, the better position we are in to give our opinion.

Thanks..will try to include it tonight when i get home.. Yup.. I am using 3 computer connected thru WLAN.. WPA/WEP(Tried both) on with no firewall. Thanks man...

boinkboink
06-10-2005, 12:37 PM
I found a rather weird thing about this modem.

The DDNS service just refuse to update itself whenever I activate DMZ for one of the PC connected to the modem (for this case, it is my XBox).

Anyone experienced this before?

david2
06-10-2005, 06:57 PM
Hi, the ST585 works very well on lan but the wireless part is abit weak. Can the antenna on the ST 585 be changed to a high gain type? Anyway now using PPPOA to log in to the Internet and find that it is slightly better than the default PPPOE . Don't know why?

chaicka
06-10-2005, 07:05 PM
Search the forum...we have mentioned why PPPoA is better than PPPoE.

hangyong
06-10-2005, 08:47 PM
Hi, the ST585 works very well on lan but the wireless part is abit weak. Can the antenna on the ST 585 be changed to a high gain type? Anyway now using PPPOA to log in to the Internet and find that it is slightly better than the default PPPOE . Don't know why?

wah... are you sure the wireless is that bad?

When I was using a Dlink 724P+, I have to re-run my antenna with cables and all to fix it on the roof to get better coverage and signal throughout the house.

Now, the ST585 is at the exact same location as where the 724P+ was causing the problem, and I have no problem. Infact, the signal is stronger than before.

But of course, the signal strength on the ST585, I dunno how much is it lah...

DXMachina
06-10-2005, 11:23 PM
How do you configure the ST585 for it to log on using PPPoA? I searched high and low and explored the settings of the ST585 but there just isn't any option to switch from PPPoE to PPPoA!

passpass
06-10-2005, 11:44 PM
Could you guys tell me I should tick log or not when I assign a app to my pc? and why should I or not? thanks.

princess086
06-10-2005, 11:53 PM
Could you guys tell me I should tick log or not when I assign a app to my pc? and why should I or not? thanks.

you tick you can see the logs if you dont tick you cannot see the log.

hangyong
07-10-2005, 08:46 AM
My ST585 died on me last night.

It just suddenly disconnect, then only the power light came up green. All lights remain off.

Plug into my CISCO, and I managed to get into the net.

reset the 585, plug cables back, I manged to sync at ADSL1 speed of 8mbps. But cannot log in.

Plug back into CISCO, no problem.

reset 585 again, plug cables in, manged to sync again at 8mbps, got into the net.

restart the 585, managed to sync at ADSL2+, but my login info all gone.

It used to have "@singnet" but somehow this time round, the "@singnet" is missing.

Even when I added the "@singnet" by myself, I cannot connect. realised that the VCI is not 0/100

then used the setup wizard. redo all set up, and managed to work well.

Then started to do port forwarding. After adding about 15ports, the modem reset again.

This went on and on for 2 hours.

Fed up. reinstall firmware that came in the CD.

did the wizard thing, and started to delete all the unnecessary game/applications that is in the list.

recreated what I need.

Disabled IDS. Disabled firewall.

and restart modem.

now, I am syncing at 24.02mbps!

http://filmgrain.com/adsl2/sync-after-revive.jpg

So guys if you kena what happened to me.

1. Use the wizard.
2. delete all the unnecesary games/application assignments

That may help you.

david2
07-10-2005, 07:21 PM
How do you configure the ST585 for it to log on using PPPoA? I searched high and low and explored the settings of the ST585 but there just isn't any option to switch from PPPoE to PPPoA!

I use the embedded configuration in the router (ST 585) select PPPoA and follow the wizard from there.There are 3 profile in the router wizard page ( PPPoE , PPPoA and bridge mode) hope that helps>

david2
07-10-2005, 08:06 PM
http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/424023427/st585_01_th.bmp (http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/424023427/st585_01.bmp)

david2
07-10-2005, 08:11 PM
http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/466442528/st585_02.bmp (http://www.photoi.org)

hangyong
07-10-2005, 09:40 PM
I use the embedded configuration in the router (ST 585) select PPPoA and follow the wizard from there.There are 3 profile in the router wizard page ( PPPoE , PPPoA and bridge mode) hope that helps>

very interesting... wonder how you got that... coz by default, its not supposed to be there...

DXMachina
07-10-2005, 09:45 PM
I think it's the new firmware that david2 is using, he's on 5.3.2.6...so far I haven't been able to get my hands on it yet. :(

chaicka
07-10-2005, 09:47 PM
Tat firmware is not for public release, and esp. for pple who ain't savvy enuf to be beta testers and will only bitch abt it rather than providing constructive info/feedback.

daniellehrin
07-10-2005, 11:13 PM
Hi there~

Was wondering how do I do port forwarding for Speedtouch 585 for my Bit Comet program?

Would appreciate any help! Thanks!

peepee
07-10-2005, 11:38 PM
Still no luck doing port forwarding. After reading and trial & error. Anyone staying near CCK? Can help me configure. My bitcomet too slow.....(All local no remote). Willing to pay for expert advise, else pay S$88/mth for nothing.

Home near Limbang.

chaicka
08-10-2005, 04:06 AM
Hi there~

Was wondering how do I do port forwarding for Speedtouch 585 for my Bit Comet program?

Would appreciate any help! Thanks!

Go download the pdf guide and read it. Posted where to get it dozen times oredi, so go do a search.

peepee
08-10-2005, 06:25 AM
Go download the pdf guide and read it. Posted where to get it dozen times oredi, so go do a search.

Attached is the website for the instruction:-

http://www.vrnet-inc.com/distribution_drivers.html

Confirguring ST 585 DDNS & Port forward.pdf

I follow the instruction but still cannot get remote connection! Only get local in BC. :s27:

jespercheong
08-10-2005, 06:54 PM
hi i've been following this thread and so far it seems that only those no adsl2+ are facing problems with disconnections.. low spds etc... when i first got my modem the guy who did the installation (about 3 weeks ago) told me that i would not face the same problems as i'm on 1.5mbps, but it seems otherwise now.

1. Been having very frequent disconnections these two days. Wanted to leave my connection on overnight to download stuff and it didnt make it... wasted effort.
2. was playing online game(wc3, dota) and after about 39 mins i was disconnected. a check on the event log revealed that i'ved reached some "connection idletime" that's why i was auto disconnected.
3. disconnection also happens randomly while normal surfing.

to correct problem 2, i accessed the cli interface thru the cmd prompt. Using the st585_cliguide as a reference, i reconfigured the connection timeout handling using the syntex - connection timerconfig - and keyed in the maximum value for tcpidle.

Am i doing the right thing? haa... any other ways to prevent getting d/ced?? i turned off web browsing interception, disabled the firewall thru the cli, turned off address filtering. what about intrusion detection?

help!! haa.. :)