To solve he problem, go into the CLI.
type: service system modify name=SNMP_AGENT state=enabled
note the CAPS.
and then you can limit what address can access the SNMP Agent by:
service system ipadd name=SNMP_AGENT IP=xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
it can also use the /24 notation.
princess086
09-10-2005, 01:01 PM
SNMP = Simple Network Management Protocol is for what use???
hangyong
10-10-2005, 09:13 AM
I have found yet another problem.
I configured my WinXP Pro to act as a VPN server, accepting VPN connections.
Port 1723, 500, 50, 51 are all port forwarded on the ST585 to the LAN IP of WinXP Pro PC.
Connection goes through, as can be seen on the log on ST585, and goes to the correct LAN IP.
But it stays at "Verifying Username and Passsword" at the VPN Client side.
And then will prompt "no reply"
Client connecting from WAN, and using WinXP VPN Client.
jespercheong
10-10-2005, 10:20 AM
hi i've been following this thread and so far it seems that only those on adsl2+ are facing problems with disconnections.. low spds etc... when i first got my modem the guy who did the installation (about 3 weeks ago) told me that i would not face the same problems as i'm on 1.5mbps, but it seems otherwise now.
1. Been having very frequent disconnections these two days. Wanted to leave my connection on overnight to download stuff and it didnt make it... wasted effort.
2. was playing online game(wc3, dota) and after about 39 mins i was disconnected. a check on the event log revealed that i'ved reached some "connection idletime" that's why i was auto disconnected.
3. disconnection also happens randomly while normal surfing.
to correct problem 2, i accessed the cli interface thru the cmd prompt. Using the st585_cliguide as a reference, i reconfigured the connection timeout handling using the syntex - connection timerconfig - and keyed in the maximum value for tcpidle. does this help?
Am i doing the right thing? haa... any other ways to prevent getting d/ced?? i turned off web browsing interception, disabled the firewall thru the cli, turned off address filtering. what about intrusion detection?
help!! haa.. :)
hmmmm anyone?
hangyong
10-10-2005, 10:31 AM
hmmmm anyone?
you BT? whats your setting for BT?
limit to 30 connections per task max, and do not download more than 5 each time.
If not BT, or you are small time downloader, upload your line stats for review here.
jespercheong
10-10-2005, 10:50 AM
thanks for replying!
Yes i BT! haa using default settings for BitTornado v.3.13...
*limit to 30 connections per task max, and do not download more than 5 each time*
i guess this refers to Max Peer Connections under advanced?
Didnt change the default settings so it's left at Unlimited..
Okay so i guess this solves the BT part...
The thing is i don't BT when i surf or play games (dota for example).. and yet i still get d/ced after some time on the 585i..
Using my old tecom AR1021 modem... no issues of any sort.
Hmmmmmmmmmmm :s22: :s22: :look: :sad:
hangyong
10-10-2005, 11:01 AM
thanks for replying!
Yes i BT! haa using default settings for BitTornado v.3.13...
*limit to 30 connections per task max, and do not download more than 5 each time*
i guess this refers to Max Peer Connections under advanced?
Didnt change the default settings so it's left at Unlimited..
Okay so i guess this solves the BT part...
The thing is i don't BT when i surf or play games (dota for example).. and yet i still get d/ced after some time on the 585i..
Using my old tecom AR1021 modem... no issues of any sort.
Hmmmmmmmmmmm :s22: :s22: :look: :sad:
dun say ST585... even CISCO837 has problems with BT.
if no BT also gives your problems, post your line stats. May be other problems.
chaicka
10-10-2005, 12:57 PM
To solve he problem, go into the CLI.
type: service system modify name=SNMP_AGENT state=enabled
note the CAPS.
and then you can limit what address can access the SNMP Agent by:
service system ipadd name=SNMP_AGENT IP=xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
it can also use the /24 notation.
Great Work...tat's the power of CLI.
For those who dunno, GUI is basically just a graphical interface for actions, interfacing with the CLI or core where commands are still performed in. Thus, knowing CLI is like knowing DOS commands/programming language to perform tasks.
chaicka
10-10-2005, 12:59 PM
I have found yet another problem.
I configured my WinXP Pro to act as a VPN server, accepting VPN connections.
Port 1723, 500, 50, 51 are all port forwarded on the ST585 to the LAN IP of WinXP Pro PC.
Connection goes through, as can be seen on the log on ST585, and goes to the correct LAN IP.
But it stays at "Verifying Username and Passsword" at the VPN Client side.
And then will prompt "no reply"
Client connecting from WAN, and using WinXP VPN Client.
I may be wrong, but u may wanna take a look at how to forward GRE protocol. Take note, those ports u open up are TCP ports, not the GRE protocol.
jespercheong
10-10-2005, 01:03 PM
Uptime: 0 days, 0:06:26
Modulation: G.992.1 Annex A
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 576 / 3.488
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [KB/MB]: 510,00 / 1,41
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12,5 / 19,5
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 18,0 / 34,5
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 14,0 / 29,5
Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ANDV
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): 0
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 23 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 1.270
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 1.276
how's it?
... this is after navigating to this thread... so fast got error liao ar.. haa :s22:
hangyong
10-10-2005, 01:09 PM
Uptime: 0 days, 0:06:26
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 576 / 3.488
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [KB/MB]: 510,00 / 1,41
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12,5 / 19,5
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 18,0 / 34,5
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 14,0 / 29,5
Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ANDV
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 23 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 1.270
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 1.276
how's it?
... this is after navigating to this thread... so fast got error liao ar.. haa :s22:
you are on 3.5m plan?
jespercheong
10-10-2005, 01:16 PM
you are on 3.5m plan?
nope... 1.5m plan... yah hor how come so high ar
hangyong
10-10-2005, 01:28 PM
nope... 1.5m plan... yah hor how come so high ar
ok.. if that is the case.. you can ignore that part... make sure you using micro filter on ALL phone ports plugged with a phone/fax.
jespercheong
10-10-2005, 01:33 PM
ok.. if that is the case.. you can ignore that part... make sure you using micro filter on ALL phone ports plugged with a phone/fax.
ha.. i have microfilters everywhere :D
my SN, attentuation figures high?
hangyong
10-10-2005, 01:58 PM
do note that if you have more than 4 extension on 1 single number, you are quite screwed as well.
everything else looks pretty well, other than the CRC... seems pretty high for just 6 mins... of uptime
jespercheong
10-10-2005, 02:03 PM
hmmm.... i have only 3 phone sockets in my home... including the one connected to my modem..
alanchia67
10-10-2005, 02:14 PM
I think you may have misunderstood the statistic. SNR (Signal to Noise Ratio) high is good. But due to nature of ADSL2+, you dont want it too high. Thus Attenuation will occur to reduce the signal. This means the higher your SNR, the higher will the Attenuation.
There is nothing wrong with your line anyway from the statistics.
jespercheong
10-10-2005, 02:26 PM
Thanks for enlightening! pardon my ignorance.. ha...
if that's the case then i'm still puzzled as to why i get d/ced for no reason, even while surfing, playing games...
i'm not on adsl2+, dun really bt alot..
alanchia67
10-10-2005, 03:22 PM
When you say disconnect, are you refering to disconnected on the wireless (I assuming you are using Wifi), or is the internet connectivity disconnected?
jespercheong
10-10-2005, 03:34 PM
When you say disconnect, are you refering to disconnected on the wireless (I assuming you are using Wifi), or is the internet connectivity disconnected?
disconnected from internet.. not wireless :)
DXMachina
10-10-2005, 04:09 PM
I have the disconnection problem too...my uptime never exceeds 1 day, the max I got was 21hours before the connection cuts for a while and then automatically resumes, it's like it cannot sustain the connecton and gotta "rest" fo a while before automatically reconnects itself. Mine's 10mbps btw.
alanchia67
10-10-2005, 05:14 PM
For ADSL2+ plans, the telling sign could be high CRC/FEC errors. For 2Wire, once a certain threshold is reached the modem will disconnect and reconnect to ensure a good connectivity. That's what I've noticed on my 2Wire. For STS585 I wonder does it have the same feature.
hangyong
10-10-2005, 05:18 PM
I may be wrong, but u may wanna take a look at how to forward GRE protocol. Take note, those ports u open up are TCP ports, not the GRE protocol.
hmm... forgot about that... kaoz... thanks.... I will look into that... damn... stupid... actually forgot that....
anyway, now my ftp also cannot work liao... log in.. and immediately logged out... sianz siah...
go back reset all to default again... and redo...
zapp!
10-10-2005, 06:13 PM
The guide on how to do port forwarding is already mentioned in one of these ADSL2+ threads.
The pdf document is available for download at VR-net but seems nobody bother to even check the manufacturer or vendor website first.
vrnet down? Cannot access their website...http://www.vrnet-inc.com/distribution_drivers.html
hellslayer
10-10-2005, 07:36 PM
hmm... forgot about that... kaoz... thanks.... I will look into that... damn... stupid... actually forgot that....
anyway, now my ftp also cannot work liao... log in.. and immediately logged out... sianz siah...
go back reset all to default again... and redo...
u also auto reset back to default?
i create 1 admin acc with all my setting... last week the modem auto reset everything to default. deleting all my setting n acc ... funny part is i create new login acc, it del it after few days or few times of on n off modem.
chaicka
10-10-2005, 10:57 PM
I think you may have misunderstood the statistic. SNR (Signal to Noise Ratio) high is good. But due to nature of ADSL2+, you dont want it too high. Thus Attenuation will occur to reduce the signal. This means the higher your SNR, the higher will the Attenuation.
There is nothing wrong with your line anyway from the statistics.
He is not even on ADSL2+...he is on ADSL1 oni, for the 1.5mbps plan.
alanchia67
10-10-2005, 11:12 PM
He is not even on ADSL2+...he is on ADSL1 oni, for the 1.5mbps plan.
Yeah, just realized that! :o
daniellehrin
11-10-2005, 01:02 AM
hi all,
i followed the port forwarding thingy in the toolbox section yet my Bit Comet program peers are still all local and the download speed still very very slow... can someone please enlighten me? My firewall I used telnet to disable liao... sighz
sunnyee
11-10-2005, 11:21 AM
Anyone face where as the wireless connection get disconnected everynow and then, any solutions.
hangyong
11-10-2005, 11:52 AM
Anyone face where as the wireless connection get disconnected everynow and then, any solutions.
make sure the antenna for client and AP are not close to the wall.
funny, my ST585 wireless is damn power.... even better than D-Link 724p+ with the extended antenna I pulled on my own.
make sure as little obstruction as possible between the 2 points.
if its because of signal weak, check the above.
If signal is strong, but still disconnect, then its other problems liao.
sunnyee
11-10-2005, 01:27 PM
The signal is between very good and excellent but still get disconnected everynow and then. By the way saw that you are requesting the 5.3.2.6 firmware on the other forum did you manage to get it.
derdekea
11-10-2005, 01:39 PM
I dun know how to configure the port forwarding, is there anyone can provide me with step by step manual or something else. I use port forwarding for bitcomet. thanks
alanchia67
11-10-2005, 02:35 PM
The signal is between very good and excellent but still get disconnected everynow and then. By the way saw that you are requesting the 5.3.2.6 firmware on the other forum did you manage to get it.
The official website to download 5.3.2.6 firmware is
here (http://www.thomsontelecom.com.au/speedtouch/5326res.iso)
Beware, hefty CD-ISO image (>500MB).
sunnyee
11-10-2005, 02:51 PM
Hi alanchia67,
Did u try flashing the firmware?
alanchia67
11-10-2005, 02:56 PM
I not ST585 user.. sorry.
hangyong
11-10-2005, 03:48 PM
The official website to download 5.3.2.6 firmware is
here (http://www.thomsontelecom.com.au/speedtouch/5326res.iso)
Beware, hefty CD-ISO image (>500MB).
its no longer available
hangyong
11-10-2005, 04:22 PM
I wonder what is happening to VRNet.
Have not seen RallyART for a while...
and then, I sent them an email on my problems last week, until now, no reply at all....
oh man.... :s11:
zapp!
11-10-2005, 04:39 PM
I wonder what is happening to VRNet.
Have not seen RallyART for a while...
and then, I sent them an email on my problems last week, until now, no reply at all....
oh man.... :s11:
dun tell me...topple...is that why no more ST585s? I hope this is not the case, cos VRNET is one of the more active pple i seen helping to troubleshoot CPE.
hangyong
11-10-2005, 05:14 PM
anyone who has the firmware v5.3.2.6 AH variant for BANT-K board?
please send me a copy! Thanks in advance.
anyone managed to get their modem to accept VPN?
apparently from speedtouch NZ site, the PPTP and GRE is now bind as 1 entity in the connection table.
boinkboink
12-10-2005, 12:21 PM
Does anyone knows how to change the default port for "Remote Assistance"? Currently, it stays at 51003. Can I change it to 80?
RallyART®
12-10-2005, 04:59 PM
Hi all,
Been very busy lately to log in, Dun worry, VRnet is still here and I am still here. :)
RallyART®
12-10-2005, 05:02 PM
anyone who has the firmware v5.3.2.6 AH variant for BANT-K board?
please send me a copy! Thanks in advance.
anyone managed to get their modem to accept VPN?
apparently from speedtouch NZ site, the PPTP and GRE is now bind as 1 entity in the connection table.
To enable pptp passthrough, you can do the following:
Telnet to the modem,
type in "connection" <cr>
type in "unbind"
application=PPTP
port=1721
lastly, key in "saveall"
hangyong
12-10-2005, 05:05 PM
To enable pptp passthrough, you can do the following:
Telnet to the modem,
type in "connection" <cr>
type in "unbind"
application=PPTP
port=1721
lastly, key in "saveall"
sorry,. should it be port 1723 or 1721?
update:
anyway, I used 1723, and its now unbound when I type connection bindlist.. its no longer there.
but its still not working... keep getting to verifying username and password.. and hang there...
firewall is off, IDS is off...
seemslike GRE is not being porwarded correctly.
btw, what does it mean by binding/unbinding in this situation?
Lastly... its good to see you back here!
keat84
12-10-2005, 05:24 PM
Link Information
Uptime: 1 day, 23:07:35
Modulation: G.992.5 Annex A
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1.031 / 22.100
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [GB/GB]: 9,40 / 10,53
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12,5 / 23,0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 8,0 / 20,0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 6,5 / 6,5
Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / GSPN
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 1 / 0
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 10.187 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 603.979.776 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 11.365
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 5.112
can some 1 pls tell me what happen to my broadband ... my internet is very slow ... now bt dl only 50kbps .. normaly is 200 - 300kbps ... tq
hangyong
12-10-2005, 05:31 PM
can some 1 pls tell me what happen to my broadband ... my internet is very slow ... now bt dl only 50kbps .. normaly is 200 - 300kbps ... tq
please dun post any questions on BT... its impossible to troubleshoot and its not the modem's problem for sure.
you can try to reset, see if it helps... but it can be almost any other reason other than the modem....
chaicka
12-10-2005, 07:35 PM
sorry,. should it be port 1723 or 1721?
update:
anyway, I used 1723, and its now unbound when I type connection bindlist.. its no longer there.
but its still not working... keep getting to verifying username and password.. and hang there...
firewall is off, IDS is off...
seemslike GRE is not being porwarded correctly.
btw, what does it mean by binding/unbinding in this situation?
Lastly... its good to see you back here!
Now tat it has been unbinded, try to use CLI to forward protocol 50 (can check IANA to confirm if I remember correctly), which is GRE.
hangyong
12-10-2005, 07:47 PM
Now tat it has been unbinded, try to use CLI to forward protocol 50 (can check IANA to confirm if I remember correctly), which is GRE.
its protocol 47 for GRE...
but the thing is, from the speedtouch.net.nz forum, I saw that the PPTP and GRE are now in one entity, so, however I forward PPTP, GRE will follow. But it does not seem to be the case.
AcCom
13-10-2005, 12:14 AM
Is it possible for you to do a screen capture of your DSL connection & the event log message when you start facing problem? I saw that your readings indicate you are up for 5 mins. If i am not wrong, your problem will only start after 1 - 2 hours right? Then you will have to restart the ST585 in order to connect again isit?
Hi, juz did a screen capture b4 the router stop responding..
Link Information
Uptime: 0 days, 0:43:24
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1.019 / 23.314
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 4,79 / 7,67
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 6,5 / 17,0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 4,0 / 13,0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 6,5 / 4,5
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 1.435 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 75.260
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 75.564
I find the the CRC errors is exceptionally high. Initially it is 4 when connected. Is this the reason y i am unable to surf despite being connected? Thanks..
chaicka
13-10-2005, 12:58 AM
its protocol 47 for GRE...
but the thing is, from the speedtouch.net.nz forum, I saw that the PPTP and GRE are now in one entity, so, however I forward PPTP, GRE will follow. But it does not seem to be the case.
Juz try and see how. Not sure wat tat unbind does...maybe it unbind GRE to PPTP?
hangyong
13-10-2005, 08:26 AM
Juz try and see how. Not sure wat tat unbind does...maybe it unbind GRE to PPTP?
haha... tried very hard... still cannot find anything...
I have even enabled PPTP on the WAN port by "service system ifadd name=PPTP group=wan"
dunno the above is correct procedure or not, but it is still not working...
I have unbind like what RallyART said... forwarded port 1723 (which is built in in the "Application" list) to the server, and still the same... verifying... and timeout....
p4sserbyX
13-10-2005, 09:06 AM
Hey guys. im a st585 user here with snbb 10mbps. but the speed ive got is somehow worst then 512k.. Ive seen u guys talking about port forwarding and reaching to high speed using BT, but i dont realy get what u guys are talking about. Maybe knowledge i have for it is too shallow.. i dont know. Is there anyone out there that can like give me instructions step by step or whatsoever that can save my internet speed? p2p and sorts. Thanks guys =)
hangyong
13-10-2005, 10:03 AM
Hey guys. im a st585 user here with snbb 10mbps. but the speed ive got is somehow worst then 512k.. Ive seen u guys talking about port forwarding and reaching to high speed using BT, but i dont realy get what u guys are talking about. Maybe knowledge i have for it is too shallow.. i dont know. Is there anyone out there that can like give me instructions step by step or whatsoever that can save my internet speed? p2p and sorts. Thanks guys =)
on SNBB, dun expect good BT speed, can get 200k on coombined speed, you should be laughing.
port forwarding is to enable a "server" application behind your router to be able to be seen/connected form the Internet.
to port forward, find out what port the "server" application is using, e.g. BT is using 6881-6889 (TCP)
log into your ST585, go to Toolbox>Games & Applications Sharing, and create new application.
http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/624429869/image1.jpg
under "port range" enter 6881 (on the top empty box), and 6889 (on the bottom empty box).
under "translate to..." enter 6881 (on the right empty box)
then click "add"
Then apply the above created rule to the server
click "apply"
if you see "remote" clients connecting to you... your Port Forwarding is successful.
DUN EXPECT GOOD SPEED!
and once again... DUN POST ANYTHING ABOUT BT in this thread.... how to configure ST585... is ok...
chaicka
13-10-2005, 10:23 AM
on SNBB, dun expect good BT speed, can get 200k on coombined speed, you should be laughing.
port forwarding is to enable a "server" application behind your router to be able to be seen/connected form the Internet.
to port forward, find out what port the "server" application is using, e.g. BT is using 6881-6889 (TCP)
log into your ST585, go to Toolbox>Games & Applications Sharing, and create new application.
http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/624429869/image1.jpg
under "port range" enter 6881 (on the top empty box), and 6889 (on the bottom empty box).
under "translate to..." enter 6881 (on the right empty box)
then click "add"
Then apply the above created rule to the server
click "apply"
if you see "remote" clients connecting to you... your Port Forwarding is successful.
DUN EXPECT GOOD SPEED!
and once again... DUN POST ANYTHING ABOUT BT in this thread.... how to configure ST585... is ok...
It depends, Azuerus dun need to open so many ports, juz one port will do. BitComet will need different configuration setup on port forwarding, so does other p2p clients.
domkorf
13-10-2005, 03:53 PM
What do you mean when i see "remote" clients...see in bit comet or my speedtouch screen?
And why issit BT is crawling on this 10Mbps...my 512 get higher speed...not its at 1kbps d/l ..
pls someone help me..anything will do...
sunnyee
13-10-2005, 03:59 PM
Why dont you try dmz, i do have good speed for some good seeds.
hangyong
13-10-2005, 04:17 PM
What do you mean when i see "remote" clients...see in bit comet or my speedtouch screen?
And why issit BT is crawling on this 10Mbps...my 512 get higher speed...not its at 1kbps d/l ..
pls someone help me..anything will do...
in bitcomet go to "peer" in the bottom right window.
if you see peer, your Port forwarding is working.
chaicka
13-10-2005, 04:17 PM
Put a system in dmz might as well change the CPE to full bridge mode as both will subject the system to attacks, compromising security.
hangyong
13-10-2005, 04:19 PM
Why dont you try dmz, i do have good speed for some good seeds.
talking about DMZ... how come I am unable to DMZ any device I want?
I have a IP camera, a Video Conference Device, and 2 PCs connected to the ST585.
Somehow, I can only set DMZ to one of the PCs.
does "setting a Public IP to a LAN device" mean DMZ?
misato
13-10-2005, 10:26 PM
was playing around with the 585 wireless today.
Found an interesting undocumented option in the CLI.
You can actually vary the power of wireless up to 255mW, but beyond, it dont seems to reflect.
chaicka
13-10-2005, 11:00 PM
talking about DMZ... how come I am unable to DMZ any device I want?
I have a IP camera, a Video Conference Device, and 2 PCs connected to the ST585.
Somehow, I can only set DMZ to one of the PCs.
does "setting a Public IP to a LAN device" mean DMZ?
Nope, that's NAT, in these SOHO routers.
If u talking abt true business routers, then different story liao.
hangyong
13-10-2005, 11:19 PM
Nope, that's NAT, in these SOHO routers.
If u talking abt true business routers, then different story liao.
wahaha.. then I dunno how to set this DMZ to a device from this ST585 via web interface liao...
not used to this thing at all.... still stuck with IOS... sigh... must learn.... must learn...
flameblade
13-10-2005, 11:21 PM
was playing around with the 585 wireless today.
Found an interesting undocumented option in the CLI.
You can actually vary the power of wireless up to 255mW, but beyond, it dont seems to reflect.
hi there, is it the command "wireless debug txpower" where it shows TX pwr is 255 milliwatt?
not very familiar with the CLI lingo :(
vtecinside
14-10-2005, 12:25 AM
hi there, i'm new user here, am on ST585i 10mbps.
For the past few weeks, i have been experiencing frequent disconnections, connection last not more than 10 mins, this is frustrating. Playing online games such as FrozenThrone(DotA) in bnet, i often got lagged out, or got disconnected.
Event log: xDSL linestate down, followed by PPP link failed(Internet).
I have read this thread from the beginning, somehow quite confuse about many issues. any experts to help me/point out wads wrong, correct me? thks in advance.
trying to get some help here before i request for an exchange of modem.
had called technician down to check phone line: result working fine
does not bt
desktop pc, wired connection(Ethernet),winxp
Your help is greatly appreciated. :)
misato
14-10-2005, 12:38 AM
hi there, is it the command "wireless debug txpower" where it shows TX pwr is 255 milliwatt?
not very familiar with the CLI lingo :(
yup.. but there is extended option for you to use this command to set the power.
the full line should be
wireless debug txpower txpwr xxx
where xxx = the power in mW.
chaicka
14-10-2005, 12:42 AM
hi there, i'm new user here, am on ST585i 10mbps.
For the past few weeks, i have been experiencing frequent disconnections, connection last not more than 10 mins, this is frustrating. Playing online games such as FrozenThrone(DotA) in bnet, i often got lagged out, or got disconnected.
Event log: xDSL linestate down, followed by PPP link failed(Internet).
I have read this thread from the beginning, somehow quite confuse about many issues. any experts to help me/point out wads wrong, correct me? thks in advance.
trying to get some help here before i request for an exchange of modem.
had called technician down to check phone line: result working fine
does not bt
desktop pc, wired connection(Ethernet),winxp
Your help is greatly appreciated. :)
No line stats, no way to help...
vtecinside
14-10-2005, 12:59 AM
hi there. my linestate...
http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/1315380846/linestate.jpg (http://www.photoi.org)
chaicka
14-10-2005, 02:10 AM
Your line attenuation is clearly indicating that u are too far from the ADSL2+ DSLAM, thus resulting in poor line rates (downstream), and in order to be able to achieve >10mbps actual downstream, ur line rate need to be >12-13mbps.
Your SNR is ok. You can cross reference ur stats with those I have benchmarked in the FAQ thread.
vtecinside
14-10-2005, 05:29 AM
hi chaicka, i have read the FAQ but dont know wad to do.
any guidance on wad to do next? i'm at total lost :o
albertchng
14-10-2005, 08:39 AM
bingo!!!
jun jun cha bee hoon!!!
ke lian case!!!
chaicka
14-10-2005, 09:59 AM
To all new ADSL2+ users, please kindly post your line stats in the compilation thread, as I monitor that thread more often, and would advice accordingly. Furthermore, that thread contain many vital info for new users to read up too...
Shinji_U
15-10-2005, 02:43 AM
BTW any new stuff on the ST585?
One question for the RallyArt, can I upgrade the antenna of the ST585? I want to use my 7dbi antenna, can I unscrew the antenna on eh ST585 and replace it with my 7dbi ant?
chaicka
15-10-2005, 11:18 AM
Changing the antenna will depends on the connectors the CPE uses, and the replacement antenna.
Officially, I doubt they will issue any official statement on this, since it's business operation and liability that they have to consider.
Unofficially, replacement of antenna can be done without problem if the connectors are compatible. As long as there is no modifications to its originality, warranty should not be affected. But if u need to open up the device, changing/modifying the connector, etc in order to replace with another antenna, that will void the warranty.
aristein
15-10-2005, 12:04 PM
I am on Singtel 1500 and ST585 Speedtouch with the following settings on ST585
1) UPnP enabled
2) Firewall disabled
3) Portforwarded for BT
With the above, Should I still need to:
1) enable "UPnP Framework" in Window Firewall (Service Pack 2)?
2) enable "UPnP User Interface" under Window Componets, Networking Services?
- Formally on Jetpack 512, still find the current Singtel 1500 slower than Jetpack 512 :(
- I BT often and have disabled "UPnP Port Mapping" in Bitcomet, still getting crap speed.
- Have two microfilters
My DSL Link Information as follows:
Uptime: 0 days, 4:22:22
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 448 / 3.488
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 413,96 / 301,22
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 11,5 / 17,5
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 17,0 / 23,0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 25,0 / 28,5
Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ALCB
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 1 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 1
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
chaicka
15-10-2005, 12:15 PM
Your line stats are superb...no issue.
hangyong
15-10-2005, 01:58 PM
These 2 days, I have been getting quite alot of restarts on the ST585...
below is the system log after the most recent restart:
{hangyong}=>systemlog show
<4> SysUpTime: 00:00:00 KERNEL Warm restart
<6> SysUpTime: 00:00:01 WIRELESS interface turned on.
<85> SysUpTime: 00:00:04 FIREWALL event (1 of 1): enabled rules
<6> SysUpTime: 00:00:05 WIRELESS interface turned off.
<148> SysUpTime: 00:00:05 DHCS server up
<85> SysUpTime: 00:00:05 FIREWALL level changed to Disabled.
<85> SysUpTime: 00:00:05 FIREWALL has been disabled
<173> SysUpTime: 00:00:30 xDSL linestate up (downstream: 23529 kbit/s, upstream:
1031 kbit/s; output Power Down: 17.0 dBm, Up: 6.5 dBm; line Attenuation Down: 14.5 dB, Up: 4.5 dB; snr Margin Down: 6.5 dB, Up: 6.5 dB)
<38> SysUpTime: 00:00:31 PPP PAP Authenticate Request sent
<38> SysUpTime: 00:00:45 PPP PAP Authenticate Request sent
<35> SysUpTime: 00:00:45 PPP PAP authentication failed (Internet)
<38> SysUpTime: 00:00:45 PPP PAP Authenticate Nack received
<37> SysUpTime: 00:00:55 LOGIN User hangyong logged in on [HTTP] (from xxx.xxx.x.x)
<38> SysUpTime: 00:00:58 PPP PAP Authenticate Request sent
<38> SysUpTime: 00:00:59 PPP PAP Authenticate Ack received
<132> SysUpTime: 00:00:59 PPP link up (Internet) [xxx.xx.xx.xx]
<143> SysUpTime: 00:00:59 GRP Default destination is routed via gateway xxx.xx.xxx.xx
<100> SysUpTime: 00:01:16 SNTP Unable to contact server: 198.18.1.2
<37> SysUpTime: 00:01:35 LOGIN User logged in on TELNET (xxx.xxx.x.x)
<37> SysUpTime: 00:03:55 LOGOUT User logged out on TELNET (xxx.xxx.x.x
<37> SysUpTime: 00:04:37 LOGIN User logged in on TELNET (xxx.xxx.x.x)
seems like the problem is with the modem... keep going for warm restart....
within the last 24 hours, my IP has changed 4 times... but I do not have the logs of those though....
RallyART, any idea?
Not sure whether this is an issue with my ST585. However, would post it here for the gurus to feedback.
I have experiencing numerous occassions where if get "Unable to resolve target system name www.hardwarezone.com" when I do tracert.
This usually happens when I leave my PC running bitcomet in the day, after I coming back later in the night, when I try to do some surfing I can't surf at all. Doing a tracert would then show the above message. To be able to work again, I need to restart my Speedtouch, PC doesn't need to be rebooted.
Is this something to do with the Dynamic DNS settings? It is currently being disabled. Am running software firewall ZoneAlarm Pro. Hardware firewall on the Speedtouch is disabled.
hangyong
15-10-2005, 02:54 PM
Not sure whether this is an issue with my ST585. However, would post it here for the gurus to feedback.
I have experiencing numerous occassions where if get "Unable to resolve target system name www.hardwarezone.com" when I do tracert.
This usually happens when I leave my PC running bitcomet in the day, after I coming back later in the night, when I try to do some surfing I can't surf at all. Doing a tracert would then show the above message. To be able to work again, I need to restart my Speedtouch, PC doesn't need to be rebooted.
Is this something to do with the Dynamic DNS settings? It is currently being disabled. Am running software firewall ZoneAlarm Pro. Hardware firewall on the Speedtouch is disabled.
no, the problem is BT, not the ISP, not the router.
Just another interesting thing I just found out.
My mail server is running on a PC, which is also running BT.
I have another PC which I am using for work. All these are connected to the ST585.
Just now, when I was trying to access the mailserver from the work PC, it was not able to connect. But the work PC is still able to surf the web, etc.
Ping the BT machine from Work PC also all lost.
Went over to the Mail server and try to surf, cannot. But BT still running.
In the end, turn off the BT on the mail server. and what do you know? everything is working!
So, the problem is not with the router! And my mail server is running in G-NIC on a 2.8GHZ PC with 2GB of RAM.... and BT can still kill it.... so you know how big a PITA is BT.
no, the problem is BT, not the ISP, not the router.
Just another interesting thing I just found out.
My mail server is running on a PC, which is also running BT.
I have another PC which I am using for work. All these are connected to the ST585.
Just now, when I was trying to access the mailserver from the work PC, it was not able to connect. But the work PC is still able to surf the web, etc.
Ping the BT machine from Work PC also all lost.
Went over to the Mail server and try to surf, cannot. But BT still running.
In the end, turn off the BT on the mail server. and what do you know? everything is working!
So, the problem is not with the router! And my mail server is running in G-NIC on a 2.8GHZ PC with 2GB of RAM.... and BT can still kill it.... so you know how big a PITA is BT.
Hi in my case, my guess it is unlikely it is completely Bitcomet causing the problem, cause even after I close the BT, still cannot surf, still unable to resolve target sytsem name, only restarting the modem helps.
chaicka
15-10-2005, 05:02 PM
These 2 days, I have been getting quite alot of restarts on the ST585...
below is the system log after the most recent restart:
{hangyong}=>systemlog show
<4> SysUpTime: 00:00:00 KERNEL Warm restart
<6> SysUpTime: 00:00:01 WIRELESS interface turned on.
<85> SysUpTime: 00:00:04 FIREWALL event (1 of 1): enabled rules
<6> SysUpTime: 00:00:05 WIRELESS interface turned off.
<148> SysUpTime: 00:00:05 DHCS server up
<85> SysUpTime: 00:00:05 FIREWALL level changed to Disabled.
<85> SysUpTime: 00:00:05 FIREWALL has been disabled
<173> SysUpTime: 00:00:30 xDSL linestate up (downstream: 23529 kbit/s, upstream:
1031 kbit/s; output Power Down: 17.0 dBm, Up: 6.5 dBm; line Attenuation Down: 14.5 dB, Up: 4.5 dB; snr Margin Down: 6.5 dB, Up: 6.5 dB)
<37> SysUpTime: 00:00:55 LOGIN User hangyong logged in on [HTTP] (from xxx.xxx.x.x)
<143> SysUpTime: 00:00:59 GRP Default destination is routed via gateway xxx.xx.xxx.xx
<100> SysUpTime: 00:01:16 SNTP Unable to contact server: 198.18.1.2
<37> SysUpTime: 00:01:35 LOGIN User logged in on TELNET (xxx.xxx.x.x)
<37> SysUpTime: 00:03:55 LOGOUT User logged out on TELNET (xxx.xxx.x.x
<37> SysUpTime: 00:04:37 LOGIN User logged in on TELNET (xxx.xxx.x.x)
seems like the problem is with the modem... keep going for warm restart....
within the last 24 hours, my IP has changed 4 times... but I do not have the logs of those though....
RallyART, any idea?
Hahaha...RallyART cannot help much in this case, coz the problem lies with PPP sessions dropping. So, the key is BRAS.
chaicka
15-10-2005, 05:06 PM
Hi in my case, my guess it is unlikely it is completely Bitcomet causing the problem, cause even after I close the BT, still cannot surf, still unable to resolve target sytsem name, only restarting the modem helps.
That's coz the dns caching mechanism on tat system may have choked.
Next time it happens, try this:
1. In command prompt, type ipconfig /flushdns and hit ENTER.
2. Try if u can surf liao
If the above dun work, try this:
1. Disable the ethernet device, then enable it again.
Either one should resolve the issue, and that would confirm, it's not the CPE's problem.
princess086
15-10-2005, 06:24 PM
Hahaha...RallyART cannot help much in this case, coz the problem lies with PPP sessions dropping. So, the key is BRAS.
i think if you call singnet thoes lever one guy will tell you check with modem vandor your line no problem. :D
aristein
15-10-2005, 07:12 PM
Your line stats are superb...no issue.
Thanks.
Should I still need to:
1) enable "UPnP Framework" in Window Firewall (Service Pack 2)?
2) enable "UPnP User Interface" under Window Componets, Networking Services?
Asking cos dont want to have any configuration conflict between the router and the window.
hangyong
15-10-2005, 10:10 PM
ppp session drop will cause KERNAL restart ah? I though will simply just retrain the line....
chaicka
15-10-2005, 11:58 PM
By right should not. Could be the firmware code oso partial liable.
However, BRAS is liable for those PPP related issues, and obviously, there is some PPP authentication problem, thus repeated request sending and failing.
Well, the BRAS used for ADSL2+ service may not be as reliable as many would think it is.
That's coz the dns caching mechanism on tat system may have choked.
Next time it happens, try this:
1. In command prompt, type ipconfig /flushdns and hit ENTER.
If the above dun work, try this:
1. Disable the ethernet device, then enable it again.
Either one should resolve the issue, and that would confirm, it's not the CPE's problem.
Thanks for advice. By disable ethernet device, are you saying going to Control Panel -> Local Area Connection -> Local Area Connection Status and clicking disable?
chaicka
16-10-2005, 07:10 AM
Thanks for advice. By disable ethernet device, are you saying going to Control Panel -> Local Area Connection -> Local Area Connection Status and clicking disable?
Yup...tat's the one
hangyong
16-10-2005, 07:30 AM
By right should not. Could be the firmware code oso partial liable.
However, BRAS is liable for those PPP related issues, and obviously, there is some PPP authentication problem, thus repeated request sending and failing.
Well, the BRAS used for ADSL2+ service may not be as reliable as many would think it is.
oh.. you refering to that part.... yeah.. that I have to agree.. but so far, it only happened once... other than the time when the line was really crappy.
Most of the time, the authentication is a breeze... it gets authenticated very soon after the line is trained...
net_bee
18-10-2005, 11:27 AM
Hi, I am new to this forum. I upgraded my subscription from Magix to SingNet 10Mbps plan on September 24 and have since been plagued by a problem: My CRC errors pick up fast and I need to restart the ST585 a couple of times every day. Otherwise, the FTP speed would slow down to a crawl, sometimes even less than 200kbps.
I have been visited by Singtel twice and VR-net once after on-site installation. Singtel concluded the line is working fine, while VR-net replaced my modem and the same problem stays.
I have further observed the pattern of CRC error accumulation. I suspect the modem/router could be the cause...
I have 3 wired desktops and one wireless notebook sharing the same internet connection.
1) If I turn on all three wired desktops, the accumulation of CRC errors would slow down, meaning I can access internet without restarting the modem for much longer periods of time. (Good)
2) If I turn off any one of the desktops, the CRC errors start to pick up.
3) If I turn off any two of the desktops, the CRC errors pick up even faster.
4) If I turn off all three desktops, and monitor from the wireless notebook, the CRC errors just fly. (Bad)
Feeling curious, I disconnected two desktops from the modem/router, and keep only the main desktop on wired connection.
Same pattern emerges. Now as long as I keep the power of the main desktop on, the CRC errors drop significantly. Once I turn off the main desktop and use only wireless connection, CRS errors fly.
Somehow the modem/router seems to have problems handling wired connections that are off line. This does appear to be more a modem/router problem than a line problem.
Any one has insight/solution for this problem?
Regards
Net_Bee
hangyong
18-10-2005, 11:51 AM
Hi, I am new to this forum. I upgraded my subscription from Magix to SingNet 10Mbps plan on September 24 and have since been plagued by a problem: My CRC errors pick up fast and I need to restart the ST585 a couple of times every day. Otherwise, the FTP speed would slow down to a crawl, sometimes even less than 200kbps.
I have been visited by Singtel twice and VR-net once after on-site installation. Singtel concluded the line is working fine, while VR-net replaced my modem and the same problem stays.
I have further observed the pattern of CRC error accumulation. I suspect the modem/router could be the cause...
I have 3 wired desktops and one wireless notebook sharing the same internet connection.
1) If I turn on all three wired desktops, the accumulation of CRC errors would slow down, meaning I can access internet without restarting the modem for much longer periods of time. (Good)
4) If I turn off all three desktops, and monitor from the wireless notebook, the CRC errors just fly. (Bad)
Feeling curious, I disconnected two desktops from the modem/router, and keep only the main desktop on wired connection.
Same pattern emerges. Now as long as I keep the power of the main desktop on, the CRC errors drop significantly. Once I turn off the main desktop and use only wireless connection, CRS errors fly.
Somehow the modem/router seems to have problems handling wired connections that are off line. This does appear to be more a modem/router problem than a line problem.
Regards
Net_Bee
1. can you post your line stats?
2. it might also be the cables thats going to the other PCs that is causing problems
I have a video conference device, and 2 other PCs connected via wire. and a IP Camera via the wireless interface.
So basically, all the ports are filled on my ST585.
no such problems as you mentioned.
what is the rate of CRCs that you are getting? averaging how many per hour?
princess086
18-10-2005, 01:30 PM
Regards
Net_Bee
you problem will only occure after a few hours of connection right?
chaicka
18-10-2005, 01:47 PM
Regards
Net_Bee
First of all, just to set expectations straight. Magix Premiumsurf is one solid broadband service which none others are anywhere on-par with its stability, reliability and genuinely "always-on". As such, you need to set your expectations correctly, and should not be benchmarking your SNBB connection with Magix PremiumSurf connection.
princess086
18-10-2005, 04:33 PM
First of all, just to set expectations straight. Magix Premiumsurf is one solid broadband service which none others are anywhere on-par with its stability, reliability and genuinely "always-on". As such, you need to set your expectations correctly, and should not be benchmarking your SNBB connection with Magix PremiumSurf connection.
hi chaicka just to check with you for MOL is its can count as aways on connecton?
chaicka
18-10-2005, 05:03 PM
Nope.
MOL is not genuinely "always on" connection too, since it's using DHCP to assign IP address. Genuinely "always on" connections are connections like lease line, atm, etc which has been assigned with a static ip address/addresses.
Basically, MOL connections, the moment the connection cannot successfully lease an ip address from the DHCP server, the connection is as good as dead (be it a new lease or a lease renewal when current lease expires). So, when there is problem with the DHCP servers (theoritically impossible for all DHCP servers to be down at the same time) no connection can access to anywhere at all.
Do u call these kind of connections truly "always on"?
liangtam
18-10-2005, 05:24 PM
No, Magix is not "always-on", some maintainence being done at their phone exchange and you're offline. Maybe leased-line instead.
net_bee
19-10-2005, 09:02 AM
1. can you post your line stats?
2. it might also be the cables thats going to the other PCs that is causing problems
I have a video conference device, and 2 other PCs connected via wire. and a IP Camera via the wireless interface.
So basically, all the ports are filled on my ST585.
no such problems as you mentioned.
what is the rate of CRCs that you are getting? averaging how many per hour?
Hi Hangyong,
1. I haven't figured out how to post a screen snapshot yet. Will do it once I learn how to do it.
2. I have tried different cables by switching them around. I also tried to use different desktops as the main computer (only computer with wired connection). However, I still see similar patterns.
3. On the bright side, my connection is very fast (FTP around 10Mbps) once I restart the modem. It just does not last if I have wired desktops offline.
Regards,
Net_Bee
net_bee
19-10-2005, 09:10 AM
you problem will only occure after a few hours of connection right?
Yes, the speed would slow down to unacceptable level only after a few hours. (It took more than 3 mins to open Goole home page after about 5-6 hours) Though the CRC errors keep accumlating all the time.
Net_Bee
hangyong
19-10-2005, 09:33 AM
Hi Hangyong,
1. I haven't figured out how to post a screen snapshot yet. Will do it once I learn how to do it.
2. I have tried different cables by switching them around. I also tried to use different desktops as the main computer (only computer with wired connection). However, I still see similar patterns.
3. On the bright side, my connection is very fast (FTP around 10Mbps) once I restart the modem. It just does not last if I have wired desktops offline.
Regards,
Net_Bee
you BT?
you can put the picture in any webserver you have access to and then link to it from here.
if you cannot, copy it and type it here.
what is your CRC accumulation speed like?
chaicka
19-10-2005, 09:46 AM
No, Magix is not "always-on", some maintainence being done at their phone exchange and you're offline. Maybe leased-line instead.
Please lah, even lease line, DWDM line, etc oso has maintenance. So those oso dun consider as "always on".
In the industry, when we deem "always on", it does not take maintenance shutdown into consideration, coz that's human factor, part and parcel of scheduled routine, be it bi-weekly, monthly, quarterly, half-yearly or annually.
Or shall we factor in outages like scheduled facilities power maintenance, scheduled DR exercise (quarterly or half-yearly or yearly, depends on companies' policies), etc.
The technology behind Magix is already "always-on".
net_bee
19-10-2005, 09:57 AM
Hi Hangyong,
Regards,
Net_Bee
1. Here is the screenshot. I hope it works.
http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/950628297/screenshot.jpg
On the average CRC errors per hour, it is something like the following. (The numbers are from different time periods of the day, so it is not very scientific - just to give a rough idea)
a. all wired connection on
2K - 5K CRC errors / hour
b. three wired connection, one off, two on
24K-30K CRC errors / hour
c. three wired connection, two off, one on
50K-100K CRC errors/hour
d. all wired connection off
around 200K CRC errors/hour
Net_Bee
hangyong
19-10-2005, 10:22 AM
1. Here is the screenshot. I hope it works.
http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/950628297/screenshot.jpg
On the average CRC errors per hour, it is something like the following. (The numbers are from different time periods of the day, so it is not very scientific - just to give a rough idea)
a. all wired connection on
2K - 5K CRC errors / hour
b. three wired connection, one off, two on
24K-30K CRC errors / hour
c. three wired connection, two off, one on
50K-100K CRC errors/hour
d. all wired connection off
around 200K CRC errors/hour
Net_Bee
thats very interesting, as your line is one of the best around....
and seriously, even 2k/h for CRC is pretty high.
the more PCs connected, the better.... very interesting....
Another X-file case....
you BT?
net_bee
19-10-2005, 10:23 AM
To me Magix was never "always on" as my plan only had 30 hours of free access to be shared among my whole family. Plus I did not have a home network set up for Magix so I could only access from one computer at a time.
After the upgrade, it is a joy to surf at 10Mbps speed. On the other hand, I never expected that I have to teach my daughter (11) and son (9) how to restart the ST585 before they do their homework.
It would be great if I can have the speed and, hopefully, stability. (too greedy?)
Net_Bee
net_bee
19-10-2005, 10:26 AM
Another X-file case....
you BT?
what is BT?
Net_Bee
chaicka
19-10-2005, 10:34 AM
To me Magix was never "always on" as my plan only had 30 hours of free access to be shared among my whole family. Plus I did not have a home network set up for Magix so I could only access from one computer at a time.
After the upgrade, it is a joy to surf at 10Mbps speed. On the other hand, I never expected that I have to teach my daughter (11) and son (9) how to restart the ST585 before they do their homework.
It would be great if I can have the speed and, hopefully, stability. (too greedy?)
Net_Bee
Pardon me, but if u have read properly, I have always refer to Magix PremiumSurf, and that PremiumSurf plan is a unlimited, always connected service.
Your so-called magix plan is those of lower priced plans, whereby it's time-based.
We are discussing on the technical aspects, and not the marketing or product specifications.
Like I mentioned, as SNBB plans are all PPP-based, it's not going to be as stable as Magix PremiumSurf plan. How stable it is, really depends on the area u are in, the service plan u are on (tat will determine which BRAS u will be using), the quality of the line, plus other X-factors.
In short, if u truly want very reliable and stable connection and ain't afraid to pay a premium, u can always subscribe to Magix PremiumSurf (Unlimited). Many ex-PremiumSurf users can vouch for its trustworthiness, and not to mention many of us are still onboard and have no intention to jump to SNBB due to this reliability and stability factor, despite paying a premium for a lower speed.
Having said that, I believe we (pple in the forum) can help you to identify and resolve or minimize the problem u are facing. Have some patience with us as ur case is really weird, and since we are not physically doing a site-visit, we can only visualize and analyse based on ur online inputs.
chaicka
19-10-2005, 10:35 AM
what is BT?
Net_Bee
BT means Bit Torrent, means p2p traffic...check if ur kids uses p2p.
net_bee
19-10-2005, 10:36 AM
Another X-file case....
you BT?
If I have only one pc with wired connection and keep it on, I have similar results as three wired connection and keep all three on. It seems to be an issue with how the modem/router handle offline wired connections and that really puzzles me.
Net_Bee
net_bee
19-10-2005, 10:43 AM
BT means Bit Torrent, means p2p traffic...check if ur kids uses p2p.
I see. No, we haven't used BT.
Net_Bee
hangyong
19-10-2005, 10:54 AM
If I have only one pc with wired connection and keep it on, I have similar results as three wired connection and keep all three on. It seems to be an issue with how the modem/router handle offline wired connections and that really puzzles me.
Net_Bee
have you tried disconnecting the cables from the modem to the PCs?
try to disconnect only 1 (non main PC),and try.... then try the other ports while plugging back what you pulled out earlier.
I am wondering could your network cables be the problems.... although very unlikely to cause CRC on the ADSL interface...
is your power socket for the ST585 properly earthed? maybe you can try another power point which is not sharing the same power line?
net_bee
19-10-2005, 11:24 AM
Pardon me, but if u have read properly, I have always refer to Magix PremiumSurf, and that PremiumSurf plan is a unlimited, always connected service.
Your so-called magix plan is those of lower priced plans, whereby it's time-based.
We are discussing on the technical aspects, and not the marketing or product specifications.
Like I mentioned, as SNBB plans are all PPP-based, it's not going to be as stable as Magix PremiumSurf plan. How stable it is, really depends on the area u are in, the service plan u are on (tat will determine which BRAS u will be using), the quality of the line, plus other X-factors.
In short, if u truly want very reliable and stable connection and ain't afraid to pay a premium, u can always subscribe to Magix PremiumSurf (Unlimited). Many ex-PremiumSurf users can vouch for its trustworthiness, and not to mention many of us are still onboard and have no intention to jump to SNBB due to this reliability and stability factor, despite paying a premium for a lower speed.
Having said that, I believe we (pple in the forum) can help you to identify and resolve or minimize the problem u are facing. Have some patience with us as ur case is really weird, and since we are not physically doing a site-visit, we can only visualize and analyse based on ur online inputs.
Thanks. Please let me know if you need me to run some tests. I am working from home this week.
Net_Bee
chaicka
19-10-2005, 11:29 AM
Hmmm, juz some things u may want to look into:
1. Possible interference like power cables are in same trucking as phone cables, or phone cables near power sockets, etc...(check out other threads, there are cases like phone cable in same trucking as power cable so user turn on bomb shelter lights it will cause d/c, another case is user switch on threadmill and it will affect the ADSL2+, and another case is user phone cable is passing through one of the bedroom near the power socket so whenever that bedroom's owner switch on the power it impact the ADSL2+ service, and many other cases already posted in here).
CRC errors are normally due to internal cabling and interference problem, or a poor quality line. But for your case, ur line is superb...near DSLAM, good SNR (ADSL2+ is not the higher the better, it's within a specific range the better).
hangyong
19-10-2005, 11:44 AM
Hmmm, juz some things u may want to look into:
1. Possible interference like power cables are in same trucking as phone cables, or phone cables near power sockets, etc...(check out other threads, there are cases like phone cable in same trucking as power cable so user turn on bomb shelter lights it will cause d/c, another case is user switch on threadmill and it will affect the ADSL2+, and another case is user phone cable is passing through one of the bedroom near the power socket so whenever that bedroom's owner switch on the power it impact the ADSL2+ service, and many other cases already posted in here).
CRC errors are normally due to internal cabling and interference problem, or a poor quality line. But for your case, ur line is superb...near DSLAM, good SNR (ADSL2+ is not the higher the better, it's within a specific range the better).
true, but funny thing is, when only main PC on, or when ALL PCs on... problem not so bad...
when either of the other PCs are on... siao liao....
when all 3 PCs off, with just wireless on.... CRC also siao...
:s11:
still cracking my head.. never in my 10years in IT encountered this siah... haha
net_bee, where you stay?
chaicka
19-10-2005, 12:20 PM
Net_Bee
Juz curious, what are the NICs used in these 3 PCs?
Happen to be D-Link, 538 series?
If ur findings is correct, try unplugging all LAN connections out, and go thru the same tests u have conducted. If power-off systems but physically still connected is an issue, while physically not connected is not an issue, then we can narrow it down and look into other areas for the root cause of the problem.
If ur findings is correct, it may be some power-saving or wake-up magic packets causing problems. I know of a particular problem wif D-Link's 538 specific rev. causing wake-up packets related problem.
chaicka
19-10-2005, 12:29 PM
true, but funny thing is, when only main PC on, or when ALL PCs on... problem not so bad...
still cracking my head.. never in my 10years in IT encountered this siah... haha
net_bee, where you stay?
wow, didn't noe u are my senior leh.....I oni been working in IT for 7 years...though exposed to IT is longer than tat ;)...
There are lotz of weird scenarios u will encounter if u start out low as in working in helpdesk or technical support or TA. Seen many weird x-file scenarios liao so I am not surprise when someone come up wif these kind of x-files cases.
Throw one for u: Ever seen a mobile phone will hang a laptop whenever it rings or to be exact, whenever there is an incoming transmission as in speakers will have tat "te te te" sound, CRT monitor will flickers, but in this case, it hangs the laptop. To be more specific, only that particular make and model of that mobile phone has this effect.
hangyong
19-10-2005, 01:16 PM
wow, didn't noe u are my senior leh.....I oni been working in IT for 7 years...though exposed to IT is longer than tat ;)...
There are lotz of weird scenarios u will encounter if u start out low as in working in helpdesk or technical support or TA. Seen many weird x-file scenarios liao so I am not surprise when someone come up wif these kind of x-files cases.
Throw one for u: Ever seen a mobile phone will hang a laptop whenever it rings or to be exact, whenever there is an incoming transmission as in speakers will have tat "te te te" sound, CRT monitor will flickers, but in this case, it hangs the laptop. To be more specific, only that particular make and model of that mobile phone has this effect.
dun say senior lah... just more years of working in the line of IT only... not necessary more knowledgable one...
haha.. dun tell me the model of the phone is Ericsson T68.... haha
chaicka
19-10-2005, 01:22 PM
dun say senior lah... just more years of working in the line of IT only... not necessary more knowledgable one...
haha.. dun tell me the model of the phone is Ericsson T68.... haha
Nope...it was Samsung early model...and the customer was a CEO of a big MNC...;)
net_bee
19-10-2005, 03:21 PM
Juz curious, what are the NICs used in these 3 PCs?
Happen to be D-Link, 538 series?
If ur findings is correct, try unplugging all LAN connections out, and go thru the same tests u have conducted. If power-off systems but physically still connected is an issue, while physically not connected is not an issue, then we can narrow it down and look into other areas for the root cause of the problem.
If ur findings is correct, it may be some power-saving or wake-up magic packets causing problems. I know of a particular problem wif D-Link's 538 specific rev. causing wake-up packets related problem.
The three NICs are 2 Compex RE100ATX and 1 2Wire. I have diabled the wakeup feature on the Compex via the Device Manager.
At this moment, it does seem that the problem is caused by wire connected pcs which is powered off. If the pcs are not wire connected, it is OK. I replaced one wired connection with D-LINK G122 USB wireless adaptor. Now whether this pc is on or off does not affect the CRC errors any more. (Well, there is a small spike in CRC errors when the pc goes off. But it stablizes after that...)
Now with 2 wired pcs both on, I got 734 CRC errors for the past 80 mins (is it still high?). I hope this is not one-time magic. Maybe I have to go totally wireless if this is the case. Will report again if the results are consistent.
Net_Bee
hangyong
19-10-2005, 03:27 PM
The three NICs are 2 Compex RE100ATX and 1 2Wire. I have diabled the wakeup feature on the Compex via the Device Manager.
At this moment, it does seem that the problem is caused by wire connected pcs which is powered off. If the pcs are not wire connected, it is OK. I replaced one wired connection with D-LINK G122 USB wireless adaptor. Now whether this pc is on or off does not affect the CRC errors any more. (Well, there is a small spike in CRC errors when the pc goes off. But it stablizes after that...)
Now with 2 wired pcs both on, I got 734 CRC errors for the past 80 mins (is it still high?). I hope this is not one-time magic. Maybe I have to go totally wireless if this is the case. Will report again if the results are consistent.
Net_Bee
I have a pretty stable connection, and will consider 300 CRC/hr to be high, of course, that is an average value.. if it stabalise and slows down... I guess its ok....
your cables you lay yourself one ah?
net_bee
19-10-2005, 03:35 PM
have you tried disconnecting the cables from the modem to the PCs?
try to disconnect only 1 (non main PC),and try.... then try the other ports while plugging back what you pulled out earlier.
I am wondering could your network cables be the problems.... although very unlikely to cause CRC on the ADSL interface...
is your power socket for the ST585 properly earthed? maybe you can try another power point which is not sharing the same power line?
Tried plugging into wall socket. Earthing does not seem to be the cause of the problem.
Still doing the connection/disconnection test. Now I am using only port 3 and 4 and CRC errors seem to improve... Will report if the good results stay after a couple of restarts....
Net_Bee
net_bee
19-10-2005, 03:42 PM
I have a pretty stable connection, and will consider 300 CRC/hr to be high, of course, that is an average value.. if it stabalise and slows down... I guess its ok....
your cables you lay yourself one ah?
No, all my my desktops are near each other so I just use those packaged with Routers/Modems. I also bought a couple from Challenger (including CAT6). Changing the cable does not seem to change the results.
Net_Bee
net_bee
19-10-2005, 03:50 PM
net_bee, where you stay?
I guess I threw a good challenge at you. I contacted Singtel and VR-Net several times and they kept telling me it has been escalated but is still under investigation.
I stay in Mount Sinai Rise area.
Net_Bee
hangyong
19-10-2005, 03:56 PM
I guess I threw a good challenge at you. I contacted Singtel and VR-Net several times and they kept telling me it has been escalated but is still under investigation.
I stay in Mount Sinai Rise area.
Net_Bee
Ridgewood condo? Kamehameha?
yah... tell me about the challange... haha...
VR-Net already changed a modem for you right?
Also, are you using the phone cable that came with the modem? and are you using the Micro filter provided by them?
princess086
19-10-2005, 04:28 PM
Net_Bee
how about you might want to try unpug all cable and just connect through wireless and monitor the connection again.
chaicka
19-10-2005, 04:59 PM
Juz a crazy idea cross my mind...
Is your ethernet cables to respective PCs laid along with the phone cable? Could somehow, during powering off the PC(s), a surge or watsoever interference generated and injet into the ethernet cables causing interference to the phone cable thus affecting ur ADSL2+ service.
hangyong
19-10-2005, 05:06 PM
Is your ethernet cables to respective PCs laid along with the phone cable? Could somehow, during powering off the PC(s), a surge or watsoever interference generated and injet into the ethernet cables causing interference to the phone cable thus affecting ur ADSL2+ service.
I guess he answered that question if he had understood my question correctly.
His cables are not laid I guess, just loose cable. connecting to each other, as they are close to each other.
But I am thinking along the same line as you.... it might also be the cables are not earthed properly in the NIC.
chaicka
19-10-2005, 05:59 PM
If the user agrees, maybe a few of us can arrange to pay a site visit...it may be interesting if we can resolve it and learn a lesson...
Boy am I itchy hands coz nowadays I dun do hands on so often liao...abit miss those good old days.
ekeniki
19-10-2005, 06:46 PM
anyone playing gunz online or rakion using st 585i and can port forward? .. dunno how come even after port forward or dmz still cannot play tat game sia.. inside always have the 999 ping etc.. then after checking the forums.. it says port forwarding will solve liaoz leh.. anyone?
hangyong
19-10-2005, 10:04 PM
If the user agrees, maybe a few of us can arrange to pay a site visit...it may be interesting if we can resolve it and learn a lesson...
Boy am I itchy hands coz nowadays I dun do hands on so often liao...abit miss those good old days.
haha... I think maybe the few of us "uncles" can sit down lim kopi after that...
I also damn long never to hands-on liao...
I dun mind going down.... not too far for me...
net_bee
20-10-2005, 10:25 AM
Ridgewood condo? Kamehameha?
yah... tell me about the challange... haha...
VR-Net already changed a modem for you right?
Also, are you using the phone cable that came with the modem? and are you using the Micro filter provided by them?
Yes, VR-Net changed one modem for me. But to be fair, I did not do much tweaking on the first modem. Both modems slow down after a period of time. The reason I am a bit cautious here is I am finding something very puzzling on this modem. Will report in a separate posting.
I have tried different combination of phone calbes (4 pin, 2 pin, including a high quality one I got from Challenger). I also tried to either use the micro filters (there are two attached) or direct connetion into the phone jack. No much difference.
Net_Bee
net_bee
20-10-2005, 10:31 AM
how about you might want to try unpug all cable and just connect through wireless and monitor the connection again.
If I have no wired connection but only wireless connection, I am back to the 2k-5k CRC errors per hour, which is similar to having 3 wired pcs and power on all pcs.
Net_Bee
net_bee
20-10-2005, 10:40 AM
They are not laid along with phone cable, but two of them are laid with Cable TV cable. Will disconnect the Cable TV and see if that is the cause. Thanks for the suggestion.
Net_Bee
net_bee
20-10-2005, 11:02 AM
haha... I think maybe the few of us "uncles" can sit down lim kopi after that...
I also damn long never to hands-on liao...
I dun mind going down.... not too far for me...
You are welcome to come over, this thing is kind of freaking me out. I hope you can hold your calm if you read on....
There seems to be an optimal number of wired pcs - which is the magic number two. I turned on both pcs, restart the modem, and for the past hour, I got a total CRC errors of 97 - my personal best ever. The two pcs are connected to port 3 and 4. I tried other ports, but sometimes got "DSL not working" when I restart and needed to wait a bit longer. Not very systematic test but since port 3 & 4 work, I just stick to these two ports.
The magic continues. Now if I power off one of the two pcs, CRC errors still remain stable. But if I power off both pcs, CRC errors start to pick up - but still not as bad as one wired pc powered off or three wired pcs all powered off...
My mobile is 96987476. I can sms my address to you gurus to have a look at my haunted modem.
Net_Bee
hangyong
20-10-2005, 11:05 AM
You are welcome to come over, this thing is kind of freaking me out. I hope you can hold your calmness if you read on....
There seems to be an optimal number of wired pcs - which is the magic number two. I turned on both pcs, restart the modem, and for the past hour, I got a total CRC errors of 97.... My personal best ever. The two pcs are connected to port 3 and 4. I tried other ports, but sometimes got DSL not working when I restart and needed to wait longer
will see when chiacka is free... maybe saturday morning go look see...
you mentioned 2 microfilter. You have to connect them correctly if there are 2 ports. make sure each phone socket that has a phone/fax connected as a microfilter.
connect the phone port to the phone, and the line port to the line and the PC port to the router.
sorry if it sound like I am talking to a novice, but sometimes, even I will overlook things like these at times....
also, try to do a factory reset.
then using the setup wizard, configure your PPPoE again.
After that, go into CLI, disable the IDS and firewall first.
then go into web interface, delete away ALL the unnecesary items in the "games and applications", leaving only those that you need.
then restart your modem and try again.
activate your firewall and IDS if needed.
IDS = Intrusion Detection System.
hangyong
20-10-2005, 11:07 AM
I can sms my address to you gurus to have a look at my haunted modem.
Net_Bee
you need us to bring a "sai gong" over as well?? haha =:p
net_bee
20-10-2005, 11:11 AM
I guess he answered that question if he had understood my question correctly.
His cables are not laid I guess, just loose cable. connecting to each other, as they are close to each other.
But I am thinking along the same line as you.... it might also be the cables are not earthed properly in the NIC.
You are right. My cables are loose cables going along the floor and wall edge. I have cable TV cable (also loose cable) and LAN cable going side by side, but no phone cable. Hope this clarifies.
Net_Bee
hangyong
20-10-2005, 11:17 AM
You are right. My cables are loose cables going along the floor and wall edge. I have cable TV cable (also loose cable) and LAN cable going side by side, but no phone cable. Hope this clarifies.
Net_Bee
any of your phone cables laid together with power cables?
preddyxx
20-10-2005, 11:20 AM
hi guys , 2 weeks ago , i managed to get a copy of the 5.3.2.6 firmware and flash my st585 , the cdrom comes with many configurations and pppoa mode enabled. I been using it in half-bridge mode with my router and has no problems..so if anyone needs advice , do gimme a pm.thanks
hangyong
20-10-2005, 11:29 AM
hi guys , 2 weeks ago , i managed to get a copy of the 5.3.2.6 firmware and flash my st585 , the cdrom comes with many configurations and pppoa mode enabled. I been using it in half-bridge mode with my router and has no problems..so if anyone needs advice , do gimme a pm.thanks
half bridge mode???
I was under the impression that only full bridge mode is available. What makes you say that its in half-bridge mode?
anyway, where you get it from? If from VR-Net, I guess they have already told you not to reveal out right?
net_bee
20-10-2005, 11:32 AM
will see when chiacka is free... maybe saturday morning go look see...
you mentioned 2 microfilter. You have to connect them correctly if there are 2 ports. make sure each phone socket that has a phone/fax connected as a microfilter.
connect the phone port to the phone, and the line port to the line and the PC port to the router.
sorry if it sound like I am talking to a novice, but sometimes, even I will overlook things like these at times....
also, try to do a factory reset.
then using the setup wizard, configure your PPPoE again.
After that, go into CLI, disable the IDS and firewall first.
then go into web interface, delete away ALL the unnecesary items in the "games and applications", leaving only those that you need.
then restart your modem and try again.
activate your firewall and IDS if needed.
IDS = Intrusion Detection System.
Don't worry, I am quite a novice on networking stuff.
Saturday morning is good for me. I have a doctor appointment at 12pm. So if we could do it in the early part of morning, that would be great. I am wide open after the doctor appointment, so afternoon after 2:30pm would be good too if it suits you.
On the micro filter, I meant I tried both ones (one at a time) that came with the modem as I suspected one could be malfunctioning. Confirmed Line goes to phone jack on the wall, Modem goes to ST585, and Phone goes to my fax/phone.
I have a bit phobia on resetting the modem to factory settings as I am afraid I won't be able to get it working again. Is it a quite simple process to go through? Not very familiar with this CLI stuff...
Maybe no need for 'sai gong', just some spells will do.
Net_Bee
net_bee
20-10-2005, 11:39 AM
any of your phone cables laid together with power cables?
Possible but not sure as they are in the wall. My phone jack is next to the power sockets, so it could be the case...
Net_Bee
hangyong
20-10-2005, 12:05 PM
Don't worry, I am quite a novice on networking stuff.
Saturday morning is good for me. I have a doctor appointment at 12pm. So if we could do it in the early part of morning, that would be great. I am wide open after the doctor appointment, so afternoon after 2:30pm would be good too if it suits you.
On the micro filter, I meant I tried both ones (one at a time) that came with the modem as I suspected one could be malfunctioning. Confirmed Line goes to phone jack on the wall, Modem goes to ST585, and Phone goes to my fax/phone.
I have a bit phobia on resetting the modem to factory settings as I am afraid I won't be able to get it working again. Is it a quite simple process to go through? Not very familiar with this CLI stuff...
Maybe no need for 'sai gong', just some spells will do.
Net_Bee
to reset to factory setting, just press the small little button at the back of the router (with a pin) for about 5sec with the power on (at least that is what I do).
it will revert back to factory setting.
after that, make sure your PC is in DHCP, and then connect to 192.168.1.254 in your web browser
after that, click on "setup wizard" and key in all the appropriate usenames and password, and thats it.
then after that, can follow everything else that I wrote earlier...
if you wan, I can try to do a remote access to your router to have a look first.... but you must give me access from your router.
net_bee
20-10-2005, 04:45 PM
to reset to factory setting, just press the small little button at the back of the router (with a pin) for about 5sec with the power on (at least that is what I do).
after that, make sure your PC is in DHCP, and then connect to 192.168.1.254 in your web browser
after that, click on "setup wizard" and key in all the appropriate usenames and password, and thats it.
if you wan, I can try to do a remote access to your router to have a look first.... but you must give me access from your router.
I am on VPN for my work, so wont be able to reset the modem till this evening. I would not mind giving you access. How do I do that?
By the way, 268 CRC errors for 7 long hours...... New record!
Net_Bee
hangyong
20-10-2005, 04:47 PM
I am on VPN for my work, so wont be able to reset the modem till this evening. I would not mind giving you access. How do I do that?
Net_Bee
hmm... thats very stable... good.... seems like we may not need to go down afterall....
now you turn on all 3 PCs (connected via cable, not wireless) still got problem?
net_bee
20-10-2005, 05:05 PM
hmm... thats very stable... good.... seems like we may not need to go down afterall....
now you turn on all 3 PCs (connected via cable, not wireless) still got problem?
I am on 2 pcs with both powered on + one wireless notebook for my office work.
The problem is if I turn off both pcs, the CRC errors pick up again... That part still needs some fix... But it has been a big improvement. At least I can work 7 hours without restarting the modem. Thanks to all of you who chipped in your opinions.
Net_Bee
net_bee
20-10-2005, 05:07 PM
I am on 2 pcs with both powered on + one wireless notebook for my office work.
The problem is if I turn off both pcs, the CRC errors pick up again... That part still needs some fix... But it has been a big improvement. At least I can work 7 hours without restarting the modem. Thanks to all of you who chipped in your opinions.
Net_Bee
Will follow up on the 3 pc wired connection. Got a conference call to atend....
Net_Bee
net_bee
20-10-2005, 05:25 PM
Added 3rd wired pc and within 3 mins, CRC errors jump over 4K from less than 300. Switched back to wireless on the 3rd pc and CRC errors stablize now...
Yesterday when I added the 3rd wired pc, I did a restart on the modem. With all 3 pcs powered on, it was OK. But when I turned off the power of the 3rd pc, CRC errors started jumping....
So I guess 2 wired pcs are still the best for my modem.
Net_Bee
chaicka
20-10-2005, 07:24 PM
Could that 3rd PC be the culprit to all ur problems?
princess086
20-10-2005, 07:44 PM
Added 3rd wired pc and within 3 mins, CRC errors jump over 4K from less than 300. Switched back to wireless on the 3rd pc and CRC errors stablize now...
Yesterday when I added the 3rd wired pc, I did a restart on the modem. With all 3 pcs powered on, it was OK. But when I turned off the power of the 3rd pc, CRC errors started jumping....
So I guess 2 wired pcs are still the best for my modem.
Net_Bee
try unpug the 3rd pc LAN cable and try again
princess086
20-10-2005, 08:00 PM
Net_Bee
268 CRC errors for 7 long hours is quite ok la
net_bee
20-10-2005, 09:39 PM
They are not laid along with phone cable, but two of them are laid with Cable TV cable. Will disconnect the Cable TV and see if that is the cause. Thanks for the suggestion.
Net_Bee
Disconnected the Cable TV cable, turned off both wired computers, and CRC errors start to build... Same as before...
Net_Bee
net_bee
20-10-2005, 09:47 PM
Good question. Will find a way to test. I guess I could use my notebook as 3rd wired pc...
However, the problem of CRC errors picking up when both wired pcs are powered off still stays.... This is when the 3rd pc is on wireless...So in theory, we found only half of the culprit...
:s8:
Will report my test result using notebook as 3rd wired pc.
Net_Bee
net_bee
20-10-2005, 09:56 PM
Thinking about doing the factory reset tonight now that my kids are in bed after their homework. I noticed there is a function for me to save my current settings into a file. Since if I screw this up, I would not be able to access this forum and ask for help. Would the saved file at least bring me back to where I am?
Net_Bee
net_bee
20-10-2005, 10:01 PM
268 CRC errors for 7 long hours is quite ok la
Yes, no complaints. Just that I need to keep the wired pcs powered on, otherwise the errors come back again...
Net_Bee
chaicka
20-10-2005, 10:02 PM
Good question. Will find a way to test. I guess I could use my notebook as 3rd wired pc...
However, the problem of CRC errors picking up when both wired pcs are powered off still stays.... This is when the 3rd pc is on wireless...So in theory, we found only half of the culprit...
:s8:
Will report my test result using notebook as 3rd wired pc.
Net_Bee
If it's not too much CRC, it's actually ok...
My own benchmark (not tat reliable yet, me still learning and analysing) for ADSL2+ now is:
<150 per hour is actually quite ok. But try to keep less than 100 per hour. It's almost quite impossible to get 0 CRC error on ADSL2+, due to how sensitive it is to interference.
hangyong
20-10-2005, 10:31 PM
Thinking about doing the factory reset tonight now that my kids are in bed after their homework. I noticed there is a function for me to save my current settings into a file. Since if I screw this up, I would not be able to access this forum and ask for help. Would the saved file at least bring me back to where I am?
Net_Bee
yes it will
hangyong
20-10-2005, 10:34 PM
My own benchmark (not tat reliable yet, me still learning and analysing) for ADSL2+ now is:
<150 per hour is actually quite ok. But try to keep less than 100 per hour. It's almost quite impossible to get 0 CRC error on ADSL2+, due to how sensitive it is to interference.
to me, its abit too low.... <150 is considered very good liao... I can get almost 300 CRC/hour at the initial stage of connection, but it will then slowly stabalise until lilke 2days 1400 CRC....
nightkids86
20-10-2005, 10:35 PM
from wad i heard ..
- the 1st lineman tech told mi that HUAWEI engineer still canot give them a spec on how much CRCs is within the spec ...
- the 2nd higher management singnet tech told mi ADSL2+ connection during the sync when trying to SYNC the CRCs will reach ard 100+(nv give a specified value) ...
chaicka
20-10-2005, 11:33 PM
from wad i heard ..
- the 1st lineman tech told mi that HUAWEI engineer still canot give them a spec on how much CRCs is within the spec ...
- the 2nd higher management singnet tech told mi ADSL2+ connection during the sync when trying to SYNC the CRCs will reach ard 100+(nv give a specified value) ...
That's why I cannot provide any benchmark on CRC Errors for ADSL2+ ....;)
But, that when sync CRC errors reach ard 100+ is bullsh!t.....there are lines which dun hit anywhere near that amount of CRC errors at all. Basically, it's becoz they are falling short on the attenuation...check my updated and finalized info in the FAQ thread.
net_bee
21-10-2005, 08:38 AM
Bingo! I guess you caught the culprit... Though I don't know what caused it, the third wired pc, which was also my main pc as it is sitting next to the modem, seems to be the mother of all these sins...
1) I added my notebook as 3rd wired pc via LAN cable without restarting the modem. No pick up in CRC errors.
2) Unplugged the notebook and added back my main pc as 3rd wired pc. CRC errors pick up.
3) Switched my main pc back to wireless. Noticed a spike in CRC errors when the main pc switches on. After that, CRC errors stablize.
4) Moved my modem farther away from my main pc and noticed a smaller spike in CRC errors when it is switched on...
Since the problematic pc is my main pc, it was always included when I did the test of 1 wired pc, 2 wired pcs, 3 wired pcs in my first posting. It was only excluded when I followed Hangyong and your advice to plug/unplug into different ports with different combinations.
Now to the other half of culprit (high CRC errors when I turned both wired pcs off)
The culprit was no one else but me! :o
The errors that pick up when both pcs are powered off are not CRC errors but FEC errors. Since it jumps in similar pattern and is just next to the CRC errors, I mistook them as CRC errors. - My apologies...
Question:
Before all these experiments, I had almost zero FEC errors but high CRC errors. Now I have stable CRC errors but high FEC errors. Do FEC errors matter? Can I ignore them or am I just heading into another beehive as a net bee? :)
Net_Bee
hangyong
21-10-2005, 09:08 AM
wahahaha... made me sweat for 2 days siah... hahahaha
anyway, good to see that you have mainly solved your problems.
maybe your computer casing not that good thus emiting EMI which is interefering with the modem or the phone line?
You may want to use cat5 cables as phone cables like chiacka, or get shielded phone cables like me.
btw, forget about FEC errors.... just ignore it...
net_bee
21-10-2005, 09:38 AM
wahahaha... made me sweat for 2 days siah... hahahaha
anyway, good to see that you have mainly solved your problems.
maybe your computer casing not that good thus emiting EMI which is interefering with the modem or the phone line?
You may want to use cat5 cables as phone cables like chiacka, or get shielded phone cables like me.
btw, forget about FEC errors.... just ignore it...
Thanks very much for your help.
My CRC errors today so far is 7 errors for the past 110 mins, with both wired pcs on.
Can use CAT5 cable as phone cable? Do I need a special adaptor?
Is shielded phone cable available at shops like Challenger?
Definitely like to solve the remaining piece of mystery - my main pc. Though I feel this might be a bit tricky...
Net_Bee
hangyong
21-10-2005, 09:46 AM
Thanks very much for your help.
My CRC errors today so far is 7 errors for the past 110 mins, with both wired pcs on.
Can use CAT5 cable as phone cable? Do I need a special adaptor?
Is shielded phone cable available at shops like Challenger?
Definitely like to solve the remaining piece of mystery - my main pc. Though I feel this might be a bit tricky...
Net_Bee
you just use the RJ-11 head instead of the RJ-45 heads I guess.... chiacka can answer you with that.
I am not sure about where to get the cables, I got mine from CISCO with my router. You can try asking if any shops has them in Singapore.. not very sure though.
you mentioned when you push the modem further away from the PC you will get less CRC right?
in that case, put the modem as close to the phone port as possible, and put the PC as far from the modem as possible.
chaicka
21-10-2005, 09:49 AM
Bingo! I guess you caught the culprit... Though I don't know what caused it, the third wired pc, which was also my main pc as it is sitting next to the modem, seems to be the mother of all these sins...
1) I added my notebook as 3rd wired pc via LAN cable without restarting the modem. No pick up in CRC errors.
2) Unplugged the notebook and added back my main pc as 3rd wired pc. CRC errors pick up.
3) Switched my main pc back to wireless. Noticed a spike in CRC errors when the main pc switches on. After that, CRC errors stablize.
4) Moved my modem farther away from my main pc and noticed a smaller spike in CRC errors when it is switched on...
Since the problematic pc is my main pc, it was always included when I did the test of 1 wired pc, 2 wired pcs, 3 wired pcs in my first posting. It was only excluded when I followed Hangyong and your advice to plug/unplug into different ports with different combinations.
Now to the other half of culprit (high CRC errors when I turned both wired pcs off)
The culprit was no one else but me! :o
The errors that pick up when both pcs are powered off are not CRC errors but FEC errors. Since it jumps in similar pattern and is just next to the CRC errors, I mistook them as CRC errors. - My apologies...
Question:
Before all these experiments, I had almost zero FEC errors but high CRC errors. Now I have stable CRC errors but high FEC errors. Do FEC errors matter? Can I ignore them or am I just heading into another beehive as a net bee? :)
Net_Bee
You can ignore the FEC Errors as it has been confirmed by RallyART that it is falsely reporting the numbers. So let's concentrate on the issues on hand, which I deem as 2 of them.
Sorry, kinda busy now...get back to u later, or probably tonite as it seems to be a busy day ahead for me today.
net_bee
21-10-2005, 10:11 AM
you just use the RJ-11 head instead of the RJ-45 heads I guess.... chiacka can answer you with that.
I am not sure about where to get the cables, I got mine from CISCO with my router. You can try asking if any shops has them in Singapore.. not very sure though.
you mentioned when you push the modem further away from the PC you will get less CRC right?
in that case, put the modem as close to the phone port as possible, and put the PC as far from the modem as possible.
Will check around on the shielded cable.
Yes, I have the modem right above the phone jack on a 120cm bookshelf, which gives me excellent wireless coverage for both my notebook and main pc. And main pc is on the other end of the wall (about 2 meters away from the modem).
8 CRC errors so far. Fingers crossed....
Net_Bee
net_bee
21-10-2005, 10:15 AM
You can ignore the FEC Errors as it has been confirmed by RallyART that it is falsely reporting the numbers. So let's concentrate on the issues on hand, which I deem as 2 of them.
Sorry, kinda busy now...get back to u later, or probably tonite as it seems to be a busy day ahead for me today.
Take your time please. My current setup is certainly more than acceptable. No hurry.
Thanks for your insight.
Net_Bee
hangyong
21-10-2005, 10:17 AM
Will check around on the shielded cable.
Yes, I have the modem right above the phone jack on a 120cm bookshelf, which gives me excellent wireless coverage for both my notebook and main pc. And main pc is on the other end of the wall (about 2 meters away from the modem).
8 CRC errors so far. Fingers crossed....
Net_Bee
you may want to go into CLI to lower the wireless signal strength.
wireless debug txpower txpwr=xxx
where xxx=power in milliwatts
the default is 255, which is pretty high in my opinion.
*note that this item will default back to 255mW when you restart the router.
Else, you can export out the user.ini file from the modem (by saving/back up the settings), edit the file, and put the file back into the router again. That will make it auto, even is you restart.
net_bee
21-10-2005, 10:33 AM
you may want to go into CLI to lower the wireless signal strength.
wireless debug txpower txpwr=xxx
where xxx=power in milliwatts
the default is 255, which is pretty high in my opinion.
*note that this item will default back to 255mW when you restart the router.
Else, you can export out the user.ini file from the modem (by saving/back up the settings), edit the file, and put the file back into the router again. That will make it auto, even is you restart.
Trying the second approach but can not find "txpwr" in the ini file. I am novice on this one. So please bear with me.
Any recommended number to start?
Net_Bee
hangyong
21-10-2005, 10:57 AM
Trying the second approach but can not find "txpwr" in the ini file. I am novice on this one. So please bear with me.
Any recommended number to start?
Net_Bee
oh... paiseh.. you have to add it on your own.
in the [wireless.ini] portion of the user.ini file, enter the following line:
"debug txpower txpwr=xxx"
save the file, then put it back into the router.
actually, there is no magic number, keep trying until you can get good coverage at the lowest power.
Previously, the limit ini Singapore was 100mW, but I dunno why IDA removed the ban.
I dunno about others lah, but I have a "light headed" feeling even when the power reaches 100mW. Thats why I pull my own antenna and all and now only running at 12.5mW and getting good coverage in my house. But thats me, and it may be phsychological, but I just dun feel save...
even at 12.5mW, I off the AP when not using it. haha
princess086
21-10-2005, 06:14 PM
actually, there is no magic number, keep trying until you can get good coverage at the lowest power.
Previously, the limit ini Singapore was 100mW, but I dunno why IDA removed the ban.
I dunno about others lah, but I have a "light headed" feeling even when the power reaches 100mW. Thats why I pull my own antenna and all and now only running at 12.5mW and getting good coverage in my house. But thats me, and it may be phsychological, but I just dun feel save...
ids change rules aready up to 200mW aready la
net_bee
21-10-2005, 06:30 PM
Changed and uploaded the ini file.
Now using xxx=015
Instead of getting "excellent", now I have "very good" in terms of signal strength.
I suppose very good is good enough....
Amazed that you would even put in decimal point "12.5", maybe I should try 12.445..... :D
Net_Bee
Elvin_Chong
21-10-2005, 08:00 PM
Anybody managed to get ABC working with the ST585? Can give a steps to how to do it? Having 0 dl all the way when I am connected to alot of peers and seeds.
hangyong
21-10-2005, 09:52 PM
ids change rules aready up to 200mW aready la
please read...
"Previously, the limit ini Singapore was 100mW, but I dunno why IDA removed the ban."
chaicka
21-10-2005, 10:03 PM
It's not remove the ban, it's increase to 200mW for the 2.4GHz WLAN (802.11b/g). For 802.11a, additional channels were open up, so 802.11a devices got more channels to use, not to mention Super A mode (similar to Super G mode).
princess086
22-10-2005, 09:36 AM
please read...
"Previously, the limit ini Singapore was 100mW, but I dunno why IDA removed the ban."
i know but i said that i said change the limit aready.like for linksys which sold in sg should be around 180mV if im not wrong.
porschefast99
23-10-2005, 04:38 PM
anyone know how to disable ST 585 "Web Browsing Interception"?
thanks
hangyong
23-10-2005, 05:42 PM
anyone know how to disable ST 585 "Web Browsing Interception"?
thanks
click on SpeedStream>Configurations>Configure
the setting is there.
chaicka
23-10-2005, 05:45 PM
SpeedStream???
porschefast99
23-10-2005, 05:48 PM
click on SpeedStream>Configurations>Configure
the setting is there.
thanks
anyone managed to change ST585 to using PPoA with VR net ini file? Got this error msg that the file must be of .ini but alredy using the supplied ini file from them
Shingoz
23-10-2005, 06:31 PM
Does anyone knows if the ADSL splitter provided is covered under warranty?
I just felt that I've found out what's causing my connection's high CRC errors (on 1.5mbps plan but can reach 200+ CRC errors on a weekend's connection.)
I believe the splitter's faulty because there's been noise received intermittently when receiving inbound call (weird doesnt happen for outgoing calls).
Tried a couple of times to call them in weekends but cant get through the line, left a couple of voice mails but no response as well. Asking Singnet to notify them doesnt help as well. :s16:
alanchia67
23-10-2005, 07:24 PM
Do you receive one or two ADSL micro-filter/splitter? If you have the other one, have you tried that instead? If you were on ADSL plan before, you may also use your older micro-filter/splitter to test it out.
Shingoz
23-10-2005, 09:39 PM
Do you receive one or two ADSL micro-filter/splitter? If you have the other one, have you tried that instead? If you were on ADSL plan before, you may also use your older micro-filter/splitter to test it out.
I've recived 2 of it...and 2 of them are facing the same symtoms - noise when receiving incoming calls. Have tried on 2 diff phones too.
The weird thing is when the VR guy came over to perform the installation, the symtom is already there and he said that its most proably a line issue as i wasnt able to connect to internet on the day of installation and he suggested i have the singtel guy over for a check. (Which I later found out it's because he has not disconnected my last ADSL connection before installing the new modem as I managed to get it resolved after calling Singnet helpdesk later that night for troubleshooting).
Anyway after facing large CRC errors, i have asked Singtel to check my line and they feedback that its okie. Hence i deduced its most proably caused by the faulty splitters.
net_bee
23-10-2005, 09:58 PM
I just felt that I've found out what's causing my connection's high CRC errors (on 1.5mbps plan but can reach 200+ CRC errors on a weekend's connection.)
I believe the splitter's faulty because there's been noise received intermittently when receiving inbound call (weird doesnt happen for outgoing calls).
Tried a couple of times to call them in weekends but cant get through the line, left a couple of voice mails but no response as well. Asking Singnet to notify them doesnt help as well. :s16:
Not very sure about 1500Kbps situation. For my 10Mbps, 200 CRC errors over an weekend (I suppose that is over 2-3 days, is that correct?) does not seem so bad...
Did you try direct connection into the phone jack w/o going through the splitter and see if it makes any difference on CRC errors? You won't be able to use your phone this way, but at least it helps isolate the problem, I hope...
Net_Bee
hangyong
23-10-2005, 10:15 PM
1. to me, 200+ CRC over a weekend (approx 48hours?) is not a very big problem.
2. its very unlinkely that you get 2 spoilt MF at the same time
3. the noise seems to be a line issue. Your line is extened from the main point? are the RJ-11 heads still in good condition?
also, which MF are you using? TMP?? make sure the connected points are going to the correct device.
Other than the noise in incoming calls,
Shingoz
23-10-2005, 10:49 PM
1. to me, 200+ CRC over a weekend (approx 48hours?) is not a very big problem.
2. its very unlinkely that you get 2 spoilt MF at the same time
3. the noise seems to be a line issue. Your line is extened from the main point? are the RJ-11 heads still in good condition?
also, which MF are you using? TMP?? make sure the connected points are going to the correct device.
Other than the noise in incoming calls,
1. Hmmm because i was once told by the SIngnet guy that a 1.5mbps plan shouldnt have so much crc errors. Anyway when on my previous 512kbps plan there isnt crc error reflection so i wldnt know. My main concern now is not so much on crc, but the irritating incoming call noise.
2. No comments.
3. The singtel guy did come over and reported all sockets are working and within specs. Only using 1 line with 3 sockets.
Erm the last qns i dont quite understand...
chaicka
24-10-2005, 12:37 AM
1500kbps line, the CRC errors should be pretty low, if not, zero. Having even 200 CRC errors on an ADSL1 line is definitely not within my acceptable standard, but that's me.
1 line with 3 sockets? Hmmm.....could be some leakage somewhere...or did u install the MF for every socket which is connected to an analog device (including laptop's modem, analog phones, fax machines, etc).
Shingoz, can post ur line statistics (if u have not done so yet, oh, in screenshots please).
nukebomb
24-10-2005, 04:02 PM
Hi i'm new here, my computer knowledge is little, i'm using this ST585i router and with singnet 10mbps plan, i also have problem with my downloading, like recently i download the software in Apple only can acheive 100-200+kps, then i callup singnet they told me sometimes is bcos the other party server is weak even though the plan is promise to acheive at least 1mbps.Then i asked for a speed test
this chap told me for apple, singnet they have a application to test it, then ok lol.But a few days later i was so fuss with the slow speed, sometimes is like crawling or totally hang there, then callup singnet again, this time this chap was able to teach me to do a ftp speed test which acheive 200+kps, but also the same answer the other party server is weak. until today my problem have not solve anybody can help? Below is the reading on my speedtouch dsl connection.
DSL Connection
Link Information
Uptime: 0 days, 2:50:30
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 995 / 19.825
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 4,78 / 36,19
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 4,0 / 13,5
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 6,5 / 9,5
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 664 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 587.202.560 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 3.961
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 3.786
hangyong
24-10-2005, 04:43 PM
DSL Connection
Link Information
your CRC abit jia lat leh.... your upload bandwidth also not up to 1mbps...
you have any form of interference? using MicroFilter?
nukebomb
24-10-2005, 05:29 PM
your CRC abit jia lat leh.... your upload bandwidth also not up to 1mbps...
you have any form of interference? using MicroFilter?
Actually the speedtouch dsl info izit reliable or otherwise, What kind of interference? every sockets there is a microfilter.
hangyong
24-10-2005, 05:33 PM
Actually the speedtouch dsl info izit reliable or otherwise, What kind of interference? every sockets there is a microfilter.
yes it is...
like your phone cable is run together with electric cable... your line from socket to modem is how long?
chaicka
24-10-2005, 05:39 PM
Hi i'm new here, my computer knowledge is little, i'm using this ST585i router and with singnet 10mbps plan, i also have problem with my downloading, like recently i download the software in Apple only can acheive 100-200+kps, then i callup singnet they told me sometimes is bcos the other party server is weak even though the plan is promise to acheive at least 1mbps.Then i asked for a speed test
this chap told me for apple, singnet they have a application to test it, then ok lol.But a few days later i was so fuss with the slow speed, sometimes is like crawling or totally hang there, then callup singnet again, this time this chap was able to teach me to do a ftp speed test which acheive 200+kps, but also the same answer the other party server is weak. until today my problem have not solve anybody can help? Below is the reading on my speedtouch dsl connection.
DSL Connection
Link Information
Your attenuation is fine, meaning u are not that far from DSLAM. Your CRC errors are high, which means there is interference. Your SNR is abit too high, but if using more accurate device like those Sunset device to check and it's within 5-7dB, then it's fine.
nukebomb
24-10-2005, 07:38 PM
yes it is...
like your phone cable is run together with electric cable... your line from socket to modem is how long?
Is different casing for phone and electric, my socket to modem is one feet.
nukebomb
24-10-2005, 07:49 PM
Your attenuation is fine, meaning u are not that far from DSLAM. Your CRC errors are high, which means there is interference. Your SNR is abit too high, but if using more accurate device like those Sunset device to check and it's within 5-7dB, then it's fine.
But i did checked with the Vrnet staff and was told if CRC is above 50 then the line have problem, i thought mine is 3.961 so if high what can i do? Which is SNR?What Sunset device?
hangyong
24-10-2005, 08:15 PM
But i did checked with the Vrnet staff and was told if CRC is above 50 then the line have problem, i thought mine is 3.961 so if high what can i do? Which is SNR?What Sunset device?
erm... this is European standard.... you are actually getting Three Thousand Nine Hundred and Sixty One CRC... not Three (point)nine six one.
nukebomb
24-10-2005, 09:07 PM
erm... this is European standard.... you are actually getting Three Thousand Nine Hundred and Sixty One CRC... not Three (point)nine six one.
BTW how should i solve this CRC problem?
hangyong
24-10-2005, 09:29 PM
BTW how should i solve this CRC problem?
easiest way is to call Singnet... but some of the CSOs are a PITA.... I just spoke to one and I feel like pushing her off the cliff....
chaicka
24-10-2005, 09:33 PM
CRC Errors, in most cases, it's internal problem...meaning, something inside ur house is causing interference.....
nukebomb
25-10-2005, 10:46 AM
CRC Errors, in most cases, it's internal problem...meaning, something inside ur house is causing interference.....
AS for mine, I using fixed line and not near to any TV or Fan no others appliances is running.
nukebomb
25-10-2005, 10:50 AM
easiest way is to call Singnet... but some of the CSOs are a PITA.... I just spoke to one and I feel like pushing her off the cliff....
Like what i mentioned earlier on their excuse always to me is THE OTHER PARTY SERVER WAS CROWDED WE CAN'T DO ANYTHING. even not neccessary i can't acheive 1MBps.....
hangyong
25-10-2005, 10:54 AM
AS for mine, I using fixed line and not near to any TV or Fan no others appliances is running.
it can be any form of interference. If phone cable is laid together with electrical cable in the wall or in the trunking, good luck to you too. Even turning on PC is using power, and can cause intereference.
Hack, even if the modem is just beside the PC Casing, and if the casing is not good, the EMI can cause problems too!
there was a case mentioned here where when the lift of arrives at the user's level, CRC increase like mad.... X-file....
hangyong
25-10-2005, 10:56 AM
Like what i mentioned earlier on their excuse always to me is THE OTHER PARTY SERVER WAS CROWDED WE CAN'T DO ANYTHING. even not neccessary i can't acheive 1MBps.....
use Singnet's ftp at ftp://ftp.singnet.com and see if you are getting your promised speed. If yes, you are not short changed.
but please DO NOT gauge the speed using BT.... further, my plan and you plan is also different, so cannot compare.
tuxdj
25-10-2005, 11:48 AM
After sufring through the threads I am getting worried about my connection. Can someone see my connection whether is it normal? Im on 10mb plan
DSL Connection
Uptime: 0 days, 9:01:12
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1.031 / 21.262
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 10,96 / 152,11
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 12,0 / 26,0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 6,5 / 6,0
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 2.026 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 2.798
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 2.358
hangyong
25-10-2005, 11:56 AM
After sufring through the threads I am getting worried about my connection. Can someone see my connection whether is it normal? Im on 10mb plan
DSL Connection
reference it to the numbers chiacka posted in the sticky in this forum.
tuxdj
25-10-2005, 12:03 PM
reference it to the numbers chiacka posted in the sticky in this forum.
Sticky: FAQ Reorganised from old sticky thread
BayKia
this one?
nightkids86
25-10-2005, 12:21 PM
Sticky: FAQ Reorganised from old sticky thread
BayKia
this one?
This LINK ... (http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?t=1063151)
hangyong
25-10-2005, 12:24 PM
This LINK ... (http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?t=1063151)
no no.... he got the correct thead
chaicka
25-10-2005, 12:26 PM
DSL Connection
Haiz....Can everyone with line-related issues please post the line stats in the compilation thread instead of this thread, which is meant for ST585 problems.
Hangyong, liangtam, others regulars, please kindly help divert all line stats related to that compilation thread. Easier to manage and monitor. Thks.
tuxdj
25-10-2005, 12:46 PM
Sorry I think I create the misunderstanding, let me explain my situation, im using ST585 singnet 10mb. Connection wise is slightly inconsistence. Sometimes very resposive sometimes take ages to load. And it requries me to reset the modem to alleviate the problem. Thus i post my line connection information here to seek help.
Haiz....Can everyone with line-related issues please post the line stats in the compilation thread instead of this thread, which is meant for ST585 problems.
Hangyong, liangtam, others regulars, please kindly help divert all line stats related to that compilation thread. Easier to manage and monitor. Thks.
tuxdj
25-10-2005, 12:56 PM
DSL Connection
After comparing from references, I found that my line attenuation down stream is a prob (stated 25maxium for 10mb) and my downstreat output power also seems to have a prob. And im not sure about my CRC errors as I saw from some othr post 50 is the optimal but mine is 2798. Does this mean my line has a prob?
chaicka
25-10-2005, 01:26 PM
Output power of ADSL2+? I didn't post any output power benchmark for ADSL2+ line.
Dun mix ADSL1 and ADSL2+ benchmarks together, there are different.
tuxdj
25-10-2005, 01:32 PM
ADSL2+
Downstream SNR = 06 dB.
Higher is not better, within range is better = 05 - 07 dB.
Downstream Power = < xx dB.
Lower is better.
Upstream SNR = 06 dB.
Higher is not better, within range is better = 05 - 07 dB.
Upstream Power = < xx dB.
Lower is better.
Downstream Attenuation = < 22 dB
Lower is better, maximum = 22 dB (for 10mbps), 12 dB (for ~25mbps).
Upstream Attenuation = < 22 dB
Lower is better, maximum = 22 dB (for 10mbps), 12 dB (for ~25mbps).
the power there is not output power?
hangyong
25-10-2005, 01:33 PM
the power there is not output power?
din you realise that its all xx??
tuxdj
25-10-2005, 01:39 PM
din you realise that its all xx??
eh got it. =)
I only suspect the power, the real issue is with my down stream attenuation and my crc errors. ANy help on this?
hangyong
25-10-2005, 01:51 PM
eh got it. =)
I only suspect the power, the real issue is with my down stream attenuation and my crc errors. ANy help on this?
take some screenshots and send to Singnet.... they should know what is the problem by looking at it....
hangyong
25-10-2005, 02:00 PM
RallyART,
it has come to my attention that every few days, the modem will come to a crawl.
At first I though it is the transparent proxy problem, but even when I switch to proxy.singnet.com.sg, the problem is still there.
Problem is I will not be able to access the webpages, until it times out. (I have disabled web intercept)
I then tried to telnet to the router, but also time out.
I tried to ping other devices in the network, time out.
I then though its BT, but this happens also without BT running.
After numerious tried, I am able to telnet into the router, and I "connection refresh" to clear all connections.
Still no go.
restart modem.... all ok.
any idea what happened?
nukebomb
25-10-2005, 02:20 PM
use Singnet's ftp at ftp://ftp.singnet.com and see if you are getting your promised speed. If yes, you are not short changed.
but please DO NOT gauge the speed using BT.... further, my plan and you plan is also different, so cannot compare.
I can't access to the ftp://ftp.singnet.com it it bcos i'm using Apple and btw what's yr plan?
nukebomb
25-10-2005, 02:27 PM
I'm in the wrong thread as i also using ST585i and singnet 10MBps, anyway can pls enlighten me which thread to go, thanks.
chaicka
25-10-2005, 04:52 PM
RallyART,
it has come to my attention that every few days, the modem will come to a crawl.
At first I though it is the transparent proxy problem, but even when I switch to proxy.singnet.com.sg, the problem is still there.
Problem is I will not be able to access the webpages, until it times out. (I have disabled web intercept)
I then tried to telnet to the router, but also time out.
I tried to ping other devices in the network, time out.
I then though its BT, but this happens also without BT running.
After numerious tried, I am able to telnet into the router, and I "connection refresh" to clear all connections.
Still no go.
restart modem.... all ok.
any idea what happened?
Besides purging all the NAT sessions, u may want to perform an arp purging as well. But not sure if that functionality is available in the ST585 or not, and if its CLI allows it to be executed or not.
hangyong
27-10-2005, 09:22 PM
Besides purging all the NAT sessions, u may want to perform an arp purging as well. But not sure if that functionality is available in the ST585 or not, and if its CLI allows it to be executed or not.
dun think its possible...
anyway, one thing I am pretty disappointed with the ST585 is that when another PC in the LAN is up0loading or downloading BIG files to/from another PC in the LAN, connected throught the ST585's switch, the Internet access will start to crawl....
maybe I am used to a gigabite LAN.... but I dun think the backbone within the switch can handle above 100mbps....
aristein
27-10-2005, 09:26 PM
I experience very frequent disconnection using wireless between ST585 and my laptop. Sometimes it does not detect the router, when detected and get connected in excellent signal strength, after one minute or less, it will get disconnected again. :s11:
Also it is always acquiring network address, the network key is correct because I do get connected by will disconnect again very soon.
I have no problem using cable.
I am able to detect all my neighbours wireless.
Please advise
chaicka
27-10-2005, 09:49 PM
I experience very frequent disconnection using wireless between ST585 and my laptop. Sometimes it does not detect the router, when detected and get connected in excellent signal strength, after one minute or less, it will get disconnected again. :s11:
Also it is always acquiring network address, the network key is correct because I do get connected by will disconnect again very soon.
I have no problem using cable.
I am able to detect all my neighbours wireless.
Please advise
The issue may not be the fault of the CPE, but the fault of the user...
jhquek
27-10-2005, 11:18 PM
The issue may not be the fault of the CPE, but the fault of the user...
Haha.. Here we go again.
Always like this saying...
Give a man a fish and feed him for the day.
Teach the man to fish and feed him all his life....
But then again if everybody knows everything we would be out of jobs.. Haha.
Shingoz
27-10-2005, 11:36 PM
1500kbps line, the CRC errors should be pretty low, if not, zero. Having even 200 CRC errors on an ADSL1 line is definitely not within my acceptable standard, but that's me.
1 line with 3 sockets? Hmmm.....could be some leakage somewhere...or did u install the MF for every socket which is connected to an analog device (including laptop's modem, analog phones, fax machines, etc).
Shingoz, can post ur line statistics (if u have not done so yet, oh, in screenshots please).
Hey chiaka thanks for ur reply. Yup all three installed with filter. 1 x micro filter and 2 x supplied splitters. Both phone connected to splitters have got the same problem.
Anyway one of the VRNet guys called me to inform me to head down to their office for an exchange. And this happens after i left a voicemail to them 2 sat back (15 oct)?
Below is my connection stats
http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/973124485/untitled.jpg
chaicka
28-10-2005, 01:04 AM
Haha.. Here we go again.
Always like this saying...
Give a man a fish and feed him for the day.
Teach the man to fish and feed him all his life....
But then again if everybody knows everything we would be out of jobs.. Haha.
Well, let's put it this way, pple put in time and effort to write up good documentations, but consumers simply don't bother to read it when installing, asuming they are "smart"...:s13:
sooch
28-10-2005, 02:07 AM
Well, let's put it this way, pple put in time and effort to write up good documentations, but consumers simply don't bother to read it when installing, asuming they are "smart"...:s13:
chaicka, what is your BB plan you using? ADSL2+ 10mb SNBB?? cos you seems very well versed in ADSL CPEs.....or i should say ADSL technology.
porschefast99
30-10-2005, 02:04 PM
seem this link has the firmware for 5.3.2.6.
Any experts can have a test with the firmware on the ST585? see if its good?
http://www.speedtouch.co.uk/5x6.asp
thanks
Shingoz
30-10-2005, 03:55 PM
Hey chiaka thanks for ur reply. Yup all three installed with filter. 1 x micro filter and 2 x supplied splitters. Both phone connected to splitters have got the same problem.
Anyway one of the VRNet guys called me to inform me to head down to their office for an exchange. And this happens after i left a voicemail to them 2 sat back (15 oct)?
Below is my connection stats
http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/973124485/untitled.jpg
Btw can anyone advice me if my above connection is alright?
Will be very troublesome for me to head down for exchange as i'm working and they're not operating on saturdays....take 1/2 leave for it'll not be ideal.
chaicka
30-10-2005, 04:06 PM
Shingoz, u are on SNBB512/1500/3500 plan?
You are not using ST585 right? The stats is acceptable lah, no problem if u are using either of the above mentioned plan.
sunnyee
30-10-2005, 07:58 PM
seem this link has the firmware for 5.3.2.6.
Any experts can have a test with the firmware on the ST585? see if its good?
http://www.speedtouch.co.uk/5x6.asp
thanks
Product Name: SpeedTouch 585
Serial Number:
Software Release: 5.3.2.6
Software Variant: AA
Boot Loader Version: 1.0.16
Product Code: 35921730
Board Name: BANT-K
Link Information
Uptime: 3 days, 2:45:59
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1.043 / 23.892
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [GB/GB]: 8,61 / 25,91
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 4,5 / 12,0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 6,5 / 6,5
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 2.534 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 2.833
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 2.248
Shingoz
30-10-2005, 08:58 PM
Shingoz, u are on SNBB512/1500/3500 plan?
You are not using ST585 right? The stats is acceptable lah, no problem if u are using either of the above mentioned plan.
I'm on the 1500 plan. Recently the noise has also reduced. It's kinda like intermitent but still irritating. Hmmm yup i'm on a ST585. What makes u think i'm not?
chaicka
30-10-2005, 09:47 PM
I'm on the 1500 plan. Recently the noise has also reduced. It's kinda like intermitent but still irritating. Hmmm yup i'm on a ST585. What makes u think i'm not?
Oh, coz if I recall ST585 was not bundled with SNBB512/1500 plans, so thought u are on ST580 or ST570.
Shingoz
30-10-2005, 10:26 PM
Oh, coz if I recall ST585 was not bundled with SNBB512/1500 plans, so thought u are on ST580 or ST570.
Hmmm yup it is bundled with the 1500 plan. Anyway the stoping hissing sound occurs again just now....argh damn annoying.
chaicka
30-10-2005, 10:29 PM
hissing sound? Tat's interesting...the hissing sound is from the power adapter?
Shingoz
30-10-2005, 10:34 PM
hissing sound? Tat's interesting...the hissing sound is from the power adapter?
Oh..no no no not from the modem. I mean its coming from the phone connection. Ever since i've installed the adsl splitter this stupid issue occurs. All incoming calls will have this hissing sound.
Took me a month of troubleshooting to find out it's the splitter that's causing the issue.
chaicka
30-10-2005, 10:39 PM
If there is a hissing sound, it's possible that the microfilter is faulty, coz there shouldn't be hissing sound when u connect the analog devices to microfilter. The hissing sound will be there when there is no microfilter.
tinker58
31-10-2005, 06:03 AM
Now singnet even bundled some non 10M plans with 2wire 2700HG modem.
Shingoz
01-11-2005, 09:07 PM
If there is a hissing sound, it's possible that the microfilter is faulty, coz there shouldn't be hissing sound when u connect the analog devices to microfilter. The hissing sound will be there when there is no microfilter.
Should be heading down tmr to make an exchange.
Anyone knows the operating hour of VRNet?
Shingoz
01-11-2005, 11:14 PM
i belive your problem will not be able to resolve after the exchange.make my word.
Hmm please kindly elaborate?
princess086
02-11-2005, 06:23 PM
Hmm please kindly elaborate?
what about have you try with other MF before?
Perhape you might wants to explain more about what you had done before.
Shingoz
02-11-2005, 10:55 PM
what about have you try with other MF before?
Perhape you might wants to explain more about what you had done before.
Oh...ic so u didnt know abt my case...it's alright, i've already made the trip and got an exchange of the filter. So far so good after a couple of calls there isnt any reoccurance of the issue.
Lets hope it'll be fine.
chaicka
02-11-2005, 11:41 PM
Oh...ic so u didnt know abt my case...it's alright, i've already made the trip and got an exchange of the filter. So far so good after a couple of calls there isnt any reoccurance of the issue.
Lets hope it'll be fine.
:D All the Best to You...Hope the issue dun recur...
Just to all those new to ADSLx service:
Every analog device that is connected to the same phone line with ADSLx service, be it at the same socket point, or other socket points, as long as it belongs to the same phone line, the analog device need to go through a microfilter (NOT THOSE TWO-WAY SPLITTER, THOSE SPLITTER SIMPLE SPLIT FROM ONE POINT INTO TWO POINT, NO FILTERING CAPABILITIES).
Even if without the microfilter, it does not cause disconnection of the ADSLx service (in some rare cases), it will still impact the performance of the ADSLx service. DUN come and KPKB abt ur poor ADSLx service if u dun follow proper intallation protocol. Like it or not, that's how ADSLx infrastructure setup for your internal is going to be.
If the microfilter in the package is faulty upon DOA (dead on arrival, a term used frequently in working environment), change it with the vendor that supplied your CPE. If ur microfilter failed after 1 year, dun go to the vendor and claim for replacement...u are to buy new replacements yourself, as that microfilter dun carry warranty.
abcdef
03-11-2005, 03:59 PM
I've also been having problems with my ST585 modem. The connection seems to disconnect every other day. I didn't have any problem when my phone line didn't have any microfilter and didn't share with any phone.
http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/1133989875/1nov_931am_dsl_link_info.jpg (http://www.photoi.org)
Shingoz
03-11-2005, 09:23 PM
:D All the Best to You...Hope the issue dun recur...
Just to all those new to ADSLx service:
Every analog device that is connected to the same phone line with ADSLx service, be it at the same socket point, or other socket points, as long as it belongs to the same phone line, the analog device need to go through a microfilter (NOT THOSE TWO-WAY SPLITTER, THOSE SPLITTER SIMPLE SPLIT FROM ONE POINT INTO TWO POINT, NO FILTERING CAPABILITIES).
Even if without the microfilter, it does not cause disconnection of the ADSLx service (in some rare cases), it will still impact the performance of the ADSLx service. DUN come and KPKB abt ur poor ADSLx service if u dun follow proper intallation protocol. Like it or not, that's how ADSLx infrastructure setup for your internal is going to be.
If the microfilter in the package is faulty upon DOA (dead on arrival, a term used frequently in working environment), change it with the vendor that supplied your CPE. If ur microfilter failed after 1 year, dun go to the vendor and claim for replacement...u are to buy new replacements yourself, as that microfilter dun carry warranty.
Thanks dude....i believe the irritating noise is gone. Wanna thanks the dude who made the exchange for me too. Not sure whats his name though just stayed for 5 min. He even gave me a different kind (a black one) of filter to see if it helps. I believe it does.
princess086
03-11-2005, 11:32 PM
I've also been having problems with my ST585 modem. The connection seems to disconnect every other day. I didn't have any problem when my phone line didn't have any microfilter and didn't share with any phone.
http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/1133989875/1nov_931am_dsl_link_info.jpg (http://www.photoi.org)
your line state a bit bad
abcdef
03-11-2005, 11:53 PM
err thanks princess.. but which stats shows that? and what could be causing it? thanks.
princess086
04-11-2005, 12:06 AM
err thanks princess.. but which stats shows that? and what could be causing it? thanks.
what about when you attache with a phone with MF any problem occure ?
abcdef
04-11-2005, 12:12 AM
actually the stats i've posted is with a MF and a phone connected to it. I think it's more stable when there's no MF and no phone at all.
porschefast99
04-11-2005, 01:44 AM
to those using 5.3.2.6, do you set your ST 585 using router or bridge mode?
any particular reason?
thanks
abcdef
04-11-2005, 07:17 AM
I'm actually using v5.3.2.2. Should i upgrade? If so should i get it from the VRnet site?
Shingoz
04-11-2005, 08:33 AM
actually the stats i've posted is with a MF and a phone connected to it. I think it's more stable when there's no MF and no phone at all.
Then ur MF may be faulty. In any case if the stats are very bad even without any lines connected then u may wish to have singtel down to have a check on the line condition.
abcdef
04-11-2005, 12:27 PM
Thanks. Could you highlight which part of the stats is bad? what is the norm?
chaicka
04-11-2005, 02:31 PM
Given ur attenuation, ur SNR should be able to achieve better rates than 5.0dB, which for a ADSL2+, it's best to be within 5-7dB, and better still to be in the middle range of 5.5-6.5dB rather than the borderline.
Seeing the difference between the upstream and downstream SNR, it means there is interference in ur line, which is concurred by the high CRC errors showing.
chaicka
04-11-2005, 02:35 PM
Maybe can post a screenshot of without the microfilter and phone...see wat's the difference, then can determine if it's the microfilter tat is not doing its job well.
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.