View Full Version : Problems with ST585? List here
abcdef
04-11-2005, 02:59 PM
yup. will be doing that soon. so far the line has been up for 2 days plus. will post stats after removed microfilter. thanks.
Shingoz
04-11-2005, 11:45 PM
Given ur attenuation, ur SNR should be able to achieve better rates than 5.0dB, which for a ADSL2+, it's best to be within 5-7dB, and better still to be in the middle range of 5.5-6.5dB rather than the borderline.
Seeing the difference between the upstream and downstream SNR, it means there is interference in ur line, which is concurred by the high CRC errors showing.
Hmmm...? The SNR shld be higher or lower? Cos mine is far diff from 5-7dB...but of cos i'm not on adsl2....
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 11,5 / 17,5
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 16,0 / 26,0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 24,0 / 29,0
alanchia67
04-11-2005, 11:56 PM
No, ADSL and ADSL2+ has different 'recommendation'.
chaicka
05-11-2005, 02:43 AM
Hmmm...? The SNR shld be higher or lower? Cos mine is far diff from 5-7dB...but of cos i'm not on adsl2....
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 11,5 / 17,5
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 16,0 / 26,0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 24,0 / 29,0
Pls...dun miss ADSL1 and ADSL2+ together.
I have posted up in the FAQ for all those who bother to check it regularly.
Shingoz
05-11-2005, 05:45 PM
Pls...dun miss ADSL1 and ADSL2+ together.
I have posted up in the FAQ for all those who bother to check it regularly.
Oops...haha sorry abt that dude, have already done the read up
chaicka
06-11-2005, 12:10 AM
Hey, dun presume me to be such a nasty person...:)
;)...hope u like the Line Statistics Guide...
abcdef
06-11-2005, 08:39 AM
Sigh! my dsl conn didn't last long. It died yesterday evening (5 Nov). I've captured quite a number of screens here.
Basically the 'Internet' led went red. So what i did after that is to reconnect via the speedtouch webpage. The led went green after that but i still couldn't surf any webpage. Less than 1 minute later the modem just restarted by itself! and after the restart i could surf webpages.
However this morning i noticed that the internet led is red again :( Clicking reconnect didn't help. So in the end i had to click 'Restart' to do a System Restart of the modem. Even after the system restart the internet led is not lighted. I had to manually click 'Connect' in order for it to be green (then i could surf).
How come my conn so problematic? sigh!
5 Nov
Event Log
http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/1482684726/10_5nov_eventlog_th.jpg (http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/1482684726/10_5nov_eventlog.jpg)
DSL Conn stats
http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/721189266/20_5nov_dsl_stats_th.jpg (http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/721189266/20_5nov_dsl_stats.jpg)
Internet conn still shows connected
http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/553575368/30_5nov_conn_still_shows_connected_th.jpg (http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/553575368/30_5nov_conn_still_shows_connected.jpg)
abcdef
06-11-2005, 08:41 AM
Event log after auto-reboot
http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/1476637463/40_5nov_after_auto_reboot_th.jpg (http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/1476637463/40_5nov_after_auto_reboot.jpg)
6 Nov
Internet led is red
http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/965023886/50_6nov_dsl_stats_th.jpg (http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/965023886/50_6nov_dsl_stats.jpg)
Event log before trying to reconnect
http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/589484888/60_6nov_eventlog_before_trying_to_reconnect_th.jpg (http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/589484888/60_6nov_eventlog_before_trying_to_reconnect.jpg)
DSL conn stats after trying to reconnect
http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/1754446680/70_6nov_dsl_conn_after_trying_to_reconnect_th.jpg (http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/1754446680/70_6nov_dsl_conn_after_trying_to_reconnect.jpg)
abcdef
06-11-2005, 08:44 AM
6 Nov
Event log after manually restarting modem
http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/893775090/80_6nov_eventlog_after_restarting_modem_th.jpg (http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/893775090/80_6nov_eventlog_after_restarting_modem.jpg)
DSL conn after restarting modem
http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/1579353297/90_6nov_dsl_conn_after_restarting_modem_th.jpg (http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/1579353297/90_6nov_dsl_conn_after_restarting_modem.jpg)
tinker58
06-11-2005, 11:05 AM
Since nobody is replying let me try to help out.
Disconnect all extension phones from the wall socket eventhough with micro filter attached, just in case the mf is faulty and monitor again. Yr snr drops too low and crc is too high after u auto reboot the modem. Could be line issues also but trooubleshoot internal CPE and inhouse wiring first.
chaicka
06-11-2005, 11:45 AM
6 Nov
Event log after manually restarting modem
http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/893775090/80_6nov_eventlog_after_restarting_modem_th.jpg (http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/893775090/80_6nov_eventlog_after_restarting_modem.jpg)
DSL conn after restarting modem
http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/1579353297/90_6nov_dsl_conn_after_restarting_modem_th.jpg (http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/1579353297/90_6nov_dsl_conn_after_restarting_modem.jpg)
abcdef, seems ur d/c issues isn't due to line signal...but due to problem with PPP session unable to successfully lease an public ip address. The d/c was merely a PPP session dropping, and not DSL Sync dropping.
See if there is any connect button in the 2Wire's GUI for u to re-establish a PPP connect. U juz need to "re-dial", dun need to restart the whole CPE.
chaicka
06-11-2005, 11:46 AM
Since nobody is replying let me try to help out.
Disconnect all extension phones from the wall socket eventhough with micro filter attached, just in case the mf is faulty and monitor again. Yr snr drops too low and crc is too high after u auto reboot the modem. Could be line issues also but trooubleshoot internal CPE and inhouse wiring first.
His case nothing to do with DSL Sync drop, so ur technique does not apply to his current case liao.
peepee
06-11-2005, 11:46 AM
Hi! My ST585 also died out on me. Same problem. Can reset after that can surf 1 to 2 minutes and then line drop. Reconnect....ok surf 1 to 2 minutes then line drop.
Sigh... already call Singnet 5 time liao. Now waiting for line check. Hope can post this as I am sure I need to reconnect again.
"PS: Sometime error msg is idle time out!"
BTW, I stay in CCK.
chaicka
06-11-2005, 11:48 AM
Hi! My ST585 also died out on me. Same problem. Can reset after that can surf 1 to 2 minutes and then line drop. Reconnect....ok surf 1 to 2 minutes then line drop.
Sigh... already call Singnet 5 time liao. Now waiting for line check. Hope can post this as I am sure I need to reconnect again.
"PS: Sometime error msg is idle time out!"
BTW, I stay in CCK.
Post ur line stats in the "Compilation of ADSL2+ Line Statistics" thread...I analyse ur line stats first. BTW, I stay CCK too....kekeke
Shingoz
06-11-2005, 12:09 PM
Hey, dun presume me to be such a nasty person...:)
;)...hope u like the Line Statistics Guide...
Haha yesh....appreciate ur help ~
A good check to see if the stats are normal.
peepee
06-11-2005, 12:09 PM
Post ur line stats in the "Compilation of ADSL2+ Line Statistics" thread...I analyse ur line stats first. BTW, I stay CCK too....kekeke
Hi Chaicka, just manage to send you a pm.
Is below the line state?
Recorded Events
Time Message
13:31:41 (since last boot) xDSL linestate up (downstream: 23453 kbit/s, upstream: 1003 kbit/s; output Power Down: 19.0 dBm, Up: 8.5 dBm; line Attenuation Down: 12.0 dB, Up: 5.5 dB; snr Margin Down: 6.5 dB, Up: 6.0 dB)
13:30:32 (since last boot) xDSL linestate up (downstream: 23366 kbit/s, upstream: 1035 kbit/s; output Power Down: 19.0 dBm, Up: 8.5 dBm; line Attenuation Down: 12.0 dB, Up: 5.5 dB; snr Margin Down: 6.5 dB, Up: 6.0 dB)
13:29:31 (since last boot) xDSL linestate up (downstream: 23445 kbit/s, upstream: 1011 kbit/s; output Power Down: 19.0 dBm, Up: 8.5 dBm; line Attenuation Down: 12.0 dB, Up: 5.5 dB; snr Margin Down: 6.5 dB, Up: 6.5 dB)
abcdef
06-11-2005, 12:11 PM
abcdef, seems ur d/c issues isn't due to line signal...but due to problem with PPP session unable to successfully lease an public ip address. The d/c was merely a PPP session dropping, and not DSL Sync dropping.
See if there is any connect button in the 2Wire's GUI for u to re-establish a PPP connect. U juz need to "re-dial", dun need to restart the whole CPE.
actually i'd tried to just connect w/o restarting the whole CPE (assuming that's the modem). But the Internet led would still be red. Hence i needed to restart the whole CPE (btw what does CPE stand for?)
and after i restart the whole CPE the internet connection does not automatically come up. I'd still need to manually connect. Sigh!
Why does this happen? ==> "but due to problem with PPP session unable to successfully lease an public ip address"
btw i'm using SpeedTouch and not 2wire
chaicka
06-11-2005, 12:20 PM
Hi Chaicka, just manage to send you a pm.
Is below the line state?
Recorded Events
Time Message
13:31:41 (since last boot) xDSL linestate up (downstream: 23453 kbit/s, upstream: 1003 kbit/s; output Power Down: 19.0 dBm, Up: 8.5 dBm; line Attenuation Down: 12.0 dB, Up: 5.5 dB; snr Margin Down: 6.5 dB, Up: 6.0 dB)
13:30:32 (since last boot) xDSL linestate up (downstream: 23366 kbit/s, upstream: 1035 kbit/s; output Power Down: 19.0 dBm, Up: 8.5 dBm; line Attenuation Down: 12.0 dB, Up: 5.5 dB; snr Margin Down: 6.5 dB, Up: 6.0 dB)
13:29:31 (since last boot) xDSL linestate up (downstream: 23445 kbit/s, upstream: 1011 kbit/s; output Power Down: 19.0 dBm, Up: 8.5 dBm; line Attenuation Down: 12.0 dB, Up: 5.5 dB; snr Margin Down: 6.5 dB, Up: 6.5 dB)
I dun do private consultations...post screenshots in that thread I mentioned, I will help analyse it.
chaicka
06-11-2005, 12:25 PM
actually i'd tried to just connect w/o restarting the whole CPE (assuming that's the modem). But the Internet led would still be red. Hence i needed to restart the whole CPE (btw what does CPE stand for?)
and after i restart the whole CPE the internet connection does not automatically come up. I'd still need to manually connect. Sigh!
Why does this happen? ==> "but due to problem with PPP session unable to successfully lease an public ip address"
btw i'm using SpeedTouch and not 2wire
CPE stands for Customer Premises Equipment, the term CPE is commonly used in xDSL which refers to the xDSL modem or router in the customer end of the loop.
Did u set the ST585 to auto-redial upon disconnection? There should be a setting for that somewhere in the GUI. May be named differently for different manufacturers so look around for any setting options that state similar meaning. Normally should be in the PPP settings page, but some CPEs have poor navigation group design, so gonna look around.
When the PPP session dropped, try using Connect button (again, should be in the GUI somwhere), then cross reference to the log and see what is happening when u use the Connect button to reconnect /redial the PPP session. That should help us identify the cause of the PPP issue.
abcdef
06-11-2005, 05:09 PM
Thanks again. Just tot i upload my stats after i've immediately removed the MF and after 4hrs later.
Immediately after remove MF and connect directly.
http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/659203270/6nov_1224_after_remove_mf_and_reconnect.jpg (http://www.photoi.org)
4 hrs later
http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/322011244/6nov_1705_after_remove_mf_and_reconnect.jpg (http://www.photoi.org)
chaicka
06-11-2005, 05:27 PM
ur SNR (downstream) seems to dip over time...and to have a SNR of 4.5dB, it's not good. Suspect minor interference along ur phone line or u hv too many spilts...
How many spilts/points on the same phone line u have?
Which is the main point that is direct from the outside DP?
Is ur CPE connected to the main point?
peepee
06-11-2005, 05:41 PM
Hi Chaicka , I have posted my screen shot in the compilation thread. Can you help me with my line?
http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?p=16292483
abcdef
06-11-2005, 06:37 PM
ur SNR (downstream) seems to dip over time...and to have a SNR of 4.5dB, it's not good. Suspect minor interference along ur phone line or u hv too many spilts...
How many spilts/points on the same phone line u have?
Which is the main point that is direct from the outside DP?
Is ur CPE connected to the main point?
There's only 2 phone point in my place. One in living and other in bedroom. No phones are connected/shared at the moment. Now my CPE is connected to living room point directly.
SNR down going down over time = noise level increasing?
chaicka
06-11-2005, 10:17 PM
Yes, there is interference thus the SNR (downstream) drops further over time.
Try and narrow down possible causes, like when u switch on wat electrical appliances the SNR dips? Or when u off the lights and on the lights, is there any difference?
tinker58
06-11-2005, 11:02 PM
abcdef,
May i suggest that after u have done all that chaicka suggested above and found no improvements in yr low snr readings why not call singtel to do a line check. If it's internal wiring problems u will be charge $20 service fee and if the fault lies at singtel's side then FOC. That is if you unsure of internal wiring troubleshooting techniques.
abcdef
07-11-2005, 09:42 PM
abcdef,
May i suggest that after u have done all that chaicka suggested above and found no improvements in yr low snr readings why not call singtel to do a line check. If it's internal wiring problems u will be charge $20 service fee and if the fault lies at singtel's side then FOC. That is if you unsure of internal wiring troubleshooting techniques.
I think i may need to call Singtel man! :( My internet connection got disconnected again. The SNR level is still at 6.5/4.5. And this is when i'm connecting directly to the phone point. Never encountered this problem when i was on 512K. And that time i was sharing my phone some more.
I've the screencaps if anyone is interested in a zip file
chaicka
07-11-2005, 10:30 PM
I think i may need to call Singtel man! :( My internet connection got disconnected again. The SNR level is still at 6.5/4.5. And this is when i'm connecting directly to the phone point. Never encountered this problem when i was on 512K. And that time i was sharing my phone some more.
Escalate to SingNet/SingTel...have done all there is to help u liao...let them do their job...
peepee
07-11-2005, 10:52 PM
Hi Chaicka, which part of CCK you staying. Can teach me how to optimise my ST585? I have call singnet to check my net on Saturday and hopefully after that can get good BT speed w port f/warding.
tinker58
07-11-2005, 11:09 PM
When u are on 512K u wont see much SNR dip due to the speed factor. 10M is a totally different thing. It's ADSL2+ fast speed and it requires more stringent requirements in terms of condition of yr internal wiring, equipment/phones, socket points whether any oxdization and etc.
Get the singtel technician to test it out with his ST585 modem and test it out for at least 1/2 hr
on his laptop to see any fluctuations in SNR and CRC. Then u could request the tech to test the ST585 on yr PC/laptop. Let us know the outcome and share any info.
chaicka
07-11-2005, 11:13 PM
When u are on 512K u wont see much SNR dip due to the speed factor. 10M is a totally different thing. It's ADSL2+ fast speed and it requires more stringent requirements in terms of condition of yr internal wiring, equipment/phones, socket points whether any oxdization and etc.
Get the singtel technician to test it out with his ST585 modem and test it out for at least 1/2 hr
on his laptop to see any fluctuations in SNR and CRC. Then u could request the tech to test the ST585 on yr PC/laptop. Let us know the outcome and share any info.
Yup, it would be interesting if we can PROVE that the 2Wire is the culprit for all the SNR dipping and auto-drop DSL Sync.
tinker58
07-11-2005, 11:30 PM
I thought abcdef is using the speedtouch 585 not 2wire ?
chaicka
08-11-2005, 12:09 AM
Hmmm...got my hands on another firmware, not sure abt the country of origin (there was one origin as UK posted here b4 by someone else), but the version is 5.3.2.6 too...
For those who wanna try, u can get it here:
http://s20.yousendit.com/d.aspx?id=214BZVJH2OAPG2EP4ZU1X7F5UW
pauper
08-11-2005, 09:04 PM
hi all,
my pc is 24/7 on and i dont have any disconnection problem
but the problem is with my 2 laptops using wireless on ST585.
I can never connect them without restarting the ST585.
I am able to see the network but just cannot connect.
Already tried disable WEP.
Borrowed another laptop to try and still facing same problem.
Any1 any suggestion??
abcdef
09-11-2005, 11:03 PM
I thought abcdef is using the speedtouch 585 not 2wire ?
yup. using ST585. Called ST today and the technician would be coming down this Sat. Will get him to test out the line. Dunno if he'd bring his own ST585 or not.
one thing though, when i called ST today and they checked my logins from their side the support guy told me something shocking! He said that he sees me connecting and disconnecting every 2 minutes!! not sure how is that the case but i've been able to surf for some hours without issue.
chaicka
10-11-2005, 01:10 AM
yup. using ST585. Called ST today and the technician would be coming down this Sat. Will get him to test out the line. Dunno if he'd bring his own ST585 or not.
one thing though, when i called ST today and they checked my logins from their side the support guy told me something shocking! He said that he sees me connecting and disconnecting every 2 minutes!! not sure how is that the case but i've been able to surf for some hours without issue.
You using ST585 right...can u go to the page where it shows the PPPoE details, then click on details on the top right corner, and look for the word "concentrator"...tell me what's the value of the concentrator.
tinker58
10-11-2005, 07:02 PM
I discovered something today with the 2wire 2700HG with similar symptoms as yours. Based on the DSL diganostics my line sync drops for three times within 5 to 10 mins interval. The modem 'dsl' and 'internet' lights blinks like crazy until it finally stabilize. But surprisingly at that moment i'm still downloading two big files for testing purposes and it's still loading with no DC. :s22:
http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/1578017395/dsl.bmp
http://img384.imageshack.us/img384/6412/snap41dq.th.png (http://img384.imageshack.us/my.php?image=snap41dq.png)
i using 1500........... :s22:
flash to 5.3.2.6 firmware try both PPPoE and PPPoA liao:s22:
is there normal ?
-----------------------------------------------
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 4,5 / 3,0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 26,0 / 30,5
edit*
know how to do port forward liao
but still need to know how to change the antenna
thank a lot :)
chaicka
11-11-2005, 06:26 PM
http://img384.imageshack.us/img384/6412/snap41dq.th.png (http://img384.imageshack.us/my.php?image=snap41dq.png)
i using 1500...........
flash to 5.3.2.6 firmware try both PPPoE and PPPoA liao:s22:
is there normal ?
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 4,5 / 3,0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 26,0 / 30,5
anyone can show me pic how to do port forward and take pic and show step how to change the antenna
thank a lot :)
For ADSL1, ur line is good, really good...:)
If PPPoA works for ur line, then stick to use PPPoA instead. Juz remember if u have tweaked ur systems to MTU=1492, change that to MTU=1500 when u use PPPoA.
i am using "The SpeedTouch Residential Resource CD 5.3.2 V6" to upgrade the firmware :)
however the download is slow for me ...take 3~4hour to download that two file :s22:
link from :
http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/forum-replies.cfm?t=422001&p=2
*this R5.3 RESIDENTIAL CD is released by THOMSON Telecom Belgium
abcdef
13-11-2005, 01:59 PM
You using ST585 right...can u go to the page where it shows the PPPoE details, then click on details on the top right corner, and look for the word "concentrator"...tell me what's the value of the concentrator.
My concentrator is 'Gamma'. The ST guy came and did the line check. He said that my line signal is very good. He was asking me also if the DSL led did blink on and off many times. I've check and the DSL led has never been blinking on and off. Hence i'd believe him that the line is very good. Actually on top of that my DSL connection shows quite a long uptime. It is only the Internet portion that shows 'disconnected' at times.
Any advise? He suggested i go and change the modem :P
or should i try upgrading the firmware. I've also yet to find the place which configures the auto-connect when the modem is restarted. This was working when the modem is first installed.
chaicka
13-11-2005, 02:08 PM
all these LED thingy dun mean anything to me....
Disconnection for WAN side, is either DSL Sync drop, or PPP Session drop.
Show the log of the CPE to know for sure if PPP sessions did drop or not.
juve10
14-11-2005, 08:35 AM
I wonder any1 could help.
on Sat my internet suddenly stop connection. I called up singnet & they say my line is perfect from the exchange to my home. However I could get connected with the internet unable to connect at all. The DSL light is on. I also did verify that my password is correct. The singnet guy say that my ADSL modem is faulty.
Does VRNET send some1 down if I call them or I have to bring the modem to VRNET to verify? :s11:
juve10
14-11-2005, 11:47 AM
on Sat my internet suddenly stop connection. I called up singnet & they say my line is perfect from the exchange to my home. However the internet unable to connect at all. The DSL light is on. I also did verify that my password is correct. The singnet guy say that my ADSL modem is faulty.
Does VRNET send some1 down if I call them or I have to bring the modem to VRNET to verify? :s11:
HELP HELP HELP :s16:
Been using it since August only Sat then it died on me. so helpless for the weekend, till today I post my help in the office. I will call VRnet tonite when i get home but if any1 here can help me. :s11:
albertchng
14-11-2005, 12:03 PM
on Sat my internet suddenly stop connection. I called up singnet & they say my line is perfect from the exchange to my home. However I could get connected with the internet unable to connect at all. The DSL light is on. I also did verify that my password is correct. The singnet guy say that my ADSL modem is faulty.
You mentioned your DSL light is on, can you verify that your INTERNET light is red or green or off?
If really the modem is at fault, please sent the modem to VRNet yourself, if you want them to come to your house, i believe they will charge you accordingly.
juve10
14-11-2005, 12:59 PM
You mentioned your DSL light is on, can you verify that your INTERNET light is red or green or off?
If really the modem is at fault, please sent the modem to VRNet yourself, if you want them to come to your house, i believe they will charge you accordingly.
hi,
The DSL light is green.
I did a reset on the button behind to reset back to default.
after that it boot up, with all the lights on & internet is red.
Huh? No home support :s11: Vrnet is located at Bukit Panjang rite? very far leh.
Do you know how much they charge?
chaicka
14-11-2005, 01:23 PM
hi,
The DSL light is green.
Huh? No home support :s11: Vrnet is located at Bukit Panjang rite? very far leh.
Since when there is OnSite support...they are paid only for the installation service, not 12 Months OnSite Support Service.....
For Your Info, an IBM Service Pack for OnSite, Next-Business-Day Support for a ThinkPad, easily cost you >$150. How much did you pay for the CPE? Oh, I forgot, it's given FOC...:)
VRnet is not at Bukit Panjang...should be at Pasir Panjang (not too sure), that's two different locations.
juve10
14-11-2005, 01:30 PM
Since when there is OnSite support...they are paid only for the installation service, not 12 Months OnSite Support Service.....
For Your Info, an IBM Service Pack for OnSite, Next-Business-Day Support for a ThinkPad, easily cost you >$150. How much did you pay for the CPE? Oh, I forgot, it's given FOC...:)
VRnet is not at Bukit Panjang...should be at Pasir Panjang (not too sure), that's two different locations.
Dunoe so I ask got onsite bo lor..haizzz
I think i got mix up abt the panjang...haizzz....samer samer
I think i call VRnet tonite see how liao. haizzz
hangyong
14-11-2005, 01:53 PM
hi,
The DSL light is green.
wait wait wait...
you pressed the RESET button at the back of the modem... so did you go back into the modem's web interface to redo all your configuration?
Please note you MUST use the wizard, or your settings, even if correct will NOT work.
the RESTART is done in the web interface, not push button.
albertchng
14-11-2005, 02:25 PM
hi,
The DSL light is green.
Alamak!!! You resetted the modem, erasing every configurations including your singnet userid & password, of course INTERNET light is RED.
VRNet is located at 102F Pasir Panjang Road #03-07 Citilink Warehouse Complex. Call them before going down @ 65520555. Want home support, call them for their rate$.
Shinji_U
14-11-2005, 02:38 PM
I've been using the ST585 as bridge mode so far and hasn't have any problem, but using the ST585 as a bridge seems to waste its capabilities which is under prioritized by my DI-624 cause of the 108Mbps wireless network...
Thinking of getting the SMC ADSL2 Barricade.. wonder will that work well.. .then sell off this ST585 to someone who wanna play with it...
hahha...
Idea?
:D
chaicka
14-11-2005, 02:49 PM
I've been using the ST585 as bridge mode so far and hasn't have any problem, but using the ST585 as a bridge seems to waste its capabilities which is under prioritized by my DI-624 cause of the 108Mbps wireless network...
Thinking of getting the SMC ADSL2 Barricade.. wonder will that work well.. .then sell off this ST585 to someone who wanna play with it...
hahha...
Idea?
Check Your PM...:D
juve10
14-11-2005, 02:50 PM
wait wait wait...
you pressed the RESET button at the back of the modem... so did you go back into the modem's web interface to redo all your configuration?
Please note you MUST use the wizard, or your settings, even if correct will NOT work.
the RESTART is done in the web interface, not push button.
Yes the reset button & yes I re-configure the userID & password part. Disable the WLAN cos I dun require it.
Why I reset, cos Singnet at 1st ask me to put in the CD & go thru the wizard again as I configure my own IP on the LAN.
After that still red. Haizzz.....damn sian.
chaicka
14-11-2005, 02:53 PM
Yes the reset button & yes I re-configure the userID & password part. Disable the WLAN cos I dun require it.
Why I reset, cos Singnet at 1st ask me to put in the CD & go thru the wizard again as I configure my own IP on the LAN.
After that still red. Haizzz.....damn sian.
It is not the fault of the ISP, Telco, nor the Installation Vendor if everything has been set up to be working fine, but the user itchy hands make changes without due diligence and knowledge and "break" the thing.
PS: Not saying u are not knowledgeable...juz pointing the responsibility of those parties do not cover user-messing up.
juve10
14-11-2005, 02:53 PM
Alamak!!! You resetted the modem, erasing every configurations including your singnet userid & password, of course INTERNET light is RED.
VRNet is located at 102F Pasir Panjang Road #03-07 Citilink Warehouse Complex. Call them before going down @ 65520555. Want home support, call them for their rate$.
I add my userid & password liao.
Tks. Think i just have to call them & see what's wrong with it lor. Haizzz....
albertchng
14-11-2005, 02:56 PM
paiseh.
you use "userid" or "userid@singnet"?
suggest you go thru SETUP using the WIZARD.
juve10
14-11-2005, 02:57 PM
It is not the fault of the ISP, Telco, nor the Installation Vendor if everything has been set up to be working fine, but the user itchy hands make changes without due diligence and knowledge and "break" the thing.
Not all user are unknowledgable.
I have configure my own IP & it is working since day 1 in August 2005 till sat, after that nothing has been done to it.
For what I know setting own LAN IP got nothing to do with the internet connection as long your userid & password are correct. :s27:
juve10
14-11-2005, 02:57 PM
paiseh.
you use "userid" or "userid@singnet"?
suggest you go thru SETUP using the WIZARD.
i used wizard & its userid@singnet lor. :(
chaicka
14-11-2005, 02:58 PM
I added this while u are posting:
PS: Not saying u are not knowledgeable...juz pointing the responsibility of those parties do not cover user-messing up.
:)
albertchng
14-11-2005, 02:59 PM
then sell off this ST585 to someone who wanna play with it...
hahha...
Idea?
i bet someone is very itchy after seeing the above... :s13:
juve10
14-11-2005, 03:00 PM
I added this while u are posting:
me juz have to call VRnet tonite lor.
haizzz...damn sian...low morale.... :(
albertchng
14-11-2005, 03:05 PM
Not all user are unknowledgable.
I have configure my own IP & it is working since day 1 in August 2005 till sat, after that nothing has been done to it.
For what I know setting own LAN IP got nothing to do with the internet connection as long your userid & password are correct. :s27:
like that arrhhh...
call their helpdesk and request a helpdesk account to test the login and ask them if they could detect your modem from their end. if even with their test account also cannot login, then sent your modem to vendor to check lor.
chaicka
14-11-2005, 03:16 PM
i bet someone is very itchy after seeing the above... :s13:
Hahahaha........of coz...
hangyong
14-11-2005, 03:30 PM
i used wizard & its userid@singnet lor. :(
can you go into the webinterface, and then show us the log??
and also do a screeenshot of the PPP connecion and the Internet connection page.
that will be very very helpful. Much more than what you have typed.
juve10
14-11-2005, 03:49 PM
can you go into the webinterface, and then show us the log??
and also do a screeenshot of the PPP connecion and the Internet connection page.
that will be very very helpful. Much more than what you have typed.
I posting in the office. when i get home, no internet cant post also. I dun use dialup modem anymore. haizzz....
hangyong
14-11-2005, 04:15 PM
I posting in the office. when i get home, no internet cant post also. I dun use dialup modem anymore. haizzz....
then turn on the modem.. make sure all LEDs are lit
press the reset button until the front LEDs are gone (or about 10 secs)
then let the modem run... it will take about 5mins for it to get eveything back in order again.
make sure your PC is in DHCP mode.
See if your ADSL Link LED is green.
go to the webinterface, setup the modem using the wizard.
see if it works.
BTW, where you stay?
juve10
14-11-2005, 04:19 PM
then turn on the modem.. make sure all LEDs are lit
press the reset button until the front LEDs are gone (or about 10 secs)
then let the modem run... it will take about 5mins for it to get eveything back in order again.
make sure your PC is in DHCP mode.
See if your ADSL Link LED is green.
go to the webinterface, setup the modem using the wizard.
see if it works.
BTW, where you stay?
I have tried that. Anyway no harm trying again tonite.
I stay Bishan.
hangyong
14-11-2005, 04:29 PM
I have tried that. Anyway no harm trying again tonite.
I stay Bishan.
I noticed that the ST585 has a couple of profiles inside.... you may have to restart a few times initially.... just keep trying...
the problem now is that you can get ADSL sync up, but the top (or right most) LED not lit right?
juve10
14-11-2005, 04:36 PM
I noticed that the ST585 has a couple of profiles inside.... you may have to restart a few times initially.... just keep trying...
the problem now is that you can get ADSL sync up, but the top (or right most) LED not lit right?
DSL link is up but internet led is red.
hangyong
14-11-2005, 04:47 PM
DSL link is up but internet led is red.
ok... that is because your are NOT authenticated by Singnet. Not line problem, not modem problem.
Are you 100% sure that you used the wizard?
The wizard is in SpeedTouch>Set Up
the follow through....
in the wizard, the @singnet is pre-added, so you dun have to type that again.
Then make sure you key in the correct password. EVERYTHING IS CASE SENSITIVE.
Make sure you are in PPPoE or PPPoA mode instead of bridge.
also make sure VCI/VPI is 0/100
juve10
14-11-2005, 04:54 PM
ok... that is because your are NOT authenticated by Singnet. Not line problem, not modem problem.
Are you 100% sure that you used the wizard?
The wizard is in SpeedTouch>Set Up
the follow through....
in the wizard, the @singnet is pre-added, so you dun have to type that again.
Then make sure you key in the correct password. EVERYTHING IS CASE SENSITIVE.
Make sure you are in PPPoE or PPPoA mode instead of bridge.
also make sure VCI/VPI is 0/100
I will have to try again tonite, if still cannot then i call VRNET liao. haizzz.... :s11:
hangyong
14-11-2005, 05:02 PM
I will have to try again tonite, if still cannot then i call VRNET liao. haizzz.... :s11:
like I have said, its very unlikely a modem problem, although I wun say its not possible.
You can also get singnet to reset your password and you try with the default password.
When my ADSL2+ was activated, my dialup that came together with the plan cannot log in. Called up and complain and they say no problem. 2 days later, it mysteriously solved on its own, after numerous calls.
what actually happened before the problem starts?
floz78
15-11-2005, 12:47 AM
Is it a miracle now that I am able to type this on the internet at my convenience at home? YES.
Now I think having internet connection at home is such a luxury. Earlier on in the afternoon, I experienced a connection drop out and there was no way I could get it up. I'm on a 10mbps plan and I've upgraded it from my 1500 plan on 2nd Nov. There were a few dropouts since last week but today, it stays disconnected throughout - until now.
First of all, I would like to say I'm no computer geek but I'm no tech idiot either, most of the time if I could figure things out, I'll try to do it on my own with information from the internet such as some valuable ones that I learned from this forum. But today, I simply could not get my connection up at all with all the knowledge at hand, even with the help of the tech operators at singnet.
When I woke up this afternoon, I noticed that the internet led light is red and therefore I can't connect. I did the usual testing such as re-starting, switching off the modem, plugging and unplugging the phone lines from micro-filter and connect directly to the phone socket, unplugged my lan cable and replugged it in... etc, all to no avail.
So... I called the singnet helpdesk, and they went thru all the necessary procedures and testings such as pinging, ipconfig... etc and at the end, reconfiguring the modem... Seriously, I don't know what happened, but something went wrong when she started asking me to do the set up, I followed the instructions on the phone and the modem got locked up at the end! During the set up process, the modem prompted me for a user and password to the modem which I did not set, somehow or rather, after which the operator asked me to cancel it, the modem got locked, which means I can't log in to the speedtouch homepage.
I became frustrated when her supervisor told her to tell me that there's nothing they can do except for calling VRnet so they can unlock the modem for me.
WTF?
I do not see any logic to it because it wasn't my fault to cause the modem to be locked out. The whole situation became so ludicrous beyond my imagination. And the worse thing was, VRnet's hotline service made me hold on to the phone until it got cut off and still nobody was gonna answer my call. I did that 3 times, 45 minutes of my liftetime was spent waiting for a person at VRnet to answer my call. In the end, I left 2 voicemails short of vulgarities...
I wasn't satisfied, I called singnet again and this time a male operator answered the phone. I said I wanted to speak with the supervisor, because it's ridiculous that I have to deal with the vendor alone when locking out the modem was not my fault in the first place. To cut the long story short, this guy tried to calm me down and he taught me how to do a hard reset on the modem which is like - poke the hole behind the modem... well, it solved the problem and why didn't the previous operator teach me that? I wonder, and that supervisor's advice? That was indeed so HELPFUL.
This kind and generous operator did a line check for me over at his end which he claimed that it was within the specs. And after another round of monotonous procedures of testing, etc... he said it is most probably a modem problem.
But I really cannot comprehend.
DSL light up and solid, so are all other lights except for the internet light. In the event log, it says line not routed to the default gateway anymore at the time of dropout... Modem problem? I seriously don't think so.
Anyway by this time, I'm already burning like sulfur in hell. I seriously cannot accept that this is actually happening... just 2 days ago I really need the internet like doing online bidding for my dad's shop, just imagine if this happened on the bidding day? Thank God it happened on a day when I don't really need the internet!
I guess the whole experience left me frustrated and exhausted because both vendors keep pushing faults at each other. Finally at 7:30pm, I got a call from VRnet who responded to my voice mail 3 hours ago at 4pm... I was like... f**k lah... what the heck, I'm out having dinner already. And... VRnet says it's 90% not the modem's fault but the only way he could advice me was to bring the modem down to VRnet for a check in order to rule out the possiblities of a faulty modem. He also suggested that I could test out the connection by using the modem I used for my previous 1500 plan and if that doesn't connect, then it is most probably singnet's fault.
I reckoned that... so I tried to happily have my dinner first, go out take a breather. I just arrived home half an hour ago and made a final attempt to connect with this modem (at that juncture, the internet light is totally off), I clicked connect and WALA... it's up!
So here I am, taking this oppurtunity to share the ordeal I went thru today. I still don't know what the f**k actually happened, maybe someone could enlighten me. I haven't check my sister's comp who is connecting using wireless receiver, the modem is wired to my PC. I can't be bothered... now I'm just taking the luxury of replying important mails, put this up on the forum and freaking sleep. Thanks to those who read and are able to respond, I'll check and see if my internet is dead or alive tomorrow... This is my first post on the forum, I didn't know it would be that long for a first post.
Below is a snapshot of my DSL connection at 1am:
http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/15486556/dsl_th.jpg (http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/15486556/dsl.jpg)
princess086
15-11-2005, 01:01 AM
Is it a miracle now that I am able to type this on the internet at my convenience at home? YES.
Now I think having internet connection at home is such a luxury. Earlier on in the afternoon, I experienced a connection drop out and there was no way I could get it up. I'm on a 10mbps plan and I've upgraded it from my 1500 plan on 2nd Nov. There were a few dropouts since last week but today, it stays disconnected throughout - until now.
First of all, I would like to say I'm no computer geek but I'm no tech idiot either, most of the time if I could figure things out, I'll try to do it on my own with information from the internet such as some valuable ones that I learned from this forum. But today, I simply could not get my connection up at all with all the knowledge at hand, even with the help of the tech operators at singnet.
When I woke up this afternoon, I noticed that the internet led light is red and therefore I can't connect. I did the usual testing such as re-starting, switching off the modem, plugging and unplugging the phone lines from micro-filter and connect directly to the phone socket, unplugged my lan cable and replugged it in... etc, all to no avail.
So... I called the singnet helpdesk, and they went thru all the necessary procedures and testings such as pinging, ipconfig... etc and at the end, reconfiguring the modem... Seriously, I don't know what happened, but something went wrong when she started asking me to do the set up, I followed the instructions on the phone and the modem got locked up at the end! During the set up process, the modem prompted me for a user and password to the modem which I did not set, somehow or rather, after which the operator asked me to cancel it, the modem got locked, which means I can't log in to the speedtouch homepage.
I became frustrated when her supervisor told her to tell me that there's nothing they can do except for calling VRnet so they can unlock the modem for me.
WTF?
I do not see any logic to it because it wasn't my fault to cause the modem to be locked out. The whole situation became so ludicrous beyond my imagination. And the worse thing was, VRnet's hotline service made me hold on to the phone until it got cut off and still nobody was gonna answer my call. I did that 3 times, 45 minutes of my liftetime was spent waiting for a person at VRnet to answer my call. In the end, I left 2 voicemails short of vulgarities...
I wasn't satisfied, I called singnet again and this time a male operator answered the phone. I said I wanted to speak with the supervisor, because it's ridiculous that I have to deal with the vendor alone when locking out the modem was not my fault in the first place. To cut the long story short, this guy tried to calm me down and he taught me how to do a hard reset on the modem which is like - poke the hole behind the modem... well, it solved the problem and why didn't the previous operator teach me that? I wonder, and that supervisor's advice? That was indeed so HELPFUL.
This kind and generous operator did a line check for me over at his end which he claimed that it was within the specs. And after another round of monotonous procedures of testing, etc... he said it is most probably a modem problem.
DSL light up and solid, so are all other lights except for the internet light. In the event log, it says line not routed to the default gateway anymore at the time of dropout... Modem problem? I seriously don't think so.
Anyway by this time, I'm already burning like sulfur in hell. I seriously cannot accept that this is actually happening... just 2 days ago I really need the internet like doing online bidding for my dad's shop, just imagine if this happened on the bidding day? Thank God it happened on a day when I don't really need the internet!
I guess the whole experience left me frustrated and exhausted because both vendors keep pushing faults at each other. Finally at 7:30pm, I got a call from VRnet who responded to my voice mail 3 hours ago at 4pm... I was like... f**k lah... what the heck, I'm out having dinner already. And... VRnet says it's 90% not the modem's fault but the only way he could advice me was to bring the modem down to VRnet for a check in order to rule out the possiblities of a faulty modem. He also suggested that I could test out the connection by using the modem I used for my previous 1500 plan and if that doesn't connect, then it is most probably singnet's fault.
I reckoned that... so I tried to happily have my dinner first, go out take a breather. I just arrived home half an hour ago and made a final attempt to connect with this modem (at that juncture, the internet light is totally off), I clicked connect and WALA... it's up!
So here I am, taking this oppurtunity to share the ordeal I went thru today. I still don't know what the f**k actually happened, maybe someone could enlighten me. I haven't check my sister's comp who is connecting using wireless receiver, the modem is wired to my PC. I can't be bothered... now I'm just taking the luxury of replying important mails, put this up on the forum and freaking sleep. Thanks to those who read and are able to respond, I'll check and see if my internet is dead or alive tomorrow... This is my first post on the forum, I didn't know it would be that long for a first post.
i think is so obvious is not a modem problem i think the ( not able to connect could be sending ppp authencation got lost in some where between Exchange to BRAS data got lost in some where). Take a look what is the concentrator now.
chaicka
15-11-2005, 01:21 AM
WTF?
Below is a snapshot of my DSL connection at 1am:
http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/15486556/dsl_th.jpg (http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/15486556/dsl.jpg)
Welcome to the real world...
Guess wat? Consumers keep wanting lower priced broadband, so the only way to achieve so is by cutting cost which means, getting low-level skilled helpdesk CSOs, and even to the extend of outsourcing out of Singapore.
Furthermore, the $ that the vendors get per installation isn't as much as it used to, in fact getting lesser and lesser, thus cut cost as well on pple maning the phones.
What can I say? We reap what we sow...
floz78
15-11-2005, 06:07 AM
Welcome to the real world...
Guess wat? Consumers keep wanting lower priced broadband, so the only way to achieve so is by cutting cost which means, getting low-level skilled helpdesk CSOs, and even to the extend of outsourcing out of Singapore.
Furthermore, the $ that the vendors get per installation isn't as much as it used to, in fact getting lesser and lesser, thus cut cost as well on pple maning the phones.
What can I say? We reap what we sow...
NEWSFLASH: Who doesn't like good things to be cheap? Even celebrities or rich tai tais would grab half-priced Louis Vuitton... "We reap what we sow..." HUH?????????
The low pricing broadband plans (which I begged to differ if you compare to other countries with well established internet infrastructures) was spawned out of silly price wars against ONE competitor?
Would the jury pls say with me: PLEASE...
Even so, I believe singnet was pretty ok with their ADSL plans, at least I didn't have problems with my 512 and 1500 plans until this.
Thanks for shedding light on how they operate this business, but I don't think anybody gives a damn about their tough life. Again, which business do not count on cost cutting techniques? My Dad's a businessman, I think I know better about getting the best out of consumers without investing too much. But bad service? No, that should never be part of the game. And because this is singnet, and singnet belongs to the gahment and the service was ridiculous. I can accept sh*t from VRnet, but singnet? Geez... none of the officers can speak proper English and just when you thought maybe Mandarin would be a better communicating language? Worse! 半中不西,不中不西。
Anyway, this is not the end even though my connection is already up now. I'll correspond with them today and see how they respond to yesterday's situation.
hangyong
15-11-2005, 06:38 AM
I realised that there are many occurance of the Internet Light turning red these few days.
I have a colleage who had the same problem.
Then juve10 also...
and now, floz78....
what is happening?? The BRAS really changing???
chaicka
15-11-2005, 08:12 AM
NEWSFLASH: Who doesn't like good things to be cheap? Even celebrities or rich tai tais would grab half-priced Louis Vuitton... "We reap what we sow..." HUH?????????
The low pricing broadband plans (which I begged to differ if you compare to other countries with well established internet infrastructures) was spawned out of silly price wars against ONE competitor?
Would the jury pls say with me: PLEASE...
Even so, I believe singnet was pretty ok with their ADSL plans, at least I didn't have problems with my 512 and 1500 plans until this.
Thanks for shedding light on how they operate this business, but I don't think anybody gives a damn about their tough life. Again, which business do not count on cost cutting techniques? My Dad's a businessman, I think I know better about getting the best out of consumers without investing too much. But bad service? No, that should never be part of the game. And because this is singnet, and singnet belongs to the gahment and the service was ridiculous. I can accept sh*t from VRnet, but singnet? Geez... none of the officers can speak proper English and just when you thought maybe Mandarin would be a better communicating language? Worse! 半中不西,不中不西。
Anyway, this is not the end even though my connection is already up now. I'll correspond with them today and see how they respond to yesterday's situation.
I am not saying the broadband service is no good, but I am more of directing at the helpdesk service. It's been outsourced to our "neighbour"...and tat explains ur "none of the officers can speak proper English and just when you thought maybe Mandarin would be a better communicating language? Worse! 半中不西,不中不西。"
chaicka
15-11-2005, 08:18 AM
I realised that there are many occurance of the Internet Light turning red these few days.
I have a colleage who had the same problem.
Then juve10 also...
and now, floz78....
what is happening?? The BRAS really changing???
Hehehe...pal, u "picking" it up as well, as per our discussion yesterday?
Ok, those on ADSL2+ service with 2Wire and ST585, not sure which CPE (if not both) has the ability to show the concentrator name.
Check the concentrator name showing, I was discussing with hangyong yesterday that there might be a change in the BRAS for ADSL2+ services (those 10mbps and 25mbps), and so far, I have seen concentrator name as Gamma and Beta. I am pretty sure when ADSL2+ was launched, the concentrator name wasn't these names, as they were using the same BRAS as those ADSL services.
If it is true that the BRAS is changing, it would only mean it's a good sign for those on ADSL2+ services. Coz some of the D/C issues faced by ADSL2+ users are actually not related to line quality but PPP sessions dropping out on them.
juve10
15-11-2005, 09:02 AM
Gd da morning everyone.
saw the post from floz78.
I was very very piss yesterday. fuming like a volcano.
I try to rush hm from Jurong office to call VRNET before 9pm.
Try my stupid ST585 again, still red light, (Like geylang like tat, NB), quickly had my dinner, then call VRNET cos I reali lost (like Thursday best serial). Like wat Floz78 encounter, I couldnt even remember how many times I call as the line get cut off, left 2 voice mail (w/o vulgar), but not as bad as wat floz78 encounter, i got the call fr VRNET 45mins to 1hr later.
We did alot of test, reset the modem, telnet to the 585, use the linetest a/c, all these doesn't get thru, no log as well. He say try getting a modem ADSL for 1500 can do if not can bring dwn for testing. OK.
All my friends are in Cable, ****. OK. I manage to find 1 aztech adsl modem.
Cannot get it up as well, did a diagno test, the modme mention something like cable from Modem to wall socket.
OK I change the phone line, still cannot, change the micro filter still cannot. WTF.
I fedup, use my mum PC in another rm with another socket. Same result. Damn Piss liao.
Nevermind, I call up Singnet again cos I already call on Sat.
The lady ask me to troubleshoot again asking gateway etc etc.
I got very piss, I said: let me tell you wat i did so u wont ask me do it again.
After telling her everything, she ask me to reinstall driver for the modem. WTF.
REALLY piss., she say she pass me to her supervisor, I say fine, PLS GO AHEAD.
Well the supervisor answer after 5-10mins, he say har. I say what u wana know. didn't ur colleague tell you wat happen & what i have done. Nvm I repeat all over again.
"At this pt can any1 understand my super furstration" K N N
Ok. he say no line prob or anything ask me scan for virus. As i use AVG, he ask me look for Norton 2005...WTF, I uses 2 pc , where to find norton & how to update def w/o internet.
I sure its not virus, cos I tried my mum pc which has no internet connection at all.
Damn sian liao.
He say he will get the lines man dwn to check & have to charge $20 for it. I say WTF, u gonna charge me $20. This is singnet prob, not mine. I subscribe to SNBB & u wan me to pay this kinda of $$$...GTH. He wavied off for me & had schedule for this Thurs. NB think i very free. Anyway I have ask my dad to bring the modem to VRNET for checking since I have to wait until thursday for the lines man.
I do not know WTF Singnet is trying to prove. For what I know if a linesman went to corporate, they dun charge the checking fee.
Wat kinda of support singnet is giving. I think I will go back to cable after my 2 yrs. F singnet.
chaicka
15-11-2005, 10:56 AM
Gd da morning everyone.
saw the post from floz78.
I was very very piss yesterday. fuming like a volcano.
I try to rush hm from Jurong office to call VRNET before 9pm.
Try my stupid ST585 again, still red light, (Like geylang like tat, NB), quickly had my dinner, then call VRNET cos I reali lost (like Thursday best serial). Like wat Floz78 encounter, I couldnt even remember how many times I call as the line get cut off, left 2 voice mail (w/o vulgar), but not as bad as wat floz78 encounter, i got the call fr VRNET 45mins to 1hr later.
We did alot of test, reset the modem, telnet to the 585, use the linetest a/c, all these doesn't get thru, no log as well. He say try getting a modem ADSL for 1500 can do if not can bring dwn for testing. OK.
All my friends are in Cable, ****. OK. I manage to find 1 aztech adsl modem.
Cannot get it up as well, did a diagno test, the modme mention something like cable from Modem to wall socket.
OK I change the phone line, still cannot, change the micro filter still cannot. WTF.
I fedup, use my mum PC in another rm with another socket. Same result. Damn Piss liao.
Nevermind, I call up Singnet again cos I already call on Sat.
The lady ask me to troubleshoot again asking gateway etc etc.
I got very piss, I said: let me tell you wat i did so u wont ask me do it again.
After telling her everything, she ask me to reinstall driver for the modem. WTF.
REALLY piss., she say she pass me to her supervisor, I say fine, PLS GO AHEAD.
Well the supervisor answer after 5-10mins, he say har. I say what u wana know. didn't ur colleague tell you wat happen & what i have done. Nvm I repeat all over again.
"At this pt can any1 understand my super furstration" K N N
Ok. he say no line prob or anything ask me scan for virus. As i use AVG, he ask me look for Norton 2005...WTF, I uses 2 pc , where to find norton & how to update def w/o internet.
I sure its not virus, cos I tried my mum pc which has no internet connection at all.
Damn sian liao.
He say he will get the lines man dwn to check & have to charge $20 for it. I say WTF, u gonna charge me $20. This is singnet prob, not mine. I subscribe to SNBB & u wan me to pay this kinda of $$$...GTH. He wavied off for me & had schedule for this Thurs. NB think i very free. Anyway I have ask my dad to bring the modem to VRNET for checking since I have to wait until thursday for the lines man.
I do not know WTF Singnet is trying to prove. For what I know if a linesman went to corporate, they dun charge the checking fee.
Wat kinda of support singnet is giving. I think I will go back to cable after my 2 yrs. F singnet.
First of all, wat price u paying and wat price corporate paying? Wanna compare?!
Secondly, the new helpdesk are new and outsource company which is not even physically in Singapore. Wat to do, u frustrated I lagi frustrated when I called abt Magix service and the CSO even dare to tell me Magix not supported...hahaha :D
Anyway, if the problem does not lies with the internal cabling, the $20 is automatically waived as well.
For your info, StarHub charges more for onsite service as well, it's $30+ per visit.
Good...hope u remember ur words and go back to Cable after 2 years.
juve10
15-11-2005, 11:05 AM
First of all, wat price u paying and wat price corporate paying? Wanna compare?!
Secondly, the new helpdesk are new and outsource company which is not even physically in Singapore. Wat to do, u frustrated I lagi frustrated when I called abt Magix service and the CSO even dare to tell me Magix not supported...hahaha :D
Anyway, if the problem does not lies with the internal cabling, the $20 is automatically waived as well.
For your info, StarHub charges more for onsite service as well, it's $30+ per visit.
Good...hope u remember ur words and go back to Cable after 2 years.
1st ok, we dun compare.
2nd singnet or singtel service reali su cks.
3rd previously i on cable, dun even have to call them at all.
4th Yes i will. since i already change my singtel mobile to starhub.
if u wana add oil to this....i all in. :s27:
hangyong
15-11-2005, 11:07 AM
If it is true that the BRAS is changing, it would only mean it's a good sign for those on ADSL2+ services. Coz some of the D/C issues faced by ADSL2+ users are actually not related to line quality but PPP sessions dropping out on them.
I hope they are not changing to worst BRAS....
chaicka
15-11-2005, 11:27 AM
I hope they are not changing to worst BRAS....
Dun think so...these BRAS should be newly setup ones, based on the names.
floz78
15-11-2005, 01:01 PM
My connection is still up and alive now... and VRnet just called me 5 mins ago... after like - almost 24 hours? Stupid, disturb my sleep only... but I still thank them sincerely anyway, really.
Anyway, I actually made a final call to singnet at the sales side last night, coz I figured out that the officers at the technical helpdesk are either "halfway there" geeks or they cannot comprehend my bombastic English, so I decided to launch my missle attacks to the sales person instead.
Worked fine. She sent an email to the manager and also to VRnet, plus she'll sent the guys to my house to do a line check.
Last night after my first post here, there was another drop out again, I forgot to take a screenshot. Coz when I check the connectivity status, there's a cross on the PPP and a few minutes later when another drop out occurred, it showed crosses on the 2 DNS servers.
Anyway, here's how it looks like after connecting since 1am last night.
http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/1466506174/dsl_th.jpg (http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/1466506174/dsl.jpg)
juve10
15-11-2005, 01:16 PM
My connection is still up and alive now... and VRnet just called me 5 mins ago... after like - almost 24 hours? Stupid, disturb my sleep only... but I still thank them sincerely anyway, really.
Anyway, I actually made a final call to singnet at the sales side last night, coz I figured out that the officers at the technical helpdesk are either "halfway there" geeks or they cannot comprehend my bombastic English, so I decided to launch my missle attacks to the sales person instead.
Worked fine. She sent an email to the manager and also to VRnet, plus she'll sent the guys to my house to do a line check.
Last night after my first post here, there was another drop out again, I forgot to take a screenshot. Coz when I check the connectivity status, there's a cross on the PPP and a few minutes later when another drop out occurred, it showed crosses on the 2 DNS servers.
http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/1466506174/dsl_th.jpg (http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/1466506174/dsl.jpg)
Saw ur post u actually using 10MB SNBB how ur bandwidth like 20MB 1.
I think also like tat. Wana post also cannot.... haizzz....
chaicka
15-11-2005, 02:06 PM
Line Rate DOES NOT EQUAL to actual speed...
10mbps users will now get slightly more than 10mbps speed...approximately 11-12mbps (line quality conditions applies).
Initial when ADSL2+ was launched, 10mbps users were able to get approximately 17-18mbps speed, due to some technical difficulties to control the bandwidth. Now, it's revert back to normal as per what the users subscribe to.
chaicka
15-11-2005, 02:10 PM
Looks good for ur line stats...CRC not that high too, so pretty much acceptable or rather satisfactory range.
My benchmark is still <100 CRC per hour is fine...of coz the lesser the better.
juve10
15-11-2005, 10:18 PM
OK Guys. I at home now. happily posting this msg.
The only prob is I'm using an Aztech ADSL cos my dad forgot to bring back my 585 as I forgot to inform him to collect. I tot VRNET will call him. Anyway I shd be able to get my 585 back tmr. As wat VRNET had told me, the line will be up either today or tomorrow before the lineman come dwn. Haizzz...well seems like I have to make a big fuss before I can get my BB to be up is it. Cos when i made a call on Sat, was told its a hardware failure, as I do not have spare to test, ok, i take it as it is & call VRNET on Monday. After some test call Singnet, ask to do this do that......must make noise before I speak to Supervisor??? WTH!!!
& must make more nosie before my BB is up & running as of now??? WTF!!!
SINGNET!!! I hope you are reading this. This is not the way you treat your customer no matter we are resident or corporate consumers. Put yourself in my shoe, are you happy getting the kind of services you OFFERED!!!
Arent we paying $88 per mth, not $$$ har is it...
If its FREE!!!! I will keep my mouth shut cos what can we complain abt when its FREE!!!
KNN :s27:
hangyong
15-11-2005, 10:30 PM
OK Guys. I at home now. happily posting this msg.
The only prob is I'm using an Aztech ADSL cos my dad forgot to bring back my 585 as I forgot to inform him to collect. I tot VRNET will call him. Anyway I shd be able to get my 585 back tmr. As wat VRNET had told me, the line will be up either today or tomorrow before the lineman come dwn. Haizzz...well seems like I have to make a big fuss before I can get my BB to be up is it. Cos when i made a call on Sat, was told its a hardware failure, as I do not have spare to test, ok, i take it as it is & call VRNET on Monday. After some test call Singnet, ask to do this do that......must make noise before I speak to Supervisor??? WTH!!!
& must make more nosie before my BB is up & running as of now??? WTF!!!
SINGNET!!! I hope you are reading this. This is not the way you treat your customer no matter we are resident or corporate consumers. Put yourself in my shoe, are you happy getting the kind of services you OFFERED!!!
Arent we paying $88 per mth, not $$$ har is it...
If its FREE!!!! I will keep my mouth shut cos what can we complain abt when its FREE!!!
KNN :s27:
erm... after so much kpkb-ing in th post.... you have not said what is the actual problem leh.... any idea what happened?? It cannot be modem problem right?
juve10
15-11-2005, 10:38 PM
erm... after so much kpkb-ing in th post.... you have not said what is the actual problem leh.... any idea what happened?? It cannot be modem problem right?
No its not a modem problem, cos when I tried this Aztech ADSL yesterday cant connect. Now i tried can liao....No meaning mah...must make nosie then will work meh ???
My ST585 still wif VRNET, forgot to call my dad to go pickup for me. Tmr can get my ST585 liao. :s12:
& I dunoe what is the actual prob, tmr then call singnet to cancel the lineman appt but I will try again tmr nite & see if the line is stable. Even if I call Singnet, u think they will tell me what is the actual prob unless i made a complain thru their website which I tink i will since I got so piss off since Sat till now then I felt abit happy.
Furstration over. Time to go update my Virus def, read my email, surf net etc ect
If i get any update fr Singnet, I will post & let you guys know what happen in the 1st plc which cause my misery.
Have a nice day!!! :s12:
floz78
16-11-2005, 01:00 AM
Singtel called me this afternoon and was trying to schedule an appointment for the lineman to come but after I told the officer that my modem is working and the connection is up again, she offered to give a monitoring of my line status up to 12mn and call me tomorrow to see what is best to be done. Well, I'm still connected now - definitely not a modem problem, I'll update again.
chaicka
16-11-2005, 02:19 AM
Guys, can check what's the concentrator name in ur CPE?
Is it Beta or Gamma?
juve10
16-11-2005, 02:13 PM
Guys, can check what's the concentrator name in ur CPE?
Is it Beta or Gamma?
ok. tonite when i hook up my ST585.
BTW how greatly it affect us for in Beta or Gamma?
hangyong
16-11-2005, 02:40 PM
ok. tonite when i hook up my ST585.
BTW how greatly it affect us for in Beta or Gamma?
ST585 cannot see...
so how?? have you called and ask what actually happened?? I eager to know what happened to your line...
juve10
16-11-2005, 02:58 PM
ST585 cannot see...
so how?? have you called and ask what actually happened?? I eager to know what happened to your line...
ST585 cannot see???
Havent called, cos I wana test my ST585 tonite before calling them. Last nite was using the Aztech to hook up.
So how abt your friend. Has he got his prob solve as well?
hangyong
16-11-2005, 03:04 PM
ST585 cannot see???
Havent called, cos I wana test my ST585 tonite before calling them. Last nite was using the Aztech to hook up.
So how abt your friend. Has he got his prob solve as well?
wun say solved lah.. he said dhis line can connect and surf liao.. but still DC often... but he is the kind who dunno anything about network and will kpkb at the smallest things.... but when you ask him to do maintenance or teach him how to maximise the line, he will not listen to you... and then compare to SCV....
chaicka
16-11-2005, 03:18 PM
ST585 cannot see...
Can try CLI?
ST585's chipset should have that capability...maybe it's not in the GUI, not too sure since I dun have one on hand to verify.
juve10
16-11-2005, 03:23 PM
wun say solved lah.. he said dhis line can connect and surf liao.. but still DC often... but he is the kind who dunno anything about network and will kpkb at the smallest things.... but when you ask him to do maintenance or teach him how to maximise the line, he will not listen to you... and then compare to SCV....
huh...then i better try my ST585 tonite liao. haizzz....
hahahahaha......comparison is unaviodable, especially when you had no prob with SCV then switch to Singnet & u got all these craps....u def will wana compare lor.
I think we will be happy with connected link compare to decrease of bandwidth occasionally. :D
chaicka
16-11-2005, 03:27 PM
hahahahaha......comparison is unaviodable, especially when you had no prob with SCV then switch to Singnet & u got all these craps....u def will wana compare lor.
I think we will be happy with connected link compare to decrease of bandwidth occasionally. :D
Frankly speaking, in the years with xDSL connection, very rarely do I hit problem. The pain is in the initial setup stage if the line quality is not good, plus other issues...but once u settle everything, it's a relatively pain-free internet connection and no more inconsistent speed at diff period of the day or week.
That's partly why there are pple as crazy as myself, to optimize everything at one go, then reap the fruits for years to come...
hangyong
16-11-2005, 03:30 PM
Can try CLI?
ST585's chipset should have that capability...maybe it's not in the GUI, not too sure since I dun have one on hand to verify.
I have tried to do that in CLI.... cannot see anything under adsl info... ppp iflist... cannot see anything to do with concentrator.. only DSLAM info.... :s11:
chaicka
16-11-2005, 03:32 PM
Hmmm...so only 2Wire 2700HG can see the concentrator loh...
hangyong
16-11-2005, 03:35 PM
wah... I tell you... once you are able to get your ADSL to work ah.... I can tell you you will not have major problems anymore.....
there was a time when I was with SCV (about 3 years infact), while still on Singnet.... wah laoz.. SCV gave me so much intermitten problems.... and then they start to block ports... and the customer service... is 10 times worst than Singnet... finally gave up totally on SCV....
still miss the times when studying in France... knn... the school actually provide a line to your room... can you imagine having a 10mbps line right to your bedroom back in 1996?
juve10
16-11-2005, 04:00 PM
wah... I tell you... once you are able to get your ADSL to work ah.... I can tell you you will not have major problems anymore.....
there was a time when I was with SCV (about 3 years infact), while still on Singnet.... wah laoz.. SCV gave me so much intermitten problems.... and then they start to block ports... and the customer service... is 10 times worst than Singnet... finally gave up totally on SCV....
still miss the times when studying in France... knn... the school actually provide a line to your room... can you imagine having a 10mbps line right to your bedroom back in 1996?
i suppose all ISP are the same. depend who lucky who unlucky.
bad that u r unlucky on SCV, me on Singnet.
Wah kao...which Uni u studying at at that time?
juve10
16-11-2005, 04:02 PM
Frankly speaking, in the years with xDSL connection, very rarely do I hit problem. The pain is in the initial setup stage if the line quality is not good, plus other issues...but once u settle everything, it's a relatively pain-free internet connection and no more inconsistent speed at diff period of the day or week.
That's partly why there are pple as crazy as myself, to optimize everything at one go, then reap the fruits for years to come...
I hope after all this hoo har...no more similar d/c issue for me & i will be very hapi liao.
chaicka
16-11-2005, 04:07 PM
I hope after all this hoo har...no more similar d/c issue for me & i will be very hapi liao.
That's provided u get to the root cause of the problem, and tackle the root cause. If u dun tackle the root cause, it may come back again.
Juz example, doesn't mean it's ur case:
If the root cause of a problem for user #1 is due to internal line quality, and the user do not tackle and resolve that root cause, the problem may come back again, as cables wear and tear over time.
hangyong
16-11-2005, 04:17 PM
i suppose all ISP are the same. depend who lucky who unlucky.
bad that u r unlucky on SCV, me on Singnet.
Wah kao...which Uni u studying at at that time?
It was crazy then lah (SCV time).... happy happy disconnection... measure liao say no prob... changed dunno how many splitters.. still the same.... then suddenly ok.... few weeks later... come back again.... super pissed... but first year when as trial user.. its great....
Singnet... I never had any problems.... major ones non at least... other than when converted from 1.5 to 25mbps, the line was crap... but was solved within 3 days....
I was studying at École Supérieure d'Ingénieurs en Électronique et Électrotechnique (ESIEE)... can have more info at http://www.esiee.fr....
super cool school I tell you.... this is how the school looks like (designed to be like a keyboard):
http://www.esiee.fr/en/images/ban_esiee.png
flameblade
16-11-2005, 04:46 PM
Hmmm...so only 2Wire 2700HG can see the concentrator loh...
St 585i is able to see the concentrator, under Home > Broadband Connection > Internet Services > Internet
http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/409780086/untitled.jpg
chaicka
16-11-2005, 04:56 PM
St 585i is able to see the concentrator, under Home > Broadband Connection > Internet Services > Internet
http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/409780086/untitled.jpg
Chey, then why hangyong tell me cannot...:)
hangyong
16-11-2005, 05:03 PM
now, thats a good one... what firmware you using?? mine dun have wor... look at mine below...
http://www.filmgrain.com/adsl2/concentrator.gif
already inside "detail" mode...
hangyong
16-11-2005, 05:09 PM
Chey, then why hangyong tell me cannot...:)
I swear I no bluff you ah.... mine really dun have.... just look at my screencapture above...
"bug" report!!
chaicka
16-11-2005, 05:11 PM
Not blaming u lah...;)
Too many variant of firmware, maybe it's removed in some particular firmware? Or maybe it's introduced in some firmware but not others?...Maybe tat latest one I told u abt, possible?
floz78
16-11-2005, 05:14 PM
http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/271954839/dsl2_th.jpg (http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/271954839/dsl2.jpg)
My connection so far has been ok. Singnet called again today to say they'll monitor the line for a few more days... I wonder.
flameblade
16-11-2005, 05:20 PM
now, thats a good one... what firmware you using?? mine dun have wor... look at mine below...
already inside "detail" mode...
I'm using version 5.3.2.2 , and i believe u are using 5.3.2.6
Sad thing is, in ver 5.3.2.2, i can't set it to PPPoA :o
can't wait to switch to 5.3.2.6, as my friend can get better stats and better stability when he uses this firmware.
anyway,hows ur connection?
blah my high crc/hec erros i think is being cause by my wireless...
Uptime: 0 days, 16:13:56
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1.051 / 22.771
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 782,73 / 391,22
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 0,5 / 11,0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 0,5 / 11,5
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 6,5 / 6,5
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 14.945 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 17.553
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 5.754
hangyong
16-11-2005, 05:25 PM
can't wait to switch to 5.3.2.6, as my friend can get better stats and better stability when he uses this firmware.
5.3.2.2 is the one that comes originally with the modem??
anyway, my connection sui sui lah... not much problems (touch wood)...
funny siah... attenuation so good still got high CRC.... having alot of white noise interference??
I think 5.3.2.6 can get from the web.. someone posted before...
flameblade
16-11-2005, 05:33 PM
5.3.2.2 is the one that comes originally with the modem??
anyway, my connection sui sui lah... not much problems (touch wood)...
funny siah... attenuation so good still got high CRC.... having alot of white noise interference??
I think 5.3.2.6 can get from the web.. someone posted before...
yup the firmware came orginally with the modem... the webby that have been posted the download speed quite slow...
hai dunnoe why man... the wiring of my house is screw up quite badly... having a dslam just downstair my house also no use :o
my house got 7 phone socket ... i believe singnet recommendation is only max 3 socket right ?
and also one more thing... my connection every time like reaches 2 days it will like dc and reconnect back. does that happened to you ?
hangyong
16-11-2005, 05:37 PM
yup the firmware came orginally with the modem... the webby that have been posted the download speed quite slow...
hai dunnoe why man... the wiring of my house is screw up quite badly... having a dslam just downstair my house also no use :o
my house got 7 phone socket ... i believe singnet recommendation is only max 3 socket right ?
and also one more thing... my connection every time like reaches 2 days it will like dc and reconnect back. does that happened to you ?
7 sockets???? all in use or what??? Singnet recommends 4 (inclusing the one to be used or Internet).
Looking at your line stats, it does not seem like a big problem leh... DSLAM close to you....
slow nevermind lah.. can finish downloading is better than nothing....
if I BT.... no need 2 days the connection hang liao... but so far... never had dc problem...
anyway, wondering if the DC could be the DHCP server prob? or the BRAS prob?
finish downloading the 5.3.2.6 and try lah... if your modem cannot use that variant, it will tell you one... wun even let you upgrade.... at least that is true if the hardware variant is different...
flameblade
16-11-2005, 05:48 PM
7 sockets???? all in use or what??? Singnet recommends 4 (inclusing the one to be used or Internet).
Looking at your line stats, it does not seem like a big problem leh... DSLAM close to you....
slow nevermind lah.. can finish downloading is better than nothing....
if I BT.... no need 2 days the connection hang liao... but so far... never had dc problem...
anyway, wondering if the DC could be the DHCP server prob? or the BRAS prob?
finish downloading the 5.3.2.6 and try lah... if your modem cannot use that variant, it will tell you one... wun even let you upgrade.... at least that is true if the hardware variant is different...
Only 2 in use. One for the phone and one for the modem.
Hmmm, i am only worried about the high crc/hec errors.
For Bt wise, the modem have never hang once before.Bt speed is resonable, at night can mostly reach >100kbps if i am lucky and the seed/peers is good. well compared to my previous Wrt54g, this ST585i is solid.
About the Dc part i am not very sure what causes it, but it will also restrain the line every 2 days.
oh well, i try and download the firmware 5.3.2.6 and see how...
Shinji_U
16-11-2005, 06:06 PM
Any new firmware for the ST585? I'm presently using 5.3.3.2... wonder if there's a new update cause the web update function in the router itself seems to be useless...
chaicka
16-11-2005, 07:34 PM
4 is the max supported...and 4 is inclusive of the one that the CPE is connected to.
It's not whether in use or not...
juve10
16-11-2005, 08:56 PM
It was crazy then lah (SCV time).... happy happy disconnection... measure liao say no prob... changed dunno how many splitters.. still the same.... then suddenly ok.... few weeks later... come back again.... super pissed... but first year when as trial user.. its great....
Singnet... I never had any problems.... major ones non at least... other than when converted from 1.5 to 25mbps, the line was crap... but was solved within 3 days....
I was studying at École Supérieure d'Ingénieurs en Électronique et Électrotechnique (ESIEE)... can have more info at http://www.esiee.fr....
super cool school I tell you.... this is how the school looks like (designed to be like a keyboard):
http://www.esiee.fr/en/images/ban_esiee.png
before i get to the actual thing....
hehe....wow...its a piece of beauty
Wat did u study there?
I see alot of post...let me slowly read & post :D
juve10
16-11-2005, 09:00 PM
concentrator nothing to do with firmware.
hangyong i suspect its the PPPoe & a thingy. u try backup the ini, reset to original which i believe become PPPOE then u see if you can see the concentrator. :s31:
chaicka
16-11-2005, 09:02 PM
Mirror:
http://mirror.opensourcehub.com/pub/speedtouch/residentialCD/
Share wif me how's the speed when download using 10mbps service
juve10
16-11-2005, 09:04 PM
Ok. back to my case....i a happy man drinking kopi & posting now... :s12:
I juz called Singnet to cancel the lineman appt tmr since my line is up.
Try to get the supervisor but they are not ard whom i spoke to on Mon.
I ask the CSO, he said that there's no update "as expected lah" so he doesn't know any backend job that is done.
Anyway I really want to know what exactly happen & I request him to inform that supervisor to give me a call back so that I can ask him. From there I believe he shd have the power to get the info i want ba....hopefully & hope that clear every1 doubt abt what the hell has happen recently. :s31:
juve10
16-11-2005, 09:06 PM
Mirror:
http://mirror.opensourcehub.com/pub/speedtouch/residentialCD/
Share wif me how's the speed when download using 10mbps service
I believe accessing diff server for d/l get diff speed. U wana standardise a plc for d/l?
juve10
16-11-2005, 09:08 PM
So far so good.
:s12:
Uptime: 0 days, 0:45:41
Modulation: G.992.5 Annex A
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1.048 / 22.232
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 2,80 / 17,51
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 4,5 / 15,0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 3,0 / 13,0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 6,5 / 6,0
Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / GSPN
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): 0
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 44 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 587.202.560 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 59
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 50
hangyong
16-11-2005, 09:28 PM
concentrator nothing to do with firmware.
hangyong i suspect its the PPPoe & a thingy. u try backup the ini, reset to original which i believe become PPPOE then u see if you can see the concentrator. :s31:
hell yeah.. you are right.... I am connected to Jupiter concentrator....
can see in PPPoE mode...
hangyong
16-11-2005, 09:29 PM
before i get to the actual thing....
hehe....wow...its a piece of beauty
Wat did u study there?
I see alot of post...let me slowly read & post :D
Electronics Engineering, majoring in Telecommunications and Networking and micro systems.
juve10
16-11-2005, 09:34 PM
hell yeah.. you are right.... I am connected to Jupiter concentrator....
can see in PPPoE mode...
u in 25Mb rite :s8:
I believe 10Mb in Gamma. :D
juve10
16-11-2005, 09:35 PM
Electronics Engineering, majoring in Telecommunications and Networking and micro systems.
3yrs? How's was the course?
Think better dun tok cock in ST585 thread. :s13:
U use Msn? U wana PM me?
chaicka
16-11-2005, 10:12 PM
u in 25Mb rite :s8:
I believe 10Mb in Gamma. :D
Jupiter is new concentrator?
I think Gamma and Beta is new...not sure abt the others.
chaicka
16-11-2005, 10:13 PM
So far so good.
:s12:
Uptime: 0 days, 0:45:41
Modulation: G.992.5 Annex A
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1.048 / 22.232
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 2,80 / 17,51
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 4,5 / 15,0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 3,0 / 13,0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 6,5 / 6,0
Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / GSPN
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): 0
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 44 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 587.202.560 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 59
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 50
Hmmm....now ur line is good....low CRC...
juve10
16-11-2005, 10:17 PM
Hmmm....now ur line is good....low CRC...
that why i :s12: :D
juve10
16-11-2005, 10:18 PM
Jupiter is new concentrator?
I think Gamma and Beta is new...not sure abt the others.
think so unless more ppl post, if not we wont know. :s8:
ApacheBoy
17-11-2005, 01:51 PM
that why i :s12: :D
congrats bro..... finally gt ur connection up. :D
weiwen_vr
17-11-2005, 03:20 PM
congrats bro..... finally gt ur connection up. :D
Hi, ApacheBoy
long time no see and hi everybody. :)
batigol0902
17-11-2005, 05:36 PM
weiwen_vr, are u the weiwen from vrnet?
weiwen_vr
17-11-2005, 06:25 PM
weiwen_vr, are u the weiwen from vrnet?
yes that right :) and who might be you ??
ApacheBoy
17-11-2005, 08:03 PM
Hi, ApacheBoy
long time no see and hi everybody. :)
yoz weiwen.... u start a nick to help ppl sias.... so kind of u. :D
ApacheBoy
17-11-2005, 08:04 PM
yes that right :) and who might be you ??
weiwen is a very helpful and knowledgeable person wors... anything can ask him. sure can help u all de....
weiwen_vr
17-11-2005, 08:15 PM
weiwen is a very helpful and knowledgeable person wors... anything can ask him. sure can help u all de....
knowledgeable no la not so still got many things to learn
batigol0902
17-11-2005, 08:16 PM
Oh.. Another person from vrnet has come in and help out.. So now we've got rallyart and weiwen_vr in this forum.
ApacheBoy
17-11-2005, 08:16 PM
knowledgeable no la not so still got many things to learn
lol, so qian xu.... ppl at least noe who to ask if they need help le... :D
thanks man
ApacheBoy
17-11-2005, 08:17 PM
Oh.. Another person from vrnet has come in and help out.. So now we've got rallyart and weiwen_vr in this forum.
woot....... vr ppl so helpful sias.......
wonder if malifax ppl will come into tis forums.... :s8:
chaicka
17-11-2005, 09:01 PM
They do...but they are mostly to leech our knowledge than to help...
ApacheBoy
17-11-2005, 09:46 PM
They do...but they are mostly to leech our knowledge than to help...
how u noes they are here ar???
floz78
18-11-2005, 07:23 AM
Singnet continue to monitor my line for a few days, but last morning, my line dropped out a while. This was how it looked like at 5:45am, connection came back at 5:54am.
http://www.photoi.org/share/upload2/1020009058/connect_th.jpg (http://www.photoi.org/share/upload2/1020009058/connect.jpg)http://www.photoi.org/share/upload2/409253300/connect2_th.jpg (http://www.photoi.org/share/upload2/409253300/connect2.jpg)http://www.photoi.org/share/upload2/26123786/connect3_th.jpg (http://www.photoi.org/share/upload2/26123786/connect3.jpg)
http://www.photoi.org/share/upload2/1423273924/dsl_th.jpg (http://www.photoi.org/share/upload2/1423273924/dsl.jpg)
hangyong
18-11-2005, 10:39 AM
Singnet continue to monitor my line for a few days, but last morning, my line dropped out a while. This was how it looked like at 5:45am, connection came back at 5:54am.
http://www.photoi.org/share/upload2/1020009058/connect_th.jpg (http://www.photoi.org/share/upload2/1020009058/connect.jpg)http://www.photoi.org/share/upload2/409253300/connect2_th.jpg (http://www.photoi.org/share/upload2/409253300/connect2.jpg)http://www.photoi.org/share/upload2/26123786/connect3_th.jpg (http://www.photoi.org/share/upload2/26123786/connect3.jpg)
http://www.photoi.org/share/upload2/1423273924/dsl_th.jpg (http://www.photoi.org/share/upload2/1423273924/dsl.jpg)
it may be due to renewal of DHCP?? post your event logs around that period to let us have a look...
chaicka
18-11-2005, 06:52 PM
Thomson SpeedTouch 585 is now available @ retail in Australia...
abcdef
20-11-2005, 08:57 AM
I just realised something. Could it be that the problem with my disconnection lies with the Singnet gateway side rather than my ST585 modem itself?
1. DSL light always green/never blinks
2. Internet light - when problem occurs it may still be green or turns to red (when i try to disconnect and reconnect again)
http://www.photoi.org/share/upload2/508346491/19nov_snap1_th.jpg (http://www.photoi.org/share/upload2/508346491/19nov_snap1.jpg)
http://www.photoi.org/share/upload2/63494718/19nov_snap2_1731_th.jpg (http://www.photoi.org/share/upload2/63494718/19nov_snap2_1731.jpg)
I've had many disconnections yesterday evening and it's every few minutes.
chaicka
20-11-2005, 08:59 AM
When Internet light turns red, it means the PPP session dropped.
abcdef
20-11-2005, 12:55 PM
yup. that's what the screen will show if i do another internet connectivity check. PPP = "X"
so that'd mean something on Singnet's side right?
think floz78 also encountered the same thing.
chaicka
20-11-2005, 01:37 PM
PPP session is not a permanent 24x7x365 session that does not drop off thing...juz keep tat in mind.
sunseer
23-11-2005, 12:44 AM
anyone can send me the 5.3.2.6 firmware... the link post by chikara does not work anymore...
thanks in advanced!
Cheers!!! :s8:
chaicka
23-11-2005, 01:01 AM
http://mirror.opensourcehub.com/pub/speedtouch/residentialCD/5.3.3.0/
Who says does not work.....
sunseer
23-11-2005, 01:05 AM
http://mirror.opensourcehub.com/pub/speedtouch/residentialCD/5.3.3.0/
Who says does not work.....
oh... hahaha.. didnt saw tat link... pai sey
Thks man :s8:
Eh... Download finished... Extract.... CRC Error :eek:
Anyone else download the ZIP file and have the same issue?? I download twice.. still same...
:(
Below is the error Message From the Winzip Program
Errors were detected -- see below for details
Testing ...
testing: 5.3.3.0_residential.iso Error: invalid compressed data to inflate
At least one error was detected in C:\My Documents\Extra\5.3.3.0_residential.ZIP.
floz78
25-11-2005, 12:01 AM
I just want to update everybody that after numerous calls and a vicious email, I've got what I wanted, get their techs off their butt to come and check my line.
I've tried to connect my internet with my speedtouch 570, same thing happened, gateway lost, DNS can get lost also. Basically for the past few days, download was extremely slow, in fact when the tech tested, it was even worse than 512kbps. Ftp download was only 267kbps. He made a call to the other side and asked them to swtich my line to another network, then he went downstairs to check... came out and tested again, WALA, super fast!
He said, many 10mb custsomers are encountering these problems and it's really unfortunate but they'll really try their best to improve their network. I didn't scold the tech, not his fault anyway, was very grateful that he came over to fix things up, from the way he recount other cases, I think he kena scolded for no reasons from other customers.
If there are others who are facing similar problems like mine, it's time you pester singnet. According to the tech, an official email will usually do the trick, coz they are very afraid of customers' email complaint.
Now I'm a happy customer again...
This is how my DSL connection look like after leaving it on for 12 hours+ since the fix this afternoon:
http://www.photoi.org/share/upload2/780034002/dsl_latest_th.jpg (http://www.photoi.org/share/upload2/780034002/dsl_latest.jpg)
CONCENTRATOR NAME: Gamma
chaicka
25-11-2005, 12:20 AM
oh... hahaha.. didnt saw tat link... pai sey
Thks man :s8:
Eh... Download finished... Extract.... CRC Error :eek:
Anyone else download the ZIP file and have the same issue?? I download twice.. still same...
Below is the error Message From the Winzip Program
Errors were detected -- see below for details
Testing ...
testing: 5.3.3.0_residential.iso Error: invalid compressed data to inflate
At least one error was detected in C:\My Documents\Extra\5.3.3.0_residential.ZIP.
Thanks for informing...
The copy I have definitely works fine...so I will upload again...give me 1 day...in the mist of moving my hosting to local host, once done, everything should be faster...;)
chaicka
25-11-2005, 12:24 AM
I just want to update everybody that after numerous calls and a vicious email, I've got what I wanted, get their techs off their butt to come and check my line.
I've tried to connect my internet with my speedtouch 570, same thing happened, gateway lost, DNS can get lost also. Basically for the past few days, download was extremely slow, in fact when the tech tested, it was even worse than 512kbps. Ftp download was only 267kbps. He made a call to the other side and asked them to swtich my line to another network, then he went downstairs to check... came out and tested again, WALA, super fast!
He said, many 10mb custsomers are encountering these problems and it's really unfortunate but they'll really try their best to improve their network. I didn't scold the tech, not his fault anyway, was very grateful that he came over to fix things up, from the way he recount other cases, I think he kena scolded for no reasons from other customers.
If there are others who are facing similar problems like mine, it's time you pester singnet. According to the tech, an official email will usually do the trick, coz they are very afraid of customers' email complaint.
Now I'm a happy customer again...
This is how my DSL connection look like after leaving it on for 12 hours+ since the fix this afternoon:
http://www.photoi.org/share/upload2/780034002/dsl_latest_th.jpg (http://www.photoi.org/share/upload2/780034002/dsl_latest.jpg)
CONCENTRATOR NAME: Gamma
What was the previous concentrator?
floz78
25-11-2005, 12:48 AM
http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/271954839/dsl2_th.jpg (http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/271954839/dsl2.jpg)
My connection so far has been ok. Singnet called again today to say they'll monitor the line for a few more days... I wonder.
Searched my previous post, it's the same. Gamma. Does it mean anything? Don't tell me they didn't change anything, can't be right. Well, it's surfing alright now, can't ask for more can I?
chaicka
25-11-2005, 12:57 AM
Searched my previous post, it's the same. Gamma. Does it mean anything? Don't tell me they didn't change anything, can't be right. Well, it's surfing alright now, can't ask for more can I?
To you it may not mean anything, to those who understands what's the implications, it does matter a great deal.
Gamma is good...tat's all I can say for now :)
floz78
25-11-2005, 01:28 AM
Would it be too complicated to explain? Might want to learn a thing or two... Don't talk like Takumi lah... duh.
TRIGGA39
25-11-2005, 06:57 AM
I've jus disconnected my 10mbps plan after numerous attempts from Singnet tecnical...thet couldn't solve the prob..All thebest to those who r still on it...anyway,im willing to let go my st585 thomson modem,pm me if ur interested :o
hangyong
25-11-2005, 08:32 AM
I've jus disconnected my 10mbps plan after numerous attempts from Singnet tecnical...thet couldn't solve the prob..All thebest to those who r still on it...anyway,im willing to let go my st585 thomson modem,pm me if ur interested :o
wah... so fast give up?? what actually happened? there is no update on your last post after you showed your line stats at http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showpost.php?p=15473664&postcount=485
that line stats should not give you problems at all... so what problems are you getting even after the good stats?
I have no prob even on my 25mbps.... getting above 15mbps to US somemore...
boinkboink
25-11-2005, 12:41 PM
I patched the modem using the BRIDGE.ini file. I linked it up with by Dlink 724P+, however, I am unable to access the net.
Which port should I connect the CAT5 wire to (ST585)? Hope some of you guys can advice me on this. Thanks.
princess086
25-11-2005, 01:27 PM
To you it may not mean anything, to those who understands what's the implications, it does matter a great deal.
Gamma is good...tat's all I can say for now :)
Gamma is good care to share with us more information
chaicka
25-11-2005, 02:00 PM
Gamma is good care to share with us more information
Non-Disclosure...
TRIGGA39
28-11-2005, 12:13 AM
wah... so fast give up?? what actually happened? there is no update on your last post after you showed your line stats at http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showpost.php?p=15473664&postcount=485
that line stats should not give you problems at all... so what problems are you getting even after the good stats?
I have no prob even on my 25mbps.... getting above 15mbps to US somemore...
ehh..have to give up lah,bro...though my line stats ok,even got the singnet linesman to check(Ftp ping=0,can u believe it!)..ask help from vrnet..all to no avail,The speed i got for surfing & download all so alow like 56k.Thks 4 the concern,me wave white flag to singnet. :s22:
So now my st585 modem is available for sale,any 1 of u want it,call my hp:90298032..price negotiable :s12:
tinker58
28-11-2005, 07:56 AM
How come u gave up so fast. I'm having problems since day one when i got the 2wire modem and it failed me three times. In fact your line stats is way better then mine. After a month or so i'm still trouble shooting to find the cause ot high crc ocunts. Now i'm connecting using the ST585.
If it's the linesman that had checked yr line, and not those technician who always bring along their laptop for testing purposes, then call helpdesk to sent down those tech with their laptop and have them test your St 585 on the laptop. It could be your PC/laptop not fully optimised. When u are on ADSL2+ it requires patience due to many factors involve in getting the right speed that u paid for.
chaicka
28-11-2005, 09:27 AM
How come u gave up so fast. I'm having problems since day one when i got the 2wire modem and it failed me three times. In fact your line stats is way better then mine. After a month or so i'm still trouble shooting to find the cause ot high crc ocunts. Now i'm connecting using the ST585.
If it's the linesman that had checked yr line, and not those technician who always bring along their laptop for testing purposes, then call helpdesk to sent down those tech with their laptop and have them test your St 585 on the laptop. It could be your PC/laptop not fully optimised. When u are on ADSL2+ it requires patience due to many factors involve in getting the right speed that u paid for.
Glad to hear that from u.....but it's a good learning experience isn't it, and now u know more about ADSLx then b4 u start.
albertchng
28-11-2005, 09:31 AM
ehh..have to give up lah,bro...though my line stats ok,even got the singnet linesman to check(Ftp ping=0,can u believe it!)..ask help from vrnet..all to no avail,The speed i got for surfing & download all so alow like 56k.Thks 4 the concern,me wave white flag to singnet. :s22:
So now my st585 modem is available for sale,any 1 of u want it,call my hp:90298032..price negotiable :s12:
Tried call you on your mobile, but obiviously got disconnected purposely.
SMS me your address, if not far from my workplace(MacPherson Rd), i can help by taking a look at it. I have a wireless notebook.
Looking at your posts, 90% confirmed is your comp/notebook got issues.
rickykwok03
28-11-2005, 09:42 AM
I have always receive this error message with my speedtouch 585 router when I am on BT.
IDS fragment parser : fragment out-of-order (1 of 1) : 218.79.118.192 219.74.39.134 1452 TCP 4661->55854 [..A..P] seq 1343994951 ack 308400453 win 64355 frag 52518:1432@0+
?br>?08:04:54 (since last boot) IDS proto parser : tcp invalid urgent offset (1 of 1) : 61.54.250.139 219.74.39.134 0091 TCP 1937->55854 [SFA.U.] seq 3571428481 ack 2650853380 win 64512
?/p>
?br>?07:25:06 (since last boot) IDS dos parser : udp flood (1 of 1) : 192.168.1.64 211.155.25.245 0090 UDP 55854->8080
?br>?05:50:53 (since last boot) IDS fragment parser : fragment out-of-order (1 of 7) : 61.144.33.183 219.74.39.134 1452 TCP 2443->55854 [..A...] seq 757796169 ack 15767811 win 65340 frag 55143:1432@0+
?/p>
?br>?05:49:51 (since last boot) IDS fragment parser : fragment out-of-order (1 of 5) : 61.144.33.183 219.74.39.134 1452 TCP 2443->55854 [..A..P] seq 757762859 ack 15712633 win 65340 frag 50198:1432@0+
And everytime I will need to restart my router. Understand that there is a way to turn off IDS right?? Please guide me hoe to turn off IDS from ST585. Many thanks
tinker58
28-11-2005, 01:47 PM
Glad to hear that from u.....but it's a good learning experience isn't it, and now u know more about ADSLx then b4 u start.
True, a lot more then before after extensive readings thru' all those threads and stiil reading thru, other forums. Iam now running temp cable from the BT that i had fixed near the DP. Length from DP to my BT is only an arm long. I'll give it a day or two more before restoring previous patch thru' my in house cabling and compare with the temp line stats. Interesting isn't it.
chaicka
10-12-2005, 12:00 PM
Pardon me, anyone knows how to transfer out user.ini and other stuffs out from ST585?
misato
10-12-2005, 12:05 PM
Pardon me, anyone knows how to transfer out user.ini and other stuffs out from ST585?
do a save configuration. This will do a user.ini dump of all the perimeters.
misato
10-12-2005, 12:07 PM
Not really. RED means in no PPP / In-negotiation.
Green means PPP session successful.
princess086
10-12-2005, 12:08 PM
go to the speedtouch page web interface
- go to speedtouch,configuretion,you will see the backup or restore fuction
you can backup or restor your file from there
chaicka
10-12-2005, 03:59 PM
do a save configuration. This will do a user.ini dump of all the perimeters.
Ok, I have successfully created IPoA but somehow, in the [IP] CLI, I am not sure how to add the ip address in....
You have any idea since u are more experienced with the ST CLI?
jhquek
10-12-2005, 05:00 PM
Ok, I have successfully created IPoA but somehow, in the [IP] CLI, I am not sure how to add the ip address in....
If you are doing for Magix Premium Surf, it should be CIP correct?
misato
10-12-2005, 05:23 PM
To start,
1. go to [ATM], ifadd to create a interface, i have named it atm_Magix
then using ifconfig configure the atm to use ip for option ulp
2. go to [ip], ifadd to create a interface, i have named it Magix, make the destination atm_Magix
3. in [IP] ifconfig the Magix, set the interface to up
4. in [IP] use ipadd set all the ip/netmask/gateway properly
123.123.123.123 = static ip address
123.123.123.1 = gateway
*somehow the cli will ignore the netmask.. more test needed here.
Here the result of step 4
Interface Type IP-address Point-to-point/Mask
3 Magix Serial 123.123.123.123 123.123.123.1
2 LocalNetwork Ethernet 10.0.0.138 255.255.255.0
- ok.. thats all i have for now... can you try? when i have time, i will test the config on megapop
the concept of 585 is rather simple..
first u have u create a ATM interface.
then u attach a ppp profile if any to the ATM interface
if no ppp, then u create a ip interface (ifadd)... then u create a ip address that points to the ip interface u added.
that all.. by right.. the routing should automatically follow.
chaicka
10-12-2005, 05:27 PM
If you are doing for Magix Premium Surf, it should be CIP correct?
There is no CIP type/interface type named CIP....oni pppoe, pppoa, ipoa....
chaicka
10-12-2005, 05:28 PM
123.123.123.1 = gateway
*somehow the cli will ignore the netmask.. most test needed here.
This is the part I failed to make it work...
chaicka
10-12-2005, 05:29 PM
To start,
1. go to [ATM], ifadd to create a interface, i have named it atm_Magix
then using ifconfig configure the atm to use ip for option ulp
2. go to [ip], ifadd to create a interface, i have named it Magix, make the destination atm_Magix
3. in [IP] ifconfig the Magix, set the interface to up
123.123.123.1 = gateway
*somehow the cli will ignore the netmask.. more test needed here.
Here the result of step 4
3 Magix Serial 123.123.123.123 123.123.123.1
- ok.. thats all i have for now... can you try? when i have time, i will test the config on megapop
the concept of 585 is rather simple..
first u have u create a ATM interface.
then u attach a ppp profile if any to the ATM interface
if no ppp, then u create a ip interface (ifadd)... then u create a ip address that points to the ip interface u added.
that all.. by right.. the routing should automatically follow.
Yup, the concept is similar to Cisco concept, so I managed to do up everything except the ip simply refuse to work accordingly.
chaicka
10-12-2005, 05:35 PM
misato, any idea wat's the cmd to change the timeout value? Since in testing stage, dun wan the telnet session to timeout so fast.
misato
10-12-2005, 05:36 PM
try create a ppp profile?
in the profile.. u fix the ip address as accordingly
* just extra here.. dont know if u can see any concentrator on magix a not.
can u go to ppp
then type ifscan to see if u have any concentrator a not.
misato
10-12-2005, 05:40 PM
not that i know of... :x
chaicka
10-12-2005, 05:58 PM
[ip]=>ipadd intf Internet addr 202.166.AAA.BBB netmask 255.255.255.0 pointopoint 202.166.AAA.2
Warning : netmask ignored for point-to-point interface.
AAA.BBB is my magix public IP, and the gateway is always AAA.2
Below is the output after the above command.
2 LocalNetwork Ethernet *192.168.1.254 255.255.255.0
1 Internet Serial *202.166.AAA.BBB 202.166.AAA.2
0 loop Internal 127.0.0.1 255.255.255.255
[ip]=>rtlist
Destination Label Gateway Interface Metric Status
202.166.AAA.BBB/32 127.0.0.1 loop 0 [UP]
255.255.255.255/32 127.0.0.1 loop 0 [UP]
192.168.1.254/32 127.0.0.1 loop 0 [UP]
10.0.0.138/32 127.0.0.1 loop 0 [UP]
127.0.0.1/32 127.0.0.1 loop 0 [UP]
202.166.AAA.2/32 202.166.AAA.BBB Internet 0 DOWN
192.168.1.0/24 192.168.1.254 LocalNetwork 0 [UP]
10.0.0.0/24 10.0.0.138 LocalNetwork 0 [UP]
224.0.0.0/4 192.168.1.254* LocalNetwork 0 [UP]
chaicka
10-12-2005, 06:04 PM
not that i know of... :x
I managed to change it last nite, then I mix up too much so I restored to defaults, now cannot remember where to change the timeout liao.
chaicka
10-12-2005, 06:49 PM
http://img223.imageshack.us/img223/3647/585ipoa3ag.png
I only managed to get this far.....
misato
10-12-2005, 07:23 PM
can u ping your gateway using the st585?
Gateway is missing.. so u use ip rtadd to add in your own. kinda like cisco.. where the ip address only define your own ip and gateway has to be added else where.
chaicka
10-12-2005, 09:49 PM
I added gateway liao, still dun work...
rtadd 0.0.0.0 gateway 202.166.AAA.2
oso did extra step,
nat ifconfig ..........
still dun work as well....hmmm
misato
10-12-2005, 10:06 PM
oso did extra step,
nat ifconfig ..........
just to ask..... is the interface up?
check the interface list and ip iflist
see if both shows connected / up.
chaicka
10-12-2005, 10:16 PM
Interface is up even without the [IP] ipadd values...it's the routing tat dun seems to be up.
misato
10-12-2005, 10:17 PM
do a tracert n see where is the last stuck node?
princess086
10-12-2005, 10:59 PM
oso did extra step,
nat ifconfig ..........
how about you try 0.0.0.1 hope it help
misato
10-12-2005, 11:27 PM
how about you try 0.0.0.1 hope it help
why would 0.0.0.1 help?
can example a little?
chaicka
11-12-2005, 12:52 AM
have try to do a port forwarding before.instatd of 0.0.0.0 ect you will see 0.0.0.1 not too sure about the detail.
Pls...wat's port forwarding gonna do wif wat we were discussing...port forwarding is a later part liao.
chaicka
11-12-2005, 12:54 AM
do a tracert n see where is the last stuck node?
Ok, managed to be able to traceroute and ping from the CPE to external. But once I turn on NAT on the intf Internet, it fails. With and without NAT, ping and traceroute from LAN fails.
Guess gonna trace one by one where it goes wrong. Juz reset the CPE back to default, and look through the config again.
princess086
11-12-2005, 09:51 AM
another way to explore the CLI you can use the menu command
telnet to the modem
type menu
for there you can see most of the CLI function
misato
11-12-2005, 09:51 AM
Ok, managed to be able to traceroute and ping from the CPE to external. But once I turn on NAT on the intf Internet, it fails. With and without NAT, ping and traceroute from LAN fails.
Guess gonna trace one by one where it goes wrong. Juz reset the CPE back to default, and look through the config again.
Your description tells me that your not NAT'ing the correct interface.
If you can ping using CPE to external / gateway, that means your line is up and working.
Here a normal working sample
Interface NAT
loop disabled
Internet enabled
LocalNetwork transparent
Try nat it in the same manner?
chaicka
11-12-2005, 10:27 AM
another way to explore the CLI you can use the menu command
telnet to the modem
type menu
for there you can see most of the CLI function
princess, give up, it's beyond ur level to comprehend that the issue here is not abt the commands to use, both misato and myself are more than capable to know what command to use, and how to find out the commands if we dun.
wat we are establishing is the logic behind the configuration....
chaicka
11-12-2005, 10:29 AM
Your description tells me that your not NAT'ing the correct interface.
If you can ping using CPE to external / gateway, that means your line is up and working.
Here a normal working sample
Interface NAT
loop disabled
Internet enabled
LocalNetwork transparent
Try nat it in the same manner?
misato, thks so much for helping...I have moved past the NAT stage liao.
The missing element is actually the nat map, which I have manually added in.
Now, I am at the dns stage liao.
Appreciate if u can perform the following command and post the result:
dns server route list
Thank You once again.
I think the dns forwarding part should be listed in there, in order for dns query to work.
chaicka
11-12-2005, 10:33 AM
One thing to note, despite that the gateway has been established, the GUI still does not show. Most probably it's grabbing value from somewhere else.
can send me the >env list? wanna see with a live connection, where is the values stored.
chaicka
11-12-2005, 10:35 AM
For those who dun like the european decimal = , and digit grouping . u can change it under system locale in CLI.
misato
11-12-2005, 10:46 AM
As per request.
DNS Server Source Domain Metric Intf State
165.21.83.88 * 10 Internet UP
165.21.100.88 * 10 Internet UP
It seems to be a normal dns forwarding, but strangely... you must define the interface to use to find the dns server.. lol. Can it be a little more classless?
chaicka
11-12-2005, 10:49 AM
Errr...I guess I make wrong config to bind it to the LocalNetwork interface instead of the Internet interface...:D
Pardon me, the * is at the domain or the source? Mine dun hv that *.
misato
11-12-2005, 10:53 AM
added - to seperate the spaces
DNS Server Source Domain Metric Intf State
165.21.83.88 - * - 10 - Internet - UP
165.21.100.88 - * - 10 - Internet - UP
misato
11-12-2005, 10:54 AM
Errr...I guess I make wrong config to bind it to the LocalNetwork interface instead of the Internet interface...:D
Pardon me, the * is at the domain or the source? Mine dun hv that *.
* is used to denote wildcard. Normal, when prompted for such entry.. just press enter... of use "any" if selectable to denote it as a wildcard entry.
chaicka
11-12-2005, 10:55 AM
har?
I dun have * at all, in fact, if I add * to the domain field, the dns forwarding fails to work.
Also, if I dun specify the interface which results in an *, the state does not shows as UP. forwarding fails too.
Ya, I noe * is wildcard, juz mine dun show the wildcard...:D
Anyway, it's good to bind the dns to interface, like for example, I wanna bind different dns forwarding to different interface..with this, it can be done.
chaicka
11-12-2005, 10:59 AM
http://img228.imageshack.us/img228/6223/585ipoa9dm.png
Hehehe...the connection is totally up liao...:D
Juz wondering why the GUI dun show the gateway...hmmm.
chaicka
11-12-2005, 11:01 AM
Btw, I have also altered the qosbook, as I dun like UBR, have been using CBR mode in SS5100 for a long time, which gives me good performance, compared to UBR.
But somehow, in this CPE, when u use CBR, u need to hardcode the peakrate, which in the SS5100 dun need.
misato
11-12-2005, 11:04 AM
Btw, I have also altered the qosbook, as I dun like UBR, have been using CBR mode in SS5100 for a long time, which gives me good performance, compared to UBR.
But somehow, in this CPE, when u use CBR, u need to hardcode the peakrate, which in the SS5100 dun need.
Yup.. encountered the same problem when i trying to set the CBR.
chaicka
11-12-2005, 11:10 AM
You can set the CBR peakrate to the max line speed, so in the case of ADSL2+, set it to 24000 would be fine, afterall, it's the peakrate tat it can burst up to. Else, set something reasonable for ur line would do the trick.
Oh, I notice another thing I hate. Connecting to a cisco switch with port set to auto, the negotiation drops to half duplex only. Dunno why yet. But I think I will tweak it to fix at 100TFD. See if there is an improvement in performance.
jhquek
11-12-2005, 11:21 AM
Hey good to hear that its working already, so what you set on the NAT?
Can share the config file?
chaicka
11-12-2005, 11:25 AM
Hey good to hear that its working already, so what you set on the NAT?
Can share the config file?
I will attempt to write a template for Magix...with optimizations which I feel is necessary. Also, I dun like the way intf are named in the defaults, so I will use my knowledge on proper enterprise practises with naming conventions too, so tat it makes more sense when someone look at it.
chaicka
11-12-2005, 12:02 PM
misato, I found the settings to change the timeout behaviour I was asking previously.
It's in >env set var sessiontimeout value "xxx"....:D
Default is 120, which means 2 minutes of idling oni, it timed out. Kinda difficult when testing and exploring.
chaicka
11-12-2005, 02:32 PM
Two Pending Issues Still Need To Resolve:
1. Icon Shows Not Connected
http://img229.imageshack.us/img229/4162/st585ipoapb18jm.png
Not sure if this is the reason why Remote Assistance menu is empty, unable to turn on. As well as what other impact there is.
2. Gateway of Internet Interface Shows Empty
http://img229.imageshack.us/img229/7127/st585ipoapb27wr.png
Despite placing the gateway in >ipconfig intf Internet to be preferred and primary, it still does not shows up in the Internet interface as per screenshot. Not sure what implication this may have.
If these two issues can be resolved, I can successfully release a template of ST585 for Magix PremiumSurf users.
chaicka
11-12-2005, 02:40 PM
Additional Question:
Why is there bluetooth entry in the SingNet template for ST585?
[ bluetooth.ini ]
ifconfig state=enabled securitymode=link_level passkey=0000 banlimit=40 trustmode=automatic storesecinfo=yes connectable=yes discoverable=general pairable=yes
services CTP state=disabled
services PAN state=enabled
:s11:
jhquek
11-12-2005, 03:32 PM
1. Icon Shows Not Connected
http://img229.imageshack.us/img229/4162/st585ipoapb18jm.png
Not sure if this is the reason why Remote Assistance menu is empty, unable to turn on. As well as what other impact there is.
Actually from the tries I had remote assistance does not work.
But there is another way of enabling remote access via CLI.
Something to do with services, env, interfaces, have to enable HTTP/TELNET... on the internet interface.
I tried and it worked without much problems.
2. Gateway of Internet Interface Shows Empty
http://img229.imageshack.us/img229/7127/st585ipoapb27wr.png
Despite placing the gateway in >ipconfig intf Internet to be preferred and primary, it still does not shows up in the Internet interface as per screenshot. Not sure what implication this may have.
If these two issues can be resolved, I can successfully release a template of ST585 for Magix PremiumSurf users.
For this I believe is the way the settings is configured on the ST585.
As you can see for Point to point connection the only ip taken into consideration is the modem's side IP (it broadcast out via it's own ip), therefore you do not see the gateway
chaicka
11-12-2005, 04:24 PM
Thanks for the insight...
I have posted up an early alpha version of the template in the other thread.
Sure would appreciate experts to take a look at it...:D
chaicka
12-12-2005, 01:09 AM
Looks like Thomson is seriously putting in effort to beef up its CLI Guide...
The new v5.3.3/v5.3.2 guide is more comprehensive, and with tips/notes to warn abt the behaviour of each cli command.
Good Job Thomson...
http://www.speedtouch.com/interface/R533/HTML/CLI_Guides/ST585/wwhelp.htm?single=false&context=cli&topic=init
chaicka
12-12-2005, 01:23 AM
Hmmm...
Why is ST585 configured as pppoerelay as the default instead of pppoe?
pppoerelay: an ETHoA interface will be created, will be bound to the ILMI Permanent Virtual Channel (PVC) and will be added to the PPPoE relay as relay port.
chaicka
12-12-2005, 01:42 AM
To those interested, it is possible to make full use of the 4 ports to split them up into separate groups, and apply individual QoS (or is it IPQoS) to it, to achieve rate limiting effect. Maybe u can even create multiple vlan, since obviously there is a vlan.ini entry when u export the configuration.
princess086
12-12-2005, 04:50 PM
chaicka after all the explore on the modem fuction.i trying to find a function which i don't know whether it exists a function which can lower the dsl line sync speed if the line had some problem.If you heppen to see it can inform me.
misato
12-12-2005, 05:09 PM
I dont think forcing CPE to liase at a fix sync is not possible. At least unheard of.
I dont think i have seen such a command in the ST585 CLI, or any thats remotely possible.
But for the ST585, your able to change the protocol to liase on. ie ADSL / ADSL2 / ADSL2+ / RFC1483 etc..
By default, ST585 will auto nego the fastest protocol.
misato
12-12-2005, 05:10 PM
To those interested, it is possible to make full use of the 4 ports to split them up into separate groups, and apply individual QoS (or is it IPQoS) to it, to achieve rate limiting effect. Maybe u can even create multiple vlan, since obviously there is a vlan.ini entry when u export the configuration.
I tot people should already be aware of such feature.
In the specification of thr ST585, it already state Managed Switch.
chaicka
12-12-2005, 05:42 PM
I tot people should already be aware of such feature.
In the specification of thr ST585, it already state Managed Switch.
You will be surprised that many do not know...:D
Only pple like us who explore the CLI will know...;)
princess086
12-12-2005, 06:09 PM
I dont think forcing CPE to liase at a fix sync is not possible. At least unheard of.
I dont think i have seen such a command in the ST585 CLI, or any thats remotely possible.
But for the ST585, your able to change the protocol to liase on. ie ADSL / ADSL2 / ADSL2+ / RFC1483 etc..
By default, ST585 will auto nego the fastest protocol.
i have try to change the protocol to just adsl only i'm sure i did the correct things but no matter how i change it will still sync at adsl 2+ line rate and will not sync at adsl even i change the protocol for this i dont know the reason.if you all heppen to know how to fix the line rate or change the modem to sync at the profile which you assign do inform me.
misato
12-12-2005, 06:16 PM
thats strange, i have no issue with playing around the sync protocol.
Can i know what version of the firmware are you using at the moment?
you can do so via the CLI
adsl config opermode multimode trace enabled
After which do a
saveall
do a
system reboot
This will force the ST585 to resync at ADSL profile.
Hope it helps
princess086
12-12-2005, 06:32 PM
After which do a
saveall
do a
system reboot
Hope it helps
i have both firmware on hand
another queston not sure its is possible to force the modem to sync at a fix line rate i cant find the function in the CLI.if you heppen to see do share it with me also
misato
12-12-2005, 07:47 PM
i have both firmware on hand
another queston not sure its is possible to force the modem to sync at a fix line rate i cant find the function in the CLI.if you heppen to see do share it with me also
I dont think its quite possible... at least not with SOHO products like the ST585.
princess086
12-12-2005, 08:44 PM
I dont think its quite possible... at least not with SOHO products like the ST585.
unless we could debug the function or more access right to the CLI function.
there a function is call debug but only for qualified personnel only. don't know what is it use for any knows it.
hangyong
12-12-2005, 08:48 PM
i have try to change the protocol to just adsl only i'm sure i did the correct things but no matter how i change it will still sync at adsl 2+ line rate and will not sync at adsl even i change the protocol for this i dont know the reason.
what command did you type that made you so sure that you did everything correct and its still not working as you wan?
princess086
12-12-2005, 08:53 PM
what command did you type that made you so sure that you did everything correct and its still not working as you wan?
i try what misato did but only leave the trace disable.
hangyong
12-12-2005, 08:56 PM
i try what misato did but only leave the trace disable.
I suggest you type out what you typed here so that everyone can confirm, no point saying who wrote what... because if you type in wrongly, it won;lt work also.
hangyong
12-12-2005, 08:58 PM
and for your info, multimode is ADSL2+.... so I guess you really did enter the wrong command.
princess086
12-12-2005, 09:07 PM
and for your info, multimode is ADSL2+.... so I guess you really did enter the wrong command.
what command should i type there only 4 command if im not wrong.
hangyong
12-12-2005, 09:40 PM
what command should i type there only 4 command if im not wrong.
read the CLI manual
chaicka
12-12-2005, 10:33 PM
After which do a
saveall
do a
system reboot
Hope it helps
Nope...multimode means ADSL/ADSL2/ADSL2+...
There is not setting for only ADSL...same like SMC's CPE. In short, multimode = auto negotiate.
chaicka
12-12-2005, 10:46 PM
Hmmm...guys, wanna join in to discuss on how to modify for qos either by interface (since there is 4 ports on it), or by other means like ip address?
would be interesting how we can tweak this baby to perform better.
hangyong
12-12-2005, 11:00 PM
Hmmm...guys, wanna join in to discuss on how to modify for qos either by interface (since there is 4 ports on it), or by other means like ip address?
would be interesting how we can tweak this baby to perform better.
I'd prefer via IP.... because an Interface can have multiple devices connected (via a switch) which not all devices in the switch is to have high priority... that is for my case lah...
of course can tidy up abit and sort by interface, but abit lazy to do it now...
chaicka
13-12-2005, 12:10 AM
Yup, I am connecting the ST585 via 1 port to my switch too...:D
But then, was thinking tat since there is 4 ports, it is potentially possible to sort the 4 ports and assign different priority, then using that 4 ports, I can connect to multiple vlans (using my switch to split my network into vlans), thus achieving inter-vlan routing, as well as ToS of each vlan (can use my switch's ToS since it supports 802.1p tagging).
I mess around yesterday and by chance, came across something abt tagging packets in the ST585 too.
chaicka
13-12-2005, 12:11 AM
Hey Guys,
Is the SYSLOG missing in the =>service system list?
chaicka
13-12-2005, 12:43 AM
HY, look at this:
http://www.speedtouch.com/interface/R533/HTML/CLI_Guides/ST585/Eth_com14.html
But...it appears that the option 'prioconfig' is missing...else it's possible to assign different priority config to each interface...
Wow...power.
chaicka
13-12-2005, 12:44 AM
I would say, this baby is more than juz SOHO-class, it's an SMB class liao...
princess086
13-12-2005, 04:13 PM
Nope...multimode means ADSL/ADSL2/ADSL2+...
There is not setting for only ADSL...same like SMC's CPE. In short, multimode = auto negotiate.
o icic the function does not exist in the modem thanks.
zapp!
13-12-2005, 11:18 PM
Do you guys who own the 585 have problems with the WLAN dying after 1-2 days? Its getting annoying having to reset the router...VRNET can help to advice on possible diagnostics to do? Tks.
chaicka
14-12-2005, 12:01 AM
So far nope...but I oni use wireless when I switch on my laptop to do work...
flameblade
14-12-2005, 12:20 AM
Do you guys who own the 585 have problems with the WLAN dying after 1-2 days? Its getting annoying having to reset the router...VRNET can help to advice on possible diagnostics to do? Tks.
hmm mine the internet connection will go down every 2 days , then the line will auto resync back. wonder why....
princess086
14-12-2005, 01:21 PM
Hi any one know what the debug function for ??? on guide can be found on that command.
hangyong
14-12-2005, 01:32 PM
upgrade the firmware to a newer one. It soved quite a bit of problem, including wireless disconnection for some users.
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.