View Full Version : Problems with ST585? List here
princess086
14-12-2005, 01:36 PM
hi, chaicka
since you had the modem on hand have you try out the port forwarding function which a lot of people claim it works intermittly.
misato
14-12-2005, 05:15 PM
hi, chaicka
since you had the modem on hand have you try out the port forwarding function which a lot of people claim it works intermittly.
i havent had a single port forwarding related issue since day one....
princess086
14-12-2005, 06:06 PM
i havent had a single port forwarding related issue since day one....
o icic maybe my friend did the wrong thing
princess086
14-12-2005, 06:19 PM
hmm mine the internet connection will go down every 2 days , then the line will auto resync back. wonder why....
have you try calling malifax??
flameblade
14-12-2005, 07:02 PM
have you try calling malifax??
im using speedtouch 585i ... not the 2wire one
maybe its time for me to update my firmware.
chaicka
14-12-2005, 09:13 PM
hi, chaicka
There is no problem with port forwarding on the general, http, ftp, vnc, etc etc ...all no problem.
Juz some specific services (eg. VPN forwarding) that depends on multi-protocols tat seems not working for now.
chaicka
14-12-2005, 09:15 PM
im using speedtouch 585i ... not the 2wire one
maybe its time for me to update my firmware.
Go for 5.3.2.6 which is the official latest firmware...tat oredi is better than the default 5.3.2.2
misato
14-12-2005, 09:15 PM
o icic maybe my friend did the wrong thing
Not to say its bug free. But for the standard stuffs like http/ftp forwarding... those are trouble free for me all these while. It could be he isnt using a static ip etc.. etc.. alot of issues can affect port forwarding.
chaicka
14-12-2005, 09:30 PM
In fact, if we can combine efforts to optimize and enhance the template (SNBB ADSL2+ one), it should improve much better...
In fact, juz a glace at the template, u will realise that there are some lines that is redundant (eg. usbif lines), plus some options are not really set at good settings.
Join me in the effort to create our own optimized 3rd party template:
http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?t=1174188
zapp!
15-12-2005, 12:30 AM
upgrade the firmware to a newer one. It soved quite a bit of problem, including wireless disconnection for some users.
I just get the FW from the 5.3.3.0 residential iso and upload? Do we need a new template?
chaicka
15-12-2005, 12:35 AM
That 5.3.3.0 Residential CD does not contain any firmware inside...
zapp!
15-12-2005, 12:37 AM
That 5.3.3.0 Residential CD does not contain any firmware inside...
so i realised after i mounted the iso...gahhh. 5.3.2.6 is beta FW? Cannot find it link provided in this thread is dead...
chaicka
15-12-2005, 12:47 AM
For the final time, 5.3.2.6 is official release firmware. I dun provide beta firmware to public one.....
zapp!
15-12-2005, 12:49 AM
For the final time, 5.3.2.6 is official release firmware. I dun provide beta firmware to public one.....
Noted. AA vs AN version is there a diff b/w these 2? I just d/l the FW from the link u provided on the other thread.
zapp!
15-12-2005, 12:52 AM
WTH??? telegf dun spam here leh...
chaicka
15-12-2005, 01:11 AM
THANK YOU FOR YOUR CONTINUOUS SUPPORT!
EVERYONE AT EDMW ARE HAPPY WITH OUR UNIQUE SERVICES!
WE AT TELEGIRLFRIEND SERVICES STRIVE TO SERVE YOU BETTER!
Yo, JERK...u are goner...dun be the next person to be banned.
chaicka
15-12-2005, 01:24 AM
you stupid fool .. go and do your own things and mind your own business.. get lost !
You wanna spam the EDMW is ur business...but u spam here, it becomes my biz...
chaicka
15-12-2005, 09:00 AM
Noted. AA vs AN version is there a diff b/w these 2? I just d/l the FW from the link u provided on the other thread.
Use AA one...AN is different variant, not too sure abt the exact difference...maybe u would like to do a research on it then share wif us?
chaicka
16-12-2005, 10:51 PM
Tips Time:
The ST585 defaults display the numbers using european numeric symbols, using "," as the decimal symbol (i.e. 16,0dB actually stands for 16.0dB) and "." as the thousand grouping symbol (i.e. 2.000 actually stands for 2,000).
To change the display of numeric decimal symbol, issue the following command in CLI:
=>system locale dec_symbol .
To change the display of numeric group symbol, issue the following command in CLI:
=>system locale group_symbol ,
chaicka
16-12-2005, 10:54 PM
Tips Time:
The ST585 is capable to display its hardware status, allowing us to check if it's choking or not, esp. when there is heavy utilization.
To change system hardware status, issue the following command in CLI:
=>system debug stats
Sample Result:
Cpu statistics:
---------------
Maximum cpu load: 56%
Minimum cpu load: 2%
Average cpu load: 13%
Current cpu load: 12%
Memory statistics:
------------------
CHIP memory total/used/free/min (in KB): 0/0/0/0
Application memory total/used/free/min (in KB): 8090/4283/3806/3740
RTEMS workspace total/used/free (in KB): 799/630/169
chaicka
16-12-2005, 11:07 PM
If there is any reasonable request to help provide CLI command to perform certain task, I (hopefully those who knows the SpeedTouch CLI) will attempt to help.
It is the least bit of effort I can chip in (no obligations, best effort basis) as a way to express my gratitude for the help others have rendered me in the course of exploring the SpeedTouch CLI (u guys and gals noe who u are :D). Furthermore, it's my way to show fellow forumers, how powerful and robust the SpeedTouch devices are.
Thank You.
chaicka
17-12-2005, 11:13 AM
Juz completed some BT testing...it appears that this CPE is fully capable of supporting >10 torrents download without any issue, not even the slightest sign of choking at all.
With its abundancy of 8MB of memory available, coupled with the ipqos, I am impress with how well its performance is.
Having said that, given a chance to optimize and enhance the template and firmware, it will further push its lead over other similar class CPEs way behind.
Sure make me look forward to the next firmware release even more...
*All the testing and CPE is non-sponsored, I paid cash for it out-of-own pocket.
princess086
17-12-2005, 03:03 PM
Juz completed some BT testing...it appears that this CPE is fully capable of supporting >10 torrents download without any issue, not even the slightest sign of choking at all.
With its abundancy of 8MB of memory available, coupled with the ipqos, I am impress with how well its performance is.
Having said that, given a chance to optimize and enhance the template and firmware, it will further push its lead over other similar class CPEs way behind.
*All the testing and CPE is non-sponsored, I paid cash for it out-of-own pocket.
ip qos from i know it can split the bandwith like if you have a computer want to do bt downloading you can assign 5mb to that computer and other computer user for gameing with the speed with out Sacrifice much of the bandwith and with the st 585 processer power you wont lost much of the latnecty while downloading and much more can done at ip qos fuction.correct me if i'm wrong thanks. chaicka can teach me a few trick i'm not very good at this want to learn a few trick.with a powerful router like this is ideally gameing and downloading at the same time if know how to use the hidden command :)
Shinji_U
17-12-2005, 03:10 PM
Haa haaa... I manage to even get the ST585 to die cause NAT table is maxed... LOL
But nevertheless I stil ldecided not to use ST585 as a router, cause it can't keep up to how much my BT goes. So far only my Linux Gateway is handling it superbly well, hitting 10K NAT Entries, I went to download every Linux ISO torrent I can find. If I'm on ST585 or infact ANY SOHO router, it would be long dead. not to say how configurable Linux Gateway QOS is.
Gave up on SOHO Routers already, Linux Gateway all the way!
:D
princess086
17-12-2005, 03:21 PM
Haa haaa... I manage to even get the ST585 to die cause NAT table is maxed... LOL
But nevertheless I stil ldecided not to use ST585 as a router, cause it can't keep up to how much my BT goes. So far only my Linux Gateway is handling it superbly well, hitting 10K NAT Entries, I went to download every Linux ISO torrent I can find. If I'm on ST585 or infact ANY SOHO router, it would be long dead. not to say how configurable Linux Gateway QOS is.
Gave up on SOHO Routers already, Linux Gateway all the way!
i think you should not use 2wire modem it will die out faster in your hand :D
you know how to use mar now we are talking about economic and efficient for a home router as the Linux Gateway may be good but not a lot of home user know how to use it
Shinji_U
17-12-2005, 03:32 PM
i think you should not use 2wire modem it will die out faster in your hand :D
you know how to use mar now we are talking about economic and efficient for a home router as the Linux Gateway may be good but not a lot of home user know how to use it
Yea I know, after using a Linux Gateway, realised how CMI a SOHO Router is...
Linux is not that difficult to use actually, just need to learn a little.
chaicka
17-12-2005, 03:51 PM
split bandwith possible to do that if can shown me how to do it between two computer
Go learn urself...u SHOULD know...as it's ur job to know...CLI Guide u dunno where to donwload, then go ask as u got all the contacts.
If it's an end user ask, I will guide...u are not an end user lazy bump...
hangyong
17-12-2005, 09:32 PM
chaicka, regarding the wireless problem I was telling you about earlier, I realised that it could be the ST585's DNS forwarding that maybe the problem
I realised that when my wirelss client is in DHCP mode, the ST585 assigns the following for DNS servers, 192.168.1.x (the IP address of ST585), 165.21.83.88, 165.21.100.88
in the above order.
Now, I simply removed the 192.168.1.x, and make everything static, the problem is gone...
could the DNS forwarding of ST585 be a problem?
Also, is it possible to remove the 192.168.1.x from the DNS entry for auto assignment while on DHCP?
I know I should chekc the CLI guide, but exams on Monday, dun really have the time to check, so post here and let all find the solution.
BTW, the problem I have is that the wireless connection keeps timing out. The wireless connection signal is still there, just that it "hangs". Have to refresh a few times then it works...
chaicka
18-12-2005, 04:03 AM
chaicka, regarding the wireless problem I was telling you about earlier, I realised that it could be the ST585's DNS forwarding that maybe the problem
I realised that when my wirelss client is in DHCP mode, the ST585 assigns the following for DNS servers, 192.168.1.x (the IP address of ST585), 165.21.83.88, 165.21.100.88
in the above order.
Now, I simply removed the 192.168.1.x, and make everything static, the problem is gone...
could the DNS forwarding of ST585 be a problem?
Also, is it possible to remove the 192.168.1.x from the DNS entry for auto assignment while on DHCP?
I know I should chekc the CLI guide, but exams on Monday, dun really have the time to check, so post here and let all find the solution.
BTW, the problem I have is that the wireless connection keeps timing out. The wireless connection signal is still there, just that it "hangs". Have to refresh a few times then it works...
Hi HY,
Currently, my ST585 is too heavily customized (DHCP disabled, etc), thus unable to check out to confirm the exact commands.
Would appreciate if u can provide me with the following:
1. =>dns server config
2. =>dns server debug stats
3. =>dns client config
4. =>dns client dnslist
Basically, if u disable the dns server in the CPE, it should also instruct the dhcp server not to assign itself as the #1 dns server when the clients obtain dhcp lease. But as mentioned, I am unable to check this out coz currently, I have customized too heavily to confirm it.
Would be great to have a 2nd ST585 so that one is operational, one is to simulate and also for me to work on templates.
But prior to all the customizations, I did notice some dns issues wif the firmware we are using (to others, we are not using the default 5.3.2.2 firmware so it does not applies to u).
chaicka
18-12-2005, 04:09 AM
it seem like should be a hardware intermitten issue how about do testing before you go and exchange the modem
Before u even suggest anything, please look at who u are suggesting to. Hangyong's troubleshooting skillset is far superior than yours.
You better go learn the RFCs and read CLI manual first lah...dun expect pple to teach u, we are not ur personal trainer nor lecturer. If u even have attended poly education (maybe nowadays standard drop, lecturers dun care juz spoon feed in order to obtain good grades for his classes to show his management) or U education, u will know what is called Self-Study.
Furthermore, ask whoever u are reporting to to teach u loh, since u assume u are so advance.
hangyong
18-12-2005, 06:41 AM
1. =>dns server config
domain : lan
timeout : 15s
suppress : 0
state : enabled
trace : disabled
syslog : disabled
spoofing : enabled
spoof ip : 198.18.1.0
2. =>dns server debug stats
Corrupted packets received : 0
Local questions resolved : 1
Local negative answers sent : 57
Total DNS packets forwarded : 3574
External answers received : 1785
Spoofed responses : 1
Forward table full, discard : 0
Spurious answers : 83
Unknown query types : 0
3. =>dns client config
timeout : 5s
retry : 4
search : enabled
srchlist : <empty>
trace : disabled
4. =>dns client dnslist
Entry State Family Server
1 IDLE IP [port] 53 - [addr] 127.0.0.1
hope the above is what you need... thanks for the help bro.
hangyong
18-12-2005, 06:43 AM
it seem like should be a hardware intermitten issue how about do testing before you go and exchange the modem
hello... not asking for it to be changed lah... am troubleshooting it now right?
can understand why that tak is flaming you....
chaicka
18-12-2005, 10:44 AM
I going to work now, so I come back then help u check it out.
In the meanwhile, u may wanna try my suggestion, issue this:
=>dns server config state disabled
See if the DHCP will stop issuing itself as the #1 dns server in ur clients.
hangyong
18-12-2005, 03:42 PM
I going to work now, so I come back then help u check it out.
In the meanwhile, u may wanna try my suggestion, issue this:
=>dns server config state disabled
See if the DHCP will stop issuing itself as the #1 dns server in ur clients.
ok.. that works! 192.168.1.x (IP of ST585 is no longer assigned)
DNS resolving is much faster now.
The problem I have has also not so regular now, but still there.
Have just upgraded the Intel 2200BG driver to v9.0.3.9 (even IBM still dun have this yet also), so far so good.
will monitor further.
thanks.
chaicka
19-12-2005, 09:04 AM
Pardon me...was working until late last nite...so too tired to check it out.
chaicka
19-12-2005, 02:48 PM
Hi Hangyong,
I have done some simple tests and confirmed that the dns server of ST585 does not perform well, and in fact, contributes to some of the intermittent issues like page slow load or dun load at all despite the browser showing in progress to load.
Disabling the dns server functionality works well to resolve the above. Once disabled, check if the =>dns server route list that the 127.0.0.1 entry is gone. Also, if possible, alter the route to have one with lower metric, and one with higher metric. Tat should smoothen the dns query performance, thus result in better internet connection usage - browsing, ftping, etc.
hangyong
19-12-2005, 03:46 PM
Hi Hangyong,
I have done some simple tests and confirmed that the dns server of ST585 does not perform well, and in fact, contributes to some of the intermittent issues like page slow load or dun load at all despite the browser showing in progress to load.
Disabling the dns server functionality works well to resolve the above. Once disabled, check if the =>dns server route list that the 127.0.0.1 entry is gone. Also, if possible, alter the route to have one with lower metric, and one with higher metric. Tat should smoothen the dns query performance, thus result in better internet connection usage - browsing, ftping, etc.
ok.. cool, thanks... will do that tonight and let you know... very very much appreciated.
misato
19-12-2005, 05:48 PM
Hi Hangyong,
!! got good tip never jio!
chaicka
19-12-2005, 06:31 PM
!! got good tip never jio!
http://forums.hardwarezone.com/forumdisplay.php?f=196
Before u even suggest anything, please look at who u are suggesting to. Hangyong's troubleshooting skillset is far superior than yours.
You better go learn the RFCs and read CLI manual first lah...dun expect pple to teach u, we are not ur personal trainer nor lecturer. If u even have attended poly education (maybe nowadays standard drop, lecturers dun care juz spoon feed in order to obtain good grades for his classes to show his management) or U education, u will know what is called Self-Study.
Furthermore, ask whoever u are reporting to to teach u loh, since u assume u are so advance.
hAHHAHAHAHH :s13: LMAo
hangyong
21-12-2005, 08:37 AM
Hi Hangyong,
ok, killed the DNS forwarding, and added the DNS server list on my own in the ST585, and set metric 1 to one of them, and 10 on the other.
Now, everything is much faster!
BUT! (this I am not sure if its HWZ or ST585 or Singnet problem, more likely HWZ I guess)
I am always getting timeout on HWZ.... all other sites, no problems... ONLY HWZ forum
chaicka
21-12-2005, 11:41 AM
HWZ forum sometimes got problem one...somehow, I think it could be their mysql db too big.
liangtam
21-12-2005, 11:54 AM
I only know some few days night time HWZ forum would have some problem, and it affects more of those not on deluxe.
misato
21-12-2005, 12:07 PM
HWZ forum sometimes got problem one...somehow, I think it could be their mysql db too big.
I dont think so.
Its more likely they forced their http server to service up to a number of connections, easily done in apache. They should also be using a shared DB for their forum (deluex and the non-deluex), dont make too much sense for them to have 2 set of them, which makes sync of db troublesome. Differences should be a QoS was imposed to make the non-deluxe less prioty and lower BW.
chaicka
21-12-2005, 12:09 PM
wonder if they do reorg for their db or not, and when it's cron to do so.
misato
21-12-2005, 12:25 PM
i think hwz admin loves 12midnight for running their cron jobs.
For sure nearly everytime i try at 12midnight.. the forum sure down one.
chaicka
21-12-2005, 07:52 PM
Maybe they dunno how to analyse logs to "view" when is the lowest utilization + the amount of time required for its maintenance tasks to complete, to schedule them properly...
A qualified system administrator as well as DBA should know all these basics.
misato
21-12-2005, 08:55 PM
Maybe hardwarezone forums is tuned to cater to the people from the other side of the globe?
And maybe 12mn SG time is the lowest peak for people from us, european countries to visit?
chaicka
21-12-2005, 11:08 PM
Maybe hardwarezone forums is tuned to cater to the people from the other side of the globe?
And maybe 12mn SG time is the lowest peak for people from us, european countries to visit?
If tat's the case, they are crazy too, coz 12mn SG time, is either 12noon US time or 9am US time (based on 12 - 15 hours time difference, depending on state in USA).
misato
23-12-2005, 10:04 PM
Just a quick update on the DNS resolving trick.
I was downgrading the firmware... and was checking then i realise that my dyndns service isnt working. Made me wondered and even deleted my old misatof.no-ip.com (sad.. now i cant use it coz it as been shifted to paid service so cant register back) and change to misatof.no-ip.org
After changing, it wasnt working as well.. so it prompt me to review the dns trick you guys mentioned. It seems the problem arised from the disabling of the internal dns loop back service. This make dns resolving unavaliable to the ST585 own services, of which the dyndns service is one of them, thus resulted in the issue mentioned above.
so under the >dns client , there wasnt any entry left except the 127.0.0.1 which is as good as null as the dns server has been disabled. So manually, i added the 2 Singnet DNS, as behold, it works again.
So guys, if you had apply the trick, can you guys do a check in the CLI,
> dns client nslookup host singnet.com.sg
and see if it resolve properly.
OT: I'm feeling so sad, due to this issue, i went to delete my dyndns that has been with me for years : ( what a great x'mas gift for me :(
chaicka
23-12-2005, 10:26 PM
Mine works juz fine...probably becoz of the ip rtlist that I have.
Name: singnet.com.sg
Address: 165.21.103.210
Type: IP
Aliases: none
misato
23-12-2005, 10:27 PM
That means this will be more relevant to SNBB user than magix users. Can anyone else check and vertify? Hangyong? or maybe princess86 can help shed some light on the issue?
chaicka
23-12-2005, 11:37 PM
The key should be in the template. Like I said, certain things are redundant, and there are things which can be optimized.
Pls lah, princess86? He dun even noe how to read CLI guide, and u expect his input?
misato
23-12-2005, 11:53 PM
The key should be in the template. Like I said, certain things are redundant, and there are things which can be optimized.
Pls lah, princess86? He dun even noe how to read CLI guide, and u expect his input?
He sounded so expert what.. surely this thing should not be a big challange to him :X
hangyong
24-12-2005, 06:28 AM
That means this will be more relevant to SNBB user than magix users. Can anyone else check and vertify? Hangyong? or maybe princess86 can help shed some light on the issue?
I did not really check when I applied the trick because I manually changed the DNS metric as well, and that needs me to re-enter the dns manually. So I did not have any problems.
I will check again when my son is back to sleep and feed back. Meanwhile, maybe princess CAN shed some light.... haha
chaicka
24-12-2005, 02:50 PM
Guys...This baby sure is powerful man...
http://img363.imageshack.us/img363/2396/hszlsz1fq.png
Now proceeding to construct multi-zone networking, and coupled with my cisco switch to create vlan...:D
Given it's ability, I believe this ST585 is suitable for those SMBs with small user-base...:D
alvin81
24-12-2005, 10:45 PM
Any templates that I can use on the ST585 for ADSL connection? Also, I have just downloaded the ST585 CLI guide but its the r5.3.1 version. Anyone has the new version (r5.3.2) in PDF format? Thanks in advance.
chaicka
25-12-2005, 04:14 AM
Any templates that I can use on the ST585 for ADSL connection? Also, I have just downloaded the ST585 CLI guide but its the r5.3.1 version. Anyone has the new version (r5.3.2) in PDF format? Thanks in advance.
Nope...but basically, the same template for ADSL2+ should be able to work juz fine with ADSL lines.
If u are interested to discuss more abt the CLI or things u dun understand, there will be pple here willing to share their knowledge. But main thing is, u must put in effort to read up and not wait for spoon-feeding. As long as u are not expecting nanny-style spoon-feeding, we are more than willing to help out, one more power user with CLI knowledge means one more heads to think and help others and optimize/maximize the true power of SpeedTouch CPEs.
CLI v5.3.2 does not come in pdf format. I have even emailed them to ask for a pdf version, but no response so far.
alvin81
27-12-2005, 08:42 AM
Nope...but basically, the same template for ADSL2+ should be able to work juz fine with ADSL lines.
If u are interested to discuss more abt the CLI or things u dun understand, there will be pple here willing to share their knowledge. But main thing is, u must put in effort to read up and not wait for spoon-feeding. As long as u are not expecting nanny-style spoon-feeding, we are more than willing to help out, one more power user with CLI knowledge means one more heads to think and help others and optimize/maximize the true power of SpeedTouch CPEs.
CLI v5.3.2 does not come in pdf format. I have even emailed them to ask for a pdf version, but no response so far.
I'm not asking for nanny-style spoon feeding lar. I've learnt most cisco CLI (not pro yet) on my own in school and I am also doing a diploma is networking now in SP. Late bloomer though. Just pass me a manual and I can do it. Cos I prefer to RTFM or experiment rather than believe in what others tell me. =:p
Anyway, I think there is a difference in speed test results between my Hurricane 9000b and ST585. Just got home. Will post some speed test screenshot tonight if I'm free. :)
hangyong
27-12-2005, 09:00 AM
I'm not asking for nanny-style spoon feeding lar. I've learnt most cisco CLI (not pro yet) on my own in school and I am also doing a diploma is networking now in SP. Late bloomer though. Just pass me a manual and I can do it. Cos I prefer to RTFM or experiment rather than believe in what others tell me. =:p
Anyway, I think there is a difference in speed test results between my Hurricane 9000b and ST585. Just got home. Will post some speed test screenshot tonight if I'm free. :)
good, finally someone willing to learn.
what you mean there i a difference in speed test results between the 2?
ST585 is getting slower speed than the 9000b?? Now, dun forget that the 9000b is a modem and the ST585 is a router. There is bound to be some slowdown somehow when you have to go through more devices, in this case, the ST585 modem, then to router, then to switch.
unlimit3d
27-12-2005, 12:10 PM
what is the password for st585? when i try to upgrade firmware.... it prompts me for password.
hangyong
27-12-2005, 12:13 PM
what is the password for st585? when i try to upgrade firmware.... it prompts me for password.
by default, there is no password. If you have changed it, then...
unlimit3d
27-12-2005, 12:29 PM
by default, there is no password. If you have changed it, then...
nv change b4... got the modem frm singnet. izzit singnet set the pass?
hangyong
27-12-2005, 12:31 PM
nv change b4... got the modem frm singnet. izzit singnet set the pass?
no... as stated in the manual.... no passworrd at default...
if really cannot... reset....
chaicka
27-12-2005, 12:44 PM
If u compare like that, it's actually unfair coz the ST585 has alot more advanced features than 9000b, and thus there is bound to be some difference in performance, esp. when it has IPQoS, and QoS to prioritize some of the traffic over other traffics.
Wanna compare, compare apple to apple, not apple to orange.
cheque
27-12-2005, 04:37 PM
http://i32.photobucket.com/albums/d2/fjordan/ST585.jpg
after changing to the ST585, the FEC (upload) going so high. Any comment? Thank you.
hangyong
27-12-2005, 04:46 PM
http://i32.photobucket.com/albums/d2/fjordan/ST585.jpg
after changing to the ST585, the FEC (upload) going so high. Any comment? Thank you.
forget about the FEC.. look at CRC instead... abit on the high side, although not bad enough to interrupt things that much
cheque
27-12-2005, 04:50 PM
forget about the FEC.. look at CRC instead... abit on the high side, although not bad enough to interrupt things that much
Thank you, I also notice that the SNR are much lower compared to the value reporterd by 2Wire 2700HG.
hangyong
27-12-2005, 04:59 PM
Thank you, I also notice that the SNR are much lower compared to the value reporterd by 2Wire 2700HG.
you may want to sent the above screen capture to Singnet and tell them you had a signal loss.
check your event log, and see if there is any dsl sync drop... send that together.
your DSLAM should not be very far from you, I believe, but the line seems to have minor problems, if particular, you can ask for a line check and request for the DSL loop to be changed.
alvin81
27-12-2005, 06:07 PM
good, finally someone willing to learn.
what you mean there i a difference in speed test results between the 2?
ST585 is getting slower speed than the 9000b?? Now, dun forget that the 9000b is a modem and the ST585 is a router. There is bound to be some slowdown somehow when you have to go through more devices, in this case, the ST585 modem, then to router, then to switch.
If u compare like that, it's actually unfair coz the ST585 has alot more advanced features than 9000b, and thus there is bound to be some difference in performance, esp. when it has IPQoS, and QoS to prioritize some of the traffic over other traffics.
Wanna compare, compare apple to apple, not apple to orange.
I am using the 9000b as a bridge with a D-Link router. So by right, it should behave like the ST585. So I think I will try to disable the IPQoS and QoS features as describe by chaicka and try again. Will update soon. :)
chaicka
27-12-2005, 06:35 PM
IPQoS can be easily disabled. But the QoS portion is more tedious, and the configuration is all interwine with each other, including adsl, atm, eth, etc....
cheque
27-12-2005, 11:46 PM
Any ST585 owner encounter high latency while performing trace route out. At the first hop hit 199ms. But ping to it have no issue. Thank you.
C:\>tracert singnet.com.sg
Tracing route to singnet.com.sg [165.21.103.210]
over a maximum of 30 hops:
1 96 ms 199 ms 199 ms 192.168.1.254
2 10 ms 10 ms 9 ms bb219-74-64-1.singnet.com.sg [219.74.64.1]
3 8 ms 8 ms 8 ms 202.166.124.109
4 * 50 ms 87 ms 202.166.124.53
5 101 ms 105 ms 100 ms 202.166.126.106
6 103 ms 106 ms 112 ms ge-0-1-0-0.soju.singnet.com.sg [202.166.126.9]
7 107 ms 107 ms 107 ms 202.166.127.34
8 11 ms 10 ms 11 ms FE-2-0.aljunied.singnet.com.sg [165.21.12.8]
9 120 ms 115 ms 119 ms 165.21.103.222
10 122 ms 115 ms 118 ms pop.singnet.com.sg [165.21.103.210]
Trace complete.
C:\>
chaicka
27-12-2005, 11:55 PM
Any ST585 owner encounter high latency while performing trace route out. At the first hop hit 199ms. But ping to it have no issue. Thank you.
C:\>tracert singnet.com.sg
Tracing route to singnet.com.sg [165.21.103.210]
over a maximum of 30 hops:
1 96 ms 199 ms 199 ms 192.168.1.254
2 10 ms 10 ms 9 ms bb219-74-64-1.singnet.com.sg [219.74.64.1]
3 8 ms 8 ms 8 ms 202.166.124.109
4 * 50 ms 87 ms 202.166.124.53
5 101 ms 105 ms 100 ms 202.166.126.106
6 103 ms 106 ms 112 ms ge-0-1-0-0.soju.singnet.com.sg [202.166.126.9]
7 107 ms 107 ms 107 ms 202.166.127.34
8 11 ms 10 ms 11 ms FE-2-0.aljunied.singnet.com.sg [165.21.12.8]
9 120 ms 115 ms 119 ms 165.21.103.222
10 122 ms 115 ms 118 ms pop.singnet.com.sg [165.21.103.210]
Trace complete.
C:\>
READ historical post of this thread...it's oredi been made known tat there is a bug which the first hop may result in high latency when ping/traceroute.
cheque
27-12-2005, 11:58 PM
READ historical post of this thread...it's oredi been made known tat there is a bug which the first hop may result in high latency when ping/traceroute.
Thank you.
alvin81
28-12-2005, 10:28 AM
IPQoS can be easily disabled. But the QoS portion is more tedious, and the configuration is all interwine with each other, including adsl, atm, eth, etc....
Hmmm... sounds cheem. So do you recommend disabling either of them?
chaicka
28-12-2005, 10:48 AM
Nope, but if u spend some effort to understand the CLI, u can in fact modify the config to better suits ur usage and needs.
Eg. For me, I dun use p2p much, thus it is pointless for me to modify the config to place p2p on a higher priority. However, I do VPN very often, and it is crucial that the VPN tunnels are stable and fast, thus I can modify the config to give it higher priority than it originally is.
alvin81
28-12-2005, 11:04 AM
Nope, but if u spend some effort to understand the CLI, u can in fact modify the config to better suits ur usage and needs.
Eg. For me, I dun use p2p much, thus it is pointless for me to modify the config to place p2p on a higher priority. However, I do VPN very often, and it is crucial that the VPN tunnels are stable and fast, thus I can modify the config to give it higher priority than it originally is.
Ops... how do u know I p2p often? :P
Will try and create a template for my own needs. But now its test period. So busy.
jespercheong
03-01-2006, 07:59 PM
Hello... Erm i'm not savvy in networking so can the pros pls guide me towards making my 585 work.. ha the most cheeeem thing i did was to disable the 585 firewall and perhaps to increase the timeout parameters thru the cli.. know bonkers about everything else =:p
i've done a search thru this thread and the closest reference to setting a static ip was thru the cli (was for magix i think).. is there a easier way to do it? perhaps thru the gui?? Am searching for answers because cant seem to forward my ports to host/play games like rakion and wc3... i guess the thing i've not been doing is the addition of a static ip. upgraded firmware to 5.3.2.6 then got fed up and downgraded to 5.3.2.2 cos it didnt work... haa.. now my 585's banished to a corner of my table :s13:
btw chaicka would it be beneficial for me to use ur templates? btw do i have to upgrade the firmware to 5.3.2.6 first to use the templates? oh yah i even got hold of the 5.3.2.6 residential cd u posted in whirlpool.. haa that's how desperate i am.. :s13: :s13:
I'm on 1.5mbps snbb using the st585
thanks in advance....
kyleeharry
03-01-2006, 09:15 PM
Currently the default user is Adminiatrator even when i add new users I am unable to change the default user and I am also unable to switch user. Is there something wrong with my modem. Please help. Thks
Got my ST585 weeks ago, I encountered same problem as above. I was unable to select a user as default from the drop-down menu.
The cause is due to the default user name which is nothing or "".
Did the following to resolve the issue (in short, delete the "" user).
Add another user (with admin rights) with a proper name, change to the new user and delete the SingNet's default user. Then, add another user (with user rights & *no* password), set it to default user.
Any other ST585 user got this problem too? Like to know if this problem is common or isolated.
Standard disclaimer applies here. I am not responsible for any damages if you try above.
:)
Oh, ST585 is fine beast! So far so very good!
chaicka
04-01-2006, 03:09 AM
Hello... Erm i'm not savvy in networking so can the pros pls guide me towards making my 585 work.. ha the most cheeeem thing i did was to disable the 585 firewall and perhaps to increase the timeout parameters thru the cli.. know bonkers about everything else =:p
i've done a search thru this thread and the closest reference to setting a static ip was thru the cli (was for magix i think).. is there a easier way to do it? perhaps thru the gui?? Am searching for answers because cant seem to forward my ports to host/play games like rakion and wc3... i guess the thing i've not been doing is the addition of a static ip. upgraded firmware to 5.3.2.6 then got fed up and downgraded to 5.3.2.2 cos it didnt work... haa.. now my 585's banished to a corner of my table :s13:
btw chaicka would it be beneficial for me to use ur templates? btw do i have to upgrade the firmware to 5.3.2.6 first to use the templates? oh yah i even got hold of the 5.3.2.6 residential cd u posted in whirlpool.. haa that's how desperate i am..
I'm on 1.5mbps snbb using the st585
thanks in advance....
How come u are on 1500 wif ST585? :D
5326 is far better than 5322.
chaicka
04-01-2006, 03:17 AM
Got my ST585 weeks ago, I encountered same problem as above. I was unable to select a user as default from the drop-down menu.
The cause is due to the default user name which is nothing or "".
Did the following to resolve the issue (in short, delete the "" user).
Add another user (with admin rights) with a proper name, change to the new user and delete the SingNet's default user. Then, add another user (with user rights & *no* password), set it to default user.
Any other ST585 user got this problem too? Like to know if this problem is common or isolated.
Standard disclaimer applies here. I am not responsible for any damages if you try above.
Oh, ST585 is fine beast! So far so very good!
Power...:D
Here goes to prove to someone that it can be done via GUI (even wif default firmware 5.3.2.2)...
Juz a note to those using FireFox wif Adblock or Adblock Plus...u may need to disable it b4 the Add new user page will load properly.
chaicka
04-01-2006, 03:31 AM
Detailed Steps:
1. Go to User Management menu
2. Click Add new user
3. Fill in the Name
4. Select Administrator for the Administration Privilleges field
http://www.photoi.org/share/upload2/613656611/newuser.png
5. Click Add
6. Click Switch to another user
7. Type the new username in both the User Name: and Password: field in the authentication dialog box.
8. Click Configure
9. Click Delete on the user account with blank name
10. Click Set the default user
*Can someone go thru the steps to confirm, I am posting based on recollection.
jespercheong
04-01-2006, 02:07 PM
Yes chaicka.. you're spot on.
erm can i just upload the 5.3.2.6 firmware using the current gui using the Update from PC function?
chaicka
04-01-2006, 06:06 PM
Nope...tat firmware is not meant for web GUI loading, the file is different for web loading, which I have not seen for firmware v5.3.2.6.
jespercheong
04-01-2006, 10:42 PM
Thanks thanks.. okay uploaded 5.3.2.6 using the residential CD - AA variant..
Seems that i found i bug in the GUI.. yeah it's not perfect but it certainly is irritating.
Read somewhere in the thread that port forwarding a range of ports would not work for the 585, so i thought that perhaps i would try entering individual ports for the entire range needed for, say, warcraft 3. to be able to host wc3 requires one to open ports 6112-6119. did the individual port forwarding method, and finally it worked.
So.. i thought that i would try the same for rakion (844, 8500, 40706-40737). 844 and 8500 went fine. The problem starts when i try to key in each and every port from 40706 to 40737 as individual entries in the port forwarding section. every time when i come to 40729 or 40730, the GUI stops responding and my green ethernet light goes off. i though that perhaps i was disconnected from the modem, but it turned out to be much worse. in fact, it rebooted (i guess it flushed itself clean) and cleared all my previous settings! PPoA was switched to PPoE, and everything else was reset to defaults. this happened 4 times, and only when i was adding those ports for rakion. Guess the gui cannot take too many port entries for a single application?? had to rerun setup and set the modem to PPoA... set wireless to WPA.. disable firewall thru CLI... type in my application port forwarding settings all over again. kaoz dulan MAX. haa
hope this will be looked into?? cheers
jespercheong
04-01-2006, 10:45 PM
BTW is there any way to make port forwarding a range of ports work??? maybe thru the CLI or something. or setting static ip?
that bug really irritated the hell out of me. btw i tried uploading the AN variant and the same bug occurred. ROAR.
hangyong
04-01-2006, 10:50 PM
BTW is there any way to make port forwarding a range of ports work??? maybe thru the CLI or something. or setting static ip?
that bug really irritated the hell out of me. btw i tried uploading the AN variant and the same bug occurred. ROAR.
there is no problem with port forwarding in range if you are using 5.3.2.6. Even if in 5.3.2.2, its only the udp ports that is giving problem, not the ip ports.
I am using the forward by range and I have no problems. Just enter the starting-ending port range in the "port range" column, and leave everything else empty.
hangyong
04-01-2006, 10:55 PM
Seems that i found i bug in the GUI.. yeah it's not perfect but it certainly is irritating.
what bug?
Read somewhere in the thread that port forwarding a range of ports would not work for the 585, so i thought that perhaps i would try entering individual ports for the entire range needed for, say, warcraft 3. to be able to host wc3 requires one to open ports 6112-6119. did the individual port forwarding method, and finally it worked.
So.. i thought that i would try the same for rakion (844, 8500, 40706-40737). 844 and 8500 went fine. The problem starts when i try to key in each and every port from 40706 to 40737 as individual entries in the port forwarding section. every time when i come to 40729 or 40730, the GUI stops responding and my green ethernet light goes off. i though that perhaps i was disconnected from the modem, but it turned out to be much worse. in fact, it rebooted (i guess it flushed itself clean) and cleared all my previous settings! PPoA was switched to PPoE, and everything else was reset to defaults. this happened 4 times, and only when i was adding those ports for rakion. Guess the gui cannot take too many port entries for a single application?? had to rerun setup and set the modem to PPoA... set wireless to WPA.. disable firewall thru CLI... type in my application port forwarding settings all over again. kaoz dulan MAX. haa
there is a limit (32 if I am not wrong) to the number of entries* that can be entered.
delete all the other entries in the GUI that you do not need.
That will free up memory and let you enter more entries.
*note entries, not ports.
jespercheong
04-01-2006, 10:56 PM
thanks.. shall try again.. haiz i did just that too.. btw is it okay to leave the type to ANY for a pure TCP or UDP port?
jespercheong
04-01-2006, 10:58 PM
what bug?
there is a limit (32 if I am not wrong) to the number of entries* that can be entered.
delete all the other entries in the GUI that you do not need.
That will free up memory and let you enter more entries.
*note entries, not ports.
oh this was the "bug" i was referring to. that the modem forces a restart if there are too many entries... seems it's not a bug afterall! haa
hangyong
04-01-2006, 11:02 PM
thanks.. shall try again.. haiz i did just that too.. btw is it okay to leave the type to ANY for a pure TCP or UDP port?
security wise, its always better to open up only what you want/need and block all others.
So, its ok to leave it as "ANY", but its a potential security risk. Its up to you.
chaicka
04-01-2006, 11:16 PM
Thanks thanks.. okay uploaded 5.3.2.6 using the residential CD - AA variant..
No need to dulan...I juz make more headway into replacing the device's default profile, so that any hard-reset will reset to any new default profile I put in.
However, this is tricky and double-edged sword, thus I wun release the method to public, as anyone who screw the default profile will render the device a dead duck. Thus, highly advanced knowledge is required.
Oh, btw, port forwarding in range works fine, even wif 5.3.2.2 firmware. In fact, I believe the limitation is not abt port forwarding in range, but rather, the NAT Table limits. Every gateway device has a limit, and the difference between devices is how much is tat NAT table size limit to, and tat itself is dependent on varies factors like memory, core code of the device, etc.
jespercheong
05-01-2006, 12:02 AM
woah.. can see you're really interested in 585's cpe. to spend to much effort into exploring it despite other commitments.. kudos to you :)
so i guess it's also possible to turn on 585's internal firewall and everything will still work fine if they're forwarded correctly?
btw what's the use of assigning the public ip addy to a particular device in the network? hmmz.. that's dmz right? if i do that say for my laptop on wireless does it mean it cant be done for my desktop which is wired? is it better to assign static ip addresses?
chaicka
05-01-2006, 02:26 AM
woah.. can see you're really interested in 585's cpe. to spend to much effort into exploring it despite other commitments.. kudos to you :)
so i guess it's also possible to turn on 585's internal firewall and everything will still work fine if they're forwarded correctly?
btw what's the use of assigning the public ip addy to a particular device in the network? hmmz.. that's dmz right? if i do that say for my laptop on wireless does it mean it cant be done for my desktop which is wired? is it better to assign static ip addresses?
Yes, in fact, I have Firewall set to Standard now, as security is a major concern for me, considering the amt of data as well as how confidential and sensitive some of these data are, stored in my systems.
You only have one public ip address, so once tat ip address is used, u do not have another ip address for the NAT for other systems, thus it's useless for home users since residential plans oni got 1 public address, unlike business plans which may come with set of 4 or 8 public ip addresses.
Juz to note: Assigning public ip address to internal machine is different thing than port forwarding. So dun mix them up ;)
jespercheong
05-01-2006, 01:02 PM
icic... my modem just did another hard reset on it's own. turned it off last night and today everything's gone when i turn it back on. i think there's something wrong with my set. argh. everything was okay last night after that brief episode of 4 hard-resets.. should i bring it down for a swap?
so for port forwarding i got to set static ips thru windows settings by looking for my network adapter.. but i got to determine the free ips not reserved by 585... am i correct?
chaicka
05-01-2006, 04:08 PM
icic... my modem just did another hard reset on it's own. turned it off last night and today everything's gone when i turn it back on. i think there's something wrong with my set. argh. everything was okay last night after that brief episode of 4 hard-resets.. should i bring it down for a swap?
so for port forwarding i got to set static ips thru windows settings by looking for my network adapter.. but i got to determine the free ips not reserved by 585... am i correct?
u may have a fault set. Go RMA it...
chaicka
13-01-2006, 03:09 AM
Power...ST585 juz got better and better...
In fact, now I have a clue on some of those issues (wireless not working after few days, etc) are due to some issues wif the factory loading. However, newer batches seems ok.
Furthermore, ST585 features juz got bump up...WMM, VLAN, etc...really a powerful CPE in the soho-class arena.
alvin81
16-01-2006, 12:33 PM
There seems to be a new firmware released for the ST585. Anyone got their hands on it already? Maybe someone can find out what fixes and extra features the new firmware provides. I am not resourceful enough to get my hands on the new firmware. :(
chaicka
16-01-2006, 12:43 PM
Please be informed that due to some requirement, the new SingTel/SingNet-supported and certified firmware, v5.3.8.0 is NOT TO BE circulated, hosted nor distributed directly to the customers right now.
However, any customers who is interested in the new firmware, v5.3.8.0, please kindly visit VRnet and the firmware upgrade will be performed.
Please take note that the only two SingTel/SingNet-supported and certified firmware is v5.3.2.2 and v5.3.8.0. Any other non-supported firmware will be at consumers' own and may not be able to obtain support should there be any issues.
Thank You.
alvin81
16-01-2006, 12:47 PM
Still have to visit them??? They're at Pasir Panjang for goodness sake. So far. :( Any other alternative if I want my ST585's firmware to be upgraded?
chaicka
16-01-2006, 12:51 PM
Still have to visit them??? They're at Pasir Panjang for goodness sake. So far. :(
You juz got to be patient.
alvin81
16-01-2006, 12:54 PM
v5.4.x.x is not released to general public and it's a non-SingTel/SingNet-supported/certified firmware. In fact, Alcatel/Thomson has not release firmware directly to the public.
If u interested to find the new features in it, check my post:
http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?t=1200246
You juz got to be patient to wait for the next firmware to be certified and supported by SingTel/SingNet.
I think u hit the spot. I am not a patient person when it comes to new firmware or new software versions :P I prefer to stay updated but too bad I dun have good connections to inside info. Guess I'll have to wait for a while then. Any idea when will the 4.3.8.0 be released?
alvin81
16-01-2006, 01:12 PM
Not in the next 1-2 months...It takes time and effort to custom-made for SingTel/SingNet, then go thru a long list of tests, blah blah blah...b4 it finally reach certified status.
Think I'll just live with the 5.3.2.6 for now then. =:p Lazy to go get the 5.3.8.0. Way too far. Unless it has been released online. Btw, pls update if the new 5.3.8.0 is out and we're able to download it.
chaicka
16-01-2006, 01:22 PM
To those interested in the official-supported v5.3.8.0, there is some performance improvement over previous v5.3.2.2. :D
alvin81
16-01-2006, 01:31 PM
To those interested in the official-supported v5.3.8.0, there is some performance improvement over previous v5.3.2.2. :D
Wah... u make me damn 'gian' to upgrade to 5.3.8.0 now. Read ur PMs and replied you liao. :) Hope to hear from u real soon.
jespercheong
16-01-2006, 05:54 PM
hi is there any command or function within the 585 which allows the backing up of firmware currently in the 585?
alvin81
16-01-2006, 06:59 PM
hi is there any command or function within the 585 which allows the backing up of firmware currently in the 585?
Not that I know of. They only have the funtion to back up your configurations. Maybe you can try reading the CLI guide cos I think they have a back up firmware stored but not sure how to activate it. I am still investigating the st585. :)
What about the wireless txpower setting? I know the CLI to change it but is there any command or means of checking its present setting? :)
chaicka
02-02-2006, 06:14 PM
Yes, there is a method to do so...:D
jespercheong
03-02-2006, 11:44 PM
haa is it documented???
peepee
07-02-2006, 12:32 AM
Please be informed that due to some requirement, the new SingTel/SingNet-supported and certified firmware, v5.3.8.0 is NOT TO BE circulated, hosted nor distributed directly to the customers right now.
However, any customers who is interested in the new firmware, v5.3.8.0, please kindly visit VRnet and the firmware upgrade will be performed.
Please take note that the only two SingTel/SingNet-supported and certified firmware is v5.3.2.2 and v5.3.8.0. Any other non-supported firmware will be at consumers' own and may not be able to obtain support should there be any issues.
Thank You.
Hi! I went to VRnet but they only have firmware for v5.3.2.2. How do I get my hand on v5.3.8.0? Need help now, as my Bit torent went back to 5 to 10 kbps
hangyong
07-02-2006, 05:51 AM
Hi! I went to VRnet but they only have firmware for v5.3.2.2. How do I get my hand on v5.3.8.0? Need help now, as my Bit torent went back to 5 to 10 kbps
5380 will not help you in BT. its the ISPs all over the world that is limiting the traffic for BT that s giving you slow speed, and yes, that includes Singnet.
proper settings in the client will help you, dun be too greedy, just download at most 2 torrents at the same time and you will get faster speed.
ToOtWaI
07-02-2006, 10:21 AM
I have an application which keeps declaring a port error n the connection of the application keeps getting disconnect.
port forwarding had been done correctly with various port tested. any way i can trace to the source of the problem?
leinad
08-02-2006, 10:16 AM
I'm most likely going to get shot for this...
Link Information
Uptime: 0 days, 0:27:48
Modulation: G.992.1 Annex A
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 512 / 3,488
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [KB/KB]: 95.00 / 942.00
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 11.5 / 19.5
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 31.5 / 50.5
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 12.0 / 10.5
Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ALCB
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): 0
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 618 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 24 / 2,554
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 1,875
Sigh.. Attenuation so high! :/
/Dan
csthiang
08-02-2006, 11:54 AM
Link Information
/Dan
Your line is Synced at ADSL....u might want to reboot your ST585 to see if it sync at ADSL2. If not, please contact singtel about your line....
chaicka
08-02-2006, 11:57 AM
To all SpeedTouch 585 users,
DISABLE the Browsing Interception feature, as it impacts performance significantly. I believe I have mentioned this to some or even posted before. But just as a reminder, I am posting again.
chaicka
08-02-2006, 12:07 PM
Link Information
/Dan
Are you on ADSL1 or ADSL2+ service?
leinad
08-02-2006, 04:12 PM
Apololgies for not being clear earlier..
Now back to ADSL1. Tried the 10Mbps gaming pack (3 months) and that was bad for me. ST guy said my line needed changing.
Technician was here to look at my line.
Link Information
Uptime: 0 days, 0:00:34
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [KB/KB]: 3.00 / 2.00
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 11.5 / 15.5
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 23.0 / 36.5
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 23.0 / 30.5
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
Any comments?
/Dan
EDIT: Rebooted Modem. Now all stats at 0. Will monitor.
hangyong
08-02-2006, 04:45 PM
Apololgies for not being clear earlier..
Now back to ADSL1. Tried the 10Mbps gaming pack (3 months) and that was bad for me. ST guy said my line needed changing.
Technician was here to look at my line.
Link Information
Uptime: 0 days, 0:00:34
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [KB/KB]: 3.00 / 2.00
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 23.0 / 30.5
Any comments?
/Dan
EDIT: Rebooted Modem. Now all stats at 0. Will monitor.
your stats are good enough for ADSL.... dun worry too much...
leinad
08-02-2006, 05:31 PM
That's not the point... I do intend to upgrade (again) to ADSL2+ in the near future.
/Dan
hangyong
08-02-2006, 07:24 PM
That's not the point... I do intend to upgrade (again) to ADSL2+ in the near future.
/Dan
look, you did not specify anything other than asking how is your line stats... and thats what I gave.... so whats not the point?
leinad
08-02-2006, 08:38 PM
I'm sorry hangyong... I admit I was being ambiguous and rather irritating.
Anyway, I'm trying to optimise my line, in part because the phones in my home are still very noisy/crackly and in part because I'm hoping to get a good connection once I make my move (back) to 10Mbps.
It's been 4 hours. My line stats look average.
Uptime: 0 days, 4:11:39
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 10.66 / 41.64
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 23.0 / 30.0
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 62 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 18 / 75
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 2 / 40
BTW, the CLI on the 585 is real nice :D
/Dan
peepee
09-02-2006, 12:40 AM
5380 will not help you in BT. its the ISPs all over the world that is limiting the traffic for BT that s giving you slow speed, and yes, that includes Singnet.
proper settings in the client will help you, dun be too greedy, just download at most 2 torrents at the same time and you will get faster speed.
I know but if there is a latest firmware. I would like to get my hand on it. BTW, I try d/l 2 torrent only but still limited to 5-9kbs.
chaicka
09-02-2006, 12:55 AM
I know but if there is a latest firmware. I would like to get my hand on it. BTW, I try d/l 2 torrent only but still limited to 5-9kbs.
The p2p speed has almost nothing to do with the CPE.
hangyong
09-02-2006, 08:50 AM
take my word... you dun have to upgrade your firmware to get fast speeds in Torrent. Its all in the settings, and what the ISPs are limiting. do 1 torent at anyone time, with no more than 100 connections per torrent, and DO NOT limit your upload speed. The rest is up to the ISPs liao.
to get the latest firmware if you insist, you can ask VRNet. But please note that they are NOT OBLIDGED to give it to you. Further, if you install a firmware that is not supported by them and something screws up, they can refuse any warranty claim. Just a note.
hangyong
09-02-2006, 08:54 AM
I'm sorry hangyong... I admit I was being ambiguous and rather irritating.
Anyway, I'm trying to optimise my line, in part because the phones in my home are still very noisy/crackly and in part because I'm hoping to get a good connection once I make my move (back) to 10Mbps.
It's been 4 hours. My line stats look average.
Uptime: 0 days, 4:11:39
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 10.66 / 41.64
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 62 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 18 / 75
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 2 / 40
BTW, the CLI on the 585 is real nice :D
/Dan
the only way you can go, is to change to 10mbps, and see what they can do. Singnet will not be able to help you out in any way since you are not on 10mbps's infrastructure.
But seriously, something is wrong with you line. You are getting CRC and HEC errors on ADSL1.... and if the Attenuation is not going to change when you change to 10mbps, good luck to you.
To all SpeedTouch 585 users,
DISABLE the Browsing Interception feature, as it impacts performance significantly. I believe I have mentioned this to some or even posted before. But just as a reminder, I am posting again.
Couldn't locate where this feature resides. Can you kindly point the way? Thanks.
leinad
09-02-2006, 09:22 PM
Couldn't locate where this feature resides. Can you kindly point the way? Thanks.
Speedtouch => Configuration => Configure.
Under System Configuration, the Web Browsing Interception is a drop-down menu option.
/Dan
leinad
09-02-2006, 09:24 PM
the only way you can go, is to change to 10mbps, and see what they can do. Singnet will not be able to help you out in any way since you are not on 10mbps's infrastructure.
But seriously, something is wrong with you line. You are getting CRC and HEC errors on ADSL1.... and if the Attenuation is not going to change when you change to 10mbps, good luck to you.
Thanks.
I've got an appointment with a Line Engineer tomorrow. (Not the typical service tech, I requested for someone who understands terms like high-CRC errors and high attenuation, and low line power.)
Anything you need me to mention to him?
/Dan
leinad
09-02-2006, 09:25 PM
Btw, I restarted my modem again about 24hrs back to initialise values to 0. Here's the 1-day old stats:
Link Information
Uptime: 1 day, 0:00:20
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 35.29 / 169.25
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 11.5 / 16.5
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 267 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 20 / 304
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 2 / 138
Attenuation is the same. Output power didn't change. S/N margin is still. err... ok. My concern is the "error seconds", CRC errors and HEC errors. They are very high for a 24hr old connection.
/Dan
Speedtouch => Configuration => Configure.
Under System Configuration, the Web Browsing Interception is a drop-down menu option.
/Dan
Thanks!!! Found it and it's now DISABLED. :)
hangyong
09-02-2006, 09:46 PM
Thanks.
I've got an appointment with a Line Engineer tomorrow. (Not the typical service tech, I requested for someone who understands terms like high-CRC errors and high attenuation, and low line power.)
/Dan
since you are on ADSL1, when that fella comes, all he can do is measure your line stats, and compare it to ADSL1 specifications, and he will tell you that its within specs, other than probably the CRC and HEC.
He will not be able to comment on ADSL2+.
chaicka
09-02-2006, 09:52 PM
Btw, I restarted my modem again about 24hrs back to initialise values to 0. Here's the 1-day old stats:
Link Information
Uptime: 1 day, 0:00:20
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 35.29 / 169.25
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 11.5 / 16.5
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 267 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 20 / 304
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 2 / 138
Attenuation is the same. Output power didn't change. S/N margin is still. err... ok. My concern is the "error seconds", CRC errors and HEC errors. They are very high for a 24hr old connection.
/Dan
Your SNR is good...not juz ok. Anything above 30dB for downstream on ADSL1 is v. good liao.
chaicka
09-02-2006, 09:55 PM
Thanks.
/Dan
Juz like what Hangyong has said, ur line is within specs for ADSL1 on both the SNR and Attenuation.
However, high CRC, most of the time, it's ur line (internal).
leinad
09-02-2006, 10:11 PM
Thanks.
Internal house line was re-laid by Singtel in Nov/Dec 2004. I just got the guy that came yesterday to change the "hub" outside of the house, since he commented it was corroded.
Possible that it's the line outside the house to the switchbox that's affecting? Since the one outside has not been changed for, err, donkey years? Thing is, they will always insist that line is okay.
I stay in a HDB flat, and well, according to dad, he bought this home when the flat was built almost 30 years ago, and they have not changed that line before. It's still painted white, and the last time they repainted the ceiling was at least 10 years ago.
/Dan
chaicka
09-02-2006, 10:57 PM
Thanks.
Internal house line was re-laid by Singtel in Nov/Dec 2004. I just got the guy that came yesterday to change the "hub" outside of the house, since he commented it was corroded.
Possible that it's the line outside the house to the switchbox that's affecting? Since the one outside has not been changed for, err, donkey years? Thing is, they will always insist that line is okay.
I stay in a HDB flat, and well, according to dad, he bought this home when the flat was built almost 30 years ago, and they have not changed that line before. It's still painted white, and the last time they repainted the ceiling was at least 10 years ago.
/Dan
Possible to be from DP to ur internal...DP depends on wat type u have.
leinad
09-02-2006, 11:06 PM
Possible to be from DP to ur internal...DP depends on wat type u have.
Thanks chaicka. :)
Ah well.. Tomorrow, when the line guy comes, then I'll mention to him. So weird. Lines are (relatively) new, microfilters are brand new. I've ran through like 3 and they all give me the same results. Even unplugging all other phones, direct to DSL.
Your "DP" here being? Not pulse dialing DP right?
/Dan
chaicka
09-02-2006, 11:45 PM
Thanks chaicka. :)
Ah well.. Tomorrow, when the line guy comes, then I'll mention to him. So weird. Lines are (relatively) new, microfilters are brand new. I've ran through like 3 and they all give me the same results. Even unplugging all other phones, direct to DSL.
Your "DP" here being? Not pulse dialing DP right?
/Dan
Line new does not mean ok...search the forum...already discuss tons on EMI and all the interference that can affect ADSL.
leinad
10-02-2006, 10:14 PM
Line new does not mean ok...search the forum...already discuss tons on EMI and all the interference that can affect ADSL.
Thanks chaicka.
Nope.. guy came, insisted that the line was fine and refused to do anything after... Even made me reset my router to factory defaults and reinstall... sigh, sad case.
I've misplaced the command to change the Connection-specific DNS Suffix. It's now "lan" at default. Anyone care to give me a refresher? I'm running through the CLI guide now...
The line stats are the same. High CRC errors. The person had the cheek to blame my laser AIO for causing the line errors. I disconnected it and the CRC errors still escalated. So well.
/Dan
hangyong
11-02-2006, 05:35 AM
Thanks chaicka.
Nope.. guy came, insisted that the line was fine and refused to do anything after... Even made me reset my router to factory defaults and reinstall... sigh, sad case.
I've misplaced the command to change the Connection-specific DNS Suffix. It's now "lan" at default. Anyone care to give me a refresher? I'm running through the CLI guide now...
The line stats are the same. High CRC errors. The person had the cheek to blame my laser AIO for causing the line errors. I disconnected it and the CRC errors still escalated. So well.
/Dan
I am not surprised that the laser AIO can be the cause.
The power needed to creasted a laser beam for copy/printing is approximately 200-300W, and with that kind of power, you need to convert the voltage and current. This induce pretty highe interference.
Try not to turn on the AIO and see if it works. Place the AIO far from any cables or the modem.
leinad
14-02-2006, 12:16 AM
I am not surprised that the laser AIO can be the cause.
The power needed to creasted a laser beam for copy/printing is approximately 200-300W, and with that kind of power, you need to convert the voltage and current. This induce pretty highe interference.
Try not to turn on the AIO and see if it works. Place the AIO far from any cables or the modem.
(Ok, seems my reply was lost.)
The AIO was off all the time during the line tests. So I doubt it really was the cause of anything. It also did not peak during the times I turned it on to do printing/Scanning.
/Dan
leinad
17-02-2006, 02:30 PM
I'm ignoring all the line errors.
Seems that the cause was the old RF Cordless phone. Changed it with my DECT on my desk, and now the CRC errors are much lessened (3 days, and 1.3k CRC with the AIO on, compared to 1 day, 1.3k with AIO off)
/Dan
alvin81
07-03-2006, 01:36 PM
Been quite quiet here. Any new updates on the ST585???
flameblade
07-03-2006, 06:55 PM
http://www.photovideoi.com/share/upload/2006/03/07/18/filtering.jpg
For those who wants to block those annoying ads or any webpages, u can do so using address based filtering. (Home > Toolbox > Parental Control )
As i'm using IE, i'm not abled to use adblock plus ( thats for firefox) to block those irritating ads from Hwz, so another option is to use this =)
jiabin88
08-03-2006, 05:50 PM
i m on singnet bb 1500 and have a st585.. the problem lies with the slow uploading.. i can download at a good speed of 1200 to 1500kbps but only have a uploading speed of around 50kbps.. can anyone tell me where the problem lies here? thanks!
chaicka
08-03-2006, 07:17 PM
i m on singnet bb 1500 and have a st585.. the problem lies with the slow uploading.. i can download at a good speed of 1200 to 1500kbps but only have a uploading speed of around 50kbps.. can anyone tell me where the problem lies here? thanks!
Is it 50KBps or 50kbps?
There is a difference. Anyway, the problem does not lies wif ST585 at all. Those using it can definitely vouch that it can go beyond that speed, even mine can but I am on different plan.
jiabin88
08-03-2006, 07:45 PM
Your download speed : 1062 kbps or 132.8 KB/sec.
Your upload speed : 29 kbps or 3.6 KB/sec
this is a test from dslreports.. so there is nothing wrong with my modem? is my line faulty?
MadKnight
08-03-2006, 08:07 PM
Your download speed : 1062 kbps or 132.8 KB/sec.
Your upload speed : 29 kbps or 3.6 KB/sec
this is a test from dslreports.. so there is nothing wrong with my modem? is my line faulty?
how about try to do a test again but this time round with the web browsing intercerption disable.
chaicka
08-03-2006, 08:56 PM
how about try to do a test again but this time round with the web browsing intercerption disable.
Hmmm...I thought disabling "web browsing intercerption" has become an SOP thing since it has been mentioned in this thread or this forum like few times liao?...:D
Ya, disable that...
DXMachina
08-03-2006, 09:00 PM
Just a quick question...has anyone here with the ST 585 been able to use it for XBox Live? I'm concerned because I'm getting a XBox 360 and I intend to use XBox Live.
jiabin88
08-03-2006, 09:52 PM
thanks! upload speed bcome 100 to 200kbps but still think it is below the promised uploading speed lol anyway glad that it has increased
chaicka
08-03-2006, 10:32 PM
thanks! upload speed bcome 100 to 200kbps but still think it is below the promised uploading speed lol anyway glad that it has increased
Learn CLI, and there are much more u can do to really capitalize the "workhorse".
MadKnight
08-03-2006, 11:12 PM
Just a quick question...has anyone here with the ST 585 been able to use it for XBox Live? I'm concerned because I'm getting a XBox 360 and I intend to use XBox Live.
When use xbox 360 or xbox live using ST585 able to connect up but you will be getting a Strict nat refer to below website for what i mean.
http://www.xbox.com/en-US/support/connecttolive/xbox360/connectionmethods/troubleshootliveconnection-testnat.htm
only can get a open nat if not using a nat.
since this thread is up need to check any one can play this game Rakion with ST858, able to connect up but into the game play will freeze.
MadKnight
08-03-2006, 11:13 PM
if you want to use the function can use the automatic function it will work as well.
jiabin88
09-03-2006, 08:48 AM
What is Web Browsing Interception about? sorry if i have ask a newbie question
chaicka
09-03-2006, 12:04 PM
What is Web Browsing Interception about? sorry if i have ask a newbie question
Read in this thread.....it's been posted.
DXMachina
10-03-2006, 08:31 PM
When use xbox 360 or xbox live using ST585 able to connect up but you will be getting a Strict nat refer to below website for what i mean.
http://www.xbox.com/en-US/support/connecttolive/xbox360/connectionmethods/troubleshootliveconnection-testnat.htm
only can get a open nat if not using a nat.
since this thread is up need to check any one can play this game Rakion with ST858, able to connect up but into the game play will freeze.
Hi thanks for your reply...so how do I go about disabling the NAT on my ST585? Is there any disadvantage to not using a NAT?
chaicka
10-03-2006, 11:06 PM
Hi thanks for your reply...so how do I go about disabling the NAT on my ST585? Is there any disadvantage to not using a NAT?
Of coz...no NAT = no sharing of internet connection with other systems since u oni have 1 public ip address.
Do a wiki to learn wat is NAT first.
jiabin88
11-03-2006, 08:26 PM
i noticed that when i did a tracert, the time required to "ping" st585 is 99ms. i was wondering whether it is normal to have such a long time or i need to change any setting?
1 103 ms 100 ms 99 ms dsldevice.lan [192.168.1.254]
2 11 ms 11 ms 11 ms bb219-74-101-1.singnet.com.sg [219.74.101.1]
3 * 9 ms 9 ms bb-165-21-135-117.singnet.com.sg [165.21.135.117
]
4 10 ms 10 ms 10 ms ge-0-0-6-0.guinness.singnet.com.sg [202.166.126.
26]
5 10 ms 10 ms 10 ms ge-0-1-0-0.soju.singnet.com.sg [202.166.126.9]
6 10 ms 10 ms 10 ms 202.166.127.34
7 11 ms 10 ms 10 ms FE-2-0.aljunied.singnet.com.sg [165.21.12.8]
8 11 ms 10 ms 10 ms 165.21.103.222
9 9 ms 10 ms 10 ms pop.singnet.com.sg [165.21.103.210]
Trace complete.
MadKnight
17-03-2006, 05:27 PM
Good news ST585 able to work with Xbox live and xbox360 with just upnp enable :)
chaicka
17-03-2006, 07:13 PM
Good news ST585 able to work with Xbox live and xbox360 with just upnp enable :)
Which FW is ur ST585 running?
MadKnight
17-03-2006, 07:24 PM
Which FW is ur ST585 running?
The 5.4.x.x.x one not singnet firmware one. Have done numerous test on it before.
chaicka
17-03-2006, 07:30 PM
The 5.4.x.x.x one not singnet firmware one. Have done numerous test on it before.
Hahaha...so, it's useless to those who ain't on the R5.4.x.x firmwares yet. Btw, it's R5.4.x.x and not R5.4.x.x.x. The last x dun exists.
alvin81
06-04-2006, 06:19 PM
I'm on SNBB 1500. I have tried to disable the IPQoS to try to see if my performance will increase. This is the command that I used at the CLI
=>ipqos
[ipqos]=>config
dest = pvc_Internet
[state] = disabled
[discard] =
[priority] =
[realtimerate] =
[burstsize] =
[weight1] =
[weight2] =
[weight3] =
[weight4] =
[maxpackets] =
[maxbytes] =
:ipqos config dest=pvc_Internet state=disabled
[ipqos]=>
I'm still monitoring my connection speed. But it seems that when sending files over MSN, its very slow. Any advices? Thanks.
alvin81
10-04-2006, 02:28 PM
Up up up up up....
nabino
15-04-2006, 03:31 PM
I think IPQoS state is disabled by default... at least in my factory defaulted CPE.
nabino
15-04-2006, 04:14 PM
Anyone know to configure ping response to be destination unreachable from the WAN?
Able to enable ping with this command
:service system ifadd name=PING_RESPONDER group=wan
Tried playing with the following but not too sure these being dynamic expression / rule
:expr add name=PING_RESPONDER_sv_0 type=serv proto=icmp icmptype=echo-request
:firewall rule add chain=sink_system_service index=2 name=PING_RESPONDER srcintf=PING_RESPONDER_if_0 serv=PING_RESPONDER_sv_0 log=disabled state=enabled action=accept
Managed to configure R4.x.x CPE with the following but not with ST585 R5.x.x
:firewall rule create chain=source index=3 prot=icmp icmptype=destination-unreachable action=accept
:firewall rule create chain=sink index=3 prot=icmp icmptype=echo-request action=deny
k3ndokaz3
16-04-2006, 03:09 PM
http://www.photovideoi.com/share/upload/2006/04/16/15//st585_th.jpg (http://www.photovideoi.com/share/upload/2006/04/16/15/st585.jpg)
am i on the right track?
sunnyee
16-04-2006, 04:07 PM
Its ok bro, do u have any problem
misato
17-04-2006, 01:06 AM
My line suffered a card failure at the backend side, and they replaced it..
look at my new stats now. SNR for down is floating ard 14 ~ 16 dB.
Which from the many reference deployment, it shld be ard 6.5 dB isnt it.
Higher is better, but in my case, it seems to be giving me strange intermintern issue which i cant really lock down, but for sure, equipment and config on my side isnt the case, as the same strange issue was repeated on my trustly Cisco 837. Comments anyone?
Uptime: 1 day, 5:21:39
Modulation: G.992.5 Annex A
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1,051 / 13,980
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [GB/MB]: 1.87 / 713.92
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 2.5 / 8.0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 1.5 / 10.0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 6.5 / 14.5
Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / GSPN
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 80 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 83
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 53
For easy reference...
The normal stats i submitted to the forum before the card change.
Signal-to-Noise Margin/Ratio (Downstream, ATU-C) : 07.5 dB
Signal-to-Noise Margin/Ratio (Upstream, ATU-R) : 06.5 dB
Attenuation (Downstream) : 10.0 dB
Attenuation (Upstream) : 01.5 dB
Floor/Storey (optional, but helps to determine loop length) : 12
ATU-C Line Rate (Downstream) : 22,064 kbps
ATU-R Line Rate (Upstream) : 01,072 kbps
PS: the line sync speed also dropped.. but since i'm on the 10mbps plan.. its not really the limiting factor.
flameblade
17-04-2006, 03:06 AM
Here are my stats after i decided to move the modem from my study room to my room instead... Heh so much better now ... lesser problems as compared to last time... :)
Link Information
Uptime: 0 days, 10:16:25
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1.031 / 21.980
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 44,89 / 168,89
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 2,5 / 13,0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 0,5 / 12,0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 6,5 / 7,5
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 33 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 33
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 29
Concentrator Name: Trojan
Dunnoe why, but i always try make it a habit to make my SNR margin a nice nice 6.5/6.5 when i on my modem... much lesser problem like lag or line disconnection blah blah this way.
(PS: dunnoe why now it is at 7.5 ... when i first on the modem it was at 6.5/6.5)
k3ndokaz3
17-04-2006, 03:50 AM
Its ok bro, do u have any problem
sort of...
some of the time while i was surfing the net or playing game right,
my connection got this problem..
is like it can upload but not download...
or there is no connection yet the modem show it working fine
(sorry i dun really know how to say it)
chaicka
17-04-2006, 07:32 AM
Higher is better, but in my case, it seems to be giving me strange intermintern issue which i cant really lock down, but for sure, equipment and config on my side isnt the case, as the same strange issue was repeated on my trustly Cisco 837. Comments anyone?
For easy reference...
PS: the line sync speed also dropped.. but since i'm on the 10mbps plan.. its not really the limiting factor.
As Hangyong has highlighted, they are lowering the sync rate in order to boost the SNR higher, so that the DSL Sync is more stable (supposedly). That's why the lower rate u are having now.
misato
17-04-2006, 08:17 AM
I too believe that could be the case, but given the better line stats which has always been good, somehow, my Errors are climbing up faster.
Start pt.
This morning i check 8hrs later,
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 97 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 103
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 68
My traffic on the link was next to zero, +- 2kb/s peak.
chaicka
17-04-2006, 09:22 AM
Well, this is sad.....but still, 8 hours and only an increase of 20 CRC, it's still manageable. See if load will throw the errors off the scale. If so, report to SingNet then, that should at the least let them know that the previous profile works better for u, and they may revert back to it.
hangyong
17-04-2006, 09:56 AM
For easy reference...
hi misato,
I have replied in one of the posts here before mah.
Singnet is slowly changing the profiles for the 10mbps users.
They will cap the sync speed for downstream at about 12.5mbps and raise the SNR, this will make the line less prone to d/c.
the 6.5dB profile is only true for 25mbps.
misato
17-04-2006, 10:44 AM
hi misato,
I have replied in one of the posts here before mah.
Singnet is slowly changing the profiles for the 10mbps users.
They will cap the sync speed for downstream at about 12.5mbps and raise the SNR, this will make the line less prone to d/c.
the 6.5dB profile is only true for 25mbps.
pai sei hangyong, missed that reply.
The move by snbb is good for reducing d/c and related issues due to low SNR.
I'm ok with the idea, as i'm on 10mbps plan, so no complains here. The issue is after they did the change, issues start popping out. Games i'm playing especially, reacted not so well to the change.
Stating an example, my friend and i were on this game server doing the dungeon run together, but i lag badly and even "lag frezze" for up to 1 minute where my friend didnt. Both of us were on snbb adsl2 plan. This effectively throw out alot of the usual "possibility" such as ix choke, end point choke etc. The only difference is our final mile from ix. He is on the cck exchange/cck area and i'm at the woodlands / bukit panjang exchange(maybe?). This only happened after the line was changed, which makes it seems like the culprit. I have already report this incident to snbb, let see what they can do.
misato
17-04-2006, 11:32 PM
@ 17apr 1916hrs
Uptime: 2 days, 0:05:29
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [GB/GB]: 4.32 / 1.47
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 6.5 / 16.0
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 107 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 114
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 72
@ 17 apr 2329hrs
Uptime: 2 days, 4:17:32
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [GB/GB]: 4.53 / 1.69
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 148 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 158
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 101
The errors went up very fast during the peak hour from 1900 - 0000hrs, the amount of error chalked up accounted for 1/3 of the 2 days period of error logging. Wonder if other ST585 users can do a monitor.
chaicka
18-04-2006, 12:08 AM
Both of us were on snbb adsl2 plan. This effectively throw out alot of the usual "possibility" such as ix choke, end point choke etc. The only difference is our final mile from ix. He is on the cck exchange/cck area and i'm at the woodlands / bukit panjang exchange(maybe?).
CCK Exchange = Bt Panjang Exchange.....(most probably, to the best of my knowledge).
This only happened after the line was changed, which makes it seems like the culprit. I have already report this incident to snbb, let see what they can do.
Traceroute should be able to show which is the core switch/router both of u are in. Yewtee should be one of them if both of u are in CCK/BP area.
misato
18-04-2006, 01:28 AM
CCK Exchange = Bt Panjang Exchange.....(most probably, to the best of my knowledge).
Traceroute should be able to show which is the core switch/router both of u are in. Yewtee should be one of them if both of u are in CCK/BP area.
I'm assuming I'm using CCK as well.
Here my one (Woodlands)...
2 10 ms 9 ms 9 ms bb219-74-64-1.singnet.com.sg [219.74.64.1]
3 * 15 ms 21 ms 202.166.124.133
4 8 ms 9 ms 9 ms ge-0-0-4-0.guinness.singnet.com.sg [202.166.126.50]
5 10 ms 8 ms 9 ms ge-0-1-0-0.soju.singnet.com.sg [202.166.126.9]
6 9 ms 9 ms 9 ms 202.166.127.34
7 9 ms 10 ms 9 ms FE-1-0-0.elias.singnet.com.sg [165.21.12.20]
8 22 ms 21 ms 21 ms my.singnet.com.sg [165.21.74.74]
Here shinji one (bedok)
2 9 ms 9 ms 9 ms bb219-74-64-1.singnet.com.sg [219.74.64.1]
3 8 ms 8 ms 7 ms 202.166.124.133
4 8 ms 8 ms 9 ms ge-0-0-4-0.guinness.singnet.com.sg [202.166.126.50]
5 8 ms 8 ms 8 ms ge-0-1-0-0.soju.singnet.com.sg [202.166.126.9]
6 9 ms 8 ms 8 ms 202.166.127.34
7 8 ms 8 ms 8 ms FE-3-0.aljunied.singnet.com.sg [165.21.12.85]
8 8 ms 9 ms 8 ms my.singnet.com.sg [165.21.74.74]
1st hope is always private ip.. so i skipped that..
by looking at the 2 trace route... i have no clue to where the routers are :lol:
chaicka
18-04-2006, 01:48 AM
You have one extra hop, hop #3...
Anyway, it's hard to pinpoint how the infrastructure of SingNet/SingTel is, based juz on traceroute.
Having said that, given the limited knowledge I have, I believe ur situation can be improved. I was once told that my line termination was moved to the 1st of a row of dunno what, and thus, some significant difference in the signal I am getting. I dun understand wat the engineer was telling me, but end result was good, better signal and lowered interference.
So, let the guys do their job...;) But keep us posted of the development. If still problematic, I think shouldn't be any issue to roll u back to previous line profile.
misato
18-04-2006, 01:55 AM
You have one extra hop, hop #3...
Anyway, it's hard to pinpoint how the infrastructure of SingNet/SingTel is, based juz on traceroute.
Having said that, given the limited knowledge I have, I believe ur situation can be improved. I was once told that my line termination was moved to the 1st of a row of dunno what, and thus, some significant difference in the signal I am getting. I dun understand wat the engineer was telling me, but end result was good, better signal and lowered interference.
So, let the guys do their job...;) But keep us posted of the development. If still problematic, I think shouldn't be any issue to roll u back to previous line profile.
hop 3??? X_X
still dont see it.. lol. eyes playing magic trick on me..
but hop 7 is different, but we dont know how SN names it router, so elias is where..
but if the name is the area/road name, then the elias i know is in pasir ris.
The line man will be coming down my site to take a look... but given the usual SOP, he would just hook up his Sunset MTT look at the figures and tell me the line is ok. :s11:
The worst part is.. the problem is interminterm.. so it might no surface when the guy is here.
chaicka
18-04-2006, 08:11 AM
I recall someone mentioning that ADSL2+ line is using another measurement device...cannot recall the name of it oredi.
Anyway, nope, not all really base on location.....but...:D some may be...ain't surprise if the server is in tampines or chai chee...;)
misato
18-04-2006, 10:16 AM
I recall someone mentioning that ADSL2+ line is using another measurement device...cannot recall the name of it oredi.
Anyway, nope, not all really base on location.....but...:D some may be...ain't surprise if the server is in tampines or chai chee...;)
There is a new sunset MTT for ADSL2/2+/xDSL. but i hardly even seen them being equipped by the field technican. Maybe its new and expensive.. so they dont want to upgrade all their tech eq or they trying to save $ and only equipped a few of their field tech.
chaicka
18-04-2006, 10:53 AM
There is a new sunset MTT for ADSL2/2+/xDSL. but i hardly even seen them being equipped by the field technican. Maybe its new and expensive.. so they dont want to upgrade all their tech eq or they trying to save $ and only equipped a few of their field tech.
It's normally those senior techs/engrs who carry these devices...:D And there is a special team who will definitely be wif it, but they dun attend to normal calls.....
Ops...talk too much liao. Think u should noe wat I am saying...;)
misato
18-04-2006, 11:01 AM
It's normally those senior techs/engrs who carry these devices...:D And there is a special team who will definitely be wif it, but they dun attend to normal calls.....
Ops...talk too much liao. Think u should noe wat I am saying...;)
Their engineer should be equipped with the new eq, else how to do work.
My point is, the field tech should also have access to such eq, if they know they will be handling a ADSL2 line.
aristein
18-04-2006, 11:51 AM
Ever since I upgrade the firmware to ST585 5.3.8.0 firmware, i seems to be experiencing low peer connection and slow download speed for BT comet, wondering if it is the ISP problem or the firmware problem, was hesitating whether to revert back to the old firmware or not.
I am on singnet 1500 plan.
cheque
18-04-2006, 03:31 PM
http://i32.photobucket.com/albums/d2/fjordan/HST-3000.jpg
Acterna HST-3000 Handheld Field Tester.
This is the tester which the senior tech and their team carry to my place for the line check few months back.
chaicka
18-04-2006, 10:36 PM
Ever since I upgrade the firmware to ST585 5.3.8.0 firmware, i seems to be experiencing low peer connection and slow download speed for BT comet, wondering if it is the ISP problem or the firmware problem, was hesitating whether to revert back to the old firmware or not.
I am on singnet 1500 plan.
If u have followed my postings, u would have noticed I made a public announcement on ST585 and a firmware later than 5.3.8.0 but not officially supported but it works great. :D
chaicka
19-04-2006, 08:08 AM
Their engineer should be equipped with the new eq, else how to do work.
My point is, the field tech should also have access to such eq, if they know they will be handling a ADSL2 line.
There is always this thing call Tier-1 aka First Level, Tier-2 aka Second Level, Tier-3 aka Third Level support. So, u can't be expecting even every single Tier-1 to be carrying with them such equipment right. :)
AcCom
20-04-2006, 03:57 PM
Hi guys, try port forwarding for warcraft III, web server, tomcat but nothing work. I enable log for these portforwarding but at the event log, nothing is recorded.
I did disable the firewall through telnet.
another issue. Tried running the public ip to local device thingy, it says Failed to assign the public IP address. (failed to set spoofing pool unnumbered)
Anyone can kindly help?
Elvin_Chong
01-05-2006, 07:43 PM
DSL Connection
Link Information
Uptime: 0 days, 0:39:09
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 639 / 4.095
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 28,04 / 72,78
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 4,0 / 12,0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 2,5 / 13,0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 18,0 / 30,5
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 603.979.776 / 0
What are FEC errors?
hangyong
01-05-2006, 08:23 PM
DSL Connection
Link Information
Uptime: 0 days, 0:39:09
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 639 / 4.095
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 28,04 / 72,78
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 4,0 / 12,0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 2,5 / 13,0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 18,0 / 30,5
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 603.979.776 / 0
What are FEC errors?
seriously speaking, I would be more worried about the 4mbps downstream speed you are getting...
anyway, dun worry about the FEC error, no big issue as was told its a mis-read of info.
Elvin_Chong
01-05-2006, 09:55 PM
seriously speaking, I would be more worried about the 4mbps downstream speed you are getting...
anyway, dun worry about the FEC error, no big issue as was told its a mis-read of info.
Is the 4mbps downstream a bad thing?
chaicka
02-05-2006, 12:09 AM
hangyong, I dun think the user is on 10mbps plan...:D
Most likely the user is on 3500 plan, which the line profile is correct for that plan.
hangyong
02-05-2006, 06:36 AM
hangyong, I dun think the user is on 10mbps plan...:D
Most likely the user is on 3500 plan, which the line profile is correct for that plan.
if thta is the case, its ok.. but the modulation says G.992.5 Annex A, which is ADSL2+ leh...
chaicka
02-05-2006, 07:34 AM
if thta is the case, its ok.. but the modulation says G.992.5 Annex A, which is ADSL2+ leh...
Oh, I totally miss that out...:D
Could it be possible that the user is on 3500 plan but place on an ADSL2+ DSLAM? Coz there may not be other DSLAMs around the area, and afterall, there is plans to use ADSL2+ DSLAM and no more new ADSL DSLAM to be deploy.
Elvin_Chong, are u on SNBB 3500kbps or 10mbps plan?
Elvin_Chong
02-05-2006, 10:41 AM
Oh, I totally miss that out...:D
Could it be possible that the user is on 3500 plan but place on an ADSL2+ DSLAM? Coz there may not be other DSLAMs around the area, and afterall, there is plans to use ADSL2+ DSLAM and no more new ADSL DSLAM to be deploy.
Elvin_Chong, are u on SNBB 3500kbps or 10mbps plan?
3500kbps plan. :)
chaicka
02-05-2006, 05:10 PM
3500kbps plan. :)
So, I was right...:D
Your Line Statistics looks okay...In fact, it's on the good side.
Monitor for a few days of uptime and post the stats again.
FEC error juz ignore, it's a bug in that firmware. Fixed in later firmware (R5.4.0.11 or R5.4.0.14 but not officially supported by Distributor or ISP/Telco).
chaicka
03-05-2006, 12:42 AM
hangyong, misato, others.....
Need help to gather some info.
execute the following in CLI:
debug exec cmd="tdsl getData all"
sunnyee
03-05-2006, 02:20 AM
So, I was right...:D
Your Line Statistics looks okay...In fact, it's on the good side.
Monitor for a few days of uptime and post the stats again.
FEC error juz ignore, it's a bug in that firmware. Fixed in later firmware (R5.4.0.11 or R5.4.0.14 but not officially supported by Distributor or ISP/Telco).
I`m using R5.4.0.11 firmware but still have the FEC error. Tried R5.4.0.14 before still the same between this firmware has a higher CRC error rate.
leinad
03-05-2006, 08:08 AM
Bro chaicka,
As requested.
{Administrator}=>debug exec cmd="tdsl getData all"
=====================DISCLAIMER======================
Access to expert commands is intended for qualified
personnel only.
==================END=OF=DISCLAIMER==================
Vendor Information
phyType=1 phyMjVerNum=8 phyMnVerNum=0
phyVerStr=A2pBT008_rc1_PPP1.d16f
drvMjVerNum=16 drvMnVerNum=10240
drvVerStr=16f
Static Configuration
factoryId[0]= 67 [1]= 80 [2]= 48 [3]= 53
serialNumber[ 0]= 50 [ 1]= 53 [ 2]= 74 [ 3]= 84
serialNumber[ 4]= 57 [ 5]= 68 [ 6]= 84 [ 7]= 51
serialNumber[ 8]= 53 [ 9]= 57 [10]= 50 [11]= 49
serialNumber[12]= 55 [13]= 51 [14]= 48 [15]= 32
serialNumber[16]= 32 [17]= 32 [18]= 32 [19]= 0
serialNumber[20]= 0 [21]= 0 [22]= 0 [23]= 0
serialNumber[24]= 0 [25]= 0 [26]= 0 [27]= 0
options= 00:06:03:01:00:00:00:00:00:00:00:00:00:00:00:00
Profile Configuration
adslAnnexCParam= 00003583
adslAnnexAParam= 00003d83
adslTrainingMargingQ4= -1
adslShowtimeMarginQ4= -1
adslLOMTimeThldSec= 60
adsl2Param= 1
Adsl Oper Data
Data Rates: Fast (kbps) US 512; DS 3488
Data Rates: Interleave (kbps) US 0; DS 0
Settings: chType 1; modType 0; trellisOn 1
ConnInfo rcv: K 110; S 1; R 0; D 1
ConnInfo xmt: K 17; S 1; R 0; D 1
ConnStat rcv: SF 58521888; SFeff 6039; RS 0; RSCor 0; RSUncor 0
adsl2Conn Info
adsl2ConnInfo common: adsl2Mode 0; rcvRate 3488 kbps; xmtRate 512 kbps; pwrState 0
adsl2ConnInfo rcv: Nlp 1; Nbc 1; MSGlp 0; MSGc 1; L 888; M 1; T 1; D 1; R 0; B 110
adsl2ConnInfo xmt: Nlp 1; Nbc 1; MSGlp 0; MSGc 1; L 144; M 1; T 1; D 1; R 0; B 17
adsl2ConnInfo DiagMode Data: loopAttdB 0; SignalAttdB 0; snrMargindB 0; attDataRateKbps 0; txPowerdB 0
adsl2ConnInfo ChanFast IntlDelayMs 0; CurrTxRate 512000; PrevTxRate 348 8000; CrcBlockLengthBlocks 1088
adsl2ConnInfo ChanIntl IntlDelayMs 4; CurrTxRate 0; PrevTxRate 0; CrcBl ockLengthBlocks 0 AtmConnnection
atmConnStat rcv: HEC 3289; OCD 54; LCD 0; ES 0; CellTotal -405705977; CellData 49047246; CellDrop 30; BitErrs 0
atmConnStat xmt: HEC 72; OCD 2; LCD 0; ES 0; CellTotal 0; CellData 0; CellDrop 0; BitErrs 0
bitalloc start
tone 0: 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 4 5 5
tone 10: 6 7 7 8 8 8 8 8 8 8
tone 20: 8 8 7 7 6 6 6 5 5 4
tone 30: 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2
tone 40: 2 3 4 4 5 5 5 6 6 6
tone 50: 6 6 6 6 6 6 6 6 6 6
tone 60: 6 6 6 6 0 6 6 6 6 6
tone 70: 6 6 6 6 6 6 6 6 6 6
tone 80: 6 6 6 6 6 6 5 5 5 5
tone 90: 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
tone 100: 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
tone 110: 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 2
tone 120: 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
tone 130: 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
tone 140: 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
tone 150: 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
tone 160: 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
tone 170: 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5
tone 180: 5 5 5 5 5 4 5 5 4 5
tone 190: 4 5 4 4 5 4 5 4 4 5
tone 200: 4 4 5 4 4 4 5 4 4 4
tone 210: 4 4 4 5 4 4 4 4 4 4
tone 220: 4 4 4 4 3 3 4 3 3 4
tone 230: 3 3 3 3 3 2 3 2 2 3
tone 240: 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2
tone 250: 2 2
bitalloc end
snr start
tone 0: 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
tone 10: 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
tone 20: 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
tone 30: 0 0 0 0 -12 -12 0 -12 34 36
tone 40: 39 41 44 46 47 49 50 51 53 54
tone 50: 54 55 56 56 57 57 58 55 58 58
tone 60: 59 59 59 59 60 59 59 59 59 58
tone 70: 59 59 60 60 59 59 59 60 59 59
tone 80: 55 59 59 57 58 58 58 59 59 58
tone 90: 57 53 55 58 58 58 58 57 58 58
tone 100: 58 58 57 53 58 58 58 58 58 58
tone 110: 58 58 58 58 55 58 58 58 58 58
tone 120: 58 58 58 58 58 57 57 57 57 58
tone 130: 57 57 57 57 56 55 55 56 55 55
tone 140: 56 56 56 56 56 56 56 55 56 55
tone 150: 55 56 55 55 55 55 55 55 55 55
tone 160: 55 55 54 55 54 55 54 54 54 54
tone 170: 54 54 54 53 53 53 53 53 52 52
tone 180: 52 52 52 52 51 51 51 51 50 51
tone 190: 50 51 50 50 50 50 50 50 50 50
tone 200: 50 50 50 48 51 50 51 49 50 47
tone 210: 50 50 50 50 49 50 49 49 49 49
tone 220: 48 49 48 48 48 47 47 47 47 47
tone 230: 46 45 46 46 46 45 45 45 44 44
tone 240: 44 43 43 43 42 41 41 40 40 39
tone 250: 38 38
snr end
gainQ2 start
tone 0: 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 118 105 84
tone 10: 94 105 94 105 105 94 94 105 105 94
tone 20: 94 105 94 94 94 105 94 94 94 105
tone 30: 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 105
tone 40: 108 118 129 102 118 100 86 105 100 89
tone 50: 81 77 70 66 63 59 56 72 53 51
tone 60: 50 48 47 47 100 45 45 45 47 54
tone 70: 45 45 44 44 45 45 45 44 45 45
tone 80: 79 47 50 59 53 51 36 35 35 36
tone 90: 41 70 54 39 39 38 39 42 39 37
tone 100: 38 37 42 70 39 38 37 37 37 38
tone 110: 37 37 37 38 53 39 38 38 38 100
tone 120: 39 38 38 39 38 43 43 41 41 39
tone 130: 41 43 43 42 48 51 51 47 53 53
tone 140: 45 45 45 45 47 47 47 51 50 51
tone 150: 51 50 51 51 51 53 51 51 51 54
tone 160: 56 56 57 56 59 56 59 59 59 59
tone 170: 63 63 63 66 66 68 68 70 75 72
tone 180: 75 79 79 79 81 57 84 86 63 86
tone 190: 63 89 63 63 91 63 91 63 63 97
tone 200: 64 63 94 79 61 63 89 72 68 91
tone 210: 68 68 66 97 72 68 70 72 72 72
tone 220: 79 77 79 81 66 75 89 72 75 97
tone 230: 79 86 84 84 84 54 91 56 61 100
tone 240: 59 63 66 70 75 81 86 94 100 105
tone 250: 118 91
gainQ2 end
noisemargin start
tone 30: 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 30
tone 40: 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 30
tone 50: 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 30
tone 60: 30 30 30 27 0 27 30 30 30 30
tone 70: 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 30
tone 80: 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 30
tone 90: 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 30
tone 100: 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 30
tone 110: 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 30
tone 120: 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 30
tone 130: 30 30 30 30 30 30 27 30 30 30
tone 140: 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 30
tone 150: 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 30
tone 160: 30 30 30 27 30 30 30 30 30 30
tone 170: 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 30
tone 180: 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 30
tone 190: 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 30
tone 200: 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 30
tone 210: 30 30 30 25 27 30 30 30 30 30
tone 220: 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 30
tone 230: 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 30
tone 240: 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 30
tone 250: 30 30
noisemargin end
: : : : : : :
(To be continued...)
/Dan
leinad
03-05-2006, 08:09 AM
Part 2:
chanCharLin start
char 0: (0, 1) (13, -13) (10, -10) (10, -10) (6, 6) (-6, 6) (-6, -6) (6, -6) (3, 3) (3, -3)
char 10: (3, 3) (-3, 3) (-3, -3) (-3, -3) (6, 0) (3, -10) (6, 0) (6, -6) (3, -3) (6, -6)
char 20: (0, 1) (0, 6) (0, 13) (6, 13) (20, 20) (23, 37) (37, 30) (41, 27) (20, 13) (-61, -6)
char 30: (-260, 34) (-626, 270) (-1164, 945) (-1641, 2600) (-1031, 5930) (3415, 10603) (14588, 11237) (24931, -51) (23485, -15544) (14550, -25376)
char 40: (4241, -29430) (-5279, -29700) (-13495, -27494) (-20265, -23615) (-25541, -18607) (-29337, -12919) (-31698, -6920) (-32767, -911) (-32681, 4889) (-31595, 10271)
char 50: (-29728, 15112) (-27216, 19350) (-24266, 22944) (-21001, 25901) (-17555, 28210) (-14057, 29967) (-10548, 31208) (-7133, 31958) (-3847, 32311) (-722, 32297)
char 60: (2237, 32002) (4978, 31441) (7540, 30680) (9870, 29728) (12028, 28631)(13968, 27439) (15715, 26151) (17274, 24784) (18672, 23386) (19902, 21971)
char 70: (20981, 20522) (21899, 19083) (22673, 17644) (23345, 16239) (23886, 14841) (24342, 13474) (24681, 12148) (24921, 10874) (25085, 9613) (25195, 8421)
char 80: (25226, 7273) (25195, 6173) (25113, 5125) (24976, 4111) (24821, 3169) (24609, 2257) (24369, 1394) (24099, 568) (23814, -195) (23506, -928)
char 90: (23180, -1603) (22838, -2247) (22481, -2857) (22125, -3432) (21748, -3960) (21378, -4453) (20994, -4919) (20607, -5348) (20213, -5748) (19819, -6115)
char 100: (19419, -6461) (19035, -6783) (18627, -7074) (18240, -7324) (17866, -7554) (17483, -7787) (17109, -7975) (16722, -8150) (16345, -8308) (15972, -8448)
char 110: (15616, -8565) (15266, -8667) (14920, -8746) (14577, -8815) (14252, -8873) (13927, -8918) (13618, -8966) (13317, -8986) (13019, -8996) (12721, -9000)
char 120: (12443, -8996) (12179, -8986) (11905, -8966) (11645, -8938) (11395, -8900) (11162, -8873) (10936, -8825) (10703, -8770) (10483, -8715) (10274, -8650)
char 130: (10072, -8592) (9863, -8520) (9675, -8455) (9490, -8373) (9305, -8297) (9123, -8219) (8959, -8136) (8794, -8047) (8630, -7951) (8469, -7859)
char 140: (8311, -7756) (8167, -7660) (8020, -7561) (7883, -7458) (7746, -7362) (7609, -7259) (7489, -7153) (7359, -7044) (7232, -6937) (7115, -6841)
char 150: (7002, -6728) (6886, -6626) (6790, -6516) (6677, -6417) (6578, -6317) (6482, -6214) (6386, -6112) (6300, -6005) (6208, -5913) (6118, -5810)
char 160: (6033, -5711) (5951, -5608) (5872, -5515) (5796, -5420) (5718, -5320) (5653, -5228) (5577, -5125) (5512, -5032) (5437, -4936) (5375, -4841)
char 170: (5300, -4745) (5235, -4652) (5169, -4553) (5108, -4464) (5043, -4371) (4984, -4279) (4923, -4183) (4861, -4094) (4803, -4001) (4745, -3916)
char 180: (4683, -3826) (4628, -3737) (4570, -3652) (4518, -3566) (4467, -3480) (4416, -3402) (4364, -3323) (4316, -3241) (4268, -3165) (4217, -3086)
char 190: (4172, -3008) (4124, -2932) (4077, -2857) (4042, -2781) (3991, -2716) (3953, -2644) (3905, -2576) (3864, -2507) (3826, -2435) (3782, -2370)
char 200: (3741, -2309) (3700, -2240) (3655, -2175) (3614, -2113) (3576, -2048) (3532, -1990) (3491, -1928) (3450, -1867) (3405, -1802) (3364, -1747)
char 210: (3323, -1692) (3282, -1630) (3241, -1575) (3196, -1524) (3162, -1469) (3121, -1414) (3083, -1363) (3042, -1315) (3008, -1267) (2970, -1216)
char 220: (2929, -1168) (2898, -1123) (2857, -1075) (2826, -1031) (2792, -990) (2754, -945) (2720, -904) (2689, -866) (2648, -818) (2610, -781)
char 230: (2572, -743) (2538, -702) (2494, -664) (2453, -623) (2401, -585) (2360, -551) (2305, -510) (2257, -476) (2199, -438) (2141, -400)
char 240: (2083, -370) (2014, -335) (1949, -298) (1880, -270) (1808, -239) (1730, -208) (1654, -181) (1579, -154) (1497, -126) (1418, -109)
char 250: (1336, -82) (1257, -65) (1171, -47) (1092, -30) (1010, -17) (931, -6) (0, 0) (0, 527) (0, 0) (0, 196)
char 260: (-1, -32711) (0, 4376) (0, 0) (0, 0) (-1, -32708) (-1, -20224) (0, 1) (0, 1) (0, 0) (0, 0)
char 270: (-1, -32706) (-1, -2968) (-1, -32526) (-1, -29900) (-1, -32565) (-1, -29672) (0, 0) (0, 12) (-1, -32711) (0, 4264)
char 280: (0, 4096) (0, 31745) (0, 0) (0, 527) (0, 4096) (0, 31745) (0, 0) (0, 768) (0, 4096) (0, 31745)
char 290: (0, 1) (0, 1) (-1, -32639) (-1, -22304) (0, 1) (0, 1) (0, 4096) (0, 31745) (-1, -32646) (-1, -15932)
char 300: (-1, -32639) (-1, -22316) (0, 1) (0, 1) (0, 0) (0, 0) (-1, -32646) (-1, -15932) (-1, -32646) (-1, -11988)
char 310: (-1, -32674) (-1, -2832) (-1, -32706) (0, 17324) (-1, -32706) (0, 17324) (-1, -32707) (0, 31312) (-1, -32707) (0, 31112)
char 320: (0, 0) (0, 0) (-1, -32763) (0, 28904) (0, 0) (0, 0) (-1, -32646) (-1,-15932) (0, 0) (0, 0)
char 330: (-1, -32706) (0, 17324) (-1, -32646) (-1, -17020) (0, 0) (0, 3) (-1, -32707) (0, 3488) (0, 0) (0, 3)
char 340: (-1, -32686) (-1, -23872) (-1, -32686) (-1, -23824) (-1, -32646) (-1, -17020) (-1, -32763) (0, 28904) (-1, -32708) (-1, -664)
char 350: (-1, -32646) (-1, -15932) (-1, -32767) (-1, -17976) (-1, -32646) (-1, -15932) (-1, -32707) (0, 3448) (0, 0) (0, 0)
char 360: (-1, -32646) (-1, -15932) (-1, -32646) (-1, -11988) (-1, -32646) (-1, -17020) (0, 0) (0, 3) (-1, -32646) (-1, -17020)
char 370: (-1, -32686) (-1, -23824) (0, 4096) (0, 31745) (-1, -32763) (0, 28904) (-1, -32639) (-1, -22212) (0, 1) (0, 2)
char 380: (0, 4096) (0, 31745) (-1, -32646) (-1, -15932) (-1, -32639) (-1, -22224) (0, 1) (0, 2) (0, 0) (0, 0)
char 390: (-1, -32646) (-1, -15932) (-1, -32646) (-1, -11988) (-1, -32674) (-1,-2832) (-1, -32706) (0, 17324) (-1, -32706) (0, 17324)
char 400: (-1, -32707) (0, 31312) (-1, -32707) (0, 31112) (0, 0) (0, 0) (0, 0) (0, 0) (-1, -32646) (-1, -11988)
char 410: (-1, -32674) (-1, -2832) (0, 0) (0, 0) (-1, -32706) (0, 17324) (-1, -32708) (-1, -692) (0, 0) (0, 12)
char 420: (-1, -32707) (0, 3488) (-1, -32686) (-1, -23824) (0, 0) (0, 12) (0, 0) (0, 0) (0, 0) (0, 0)
char 430: (-1, -32646) (-1, -15932) (-1, -32708) (-1, -664) (0, 0) (0, 12) (0, 0) (0, 0) (-1, -32646) (-1, -15932)
char 440: (-1, -32707) (0, 3448) (-1, -32685) (0, 21952) (-1, -32646) (-1, -16812) (-1, -32685) (0, 15320) (-1, -32705) (-1, -11096)
char 450: (-1, -32646) (-1, -16884) (-1, -32708) (-1, -692) (-1, -32706) (0, 17152) (0, 0) (0, 0) (0, 0) (0, 0)
char 460: (-1, -32646) (-1, -16820) (-1, -32663) (0, 11092) (0, 0) (0, 9) (0, 0) (0, 250) (-1, -32706) (0, 16676)
char 470: (-1, -32708) (0, 8456) (-1, -32674) (-1, -4212) (-1, -32674) (-1, -2832) (0, 0) (0, 0) (-1, -32640) (0, 27904)
char 480: (0, 0) (0, 0) (0, 0) (0, 118) (0, 0) (0, 0) (0, 0) (0, 81) (0, 0) (0, 86)
char 490: (0, 0) (0, 94) (0, 0) (0, 100) (0, 0) (0, 105) (-1, -32646) (-1, -16188) (-1, -32685) (0, 15320)
char 500: (-1, -32646) (-1, -15932) (0, 0) (0, 256) (-1, -32646) (-1, -11988) (-1, -32685) (0, 15320) (-1, -32708) (0, 8552)
char 510: (-1, -8531) (-1, -16657) (0, 0) (7, -12288) (53, 14592) (0, 0) (0, 0)(-8531, -16657) (516, 0) (0, 301)
tone 250: (1336, -82) (1257, -65) (1171, -47) (1092, -30) (1010, -17) (931, -6)
chanCharLin end
chanCharLog start
tone 0: -111 -96 -98 -98 -102 -102 -102 -102 -108 -108
tone 10: -108 -108 -108 -108 -105 -101 -105 -102 -108 -102
tone 20: -111 -105 -99 -98 -92 -88 -88 -88 -94 -86
tone 30: -73 -65 -58 -52 -46 -41 -36 -34 -32 -32
tone 40: -32 -32 -32 -32 -31 -31 -31 -31 -31 -31
tone 50: -31 -31 -31 -31 -31 -31 -31 -31 -31 -31
tone 60: -31 -31 -31 -32 -32 -32 -32 -32 -32 -32
tone 70: -32 -32 -32 -32 -32 -33 -33 -33 -33 -33
tone 80: -33 -33 -33 -33 -34 -34 -34 -34 -34 -34
tone 90: -34 -34 -34 -34 -35 -35 -35 -35 -35 -35
tone 100: -35 -35 -35 -36 -36 -36 -36 -36 -36 -36
tone 110: -36 -37 -37 -37 -37 -37 -37 -37 -37 -38
tone 120: -38 -38 -38 -38 -38 -38 -38 -39 -39 -39
tone 130: -39 -39 -39 -39 -40 -40 -40 -40 -40 -40
tone 140: -40 -40 -41 -41 -41 -41 -41 -41 -41 -42
tone 150: -42 -42 -42 -42 -42 -42 -43 -43 -43 -43
tone 160: -43 -43 -43 -43 -44 -44 -44 -44 -44 -44
tone 170: -44 -45 -45 -45 -45 -45 -45 -45 -46 -46
tone 180: -46 -46 -46 -46 -46 -47 -47 -47 -47 -47
tone 190: -47 -47 -47 -48 -48 -48 -48 -48 -48 -48
tone 200: -49 -49 -49 -49 -49 -49 -49 -50 -50 -50
tone 210: -50 -50 -50 -50 -51 -51 -51 -51 -51 -51
tone 220: -52 -52 -52 -52 -52 -52 -52 -52 -53 -53
tone 230: -53 -53 -53 -53 -54 -54 -54 -54 -54 -55
tone 240: -55 -55 -56 -56 -56 -57 -57 -57 -58 -58
tone 250: -59 -59
chanCharLog end
quietLineNoise start
tone 30: 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
tone 40: 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
tone 50: 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
tone 60: 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
tone 70: 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
tone 80: 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
tone 90: 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
tone 100: 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
tone 110: 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
tone 120: 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
tone 130: 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
tone 140: 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
tone 150: 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
tone 160: 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
tone 170: 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
tone 180: 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
tone 190: 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
tone 200: 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
tone 210: 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
tone 220: 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
tone 230: 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
tone 240: 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
tone 250: 0 0
quietLineNoise end
1 ADSL_OEM_G994_VENDOR_ID :
2 ADSL_OEM_G994_XMT_NS_INFO :
3 ADSL_OEM_G994_RCV_NS_INFO : 1 e f 0 41 4c 43 42 81 89 1 14 c2 1 4 c2
4 ADSL_OEM_EOC_VENDOR_ID : f 0 54 4d 4d 42 0 0
5 ADSL_OEM_EOC_VERSION : 21 80 0 0 35 38 35 20 1 0 22 1 1 54 0 0 80
6 ADSL_OEM_EOC_SERIAL_NUMBER : 43 50 30 35 32 35 4a 54 39 44 54 33 35 39 32 31 37 33 30 20 20 20 20 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
7 ADSL_OEM_T1413_VENDOR_ID :
8 ADSL_OEM_T1413_EOC_VENDOR_ID : 0 22
/Dan
chaicka
03-05-2006, 08:56 AM
leinad, u are not on ADSL2+ plan rite :D
hangyong
03-05-2006, 09:08 AM
holy sh*t... I din know there are so much information!
I will send mine tonight...
leinad
03-05-2006, 09:47 AM
leinad, u are not on ADSL2+ plan rite :D
Sorry bro, I'm not. :(
Still SNBB1500... Contracted to them and I have to pay $700 to upgrade my plan (what rubbish!)...
/Dan
chaicka
03-05-2006, 10:47 AM
holy sh*t... I din know there are so much information!
I will send mine tonight...
There are lots of stuff in this baby.....juz that we have yet to discover oni...:D
ivanteo
04-05-2006, 09:34 AM
i noticed that when i did a tracert, the time required to "ping" st585 is 99ms. i was wondering whether it is normal to have such a long time or i need to change any setting?
1 103 ms 100 ms 99 ms dsldevice.lan [192.168.1.254]
2 11 ms 11 ms 11 ms bb219-74-101-1.singnet.com.sg [219.74.101.1]
3 * 9 ms 9 ms bb-165-21-135-117.singnet.com.sg [165.21.135.117
]
4 10 ms 10 ms 10 ms ge-0-0-6-0.guinness.singnet.com.sg [202.166.126.
26]
5 10 ms 10 ms 10 ms ge-0-1-0-0.soju.singnet.com.sg [202.166.126.9]
6 10 ms 10 ms 10 ms 202.166.127.34
7 11 ms 10 ms 10 ms FE-2-0.aljunied.singnet.com.sg [165.21.12.8]
8 11 ms 10 ms 10 ms 165.21.103.222
9 9 ms 10 ms 10 ms pop.singnet.com.sg [165.21.103.210]
Trace complete.
I get these long ping times when doing a trace route too. Singnet says this should not be the case though. Anyone else care to share their experiences?
alvin81
04-05-2006, 12:13 PM
Sorry bro, I'm not. :(
Still SNBB1500... Contracted to them and I have to pay $700 to upgrade my plan (what rubbish!)...
/Dan
I'm on SNBB 1500 as well. Y $700 so expensive??? Its just an upgrade wat... Unless u break contract... Cos I was told upgrade no need to pay anything extra. Just the new subscription fee.
liangtam
04-05-2006, 06:53 PM
The inherent problem of ST585, its normal, so don't worry.
misato
04-05-2006, 10:30 PM
hangyong, misato, others.....
Need help to gather some info.
execute the following in CLI:
debug exec cmd="tdsl getData all"
As requested.
Full debug (http://home.pacific.net.sg/~misatof/st585-debug.txt)
PS: i decided to put all those debug into 1 single text file for better read and to take out less space on the thread. :s7:
alvin81
05-05-2006, 12:03 AM
Hmmm... there are new version of firmware (6.1.0.5) out for certain models of SpeedTouch. Will there be a release for the ST 585? If there is, can someone pls provide?
chaicka
05-05-2006, 02:30 AM
Dun pin too much hope on it...
R6.1.0.5 has been released primarily for all h/w v6 models...
alvin81
05-05-2006, 02:34 PM
Dun pin too much hope on it...
R6.1.0.5 has been released primarily for all h/w v6 models...
So can I say that its end of the line for firmware updates for the ST 585???
chaicka
05-05-2006, 08:39 PM
May or May not be.....really no idea. But ST585v6 is to replace ST585 (presumably v5).
alvin81
22-05-2006, 11:37 PM
May or May not be.....really no idea. But ST585v6 is to replace ST585 (presumably v5).
I think the hype about the ST585 is gone already. Guess most of us already know how to operate the ST585 quite well by now. :) Anyway, just to share with you guys, after some searching, I've found that the the Netherland's SpeedTouch website has released the 6.1.0.5 firmware for ST585v5. Its at http://www.speedtouch.nl/drivers.html#585. Chaicka maybe you can check it out since your are the resourceful one who can source for the new firmware for us. ;) According to the site, it so happens that the firmware is written for both v5 and v6. But of course theres the concern of different circuit boards used overseas. Use http://babelfish.altavista.com/tr to translate the text from Dutch to English. Just copy and paste the Dutch text to translate. Really hope you can get your hands on the 6.1.0.5 and share it with us. :)
alvin81
23-05-2006, 12:18 AM
Hey guys... sorry... i did not read the website properly. 6.1.0.5 is specially arranged ONLY for the ST585v6. So sorry. :(
leinad
23-05-2006, 06:27 AM
I guess the Major version number is a dead giveaway, actually. :)
/Dan
abcdef
07-06-2006, 11:34 PM
Hi. I'm on SNBB 10mbps plan. I've just checked my ST585 webpage recently and found that
my Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1.039 / 13.980
Is this correct? When i first got my 10mbps plan about 7 months ago it was like 1.035 / 21.561.
Seems like it's slower now.
hangyong
08-06-2006, 12:40 AM
Hi. I'm on SNBB 10mbps plan. I've just checked my ST585 webpage recently and found that
my Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1.039 / 13.980
Is this correct? When i first got my 10mbps plan about 7 months ago it was like 1.035 / 21.561.
Seems like it's slower now.
you subscribe to 10mbps, they give you 13mbps.... din short change you what....
chaicka
08-06-2006, 08:51 PM
I think the hype about the ST585 is gone already. Guess most of us already know how to operate the ST585 quite well by now. :) Anyway, just to share with you guys, after some searching, I've found that the the Netherland's SpeedTouch website has released the 6.1.0.5 firmware for ST585v5. Its at http://www.speedtouch.nl/drivers.html#585. Chaicka maybe you can check it out since your are the resourceful one who can source for the new firmware for us. ;) According to the site, it so happens that the firmware is written for both v5 and v6. But of course theres the concern of different circuit boards used overseas. Use http://babelfish.altavista.com/tr to translate the text from Dutch to English. Just copy and paste the Dutch text to translate. Really hope you can get your hands on the 6.1.0.5 and share it with us. :)
Why go to Netherland site which actually got it from elsewhere...and FYI, I had it on my mirror way earlier than they had it on their site.
http://mirror.opensourcehub.com/pub/speedtouch/
chaicka
08-06-2006, 08:53 PM
I guess the Major version number is a dead giveaway, actually. :)
/Dan
Not true...
Some models (eg. 536, 546) still got the newer firmware, 6.1.0.5 for them, even when there is a 536v6 and 546v6 models too.
chaicka
08-06-2006, 09:14 PM
For those interested in some of the CLI commands which were new in R5.4.x.x firmware and yet, no CLI documentation available, you can refer to the R6.1.x.x CLI Reference Manual ->
http://www.speedtouch.com/documentation/ST585v6/R610/CLIguide/HTML/wwhelp.htm?single=false&context=cli&topic=init
MBUS, MEMM, and others are now documented.
alvin81
09-06-2006, 09:21 AM
For those interested in some of the CLI commands which were new in R5.4.x.x firmware and yet, no CLI documentation available, you can refer to the R6.1.x.x CLI Reference Manual ->
http://www.speedtouch.com/documentation/ST585v6/R610/CLIguide/HTML/wwhelp.htm?single=false&context=cli&topic=init
MBUS, MEMM, and others are now documented.
You mean the CLI documentation for 6.1.x.x can be used for 5.4.x.x? Hoping that Thomson will come out with the 6.1.x.x firmware for 585v5 soon. Crossing my fingers. :)
danlim_98
09-06-2006, 11:06 AM
Sorry, can we upgrade to the latest version 6.1.0.5 on the 585 for local used..
Thanks
Not true...
Some models (eg. 536, 546) still got the newer firmware, 6.1.0.5 for them, even when there is a 536v6 and 546v6 models too.
MadKnight
09-06-2006, 02:05 PM
Sorry, can we upgrade to the latest version 6.1.0.5 on the 585 for local used..
Thanks
dont try it.cannot be done
AcCom
12-06-2006, 04:06 PM
hi guys, anyone try using the bridge mode setting under the setup option for the new 5.14 firmware? Any idea how to use it?
kittylyx
12-06-2006, 10:15 PM
hi, i'm a ID10T when it comes to this kind of things
i am facing this problem - i get disconnected and cannot connect back unless i set a new network confi or off/on my modem
using the ST585 with an apple ibook g4
line seems good so the problem seem to lie with the modem
they sent me the fw which is 5.3.2.2 and am not sure if i shld dl the newer fw from the above sites
please advise. tia =D
chaicka
13-06-2006, 03:59 PM
Ensure that the modemoption=xxxxxxxx configuration is still intact in the configuration after upgrading the firmware.
chaicka
13-06-2006, 04:01 PM
You mean the CLI documentation for 6.1.x.x can be used for 5.4.x.x? Hoping that Thomson will come out with the 6.1.x.x firmware for 585v5 soon. Crossing my fingers. :)
Same here...hoping, but well, dun bet too much on it.
The 6.1.x.x CLI Guide is very much similar to 5.4.0.x firmwares, so the CLI Guide can be use for reference. I am now using the 6.1.0.5 CLI Guide for ST585v6 as reference, despite the firmware for my ST585v5 is R5.4.0.14.
kittylyx
14-06-2006, 09:02 PM
Ensure that the modemoption=xxxxxxxx configuration is still intact in the configuration after upgrading the firmware.
sorry there's two files, one with .bin and one without
which one should i dl?
me really techno ID10T so got to ask stupid questions :grin:
misato
15-06-2006, 10:50 PM
chaicka.. so sad.. the modem gave way today after 37 days + of continous operation.
Here the last captured line stats before i reset the modem.
Uptime: 37 days, 8:25:26
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1,031 / 13,980
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [GB/GB]: 126.78 / 108.67
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 2.5 / 9.5
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 2.0 / 10.0
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 1,800 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 2,099
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 1,422
chaicka
17-06-2006, 02:38 AM
Wow...I have mine on 24x7 since the day I got it...think it's been more than 6 months, almost coming to a year now?
Well, if u like it, I still have one spare unit...happily sitting in its box...:D
misato
17-06-2006, 09:52 AM
Mine didnt ko. What i meant was it performed for 37 days straight without a soft reset and without error under constant BT traffic etc..
PS: my 585 hasnt been switched off for the past 8 months as well. Only hard/soft reset here and then when i change firmware / settings.
flameblade
17-06-2006, 04:03 PM
gosh ... there's some problem with my ST585 too
Only selected telephone wire then my modem can conect. Seems that theres something wrong with the modem's telephone line port.
Now so far so good. No disconnections, but i find that overseas bandwidth is getting slower and slower.
These are my stats as of now.
Uptime: 4 days, 16:39:12
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1.023 / 13.980
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [GB/GB]: 7,97 / 7,58
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 0,5 / 6,5
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 0,5 / 11,5
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 6,0 / 16,5
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 5 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 5
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 3
tinker58
17-06-2006, 06:22 PM
Only selected telephone wire then my modem can conect. Seems that theres something wrong with the modem's telephone line port.
Now so far so good. No disconnections, but i find that overseas bandwidth is getting slower and slower.
Can't see anything amiss with your line readings. By selected telephone wires i take it u meant the RJ11 telephone cord. How many have u tried so far. What's the website that u complaint that's having slow bandwidth. Post here so we could try it out.
chaicka
17-06-2006, 07:12 PM
ST585 is among the best ADSL2+ CPE I have seen and tried so far...amist all those lame self-declared ADSL2+ CPEs out at SLS...
The RJ11 phone cord forms part of the loop of ADSL2+, thus cheapo lousy RJ11 phone cord will have significant impact. It has nothing to do with the ST585.
flameblade
18-06-2006, 08:34 AM
Hmmm ok maybe i never explain clearly enough. I do agree that the St585 is one of the better CPEs out there. What i am trying to say is that my unit have somehow became spoiled.
A few weeks ago, my CPEs suddenly could not get a line sync. I went to get some new RJ11 phone cord for it (4 infact), and 3 of it does not work with the st585 ( i could not get a line sync at all). While with my other modems, the prolink Huricane 8000 and my old speedtouch home modem, those 4 RJ11 phone cord work perfectly. So i believed that the telephone line port of my CPE is somehow spoilt (couldn't be all those 3 RJ11 phone cord i brought are of such low quality). So maybe theres some wear and tear happening.
_dXter
26-06-2006, 10:14 AM
Sad, after a year of operating st585(firmware 5.3.2.2), it stopped on saturday; the DSL cannot sync with SNBB. The boot sequence will stop at WLAN and go no further.
Tried changing rj11 cable, rebooting the modem, and resetting to factory default settings, none of these works. DSL refused to sync and the DSL led does not light up. Tried calling vrnet but no1 answers the phone. :(
Is the modem gone??? 3days with no internet liao.
okw100
26-06-2006, 10:47 AM
Sad, after a year of operating st585(firmware 5.3.2.2), it stopped on saturday; the DSL cannot sync with SNBB. The boot sequence will stop at WLAN and go no further.
Tried changing rj11 cable, rebooting the modem, and resetting to factory default settings, none of these works. DSL refused to sync and the DSL led does not light up. Tried calling vrnet but no1 answers the phone. :(
go change the modem wif the vendor lor :D
misato
26-06-2006, 11:58 AM
Dxter.. can u go grab the line stats via CLI?
To test which one spoil, very simple, bring you modem to a friend hse thats using xDSL. No need to configure or anything, just plug in the RJ11 and see if it sync out. If it syncs, its your line problem, if it doesnt, modem problem.
If you have a spare xDSL modem, you can just plug it into your RJ11. No need to configure anything.. just check if line can sync a not.
But given your case, i believe its most likely a line problem. Have you tried calling your ISP to have them run a check first. It could be your line card (DSLAM side) got problem.
_dXter
26-06-2006, 12:23 PM
I have a spare ADSL modem, Prolink Hurricane 9000P. It also couldn't sync I think as I cannot connect to snbb, and the adsl led was blinking with a pattern. I need to chk the hurricane 9000P troubleshooting first to confirm. lol But dunno where to get info on this modem. K I go try tonight. 1 week no internet means 20+ sgd down the drain. :/
vrnet better still, I hld onto the phoneline for an hour and all they could do was disconnect me straight away after connecting through. GG good service.
thx dude.
Dxter.. can u go grab the line stats via CLI?
To test which one spoil, very simple, bring you modem to a friend hse thats using xDSL. No need to configure or anything, just plug in the RJ11 and see if it sync out. If it syncs, its your line problem, if it doesnt, modem problem.
If you have a spare xDSL modem, you can just plug it into your RJ11. No need to configure anything.. just check if line can sync a not.
But given your case, i believe its most likely a line problem. Have you tried calling your ISP to have them run a check first. It could be your line card (DSLAM side) got problem.
misato
26-06-2006, 01:35 PM
any xDSL device should be able to sync up on a DSL line if there no issue. The only difference is the sync speed. given that your prolink cant sync, means its a line problem. Go call SNBB. Ask them resolve the issue. Seek for compansation when possible :D
kittylyx
02-07-2006, 07:09 PM
managed to get the vrnet pple send me the fw v5.3.8.0
solved my dc problem
chaicka
02-07-2006, 10:55 PM
managed to get the vrnet pple send me the fw v5.3.8.0
solved my dc problem
FW 5.3.8.0 is still crappy...
If u are savvy, juz backup the cfg, flash to 5.4.0.14 or 5.4.0.11, upload back the cfg and it will work juz fine. In fact, it should perform better than the 5.3.8.0.
For those savvy pple, the crucial key is not the cfg file, but that modemoption=00:06:03:01:00:0....... line in the cfg file. So, if u flash to new general firmware and reconfig ST585 from scratch, juz make sure u modify that line in the cfg file and it will be compatible wif the ADSL2+ DSLAMs that SingNet is using.
alvin81
03-07-2006, 09:44 AM
If u are savvy, juz backup the cfg, flash to 5.4.0.14 or 5.4.0.11, upload back the cfg and it will work juz fine. In fact, it should perform better than the 5.3.8.0.
For those savvy pple, the crucial key is not the cfg file, but that modemoption=00:06:03:01:00:0....... line in the cfg file. So, if u flash to new general firmware and reconfig ST585 from scratch, juz make sure u modify that line in the cfg file and it will be compatible wif the ADSL2+ DSLAMs that SingNet is using.
Does those on SNBB1500 need to change that line too? Under which CLI command should I go to if I need to change the line and whats the full line? (Cos I notice the "......" behind) Thanks.
kittylyx
03-07-2006, 08:54 PM
heh heh me a bit techno ID10T so i'll leave it at that
as long as it doesn't give me problem
somemore just got my mbp, still playing around with it =)
chaicka
03-07-2006, 11:05 PM
Does those on SNBB1500 need to change that line too? Under which CLI command should I go to if I need to change the line and whats the full line? (Cos I notice the "......" behind) Thanks.
The ..... stands for the rest of the :00:00:00.....too long to remember how many of them le...juz modify the cfg file's statement "modemoption=00:06:03:01:00:....the rest leave it as it is. The crucial key factor is the register 2nd to 4th.
Although the modemoption can be modified via CLI, but the command to do so is not specified, thus the best way is to edit the cfg file, and nothing should go wrong.
There is a tool, which I am evaluating now...seems to be a good tool, and quite foolproof. I think I saw someone posted it b4...
chaicka
03-07-2006, 11:07 PM
heh heh me a bit techno ID10T so i'll leave it at that
as long as it doesn't give me problem
somemore just got my mbp, still playing around with it =)
Trust me...once u used R5.4.0.x firmware, u wun think abt that 5.3.8.0 firmware anymore, which is quite old oredi.
alvin81
04-07-2006, 12:26 AM
The ..... stands for the rest of the :00:00:00.....too long to remember how many of them le...juz modify the cfg file's statement "modemoption=00:06:03:01:00:....the rest leave it as it is. The crucial key factor is the register 2nd to 4th.
Although the modemoption can be modified via CLI, but the command to do so is not specified, thus the best way is to edit the cfg file, and nothing should go wrong.
There is a tool, which I am evaluating now...seems to be a good tool, and quite foolproof. I think I saw someone posted it b4...
Sorry but does this also applies to SNBB1500? Or only those on ADSL2+ needs to change?
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.