PDA

View Full Version : Problems with ST585? List here

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7

RallyART®
19-07-2005, 10:46 PM
Hi I had been reading with interest the problems that you guys had posted regarding the ST585? Are you sure that the port forwarding does not work? It needs to be configured. I tested on my Pc with ST585 with port forwarding...seems ok??? can't seem to underestand why u guys mentioned that there are some problems?

By default, the ST585 even with firewall off will still have all pports blocked. This feature is to prevent access to the modem from the WAN. however, once port forwarding or DMZ is enabled, it will be able to pass through.

Anyway for others that are still facing problem, please list down the problems in this thread and I will try to help. :)

edwin21
19-07-2005, 11:13 PM
wat about st580, any new firmware for ADSL2 support?

chaicka
19-07-2005, 11:17 PM
Pls do not taint this thread...

It is meant solely for the ST585i. For all other devices, pls go through the proper channel.

If pple start abusing, VR pple can always change nick and cease all activities in this forum, which will result in all of us loosing out.

Someone has step forward due to the seriousness and impact on the ADSL2+ service, but that does not mean it's their obligation to help pple online, after their work hours, using their precious personal time.

PLS RESPECT THAT it is out-of-good-will that they are doing this...

RallyART®
20-07-2005, 12:03 AM
Pls do not taint this thread...

It is meant solely for the ST585i. For all other devices, pls go through the proper channel.

If pple start abusing, VR pple can always change nick and cease all activities in this forum, which will result in all of us loosing out.

Someone has step forward due to the seriousness and impact on the ADSL2+ service, but that does not mean it's their obligation to help pple online, after their work hours, using their precious personal time.

PLS RESPECT THAT it is out-of-good-will that they are doing this...

haha..not so serious la. Maybe might just ignore the threads =:p

Seriously, the ST580 you are having now is already ADSL 2 ready but I am not sure how well it works with the ADSL2+ line. Arghh...a thousand and one thing to do. Heh will be great if you can give me feedback. Those willing to try I might even be able to release the ST580 R4.3 firmware...still in beta stage but looks exactly like the St585. but 1 thing at a time ok? can hardly breathe. heh

RallyART®
20-07-2005, 12:22 AM
This thread is meant for customers who have problem with the ST585 modem. It hurts me so much that a lot of people are not fully utilising this modem and worst still, go out to purchase another modem only to find that the modem does not support ADSL 2+ or cannot achieve the desired speed and thereafter wasting money. This is defintely not a cheapo modem that you have. I can guarantee you that it is one the most expensive modems in the market besides CISCO. worst come to worst, still can set to a bridge and use your prefered router, also better then going out to buy another modem that you do not know whether it will work.

seowbin
20-07-2005, 12:32 AM
Hmm, have you tested the actual router performance cause the household broadband speed is getting too 'crazy' for normal router to support liao...

Cause if calculation at 64bytes packet
need at least a Cisco 3631(25.6mbps to 36mbps) , 2691(35.84mbps) or 28xx series router to support >25mbps

hua wei side, AR28 series onward... their SOHO one.. dun bother.. :s13:

chaicka
20-07-2005, 12:35 AM
This thread is meant for customers who have problem with the ST585 modem. It hurts me so much that a lot of people are not fully utilising this modem and worst still, go out to purchase another modem only to find that the modem does not support ADSL 2+ or cannot achieve the desired speed and thereafter wasting money. This is defintely not a cheapo modem that you have. I can guarantee you that it is one the most expensive modems in the market besides CISCO. worst come to worst, still can set to a bridge and use your prefered router, also better then going out to buy another modem that you do not know whether it will work.

You forgotten Efficient...:D

misato
20-07-2005, 12:37 AM
From the specs, the 585 looks very impressive on paper.. but without a proper testing on its performance, to me any product is just impressive on paper. Anyway... tomolo i will be in the 1st person position to test it out, too bad i dont have a ADSL signal generator.. it will bring newer meaning to LAB tests.

chaicka
20-07-2005, 12:38 AM
ADSL signal generator not cheap leh...wow...wonder where u work in man...

Shinji_U
20-07-2005, 12:40 AM
Problems... yea I can list a few...

1. Port forwarding doesn't work... the gaming and applicatio nsharing stuff is a joke...

2. Tracert from notebook connected to st585 via LAN cable results in 1st hop of 181ms and inconsistent ping times of over 10ms...

3. The router config page is relative slow when compared to other branded routers, Linksys, D-Link, Netgear etc... infact never dealt with such a slow web configuration router before...

4. It can't work in bridge mode at all...only way is to connect my DI-624 WAN to its ethernet, then i nthe st585 config select assign public IP to ethernet DI-624, then DI-624 WAN is able to detect SingNet provisioned IP.

RallyART®
20-07-2005, 12:44 AM
From the specs, the 585 looks very impressive on paper.. but without a proper testing on its performance, to me any product is just impressive on paper. Anyway... tomolo i will be in the 1st person position to test it out, too bad i dont have a ADSL signal generator.. it will bring newer meaning to LAB tests.

Ok good good. I will reserve my comments on the performance, let you all decide. hope all bros here can just give their frankest opinion. Remember to email me hor...

RallyART®
20-07-2005, 12:48 AM
Problems... yea I can list a few...

1. Port forwarding doesn't work... the gaming and applicatio nsharing stuff is a joke...

2. Tracert from notebook connected to st585 via LAN cable results in 1st hop of 181ms and inconsistent ping times of over 10ms...

3. The router config page is relative slow when compared to other branded routers, Linksys, D-Link, Netgear etc... infact never dealt with such a slow web configuration router before...

4. It can't work in bridge mode at all...only way is to connect my DI-624 WAN to its ethernet, then i nthe st585 config select assign public IP to ethernet DI-624, then DI-624 WAN is able to detect SingNet provisioned IP.

I still find your claim that the port forwarding does not work puzzling. I had tested it working successfully.

Your 2nd point I acknowledge and I hope to find out more. Your 3rd problem is related to the 2nd problem. Your 4th problem..the modem is configured for standalone as required by singnet...nothing i can do but to send you the bridge file to upload. It WILL be able to connect bridge then.

misato
20-07-2005, 12:52 AM
Ok good good. I will reserve my comments on the performance, let you all decide. hope all bros here can just give their frankest opinion. Remember to email me hor...
Hope you dont find my words offensive.
When too much sales pitch clouds your ears... making proper judgment are often very hard a thing to do.

RallyART®
20-07-2005, 12:56 AM
Hope you dont find my words offensive.
When too much sales pitch clouds your ears... making proper judgment are often very hard a thing to do.

Oh don't worry, I had never found you offensive. Do post your frank opinion. good and bad, its all welcomed :)

celerius
20-07-2005, 09:21 AM
1. Port forwarding doesn't work... the gaming and applicatio nsharing stuff is a joke...I think this is an isolated case. It works fine for me. Forwarding 113 for identd to IRC. :s7:

Shinji_U
20-07-2005, 09:36 AM
I think this is an isolated case. It works fine for me. Forwarding 113 for identd to IRC. :s7:

IRC needs to forward ports? I use IRC without any port forwarding at all.. anyway IRC do not need port forwarding to work when behind a firewall in the first place...

chaicka
20-07-2005, 09:40 AM
Some IRC servers (eg. Galaxynet i think) requires ident b4 it allows u to connect in.

I dun forward ident port too for IRC, coz I dun use those servers tat mandatory requires ident. :D

Shinji_U
20-07-2005, 09:47 AM
Some IRC servers (eg. Galaxynet i think) requires ident b4 it allows u to connect in.

I dun forward ident port too for IRC, coz I dun use those servers tat mandatory requires ident. :D
I never open any ports for IRC, after I know how easy is it for any IRC freakos to snoop your system with just one opened incoming port to your IRC... anyway I never had any issues with any IRC servers when behind any firewall... Never did port forwarding for IRC at all... even now in office behind pix firewall also didn't have any port forwarding also can use IRC...

princess086
20-07-2005, 09:50 AM
I never open any ports for IRC, after I know how easy is it for any IRC freakos to snoop your system with just one opened incoming port to your IRC... anyway I never had any issues with any IRC servers when behind any firewall... Never did port forwarding for IRC at all... even now in office behind pix firewall also didn't have any port forwarding also can use IRC...

If you use router you might have some problem with dcc sent.

keat84
20-07-2005, 10:36 AM
585i port forward work? why my 1 no work at all... T_T .. planining buy new router... haha

Shinji_U
20-07-2005, 10:49 AM
If you use router you might have some problem with dcc sent.
Hijackers wack IRC thru DCC.. opening it is like opening it for people to wack you...

Shinji_U
20-07-2005, 10:51 AM
585i port forward work? why my 1 no work at all... T_T .. planining buy new router... haha
Mine doesn't work either...

celerius
20-07-2005, 11:00 AM
IRC needs to forward ports? I use IRC without any port forwarding at all.. anyway IRC do not need port forwarding to work when behind a firewall in the first place...It isn't a need. It'll still work without ident. It's an easy way to test whether your port forwarding works or not. :s7:

Shinji_U
20-07-2005, 11:06 AM
It isn't a need. It'll still work without ident. It's an easy way to test whether your port forwarding works or not. :s7:
Have you tried terminal services, remote desktop connect or http for the port forwarding? To me none of them works... anyway whether you open ident port or not IRC still works, so how you know the port forwarding works when IRC works despite IDENT is blocked?

RallyART®
20-07-2005, 11:09 AM

Hi I have sent you a guide on the steps to do the port forward. Do have a look and see if its a configuration problem. :)

keat84
20-07-2005, 11:12 AM
just want to ask ... i think i know how to forward the port liao ... but what IP address should i forward too? my LAN Ip? WAN IP?

celerius
20-07-2005, 11:16 AM
Have you tried terminal services, remote desktop connect or http for the port forwarding? To me none of them works... anyway whether you open ident port or not IRC still works, so how you know the port forwarding works when IRC works despite IDENT is blocked?I haven't tried the rest yet. If you want I can try running apache and port forwarding 80 to test. But that'll have to wait till tonight. When ident works, you do a /whois on yourself in irc and you'll seenickname is name@192.168.0.1 * nicknameotherwise there's a tilde prepended to your namenickname is ~name@192.168.0.1 * nicknameAnd when your connecting to irc.singnet.com.sg, if you didn't port forward 113(ident), then there'll be a pause for trying to connect to your 113, instead of a smooth/instantaneous connection to the irc server. :s7:

RallyART®
20-07-2005, 11:25 AM
just want to ask ... i think i know how to forward the port liao ... but what IP address should i forward too? my LAN Ip? WAN IP?

see the guide that I had emailed you. you do not need to specify IP, just your computer name will do

RallyART®
20-07-2005, 11:28 AM
Have you tried terminal services, remote desktop connect or http for the port forwarding? To me none of them works... anyway whether you open ident port or not IRC still works, so how you know the port forwarding works when IRC works despite IDENT is blocked?

Dude, I have a feeling its due more to configuration issue rather the modem not able to do it. I had tested a few sets and all those you mentioned all worked. Had just double confirmed and make sure you are on firmware 5.3.2.2

keat84
20-07-2005, 11:34 AM
u mean 585i firm ware? where can i download the firmware? how to flash ? tq

Shinji_U
20-07-2005, 11:44 AM
Dude, I have a feeling its due more to configuration issue rather the modem not able to do it. I had tested a few sets and all those you mentioned all worked. Had just double confirmed and make sure you are on firmware 5.3.2.2
Anyway that doesn't matter now, I'm going to bridge it, I've followed the manual to set the port forwarding and yes to the computer name and yes computer firewall is totally disable and no it won't work...

But I'm going to use it in bridge mode anyway...

:D

RallyART®
20-07-2005, 11:46 AM
u mean 585i firm ware? where can i download the firmware? how to flash ? tq

the firmware that you have should already be v5.3.2.2 but just need to double confirm. For your case, just refer to the guide that I had sent to your email on how to do the port forwarding

misato
20-07-2005, 11:48 AM
Dont worry.. mich... i will torture you 585 real hard till it break down, and i will walk in and get a 1 for 1 replacement from you. Hopefully, you dont tell me that you will send the item for repair..as i didnt read on your warrenty policy :X

Shinji_U
20-07-2005, 11:49 AM
Dont worry.. mich... i will torture you 585 real hard till it break down, and i will walk in and get a 1 for 1 replacement from you. Hopefully, you dont tell me that you will send the item for repair..as i didnt read on your warrenty policy :X
Torture it? I thnk it might survive when set as bridge mode... just might...

Shinji_U
20-07-2005, 01:56 PM
I still find your claim that the port forwarding does not work puzzling. I had tested it working successfully.

Your 2nd point I acknowledge and I hope to find out more. Your 3rd problem is related to the 2nd problem. Your 4th problem..the modem is configured for standalone as required by singnet...nothing i can do but to send you the bridge file to upload. It WILL be able to connect bridge then.
Is there anything for me to take note while turning the st585 into a full fledge bridge mode modem?

keat84
20-07-2005, 02:31 PM
ok ... got your email liao ... thx anyway ^^

misato
20-07-2005, 02:54 PM
Cant seems to get the SNMP to work with MRTG.

chaicka
20-07-2005, 03:06 PM
Cant seems to get the SNMP to work with MRTG.
You got the MIB for ST585?

Oso, is snmp working on the device itself?

Like Efficient devices, they have a different MIB, and only the enterprise devices' MIB are published, while their SOHO devices are not, and maybe not even available. I had to one by one go view and figure out the OIDs. Finally got the WW to work for SpeedStream 5100/5200 and to monitor bandwidth utilization. MRTG, need to try it out...but should work since WW is working.

Likewise, ST585, as long as snmp is working, and u figure out the OIDs to use, should work too.

misato
20-07-2005, 03:30 PM
You got the MIB for ST585?

Oso, is snmp working on the device itself?

Like Efficient devices, they have a different MIB, and only the enterprise devices' MIB are published, while their SOHO devices are not, and maybe not even available. I had to one by one go view and figure out the OIDs. Finally got the WW to work for SpeedStream 5100/5200 and to monitor bandwidth utilization. MRTG, need to try it out...but should work since WW is working.

Likewise, ST585, as long as snmp is working, and u figure out the OIDs to use, should work too.
Yah.. have to poke the OID one by one. Meanwhile, i found something else which worked.

confused
20-07-2005, 04:59 PM

Sounds like a person who only chat chat in IRC and not much else.. :yawn:

But for those who *fully* utilize IRC functions, port forwarding is needed, and not just 113 for IDENT.

Not to mention some servers block clients with no IDENT available.

Shinji_U
20-07-2005, 05:24 PM

But for those who *fully* utilize IRC functions, port forwarding is needed, and not just 113 for IDENT.

Yea.. I only chat in IRC... did nothing else other than that....lol....

misato
20-07-2005, 05:25 PM

Does that makes your more pro?

Besides, if the server he goes to does not need to IDENT, and he does not need to use IRC to DCC as he uses other more crude form of communication such as ftp/email/msn... does that justifiy his reasons enough for not enabling port 113?

Shinji_U
20-07-2005, 05:34 PM
Does that makes your more pro?

Besides, if the server he goes to does not need to IDENT, and he does not need to use IRC to DCC as he uses other more crude form of communication such as ftp/email/msn... does that justifiy his reasons enough for not enabling port 113?
Oh well... people don't know opening ports in IRC = open target for hacking, trojans, spyware, adwares, time bombs, etc to be inserted silently ma... I play safe by not opening any so to reduce the chances... anyway so far I haven't been to any IRC server that I had issues with... only that connection part slow for about 2-3 secs, IRC ain't a time crucial program to me, just a merely petite chatting program, so I don't mind even if it hangs there for 10 secs before deciding to connect...rather than open ports here and there and let some IRC freakos who love me and start planting slimes in my system...caused I asked for it...

:)

chaicka
20-07-2005, 06:02 PM
:highfive:

I dun open up ports unneccessarily too...and so far, have never see a need to open up ports juz for IRC too. Besides, UPnP may automatically open up the port if it detects outbound IRC connections. So I dun even use UPnP at all, coz it's a potential security risk too - not knowing what ports are open up by UPnP quietly. ;)

Trees
20-07-2005, 06:54 PM
Hi I had been reading with interest the problems that you guys had posted regarding the ST585? Are you sure that the port forwarding does not work? It needs to be configured. I tested on my Pc with ST585 with port forwarding...seems ok??? can't seem to underestand why u guys mentioned that there are some problems?

By default, the ST585 even with firewall off will still have all pports blocked. This feature is to prevent access to the modem from the WAN. however, once port forwarding or DMZ is enabled, it will be able to pass through.

Anyway for others that are still facing problem, please list down the problems in this thread and I will try to help. :)

Hi Micheal, My d/ls on Singets Ftp is about 3000+. Your staff , a Mr. Yeo came to my house today (2nd time). He tested my d/l on Singtel's ftp and my readings were 3000plus. But when he used his own notebook but with my modem he managed to get 6000+. I have uninstalled my firewall and anti-virus, still I get 3000 plus. My computer is new and I am using AMD64 cpu

A few days earlier a Singtel engineer, Mr Gary, came to my house and tested both the line and my modem. After testing, I still got 3000 plus. What surprised me is that he brought an old adsl1 modem along with him and he hooked it on to my line. Lo and behold, the downloads were doubled at more than 6000. Mind you, he was using a plain adsl modem.

I am at wits end, can you suggest something that can increase my downloads to at least 7000 ? TIA

chaicka
20-07-2005, 07:01 PM
AMD64....ur board is nForce4? Could it be that driver for the NIC which has some advance firewall capability that is crippling ur net performance? Check tat out...I can't recall the details but have read abt how bad it can be. Check wif pple in the hardware forum.

So, both tests proven tat the device is working fine, and the problem lies wif ur computer. As such, it is not VRnet's nor Michael's obligation to resolve as there is nothing to resolve.

Check wif hardware forum experts, they may be able to help u out.

misato
20-07-2005, 08:03 PM
Some useful information thats not listed on specs or manual for the ST585 captured via CLI.
And yes, if you want, you can go in via CLI to force a flush on all the existing NAT connections. Which is very good if you know what it can achive.

Connection statistics:
-------------------------------------------
Maximum number of connections : 2048
Maximum number of halfopen connections : 2048
Number of active connections : 788
Number of halfopen connections : 2
Number of expected connections : 0
Number of loose connections : 0
Number of closing connections : 0
Number of idle connections : 359
Number of TCP connections : 778
Number of UDP connections : 10
Number of ICMP connections : 0
Number of non TCP/UDP/ICMP connections : 0
Number of TCP open connections : 0
Number of TCP established connections : 407
Number of TCP closing connections : 371

Stream cache statistics:
Maximum number of hash collisions : 5
% of hash entries with collisions : 44.33
% of hash entries unused : 19.23

CONN/NAT application helper statistics:
Maximum number of helper bindings : 24
Maximum number of connections with helper : 128
Number of helper bindings : 17
Number of connections with active helper : 1

chaicka
20-07-2005, 08:05 PM
Hahaha...the beauty of CLI...Power!!!

Tried the QoS yet?

Wow....tat flushing feature was found in SS5660, but went MIA in SS5100.
Glad to see ST585 having it...and maybe even other ST5xx models oso have it.

Great...looks like I am more or less convinced that it is a worthy move to migrate to Alcatel products, away from Efficient.

Trees
20-07-2005, 08:07 PM
Hey Rally Art,

In addition to my previous message, these are the readings taken from my dsl connection of speedtouch 585i: -

Error Second (local remote) 8.501 /0
CRC Error (up /down) 0/248.063
HEC Errors (up /down) 0/244.671

Its looks like my errors are high; any comments, pl?

chaicka
20-07-2005, 08:07 PM
Depends on the time duration that collected those errors.

Trees, care to post ur line stats here -> http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?t=1063151

princess086
20-07-2005, 08:14 PM
Hey Rally Art,

In addition to my previous message, these are the readings taken from my dsl connection of speedtouch 585i: -

can show a scree shot of that page out.

Trees
20-07-2005, 08:15 PM
AMD64....ur board is nForce4? Could it be that driver for the NIC which has some advance firewall capability that is crippling ur net performance? Check tat out...I can't recall the details but have read abt how bad it can be. Check wif pple in the hardware forum.

So, both tests proven tat the device is working fine, and the problem lies wif ur computer. As such, it is not VRnet's nor Michael's obligation to resolve as there is nothing to resolve.

Check wif hardware forum experts, they may be able to help u out.

Yes, but I tested FTP d/l on my son's Intel P4 2.6C chip and I got 4000. I tested my note book using Intel P4 2.4, I also got 3000 plus, therefore I dont think it is the AMD 64 or NF4 chip.

Most importanly, why does an ADSL 1 on my line give double the bandwidth of 6000 plus? Nobody can shed on this fact, sigh. This was done by Singtel Engineer.

I am going to spend money to rewire my telephone line from Singtel's distribution panel to my hall computer. I hope this will help, sigh. :o

Trees
20-07-2005, 08:16 PM
I like to, but how do I cature this screen?

chaicka
20-07-2005, 08:20 PM
ADSL1 max is 8mbps/1mbps, so if sync successfully to a ADSL2+ DSLAM, it should give a performance close to the max of ADSL1. Check on misato's and shinji_u's posts and u will know.

However, currently, there is some issue with the ST585. But did the guy tested wif the ST585, and still able to achieve high speed?

Also, when u mention 6000, is it 6000kbit/s or 6000kbyte/s? Juz curious coz most ftp s/w will show in kbytes/s, not kbits/s and 6000kbytes/s is abt 48mbps leh.

I have been asking for that SpeedTouch Statistic page....from there, we can know more abt ur condition and maybe provide some suggestions on wat could be the problem.

We are here to collaborate and tap on each others' experience and knowledge...;)

Juz one more pointer. If u are seriously going to rewire, might as well rewire using CAT5 cables. Trust me on this, it will give much better and last longer than any normal phone cables.

misato
20-07-2005, 08:23 PM
There is alot of stuffs that the CLI can do with ease just like a CISCO..
for example.. there is a function to add custom routes.. yummy!
low level access to see ATM interface information ie cell etc..

A quick example...

Transfer statistics
Errors
Received FEC : 0
Received CRC : 22
Received HEC : 20
Transmitted FEC : 0
Transmitted CRC : 0
Transmitted HEC : 0

Near end failures since reset
Loss of frame: 0 failures
Loss of signal: 0 failures
Loss of power: 0 failures
Errored seconds: 4471 seconds
Near end failures last 15 minutes
Loss of frame: 0 seconds
Loss of signal: 0 seconds
Loss of power: 0 seconds
Errored seconds: 3 seconds
Near end failures current day
Errored seconds: 4471 seconds
Near end failures previous day
Errored seconds: 0 seconds

princess086
20-07-2005, 08:29 PM
I like to, but how do I cature this screen?

go to that page
- press print screen on your key board
- next go to start,all programs,accessiories, select paint,
- open up paint progam, go edit,press past and save the file into your desktop
- upload to HWZ

misato
20-07-2005, 08:30 PM
a quick tip for those who want to host a web service using the 585.

The device GUI uses (hogs) port 80 on all the interface.. so normal port forward will not will not work.
The trick is to
a.) have your web server use another port number.. (easiest.. but not nice)
b.) go into the CLI, under [services], under [system], [disable] HTTP service, [Enable] HTTP service. When you re-enable the service.. it will prompt for you which port to use. This HTTP service is for your device web GUI.

chaicka
20-07-2005, 09:02 PM
a quick tip for those who want to host a web service using the 585.

The device GUI uses (hogs) port 80 on all the interface.. so normal port forward will not will not work.
The trick is to
a.) have your web server use another port number.. (easiest.. but not nice)
b.) go into the CLI, under [services], under [system], [disable] HTTP service, [Enable] HTTP service. When you re-enable the service.. it will prompt for you which port to use. This HTTP service is for your device web GUI.
Wow...tat suxs.

Routers w/Web UI should allow proper forwarding of port 80 while still maintaining the Web UI on 80.

This is a -1 on ST585 for me.

misato
20-07-2005, 09:15 PM
Wow...tat suxs.

Routers w/Web UI should allow proper forwarding of port 80 while still maintaining the Web UI on 80.

This is a -1 on ST585 for me.
Kinda... coz even most cheap routers will allow proper port 80 forwarding.

keat84
20-07-2005, 09:31 PM
any 1 know how to enable DMZ on 585i?

celerius
20-07-2005, 09:35 PM
any 1 know how to enable DMZ on 585i?Home Network > Devices > Assign the public IP address of a connection to a device
If your using dhcp you'll have to renew your ip after that. :s7:

RallyART®
20-07-2005, 10:33 PM
Kinda... coz even most cheap routers will allow proper port 80 forwarding.

You sure? how come I am able to craete proper port 80 forwarding just by doing port forwarding? i do not need to go CLI. When I was at CLI, I just make sure under [nat] -> [maplist] and it shows the correct mapping, that's all. Give it a try. I'm sure u will not need to change the port of the GUI

RallyART®
20-07-2005, 10:36 PM
You guys are good! This can become a ST585 user thread liao :)

misato
20-07-2005, 10:37 PM
You sure? how come I am able to craete proper port 80 forwarding just by doing port forwarding? i do not need to go CLI. When I was at CLI, I just make sure under [nat] -> [maplist] and it shows the correct mapping, that's all. Give it a try. I'm sure u will not need to change the port of the GUI
Well.. first try didnt work.. until i change its GUI to another port.
By right it should... maybe its a bug or something...

For now the prioity is to monitor the stability. From my traffic chart... those blank breaks are due to a lost of connections.

PS: Micheal... how to clear those FEC error counters without rebooting the modem.

RallyART®
20-07-2005, 10:48 PM
Hey Rally Art,

Hi before you actually spend money to re-lay the cables, check the connection at the DP first..see if the CRC is still that high. If not you might be just wasting money. Let me look at the installer service report tmr before I comment further. Can you also telnet to the modem and key in "ADSL INFO" and paste the whole screen here? easier then doing screen capture and more details

RallyART®
20-07-2005, 11:04 PM
PS: Micheal... how to clear those FEC error counters without rebooting the modem.

Honestly speaking, I am not sure on this. I don't think it can be done without re training the line.

Shinji_U
20-07-2005, 11:05 PM
Ok, I've done a hard reset on the st585 again and now using it...

Attached screenies for info...

http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/218392368/ping_050720.gif

http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/2095274325/st585_050720.gif

Shinji_U
20-07-2005, 11:09 PM
Here's another for the "port forwarding"

http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/665984463/st585_gas_050720.gif

My port forwarding still doesn't work..

:(

RallyART®
20-07-2005, 11:10 PM
[QUOTE=Shinji_U]Ok, I've done a hard reset on the st585 again and now using it...

QUOTE]

Is the modem bridged now? and you are using your Dlink router? Hmm..interesting in the frequent spike :)

RallyART®
20-07-2005, 11:13 PM
Here's another for the "port forwarding"

My port forwarding still doesn't work..

:(

can telnet into the modem and key in "nat maplist" and paste the result here?
Also, you have changed your IP for the modem? 192.168.0.254 is not the default ip of the st585

misato
20-07-2005, 11:14 PM
From my pov.. the modem might have intermittern faults. Maybe changing the modem might resolve the issue?

Shinji_U
20-07-2005, 11:16 PM
can telnet into the modem and key in "nat maplist" and paste the result here?
Also, you have changed your IP for the modem? 192.168.0.254 is not the default ip of the st585

Yes, I've changed the default IP of the router to 192.168.0.254 temporarily... Also I'm not using bridge now... just purely the st585 without my DI-624... as the the nat maplist.. here it is...

http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/725990962/nat_maplist_050720.gif

RallyART®
20-07-2005, 11:17 PM
From my pov.. the modem might have intermittern faults. Maybe changing the modem might resolve the issue?

Did you change the default IP????? That is really not the ip of the speedtouch.....

RallyART®
20-07-2005, 11:18 PM
Yes, I've changed the default IP of the router to 192.168.0.254 temporarily... Also I'm not using bridge now... just purely the st585 without my DI-624... as the the nat maplist.. here it is...

http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/725990962/nat_maplist_050720.gif

hey your port forwarding does work mar..i can go to your web server....

Shinji_U
20-07-2005, 11:19 PM
Ok, port forwarding seems to work now... http, rdc...

Shinji_U
20-07-2005, 11:20 PM
hey your port forwarding does work mar..i can go to your web server....
Yea, it finally worked now.. weird... even my RDc is working now... hm....

misato
20-07-2005, 11:22 PM
Well.. first try didnt work.. until i change its GUI to another port.
By right it should... maybe its a bug or something...

For now the prioity is to monitor the stability. From my traffic chart... those blank breaks are due to a lost of connections.

just a quick update...
i retry the port 80 forward.. now is ok liao..
that means earlier on might have did some wrong config.

RallyART®
20-07-2005, 11:23 PM
Are you on wired or wireless connection now? seems to me that there is some interference

celerius
20-07-2005, 11:24 PM
On the product page of the 585 here. (http://www.speedtouch.com/prod585.htm) It's stated that ssh is supported, but I've had to find a way to enable it. :s7:

Shinji_U
20-07-2005, 11:24 PM
just a quick update...
i retry the port 80 forward.. now is ok liao..
that means earlier on might have did some wrong config.
For the past 3 days the st585 didn't work.. now all of a sudden it works.. port forwarding... but the "stock market ping" is still there.. but it seems to be moree stable now... really don't know what's wrong dude...

Shinji_U
20-07-2005, 11:25 PM
Are you on wired or wireless connection now? seems to me that there is some interference
Presently on wireless.

RallyART®
20-07-2005, 11:27 PM
For the past 3 days the st585 didn't work.. now all of a sudden it works.. port forwarding... but the "stock market ping" is still there.. but it seems to be moree stable now... really don't know what's wrong dude...

Its wireless interference dude....change the channel or do a site survey to see what are the congested channels and avoid those.

Shinji_U
20-07-2005, 11:28 PM
Its wireless interference dude....change the channel or do a site survey to see what are the congested channels and avoid those.
I'm running on channel 11, the rest off the wireless around me all uses channel 6... nayway I never had such issue even when I'm using my DI-624 + Cable modem...

RallyART®
20-07-2005, 11:31 PM
I'm running on channel 11, the rest off the wireless around me all uses channel 6... nayway I never had such issue even when I'm using my DI-624 + Cable modem...

What is the channel in your dlink now? is the Dlink off?? ur card supports channel 12-13? if yes, try channel 12...or try channel 2...

Shinji_U
20-07-2005, 11:33 PM
My DI-624 is off.

Shinji_U
20-07-2005, 11:41 PM
Not too sure you are facing this problem a not. How about try to do a site survey of your Surrounding and see is there a lot of wireless networks in your Surrounding, if yes you could
switch the radio channle in the modem page that might be a possibility your wireless networks in your Surrounding could cause networks interference to your connection.
Can try to change radio channle.
already did that long time ago... my area channel 6 is saturated... no one using channel 10 & 11...

chaicka
20-07-2005, 11:56 PM
Ok, I've done a hard reset on the st585 again and now using it...

Is the modem bridged now? and you are using your Dlink router? Hmm..interesting in the frequent spike :)

FEC Errors (Up) : 603.979.776

You referring to this? Look at the runtime, oni 3 mins and yet the FEC error super high.
So I suspect either hardware faulty or his line super abnormal.

Shinji_U
21-07-2005, 12:07 AM
Ok.. I've done the MRTG for the ST585... link included...

http://scmagi.no-ip.com/mrtg/

chaicka
21-07-2005, 12:22 AM
http://prtg.its.per.sg or http://www.its.per.sg:9000

Purely BT of 3 linux files now...one of it is having >200kbps as there are >90 seeds, >15 peers.

Guys, try this -> http://torrent.fedoraproject.org/stentz-binary-i386.torrent to see how's the performance. If we all run concurrently, performance should be proportional.

keat84
21-07-2005, 06:40 AM
my forward port working or not?

http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/1691932524/telnet1.jpg

and this 1 how to c?

Link Information

Uptime: 0 days, 0:21:18

Modulation: G.992.5 Annex A

Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1.035 / 22.140

Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 38,58 / 96,70

Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12,5 / 23,0

Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 8,0 / 20,0

SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 6,5 / 7,0

Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / GSPN

Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0

Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0

Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0

Loss of Link (Remote): 0

Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 47 / 0

FEC Errors (Up/Down): 603.979.776 / 0

CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 65

HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 54

Shinji_U
21-07-2005, 09:57 AM
my forward port working or not?

http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/1691932524/telnet1.jpg

and this 1 how to c?

Link Information

Uptime: 0 days, 0:21:18

Modulation: G.992.5 Annex A

Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1.035 / 22.140

Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 38,58 / 96,70

Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12,5 / 23,0

Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 8,0 / 20,0

SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 6,5 / 7,0

Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / GSPN

Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0

Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0

Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0

Loss of Link (Remote): 0

Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 47 / 0

CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 65

HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 54
Today someone from VRNet is coming t ochange my st585.. hopefully the replacement set is better... cause I really suspect that there is something wrong with my present st585...

chaicka
21-07-2005, 11:30 AM
Looks like the upstream is quite stable and substainable...look at misato's PRTG....wow...tempting...

misato
21-07-2005, 11:36 AM
what does it look like now?

My current network activities (11am).
Downstream : Still all BT (Legal and *private ones mix mix)
upstream: Leeching files from my home server to my workstation at workvia ftp.

Reports:
2 out of 3 of the total 7.5gb linux torrent has been completed as last check this morning 7.40am . now left the last one still running. Added more torrent to spice up the traffic/connections/packets to stress test the 585.

Doing ftp transfer around 200 pictures files (+- 1GB) from home server via ftp started around 11am.

chaicka
21-07-2005, 11:41 AM
Solid Good...

Looks like at the very least, the upstream is deliverable as per published, from my own perspective, can reach >85% very very good oredi.

misato, if I open up my server in US for u to test upstream, u interested?
Wanna see how fast it can get when purely to overseas...

Though oredi currently is a mixed between local and overseas traffic rite...;)

Look at mine, I experienced spike at abt 0400+hrs too....but my spike is too ridiculous to be logical...
http://prtg.its.per.sg (it works now, dns got propagated)...

chaicka
21-07-2005, 11:43 AM
Hey, wan me to stress test ur upstream to the max?

I am now at Telepark, and I should have an advantage over ur office internet connection.....so far I have been able to max out my own upstream using the current location I am in. I can use a public ip connect direct to internet if need to.

misato
21-07-2005, 11:45 AM
Solid Good...

Looks like at the very least, the upstream is deliverable as per published, from my own perspective, can reach >85% very very good oredi.

misato, if I open up my server in US for u to test upstream, u interested?
Wanna see how fast it can get when purely to overseas...

Though oredi currently is a mixed between local and overseas traffic rite...;)

Look at mine, I experienced spike at abt 0400+hrs too....but my spike is too ridiculous to be logical...
http://prtg.its.per.sg (it works now, dns got propagated)...
yah.. i saw your spike.. nearly 14mb/s throughput hahaha.. i nearly tot u have been upgraded to 155mbps.

test upstream throughput? sure.. will help u test later this afternoon.

chaicka
21-07-2005, 11:48 AM
Hey, magix is ATM? So 155mbps is possible? Hahaha.....kidding lah....CPE oso cannot lah.....hahaha.

How? Can create a temp ftp access, I will go in now to download using my high speed direct internet connection (in Data Center now). See if it can stablize ur upstream and give a more constant graph than the small spikes now and then.

My magix seems more constant, less or little small spikes, esp. when it's at its max upstream. Juz tested this morning coz a fren downloaded some large files from me...:)

misato
21-07-2005, 11:55 AM
Not now.. downloading some files i need. Later this afternoon, upstream should be free.

chaicka
21-07-2005, 12:00 PM
Hmmm...I think I am oni 10-11 hops from ur CPE if I connect direct to internet, and well, the traceroute shows the last hop b4 it get dropped (drop by ur CPE) is oni 2 - 4ms max...the rest along the route is oni 1 - 2ms.

Cool...

keat84
21-07-2005, 01:11 PM
Today someone from VRNet is coming t ochange my st585.. hopefully the replacement set is better... cause I really suspect that there is something wrong with my present st585...

hey shinji ... how to see the data? my link stable?

keat84
21-07-2005, 01:13 PM
any way ,... i think the port forward is working now .. i got around 430+kbps at my bitcomet at morning ... around 6.00am xD .... cheerss

princess086
21-07-2005, 02:46 PM
any way ,... i think the port forward is working now .. i got around 430+kbps at my bitcomet at morning ... around 6.00am xD .... cheerss

Is a good news for thoes using BT for singnet BB from what i see your are first few i saw using SSNB 10Mbps getting a speed of 430Kbps :) good news :)

chaicka
21-07-2005, 02:47 PM
ya lah, check the statistic compilation thread....he provided me wif his stats liao.

keat84
21-07-2005, 02:55 PM
Hi Chaicka ... how about my static? izzit sux??

chaicka
21-07-2005, 02:57 PM
Nope...juz high FEC Errors...maybe it will clear off...look at misato's, the high FEC Errors no more liao...

keat84
21-07-2005, 03:00 PM
FEC error mean what? me to noob T_T ... auto clear 1?

xyzabcxx
21-07-2005, 03:04 PM
So finally some lights for potential 10MB subscribers

Shinji_U
21-07-2005, 03:11 PM
Nope...juz high FEC Errors...maybe it will clear off...look at misato's, the high FEC Errors no more liao...
My FEC erros also cleared this morning when I last checked it and took the st585 offline...

keat84
21-07-2005, 03:17 PM
another question is why my router will sunddenly disconnect ... and after wait for half hour also cannot connect... need manual power off modem and on ... sometime need to connect manualy...

Shinji_U
21-07-2005, 03:25 PM
another question is why my router will sunddenly disconnect ... and after wait for half hour also cannot connect... need manual power off modem and on ... sometime need to connect manualy...
Best bet is that the st585 present firmware is unstable... I wasn't able to get the port forwarding etc up at al lfor the past few days using the st585... thenall of a sudden yesterday night it worked... maybe it knew that its going to be replaced and decided to buck up a little... hahaha...

confused
21-07-2005, 04:33 PM
I wonder why, or did Singnet did something new on the backend.

tak
21-07-2005, 06:22 PM
remeber to tell the vrnet guys u are misato... hahahhahah :D

tak
21-07-2005, 06:24 PM
can show a scree shot of that page out.
polish up your english....

misato
21-07-2005, 07:08 PM
remeber to tell the vrnet guys u are misato... hahahhahah :D
-__________________________-;;;

Trees
21-07-2005, 07:36 PM
go to that page
- press print screen on your key board
- next go to start,all programs,accessiories, select paint,
- open up paint progam, go edit,press past and save the file into your desktop
- upload to HWZ

Hey Guys, All this print screen thingy is causing me stress, I am a uncle, lol. Anyway, can you experts take a look at this screen and tell me if my line is ok, thanks

http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/460056890/thomson_585001.jpg

chaicka
21-07-2005, 07:57 PM
Hey Guys, All this print screen thingy is causing me stress, I am a uncle, lol. Anyway, can you experts take a look at this screen and tell me if my line is ok, thanks

http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/460056890/thomson_585001.jpg

Your Downstream CRC and HEC errors are too high...1,769,940 and 1,737,599 are alot...

Shinji_U
21-07-2005, 08:31 PM
Ok, using the new st585 now... here's the screen shot of the DSL details...

http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/1548771048/st585_dsl_050721.gif

princess086
21-07-2005, 08:36 PM
Ok, using the new st585 now... here's the screen shot of the DSL details...

http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/1548771048/st585_dsl_050721.gif

Problem resolve???

Shinji_U
21-07-2005, 08:42 PM
Yup, so far everything is good, port forwarding, BT is going nice as well.. hitting over 200KB/s... so far so good... internal ping is good too, occasional 20-60ms... else its all <1ms...

Seems a whole lot different from my previous set...

Going to let run for a while before I plug in my DI-624 to up the wireless to 108M... 54G is pathetic I tell you... slowness at its best...

princess086
21-07-2005, 08:46 PM
Yup, so far everything is good, port forwarding, BT is going nice as well.. hitting over 200KB/s... so far so good... internal ping is good too, occasional 20-60ms... else its all <1ms...

Going to let run for a while before I plug in my DI-624 to up the wireless to 108M... 54G is pathetic I tell you... slowness at its best...

Good to hear he help you to resolve problem :) Bt 200kbps i also want to jump ship liao

chaicka
21-07-2005, 08:56 PM
Shinji_U,

This new unit seems to be better...at least dun see those errors so high after juz a few minutes of uptime.

Do share your experience with ur tests.

Misato's seems all is well, except tat her BT dun seem to exceed 110KB/s except 0400-0700hrs period.

Shinji_U
21-07-2005, 09:25 PM
Shinji_U,

This new unit seems to be better...at least dun see those errors so high after juz a few minutes of uptime.

Do share your experience with ur tests.

Misato's seems all is well, except tat her BT dun seem to exceed 110KB/s except 0400-0700hrs period.
So far this new unit is less problematic.. didn't have any problem with it thus far.. mrtg is working fine too...

RallyART®
21-07-2005, 09:38 PM

Hi do you have the S/N of your set? is your modem installed by VRnet? or another installer? i will take your set to do some testing...

just came back from club momo for the launch of World of Warcraft. Got 5 units of St585 there with 25mbps plan. No problems *yeah* really stressed the St585 with so many PCs connected to it continuosly for more then 8 hours. :)

Trees
21-07-2005, 09:51 PM
Your Downstream CRC and HEC errors are too high...1,769,940 and 1,737,599 are alot...

What is causing these high HEC and CRC errors? Could it be my line has to many extensions? I have unplugged all the phone except 1 where I use a micro filter.

Do you think if I run a new line my CRC and HERC errors will be reduced? Grateful for useful comments, TIA
:s11:

Shinji_U
21-07-2005, 09:56 PM
Hi do you have the S/N of your set? is your modem installed by VRnet? or another installer? i will take your set to do some testing...

just came back from club momo for the launch of World of Warcraft. Got 5 units of St585 there with 25mbps plan. No problems *yeah* really stressed the St585 with so many PCs connected to it continuosly for more then 8 hours. :)
You mean S/S of the old set or new one? The VRnet guy didn't instal lthe modem for me, I install it myself as I'm not at home, my mum passed the modem to the guy.

Launch of World of Warcraft? What launch? I thought its already available months back?

chaicka
21-07-2005, 09:59 PM
What is causing these high HEC and CRC errors? Could it be my line has to many extensions? I have unplugged all the phone except 1 where I use a micro filter.

Do you think if I run a new line my CRC and HERC errors will be reduced? Grateful for useful comments, TIA
:s11:
Seriously, with this new ADSL2+, my knowledge is very limited too. Thus, it puzzles me why some of those who have reported here are having high FEC, CRC, HEC errors while others don't.

Juz hope it's something to do with the DSLAM and when the SingTel engineers notice, will rectify it. Juz look at misato and shinji_u case, theirs got resolved itself after a few days with the service.

You may wanna try calling SingNet or SingTel to enquire nicely why the error rates so high.

chaicka
21-07-2005, 10:02 PM
Guys on SNBB10m service, if u wan, u can setup a traffic monitoring using trial s/w - PRTG.

Currently, misato is using it and shinji_u is using mrtg.

Here are the monitorings:

http://misatof.no-ip.com/
http://scmagi.no-ip.com/
http://prtg.its.per.sg/ -> mine but I am on Magix.

I have been monitoring the activities and see wat I can analyse from these results.

Shinji_U
21-07-2005, 11:03 PM
Guys on SNBB10m service, if u wan, u can setup a traffic monitoring using trial s/w - PRTG.

Currently, misato is using it and shinji_u is using mrtg.

Here are the monitorings:

http://misatof.no-ip.com/
http://scmagi.no-ip.com/
http://prtg.its.per.sg/ -> mine but I am on Magix.

I have been monitoring the activities and see wat I can analyse from these results.
I now have two...

http://scmagi.no-ip.com/prtg/

princess086
21-07-2005, 11:21 PM
Wha i relly learn a lot of things from you guys

Shinji_U
21-07-2005, 11:24 PM
Hmm... PRTG doesn't seem to be stable... wonder why...

Shinji_U
21-07-2005, 11:25 PM
Wha i relly learn a lot of things from you guys
Everyone learnt a little here and there from such forums... primary purpose of forums is for an online community... to help one another... learn more things...

princess086
21-07-2005, 11:39 PM
Everyone learnt a little here and there from such forums... primary purpose of forums is for an online community... to help one another... learn more things...

I found out one thing for 585 ley you can have 14 channel one i mean for wireless

chaicka
21-07-2005, 11:44 PM
14 channels???

I thought even the most channels used worldwide is 13 channels oni, so where did the 14th channel come from? Would like to learn more.

misato
21-07-2005, 11:47 PM
14 channels???

I thought even the most channels used worldwide is 13 channels oni, so where did the 14th channel come from? Would like to learn more.
0-13 = 14 channels?

chaicka
21-07-2005, 11:49 PM
Channel 0?

First time I hear of channel 0, and izit part of 802.11g specifications? Coz I didn't read channel 0 as part of it b4.

chaicka
22-07-2005, 12:04 AM
Wow...interesting...but useless unless u hv client adapters tat support channel 14.

princess086
22-07-2005, 12:11 AM
Wow...interesting...but useless unless u hv client adapters tat support channel 14.

got la got see before.

chaicka
22-07-2005, 12:12 AM
Need to search loh...normal ones dun.

Shinji_U
22-07-2005, 09:58 AM
hmm... 14 channels... so far my Intel 2915ABG card only has 11 channels, even the Atheros MiniPCI which I bought from US only has 11 channels...

Channel 11 is suffice for now.... my area only channel 6 is very congested.. .seems that everyone around me is using channel 6...

Anyway I've removed my PRTG... its kind of unstable... the service keep dying... no idea what's wrong... but MRTG is working fine... :D

Diavonex
22-07-2005, 10:27 AM

That frequency is for Japan only. You would likely need to get Japaneese wireless driver for your NIC to work.

princess086
22-07-2005, 12:00 PM
That frequency is for Japan only. You would likely need to get Japaneese wireless driver for your NIC to work.

From what i know they have the same frequency level it just that for japan region have a little more higher frequency.(one more channel)

the_fallen
22-07-2005, 12:25 PM
hi
im still experiencing high fec error

issit normal? btw im not using wireless

thx

Shinji_U
22-07-2005, 07:46 PM
Ok I found some bugs with the st585...

1. When I import a previously saved configuration and do a reboot, the settings in the Dynamic DNS is empty from the GUI menu, but it exists in the console, so I wasn't able to remove the previous Dynamic DNS profile and had to do a hard reset and reconfigure everything else the previous Dynamic DNS settings would still be running and I get "Hostname exists error" message.

2. The wireless strength of the router is kind of pathetic, so far I've used D-Link, Linksys and Netgear, all using official firmware and only this st585 wireless strength is very weak, in my room I can only attain good, whereas if I use any Linksys, D-Link or Netgear, the wireless signal in my room is excellent.

3. The router GUI tends to slow down perodically for some reason, and sometime timeouts.

Hope these inputs can help build a better firmware for us users of st585 to update to.

Shinji_U
22-07-2005, 09:32 PM
UP UP UP

:s12:

celerius
23-07-2005, 01:50 AM
2. Tracert from notebook connected to st585 via LAN cable results in 1st hop of 181ms and inconsistent ping times of over 10ms...After switching to the new modem, do you still encounter this issue?

gray
23-07-2005, 04:43 AM
After switching to the new modem, do you still encounter this issue?

Is the normal? :s11: Doing a tracert, the first hop from my Desktop PC to the Speetouch 585i via LAN cable is usually around 160-200 ms. I saw some posts where this is single digit.

--------------------------------

Tracing route to www.l.google.com [64.233.189.104]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 161 ms 15 ms 199 ms speedtouch.lan [192.168.1.254]
2 9 ms 9 ms 8 ms bb219-74-64-1.singnet.com.sg [219.74.64.1]
3 8 ms 8 ms 8 ms bb-165-21-135-69.singnet.com.sg [165.21.135.69]

4 8 ms 7 ms 8 ms 202.166.126.42
5 8 ms 8 ms 8 ms 202.166.126.101
6 8 ms 8 ms 8 ms 203.208.182.77
7 8 ms 8 ms 8 ms 203.208.182.233
8 8 ms 8 ms 8 ms so-0-0-0.sngc3-cr2.ix.singtel.com [203.208.172.130]
9 41 ms 41 ms 39 ms so-0-1-1.hkgcw-cr2.ix.singtel.com [203.208.154.62]
10 39 ms 39 ms 39 ms 72.14.196.5
11 39 ms 40 ms 39 ms 64.233.189.104

Trace complete.

chaicka
23-07-2005, 07:08 AM
You are having the same issue Shinji_U had.

princess086
23-07-2005, 09:04 AM
Is the normal? :s11: Doing a tracert, the first hop from my Desktop PC to the Speetouch 585i via LAN cable is usually around 160-200 ms. I saw some posts where this is single digit.

--------------------------------

1 161 ms 15 ms 199 ms speedtouch.lan [192.168.1.254]
2 9 ms 9 ms 8 ms bb219-74-64-1.singnet.com.sg [219.74.64.1]
3 8 ms 8 ms 8 ms bb-165-21-135-69.singnet.com.sg [165.21.135.69]

4 8 ms 7 ms 8 ms 202.166.126.42
5 8 ms 8 ms 8 ms 202.166.126.101
6 8 ms 8 ms 8 ms 203.208.182.77
7 8 ms 8 ms 8 ms 203.208.182.233
8 8 ms 8 ms 8 ms so-0-0-0.sngc3-cr2.ix.singtel.com [203.208.172.130]
9 41 ms 41 ms 39 ms so-0-1-1.hkgcw-cr2.ix.singtel.com [203.208.154.62]
10 39 ms 39 ms 39 ms 72.14.196.5
11 39 ms 40 ms 39 ms 64.233.189.104

Trace complete.

You might want to post a screen shot out can do more testing?

Shinji_U
23-07-2005, 09:57 AM
After switching to the new modem, do you still encounter this issue?
Yea, still encounter that issue... I believe its the issue of the present firmware.. let's wait for the pros at VRnet to iron out the bugs... bugs ain't exactly easy to kill... they multiply at times...

Shinji_U
23-07-2005, 10:05 AM
Ok... new updated after reinstalling my Server.... BT seems to get some really nice jump...

http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/1825218673/bitcomet_050723.gif

Shinji_U
23-07-2005, 10:09 AM
Also... RallyArt.. I found these 2 entries in the IDS...

tcp_rate_limiting 8
udp_rate_limiting 0
icmp_rate_limiting 0
ip_rate_limiting 0

Those above limits outgoing or incoming?

chaicka
23-07-2005, 10:23 AM
IDS are implemented only on the inbound...so it should be apply inbound traffic only.
RallyART, can confirm this?

Shinji_U
23-07-2005, 10:27 AM
IDS are implemented only on the inbound...so it should be apply inbound traffic only.
RallyART, can confirm this?
If it limits my inbound then could it be possible after time the IDS starts limiting my TCP cause BT opened alot of them?

I can't really think of anything that will generate that muct TCP till it needs limiting on my ws2k3 box...

princess086
23-07-2005, 10:34 AM
Also... RallyArt.. I found these 2 entries in the IDS...

tcp_rate_limiting 8
udp_rate_limiting 0
icmp_rate_limiting 0
ip_rate_limiting 0

Those above limits outgoing or incoming?

a... any one can explain, I.E how it works and what it does?

princess086
23-07-2005, 11:01 AM
If it limits my inbound then could it be possible after time the IDS starts limiting my TCP cause BT opened alot of them?

I can't really think of anything that will generate that muct TCP till it needs limiting on my ws2k3 box...
If thoes things like you say is Limiting its does not made any sense base on your download and upload speed of BT.i blur liao

Marill
23-07-2005, 11:37 AM
I am also getting first hop fomr my PC to the ADSL modem 199ms

1 99 ms 99 ms 199 ms dsldevice.lan [192.168.1.254]

princess086
23-07-2005, 11:40 AM

Have you done any port foward DMZ ect...? and you are using a LAN connection or wireless connection?

chaicka
23-07-2005, 11:42 AM

TCP Rate Limiting is a new bandwidth management technology, which is widely adopted by reputable bandwidth throttling/traffic shaping equipments, as well as in enterprise-class network switches and routers.

chaicka
23-07-2005, 11:50 AM
TCP Rate Limiting is a technique that "paces" traffic by altering TCP window and pacing ACKs, thus effectively throttling the traffic.

First, there is an adaptation period for each session, as the initial window is usually set to be quite large, and most sessions are quite short. The "pace" required for any particular session is not constant. For example to achieve 512kbs on your local network would require a much longer delay and much smaller window than if the client was 20 hops away. Additionally, since traffic on a busy network (lets talk about ISP's here) changes on a moment to moment basis, the window size required to get the proper management will change more rapidly than the devices ability to change all of the windows for all of the sessions that it is managing. Every time your browser clicks a new page, a new session is created generally. It is difficult and inefficient to control these sessions by window manipulation, because they are so short-lived in nature.

The second issue has to do with resources and overhead. With TCP rate limiting each "session" (that is each TCP connection) must be managed individually. Each stream must be monitored, ACKs must be delayed, and packet headers must be rebuilt. This is why devices that heavily utilize TCP rate limiting on every individual traffic stream have much lower capacities in terms of being able to handle traffic loads than other available technologies.

Another problem is that if you try to rate-limit with windows smaller than one full packet, the result is more packets and more traffic on your network. Typically this is so undesireable that its not done. Window sizes of one full packet (typically 1500 bytes) is the minimum that can be used without creating additional network overhead.

Next, and most importantly, session "pacing" by itself doesn't achieve the desired result. Since an end user can have any number of simultaneous sessions, you can't limit a user to a fair "chunk", which is usually whats needed. A browser, for example, can open any number of tcp sessions to the same location, so pacing each session to 128K will not limit the user in the desired way; he will be able to use N times 128k depending on how many sessions he has open at the time.

Lastly, TCP rate limiting doesn't work at all on encrypted data, because the TCP header is hidden from the bandwidth management device. As IPsec becomes utilized more and more, the effectiveness of TCP rate limiting will dwindle proportionately.

gray
23-07-2005, 11:54 AM
You might want to post a screen shot out can do more testing?

Hi, a screen shot of which screen?

Marill
23-07-2005, 12:06 PM
Have you done any port foward DMZ ect...? and you are using a LAN connection or wireless connection?

No DMZ and on ethernet, no wireless.

chaicka
23-07-2005, 12:32 PM
Juz to add on...this new ST585 has many advance features, which includes IP QoS, and those rate limiting, are juz part of QoS.

Wow...now I am so tempted to get my hands on this unit.

misato, I believe with your knowledge and skill, you should be able to figure out the best tweak for this device, to optimize the full capabilities of SNBB10/25. Maybe write an unleased SpeedTouch 585 when u are done...:D

princess086
23-07-2005, 12:40 PM
Juz to add on...this new ST585 has many advance features, which includes IP QoS, and those rate limiting, are juz part of QoS.

Wow...now I am so tempted to get my hands on this unit.

misato, I believe with your knowledge and skill, you should be able to figure out the best tweak for this device, to optimize the full capabilities of SNBB10/25. Maybe write an unleased SpeedTouch 585 when u are done...:D

Marill
23-07-2005, 12:41 PM
Pinging 192.168.1.254 with 45000 bytes of data:

Reply from 192.168.1.254: bytes=45000 time=11ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.254: bytes=45000 time=14ms TTL=64

Ping statistics for 192.168.1.254:
Packets: Sent = 6, Received = 6, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 11ms, Maximum = 14ms, Average = 11ms

chaicka
23-07-2005, 12:47 PM
How I wish...Juz checked out, I have been right.....my block wun be able to support SNBB10/25 (or even if by marginally it does), it wun get good speed.

Juz confirmed that all the local DSLAMs around my block ain't ADSL2+ DSLAM....hahaha...and the nearest ADSL2+ DSLAM is too far in terms of loop length.

Too bad...

Yellowfin
23-07-2005, 12:51 PM
How I wish...Juz checked out, I have been right.....my block wun be able to support SNBB10/25 (or even if by marginally it does), it wun get good speed.

Juz confirmed that all the local DSLAMs around my block ain't ADSL2+ DSLAM....hahaha...and the nearest ADSL2+ DSLAM is too far in terms of loop length.

Too bad...

So better wait for a long while for those of us who are just user of the broadband to upgrade to this new ADSL2+.

princess086
23-07-2005, 07:08 PM

Minimum = 11ms, Maximum = 14ms, Average = 11ms
Facing any spik lagging high latency?.
if still facing can try off the modem firewall.

princess086
23-07-2005, 07:09 PM

Too bad...

sama sama here want to sign up but dont have.hehe

celerius
23-07-2005, 07:12 PM

Minimum = 11ms, Maximum = 14ms, Average = 11msTry and ping with the xp default of 32 bytes OR linux default of 64 bytes. :s7:

gray
23-07-2005, 11:24 PM
You are having the same issue Shinji_U had.

Hello, any suggestion on what I can do?

chaicka
24-07-2005, 12:31 AM
Approach VRnet...give them a call on monday.

They are helpful pple and well, it's been so long and so rare to see such good service liao (VRnet, I give u a thumbsup...and frankly speaking, the platinum partner should goes to u guys, not the competitor).

Be patient and well, they should be asking u to perform some tasks and provide them with some results. They will help u one...

I dun anyhow give compliments as I am very stingy in tat dept...VRnet has come a long way.

Shinji_U
24-07-2005, 01:28 PM
Also.. st585 doesn't have a very important feature that most routers have now, User Assigned DHCP Reservation. The DHCP Reservation on the st585 doesn't allow the user to manually assign IP for a particular computer.

Peace_X
24-07-2005, 02:37 PM
Also.. st585 doesn't have a very important feature that most routers have now, User Assigned DHCP Reservation. The DHCP Reservation on the st585 doesn't allow the user to manually assign IP for a particular computer.

i think it should have this function since the st511e already has it. Its under DHCP server -> server lease for 511e. You can specify the mac address(client id) and ip address with TTL as infinite. If this function is not found the the gui, it should be able to be set in the CLI.

chaicka
24-07-2005, 02:41 PM
Check in CLI...:D

princess086
24-07-2005, 02:42 PM

Still facing the same problem??

gray
24-07-2005, 02:58 PM
Still facing the same problem??

Unfortunately, still yes, :sad: tracert below just taken 1 min ago.

I am experiencing some intermittent slow downs, where the download sometimes slows to a crawl, and in fact seems to stop. The internet connection has also disconnected a few times and I had to restart to modem.

Also, does the * mean that the packet was lost or something? :s11:

--------------------

1 7 ms 199 ms 198 ms speedtouch.lan [192.168.1.254]
2 9 ms 10 ms 8 ms bb219-74-64-1.singnet.com.sg [219.74.64.1]
3 * 7 ms 8 ms bb-165-21-135-69.singnet.com.sg [165.21.135.69]

4 9 ms 8 ms 8 ms 202.166.126.42
5 9 ms 8 ms 9 ms 202.166.126.101
6 14 ms 13 ms 13 ms 203.208.182.77
7 17 ms 16 ms 16 ms 203.208.182.233
8 17 ms 16 ms 17 ms so-0-0-0.sngc3-cr2.ix.singtel.com [203.208.172.130]
9 67 ms 63 ms 66 ms 203.208.172.218
10 41 ms 41 ms 40 ms 72.14.196.5
11 48 ms 57 ms 58 ms 64.233.189.104

Trace complete.

princess086
24-07-2005, 03:04 PM

I am experiencing some intermittent slow downs, where the download sometimes slows to a crawl, and in fact seems to stop. The internet connection has also disconnected a few times and I had to restart to modem.

--------------------

Trace complete.

How about try to turn off the modem firewall and try again.

Shinji_U
24-07-2005, 03:10 PM

--------------------

Trace complete.
Suggest you call up VRNet and ask them to replace your st585... I had the same problem before... but after replacing it, all is well.

gray
24-07-2005, 03:21 PM
How about try to turn off the modem firewall and try again.

Hi Princess, I had disabled the firewall on the router from the beginnnig but no avail. I only have software firewall ZoneAlarm Pro running in the background. No use also even when I disable ZA Pro.

princess086
24-07-2005, 03:28 PM
Suggest you call up VRNet and ask them to replace your st585... I had the same problem before... but after replacing it, all is well.

Hi,shinji
now what kind connection you are using now i mean as your last post you say that you want to use bridge mode.

gray
24-07-2005, 03:29 PM

Thanks for the suggestion. What exactly do I need to tell them? Did they tell you what was the problem. Also what are the "correct" values that I should see in a tracert in a "normal" 585?

I did call them on Saturday, but the line was too busy and had left a message for them to call back, unforutnately, they haven't call me back yet. I was hoping to catch them on a Saturday. Troubleshooting the problem over the phone on a weekday is tough as I got to work and won't be by the home computer.

Shinji_U
24-07-2005, 03:35 PM
Hi,shinji
now what kind connection you are using now i mean as your last post you say that you want to use bridge mode.
I'm now using the st585 purely... with the sad sad 54G... I'm going to try the bridge more soon after this...

Shinji_U
24-07-2005, 03:35 PM
I'm going to turn the st585 into bridge mode. Will let you guys know how it is.

DXMachina
24-07-2005, 03:43 PM
Just to confirm, how do I know if my area supports the 10mbps plan? I live in Woodlands...is there any way to check?

princess086
24-07-2005, 03:46 PM
Just to confirm, how do I know if my area supports the 10mbps plan? I live in Woodlands...is there any way to check?

you can check with 1610 (singnet) but i think today is close you might have to wait for tomorrow.

Shinji_U
24-07-2005, 03:57 PM
Ok, I've successfully turned my st585 into bridge mode. Now using my trusty DI-624 with my good old 108MBps wireless.... sweetness~~~

celerius
24-07-2005, 03:58 PM
Suggest you call up VRNet and ask them to replace your st585... I had the same problem before... but after replacing it, all is well.Hi Shinji, would you mind posting what your tracert to google looks like now? Thanks. :s7:

princess086
24-07-2005, 04:00 PM
Ok, I've successfully turned my st585 into bridge mode. Now using my trusty DI-624 with my good old 108MBps wireless.... sweetness~~~

Post the testing result out bandwith testing,stability,any high spike/latencty ect... :D

Shinji_U
24-07-2005, 04:16 PM
Not good... the st585 keeps rebooting by itself when set to bridge mode.. wonder what's wrong... :(

Shinji_U
24-07-2005, 04:29 PM
Yes... so now I've set my st585 back to router mode with my DI-624 as AP...

ekeniki
24-07-2005, 05:20 PM
http://img315.imageshack.us/img315/4821/error1min4xc.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

ekeniki
24-07-2005, 05:23 PM
http://img315.imageshack.us/img315/4984/error3min8gp.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

ekeniki
24-07-2005, 06:20 PM
i will post the heavy traffic much later, cos going out soon for movie and dinner le

http://img231.imageshack.us/img231/7072/error1hr4ax.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

chaicka
24-07-2005, 08:47 PM
ekeniki,

I think there is no need for the screenshot of stats after heavy load cause ur line is bad by itself, even with no or little load. The screenshots for 1min, 3min, 1hr already indicated that.

Report the issue to SingNet/SingTel. They should arrange someone down to ur place to check. Insist that it's their backend issue, and also, inform them that the attenuation is higher than other SNBB10m subscriber, and also, it's too high for ADSL2+. If the CSO argue back on the 50dB attenuation thingy, juz shoot him back to say that that is for ADSL, and ADSL2+ is MORE stingent in terms of attenuation which also = loop length.

They should provide line troubleshoot & support FOC on this case.

VRnet, I thought ur field installers will take down records? For this case, how come it was let pass and undetected as potential problematic line? Can help this user if SingTel start to play the SOP game? I believe you gonna agree with me, this case line condition is rather bad, almost like sitting on the borderline case, waiting for a slight fluctuation and the connection may just drop off.

RallyART®
24-07-2005, 09:31 PM
ekeniki,

VRnet, I thought ur field installers will take down records? For this case, how come it was let pass and undetected as potential problematic line? Can help this user if SingTel start to play the SOP game? I believe you gonna agree with me, this case line condition is rather bad, almost like sitting on the borderline case, waiting for a slight fluctuation and the connection may just drop off.

Hi are u sure that the installation is done by VRnet? We are not the only one doing installations...ekeniki, can you pm me your ADSL number aka phone number connected to the internet? We can escalate the case for you if you want. :)

chaicka
24-07-2005, 09:35 PM
Hi are u sure that the installation is done by VRnet? We are not the only one doing installations...ekeniki, can you pm me your ADSL number aka phone number connected to the internet? We can escalate the case for you if you want. :)
Oh...

So, potentially possible his area not handle by VRnet?

Hmmm...west area is by who...cannot recall liao...so many vendors so many changes now and then...I dun keep track.

Sorry if it ain't installed by VRnet. But ur comment on this user's stats? Am I right with my analysis so far?

RallyART®
24-07-2005, 09:37 PM

Hi this problem I acknowledge. Found this out and we are working on it. However, if you do a ping, the timing will still be the same, ie no effect on the latency. dun believe you can also do a tracert to 192.168.1.254.

The delay is due to a reporting error on the speedtouch itself but has no effect on the actual latency. We will fix this bug :)

RallyART®
24-07-2005, 09:41 PM
Oh...

So, potentially possible his area not handle by VRnet?

Hmmm...west area is by who...cannot recall liao...so many vendors so many changes now and then...I dun keep track.

Sorry if it ain't installed by VRnet. But ur comment on this user's stats? Am I right with my analysis so far?

hi you are right, thanks for your help in replying the past 2 days, been on a mini honeymoon ;)
The installations does not go by area, its sort of randomly picked by the system if the customer did not request for a specific installer. :) We cover the whole of singapore...even sentosa :)

RallyART®
24-07-2005, 09:45 PM

hi this feature is inthe GUI itself. Go to Homenetwork->Click on your computer name->click on configure->and check "Always use the same address"

chaicka
24-07-2005, 09:46 PM
hi you are right, thanks for your help in replying the past 2 days, been on a mini honeymoon ;)
The installations does not go by area, its sort of randomly picked by the system if the customer did not request for a specific installer. :) We cover the whole of singapore...even sentosa :)
I see...policy change again?
Thought used to be divided by zone?

Anyway, thanks for looking into this case...think it's the worst ADSL2+ attenuation seen in this forum so far, >40dB....the rest max oso never beyond 30dB.

RallyART®
24-07-2005, 09:54 PM
I see...policy change again?
Thought used to be divided by zone?

Anyway, thanks for looking into this case...think it's the worst ADSL2+ attenuation seen in this forum so far, >40dB....the rest max oso never beyond 30dB.

Divided by Zone I think its a few years back. Since the homewireless start, its no longer by zone. :)
Yup, seems to be very bad. I need to check if its installed by us. For those who suspect the modem is faulty, please get back to us within 1 week. If not you will have to walk in to our office during office hours for a 1-1 exchange. Its not fair for us to ask our installers to go back after so long as our basic warranty is a bring in warranty for 1 year. hope you guys understand :)

RallyART®
24-07-2005, 10:01 PM
Ok I found some bugs with the st585...

1. When I import a previously saved configuration and do a reboot, the settings in the Dynamic DNS is empty from the GUI menu, but it exists in the console, so I wasn't able to remove the previous Dynamic DNS profile and had to do a hard reset and reconfigure everything else the previous Dynamic DNS settings would still be running and I get "Hostname exists error" message.

2. The wireless strength of the router is kind of pathetic, so far I've used D-Link, Linksys and Netgear, all using official firmware and only this st585 wireless strength is very weak, in my room I can only attain good, whereas if I use any Linksys, D-Link or Netgear, the wireless signal in my room is excellent.

3. The router GUI tends to slow down perodically for some reason, and sometime timeouts.

Hope these inputs can help build a better firmware for us users of st585 to update to.

Hi your feedback is greatly appreciated. rest assured we will look into this. Can you PM me what is the wireless adapter that you are using? Or have you enabled turbo G or something like that on your adapter? Thanks :)

gray
24-07-2005, 10:25 PM
Divided by Zone I think its a few years back. Since the homewireless start, its no longer by zone. :)
Yup, seems to be very bad. I need to check if its installed by us. For those who suspect the modem is faulty, please get back to us within 1 week. If not you will have to walk in to our office during office hours for a 1-1 exchange. Its not fair for us to ask our installers to go back after so long as our basic warranty is a bring in warranty for 1 year. hope you guys understand :)

Hi RallyART, my setup was installed by VRNet on 19 Jul 2005. I stay in Taman Jurong. Unfortunately during installation, your installer colleague mentioned that my line was not synchronized, and was not able to check the performance and whether there were any errors on the Speedtouch. I only started using the connection after Singnet called me the next day.

How then do I check whether my problem is with a faulty modem and not the reporting bug you mentioned? Since installation, I have experience occassions where the connection slows down to a crawl, at other times it seems that the information packet seems to have timed out, i.e. the page may start loading, but it just hangs there, when I click refresh, the page loads up very quickly. I have done tracert to some sites, and in some of the results, I see * which I assume (probably incorrectly) that the packet might have been lost. Over the past few days, I have also experienced couple of occassions where I got disconnected entirely.

chaicka
24-07-2005, 10:29 PM
Hi RallyART, my setup was installed by VRNet on 19 Jul 2005. I stay in Taman Jurong. Unfortunately during installation, your installer colleague mentioned that my line was not synchronized, and was not able to check the performance and whether there were any errors on the Speedtouch. I only started using the connection after Singnet called me the next day.

How then do I check whether my problem is with a faulty modem and not the reporting bug you mentioned? Since installation, I have experience occassions where the connection slows slows down to a crawl, at other times it seems that the information packet seems to have timed out, i.e. the page may start loading, but it just hangs there, when I click refresh, the page loads up very quickly. I have done tracert to some sites, and in some of the results, I see * which I assume (probably incorrectly) that the packet might have been lost. Over the past few days, I have also experienced couple of occassions where I got disconnected entirely.
Any p2p running when that happens?

gray
24-07-2005, 10:31 PM
Any p2p running when that happens?

Typically no.

misato
24-07-2005, 10:31 PM

How then do I check whether my problem is with a faulty modem and not the reporting bug you mentioned? Since installation, I have experience occassions where the connection slows slows down to a crawl, at other times it seems that the information packet seems to have timed out, i.e. the page may start loading, but it just hangs there, when I click refresh, the page loads up very quickly. I have done tracert to some sites, and in some of the results, I see * which I assume (probably incorrectly) that the packet might have been lost. Over the past few days, I have also experienced couple of occassions where I got disconnected entirely.
Your problem seems more like problem with Singnet. Personally, my usual surfing diet consist of a lot og Japan base servers which i noticed the same problems as u had mentioned. But for china ones.. no issues... US sites is partially affected, ie www.microsoft.com/ie

It will load the title.. but present a blank page... if lucky, after a few refresh.. the page will come out.. if not it will timeout.

gray
24-07-2005, 10:35 PM
Your problem seems more like problem with Singnet. Personally, my usual surfing diet consist of a lot og Japan base servers which i noticed the same problems as u had mentioned. But for china ones.. no issues... US sites is partially affected, ie www.microsoft.com/ie

It will load the title.. but present a blank page... if lucky, after a few refresh.. the page will come out.. if not it will timeout.

Hmmm, I just did this 30 seconds ago. Look at the number of * below. And this is to google search engine page with very little graphics.

-------------------------------------

1 152 ms 99 ms 99 ms speedtouch.lan [192.168.1.254]
2 9 ms 10 ms 10 ms bb219-74-64-1.singnet.com.sg [219.74.64.1]
3 * * 8 ms bb-165-21-135-69.singnet.com.sg [165.21.135.69]
4 8 ms 8 ms 8 ms 202.166.126.42
5 8 ms 9 ms 9 ms 202.166.126.101
6 * 31 ms 32 ms 203.208.182.77
7 36 ms 35 ms 35 ms 203.208.182.233
8 37 ms * * so-0-0-0.sngc3-cr2.ix.singtel.com [203.208.172.130]
9 66 ms 64 ms 67 ms so-1-1-2.hkgcw-cr2.ix.singtel.com [203.208.182.154]
10 68 ms 68 ms 67 ms 72.14.196.5
11 79 ms 79 ms 66 ms 64.233.189.104

Trace complete.

chaicka
24-07-2005, 10:40 PM
Hmmm, I just did this 30 seconds ago. Look at the number of * below. And this is to google search engine page with very little graphics.

Trace complete.
Overall, the result seems good...

Here is mine anyway (from Magix conn):
MSH> tracert www.google.com.sg

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms xxxxx.xxx.xxx [192.168.xxx.xxx]
2 7 ms 7 ms 8 ms ad202.166.xxx.xxx.magix.com.sg [202.166.xxx.xxx]
3 7 ms 6 ms 7 ms 202.166.127.121
4 7 ms 7 ms 7 ms 202.166.126.101
5 10 ms 11 ms 11 ms 203.208.182.77
6 12 ms 11 ms 9 ms 203.208.182.233
7 12 ms 11 ms 11 ms so-0-0-0.sngc3-cr2.ix.singtel.com [203.208.172.130]
8 42 ms 44 ms 41 ms so-0-1-1.hkgcw-cr2.ix.singtel.com [203.208.154.62]
9 43 ms 42 ms 41 ms 72.14.196.5
10 43 ms 52 ms 40 ms 64.233.189.104

Trace complete.
MSH>

I have masked essential info of my connection for security reasons (since magix is static ip).

misato
24-07-2005, 11:01 PM

Trace complete.
Its not the ping issue. Its with the loading of the page.
Mine also can ping very well, for your given site.. my ping is about the same.

chaicka
24-07-2005, 11:03 PM
misato,

ur conn is good right......juz checked ur mrtg...wowow...finally got confirmation of wat I was looking for...;)

Btw, wanna help to create support of WallWatcher for ST585? Check this thread -> http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?t=1071019

RallyART®
24-07-2005, 11:28 PM

How then do I check whether my problem is with a faulty modem and not the reporting bug you mentioned? Since installation, I have experience occassions where the connection slows down to a crawl, at other times it seems that the information packet seems to have timed out, i.e. the page may start loading, but it just hangs there, when I click refresh, the page loads up very quickly. I have done tracert to some sites, and in some of the results, I see * which I assume (probably incorrectly) that the packet might have been lost. Over the past few days, I have also experienced couple of occassions where I got disconnected entirely.

hi from your line readings, yours seems very very good. how often does the connection comes to a crawl? any particular time like at night or something? are you on wireless or wired? If wireless, what is the wireless client adapter and the firmware version?

The tracert will definitely show a very high first hop to the modem but it will not affect the speed and this problem is throughout every modem running on the R5.3 firmware. tracert which shows * does not means that the packet is lost but rather, the router had blocked the ICMP packets. I cannot determine off hand if the unit is faulty from the information given. I need more information. If you feel uncomfortable, I can do a 1-1 exchange for you but before you do that, please answer the questions above, I don't want you to make a fruitless trip. :)

liangtam
24-07-2005, 11:41 PM
Sometime is not right that there are so many asterik though. Can be due to other reason, can also be due to the modem firmware etc.

ekeniki
24-07-2005, 11:43 PM
ekeniki,

I think there is no need for the screenshot of stats after heavy load cause ur line is bad by itself, even with no or little load. The screenshots for 1min, 3min, 1hr already indicated that.

Report the issue to SingNet/SingTel. They should arrange someone down to ur place to check. Insist that it's their backend issue, and also, inform them that the attenuation is higher than other SNBB10m subscriber, and also, it's too high for ADSL2+. If the CSO argue back on the 50dB attenuation thingy, juz shoot him back to say that that is for ADSL, and ADSL2+ is MORE stingent in terms of attenuation which also = loop length.

They should provide line troubleshoot & support FOC on this case.

singnet/singtel pple both dept also got come down 2 times liaoz.. they checked liaoz say nothing leh.. but tomoolo they coming down agian... i will reflect wat u said, thanks chaicka.

ekeniki
24-07-2005, 11:48 PM

should be VRnet pple cos when i asked him some net things.. he say he dunno.. must call singnet bb dept cos he only do the installation... but then, he even connect the installation wrong. how i know is because the 1st time the line dept from singtel came down then say my connection is wrong.. ur VRnet guy go connect the micro filter wall to the modem. then modem to wall socket etc.. then after the line dept guy came.. correct the installation.. did a check.. then went back le... thus i thought ok liaoz.. then who knows hor, night time still the same old problem. then i called singnet bb dept again.. then the 2nd time they came down again.. this time with line dept, singnet bb supervisior and 1 techician guy i think.. they check outside my house .. the line.. came my room check again.. once again.. they say is nothing wrong.. they also take down some data for reference.. then at night.. still the same old thing.. i called them again, tomolo they are coming down again lo... hope tomolo can clear up everything.

RallyART®
24-07-2005, 11:58 PM
should be VRnet pple cos when i asked him some net things.. he say he dunno.. must call singnet bb dept cos he only do the installation... but then, he even connect the installation wrong. how i know is because the 1st time the line dept from singtel came down then say my connection is wrong.. ur VRnet guy go connect the micro filter wall to the modem. then modem to wall socket etc.. then after the line dept guy came.. correct the installation.. did a check.. then went back le... thus i thought ok liaoz.. then who knows hor, night time still the same old problem. then i called singnet bb dept again.. then the 2nd time they came down again.. this time with line dept, singnet bb supervisior and 1 techician guy i think.. they check outside my house .. the line.. came my room check again.. once again.. they say is nothing wrong.. they also take down some data for reference.. then at night.. still the same old thing.. i called them again, tomolo they are coming down again lo... hope tomolo can clear up everything.

Hur? You very sure its VRnet? Must go screw the guy upside down if that is the case. We will issue a installer report with our VRnet logo. Can pm me the installer name? Anyway i got your number, I will go back office tmr to check if its done by us.

Hope this time they will solve the problem :)

Shinji_U
25-07-2005, 12:02 AM
Hur? You very sure its VRnet? Must go screw the guy upside down if that is the case. We will issue a installer report with our VRnet logo. Can pm me the installer name? Anyway i got your number, I will go back office tmr to check if its done by us.

Any news on the new firmware for the ST585?

ekeniki
25-07-2005, 12:10 AM

check ur pm ba.. i also got pm u the report IR number.. so that u can check

chaicka
25-07-2005, 12:15 AM
singnet/singtel pple both dept also got come down 2 times liaoz.. they checked liaoz say nothing leh.. but tomoolo they coming down agian... i will reflect wat u said, thanks chaicka.

Use the stats I have collected here, and show them...

Question them why your attenuation is so high. I think they will try to "smoke" u with all the crap thing....juz say one thing, why others attenuation all <30dB but yours is way beyond >40dB.

Also, dun juz hear what they say, look at the Sunset device readings yourself...Seeing with your own eyes.

If need to, get them to call me coz I got information to "query them" which I cannot reveal here.

RallyART®
25-07-2005, 12:17 AM
Any news on the new firmware for the ST585?

Actually i already have...give me a while more...might pass to some of you guys to try. ;) Wait for my good news

chaicka
25-07-2005, 12:18 AM
Hehehe...:D

ChangeLog available?

Shinji_U
25-07-2005, 12:23 AM
Actually i already have...give me a while more...might pass to some of you guys to try. ;) Wait for my good news
GREAT! Awaiting for your email!

ekeniki
25-07-2005, 12:25 AM
Use the stats I have collected here, and show them...

Question them why your attenuation is so high. I think they will try to "smoke" u with all the crap thing....juz say one thing, why others attenuation all <30dB but yours is way beyond >40dB.

Also, dun juz hear what they say, look at the Sunset device readings yourself...Seeing with your own eyes.

If need to, get them to call me coz I got information to "query them" which I cannot reveal here.

thanks chaicka.. if i need ur number.i will pm u.. thanks alot!

gray
25-07-2005, 12:25 AM
hi from your line readings, yours seems very very good. how often does the connection comes to a crawl? any particular time like at night or something? are you on wireless or wired? If wireless, what is the wireless client adapter and the firmware version?

The tracert will definitely show a very high first hop to the modem but it will not affect the speed and this problem is throughout every modem running on the R5.3 firmware. tracert which shows * does not means that the packet is lost but rather, the router had blocked the ICMP packets. I cannot determine off hand if the unit is faulty from the information given. I need more information. If you feel uncomfortable, I can do a 1-1 exchange for you but before you do that, please answer the questions above, I don't want you to make a fruitless trip. :)

Hi there RallyART. slowdown is erratic and does not have an observable time pattern, but tonight is quite bad, even going to sites like www.microsoft.com and www.google.com.sg sometimes take a while to load. It just like hangs there, and I typically have to hit refresh to get it working.

Additionally, the SN Margin has also changed since Saturday.

Previous: SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 6,5 / 6,5
Now : SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 6,0 / 6,5

I am on wired, the desktop is about 50 cm away from the model which is another 50 cm away from the telephone socket.

Hope this helps.

chaicka
25-07-2005, 12:30 AM
gray, can u try putting the static proxy into ur web browser?

Wanna check if it's their transparent proxies causing problem.

gray
25-07-2005, 12:32 AM
gray, can u try putting the static proxy into ur web browser?

Wanna check if it's their transparent proxies causing problem.

I don't mind doing so if you could kindly show me the steps. Apologies, technical noob here. :)

chaicka
25-07-2005, 12:34 AM
What browser u using?

FireFox - Go to Tools, Options, General, Connection Settings, and put in proxy.singnet.com.sg 8080
IE - Go to Tools, Internet Options, Connections, LAN Settings, and put in proxy.singnet.com.sg 8080 under the proxy server portion.

gray
25-07-2005, 12:37 AM
What browser u using?

FireFox - Go to Tools, Options, General, Connection Settings, and put in proxy.singnet.com.sg 8080
IE - Go to Tools, Internet Options, Connections, LAN Settings, and put in proxy.singnet.com.sg 8080 under the proxy server portion.

I use both Firefox and IE. I just did what you mentioned in Firefox. Now, what do I do?

chaicka
25-07-2005, 12:44 AM
Test if the problem persists...

Sometimes page loading problem is related to proxy...so let's test it out.

RallyART®
25-07-2005, 12:50 AM

Also, can you do a telnet to the modem and key in "connection stats" and post the screen here? (you can copy and paste the text here, just right click on the window and select all and press enter and you can paste already)

gray
25-07-2005, 12:52 AM

Ah I see, but previously, the options under Firefox was a direct connection to the internet (my configuration from my previous Maxonline). The VRNet installer did not change the proxy of any of my browsers when they came on 19 Jul 05.

Does Singnet need to use proxy?

gray
25-07-2005, 12:54 AM
Also, can you do a telnet to the modem and key in "connection stats" and post the screen here? (you can copy and paste the text here, just right click on the window and select all and press enter and you can paste already)

Will do, would be appreciative if you could give me the steps.

chaicka
25-07-2005, 12:55 AM
Ah I see, but previously, the options under Firefox was a direct connection to the internet (my configuration from my previous Maxonline). The VRNet installer did not change the proxy of any of my browsers when they came on 19 Jul 05.

Does Singnet need to use proxy?
When there is no static proxy settings set, it will automatically be going through the transparent proxies (proxy array) of SingNet. By setting a static proxy in the browser, it's going through another proxy array.

That's why wanna test to see if it's the transparent proxy array causing the problem or not.

misato
25-07-2005, 07:39 AM
Tried the proxy.singnet.. it seems the problem i have been facing is somewhat related to those transparent proxy. Hahahaa.

chaicka
25-07-2005, 08:50 AM
Hahaha....suspected so...
Monitor for a while and toggle between the two proxy type now and then....juz to confirm it's really their transparent proxy problem.

chaicka
25-07-2005, 11:25 AM
Hi gray,

How's ur findings? Changing to static proxy resolved/improved the page loading issue u experienced?

ekeniki
25-07-2005, 11:52 AM
o well, the singnet pple came liaoz.. but outside my flat checking nia.. just gave me a call nia.. said that they will be laying new underground cables for me and will take a few days.. hope this week i can settle my problems .. kaoz.. this week holiday week for me sia.. but this kind of connection cannot play in peace.... anyway i reflected wat u said chaicka.. they say will look into it.. thanks alot for ur advise and the rest also wor!

chaicka
25-07-2005, 12:04 PM
o well, the singnet pple came liaoz.. but outside my flat checking nia.. just gave me a call nia.. said that they will be laying new underground cables for me and will take a few days.. hope this week i can settle my problems .. kaoz.. this week holiday week for me sia.. but this kind of connection cannot play in peace.... anyway i reflected wat u said chaicka.. they say will look into it.. thanks alot for ur advise and the rest also wor!
ekeniki,

You can ask for rebate/waiver of subscription since your attenuation has been so poor since day one and you have escalated twice prior to this time (of one, u said a sup was down there supervising the check), which they failed to identify the fault in the first place. This is obviously their overlook of the issue, and thus, the relevant department (SingTel Line Dept) has to bear the responsibility for their overlook mistake.

But dun be too harsh on them...juz see what they offer...;)

No point pushing too far, so that next time u got other issue, they will treat u better loh...they are humans afterall, and ADSL2+ is too new so they also on learning mode now.

Shinji_U
25-07-2005, 12:28 PM
Starting to like the st585... but the wireless is still a let down... other than that not much... the 8MB memory is also very little... thinking of tearing it apart to see if I can modify the memory to more than 8MB...

chaicka
25-07-2005, 12:39 PM
Starting to like the st585... but the wireless is still a let down... other than that not much... the 8MB memory is also very little... thinking of tearing it apart to see if I can modify the memory to more than 8MB...

First of all, you must understand that you cannot compare 3-in-1 and 2-in-1 and standalone products' performance...

Ever wonder why there are pple who insist on having only standalone devices?

How's the new firmware? Version is x.x? Share share ur new experience, and if possible, the new statistics too (may have some changes sooner or later...;)

Shinji_U
25-07-2005, 12:58 PM
First of all, you must understand that you cannot compare 3-in-1 and 2-in-1 and standalone products' performance...

Ever wonder why there are pple who insist on having only standalone devices?

How's the new firmware? Version is x.x? Share share ur new experience, and if possible, the new statistics too (may have some changes sooner or later...;)
Still using the old firmware... No new firmware yet... anyway I'm not comparing products, just that the wireless of st585 is kind of disappointing.. the range is nott hat good thus affecting the signal strength... plus I'm used to my DI-624... 108Mbps wireless... so having to fall back on 54G is kind of a downgrade for my LAN...

jhquek
25-07-2005, 01:12 PM
Still using the old firmware... No new firmware yet... anyway I'm not comparing products, just that the wireless of st585 is kind of disappointing.. the range is nott hat good thus affecting the signal strength... plus I'm used to my DI-624... 108Mbps wireless... so having to fall back on 54G is kind of a downgrade for my LAN...

Have you tried using your Dlink as a AP?
This way you will still maintain your 108mbps wireless network.

At the moment dont think the bridge setup for the ST585 is out.
If you are really keen on the bridge setup for the ST585 maybe you pm me your email.
See if I can dig something out for u.

Shinji_U
25-07-2005, 01:21 PM
Have you tried using your Dlink as a AP?
This way you will still maintain your 108mbps wireless network.

At the moment dont think the bridge setup for the ST585 is out.
If you are really keen on the bridge setup for the ST585 maybe you pm me your email.
See if I can dig something out for u.
Yea, I'm using my DI-624 as an AP since yesterday... anyway I have the bridge config, just that its kind of unstable, and in bridge mode I can't use the SNMP function of the st585... so after some consideration... going give the st585 a little bit of faith... see how it goes down the road...

chaicka
25-07-2005, 01:49 PM

Like I said, it is afterall a 3-in-1 device, whereas ur DI is a 2-in-1.

The fair comparison would be comparing ST585, with say, SS6500 series....or any other 3-in-1 Wireless ADSL Routers (SOHO-class)...

ekeniki
25-07-2005, 01:58 PM
ekeniki,

You can ask for rebate/waiver of subscription since your attenuation has been so poor since day one and you have escalated twice prior to this time (of one, u said a sup was down there supervising the check), which they failed to identify the fault in the first place. This is obviously their overlook of the issue, and thus, the relevant department (SingTel Line Dept) has to bear the responsibility for their overlook mistake.

But dun be too harsh on them...juz see what they offer...;)

No point pushing too far, so that next time u got other issue, they will treat u better loh...they are humans afterall, and ADSL2+ is too new so they also on learning mode now.

yup.. i asked for the rebate liaoz.. they say settle the connection problem first then talk about it.. thanks!

jhquek
25-07-2005, 02:03 PM
Yea, I'm using my DI-624 as an AP since yesterday... anyway I have the bridge config, just that its kind of unstable, and in bridge mode I can't use the SNMP function of the st585... so after some consideration... going give the st585 a little bit of faith... see how it goes down the road...

If the ST585 is used as a bridge there is nothing to be monitored on it rite?
As the connection is not hosted on the router but on your dlink?
only traffic passing tru will be the PPPoE packets.

Just what I think.. Maybe Chaicka or somebody want correct me on this if i'm wrong.
:)

gray
25-07-2005, 03:24 PM
Hi gray,

How's ur findings? Changing to static proxy resolved/improved the page loading issue u experienced?

So far so good, will update if I encounter any problems.

I called up Singnet, they did a line test and said that my line was outside of specification which they said was probably what is causing my random slow downs and disconnections.

Singnet is getting their technical staff to come down again (which would make it the third time already). They said the problem is probably either with the line or the modem. The technician who came down during the 2nd time said my line was ok, but again, he didnt do anything to solve the lousy quality of my voice calls after installing the ADSL modem. (Telephone sounds very hollow, bright and with occassional static noise).

Any good to get the modem exchanged first before the technicians come down again?

chaicka
25-07-2005, 08:13 PM
So far so good, will update if I encounter any problems.

I called up Singnet, they did a line test and said that my line was outside of specification which they said was probably what is causing my random slow downs and disconnections.

Singnet is getting their technical staff to come down again (which would make it the third time already). They said the problem is probably either with the line or the modem. The technician who came down during the 2nd time said my line was ok, but again, he didnt do anything to solve the lousy quality of my voice calls after installing the ADSL modem. (Telephone sounds very hollow, bright and with occassional static noise).

Any good to get the modem exchanged first before the technicians come down again?
Hmmm....why that symptom of ur telephone sounds so familiar...machiam de ja vu...
:s13:...well, wat u experienced were experienced by those pioneers of magix when broadband first launch in Singapore...

Yup, there is alot of possibility which even the most senior tech cannot tell straight where the problem lies. Might not be modem fault, as from my past experience (yes, I had such problems before, and even just this year I had once too), it is normally backend issue. Let the SingTel pple diagnose the problem and see how first.

As with any new technology roll-down, the initial learning curve and fine tuning is unavoidable. Give them time to improve, to fine tune...they are humans afterall, like u and me. I believe SingTel has learned its lesson from past experience, and given the strong and good customer support rendered by VRnet, I believe this time round with ADSL2+, things are moving smoother than those magix days.

gray
25-07-2005, 08:46 PM
Hmmm....why that symptom of ur telephone sounds so familiar...machiam de ja vu...
:s13:...well, wat u experienced were experienced by those pioneers of magix when broadband first launch in Singapore...

Yup, there is alot of possibility which even the most senior tech cannot tell straight where the problem lies. Might not be modem fault, as from my past experience (yes, I had such problems before, and even just this year I had once too), it is normally backend issue. Let the SingTel pple diagnose the problem and see how first.

As with any new technology roll-down, the initial learning curve and fine tuning is unavoidable. Give them time to improve, to fine tune...they are humans afterall, like u and me. I believe SingTel has learned its lesson from past experience, and given the strong and good customer support rendered by VRnet, I believe this time round with ADSL2+, things are moving smoother than those magix days.

Besides the ADSL problem, the problem with the quality of my phone is giving me grief as I used the phone quite a lot.

When Singnet/Singtel came down the 2nd time, they used a made in Japan Panasonic phone which had some kind of "regulator" built in. Indeed the bright/sharp sounding quality was reduced, however the problem was still quite obviously there. I shouldn't be made to change my existing phone which has been serving me faithfully for the past 2.5 years because of using ADSL service. Essentially at the end of the day, what they told me that this was something that I had to suck it up.

However, I must add that I agree with chaicka that this is a learning process for everyone involved and in my opinion, in general, the organisation as a whole is doing a decent job and are not simply leaving us to our own devices. Kudos to that.

chaicka
25-07-2005, 08:52 PM
Besides the ADSL problem, the problem with the quality of my phone is giving me grief as I used the phone quite a lot.

When Singnet/Singtel came down the 2nd time, they used a made in Japan Panasonic phone which had some kind of "regulator" built in. Indeed the bright sounding quality was reduced, however the problem was still quite obviously there. I shouldn't be made to change my existing phone which has been serving me faithfully for the past 2.5 years because of using ADSL service. Essentially at the end of the day, what they told me that this was something that I had to suck it up.

However, I must add that I agree with chaicka that this is a line process for everyone involved and in my opinion, in general, the organisation as a whole is doing a decent job and are not simply leaving us to our own devices. Kudos to that.
Juz to take note, it is quite normal for voice on phone to become softer after going through the micro-filter on a xDSL-enabled line.

You don't need an expensive phone to get the voice to be louder again. I have a normal cheap wired phone yet the voice is louder. Juz from experience, Siemens phones were very sought after in the pass, for their exceptional good quality, plus it don't get that irritating interference whenever there is a mobile phone ringing nearby.

liangtam
25-07-2005, 10:58 PM
Sometimes, microfilter do play a part, it can be faulty or half-working only, thus such result. Remove the microfilter and turn off modem, then start using phone direct to socket, see whether if this problem still exist. If the microfilter is working well, it should be hard or NOT noticable in change of volume at all.

And I still had this problem that SingTel did not fix for my line.

Yup, normal phone does the job pretty well. If not, get Panasonic/Siemens ones, Philips phone are known for sudden death after a period of time.