PDA

View Full Version : D-Link Gaming Router DGL-4300 Impressive!

Pages : 1 [2] 3

amoro123
19-11-2006, 10:25 PM
Yes, no matter what the use... this IS a good router to get. and especially for gaming and BT.
oic..
i will try to save and buy one...

chaicka
19-11-2006, 11:45 PM
shadowandy,

Is the reset to factory default performed after flashing the v1.7 firmware?

It is quite common that some devices require a full factory default reset after new firmware is flashing, as there may be major changes in the structure that will break if a reset is not done.

shadowandy
19-11-2006, 11:52 PM
shadowandy,

Is the reset to factory default performed after flashing the v1.7 firmware?

It is quite common that some devices require a full factory default reset after new firmware is flashing, as there may be major changes in the structure that will break if a reset is not done.

Yeap I did a factory reset. It didn't work. I did the hold on to reset button way. Doesn't fix the problem. Power cycled the router and it didn't help too.

Perhaps will do a firmware downgrade and upgrade again when I am free.

Montoya
20-11-2006, 08:50 AM
Yeap I did a factory reset. It didn't work. I did the hold on to reset button way. Doesn't fix the problem. Power cycled the router and it didn't help too.

Perhaps will do a firmware downgrade and upgrade again when I am free.

possible fix here. got it from US dlink support.
check for your factory's default firmware version & flash it to tt version. thereafter flash the firmware in increasing order.

so for e.g. out of box is firmware 1.4 so you gotta flash to 1.5 > 1.6 > 1.7.

apparently from what they say if you fail to do so u'll lose some functions.

liangtam
20-11-2006, 10:14 AM
Each file are individual and build up with modification from the previous, dun see how it might helps leh.
Anyone wan try the beta f/w D-Link SG sent me weeks back?

Montoya
20-11-2006, 10:58 AM
Each file are individual and build up with modification from the previous, dun see how it might helps leh.
Anyone wan try the beta f/w D-Link SG sent me weeks back?

wat's the version of the firmware? 1.8?

anyway send it to montoyasg@gmail.com prolly will try it when i reach home.

liangtam
20-11-2006, 11:03 AM
Beta 1.7
Lemme do room cleaning first, then I start flashing and try first.

seowbin
20-11-2006, 11:13 AM
wah.. all buy this one liao arh? :D

maybe i considering buying also... cause it have gigabit switch :s13: + i see the performance not bad...

liangtam
20-11-2006, 11:15 AM
I ish can lend u try try...

cpuer
20-11-2006, 01:18 PM
I am seeing the below though, this page isn't in 1.6 right?

OMG, sorry, i meant in 1.7 not 1.6. paiseh.

Montoya
20-11-2006, 01:19 PM
wah.. all buy this one liao arh? :D

maybe i considering buying also... cause it have gigabit switch :s13: + i see the performance not bad...

i ish bought this few months back. cuz really pek chek of the WRT54G ver 5.

Montoya
20-11-2006, 01:20 PM
Beta 1.7
Lemme do room cleaning first, then I start flashing and try first.

like that is the firmware the same like what they offering in dlink US site?? or is this firmware specifically tuned for routers sold in SG?

liangtam
20-11-2006, 02:20 PM
I not very sure about the firmware being ' modified for local ' context or not, because usually D-Link TW website would list the firmware first but did not. Maybe tune for USA custy.
As for the f/w I had, maybe its some halfway done ones or had few more codes - the SHA1 and MD5 hash are different.

seowbin
20-11-2006, 02:20 PM
I ish can lend u try try...
dun need lar.. i ish see tomshardware report on it good , thruput high high :D

therefore considering to buy ... hmmm... wait and see a bit 1st.. need to save up

richneo
20-11-2006, 02:33 PM

therefore considering to buy ... hmmm... wait and see a bit 1st.. need to save up
u ish interested to try di-634m?

its running on same processor but instead of gig lan it comes with mimo wireless

i can lend u. wanted to lend misato for long time but she busy to meet me

liangtam
20-11-2006, 04:00 PM
I not sure what are the difference between the two f/w for 1.7, except one states 2006/09/15, while the one on D-Link support page is 2006/10/05. You all can try if u wan...

Link here (http://www.gmeow.com/DGL4300_FW_17(0925103417).bin). Check MD5 sum first.
MD5: cdf0f3e710a1154a120fc9c461b433a4

Montoya
20-11-2006, 04:00 PM
I not very sure about the firmware being ' modified for local ' context or not, because usually D-Link TW website would list the firmware first but did not. Maybe tune for USA custy.
As for the f/w I had, maybe its some halfway done ones or had few more codes - the SHA1 and MD5 hash are different.

hmm
the US site did say that the firmware frm their site is only for use within the US

maybe there are really hardware differences between different regions

zapp!
20-11-2006, 04:05 PM

I am wondering if the SITEX will have good deal for the 4300...

liangtam
20-11-2006, 04:12 PM
hmm
the US site did say that the firmware frm their site is only for use within the US

maybe there are really hardware differences between different regions
DI524 yes. DGL4300 no - same revision worldwide.
The TW site does show all the revision so ppl don't flash the wrong one and brick the router

EK9
20-11-2006, 05:56 PM
Just sidetrack abit.
I often read that some states that when u are using a gaming router, u dont get lag even though ur other PC is downloading stuff.
Is that even possible? unless u limit the bandwidth of the other computer using QoS.
If I am on a 512kbps plan and other computer is downloading at 64kb/sec, I wstill get lag on my gaming pc.

Montoya
20-11-2006, 07:11 PM
Just sidetrack abit.
I often read that some states that when u are using a gaming router, u dont get lag even though ur other PC is downloading stuff.
Is that even possible? unless u limit the bandwidth of the other computer using QoS.
If I am on a 512kbps plan and other computer is downloading at 64kb/sec, I wstill get lag on my gaming pc.

doesn't mean not lag juz lesser lag.

and if you saturate your upload it'll lag if you game.

dakl2000
21-11-2006, 02:14 PM
I am wondering if the SITEX will have good deal for the 4300...

NYP staff/student can buy at a special price of $159 (last day promotion today).

For the model without wireless, it goes at $118.

richneo
21-11-2006, 02:34 PM
NYP staff/student can buy at a special price of $159 (last day promotion today).

wah $159 is cheap leh...

Montoya
21-11-2006, 02:35 PM

wah so gd price still not sold out?? i got mine for over 200

odincs
21-11-2006, 03:16 PM

Where can i get this price?

dakl2000
21-11-2006, 03:21 PM
Where can i get this price?

The promotion is at NYP itself.

keigo
21-11-2006, 03:39 PM
great price, but students may not be able afford to buy such an exp router.

Montoya
21-11-2006, 03:46 PM
I not sure what are the difference between the two f/w for 1.7, except one states 2006/09/15, while the one on D-Link support page is 2006/10/05. You all can try if u wan...

Link here (http://www.gmeow.com/DGL4300_FW_17(0925103417).bin). Check MD5 sum first.
MD5: cdf0f3e710a1154a120fc9c461b433a4

this firmware u use until now got any problems with wireless?

shadowandy
21-11-2006, 05:54 PM

Not a bad price

liangtam
21-11-2006, 09:43 PM
this firmware u use until now got any problems with wireless?
See my sig, this is not the main core router in my home.
Anytime else ask me if u see me in IRC

Montoya
21-11-2006, 10:02 PM
ok sure thing

DJ_LuV
22-11-2006, 05:35 PM
Just got this today....hm....signal strength seems good....love it.... =D

seowbin
23-11-2006, 08:35 PM
u ish interested to try di-634m?

its running on same processor but instead of gig lan it comes with mimo wireless

i can lend u. wanted to lend misato for long time but she busy to meet me
till now i duno misato ish she or he leh :s13:

he/she like know army stuff also.. sounds like he sia.. :p

di-634m : duno leh... after 3 dec or wat den i get from u

now involve in major exercise, si bei jia lat.. the camp super 'near' to me

richneo
23-11-2006, 08:39 PM

okie hehe

i going oberseas after 4th ^^ reward myself after exam

liangtam
23-11-2006, 08:43 PM

If camp is near you, then it must be near mi oso.
Can lend u DGL4300 nia, I prefer my current router.

seowbin
23-11-2006, 08:47 PM
lol.. maybe i get from liangtam lor :P

not so soon, everything go home shag liao till maybe i next week wanna stay in already...

richneo
23-11-2006, 08:48 PM
lol.. maybe i get from liangtam lor :P

not so soon, everything go home shag liao till maybe i next week wanna stay in already...
take both lar.. den u compare the 2 and give us an insight

seowbin
23-11-2006, 09:01 PM
i quite lazy one wor :s34:

i type lar... provided i very free next mth :P

richneo
23-11-2006, 09:02 PM
i quite lazy one wor :s34:

i type lar... provided i very free next mth :P
take u mean?

hahahaha you must organise blackboard outing den i bring to u hahaha

liangtam
23-11-2006, 09:53 PM
Ah, speaking of e blackboard. Still haven try, then ish will get fatter than currently. :s34:
Lemme know if u wan meet up, then I ish pass u.

cpuer
24-11-2006, 09:58 PM
Just to feedback, 1.7 really seems to cure my DNS issue. :s13:

jasonhanjk
25-11-2006, 10:00 AM

It's a he. Saw him in person before. Very knowledgeble. Currently pak BF2142 together.

chaicka
25-11-2006, 11:25 AM
It's a he. Saw him in person before. Very knowledgeble. Currently pak BF2142 together.
Thought someone claims it's a she?

richneo
25-11-2006, 11:51 AM
Thought someone claims it's a she?
yar lor i tot shinji also got say before its a she?

liangtam
25-11-2006, 12:37 PM
Gotch peekture? :D

seowbin
25-11-2006, 06:26 PM
wah lau eh, u all sexist leh...

a she den u all treat better ish it :(

no wonder, ppl treat me so bad...........

iznogood
28-11-2006, 04:58 PM
Can this router be used with the Linksys WPC54G laptop card?

Thanks!

liangtam
28-11-2006, 05:02 PM
Can this router be used with the Linksys WPC54G laptop card?

Thanks!
Can, its IEEE802.11b/g compatible

iznogood
28-11-2006, 05:08 PM
Thanks. I just realised wat a crappy router the WRT54G (2.2) is. I all along use it as only access point with my USR8000. But today USR router died; but when i switch to WRT54G as a router, even my wired connection keeps on getting lost. Always need to release and renew IP address. So, when I buy my new C2D PC next month, I thinking of getting this router.
Sounds like a real good buy.

cheers!

desolated
28-11-2006, 06:00 PM
Advance Network is not avail in 1.6, but the settings I see here can be found inside the router's other pages.

flashed to the 1.7 firmware and got the same problem as shadowandy, can't access the advanced network page, is that page broken? need to config some stuff over there.

liangtam
28-11-2006, 06:06 PM
Did you reset the router once?
I keep on getting the loading error until I resetted the router.

desolated
28-11-2006, 06:48 PM
Did you reset the router once?
I keep on getting the loading error until I resetted the router.

same had to press the reset button before everything other thing loaded normally. The advanced networking error still occurs though.. flashed back to 1.6 liao :s13:

shadowandy
28-11-2006, 08:51 PM
same had to press the reset button before everything other thing loaded normally. The advanced networking error still occurs though.. flashed back to 1.6 liao :s13:

try going that page using IE, I got that problem on FF and not on IE :s13:

D-Link's firmware keep having this type of problem. Til now they have yet to get back to me on the flaw of DCS-2120 which I reported (they acknowledge and escalated til now no reply). zzz

desolated
29-11-2006, 12:24 PM

D-Link's firmware keep having this type of problem. Til now they have yet to get back to me on the flaw of DCS-2120 which I reported (they acknowledge and escalated til now no reply). zzz

:s31: that's not something i expected.. and you're right i was using FF..

okay off to give it a 2nd try :s22:

Yuichi
29-11-2006, 02:26 PM
may i know the current price of the DGL 4300?
Should i wait for Sitex?

decided to seperate modem and router now. :o

hangyong
29-11-2006, 02:54 PM

it uses ActiveX, which FF is not so friendly with

shadowandy
29-11-2006, 03:01 PM
it uses ActiveX, which FF is not so friendly with

Ahh, why is activex in there.

If it is a configuration for devices, I feel that it would be better that it is represented in some format which general browsers can use. It isn't a multimedia site or what.

desolated
02-12-2006, 01:43 PM
anyway if u guys intend to run .11B & .11G devices together don't update to this firmware. apparently there are some issues with it.

the router would keep on rebooting itself when the .11B device tries to connect to the router. Back to 1.6 now.

kinda sad when an older firmware is more stable than a new one

bought a DWL-G132 yesterday to try the Super G /w turbo (w/o using any B devices), got it working.

however the problem you above mentioned occured when i used a B and G concurrently. i had to turn off the Super G mode to support both B and G to work together normally.

using firmware 1.7 btw

WheelOftime
04-12-2006, 01:17 AM
Can we use the firmware that is provided in US Dlink site?

richneo
04-12-2006, 01:25 AM
should be possible just revert back to earlier version if problem encounters

Montoya
04-12-2006, 08:28 AM

try not to. tt release seemed to mess up my router.

deskoh91
04-12-2006, 09:49 AM
I upgraded to 1.7 and everything seemed to be fine. I did not get that Advanced Networking error either. guess it is a must to set to factory defaults?

Montoya
04-12-2006, 10:45 AM
i would wait for dlink SG to release it onto their site. somehow the US firmware made the router self restart every few mins. factory defaults also no use...

Zerocool
04-12-2006, 12:53 PM
got my 1.7working as fine. Google some site and found that 1.7 actually make use of the rest of memory available to handle for more connection(not sure how true it is) but anyway mine works great but all settings was reset when i flash from 1.4 so i did a restore.... ;)

richneo
04-12-2006, 12:56 PM
hmmmmmmm my dgl-4100 still sealed in box..should i take out and play? hmmmm

liangtam
04-12-2006, 01:29 PM
I ish dunno wan take out my DGL4100 put as my 2nd switch :D

richneo
04-12-2006, 01:34 PM
I ish dunno wan take out my DGL4100 put as my 2nd switch :D

:s13: :s13: :s13:

wah u also got so many device to connect ah

kimwee
06-12-2006, 02:14 AM
Hi all,

Thinking of buying this router and do some wireless video streaming to my TV (Rmvb files). Anyone can provide any feedback?

Me tried a few routers liao including a Linksys wireless N. All suck big time...

Thanks.

Jas007
06-12-2006, 12:03 PM
wrong thread

BuShuang
06-12-2006, 01:35 PM
er... so my firmware now is 1.4... shld i upgrade or wait huh? got abit confused from reading the thread...

liangtam
06-12-2006, 01:41 PM
er... so my firmware now is 1.4... shld i upgrade or wait huh? got abit confused from reading the thread...
Up to 1.6 or 1.7 lor

whucarezz
06-12-2006, 01:45 PM
Would the experts here recommend a non-gamer to splurge $200 on DGL-4300 just for BT, p2p usage, heavy download usage?

SPEED
06-12-2006, 01:45 PM
Flash to version 1.7 direct
i yet to install my DGL-4100
no time now haha

liangtam
06-12-2006, 01:48 PM
Would the experts here recommend a non-gamer to splurge $200 on DGL-4300 just for BT, p2p usage, heavy download usage?
Read the reviews around and you would know the answer is yes liao ma.

BuShuang
06-12-2006, 02:51 PM
i'm seldom play games but heavy BT, p2p usage... I bought this router... so far so gd :)

PDA_lover
06-12-2006, 02:55 PM
ANy idea what is the price for DGL 4100? any shop to buy it from?

ventin
06-12-2006, 10:54 PM
hi, i just bought this router. did port forwarding but i still cant host game. any solution?

Jas007
06-12-2006, 11:21 PM
ANy idea what is the price for DGL 4100? any shop to buy it from?

ouch !!! you just reminded me of the pain i still hurting from the fact that i missed the opportunity to get one from Sitex at $39 !!!
i saw Challenger selling this @ .......... $129 !!! (promotion price too !!!) :s13:

the DGL 4300 ... $219 !!! thk from SE Asia Funan (dunno whether name of shop rite anot)
and possibly the 4100 @ $119

*EDITED*
wah .. just noticed my Deluxe Membership activated liao !!! :s13:

dakl2000
06-12-2006, 11:27 PM

Why not? In fact, I have both the wireless and non-wireless models. :)

liangtam
06-12-2006, 11:36 PM
Why not? In fact, I have both the wireless and non-wireless models. :)
You oso got it at $39 ah?

dakl2000
06-12-2006, 11:43 PM
You oso got it at $39 ah?

No leh. I bought both much earlier.

WheelOftime
07-12-2006, 01:08 AM
i got 4100 @ sitex for 39. But don't dare to update to US 1.7. Wait not compatible .

Liz
07-12-2006, 01:33 AM
I am planning to buy this router too. I have a question. Currently on MOL 6500, but coming Dec 28th, upgrading to 12 Mbps. I am still using the ancient Motorola SURFboard SB3100 (since 2001 till now), will this modem work with the router? If I want to get a new modem, any recommendations? Thanks in advance!!

changing
07-12-2006, 06:51 AM
hi everyone, im using DGL4300 n previously was DI- 624, i enjoy gaming n downloading at the same time. i switch to streaming, i still can download in my bitcomet. Wonderful router.
above was in wireless mode.

currently i got 1 extra DGL 4300, brand new in sealed package. going for 170SGD and above.
Anyone interested, can PM me
thx

Montoya
08-12-2006, 11:44 PM
it really seemed that dlink actually does customised firmware for each country. the UK firmware got some things which are different frm dlink US changelog.

1.7 UK changelog

Problems Resolved:
1. UPnP issues fixed.
2. Timezone and Daylight saving in Manual mode support.
3. Disable gaming rule is displayed when a rule is disabled.
4. Duplicated Inbound Filter Rules not allowed on the Inbound Filter Page
5. RTSP ALG issue resolved.

1.7 US Changelog

NAT endpoint filtering enabled.
¤ Removed references to 11n mode under WEP in the Basic Wireless Page as well as the Help file.

liangtam
08-12-2006, 11:56 PM
it really seemed that dlink actually does customised firmware for each country. the UK firmware got some things which are different frm dlink US changelog.

1.7 UK changelog

Problems Resolved:
1. UPnP issues fixed.
2. Timezone and Daylight saving in Manual mode support.
3. Disable gaming rule is displayed when a rule is disabled.
4. Duplicated Inbound Filter Rules not allowed on the Inbound Filter Page
5. RTSP ALG issue resolved.

1.7 US Changelog

NAT endpoint filtering enabled.
¤ Removed references to 11n mode under WEP in the Basic Wireless Page as well as the Help file.
I just tested the v1.7 firmware. The one offered by D-Link UK is the same file that D-Link SG support sent me in email when I probe them for it(tested with md5 and sha1 hash). As stated in earlier post, I think the one on D-Link UK is outdated by a month or so compared to the one on the US website.

chaicka
09-12-2006, 12:13 AM
Functionality and Stability - both the same?

misato
09-12-2006, 01:09 AM
just an interesting question.
is there anywhere to add in additional perimeter for DHCP server function of the DGL-4300?
ie to include WINS address, raw options like 183 used for IP phone etc..

chaicka
09-12-2006, 08:59 AM
just an interesting question.
is there anywhere to add in additional perimeter for DHCP server function of the DGL-4300?
ie to include WINS address, raw options like 183 used for IP phone etc..
No CLI thus I doubt so...

misato
09-12-2006, 09:42 AM
out of topic.. but can those linksys hacked firmware do the job?

Montoya
09-12-2006, 05:47 PM
had another try @ updating the router to 1.7 firmware. Did a hard reset after the flash. But it just seemed that the router doesn't like it as it'll auto reboot itself whenever any wireless client tries to connect to it. (much worser than last time round)

tried both the US & UK firmware but in either of the firmware, upload speeds were somehow affected as under Gamefuel, the auto uplink detection can't seem to get any higher than 200kbps. While using ver 1.6 firmware I could hit 360kbps upload.

bryan09
10-12-2006, 01:09 AM
Just got mine this afternoon :D

http://resized.filevend.com/anon/wkEPUR0g.jpg

Any good settings to tweak? :)

bryan09
10-12-2006, 01:40 AM
Strange, I made the settings for Static IP. Yet when I refresh my router screen, it's not updated. Have I done anything wrong?

http://resized.filevend.com/anon/jmHRnU7M.png

http://resized.filevend.com/anon/XUC42HcF.png

http://resized.filevend.com/anon/6DVHkPKX.jpg

liangtam
10-12-2006, 01:44 AM
Set in router DHCP portion

omnifinal
10-12-2006, 01:46 AM
I think that the last pic that show 192.168.0.101 & 192.168.0.102 is the IP given by your router through (DHCP) that y the router able to know which computer is using wat IP, but once u set Static IP, u have to maunally type in which IP is the one that going to set for "Open Port" or other etc setting.

Another way is u remain using DHCP, and set with your Router with this "MAC" Address with this "IP" Address.

bryan09
10-12-2006, 01:50 AM
Err, I'm sorry. A bit noob at this, can tell me like where to click to set?

Reason for me doing this because if let's say I particular set an open port 30 for *.102 computer, yet when I reboot, my IP changes. Means the port 30 is not open for that new IP. That's why I want to set static.

bryan09
10-12-2006, 01:54 AM
Okay I hope I got this correct!

http://resized.filevend.com/anon/QXw4j2BY.jpg

omnifinal
10-12-2006, 02:02 AM
One of the way is u can at the last pic that u mention manual type in the 192.168.0.100. (You can try this)

Another way is remain using DHCP, and the Page where the DHCP Range (I think at Basic than Left side got a DHCP Section) Below that you can assign Static DHCP to the DHCP clients connected, which they call DHCP Reservation. Once enabled you will see a drop down box with your computers name on it and the local IP address that DHCP gave your computer. If you can’t find your computers name, under Windows XP click on Start / Control Panel / System / Computer Name and below that you will see a name that is usually a name with an alphanumeric combination. Once you have selected your computer in the drop down, all the info will fill out and from there click on Save. You now have a Static DHCP assigned to your computer.

*Yeah Seem like u got it right, if u still did not get the IP u wan try at "cmd" type -> ipconfig/release (than) -> ipconfig/renew *

bryan09
10-12-2006, 02:06 AM
One of the way is u can at the last pic that u mention manual type in the 192.168.0.100. (You can try this)

Another way is remain using DHCP, and the Page where the DHCP Range (I think at Basic than Left side got a DHCP Section) Below that you can assign Static DHCP to the DHCP clients connected, which they call DHCP Reservation. Once enabled you will see a drop down box with your computers name on it and the local IP address that DHCP gave your computer. If you can’t find your computers name, under Windows XP click on Start / Control Panel / System / Computer Name and below that you will see a name that is usually a name with an alphanumeric combination. Once you have selected your computer in the drop down, all the info will fill out and from there click on Save. You now have a Static DHCP assigned to your computer.

*Yeah Seem like u got it right, if u still did not get the IP u wan try at "cmd" type -> ipconfig/release (than) -> ipconfig/renew *

thank you so much for yr respond :) i got it solve! :)

yiptw89
25-02-2007, 08:52 AM
is this the best gaming router for gaming? is this still selling? how much is the price now?

richneo
25-02-2007, 11:11 AM
is this the best gaming router for gaming? is this still selling? how much is the price now?
http://www.dlink.com.sg/images/instant-rebate/FestivePromo_DGL-4300.gif

http://www.dlink.com.sg/promo-1206.asp

Mankul
25-02-2007, 05:31 PM
http://www.dlink.com.sg/images/instant-rebate/FestivePromo_DGL-4300.gif

http://www.dlink.com.sg/promo-1206.asp
hmmm D-link and logitech combine forces :S

hondacivic06
26-02-2007, 08:33 PM
hi all, im new here, im currently using the linksys wrt54g router, and i am considering this gaming router. If i do not wish to change the SB4100 motorola modem and the linksys adaptor, can i still be able to squeeze out more speed than the wrt54g router?.

ur input is greatly appreciated. THKS

soloman2k5
06-04-2007, 06:23 PM
Is the DGL-4300 still avail in SG? any price info?

weibchen
06-04-2007, 06:24 PM
188 at mediapro.

soloman2k5
06-04-2007, 07:39 PM
188 at mediapro.Thanks alot for the promt reply :)

soloman2k5
06-04-2007, 07:43 PM
BTW, is this model still the best for P2P and gaming?

richneo
06-04-2007, 07:46 PM
BTW, is this model still the best for P2P and gaming?
if u have the budget, you can consider dir-655 $26x

supposed to be the better version of dgl-4300

wiShfulStone
06-04-2007, 09:13 PM
The DGL-4300 was $175 at the recent show.

bryan09
07-04-2007, 01:42 AM
i saw that above promotion at Challenger in Funan too.

firefrost
07-04-2007, 04:38 PM
any third party firmware for this? or the original firmware is good?

xorx
07-04-2007, 04:51 PM
any third party firmware for this? or the original firmware is good?
The original is good enough. My bt speed is better than before after changing to dgl-4300 from a linksys wrt54g with 3rd party firmware

firefrost
07-04-2007, 10:24 PM
yep yep. definitely. I can bt and watch ppstream at the same time. previously with ddwrt and wrt54g cannot.

Gilch2
31-05-2007, 11:03 PM
i bought this dgl4300 today at the pc show for $175
wahahaha, beats my old crappy ver7 wrt54g by a zillion times!
just updated firmware to 1.6 :D

just wanna know how many max global connections can this router support? (utorrent)
can anyone help me on this?

its supporting 2 coms tat does normal surfing~ only one com uses BT
wats the max global connection i should set? :)

i'm on MOL12k

cpuer
31-05-2007, 11:11 PM
i bought this dgl4300 today at the pc show for $175
wahahaha, beats my old crappy ver7 wrt54g by a zillion times!
just updated firmware to 1.6 :D

just wanna know how many max global connections can this router support? (utorrent)
can anyone help me on this?

its supporting 2 coms tat does normal surfing~ only one com uses BT
wats the max global connection i should set? :)
Good price you have gotten. The latest fw i think is 1.8 already.

I just simply set to 2000, as long as my BT works nicely, i dint bother how much more I can go.

Gilch2
31-05-2007, 11:17 PM
i downloaded 1.6firmware off dlink.com.sg
still got latest one?

max connection 2k?
i'm using utor 1.6.1
hmm anyone has any settings tat i can refer to?
thanks in advance! :D

willietan86
01-06-2007, 08:51 AM
still got latest one?

max connection 2k?
i'm using utor 1.6.1
http://games.dlink.com/products/support.asp?pid=370&sec=4#firmware

Use firefox and upgrade your firmware to 1.8. 1.6 very old already

cpuer
01-06-2007, 09:03 AM
still got latest one?

max connection 2k?
i'm using utor 1.6.1
dlink sg webby always keeping very dated fw, not sure why.

richneo
01-06-2007, 09:08 AM
cos newer firmware can always be downloaded from usa website?

kaon
03-06-2007, 08:50 PM
I just bought one from SLS, $180.
I forgot to check if it supported SNMP, (which DD-WRT includes), I flashed to fw: 1.8 and I still don't see SNMP.

For those unfamiliar with SNMP, these are very useful:
MRTG: http://oss.oetiker.ch/mrtg/
STG, a free realtime lightweight MRTG: http://leonidvm.chat.ru/

Is SNMP possible in the DGL-4300?

misato
03-06-2007, 10:53 PM
I just bought one from SLS, $180.
I forgot to check if it supported SNMP, (which DD-WRT includes), I flashed to fw: 1.8 and I still don't see SNMP.

For those unfamiliar with SNMP, these are very useful:
MRTG: http://oss.oetiker.ch/mrtg/
STG, a free realtime lightweight MRTG: http://leonidvm.chat.ru/

Is SNMP possible in the DGL-4300?
Hi kaon, saw your pm but too late, you could have saved nearly 50%.

on your question,
No snmp support for DGL-4300.

Montoya
03-06-2007, 11:06 PM
actually any version above 1.6 has various issues.

1.8 is no doubt new but gamefuel doesn't work properly

kaon
04-06-2007, 01:25 AM
No snmp support for DGL-4300.
arrgh... then i've bought wrongly!

Does DIR 655 have SNMP?

How about polling SNMP from Motorola SB5100 CM? (Starhub MOL plan)

borntowin
04-06-2007, 04:22 AM
Are you buying a home use router or a business router? Running a SNMP for a MOL Plan so important to you? If that so, you should not buy 4300. Your home work aint good enough. Sorry I am blunt. But I am telling stating the fact.

Marill
04-06-2007, 08:09 AM
this d-link 4300 can support more than 6000 simultaneous connections without dropping a single connection.... whereas the wrt54g after 16 simultaneous connections it will already start dropping connections.... this is tested at the Tom's Networking site.

cpuer
04-06-2007, 08:48 AM
Bring the DGL4300 back to the shop and ask for a downgrade to Buffalo WHR-HP-G54, non Ubicom, but Broadcom chip. Not as good in BT but since DD-WRT runs on it, you can have your SNMP.

WHR-HP-G54 is selling for $99. Some shops allow swapping and letting you get other stuffs to top up the price diff.

http://www.buffalo-asia.com/cgi-bin/products/detail.cgi?country=sg&code=4&id=81

BizMinor
04-06-2007, 08:58 AM
this d-link 4300 can support more than 6000 simultaneous connections without dropping a single connection.... whereas the wrt54g after 16 simultaneous connections it will already start dropping connections.... this is tested at the Tom's Networking site.
heh the buffalo, other then suffering the same problems as wrt54g, it is also famous for another thing..

the ugly design :D :s13:

cpuer
04-06-2007, 09:03 AM
heh the buffalo, other then suffering the same problems as wrt54g, it is also famous for another thing..

the ugly design :D :s13:
Beauty is to the eyes of beholder, I thought it looks pretty cool. :D

For $99, don't see what's wrong about it.

http://www.buffalo-asia.com/file/products/p_1136526067_pl1.jpg

BizMinor
04-06-2007, 09:11 AM
hehe its better to go for more reputable and stable routers hehehehe

quanfatt
08-06-2007, 11:49 AM
Hi everyone me new here first post.

bought a DGL-4100 then found out only 1 year warranty.
and DGL-4300 is lifetime warranty.

Is it possible to go back to the shop to change?
Or should i stick with DGL-4100.

But then DGL-4100 rocks. never BT so fast before can hit about 500+Kb/s. On MOL 12k.

liangtam
08-06-2007, 09:13 PM
Bring back say you want change lor.

AS1
08-06-2007, 10:16 PM
the first few pages like the pics all gone?

richneo
08-06-2007, 10:21 PM
cos it was hosted on photoi

ZeroDivine
14-06-2007, 03:24 AM
Hi, any idea hw much is this router nw?
thinking of getting this. How is the wireless performance?
the BT performance good? getting mainly for download.. nt alot on gaming.

keigo
14-06-2007, 08:11 AM
Hi, any idea hw much is this router nw?
thinking of getting this. How is the wireless performance?
the BT performance good? getting mainly for download.. nt alot on gaming.

wireless performance DIR-655 is better than DGL-4300

ZeroDivine
14-06-2007, 09:45 AM
how about 635?
I will be using my laptop's wireless(B/G) to connect, not planning to get the N pcmcia card, too much to spend. do u think the 635 will still have the edge over the dgl4300?

keigo
14-06-2007, 10:20 AM
how about 635?
I will be using my laptop's wireless(B/G) to connect, not planning to get the N pcmcia card, too much to spend. do u think the 635 will still have the edge over the dgl4300?

DIR-635 and DIR-655 both using Atheros xSpan for wireless lan, so performance should be comparable.

Correct me if I am wrong.

richneo
14-06-2007, 10:30 AM
DIR-635 and DIR-655 both using Atheros xSpan for wireless lan, so performance should be comparable.

Correct me if I am wrong.
yes they are using the same atheros Xspan chipset..

hwm june edition put marvell topdog tsk tsk tsk.. the writer never do research hehehe

alexsoon1984
15-06-2007, 01:23 AM
Ok here comes the biggest noob of all. I know absolutely nothing about wireless technology.

(Q1) What equipment do i need to set up wireless network in my house? Router and ???

(Q2) Is the DGL-4300 Gaming Router compatible with Starhub maxonline service?

Raptor1
15-06-2007, 01:43 AM
Hi, just testing my luck here, anybody have any secondhand DGL-4300 for sale? Looking forward to get 1 when i fly back singapore on the 23rd of june. ^^

Yours,
Raptor1

Marill
15-06-2007, 08:16 AM
you need router and wireless cards for your PCs.... and come cables for your routers.

yes, dgl-4300 can work on maxonline..

richneo
15-06-2007, 09:27 AM
Hi, just testing my luck here, anybody have any secondhand DGL-4300 for sale? Looking forward to get 1 when i fly back singapore on the 23rd of june. ^^

Yours,
Raptor1
try pm misato

not sure if he has dgl-4300 left

keigo
15-06-2007, 06:47 PM

Yours,
Raptor1

How much you offering? I thinking of selling and get DIR-655.

ZeroDivine
16-06-2007, 12:57 AM
eh guys, do u think there will be increase in the way the bandwidth are handled?
using a d-link di-824vup+ , do u think using dgl4300 with the gamefuel and qos thingy can make it handle BT and surfing traffic better?
or not much difference?

Marill
16-06-2007, 01:10 AM
eh guys, do u think there will be increase in the way the bandwidth are handled?
using a d-link di-824vup+ , do u think using dgl4300 with the gamefuel and qos thingy can make it handle BT and surfing traffic better?
or not much difference?Yes, because you can set priority of DNS and web traffic to be higher priority and BT and FTP, etc to be lower priority....

so when you or your bro or your sis happily BT or FTP-ing away, you web browsing won't be really affected so much.

ZeroDivine
16-06-2007, 01:29 AM
great to hear that!
keigo: if u r selling, pls pm me the price. won't mind getting 2nd hand if the cond is excellent and price is right :)
kinda tight on budget :D

radon
17-06-2007, 06:39 PM
I'm also interested in getting a 2nd one. PM me if anyone selling. Thanks.

Techno Pride
23-06-2007, 10:25 PM
I remember there's a wired version of this. What's the model no and price? (I don't want nor need wireless)

thanks.

wiShfulStone
23-06-2007, 10:36 PM
I remember there's a wired version of this. What's the model no and price? (I don't want nor need wireless)

thanks.
4100, not sure if the lifetime warranty applies to the non wireless version though

liangtam
23-06-2007, 10:45 PM
DGL4100 is 1 year. I sold it just the start of this week. :)

KT1855
24-06-2007, 05:22 AM
4100, not sure if the lifetime warranty applies to the non wireless version though

Lifetime warranty only applies to wireless routers..

Techno Pride
24-06-2007, 01:12 PM
DGL4100 is 1 year. I sold it just the start of this week. :)

:mad: .

:D

KT1855
29-06-2007, 03:57 PM
Just junked my D-link Di 624+ for DGL 4300, bought it from Fuwell last week for $150..

Now i have stable DLs from you know where...

bryan09
29-06-2007, 04:03 PM
dgl-4300 has served me well for the past months. One of the best, if not the best consumer router till date :)

KT1855
29-06-2007, 04:08 PM
dgl-4300 has served me well for the past months. One of the best, if not the best consumer router till date :)

just got it... a lot better than my Di 624+. very happy with it... like the black colour and bright blue led lights. matches the rest of my setup..

Leaper_SG
17-07-2007, 05:38 PM
Hi guys, may i know which wireless adapter is best to match up with DGL-4300? e.g. Got adapter for 108Mbps Super-G?

spideymung
20-08-2007, 11:52 AM
Hi guys, my DGL4300 got hit by lightning n it would not switch on, i got a new adapter n tot it was ok, but still could not connect to the internet.

Checked the logs section and it kept saying the router timed out waiting for a PPPoE connection.

Think the lightning might have hit my WAN port also?? Any thoughts??

liangtam
20-08-2007, 02:51 PM
Hi guys, my DGL4300 got hit by lightning n it would not switch on, i got a new adapter n tot it was ok, but still could not connect to the internet.

Checked the logs section and it kept saying the router timed out waiting for a PPPoE connection.

Can you confirm that your modem is working??
Which model was it??

Montoya
20-08-2007, 06:59 PM
any idea how to set the gamefuel settings for firmware ver 1.8. can't seem to set tcp ports to lower priority lehz... set to 255 but it still auto set to 128.

spideymung
20-08-2007, 08:11 PM
Can you confirm that your modem is working??
Which model was it??

My modem is definitely working, it got fried too, using the new aztech 605E now.

liangtam
20-08-2007, 09:59 PM
Was saying, if the modem is in bridged mode and is accepting bridge thru connection.

spideymung
20-08-2007, 10:21 PM
Was saying, if the modem is in bridged mode and is accepting bridge thru connection.

Yup, its in bridged mode...everything seems fine...just that the router wont connect. Am using PPPoE mode.

liangtam
20-08-2007, 10:54 PM
Yup, its in bridged mode...everything seems fine...just that the router wont connect. Am using PPPoE mode.
You wan testing it with Windows inbuilt PPPoE dialer to ensure that the modem does work fine?

I am not sure if the 605E can work in half bridge not, like the previous Aztech 305E. If it is the case, you can configure the unit to connect in to SingNet, followed which the router can be configured to Dynamic IP for WAN.

KT1855
21-08-2007, 01:03 AM

Go to D-Link and RMA for new one.. its lifetime warranty.

spideymung
21-08-2007, 10:23 AM
Go to D-Link and RMA for new one.. its lifetime warranty.

I got the router 2nd hand. So i dun have the receipt for it. But thru my serial number found the distributor. Will i be able to get a new one? Any terms and conditions to RMA for a new one?

spideymung
21-08-2007, 10:26 AM
You wan testing it with Windows inbuilt PPPoE dialer to ensure that the modem does work fine?

I am not sure if the 605E can work in half bridge not, like the previous Aztech 305E. If it is the case, you can configure the unit to connect in to SingNet, followed which the router can be configured to Dynamic IP for WAN.

Yeah, i was using the 305E wit no problems until it got hit. Thats why i think its the damn router bridge function. Is there any modem that will act purely as a modem??

Btw, i can connect to the net fine wit the windows PPPoE dialer.

Tradingeyes
21-08-2007, 10:41 AM
Yeah, i was using the 305E wit no problems until it got hit. Thats why i think its the damn router bridge function. Is there any modem that will act purely as a modem??

Btw, i can connect to the net fine wit the windows PPPoE dialer.
One pure modem would be Siemens SpeedStream 4100.

liangtam
21-08-2007, 11:03 AM
I got the router 2nd hand. So i dun have the receipt for it. But thru my serial number found the distributor. Will i be able to get a new one? Any terms and conditions to RMA for a new one?
Ok ba, try bring to DLink serv ctr at IBP then, no need receipt.

chaicka
22-08-2007, 07:22 PM
One pure modem would be Siemens SpeedStream 4100.

SpeedStream 4100 is not a pure modem...it's oso a half-bridge.
In fact, the customized locked SingNet firmware for 4100 is half-bridge. The full retail one is a full router.

liangtam
22-08-2007, 07:53 PM
SpeedStream 4100 is not a pure modem...it's oso a half-bridge.
In fact, the customized locked SingNet firmware for 4100 is half-bridge. The full retail one is a full router.
There is a bug with half bridge on SS4100/5100, so its still recommended to use it in full bridge.
Besides, there is no PPPoA option.

LaVsy
27-09-2007, 08:46 PM
is this DGL4300 a good buy currently?

i believe the warranty is also lifetime right?
even after EOL, it will also be RMA with a newer router
am i right to say that? (mention in the 1st few pages of this thread)

because newer technology has been already out
this router have been more thn 2 years already

was considering WRT350N Wireless-N Gigabit Router with Storage Link and this.

Kamikazee
27-09-2007, 09:17 PM
i m still waiting for the D-link DGL-4300 price to fall below $150. when is the next coming PC show?

wiShfulStone
27-09-2007, 09:53 PM
is this DGL4300 a good buy currently?

i believe the warranty is also lifetime right?
even after EOL, it will also be RMA with a newer router
am i right to say that? (mention in the 1st few pages of this thread)

because newer technology has been already out
this router have been more thn 2 years already

was considering WRT350N Wireless-N Gigabit Router with Storage Link and this.
You can always wait for the upcoming 'N' 4500. Not officially announced but its coming :s12:

LaVsy
28-09-2007, 01:36 AM
DIR-655 good buy?

dun think is possible to wait already. my router have been down for weeks

http://www.engadget.com/2007/09/24/d-links-dgl-4500-gaming-router-breezes-by-the-fcc/
DGL-4500 Looks Very Nice
it was stated to be coming by this year Christmas
if it is that good i may consider getting a Cheap Wired Router 1st, to hold on for awhile

alternative for a good and promising wired router? any recommendation?

richneo
28-09-2007, 09:00 AM
wun be in singapore for at least 6months to 1 year or even longer i think.

no ABGN router is approved to sell in singapore i think

watever85
28-09-2007, 09:59 AM
so far for wat i noe i dun think 4300 will drop further....
i think the next coming show will haf a bit of drop but the next show is in the end of the yr

richneo
28-09-2007, 10:55 AM
seriously dun think will drop cos the price same for all shows

who noes they might not even sell like the sept show

watever85
28-09-2007, 11:02 AM
he best is to buy now.... since in need.. y wait for the price to drop?? show price will be the same jus dat the bundle is attractive la..

AttentioN
28-09-2007, 12:12 PM
DIR-655 good buy?

http://www.engadget.com/2007/09/24/d-links-dgl-4500-gaming-router-breezes-by-the-fcc/
DGL-4500 Looks Very Nice
if it is that good i may consider getting a Cheap Wired Router 1st, to hold on for awhile

655 is now $199 already... :o

liangtam
28-09-2007, 12:15 PM
DIR-655 good buy?

DGL-4500 Looks Very Nice

DGL4500, likely will NOT come anywhere soon.....
5Ghz band hard for approval??

Get DIR655 lor, quite cheap nowadays.

boxsurat
28-09-2007, 03:41 PM
655 is now $199 already... :o

would u kindly share where to buy with $199? now dlink promotion is $209

dlink promo (http://global.dlink.com.sg/site_images/promo/promosept2007.jpg)

thanks
:)

richneo
28-09-2007, 03:51 PM
would u kindly share where to buy with $199? now dlink promotion is $209

dlink promo (http://global.dlink.com.sg/site_images/promo/promosept2007.jpg)

thanks
:)
mediamart sls lvl 6

but i heard sold out liaoz. not sure got replenish or not

boxsurat
28-09-2007, 05:19 PM
mediamart sls lvl 6

but i heard sold out liaoz. not sure got replenish or not

thx will check later.

btw, pardon me if out of topic. just want to know this router compare Planex BRC-W14VG-BT.
i like the feature where u can plug external hd as NAS

Pengsp
30-09-2007, 12:29 PM
I saw Fuwell or Skylet also selling at 199 also, one of them check out.

devilcup
22-10-2007, 11:33 AM
Just got DGL 4300 at Laser 175, I rem i found one set left in fuwell at 159...

Dun wanna get DIR 655 with the N network is pretty new...

Works great! Alot Better than my previous router WRT54G ver2.2...

jasonhanjk
22-10-2007, 11:47 AM
My 4100 2 years still going strong.

devilcup
23-10-2007, 12:29 PM
Just wonder. Does the Gamefuel function like I-QOS in DIR 655?

i got a feeling it works ard the same.

if it does, this router is good :D

Liz
23-10-2007, 11:09 PM
Can anyone tell me how do I do a port forward with this router? I tried to follow the instruction on portforward.com but it does not work. Do I need to assign a static ip to my PC for the port forwarding to work?? I am using Starhub MaxOnline. Thanks!

devilcup
23-10-2007, 11:45 PM
Can anyone tell me how do I do a port forward with this router? I tried to follow the instruction on portforward.com but it does not work. Do I need to assign a static ip to my PC for the port forwarding to work?? I am using Starhub MaxOnline. Thanks!
under gaming in ur advance tab

u must set yr router to assign static ip to ur pc.

Liz
24-10-2007, 12:43 AM
under gaming in ur advance tab

u must set yr router to assign static ip to ur pc.

That was what I did...but it did not work previously..now it's working all of a sudden!
Anyway, thanks!! :)

devilcup
24-10-2007, 01:09 AM
That was what I did...but it did not work previously..now it's working all of a sudden!
Anyway, thanks!! :)
i suddenly use this router from linksys also a bit blur... but then the basic things are the same!

fadzuli
01-11-2007, 02:16 PM
hmm intending to get this router but my current config is a 2in1 adsl cum wireless router, dsl-2640t...can i connect my current router to e 4300 n still get the intended speeds?

liangtam
01-11-2007, 03:39 PM
hmm intending to get this router but my current config is a 2in1 adsl cum wireless router, dsl-2640t...can i connect my current router to e 4300 n still get the intended speeds?
You can use the DGL4300 together, but what do you mean by intended speed?

fadzuli
01-11-2007, 10:04 PM
wat i mean is that, do i get the speeds / latency of the 4300 or the dsl-2640t?? then do i jus plug the ethernet from the 2640t to a lan port in the 4300??

oh n liangtam...regardging that time u helped me out with my wireless, apparently the adapter wasn't working. so had to RMAed it. thanks for ur help back then :)

Yuichi
06-11-2007, 08:16 PM
may i know where can i get this router?

been searching for it.

do let me know the current price if possible.

PholkLorr
08-11-2007, 01:24 AM
Just bought one from Laser@169. It seemed like the last one though. There was another shop(i forgot the name) selling for $189. Huge price disparity

caltex88
19-11-2007, 01:37 PM
hw do i port forward if i'm using wireless ??

liangtam
19-11-2007, 06:19 PM
hw do i port forward if i'm using wireless ??
The method is still the same as if you hook your device by wired.

Biogentic
24-11-2007, 11:36 PM
can tis be use with singnet 10mbps plan?

animeonegai
24-11-2007, 11:37 PM
can you use this router with another brand of usb wireless cards?

liangtam
24-11-2007, 11:50 PM
Yes to both questions.

junhui98
25-11-2007, 12:37 AM
can you use this router with another brand of usb wireless cards?

recommend to use DWL-G520. This monster can support wireless up to 108Mbps.

Raptor1
27-11-2007, 09:31 AM
Hi, anybody knows if this router supports jumbo frame? I am hoping to enable it along with my NAS-01G

liangtam
27-11-2007, 09:10 PM
Hi, anybody knows if this router supports jumbo frame? I am hoping to enable it along with my NAS-01G
No.
Your NIC must also support jumbo frames to take advantage. Also, each chip/manufacturer might implement jumbo frames differently, so fragmentation might occur.

Vix_84
28-11-2007, 12:02 AM
hi dear bros, i have been using DGL-4300 for almost 2 years i think. but recently its getting really really slow. i mean my net speed. be it normal surfing net or direct download from ftp or wteva... jus slow.. Is there anything wrong wif it? or how do i go about checking it?

Please help, thank you :)

P/S: I'm Using ST585 v5. was thinking will it be faster if i were to unbridge it back to normal ST585 and use the router alone, wil that fix the prob anot.

Montoya
28-11-2007, 07:02 AM
hi dear bros, i have been using DGL-4300 for almost 2 years i think. but recently its getting really really slow. i mean my net speed. be it normal surfing net or direct download from ftp or wteva... jus slow.. Is there anything wrong wif it? or how do i go about checking it?

Please help, thank you :)

P/S: I'm Using ST585 v5. was thinking will it be faster if i were to unbridge it back to normal ST585 and use the router alone, wil that fix the prob anot.

tried those speed test with direct connection vs router connection??

Vix_84
28-11-2007, 10:52 AM
tried those speed test with direct connection vs router connection??
nopez, cos do not know how to unbridge my modem. T_T lol :p

Can any bros teach me how to unbridge my ST585 v5 mah? :) Thanks

lordie
28-11-2007, 05:18 PM
i am currently using DIR-655 the dlink works great tho. qns how can i get wireeless N on it. sorry n00b qns. i am running a Asus G1s which supports wireless N and the 655 also supports wireless N but i seems to connect at wireless g and i use the WPA/WPA2 authentication thingy.

any advice?

liangtam
28-11-2007, 05:29 PM
nopez, cos do not know how to unbridge my modem. T_T lol :p

Can any bros teach me how to unbridge my ST585 v5 mah? :) Thanks

Poke the reset button lor...

Vix_84
29-11-2007, 11:50 AM
Poke the reset button lor...
oh so easy nia r? but i scared wait i reset le, den w/o dgl-4300 will be much slower how? sobz.. scared sia, cos i forget how to bridge back liaoz..

edit: whats the ip address to enter the ST 585 router page ? sorry forgotton le.

thank u :)

edit 2: eh? cant find the reset button lol.. -_-"

darkmatt
04-01-2008, 01:15 AM
i would get this router if the WAN port was 10/100/1000...

richneo
04-01-2008, 01:18 AM
i would get this router if the WAN port was 10/100/1000...
for around the same price u can get dir-655 with a faster and stronger processor, gigabit wan and lan port which is 10/100/1000 mbps plus wireless N :D

darkmatt
04-01-2008, 01:53 AM
for around the same price u can get dir-655 with a faster and stronger processor, gigabit wan and lan port which is 10/100/1000 mbps plus wireless N :D

but i want the gamefuel thing coz i FT gamer..lol.. or is the 655 better than gamefuel?

richneo
04-01-2008, 09:15 AM
but i want the gamefuel thing coz i FT gamer..lol.. or is the 655 better than gamefuel?
gamefuel is just qos keke u can have the same effect if u set qos in dir-655 correctly :D

else u can order dgl-4500 from overseas online shop :s34:

darkmatt
04-01-2008, 10:33 PM
gamefuel is just qos keke u can have the same effect if u set qos in dir-655 correctly :D

else u can order dgl-4500 from overseas online shop :s34:'

where can i get the dir-655 from?

?nd can u tell me the QoS configs when i get my router? =X

thanks

richneo
04-01-2008, 10:50 PM
dir-655 u can get from sls or funan or all major computer shop mah

darkmatt
05-01-2008, 01:48 AM
dir-655 u can get from sls or funan or all major computer shop mah

challenger have rite?

richneo
05-01-2008, 01:50 AM
have .

ideatalk
05-01-2008, 09:06 AM
does anyone knows what price is challenger selling price for member?

steventay
05-01-2008, 12:37 PM

else u can order dgl-4500 from overseas online shop :s34:

what qos setting?

feeler
16-01-2008, 05:48 PM
any tips on how to configure the GAMEFUEL setup for World of Warcraft?

liangtam
16-01-2008, 06:08 PM
any tips on how to configure the GAMEFUEL setup for World of Warcraft?

Its supposedly automatic. Check active session if u wan know whether if its right.
Manual entries can also be filled, but you will need to get IP of the server and/or port.

n0d3
20-06-2008, 01:55 PM
Anybody has any experience how to configure HTTP requests (surfing) to be a priority using gamefuel? Sometimes my sister uploads stuff (e.g. photos) and surfing becomes damn slow.

shadowandy
20-06-2008, 05:25 PM
Anybody has any experience how to configure HTTP requests (surfing) to be a priority using gamefuel? Sometimes my sister uploads stuff (e.g. photos) and surfing becomes damn slow.

prioritize destination port 80/TCP

n0d3
20-06-2008, 07:12 PM
prioritize destination port 80/TCP

How about DNS requests? I remember seeing that somewhere. Or is there no need?

shadowandy
21-06-2008, 12:31 AM
if you wish you could, for mine i prioritize http (80/tcp), https (443/tcp), dns (53/udp)

ventin
03-07-2008, 09:10 AM
Hi all,
i faced this problem and need some help. My laptop can connect to the router wirelessly but not via cable. It says there is an IP conflict with another system on the network.

How to solve this?

Montoya
03-07-2008, 07:00 PM
Hi all,
i faced this problem and need some help. My laptop can connect to the router wirelessly but not via cable. It says there is an IP conflict with another system on the network.

How to solve this?

enable DHCP on all your pcs

liangtam
03-07-2008, 07:13 PM
check IP binding in dhcp list

reanimator
11-07-2008, 10:58 AM
Mine is a direct reverse of his problem. I can connect with a cable, but not to the router wirelessly. Unable assign an IP Address to the Laptop.

ventin
13-07-2008, 10:04 PM
haha, all ip put auto loh but like dat i dont know if the game fuel still works as the ip every time is different.

liangtam
13-07-2008, 10:57 PM
Mine is a direct reverse of his problem. I can connect with a cable, but not to the router wirelessly. Unable assign an IP Address to the Laptop.

Check your wireless encryption entry, chances are, it is incorrect.

chaicka
29-09-2008, 12:47 AM
Firmware v1.9 is out ;)

Change Log:
¤ Removed Wireless Super G with static mode.
¤ Fixed wireless page setup wizard linking to wrong page issue.
¤ Remove WAN port mode.

Montoya
29-09-2008, 07:15 AM
Firmware v1.9 is out ;)

Change Log:
¤ Remove WAN port mode.

any stability issues with gamefuel??

chaicka
29-09-2008, 07:24 PM
Haven't got the time to perform the upgrade. Probably weekend bah...

keigo
29-09-2008, 07:56 PM
not much changes in the log though

Montoya
29-09-2008, 08:01 PM
Haven't got the time to perform the upgrade. Probably weekend bah...

alright. do check on gamefuel as it doesn't seem to work properly in 1.8 firmware

liangtam
29-09-2008, 08:08 PM
flash urself lor, shld be able to flash back 1.7 if not working

Desolator
01-10-2008, 11:29 AM
I m a SNBB user, under the WAN setting, there are Static, DHCP, PPPoE, PPTP and L2TP. How come dun have PPPoA?

chaicka
01-10-2008, 01:20 PM
I m a SNBB user, under the WAN setting, there are Static, DHCP, PPPoE, PPTP and L2TP. How come dun have PPPoA?

PPPoA is only available in xDSL CPEs (aka modems/routers/gateways that has inbuild ADSL module/chipset).

You need to understand what is PPPoA.

liangtam
01-10-2008, 01:36 PM
Becos there is no ATM interface developed for consumer equip anymore.

oahiyeel
01-10-2008, 03:16 PM
My DDNS in the DGL4300 don't seem to be working. Everytime i check log it say the server return unknown response. anyone have this problem? how to solve it?

chaicka
13-10-2008, 12:47 AM
My DDNS in the DGL4300 don't seem to be working. Everytime i check log it say the server return unknown response. anyone have this problem? how to solve it?

Use dyndns.org as the server name instead of www.dyndns.com and it should work.

chaicka
13-10-2008, 12:48 AM
Firmware v1.9 is out ;)

Change Log:
¤ Remove WAN port mode.
Upgraded to version 1.9 firmware and it's working stable.

New Feature:
- Microsoft Windows Connect Now
-

Greatwolf
20-10-2008, 04:11 AM
Does anyone happen to know what chipset/processor it uses internally and how much RAM and flash memory is on it? Like eg. is it a broadcom base processor or atheros or something else? What MHz speed is that chip running at?

Also, how would you setup dgl-4300 to give priority to VoIP traffic like Ventrilo and Teamspeak? It's hard to add rules into gamefuel to do this since it only offers classification based on IP addresses and ports. Obviously you can't classify Vent and TS packets based on those criteria since it's dependent on server your connecting to.

Thanks

liangtam
20-10-2008, 08:32 PM
err, if u have the unit, u can open up to take a look at the specs, u know?
this model don't think on sale le bah

wiShfulStone
21-10-2008, 09:20 PM
I think smallnetbuilder might have that info, they opened it I think.

CarteBlanche
21-10-2008, 09:30 PM
Does anyone happen to know what chipset/processor it uses internally and how much RAM and flash memory is on it? Like eg. is it a broadcom base processor or atheros or something else? What MHz speed is that chip running at?

Also, how would you setup dgl-4300 to give priority to VoIP traffic like Ventrilo and Teamspeak? It's hard to add rules into gamefuel to do this since it only offers classification based on IP addresses and ports. Obviously you can't classify Vent and TS packets based on those criteria since it's dependent on server your connecting to.

Thanks

Please refer to the link below for the specs
http://www.dslreports.com/forum/r18308552-DLink-DIR655-vs-DGL4300-which-one

Greatwolf
22-10-2008, 03:21 PM
Thanks for the response all. That's what I'm looking for :)

kenloonglow
22-10-2008, 04:34 PM
So, basically we setup in the ADVANCED
1. Gaming
2. Access Control
3. MAC Address Filter
4. Firewall

These 4 only?

Those Virtual Server, Special Applications, GameFuel, Web Filter, Inbound Filter, Advance Wireless, Schedules etc in ADVANCED need to touch ?

http://www.altgamer.org/?p=597&page=3
http://www.extremetech.com/article2/0,1697,1746073,00.asp