View Full Version : D-Link Gaming Router DGL-4300 Impressive!
richneo
27-09-2005, 09:24 PM
After some considerations and saving up, i decided to give D-Link's Gaming Router DGL-4300 a shot.
I do massive file transfers between my laptop, desktop and my brother's laptop.
All of which are running on Gigabit port except my brother's laptop which is running on DWL-G650 Super G card.
http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/1974667003/bundle.jpg
http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/997819021/package.jpg
package comes with 5dBi antenna!
richneo
27-09-2005, 09:24 PM
I started off with NETIQ's benchmark.
1 Laptop is running G650 connected to 108Mbps to the router at a distance 5 meters away from router in my room. 1 Desktop is connected to wired LAN with a 20 meters lan cable at the living room.
http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/718277030/superg.jpg
Having a gigabit port on my new fujitsu s7020 laptop and my ASUS P4P800SE mobo, im very eager to test out the gigabit throuhput. Below is the test result.
http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/1961258592/gigabit.jpg
richneo
27-09-2005, 09:25 PM
Like uncle trichard, i tried some bit torrenting. I am running MOL 6500. Below is the screen shot. Hope im not as boasting.
http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/1165266851/bt.jpg
I decided to try out if D-Link's Gamefuel works. I turned on gamefuel in the settings and continued doing torrenting. I launched VOIP test from http://www.testyourvoip.com
I can say, the results is pretty impressive.
http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/2089874142/voip.jpg
http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/1221012491/voipbasic.jpg
richneo
27-09-2005, 09:25 PM
Darn Chio!!
http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/1539152718/chio.jpg
I'm very very impressed with this monster!!!
Picture speaks a thousand words....
VodkaDevil
27-09-2005, 09:59 PM
wahhh laooooo power xiaaaaa, 5dbi Ant ar?? i think my world of warcraft need this man!!! wonder how much is this? if its below 200SG will go and get one!! my router now......... X brand really cannot make it... ohh yah i think the blue LED and black casing is cool match my PC and of coz my PS2 hahahhahahahahahahahhaha
hangyong
27-09-2005, 10:01 PM
wahhh laooooo power xiaaaaa, 5dbi Ant ar?? i think my world of warcraft need this man!!! wonder how much is this? if its below 200SG will go and get one!! my router now......... X brand really cannot make it... ohh yah i think the blue LED and black casing is cool match my PC and of coz my PS2 hahahhahahahahahahahhaha
you can forget it then... its selling at $279 ah! damn expensive man....
richneo
27-09-2005, 10:16 PM
you can forget it then... its selling at $279 ah! damn expensive man....
hahaha u rich lar.. can afford cisco... i envy...
ooops
27-09-2005, 10:18 PM
You tested everything except playing online games thru it lei! :o
Can u test the online gaming part, wired n wireless, concurrently with the rest of your tests?.. :D
richneo
27-09-2005, 10:24 PM
You tested everything except playing online games thru it lei! :o
Can u test the online gaming part, wired n wireless, concurrently with the rest of your tests?.. :D
i dun play wow leh.. i oni play Maple.. but maple traffic not heavy wor...
maybe i ask my neighbour to access my gaming router and test gaming.
SamuelGoh21
27-09-2005, 10:33 PM
i dun play wow leh.. i oni play Maple.. but maple traffic not heavy wor...
maybe i ask my neighbour to access my gaming router and test gaming.
Hmm... WCG is here maybe you can supply for the gaming using wireless.. :D
Maybe your are right to get my neighbour to join me for a game.. :s13:
DOMHO7
27-09-2005, 10:55 PM
Looks impressive :D
hell_master
28-09-2005, 09:46 AM
I got play WOW but i never take screenshot yet lol.
I also using this router.
Wow i never realise the thru put so power lol.
Everyday pa game la bo eng do BT or limewire etc somemore dunno wat to download also.
But seriously speaking i play two online games before and both need to pay one is RYL2 and now is WOW.
RYL2 when i play with ordinary router hor will lag lo.Tamade change back to gaming router bo lag at all.In that malaysian game www.ryl2.com.my alot of ppl in there complaining abt lag n lag.I never complain before cos i can see that if it start to lag mostly is due to the server side.Once everyone in the game start to shout lag i will know its not my router problem anymore and its the game server lag.Even when i start to lag like hell i will change to using pure modem to test whether my router got problem or game server got problem.
In WOW the same thing.I got one time i got 16000ms of latency and i thought my router got problem change to pure modem den realise is the server that is lagging.I seriously never know wat is lag using this gaming router its worth my money.My sister using wireless doing downloading all these i never experience abit of nuisance also cos most routers when you do downloading and playing game online you will experience bad latency.I using Pacific net by the way so maybe later i go home and play get a screenshot.
richneo
28-09-2005, 09:54 AM
Hmm... WCG is here maybe you can supply for the gaming using wireless.. :D
Maybe your are right to get my neighbour to join me for a game.. :s13:
u kidding la...
i poor student where got like u earn big bucks...
took me so long to saved enuff just to buy this impressive gaming router not to mentioned still have the repay my uni school fees and the study loans i've taken....
where got money to supply to WCG?
PaLmEr
28-09-2005, 03:11 PM
Darn Chio!!
It'd better be considering the price compared to the other routers on the market.
hell_master
28-09-2005, 04:21 PM
By the way this one got lifetime warranty bo.
D Link imply that wireless router is lifetime warranty.
If its lifetime warranty my money is worth a lifetime too leh
MANA BO HUA LEH LOL :D
hangyong
28-09-2005, 04:44 PM
By the way this one got lifetime warranty bo.
D Link imply that wireless router is lifetime warranty.
If its lifetime warranty my money is worth a lifetime too leh
MANA BO HUA LEH LOL :D
anyway, life time also just the product's life.... once EOL, also no warranty liao... or many replace with new model during RMA...
richneo
28-09-2005, 08:05 PM
anyway, life time also just the product's life.... once EOL, also no warranty liao... or many replace with new model during RMA...
its confirmed unlimited lifetime warranty.
they told me that if it reaches EOL, they will replace with another model of equal value or above.
no nid to worry lar.. i kep[t telling myself its upgrade proof.
richneo
28-09-2005, 08:05 PM
It'd better be considering the price compared to the other routers on the market.
comparing this price with pre-N MIMO, i rather buy this...
zoomer
28-09-2005, 08:15 PM
Wat cables are you using?
mmatrix
28-09-2005, 08:23 PM
Can this router allows you to host internet games thru it without forwarding ports?
liangtam
28-09-2005, 08:33 PM
Can this router allows you to host internet games thru it without forwarding ports?
No, unless you go make one with A.I.
richneo
28-09-2005, 09:18 PM
Wat cables are you using?
starhub maxonline 6500
zoomer
28-09-2005, 10:07 PM
starhub maxonline 6500
No, what network cable are you using for gigabit? Isn't 60mbps quite low?
richneo
28-09-2005, 10:16 PM
No, what network cable are you using for gigabit? Isn't 60mbps quite low?
thats wireless SuperG.....
gigabit is around 700mbps
20meters lan cable and face plate crimp by myself one
IDZetc
28-09-2005, 10:30 PM
thats wireless SuperG.....
gigabit is around 700mbps
20meters lan cable and face plate crimp by myself one
I think what he meant is which type of cat cable you're using... for 100mbps, we usually use cat 5 cables, think for gigabit lan, there's cat 6 or cat 7...
richneo
28-09-2005, 10:32 PM
I think what he meant is which type of cat cable you're using... for 100mbps, we usually use cat 5 cables, think for gigabit lan, there's cat 6 or cat 7...
the cables wrote EHN Cat 5 FTP
i think he also mistook the 60mbps for wireless as gigabit.
IDZetc
28-09-2005, 10:56 PM
the cables wrote EHN Cat 5 FTP
i think he also mistook the 60mbps for wireless as gigabit.
I see, think you should upgrade your cables to get max performance out of your new router =)
richneo
28-09-2005, 10:59 PM
I see, think you should upgrade your cables to get max performance out of your new router =)
hmmm... maybe not for the time being.. too broke for a student like me... =)
hangyong
28-09-2005, 10:59 PM
er.. cat5e is also approved for gigabit network....
IDZetc
28-09-2005, 11:06 PM
er.. cat5e is also approved for gigabit network....
is it? thought they were recommending cat 6 and above or something for gigabit network?
anyway, here's more info...
Category 5 Cable (UTP) (Unshielded Twisted Pair)
A multipair (usually 4 pair) high performance cable that consists of twisted pair conductors, used mainly for data transmission. Note: The twisting of the pairs gives the cable a certain amount of immunity from the infiltration of unwanted interference. category-5 UTP cabling systems are by far, the most common (compared to SCTP) in the United States. Basic cat 5 cable was designed for characteristics of up to 100 MHz. Category 5 cable is typically used for Ethernet networks running at 10 or 100 Mbps.
Category 5 E Cable (enhanced)
Same as Category 5, except that it is made to somewhat more stringent standards (see comparison chart below). The Category 5 E standard is now officially part of the 568A standard. Category 5 E is recommended for all new installations, and was designed for transmission speeds of up to 1 gigabit per second (Gigabit Ethernet).
Category 6
Same as Category 5 E, except that it is made to a higher standard (see comparison chart below). The Category 6 standard is now officially part of the 568A standard.
Category 7
Same as Category 6, except that it is made to a higher standard (see comparison chart below). The Category 7 standard is still in the works (as of this writing) and is not yet part of the 568A standard. One major difference with category 7's construction (as compared with category 5, 5 E, and 6) is that all 4 pairs are individually shielded, and an overall shield enwraps all four pairs. Category 7 will use an entirely new connector (other than the familiar RJ-45).
source: http://www.lanshack.com/cat5e-tutorial.asp
me thinks better quality cable does help to some extent
Alphas
29-09-2005, 01:17 AM
Did you run BT on the back ground and FPS game at once. FPS not war craft, such as Quake, Counterstrike, how is the latency
liangtam
29-09-2005, 02:22 PM
Cat5e is good enough and is widely available.
I think if you run like this, it will be your PC that is choked and lagging instead of the router.
hell_master
29-09-2005, 04:01 PM
http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/1779853220/512k.jpg
Dunno if this works never attach pic before lol.
Stupid WOW when do screenshot need to edit cos its not in Jpg format.
Still figuring out how to edit kinda noob in editing stupid pics not in Jpg format.
This is when i do downloading fast or not i also dunno lol.
richneo
29-09-2005, 04:15 PM
http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/1779853220/512k.jpg
Dunno if this works never attach pic before lol.
Stupid WOW when do screenshot need to edit cos its not in Jpg format.
Still figuring out how to edit kinda noob in editing stupid pics not in Jpg format.
This is when i do downloading fast or not i also dunno lol.
hell_master
wat BB plan u on? pacnet 512k?
hell_master
29-09-2005, 05:04 PM
I ah using 56k modem la. :D
You dunno 56k very power meh WOLS lol.
Nah i using Pacnet 512k la.
52k/b fast or not.Not very good leh cos i using 512k should be getting more den 100k mah right.
fridayfool
29-09-2005, 05:20 PM
upz for a good product :)
liangtam
29-09-2005, 05:24 PM
512 divide by 8 = 64kbyte max. Rasonably good speed of 52kbyte.
myitlab
05-10-2005, 01:14 AM
Yes, it is expensive. But if in Malaysia it was abit more expensive. If you under budget try the DGL-4100, similiar unit but without wireless.
xxxboxer
05-10-2005, 09:59 AM
http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/1165266851/bt.jpg
damnit. using MOL ultimate... never get over 250kpbs even with over 100 seeds for each torrent...
wat setting u using? care to share? i using DGL4300 too
richneo
05-10-2005, 10:29 AM
not much setting.. i just open 1 port and forward it to my bitcomet.
xiao_zhu
05-10-2005, 11:15 AM
not much setting.. i just open 1 port and forward it to my bitcomet.
I'm on mol2000 and using bitcomet 0.6, i forward that damn port too but my downloading really "snail
moving". Cannot take it. It's too much. I pay so much per month yet got capped. **** them.
richneo
05-10-2005, 11:24 AM
I'm on mol2000 and using bitcomet 0.6, i forward that damn port too but my downloading really "snail
moving". Cannot take it. It's too much. I pay so much per month yet got capped. **** them.
den jump ship lor. no point complaining it in a wrong thread.
xiao_zhu
05-10-2005, 11:26 AM
den jump ship lor. no point complaining it in a wrong thread.
the last few replies have been on speed and so why can't I post here? What's wrong with ya?
richneo
05-10-2005, 11:29 AM
the last few replies have been on speed and so why can't I post here? What's wrong with ya?
i think its a open secret that mol 2000 does not perform reasonably with BT
xxxboxer
05-10-2005, 12:03 PM
tell me about it... i using ultimate leh... can't even hit a portion of his... even downloading via ftp locally also cannot hit the minimum estimate... :s22:
richneo
05-10-2005, 12:16 PM
tell me about it... i using ultimate leh... can't even hit a portion of his... even downloading via ftp locally also cannot hit the minimum estimate... :s22:
which estate u staying? sorry if u have mentioned this
which ftp site u downlaoding from? i try and post the results this evening
xiao_zhu
05-10-2005, 05:55 PM
huh? tell you about wat?
hell_master
07-10-2005, 11:49 AM
http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/927160453/wowscrnshot_100705_011411_1.jpg
Haha too busy these few days den so anyhow take snapshot this place is the HQ of the Hordes where there are more den 50 online players moving around somemore i in front of Auction house lol.
shadowandy
06-01-2006, 04:54 PM
feel like getting this router to priortise surfing web over other protocols.
any other places that sells this other than mediapro? cos the price list only captures mediapro price.
TIA
richneo
06-01-2006, 07:34 PM
feel like getting this router to priortise surfing web over other protocols.
any other places that sells this other than mediapro? cos the price list only captures mediapro price.
TIA
alot shop selling ah...
fuwell, skylet, chamoxa and challenger.
alot all selling...
shadowandy
06-01-2006, 11:19 PM
alot shop selling ah...
fuwell, skylet, chamoxa and challenger.
alot all selling...
oh thanks.. i normally use hwz priceguide to locate stuffs, as i seldom frequent sls.
But media pro prices is the best of the lot leh.
PornStar
07-01-2006, 04:26 PM
This may be a stupid question but here goes...
How do I know that I am optimising the use of this router in terms of its settings?
The manual doesn't seem to state much except for the setup and no info on the various options and settings within the control panel.
shadowandy
07-01-2006, 08:28 PM
But media pro prices is the best of the lot leh.
indeed it is the best of the lot
shadowandy
12-01-2006, 11:33 AM
I did a comparision on the uplink QoS at novia forums (http://novia.com.sg/forums/index.php?act=ST&f=9&t=11670)
linuxlover
12-01-2006, 03:36 PM
Good Product !
Thumb up !!!
Cheers
richneo
12-01-2006, 06:54 PM
I did a comparision on the uplink QoS at novia forums (http://novia.com.sg/forums/index.php?act=ST&f=9&t=11670)
ur VOIP results very similiar to mine
shadowandy
12-01-2006, 06:58 PM
ur VOIP results very similiar to mine
yeah, I did 4 different scenario instead. normal without QoS, normal with QoS, download staturated without QoS, download saturated with QoS
Revolution
15-01-2006, 04:45 PM
mol2k also can get good speeds ones.
before i upgrade my plan, i got hit near 100 for single torrent before, china site torrent seem to be better for my dls.
it was a mp4 movie .....health ard 6k+
bikerboi
10-02-2006, 07:12 PM
hi, as i'm new to networking stuff.
would it be possible to tell me exactly how to configure gamefuel such that CS is top of the priority list?
i do not know how to configure details like:
protocol
source ip range
source port range
dest. ip range
dest. port range.
any help would be greatly greatly thanks....
kennycheong05
27-06-2006, 09:40 AM
i have one also ............ hahaha download BT movie soooooo fast ^_^
muhahaha
PaLmEr
08-07-2006, 03:43 PM
hi, as i'm new to networking stuff.
would it be possible to tell me exactly how to configure gamefuel such that CS is top of the priority list?
protocol
source ip range
source port range
dest. ip range
dest. port range.
any help would be greatly greatly thanks....
TCP/UDP 27015-27016
PAPWPSDP
08-07-2006, 09:33 PM
Darn Chio!!
look real cool with blue led lights
seowbin
08-07-2006, 10:18 PM
this babe how much arh
PAPWPSDP
08-07-2006, 10:39 PM
this babe how much arh
seen it once leh !!!
think it cost bout S$150++ leh !!!
PAPWPSDP
08-07-2006, 10:40 PM
After some considerations and saving up, i decided to give D-Link's Gaming Router DGL-4300 a shot.
I do massive file transfers between my laptop, desktop and my brother's laptop.
All of which are running on Gigabit port except my brother's laptop which is running on DWL-G650 Super G card.
http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/1974667003/bundle.jpg
http://www.photoi.org/share/upload/997819021/package.jpg
package comes with 5dBi antenna!
can u give us more review ???
thanks dude...
seowbin
08-07-2006, 10:41 PM
seen it once leh !!!
icic.. given like that, looks worth the $ leh
but if u want fexibity, of coz linksys wrt54g those series win.. :s13:
but if want true performance, this one looks good wor
jacobwang
08-07-2006, 10:43 PM
seen it once leh !!!
U mean u saw the price from here?
http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showpost.php?p=19127487&postcount=7
bigfoot
08-07-2006, 11:06 PM
anybody selling dgl-4300? i am looking to buy one... can PM if u r selling... thanks.
hangyong
08-07-2006, 11:17 PM
seen it once leh !!!
I hope you will start to behave this time eddie00.
Anyway, it cost more than 150.
List price is $279 (comes with client)
retail price is below $100 (without client)
comex coming... not sure if will have offer.
PAPWPSDP
08-07-2006, 11:38 PM
I hope you will start to behave this time eddie00.
Anyway, it cost more than 150.
List price is $279 (comes with client)
retail price is below $100 (without client)
comex coming... not sure if will have offer.
who eddie00 ?????
TopCat_52
08-07-2006, 11:42 PM
this is a router by itself isit? so if using dsl must link to modem rite? would the modem affect the speed?
hangyong
08-07-2006, 11:47 PM
who eddie00 ?????
you came back as "Banned" in VRZone.
dun ask me how I know, your traces are always tracked, even if you change your IP address.
so please cut the act.
dun forget I am from the network field, tracking you down is a piece of cake.
Shinji_U
09-07-2006, 01:15 AM
This DGL-4300 is not bad, but not as powerful as embedded Linux Gateways... was using one with a Pentium 3 1GHz CPU and 512MB SDRAM....
Max connections of linux distro torrents, 5K and counting... download speed... choking my MOL6500 @ 580++KB/s... and not to forget... setup is cheaper than DGL-4300...
:D
Fusekazuki
09-07-2006, 02:32 AM
thinking of getting a 2nd router, wtr54g or this one? looks impressive
Fatfool
09-07-2006, 03:33 AM
This DGL-4300 is not bad, but not as powerful as embedded Linux Gateways... was using one with a Pentium 3 1GHz CPU and 512MB SDRAM....
Max connections of linux distro torrents, 5K and counting... download speed... choking my MOL6500 @ 580++KB/s... and not to forget... setup is cheaper than DGL-4300...
i'd like to see the power consumption ;)
PAPWPSDP
09-07-2006, 10:06 AM
how much u buy
Zerocool
09-07-2006, 01:56 PM
which distro/sw are use using for the purpose?
seowbin
09-07-2006, 03:03 PM
now u still can hit that speed arh?
TanKianW
09-07-2006, 03:44 PM
I'm using this gaming router having up to 3000+ connection max and DLing in 950+kbps using my SNBB10Mbps. 500+ DL speed is a norm to me.
PaLmEr
09-07-2006, 04:38 PM
current retail at SLS is $229 approx.
DarthKool
09-07-2006, 05:43 PM
which is a better choice for massive p2p downloads ? this dgl 4300 or the netgear rangemax wpnt834 ?
TanKianW
09-07-2006, 05:59 PM
no need to choose, this router of course.
bangky
09-07-2006, 06:51 PM
this DGL4300 does look interesting... btw, does it provide QoS functionality?
PaLmEr
09-07-2006, 07:16 PM
Hardware Interface 4 x 10/100/1000 Auto-Sensing Gigabit Ethernet LAN Ports
1 x 10/100 Auto-Sensing Fast Ethernet WAN Port
D-Link 108G Wireless Technology
Software Features GameFuel Priority Technology
Up to 256 Firewall Port Configurations
Access Control Policies (Parental Controls)
Internal and External System Logging
Static/Dynamic Routing
Oversized NAT table
Email Alerts
Wireless Distribution System (WDS)
Security WPA-Enterprise
WPA-Personal
64/128-bit WEP
MAC Filtering
External Antenna Type 1 - 5dBi detachable antenna
Standards IEEE 802.11g
IEEE 802.11b
IEEE 802.3
IEEE 802.3u
LEDs Power
WAN
WLAN (Wireless Connection)
LAN
Dimensions L = 7.5 inches (190.5mm)
W = 4.6 inches (116.84mm)
H = 1.375 inches (35mm)
Wireless Signal Rates* with Automatic Fallback D-Link 108G: 108Mbps
54Mbps
48Mbps
36Mbps
24Mbps
18Mbps
12Mbps
11Mbps
9Mbps
6Mbps
5.5Mbps
2Mbps
1Mbps
Power Input External Power Supply DC 5V, 2.5A
Fit for the True Online Gamer
Introducing GameFuel Priority Technology designed to provide the uninterrupted and latency-free gaming experience serious online gamers expect
Customized with game-centric features boasting maximum flexibility for configuration and performance
Unparalleled 802.11g wireless performance
Designed for the Gamers Network
Cutting-Edge Technology For Today and Tomorrow's Gamers Network
GameFuel Priority powered platform reduces latency and boosts network efficiency and performance
Intelligently manages and automatically prioritizes network traffic to better execute bandwidth-sensitive applications including VoIP and multimedia applications
Enhanced wireless technology for optimal range and connectivity up to 108Mbps*
High-Performance CPU to support thousands of concurrent connections ideal for P2P applications and multiplayer interactivity
Enables multi-tasking between other applications without degradation in game connection
Pre-configured ports to accommodate up to 256 policies for games and applications
Customizable settings to add or modify new applications or game configurations
Firmware upgrade notification feature keeps your new
D-Link Gaming Router up to date
Intimidation Never Looked This Good
One Fast Ethernet 10/100 WAN port which supports virtually all broadband Internet connections
Four Gigabit Ethernet 10/100/1000 auto-sensing LAN ports
5dBi high-gain antenna for exceptional wireless signal coverage
Fine-tuned web GUI enhancements for seamless device management
Play Your Games, Protect Your Network
Protect your wireless data with support for both Wi-Fi Protected Access (WPA) and 128-bit Wired Equivalent Privacy (WEP)
Integrated Stateful Packet Inspection (SPI) firewall and Network Address Translation (NAT) firewall help protect against hackers, wardrivers, and other unauthorized users
Create versatile Access Control policies to control network access based on time, date, websites, and/or applications
Disable SSID Broadcast and MAC Filtering features protect against unauthorized access from your wireless network
Supports Virtual Private Network (VPN) pass-through to create a secure connection to office networks
PAPWPSDP
09-07-2006, 08:14 PM
me using d-link 624+ with firmware 2.09 and very satisfed with the performance
PAPWPSDP
09-07-2006, 08:16 PM
current retail at SLS is $229 approx.
damm f ex leh !!!
liangtam
09-07-2006, 08:27 PM
damm f ex leh !!!
Hi eddie,
chiu know, pay peanuts get monkeys.
bangky
09-07-2006, 08:31 PM
Hi eddie,
chiu know, pay peanuts get monkeys.
scratches head.. how come SMC supporter become D-Link supporter liao.. :s11:
hangyong
09-07-2006, 09:58 PM
scratches head.. how come SMC supporter become D-Link supporter liao.. :s11:
and before that, one who insists that the adsl2mue can sync on Singnet ADSL2+ speed, and even before that, swears by the 2Wire 2700HG (which he threw away in the end)
chaicka
10-07-2006, 01:37 PM
That jus prove how trustworthy his words are...:s13:
TanKianW
10-07-2006, 02:38 PM
You guys so sure its eddie?? Wah, kana comdemn liao like that...
hangyong
10-07-2006, 03:02 PM
You guys so sure its eddie?? Wah, kana comdemn liao like that...
yes, I am 100% sure.... he is known as Banned in VRZ. Same avatar, same registration date, and both talks the same way, posts the same things, and horny like mad
PAPWPSDP
10-07-2006, 08:00 PM
yes, I am 100% sure.... he is known as Banned in VRZ. Same avatar, same registration date, and both talks the same way, posts the same things, and horny like mad
so what !!!
hangyong
10-07-2006, 08:09 PM
so what !!!
huh? only confirm only also cannot ah?
PaLmEr
10-07-2006, 08:12 PM
really tio condemned... chop + gurantee
mrkiasu
10-07-2006, 08:23 PM
latest price $215 include GST. was selling at $189 at the last com show.
the next com show is on aug 31 to sept 3. at expo.
TanKianW
10-07-2006, 09:14 PM
really tio condemned... chop + guranteeChop is gurantee liao, you still wanna gurantee somemore.....really 惨!! :)
foxxkat
20-07-2006, 01:16 AM
latest price $215 include GST. was selling at $189 at the last com show.
the next com show is on aug 31 to sept 3. at expo.
wich shop ar? the $215 one..
bigfoot
20-07-2006, 11:21 AM
wich shop ar? the $215 one..
i think mediapro selling ard $219. anyway, if can wait, the next pc show coming what... i am waiting for it... :)
foxxkat
20-07-2006, 01:11 PM
cant wait leh.. will chiong mediapro but where is mediapro? SLS? funan?
richneo
20-07-2006, 01:31 PM
cant wait leh.. will chiong mediapro but where is mediapro? SLS? funan?
sls 5th floor.
ard the corner one
MrPresident
20-07-2006, 01:46 PM
200++ is quite ex sia
richneo
20-07-2006, 01:53 PM
200++ is quite ex sia
一分钱一分货
and it comes with gigabit lan
MrPresident
20-07-2006, 03:24 PM
一分钱一分货
and it comes with gigabit lan
wat the diff between normal lan & gigabit lan
jacobwang
20-07-2006, 05:14 PM
Google for Ethernet, Fast Ethernet and Gigabit :)
chriscel
20-07-2006, 05:20 PM
Need a gigabit adapter,5E cable, special uplink port not required anymore.
What else ?
forgot already.
Haha
foxxkat
20-07-2006, 07:07 PM
sls 5th floor.
ard the corner one
this direction is good enuf.. wack tomolo. 2day too late :(
how about modem? wich one recommended to work hand in hand with this?
MrPresident
20-07-2006, 07:24 PM
sorry expertise, dun quite understand leh..
ov2rey
20-07-2006, 07:33 PM
wow i think i going to buy that modem next year.. 2007 jan
the modem look like professional
bangky
20-07-2006, 07:34 PM
wow i think i going to buy that modem next year.. 2007 jan
the modem look like professional
simi modem?
chercm
21-07-2006, 09:18 AM
great router
foxxkat
21-07-2006, 01:19 PM
any great modem to go with this great router?
Winter323
22-07-2006, 10:39 AM
Does this router affect p2p speeds in anyway?
DarthKool
22-07-2006, 01:30 PM
Does this router affect p2p speeds in anyway?
lets u connect to alot more peers withought crashing
padixiong
27-07-2006, 08:59 PM
any modem to go with this great router ?
Lucidz
28-07-2006, 03:43 PM
upupupupup, i also wanna know which adsl modem works great with this awessome router. Anyone?
padixiong
28-07-2006, 06:21 PM
ya .. upup :D
padixiong
29-07-2006, 01:00 PM
upupupu :(:(
bigfoot
29-07-2006, 11:36 PM
dunno why my connection still crash leh... i set max dl at 5000 and each torrent at 1000... is it too much for this router???
Teaken
30-07-2006, 12:44 AM
the router alone cost 200++ or router plus wifi notebook card at 200++?? :)
PaLmEr
30-07-2006, 04:53 AM
the router alone cost 200++ or router plus wifi notebook card at 200++?? :)
router alone.
Teaken
30-07-2006, 09:31 AM
router alone.tks for ur input. still affordable for mi..so long it justify the ability.
:)
bigfoot
31-07-2006, 05:23 PM
tks for ur input. still affordable for mi..so long it justify the ability.
:)
i bought it but it seem WRT54G works better than it. my WRT54G can make 1000 connections without crashing but for this DGL-4300, the max it can go is 500. Anybody know why this is so? Is there something i forgot to turn on or some settings i miss out?
Arucard
31-07-2006, 05:43 PM
Can this router support my Linksys WMP54G wireless card??
Thanks!
TanKianW
31-07-2006, 05:59 PM
i bought it but it seem WRT54G works better than it. my WRT54G can make 1000 connections without crashing but for this DGL-4300, the max it can go is 500. Anybody know why this is so? Is there something i forgot to turn on or some settings i miss out?
Pls......you sure or not? So many ppl no prob for their Dlink except yours? WRT54G? The chipset can't even compare with the one the Dlink have. 500? My max is close to 4000+ connections without crash. Pls, the WRT54G to compare with this Dlink router is a joke! not even the same class!
padixiong
31-07-2006, 06:01 PM
Pls......you sure or not? So many ppl no prob for their Dlink except yours? WRT54G? The chipset can't even compare with the one the Dlink have. 500? My max is close to 4000+ connections without crash. Pls, the WRT54G to compare with this Dlink router is a joke! not even the same class!
what modem u use with your DGL-4300 ??
TanKianW
31-07-2006, 06:56 PM
2Wire set as bridge.
bigfoot
01-08-2006, 12:11 AM
i am asking for solution. i know dgl-4300 better but i can't get it to work better. so, if u dun mind, can help me instead of ridicule me?
misato
01-08-2006, 02:19 AM
i am asking for solution. i know dgl-4300 better but i can't get it to work better. so, if u dun mind, can help me instead of ridicule me?
read the manual? I'm very sure you mis-configured it.
How sure are you that it can't handle the connections? Does it crash or something? The DGL-4300 is wayyy better than the WRT54G. And like misato said, its probably some configuration problem on your part.
chaicka
01-08-2006, 05:08 AM
Which firmware version is it operating on? Upgrade to the latest v1.6 firmware if it's not already operating on this firmware version.
Yellowfin
01-08-2006, 07:01 PM
How to you turn off this router?
I can't seem to find the on/off switch.
commach
01-08-2006, 07:10 PM
I'm afraid there isn't any on/off switch on Dlink's SOHO routers, you can only switch off the router via the A/C power socket.
Yellowfin
01-08-2006, 07:15 PM
I'm afraid there isn't any on/off switch on Dlink's SOHO routers, you can only switch off the router via the A/C power socket.
Ok, I guess that is the only way. Thank you.
zetaphonx84
03-08-2006, 09:18 AM
I juz signed up for 10mbps. will this router work goot goot wif a ST 585 mah? :)
PaLmEr
03-08-2006, 03:59 PM
I juz signed up for 10mbps. will this router work goot goot wif a ST 585 mah? :)
it should work well with the ST585 in bridge mode.
bigfoot
06-08-2006, 12:46 AM
read the manual? I'm very sure you mis-configured it.
yes, i read the manual and everything seem ok leh...
bigfoot
06-08-2006, 12:48 AM
Which firmware version is it operating on? Upgrade to the latest v1.6 firmware if it's not already operating on this firmware version.
originally it was on version 1.3, so i update it to 1.6... i tot that shd solve the problem... but it still persist... did i miss out on anything important? so sorry for the late reply to all the help... been busy working the whole week....
DarthGW
06-08-2006, 11:05 PM
can this router be used for the current adsl2+ by singnet?
what is the maximum Mbps this router can support?
currently using a 1.5mbps and planning to get this modem,but have to make sure when i subscribe for 10mbps or 30mbps or possible higher speed plans in the future,this modem can handle the load
chaicka
07-08-2006, 12:51 AM
can this router be used for the current adsl2+ by singnet?
what is the maximum Mbps this router can support?
currently using a 1.5mbps and planning to get this modem,but have to make sure when i subscribe for 10mbps or 30mbps or possible higher speed plans in the future,this modem can handle the load
4300 is not an ADSL modem...it's juz a router with switch + wireless, but does not contain an ADSL chip. You still need an ADSL CPE to connect to the 4300 WAN port.
This 4300 has a very good WAN-to-LAN throughput... ;)
pker88
07-08-2006, 12:55 AM
btw if u buy this for just using ethernet connections wont is be bettre then those normal router?
and if i get this Dlink gamer router
do i need to get new ethernet pci card?
giga type?
in order to enjoy it better i am on MOL now
DarthGW
07-08-2006, 01:09 AM
4300 is not an ADSL modem...it's juz a router with switch + wireless, but does not contain an ADSL chip. You still need an ADSL CPE to connect to the 4300 WAN port.
This 4300 has a very good WAN-to-LAN throughput... ;)
oops a typo error
in layman terms....so with my current 1.5mbps,the router is compatible
when i switch to adsl2+ from singnet,the router is also compatible with their networking tech,just that all i have to do is switch my adsl modems to the compatible adsl2+ right?
chaicka
07-08-2006, 01:15 AM
oops a typo error
in layman terms....so with my current 1.5mbps,the router is compatible
when i switch to adsl2+ from singnet,the router is also compatible with their networking tech,just that all i have to do is switch my adsl modems to the compatible adsl2+ right?
Yup...basically so...this router's WAN-to-LAN throughput is sufficient to support any near-future high-speed broadband...even 80mbps (in terms of speed, actual connection need to see how the termination of the service at consumer end is done) oso no problem.
Raptor1
07-08-2006, 10:42 AM
any adsl modem to recomend with this router?? thinking of replacing my old linksys wireless B router.
padixiong
07-08-2006, 11:42 AM
any adsl modem to recomend with this router?? thinking of replacing my old linksys wireless B router.
i ish also wan to know :D
chaicka
07-08-2006, 01:06 PM
Siemens/Efficient SpeedStream (must be able to set to full-bridge mode), Thomson/Alcatel SpeedTouch, and 2Wire HomePortal are three good brands and model series of ADSL CPEs.
SpeedStream uses TI chipset, which is good for ADSL but seems not so good for ADSL2+ due to compatibility issue with the chipset on ADSL2+ DSLAMs.
SpeedTouch uses a mix of chipsets, depending on the model. Newer models use Broadcom chipsets which is good for both ADSL and ADSL2+.
HomePortal uses its own 2Wire chipset and it's so far, good for both ADSL and ADSL2+.
*Both 2Wire and Siemens practise closed-door support business model, which means, firmwares are not available to the public. Furthermore, firmwares are so tightly controlled that even searching the net, it's hard to ever find one.
*Thomson practise similar business model, but firmwares are easily available to the public as well as good documentations (User Manual, Installation Manual, CLI Manual). Due to this, it makes their product the best choice among the three, as consumers will have full control of the device they own - upgrade of firmware, highly customizing the configuration, CLI support allows very high configurability compared to those GUI-only devices which restrict what can be configured.
bangky
08-08-2006, 02:42 PM
ummm.. just wondering, is packets per second a good way to rate the efficiency of a router? and if so, roughly how many packets per second is the DGL 4300 capable of?
zetaphonx84
08-08-2006, 04:11 PM
Siemens/Efficient SpeedStream (must be able to set to full-bridge mode), Thomson/Alcatel SpeedTouch, and 2Wire HomePortal are three good brands and model series of ADSL CPEs.
SpeedStream uses TI chipset, which is good for ADSL but seems not so good for ADSL2+ due to compatibility issue with the chipset on ADSL2+ DSLAMs.
SpeedTouch uses a mix of chipsets, depending on the model. Newer models use Broadcom chipsets which is good for both ADSL and ADSL2+.
HomePortal uses its own 2Wire chipset and it's so far, good for both ADSL and ADSL2+.
*Both 2Wire and Siemens practise closed-door support business model, which means, firmwares are not available to the public. Furthermore, firmwares are so tightly controlled that even searching the net, it's hard to ever find one.
*Thomson practise similar business model, but firmwares are easily available to the public as well as good documentations (User Manual, Installation Manual, CLI Manual). Due to this, it makes their product the best choice among the three, as consumers will have full control of the device they own - upgrade of firmware, highly customizing the configuration, CLI support allows very high configurability compared to those GUI-only devices which restrict what can be configured.
wow very very clear n great reviews in guide thanks Chaicka san. Thank u. Was tinking should i get my DGL-4300 tml or should i wait for my SNBB to be installed tis friday. den try out e snbb modem le. den c hoW? any advice?
caltex88
10-08-2006, 11:54 AM
nid help leh....or any reference website
protocol
source ip range
source port range
dest. ip range
dest. port range.
bangky
10-08-2006, 03:42 PM
ummm.. just wondering, is packets per second a good way to rate the efficiency of a router? and if so, roughly how many packets per second is the DGL 4300 capable of?
bump.. anyone care to shed some light on this?.. :s11:
chaicka
10-08-2006, 05:27 PM
Nope...packet per second is a lousy way to rate efficiency, since packet can be varies size.
bangky
10-08-2006, 06:56 PM
oic.. thanks. :)
babywoolf
17-08-2006, 02:20 PM
just got the router. How do I configure the gamefuel engine? I playing game like WOW
pker88
25-08-2006, 06:18 PM
btw if get this router wil i need to get a gigabit adaptor for pc and a new ethenet wire?
richneo
25-08-2006, 09:14 PM
btw if get this router wil i need to get a gigabit adaptor for pc and a new ethenet wire?
the enclosed ethernet cable should work for gigabit
if u u gigabit lan speed den u can get gigabit lan card
pker88
25-08-2006, 09:42 PM
thx for the tips :D
i like your review :D
btw if i get this gaming router and i just use it for ethrent connections wil its helps more or improves from my existing old linksys router with wifi 11B
but i dont use my wifi too even i got a wifi router but its a options for me if i wants to
btw can this Dlink gaming router have a hardware bution for u to ON its wifi when u like it?
or u need to set it ON or off from the PC?
richneo
25-08-2006, 09:50 PM
thx for the tips :D
i like your review :D
btw if i get this gaming router and i just use it for ethrent connections wil its helps more or improves from my existing old linksys router with wifi 11B
but i dont use my wifi too even i got a wifi router but its a options for me if i wants to
btw can this Dlink gaming router have a hardware bution for u to ON its wifi when u like it?
or u need to set it ON or off from the PC?
there are no off switch for the wifi nid to access its webgui
it sure handles more connection as compared to ur old router
Montoya
25-08-2006, 10:30 PM
just got the router. How do I configure the gamefuel engine? I playing game like WOW
gamefuel if the 'auto classification' tab is on you won't need to do anything
pker88
25-08-2006, 11:58 PM
btw is it hard to config?
i heard about the gamefuel how is it hard to config?
MichaelTan
07-09-2006, 10:46 AM
gamefuel if the 'auto classification' tab is on you won't need to do anything
If you put at `auto classification' there are times which Gamefuel on the 4300 interferes with some kinds of encrypted bit-torrent traffic.
Update: damnit! Anything more than a thousand connections on uTorrent, and the upload goes to hell. I'm using MOL 6500 6500/384!
I'm going to see how the 9K connection WBR14T-G fares.
shadowandy
12-11-2006, 09:19 PM
Firmware Version 1.7 is available @ support.dlink.com. Anybody using it?
shadowandy
12-11-2006, 09:22 PM
Some chats about v1.7 @ dslreports (http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,17232538)
misato
12-11-2006, 09:48 PM
If you put at `auto classification' there are times which Gamefuel on the 4300 interferes with some kinds of encrypted bit-torrent traffic.
Update: damnit! Anything more than a thousand connections on uTorrent, and the upload goes to hell. I'm using MOL 6500 6500/384!
I'm going to see how the 9K connection WBR14T-G fares.
you know.. sometimes.. the router might not be at fault. The CPE aka modem might not be able to handle the load generated, especially if its an old model.
Gamefuel is not free. it eats memory and cpu resources of the router itself. Last i heard, the impact of gamefuel can cut effective wan-lan speed to 5-6mbps.
misato
12-11-2006, 09:56 PM
bump.. anyone care to shed some light on this?.. :s11:
while packet can varies in size.. the amount of routed packet is still a very good indicator of performance.
liangtam
12-11-2006, 10:11 PM
€ NAT endpoint filtering enabled.
€ Removed references to 11n mode under WEP in the Basic Wireless Page as well as the Help file.
Hmm, DNS bug not mentioned. Haven tried my copy yet.
ov2rey
12-11-2006, 10:14 PM
issit ADSL? D-Link Gaming Router
richneo
12-11-2006, 10:14 PM
link to firmware
http://support.dlink.com/products/view.asp?productid=DGL%2D4300
having exams cant test the new firmware until later dec
richneo
12-11-2006, 10:15 PM
issit ADSL? D-Link Gaming Router
its a router not a modem.
u can use adsl modem or cable modem with it
liangtam
12-11-2006, 10:21 PM
Hmm, gonna test the MD5 and SHA1 hash of the file that I've gotton from D-Link support earlier. No time test yet - so no comments on the DNS bug
EDIT: Different file.
chaicka
12-11-2006, 11:58 PM
Finally, after so many months, a new firmware is available...wonder all the bugs in 1.6 is resolved in 1.7 or not.
I hate the WPA key input...it does not support hex input key...which I have been using but this 4300 simply don't accept.
Montoya
13-11-2006, 08:58 AM
dlink SG havent update their site yet leh
the firmware frm the US site can use?
richneo
13-11-2006, 11:12 AM
dlink SG havent update their site yet leh
the firmware frm the US site can use?
can use
Montoya
13-11-2006, 03:29 PM
juz tried the 1.7 firmware.
not much noticable changes. saw some new options under the 'firewall' option. a note to those updating it, remember to reset to factory settings for the firmware to work properly.
foxxkat
13-11-2006, 10:44 PM
it says ur pc must be wired to the router.. i wonder if ne1 has updated using wireless and whether it works?
quite troublesome for me to get it wired to pc..
liangtam
13-11-2006, 11:34 PM
Can flash by wireless. But must be 100% sure that the connection is stable and having good connection to router without nearby interference.
DarthGW
14-11-2006, 12:19 AM
just flashed to 1.7
had a slight scare because halfway through uploading the firmware,it returned me a page error,and bricking the router
had to do a hard reset and power cycle to get it up again and flash :s22:
Scuderia
14-11-2006, 12:24 AM
This firmware seems to have problem when wireless is set to Atheros Super G without Turbo mode. Was having problem connecting to it with my Atheros card. Set Super G to disabled and every thing works fine.
chaicka
14-11-2006, 12:36 AM
Can flash by wireless. But must be 100% sure that the connection is stable and having good connection to router without nearby interference.
It is NEVER recommended by any wireless manufacturers to flash via wireless.
READ the manuals...almost 99.9% of the manuals will indicate "Flash via Wired Connection". :s7:
liangtam
14-11-2006, 12:42 AM
Ya, thats why I wrote 100%.
Flashing can be disrupted by circuit leakage trip or power outage, so there is still a risk when flashing :)
Montoya
15-11-2006, 09:52 PM
anyway if u guys intend to run .11B & .11G devices together don't update to this firmware. apparently there are some issues with it.
the router would keep on rebooting itself when the .11B device tries to connect to the router. Back to 1.6 now.
kinda sad when an older firmware is more stable than a new one
azarel
16-11-2006, 11:19 AM
yah v1.7 is really buggy for me... keep dropping internet connection... reverted back to v1.6...
richneo
16-11-2006, 01:25 PM
maybe thats why dlink singapore din release it on their website
Montoya
16-11-2006, 02:17 PM
or is it that our hardware revision different frm those US sets?? cuz our problems don't seem to be seen in those threads in dslreports
liangtam
16-11-2006, 02:27 PM
DGL4300 only got one revision, See http://tsd.dlink.com.tw/Download.asp
So far, the TW support site is always first updated, except this time. Likely the firmware is just an extension or just another phase of bug fixing lor
foxxkat
16-11-2006, 02:32 PM
anyway if u guys intend to run .11B & .11G devices together don't update to this firmware. apparently there are some issues with it.
the router would keep on rebooting itself when the .11B device tries to connect to the router. Back to 1.6 now.
kinda sad when an older firmware is more stable than a new one
thx..
heng i haben upgrade to 1.7
leonaheidern
18-11-2006, 10:24 AM
whats the price of this router now, Where to buy also? My WRT54GS Ver 1 power light keep blinking and I dun know how to solve.
richneo
18-11-2006, 10:40 AM
whats the price of this router now, Where to buy also? My WRT54GS Ver 1 power light keep blinking and I dun know how to solve.
sitex coming up in few weeks time.
price should be below $200 like the previous show 3months ago
leonaheidern
18-11-2006, 10:43 AM
er actually its a need to buy cause need to use. Intend to go SLS later. I suggested using wired connection on my Linksys BEFS41 Spare router but my mum said no. My dad's laptop needs it.
_FaVo_
18-11-2006, 10:48 AM
WAh...
How much does it cost...
Btw...
using singnet 1500Kbps can right???
leonaheidern
18-11-2006, 11:09 AM
from what I see on mediapro's price guide http://www.mediapro.com.sg/PriceGuide.pdf it seems to be a bundle price of 250 with either
a) wireless pcmia - 245
b) wireless pci - 250
c) wireless usb - 250
leonaheidern
18-11-2006, 11:11 AM
er i think according to dlink's website both dsl and cable can haha. I've never ventured out of linksys products before though since I'm using Cable all the way. http://www.dlink.com.sg/products/resource.asp?pid=355&rid=1140
Montoya
18-11-2006, 11:57 AM
er i think according to dlink's website both dsl and cable can haha. I've never ventured out of linksys products before though since I'm using Cable all the way. http://www.dlink.com.sg/products/resource.asp?pid=355&rid=1140
performance wise it spanks linksys
leonaheidern
18-11-2006, 12:01 PM
unfortunately having a hard time finding it in pricelists other than mediapro. Any good brothers did walk about recently and found a cheap shop selling?
richneo
18-11-2006, 12:04 PM
unfortunately having a hard time finding it in pricelists other than mediapro. Any good brothers did walk about recently and found a cheap shop selling?
alot selling mah skylet, hwh coppernicus and etc.. most shop in sls carry it
richneo
18-11-2006, 12:19 PM
bro to support mol12mbps i think u nid to change ur modem.
sb3100 cannot support beyond 10mbpscos its interface is oni 10mbps half duplex
leonaheidern
18-11-2006, 12:23 PM
yep that will be later haha. But actually I'm sticking with the cheapest MOL6000 plan. After all the way starhub keep increasing speed its more worth it to stick with mol6000. I'm just planning in the future when they eventually do upgrade to more than 10MPBS.
Besides Stupid SCV make me pay 8 dollars every mth last time to buy over the SB3100. I intend to use it until it ke chiang.
My router happen to ke chiang so decide to get a good one first to use many yrs.
Er btw I'm not a bro rather I'm a sis
richneo
18-11-2006, 12:26 PM
yep that will be later haha. But actually I'm sticking with the cheapest MOL6000 plan. After all the way starhub keep increasing speed its more worth it to stick with mol6000. I'm just planning in the future when they eventually do upgrade to more than 10MPBS.
Besides Stupid SCV make me pay 8 dollars every mth last time to buy over the SB3100. I intend to use it until it ke chiang.
My router happen to ke chiang so decide to get a good one first to use many yrs.
Er btw I'm not a bro rather I'm a sis
:s31: :s31: :s31: :s31:
oh i tot u currently on mol6500 now and will be given free upgrade to mol12 mbps
agitator
18-11-2006, 12:38 PM
I just bought at $199 at Skylet computer#04-54 1 week ago
leonaheidern
18-11-2006, 12:39 PM
erm sorry to confuse you but actually I'm on MOL 4000 now. haha for me the linksys wrt54gs ver 1.0 router cannot even handle the full speed of MOL4000 in tems of p2p connection.
leonaheidern
18-11-2006, 12:40 PM
I just bought at $199 at Skylet computer#04-54 1 week ago
ahaha good to know its still under 200 bucks. And skylet got discount for DM card even better. Thanks for letting me know.
icyfirey
18-11-2006, 12:40 PM
this router is very impressive indeed... really very little dropped connections as compared to my linksys one
leonaheidern
18-11-2006, 12:44 PM
er then i wonder what to do with my bricked linksys now haha. can have 5 dollar or more value at garage sales or not?
Philip
18-11-2006, 01:18 PM
I using this router too and port forwarded to my BT laptop but my speed sucks big time. Even tried assigning e lappie in e DMZ but to no avail. Waz e prob har?
Phil
hangyong
18-11-2006, 01:37 PM
I using this router too and port forwarded to my BT laptop but my speed sucks big time. Even tried assigning e lappie in e DMZ but to no avail. Waz e prob har?
Phil
the problem is not with the router... you can use CISCO and still get crap. BT depends on too many things lah...
So please dun make such statements.
bangky
18-11-2006, 01:42 PM
er then i wonder what to do with my bricked linksys now haha. can have 5 dollar or more value at garage sales or not?
hehe.. your linksys.. use as a dumb switch lor.. that's what i doing... :s22:
Philip
18-11-2006, 01:42 PM
the problem is not with the router... you can use CISCO and still get crap. BT depends on too many things lah...
So please dun make such statements.
Pardon me, which part of my statement is offending to u leh?
Thread starter has e same router and broadband package as me and he got pretty good BT speed, just wondering what could be wrong for my setup. Is that too much to ask?
Phil
liangtam
18-11-2006, 02:16 PM
WRT54G bricked, tried the tftp method?
Phil
Unless your router is faulty(which is unlikely), this router itself does not really cause speed slow down, unless you junk some ten thousands of TCP connection for P2P, of which Cisco low end model will also crumble.
If speed is still slow, you should hook it direct to the modem and try if it does get better. If not, then the very obvious thing is, the ISP is throttling you or modem is faulty! Which ISP anyway?
bangky
18-11-2006, 02:20 PM
Unless your router is faulty(which is unlikely), this router itself does not really cause speed slow down, unless you junk some ten thousands of TCP connection for P2P, of which Cisco low end model will also crumble.
If speed is still slow, you should hook it direct to the modem and try if it does get better. If not, then the very obvious thing is, the ISP is throttling you or modem is faulty! Which ISP anyway?
he say same ISP as TS (richneo) mah..
anw, wrt54g is solid brick liao.. :o tftp method used many times before.. but this time cannot work.
liangtam
18-11-2006, 02:32 PM
Try shorting pin 15 and 16? Anyone wan give me a doorstopper, i try :o
bangky
18-11-2006, 02:36 PM
Try shorting pin 15 and 16? Anyone wan give me a doorstopper, i try :o
keke... i not so hardcore.. :o.. though i wouldn't mind trying.. :s22:
leonaheidern
18-11-2006, 02:41 PM
er i have to find a way to open the router first.
cpuer
18-11-2006, 03:04 PM
side tracked a bit.
I used to have issue with the DNS(i guess) with this router on my particular desktop. But after flashing to the latest 1.7, i am able to get into the net without a soft reboot at the router. Just sharing info.
bigfoot
18-11-2006, 03:29 PM
side tracked a bit.
I used to have issue with the DNS(i guess) with this router on my particular desktop. But after flashing to the latest 1.7, i am able to get into the net without a soft reboot at the router. Just sharing info.
I have DNS problem recently as well. But after setting it to manual DNS, it solve the problem...
liangtam
18-11-2006, 03:58 PM
So the DNS problem did get solved again in 1.7?
Philip
18-11-2006, 03:59 PM
I will take e throttling theory.
Phil
bigfoot
18-11-2006, 04:00 PM
So the DNS problem did get solved again in 1.7?
i have not upgraded to 1.7 yet. I read the information on 1.7. It did not mention anything any DNS. DNS problem supposedly address in the 1.6 firmware.
liangtam
18-11-2006, 04:08 PM
Try hook direct to modem first. If its SB5101 and above, gd luck.
I am interested in cpuer input, the DNS bug lies at router side, if you manually input a static entry at your PC side, the problem won't arrise.
cpuer
18-11-2006, 04:49 PM
HAHA, i never tried a fixed ip approach, as i was so perplexed by this problem. Why just this desktop? and not my nb? Anyway, it has been 3 days ever since i re flashed it to 1.7, still able to get into the net without any more reboot at the router. :)
hangyong
18-11-2006, 06:22 PM
Pardon me, which part of my statement is offending to u leh?
Thread starter has e same router and broadband package as me and he got pretty good BT speed, just wondering what could be wrong for my setup. Is that too much to ask?
Phil
as I said, BT is dependent on too many things, one getting good speed, may not mean you will be getting good speed. you may not be downlaoding the same file, not the same seed, not same location, not same source, network congestion timing.
oh, no, no part of it is offending, just that you should know the basics of BT before even implying that the router is causing slow speed for your BT.
Philip
18-11-2006, 06:28 PM
as I said, BT is dependent on too many things, one getting good speed, may not mean you will be getting good speed. you may not be downlaoding the same file, not the same seed, not same location, not same source, network congestion timing.
oh, no, no part of it is offending, just that you should know the basics of BT before even implying that the router is causing slow speed for your BT.
Geez.. since when did I said it's the router fault? I'm hoping that the thread starter can give me an insight since our hardware setup is almost identical. Less the BT client and settings of course.
Phil
shadowandy
18-11-2006, 06:54 PM
Geez.. since when did I said it's the router fault? I'm hoping that the thread starter can give me an insight since our hardware setup is almost identical. Less the BT client and settings of course.
Phil
the torrent you are downloading might be different too. Are you downloading linux torrents? I got quite good speed with downloading fedora core 6 dvd iso recently
Philip
18-11-2006, 06:57 PM
the torrent you are downloading might be different too. Are you downloading linux torrents? I got quite good speed with downloading fedora core 6 dvd iso recently
I did research before and there are supposed to be 2 downloads which are well seeded. However, I still got sucky speed, the only reason I can think of is the bandwidth throttling imposed on my modem for BT traffics.
Phil
liangtam
18-11-2006, 07:19 PM
http://www.maplesea.com:8081/
This tracker provides well seeded files and pwnz all other torrent. Linux ones is WOLS for me.
hangyong
18-11-2006, 08:27 PM
Phil
this following post from you lor
Phil
and seriously, this thread is about the router, not about BT settings or why BT is slow... so, either way... its not that appropriate.
And please do not get so worked up easily.
Philip
18-11-2006, 08:53 PM
this following post from you lor
and seriously, this thread is about the router, not about BT settings or why BT is slow... so, either way... its not that appropriate.
And please do not get so worked up easily.
Har? Worked up? I give up.
Phil
leonaheidern
18-11-2006, 11:01 PM
er ok I bought this router. now to test it on some http and some torrent files. Dunno if its my imagination but the http download speed for this driver Bluetooth dongle BT700SI http://www.bluetake.com/code/driver/driver.asp
is very slow leh max 70kBps. haiz dunno how to config also cause no more QOS.
Hee hee Skylet guy sold it to me at 190 cause we also bough imation 512mb flash drive from him(from 30 becomes 25). Using the DM card for once in my long membership with HWZ.
shadowandy
18-11-2006, 11:18 PM
I did research before and there are supposed to be 2 downloads which are well seeded. However, I still got sucky speed, the only reason I can think of is the bandwidth throttling imposed on my modem for BT traffics.
Phil
Might be due to settings too. I only opened 80 connections per torrent, 96 connection globally as I only download 1 torrent at a time. No prob hitting ~120 on my 1500 dsl line, when times are good, can max out at 190++.
leonaheidern
19-11-2006, 12:09 AM
btw it came with firmware 1.4? which firmware ver should I upgrade to?
DarthGW
19-11-2006, 12:17 AM
btw it came with firmware 1.4? which firmware ver should I upgrade to?
flash to 1.6
leonaheidern
19-11-2006, 01:09 AM
k. is there a way to keep the same wep key all the time. I was using the wizard to configure it.
shadowandy
19-11-2006, 10:49 AM
Anybody using the v1.7 and have no problem accessing advanced network? I couldn't enter it without encountering dialog prompt saying that not all stuffs are loaded and the page will reload and it keeps going on and on.
ginseng1
19-11-2006, 10:52 AM
Does using a wireless 108mbps router for file transfer defeats the purpose of having a 10/100/1000 ethernet port?
Am I right to say that for gigabit port, need to use a gigabit switch to fully achieve its potential?
TanKianW
19-11-2006, 11:11 AM
No prob with 1.6. So not changing it.
Montoya
19-11-2006, 11:16 AM
1.7 so problematic still got ppl go & flash... :s22:
shadowandy
19-11-2006, 12:08 PM
Might be problematic for some people. But I don't face problem with wireless or sort. At most router mati and $80 down the drain nia lor. :/.
cpuer
19-11-2006, 01:23 PM
1.7 solved problem not create problem, at least to me.
leonaheidern
19-11-2006, 01:33 PM
er anyone know how to improve signal strength? My dad's laptop isn't having as good signal strength as my old wrt54gs ver1.0 router. These are my current Advanced Wireless Settings
http://img141.imageshack.us/img141/2630/mywirelesssettingsii3.th.gif (http://img141.imageshack.us/my.php?image=mywirelesssettingsii3.gif)
shadowandy
19-11-2006, 01:42 PM
er anyone know how to improve signal strength? My dad's laptop isn't having as good signal strength as my old wrt54gs ver1.0 router. These are my current Advanced Wireless Settings
http://img141.imageshack.us/img141/2630/mywirelesssettingsii3.th.gif (http://img141.imageshack.us/my.php?image=mywirelesssettingsii3.gif)
Try fiddling with the antenna direction or even placement of the router.
Mankul
19-11-2006, 01:43 PM
Anyone wanting to SELL the D-Link router pls PM me.... I want to try this router :D
Mankul
19-11-2006, 01:43 PM
Try fiddling with the antenna direction or even placement of the router.
how do you unlocked your speedstream? This speedstream is which starhub modem one ah?
leonaheidern
19-11-2006, 01:47 PM
Hmm about the placement of the router. Its on its side with the antenna sticking straight up. and the router is the closest point of the window
------------------------
--------------router-
---------------------- Window all down the right side of the lines
Wall
-----------------------
----------Dad'sLaptop
------------------------
The rooms are all on 1 story only.
liangtam
19-11-2006, 01:49 PM
Siemens modem are for ADSL users.....
shadowandy
19-11-2006, 01:57 PM
how do you unlocked your speedstream? This speedstream is which starhub modem one ah?
It is an equipment for ADSL usage. I have the console cable for it.
amoro123
19-11-2006, 07:47 PM
Hmmm....
I'm using Starhub 6500 plan, with a motorala moderm tat they provide.
Is this a gd wireless router tat i should buy for gaming(Wireless), and Downloading ( cable)?
cpuer
19-11-2006, 08:48 PM
Anybody using the v1.7 and have no problem accessing advanced network? I couldn't enter it without encountering dialog prompt saying that not all stuffs are loaded and the page will reload and it keeps going on and on.
No problem for me. 1.7 or 1.6 all can be accessed.
Marill
19-11-2006, 09:34 PM
Hmmm....
I'm using Starhub 6500 plan, with a motorala moderm tat they provide.
Is this a gd wireless router tat i should buy for gaming(Wireless), and Downloading ( cable)?Yes, no matter what the use... this IS a good router to get. and especially for gaming and BT.
shadowandy
19-11-2006, 09:45 PM
No problem for me. 1.7 or 1.6 all can be accessed.
I am seeing the below though, this page isn't in 1.6 right?
http://img245.imageshack.us/img245/637/errorjh4.gif (http://imageshack.us)
hangyong
19-11-2006, 10:12 PM
I am seeing the below though, this page isn't in 1.6 right?
http://img245.imageshack.us/img245/637/errorjh4.gif (http://imageshack.us)
Advance Network is not avail in 1.6, but the settings I see here can be found inside the router's other pages.
shadowandy
19-11-2006, 10:16 PM
Advance Network is not avail in 1.6, but the settings I see here can be found inside the router's other pages.
Yeap. they reorganized some stuffs. Wonder if it is a bug or a "feature" of this firmware. lolx But then I don't require any settings on this page, just find it a nuisance that it keeps prompting dialog.
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.