PDA

View Full Version : Lastest S$ Deposit update

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38

mosmos
12-11-2005, 09:40 PM
#Bank of East Asia (www.hkbea.com.sg)
i) Click here for Savings & FD Rates (www.hkbea.com.sg/savings_fixed_deposit_rates.html)

#Bank of India (www.boi.com.sg)
i) Click here for Savings & FD Rates (www.boi.com.sg/TodaysRate.jsp)

#CIMB (www.cimbbank.com.sg)
i) up to 1.0% -- StarSavers account (min $5k)
ii) 0.9/1.4% -- 12/24 mths FD (min $10k)

#Citibank (www.citibank.com.sg)
i) Click here for FD Rates (www.citibank.com.sg/SGGCB/APPS/portal/loadPage.do?tabId=Investments%20And%20Deposits&path=/info/det/deposit_boardrates.htm)
ii) 0.15 to 0.75% -- Step-Up interest account (min $500)
iii) MaxiSave Sweep Account
http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/FD/untitled1-114.jpg

#DBS/POSB (www.dbs.com/sg/personal) - (Service fees and charges) (www.dbs.com/sg/personal/deposit/additionalinfo/priceguide.pdf)
i) Click here for Savings (www.dbs.com/ratesonline/dddd.html) & FD Rates (www.dbs.com/ratesonline/fdsgd.html)

#FairPrice Plus (www.fairpriceplus.com) - (Service fees and charges) (www.fairpriceplus.com/savings/Impt_fees_and_charges_savings.pdf)
i) up to 0.4% -- Savings Account (min $0)

#finatiq.com (www.finatiq.com)
i) Click here for Savings (www.finatiq.com/tools_info/Bnk_SavingRates.shtm) & FD Rates (http://www.finatiq.com/tools_info/Bnk_FDRates.shtm)

#Hong Leong Finance (www.hlf.com.sg)
i) Click here for Savings (www.hlf.com.sg/template/rates.html#sa) & FD Rates (www.hlf.com.sg/template/rates.html#fd)
ii) 0.40/0.40/0.45% -- Silver 40 Plus 6/8/9 mths FD (40yrs old & above, min $50,001)
iii) 0.8/0.9/1.0% -- Golden 55 Plus 12/18/24 mths FD (55yrs old & above, min $50,001)

#HSBC (www.hsbc.com.sg) - (Service fees and charges) (www.hsbc.com.sg/1/2/miscellaneous/tariff/main)
i) Click here for Savings & FD Rates (www.hsbc.com.sg/1/2/personal/deposits/singapore-dollar-deposit-rates)
ii) Click here for Multi Currency Savings Account Rates (www.hsbc.com.sg/1/2/miscellaneous/personal/deposits/multi-currency-savings-account-interest-rates)
Click here on how to join Infinity programme (forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showpost.php?p=22703914&postcount=2539)

#India Overseas Bank (www.iobsingapore.com)
i) Click here for Savings & FD Rates (www.iobsingapore.com/cgi-bin/ir.pl)

#Indian Bank (www.indianbank-singapore.com)
i) Click here for Savings & FD Rates (www.indianbank-singapore.com/irates.html)

#Maybank (www.maybank.com.sg) - (Service fees and charges) (info.maybank2u.com.sg/site_functions/bank_charges_local.htm)
i) Click here for Savings (https://sslsecure.maybank.com.sg/scripts/mbb_rates_savings.jsp) & FD Rates (https://sslsecure.maybank.com.sg/scripts/deposit_rate.jsp)
ii) Click here for iSavvy TD rates (https://sslsecure.maybank.com.sg/scripts/deposit_rate.jsp#iSAVvytd)
iii) 0.5/0.58% + 6% IOI -- iSAVvy savings (min $5k/$50k)

#NTUC Thrift (www.ntucthrift.com.sg)
i) Click here for Savings & FD Rates (www.ntucthrift.com.sg/business/product/Rates1.pdf)
ii) 0.4% -- Savings (min $10) / Bonus Savers Account (min $30 mthly)

#OCBC (www.ocbc.com.sg/personal-banking/) - (Service fees and charges) (www.ocbc.com.sg/personal-banking/downloads/banking/Pricing_Guide.pdf)
i) Click here for Savings & FD Rates (www.ocbc.com.sg/personal-banking/tools%20and%20info/Toi_Rates_Dep_Listing.shtm)
ii) 0.2/0.3/0.4% -- SmartSavings Account (min $2k/$20k/$250k)
iii) 0.6/0.9/1.15% -- 13/24/36mth MSA 123 (min $50)

#Singapore Police Co-operative (www.policecoop.org.sg)
i) Click here for FD Rates (www.policecoop.org.sg/savings_2.htm)

#RBS Singapore (www.rbs.com.sg)
i) Click here for Savings Rates (www.rbs.com.sg/consumer/pages/products/deposits/deposits.htm)

#RHB Bank (www.rhbbank.com.sg)
i) Click here for FD Rates (www.rhbbank.com.sg/pdfs/rates/DepositRates.pdf)
ii) 0.68% to 0.88% -- Trio account (min $1k)

#SGS-CO-OP (www.sgs.coop)
i) Click here for FD Rates ( www.sgs.coop/savings_time_fixed.html)

#Sing Investments & Finance (www.sif.com.sg)
i) Click here for FD Rates (www.sif.com.sg/deposits/fixed_deposit.htm)

#SINGAPURA Finance (www.singapurafinance.com.sg)
i) Click here for Savings & FD Rates (www.singapurafinance.com.sg/interest-rates.html)

#Standard Chartered Bank (www.standardchartered.com.sg) - (Service fees and charges) (www.standardchartered.com.sg/deposits/fees-and-charges.html)
i) Click here for FD Rates (www.standardchartered.com.sg/index_sgd.html)
ii) 0.3/0.4/0.5% -- e$aver/e$aver Kids savings (min $0/$50k/$200)

#State Bank of India (www.sbising.com)
i) Click here for Savings & FD Rates (www.sbising.com/interest_rates.asp)

#The Singapore Teachers' CO-OP (www.teachersco-op.org.sg)
i) 0.4% -- Savings account

#TCC (tcc.org.sg)
i) Click here for Savings (tcc.org.sg/saving/InterestRate.asp) & FD Rates (tcc.org.sg/invest/FDrates.asp)

#UOB (www.uob.com.sg/personal/index.html) - (Service fees and charges) (www.uob.com.sg/online_rates/personal/general_service_fees_part1.html)
i) Click here for Savings (www.uob.com.sg/online_rates/singapore_dollar_deposit_rates.html) & FD Rates (https://uniservices1.uobgroup.com/secure/online_rates/singapore_dollar_time_fixed_deposits.jsp)

* Pls call bank to double check % rate
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
#Phillips' Online Electronic Mart System-POEMS (www.poems.com.sg/FinancialServices/pcaFunds.asp?value=pca)
i) 0.1% -- Cash Management Account (min $50k)

#Fundsupermart (www.fundsupermart.com/) & iFast Financial (www.ifastnetwork.com/)
i) Cash Fund (min $500)
Click here for Fundsupermart Daily Rates (https://secure.fundsupermart.com/main/trustaccount/fxAndInterestRates.tpl?showHistorical=Y)

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
#Fundsupermart (www.fundsupermart.com/)
i) Click here for SGS Bonds Yield (www.fundsupermart.com/main/sgs/SGShome.tpl?)

#Singapore Government Securities (www.sgs.gov.sg/)
i) Click here for Domestic Interbank Rates (https://secure.sgs.gov.sg/apps/fda/domesticInterbankFrame.jsp)
ii) Click here for Treasury Bills & Bonds Daily Prices (www.sgs.gov.sg/sgs_data/data_dailysgsprices.html)

Click here for Procedure to bid T-Bills from banks (forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showpost.php?p=21918738&postcount=1921)
Click here for T-Bills/SGS Bonds Application Form (https://masnetsvc2.mas.gov.sg/sgseapps/etender/jsp/doc/appform.pdf)

Results of T-bills to be issued on 18 March 2010

(www.sgs.gov.sg/announce/bill-result.html)~ Tenor 91 Days ~
Issue Code -- BQ10110Z
Maturity Date -- 17 June 2010
Cut-off Yield and Price -- 0.36% p.a. and 99.910%

#Deposit Insurance Scheme (www.sdic.org.sg/)
i) Click here for Deposit Insurance Scheme FAQ (www.sdic.org.sg/faq.html)
ii) Click here for Deposit Insurance Scheme Members (www.sdic.org.sg/scheme_members.html)

#Singapore Government guarantee on deposits until 31 December 2010
i) Click here for Press Release (www.mas.gov.sg/news_room/press_releases/2008/MOF_and_MAS_Joint_Press_Statement.html)

#5-day Clearing Week for Cheques (www.abs.org.sg/)
i) Click here for 5-day Clearing Week FAQ (www.abs.org.sg/cms/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=73&Itemid=105)

#Bank Code & Branch Code
i) Click here for Bank Code and Branch Code (www.uobgroup.com/assets/pdfs/business/achcode.pdf)

Click here for
i) Singapore Fixed Deposits Blog (singapore-fixed-deposits.com)
ii) Charges on using CPF Funds for Fixed Deposit/Investment (mycpf.cpf.gov.sg/CPF/Templates/SubPage_Template.aspx?NRMODE=Published&NRORIGINALURL=%2fMembers%2fGen-Info%2fFAQ%2fInvestment%2fINV%2ehtm&NRNODEGUID=%7bE2586957-683D-4D26-83BB-E5F3B5C3A9C3%7d&NRCACHEHINT=Guest#app4)
iii) Best Bank Deposit/Investment/Life Insurance/Loans (askmoney.com) (www.askdrmoney.com/)

Got any more promotions, pls add.......http://www.isarapix.com/pix16/1168872963.gif

mirror link (www.whysg.com/forums/showthread.php?t=317)

addict951
12-11-2005, 09:49 PM
The OCBC minimum sum - $40,000.

Who will be the 1st to offer 3%. :D

addict951
12-11-2005, 09:55 PM
*DBS/POSB
2.08% to 2.2% - 2mths FD

*OCBC
15% + 2% - 10/10 FD minimum sum - $40,000

*UOB
2.3% - 3mths FD Minimum sum previously was $50,000. How about now?

*Citibank
2.68% - 12mths unfixed deposit 1-yr locked in period sucks.

*Hong Leong Finance
extra 0.5% + 0.25% - 12mths FD

*Maybank
2.38% - isavvy savings account 2.38% only for the 1st 3 month upon your opening of the iSavvy a/c. Thereafter, 1.38% p.a.

*Stanchart
2.45% - e$avers saving account 2.45% is only between 15 Nov and 31 Dec 2005.
2.75% - 12mths FD

Got any better offers, pls add..... :s22:

extra info.

addict951
12-11-2005, 09:58 PM
Looks like finatiq.com has yet to catch on, still 1.9% p.a.

mosmos
12-11-2005, 10:08 PM

yes, almost forget that it exist....

Wood4
13-11-2005, 03:59 PM
All should wait as the banks are in the middle of the battle.......

Remember these are fixed deposits & usually there are penalty for early withdrawal.

addict951
13-11-2005, 05:33 PM
All should wait as the banks are in the middle of the battle.......

Remember these are fixed deposits & usually there are penalty for early withdrawal.

Not the Stand Chart one. You can open the a/c today and close it next week.

zippo1979
13-11-2005, 07:53 PM
yeah stanchart 2.45% e$aver is the best FOR NOW.. considering it is not fixed and no minimum sum.

jan 2006 onwards... have to see again..

Ice
13-11-2005, 10:28 PM
It has been slow to react la....think best option is to stick to stanchart e$aver.

zippo1979
14-11-2005, 08:38 PM
It has been slow to react la....think best option is to stick to stanchart e$aver.

that's right (for now)

MSP
16-11-2005, 02:24 AM
a stupid question i guess:

how do i deposit money into e$aver acc if I do not do it through the counter? deposit cheque thru cheque deposit box?

Ice
16-11-2005, 08:55 AM

how do i deposit money into e$aver acc if I do not do it through the counter? deposit cheque thru cheque deposit box?
Interbank transfer via internet banking.

addict951
16-11-2005, 10:15 AM

Stupid question indeed.

Anyway, there's no penalty at all if you go deposit cash via the counter.

tahoo
16-11-2005, 10:58 PM
Interbank transfer via internet banking.
If you have StandChart Credit / ATM card, you can also use the card to do cash deposit using the cash deposit machine.

FYI, if you will like to withdraw the money from bank counter, please dun ask for cash as there will be service charge. Instead, as for a cheque. It is free :)

addict951
16-11-2005, 11:04 PM
If you have StandChart Credit / ATM card, you can also use the card to do cash deposit using the cash deposit machine.

FYI, if you will like to withdraw the money from bank counter, please dun ask for cash as there will be service charge. Instead, as for a cheque. It is free :)

You tried b4? It was free?

Asking for a CO is a withdrawl at the counter, ie. that would still attract a $5 fee.

Remember, they discourage you from using counter services.

The only exception is when you ask for a CO of your entire balance to be made in your favour, ie. when you close the a/c.

mosmos
16-11-2005, 11:22 PM

can do a deposit at the cash deposit machine without an atm card? :s22:

sue88
18-11-2005, 11:56 AM
Competition heating up?

Fundsupermart (http://www.fundsupermart.com/main/home/fsmCashAcct.tpl)

Just recieved email but have not read into details. Some extract:

"For example, as at 17 November 2005, if you had money deposited in your FSM SGD Cash Account, you would have earned an interest of 2.255%. (2.755% SIBID - 0.5%) while the average savings deposit rate was 0.27% (source: MAS website) and the average 12-month bank fixed deposit rate was 0.78% (source: MAS website). The net USD interest earned would have been 3.235% (3.735% USD SIBID - 0.5%)."

mosmos
18-11-2005, 08:10 PM
Competition heating up?

Fundsupermart (http://www.fundsupermart.com/main/home/fsmCashAcct.tpl)

Just recieved email but have not read into details. Some extract:

"For example, as at 17 November 2005, if you had money deposited in your FSM SGD Cash Account, you would have earned an interest of 2.255%. (2.755% SIBID - 0.5%) while the average savings deposit rate was 0.27% (source: MAS website) and the average 12-month bank fixed deposit rate was 0.78% (source: MAS website). The net USD interest earned would have been 3.235% (3.735% USD SIBID - 0.5%)."

More at: http://www.ocbc.com.sg/personal-banking/banking/Bnk_Dep_Cur_Plus.shtm

jasonnth
21-11-2005, 05:04 PM
uob 3mth FD is more than 2%
what is the name

sue88
21-11-2005, 07:39 PM
I just tried out the cash deposit at fundsupermart.com (interest rate (https://secure.fundsupermart.com/main/trustaccount/fxAndInterestRates.tpl?)). For those who have account with fundsupermart.com, the deposit is very easy, either by cheque or thru i-bank.There is a 0.25% admin fee and the rate shown is the net interest rate after taking care of this admin fee. I will keep some cash in this account so long as the rate is above 2%.

Ice
21-11-2005, 11:39 PM
I just tried out the cash deposit at fundsupermart.com (interest rate (https://secure.fundsupermart.com/main/trustaccount/fxAndInterestRates.tpl?)). For those who have account with fundsupermart.com, the deposit is very easy, either by cheque or thru i-bank.There is a 0.25% admin fee and the rate shown is the net interest rate after taking care of this admin fee. I will keep some cash in this account so long as the rate is above 2%.
y not e$aver with Standchart? Higher rates...

mosmos
22-11-2005, 12:36 AM
y not e$aver with Standchart? Higher rates...

ya lor, e$saver and isavvy better, function as normal savings account and can withdraw and deposit at atm

fundsupermart only offers 2.175%, much lower than e$savers 2.45% and isavvy 2.38%.

sue88
22-11-2005, 12:44 AM
Because I hate to fill up forms :)

plus I can switch to funds easily instead of letting them rot at DBS.

Ice
22-11-2005, 09:19 AM
Because I hate to fill up forms :)

plus I can switch to funds easily instead of letting them rot at DBS.
You are "paying" for your laziness ;)

donald83
22-11-2005, 12:05 PM
I just opened an esaver last Friday also. I wonder what the interest rates will be like in Jan? Anyone have any other kind of low risk investments?

zippo1979
22-11-2005, 08:49 PM
i suspect E$aver in Jan will be 2.88%

some other bank's savings is already 2.4%

dekko25
22-11-2005, 09:53 PM

Wah! where this 2.88% comes from sialz. I think I got to visit the nearest Stand Chart Branch liao. I din know about this offer till i saw this thread. How stupid to even put the money in UOB FD even for now.... haixxxxx...... :s27:

direbmem
23-11-2005, 05:22 AM

which banks 2.4%?

evets
23-11-2005, 10:00 AM
hsbc $50k for a year. 2.795%!

wonder if with the interbank rates going up, will it cause young borrower like me pay higher interest on mortgages....sigh..

limpoop
23-11-2005, 11:22 AM
Where did you get the info on " hsbc $50k for a year. 2.795%!" ?

Can't find anything on their website.

Yellowfin
23-11-2005, 02:02 PM
Just my opinion, in time of rate rising. Lock in the interest rate on short term basis example 3 month period in FD.

If interest rate decreasing, try to lock in to long term period example 1 year to 3 years term. IMHO.

jasonnth
23-11-2005, 04:45 PM
if its 2.795%, then its higher than the ones offered by OCBC

dekko25
23-11-2005, 05:36 PM
UOB min $50k 3 months @ 2.3% nia...check link here. http://www.uob.com.sg/pages/promotions/promo_specialrate.html

Looks like the interest rates war among institutions are heating up. :s12:

Good for creditors, bad for debtors. :D

limpoop
23-11-2005, 08:14 PM
If you have $50k, just walk to an UOB branch and ask them for the best FD rates, my friend wanted to withdraw his FD at UOB and was told to renew another 12-mth at 2.75% same as SCB's.

evets
23-11-2005, 08:57 PM

Can't find anything on their website.

i went there and ask lor.

jasonnth
24-11-2005, 12:41 PM
UOB min $50k 3 months @ 2.3% nia...check link here. http://www.uob.com.sg/pages/promotions/promo_specialrate.html

Looks like the interest rates war among institutions are heating up. :s12:

Good for creditors, bad for debtors. :D

i thought its 2.75?

mosmos
25-11-2005, 05:00 PM
maybank's Privilege Plus Time Deposit Account, now got up to 3.125% for 36mths!!!!
But only for 55yrs and above. Lucky for old pple....

lookforward
25-11-2005, 05:56 PM
Interest rates war is rising..

luvpraline
27-11-2005, 04:18 PM
yeah stanchart 2.45% e$aver is the best FOR NOW.. considering it is not fixed and no minimum sum.

jan 2006 onwards... have to see again..

hi, juz read up on this e$aver thing on stanchart's website (http://www.standardchartered.com.sg/**/deposit/dep_esaver_ac.html), sounds abit too gd to be true as in no min period / sum, so juz wondering is there any risk involved? Thanks...

limpoop
27-11-2005, 06:30 PM
Only risk is if SCB goes chap 11?

It's true, but the 2.45%pa is only valid until 31 Dec.

luvpraline
27-11-2005, 08:46 PM
Only risk is if SCB goes chap 11?

It's true, but the 2.45%pa is only valid until 31 Dec.

hi limpoop,

forgive my ignorance, but wat is chap 11?

oic, so the 2.45%pa valid only til 31 dec, after that if it drops to 0.8%? hee... but lets say if it does & i decide to close the a/c in Jan 06, will i incur any charges or lose the interest earned?

another question, since its not strictly a fixed deposit, does it mean i can transfer money over to it thru internet banking FOC anytime i want? Thanks!

addict951
27-11-2005, 09:03 PM
hi limpoop,

forgive my ignorance, but wat is chap 11?

oic, so the 2.45%pa valid only til 31 dec, after that if it drops to 0.8%? hee... but lets say if it does & i decide to close the a/c in Jan 06, will i incur any charges or lose the interest earned?

another question, since its not strictly a fixed deposit, does it mean i can transfer money over to it thru internet banking FOC anytime i want? Thanks!

Chapter 11 = bankruptcy in the U.S.

Originally, it was supposed to drop to 1.38% starting Jan 2006. But as the war gets really heated now, it's likely that Stand Chart continues giving 2.45% until further announcement(s).

Yes, there's no gimmick at all. You can open the a/c this week and close it next week. You can transfer your money freely via internet banking and there are no charges.

luvpraline
27-11-2005, 09:49 PM

Originally, it was supposed to drop to 1.38% starting Jan 2006. But as the war gets really heated now, it's likely that Stand Chart continues giving 2.45% until further announcement(s).

Yes, there's no gimmick at all. You can open the a/c this week and close it next week. You can transfer your money freely via internet banking and there are no charges.

Sounds good, though if i sign up in dec i won't be enjoying much of the 2.45%, unless like ur speculation, they continue giving 2.45% after dec hehe..

when u said originally it was supposed to drop to 1.38%, is that the minimum guaranteed? cuz 1.38% is still better than wat some other banks r offering to those of us with less $$ to deposit with them ..

addict951
27-11-2005, 09:50 PM

Sounds good, though if i sign up in dec i won't be enjoying much of the 2.45%, unless like ur speculation, they continue giving 2.45% after dec hehe..

when u said originally it was supposed to drop to 1.38%, is that the minimum guaranteed? cuz 1.38% is still better than wat some other banks r offering to those of us with less $$ to deposit with them ..

1800-7477000 24 hours :)

luvpraline
27-11-2005, 10:16 PM
1800-7477000 24 hours :)

thanks i called them up & the guy told me may drop to 1.28%, though its only indicative..

mosmos
27-11-2005, 11:55 PM

1.38% is maybank lah.

Btw another % rise fm UOB. See 1st post.

limpoop
28-11-2005, 09:45 AM
You can open and close anytime you like at no charge at all, when you close they will issue you with a casher's order free. You may open a new account later with no holding period.

With the interbank interests rising, I think SCB will continue to offer good rates for e$aver acounts after 31st Dec.

luvpraline
29-11-2005, 10:32 AM
Just noticed on e fine print this line:

To enjoy the promotional interest rate for new e$aver account, the new e$aver account has to be opened with fresh funds only.

can any1 pls enlighten me on what is the meaning of the line above regarding "fresh funds"? what is "fresh" & wat is "unfresh"? hee.. =:p thanks aplenty!!

mosmos
29-11-2005, 02:42 PM
Just noticed on e fine print this line:

To enjoy the promotional interest rate for new e$aver account, the new e$aver account has to be opened with fresh funds only.

can any1 pls enlighten me on what is the meaning of the line above regarding "fresh funds"? what is "fresh" & wat is "unfresh"? hee.. =:p thanks aplenty!!

:s22: fresh funds is cash. cheque or CO fm other banks or under yr pillow.

while unfresh funds is transfered or withdrawed fm standchart accounts to e$avers

or stained and dirty $$$ fm fish uncle can also be unfreshed :s13:

luvpraline
29-11-2005, 03:20 PM

while unfresh funds is transfered or withdrawed fm standchart accounts to e$avers

ohhh :s21:

richland
29-11-2005, 08:38 PM

there is a loophole in the definition of fresh fund

banker knows about it and some of them close one eye when i abuse it :)

zippo1979
29-11-2005, 08:42 PM
ya lar.. just withdraw from your stan chart account into your other bank e.g. OCBC account..

then use your OCBC checking account to transfer back into E$aver...

richland
29-11-2005, 09:02 PM
ya lar.. just withdraw from your stan chart account into your other bank e.g. OCBC account..

then use your OCBC checking account to transfer back into E$aver...

this is not loophole liao

memberi
01-12-2005, 03:48 AM
https://secure.fundsupermart.com/main/trustaccount/fxAndInterestRates.tpl?

sbid ave shd be 1.5 to 2 percent everyday...so this one long term shd be better than esaver?anyone sees the caveat in this account??

mosmos
05-12-2005, 12:39 AM
New promo fm uob ! http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showpost.php?p=16370925&postcount=1

3% for 6mths FD when place an equivalent amt on 12mths FD at 2.68%, min $50.000

jasonnth
05-12-2005, 01:53 PM
whats the catch for the 3% FD for UOB?
50000 deposit?
anything else?
got link?

limpoop
05-12-2005, 01:58 PM
http://www.uob.com.sg/pages/promotions/promo_rivervale_branch.html

Need to put min $50k for 6-mth at 3%pa and the same amount for 12-mth FD at 2.68%pa

I think other banks will up the interest to beyond 3% :)

mosmos
05-12-2005, 10:05 PM
iFast cash account giving 2.405%, http://www.ifastnetwork.com

xipi
06-12-2005, 11:31 AM
Anyone can recommend which bank offer highest interest rate for fix deposit 5K only? Most of the offer is for 50K.................only for rich ppl......

sue88
06-12-2005, 12:14 PM
I just realised the cash account offered by Fundsupermart goes to iFast, i.e. they are the same. Both FS and Ifast calculate based on Inter-bank rate, so it floats according to demand and supply. In long term in a rising interest rate environment, this is probably a better offer.

BTW, just received DBS letter offering 2.68% - 2.8% for either 3 or 12 months FD for 50K above.

mosmos
06-12-2005, 02:39 PM
I just realised the cash account offered by Fundsupermart goes to iFast, i.e. they are the same. Both FS and Ifast calculate based on Inter-bank rate, so it floats according to demand and supply. In long term in a rising interest rate environment, this is probably a better offer.

BTW, just received DBS letter offering 2.68% - 2.8% for either 3 or 12 months FD for 50K above.

dbs is very funny. they prefered to send out letters abt the FD promotions than advertising on their website or ST. Last time, it mentioned that the special rate is for selected customers, however, it seems like everyone also received that letter.

sue88
06-12-2005, 03:00 PM
dbs is very funny. they prefered to send out letters abt the FD promotions than advertising on their website or ST. Last time, it mentioned that the special rate is for selected customers, however, it seems like everyone also received that letter.

I prefered letter thou. If they advertised it, it means the bank outlets would be overwhelmed with non-dbs customers. That would make the processing very slow and frustrating since the staff have to open new accounts, make photocopies of IC and so on. By offering to only their own customers, processing it would be much more efficient.

The only thing I hope is for them to provide this special rate for online FD since it's still a waste of time queuing at the bank.

mosmos
06-12-2005, 03:21 PM
I prefered letter thou. If they advertised it, it means the bank outlets would be overwhelmed with non-dbs customers. That would make the processing very slow and frustrating since the staff have to open new accounts, make photocopies of IC and so on. By offering to only their own customers, processing it would be much more efficient.

The only thing I hope is for them to provide this special rate for online FD since it's still a waste of time queuing at the bank.

advertise can get more $$$. They always want fresh funds. how to do it online? Maybe you can sign up as treasure customers, no need to queue, seat on sofas and being served with drinks when banking.

sue88
06-12-2005, 03:36 PM
advertise can get more $$$. They always want fresh funds. how to do it online? Maybe you can sign up as treasure customers, no need to queue, seat on sofas and being served with drinks when banking.

DBS i-bank allows online FD for cash and CPF, but at normal rate. And of course I would love to be their treasure customer, wait till i get my first million :)

benqhoo
06-12-2005, 03:55 PM
any one know how the bank calculate the penalty fine for premature withdrawal of FD...???

thank...

limpoop
06-12-2005, 07:26 PM
any one know how the bank calculate the penalty fine for premature withdrawal of FD...???

thank...

Ask the banks as they have their own rules. For DBS/UOB I think no interest will be paid, the best is Citibank's unfixed deposit, will pay you 1.88%pa for amount withdrawn.

addict951
06-12-2005, 08:22 PM
Any news of Stand Chart's new rate for e$savers come Jan 06? :look:

benqhoo
06-12-2005, 10:18 PM
Ask the banks as they have their own rules. For DBS/UOB I think no interest will be paid, the best is Citibank's unfixed deposit, will pay you 1.88%pa for amount withdrawn.ya...just withdrawn 2 FD from SCB and HSBC...
both 0.7% pa committed for 1yr...
SCB completed 6months i still able to get $10 after deducted $26+ penalty...
for HSBC completed 9months i kana got to pay $46+ penalty

with such low interest <1%...not worth to commit for longer period FD...
SCB e$avers is better one to go for...

benqhoo
06-12-2005, 10:35 PM

Can't find anything on their website.for HSBC need to have their internet banking serivce to log in and check the rate..or can call them and ask...

dont know why they dont want to list the rate on their website...

benqhoo
06-12-2005, 10:35 PM

Can't find anything on their website.last wk i saw 2.8% pa for 50k...today is 2.7638%
for HSBC need to have their internet banking serivce to log in and check the rate..or can call them and ask...

mosmos
06-12-2005, 10:53 PM
last wk i saw 2.8% pa for 50k...today is 2.7638%
for HSBC need to have their internet banking serivce to log in and check the rate..or can call them and ask...

I called HSBC, 12mths only 2.76375%. :s22:

mosmos
06-12-2005, 10:55 PM
Ask the banks as they have their own rules. For DBS/UOB I think no interest will be paid, the best is Citibank's unfixed deposit, will pay you 1.88%pa for amount withdrawn.

for maybank, i withdrawned before maturity, no penalty and interest will be paid according to the month how many months you had already put in.

benqhoo
06-12-2005, 11:15 PM
I called HSBC, 12mths only 2.76375%. :s22: http://img521.imageshack.us/img521/7908/untitled0ky.jpg

just now i logged in and see one...was told their rate everyday diff...
what i was told for HSBC even the penalty rate for premature withdrawal will be diff everyday…

think diff bank got diff charges...so those committing for longer term FD with bigger amount better check 1st...if not the the penalty could be few hundreds dollars...eat into the principal...
put the money with the bank and get nothing still got to pay them.... :s22:

limpoop
07-12-2005, 10:30 AM
Here are some of the best FDs & savings A/C (from friends and colleagues):

1. If you have $50k or more and may withdraw $ early: Citibank unfixed FD 2.68%pa

2. If you have $50k or more and will not withdraw $ early: UOB 2.79%pa or SCB 2.75%pa or ask your bank to "challenge" the best rates on the market

3. If you have less than $50k and do not need an ATM card: SCB e$aver 2.45%pa (SCB will definitely extend its 2.45%pa offer after 31 Dec to keep customers)

mosmos
07-12-2005, 10:56 AM
[QUOTE=limpoop]Here are some of the best FDs & savings A/C (from friends and colleagues):

1. If you have $50k or more and may withdraw $ early: Citibank unfixed FD 2.68%pa

2. If you have $50k or more and will not withdraw $ early: UOB 2.79%pa or SCB 2.75%pa or ask your bank to "challenge" the best rates on the market (If you are 55 yrs & above, go for maybank, giving 3.125% with 25k)

3. If you have less than $50k and do not need an ATM card: SCB e$aver 2.45%pa (SCB will definitely extend its 2.45%pa offer after 31 Dec to keep customers)

Xiaosa
07-12-2005, 11:31 AM
To all,

I would think it will be advisable not to make a decision now. Wait and see. ... Next year, I believe will have better deals coming out.

[QUOTE=limpoop]Here are some of the best FDs & savings A/C (from friends and colleagues):

2. If you have $50k or more and will not withdraw $ early: UOB 2.79%pa or SCB 2.75%pa or ask your bank to "challenge" the best rates on the market (If you are 55 yrs & above, go for maybank, giving 3.125% with 25k)

mosmos
07-12-2005, 12:20 PM
To all,

I would think it will be advisable not to make a decision now. Wait and see. ... Next year, I believe will have better deals coming out.

yes, while waiting for better deals, it's better to deposit into SCB e$avers or maybank isavvy.

benqhoo
07-12-2005, 03:38 PM
for >50k...HSBC shorter FD like 7days, 1 months quite ok rite...??? interest >2.4%...
interest lesser 0.x% but dont need kana tie down for longer period as 6 months or 1 yr...

wherehouse
07-12-2005, 08:07 PM
there is a loophole in the definition of fresh fund

banker knows about it and some of them close one eye when i abuse it :)
cash WD at branch and Deposit into Esaver over the counter

richland
07-12-2005, 11:00 PM
cash WD at branch and Deposit into Esaver over the counter

correct! i did that most of the time, banker so far let me do it everytime :)

richland
07-12-2005, 11:56 PM
New promo fm uob ! http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showpost.php?p=16370925&postcount=1

3% for 6mths FD when place an equivalent amt on 12mths FD at 2.68%, min $50.000

min 50k for 6 mths FD and min 50k for 12 mths FD and min 5k in flexiD for 6 mths

total = 105k, not cheap

jasonnth
08-12-2005, 11:36 AM
min 50k for 6 mths FD and min 50k for 12 mths FD and min 5k in flexiD for 6 mths

total = 105k, not cheap

they trying to maxi the number of fresh funds possible
btw these offer only on 2 wkends

limpoop
08-12-2005, 01:59 PM
Anyone knows the details of the latest FD promotions from DBS? Highest interest is 2.8%. Shame they did not update their web site...

I am very sure soon some banks will give out 3% or more..... with no age limit.

mosmos
08-12-2005, 02:26 PM
Anyone knows the details of the latest FD promotions from DBS? Highest interest is 2.8%. Shame they did not update their web site...

I am very sure soon some banks will give out 3% or more..... with no age limit.

dbs is not sincere with this promotion, the terms and conditions was not stated on ST and the best is that you can't find it on website either. And i wonder who knows the exact % for the deposit w/o going to the counter.

If u can't wait to get 3% or more, can open a joint account with yr parent now....

twosix
08-12-2005, 02:54 PM
I did saw some fine prints stating min $50k required, but to a max of $1 million for the DBS FD.

mosmos
08-12-2005, 04:08 PM
I did saw some fine prints stating min $50k required, but to a max of $1 million for the DBS FD.

but it never mention whether need to be fresh funds or open a current account, etc.

1 thing it never fails to mention in every advertisment is that dbs is the winner of best retail bank

wherehouse
10-12-2005, 02:10 AM
correct! i did that most of the time, banker so far let me do it everytime :)
dollar notes do not have electronic trail

mosmos
12-12-2005, 02:55 PM
HLB now offering 2.88% for 3 mths, no strings attached......but min $100,000

Stanchart 2.75% for 12mths, min $5000 only

twosix
12-12-2005, 03:58 PM
Stand Chart's e-saver will revert to 1.28% from Jan 2006 onwards.

luvpraline
12-12-2005, 04:08 PM

Hi mosmos,

do u have the url of the stanchart FD above? can't seem to find it on their webby...

limpoop
12-12-2005, 05:16 PM
Hi mosmos,

do u have the url of the stanchart FD above? can't seem to find it on their webby...

http://www.standardchartered.com.sg/**/deposit/esaver_novpromo/esaver_novpromo.html

limpoop
12-12-2005, 05:17 PM
Stand Chart's e-saver will revert to 1.28% from Jan 2006 onwards.

Did you receive email/sms from them?

I think they will continue to offer 2.45%pa after Dec 31st because they don;t want customers to jump ship to Maybank :)

luvpraline
12-12-2005, 05:39 PM
http://www.standardchartered.com.sg/**/deposit/esaver_novpromo/esaver_novpromo.html

Thanks limpoop... but ur link doesnt work..haha

for some reason the "c" and "b" in ur url above got replaced by asterisks instead haha :s13:

mosmos
12-12-2005, 06:47 PM

for some reason the "c" and "b" in ur url above got replaced by asterisks instead haha :s13:

i saw it on today's straits times

tazzycorner
13-12-2005, 12:11 AM
They are hinting those eSaver users to put in higher interest rate 1-yr fixed deposit to prevent them from jumping ship to Maybank. It still a very good deal!

Maybe eSaver will revert to 1.28% from Jan 2006 onwards.

sorry, I am new to esaver
has some quick questions ...

1. is the interest rate fixed at 2.45 if I sign up now? even if it goes down next yr?
2. anytime i can take out the $$?
3. can apply at branch?

thnx!

Ice
13-12-2005, 09:19 AM
sorry, I am new to esaver
has some quick questions ...

1. is the interest rate fixed at 2.45 if I sign up now? even if it goes down next yr?
2. anytime i can take out the $$?
3. can apply at branch?

thnx!
http://www.standardchartered.com.sg/

tazzycorner
13-12-2005, 10:05 AM
http://www.standardchartered.com.sg/

thanks ... but I also know the URL

if possible, I need quick answers without going thru the terms and conditions on the website and mis-interpreting the details

giddygoat
13-12-2005, 12:45 PM

i have a feeling they typo leh. anyone checked with the bank? cos the words the header says 2.75%p.a. for 12 months (min deposit 50,000) but the small print says 5,000. i'd believe 50k is more likely.

giddygoat
13-12-2005, 12:49 PM
like luvpraline said, to go to the link, replace asterisks with "c" and "b"
i think the admins here don't allow us to put the two letters together?

:s13: :s13:

Ice
13-12-2005, 05:29 PM
I also want to give the the direct link where the clear and concise answers are already posted by standchart but the link has c and b :P It's all there under e$aver..dun be so lazy to do a little clicking around.

tazzycorner
13-12-2005, 06:02 PM
go to the link liao

so, juzt to confrim my understanding, the rates will fluctuate and u will be subjected to the latest rates?

limpoop
13-12-2005, 08:34 PM

Haha! I know why the link was replaced by admin, because of the meaning for letters "c" and "b" in Hokkien!

luvpraline
13-12-2005, 08:49 PM
Haha! I know why the link was replaced by admin, because of the meaning for letters "c" and "b" in Hokkien!

haha that's what im thinking too!

the problem is.. most of stanchart's webpages have the c & b in their url...so I guess too bad for them =p

benqhoo
14-12-2005, 11:04 AM
i have a feeling they typo leh. anyone checked with the bank? cos the words the header says 2.75%p.a. for 12 months (min deposit 50,000) but the small print says 5,000. i'd believe 50k is more likely.

http://www.standardchartered.com.sg/**/deposit/esaver_novpromo/esaver_novpromo.htmlthey got advert in the ST paper....min $5000 max $1,000,000 for 12months tenor.
promotion till 31/12/2005
or can give them a call...

giddygoat
15-12-2005, 11:19 AM
yup, you're right. i misread the banner.
called them and they said the min deposit is 5k and that an esaver account also counts as a transactional account (you need to have 5k in a transactional account to open the time deposit). looks good.

jasonnth
15-12-2005, 11:28 AM
if the time deposit is for 2.75 for 12 mths, after that it will revert back to 1%

would that be not so good

giddygoat
15-12-2005, 12:22 PM
even if it's for one year, what you have to lose? cos unless you have 50k to spare, you'd be earning 1% or less anyway...

benqhoo
15-12-2005, 12:44 PM
even for bigger sum like 50k...want go for longer period...better check the penalty 1st...
incase you need the $$$..might kana few hundreds penalty from the bank...

sue88
15-12-2005, 03:01 PM
I thought the only "penalty" for FD is not getting the interest paid? Some banks allow early redemption for FD, like Maybank. The last time when I opened a FD a/c, they told me that in the event of early redemption, you'll get lesser interest but still higher than saving account.

Went to open a 3-month FD with DBS on last Saturday and spent the interest on xmas shopping on the same day before I even collect the money. Probably will put another 3-month FD with them since their rate is quite good and timeframe is short.

As mentioned on the papers, the Fed interest rate will probably peak next year. When that happens, the FD rate will likely to stablise and we might not see this type of heat up competition.

o0KelviN0o
15-12-2005, 04:49 PM
https://secure.fundsupermart.com/main/trustaccount/fxAndInterestRates.tpl?

If u invest with them, u'll know this service provided :)

benqhoo
16-12-2005, 12:36 AM
I thought the only "penalty" for FD is not getting the interest paid? Some banks allow early redemption for FD, like Maybank. The last time when I opened a FD a/c, they told me that in the event of early redemption, you'll get lesser interest but still higher than saving account.

Went to open a 3-month FD with DBS on last Saturday and spent the interest on xmas shopping on the same day before I even collect the money. Probably will put another 3-month FD with them since their rate is quite good and timeframe is short.

As mentioned on the papers, the Fed interest rate will probably peak next year. When that happens, the FD rate will likely to stablise and we might not see this type of heat up competition.i kanaed from HSBC(posted got in front)...but they offering quite attractive rate for >50k...even 7days >2.4%

Blucifer
16-12-2005, 02:19 AM
Hi guys,

where do you people get the good rates from?

i went to UOB:
http://www.uob.com.sg/redirect.jsp?direct=/mproxy?Action=SFD

also DBS:
http://www.dbs.com/ratesonline/fdsgd.html

eve their rates for 50k also stated 1.8% for FD, where to find 2%+ rates?

am i missing out something? pls dont flame me! :)

benqhoo
16-12-2005, 09:58 AM
http://img358.imageshack.us/img358/2804/untitled9sv.jpg

today HSBC >50k FD even offering 2.745% for 7days:s31:

cheers
16-12-2005, 10:27 AM
they got advert in the ST paper....min $5000 max $1,000,000 for 12months tenor.
promotion till 31/12/2005
or can give them a call...

cant find any of it at the SC website. This FD is different from the eSaver right? hmm...later gona find out more from the bank itself....me dun have 50K to enjoy the high interest rate...so sad....

think next yr might not have such good rates. now the banks are fighting to get your yr end bonus....

limpoop
16-12-2005, 11:00 AM
http://img358.imageshack.us/img358/2804/untitled9sv.jpg

today HSBC >50k FD even offering 2.745% for 7days:s31:

HSBC is so funny and brain dead, why don't they put ads like other banks? Looks like the offers are for their customers only.

Also if you place S$49,999 for 7 days and the interest is $0 :) :)

benqhoo
16-12-2005, 11:00 AM
cant find any of it at the SC website. This FD is different from the eSaver right? hmm...later gona find out more from the bank itself....me dun have 50K to enjoy the high interest rate...so sad....

think next yr might not have such good rates. now the banks are fighting to get your yr end bonus....http://img227.imageshack.us/img227/1726/308oq.jpghttp://img221.imageshack.us/img221/5746/208fe.jpg
for SCB this promotion min 5k can get the 2.75%...dont need 50k...
if can commit for full 1yr the FD is better...but incase premature withdrawal then wont get much $$$...
for shorter term the esaver is better...more flexible...

limpoop
16-12-2005, 11:06 AM
Hi guys,

i went to UOB:

also DBS:

These are their normal or "vanilla" FD rates.

For sepcial FD rates you have to check their promotion section on their website or in ST/Today.

I think recently DBS came up with 2.835% pa for FD over $50K and UOB offered 2.79%pa effective for FD over $100k

Blucifer
16-12-2005, 11:08 AM
Hi guys,

i went to UOB:

also DBS:

hi, can anyone please enlighten me? thank u!!

benqhoo
16-12-2005, 11:10 AM
HSBC is so funny and brain dead, why don't they put ads like other banks? Looks like the offers are for their customers only.

Also if you place S$49,999 for 7 days and the interest is $0 :) :)maybe they catering for different market...

one thing i see is their rates changing everyday....been going up and down...so i not surprise if next day go down to <2%...
they are offering higher rate for shorter period than other bank but watch out they do impose penalty for premature withdrawal...

cheers
16-12-2005, 11:23 AM
http://img227.imageshack.us/img227/1726/308oq.jpghttp://img221.imageshack.us/img221/5746/208fe.jpg
if can commit for full 1yr the FD is better...but incase premature withdrawal then wont get much $$$...

still need to open an account and put in 5k?

collins
17-12-2005, 01:19 AM
Do not spam.

mosmos
17-12-2005, 07:25 PM
I guess foreign banks fight $$$ like no tomorrow.....

maybank iSAVvy Time Deposit. 2.88 %, for deposits of $25,000 or more, receive 1% in interest up-front, and the remaining 188% interest on interest a year later.(No need fresh funds !!! )

http://info.maybank2u.com.sg/personal/deposits/isavvyTD.htm#

Hsbc 1mth, 2.71375, min $50K

Then for singapura finance, not only got high % and also free cans of abalone. Forget what rates they are offering. saw its ad in ST.

mosmos
18-12-2005, 01:26 AM
found this website abt sg best investment, including deposits
http://www.askdrmoney.com/index.htm

tazzycorner
18-12-2005, 01:59 AM

interesting!
hope it is updated regularly

thnx!

mykingston
18-12-2005, 09:32 AM

hi,

is this updated with the latest rates, so that comparison can be done with other banks immediately ? :s8:

mosmos
18-12-2005, 11:56 AM
hi,

is this updated with the latest rates, so that comparison can be done with other banks immediately ? :s8:

not really updated...

however, this is more updated. :s13:
http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showpost.php?p=16370925&postcount=1

nicholaslee
18-12-2005, 02:23 PM
hmm, from the first post, is it that

#Hong Leong Finance
i) extra 0.5% + 0.25% -- 12mths FD (min $500)
ii) 2.88% -- 3mths FD (min $100k)

offers the best rate? :s11: Asking on behalf of someone. have $100k to put in bank.

mosmos
18-12-2005, 03:50 PM
hmm, from the first post, is it that

#Hong Leong Finance
i) extra 0.5% + 0.25% -- 12mths FD (min $500)
ii) 2.88% -- 3mths FD (min $100k)

offers the best rate? :s11: Asking on behalf of someone. have $100k to put in bank.

how long is he going to put? if 36mths and he is more than 55yrs old then go for maybank, can get 2.8125 + 0.25 = 3.0625%.

http://info.maybank2u.com.sg/personal/deposits/sgd_time_privilege.htm

If for only 1 day, then go for standchart, 2.45%.

limpoop
18-12-2005, 06:55 PM
Will be interesting to see which bank will be the first to offer 3%pa for FD of 50k...

mosmos
18-12-2005, 09:19 PM
Will be interesting to see which bank will be the first to offer 3%pa for FD of 50k...

UOB already has 3% but got other conditions...
maybank also got more than 3% but only applicable for yr parents or senior citizens....

limpoop
18-12-2005, 09:30 PM
UOB already has 3% but got other conditions...
maybank also got more than 3% but only applicable for yr parents or senior citizens....

Agreed, but UOB's 3%pa is for the first 50k and you need to put another 50k for 2.68%pa so the effective rate is 2.79%pa for a FD of $100k for 12 mths.

The 12-mth 2.88%pa FD with min $25k from Maybank is interesting:

http://info.maybank2u.com.sg/personal/deposits/isavvyTD.htm

Open an iSAVvy Time Deposit now and enjoy:
• 1% p.a^ upfront interest payment one business day after placement
• 188%^ interest-on-interest when your deposit matures

Hummm... 188% interest-on-interests! The upfront 1%pa sounds good for people who want to see the $$$ first.

I am very sure some other big banks will offer better rates (hopefully 3%pa for $50k) next few weeks, let wait and see :)

mosmos
18-12-2005, 09:39 PM
Agreed, but UOB's 3%pa is for the first 50k and you need to put another 50k for 2.68%pa so the effective rate is 2.79%pa for a FD of $100k for 12 mths.

The 12-mth 2.88%pa FD with min $25k from Maybank is interesting:

http://info.maybank2u.com.sg/personal/deposits/isavvyTD.htm

Open an iSAVvy Time Deposit now and enjoy:
• 1% p.a^ upfront interest payment one business day after placement
• 188%^ interest-on-interest when your deposit matures

Hummm... 188% interest-on-interests! The upfront 1%pa sounds good for people who want to see the $$$ first.

I am very sure some other big banks will offer better rates (hopefully 3%pa for $50k) next few weeks, let wait and see :)

this new FD is among the best now, no need fresh funds and only need $25k, 188% looks scary but effective only 2.88% :s13: ....unlike others which need fresh funds

but there are charges if you go to counter....
- By Cash S$15
- By Transferring To Own Maybank Account Free
- By Transferring To Third Party Maybank Account S$10
- By Cashier's Order Issued To Account Holder S$10
- By Cashier's Order Issued To Non-Account Holder S$15

Balance Enquiry S$5/receipt

Request For Statement Of Account S$30/account

Change Of Maturity Instruction* Free

nicholaslee
19-12-2005, 01:51 AM
how long is he going to put? if 36mths and he is more than 55yrs old then go for maybank, can get 2.8125 + 0.25 = 3.0625%.

http://info.maybank2u.com.sg/personal/deposits/sgd_time_privilege.htm

If for only 1 day, then go for standchart, 2.45%.

he should be putting in the bank for atleast a year. he's over 55 too. so maybank is the best? thanks for the info! I'll tell him that :)

mosmos
19-12-2005, 09:35 AM
he should be putting in the bank for atleast a year. he's over 55 too. so maybank is the best? thanks for the info! I'll tell him that :)

i think for 1 yr, he should go for HLB, 3mths 2.88% or maybank new isavvy time deposit, 12mths 2.88%.

Or ask his preference bank to match the best rate since he got $100K to deposit :s22:

zenvey
19-12-2005, 08:48 PM

Also if you place S$49,999 for 7 days and the interest is $0 :) :)
sorry, total noob here regarding deposits

what is 7 days? 1 month? fix deposit too right?

i understand that if i put 50k at 12 months, i'll get 2.7950

then what if i put at 7 days?

7/356 * (2.7450 * 50k) ?

addict951
19-12-2005, 09:40 PM

7/356 * (2.7450 * 50k) ?

For fixed deposits, no such thing as put 7 days only. FIXED means put thru out the whole duration of the deposit contract, ie. 1 month, 6 months, 12 months etc. You withdraw earlier you will kenna penalise, meaning a large portion of interest earned will be wiped out.

You want 7 days, just go for the Stand Chart e$savers a/c.

addict951
19-12-2005, 09:43 PM
Any update from Stand Chart regarding new int rate come Jan?

Think all the banks waiting for each other to announce. =:p

benqhoo
19-12-2005, 09:48 PM

7/356 * (2.7450 * 50k) ?HSBC offering 7 days FD for >50k...maturity is 7 days..you can get back ur $$$ + interest...their rate quite attractive...
calculation should be....
PA interest divide by 365 then x number of day...7 days then x 7...
if month then should be from the date to next moth same date then must see that month got how many days...some months more, some montha less...

correct me if i wrong..
or you can call them to check...

mosmos
19-12-2005, 11:53 PM
For fixed deposits, no such thing as put 7 days only. FIXED means put thru out the whole duration of the deposit contract, ie. 1 month, 6 months, 12 months etc. You withdraw earlier you will kenna penalise, meaning a large portion of interest earned will be wiped out.

There's 7 days FD for HSBC. http://img358.imageshack.us/img358/2804/untitled9sv.jpg
courtesy: benghoo

Any update from Stand Chart regarding new int rate come Jan?

Think all the banks waiting for each other to announce. =:p

Agreed. If the 1st bank to offer that new rate, another bank will offer a bit higher rate, then another will also goes a bit higher and so on....

limpoop
20-12-2005, 08:48 AM
Has anyone tried the new Maybank iSAVvy FD @ 2.88%pa? Very tempting as it pays 1%pa cash upfront, but will lock our $$$ for 12 months. Will regret if other banks offer better rates :)

HSBC seems good for short term FD.

richland
20-12-2005, 09:01 AM

why no 7 days FD? UOB even offer 1 day FD for >1M

FD means you deposit an agreed amount and do not touch for an agreed number of days mah, commonly used period are 1, 3, 6, 9, 12, 18 and 36 months.

there are some creative period, such as UOB 1-days FD, HSBC 7-days FD and OCBC 10/10

like some pals said, whether 1 month or how many months, it still breaks down to number of days in FD calculation. some 1 month FD gives you 30 days interest, some gives you 31 days interest

lowswmarine
23-12-2005, 05:31 PM
UOB doubles the interest rates in Flexideposit saving accounts.
Tier Existing Interest Rates Revised Interest Rates
First S$3,000 0.150% 0.300%
Next S$47,000 0.375% 0.750%
Next S$50,000 0.500% 1.000%
Above S$100,000 0.625% 1.250%

limpoop
27-12-2005, 11:32 AM
Looks like Maybank iSAVvy FD 2.88% pa is the highest for deposits of $25k and above for 2005.

I am going to close my SCB e$aver as the 2.45%pa offer will end this Sat and move to iSavvy and then iSavvy FD.

dreamer75
27-12-2005, 02:08 PM
http://img227.imageshack.us/img227/1726/308oq.jpghttp://img221.imageshack.us/img221/5746/208fe.jpg

this one is gd!!!

mosmos
27-12-2005, 02:32 PM
Looks like Maybank iSAVvy FD 2.88% pa is the highest for deposits of $25k and above for 2005.

I am going to close my SCB e$aver as the 2.45%pa offer will end this Sat and move to iSavvy and then iSavvy FD.

maybe SCB will announce new rate for e$avers before friday.... :s22:

mosmos
27-12-2005, 02:42 PM
i had opened the isavvy savings. For ATM card you can choose normal atm card or mastercard debit atm card. the master card debit atm card is free anyway...

MSP
27-12-2005, 03:29 PM
i have just opened the stan chart 2.75% FD. On top of the FD, they gave me free

1. Excel Banking facilities (i.e. Priority banking);
2. a checking account with free cheque books;
3. a Platinum Stan Chart Visa card;
4. 1 free gift (some expensive body wash)
5. linking of checking acc to my e-saver acc;
6. an atm card.

Pretty cool.

mosmos
27-12-2005, 03:40 PM

6. an atm card.

Pretty cool.

these 3 are interesting.

put $5k into FD can get or not?????

How much did u put?

MSP
27-12-2005, 03:48 PM
a lot lor.

;)

benqhoo
27-12-2005, 04:06 PM

6. an atm card.

Pretty cool.>50k ah...
if you withdraw ur FD...the cards/everything gone rite...:s11:

mosmos
27-12-2005, 04:07 PM
wow, seems like you put more than S$200,000 into SCB FD. You should have go for dbs, maybank, hong leong finance, etc which gives you more than 2.8%.

eg. $200,000 at 2.75%, 12mths = $5500
at 2.88%, 12mths = $5760
that's $260 more !!!

And if you put in maybank can get the 1% interest ($2000) on next business day!!!
Then can redeposit the 1% into SCB e$savers again to earn another 2.45%...so the total % you may get is 2.9% for 12 mths...

haha.....sorry....too free now...

MSP
27-12-2005, 04:10 PM
if i got 200K, i would go straight to UBS pls.

;)

so the amount is less than 200K lah.

;)

benqhoo
27-12-2005, 04:13 PM
for big sum of money...want commit for long term....better plan properly...
i kana penalty before..i know the taste... :s22:

MSP
27-12-2005, 04:16 PM
true. thats so true if you are planning to get married or buy some big ticket item ;)

mosmos
27-12-2005, 04:20 PM

;)

;)

UBS gives what rate?

MSP
27-12-2005, 04:23 PM
URL of UBS:
http://www.ubs.com/1/e/wealth_mgmt_ww/asia_pacific/singapore.html

Rates:
Call them

But you need at least 100K in SGD or USD (cannot remember the denominations)

;)

mosmos
27-12-2005, 04:32 PM
UBS got FD??? can't find it on its website.

also saw this...'We don't just talk about success', so they not gonna make much $$$ for you..

limpoop
27-12-2005, 06:37 PM

6. an atm card.

Pretty cool.

Cool. But SCB Plat card is almost useless, they gave one to me and I have not use it at all.

2,75% is a bit low, you should have asked for at least 2.88%pa

limpoop
27-12-2005, 06:44 PM
maybe SCB will announce new rate for e$avers before friday.... :s22:

Let's wait and see, I think they might extend the offer since they do not want so many people cancel their e$aver and move to Maybank.

limpoop
27-12-2005, 06:45 PM

;)

;)

If you dare put $200k into NZD, that is about 7%pa or $14,000 a year!!

mosmos
27-12-2005, 07:52 PM
nz got good rates but the currency exchange rate at banks are quite bad as compared to outside money changer rate, at least 1% difference.

Even if you want to use foreign currency cash to deposit, banks still want to charge at least 1% commission, then withdraw in foreign currency, another 1% charge. In the end maybe you earn less than 5%.

MSP
27-12-2005, 10:00 PM
er

the only way to get the true 5+% for interest rate for NZ deposit is:

Change all the $$$ in NZ from the many different money changers, bring it pass NZ customs without declaring it, and then depositing into any NZ local bank with 6% interest rate

u desposit NZ dollar in SG, good luck to you lor

;)

mosmos
27-12-2005, 10:18 PM
hmm.....air ticket no need $$$ meh???? :s22:

the other option is to walk across causeway and open a M$ FD, got more than 4%.

but i wonder if iras will haunt you???? :s22:

limpoop
28-12-2005, 09:45 AM
You can't just walk over and open a FD in M'sia, you need to be employed in M'sia to open a bank account if I am not wrong.

mosmos
28-12-2005, 11:53 AM
wah, m'sia bank so strict. Unlike sg banks, i overheard the mainland chineses that they had opened bank accounts without any proper identfications....

huskyjude
28-12-2005, 03:22 PM
standard chartered is previously at 1.88% then increased to 2.45% for nov & Dec ,

why do they decrease i/r back to 1.28% ah?

So disappointing.

mosmos
28-12-2005, 03:28 PM
standard chartered is previously at 1.88% then increased to 2.45% for nov & Dec ,

So disappointing.

huh? really ar??? no new rate??? so disappointing....maybe just let this account auto-close...

btw, place S$18,000 in a 12-months or 18-months Singapore Dollar Fixed Deposit and you will receive the following gift:

12mths http://www.uob.com.sg/assets/images/promotions/fabulousgifts_gifts1.jpgSeverin Food Steamer
18mths http://www.uob.com.sg/assets/images/promotions/fabulousgifts_gifts2.jpgSharp Microwave Oven

source: http://www.uob.com.sg/pages/promotions/promo_fixed_depositsdec05.html

12mths - 0.8250% :s22:
18mths - 0.9250% :s22:

MSP
28-12-2005, 03:37 PM

So disappointing.

u sure drop back to 1.28% or not????

;)

huskyjude
28-12-2005, 03:39 PM
Yes, just called up their hotline asking why 1.28% cos i remember last time it's 1.88%.
They say it's the prevailing i/r.

mosmos
28-12-2005, 03:47 PM
then banks no more % fight now????? senior finance management all go for happy hoildays ar????

MSP
28-12-2005, 04:02 PM
at least better than the rates of UOB, DBS, POSB for normal saving accounts ;)

mosmos
28-12-2005, 04:34 PM
stay tune for chinese new year promotions.......

singapura finance already got free cans of abalone....
then, uob got steamer & microwave oven.....

huskyjude
28-12-2005, 05:56 PM
cool, will entice my mum. i luv abalone.

cklim17
28-12-2005, 06:11 PM
regarding the stanchart Esavers account hor, u cant withdraw money. stanchard impose charges for withdrawal of any money. so the only way is to close the account, and take out all the money.

recently came across the OCBC Monthly Savings Plan (MSP). its also like a savings account. u allocated a certain amount of your income towards this MSP for a fixed 24 month period. OCBC pays 1% P.A on these savings. seems not bad, u get to save some money and earn some higher interest than what POSB or UOB would give.

for more details,
http://www.ocbc.com/personal-banking/banking/Bnk_Dep_MSP.shtm

limpoop
28-12-2005, 06:19 PM
regarding the stanchart Esavers account hor, u cant withdraw money. stanchard impose charges for withdrawal of any money. so the only way is to close the account, and take out all the money.

Correct, I closed my e$aver last month and moved to Maybank's iSAVvy. They gave me a casher's order, it took them a good one hour to process and I was very pissed, I questioned them and was told they need to perform "internal checks" before closing the account, what a shame!

recently came across the OCBC Monthly Savings Plan (MSP). its also like a savings account. u allocated a certain amount of your income towards this MSP for a fixed 24 month period. OCBC pays 1% P.A on these savings. seems not bad, u get to save some money and earn some higher interest than what POSB or UOB would give.

for more details,
http://www.ocbc.com/personal-banking/banking/Bnk_Dep_MSP.shtm

I hate OCBC, they always use lucky draws to attract new funds instead of giving real benefits, except its 18% pa for 10 days FD, which is not bad, who will be so lucky to win?

limpoop
28-12-2005, 06:22 PM
then banks no more % fight now????? senior finance management all go for happy hoildays ar????

I think they are all MIA to enjoy their FAT year end bonus! I heard some big banks are paying 6 months bonus to their front line staff.

I am still waiting for 3%pa for 25K FD .... :)

limpoop
28-12-2005, 06:29 PM
Yes, just called up their hotline asking why 1.28% cos i remember last time it's 1.88%.
They say it's the prevailing i/r.

Wait and see, they might extend the 2.45%pa last minute, I don't think they want mass account closure next week to allow people to jump ship to Maybank iSavvy which offers 2.38%pa for 1st 3 months.

cklim17
28-12-2005, 09:16 PM
Maybank's isaVvy seems not too bad hor.....2.38% P.A for 1st 3 months, after that 6% interest-on-interest every 6 months leh...dont play play...but the min amount must be 5k. too bad i dont have it...

twosix
28-12-2005, 09:19 PM
Err... Maybank's isavvy is 25k min, not 5k hor.

cklim17
28-12-2005, 09:36 PM
Err... Maybank's isavvy is 25k min, not 5k hor.

25k meh? where got....5k mah
http://info.maybank2u.com.sg/personal/deposits/isavvy.htm

limpoop
28-12-2005, 09:45 PM
25k meh? where got....5k mah
http://info.maybank2u.com.sg/personal/deposits/isavvy.htm

Maybank iSAVvy saving: Min 5k to enjoy 2.38%pa

Maybank iSAVvy FD: Min 25k to enjoy 2.88%pa

lookforward
28-12-2005, 09:50 PM
cool, one way to taste abalone with deposits

limpoop
28-12-2005, 09:57 PM
Any bank offers bua kua for FD? :)

mosmos
29-12-2005, 12:31 AM
maybe got some cheapstake bank gives empty red or green packets.....

evets
29-12-2005, 10:11 AM
the banks are really fighting their neck out for deposit ...even by giving out chessy electrical appliances..

luvpraline
29-12-2005, 10:33 AM
this iSAVvy savings a/c must commit for at least 6 months right... otherwise there is penalty for early a/c closure :)

http://info.maybank2u.com.sg/site_functions/bank_charges_local.htm#isa

limpoop
29-12-2005, 11:25 AM
this iSAVvy savings a/c must commit for at least 6 months right... otherwise there is penalty for early a/c closure :)

http://info.maybank2u.com.sg/site_functions/bank_charges_local.htm#isa

Just empty the account with $0 balance and it will auto close.

limpoop
29-12-2005, 11:48 AM
maybe got some cheapstake bank gives empty red or green packets.....

You can get red packets from almost all the banks, just ask from the counter staff.

MSP
29-12-2005, 02:04 PM
just received an SMS from Stan Chart.

>SGD50,000 - 2.45%
<SGD50,000 - 1.88%

And someone was saying 1.28%????

;)

twosix
29-12-2005, 02:08 PM
I did say stanchart from 1 Jan 06 is 1.28%. This was quoted to me by stanchart when i opened an e-saver acct early dec.

1.88% is still very good.

twosix
29-12-2005, 02:09 PM
Maybank iSAVvy saving: Min 5k to enjoy 2.38%pa

Maybank iSAVvy FD: Min 25k to enjoy 2.88%pa

oops... sorry... i was referring to the FD.

luvpraline
29-12-2005, 02:11 PM

>SGD50,000 - 2.45%
<SGD50,000 - 1.88%

;)

are the above rates for FD or e$aver?

limpoop
29-12-2005, 02:13 PM

>SGD50,000 - 2.45%
<SGD50,000 - 1.88%

;)

Did you receive the SMS today? I have not receive any SMS from SCB recently.

Did they mention when the 2.45% offer will end?

Looks like SCB does not want people to migrate over to Maybank :)

twosix
29-12-2005, 02:19 PM
iSavvy works out to be about 1.88% per annum, am i correct? pros against e-saver is that one can draw out the money at ATMs while e-saver cannot.

luvpraline
29-12-2005, 02:34 PM
Just empty the account with $0 balance and it will auto close.

hey but accordin to maybank's website, there is a service charge of $2 if the balance falls below $500 rite?

MSP
29-12-2005, 02:51 PM
I did say stanchart from 1 Jan 06 is 1.28%. This was quoted to me by stanchart when i opened an e-saver acct early dec.

1.88% is still very good.

er..... with effect from 1 jan 06,

<50000 - 1.88%
>50000 - 2.45%

;)

MSP
29-12-2005, 02:53 PM
BTW the rates are for e-saver.

for those who are still waiting for 3% on fixed d, i suggest u get either maybank or stan chart one before the deal goes away

;)

Everton77
29-12-2005, 09:23 PM
BTW the rates are for e-saver.

for those who are still waiting for 3% on fixed d, i suggest u get either maybank or stan chart one before the deal goes away

;)

Am new here. Very interesting info here in this forum.

Receive an SMS from esavers today as well. Thought they would continue their 2.45% promo but now have to put minimum 50k. So disappointed. Was thinking, if I have 50k, I can put 25k each in Maybank iSAVvy Savings and their Time Deposit? 2.38% and 2.88% each...gives me 2.63% average returns...any better deals or suggestion anyone?

addict951
29-12-2005, 09:27 PM
Ya, Standchart downing int rate for esavers on Jan 2006: 1.88% for those with less than 50,000. 2.45% for those with 50,000 or more.

mosmos
29-12-2005, 11:38 PM
iSavvy works out to be about 1.88% per annum, am i correct? pros against e-saver is that one can draw out the money at ATMs while e-saver cannot.

still got another pro. can use the mastercard atm card to sign purchases overseas and buy online....

since e$avers and e$avers kids have the same % now, then e$avers kids is better, can get free disneyland coin bank..... :s22:

mosmos
29-12-2005, 11:49 PM
Ya, Standchart downing int rate for esavers on Jan 2006: 1.88% for those with less than 50,000. 2.45% for those with 50,000 or more.

btw, i don't quite understand their new rate.

eg if u got $50,001, $50k gives 1.88%, $1 give 2.45%....???? :s11:

addict951
30-12-2005, 12:48 AM
btw, i don't quite understand their new rate.

eg if u got $50,001, $50k gives 1.88%, $1 give 2.45%....???? :s11:

Not tiers lah.

$1 - 49,999: 1.88%
$50,000 < : 2.45%

Think come Jan I'm shifting to Maybank liao.

addict951
30-12-2005, 12:50 AM
their exact words:

"will enjoy 2.45% pa for balances of 50,000 and above and 1.88% pa. for balances of less than 50,000"

Everton77
30-12-2005, 09:07 AM
Called them up...the 2.45% applies to the whole balance if u have at least 50k...still quite a high threshold, at least for myself... =<

mosmos
30-12-2005, 01:50 PM
Called them up...the 2.45% applies to the whole balance if u have at least 50k...still quite a high threshold, at least for myself... =<

yah, their 12mth FD got 2,75% and only need $5000.....

$50k is really too much......

luvpraline
30-12-2005, 02:14 PM
yah, their 12mth FD got 2,75% and only need $5000.....

$50k is really too much......

yar so weird, but will they allow transfer from e$aver to their FD?

addict951
30-12-2005, 06:21 PM
I went to the counter and ask for a CO liao (FREE). See next week when got chance go Maybank (5 mins walk from my place) liao.

mosmos
30-12-2005, 07:49 PM
I went to the counter and ask for a CO liao (FREE). See next week when got chance go Maybank (5 mins walk from my place) liao.

wah, you so fast close account....??? why not just leave $1 inside so that when good rates come again, can still transfer the $$$ over.... :s22:

btw how come i don't have any sms fm e$avers until now???

limpoop
30-12-2005, 09:03 PM
wah, you so fast close account....??? why not just leave $1 inside so that when good rates come again, can still transfer the $$$ over.... :s22:

I think if you withdraw $$ from e$aver at the counter, you have to pay $5 plus another $5 for CO. So it is better to close it and get all your $$ in CO free and you can open a new e$aver the next day, no question asked.

Me too, maybe because I closed my e$aver and opened it again and they never update their database?

limpoop
30-12-2005, 09:08 PM
yar so weird, but will they allow transfer from e$aver to their FD?

I don't think so, I think it must be "fresh" funds, better call them to confirm.

For Maybank isavvy FD, you have to open an isvaay saving and transfer to FD and the upfront 1% interest will be credited to your isavvy saving the next business day :)

addict951
30-12-2005, 09:16 PM

I din say I close wad. Got a few dollars inside.
Think unlikely Stand Chart will revert to 2.45% for all again...

mosmos
30-12-2005, 10:12 PM
I don't think so, I think it must be "fresh" funds, better call them to confirm.

For Maybank isavvy FD, you have to open an isvaay saving and transfer to FD and the upfront 1% interest will be credited to your isavvy saving the next business day :)

for maybank isavvy FD, no need to open a new isavvy savings, any maybank accounts will do.

http://info.maybank2u.com.sg/personal/deposits/ITD_FAQ.pdf

addict951
31-12-2005, 09:30 AM
Ok, think maybe not going to Maybank after all. Cos comparing a 12-month period on both a/cs. The 1.88% e$avers still give more.

limpoop
31-12-2005, 11:20 AM
Did SCB state when the new 1.88/2.45%pa offer will end? If it is for the whole year of 2006 then it will be better than isavvy.

I have decided to go for Maybank since I do not want to lock my $$$ for too long.

zippo1979
31-12-2005, 04:35 PM
Standard Chartered E$saver Latest Update

From 1st Jan 2006,

2.45% p.a. for Balances above SGD50k
1.88% p.a. for Balances below SGD50k

it's a bit ambiguous.. i have not had the chance to clarify for balances above SGD50k, issit only the amount above 50k get 2.45% or the entire amount.

For example, if i have 60k inside, do i get

2.45% p.a. of entire 60k

OR

1.88% for 50k
2.45% for 10k

anyone free to find out or knows for sure?

addict951
31-12-2005, 04:37 PM
yes yes, someone posted liao mah, 2.45% for the entire 60K.

zippo1979
01-01-2006, 01:54 PM
sorry my bad.. didn't know someone posted liao.

dreamer75
01-01-2006, 02:35 PM
Ok, think maybe not going to Maybank after all. Cos comparing a 12-month period on both a/cs. The 1.88% e$avers still give more.

can show the break down?

limpoop
01-01-2006, 03:22 PM
If you have $60k, the best is isavvy FD @ 2.88% pa, that is a cool interest of $1728 and you get the first $600 the next day....

For below $50k, I think better to open an e$aver account @ 1.88%pa.

Just checked my POSB saving, interest earned for 2005 was $2.60 :)

dreamer75
01-01-2006, 04:11 PM
If you have $60k, the best is isavvy FD @ 2.88% pa, that is a cool interest of $1728 and you get the first $600 the next day....

dun 4get the SCD 2.75% FD :)

mosmos
01-01-2006, 06:16 PM
dun 4get the SCD 2.75% FD :)

scb 2.75% promo already ended yesterday. I wonder what is the new rate? :s22:

zippo1979
01-01-2006, 09:27 PM

i just received $0.95 for my POSB savings!!

zippo1979
01-01-2006, 09:28 PM

it really depends on what u mean by 'best'.

dun forget, if you put 60k in E$aver.. if you withdraw anytime, there is no penalty. u will even earn 1.88% on the remaining amount left in the account!!! (assuming it drops below 50k!)

i am sure the isavvy will have hefty penalty charges.

so my opinion for 60k is still put with standard chartered E$saver.

zippo1979
01-01-2006, 09:29 PM
anyway, let's wait for Citibank to see if they have any counter-offers!!!

limpoop
01-01-2006, 10:07 PM
it really depends on what u mean by 'best'.

dun forget, if you put 60k in E$aver.. if you withdraw anytime, there is no penalty. u will even earn 1.88% on the remaining amount left in the account!!! (assuming it drops below 50k!)

i am sure the isavvy will have hefty penalty charges.

so my opinion for 60k is still put with standard chartered E$saver.

Cannot compare FD (isavvy FD) with saving (e$aver), if we want to withdraw $$$ from FD Citibank unfixed FD is not bad at 2.68%pa.

SCB did not even specify when the 2.45%pa offer will end.

limpoop
01-01-2006, 10:09 PM
scb 2.75% promo already ended yesterday. I wonder what is the new rate? :s22:

3%pa ? :s12:

limpoop
02-01-2006, 11:15 AM
It seem only Maybank 1.38% with ATM card & Standard Chartered 1.88% able to offer higher interest for saver plan.

Shame to our local bank saving rates.

Ya loh, our "world class" local banks are the followers, only react when they are pushed by foreign banks.

FYI Maybank isavvy is 2.38%pa for 1st 3 mths then drop to 1.38%pa for $5k & above.

mosmos
02-01-2006, 04:44 PM
Ya loh, our "world class" local banks are the followers, only react when they are pushed by foreign banks.

FYI Maybank isavvy is 2.38%pa for 1st 3 mths then drop to 1.38%pa for $5k & above.

eventhough they're folllowers and offer lousy rate, our peasants still prefer to bank with them.

direbmem
02-01-2006, 05:33 PM
http://www.xinyubbs.net/Skins/Default/emot/em06.gif no more challenges liao?

wahoo
03-01-2006, 01:30 AM
uob 50k only 1.7%, dbs 50k only 1.8% leh. i just check the 2 bank interest rate online..
where got so high 2.6 2.7%?? as stated in the 1st post? fix deposite standard charter or citibank better?

limpoop
03-01-2006, 11:51 AM
uob 50k only 1.7%, dbs 50k only 1.8% leh. i just check the 2 bank interest rate online..
where got so high 2.6 2.7%?? as stated in the 1st post? fix deposite standard charter or citibank better?

These are their published rates.

For special offers, call them directly or visit them at their branch.

Or read the ST.

It seems strange that some local banks do not publish their special offers on their website (especially D*S), talking about world class infocomm?

hoki12
03-01-2006, 02:25 PM

another stupid question: how to transfer says 50K from dbs/posb account to another bank account using internet the fastest way?
(just found the max i can transfer per day is 5K)

Thx

ultimax
03-01-2006, 02:42 PM

Web sites not updated; Most likely they don't want people to compare. I just renewed it last mth with DBS at 2.7X.

limpoop
03-01-2006, 02:59 PM

another stupid question: how to transfer says 50K from dbs/posb account to another bank account using internet the fastest way?
(just found the max i can transfer per day is 5K)

Thx

Internet transfer it 10 times :)

Non-free method (on the same day): I would go to the DBS/POSB and pay $5 for a CO, they might give you one FOC if you are a "valued" customer or threaten to close your accounts

Free method (takes 2 business days): Open a FD at any DBS ATM, then close it the next day at DBS branch, they will give you a CO FOC :)

twosix
03-01-2006, 03:29 PM
You can also issue a cheque if you have one.

limpoop
03-01-2006, 03:51 PM
I dont think many people have a cheque book these days... I closed it 5 years ago...

Everton77
03-01-2006, 05:14 PM
As young people get more savvy, think local banks will suffer from their deposit base...still prefer foreign banks like Maybank and SCB...I earn more interest in one month than I earn in a year with a local bank when I saw my interest credited on 31 Dec...

arnoldng
03-01-2006, 05:34 PM
Internet transfer it 10 times :)

Non-free method (on the same day): I would go to the DBS/POSB and pay $5 for a CO, they might give you one FOC if you are a "valued" customer or threaten to close your accounts

Free method (takes 2 business days): Open a FD at any DBS ATM, then close it the next day at DBS branch, they will give you a CO FOC :)

CO in own name is FOC lah, if they wanna charge u then tell them give u all in hard cash, they sure cry :)

never do inter-bank transfer thru internet cos u lose out on value date, eg u transfer today, the date of withdrawal is today, 2 days later other account got credited with credit date T+2

limpoop
03-01-2006, 05:52 PM
As young people get more savvy, think local banks will suffer from their deposit base...still prefer foreign banks like Maybank and SCB...I earn more interest in one month than I earn in a year with a local bank when I saw my interest credited on 31 Dec...

Yup, and they credit the tiny interests once a year :s31:

If not of their 800+++ ATM I will close the accounts immediately.

limpoop
03-01-2006, 06:18 PM
CO in own name is FOC lah, if they wanna charge u then tell them give u all in hard cash, they sure cry :)

never do inter-bank transfer thru internet cos u lose out on value date, eg u transfer today, the date of withdrawal is today, 2 days later other account got credited with credit date T+2

You are right! For DBS & UOB, 1st CO under own name is FOC.

But for Maybank it is $5 :s31:

arnoldng
03-01-2006, 07:31 PM

then what happen if ask them to pay in cash?

addict951
03-01-2006, 08:40 PM

OCBC & Stand Chart also FOC. The iSavvy a/c doesn't that appealing to me anymore after I scrutinise their charges.

cklim17
04-01-2006, 12:42 AM
for the maybank isavVy hor, 2.38% for first 3 months, then afterwards, 1.38%. in that case, whats the effective rate of return per yr? does anyone know how to calculate?
isnt it true that we should be concern with the effective rate, instead of the quoted rate. just by seeing these quoted interest, we cant get a clear and full picture of what exactly we will get.

mosmos
04-01-2006, 01:57 AM
then what happen if ask them to pay in cash?

http://info.maybank2u.com.sg/site_functions/bank_charges_local.htm#itd

limpoop
04-01-2006, 09:25 AM
OCBC & Stand Chart also FOC. The iSavvy a/c doesn't that appealing to me anymore after I scrutinise their charges.

True, it depends on individual's taste and requirements.

But iSavvy has free ATM card for cash withdraw.

limpoop
04-01-2006, 09:29 AM
for the maybank isavVy hor, 2.38% for first 3 months, then afterwards, 1.38%. in that case, whats the effective rate of return per yr? does anyone know how to calculate?
isnt it true that we should be concern with the effective rate, instead of the quoted rate. just by seeing these quoted interest, we cant get a clear and full picture of what exactly we will get.

Depends how long you want to put your $$$. For me, after 3 mths with isavvy, I will move my $$$ to e$aver for 2.45%pa.

If you want to put for a year, consider FD not saving, you can get up to 2.88%pa (isavvy FD).

arnoldng
04-01-2006, 09:51 AM

take total interest earned at the end of the FD and divide by initial amount, that should tells you the effective rate.

eg

FD 50K for 12 mths at 1.8%, interest = 900. (900/50000)*100 = 1.8% effective rate
FD 50k for 3 mths at 2.38%, interest = 299.95. (299.95/50000)*100 = 0.6% effective rate

addict951
04-01-2006, 10:25 AM
Depends how long you want to put your $$$. For me, after 3 mths with isavvy, I will move my $$$ to e$aver for 2.45%pa.

If you want to put for a year, consider FD not saving, you can get up to 2.88%pa (isavvy FD).

Din you read? must stay with Maybank for at least 6 months if not got penalty. And minium to enjoy 1.38% subsequently must be $5000, less than that the int rate is those pathetic 0.0xxx%. Somemore must maintain at least $500.

addict951
04-01-2006, 10:26 AM
True, it depends on individual's taste and requirements.

But iSavvy has free ATM card for cash withdraw.

I also can withdraw money via Stand chart ATM. :look:

luvpraline
04-01-2006, 10:47 AM
Din you read? must stay with Maybank for at least 6 months if not got penalty. And minium to enjoy 1.38% subsequently must be $5000, less than that the int rate is those pathetic 0.0xxx%. Somemore must maintain at least $500.

yeah even fund transfer to another account within 6 months, they charge a fee of $45, i find they have too many restrictions for my liking..