PDA

View Full Version : Sony Vaio laptop users Thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21

Genosidoh
20-06-2008, 08:21 PM
hi all, i recently bought a CR323 from the PC show and forgot to upgrade my ram.
Anyone know how much does it cost if i send it to sony to upgrade from 1gb to 2gb?

SpellSinger
20-06-2008, 08:59 PM
no point ... install ur own ram cheaper...it's easy to just unscrew and slot in....

unless u suppose to get bonus ram but u forgot about it...

Forceware
20-06-2008, 10:11 PM
Hi all, I might be able to get some VAIO at $50 - $100 off for you if you are not paying by installment.

It will be a brand new set with all the free gifts that comes with it.

Interested parties can PM me to discuss. =)

Genosidoh
21-06-2008, 12:04 AM
hmm i thought if you install other rams without sony the warranty may be void?
cos my warranty is 3 years

Forceware
21-06-2008, 12:52 PM
hmm i thought if you install other rams without sony the warranty may be void?
cos my warranty is 3 years

Warranty will not be void.

Genosidoh
22-06-2008, 12:55 AM
yup just only scare i am too violent with the screws. haha so which part of the compartment do i need to open for CR 323 to remove the ram and instlal?

Genosidoh
22-06-2008, 01:19 AM
is it possible to install up to 4gb memory for CR323?

Forceware
22-06-2008, 03:22 AM
No point installing 4GB on a 32bit OS.
Yes your CR323 can take 4GB.

darkheart
22-06-2008, 09:04 AM
oh ok, i try it out... thanks...

and i want to ask. when u turn on your laptop, does the screen black out for split second once or twice after it just reach the desktop main page?

and when u shut down your laptop, before it goes to the screen showing 'shutting down', does it black out or flicker several times on the desktop first? 'cause my laptop does... looks worrying...

why is there no point in installing 4GB ram on 32 bit OS?

Da_Vinci
22-06-2008, 09:22 AM
oh ok, i try it out... thanks...

and i want to ask. when u turn on your laptop, does the screen black out for split second once or twice after it just reach the desktop main page?

and when u shut down your laptop, before it goes to the screen showing 'shutting down', does it black out or flicker several times on the desktop first? 'cause my laptop does... looks worrying...

why is there no point in installing 4GB ram on 32 bit OS?

i do experience this also. Guess this is some of the glitches in vista OS.

riparian
23-06-2008, 12:21 AM
Hi guys,

really appreciate if anyone could help.

Recently,my uncle purchased a Sony Vaio VGN-CR353 from the IT fair. After installing an anti virus software, we encoutered BSOD. We did change of RAM from the supplier and it all started to work fine. (the anti virus could be installed)

This afternoon, I left the laptop on to do a windows update, when i came back home, the screen was blank and i was unable to boot into windows, not even to safe mode.

Hope I can receive some valuable advice on what i should do next.

Thanks!

Da_Vinci
23-06-2008, 12:42 AM
Hi guys,

really appreciate if anyone could help.

Recently,my uncle purchased a Sony Vaio VGN-CR353 from the IT fair. After installing an anti virus software, we encoutered BSOD. We did change of RAM from the supplier and it all started to work fine. (the anti virus could be installed)

This afternoon, I left the laptop on to do a windows update, when i came back home, the screen was blank and i was unable to boot into windows, not even to safe mode.

Hope I can receive some valuable advice on what i should do next.

Thanks!

Either call up the dealer u bought from for an xchange or bring it down to the service centre. It could be a hardware failure.

darkheart
23-06-2008, 08:49 AM
i do experience this also. Guess this is some of the glitches in vista OS.

so this applies to only vista business? 'cause my home desktop computer is using vista home basic and this black out doesn't happen...

Da_Vinci
23-06-2008, 12:16 PM
so this applies to only vista business? 'cause my home desktop computer is using vista home basic and this black out doesn't happen...

Well, i am not too sure either coz i have another laptop running on vista home premium which had the same issue too.

riparian
23-06-2008, 02:08 PM
Hi Da Vinci, thanks for the advice,it's really troublesome to do so as I been to the dealer once to change the ram already. Now this happens again.thanks anyway.

Da_Vinci
23-06-2008, 02:12 PM
Hi Da Vinci, thanks for the advice,it's really troublesome to do so as I been to the dealer once to change the ram already. Now this happens again.thanks anyway.

No problem, sometimes buying a laptop depends on ur luck. If you are unlucky, thats it.

nickytcl
23-06-2008, 03:41 PM
anybody noe when is the next promotion for sony? i wanna buy vaio CR35 but is $1999 nid to save longer for tt... :(

SpellSinger
26-06-2008, 01:21 PM
up...i also wanna know of any new promotions...

meatloaf
26-06-2008, 01:42 PM
Hello,

Friend is looking at these 2 models for his children (school requirement).

1. VGN-CR323G (http://www.sony.com.sg/microsite/vaio/products/vaio_cr/vgn_cr323g/index.html)
Normal RRP - $1,699
He can get it at $1,399. Is it the cheapest?

2. VGN-NR27G (http://www.sony.com.sg/microsite/vaio/products/vaio_n/vgn_nr27g/index.html)
Normal RRP - $1,599
He can get it at $1,299. Is it the cheapest?

IMO, i will choose the CR323 model.

TIA

doompro
26-06-2008, 02:19 PM
Hi all, i read that sony will be coming out with new vaio models in the coming 2 months SR and Z series. this is in line with the new montevina platform. any inside info when will release in singapore? if around 3k and in singapore around august i will refund my dell xps m1330. thanks.

alvino77
26-06-2008, 03:01 PM
taken from notebookreview.com, by philflow(thanks to him for the info) link http://forum.notebookreview.com/showthread.php?t=264339

Sony VAIO VGN-SR Series
A consumer notebook with 13,3" LED backlit 1280*800 screen, ATI Mobility Radeon HD3470 GPU with 128 MB VRAM. (There is indication that the SR will have a trendy design and will be available in many different colors)
European models:
VGN-SR11M / P8400 3GB 250GB 13.3¨ VHP 1250€ = 1250$
VGN-SR19XN / P8400 3GB 160GB 13.3¨ WVB 1350€
VGN-SR19VN / P8400 4GB 200GB 13.3¨ WVB 1550€ (200GB 7200rpm)
US models:
VGN-SR140ES
VGN-SR150FN
VGN-SR175N
VGN-SR190

Sony VAIO VGN-BZ Series
A 15,4" business notebook
European models:
VGN-BZ11MN C2D/T8400 2.26G 160GB 2GB 15.4" DVD+-RW VB VGNBZ11MN.NL3 986€
VGN-BZ11XN C2D/T8400-2.26G 200GB 3GB 15.4" DVD+-RW VB VGNBZ11XN.NL3 1152€
VGN-BZ11VN / P8600 4GB 200GB 15.4¨1270.65€
US models:
naming unknown yet, not sure it will be released in US.

Sony VAIO VGN-FW Series
The Vaio FW is a 16,4" multimedia notebook with Bluray option, replacing the FZ. GPU option: ATI HD3470 with 256mb and possibly other GPU's.
European models:
VGN-FW11E C2D/T8400-2.4G 250GB 3GB 16.4IN DVD±RW VHP € 1105
VGN-FW11L / P8400 2GB 250GB 16.4¨ VHP 1042.17€
VGN-FW11M C2D/T8400-2.4G 250GB 4GB 16.4IN BR DVD±RW VHP € 1295
VGN-FW11S C2D/T8400-2.4G 300GB 4GB 16.4IN BR VHP € 1593
VGN-FW11ZU C2D/T9400-2.53G €1710.
US models:
VGN-FW198U/H (2.53GHz PC Intel Core 2 Duo T9400 , 4GB RAM, 320GB Blu-Ray Disc)
VAIO VGN-FW160E/H (2.26GHz PC Intel Core 2 Duo P8400 , 4GB RAM, 250GB Blu-Ray Disc)
VAIO VGN-FW150E/W (2.26GHz PC Intel Core 2 Duo P8400, 4GB RAM, 250GB )
VAIO VGN-FW145E/W (2.26GHz PC Intel Core 2 Duo P8400, 3GB, RAM, 320GB)
VAIO VGN-FW140E/H (2.26GHz PC Intel Core 2 Duo P8400, 3GB RAM, 250GB)
VAIO VGN-FW190E
VAIO VGN-FW190N

Sony Vaio VGN-Z series
An ultraportable notebook with 13,1" LED screen in 16:9 aspect (probably 1366x768), Nvidia GPU with HDMI and Bluray option. From the pictures it can be seen it has a similar look as the current TZ series.
European models:
VGN-Z11MN / P8400 4GB 200GB 13.1" WVB 1766.39€
VGN-Z11WN / P8600 4GB 250GB 13.1" WVB 2276.71€
US models:
VGN-Z570AN
VGN-Z570FN
VGN-Z575FN

alvino77
26-06-2008, 03:10 PM
pictures from the manual by philflow from notebookreview.com forum
SR series
http://img168.imageshack.us/img168/5767/sonysr01fd2.th.jpg (http://img168.imageshack.us/my.php?image=sonysr01fd2.jpg) http://img168.imageshack.us/img168/4673/sonysr02zs5.th.jpg (http://img168.imageshack.us/my.php?image=sonysr02zs5.jpg)
FW series
http://img246.imageshack.us/img246/7103/sonyfw01uv1.th.jpg (http://img246.imageshack.us/my.php?image=sonyfw01uv1.jpg) http://img106.imageshack.us/img106/8180/sonyfw2xy0.th.jpg (http://img106.imageshack.us/my.php?image=sonyfw2xy0.jpg)
Z series
http://img105.imageshack.us/img105/1764/sonyz01pv0.th.jpg (http://img105.imageshack.us/my.php?image=sonyz01pv0.jpg) http://img246.imageshack.us/img246/9380/sonyz02wb2.th.jpg (http://img246.imageshack.us/my.php?image=sonyz02wb2.jpg)

alvino77
26-06-2008, 03:24 PM
SR looks like CR and SZ's hybrid, especially the possible varied colors option.

Z series looks more like successor of a SZ but marginally smaller screen at 13.1" instead of 13.3. also comes with HDMI output

according to the manual SR also has option of bluray drive. the unit has a space(shaped like hdmi port) reserved but not labeled. I think it's for future hdmi update

the keyboards has been changed to what macbook has now, which is originally started by Sony VAIO X505(which a lot of ppl dunno). vaio lovers has the obligation to tell off other macbook lovers it's not copied from macbook but they loan the design to apple macbook

picture of keyboard of vaio x505 launch in 2004

http://www.trustedreviews.com/images/article/page/1492full.jpg

SpellSinger
26-06-2008, 05:34 PM
omfg gd news...im waiting for the new release then. sounds like my dream laptop.barrel design with power button on it ! SWEE! now mus decide between SR or Z...SR like more budget...

helpless_boy
27-06-2008, 12:07 AM
no use waiting for the new models if i'm only interested in the CR series rite ? cuz there wont be any new versions coming up ?

alvino77
27-06-2008, 02:37 AM
no use waiting for the new models if i'm only interested in the CR series rite ? cuz there wont be any new versions coming up ?

yeah CR not due for EOL yet. probs just the usual updates in cpu speed and hdd specs etc

SpellSinger
27-06-2008, 12:56 PM
i got feeling Z series will start at $3k+ even for the most basic models....

i think the SR series is like the budget SZ series with colour variations and all that...

so Z confirm 13.1"? i've seen some conflicted reports, some say 13.3 some say 13.3. I really hope it's 13.3, nething smaller will be too small :P.

Softcore
27-06-2008, 01:52 PM
13.1" should be referring to the 1366x768 resolution. So I guess there shouldn't be any mistake.

beckenn
29-06-2008, 12:56 PM

Is anyone know where can I buy parts(power cable & mouse pad cable) for my vaio s260?

I sent it to service center and it cost me 240 for repair fee :s31: (oversea set), so I've decided to fix myself....

SpellSinger
30-06-2008, 11:43 AM
hey bro where u got ur s260 from? mine also the same model but i nvr knew where it came from lol

xLioNx
30-06-2008, 02:35 PM
Hi guys,

Anyone knows the difference between stamina and speed mode on sony VGN-SZ75GN ?

Thanks.

Da_Vinci
30-06-2008, 02:50 PM
Hi guys,

Anyone knows the difference between stamina and speed mode on sony VGN-SZ75GN ?

Thanks.

stamina mode uses the integrated graphics card while speed mode uses the dedicated nvidia graphics card. Stamina mode can actually prolong battery life.

beckenn
30-06-2008, 02:57 PM
hey bro where u got ur s260 from? mine also the same model but i nvr knew where it came from lol

lol...I bought it from US...

xLioNx
30-06-2008, 03:33 PM
stamina mode uses the integrated graphics card while speed mode uses the dedicated nvidia graphics card. Stamina mode can actually prolong battery life.

you mean prolong the batt life when using right? e.g stamina mode can use 6.5 hrs then speed mode only 5 hrs.

Also, advisable to leave the battery in the laptop even when the batt is already fully charged?

and, coz the package doesnt come with windows vista biz although its installed when i bought it. It came with just windows XP cd. Must i create a recovery cd for the vista? can i just reformat it just by going to the recovery centre program without burning the disc?

Thanks.

alvino77
30-06-2008, 03:42 PM
you mean prolong the batt life when using right? e.g stamina mode can use 6.5 hrs then speed mode only 5 hrs.

Also, advisable to leave the battery in the laptop even when the batt is already fully charged?

and, coz the package doesnt come with windows vista biz although its installed when i bought it. It came with just windows XP cd. Must i create a recovery cd for the vista? can i just reformat it just by going to the recovery centre program without burning the disc?

Thanks.
make ur recovery disc 1st, if not u might lose ur vista's recovery partition. i kia su, made 2 copies somemore. then downgrade to xp.

i will not advice leaving battery in lappy when fully charged not for the reason of cycling it lifespan cos the circuitry are doing a bypass thru AC mode once it fully charge. the reason is avoiding the heat from damaging the cells fast. if u look carefully, the heatsink is very near to the battery, i think the heat sink wears down the battery quality faster, no good!

xLioNx
30-06-2008, 04:06 PM
make ur recovery disc 1st, if not u might lose ur vista's recovery partition. i kia su, made 2 copies somemore. then downgrade to xp.

i will not advice leaving battery in lappy when fully charged not for the reason of cycling it lifespan cos the circuitry are doing a bypass thru AC mode once it fully charge. the reason is avoiding the heat from damaging the cells fast. if u look carefully, the heatsink is very near to the battery, i think the heat sink wears down the battery quality faster, no good!

i see .. thanks .. by the way .. how many disc do you need to burn the recovery cd? 2 * 4.7 GB DVD disc?

Thanks.

Da_Vinci
30-06-2008, 10:25 PM

Thanks.

It depends on the settings u tweak under vaio management. For stamina mode, i can achieve ard 5 to 5.5hr f batt life.

For speed mode, the average is around 3 to 4 hours of battery life. Or even lesser if you are running CPU intensive applications.

Da_Vinci
30-06-2008, 10:27 PM
i see .. thanks .. by the way .. how many disc do you need to burn the recovery cd? 2 * 4.7 GB DVD disc?

Thanks.

Yes if my memory does not fails me, probably around 2 DVD discs.

wind30
01-07-2008, 09:41 AM
guys,

I have a question, how fast does your sony Vaio battery discharge under hibernation mode?

I was under the impression that hibernation does not burn any battery power. I hibernate my TZ36 on friday evening with 50% charge and powered it up today and found only 5% left. That is around 15% discharge per day which is around what I am experiencing. Is this normal?

something similar to this thread I found
http://www.motherboardpoint.com/t166007-p-vaio-battery-keeps-losing-power-even-when-pc-is-shut-off.html

I called sony tech and they say it is abnormal and ask me to bring it down. But I think it is normal and I don't want to waste a trip, backing up my data, losing my laptop for one week, only for them to tell me errr... sorry design issue, it is normal.

laober
01-07-2008, 12:39 PM
hi all i have a question. i stupidly used spectacle cloth to wipe my vaio's screen and it ended up being scratched. damn heartpain. can the service centre 'repair' the screen? how much would it cost?

also, my vaio's battery life really sucks to the max. how much would a good battery cost?

i am using FE45G.. thanks~!

SpellSinger
01-07-2008, 04:04 PM
not really worth it...u will end up paying a lot for something like a microscratch...let it slide.

laober
01-07-2008, 05:51 PM
not really worth it...u will end up paying a lot for something like a microscratch...let it slide.

its not a small scratch at the corner or sth.. due to poor maintance when my dad was using it, scratches are actually pretty obvious and its everywhere. see until very buay song.. i know vaio stuff all damn ex one. such service also very exp?

SpellSinger
01-07-2008, 07:48 PM
u want to replace the entire lcd my guesstimation about $300++ like that.

Forceware
01-07-2008, 11:38 PM
hi all i have a question. i stupidly used spectacle cloth to wipe my vaio's screen and it ended up being scratched. damn heartpain. can the service centre 'repair' the screen? how much would it cost?

also, my vaio's battery life really sucks to the max. how much would a good battery cost?

i am using FE45G.. thanks~!

Not stupid to use optical cloth... Should be never clear away the dust before wiping...

laober
02-07-2008, 12:46 AM
u want to replace the entire lcd my guesstimation about $300++ like that.

ok.. thanks for the estimation!! is replacing lcd the only way out?

Not stupid to use optical cloth... Should be never clear away the dust before wiping...

shouldnt the whole purpose of using the cloth is to remove the dust??

dudepunk
02-07-2008, 12:58 AM
Hi all i've been using a vaio C25G/H for bout 1.5years now.. however yesterday after i load visual studio 2005 for school use into it, it wouldn startup after... went back to sony today and the guy told me to do do a recovery back into factory settings.

Which according to him can be done with out any recovery disk... is that true??? Cos after i press f10 and followed the steps the com told me to insert the installation disk and set the language... but i don't have any disk!!!!

alvino77
02-07-2008, 04:21 AM
sneak peek of

VAIO SR
http://www.circuitcity.com/IMAGE/product/enlarged600/son/PC.SON.VGNSR140EB.LT.JPG

VAIO FW
http://www.circuitcity.com/IMAGE/product/enlarged600/son/PC.SON.VGNFW140EH.LT.JPG

no sign of VAIO Z yet

Nua_kia
02-07-2008, 12:46 PM
Vaio experts pls help...

my office vaio VGN-C21GH crash and the OS was downgraded to XP SP2..

the vaio has no audio even after installing the drivers for audio.. there is only systems sounds.

Under control panels "sound and audio device" everything is fine but the vaio states that it cannot find any audio device..

I tried to use "add hardware" in control panels to no avail..

my warrenty is over already so experts of vaio pls help..

Thanks in advance

SpellSinger
02-07-2008, 11:26 PM
SR looks quite fat wor...lookin forwaqrd to Z

leonghkm
05-07-2008, 07:20 AM
Am interested to get the CR323 for my kids. Appreciate if you can share where I can get it for $1,399. Tks.

Hello,

Friend is looking at these 2 models for his children (school requirement).

1. VGN-CR323G (http://www.sony.com.sg/microsite/vaio/products/vaio_cr/vgn_cr323g/index.html)
Normal RRP - $1,699
He can get it at $1,399. Is it the cheapest?

2. VGN-NR27G (http://www.sony.com.sg/microsite/vaio/products/vaio_n/vgn_nr27g/index.html)
Normal RRP - $1,599
He can get it at $1,299. Is it the cheapest?

IMO, i will choose the CR323 model.

TIA

starfish.starfish
05-07-2008, 08:55 PM
Hey guys, not sure if you encounter the same for your nb.
My fren got hers during the recent pc show and it's giving her these electric shocks everytime she uses it, it's pretty unsettling. :(

Anything that she can do about it? Can she exchange for another nb from sony, or it's a common problem and there's nothing that she can do?

Really appreciate any replies. Thanks!

alvino77
05-07-2008, 09:19 PM
Hey guys, not sure if you encounter the same for your nb.
My fren got hers during the recent pc show and it's giving her these electric shocks everytime she uses it, it's pretty unsettling. :(

Anything that she can do about it? Can she exchange for another nb from sony, or it's a common problem and there's nothing that she can do?

Really appreciate any replies. Thanks!
its common problem for many many brands of notebook. Just switch to a 3 pin plug for the ac adaptor, i think it should come with the set. if not grab one from SLS or funan. very cheap only. :)

beckenn
07-07-2008, 07:57 AM
Hi guys,

if I buy a new Vista Business license and upgrade my Vista home myself, will it void my warranty?

Thanks in advance!

Forceware
07-07-2008, 01:09 PM
Hi guys,

if I buy a new Vista Business license and upgrade my Vista home myself, will it void my warranty?

Thanks in advance!

This type of things would not void warranty one.

Forceware
07-07-2008, 01:10 PM
its common problem for many many brands of notebook. Just switch to a 3 pin plug for the ac adaptor, i think it should come with the set. if not grab one from SLS or funan. very cheap only. :)

How come using a 3 pin plug would solve the problem ar? What's the cause of it?

SpellSinger
07-07-2008, 06:30 PM
mmm, the third pin = earth contact. so electricity that dun get used gets flowed to the ground instead of shockin u. i think it's something like that, top of my head reply :P.

Fella
08-07-2008, 11:55 PM
"Free Upgrade to 3GB Ram + Exclusive VAIO Carrying Case + 3rd Party Mouse
*Promotional offer is only valid until 13th July 2008."

http://www.sony.com.sg/microsite/vaio/products/vaio_tz/vgn_tz36gn/index.html

Hurry go get your TZ36 now! :s13:

Forceware
09-07-2008, 03:56 AM
"Free Upgrade to 3GB Ram + Exclusive VAIO Carrying Case + 3rd Party Mouse
*Promotional offer is only valid until 13th July 2008."

http://www.sony.com.sg/microsite/vaio/products/vaio_tz/vgn_tz36gn/index.html

Hurry go get your TZ36 now! :s13:

Haha... Confirm typing error...

skyfiremage
09-07-2008, 04:37 PM
Haha... Confirm typing error...

Yup, looks like they have already amended it. It is showing 2Gb now when I accessed the link.

SpellSinger
12-07-2008, 02:19 PM
pictures of the Z also released already...looks like the SR to me...

anyway the release date pushed forward to 14th July Monday!

spicyboy
12-07-2008, 02:49 PM
U mean this?

http://forum.notebookreview.com/showthread.php?t=264339

danong
12-07-2008, 03:06 PM
can't wait for new TZ

space2638
12-07-2008, 04:55 PM
are Sony laptops reliable? looking for a reliable lappie

sotaikun
12-07-2008, 05:02 PM
can't wait for new TZ

r they releasing new design TZ? or just upgrades of specs?

another questions regarding their warranty. do u need a receipt to verified? as i dun see them asking for receipt no. on their ewarranty registration. does tat mean i can do tat 6mths later? or even only when i need to send it in?

SpellSinger
14-07-2008, 01:17 AM
U mean this?

http://forum.notebookreview.com/showthread.php?t=264339

those were released as pdf a few fays back..

the official sony announcement for the new vaios in a few hours time...!!

hoepfully sg get it fast i nid a new laptop asap..!

huntzer
14-07-2008, 10:53 AM
those were released as pdf a few fays back..

the official sony announcement for the new vaios in a few hours time...!!

hoepfully sg get it fast i nid a new laptop asap..!

http://www.sonystyle.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/StoreCatalogDisplay?storeId=10151&catalogId=10551&langId=-1

SpellSinger
15-07-2008, 12:25 PM
IT'S OUT:

Z:
http://www.sonystyle.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/CategoryDisplay?catalogId=10551&storeId=10151&langId=-1&categoryId=8198552921644570897&parentCategoryId=16154

SR:
http://www.sonystyle.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/CategoryDisplay?catalogId=10551&storeId=10151&langId=-1&categoryId=8198552921644570898&parentCategoryId=16154

FW:
http://www.sonystyle.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/CategoryDisplay?catalogId=10551&storeId=10151&langId=-1&categoryId=8198552921644570896&parentCategoryId=16154

Kwein
15-07-2008, 01:44 PM
IT'S OUT:

Z:
http://www.sonystyle.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/CategoryDisplay?catalogId=10551&storeId=10151&langId=-1&categoryId=8198552921644570897&parentCategoryId=16154

SR:
http://www.sonystyle.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/CategoryDisplay?catalogId=10551&storeId=10151&langId=-1&categoryId=8198552921644570898&parentCategoryId=16154

FW:
http://www.sonystyle.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/CategoryDisplay?catalogId=10551&storeId=10151&langId=-1&categoryId=8198552921644570896&parentCategoryId=16154

NICE!

so TZ and SZ will be out later?

alvino77
15-07-2008, 04:04 PM
NICE!

so TZ and SZ will be out later?
don't think SZ will have any more updates. TZ might have specs update only.

BTW,
SR looks so so, i think Z rocks with the whole top keyboard aluminum finishing

SpellSinger
15-07-2008, 04:19 PM
the aluminium finish reminds me of the budget (2,499$) magnesium alloy sz75 finish...

i prefer the all black SR look even if it's not carbon.

SR and SZ looks essentially the same to me leh...the design everything almost similar from those pictures. if anything ppl say the SR looks thinner also.

alvino77
15-07-2008, 04:24 PM
the aluminium finish reminds me of the budget (2,499$) magnesium alloy sz75 finish...

i prefer the all black SR look even if it's not carbon.

SR and SZ looks essentially the same to me leh...the design everything almost similar from those pictures. if anything ppl say the SR looks thinner also.
yeah design is quite close, on the other hand, i find it not as slim hahah, in fact it seems a bit more block and boring than SZ though. of cos that's my opinion la. :)

BTW, dunno when SG sonystyle will bring this in!

SpellSinger
15-07-2008, 04:35 PM
really? the sr and z got more curves than the old sz. i don't own a sz personally, but i've seen them before, they look very cleancut and nice, and all the edges are angular.

but i've fallen in luv with the new series most definitely. the cylindrical hinge with the curvier edges reminds me of my trusty ol' S series(which im still using, even right now) married with the TZ's keyboard and hinge design = win win win.

i cannot wait for it to hit SG shops, will buy either the SR or Z for sure. I'm still juggling between the the 2, hopefully the Z will stay under $3k for basic-midrange specs. The non bluray Z series only have 1366x768 resolution, so forgoing some vert for horizontal space...

zapp!
15-07-2008, 04:52 PM
the Z series is a super cool imo...now can do some light gaming in a 13.3 inch and 1.5kg. Too hoping that the price for basic model will be 2599 or something. Wonder if SG versions will have the HSDPA option. That will prove useful

IMO 1366x768 on 13inch is not that bad. 1600x900 on a 13.3 inch is gonna cause me to squint :p

SpellSinger
15-07-2008, 05:01 PM
you can also consider the SR. speculations is that the lower end (1366x768) Z models will be made of magnesium alloy instead of carbon. So low-end Z material = SR material. And the SR goes as high as the P9600 while the Z highest CPU option is P9500. As for the gfx, i tink performance between the HD3470 and the 9300gs m should be quite negligable.

funnyruud
15-07-2008, 05:04 PM
any good cheap and good graphics card sony laptop ??

SpellSinger
15-07-2008, 05:11 PM
any good cheap and good graphics card sony laptop ??

if u're looking for cheap u better go elsewhere (like dell and asus for gaming).

if u r looking for cheapest, would be the CR and NR series but those only got integrated gfx.

the best gfx card sony uses on any of their laptops is probs the 8600m gs atm, so if u wanna game u should look elsewhere.

alvino77
15-07-2008, 05:33 PM
really? the sr and z got more curves than the old sz. i don't own a sz personally, but i've seen them before, they look very cleancut and nice, and all the edges are angular.

but i've fallen in luv with the new series most definitely. the cylindrical hinge with the curvier edges reminds me of my trusty ol' S series(which im still using, even right now) married with the TZ's keyboard and hinge design = win win win.

i cannot wait for it to hit SG shops, will buy either the SR or Z for sure. I'm still juggling between the the 2, hopefully the Z will stay under $3k for basic-midrange specs. The non bluray Z series only have 1366x768 resolution, so forgoing some vert for horizontal space...
yeah tat's me :P the angular edges gives me an effect that it's slicker, more curves to me are like slightly more mass feel hahah. just like women, skinny models are using edgier, more curvy women are bit more bigger. :P

non-bluray Z at 1366/768 should be just good enough, i cannot imagine the 1600/900 at 13.1" size... it's gonna kill ur eyes. it's like using TZ's screen. maybe its just me i'm getting old

SpellSinger
15-07-2008, 07:31 PM
sidebyside comparison of sr and z:
http://i35.tinypic.com/o0oxlc.jpg

spicyboy
16-07-2008, 12:45 AM
It's makes me wanna sell my SZ 55 for the new Z series!

Too bad SG dun have Configure to Order, else maybe cheaper!

Forceware
16-07-2008, 10:22 PM
Any news when this new series of VAIOs will reach SG?

SpellSinger
17-07-2008, 11:49 AM
i emailed them, they didnt gimme a date, i tink they dunno also.

SpellSinger
17-07-2008, 11:46 PM
dam anyone know if sony singapore have shipping service?

i wanna buy locally because all my money in sgd...but i might not be around to buy it...

and i wun b back for as long as 6 months...

Forceware
18-07-2008, 12:01 AM
dam anyone know if sony singapore have shipping service?

i wanna buy locally because all my money in sgd...but i might not be around to buy it...

and i wun b back for as long as 6 months...

Huh? What you mean your money in SGD... You can always go to any foreign exchange to change your money what...

edisonchen
18-07-2008, 12:55 AM
Man! I love the looks of the new keyboard! Notice though, the 'home', 'page up' 'page down' etc keys on the right most column of your older vaio laptops have been removed with this new keyboard though. Will that be a disssatisfier? What do you think?

I do find the cylindrical hinge cool but with it being incorporated in all the 3 new models on top of the current TZ, i feel they've made it feel less 'special' already.

Also, the highest end Z laptop has a hefty price tag of 3999k USD! :o

ornok_tree
18-07-2008, 11:53 AM
you can also consider the SR. speculations is that the lower end (1366x768) Z models will be made of magnesium alloy instead of carbon. So low-end Z material = SR material. And the SR goes as high as the P9600 while the Z highest CPU option is P9500. As for the gfx, i tink performance between the HD3470 and the 9300gs m should be quite negligable.
hey, u sure only the highest end one will be in carbon fibre? i couldn't find that mentioned anywhere in the website. all the Z series models just said they were "encased in carbon fibre" which i actually think isn't that accurate, cos their weights sure aren't!

anyway according to the website, the highest end Z series will weigh 3.42lb while all the rest will be 3.31lb, so i guess i dun mind settling for a mag alloy top if it's lighter (if that's indeed true!)

SpellSinger
18-07-2008, 07:01 PM
Huh? What you mean your money in SGD... You can always go to any foreign exchange to change your money what...

no point changing back to AUD, the rate is crap, i'm not putting my savings through hell again. so i'll buy a laptop in sgd, coz i my enlistment in december and ill b coming back again anyway.

Man! I love the looks of the new keyboard! Notice though, the 'home', 'page up' 'page down' etc keys on the right most column of your older vaio laptops have been removed with this new keyboard though. Will that be a disssatisfier? What do you think?

I do find the cylindrical hinge cool but with it being incorporated in all the 3 new models on top of the current TZ, i feel they've made it feel less 'special' already.

Also, the highest end Z laptop has a hefty price tag of 3999k USD! :o

good for those who dun intend to buy the top end model :)

hey, u sure only the highest end one will be in carbon fibre? i couldn't find that mentioned anywhere in the website. all the Z series models just said they were "encased in carbon fibre" which i actually think isn't that accurate, cos their weights sure aren't!

anyway according to the website, the highest end Z series will weigh 3.42lb while all the rest will be 3.31lb, so i guess i dun mind settling for a mag alloy top if it's lighter (if that's indeed true!)

i'm not sure actually, i heard it differs among countries. in europe not all carbon fibre, while in US all is apparently. we'll have to see which stance singapore takes.

Kwein
18-07-2008, 08:41 PM
hope its XP compatible! Z looks awesome!

time to sell my SZ79 :s13:

SpellSinger
18-07-2008, 09:37 PM
lol how much u gonna sell ur SZ for?

alvino77
18-07-2008, 11:16 PM
hope its XP compatible! Z looks awesome!

time to sell my SZ79 :s13:
doubt will be XP compatible. since XP's stop selling by tis year end. it's quite a bit more cost in providing XP drivers for sony.

edisonchen
18-07-2008, 11:48 PM
wow how old is yr sz79, kwein? U sure u gonna sell it 4 e z model? I wont bear 2 do e same man.

Kwein
19-07-2008, 12:03 AM
wow how old is yr sz79, kwein? U sure u gonna sell it 4 e z model? I wont bear 2 do e same man.

less than a mth old.

better wait for XP confirmation 1st b4 deciding to upgrade

waltzjy
19-07-2008, 12:06 PM
Saw tis CR series in US sony web ---> Model Nos VGN-CR590

same as CR series in spore it oso comes in many colours

Intel® Core™ 2 Duo Processor (http://syndication.intel.com/DistributeModule.aspx?ppc_cid=WTM_10438067701)T8300 (2.40 GHz, 3MB L2 Cache)
Genuine (http://javascript<b></b>:void(0)) Windows Vista® Home Premium

Features: 14.1" LCD XBRITE-ECO™ display, 3GB RAM, 320GB hard drive, 802.11a/b/g/n wireless LAN, Bluetooth®, built-in camera & microphone.

SO is tis model wil be out in spore or onli in US??
U guys can check d link http://www.sonystyle.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/CategoryDisplay?categoryId=8198552921644498278&parentCategoryId=16154

Firestone
19-07-2008, 09:34 PM

according to sony japan, it's 1.35kg

http://www.jp.sonystyle.com/Business/Vaio/Product/Z/index.html

SpellSinger
19-07-2008, 10:55 PM
less than a mth old.

better wait for XP confirmation 1st b4 deciding to upgrade

wah 1 month only wanna upgrade?

lol dam suay right buy liao then new model release :P

Forceware
20-07-2008, 01:40 AM
Saw tis CR series in US sony web ---> Model Nos VGN-CR590

same as CR series in spore it oso comes in many colours

Intel® Core™ 2 Duo Processor (http://syndication.intel.com/DistributeModule.aspx?ppc_cid=WTM_10438067701)T8300 (2.40 GHz, 3MB L2 Cache)
Genuine (http://javascript<b></b>:void(0)) Windows Vista® Home Premium

Features: 14.1" LCD XBRITE-ECO™ display, 3GB RAM, 320GB hard drive, 802.11a/b/g/n wireless LAN, Bluetooth®, built-in camera & microphone.

SO is tis model wil be out in spore or onli in US??
U guys can check d link http://www.sonystyle.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/CategoryDisplay?categoryId=8198552921644498278&parentCategoryId=16154

US models is US model... It will not be available in Asia.

Kwein
20-07-2008, 11:02 AM
wah 1 month only wanna upgrade?

lol dam suay right buy liao then new model release :P

not suay la, 79 is wat i always wanted, coz running XP is priority, if the new Z comes with XP installer i might jump ship:D

SpellSinger
20-07-2008, 11:45 AM
if u do lemme know...im considering it too...if u selling any cheaper...

but most likely the Z lower spec models might be cheaper than ur SZ79, which is $3999 still at most shops.

i tink since uhad 1 month u would wanna sell it at like $3.5k or so, which would still make it quite expensive. Im really hoping Z can be had for less than $3k if not im gonna buy a SR le.

Kwein
20-07-2008, 11:47 AM
yeah, mine with extended warranty :D

need confirmation tat the new Z series is XP compatible before deciding :)

danong
20-07-2008, 12:31 PM
any vaio x505 owners here!

RUSHian
20-07-2008, 04:11 PM
hi guys, i'm thinking of getting the tz37-gn. does anyone have comments?

Kwein
20-07-2008, 05:18 PM
hi guys, i'm thinking of getting the tz37-gn. does anyone have comments?

wats the price and promo now?

RUSHian
20-07-2008, 05:42 PM
wats the price and promo now?
i'm not in sg, but conversion to sgd is about 2950

sotaikun
20-07-2008, 06:38 PM
notice the price even in indonesia and KL vaio price is cheaper especially SZ almost diff of 1k.

sotaikun
20-07-2008, 06:40 PM
tats without freebies like local sony is giving of coz :)

RUSHian
20-07-2008, 06:47 PM
demand - supply i guess
do u have comments on tz37?
i'll be using it mostly for photo editing during my travel
i like it as its small & light weight, has a decent cpu/ram/hdd size and batt life

sotaikun
20-07-2008, 07:34 PM
nvr used b4. but unless u have a really good deal or offer. why not wait for the new Z series. and compare the both. to me it has the performance of the SZ and design of the TZ.

SpellSinger
20-07-2008, 10:57 PM
i tink ill wait for airport to have it ill buy it duty free :)

Firestone
21-07-2008, 12:26 PM
demand - supply i guess
do u have comments on tz37?
i'll be using it mostly for photo editing during my travel
i like it as its small & light weight, has a decent cpu/ram/hdd size and batt life

tz is nice, but v slow. the hdd uses the 4200rpm type and the cpu is ULV type, which is different frm the normal type...

discoburg
21-07-2008, 03:19 PM
Is it possible to change the HDD of my CR notebook? Now only 80GB and wish to chamge to something bigger.

RUSHian
21-07-2008, 04:30 PM
tz is nice, but v slow. the hdd uses the 4200rpm type and the cpu is ULV type, which is different frm the normal type...
but for that size and weight, i don't think there're other models to choose from.

Da_Vinci
21-07-2008, 06:11 PM
Is it possible to change the HDD of my CR notebook? Now only 80GB and wish to chamge to something bigger.

if you know how to change, it can be done.

skyfiremage
22-07-2008, 02:45 PM
Are Sony warranty transferable, be it 12, 15 or 39 months? I last time I checked, Sony replied that they are not transferable. Does it mean if you buy a second-hand unit under warranty, you cannot claim warranty from Sony since you are not the original purchaser registered with them? Anyone with experience on this?

Kwein
22-07-2008, 03:17 PM
Are Sony warranty transferable, be it 12, 15 or 39 months? I last time I checked, Sony replied that they are not transferable. Does it mean if you buy a second-hand unit under warranty, you cannot claim warranty from Sony since you are not the original purchaser registered with them? Anyone with experience on this?

as long u have the receipt and the warranty card, should be fine.

alvino77
22-07-2008, 04:13 PM
yes you're right. it's not transferable.

but the work around is, i did help my friend sent in his notebook before. so basically tell them it's your friend's unit, change the contact number for servicing to yours. I don't see a problem with that. They will call you when its ready. so technically not exactly a problem.

Warranty card and receipt doesn't change anything, sony don't accept this as proof since it's registered usually thru online. the card become useless once it's registered thru their webby for additional 3 mths extended.

discoburg
22-07-2008, 08:28 PM
Then i can bring the CR to any shops in SLS to change the HDD right?

if you know how to change, it can be done.

Da_Vinci
22-07-2008, 11:03 PM
Then i can bring the CR to any shops in SLS to change the HDD right?

but b4 u do that, do check wat is the maximum capacity of hdd space ur CR supports...

Forceware
25-07-2008, 01:11 AM
The new VAIO has reached Asia. Should be launching in SG soon...

SeCt0r7
25-07-2008, 08:42 AM

what model are you referring to??

Firestone
25-07-2008, 11:04 AM

which asia you referring to? japan?

Da_Vinci
25-07-2008, 11:34 AM
most probably is the Z and SR series...

Forceware
26-07-2008, 01:11 AM
Z16 Z17
Sr15 Sr16
Bz15
Fw16 Fw17

alvino77
26-07-2008, 03:09 AM
i think we probably see HK get it 1st before us! :P

edited: http://www.sonystyle.com.hk/ss/product/vaio/index_2.jsp HK sony style already got it as coming soon! specs realeased over there!

helpless_boy
26-07-2008, 11:52 AM
i'm planning to get a CR model.. but the SR looks like a great buy too ..any advice guys ??

spicyboy
26-07-2008, 02:03 PM
Can someone confirm if it is possible to upgrade ram to 4GB (2x2GB) for SZ 55 and TZ 37? The Vaio webby stated max 2GB.

mikengtw
26-07-2008, 05:13 PM
Can someone confirm if it is possible to upgrade ram to 4GB (2x2GB) for SZ 55 and TZ 37? The Vaio webby stated max 2GB.

Hi I am using my Sony SZ 55 now is a 4GB, after service pack 1 from Vista. Plus you
need to update your notebook bios too. In order to work on 4GB.. you need to patch
up those 2 items..first.

hicupp
28-07-2008, 10:41 PM
hi!

I just recently bought my new vaio (VGN TZ37). its my first vaio and i was really happy with it, yet i cant help but feel disapointed with certain parts of the product.

i was convinced to buy a carrying pouch (VGP- CKTZ3/B) for my vaio , because i had observed a distinctive scratch on the cover of the display set. I was told that the cover was made of carbon fibre, and usually would not be scratched so easily, and thus was recommended the carrying pouch.

To my horror, just after a few days of using the carrying pouch, i saw faint scratches on my vaio cover! i was horrified as it was a brand new laptop, and i had made sure that i had taken good care of it. i was really sad...but i couldnt bring it to the service centre as i needed my laptop to meet my various assignment deadlines.
i had also attended the free VAIO handling course and the trainer told me that i could go to the service centre pple as they had a solution that could wipe it away. i was happy, and thought i could go another time to settle it.

Finally went down to the sony service centre, and the guy there was really helpful and understanding. he said that he would send both my laptop and my pouch to the technician to take a look, and most likely would be able to replace the cover. i was happy again!and thought that sony had really gd after-sales assistance.

Therefore, imagine my frustration and sadness again, when the technician called me and told me that because the cover is not covered under warranty, they would not be able to order from japan, and that if i wanted to replace the cover, i would have to fork out S$300 before GST! he spoke to his manager and they offered a 30% discount..but still, i was unwilling (and unable) to fork out a couple hundred bucks to replace the cover when the scratches were not done by me! sigh.

in the end, i decided not to replace because it was really too expensive and i felt that it was not my fault, and the scratches could have been caused by the pouch (because it was when i took it out from the pouch when i noticed the scratches), but the technician and sony could not help me..

sorry for this long post, i was really sad and disapointed, especially since i was told by the sales person that carbon fibre would not be scratched so easily. my heart pains each time i notice the scratches..oh well. was hoping if someone could tell me if there was anyway to get rid of faint scratches? just wondering..thanks...would really appreciate it..

100ddd
28-07-2008, 11:07 PM
i think we probably see HK get it 1st before us! :P

edited: http://www.sonystyle.com.hk/ss/product/vaio/index_2.jsp HK sony style already got it as coming soon! specs realeased over there!

I can't seem to find any prices on that website. Anyone has any idea? Would be nice to have a closer idea of what it will cost in Singapore when it is launched here.

Forceware
28-07-2008, 11:53 PM
since i was told by the sales person that carbon fibre would not be scratched so easily.
Where you bought the set from?

spicyboy
29-07-2008, 12:26 AM
LOL, I think all Vaio users heart will pain when see scratches on the Vaio, even myself!

alvino77
29-07-2008, 12:36 AM
i was convinced to buy a carrying pouch (VGP- CKTZ3/B) for my vaio , because i had observed a distinctive scratch on the cover of the display set. I was told that the cover was made of carbon fibre, and usually would not be scratched so easily, and thus was recommended the carrying pouch.
sorry to hear about the scratches. But seriously, the LID is just like other lid, although Carbon fibre is the underlying material, the top coating is still made of plastic resin. Even with carbon fibre, no one should tell u it's scratch resistant or scratch proof. that's nonsense.

Since the scratches are 'created' thru your usage(although not by direct means), i guess there wouldn't be any warranty to cover cosmetic blemish. Pouch that causes scratches are really very very rare and unlikely. But i do notice a lot of friends of mine use their vaios and got theirs scratched when they push the lid too far back and hit or scratch other objects behind.

I wouldn't recommend any solutions to polish off the scratches, as it probably will make the whole area worse by eroding the plastic surface.

my only suggestion would be living with it or get a skin to stick on like those gmask stickers :) BTW, carbon fibre is light weighted and can stand quite a amount of flexing, that's about it, scratch resistant is never linked with CF.

In short, i would still think Sony service centre had carried out a good service to you by attending to your needs and provided detailed answer to you. By the fact they didn't change the lid for you FOC doesn't mean its a bad service rendered, they are merely following to their guidelines. :)

cheers

alvino77
29-07-2008, 12:51 AM
I can't seem to find any prices on that website. Anyone has any idea? Would be nice to have a closer idea of what it will cost in Singapore when it is launched here.
no prices cos "即將推出" meaning coming soon!

Never use HK prices to 'agar' the pricing in SG Sony, you will be GREATLY disappointed and shocked

100ddd
29-07-2008, 12:54 AM
no prices cos "即將推出" meaning coming soon!

Never use HK prices to 'agar' the pricing in SG Sony, you will be GREATLY disappointed and shocked

Meaning... expect to pay A LOT more in Singapore? :(

Fella
29-07-2008, 09:55 AM
I have a couple of pretty bad scratches on my TZ, in the end I bought the VGP-CVT1/T leather cover and 'permanently' wrap it over the laptop. :)

danxiaogui86
29-07-2008, 10:06 AM
so dramatic sia hicupp.

Kwein
29-07-2008, 12:34 PM
the carry pouch scratches the cover?

the only scratches i kenna is on the vaio emboss logo.

helpless_boy
29-07-2008, 10:07 PM
sian.. i thinking of buying the white CR model.. any scratch would definitely appear more obvious on the white cover..

behkan
30-07-2008, 06:17 PM
Hi all,

Would like to ask how good is the sz55 in terms of handling games ( such as WOW ) and work ?
does it get heated up easily ?
and comparing with the XPS 1330, which is better?

Sorry if i'm asking too many questions...

TIA

spicyboy
30-07-2008, 06:23 PM
I'm using SZ 55 to do MAYA (3D Software), After Effects and stuffs. Played CABAL on it. Should be ok for WOW.

But why SZ 55 when there is SZ 75 which is better?

spicyboy
30-07-2008, 06:24 PM
Vaio SR anf FW out on Sony Newsletter

http://support.sony.com.sg/mysony/mysonystatic/Aug08enews/vaio_sr.html

http://support.sony.com.sg/mysony/mysonystatic/Aug08enews/vaio_fw.html

No news of Z series yet

100ddd
30-07-2008, 07:10 PM
Vaio SR anf FW out on Sony Newsletter

http://support.sony.com.sg/mysony/mysonystatic/Aug08enews/vaio_sr.html

http://support.sony.com.sg/mysony/mysonystatic/Aug08enews/vaio_fw.html

No news of Z series yet

No updates on the sony.com.sg website, no specs, no price as yet. SR and FW are launched earlier in US than the Z Series ya? So should expect the Z to follow? Or is there any chance they won't even bring it in?

helpless_boy
30-07-2008, 08:16 PM
so how much do u all think the SR would be going for ??

spicyboy
30-07-2008, 08:19 PM
Hmm, but Z series luanching in August rite in US?

I think maybe SG skip Z series due to similaries between SR?

behkan
30-07-2008, 08:32 PM
I'm using SZ 55 to do MAYA (3D Software), After Effects and stuffs. Played CABAL on it. Should be ok for WOW.

But why SZ 55 when there is SZ 75 which is better?

hmmm but other than the processor, nothing else differs right?
aniway i dont think i can afford a sz75 bah =/
btw, does sz55 heat up easily?

thanks alot bro!

100ddd
30-07-2008, 08:49 PM
Hmm, but Z series luanching in August rite in US?

I think maybe SG skip Z series due to similaries between SR?

SZ shipping in US early August. Z shipping in US mid August.

I think they are hardly similar.

Yep, I would love to know if anyone knows how to estimate the prices as well. Would be very useful, even if it is nothing more than an informed guess.

spicyboy
31-07-2008, 01:41 AM
hmmm but other than the processor, nothing else differs right?
aniway i dont think i can afford a sz75 bah =/
btw, does sz55 heat up easily?

thanks alot bro!

I dun feel much heat around the palmrest nor the whole lappy, and I dun think Vaio lappies heat up easliy.

Forceware
31-07-2008, 02:31 AM
SR & FW will be launched on 1st August.
Price is $2199 & $2499 for SR 12 & 13.
FW forgot already.

weishengg
31-07-2008, 02:40 AM
1st august? thats tomorrow!
btw, do you happen to know if the launch of SR and FW will cause a price drop on the SZ and FZ series?

Forceware
31-07-2008, 02:46 AM
I dunno bcos I'm not working in Sony. Lol...

weishengg
31-07-2008, 02:50 AM
lol i thought you might have some insider's information since you know the pricing of the SR :b
cheers mate!

alvino77
31-07-2008, 02:54 AM
My guess is.. Z will be launched at a later date! trust me it will be here. Sony SG play smelly again. clear their SZ stock then bring in Z series.

let's see if i'm right

Forceware
31-07-2008, 02:57 AM
Very complicated when looking at the specs... Dunno which series replaces which series...

100ddd
31-07-2008, 02:59 AM
SR & FW will be launched on 1st August.
Price is $2199 & $2499 for SR 12 & 13.
FW forgot already.

1st August in Singapore when it is shipping "early August" in the US? Does that mean we can expect the Z Series to arrive here at the same time as in the US as well? Are they just playing their cards really close and announcing only so close to the launch date or is something else going on here?

weishengg
31-07-2008, 03:01 AM
My guess is.. Z will be launched at a later date! trust me it will be here. Sony SG play smelly again. clear their SZ stock then bring in Z series.

let's see if i'm right

quite likely, see the they're now promoting SZ with free Msoft Office Home/Student and promo purchase for the port replicator.

http://www.sony.com.sg/microsite/vaio/products/vaio_sz/vgn_sz75gnb/index.html

looks like clearing SZ75 stocks to me.

alvino77
31-07-2008, 03:01 AM
SR is a b_as_tard child of CR and SZ, hence the integrated gfx.

Z will be the new SZ premium. keeping the dual gfx concept and adding higher res(1600*900) with HDMI.

Forceware
31-07-2008, 03:04 AM
SR is a ******* child of CR and SZ, hence the integrated gfx.

Z will be the new SZ premium. keeping the dual gfx concept and adding higher res(1600*900) with HDMI.

I thought SR got 2 model. 1 is integrated while the other is with the HD3470.

alvino77
31-07-2008, 03:05 AM
quite likely, see the they're now promoting SZ with free Msoft Office Home/Student and promo purchase for the port replicator.

http://www.sony.com.sg/microsite/vaio/products/vaio_sz/vgn_sz75gnb/index.html

looks like clearing SZ75 stocks to me.
good deal! port replicator is great! although expensive, i never regret paying every single penny for it.

alvino77
31-07-2008, 03:14 AM
I thought SR got 2 model. 1 is integrated while the other is with the HD3470.
yeah, the higher end one has it and with 7200rpm hdd. another guess of mine is sony wun bring in the higher end SR.

i just guessing blindly. anyway CR and SZ's children = 2 models of SR, 1 integrated and the other dedicated. makes sense.

sony sg prove me wrong!!!!!!!
come on

danxiaogui86
31-07-2008, 10:04 AM
i'm looking for the higher end SR :D gonna hoot ^^

danxiaogui86
31-07-2008, 10:09 AM
forceware, where u get the price for SR from?

100ddd
31-07-2008, 12:51 PM
Yep, forceware, can I ask where you got your info on the date and price from?

weishengg
31-07-2008, 01:10 PM
I called up Sony, confirmed that FW and SW will be launching on 1st August (tomorrow). The customer service operator said that can expect stock availability next Monday, pricing she doesnt know at this moment.

danxiaogui86
31-07-2008, 01:24 PM
pricing is 2199 for SR12. tml only launching SR 12. SR13 no Date of launch yet.

danxiaogui86
31-07-2008, 01:24 PM
anyone know the specs of SR12

Forceware
31-07-2008, 01:29 PM
pricing is 2199 for SR12. tml only launching SR 12. SR13 no Date of launch yet.

SR12 & 13 launch on the same day with the pricing $2199 & $2499 respectively la... Rofl...
They are the same spec just that 1 is with GFX & the other without.

Weird... Other country is SR16 leh... Just look at Aust website for the exact spec la... They are the same...

danxiaogui86
31-07-2008, 02:00 PM
i call sony sg directly, they tell me SR13 no launch date yet. hrm..

100ddd
31-07-2008, 02:25 PM
Called Sony Customer Service and no one there is willing to give me any information at all. :(

alvino77
31-07-2008, 02:28 PM
SR12 & 13 launch on the same day with the pricing $2199 & $2499 respectively la... Rofl...
They are the same spec just that 1 is with GFX & the other without.

Weird... Other country is SR16 leh... Just look at Aust website for the exact spec la... They are the same...
no 7200rpm hdd?

danxiaogui86
31-07-2008, 02:35 PM
alvin where do u see? i went aus web i didnt see anything.

alvino77
31-07-2008, 02:48 PM
alvin where do u see? i went aus web i didnt see anything.

SR 16 http://www.sonystyle.com.hk/ss/product/vaio/vgn_sr16gn_b.jsp

SR 15 http://www.sonystyle.com.hk/ss/product/vaio/vgn_sr16gn_b.jsp

basically like wat forceware said. it's gfx integrated and dedicated diff. hdd 200 and 250 gb
diff. unlike USA's model which includes 7200rppm hdd.

OMFG 9980 hdk = 1.7k SGD for SR16 , sony HK oredi making money, see how much MORE Sony SG is making.

danxiaogui86
31-07-2008, 02:52 PM
oh, it from hk. lol. forceware say from aus. i find the whole site cannot loacte. thanks alvino.

alvino77
31-07-2008, 03:09 PM
oh, it from hk. lol. forceware say from aus. i find the whole site cannot loacte. thanks alvino.

i can't find it in Aus site too. but usually HK and SG's product range are the same. so i think it's quite confirmed specs ;)

danxiaogui86
31-07-2008, 04:29 PM
icic... waiting then.. maybe those who interested we can make a list. during comex we ask the retailer for the best price :D

helpless_boy
31-07-2008, 09:37 PM
Called Sony Customer Service and no one there is willing to give me any information at all. :(

confirmed launching tml.. asked sony peeps liao ..

100ddd
31-07-2008, 09:43 PM
confirmed launching tml.. asked sony peeps liao ..

I called three times and spoke to three different persons. None of them was willing to say that they were launching it tomorrow, or give any price indications, or any specs. One did tell me that it is "highly probable" that they will launch it tomorrow though. Lol.

weishengg
31-07-2008, 10:42 PM
I called three times and spoke to three different persons. None of them was willing to say that they were launching it tomorrow, or give any price indications, or any specs. One did tell me that it is "highly probable" that they will launch it tomorrow though. Lol.

lol i didnt even have to call them.
I sent them an email at 1am this morning, and today afternoon at about 12pm+ i got a call from a lady telling me that the FW and SW will be launching tomorrow (friday)

=)

SpellSinger
31-07-2008, 11:12 PM
i was at funan today, SR and FW release tmr at 11am ... only at juz1 sony dealers...mc2 like not reelased till mid-aug.

11.30am rdy for sales :)...pricing still not confirmed, but either way i confirm getting one tmr...just before i head back to perth,....so zun! too bad Z not released yet, so looks like im going for the highend SR :)

hopefully they got the 2.4ghz version for sale and praying that they still got bonus ram upgrade, etc. THe guy i spoke to say 3rd party mouse and case is confirm have wan :P.

SpellSinger
31-07-2008, 11:17 PM
wah if HK and SG same model...that means only got 2.26ghz CPU at best :(...

wah that sux....US can customise till 2.80ghz some more -_-.

100ddd
31-07-2008, 11:23 PM
lol i didnt even have to call them.
I sent them an email at 1am this morning, and today afternoon at about 12pm+ i got a call from a lady telling me that the FW and SW will be launching tomorrow (friday)

I contacted them via email earlier as well. Got a call on Wednesday morning, and the gentleman on the line told me that he could not give me any info.

SpellSinger
31-07-2008, 11:32 PM
there are a few sony dealers ... the 2 most common ones are called JUZ1 and MC2.

i went to 3 JUZ1 stores at funan today and they all told me the same thing. the SR will be in stock tonight (as we speak) and will be ready for purchase on friday. I tried to convince one of the guys to sell me 1 unit today so I don't have to rush to the airport from funan tomorrow, but looks like company policy didn't allow him to do so. And i was at suntec when I got the call to say the stock was in but i can' buy it just yet.

The MC2 guys are alittle more clueless, some of the female staff members have no idea what the SR is at all -_-. But I managed to find a guy who knew what i was talking abot and he told me they were gonna stock the SR mid-august...

100ddd
31-07-2008, 11:40 PM
Thanks! What about at official Sony outlets like at Wisma and Paragon? Any ideas?

SpellSinger
31-07-2008, 11:47 PM
i was at wisma 2-3 days back , i remember posing the question to a cust rep, he didn't seem to have any information on the release date either.

but then again, this guys (apart from juzz1) could have been kept in the dark until they see 5 boxes full of new VAIOs sent in the store...sounds a little unlikely, since they have to do cataloging and what not beforehand.

i've been told there are 3 SR models to be released, and im hoping it's not like sony HK, SR16 in black and the other 2 SR15's in different colours considered as separate models. I'm hoping there's a higher speed CPU SR tmr :(.

danxiaogui86
31-07-2008, 11:56 PM
nice.. i waiting for comex. maybe got better deals.

SpellSinger
01-08-2008, 12:04 AM
sad to say, after looking 2 pages back, and going through most SEA/pacific sony websites, it seems sony only plans on marketing the lowend SR (2.26ghz) in the region. Unfortunately for me, I need a new laptop asap, and I don't have the time to wait for the higher end SR (if ever) to be release alongside the Z.

:(:(:(, i know i'll be happy carrying a SR home tmr, but i wun be TRULLY happy lol.

Forceware
01-08-2008, 01:40 AM
HK website also can see the specs. Aust, you need a little bit of navigation experience at the site.

alvino77
01-08-2008, 02:26 AM
sad to say, after looking 2 pages back, and going through most SEA/pacific sony websites, it seems sony only plans on marketing the lowend SR (2.26ghz) in the region. Unfortunately for me, I need a new laptop asap, and I don't have the time to wait for the higher end SR (if ever) to be release alongside the Z.

:(:(:(, i know i'll be happy carrying a SR home tmr, but i wun be TRULLY happy lol.

buy and upgrade ur own CPU? hehehe doesn't sounds economical though

SpellSinger
01-08-2008, 02:42 AM
not smart move la...will void warranty...then u noe how sony de lesign is super complicating under the hood.

Forceware
01-08-2008, 02:46 AM
not smart move la...will void warranty...then u noe how sony de lesign is super complicating under the hood.

Not true. =)

SpellSinger
01-08-2008, 02:52 AM
Not true. =)

which part not true? void warranty? or hard to DIY?

alvino77
01-08-2008, 03:10 AM
which part not true? void warranty? or hard to DIY?

voiding warranty is possible, but the process is reversible. hard to find out. i would replace back before i send in for any servicing required. as for hard to DIY, it's not that hard if the chasis is similar to SZ(which i think it's 90% identical). a few screws away only from the bottom

PS: i sent in my SZ with upgraded 7200rpm hdd, the service technician din check that :P

100ddd
01-08-2008, 10:26 AM
there are a few sony dealers ... the 2 most common ones are called JUZ1 and MC2.

i went to 3 JUZ1 stores at funan today and they all told me the same thing. the SR will be in stock tonight (as we speak) and will be ready for purchase on friday. I tried to convince one of the guys to sell me 1 unit today so I don't have to rush to the airport from funan tomorrow, but looks like company policy didn't allow him to do so. And i was at suntec when I got the call to say the stock was in but i can' buy it just yet.

The MC2 guys are alittle more clueless, some of the female staff members have no idea what the SR is at all -_-. But I managed to find a guy who knew what i was talking abot and he told me they were gonna stock the SR mid-august...

MC2 has the SR already as well. Check out today's papers or, http://www.mc2.com.sg/indexgrandopening.html. Not sure on the specs though. Anyway I should suppose SpellSinger should be at Funan as I type this. Lol.

SpellSinger
01-08-2008, 01:39 PM
i've been told sonystyle in the airport will have it, so i'll be having a look later....

ill post some pics and a review once i get back to perth, if i get the laptop :P.

danxiaogui86
01-08-2008, 01:45 PM
wah. the promo cannot make it sia... the ram 1gb for the SR model... and + integrated gfx.

yourstruly
01-08-2008, 02:11 PM
wah. the promo cannot make it sia... the ram 1gb for the SR model... and + integrated gfx.

Integrated graphics? GM45 hasn't been released yet rite?

alvino77
01-08-2008, 02:21 PM
i think i go funan to check out how in real life SR look like :P

SpellSinger
01-08-2008, 02:29 PM

that's for the cheaper model? how about the SR13 /w HD3470? surely that one will come with 2gb ram as standard config. for the SR12 the standard config is 1GB ram...so where's the promo?

Integrated graphics? GM45 hasn't been released yet rite?

it has been released, the integrated graphics is the GM4500. check the sony HK site for specs.

the SR released now (SR12/13) are 66.6% centrino 2. They haf the new P series processors, intel chipset PM45, but lacking the intel 5100 wifilink, the current models use atheros wireless so they are not fully centrino 2 certified (hence u only get the core 2 duo sticker insted of the centrino 2 sticker).

danxiaogui86
01-08-2008, 02:39 PM
huh? they are using 5100 ma. i read the specs it is using the 5100 wifilink.

SpellSinger
01-08-2008, 02:43 PM
yea the HK website says so....

however, i've been to a store and checked, no centrino 2 sticker...

and...after some research on notebookreview forum and some newegg (SR129E/B) models, it is true they only haf the core 2 duo sticker because of the atheros wireless chipset instead of intel.

but unless having the centrino 2 certification is a must, the rest of the components are already montevina platform. and apaprently the intel produces less heat and is better battery-wise, however the atheros has better performance.

haf u been to a store and checked one out urself? can elaborate on the promos? free mouse? free ram upgrade? free case? anything for the SRs at all?

SpellSinger
01-08-2008, 06:06 PM
ok i just bought from the airport sony style for $2,324 excl. GST, comes with a free sony carry case...

got the black one, using it to post this @ the airport now...

will post pics and reviews if required when i get home in 5hrs :P.

brrrip
01-08-2008, 07:27 PM
well let me be the first to request for the review then haha

100ddd
01-08-2008, 07:34 PM
Yep, please review!

I went down to the store to take a look.

There is no fingerprint scanner.

The SR12 comes with free upgrade of RAM from 1GB to 2GB, and a carrying case. Thats all.

SR13 comes with only a carrying case.

Other than that, it still looks pretty sleek.

But must say it is kinda disappointing that it is not Centrino 2 (?). Why are we getting dumbed down lesser versions in Singapore as compared to in the US?

100ddd
01-08-2008, 07:48 PM
Oh my mistake. The SR13 HAS a fingerprint reader.

MC2 offers upradge of RAM for the SR13 from 2GB to 4GB for $79 as well.

I wonder if anyone falls for Sony Style's "scam" and pays them they $250+ for each GB of RAM upgrade they are offering.

Sounds like a pretty decent deal actually when I think of it again.

Forceware
02-08-2008, 03:17 AM
Oh my mistake. The SR13 HAS a fingerprint reader.

MC2 offers upradge of RAM for the SR13 from 2GB to 4GB for $79 as well.

I wonder if anyone falls for Sony Style's "scam" and pays them they $250+ for each GB of RAM upgrade they are offering.

Sounds like a pretty decent deal actually when I think of it again.

$250+ meh? :s22:
Anyway, upgrade another ram yourself maybe costs you about $60.

Forceware
02-08-2008, 03:18 AM
So I wonder... How's Spellsinger new VAIO? Must had been the 1st person to land his hands on the fresh SR. Kekeke... :D

SpellSinger
02-08-2008, 04:13 AM
So I wonder... How's Spellsinger new VAIO? Must had been the 1st person to land his hands on the fresh SR. Kekeke... :D

lol loving it...it's 4am now... abit tired, i try to post some pics and review tmr if i haf the time. so far i'm loving it, although keyboard is a little noisy i reckon :).

but the screen is nice and i'm loving it.
one thing though, I bought from the sony style in terminal 3 (with 7% off), but i completely and utterly forgot new items brought in through Australian Customs will end up having to pay GST there instead. so I end up paying like $140AUD in tax because i declare it as new item. So my savings from the 7% also go down the drain liao...sianz...sorry i just had to rant :(

Forceware
02-08-2008, 04:56 AM
lol loving it...it's 4am now... abit tired, i try to post some pics and review tmr if i haf the time. so far i'm loving it, although keyboard is a little noisy i reckon :).

but the screen is nice and i'm loving it.
one thing though, I bought from the sony style in terminal 3 (with 7% off), but i completely and utterly forgot new items brought in through Australian Customs will end up having to pay GST there instead. so I end up paying like $140AUD in tax because i declare it as new item. So my savings from the 7% also go down the drain liao...sianz...sorry i just had to rant :(

Alamak! Should have throw away the box.

spicyboy
03-08-2008, 03:53 AM
Wah, Aus tax is 10% lei, somemore Aussie dollar. U pay alot more sia

zack00
03-08-2008, 11:26 AM
anyone bought the FW series?

SpellSinger
03-08-2008, 02:58 PM
Wah, Aus tax is 10% lei, somemore Aussie dollar. U pay alot more sia

you don't say... iwas kicking myself when they handed me a receipt to pay $138AUD in GST + $1802AUD ( convert 2343SGD) i end up paying like $50 SGD more in the end. But i also bought a slipcase which cost me $55, so $5 SGD saving loh -_-.

F*ck me :s22:

I dun feel like reviewing my laptop anymore or taking pics lol :(....

alvino77
03-08-2008, 03:55 PM
you don't say... iwas kicking myself when they handed me a receipt to pay $138AUD in GST + $1802AUD ( convert 2343SGD) i end up paying like $50 SGD more in the end. But i also bought a slipcase which cost me $55, so $5 SGD saving loh -_-.

nvm la.. since u bought liao just enjoy it!

pictures pictures!!!!!!!!!!!

Bashflz
03-08-2008, 04:12 PM
saw a sr13gn today.. is it the new one?

danxiaogui86
03-08-2008, 04:32 PM
at where? is it using the 3470 ati mobility card?

rvf79
03-08-2008, 05:58 PM
i also saw it at sony shop...........
now thinking don know wana get this or get asus 100H..... haiz

alvino77
03-08-2008, 06:43 PM
i also saw it at sony shop...........
now thinking don know wana get this or get asus 100H..... haiz
strange that you're comparing this 2 model. which is of different league. umpc and a full fledge notebook quite a great difference you know

100ddd
03-08-2008, 08:28 PM
at where? is it using the 3470 ati mobility card?

Yep, the SR13GN is the one using the ATI Mobility 3470 card. It should be available at all Sony retailers already at 2499. It is the one SpellSinger got, I believe.

In fact, I am typing on one right now as well! :s13:

danxiaogui86
03-08-2008, 08:43 PM
wow. nice. any freebies? i think comex got special promo?

SBS_Transit
03-08-2008, 10:40 PM
Should i get the SR or SZ at comex?

danxiaogui86
03-08-2008, 11:00 PM
hehe.. those who interested in sr or sz. let collate a list. we try to get a good price.

rvf79
03-08-2008, 11:24 PM
strange that you're comparing this 2 model. which is of different league. umpc and a full fledge notebook quite a great difference you know

just went to vivo to test out 1000H... too small for my finger liao....
now deciding on 3 models.... sony sR13 dell XPS and the last is compaq 1200 with processor of T8100... cheaper than Sony by 1k....

100ddd
03-08-2008, 11:52 PM
Vaio. Cause its just so cool.

Forceware
04-08-2008, 02:53 AM

How come they tax you so much???

brrrip
04-08-2008, 10:43 AM
hehe.. those who interested in sr or sz. let collate a list. we try to get a good price.

haha i dont mind man. sounds like a plan. the question is when will the z series reach singapore.....

Chevalier
04-08-2008, 04:31 PM
haha i dont mind man. sounds like a plan. the question is when will the z series reach singapore.....

september.....several forums and retailers told me the same thing

in the end i settled for the vgn-sz79gn.....and im loving it

be prepared to fork out an arm and leg for the Z series

alvino77
04-08-2008, 07:26 PM
just went to vivo to test out 1000H... too small for my finger liao....
now deciding on 3 models.... sony sR13 dell XPS and the last is compaq 1200 with processor of T8100... cheaper than Sony by 1k....
i see. glad you are considering a VAIO. It's like buying a toyota vios, Civic and a entry BMW/Mercs. build quality and style is what are you paying for. They are of similar performance.

If you ain't looking for what i've mentioned, then get a dell or compaq. Otherwise at end of the day, you will complain you've overpaid for the product :) cheers

rvf79
04-08-2008, 11:52 PM
i see. glad you are considering a VAIO. It's like buying a toyota vios, Civic and a entry BMW/Mercs. build quality and style is what are you paying for. They are of similar performance.

If you ain't looking for what i've mentioned, then get a dell or compaq. Otherwise at end of the day, you will complain you've overpaid for the product :) cheers

hmmmm... then B1200 is like civic and sony is like BMW.....
ahhhhhhhhhh confused again...
i like the design so much but like paying 1k plus for it....
i heard from my friend dat she drop her vaio then ko..... just from the mac table...
fainted

alvino77
05-08-2008, 03:05 AM
hmmmm... then B1200 is like civic and sony is like BMW.....
ahhhhhhhhhh confused again...
i like the design so much but like paying 1k plus for it....
i heard from my friend dat she drop her vaio then ko..... just from the mac table...
faintedProbably hdd crashed. Well i can't vouch for that type of quality. But when buying a notebook i don't expect to put drop resistant as a consideration unless it's required in my job scope. But i can share an encounter from my friend's SZ. His house were broken into, thieve was in the kitchen with his vaio and some valuables, he woke up and confronted the theive, theive throw vaio SZ onto the floor and ran. VAIO got plastic corner body got physical crack, but machine totally functional. I guess its case to case basis. Not everyone so sway or heng.

If drop resistance is really needed you might wanna look at panasonic's toughbook :) even a chimp can't kill it. :P

anyway i'm assuming you are comparing this Compaq B1200's specification against SR12(model w integrated gfx). indeed VAIO seemed way overpriced. Just like most over-priced continental/european cars in SG.

the cheapest i found was $1400 http://cgi.ebay.com.sg/Compaq-Presario-B1200-Brand-NEW-GOING-CHEAP_W0QQitemZ180252076074QQihZ008QQcategoryZ42198QQcmdZViewItem

so price difference is 800? you get
- slightly faster CPU 2.1 vs 2.26 ghz,
- bigger hdd 160 vs 200gb,
- slight weight difference 1.92 vs 1.88kg
- bigger decent sized screen 12.1 vs 13.3"
- new wifi card ABG vs ABGN
- VAIO xbrite screen white LED screen(to me my vaio screen really looks better than other notebook's LCD but some ppl cannot tell any difference, so ymmv)
- better built in gfx (Intel® Graphics Media Accelerator (GMA) X3100 vs Mobile Intel® Graphics Media Accelerator 4500MHD)
- Vista Basic vs Vista Home premium

Compaq has
- 3 usb over SR's 2
- gigabit over SR's 100mbs ethernet
- S video out, SR only VGA.
- newer mother board chipset 965

hmm i think i ended up doing your homework. :P

Luc777
05-08-2008, 05:36 PM
hi all...

dunno if this is wols anot...

i posted a thread abt hardware failure for my vaio some days ago...

and i've emailed sony on how to rectify the problem rather thn going straight down and pay 120++...

so here goes...if you tio the blue screen of death with hardware failure...

jus press f10 at the vaio screen and follow the on screen instructions with vaio recovery...

it's tt easy...

sorry if someone posted it before...

whatscooking
05-08-2008, 06:19 PM
If you look at Sony Taiwan site, you probably notice that the price for Z-16TN is approax S$3,560 which is not too much different from the SZ-79 price here. So probably in Comex, the Z will be available. Cheers.

rvf79
05-08-2008, 09:49 PM
Probably hdd crashed. Well i can't vouch for that type of quality. But when buying a notebook i don't expect to put drop resistant as a consideration unless it's required in my job scope. But i can share an encounter from my friend's SZ. His house were broken into, thieve was in the kitchen with his vaio and some valuables, he woke up and confronted the theive, theive throw vaio SZ onto the floor and ran. VAIO got plastic corner body got physical crack, but machine totally functional. I guess its case to case basis. Not everyone so sway or heng.

If drop resistance is really needed you might wanna look at panasonic's toughbook :) even a chimp can't kill it. :P

anyway i'm assuming you are comparing this Compaq B1200's specification against SR12(model w integrated gfx). indeed VAIO seemed way overpriced. Just like most over-priced continental/european cars in SG.

the cheapest i found was $1400 http://cgi.ebay.com.sg/Compaq-Presario-B1200-Brand-NEW-GOING-CHEAP_W0QQitemZ180252076074QQihZ008QQcategoryZ42198QQcmdZViewItem

so price difference is 800? you get
- slightly faster CPU 2.1 vs 2.26 ghz,
- bigger hdd 160 vs 200gb,
- slight weight difference 1.92 vs 1.88kg
- bigger decent sized screen 12.1 vs 13.3"
- new wifi card ABG vs ABGN
- VAIO xbrite screen white LED screen(to me my vaio screen really looks better than other notebook's LCD but some ppl cannot tell any difference, so ymmv)
- better built in gfx (Intel® Graphics Media Accelerator (GMA) X3100 vs Mobile Intel® Graphics Media Accelerator 4500MHD)
- Vista Basic vs Vista Home premium

Compaq has
- 3 usb over SR's 2
- gigabit over SR's 100mbs ethernet
- S video out, SR only VGA.
- newer mother board chipset 965

hmm i think i ended up doing your homework. :P

hmmm i also considering the warranty... compaq is giving 3 yrs
if comparing with sony plus 3 yrs warranty... the diff is nearly 1k diff....
by the way i getting my friend to help me to get it from the poly...
;)

but if during the it show sr 13 remain the price and give 3 yrs warranty then i bang balls...

for the past few it show do they give 3 yrs warranty for free?
went to the shop and was quoted 10% of the price of the lappy

SpellSinger
06-08-2008, 04:33 PM
sorry guys i didnt have the best week. first with the tax, then now got a few car issues.

but either way, i owe you guys a few pictures of my SR (with my old S series), but I won't be giving the laptop a formal review, but in the past week that I had it, it has been an above average experience.
>>
PICTURES LOCATED HERE (http://picasaweb.google.com/eugene.foo/VAIOSR13GNB)
<<
The white led screen is impressive, so far all my friends and family who has seen it gave mention to the LCD screen before anything else, the colours and quality are top notch. I personally love the look of the SR too, it looks like a premium version of the black macbook, and by any right, it probably is. The barrel design and green LED power button are my favourite, nothing exudes class and uniqueness more than the Vaios, and this design fully reflects it.

The CPU is powerful enough to handle all of sony's bloatware and crap, alongside the everbuggy vista with no issues whatsoever. Everything I've done has been pretty smooth sailing with 2GB and it being ran on vaio optimised mode (which still uses full brightness settings). I've been playing some games on it, namely wc3 and SEAL online, which don't require much grunt, so I can't speak for the bunch of you that do hardcore FPS gaming. The keyboard is nice to type on with more than sufficient tactility, but really, I'm not too fuss about keyboard designs, I was never to fussed about the set on my old S series either. The trackpad is HUGE! too huge that it's hard to get used to from my old S series VAIO. I always seem to only use 70% of the available space haha, but I don't think it will be an issue :). I haven't really tested battery life because it's currently set on 'super battery care' mode due to mi using it on AC power 24/7, but the 3hrs on paper seems like a good estimate, it lasted around 40mins on 25% in the airport. Also I don't know whether this has been rectified in the SZ series, but the battery doesn't rattle anymore, they've changed the design so there's extra hold and the battery doesn't feel 'loose' around the edges.

All in all, it is certainly a very good replacement to my old vaio S which I absolutely love to bits. In my books this is probably a 10/10, simply because the trademark Vaio name has met my expectations in everyway at 2.5k it's well worth the money.

brrrip
07-08-2008, 01:20 AM
thanks for the comments and pics man.

anyway i noticed that there's a closed slot for the hdmi port. why does sony tease us so?

chirppy
07-08-2008, 10:11 AM
hi i am intending to get a sony vaio laptop for my uni.How much it cost to extend my warranty from 1 year to 3 years?And do sony bundle any microsoft office software together with the laptop?And is there any difference between buying the laptop from MC2,sony square or those big retailers like harvey norman?

jialingjj
07-08-2008, 11:14 AM
sorry guys i didnt have the best week. first with the tax, then now got a few car issues.

but either way, i owe you guys a few pictures of my SR (with my old S series), but I won't be giving the laptop a formal review, but in the past week that I had it, it has been an above average experience.
>>
PICTURES LOCATED HERE (http://picasaweb.google.com/eugene.foo/VAIOSR13GNB)
<<
The white led screen is impressive, so far all my friends and family who has seen it gave mention to the LCD screen before anything else, the colours and quality are top notch. I personally love the look of the SR too, it looks like a premium version of the black macbook, and by any right, it probably is. The barrel design and green LED power button are my favourite, nothing exudes class and uniqueness more than the Vaios, and this design fully reflects it.

The CPU is powerful enough to handle all of sony's bloatware and crap, alongside the everbuggy vista with no issues whatsoever. Everything I've done has been pretty smooth sailing with 2GB and it being ran on vaio optimised mode (which still uses full brightness settings). I've been playing some games on it, namely wc3 and SEAL online, which don't require much grunt, so I can't speak for the bunch of you that do hardcore FPS gaming. The keyboard is nice to type on with more than sufficient tactility, but really, I'm not too fuss about keyboard designs, I was never to fussed about the set on my old S series either. The trackpad is HUGE! too huge that it's hard to get used to from my old S series VAIO. I always seem to only use 70% of the available space haha, but I don't think it will be an issue :). I haven't really tested battery life because it's currently set on 'super battery care' mode due to mi using it on AC power 24/7, but the 3hrs on paper seems like a good estimate, it lasted around 40mins on 25% in the airport. Also I don't know whether this has been rectified in the SZ series, but the battery doesn't rattle anymore, they've changed the design so there's extra hold and the battery doesn't feel 'loose' around the edges.

All in all, it is certainly a very good replacement to my old vaio S which I absolutely love to bits. In my books this is probably a 10/10, simply because the trademark Vaio name has met my expectations in everyway at 2.5k it's well worth the money.

VAIO SR13GN/B , only have 2 usb port to me is not enough.
Though can use usb hub but is like..........

haruko_yoshiko
07-08-2008, 11:24 AM

My TZ also only 2 USB ports.. hahaz..

The new Z series does look pretty good... but somehow all the new models seem to adopt the TZ's keyboard design.. >.<

SpellSinger
07-08-2008, 12:52 PM
yea i got a feeling the later SR models being released will include HDMI. Afterall the SRs do come with a HD3470 capable of watching HD vids. They are probably doing to this to the earlier SR models so they don't crap up the sales of the Z series when it comes out...

afterall 2.5k for a hdmi output laptop would surely be way more competitive than their 3.5k counterpart.

rvf79
08-08-2008, 01:30 AM
just got my compaq.... so far so good
batt life is abt 1hr n 30 mins.... maybe due to the hp i have attached to it as a modem.
over all i got 3 yrs warranty....

but my next lappy will be sony.... love the design!!! but over my $$$$ it's abt 1.25k more if i would want to extend the warranty.

will join sony in 2 yrs time

alvino77
08-08-2008, 03:27 AM
just got my compaq.... so far so good
batt life is abt 1hr n 30 mins.... maybe due to the hp i have attached to it as a modem.
over all i got 3 yrs warranty....

but my next lappy will be sony.... love the design!!! but over my $$$$ it's abt 1.25k more if i would want to extend the warranty.

will join sony in 2 yrs time
Great It's a good laptop! let the battery run in a few cycle 1st ba. 3yrs warranty is a ultimate peace of mind, plus better resale value.

enjoy your new lappy. 2/3 years later then say ba :P maybe got other brands make nice nice lappy too.. :D

Kwein
08-08-2008, 12:48 PM

likewise...2 is abit stingy. so no choice i using a Bluetooth Lazer Mouse :D

rvf79
08-08-2008, 01:42 PM
Great It's a good laptop! let the battery run in a few cycle 1st ba. 3yrs warranty is a ultimate peace of mind, plus better resale value.

enjoy your new lappy. 2/3 years later then say ba :P maybe got other brands make nice nice lappy too.. :D

the only thing i do not like is i cant play my cabal, and also the right shift button a bit small.... lol.... the rest is okie. they have a higher end which is the dv6000 series, but it's 15 inches.... too heavy as i will be bring the lappy here n there.... and not as slim as sony.... haahaaa but this is value for money

SpellSinger
08-08-2008, 03:06 PM
haha u noe why compaqs come with 3 yrs warranty...because you will probably end up using it :P.

i still have peace of mind with my 1yr 3months sony warranty because im quite confident of the build quality and i will probably nvr have to use it :).

2 usb ports juz nice for my needs really - in fact more than enough. i only use it for the occasional ext hdd or usb stick. my peripherals like mouse also bluetooth. it all depends on what you need, if 2 usb ports isn't enough for you on a portable laptop means you are probably lugging around a LOT of usb devices which shows that your portable laptop isn't portable anymore lol.

Kwein
08-08-2008, 03:28 PM
yo spell, does the SR comes with XP downgrade cd?

100ddd
08-08-2008, 04:07 PM

Yes it does.

stpaul
08-08-2008, 05:19 PM
interested in the FZ series w/ Blu ray but price still quite steep leh. Does sony have 3yrs full warranty similar to toshiba?

SpellSinger
08-08-2008, 07:32 PM

yea for a double confirmation - it does.

but the salesman at SS told me that it's merely an OS disk, no drivers included. you still have to get those yourself. good ol' sony lol.

rvf79
08-08-2008, 07:53 PM
haha u noe why compaqs come with 3 yrs warranty...because you will probably end up using it :P.

i still have peace of mind with my 1yr 3months sony warranty because im quite confident of the build quality and i will probably nvr have to use it :).

2 usb ports juz nice for my needs really - in fact more than enough. i only use it for the occasional ext hdd or usb stick. my peripherals like mouse also bluetooth. it all depends on what you need, if 2 usb ports isn't enough for you on a portable laptop means you are probably lugging around a LOT of usb devices which shows that your portable laptop isn't portable anymore lol.

if sony also offer 3 yrs warranty... then i will have a hard time deciding on which model liao..... say 200 more for the graphic card. 100 for the led or 200 for the led. then 600 for the design and slim look....
if dat is the case most prob will wack sony liao.... hope it show don come out vaio sr 13 at 2,499 plus 3 yrs warranty then i will go n bang my head liao..... :look:

SpellSinger
08-08-2008, 08:02 PM
i don't know abt ur previous experiences with laptops...but the last vaio i had is still running fine after 4 yrs...thats why im not too fussed about warranty. maybe i shouldn't be so trusting, but i am, and i hope my new vaio is as sturdy as my last one...

as for vaios and 3 yrs warranty, it happens during promos, perhaps during comex this year, you never know. Freebies, warranty, extras, a whole variety of things.

as for justifying that difference in price...it's a sony brother! surely you would expect to pay a premium for the brand alone. Lucky this isn't just hot air, sony actually does produce good quality laptops with designs you will never see on other brands. Not to mention white LED and materials used, i'm pretty sure the SR i'm using isn't fully plastic, probably some magnesium parts here and there to achieve the 1.88kg weight.

from my pov, 2.5k sgd is a very competitive price given it's a sony and its marketing towards the ultraportable and business consumer market.

Da_Vinci
08-08-2008, 08:50 PM
Had seen the pink SR, design wise, photos does not do the SR any justice. Gotta see it "live".However, the palm rest area feels a tad too plasticky. It is actually kinda flexible with a little amount of pressure on the palm rest.

Imo, I still feel the SZ had better materials used to construct the model. Nonetheless, impressive screen displayed on the SR.

Booker_T
09-08-2008, 02:14 AM
I have an FZ27G model. Is there any nice sleeves from sony for this 15.4" model? I was hoping for one like those available for CR series. But i check the bugis sony branch they say for 15.4" don't have.

Forceware
09-08-2008, 02:39 AM

Only SR13 comes with the XP professional installation disc.

Forceware
09-08-2008, 02:41 AM
Heard this time Sony Singapore would be joining this coming Comex show. Not dealers anymore. =) That means Sony Style.

rvf79
09-08-2008, 02:54 AM
my gf last time got a laapy from carefour.... don know what kuku brand 1... after 1 yr it's up the lorry... my bro passed me 1 lappy which is compaq... i think got more than 5 yrs ba.... p4 sia... but it's for my mom 1... it's still working well.

As singaporean.... all very ks 1 ma.... lol
got extended warranty is just to safe guard.... but honourly speaking.... i am still interested in the sr13...... but i have already bought a lappy liao.... keekee so stay with it till the end of 3 yrs... if not sell it away will be a lost of moeny sia.... i am impressed by the sz-50 series also.... also led... a bit regretted getting hp, but what to do. buy liao, tahan for 3 yrs then make a change. :)
anyway hp i know their CS is very good.

tmr going to sls to upgrade my ram to 3gb!!! heehee
should be smooth going with all the games i would be playing liao

this lappy is just nice for me to work. but the batt life span is abt 1 hr n 30 mins.... haiz...... looking for extended batt like hard to find for this model... damn