PDA

View Full Version : Sony Vaio laptop users Thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 18 19 20 21

SBS_Transit
09-08-2008, 10:29 PM
To all SR users, wanna ask, does your batt % drop alot when the laptop is off and not connected to ac ?

SpellSinger
10-08-2008, 01:45 AM
my gf last time got a laapy from carefour.... don know what kuku brand 1... after 1 yr it's up the lorry... my bro passed me 1 lappy which is compaq... i think got more than 5 yrs ba.... p4 sia... but it's for my mom 1... it's still working well.

As singaporean.... all very ks 1 ma.... lol
got extended warranty is just to safe guard.... but honourly speaking.... i am still interested in the sr13...... but i have already bought a lappy liao.... keekee so stay with it till the end of 3 yrs... if not sell it away will be a lost of moeny sia.... i am impressed by the sz-50 series also.... also led... a bit regretted getting hp, but what to do. buy liao, tahan for 3 yrs then make a change. :)
anyway hp i know their CS is very good.

tmr going to sls to upgrade my ram to 3gb!!! heehee
should be smooth going with all the games i would be playing liao

this lappy is just nice for me to work. but the batt life span is abt 1 hr n 30 mins.... haiz...... looking for extended batt like hard to find for this model... damn

bro you seem dam gian to get a vaio, after getting a new lappy liao u still looking at others...means you didn't get the buyer's satisfaction at all...honestly, if you want and like, then just get especially if you have the money already. Saving money is one thing, but why buy something half the price but on hindsight after purchasing u felt like you shoula got something else?

To all SR users, wanna ask, does your batt % drop alot when the laptop is off and not connected to ac ?

i never go check also, i think i go find out tonite doh.

rvf79
10-08-2008, 04:00 AM
heeheee
overall i am 80 to 90% happy, only not happy dat don have the finger print thing n also the batt life.... haiz... went to call hp and they don have extra batt n also a bigger batt also.... damn

spicyboy
10-08-2008, 10:01 AM
If I'm not wrong, these will be the offical specs of Z series when launch in Singapore

http://www.sony-asia.com/product/CompareProducts.action?site=hp_en_AP_i&models=VGN-Z17GN&models=VGN-Z16GN&models=VGN-Z13GN&models=VGN-Z12GN

SeCt0r7
10-08-2008, 12:00 PM
btw from august ownards sony allow all new vaio buyers to buy extended warranty for a fee

SpellSinger
10-08-2008, 12:02 PM

i checked back again. it does dip quite drastically. from like 48% when i turned it off to around 18% when i turned it on! that's 30%! i didn't realise till now, my old vaio doesn't have this problem...

how now brown cow. :(
go comprain liao lol.

jumpmanz
10-08-2008, 02:34 PM
guys. my CR11 built-in speakers just died on me suddenly.
any bros encounter this b4?
how to get it fix? :)

spicyboy
10-08-2008, 04:09 PM
i checked back again. it does dip quite drastically. from like 48% when i turned it off to around 18% when i turned it on! that's 30%! i didn't realise till now, my old vaio doesn't have this problem...

go comprain liao lol.

Most prob yr batt spoil liao. Take batt go Sony get replacement loh, thats what they did for my SZ.

Forceware
10-08-2008, 09:28 PM

go comprain liao lol.

:s31:
Tomorrow I also go see see rook rook...

SpellSinger
11-08-2008, 12:06 AM
weird thing is...when my vaio is switched on...the battery life is accurate...it just seems to drain by a ridiculous amount when i leave it unused...i mean usually if u turn your laptop off, ur batt life is meant to stay the same, give or take 1% bahz.

SBS_Transit
11-08-2008, 01:06 AM
Sad, this problem still here even for the new sr, last time sz have also. dun think its the batt

SpellSinger
11-08-2008, 06:19 PM
:s31:
Tomorrow I also go see see rook rook...

up for chiu to update :)

Forceware
11-08-2008, 07:36 PM
up for chiu to update :)

I don't have the problem. Basically I just let it run on batt power for awhile then shut it down and power on again. And the % is still the same.

SBS_Transit
11-08-2008, 07:38 PM
Try leaving the ac disconnected for more than 12 hours ?
haha btw, anyone tried downgrading to xp ?

Forceware
11-08-2008, 08:06 PM
I guess Z series could be launch on 1st September.

SpellSinger
12-08-2008, 12:31 AM
I don't have the problem. Basically I just let it run on batt power for awhile then shut it down and power on again. And the % is still the same.

really? i'm assuming this is vista with all of sony's crap on it?

if so, looks like i'll be using my warranty on the batt :(.

SpellSinger
12-08-2008, 12:02 PM
i did a few more tests...

procedure as follows:

1. turn on battery care function to 50% (so battery charges to max of 50%)
2. once battery charges to 50%, I switched my computer to Maximum battery mode
3. shutdown my laptop
4. took out the battery
5. left it out in the cold for 12hrs+ (where i live, its by no means hot, so batteries should thrive in this condition)
6. next morning, i put my battery in and boot up my comp, it was 49% for about 30seconds, before it rapidly dipped to 44% and now 40% within 5mins.

I really think my battery is faulty, as the battery has been left away from the laptop the entire night, and when used for 5mins, it loss as much as 10% in battery power...

i was wondering what's Sony's take on battery warranty? do they go through a lot of hassles just to replace it? Do I have to bring my entire laptop there for them to test? or can i just bring in my battery for a swap?

Seikirai
12-08-2008, 01:53 PM
hey guys, wanna ask if the SR series audio output has a combined optical(S/PDIF) output as well?

alvino77
12-08-2008, 04:42 PM
i was wondering what's Sony's take on battery warranty? do they go through a lot of hassles just to replace it? Do I have to bring my entire laptop there for them to test? or can i just bring in my battery for a swap?
you're in aussie now right? at least for SG, i sent in only the battery only. If the battery is faulty, they usually replace a new one. If they don't make noise, tell them, their battery problematic what if it explode on u? tell them u gonna sue them big time!

jimbb80
12-08-2008, 04:51 PM
hi guys, quick question for all SZ owners. are you all happy with the quality of your screens?

I have a sz433 and noticed my screen is yellowish and not very bright compared to all the other laptops on the market. for example, i just used a friends compaq laptop he got for $500 and was amazed that his screen was much clearer, brighter than my sz

btw, the screen quality is more pronounced when viewing plain white backgrounds.

thanks for any input

alvino77
12-08-2008, 04:52 PM
hey guys, wanna ask if the SR series audio output has a combined optical(S/PDIF) output as well?
nope :)

alvino77
12-08-2008, 05:13 PM
hi guys, quick question for all SZ owners. are you all happy with the quality of your screens?

I have a sz433 and noticed my screen is yellowish and not very bright compared to all the other laptops on the market. for example, i just used a friends compaq laptop he got for $500 and was amazed that his screen was much clearer, brighter than my sz

btw, the screen quality is more pronounced when viewing plain white backgrounds.

thanks for any input
hmmmm that's very unlikely. Sony's xbrite screen is distinctively clearer, sharper and nicer. Usually my friends who have seen my VAIO, the screen quality is the 1st they noticed, way superior then others. Have you turned on to a decent brightness before comparing? Usually other brands of notebook for e.g 1st few gen of apple macbooks look wash out big time from the sides(horizontal view)

I do noticed that lamp based LCD screen(non LED ver) does turn yellowish after extensive usage(usually over 1 yr). It's a common syndrome. my SZ(SZ38) is my 1st LED LCD, this technology seemed to be less prone to this yellow tint. yes another observation based on my wife's TX and my SZ.

jimbb80
12-08-2008, 06:16 PM
alvino77, thanks for the reply.

My SZ was purchased last yr and its the "clearbright LCD" version, maybe xbrite is in the new models?
As you said, I have a fealing the lcd lamp became yellowish due to extensive usage. Its the only explanation i can think of.

Any idea if sony replaces lcd screens? and the charge for this?

thanks again

alvino77
12-08-2008, 06:28 PM
alvino77, thanks for the reply.

My SZ was purchased last yr and its the "clearbright LCD" version, maybe xbrite is in the new models?
As you said, I have a fealing the lcd lamp became yellowish due to extensive usage. Its the only explanation i can think of.

Any idea if sony replaces lcd screens? and the charge for this?

thanks again
xbrite screen is a incorporated in all SZ i think, even the S series before SZ. sony does replace LCD screen. Its not cheap FYI, someone cracked his screen in this thread but it's a TZ another premium model cost him 700 bucks if to replace. http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showpost.php?p=29905167&postcount=2773 You should call Sony support to check the price, they are quite prompt in answering queries if you managed to get your calls pick up. :P

brrrip
13-08-2008, 12:19 AM
SpellSinger, why 1st sept?

jimbb80
13-08-2008, 01:13 AM
thanks, alvino77. will give them a call tomorrow. probably better off selling the laptop and buying a new one haha.

anyone interested?

danong
14-08-2008, 10:02 PM
I just view the SR today at Funa. Ok lar, nothing spectacular. Disturbing turnoff is Made in China :(
SZ(Made in Japan) better imo.

SpellSinger
14-08-2008, 10:11 PM
SpellSinger, why 1st sept?

sorry?

I just view the SR today at Funa. Ok lar, nothing spectacular. Disturbing turnoff is Made in China :(

the Z will be made in Japan ... the SR is more midrange hence sony outsource manufacturing to china. as with SZ being the higer end segment of vaios.

SEvsNK
14-08-2008, 11:34 PM
Really? Not Malaysia?

SpellSinger
15-08-2008, 12:00 AM
mine is made in china ... SR-13

SEvsNK
15-08-2008, 12:11 AM
mine is made in china ... SR-13
wow u bot the SR liaos, good stuff, wondering when the Z will arrive, but i heard from a source it will start at $2999. exp mans

SpellSinger
15-08-2008, 12:59 AM
i bought it on release date :P...

$2.9k for the Z is not expensive, i expected that from sony....

Forceware
15-08-2008, 02:32 AM
Z Series will have 2 model. Z16 will be $3199 & Z17 will be $4299.
There's actually a pre sales email that is sent out to MySony members.

alvino77
15-08-2008, 02:51 AM
Really? Not Malaysia?
LCD in malaysia, premium LCD in Japan.

VAIO in china, premium VAIO in Japan.

yourstruly
15-08-2008, 02:52 AM
$4299?!?!? %$&*#...

alvino77
15-08-2008, 02:52 AM

hmm how come i don't receive the email. I'm in their Sony research panelist group somemore! ku ku one

Forceware
15-08-2008, 03:07 AM
hmm how come i don't receive the email. I'm in their Sony research panelist group somemore! ku ku one

Maybe send out by batch ba... Not sure... :o
Anyway Sonystyle HK already having Pre-Sales liao... http://www.sonystyle.com.hk/ss/product/vaio/index_e.jsp
Similar... Buy 1st collect later. But got many gifts for SG.

Forceware
15-08-2008, 03:11 AM
$4299?!?!? %$&*#...

I rather go for the Z16 since it's only a CPU, HDD & RAM difference which we can change easily. Unless the make is different again... -.-"

danong
15-08-2008, 05:19 AM
Really? Not Malaysia?

U can go Havey Norman Funan see

Themember
15-08-2008, 08:44 PM

Possible to show the brochure here? What Freebies are they throwing? I am really interested in getting one of this.

skyfiremage
15-08-2008, 09:28 PM
Possible to show the brochure here? What Freebies are they throwing? I am really interested in getting one of this.

Excellent deals! Click on the link below to see details. You have free privacy filter, bluetooth laser mouse, port replicator, battery, vaio carrying case & free 1-year Vaio overseas service warranty. :love:

VAIO Z Pre-Sales Promotion (http://support.sony.com.sg/mysony/vaio/presales_aug08/index.html)

Da_Vinci
15-08-2008, 10:02 PM
indeed some tempting offers for the Z series:)

shiahzy
16-08-2008, 02:09 AM
Btw, does anyone knows the actual weight of the SR?

I can't seem to find it on Sony's website. But it does look heavy.

Edit: Ok, it's 1.88kg with batt but from the specs I found, it looks thick. Any SR users would like to comment?

Furthermore, is it advisable to wait until Comex? I supposed the pricing would be the same right, only difference being the accessories/freebies.

Anyway, there's a promotion until 17th for the SR which includes free upgrade to 2GB ram and an exclusive carry case. Looks interesting to me.

Lastly, any reviews or personal thoughts on the SR?

TIA.

Forceware
16-08-2008, 03:11 AM
Btw, does anyone knows the actual weight of the SR?

I can't seem to find it on Sony's website. But it does look heavy.

Edit: Ok, it's 1.88kg with batt but from the specs I found, it looks thick. Any SR users would like to comment?

Furthermore, is it advisable to wait until Comex? I supposed the pricing would be the same right, only difference being the accessories/freebies.

Anyway, there's a promotion until 17th for the SR which includes free upgrade to 2GB ram and an exclusive carry case. Looks interesting to me.

Lastly, any reviews or personal thoughts on the SR?

TIA.

Hmm... Current promo is not attractive at all. I suggest wait for Comex. =)

yourstruly
16-08-2008, 03:14 AM
I rather go for the Z16 since it's only a CPU, HDD & RAM difference which we can change easily. Unless the make is different again... -.-"

I agree that an extra 1.1k is too much to pay for 2gb of ram 70gb more harddisk and 3mb more of L2 cache. However can laptop CPUs be upgraded? If I'm not wrong some of them are soldered onto the socket rite..

rvf79
16-08-2008, 03:34 AM
the z series looks good
1.48kg le......
but need to be a member then can get dat price
lol

ornok_tree
16-08-2008, 10:24 AM
Excellent deals! Click on the link below to see details. You have free privacy filter, bluetooth laser mouse, port replicator, battery, vaio carrying case & free 1-year Vaio overseas service warranty. :love:

VAIO Z Pre-Sales Promotion (http://support.sony.com.sg/mysony/vaio/presales_aug08/index.html)

hmm, the Z16 in HK selling for HK15980, equiv to SGD2900... even though SG looks like more free gifts, but actually only extra battery (if that's what the brochure means...unless the battery as the "free gift" is the actual battery :s22:) so extra $200 for a spare batt?

the Z17 seems more worth it, altho cost SGD650 more in SG than HK...but really don't need the port replicator. plus the deal only for my sony members...

you think Comex will have better deal than this??? :s11:

Themember
16-08-2008, 10:57 AM
I am a My Sony Member but have yet to receive the email, so this means I am not elgiible ?

Anyway, the Z17 supposedly has a higher cache as well, but then due to the limitation of 32 bit OSes, the maximum accessible ram is 3gb, meaning 1gb is put to waste.

zhengkit
16-08-2008, 01:08 PM
Sony only sony members can enjoy this deal? How to join their membership. I want one Z series..

zhengkit
16-08-2008, 01:13 PM
Any member don't want can pass me the ref number please? Really appreciate it.

calvin826
16-08-2008, 01:24 PM
actually.. i doubt comex can offer more than what's being offered right now .. after all.. sony is known to be stingy in discounts and freebies..

Da_Vinci
16-08-2008, 03:20 PM
sony prices are more or less controlled. What comex will be offering might be additional gifts like thumbdrive etc.

However do look out for free extended warranty if there are any.

alvino77
16-08-2008, 04:02 PM
pre order promo is good. comex or other IT show, u might not get those extra battery and barang barangs which probably cost more than self purchase 2 extra yr extended warranty.

zhengkit
16-08-2008, 05:52 PM
sony prices are more or less controlled. What comex will be offering might be additional gifts like thumbdrive etc.

However do look out for free extended warranty if there are any.

Will arrive by comex date?

shiahzy
16-08-2008, 05:53 PM
Anyone knows how good the ATI HD3470 in the SR13 is?

Anyway, any Sony promoters here?

PM me cos I may be interested to get the SR.

Thanks.

brrrip
16-08-2008, 07:18 PM
lol wish i could sell the freebies back to sony and get the laptop for 3.5k =/

zhengkit
16-08-2008, 09:06 PM
Grrr.. just called the sony style people say that the pre order only opened to members..and won't be opening up to the rest of public at all. Appealling to any sony members who received the mailer and don't want to buy the vaio Z series lappies to forward the mailer to me? Thanks in advance. Will treat you lunch.. :)

danxiaogui86
16-08-2008, 10:11 PM
If anyone interested to get the SR please add your name to the list. Will ask for better price if possible.
Please add only if you going to buy at this coming comex else PLEASE do not add cause the number of ppl buy will affect how much discount we can get.

1) danxiaogui86

Forceware
17-08-2008, 02:23 AM
hmm, the Z16 in HK selling for HK15980, equiv to SGD2900... even though SG looks like more free gifts, but actually only extra battery (if that's what the brochure means...unless the battery as the "free gift" is the actual battery :s22:) so extra $200 for a spare batt?

the Z17 seems more worth it, altho cost SGD650 more in SG than HK...but really don't need the port replicator. plus the deal only for my sony members...

you think Comex will have better deal than this??? :s11:

It's actually an additional long life battery.

Da_Vinci
17-08-2008, 02:48 AM
Will arrive by comex date?

my guess is that Z series will not be revealed during Comex. The CR, FW, TZ and SR will be heavily advertised.

Launch of Z series might be sometime in september or later. This is just my speculation.

shawny17
17-08-2008, 08:44 AM
Grrr.. just called the sony style people say that the pre order only opened to members..and won't be opening up to the rest of public at all. Appealling to any sony members who received the mailer and don't want to buy the vaio Z series lappies to forward the mailer to me? Thanks in advance. Will treat you lunch.. :)

Hi, PM me if you still need the mailer. :)

sotaikun
17-08-2008, 10:47 AM
Hi, PM me if you still need the mailer. :)

me too thanks:)

despair
17-08-2008, 12:48 PM
Anyone needs the mailer let me know, I am not buying the Z but have received the mailer already...

zhengkit
17-08-2008, 01:02 PM
Anyone needs the mailer let me know, I am not buying the Z but have received the mailer already...

I wann... pm you already.. Thanks bro.

ornok_tree
17-08-2008, 05:27 PM
hmm, anyone knows if the z16 will also have screen resolution of 1600:900? or 1366:768? The flyer seems to suggest 1600:900 for both, but i've read somewhere that that's only applicable to the high-end Z series (which i'm gonna presume here to be the z17...unless i'm mistaken (gladly)) :)

SeCt0r7
17-08-2008, 06:08 PM
hi is there a possibility to adjust your screen brightness of ur laptop beside everytime pressing the fn button and the f5 button to adjust?cos everytime startup the brightness will change 1..i need a perm fix to it

zhengkit
17-08-2008, 07:17 PM
Any bros got the Extended Warranty from sony? What's the price like for the 2yr, 3 yr extended warranty for say the SZ or TZ series and what does it cover? Heard it does not cover the LCD.

SeCt0r7
17-08-2008, 08:28 PM
the extended warranty depends on how much your laptop cost.
for laptop between $2500-$3000 the extra cost is $250
u can refer to here for more info..
http://support.sony.com.sg/mysony/VaioOptWty/PremiumRates.html

SpellSinger
18-08-2008, 02:15 AM
Anyone knows how good the ATI HD3470 in the SR13 is?

Anyway, any Sony promoters here?

PM me cos I may be interested to get the SR.

Thanks.

it's decent enough to play some games. i would suggest not trying fps games, framerate not that good. i recently tried devil may cry 4 on it, it's only playable on low quality settings...

but games like wc3, mmorpgs like wow or seal should handle just fine.

hmm, anyone knows if the z16 will also have screen resolution of 1600:900? or 1366:768? The flyer seems to suggest 1600:900 for both, but i've read somewhere that that's only applicable to the high-end Z series (which i'm gonna presume here to be the z17...unless i'm mistaken (gladly)) :)

i'm pretty sure only the high end ones have 1600:900 resolution...
but don;t know for sure until they are out...

i see that Z series pre-sale, looks dam good, kinda makes me regret purchasing my SR so early :(. but i didn't have the choice then :(.

i would've willingly forked out $3.2k for the lower end Z with all that extras thrown in :(.

Da_Vinci
18-08-2008, 09:29 AM
it's decent enough to play some games. i would suggest not trying fps games, framerate not that good. i recently tried devil may cry 4 on it, it's only playable on low quality settings...

i'm pretty sure only the high end ones have 1600:900 resolution...
but don;t know for sure until they are out...

i see that Z series pre-sale, looks dam good, kinda makes me regret purchasing my SR so early :(. but i didn't have the choice then :(.

i would've willingly forked out $3.2k for the lower end Z with all that extras thrown in :(.

Overall i tink the SR itself is already a magnificient piece of machine. In fact all vaios are wonderful:)

shawny17
18-08-2008, 09:35 AM
me too thanks:)

Sorry, there's a reference on the email offer and there's a limit of 1 unit/member so I'm afraid you can't use it multiple times so since Zhengkit requested 1st, I've emailed him already.

danong
18-08-2008, 10:10 AM
Any bros got the Extended Warranty from sony? What's the price like for the 2yr, 3 yr extended warranty for say the SZ or TZ series and what does it cover? Heard it does not cover the LCD.

TZ now got promotion, free 2nd and 3rd year. :)

shiahzy
18-08-2008, 01:06 PM

I was thinking of playing Cabal and maybe Diablo III when it gets released. What's settings are you using on your WoW or Seal?

Apparantly the HD3470 is better than the Geforce 8400 GS and comparable to the 9300, according to benchmarks scores.

Overall i tink the SR itself is already a magnificient piece of machine. In fact all vaios are wonderful:)

Yes, it's beautiful but the only 1 thing bugging me is the thickness of it.

And also which colour to get... Lol :s22:

spicyboy
18-08-2008, 02:18 PM
So sad that SZ series replaced by SR (Low/Mid end) and Z (Mid/High End)

alvino77
18-08-2008, 02:29 PM
yeah :( no more carbon fibre backing LCD

Da_Vinci
18-08-2008, 03:04 PM
I was thinking of playing Cabal and maybe Diablo III when it gets released. What's settings are you using on your WoW or Seal?

Apparantly the HD3470 is better than the Geforce 8400 GS and comparable to the 9300, according to benchmarks scores.

The black or silver looks good enough. But still if given a choice, i will settle for the black.

Da_Vinci
18-08-2008, 03:05 PM

but nonetheless, i still feel SZ is a piece of legend. The construction, aesthetics and design.

ornok_tree
18-08-2008, 06:34 PM
but nonetheless, i still feel SZ is a piece of legend. The construction, aesthetics and design.

how is the new Z series compared with the outgoing SZ in terms of construction? are they the same? heard or read somewhere that the lower-end Z laptops aren't made of carbon fibre, but aluminium, is that true? how abt the SZ, are they all made of carbon fibre? wat's the diff between the 2 (carbon fibre vs alum)? strength of construction???

alvino77
18-08-2008, 07:36 PM
how is the new Z series compared with the outgoing SZ in terms of construction? are they the same? heard or read somewhere that the lower-end Z laptops aren't made of carbon fibre, but aluminium, is that true? how abt the SZ, are they all made of carbon fibre? wat's the diff between the 2 (carbon fibre vs alum)? strength of construction???
you're asking SG market about quality build of new Z series when we are in the pre order stage. I doubt anyone here can comment much.

I doubt the lower end Z is non carbon fibre, since the webby didn't specifiy a difference in weight, both seems to label as 1.48kg. Aluminium is an unlikely candidate even there are non CF version, should be plastic with magnesium alloy frame like other lappies.

Strength of CF is mainly it's weight and it's flex. Being thinner itself, the CF LCD has to significantly more to absorb flex to prevent LCD frame from giving way.

ornok_tree
18-08-2008, 08:17 PM
you're asking SG market about quality build of new Z series when we are in the pre order stage. I doubt anyone here can comment much.

I doubt the lower end Z is non carbon fibre, since the webby didn't specifiy a difference in weight, both seems to label as 1.48kg. Aluminium is an unlikely candidate even there are non CF version, should be plastic with magnesium alloy frame like other lappies.

Strength of CF is mainly it's weight and it's flex. Being thinner itself, the CF LCD has to significantly more to absorb flex to prevent LCD frame from giving way.

oops sorry, my bad... think i meant magnesium alloy :)

btw, anyone else has the vaio z pre-sales emailer? i'm also interested...:) thanks!

alvino77
18-08-2008, 10:34 PM
oops sorry, my bad... think i meant magnesium alloy :)

btw, anyone else has the vaio z pre-sales emailer? i'm also interested...:) thanks!
I have the emailer too but still contemplating. A sony mgr friend of mine told me tis coming week paragon might have a display model. I will decide whether to upgrade my SZ after molesting the vaio Z :P

bhx_sg
19-08-2008, 09:00 AM
I want the mailer toooooo .. anyone kind enough to send me ?
bin9h0n9@hotmail.com .... thanks so much

Kwein
19-08-2008, 09:02 AM

i think not all SZ series is made of CF, only the top ends ones

bhx_sg
19-08-2008, 09:19 AM
If anyone interested to get the SR please add your name to the list. Will ask for better price if possible.
Please add only if you going to buy at this coming comex else PLEASE do not add cause the number of ppl buy will affect how much discount we can get.

1) danxiaogui86

I am still contemplating whether to get SR or SZ or wait for Z series leh ... looking for gd Batt life but yet not too ex ... any recommendations ? Price preferable < 2.8k. Mind if I join the list as well?

Seikirai
19-08-2008, 09:25 AM
I have the emailer too but still contemplating. A sony mgr friend of mine told me tis coming week paragon might have a display model. I will decide whether to upgrade my SZ after molesting the vaio Z :P

i'm also their member and i still haven gotten the email promo yet lor

alvino77
19-08-2008, 02:27 PM
i'm also their member and i still haven gotten the email promo yet lor
i think they should have sent out all mailers to members by now. if still din receive... call them as their customer service and ask for a copy ?

alvino77
19-08-2008, 02:27 PM
Be sure to use styling tools specially made for Wigs (http://www.royalmewigs.com/) such as a wig styling comb, wig brush or wig pic comb. CAUTION: When styling synthetic Lace Wigs (http://www.royalmewigs.com/) never use heating styling tools on your wig or expose your Full Lace Wigs (http://www.royalmewigs.com/) to excess sources of heat such as: hair dryers, curling irons, open ovens, boiling water, barbecue grills and even some cigarette lighters, because the heat will damage the fibers. When styling Human Hair Wigs (http://www.royalmewigs.com/lace-human-hair-wigs-c-10.html) you can use all the tools you have used on your own hair (hair dryer, curling iron, hot rollers) and do not need to worry about heat exposure, but must use products especially formulated for Lace Front Wigs (http://www.royalmewigs.com/).
DIE spammers!!!!!!!!!!!

alvino77
19-08-2008, 04:48 PM
good news VAIO Z is available at paragon sony style! go see, i'm dropping by in 30 mins time!!! woohoo

danxiaogui86
19-08-2008, 04:55 PM
I am still contemplating whether to get SR or SZ or wait for Z series leh ... looking for gd Batt life but yet not too ex ... any recommendations ? Price preferable < 2.8k. Mind if I join the list as well?

yeah sure. :D

sz55gn
19-08-2008, 06:01 PM
This is the new Z series
It seem that is an in between the current TZ and SZ
While the SR is a cross between the CR and SZ

http://i306.photobucket.com/albums/nn280/sz55gn/SonyZ.gif

Looking at the weight the Z is between the TZ and SZ
and the weight of the SR is between the CR and SZ

Spec wise the new Z have the option of choosing discreet graphic just like the SZ
but does not have a CD like the TZ

It is a pity that the Z comes with Nvidia graphic and not ATI

brrrip
19-08-2008, 06:33 PM
OMG. IT'S OUT?! as in for sale or just a display piece?

Forceware
19-08-2008, 06:35 PM

Huh??? :s11::s11:

mikengtw
19-08-2008, 08:39 PM
This is the new Z series

Spec wise the new Z have the option of choosing discreet graphic just like the SZ

Wa see the details like dat make my Sony SZ55 want to sell it away.. Tomorrow will go down
see the new toy.

alvino77
19-08-2008, 10:38 PM
1st TZ has a DVD drive, 2nd Z has a DVD drive too. maybe you're mistaken.

I would think Z is more of a high end SZ replacement since it's doesn't host a ULV processor in TX. And screen resolution(1600*900) is way off compared to SZ, TZ. In short TZ is a battery runtime priority, portable handy machine but non workhorse model in a league of its own. :)

alvino77
19-08-2008, 10:41 PM
OMG. IT'S OUT?! as in for sale or just a display piece?
display only! but can molest and scrutinise :P

alvino77
19-08-2008, 10:52 PM
for those who are curious,

i went down paragon and look at the VAIO Z today. Build feels similar like SZ's(since both are made in Japan). CF LCD screen are about the same thickness too. The emblem VAIO is mirror(reflective) finish, SZ's is more passive CF grain finish.

The LCD is glossy finish but somehow it seemed a bit less reflective, feels like 25% matt. the 16:9 is great i would think it'sa good for more screen estate for multiple opened windows(ie. browser and msn win). The keyboard are decent, but somehow marginally smaller then SZ, i would think it's due to the spacing it has btw keys where SZ's spacing btw keys are narrow.

The key attractive point to me is the whole piece alumimium base, for alloy lover it's signify quality material. the only gripe i have is the alu finish feels lacquered by a thin gloss finishing. the main thing i love about SZ is the raw metallic feel.

the Performance / stamina mode really is on the fly switching unlike SZ's. 2 USB ports, left edge closer to you, and right edge furthest from you.

danxiaogui86
19-08-2008, 11:33 PM
does SR have performance and stamina mode?

alvino77
19-08-2008, 11:50 PM
does SR have performance and stamina mode?

nope don have

ornok_tree
20-08-2008, 12:21 AM
cool, thanks for quick review! :)

are the specs you mentioned only for the higher end Z17? Or do they apply to both the Z17 & Z16? :)

alvino77
20-08-2008, 12:27 AM
cool, thanks for quick review! :)

are the specs you mentioned only for the higher end Z17? Or do they apply to both the Z17 & Z16? :)
both Z16/17 has the exact cosmetic appearance.

the only difference you are paying for are 3 items CPU,RAM,HDD and replicator port freebie

ornok_tree
20-08-2008, 01:00 AM
both Z16/17 has the exact cosmetic appearance.

the only difference you are paying for are 3 items CPU,RAM,HDD and replicator port freebie

how abt the build material (are both using CF and aluminium base) and screen resolution (16:9)? thanks! :)

Firestone
20-08-2008, 02:19 AM
anyone else feeling disappointed that the Z series that we are having neither have Raid 0 SSD 128gb harddisk nor blu-ray drive, yet cost much more than other countries??

brrrip
20-08-2008, 07:15 AM
hm im sort of hoping that the prices will come down once they clear stocks of the sz series. the only reason it seems they jacked up the prices is to roll out the sz stocks. as the z series is clearly a notch higher, they cant sell it cheaper than the sz series and thus the freebies.

but im with you on one thing, why doesnt sony control prices worldwide?

alvino77
20-08-2008, 01:43 PM
how abt the build material (are both using CF and aluminium base) and screen resolution (16:9)? thanks! :)
same all same. :)

alvino77
20-08-2008, 01:51 PM
hm im sort of hoping that the prices will come down once they clear stocks of the sz series. the only reason it seems they jacked up the prices is to roll out the sz stocks. as the z series is clearly a notch higher, they cant sell it cheaper than the sz series and thus the freebies.

but im with you on one thing, why doesnt sony control prices worldwide?as far as i know from paragon's branch, their SZ are out of stock already. the only unit left is on display. I guess there's no point dropping price then

As for controlled pricing worldwide, i think barely any products in the world has controlled pricing earthwide, so why sony? different region different marketing cost, different region has different brand worthiness, living standards, level of compeition and many more. The only difference is how much OVER-priced for singapore market.

Boonsu
20-08-2008, 03:45 PM
Second that

SoSongkc
21-08-2008, 11:00 AM
Hi guys,

Any member who have Z series promotion emailer and don't want to purchase,
can email me to ongkcs@gmail.com?

Really appreciate that! Many thanks.

HungryPillow
21-08-2008, 04:39 PM
I'm very interested in the new Z as well... looks so sexy, hope there will be some kind of deal at Comex.

ornok_tree
21-08-2008, 10:59 PM
Hey, just went down to Sony Style at Paragon today, and asked the sales guy a few questions re: Vaio Z...

He said that even though the offer was for My Sony members only, if interested buyer, he can go ask for the same deal to be applied, even if not My Sony member... that prob means everybody can prob get the same deal there, or at Comex. I think it'll be unlikely for them to give a better promo at Comex to public, if they have this offer for My Sony members already. You think?

Also, he said if we want, have to pre-order now or soon, as 1st batch coming in mid-Sep (nothing really new here). Cannot upgrade the 2GB Ram for Z16 to 4GB (cos he gave some excuse that it's new DDR3 RAM so they don't have stock), but if you wanna extend warranty to 3yr, must pay abt $250 for that.

HungryPillow
21-08-2008, 11:19 PM
Is the Singapore price really that much more than other countries?

http://www.sonystyle.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/SYCTOProcess?catalogId=10551&storeId=10151&langId=-1&LBomId=8198552921665468413

If you start with the model above, and configure to the same as the Z16, I get US$2,249.99 (I chose Vista Business as I'm not sure which version the Singapore model comes with).

So with the current conversion rate, US$2,249.99 = SG$3,168.32. Only SG$30 less or so, and doesn't come with all the freebies of the SG pre-order promotion.

Am I missing something?

SoSongkc
21-08-2008, 11:31 PM
Hey, just went down to Sony Style at Paragon today, and asked the sales guy a few questions re: Vaio Z...

He said that even though the offer was for My Sony members only, if interested buyer, he can go ask for the same deal to be applied, even if not My Sony member... that prob means everybody can prob get the same deal there, or at Comex. I think it'll be unlikely for them to give a better promo at Comex to public, if they have this offer for My Sony members already. You think?

Also, he said if we want, have to pre-order now or soon, as 1st batch coming in mid-Sep (nothing really new here). Cannot upgrade the 2GB Ram for Z16 to 4GB (cos he gave some excuse that it's new DDR3 RAM so they don't have stock), but if you wanna extend warranty to 3yr, must pay abt $250 for that.

Oh, in that case, no need to have the emailer reference?
I will go paragon tomorrow.
THanks!

ornok_tree
22-08-2008, 12:03 AM
Oh, in that case, no need to have the emailer reference?
I will go paragon tomorrow.
THanks!

Well that's what the salesman told me... He didn't confirm it for me though, as I didn't press him, but it seemed that it would be possible to get the offer...

shiahzy
22-08-2008, 12:37 AM
So much hype on the Z series...

Seriously Vaio users are damn rich.. lol

SpellSinger
22-08-2008, 01:04 AM

the sony style salesman told me he was a cabal player himself and he was pretty confident it can handle cabal just fine...

i dun play WoW personally, but SEAL can play at full settings no problem - but in all fairness, seal has pretty low requirements to play.

as for thickness, it's not fat at all, i don't know what you are comparing it with. Even compared with the Z it's 0.1" thinner on the opening end of the laptop and probs only 0.2" thicker behind. it's by no means a fat laptop, unless you comparing with TZ and all the ULV laptops out there, which isn't fair, because the SR runs a fullon intel core2duo processor.

as for colour, black handsdown, it was a no brainer for me, the silver and pink can't hold a candle to the black. Im pretty sure sony made most parts of the laptop with the colour black in mind, most parts seem to complement the black better than the other colours (i saw silver also).

surely there are other SR users apart from me on this thread?

shiahzy
22-08-2008, 01:23 AM
I suppose Cabal would run fine too.

Did some read up on the graphics card and benchmarks and it would do CoD on low settings as well.

Maybe it's the single tone black compared to the 2 tone design of the SZ that makes it seems thicker although comparing dimensions, the SR is similar.

I would prefer the black lid, with the silver chasis for the keyboard but apparantly they don't have this combination here.

Forceware
22-08-2008, 01:46 AM

What's the sales person name? IIRC, the pre sales is strictly for members with emailer only. Yes notebook DDR3 is hard to find even now and for 4GB, I wouldn't even want a pair unless I want dual channel. Comex Z series? I don't think so.

zhengkit
22-08-2008, 04:16 PM

I called one of the branches and was quoted 279 dollars top up to upgrade the z16 model to 4gb ram. good deal imo.

zhengkit
22-08-2008, 04:17 PM
Any significant performance difference from upgrading to 4GB ram VS 2GB default?

Paladium
22-08-2008, 04:40 PM
Does anyone have any opinion on the Vaio FW series? I'm kind of a laptop idiot..so was hoping from some inputs for you guys. My budget is about 2-2.5k.

shadowoflight
22-08-2008, 07:33 PM
I called one of the branches and was quoted 279 dollars top up to upgrade the z16 model to 4gb ram. good deal imo.

$279 is for DDR2 if i recall correctly...

shadowoflight
22-08-2008, 07:34 PM
What's the sales person name? IIRC, the pre sales is strictly for members with emailer only. Yes notebook DDR3 is hard to find even now and for 4GB, I wouldn't even want a pair unless I want dual channel. Comex Z series? I don't think so.

Dual Channal pairing is only significant for the DDR1 rams leh....

DDR2 onwards no significant difference

shadowoflight
22-08-2008, 07:35 PM
I suppose Cabal would run fine too.

Did some read up on the graphics card and benchmarks and it would do CoD on low settings as well.

Maybe it's the single tone black compared to the 2 tone design of the SZ that makes it seems thicker although comparing dimensions, the SR is similar.

I would prefer the black lid, with the silver chasis for the keyboard but apparantly they don't have this combination here.

I saw a demo on the Z with COD4 demo....runs pretty smoothly, but yea, seetings have to be set to low

The one on display is a Z17 yea? the 4gb one

HungryPillow
22-08-2008, 11:36 PM
I went down to Paragon today to take a look... couldn't resist and pre-ordered it.

Although I'm not a MySony member, with a little bit of chatting I managed to still get the promotion items.

I can't wait, the Z looked much better in person than the pics!

goenitz33
22-08-2008, 11:49 PM
anyone using SZ75 ?

Da_Vinci
23-08-2008, 12:18 AM
anyone using SZ75 ?

SZ75 user over here:)

goenitz33
23-08-2008, 01:06 AM
hmmm u facing any problems with Vista Business?

i find that i am unable to uninstall any programs at all -_-
it keeps hanging -_-

is it better to do a recovery?

shadowoflight
23-08-2008, 01:43 AM
So much hype on the Z series...

Seriously Vaio users are damn rich.. lol

As they say...

you pay for what you get...

Most of the time anyway =D

shiahzy
23-08-2008, 09:57 PM
I was at the Sony Style at Bugis today and the salesperson told me that all Vaio laptops do not come with recovery discs. We have to burn it ourselves using the recovery centre software.

But I thought I read that the SR13GN should come with a Win XP recovery disc?

Could someone confirm this? Or maybe, SpellSinger? Does yours have the Win XP recovery disc?

zhengkit
23-08-2008, 10:43 PM
Just went down to Paragon branch to look at the Z.

Good thing is that I asked the manager if the screen res is the same 1600X900 for both models, he said yes. And he double confirmed for me.

Also for the lower end model, the 2GB ram he claims is one stick, so 1 slot free. Can accomodate future upgrades when ddr3 so-dimms are cheaper.

goenitz33
24-08-2008, 12:05 AM
just dumped Vista Business.

i cant recover the Vista Business after i cleared it -_-

lol........

Forceware
24-08-2008, 12:26 AM
I was at the Sony Style at Bugis today and the salesperson told me that all Vaio laptops do not come with recovery discs. We have to burn it ourselves using the recovery centre software.

Could someone confirm this? Or maybe, SpellSinger? Does yours have the Win XP recovery disc?

SR13 comes with XP Pro installation disc.
Recovery for Vista DIY.
Downgrade to XP still need to download all the drivers then those software for Vista will be gone. Don't know how many times I had read in this thread already. -.-"

shiahzy
24-08-2008, 01:36 AM
I know.

I have read them in this thread as well. Just that the salesperson told me something different and I was a little taken back.

So I thought I would just be extra sure here...

SpellSinger
24-08-2008, 06:45 AM

yea i said this before le, have recovery disc bro.

rowing
24-08-2008, 11:27 AM
hi spellsinger,

can you give us an update on the sr battery problem. i've read about it on another forum and it is whats holding me back at the moment.

some people suggest that there isnt any actually battery drain, just that the vista battery indicator is inaccurate and although it might drop from 45% to 20%, there is still 1.5 to 2 hours left.

can you confirm.

thanks

100ddd
24-08-2008, 07:32 PM
hi spellsinger,

can you give us an update on the sr battery problem. i've read about it on another forum and it is whats holding me back at the moment.

some people suggest that there isnt any actually battery drain, just that the vista battery indicator is inaccurate and although it might drop from 45% to 20%, there is still 1.5 to 2 hours left.

can you confirm.

thanks

I can confirm this.

shermaineee
24-08-2008, 08:40 PM
:( my sony vaio c25g screen is having problem. it works fine when i plug it into an external monitor. anyone knows how much it will cost to replace the 13.3 inch screen? i love my laptop too much to change it.

rowing
25-08-2008, 07:19 AM
I can confirm this.

thanks

what battery life are you getting in balanced mode?

tuvw631
25-08-2008, 06:25 PM
Aion gold is Cheaper than dirt with instant delivery. Here we provide cheapest Aion gold for you all.power4leveling.com is a professional and reliable online game web store and you can find all you want here,something as aion gold,wow gold and much more.Aion is the most visually stunning MMORPG (massively multiplayer online role-playing game) ever made. Cutting-edge graphics redefine your expectations of online role-playing and reveal a true fantasy world where divine beings wage a war that will determine the future of the world.Your role in this war is pivotal. The fate of the world rests on your shoulders as you and your allies participate in brutal warfare, devise brilliant strategy, and claim political power. Come on and join it here. wow gold (http://power4leveling.com/)cheap wow gold (http://power4leveling.com/)wow gold (http://power4leveling.com/)buy wow gold (http://power4leveling.com/)warcraft gold (http://power4leveling.com/)

100ddd
25-08-2008, 08:49 PM
thanks

what battery life are you getting in balanced mode?

On half brightness, doing websurfing and word processing, I can get about or over 3 hours. Mine is the one with the ATI 3470.

SpellSinger
26-08-2008, 04:47 AM
sorry bro i never actually time the battery life apart from the vista batt indicator...

plus i do lotsa gaming on AC most of the time :P.

anyhow, 100dd, you can confirm that irregardless of the battery dropping by almost 7% just through booting up, it still can hold charge for a longer period of time ?

skyfiremage
26-08-2008, 03:55 PM
Received an email from the My Sony Team titled "Get Ready To Be Wowed - Sony Expo @ COMEX Show!"

In the email, there is a section 'Latest Products' where Vaio Z Series topped the list. See details in the link below:

Vaio Z Series (http://support.sony.com.sg/mysony/mysonystatic/Sep08enews/product1.html)

Looks like Sony may showcase the Vaio Z Series at COMEX afterall :)

haruko_yoshiko
26-08-2008, 09:32 PM
just dumped Vista Business.

i cant recover the Vista Business after i cleared it -_-

lol........

erm how did u exactly "dump" it?

You should be able to reformat as in do a recovery when you're at the BIOS screen from your HDD.

100ddd
26-08-2008, 10:52 PM
sorry bro i never actually time the battery life apart from the vista batt indicator...

plus i do lotsa gaming on AC most of the time :P.

anyhow, 100dd, you can confirm that irregardless of the battery dropping by almost 7% just through booting up, it still can hold charge for a longer period of time ?

For example, I once had my battery charge at 50%. Shut down, went home, turned it on again. Now it showed 35%. I was shocked, but then, the figure stayed at 35% for a good 20 minutes before dropping to 34% and so on.

I think that kinda says that its a problem with the indicator, not the battery charge. But then again, I am not entirely sure as well. I like to believe its a problem with the indicator though, because that seems like something that can ve fixed with a patch?

spicyboy
27-08-2008, 12:10 AM
I saw the Z series at Paragon. Looks smaller den my SZ and the screen looks wider!

Forceware
27-08-2008, 02:02 AM
Received an email from the My Sony Team titled "Get Ready To Be Wowed - Sony Expo @ COMEX Show!"

In the email, there is a section 'Latest Products' where Vaio Z Series topped the list. See details in the link below:

Vaio Z Series (http://support.sony.com.sg/mysony/mysonystatic/Sep08enews/product1.html)

Looks like Sony may showcase the Vaio Z Series at COMEX afterall :)

You so sure? I doubt so...

alvino77
27-08-2008, 02:10 AM
erm how did u exactly "dump" it?

You should be able to reformat as in do a recovery when you're at the BIOS screen from your HDD.

i think while installing XP, he chose to format / deleted the recovery partition?

Forceware
27-08-2008, 02:41 AM
i think while installing XP, he chose to format / deleted the recovery partition?

If you use the XP downgrade disc provided, it will remove the entire hdd data. So must cre8 recovery disc for Vista 1st before downgrading.

rowing
27-08-2008, 07:31 AM
thanks 100ddd and spellsinger. you 2 seem the only lucky ones with the sr. just had 2 more questions:

1. what if you leave the computer off for a few days, does it ever lose all battery and cannot be turned on.
2. have you contacted sony about it

thanks

SpellSinger
27-08-2008, 11:30 AM
1. good idea i should try that...but really... i cannot afford to not use my comp fora few days per say.
2. i'm not in the country of purchase at the mo, so when i go back sg, i'm gonna go sonystyle and ask abt it.

either way, im getting XP on my SR sometime next week...and i'll post results abt batt life/indicator...

fanki1983
27-08-2008, 02:09 PM
hi everyone I am from Australia and I will have a stop over in Singapore for 4 hours in 2 weeks time. I am looking to purchase a SONY VAIO laptop. I am not too fancy about the functions, what I really want is the nice look of the laptop ( i strongly prefer the white colour and dark blue of the CR series).

And I dont have much money to spend.

Can someone tell me where should I buy it at cheapest price and which model you guys can recommend me ? I have been to singapore only once and I only got 4 hours so I have no time to hang around the city looking for it

For the prices at sony.com.sg are they the same across all electronic stores in singapore ? If no difference should I just stick in the sonystyle store rather than going to IT malls like Fugan ?

skyfiremage
27-08-2008, 04:46 PM
hi everyone I am from Australia and I will have a stop over in Singapore for 4 hours in 2 weeks time. I am looking to purchase a SONY VAIO laptop. I am not too fancy about the functions, what I really want is the nice look of the laptop ( i strongly prefer the white colour and dark blue of the CR series).

And I dont have much money to spend.

Can someone tell me where should I buy it at cheapest price and which model you guys can recommend me ? I have been to singapore only once and I only got 4 hours so I have no time to hang around the city looking for it

For the prices at sony.com.sg are they the same across all electronic stores in singapore ? If no difference should I just stick in the sonystyle store rather than going to IT malls like Fugan ?

The prices of Sony Vaio products in Singapore are price-controlled. They are basically the same no matter where you buy it from. If you are lucky and know some sales rep well, they may throw in extra free gifts but that's about all.

In your case, I would suggest that you buy the laptop from the SonyStyle at the airport (Terminal 3) where you could save on the 7% GST (goods & services tax). You may also want to purchase the overseas warranty unless you come to Singapore often.

ornok_tree
28-08-2008, 12:19 AM
hi guys, any suggestions if i shd opt for extended 3yr warranty and pay more, or stick with 1yr warranty for Sony laptop? anyway Sony quality supposed to be good right? So technically don't need extra 2yr warranty??? :)

wat u think?

Forceware
28-08-2008, 02:49 AM
hi guys, any suggestions if i shd opt for extended 3yr warranty and pay more, or stick with 1yr warranty for Sony laptop? anyway Sony quality supposed to be good right? So technically don't need extra 2yr warranty??? :)

wat u think?

Nah... Drop the extended warranty idea. Why pay for more before your products spoil? And it's a Sony... Failure rate are minimal unless you abuse your product. :)

marlerocks
28-08-2008, 09:53 AM
SR13's battery life is only 3hours?

rowing
29-08-2008, 07:25 AM
1. good idea i should try that...but really... i cannot afford to not use my comp fora few days per say.
2. i'm not in the country of purchase at the mo, so when i go back sg, i'm gonna go sonystyle and ask abt it.

either way, im getting XP on my SR sometime next week...and i'll post results abt batt life/indicator...

cant wait for your reply next week. the sr is a fantastic notebook if only it did not have this problem

shiahzy
29-08-2008, 11:55 AM
Yes, the only dealbreaker for me now is the battery drain issue.

SpellSinger
31-08-2008, 10:11 PM
ok i'm currently typing this up on XP... but i've yet to install the VAIO battery utility...but one thing I noted is that even after the format and oS reinstallation... my 'battery care' settings which were was previously set at 50% is still retained in the new XP installation! That was kinda surprsing.. i always thought this was on a software level...but now it turns out vaio power utlity tweaks the BIOs directly...

anyhow, so far so good, i just unplugged my laptop from AC and it didn't dip and stayed at 50% for the past 5mins, i will do a full system reboot once i install SP3 on XP..

anyhow, can anyone tell me if thr MCAFee security suite provided on the VIsta installation can be reinstalled in XP for free? Also does anyone know if its a trial version or 1-2yrs subscription included? need to know asap, so i either go back to nod32 or stick with a legit version of mcafee :)

danxiaogui86
31-08-2008, 10:18 PM
Just bought my SR13! Wohooooo :D

SpellSinger
31-08-2008, 10:23 PM
grats on your purchase...so many deals now, free upgrade to 4gb, free mouse some more ;(

i knew it was eventually gonna happen, if only i could wait be more patient :(

but anyhow...guys a little update here at the XP test bench...

have done the reboot, no vaio utilities (just plain jane XP without all the bloatware with drivers installed), still reads 50% after 5mins...maybe XP is the resolution to the whole inaccurate vista battery indicator issue...

whose to know it was never a battery leak problem in the first place?
(i'll update, its been over 10mins and still @ 50%, might not be a good thing also lol)

EDIT2:

seems like good news to me, it's currently @ 38% since the last time i posted...
this is with no power management at all...meaning its running full on, gfx, cpu, everything...

seems to be acucrate and no signs of battery leakage...

shiahzy
01-09-2008, 01:20 AM
But if you turn off the power and leave your battery inside, is there any battery leakage after say a few hours or 1 day or 2?

veasna.f2o
01-09-2008, 01:34 AM
Just bought my SR13! Wohooooo :D

Yohoo... me too!! bought the Sr13 yesterday.... mine one is black color, but wondering would that be the pink is nicer... =:p
one thing i found that only 2 usb ports :(

Forceware
01-09-2008, 03:06 AM
ok i'm currently typing this up on XP... but i've yet to install the VAIO battery utility...but one thing I noted is that even after the format and oS reinstallation... my 'battery care' settings which were was previously set at 50% is still retained in the new XP installation! That was kinda surprsing.. i always thought this was on a software level...but now it turns out vaio power utlity tweaks the BIOs directly...

anyhow, so far so good, i just unplugged my laptop from AC and it didn't dip and stayed at 50% for the past 5mins, i will do a full system reboot once i install SP3 on XP..

anyhow, can anyone tell me if thr MCAFee security suite provided on the VIsta installation can be reinstalled in XP for free? Also does anyone know if its a trial version or 1-2yrs subscription included? need to know asap, so i either go back to nod32 or stick with a legit version of mcafee :)

The MCafee is only a trial period of 90 days.

Kwein
01-09-2008, 08:57 AM
any z series owner here? :D

danxiaogui86
01-09-2008, 09:39 AM
Yohoo... me too!! bought the Sr13 yesterday.... mine one is black color, but wondering would that be the pink is nicer... =:p
one thing i found that only 2 usb ports :(

what the free gifts u got?

sugizo_esp
01-09-2008, 06:06 PM
any z series owner here? :D

Z series on sale in Singapore liao meh?

SpellSinger
02-09-2008, 01:12 PM
sorry guys battery leak problem seems to be present even in XP. charged to 100%, switched PC off, unplugged, turn on next morning ... 92%...

danxiaogui86
02-09-2008, 01:14 PM
hehe,it ok la. i just a battery indicator problem :D

Paladium
02-09-2008, 04:57 PM
Doea anyone know if the game "Medieval 2 Total War" can be played on the FW12?

shiahzy
02-09-2008, 06:18 PM
hehe,it ok la. i just a battery indicator problem :D

So does yours have the same problem too?

sorry guys battery leak problem seems to be present even in XP. charged to 100%, switched PC off, unplugged, turn on next morning ... 92%...

Even if your battery percentage is 92%, do you still get the same number of hours as if it is 100%?

danxiaogui86
02-09-2008, 06:40 PM
i duno if mine have the same problem. i just restore, it seem i dun have a frest start restore option without those bloatware

SpellSinger
02-09-2008, 06:59 PM
So does yours have the same problem too?

Even if your battery percentage is 92%, do you still get the same number of hours as if it is 100%?

i nvr rly go time...but it last long enough on batt for me.

rowing
02-09-2008, 08:10 PM

thanks spellsinger. sounds like a universal problem given the reported issues here and elsewhere. have you spoken to sony about this?

danxiaogui86
02-09-2008, 08:46 PM
guys. does ur charger give a hissing sound?

Paladium
02-09-2008, 08:52 PM
guys. does ur charger give a hissing sound?

Mine doesnt, does anyone find the volume of their vaio abit soft, especially when playing dvd.

danxiaogui86
02-09-2008, 08:53 PM
will monitor it again.

jassiez
02-09-2008, 10:06 PM
Hello everyone. I am using SZ75GN. It came installed with the trial microsoft office however after the trail ends we are supposed to buy the original MS office. However, isit okay to buy any version of the MS office? like professional, student etc.. I suppose it should work with any ms office version?

yourstruly
02-09-2008, 11:56 PM
Hey who here has preordered the vaio z?

sgsenja
03-09-2008, 12:04 AM
Hi All

Newbie here. just bought SR13. Battery was charged 80% only during the first time charge as I accidentally selected the battery management mode :(. Will the new battery capacity reach only 80% afterwards since I only charged 80%? Do I need to drain the battery and select 100% charge in my second charge and charge it for another 8 hour (advised by the seller) long?

Thank you in advance for your advice.

Regards

danxiaogui86
03-09-2008, 12:56 AM
Lithium batt do not need a 8 hr pre charge anymore. the 1st charge is the same as the 50th charge etc.

danxiaogui86
03-09-2008, 01:04 AM
guys, can ur check when u set the brightness to the lvl u want. after u restart pc. it went back to max.

alvino77
03-09-2008, 01:47 AM
Hi All

Newbie here. just bought SR13. Battery was charged 80% only during the first time charge as I accidentally selected the battery management mode :(. Will the new battery capacity reach only 80% afterwards since I only charged 80%? Do I need to drain the battery and select 100% charge in my second charge and charge it for another 8 hour (advised by the seller) long?

Thank you in advance for your advice.

Regardsas long ur batt mgt program has be 'un-set" back to normal, charging should go back 100%.

and btw, stop listening those promoters sellers retailers about charging 8, 12 24 hrs on ur battery. just like danxiaogui86 said.

new lithium battery doesn't require u to charge that type of ridiculous timing. the circuit in the battery auto stop charging anyway once it's full. leaving it with A/C on doesn't do anything to the battery. start playing once it's fully charged.

lappy80
03-09-2008, 10:37 AM
Hey who here has preordered the vaio z?

i'm still waiting for their call. Hopefullly can get it next week !

HungryPillow
03-09-2008, 11:17 AM

Same here... getting anxious already.

sgsenja
03-09-2008, 11:38 AM
Thanks a lot for the advice.

as long ur batt mgt program has be 'un-set" back to normal, charging should go back 100%.

and btw, stop listening those promoters sellers retailers about charging 8, 12 24 hrs on ur battery. just like danxiaogui86 said.

new lithium battery doesn't require u to charge that type of ridiculous timing. the circuit in the battery auto stop charging anyway once it's full. leaving it with A/C on doesn't do anything to the battery. start playing once it's fully charged.

sgsenja
03-09-2008, 11:39 AM
Thanks for the advice.

Lithium batt do not need a 8 hr pre charge anymore. the 1st charge is the same as the 50th charge etc.

Kwein
03-09-2008, 12:05 PM
guys, can ur check when u set the brightness to the lvl u want. after u restart pc. it went back to max.

1st u set ur desired brightness lvl apply, then set back to no change apply again

danxiaogui86
03-09-2008, 12:10 PM
dun get what u mean kwien. on boot the vaio brightness is max. so i lower down 2 bar. i reboot it went up to max again.

U mean set in the mobile settings? hehe. cause i press fn + brightness to set.

Kwein
03-09-2008, 12:21 PM
dun get what u mean kwien. on boot the vaio brightness is max. so i lower down 2 bar. i reboot it went up to max again.

U mean set in the mobile settings? hehe. cause i press fn + brightness to set.

try setting in power option in control panel

danxiaogui86
03-09-2008, 12:28 PM
okay. but does your set have this problem?

Kwein
03-09-2008, 01:15 PM
okay. but does your set have this problem?

ya, resolves after using my method

danxiaogui86
03-09-2008, 01:46 PM
oo. meaning u need to set 1 time so next time no problem liao?

kelvinty
03-09-2008, 11:08 PM
Hi there,

Does anyone know where is the cheapest place to get a Sony TX 11.1" LCD replacement? Mine just cracked from me accidentally setting some luggage on it (i felt like killing myself then.)

I saw some options online but I'm really wary of buying LCD replacement parts as quality is questionable and recourse is difficult.

Any idea how much Sony will charge for the screen replacement? it is still a sweet notebook after all, with 7 hours of battery life even after 2 years!

yourstruly
03-09-2008, 11:16 PM

Haha hope there aren't any delays in the shipment man. 5 days more to sep 9th..

pegASUS7677
04-09-2008, 12:30 AM
oo. meaning u need to set 1 time so next time no problem liao?

yes. it's not really a problem as the Sony comes with three power settings - Optimised, High Performance and Battery Saving, each with its own tweaking. So depending on how you are hooked up, the LCD brightness is preset accordingly -- factory preset so to speak.

I found the screen at max too bright for all settings so I adjusted them and then applied / save.

Using the Fn + Brightness is only a temporary setting meant for that session.

danxiaogui86
04-09-2008, 12:59 AM
thanks pegasus u solve my entire question ^^ oh btw. anyone manage to find catalyst 8.8 mobility driver for vista?

HungryPillow
04-09-2008, 01:37 AM
Haha hope there aren't any delays in the shipment man. 5 days more to sep 9th..

The rep told me when I pre-ordered they are trying for the 7th... so we could be getting it early! :)

yourstruly
04-09-2008, 03:22 AM
The rep told me when I pre-ordered they are trying for the 7th... so we could be getting it early! :)

Haha that'll be nice.. But i guess it'll all depend on when the shipment comes in. I'm happy as long as I get it on time man.

zhengkit
04-09-2008, 02:18 PM
Product officially listed? Means officially launched?

http://www.sony.com.sg/microsite/vaio/products/vaio_z/index.html

shiahzy
04-09-2008, 02:56 PM
OMG, this is tempting man...

Wondering if I should splurge on the Z16... Hai.

yourstruly
04-09-2008, 03:51 PM
http://www.sony.com.sg/microsite/vaio/about/vaio_z_interview/index.html

The vaio z developer's interview is quite interesting man. Makes the z sound very exquisite. Sony sure knows how to hit the spot..

fanki1983
04-09-2008, 04:48 PM
Hi everyone
I am looking at the Sony vaio website
For FW series, the cheapest needs to be $2499 SGP and only two variants available.
Just wondering is there any store selling other variants of the FW series which is less than $2000 ?

HungryPillow
04-09-2008, 05:06 PM
That interview about the VAIO Z is pretty cool. I liked the videos showing the drop tests and pressure tests. Definitely not going to try with my own Z though lol

Preacher1010
04-09-2008, 08:15 PM
Sony Recalls 73000 Vaio Notebooks (http://blogs.pcworld.com/staffblog/archives/007658.html)

http://blogs.pcworld.com/staffblog/archives/007658.html

http://blogs.pcworld.com/staffblog/archives/sony-vaio-recall.jpg

Sony is recalling 73000 VAIO TZ-series notebook computers because of a reported "burn hazard," according to the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission and Sony.

Consumers are urged to stop using the recalled notebooks "immediately and contact Sony to determine if their notebook is affected," according to the USCPC alert issued today.

Sony states on its Web site:

"The issue involves a small number of units which may overheat due to a wiring problem. Sony has initiated a voluntary program to perform a free inspection and, if necessary, a repair to ensure these units meet our high quality standards."

According to Sony the models in question are VAIO VGN-TZ100 series, VGN-TZ200 series, VGN-TZ300 series and the VGN-TZ2000 series. Notebook models were sold through the SonyStyle stores and Web site, at retails stores, and via business-to-business channels between the dates of July 2007 and August 2008, according to the USCPC.

Sony is directing VAIO customers to visit a "fixmypc" Web page at its site and follow the instructions to determine if your model is impacted.

Notebook Maker Plagued By Long History of Recalls

Sony is all to familiar with notebook recalls. The bulk of those recalls trace back to bad batteries. Last year Acer America recalled 27000 notebook batteries manufactured by Sony. Before that Dell recalled 4.1 million notebook batteries made by Sony. In 2006 Apple recalled 1.8 million Sony laptop batteries.

geraldlim91
04-09-2008, 09:01 PM
Hey how much is the prices of a 2GB SDRAM?

zhengkit
04-09-2008, 09:22 PM
Hey how much is the prices of a 2GB SDRAM?

Depends on the type? If you are asking with regards to DDR3-Sodimm for the Z series probably 400 dollars or more.

geraldlim91
04-09-2008, 09:28 PM
If its for a CR series? will it be about the same price? its a DDR2 SDRAM

lim8395
05-09-2008, 12:19 PM
This is the new Z series

anyone who pre-ordered the vaio Z but maybe consider dun wan? if so, i wan :)

do let me noe if anyone wana giv up this offer.

my contact 94877103
lumixa@hotmail.com

Firestone
05-09-2008, 12:40 PM
preorder over liao... is only until 31/8/2008
i think those who preorder sure want the things.. freebies + they have to pay deposits for it :)

anyway i called up sony hotline. Z series is officially avail for sales from today onward :D
best denki, harvey norman, wistra atria, mc.2

HungryPillow
05-09-2008, 02:52 PM
anyway i called up sony hotline. Z series is officially avail for sales from today onward :D
best denki, harvey norman, wistra atria, mc.2

Serious? Hopefully the pre-orders will get the call soon then...

EDIT: I just called Sony Style Paragon. They said should be able to pick up by tonight! Once they have stock in they will be calling all the pre-orders. Only thing is the free privacy filter there's no stock until after the 16th, but everything else is in stock.

Kwein
05-09-2008, 03:28 PM

EDIT: I just called Sony Style Paragon. They said should be able to pick up by tonight! Once they have stock in they will be calling all the pre-orders. Only thing is the free privacy filter there's no stock until after the 16th, but everything else is in stock.

GREAT news!

zhengkit
05-09-2008, 06:18 PM

I have not been called yet. Anyone has got the call?

Firestone
05-09-2008, 11:11 PM
i bought the Z16 @ wisma liao..

zzz... according to the assist manager,
VOS cannot use in lieu with the extended warranty...

can any fellow member verify this information?

does that mean sony cheated me of a VOS if i am going to get the extended warranty?

o ya.
1. Extended warranty can't be obtained on the spot.. have to register first, then wait for the email confirming whether you want to get the extended warranty.
2. there are no stocks for the ram at moment. if u want to upgrade, have to wait till later
3. there are no stocks for the privacy filter, and the VOS, have to wait till ~ 20 sept.

yourstruly
05-09-2008, 11:56 PM
As far as I'm aware I don't know of any shops that sell DDR-3 SO-DIMMs yet. However, I've placed an order with Convergent (they're the distributors for Kingston ram for those who don't know) for my ram upgrades. I was quoted $77 for 1GB and $137 for 2GB (1066MHz DDR3 Non-ECC CL7 SODIMM, prices before GST). I was told the leadtime would be a week. Those who are interested in upgrading their Z16s (like me) may wish to consider this option. Upgrading through sony would probably be daylight robbery IMO. Hope this helps :).

Kwein
05-09-2008, 11:57 PM
i bought the Z16 @ wisma liao..

zzz... according to the assist manager,
VOS cannot use in lieu with the extended warranty...

can any fellow member verify this information?

does that mean sony cheated me of a VOS if i am going to get the extended warranty?

o ya.
1. Extended warranty can't be obtained on the spot.. have to register first, then wait for the email confirming whether you want to get the extended warranty.
2. there are no stocks for the ram at moment. if u want to upgrade, have to wait till later
3. there are no stocks for the privacy filter, and the VOS, have to wait till ~ 20 sept.

any promo or freebies?

Firestone
06-09-2008, 12:00 AM
for z 16
13.1” Privacy Filter + VGP-UMS20 Black Mouse + VAIO S Case + VAIO Overseas Service + VAIO Overseas Service Guide

for z 17
13.1” Privacy Filter + VGP-UMS20 Black Mouse + VAIO S Case + VGP-BPL12 Rechargeable Battery Pack + VAIO Overseas Service + VAIO Overseas Service Guide

*Promotional offer is only valid from 5th to 21st September 2008.

cisconet
06-09-2008, 12:00 AM
Vaio Z17GN comes with 3MB or 6MB L2 Cache?

yourstruly
06-09-2008, 12:14 AM
Vaio Z17GN comes with 3MB or 6MB L2 Cache?

The Z17 uses C2D P9500 processor. The 9XXX cpus have 6MB L2 cache while the 8XXX has 3MB.

cisconet
06-09-2008, 12:30 AM
How abt the screen? Are they using Back-Lit LED Technology or just conventional technology?

Thanks for the reply.

cisconet
06-09-2008, 12:35 AM
for z 16
13.1” Privacy Filter + VGP-UMS20 Black Mouse + VAIO S Case + VAIO Overseas Service + VAIO Overseas Service Guide

for z 17
13.1” Privacy Filter + VGP-UMS20 Black Mouse + VAIO S Case + VGP-BPL12 Rechargeable Battery Pack + VAIO Overseas Service + VAIO Overseas Service Guide

Errr...the above promo only valid at..? Cos i just back from Harvey...they told me no promo..no free gifts.. :(

Firestone
06-09-2008, 01:05 AM
Errr...the above promo only valid at..? Cos i just back from Harvey...they told me no promo..no free gifts.. :(

http://www.sony.com.sg/microsite/vaio/products/vaio_z/product.html

Firestone
06-09-2008, 01:10 AM
How abt the screen? Are they using Back-Lit LED Technology or just conventional technology?

Thanks for the reply.

the screen seems to be different from conventional screen type...
it seems to be glossy 60% + matt 40% style..

very nice...
bright and clear!! + fingerprint resistance.

i don't feel the screen being small.. in fact i find it just nice

compared with SZ, it is tiny and nice
compared with TZ, it doesn't feel that much bigger as well. (but fatter)

the colour contrast is much nicer than TZ series when compared side to side.
I totally ignored SR, so i have no idea how it compared to it

i took almost 30 min just to examine for dead / bright pixel.
heng the first set that they got for me is a good one :D

the sound is puny though... seems to be about 20% smaller in volume compared to SZ

but omg... a lot of bloatware
80+ processes as a brand new set

masuda
06-09-2008, 01:43 AM
i got my Z16 Tooooo :s13::s12:

HungryPillow
06-09-2008, 02:12 AM
i got my Z16 Tooooo :s13::s12:

Did you pre-order or just buy from a shop?

cisconet
06-09-2008, 08:13 AM
I am quite keen in getting one. Anyone could teach me how I could go about checking for deal-pixel?

haruko_yoshiko
06-09-2008, 08:30 AM
Dear Valued Sony Customer,

Sony has recently discovered that limited number of VAIO "TZ series" notebook computers sold between May 2007 and Aug 2008 may, in rare cases, generate heat around the DC jack inlet and frame of LCD screen, which creates the potential of deformation of the plastic casing.

As part of our ongoing commitment to customer satisfaction and safety, Sony is offering a free inspection and repair service to owners of applicable models. For customers with the applicable models, we request you to please contact your nearest Sony Service Centre @ 6473 6500 for the inspection arrangement.

[Inspection and repair Procedure]

1. Please confirm whether your VGN-TZ VAIO computer is applicable for the inspection and repair.

2. If it is, please contact your local Sony Service Centre and provide the following information :

• VAIO main unit model name and serial number

• Contact details (phone number, e-mail address)

3. The Sony Service Centre will give further details of inspection and repair procedure.

[Applicable VGN-TZ Models]

VGN-TZ18GN
VGN-TZ17GN
VGN-TZ16GN

VGN-TZ28GN
VGN-TZ27GN
VGN-TZ26GN

VGN-TZ38GN
VGN-TZ37GN
VGN-TZ36GN

* To determine whether your VGN-TZ VAIO computer falls into the affected range, click here to validate the serial no.

We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused by this issue, and will maintain Sony’s ongoing commitment to improving the quality of our products in the future.

We thank you again for your continued use of Sony products.

(Privacy policy)
Personal information, such as your name, mailing address and/or telephone number, provided to the Sony Service Centre shall be kept and used by Sony only for responding to your inquiries related to this announcement, the free repair service mentioned in this announcement and other related services. In certain cases, your personal information may be given to third-party companies to whom Sony has consigned certain elements of such service. In this event, Sony will ensure that such third-party companies abide by the same strict guidelines with regard to the use, storage and disposal of your personal information.

Please contact your local Sony Service Centre if you wish to inquire, modify, erase or suspense to use your personal information provided in connection with this announcement. Please be advised that in case of erasing or suspension of use of your personal information, Sony might not be able to provide appropriate services in accordance with the purpose of usage mentioned above.

For all Sony Vaio TZ users, to check if your set is affected by the recall, do visit this webpage: https://support.vaio.sony.co.jp/cgi-bin/checkserial/tz/en/input.cgi and key in the relevant information (Serial numbers)...

If your set is affected, you should see something like mine: Your VAIO model is subjected to this issue.
Please take note of above information and contact your local VAIO Contact Center for more details such as Inspection and repair procedures.
A list of the VAIO Contact Centers can be found in the Service Centers page.
We apologies for any inconvenience caused and appreciate your support in this matter.

*Damn... I wonder how long the inspection and repair will take...*

zhengkit
06-09-2008, 08:53 AM
for z 16

for z 17

For a moment I thought that there was no difference to those who pre-ordered.
So pre-order difference for Z16 is the extra extended battery and instead of the wired mouse, a bluetooth mouse.

zhengkit
06-09-2008, 08:55 AM
As far as I'm aware I don't know of any shops that sell DDR-3 SO-DIMMs yet. However, I've placed an order with Convergent (they're the distributors for Kingston ram for those who don't know) for my ram upgrades. I was quoted $77 for 1GB and $137 for 2GB (1066MHz DDR3 Non-ECC CL7 SODIMM, prices before GST). I was told the leadtime would be a week. Those who are interested in upgrading their Z16s (like me) may wish to consider this option. Upgrading through sony would probably be daylight robbery IMO. Hope this helps :).

O, anymore details? I am keen too.

Firestone
06-09-2008, 11:31 AM
hehe.. that is correct.
anyway, the bluetooth mouse is useless.. only real diff is the batt.

cisconet
06-09-2008, 12:01 PM
Most of you get the Z16 or Z17?

Firestone
06-09-2008, 01:06 PM
i think most of us got the z16.

coz z16 vs z17 = $1100 diff.

and the spec diff in the following
250 -> 320 gb hdd
2gb -> 4gb ram
2.4 -> 2.53 ghz cpu

cpu is selling for a diff of ~ 200 sgd in usa,

that mean sony SG is charging ~ 900 sgd for additional 2gb ram + 70gb more hdd
the way i see it, it's too expensive, regardless of the "freebies" they give to compensate

Kwein
06-09-2008, 01:17 PM
i think most of us got the z16.

coz z16 vs z17 = $1100 diff.

and the spec diff in the following
250 -> 320 gb hdd
2gb -> 4gb ram
2.4 -> 2.53 ghz cpu

cpu is selling for a diff of ~ 200 sgd in usa,

that mean sony SG is charging ~ 900 sgd for additional 2gb ram + 70gb more hdd
the way i see it, it's too expensive, regardless of the "freebies" they give to compensate

yup true, and they look exactly the same :)

Z16 owner here =:p

zhengkit
06-09-2008, 01:38 PM

Did some checks. Prices are not what you stated.

Pulled off convergent website in SGD:
For 1GB DDR3 Sodimm-125sgd
http://www.convergent.com.sg/productdetails.asp?ProductId=M12864H70

For 2GB DDR3 Sodimm-223sgd

Fella
06-09-2008, 03:22 PM
Dear Valued Sony Customer,

Sony has recently discovered that limited number of VAIO "TZ series" notebook computers sold between May 2007 and Aug 2008 may, in rare cases, generate heat around the DC jack inlet and frame of LCD screen, which creates the potential of deformation of the plastic casing.

As per today's straits times page a6. I wonder if I contributed to the recall. :s13:
My TZ suddenly started giving off chao ta smell on Sunday night whilst it's in use and plugged via power mains. Was looking around the house to find the source when I suddenly notice the misaligned TZ screen (the left hinge totally melted liaoz). Straightaway off the mains and pull out the DC plug in panic! However, all this while the laptop still working fine.
Anyway, sent the laptop to Sony on Wednesday, was informed they need to notify their HQ as this is a serious problem. Then the next day (as reported in newspaper), the recall started liaoz.
Damage was really quite bad. Casing melted till wires are exposed. It's a wonder the whole thing didn't catch fire sia...

qwerty88
06-09-2008, 03:38 PM
feel sorry to those how bought it @ comex recently... bo dai bo ji kana this ...

Fella
06-09-2008, 04:00 PM
I think the newer batches not affected. My TZ is abt a year old. All the while no problem... Anyway, my wife's 3 months old TZ also need to send back Sony to check.
The good thing about this issue is : I get to change my badly scratched LCD lid cover for free. Hehee!

haruko_yoshiko
06-09-2008, 04:32 PM
I think the newer batches not affected. My TZ is abt a year old. All the while no problem... Anyway, my wife's 3 months old TZ also need to send back Sony to check.
The good thing about this issue is : I get to change my badly scratched LCD lid cover for free. Hehee!

Lolz... Mine is the first gen TZ17 too...

Wonder if I can use this opportunity to complain about the battery to get a replacement.. :s13:

cisconet
06-09-2008, 06:31 PM
Just wondering those who had "Pre-Order", what freebies are they giving for Z17GN?
Heard it is worth $1000...wow..port replicator..battery..?

Kwein
06-09-2008, 06:35 PM
Just wondering those who had "Pre-Order", what freebies are they giving for Z17GN?
Heard it is worth $1000...wow..port replicator..battery..?

doesn't worth tat much la haha

port replicator, extended batt, bt lazer mouse, vaio case, screen filter...if got extended warranty maybe can hit 1k :s13:

Piak_Piak
06-09-2008, 06:43 PM
anyone send in their TZ lappy for inspection / repairs yet?
how long does it take?
knn, damn troublesome leh....still need to go down to their service centre....

yourstruly
06-09-2008, 09:34 PM
Did some checks. Prices are not what you stated.

Pulled off convergent website in SGD:
For 1GB DDR3 Sodimm-125sgd

For 2GB DDR3 Sodimm-223sgd

Lol why are you looking at proprietary memory? You should be looking at Kingston Value Ram.

http://www.convergent.com.sg/pricelist/catpricelist.asp?CatId=970&Page=0&ShowAll=1&login_status=no&igrp=&Query=

As you might notice, the DDR3 rams in question are listed as not available.

Product Id: KVR1066D3S7/1G
Product Name: 1GB 1066MHz DDR3 Non-ECC CL7 SODIMM
Brand: Kingston
Product Line: kingstonkvrmemory
Brief Description: 1GB 1066MHz DDR3 Non-ECC CL7 SODIMM Standard 128M X 64 Non-ECC 1066MHz 204-pin Unbuffered SODIMM (SDRAM-DDR3, 1.5V, CL7, FBGA, Gold)
Country of Manufacturer: USA/TW/CN
Manufacturer ID: KVR1066D3S7/1G
Warranty: Lifetime
Cost Price: $77

Product Id: KVR1066D3S7/2G
Product Name: 2GB 1066MHz DDR3 Non-ECC CL7 SODIMM
Brand: Kingston
Product Line: kingstonkvrmemory
Brief Description: 2GB 1066MHz DDR3 Non-ECC CL7 SODIMM Standard 256M X 64 Non-ECC 1066MHz 204-pin Unbuffered SODIMM (SDRAM-DDR3, 1.5V, CL7, FBGA, Gold)
Country of Manufacturer: USA/TW/CN
Manufacturer ID: KVR1066D3S7/2G
Warranty: Lifetime
Cost Price: $137

Leadtime to order in is 1 week upon confirmation. Thanks.

This is the result of my email enquiry.

shiahzy
07-09-2008, 01:05 AM
For all the Z owners out there, do you notice that there is flex on the palm rest?

I was at Paragon today looking at the Z and realised that when you apply pressure, the palm rest flexes.

Furthermore, is there any battery drain issue like those on the SR - meaning you leave your battery inside without the power and the % just drops the next morning you on the computer...

And it seems the Z's has a wider screen compared to SR or SZ right, even though the screen is only slightly smaller at 13.1". How does reading and editing documents feel? I hope the words aren't too small.

Thanks a lot.

TheYamb
07-09-2008, 01:23 AM
anyone send in their TZ lappy for inspection / repairs yet?
how long does it take?
knn, damn troublesome leh....still need to go down to their service centre....

yes, i am sending it in soon, not sure how long it'll take though

masuda
07-09-2008, 03:10 AM
Did you pre-order or just buy from a shop?

buy from shop lor...miss the pre order >.<

Firestone
07-09-2008, 10:03 AM
For all the Z owners out there, do you notice that there is flex on the palm rest?

I was at Paragon today looking at the Z and realised that when you apply pressure, the palm rest flexes.

Furthermore, is there any battery drain issue like those on the SR - meaning you leave your battery inside without the power and the % just drops the next morning you on the computer...

And it seems the Z's has a wider screen compared to SR or SZ right, even though the screen is only slightly smaller at 13.1". How does reading and editing documents feel? I hope the words aren't too small.

Thanks a lot.

hmm.. from the way i see it, there doesn't seem to be much flex in it.. feel quite sturdy...
not sure about the batt drain

cisconet
07-09-2008, 10:06 AM
Just bot mine yesterday :) Are you guys sticking to Vista Biz or Downgrade to XP? seems quite fast huh.

Firestone
07-09-2008, 10:22 AM
hmmm.. i tried reinstall to xp... from 10am till 6pm..
installing all the prog etc..

the pdf file states that

Please note that when installing either of the Windows XP versions, users may no longer have access to some preinstalled software or will not be able to use some of preinstalled functions. Below are the functions that are confirmed to be unusable once users downgrade to Windows XP on VGN-Z1 Series:
1. HDD Protection function can not be used
2. Fn+F9/Fn+F10 function can not be used.
3. HDMI function maybe can not be used.
4. RAID function can not be used.
5. When switch the graphics mode such as from Speed mode to STAMINA mode the system will not notice to restart the unit, please restart the unit manually at once.

from my experience, it seems that
1. ethernet
2. dvd drive
unable to have the option to do a shutdown to save batt...

total processes ~ 65 - 70 w/o any junks

yourstruly
07-09-2008, 11:08 AM
Hi Firestone.. Did you have to spend alot of time clearing the bloatware? Were they mostly sony programs or 3rd party ones? Thanks :)..

Firestone
07-09-2008, 12:13 PM
there is a xp cd with the box. using that to install = basic xp professional.
no bloatwares / no drivers

have to go to sony webby to download all.
installing 1 by 1... that is not fun though lol...

HungryPillow
07-09-2008, 01:41 PM
there is a xp cd with the box. using that to install = basic xp professional.
no bloatwares / no drivers

have to go to sony webby to download all.
installing 1 by 1... that is not fun though lol...

It comes with a XP CD? Does it also come with a Vista CD?

zhengkit
07-09-2008, 03:39 PM
It comes with a XP CD? Does it also come with a Vista CD?

Comes with XP downgrade CD.
For Vista either recover via recovery partition or your own burnt recovery dvd.