PDA

View Full Version : Sony Vaio laptop users Thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 18 19 20 21

Firestone
08-10-2008, 01:09 PM
Hi guys,

Are you using Sony Vaio G? Care to share experience with this lappy?

http://www.sony.com.sg/product/vgn-g118gn

don't like it...
it's using core solo chip (slower than tz)
and the screen estate is those old box type, not those wide screen

frozentrace
08-10-2008, 02:15 PM
Hi guys,

Are you using Sony Vaio G? Care to share experience with this lappy?

http://www.sony.com.sg/product/vgn-g118gn

erm.. where are u intending to get this from.

I believe this model has been disconned and I think the Z series (http://www.sony.com.sg/microsite/vaio/products/vaio_z/index.html) is the upgrade for it...

:yawn:

frozentrace
08-10-2008, 02:16 PM
Hi fello users,

White vaio seem to have turned yellowish, anyway to clean it?

i've heard of such cases, but none of how to solve it :(

Forceware
08-10-2008, 11:23 PM
erm.. where are u intending to get this from.

I believe this model has been disconned and I think the Z series (http://www.sony.com.sg/microsite/vaio/products/vaio_z/index.html) is the upgrade for it...

And who told you Z is upgrade of G? Don't tell me cos of 1 alphabet.

yourstruly
10-10-2008, 05:50 AM
Vaio CS: http://www.sonystyle.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/CategoryDisplay?catalogId=10551&storeId=10151&langId=-1&categoryId=8198552921644586398&parentCategoryId=16154

Looks like the new CR is here haha.

frozentrace
10-10-2008, 10:06 AM
And who told you Z is upgrade of G? Don't tell me cos of 1 alphabet.

meeeep!.. i say i think only ma.. both are light and bigger screen than TZ. :s22:

gerald27
10-10-2008, 02:44 PM
managed to convert Z series to vista 64.. :)

but these are the issues I haven't managed to solve at the moment
For the Vaio Power Management,
1. dvd drive doesn't have option to shutdown to sleep to save battery
2. Internal Firewire / coxenant modem doesn't have option to off

:s31: where u find the drivers for it sia ?

Forceware
10-10-2008, 08:08 PM
meeeep!.. i say i think only ma.. both are light and bigger screen than TZ. :s22:

Z is the replacement for the SZ Premium.

gxelan
10-10-2008, 11:00 PM
hmm..the CS looks really nice..just wondering when will it launch here and hw much will it cost?

haruko_yoshiko
11-10-2008, 12:23 AM
try www.kuroten.com

or pm haruko_yoshiko

good service he applied my screen protector for me. and it was abit dented.. and he removed it and applied another screen protector for no extra charge.

Hey, thanks a lot for your recommendations... Realli appreciate it and glad that you liked the protectors :)

Meeeps!

Hmm, btw guys, you can drop me an email @ kuroten.mail@gmail.com too... I encounter serious difficulties whenever I try to reply the PMs on this forum..

Thanks everyone for the support~

Protectors for the Vaio Z should be in soon... Will post up photo shoots after I get my hands on the first Z.

Regards,
Alfred

haruko_yoshiko
11-10-2008, 12:26 AM
Hmm, btw any other TZ users thinkin of getting the new single 4GB ram module for their TZ? Its like another godsend for the TZ and other laptops with single ram slot...

But cheapest so far is approx USD169 without shipping....

Forceware
11-10-2008, 12:42 AM
Hmm, btw any other TZ users thinkin of getting the new single 4GB ram module for their TZ? Its like another godsend for the TZ and other laptops with single ram slot...

But cheapest so far is approx USD169 without shipping....

I thought the mainboard of the TZ maximum memory access it can support is maximum 2GB?

haruko_yoshiko
11-10-2008, 12:50 AM
I thought the mainboard of the TZ maximum memory access it can support is maximum 2GB?

Hmm confirm max 2GB? I was thinking more naively that they didn't expect 4GB ram modules so they stated max @ 2GB.. lolz.. stupid of me...

Ahh.. so the TZ won't be able to recognise the single 4GB ram?

zhengkit
11-10-2008, 10:50 AM
Hmm confirm max 2GB? I was thinking more naively that they didn't expect 4GB ram modules so they stated max @ 2GB.. lolz.. stupid of me...

Ahh.. so the TZ won't be able to recognise the single 4GB ram?

Cannot, chipset limitation.

Firestone
12-10-2008, 08:35 PM
:s31: where u find the drivers for it sia ?

here you go.
Most of the drivers are complied by Fredguy of NBR.
I updated some to reflect newer ones

Sony Vaio Z - Vista x64 drivers
http://www.4shared.com/file/66588790/85c1e199/Sony_x64part1.html
http://www.4shared.com/file/66609743/a73e9064/Sony_x64part2.html
http://www.4shared.com/file/66618547/260bcec6/Sony_x64part3.html
http://www.4shared.com/file/66630936/a823ea7c/Sony_x64part4.html

Note that in order for the dual graphics to work, you need to install these 2 programs.
Firmware Extension Parser Device & Sony Programmable I/O Control Device

Start -> Control Panel -> Classic View -> System -> Device Manager -> there should be 2 exclaimation marks! ... right click and install device with the programs and that should be all..

would recommend you to
install intel chipset, intel matrix storage manager follow by SFEP / SonyPI.
After that go to stamina mode, install Intel x4500, reboot
then go to speed mode, install nvidia 9300m GS
then install others

it ran exactly the same as vista 32 now, just that these following features doesn't seem to work

For the Vaio Power Management,
1. dvd drive doesn't have option to shutdown to sleep to save battery
2. Internal Firewire / coxenant modem doesn't have option to off to save battery

comments on vista x64
it ran significantly faster in loading application (for me) ...
eg. opening IE takes approximately 0.5 sec
eg. opening office 2007 takes approximately 3 - 4 sec

Note: Not all virus scanner / firewall can run in vista x64
eg. zonealarm... **** i still have 3 years subscriptions with them -_-

After using xp Pro / vista 32 / vista x64...
i would have to say vista x64 seems to be better

haruko_yoshiko
12-10-2008, 10:58 PM
Ah hah! Thanks to a fellow forumer.. Here is... the Sony Vaio Z!!!

Now, not only does this look good, it feels good too! Heard that he brought in this textured decal for the lid cover from Korea..

http://img507.imageshack.us/img507/6960/dsc02721ss4.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

And the Vaio Z with the Cocoro keyboard protector on...

http://img397.imageshack.us/img397/1660/dsc02732ut9.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

http://img337.imageshack.us/img337/5431/dsc02734kl6.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

The surface protector for Vaio Z covers the lid cover, area around the keyboard (wrist rest, sides of the keyboard area, and the hinges..), battery plus the bottom of the laptop (minus the ventilation slots) the protector takes a couple of days to fully set in..

http://img114.imageshack.us/img114/3021/dsc02727yc3.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

zippy79
13-10-2008, 12:27 AM
Thanks for helping me apply the thing man... ur workmanship is superb!

I thought the protective is only for the wrist and front panel.. but turn out that it's almost for every area of my vaio. I love the feel of my touchpad when I first apply it, at least now it's not that slippery and I can 'feel' my mouse cursor.

The vaio look like it can lasts another 10 years with the transparent application. My gf like the glitter at the bottom.. haha.. she was asking did u purposely put the glitter on..

Very good service too! Thumbs up man! :D

haruko_yoshiko
13-10-2008, 12:45 AM
Thanks for helping me apply the thing man... ur workmanship is superb!

I thought the protective is only for the wrist and front panel.. but turn out that it's almost for every area of my vaio. I love the feel of my touchpad when I first apply it, at least now it's not that slippery and I can 'feel' my mouse cursor.

The vaio look like it can lasts another 10 years with the transparent application. My gf like the glitter at the bottom.. haha.. she was asking did u purposely put the glitter on..

Very good service too! Thumbs up man! :D

Glad that you liked it... the Z is a great notebook~ :D

Hmm, my TZ has the same glittery effect.. actually its the material of the vaio itself... the protector kinda brings out "enhances" that glitter appearance.. :D

gerald27
13-10-2008, 12:51 AM
Thks for the info Firestone :) ~

Vulpix
13-10-2008, 03:08 PM
Guys how is the Z series viewability outdoors? Very tempted by it but this is very important to it... One of the HP glossy screen laptop I had cannot even see if there is a little bit of sun near it...

zippy79
13-10-2008, 08:34 PM
Guys how is the Z series viewability outdoors? Very tempted by it but this is very important to it... One of the HP glossy screen laptop I had cannot even see if there is a little bit of sun near it...

no worry man.. the Z has one of the best screen.. very scratch resistance and the color compare side my side with other sony has noticeable difference.

It's not really full glossy, its like semi matt and glossy mixed. under sunlight will be able to see also.

Firestone
14-10-2008, 09:44 AM
Ah hah! Thanks to a fellow forumer.. Here is... the Sony Vaio Z!!!

Now, not only does this look good, it feels good too! Heard that he brought in this textured decal for the lid cover from Korea..

http://img507.imageshack.us/img507/6960/dsc02721ss4.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

very interesting decal..
is there other designs? how much and where to get..
interested in that :o

ripkurl
14-10-2008, 04:08 PM
any users of Sony Vaio FW series? FW-12G~

how is the performance like? was interesting in buying this for home use & gaming (dota, WoW etc)

zippy79
14-10-2008, 10:33 PM
very interesting decal..
is there other designs? how much and where to get..
interested in that :o

http://sgpstore.com/

:D

zippy79
14-10-2008, 10:38 PM
anyone try the new vaio Z bios? really bootup faster.

danxiaogui86
14-10-2008, 11:08 PM
where u get the bios for vaio?

gerald27
15-10-2008, 08:43 AM
BIOS Update for Z series here ?? >> http://www.sony-asia.com/support/download/277776/product/vgn-z16gn

danxiaogui86
15-10-2008, 10:10 AM
i download the power management update. install liao. the VAIO Optimize disappear.

tjieming
15-10-2008, 11:11 AM
anyone upgraded graphics card for vaio before?
im using a CR-353 with ATI Mobility Radeon x2300 feel like changing graphics card to play warhammer online.

Arcanell
15-10-2008, 01:04 PM
anyone try the new vaio Z bios? really bootup faster.

yup booting up is really faster

Firestone
15-10-2008, 03:47 PM
anyone upgraded graphics card for vaio before?
im using a CR-353 with ATI Mobility Radeon x2300 feel like changing graphics card to play warhammer online.

can't.. everything is soldered to motherboard...
this is the same for most of the laptops in market as well
if anything spoil, whole motherboard need to be changed.

zippy79
16-10-2008, 07:32 AM
Whats the rough temp of Z series?

I"m using core temp v0.99.3 and it report that my temp for my vaio is around 42 degrees. I'm not sure if I remember wrongly, bfore bios update was less then 40 degrees?

Firestone
16-10-2008, 11:27 AM
using new bios and stamina mode...
approx 34 to 37 degree

in aircon room will be 32 to 34 degrees

speed mode i'm using undervolt..
with 100% utility, it's running about 64 - 67 degree

zippy79
16-10-2008, 01:00 PM
approx 34 to 37 degree

my one abit werid man.. i undervolt too ..

Frequency: 1596.00Mhz (266.00x6.0)
VID 0.9250v

Temp is still 42 degree in air con room. (reading by core temp 0.99.3)
Temp is at 36.2 degree in air con room. (readin by CPU Clock utility)

but fan is always blowing from the left side leh

Firestone
16-10-2008, 01:39 PM
check whether RMClock is running properly.. (under monitoring)
for me, initially, VID is fluctuating a lot + it's not confining to the VID limit that i've set.
eg. it will go to 1.2v when i put the limit as 1v

later i realised that it's clashing with the vista power plan... it only works with high performance / power saver mode.. and not balanced.

hence under RMClock profile, i put AC power - performance on demand, while for battery - power saving

Next i went to profiles - power saving -> CPU settings = select use battery (use P-state transition), while for the OS settings = use OS power plan (power saver)

after that i went to profiles - performance on demand -> CPU settings = select use AC power (use P-state transition), while for the OS settings = use OS power plan (high performance)

that actually helped to make RMClock work properly..
not sure whether that scenario apply to you as well

allanwahz
17-10-2008, 04:34 PM
I'm using the VAIO VGN-TZ16GN model. Am not very good at formatting laptop.

1. Can any advise me on the steps?
2. Does it come with a CD for formatting? (Lost the entire box!)
3. Read up abit here about hitting F10 and using the 'recovery' application.. how does it work?

Need a guide-for-dummy instructions pls.... thank you guys!

AtelierGal
17-10-2008, 06:21 PM
I'm using the VAIO VGN-TZ16GN model. Am not very good at formatting laptop.

1. Can any advise me on the steps?
2. Does it come with a CD for formatting? (Lost the entire box!)
3. Read up abit here about hitting F10 and using the 'recovery' application.. how does it work?

Need a guide-for-dummy instructions pls.... thank you guys!

Sony Vaio doesn't come with a recovery disk.
You have to create them with 2 DVDs-RW.
And then you can use them everytime you wanna format your laptop

Hope that helps:s7:

Forceware
17-10-2008, 06:41 PM
Sony Vaio doesn't come with a recovery disk.
You have to create them with 2 DVDs-RW.
And then you can use them everytime you wanna format your laptop

Hope that helps:s7:

If there is no problem with the hard disk then you still can use the hidden partition image la...
Press F10 twice during bootup when the VAIO logo came out.

jpgnfX
19-10-2008, 01:53 PM
approx 34 to 37 degree

wah anyone try the sd card slot for vaio z?
put in liao hard to take out man...
unlike my ex HP lappie is press and pop one

jpgnfX
19-10-2008, 01:54 PM
i was using HP also..
very glossy, abit of sun only buay tahan already..
vaio Z screen is matt and if u hoot the brightness up, in sunlight also nice to use imo
but the build quality is much inferior to HP..
HP is sturdy, but that comes with alot of extra weight too

Vulpix
19-10-2008, 06:58 PM
i was using HP also..
very glossy, abit of sun only buay tahan already..
vaio Z screen is matt and if u hoot the brightness up, in sunlight also nice to use imo
but the build quality is much inferior to HP..
HP is sturdy, but that comes with alot of extra weight too

Sounds good... If I can get rid of my panasonic toughbook for a decent price, I will most likely change to a Z16...

Kwein
20-10-2008, 03:16 PM
just received from sony, BR drive $1000??

http://support.sony.com.sg/MySony/mysonystatic/VAIO_TT/images/main01.jpg
http://support.sony.com.sg/MySony/mysonystatic/VAIO_TT/images/main02.jpg
http://support.sony.com.sg/MySony/mysonystatic/VAIO_TT/images/main03.jpg
http://support.sony.com.sg/MySony/mysonystatic/VAIO_TT/images/main04.jpg
http://support.sony.com.sg/MySony/mysonystatic/VAIO_TT/images/main05.jpg

allanwahz
20-10-2008, 04:48 PM
If there is no problem with the hard disk then you still can use the hidden partition image la...
Press F10 twice during bootup when the VAIO logo came out.

hm... ok so after i backup, i reboot, see logo hit f10 twice, wat's next to select?

when i use the hidden image, does it format the harddisk?

my objective is to restore back to how it was when i got it the first day... =(

skyfiremage
20-10-2008, 05:25 PM
Following the earlier post by Kwein, here the link to the full Vaio TT Pre-Order mailer for those who wish to see the full details (incl. T&Cs).

Vaio TT Pre-Order Mailer (http://support.sony.com.sg/MySony/mysonystatic/VAIO_TT/index.html)

Was waiting for this and hoping that they will make it more attractive than the Vaio Z pre-order... A little disappointed by the offer. While the free 1Gb ram is more practical than the 1-year overseas warranty, I prefer the extra battery to the MS Office H&S 2007 which I dun need. It would be best if they throw in the 3-year extended warranty... hahaha... maybe I am too greedy...

Forceware
20-10-2008, 06:16 PM
hm... ok so after i backup, i reboot, see logo hit f10 twice, wat's next to select?

when i use the hidden image, does it format the harddisk?

my objective is to restore back to how it was when i got it the first day... =(

Follow step by step lor... Then remember to choose restore C drive. It will format and image back to factory default lor...

allanwahz
21-10-2008, 08:43 AM
Follow step by step lor... Then remember to choose restore C drive. It will format and image back to factory default lor...

yahoo~ okok...roger that. will learn hw to clean it in abit~ =)

gerald27
21-10-2008, 09:19 AM
just received from sony, BR drive $1000??

:s13: no laa ... BR drive $1k ...

there is HDMI output & carbon fibre body for the TT17 :D ...

that's the differ from the other TTs ~

UchihaSasuke
21-10-2008, 10:57 AM
Was thinking about getting VAIO FW - VGN-FW12G/B, but is there any laptop which i can compare with VAIO FW - VGN-FW12G/B, which has around the same costing n spec, buget 2k - 2.5k.

scmedan
21-10-2008, 03:02 PM
Hello there!

Well, I'm hoping someone will kindly help me here :-)

I've recently bought this laptop - and love it. I've rolled it back to Win XP Pro, using the downloaded drives from Sony's asia website.. Rocks! Infact, the fact that Sony put these XP drives up - by model - was one of the compelling decisions to do so.

I read that some hotkeys wouldn't work - and that is fine. I can live with that!

However - and here's where'd I'd really value someone's comments please...

While the Function keys to control the brightness won't ever work, I find that I can't control the screen brightness in ANY WAY...! I mean - I am able to go into Vaio Power Management tab, and actually set it up to go dim, dark - but it doesn't actually work. It doesn't actually dim the screen display at all. Doesn't change at all.

I cannot now use the Vaio Power Management tab, under monitor properties.
I cannot now use the VPM from control panel..

I've got it set so that when on battery, the screen dims. Vaio Optimized. But ... nadda - not a thing.

Infact, I cannot now dim the screen in any way...

I did download a small utility which has installed as a Screensaver - and that does indeed dim the screen.... So - it is physically possible (if you know what I'm meaning...) but for some reason, the software things I try just won't work.

I've upgraded the BIOS, as per the link on Vaio for this model.
I've installed SP 3 since nothing was happening on SP 2 only.
I've googled until my head is spinning...and while I've found folks who've resolved [almost] this problem on other models, I've not found anything which I can 'adjust' or 'apply' to CR323... :-(

I'm stumped!

And I'd love to hear from anyone who might have some helpful ideas please?

(ps - I'm thinking.... if Sony warn the hotkeys won't work, but supply the XP drivers...I'm of the opinion it should somehow be possible to use the software to make the screen dim...)

....all of this is for conserving battery power....

Many thanks everyone...in advance,

Danny - NZ. :-)

Sony CR323 for WindowsXP Information:
Windows XP Downgrade Drivers and Applications for VGN-CR3 Series(Zip File)

IMPORTANT: Before proceeding with the upgrade, disconnect all external hardware devices, including PC Cards etc.
Note: Before proceeding, ensure that the VAIO computer (http://slayo.com/index.php?s=vaio) is operated using the supplied AC adapter.
Note: Save all data/files and close all running programs.

ATI Graphics Models
a. Instant Mode can not be used.
b. AV Mode button can not be used.

Intel Graphics Models:
a. Instant Mode can not be used.
b. AV Mode button can not be used.
c. Fn+F5/F6(Brightness Control function can not be used)

Atheros Wireless LAN models
a. Wireless LAN (http://slayo.com/index.php?s=wireless+lan) Switch utility can not control Atheros wireless LAN device.

Source: Daily Computer, Gadgets, Freeware and Resetting (http://slayo.com)
Original: http://www.sony-asia.com/support/download/240806/sectionfirst?site=hp_en_AP_i&subpage=detail

frozentrace
22-10-2008, 10:56 AM
For those interested in the TT,

cnet has done a review here (http://reviews.cnet.com/laptops/sony-vaio-vgn-tt190ubx/4505-3121_7-33303187.html?subj=re)

"Small laptops have become synonymous with low-cost Netbooks, but Sony's Vaio TT reminds us why some ultraportables can cost almost 10 times as much (hint: the 256GB SSD helps)."

jpgnfX
22-10-2008, 06:46 PM
hmm.. wonder if theres an option to remove the cdrom drive and make it lighter or put a HDD inside :(
sucha waste of space..

shud have an option in vaio power management to keep it off permanantly

RekcaJiH
23-10-2008, 05:23 PM
I bought a VAIO Z-16 notebook. Downgraded to Windowx XP and now wanted to reformatted the notebook. Can anyone please advice me on the following.

1. does it comes with international warranty? cos when i bought it, the sales person from Best Denki roadshow told me there is. I am working in China, so international warranty is very important.

2. In Win XP, the Speed / Stamina doesn't work?

3. I dun seem to be able to adjust the brightness of my LCD like my ASUS F8 Series. Even when pressing the FN Key.

4. in the drivers downloaded, there is this SONYPI and SONYNC. What is it for? Can dun install?

5. In the Application downloaded, which can no need to install?

6. My PCI-X slot dun seems to be working. How???

7. I lost my Recovery CD. Any kind soul can burn a copy and sell it to me?

Thanks....

gerald27
24-10-2008, 09:38 AM
I bought a VAIO Z-16 notebook. Downgraded to Windowx XP and now wanted to reformatted the notebook. Can anyone please advice me on the following.

1. does it comes with international warranty? cos when i bought it, the sales person from Best Denki roadshow told me there is. I am working in China, so international warranty is very important.

2. In Win XP, the Speed / Stamina doesn't work?

3. I dun seem to be able to adjust the brightness of my LCD like my ASUS F8 Series. Even when pressing the FN Key.

4. in the drivers downloaded, there is this SONYPI and SONYNC. What is it for? Can dun install?

5. In the Application downloaded, which can no need to install?

6. My PCI-X slot dun seems to be working. How???

Thanks....
have you installed / ran ..

1) the SETUP.EXE located in the Win XP Downgrade CD ?
2) ALL the drivers & applications from the Sony support website in order ?

The issues you mentioned seems like u never install everything .... that's why everything don't work properly ... I encounter before as well ....

you might want to give it try :)

frozentrace
24-10-2008, 10:22 AM

Thanks....

1. yes if u bought it during the promo period u should have gotten1 year free Vaio Overseas Service which u are required to REGISTER for it. either online, or fill up a form and mail it.

7. vaios do not come with a recovery cd, they all come with a recovery partition which you have to burn a recovery cd from.

RekcaJiH
24-10-2008, 12:34 PM
have you installed / ran ..

1) the SETUP.EXE located in the Win XP Downgrade CD ?
2) ALL the drivers & applications from the Sony support website in order ?

The issues you mentioned seems like u never install everything .... that's why everything don't work properly ... I encounter before as well ....

you might want to give it try :)

1) yes ran tat...
2) yes from there.
3)

CoolRock
24-10-2008, 01:08 PM
how u know PCI-X slot not working?

tripindustriz
24-10-2008, 04:12 PM
Just downloaded SMCfancontrol for my both my Macbookpros and is looking for something similar for my Vaio , got sppedfan, but it seems like I cannot adjust my fan speed manually and my Vaio is HOT from using as I keep it on all the time.

Any suggestions?

Forceware
24-10-2008, 11:18 PM
1. yes if u bought it during the promo period u should have gotten1 year free Vaio Overseas Service which u are required to REGISTER for it. either online, or fill up a form and mail it.

7. vaios do not come with a recovery cd, they all come with a recovery partition which you have to burn a recovery cd from.

VOS not covered in China. Nearest HK.

jpgnfX
25-10-2008, 04:24 AM
hmm..
anyone know the use of Fn+F9 and Fn+F10? the zoom icons..
it doesnt change anything leh :crazy:

Webtrons
25-10-2008, 08:04 PM
Search this thread
http://forum.notebookreview.com/forumdisplay.php?f=8

I saw keyboard for sale... seems nobody wanna buy... who knows you can get good deal ;)

Mike

wa lao eh, called Sony this morning, they quoted me 88$ for the SZ38GP keyboard, and since my set is out of wrty, they quoted another 120$ of what-so-called service chargem total 208 before GST, WTH!!!!!

UchihaSasuke
26-10-2008, 01:26 AM
the SR13G price become 2399 le? i just can't decide on FW12 or SR13..

iamlzw
26-10-2008, 01:34 AM
wait for CS better. it glows!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=48XKk5KHpSk

UchihaSasuke
26-10-2008, 02:24 AM
wait for CS better. it glows!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=48XKk5KHpSk

how much is it? when will it be avaliable to the shop?

iamlzw
26-10-2008, 08:20 AM
no idea. but the price of CR dropping. hopefully soon? :s13:

Dinorex
26-10-2008, 09:26 AM
Anybody know if z series have any promotion currently?

Webtrons
26-10-2008, 06:16 PM
http://www.sony.com.sg/microsite/vaio/products/vaio_z/product.html

According to that Tomorrow is last day... but they will likely to extend that :)

tayjiaxi
27-10-2008, 12:11 AM
Anyone has any idea how much the extended warranty for the vgn-z16gn/b costs?

gerald27
27-10-2008, 12:24 AM
$300 ... Taken from their extended warranty site >> http://www.sony.com.sg/extendedwarranty

Dinorex
27-10-2008, 12:59 AM
http://www.sony.com.sg/microsite/vaio/products/vaio_z/product.html

According to that Tomorrow is last day... but they will likely to extend that :)

Thanks.. didn't realise it.. btw.. any 1 change to xp pro with the z series yet? everything working perfectly??

huge_impact
27-10-2008, 02:03 AM
Hi all, I'm, glad to see so many VAIO users here. I'm supposed to help my friend to reformat his VGN-FE15GP. I'm good at formating PCs but I have never done laptops before. He said his agent told him that 'everything he needs to format his lappy' is inbuilt in his HDD (he's not a technical person). I dun understand what that means. Can anyone help me?

If there is another similar thread here, can someone point me to it too? Thanks!

Forceware
27-10-2008, 02:13 AM
Hi all, I'm, glad to see so many VAIO users here. I'm supposed to help my friend to reformat his VGN-FE15GP. I'm good at formating PCs but I have never done laptops before. He said his agent told him that 'everything he needs to format his lappy' is inbuilt in his HDD (he's not a technical person). I dun understand what that means. Can anyone help me?

If there is another similar thread here, can someone point me to it too? Thanks!

Read the posts I posted in this thread before.

Kwein
27-10-2008, 09:15 AM

the current promo sux, wait till they give out free extended warranty :D

huge_impact
27-10-2008, 07:20 PM
Read the posts I posted in this thread before.

Got it. Thanks bro!

Webtrons
27-10-2008, 09:23 PM
Get the Z from Canada, (I got z17 via MC2 Funan for S$4299), I wish I get the Canadian Z555 or Z590 which are much2 cheaper, especially with their current currency.

You can get Z17 (Z590 in Canada) with the price of z16 in Canada!
Or better yet get Z555 version, a bit better than Z16 (1600x900, 250gb, 3GB ram) for about Sing$2356 vs Sing$3199 in Singapore

www.sonystyle.ca

nero00
28-10-2008, 01:11 AM
there are no warranty if buy from overseas rite?

Dinorex
28-10-2008, 01:43 AM
i think can buy internation warrenty also right? but i think too much of a hassle to get it from there imo..

UchihaSasuke
28-10-2008, 02:37 AM
Hi..need some help about the warranty thing, on sunday i bought sr from 1 of the shop in sim lim square but upon reaching home, my bro find it too small, so decided to call the shop to ask for exchange to another bigger 1 which is of another series (of course more expensive so need top up) but the guy told me, i have fill up the form for the warranty card, so it require me to pay for the warranty card, since that guy say each laptop has a different warranty card, n he say it cost around 40+ - 50+, so wanted to ask is there such thing like every laptop have different warranty card or any other way i can exchange just by topping up for that laptop but not that 40+ - 50+ for that warranty card? :(

UchihaSasuke
28-10-2008, 02:38 AM
there are no warranty if buy from overseas rite?

Buy the international warranty loh, then u can service it anywhere in the world, provided there is a service center ^^

manics
28-10-2008, 08:33 AM
gf got a SR13G for 2499. free MS Office 2007 STE, mouse, 2 gig ram, casing about 2 months back

Sunday saw the best denki roadshow at vivocity selling at 2399 + some freebies

fur_blur
28-10-2008, 09:29 AM
Huh?

SR 13 retailing at best denki Taka at 2399 (inclusive GST and $100 rebate.....)yesteday leh....

steelhorse
28-10-2008, 10:26 AM
have sony's come down in price haven't looked at one in a while..are they reliable??

http://photo-shack.com/img/847cc55b7032108eee6dd897f3bca8a5.jpg

UchihaSasuke
28-10-2008, 12:55 PM
from what i know there is this promotion 2399 for sr 13 but not sure whether it is with a limited period or not. Free 3rd party mouse, casing n 2gb ram, free gift quite standard.

P.S Anyone know about that warranty card thing?

Thanks ^^

Webtrons
28-10-2008, 05:16 PM
When I was in SonySytle MetropolisMall Vancouver, I asked whether Sony sell International Warranty, they said Yes.

Email them for a sure thing.

Oh ya.. I heard they do 10% promotional on VAIO... I can't find it in the web, but they mention this in notebookreview forum.

If you do want to purchase in Singapore... go to MC2 Funan 4thfloor... ask for Nick Ong.. he is nice guy, and will throw some additional freebies.

Mike

i think can buy internation warrenty also right? but i think too much of a hassle to get it from there imo..

nero00
28-10-2008, 07:03 PM
When I was in SonySytle MetropolisMall Vancouver, I asked whether Sony sell International Warranty, they said Yes.

Email them for a sure thing.

Oh ya.. I heard they do 10% promotional on VAIO... I can't find it in the web, but they mention this in notebookreview forum.

If you do want to purchase in Singapore... go to MC2 Funan 4thfloor... ask for Nick Ong.. he is nice guy, and will throw some additional freebies.

Mike

do u knw how to ship from ca to sgp? i am interested with the z 007 edition

gerald27
28-10-2008, 08:03 PM
Hi..need some help about the warranty thing, on sunday i bought sr from 1 of the shop in sim lim square but upon reaching home, my bro find it too small, so decided to call the shop to ask for exchange to another bigger 1 which is of another series (of course more expensive so need top up) but the guy told me, i have fill up the form for the warranty card, so it require me to pay for the warranty card, since that guy say each laptop has a different warranty card, n he say it cost around 40+ - 50+, so wanted to ask is there such thing like every laptop have different warranty card or any other way i can exchange just by topping up for that laptop but not that 40+ - 50+ for that warranty card? :(

:eek: where you buy from ?!!

Forceware
28-10-2008, 09:06 PM

Tell the sales guy don't bull **** & write in to Sony Singapore.

UchihaSasuke
28-10-2008, 09:32 PM
Tell the sales guy don't bull **** & write in to Sony Singapore.

Write in as in letter or email? if email is it the contact us in sony sg website?

thanks

Forceware
28-10-2008, 09:34 PM
Write in as in letter or email? if email is it the contact us in sony sg website?

thanks

Actually call them is faster. Call the Customer Contact Center. I don't have the number.

CoolRock
28-10-2008, 10:13 PM
Get the Z from Canada, (I got z17 via MC2 Funan for S$4299), I wish I get the Canadian Z555 or Z590 which are much2 cheaper, especially with their current currency.

You can get Z17 (Z590 in Canada) with the price of z16 in Canada!
Or better yet get Z555 version, a bit better than Z16 (1600x900, 250gb, 3GB ram) for about Sing$2356 vs Sing$3199 in Singapore

www.sonystyle.ca (http://www.sonystyle.ca)

I don't see the Z590 from the site. Anyway, I can't find the international warranty option at the customize page as well. :s11:

Webtrons
29-10-2008, 01:33 AM
There is Z590. just click z555 and click modify/customize, it will direct you to z590.

I'm not sure about whether online will ship it internationally but if you ask/email/phone any sonystyle, they 80% chance will help you.

The best way is to ask someone to sent it for you and wrote it as a gift (try on your own risk with the custom)

I don't see the Z590 from the site. Anyway, I can't find the international warranty option at the customize page as well. :s11:

Webtrons
29-10-2008, 01:35 AM
There are only 700 of Z 007 and most of them went to Europe and the rest to USA.
Most Canadian usually opt for the cheaper version. So in this case you should try your luck.

do u knw how to ship from ca to sgp? i am interested with the z 007 edition

Firestone
29-10-2008, 01:50 AM
z 007 edition cost more than sgd 6k.. excluding shipping..

nero00
29-10-2008, 05:47 PM
not that expensive lar if u buy overseas

CoolRock
29-10-2008, 06:35 PM
anyone tried buying from canada yet?

Forceware
29-10-2008, 07:16 PM
Seems like there will be a whole lot of new VAIOs coming our way very very soon. :D

Dinorex
30-10-2008, 04:11 AM
Just got my z16 today. Pretty awasome machine. In some countries sony have fresh start option how I wish they have it here. So many bloatware n rubbish need to uninstall.

Btw which software you guys usually uninstall from the laptop?

gerald27
30-10-2008, 09:20 AM
Seems like there will be a whole lot of new VAIOs coming our way very very soon. :D
u got ur news from the monthly eNews letter from Sony ?? :D

to SIC the info .... here is the link >> http://support.sony.com.sg/mysony/mysonystatic/Nov08enews/index.html

btw i heard the CS, new FW & SR are available liao ... but i think have to wait till weekend to see the actual units

danxiaogui86
30-10-2008, 09:25 AM
What the new SR about?

gerald27
30-10-2008, 09:27 AM
SR2x series lor :s13: ...

i dunno the detailed specs also

Forceware
30-10-2008, 10:00 AM
u got ur news from the monthly eNews letter from Sony ?? :D

to SIC the info .... here is the link >> http://support.sony.com.sg/mysony/mysonystatic/Nov08enews/index.html

btw i heard the CS, new FW & SR are available liao ... but i think have to wait till weekend to see the actual units

But the email never say got LN, LV series all this... CS brown color farking farking awesome!

whattheiraq
30-10-2008, 10:53 AM
wa lao... Any body bought from canada with international warranty? if yes i hoot liao :s13::s13::s13:

tribal10
30-10-2008, 03:42 PM
anyone knows is there any promo for any sony laptop?juz wanan buy one for normal usage.Or should i wait till IT fare then buy.Advise?If IT Fare,when will the next one be?

CoolRock
30-10-2008, 05:47 PM
any new series can fight with the Z16 in terms of price and performance?

Seikirai
30-10-2008, 06:53 PM
does the singapore Z16 comes with WWAN/HSPDA capability? i don't see it anywhere in the local sony website, but it seems to be a standard feature in overseas model

Forceware
31-10-2008, 02:55 AM
any new series can fight with the Z16 in terms of price and performance?
CS Series. CS18. Just launched today.
http://www.sony.co.in/product/vgn-cs18gn
does the singapore Z16 comes with WWAN/HSPDA capability? i don't see it anywhere in the local sony website, but it seems to be a standard feature in overseas model
No. This is Stinkapore.

skyfiremage
31-10-2008, 09:35 AM
Hmm... noticed that the interest for Vaio TT here is a lot less than Vaio Z. Pre-ordered a black TT15GN two days ago. Was deciding between TZ & TT but in the end opted for TT in view of the better specs and attractive free gifts at the expense of heavier weight and shorter battery life.

For those interested, you can view the red TT16GN at SonyStyle Wisma and the black TT15GN at SonyStyle Junction 8.

skyfiremage
31-10-2008, 09:47 AM
anyone knows is there any promo for any sony laptop?juz wanan buy one for normal usage.Or should i wait till IT fare then buy.Advise?If IT Fare,when will the next one be?

Usually, Sony products are pretty much price-controlled including any promotions. Besides the Sony Singapore website, you can also visit http://www.juzz1.com.sg/ where they always upload their promo flyers online. For example, last weekend (25-26 Oct 08), they had the following offers for the 1st 5 customers only :

a. Sony VGN-FZ32G at $1299 (usual $2199)
b. Sony VGN-SZ75GN/B at $1999 (usual $2499)

http://www.juzz1.com.sg/promoflyers/20081022_AudioHseAdD%20FA%20revised.pdf

gerald27
31-10-2008, 01:23 PM
Looks like they updated their webby >> http://www.sony.com.sg/productcategory/it-personal-computer

Got SR2x, FW2x, CS & AW :lick: ~

cnbestz
02-11-2008, 01:15 AM
Hi everyone,
I'm thinking of buying one of e CR series..
Is CR good to use?? in terms of specs and durability etc
thxs!!

kl39717
02-11-2008, 01:25 AM
Hi everyone,
thxs!!

CS is better.

zachareth
02-11-2008, 01:47 AM
Hi everyone,
thxs!!

CR series has a loose battery problem. It's widely reported. U can check out the review on www.notebookreview.com

spicyboy
02-11-2008, 07:59 AM
Why buy CR when you have CS?

cnbestz
02-11-2008, 10:38 AM
Why buy CR when you have CS?

huh vaio got cs series??

kl39717
02-11-2008, 10:47 AM
huh vaio got cs series??

I was hoping that you read this (http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showpost.php?p=33389874&postcount=3855)!

cnbestz
02-11-2008, 02:08 PM
I was hoping that you read this (http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showpost.php?p=33389874&postcount=3855)!

Oops so sorry. I did read that but i juz kinda forgot abt it.
I read thru e specs of CS but yeah i dun really understand
Erm how isit better than cr?? (Sorry newbie here.)

And uh i was going thru websites of vaio this few days and i notice that after a series there is always some numbers and alphabet behind like eg. VGN-CS16G/T
what does the G and /T represents???

whattheiraq
02-11-2008, 05:26 PM
havey norm and best denki will do free upgrade to 3gb ram for z16.... any idea if price would drop soon?still same leh 3199

Da_Vinci
02-11-2008, 06:45 PM
havey norm and best denki will do free upgrade to 3gb ram for z16.... any idea if price would drop soon?still same leh 3199

Sony's pricing is more or less controlled. Hence u wont see a drop in price unless they are phrasing out the model. Usually for promotions, they will be issuing more freebies only.

iamlzw
02-11-2008, 07:32 PM
i cant decide between CS and SR... sob

gargamelesp
02-11-2008, 07:47 PM
just bought the new z16 and upgraded to 4 gig of ram!

however, im using the vga out to an external lg 22inch widescreen monitor and the screen keeps flickering quite badly

anyone facing the same problem knows how to solve it? thanks in advance!

runestyx
02-11-2008, 09:27 PM
Looks like the Z2x series will be in town shortly, finally with bluray drive since that has appeared on the TT.

http://www.sony-asia.com/product/vgn-z27gn

Does anybody know if there is an empty PCI-e mini slot to insert a WWAN card? And hopefully with antennas already routed?

~jayia
02-11-2008, 11:13 PM
just bought the new z16 and upgraded to 4 gig of ram!

however, im using the vga out to an external lg 22inch widescreen monitor and the screen keeps flickering quite badly

anyone facing the same problem knows how to solve it? thanks in advance!
wow! at what cost and where did u upgrade your ram? it didnt void the warranty did it?
i'm an owner of the z16 too (:
mine didnt flicker when i output it to a monitor :(

~jayia
02-11-2008, 11:14 PM
Looks like the Z2x series will be in town shortly, finally with bluray drive since that has appeared on the TT.

http://www.sony-asia.com/product/vgn-z27gn

Does anybody know if there is an empty PCI-e mini slot to insert a WWAN card? And hopefully with antennas already routed?
seems like the only difference is the bluray drive (:
wonder if could replace the cdrom drive with a extra battery or keep it empty or not :(
fujitsu has such an option!

Webtrons
03-11-2008, 12:47 AM
And premium carbon (it looks cooler than black carbon) :)

seems like the only difference is the bluray drive (:
wonder if could replace the cdrom drive with a extra battery or keep it empty or not :(
fujitsu has such an option!

gargamelesp
03-11-2008, 01:11 AM
i got my ram directly from juzz1 sony store at 159. the salesman told me that there was a major price drop from 300 just the week ago, but i figured 159 isnt that bad plus he did the installation for me, so i guess there should not be any issue with the warranty

could you tell me what res are you running on your laptop and monitor and what monitor are u using? the flickering is kinda irritating :(

~jayia
03-11-2008, 02:13 AM
i got my ram directly from juzz1 sony store at 159. the salesman told me that there was a major price drop from 300 just the week ago, but i figured 159 isnt that bad plus he did the installation for me, so i guess there should not be any issue with the warranty

could you tell me what res are you running on your laptop and monitor and what monitor are u using? the flickering is kinda irritating :(
i tried on both a HDTV, and a panasonic LCD monitor.
it worked too during my presentation at school on another projector..

perhaps u can try another device to see if the problem persists?

$159 is a tad expensive compared to funan/sls, but i think its a good price for something from sony! :)

zhengkit
03-11-2008, 11:29 AM
Upgrading the ram yourself will not void the warranty. Although it is not explicitly stated, the technicians would "close one eye" as long as you did not damage anything while doing so.

lovzly
03-11-2008, 12:34 PM
Hi there!! from $1499 now you can have a sony vaio laptop only at #03-25 Funan Digitalife Mall. We are the VAIO Professionals !

See yah!

http://www.techshout.com/images/sony-vaio-cr-notebooks.jpg

Firestone
03-11-2008, 01:01 PM

he's lying..
i got a quotation of 159 from the same shop 3 to 4 weeks ago. but in the end i got it from another shop in sls for 130. free installation as well.. rams that the 2 shops are selling is the same type...

no issue with warranty as well..
i got an official email reply from sony stating ram user upgrade themselves will not void warranty..

BTW:

Take note... the BD-ray drive will not be able to burn DVD-DL ... only can read..

lovzly
03-11-2008, 04:48 PM
ram prices may vary depending on the stocks, it drops tremendously fast specially after shows, if you bought your notebook and upgraded the ram in the same store, of course he will charge yolu low coz you buy from him the notebook.

regarding the prioce of ram, SLS and FUNAN is not the same. ussually SLS buy in bulk so they can sell cheaper also. Just like best bargain, they sell cheap coz they buy in bulks.

you can upgrade the ram anytime, it will not void your warranty, just be sure the ram you install is the same or compatible with your product. or else something bad might happen to your laptop.

mrlewis
03-11-2008, 05:24 PM
hi all

i dropped my Z16 last wednesday from the bench onto the carpetted flooring
from wad i see in the videos on youtube and sony's website about the given assured endurance of the set, i must say the at i am extremely disappointed with the Z on the "toughness" that they were advertising on.

The Hinge on the left and the right side actually broke off though i am still able to close and open the lid securely..

Sent it for repair and got it back today, but after examining it for a good 10 mins after i left the shop, i found the hinge to be able to "come off" and it seems that the bottom of the lcd screen and the casing is loose too from the repair.

the lid is also not as tightly closed when i close it (i.e doesnt touch the touch pad area totally) and closing of the lid is not that tight anymore..

i am really disappointed with the service of sony repairs though the customer service officers at Sony style IMM are fantastic.

am going to email sony and see what they can do about this..

Dinorex
03-11-2008, 08:04 PM
he's lying..
i got a quotation of 159 from the same shop 3 to 4 weeks ago. but in the end i got it from another shop in sls for 130. free installation as well.. rams that the 2 shops are selling is the same type...

no issue with warranty as well..
i got an official email reply from sony stating ram user upgrade themselves will not void warranty..

BTW:

Take note... the BD-ray drive will not be able to burn DVD-DL ... only can read..

Hey bro could you tell me which shop you got it from sls? I am also interested in upgrading my z16. TIA

CoolRock
03-11-2008, 11:07 PM
Is the z16 worth to buy? Price vs specifications vs quality. Looking at alot of mixed reviews. I wonder what would the z27 pricing be...

kl39717
04-11-2008, 02:25 AM
Is the z16 worth to buy? Price vs specifications vs quality. Looking at alot of mixed reviews. I wonder what would the z27 pricing be...

Most probably same pricing as the Z17.

Firestone
04-11-2008, 03:05 AM
Hey bro could you tell me which shop you got it from sls? I am also interested in upgrading my z16. TIA

i don't remember the shop name.. but on the back of the box, it state from memoryworld, which i would presume the original stocks came from there

Dinorex
04-11-2008, 03:11 AM
i don't remember the shop name.. but on the back of the box, it state from memoryworld, which i would presume the original stocks came from there

Ok thanks. Btw the way whats the model no. of the ram?

I ask sony about the upgrade and it cost 400+ for additional 2gb and need to wait for 2 weeks.

Firestone
04-11-2008, 03:45 AM
It says

transcend
TS256MSK64V1U

2gb memory module std
204p ddr3 1066 so-dimm
(256Mx64) (128Mx8/ 7-7-7)

Dinorex
04-11-2008, 04:31 AM
It says

transcend
TS256MSK64V1U

2gb memory module std
204p ddr3 1066 so-dimm
(256Mx64) (128Mx8/ 7-7-7)

thanks alot bro. will hunt for it tmr.

Kwein
04-11-2008, 09:15 AM
hi all

from wad i see in the videos on youtube and sony's website about the given assured endurance of the set, i must say the at i am extremely disappointed with the Z on the "toughness" that they were advertising on.

The Hinge on the left and the right side actually broke off though i am still able to close and open the lid securely..

Sent it for repair and got it back today, but after examining it for a good 10 mins after i left the shop, i found the hinge to be able to "come off" and it seems that the bottom of the lcd screen and the casing is loose too from the repair.

the lid is also not as tightly closed when i close it (i.e doesnt touch the touch pad area totally) and closing of the lid is not that tight anymore..

i am really disappointed with the service of sony repairs though the customer service officers at Sony style IMM are fantastic.

warranty covers drops meh? :s11:

mrlewis
04-11-2008, 01:15 PM
now the thing is that since they are advertising on the toughness of the laptop how come such a minor accident will cause the hinge to have such problems?....

Firestone
04-11-2008, 10:49 PM
toughness test only tested until 72 cm with power on, and 90 cm with power off.. in a controlled environment. eg. vertical drop

from bench to floor, probably it's 1.2m, and when dropped in actual, it's usually slant drop, hence impact is much greater (since it's concentrated on 1 spot)

mrlewis
04-11-2008, 11:40 PM
toughness test only tested until 72 cm with power on, and 90 cm with power off.. in a controlled environment. eg. vertical drop

from bench to floor, probably it's 1.2m, and when dropped in actual, it's usually slant drop, hence impact is much greater (since it's concentrated on 1 spot)

the 90cm video is dropped onto the side of the vaio.. more impact nearer to the hinge don't u think so?

bench to carpetted floor, in the library.. not those table height.. so i'll say its less den a meter tall unless u really wan me to go measure it =.=

anyway i'll juz wait for the company's reply bah.

CoolRock
05-11-2008, 07:15 PM
I feel for you man. Now I reconsidering about buying the Z16 liaoz.

cnbestz
05-11-2008, 07:53 PM
Hey ppl, wanna ask sth!!

I saw on the sony sg website that there's promotions on some models like free upgrade to 4GB etc.
Does it applies to all sony shops in spore???
Is these promotions only for once??? or after some other period then another one will come up???

Kwein
05-11-2008, 09:02 PM
I feel for you man. Now I reconsidering about buying the Z16 liaoz.

z owners dun go ard dropping our baby dude :s7:

Kwein
05-11-2008, 09:03 PM
Hey ppl, wanna ask sth!!

I saw on the sony sg website that there's promotions on some models like free upgrade to 4GB etc.
Does it applies to all sony shops in spore???
Is these promotions only for once??? or after some other period then another one will come up???

wait for the upcoming show definitely will got attractive promos ;)

gxelan
05-11-2008, 10:44 PM
hi all, finally decided to get a vaio after my 5yrs 9 mths toshiba lappie's wireless died...just asking for advice, do u guys tink its worth it to get the CS? or pay more to get the SR?

cnbestz
05-11-2008, 11:12 PM
wait for the upcoming show definitely will got attractive promos ;)

erm wad upcoming show???

fur_blur
06-11-2008, 01:32 AM
hi all, finally decided to get a vaio after my 5yrs 9 mths toshiba lappie's wireless died...just asking for advice, do u guys tink its worth it to get the CS? or pay more to get the SR?

I think SR.... they chuting new models for the SR series. feel that SR look more stylish and specs better. good buy if u have the spare dough.

kl39717
06-11-2008, 01:55 AM
erm wad upcoming show???

Either Sitex or Sonystyle year end promotion.
I believe that's when the Z2x arrives. ;)

RekcaJiH
06-11-2008, 11:52 AM
Hi

I had a VAIO Z16 Lappy, have a few more questions. Downgraded to XP.

1. There is 2 Graphic Card drivers, do i need to install both?
2. There is a Stamina Swtich and a S1 / S2 button. what are the differences??
3. When I use PowerPoint, the I adjust the text box etc, it seems to have a LONG...... Wait and it frickles. How?
4. I added another 2gb of RAM to make it 4gb. But only read 3gb on XP. Is it 3.5gb or 3gb? and the rest of the RAM go where?

Thank you...

Firestone
06-11-2008, 03:09 PM
Hi

I had a VAIO Z16 Lappy, have a few more questions. Downgraded to XP.

1. There is 2 Graphic Card drivers, do i need to install both?
2. There is a Stamina Swtich and a S1 / S2 button. what are the differences??
3. When I use PowerPoint, the I adjust the text box etc, it seems to have a LONG...... Wait and it frickles. How?
4. I added another 2gb of RAM to make it 4gb. But only read 3gb on XP. Is it 3.5gb or 3gb? and the rest of the RAM go where?

Thank you...

1. Vaio Z has 2 graphics card installed... you need install exactly the same as per instruction, which can be download from sony asia webby

2. stamina switch allow you to change between the 2 graphics card installed - intel 4500HD and nvidia 9300m GS. S1 / S2 = shortcut key.. you can assign what program you want

3. ?? No idea.. seems your PPT is corrupted?

4. 3gb for vaio Z. to get 4gb, need get vistaa x64

zhengkit
06-11-2008, 03:34 PM
For bros who want to upgrade their Z ram's. I think kingston's are the cheapest.

2G-$128
http://www.convergent.com.sg/productdetails.asp?ProductId=KVR1066D3S7%2F2G
1G-$62
http://www.convergent.com.sg/productdetails.asp?ProductId=KVR1066D3S7%2F1G

RekcaJiH
06-11-2008, 05:48 PM
1. Vaio Z has 2 graphics card installed... you need install exactly the same as per instruction, which can be download from sony asia webby

2. stamina switch allow you to change between the 2 graphics card installed - intel 4500HD and nvidia 9300m GS. S1 / S2 = shortcut key.. you can assign what program you want

3. ?? No idea.. seems your PPT is corrupted?

4. 3gb for vaio Z. to get 4gb, need get vistaa x64

Thanks....how to assign the shortcut? for the Stamina and speed, which is stamina and which is speed?

Firestone
06-11-2008, 06:44 PM
Thanks....how to assign the shortcut? for the Stamina and speed, which is stamina and which is speed?

your Z should have the program (vaio control centre) installed alrdy... press and hold either S1 / s2 button for about 3 sec. that should bring up the menu for you to edit...

stamina = left side, with the word stamina - Intel 4500
speed = right side with the word speed - nvidia 9300m :s22:

crseven
06-11-2008, 11:08 PM
Anyone get lappy skin from armourone?

http://i377.photobucket.com/albums/oo212/armourone/SZ90_1.jpg

http://i377.photobucket.com/albums/oo212/armourone/S5-B650.jpg

http://i377.photobucket.com/albums/oo212/armourone/P1090488.jpg

Seems easy to apply the skin:

http://armourone.blogspot.com

RekcaJiH
07-11-2008, 03:47 PM
your Z should have the program (vaio control centre) installed alrdy... press and hold either S1 / s2 button for about 3 sec. that should bring up the menu for you to edit...

stamina = left side, with the word stamina - Intel 4500
speed = right side with the word speed - nvidia 9300m :s22:

Thanks... but for XP can assign too? i pressed but no effect

tingyuan
07-11-2008, 08:27 PM
anyone using Sony Vaio Z26GN/B? any problem
does this laptop have any express card, and e-Sata port?

mikengtw
07-11-2008, 09:30 PM
anyone using Sony Vaio Z26GN/B? any problem
does this laptop have any express card, and e-Sata port?

Just out of curious does this model here in SG ? Z26 ? I thought they have only
Z16 or Z17 ..

jpgnfX
08-11-2008, 03:18 AM
hi all

im a user of the z16 and i too feel that the build quality is quite fragile
hold in hand can hear *creaks* one..

jpgnfX
08-11-2008, 03:19 AM

nice share! thanks!

wonder if they keyboard labels will come off easily not, cos thats my main concern.
if not i wouldnt really like to use the keybaord cover
my prev lappie the keys all "smeared" away le :(

xtraxion
08-11-2008, 09:07 AM
when is th TT series coming out?

anyone knows?

kl39717
08-11-2008, 09:27 AM
when is th TT series coming out?

anyone knows?

It's out since yesterday (07/11/2008).

xtraxion
08-11-2008, 10:17 AM
cool~

thanks!

mikengtw
08-11-2008, 11:07 AM
cool~

thanks!

So which model are you looking at ? There is TT15 to 17 ? I am looking
at TT15 wonder anyone out there got the set , would be nice can report
how is it ...

CoolRock
08-11-2008, 11:44 AM
TT series only 11.1" right?

xtraxion
08-11-2008, 11:51 AM
i am thinkin of getting the TT17....

xtraxion
08-11-2008, 11:52 AM
TT series only 11.1" right?

yup, thinkin of getting so tat i can bring it to school next year....

more for my school projects and stuffs....

currently using asus m50vm at home....

mikengtw
08-11-2008, 03:12 PM
i am thinkin of getting the TT17....

Wa you cool man paying almost $4k plus , why not chose the the TT15
would be more than enough . No offend to you just want to help you in
cost saving .. now times are bad.

tingyuan
08-11-2008, 04:58 PM
Just out of curious does this model here in SG ? Z26 ? I thought they have only
Z16 or Z17 ..

I saw it at SONY CATLOGUE (NOVEMBER PROMOTIONS) Z26GN at S$3199, I thinking of getting this laptop, battery can last for 5.0hrs, come with vista, I think it don't have e-Sata port, got HDMI.

CoolRock
08-11-2008, 05:08 PM
where u saw the catalog from? 3199 i thought is z16?

nero00
08-11-2008, 07:20 PM

just buy the skin from that seller today for my sony sr. the skin is quite easy to apply. got a good service from him :D

xtraxion
08-11-2008, 09:12 PM
Wa you cool man paying almost $4k plus , why not chose the the TT15
would be more than enough . No offend to you just want to help you in
cost saving .. now times are bad.

hi bro, yup, you are absolutely right, went down to sony today....

T17 selling at $4499.....

not worth it....i think the only diff is the HDD size & it's bluray only....

all that cost another $1k+ compare to the T15.....

mikengtw
08-11-2008, 09:58 PM

That why I try to warn you before you start to pay for something that
way out of budget, it is best you look at TT15 should be more than enough
for your daily work. For me I also looking at the TT15 might get the set soon
have been compare older model like TZ and TT .

So come to my conclusion would be TT15 after long thinking is it worth to get
or not. After compare with all the feature hardware level TZ & TT.

gerald27
08-11-2008, 11:14 PM

tt17 gotch carbon fibre body also ahh ... i got say before :D

that's one also big diff between the models which don't have such a body ~

Firestone
09-11-2008, 12:13 AM
all tt got carbon fibre body lah... else the weight will be different liao...
only difference is that tt17 is premium carbon type...

meaning that the carbon fibre is not black dye coated, it's lacquered with a clear coating, to show off the nice weave..

fur_blur
09-11-2008, 01:29 AM
Just browsed through the Sony website.... wow the SR 26 specs seem as good as Z16 except for the usage of DDR3 rams and Carbon fibre body.... Seems promising~

ctdpong1
09-11-2008, 01:40 AM
where u saw the catalog from? 3199 i thought is z16?

http://www.kmt.com.sg/img.jpg

dancioleem
09-11-2008, 06:46 AM
hi bro/sis i want to get a sony VAIO but my buget below 2k which model should i buy as i am new to sony laptop thks.

gerald27
09-11-2008, 10:43 AM
hi bro/sis i want to get a sony VAIO but my buget below 2k which model should i buy as i am new to sony laptop thks.
CS Series :look: ~

gxelan
09-11-2008, 12:31 PM
was looking at the SR25 and the SR26...seems that the price difference of ard 300 dollars only give a dedicated GPU and Vista Business instead of the Integrated graphics and Vista Home premium in SR25...

Just like to ask u guys for opinions is it worth the extra 300 for it? Does having a dedicated GPU mean that the lappie wld have a lower batt life then?

Da_Vinci
09-11-2008, 12:39 PM
was looking at the SR25 and the SR26...seems that the price difference of ard 300 dollars only give a dedicated GPU and Vista Business instead of the Integrated graphics and Vista Home premium in SR25...

Just like to ask u guys for opinions is it worth the extra 300 for it? Does having a dedicated GPU mean that the lappie wld have a lower batt life then?

Imo depends if u need the functions in vista business. Having a dedicated performance means your system is able to deal with games which are more graphics intensive.

If you were to ask me, with dedicated graphics, you get lower batt life, however the difference is not significant.

If you are getting it purely for home use, no gaming involved, then the SR25 might suffice.

ayurism
09-11-2008, 12:59 PM

maybe u can consider this http://www.sony.com.sg/microsite/vaio/products/vaio_cr/vgn_cr353g/index.html
now 1699. previously was 1999. if u buy at
sony style imm, u will not only get casing and mouse. u will also receive a sony 4gb mini thumbdrive and a card reader. its worth buying if u have budget less than 2k.

ayurism
09-11-2008, 01:02 PM
does anyone knows why my laptop has a slow booting?

gxelan
09-11-2008, 02:11 PM
Imo depends if u need the functions in vista business. Having a dedicated performance means your system is able to deal with games which are more graphics intensive.

If you were to ask me, with dedicated graphics, you get lower batt life, however the difference is not significant.

If you are getting it purely for home use, no gaming involved, then the SR25 might suffice.

ooh....i will most prob not use it for any gaming, even if there is , it wld b some light gaming.I wld most likely use it for sch work as well as for watching dvds only..

So I reckon that the SR25 will suffice?

Da_Vinci
09-11-2008, 03:59 PM
ooh....i will most prob not use it for any gaming, even if there is , it wld b some light gaming.I wld most likely use it for sch work as well as for watching dvds only..

So I reckon that the SR25 will suffice?

well, it actually depends. With $300 more, you get a dedicated GPU, more hard disk space, Fingerprint sensor, and vista business.

It is up to you to weigh if you need these extras. In terms of economical value, definitely more worth it to get SR26.

But looking from another perspective, even if you are not going ultilise the extras, it's futile, the additional $300 can be put to greater use. Maybe be used to purchasing the extended warraty etc.

CoolRock
09-11-2008, 06:55 PM
Thanks for the picture. The specs seem awfully similar to the Z17 and Z16 respectively. :s22:

http://www.kmt.com.sg/img.jpg

Antillas
09-11-2008, 09:13 PM
z16 and z26 the only difference is only ram and hdd size?

Vulpix
09-11-2008, 09:19 PM
Finally put a bloody 7200rpm drive in.

kewl
09-11-2008, 11:15 PM
SO where did u get that brochure from that has the z26 information? I went to the sony shops and nobody knew when the z26 is coming out? It would be stupid to buy the z16 now only to have the z26 launch in another week for the same price

skyfiremage
10-11-2008, 12:10 AM
Woo...hoo... collected my Vaio TT15GN/B yesterday.

http://img340.imageshack.us/img340/701/vaiottfreegiftsgj0.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

fur_blur
10-11-2008, 12:40 AM
z16 and z26 the only difference is only ram and hdd size?

Wrong, you get the following things different:-

1) implementation of stamina mode which also uses a diff graphics card.
2) Type of ram: Z series uses ddr3 Rams sticks instead compared to DDR2
3) Type of chasis: Z uses carbon fibre
4) Weight:Z 1.48 compared to SR 1.96
5) 13.1" wide (WXGA++: 1600 x 900) TFT colour display (Clear Tough LCD [Rich Colour])

SR wins in

1) Graphics ATI Mobility Radeon™ HD 3470
2) better webcam
3) bigger screen but no "rich colour"

Any wrong info given on top, others are free to update.

fur_blur
10-11-2008, 12:42 AM
One other thing...
If i am not wrong, SR series are made in china and Z series are made in Japan. This above point needs to be proven when someone actually buys the SR2X series.

ctdpong1
10-11-2008, 12:49 AM
SO where did u get that brochure from that has the z26 information? I went to the sony shops and nobody knew when the z26 is coming out? It would be stupid to buy the z16 now only to have the z26 launch in another week for the same price

From my letter box. It's a Sony Year End Promotion brochure starting 14Nov to 4Jan. I would suggest that you wait for the new model to release as the price of Z26 is identical to Z16, somemore with improvement spec.

itzdrizzling
10-11-2008, 01:06 AM
Woo...hoo... collected my Vaio TT15GN/B yesterday.

http://img340.imageshack.us/img340/701/vaiottfreegiftsgj0.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

Woah cool! Can put up some pics of your TT for us to see? :)

Anyway, does anyone have a red TT?

gxelan
10-11-2008, 07:11 AM
well, it actually depends. With $300 more, you get a dedicated GPU, more hard disk space, Fingerprint sensor, and vista business.

It is up to you to weigh if you need these extras. In terms of economical value, definitely more worth it to get SR26.

But looking from another perspective, even if you are not going ultilise the extras, it's futile, the additional $300 can be put to greater use. Maybe be used to purchasing the extended warraty etc.

erm..like to correct u becuz as stated frm the webbie, SR26 only have vista business and a dedicated GPU over SR25..

hdd space, fingerprint sensor are also similar in SR25..so mayb its nt of that much economical value anymore???

Antillas
10-11-2008, 08:55 AM
Wrong, you get the following things different:-

1) implementation of stamina mode which also uses a diff graphics card.
2) Type of ram: Z series uses ddr3 Rams sticks instead compared to DDR2
3) Type of chasis: Z uses carbon fibre
4) Weight:Z 1.48 compared to SR 1
5) 13.1" wide (WXGA++: 1600 x 900) TFT colour display (Clear Tough LCD [Rich Colour])

SR wins in

1) Graphics ATI Mobility Radeon™ HD 3470
2) better webcam
3) bigger screen but no "rich colour"

Any wrong info given on top, others are free to update.

bro think u see wrongly, i was comparing Z16 and z26 not sr :p

Vinified
10-11-2008, 09:15 AM
SR 26 out already? where to see the specs?

skyfiremage
10-11-2008, 09:56 AM
Woah cool! Can put up some pics of your TT for us to see? :)

Anyway, does anyone have a red TT?

Some additional pictures

http://img222.imageshack.us/img222/5705/vaiottunboxednw1.jpg

http://img338.imageshack.us/img338/5944/vaiottfrontyr9.jpg

http://img145.imageshack.us/img145/3031/vaiottsidewz2.jpg

CoolRock
10-11-2008, 01:57 PM
bro, how's the first feel of your TT? 11.1" screen big enough?

mikengtw
10-11-2008, 09:48 PM
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3189/3019342744_10963929ec.jpg
Count me in too.. as I brought it on Sunday too, today just it in my office right now.

gerald27
11-11-2008, 12:08 AM
nicee ...

i also waiting to see a red TT :lick: ~~

SBS_Transit
11-11-2008, 01:26 AM
To all the SR, Z and TT users.
May i know the LxB of your power adapters ?
Thanks!

skyfiremage
11-11-2008, 06:53 AM
For bros who have bought Vaio notebooks, may I know how soon will Sony send us the email with option to purchase extended warranty after registering the Vaio via My Sony online? I have already received the email from My Sony indicating that my warranty registration is successful.

Vinified
11-11-2008, 01:48 PM
Hey anyone used SR12/13 for a few months already?
I'm thinking of buying a silver SR26 but i'm afraid the hand rest area will get dirtied very easily..

Stephy
11-11-2008, 02:02 PM
mine is a cheapo CR323..everytime also kana electric shock...:s22:

zhengkit
11-11-2008, 06:47 PM

Its printed in the year end promotion catalog.

zachareth
11-11-2008, 09:56 PM
Hi I am very interested to buy Vaio FW as a desktop replacement. However I am very afraid to get a unit with bad/faulty pixels (had bad experience b4 with other brand). Are the Sony screens mostly problem free? Pls feel free to give ur 2 cents.

mikengtw
11-11-2008, 10:55 PM
Hi ...

Does anyone knows what kind of ram my notebook using since I know is a DDR3 type,
cause my Sony VGN-TT15GN is onboard 2GB. Thinking of self upgrade to 4GB DDR3 ,
but check on the Sony website sg does not show much details on it.

Would anyone care tell me what type of DDR3 ram are compatible to my notebook..
thanks...

runestyx
11-11-2008, 11:03 PM
its sad that none of the vaios have wwan options, its almost 2009 and no wwan is crazy for such portable notebooks

zachareth
11-11-2008, 11:20 PM
Hi ...

Does anyone knows what kind of ram my notebook using since I know is a DDR3 type,
cause my Sony VGN-TT15GN is onboard 2GB. Thinking of self upgrade to 4GB DDR3 ,
but check on the Sony website sg does not show much details on it.

Would anyone care tell me what type of DDR3 ram are compatible to my notebook..
thanks...

if using ddr3 then is most likely 1066mhz or 800mhz. Ur processor most likely montevina processor support up to 1066mhz. y dun you open up the ram cover and look urself? If onboard 2GB then is most likely 2x1GB Ram pieces. So u wan 4GB must buy 2x2GB ram. But DDR3 is currently more than twice the price of DDR2. So I suggest u dun buy.

If really must get get 2x2GB 800mhz DDR3. But will cost u a bomb.

zachareth
11-11-2008, 11:24 PM
Hey anyone used SR12/13 for a few months already?
I'm thinking of buying a silver SR26 but i'm afraid the hand rest area will get dirtied very easily..

SR series has a loose-fitting rubber modem/LAN cover on the right hand side.

zachareth
11-11-2008, 11:26 PM
Anyone has faulty pixels on their Vaio notebooks? I am concerned with quality of Sony LCDs cuz I am seriously tinking of getting a Vaio this wkend. Need a laptop urgently 4 work.

danxiaogui86
11-11-2008, 11:36 PM
SR series has a loose-fitting rubber modem/LAN cover on the right hand side.

even urs too? i tot it isolated problem. mine is :D

zachareth
11-11-2008, 11:51 PM
even urs too? i tot it isolated problem. mine is :D

I dun own an SR. I wanted to buy but I checked it out throughly and discovered this issue and so did not buy.

BTW anyone know any store to buy laptop that has 7 day exchange policy? I asking cuz if got bad pixel - even just 1 - I want to exchange. Challenger or Harvey Norman got this policy?

kl39717
12-11-2008, 11:33 AM
I dun own an SR. I wanted to buy but I checked it out throughly and discovered this issue and so did not buy.

BTW anyone know any store to buy laptop that has 7 day exchange policy? I asking cuz if got bad pixel - even just 1 - I want to exchange. Challenger or Harvey Norman got this policy?

Maybe you can buy directly from Sony Style?

mikengtw
12-11-2008, 11:36 AM
if using ddr3 then is most likely 1066mhz or 800mhz. Ur processor most likely montevina processor support up to 1066mhz. y dun you open up the ram cover and look urself? If onboard 2GB then is most likely 2x1GB Ram pieces. So u wan 4GB must buy 2x2GB ram. But DDR3 is currently more than twice the price of DDR2. So I suggest u dun buy.

Thanks for the reply , yes I did open up inside looks like the 2GB is onboard already. Only
left one slot left , what I am worry don't know which is the right one to be use if I buy the
DDR3 1066Mhz or 800Mhz .

kl39717
12-11-2008, 11:42 AM
Thanks for the reply , yes I did open up inside looks like the 2GB is onboard already. Only
left one slot left , what I am worry don't know which is the right one to be use if I buy the
DDR3 1066Mhz or 800Mhz .

You can download this program called CPU-Z (http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php) to check your RAM speed.

mikengtw
12-11-2008, 12:10 PM
You can download this program called CPU-Z (http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php) to check your RAM speed.

Thanks now downloading ,will check out the speed .. Just one question if I brought the 1066Mhz version , will it work on my Sony TT if it is run on 800Mhz version ? I need to
double check cause I may need to buy one.. thanks for your help.

kl39717
12-11-2008, 12:13 PM
Thanks now downloading ,will check out the speed .. Just one question if I brought the 1066Mhz version , will it work on my Sony TT if it is run on 800Mhz version ? I need to
double check cause I may need to buy one.. thanks for your help.

It will work, but it'll be down clocked to 800Mhz.

Arcanell
12-11-2008, 01:54 PM
For bros who have bought Vaio notebooks, may I know how soon will Sony send us the email with option to purchase extended warranty after registering the Vaio via My Sony online? I have already received the email from My Sony indicating that my warranty registration is successful.

i received it in like 3 days...

Kwein
12-11-2008, 02:06 PM
wtf now Z27 and Z26 is "upgrade" version of 17 and 16 with the same price :(

kl39717
12-11-2008, 02:15 PM

It had always been this way.
:look:

blksheep
12-11-2008, 02:28 PM
hey all,

sorry need help :) I own a Sony Vaio (duh lol) pcg-7Q6P, cant find anything about it on the web.
But more importantly I wanna upgrade my graphics card and RAM. Any advice/suggestions/warnings?

Please help lol thanks

zachareth
12-11-2008, 03:33 PM
DDR3 1066Mhz or 800Mhz .

Take out the 2GB ram piece and check the sticker on it. It should state the exact model and speed. Just buy another exact same one.

zachareth
12-11-2008, 03:37 PM
Maybe you can buy directly from Sonystyle?

I live in TPY so went down to Junction 8 Sony Style. I asked them if they have a 7 day exchange policy. The salesperson told me I can check on the spot but if once bring home then anything wrong even in 1 day then it's not his problem anymore.

CoolRock
12-11-2008, 03:39 PM
is $3199 a justified price for the upgraded z16 which is Z26 specifications as compared to other brands? I am deciding between ASUS and Sony Vaio

zachareth
12-11-2008, 05:07 PM
Hi anyone using Vaio FW? How is it?

kl39717
12-11-2008, 06:39 PM
I live in TPY so went down to Junction 8 Sony Style. I asked them if they have a 7 day exchange policy. The salesperson told me I can check on the spot but if once bring home then anything wrong even in 1 day then it's not his problem anymore.

Then how come you don't want to check on the spot?

mikengtw
12-11-2008, 08:02 PM
It will work, but it'll be down clocked to 800Mhz.

Hi kl39717

Yes I have check it show 800Mhz , like dat I think will get the ram and try out
since you said it should work ... Thank you very much for your help.

kl39717
12-11-2008, 08:04 PM
Hi kl39717

Yes I have check it show 800Mhz , like dat I think will get the ram and try out
since you said it should work ... Thank you very much for your help.

I did not say it should work. I said it will work.
:)

mikengtw
12-11-2008, 08:04 PM
Take out the 2GB ram piece and check the sticker on it. It should state the exact model and speed. Just buy another exact same one.

Hi..

I did check the ram is already build on board , so there is no way of removing it. That why
a empty slot for me to add on another ram, which I am plan to buy this coming weekend..

mikengtw
12-11-2008, 08:05 PM
I did not said it should work. I said it will work.

Sorry for my mistake ..miss type my word.

kl39717
12-11-2008, 08:07 PM
Hi..

I did check the ram is already build on board , so there is no way of removing it. That why
a empty slot for me to add on another ram, which I am plan to buy this coming weekend..

So the Sony VAIO TT ram is built onto the motherboard & can't be removed?

mikengtw
12-11-2008, 08:19 PM
So the Sony VAIO TT ram is built onto the motherboard & can't be removed?

Yes you are right .. That why got a single slot for it to add on .

zachareth
12-11-2008, 09:59 PM
Then how come you don't want to check on the spot?

Of course will check on the spot. But wat if cock-eye u miss 1 dead pixel at the corner, or if suay suay 1 day later a stuck pixel develops. At least must have some guarantee can come back for exchange within 7 days.

Actually I have done some hard searching and found a store that will allow exchange within 7 days even if got 1 bad pixel. But u must pakat with the salesperson.

Webtrons
13-11-2008, 12:06 AM
I feel your pain.

It is happen so fast in less than 2 months after first Z was launched.

Z27 = Z17 + Premium Carbon LCD + Blue Ray

Err I also notice the harddisk is now 7200 rpm

kl39717
13-11-2008, 01:24 AM
Of course will check on the spot. But wat if cock-eye u miss 1 dead pixel at the corner, or if suay suay 1 day later a stuck pixel develops. At least must have some guarantee can come back for exchange within 7 days.

Actually I have done some hard searching and found a store that will allow exchange within 7 days even if got 1 bad pixel. But u must pakat with the salesperson.

So which store is it?

zachareth
13-11-2008, 01:34 AM
So which store is it?

Aiyah cannot say mah. Afterward the salesperson get in trouble if everybody go there and ask for 7 days guarantee

kl39717
13-11-2008, 01:38 AM
Aiyah cannot say mah. Afterward the salesperson get in trouble if everybody go there and ask for 7 days guarantee

Actually buying from Sony Style is safer if you ask me.

CoolRock
13-11-2008, 09:10 AM
how about SITEX? I wonder if we buy from there, cannot instantly open the box and test right? Somemore confirm there alot of people ones, the person who sell you the laptop will have patience to help u? =/

skyfiremage
13-11-2008, 09:40 AM
bro, how's the first feel of your TT? 11.1" screen big enough?

11.1" screen is certainly big enough for me as I have been using a 10.6" Vaio T for quite some time and was quite comfortable with it :)

skyfiremage
13-11-2008, 09:46 AM

I got my Vaio TT during the pre-order and was given a free 1Gb upgrade. Underneath the battery cover, there is only one slot visible which is unused. That means the 2Gb already in the system is either onboard or there is another slot elsewhere not visible with a 2Gb module. With the free slot, I can either add one 1Gb to give a total system memory of 3Gb or add a 2Gb module to get 4Gb total. The free gift I got is a Corsair 1Gb DDR3 1066MHz. It is running nicely in my system now.

I was in Sim Lim a few days ago and saw a 2Gb Transcend DDR3 So-Dimm 1066MHz going for $139.90. Hope the above info is useful.

skyfiremage
13-11-2008, 09:52 AM
i received it in like 3 days...

Thanks Bro! I have emailed Sony too and they have told me that I should receive it within 2 working days though I have not received mine even though the email that informed me that my warranty registration is successful was received on Mon. Hopefully the email will come today.

mikengtw
13-11-2008, 11:35 AM
I got my Vaio TT during the pre-order and was given a free 1Gb upgrade. Underneath the battery cover, there is only one slot visible which is unused. That means the 2Gb already in the system is either onboard or there is another slot elsewhere not visible with a 2Gb module. With the free slot, I can either add one 1Gb to give a total system memory of 3Gb or add a 2Gb module to get 4Gb total. The free gift I got is a Corsair 1Gb DDR3 1066MHz. It is running nicely in my system now.

I was in Sim Lim a few days ago and saw a 2Gb Transcend DDR3 So-Dimm 1066MHz going for $139.90. Hope the above info is useful.

Thank you friend for telling me , yes I will get one soon this coming weekend . You lucky got
another free ram . Anyway this is my first time using the Sony TT I loving it, much better than
my good old SZ55 which weight 1.95kg.

zachareth
13-11-2008, 04:39 PM
how about SITEX? I wonder if we buy from there, cannot instantly open the box and test right? Somemore confirm there alot of people ones, the person who sell you the laptop will have patience to help u? =/

My experience is that at places like Comex and Sitex. A lot of vendors quite dishonest and sell renewed laptops instead of brand new. I saw at recent Comex that some customers boxes already opened before - the sticker seal is open - but they use clear tape to tape over and then in front of customer they use a penknife to open, pretending that it's unopened.

kl39717
13-11-2008, 05:03 PM
Sony Style actually offers the same free gifts as what the dealers offered. So that's why nowadays, a lot of smart buyers rather buy from Sony Style instead of squeezing and wasting time at the fair.
Thank you friend for telling me , yes I will get one soon this coming weekend . You lucky got
another free ram . Anyway this is my first time using the Sony TT I loving it, much better than
my good old SZ55 which weight 1.95kg.

Remember to get a 2GB for dual channel purposes.
My experience is that at places like Comex and Sitex. A lot of vendors quite dishonest and sell renewed laptops instead of brand new. I saw at recent Comex that some customers boxes already opened before - the sticker seal is open - but they use clear tape to tape over and then in front of customer they use a penknife to open, pretending that it's unopened.
A VAIO is never sealed before for your information. But the pretending in front of a customer really puzzles me.

zachareth
13-11-2008, 05:30 PM
A VAIO is never sealed before for your information. But the pretending in front of a customer really puzzles me.

Actually I wasn't talking bout Vaio in this case. Was another brand.

zachareth
13-11-2008, 05:31 PM
Actually buying from Sony Style is safer if you ask me.

Y safer? Please elaborate. If really safer then I'll go to them.

kl39717
13-11-2008, 05:41 PM
Y safer? Please elaborate. If really safer then I'll go to them.

Think about it this way. Sony Style is a direct store for Sony itself.
Let's say if you really have a problem with your VAIO & you go back to them to ask for an exchange & that they don't want to change for you, you'll probably be unhappy & starts to make noise right? Do you think they will because of 1 VAIO and spoil their image? I doubt they will.
:s7:

CoolRock
13-11-2008, 05:49 PM
Sony Style actually offers the same free gifts as what the dealers offered. So that's why nowadays, a lot of smart buyers rather buy from Sony Style instead of squeezing and wasting time at the fair.

Well, I doubt Sony Style does price drops like what PC shows does, especially during the last day? :s22: