PDA

View Full Version : Sony Vaio laptop users Thread

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21

AM13579
19-10-2006, 09:53 PM
Latest news: The new SZ3X(SZ32,SZ38) series will hit the shelf sometime next week if the stock arrives in time.

cstanhwz
20-10-2006, 04:46 PM
Latest news: The new SZ3X(SZ32,SZ38) series will hit the shelf sometime next week if the stock arrives in time.
Already saw the SZ38 at Sony Gallery at the Wisma and Paragon.

The SZ38 using Toshiba 120G harddisk this time.

Got an extra sticker at the left palm rest too. Forgot what sticket it is. LOL

sky37
20-10-2006, 10:12 PM
Anybody knows if the Vaio in Singapore are affected by the Sony battery recall???

AM13579
20-10-2006, 10:50 PM
Anyone has lobang for the new SZ3X? If can offer better price, please PM me all the new SZ3X price for consideration. Thanks.

cstanhwz
21-10-2006, 12:03 PM
Anybody knows if the Vaio in Singapore are affected by the Sony battery recall???
http://www.css.ap.sony.com/VAIO/Website/General/AnnDetails.aspx?ID=57850

http://asia.cnet.com/reviews/notebooks/ontheradar/0,39050980,61960536,00.htm

jogkworldcup06
21-10-2006, 02:41 PM
may I know what is WIRELESS ZERO CONFIGURATION SERVICE?
THANKS. :)

wjzkev75
21-10-2006, 05:52 PM
yes sg vavio will be hit by the recall but as stated it is still working out which are the affected model.

so let's wait for it then in the mean while work harder on those batteries hahahhaha

and_who
21-10-2006, 08:18 PM
VGN-SZ38GP/C- any of you peeps here know whether theres a previous model using the yonah instead of the merom and whether its still available? just fell in love with looking at the online cat-so many features and only 1.7 kg!! man!!! haha anyone knows where its possible to get cheaper models for this series? thanks guys! price at sony is 3999...way too steep for a poor guy like me...
then again..im a poor guy with dreams... :)

AM13579
21-10-2006, 08:23 PM
Sony Singapore website has finally removed the old SZ-23,SZ-25,SZ-28 and replaced by the new SZ-32,SZ-34,SZ-38

Refer here:
http://www.sony.com.sg/vaio/index.html?page=sonystylehome

If you are buying the Vaio SZ series, get the new SZ-3X. It is Core 2 Duo processor compared to the Core Duo processor in SZ-2X model.

and_who
21-10-2006, 08:27 PM
haha bro...the reason why i asked whether there are old models available is that i cant afford the price of the newer ones :) am ok with yonah chips cos theres not much performance difference- any of you guys have any idea of the going rate of the older models i.e sz28 and where its possible to buy them i.e sls? thanks!

MeAnie180
24-10-2006, 02:36 AM
Anyone going to do a Vaio MO?

AM13579
24-10-2006, 02:34 PM
Understand that HK is selling cheaper. Anyone knows how to order it and also warranty?

and_who
24-10-2006, 02:43 PM
Im in for the MO.. unfortunately dont have a lobang tho...but if theres a MO im interested

chuachongchee
24-10-2006, 11:38 PM
hi all..

i'm looking to buy a sony vaio for my work.. should be doing onsite one... so for viao i undertand that there is no "body protection" like IBM's roll-cage, but have a basic HDD protection...

jus wanna know... anyone have had any problems with vaio's exterior... dont look too sturdy to me la... haha... and the ram, hdd watever, how long usually last???

bigbuffalo
25-10-2006, 05:35 AM
If u need rugged construction, then go for either IBM or Panasonic Toughbook. VIAO is more for office use and careful commuting. It isn't made for rough use. How long it can last is subjective depending on how u care and use the notebook.

wjzkev75
25-10-2006, 10:36 AM
hi a quick question any TX 20s owner here? do anyone think it is possible to up the tx20s hdd to the tx30s hdd?

Spongy
25-10-2006, 11:16 AM
Any TX37 users here ? I am still considering between TX37 and LG TX express. Any reviews on the heat, fan noise and playing games like Sims ?

Spongy
26-10-2006, 03:44 PM
Just got a TX37. Anyone else using it ? How do I check for dead pixel ? Any programs that I can download ?

jogkworldcup06
26-10-2006, 05:40 PM
WELL YOU CAN MAKE USE OF YOUR WINDOWS DESKTOP COLOURS TO CHECK =:p

Diavonex
26-10-2006, 06:07 PM
Try these 3 primary colors of light:

http://img88.imageshack.us/img88/91/bluehs3.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

http://img93.imageshack.us/img93/8327/greenbq5.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

http://img93.imageshack.us/img93/8952/redzy7.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

huntzer
26-10-2006, 07:39 PM
two more colors....black and white....

Diavonex
26-10-2006, 07:46 PM
Image on your screen are made up of blue, green and red pixels.

Black=all 3 colours pixel OFF

White=100% blue+100% green+100% red

As such it not necessary to test with black and white.

huntzer
26-10-2006, 07:47 PM
in another word, no need to test with 3 primary color?

Diavonex
26-10-2006, 07:51 PM
http://img88.imageshack.us/img88/5218/color3gg7.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

Diavonex
26-10-2006, 07:53 PM
in another word, no need to test with 3 primary color?

To make sure there's no bad blue , green and red pixels.

WhiteShadows
26-10-2006, 10:36 PM
Just got a TX37. Anyone else using it ? How do I check for dead pixel ? Any programs that I can download ?

Test Programmes:
(Dead pixels, gradients etc..)
gradlin-v0.2-fs.exe (http://xtknight.atothosting.com/tools/gradlin-v0.2-fs.exe) - RGB gradient test screens
Checkemon (http://www.ykwong.com/checkemon.html) - Test screens for solid color, gradients & more.
Monitor Test (Patel) (http://www.patel.com.au/2005040101.html) - Test screens for gradients, solid colors, geometry & more.
Pixel Persistence Analyser (http://www.benchmarkhq.ru/fclick/fclick.php?fid=302)- Tests for pixel persistence (aka 'ghosting') in LCD displays. Interprets user adjustments to test screens, and returns numerical values for Gamma Factor, Transition Time, scrolling text readability and other criteria.

Spongy
27-10-2006, 10:28 AM
Thanks so much for all your replies. I will definitely check it since Best Denki has a 7 days guarantee for dead pixels.

tzehou
27-10-2006, 11:53 AM
http://www.leadtecsolutions.com/sale/lcd.jpg

Hi guys, I happen to have some very good quality LCD screen protectors for our Sony VAIO. Got it free when my bro and I each purchase a VAIO TX last week. But we don't find a need for it, thus, will be selling it. It will fit all models of the VAIO TX range and is made is Japan.

Only have 2 of these for sale. 1st come 1st serve. Selling it for only $20 each. Cash & carry. Interested parties can contact me directly at 90600944. Self collect at SengKang.

Thank you.

WhiteShadows
28-10-2006, 02:33 PM
Hey guys, may I know where you all got your sony notebooks from? :)

ZeroDivine
28-10-2006, 07:19 PM
got it from renova last time

bigbuffalo
28-10-2006, 11:59 PM
got my tx37 from south asia computers

Spongy
30-10-2006, 12:14 AM
Test Programmes:
(Dead pixels, gradients etc..)
gradlin-v0.2-fs.exe (http://xtknight.atothosting.com/tools/gradlin-v0.2-fs.exe) - RGB gradient test screens
Checkemon (http://www.ykwong.com/checkemon.html) - Test screens for solid color, gradients & more.
Monitor Test (Patel) (http://www.patel.com.au/2005040101.html) - Test screens for gradients, solid colors, geometry & more.
Pixel Persistence Analyser (http://www.benchmarkhq.ru/fclick/fclick.php?fid=302)- Tests for pixel persistence (aka 'ghosting') in LCD displays. Interprets user adjustments to test screens, and returns numerical values for Gamma Factor, Transition Time, scrolling text readability and other criteria.

Very nice stuff. Thanks again.

Spongy
30-10-2006, 12:15 AM
Hey guys, may I know where you all got your sony notebooks from? :)

Got it from Best Denki as they have 7 days warranty against dead pixels. Just checked and mine don't have dead pixels. :)

Spongy
31-10-2006, 09:46 AM
Anyone has wifi issues with their TX 37 ? I get this weak signal and cannot even detect my network although can detect my neighbours network. Nothing wrong with my router as my acer 8214 can detect my own network.

Anyone has similiar issue or have any solutions ?

shooting_air
02-11-2006, 03:19 AM
I got mine from SONY gallery at Wisma

almerickso
07-11-2006, 09:12 PM
Guys, do you know where i can get a replacement batt for the PCG-C1XA? I just recently got one and decided it was worth saving.

I have the extended batt for it but its dead and the single stick batt is missing so i was hoping to buy a replacement single stick. If you guys know a cheap place to get pls reply.

Thanks a lot =)

jogkworldcup06
12-11-2006, 04:48 PM
anyone here affected by the vaio battery recalled? :o

jogkworldcup06
23-11-2006, 02:38 PM
no one? :eek: :eek: :eek:

GreenHorn
23-11-2006, 02:39 PM
Got mine from Harvey Norman (Funan) - SZ28GP.

AM13579
24-11-2006, 11:16 AM
This thread is alive again :)

ZeroDivine
24-11-2006, 12:07 PM
jogk: ur vaio affected? so how? get new battery song wad :P

wakeup2asmile
24-11-2006, 06:33 PM
sz28 funan

jogkworldcup06
24-11-2006, 07:17 PM
jogk: ur vaio affected? so how? get new battery song wad :P

ya...i called sony
they told me around one month time
new battery? so warranty how? =:p

ZeroDivine
24-11-2006, 09:31 PM
warranty should give u for the new battery bah :P

sambuca
28-11-2006, 08:57 AM
i bought a fe25gp.
anyone has this model as well?

wakeup2asmile
28-11-2006, 10:15 AM
quick review?

Tucksoon
28-11-2006, 11:03 AM
Sorry if I WOLS, Vaio C is available (read today's Digital Life). I think it's going to be a big hit :o

http://laptoping.com/wp-content/sony_vaio_c.jpg

ZeroDivine
28-11-2006, 01:45 PM
yeap definitely.. at around 2 kg, 13 inch and nice form factor. I think it's pretty affordable too.

Tucksoon
28-11-2006, 04:04 PM
yeap definitely.. at around 2 kg, 13 inch and nice form factor. I think it's pretty affordable too.

My guess the price would be sub 3k region. It's like a hippy version of SZ series. If the keyboard is the normal type (I hate the SZ ones), I would be tempted to buy =:p

waitforyou
29-11-2006, 02:20 AM
Sorry if I WOLS, Vaio C is available (read today's Digital Life). I think it's going to be a big hit :o

http://laptoping.com/wp-content/sony_vaio_c.jpg

anyone got the specs? don't have DL & I can't find it on their local vaio site

wakeup2asmile
29-11-2006, 04:20 AM
http://www.learningcenter.sony.us/assets/itpd/notebooks/c_series/article/specs.html

Here is the link. its a 5 lbs notebook, 13.3 inch, gma950, Battery life up to 4.5hrs.

Looks like a direct competitor to the macbook. Pricing is expected to be between 2 to 3k sgd if converion is done directly from the US website.

Antillas
29-11-2006, 04:35 AM
Basically there are 2 models for C series. higher end C15 got dedicated graphic nvidia go 7400
C15 only got black and white colours while C13 got pink, green, white, grey and black
specs for C15:
Processor T5500 (1.66 GHz)
Microsoft® Windows® XP Professional
Processor System Bus 667MHz
512MB DDR2 (upgradeable up to 2 GB)
Hard Disk 80 GB (HDD Recovery Storage:7GB, C:40GB, D:Remain ) Serial ATA, 5400 rpm
Optical Drive DVD±RW/±R DL/RAM Drive
Graphics Accelerator NVIDIA® GeForce® Go 7400 with NVIDIA® TurboCache™ Video Memory 256MB
Display 13.3" Wide (WXGA: 1280 x 800) TFT colour display (Clear Bright LCD: Single Lamp, Standard View)
Interfaces USB 2.0 x 2 ・i.LINK (IEEE 1394) S400 (4pin) ・S-Video Out connector ・Network (RJ-45) connector (100BASE-TX/10BASE-T) ・Headphone jack (stereo mini) ・Microphone jack (stereo mini) ・Monitor connector (Analog RGB, mini D-sub 15pin) ・Modular (RJ-11) connector ・Docking Station connector ・Memory Stick slot (Standard/Duo Size compatible, MagicGate compatible, Memory Stick PRO compatible, High-speed data transfer compatible) 
Compatible Memory Cards Memory Stick (Standard/Duo Size, MagicGate, Memory Stick PRO) ・SD Memory Card ・xD-Picture Card ・Multi Media Card
Wireless LAN Integrated Wireless LAN IEEE 802.11a/802.11b/802.11g ・Intel® PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network Connection ・Data rate: maximum 11Mbps (802.11b)/54 Mbps (802.11a/g)\・Frequency: 5 GHz (802.11a), 2.4 GHz (802.11b/g)
Bluetooth® Bluetooth® standard version 2.0+EDR ・Output: maximum +6dBm ・Frequency: 2.4 GHz
Modem V.92 and V.90 Compliant
PC Card Slot ExpressCard™/34 x 1
Audio Intel® High Definition Audio compatible ・ 3D audio (Direct Sound 3D support) ・Built-in stereo speakers
Keyboard/Input Device ca 19 mm Key pitch / 2.5 mm Key stroke ・86 Keys ・Intelligent Touchpad
Battery VGP-BPS2C Lithium-ion battery: up to 4.0 hours of use
Dimensions (W x H x D) 329.6 × 36.7 - 37.2 × 235.6 mm
Weight 2.3 kg (including the supplied battery)
Included Software AV Entertainment: VAIO Zone 1.4, Image Converter 2 Plus Video Edit/Playback: DVgate Plus 2.2, Adobe® Premiere® Elements 2.0, VAIO Edit Components 6.0, WinDVD 5 for VAIO DVD Creation: Click to DVD 2.5 Music: SonicStage CP 4.0, SonicStage Mastering Studio 2.2, SonicStage Mastering Studio Audio Filter 2.0 Still Image/Photo: PictureGear Studio 2.0, Adobe® Photoshop® Elements 4.0 (Installer) Home Network: VAIO Media 5.0 Tool: Roxio DigitalMedia SE 7, Norton Internet Security™ 2006, Adobe® Reader® 7 Utilities: VAIO Control Center 1.1 Support: VAIO Update 2.1, VAIO Recovery Utility 2.6
Warranty One year

C13 is generally same specs bt with integrated graphics.

i tink C15 shld be reasonably priced. hopefully its below 2.2k as taiwan is only selling 39800NT which is like 2k sgd only.

wakeup2asmile
29-11-2006, 04:59 AM
attractive

cyngeiw
29-11-2006, 06:48 PM
this model is OMG....

Im gg sitex tmr to check it out for my gf...she likes this soo much man....(of cos the pink one)...will keep you guys update abt the price tmr....nice!...haha...

ZeroDivine
29-11-2006, 07:18 PM
there's still one colour scheme I miss with the vaio..
the electric purple... they had it with their old vaio.. why not now? :( sad

waitforyou
29-11-2006, 07:45 PM
guys, tks for the specs. I bet its going to be Sony best selling model if indeed it is price around 2.2k

riddzone
29-11-2006, 09:21 PM
Planning on buying my first VIAO laptop; however having a dilemma on which one to buy. Any recommendations ?

Mainly use for schoolwork.

Eyeing on VGN-FE38GP but it's exp.

Tucksoon
29-11-2006, 10:02 PM
I seriously doubt Sony will price Vaio C so much lower than the SZ. Like that SZ nobody buy liao. Perhaps the C13 will be priced in the sub 2k region. The C15 should be more ex.

Tucksoon
29-11-2006, 10:10 PM
http://www.sony.com.sg/vaio-c/

I guess we will find out tml in SITEX :s22:

irvinchua
30-11-2006, 12:45 AM
Just wondering guys.... Sony taiwan offers a 2 year warranty... and since im going there in a bout a week i was thinking of getting a vaio c there....

Is the 2 year warranty valid in singapore as well (international warranty?)?... i mean if it spoils in sg will they repair it for me or do i have to send it to taiwan or sumthing... any help is appreciated thx in advance :)

ZeroDivine
30-11-2006, 12:21 PM
I guess Vaio C will be sub 3k, probablu 2.9 something. Cannot be too cheap otherwise they will spoil the market for SZ series.
Anyway for vaio warranty it's local. You can extend it to international by paying around $90 sing if I am not wrong.

edit
aftyer looking at the spec I think C13 can be priced around 2k plus there and C15 will be around 2.5ish I guess...

wakeup2asmile
30-11-2006, 12:32 PM
I think will be btw 2.5 to 3.3 k though. Saw this seller in yahoo auctions selling at around that price.

zx
30-11-2006, 01:21 PM
Just called customer service. Vaio C13 is S$1999 and C15 is S$2499 :)

wakeup2asmile
30-11-2006, 01:24 PM
That is cheap!

rayshaw23
30-11-2006, 01:27 PM
just want to know what are the specs difference between tx-37GP and the new tx-47GP? i believe one costs more... thanks...

Tucksoon
30-11-2006, 04:05 PM
Back from SITEX. Vaio C is available for pre order only, none on display. Delivery will be after 13th Dec according to the promoter.

Yes. The prices are very attractive. Surprisingly C13 is $1999 and C15 is $2499 :s7:

But the keyboard looks the same as the SZ series. I should be giving it a miss, again =:p

Tucksoon
30-11-2006, 04:09 PM
just want to know what are the specs difference between tx-37GP and the new tx-47GP? i believe one costs more... thanks...

According to the brochure I got (sorry no scanner now), prices are:

TX36GP: $2799
TX46GP: $2999
TX47GP: $3699

SZ38GP: $3999
SZ32GP: $2999

C13GP: $1999
C15GP: $2499

rayshaw23
30-11-2006, 04:16 PM
i think there is also a $200 difference between TX-37GP and TX-47GP. i was deciding between the two and i found out that there is no difference between the 2 models except for the price. can anyone confirm this? thus feeling very troubled before i decide to invest in one. what i remember is that the TX-37GP comes with a carrying case and a docking terminal (which i tink will be useful). but the TX-47GP doesnt come bundled with the docking terminal and charge $200 more. but, who would like to buy an older model when there is a newer model in town, unless the spec of the newer model doesnt justify the $200 difference... thanks...

Tucksoon
30-11-2006, 04:33 PM
i think there is also a $200 difference between TX-37GP and TX-47GP. i was deciding between the two and i found out that there is no difference between the 2 models except for the price. can anyone confirm this? thus feeling very troubled before i decide to invest in one. what i remember is that the TX-37GP comes with a carrying case and a docking terminal (which i tink will be useful). but the TX-47GP doesnt come bundled with the docking terminal and charge $200 more. but, who would like to buy an older model when there is a newer model in town, unless the spec of the newer model doesnt justify the $200 difference... thanks...

My advice is to spend another $200 for peace of mind lor :)

blacklotus
30-11-2006, 05:52 PM
Back from SITEX. Vaio C is available for pre order only, none on display. Delivery will be after 13th Dec according to the promoter.

Yes. The prices are very attractive. Surprisingly C13 is $1999 and C15 is $2499 :s7:

But the keyboard looks the same as the SZ series. I should be giving it a miss, again =:p

Any reason why? What's wrong with the keyboard? Thanks.

Antillas
30-11-2006, 10:03 PM
Just called customer service. Vaio C13 is S$1999 and C15 is S$2499 :)
C15 is at a ripoff price...basically not difference from C13 except for the go 7400. not reali worth paying 500 more for it. :s22:

ZeroDivine
30-11-2006, 10:15 PM
yeah definitely.
C13 looks like a good buy!

waitforyou
30-11-2006, 10:16 PM

http://www.sony.com.sg/vaio/Comparison/popup.html

From there, the only different I can see is the Optical Drive. TX-47GP got support DVD-RAM while TX-37GP don't.

Tucksoon
01-12-2006, 12:50 AM
C15 is at a ripoff price...basically not difference from C13 except for the go 7400. not reali worth paying 500 more for it. :s22:

Another diff is win xp professional for C15. That kinda explains the $500 :s13:

Nonetheless shame we can't view Vaio C in SITEX, else I predict it will sell even more.

Tucksoon
01-12-2006, 12:52 AM
Any reason why? What's wrong with the keyboard? Thanks.

I can only say SZ series has a unique keyboard. A love or hate affair. For me it's the latter =:p

rayshaw23
01-12-2006, 01:02 AM
http://www.sony.com.sg/vaio/Comparison/popup.html

From there, the only different I can see is the Optical Drive. TX-47GP got support DVD-RAM while TX-37GP don't.
thanks for the link... i found out from the page that there is fingerprint security for TX47 and some other security chip... dvd ram... anyone knoes what thats for?

Antillas
01-12-2006, 03:26 AM
Another diff is win xp professional for C15. That kinda explains the $500 :s13:

Nonetheless shame we can't view Vaio C in SITEX, else I predict it will sell even more.
unless they giving 2 copies of xp pro but still doesnt justify the 500 :s13:

huntzer
01-12-2006, 08:49 AM
At least more customer has more choice on 13.3" laptop... W7j or C15.

waitforyou
01-12-2006, 10:54 AM
If anyone is interested to take a look at the vaio c, i saw it at sony paragon yesterday.

zx
01-12-2006, 12:40 PM
ask you guys something, let's say I want to buy the Vaio C, but it only comes with 512mb ram, and I want 1GB ram, what do I do? Ask them to upgrade for me or I buy one more piece of 512mb and ask them to install for me? Notebook virgin. :D

ZeroDivine
01-12-2006, 12:48 PM
can buy and put urself in...
I prefer to buy 1 gig stick, upping it to make 1.5 gig,

n0b0dy
01-12-2006, 12:58 PM
Actually quite disappointed at the the prices at sitex... Seems like its the same as what you pay for at Harvey Norman lor.

Is there no other distributor or retailer for sony products?

And to be frank i feel Harvey's staff are like the typical salesman, you cant get any other technical info other than reciting the specs in the brochure...

Does anyone have the link to TX's detailed user guide?
Or something more technical than the brochure?

climber99
01-12-2006, 01:39 PM
since its harvey norman and not any funan/sls retailer, think its possible to bargain for extras?

AM13579
02-12-2006, 08:35 AM
After seeing the C15, I would rather buy the SZ. C15 is bulky and is definitely not as sleek as the SZ.

ZeroDivine
02-12-2006, 12:33 PM
actually I think C series looks a bit like the old S series, except it's not as curvy at the hinge there.
I prefer old S series to the new one.
but of course the spec SZ is way beefier, esp in terms of battery life due to the option of integrated graphics and white LED
I wonder why don't they use old S form factor. It looks nicer than SZ IMO

MeAnie180
02-12-2006, 01:25 PM
Agreed! Old type S more chio, but it had other issues.

ZeroDivine
02-12-2006, 05:35 PM
the fan is abit noisy :(
but at least the keyboard is more 'normal' unlike the current SZ whereby most have either a love or hate relationship with it :P

Patrick the HW Guy
02-12-2006, 11:47 PM
ask you guys something, let's say I want to buy the Vaio C, but it only comes with 512mb ram, and I want 1GB ram, what do I do? Ask them to upgrade for me or I buy one more piece of 512mb and ask them to install for me? Notebook virgin. :D
My friend just bought the C13 (Green) today.

NICE!!!

She upgraded another 512MB to 1GB with a $99 top up.

Personally, I find the notebook is really well done and at $2k, it's really very well price for a SONY VAIO!! Its price is comparable to other brands of similar spec (without the design, software, magic and branding).

BTW, erm.... I didn't approach the harvey salesman. There are a few from Sony Shop one, they are really telling you all about the notebook instead of hard selling it. I had a nice chat with him about the SZ and C notebook. Quite nice of them. I'm eyeing the SZ and he was telling me how he love his. lol

ZeroDivine
03-12-2006, 01:28 AM
yes the C is definitely value for money at 2k considering it's a SONY.
SZ will still have its place due to much longer battery life and the weight issue

AM13579
03-12-2006, 04:13 PM
I think the C13/C15 are mainly to replace the FJ series. The SZ is targeting at working professional while C13/C15 is targeting at a different customer base, the same as FJ.

As far as built, design and price are concerned, the SZ and C has its own advantages.

But I think Sony strategy of the C is to compete in the mass market, because they know very well they cannot reduce the price of SZ to compete. It will damage the SZ image it created.

Smart move from Sony.

oceanboi21
03-12-2006, 05:20 PM
my bets are that the C is a china product. while SZ will continue to be a premium product made in japan.

Patrick the HW Guy
03-12-2006, 08:24 PM
I see, so that's the reason for the price of SZ.

MIJ...

Is "MIJ" really worth the extra?

ZeroDivine
03-12-2006, 10:46 PM
depends lo... I heard some people's SZ also are known to break down though it's MIJ , dunno how true. I heard this from my friend?

MeAnie180
04-12-2006, 02:07 AM
My 3yr old VAIO MIJ, never been to service centre, now using to type this reply what do you think?

wakeup2asmile
04-12-2006, 03:18 AM
my sz still can last 23mins as i typed with 7%batt left. running on std. I guess batt life n wt is the differentiating factor here. If u dun need an ultraportable, the vaio c imo beats the macbook.

sambuca
04-12-2006, 11:18 PM
i bought a fe25gp.
anyone has this model as well?
anyone has trouble shutting down or restarting?
i cant seem to do that.
click restart then nothing happens

Tucksoon
04-12-2006, 11:37 PM
Some comments after playing with Vaio C during SITEX:

- Nice coloured 'accent lines', I like the black and grey with orange lines
- Dimpled palm rest provides more grip for ppl with sweaty palm (looks good too)
- Good built and stylish

Dislikes:
- No webcam
- Only 2 USB ports
- SZ-like keyboard (subjective)
- Quite thick for a 13.3"
- Promoter dua me on first day no display set, say have to pre order. :s27:

whatscooking
05-12-2006, 08:40 PM
Thinking of upgrading to the SZ38. How much do u guys think my S28GP (1.6Mhz, 512mb, 60GB, 9700GPU, DVD writer) will fetch?

oceanboi21
05-12-2006, 10:07 PM
made in japan usually only this few,

casing + lcd+ battery but not the major components. all this add up to more than 50% of the lappy thats why its qualified as MIJ. but in actual fact most parts are made in taiwan or china ,etc

Antillas
05-12-2006, 11:47 PM
assemble in japan as well thats y can be counted as mij?

whatscooking
06-12-2006, 07:04 PM
I love MIJ.

jogkworldcup06
06-12-2006, 07:11 PM
assemble in japan as well thats y can be counted as mij?

not really...that means the parts are made else where to cut cost...
thats why you see different models so many different prices.. :)

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v165/JOGK0351/KOKOROvenus1.gif

blackgraphite
07-12-2006, 12:43 AM
planing to buy TX series.. any lobang for me using cc interest free instalment?

bigbuffalo
07-12-2006, 09:41 PM
planing to buy TX series.. any lobang for me using cc interest free instalment?
You can try south asia computers at funan.

lkduy212
09-12-2006, 11:25 PM
I want to buy any model of Sony VAIO SZ Series. Any one have contact me at this number : 91497691
Interested in SZ 3x Series

shamuslee
10-12-2006, 02:09 AM
i ish stil lub my vaio TR5GP. :D

jogkworldcup06
12-12-2006, 04:58 PM
just collect my battery from sony
its a one to one exchange
i asked her why recall?
she told me it get heats up easily
but my ok leh so far
nevermind lor since the replacement is free
wa comes in neat packing also
sony really damned good service
and my vaio already no more warranty

climber99
15-12-2006, 08:25 AM
hmmm looking at the vaio c article which just launch....it seems they changed the specs abit...
i noticed the xp home now they put xp pro...and the pink one the kb now is white...nicer now

but when you go to the sony singapore website...some the new specs not reallie reflected...including the colour change for the kb

waitforyou
15-12-2006, 10:53 AM
I think the XP Pro for the C13 is a mistake by HWZ, the newspaper ad in Digital Life mention is XP Home

climber99
15-12-2006, 04:09 PM
I think the XP Pro for the C13 is a mistake by HWZ, the newspaper ad in Digital Life mention is XP Home

hmm so anyone can confirm these at the shops?

miracle21
15-12-2006, 06:30 PM
hmm so anyone can confirm these at the shops?

hmm i juz bought a pink vaio c13 bout 5/6 days ago and it's xp home.

anyway it's not here yet cuz no stock and regarding the white kb, u hav any links for it? i haven't heard anythin bout it and the sales ppl didn't say either.

climber99
15-12-2006, 08:53 PM
hmm i juz bought a pink vaio c13 bout 5/6 days ago and it's xp home.

anyway it's not here yet cuz no stock and regarding the white kb, u hav any links for it? i haven't heard anythin bout it and the sales ppl didn't say either.

http://www.hardwarezone.com.sg/articles/view.php?cid=18&id=2140&pg=2
think you check out the sony sg site some parts show white some show black

trytogetit
16-12-2006, 03:52 PM
so at SITEX , the Vaio-C got display?
hmm......
too bad they didnt have stock too
or else it will be a lot poeple buying
really turn people off, when u buy stuff but no stock........

anyway that VAIO-C is really good offer

climber99
16-12-2006, 08:49 PM
yup sitec they got display

miracle21
16-12-2006, 11:42 PM
http://www.hardwarezone.com.sg/articles/view.php?cid=18&id=2140&pg=2
think you check out the sony sg site some parts show white some show black
my vaio came today! black kb )=
seems like there's no white kb in sg. (yet?)
anyway they come in very limited stock, harvey norman only had 5, thank goodness my sales person grabbed it for me.

waitforyou
16-12-2006, 11:55 PM
how much did you pay for it? any free stuff?:)

miracle21
17-12-2006, 12:56 AM
how much did you pay for it? any free stuff?:)
the usual $1999.
free upgrade of ram to 1G, with the usual lappy bag and mouse. =D

Steve_Tan
17-12-2006, 10:36 AM
hi, anyone using the Sony Vaio and experience battery lifetime gettig shorter? I have a SZ28 and it always at 100% charging when on A/C. Now the standby time is getting lesser and lesser. Called up Sony, they said battery have no warranty. Gosh.... Some brand gives 6 to 12 months warranty on battery and mine not even the minimum. Some more purchase the kit for 3 years warranty for the laptop. :(

cstanhwz
17-12-2006, 12:34 PM
I seem to have problem with my SZ18 battery too. I did not use the laptop for some time and did not connect the battery but left it fully charge.

Yesterday I on it with the battery connected and noticed that the charging is 0% for the 3 hours that it was on AC power. When I disconected the AC power, the battery did not work.

So I continued to charge the battery. I noticed that the battery LED only blinks once in a while. Finally, the charging starts to go up slowly until it was 49%. I disconnected the AC and off the laptop.

This morning, I continue to charge the battery and it shows 49% charging. After about 10 minutes on AC, it shows 100% charged and the battery LED stops blinking.

Guess this is not normal. Or was the battery completely depleted when I did not use it for some time that cuase this problem?

ZeroDivine
17-12-2006, 02:06 PM
when you leave the battery completely unused, it will slowly deplete.

cstanhwz
17-12-2006, 10:03 PM
Ermm...would like to checkwith the SZ18 users.

When charging the battery, is the battery LED supposed to blink or steady on?

Sorry. Did not use the laptop for some time already. Don't remember... Thanks.

trytogetit
18-12-2006, 03:34 PM
ya i think so too
heard from other laptop batt thread

wakeup2asmile
18-12-2006, 04:37 PM
I seem to have problem with my SZ18 battery too. I did not use the laptop for some time and did not connect the battery but left it fully charge.

You are not supposed to leave the battery at full charge if u are not using it for a long time. For storage it shld be kept at 40% to 50% of charge. If u notice, when u first got ur lappy it is at half charge too. You can try reconditioning ur batt by a few cycles of full charging and discharging. If this fail chances are u have to get a new batt.

wakeup2asmile
18-12-2006, 04:44 PM
hi, anyone using the Sony Vaio and experience battery lifetime gettig shorter? I have a SZ28 and it always at 100% charging when on A/C. Now the standby time is getting lesser and lesser. Called up Sony, they said battery have no warranty. Gosh.... Some brand gives 6 to 12 months warranty on battery and mine not even the minimum. Some more purchase the kit for 3 years warranty for the laptop. :(
mine is always charging too at 100%. called sony they say that it is ok to leave the batt in. As a precaution i always take it out when on ac. i dun think any brans will give 6 to 12 months wty on batt. 3 months most probably as a batt is a consumable.

wakeup2asmile
18-12-2006, 04:45 PM
Ermm...would like to checkwith the SZ18 users.

When charging the battery, is the battery LED supposed to blink or steady on?

Sorry. Did not use the laptop for some time already. Don't remember... Thanks.
it is supposed to blink til 85% charged.

wakeup2asmile
18-12-2006, 04:49 PM
Guess this is not normal. Or was the battery completely depleted when I did not use it for some time that cuase this problem?
Neway it is not completely depleted but leaving the batt at 100% charge when not using for a long time has affected the battery's capacity to hold charge. Try re conditioning.

cstanhwz
18-12-2006, 10:29 PM
Ya...Re conditioning the batt now.

Charge and discharge.

Seem to be better. Now can charge to 70% then suddenly jump to 100%.

Previously charge to 49% then suddenly jusp to 100%.

But the battery still does not last...

Used for 15 minutes drop to 62% liao.

Haiz. May look like need to get a new batt le. But Sony batt cost over S$300 ...

There goes a part of my bonus.
Maybe should get the Macbook soon. LOL.

wakeup2asmile
18-12-2006, 11:18 PM
u wanna sell ur sz18? lolz

climber99
20-12-2006, 12:11 AM
the usual $1999.
free upgrade of ram to 1G, with the usual lappy bag and mouse. =D
so hows the performance of ur vaio c so far? any complaints?

trytogetit
20-12-2006, 04:14 PM
yeah we are waiting for some feedback
i`m aiming vaio c

BengKia369
20-12-2006, 07:32 PM
My wife aiming for Vaio C too!! Core 2 Duo wo!!! :D

Steve_Tan
21-12-2006, 08:47 AM
mine is always charging too at 100%. called sony they say that it is ok to leave the batt in. As a precaution i always take it out when on ac. i dun think any brans will give 6 to 12 months wty on batt. 3 months most probably as a batt is a consumable.
but sony says no warranty for battery.
I use thinkpad and they can customize charging level and they cut charging after fully charged, I just don't understand why sony don't have the option to do so. Quite disappointed with this, but overall can't find other fault with the SZ-series.

ZeroDivine
21-12-2006, 01:42 PM
Anyone else who has used C series can give some comments?
I might be getting it for my dad.. he says he needs a lappy at work.

wakeup2asmile
21-12-2006, 02:04 PM
but sony says no warranty for battery.
I use thinkpad and they can customize charging level and they cut charging after fully charged, I just don't understand why sony don't have the option to do so. Quite disappointed with this, but overall can't find other fault with the SZ-series.
cos thinkpad is still the most reliable notebook out there. Think its the only one with that feature too. Neway the sz series has a batt charging indicator that stops blinking when it reaches 85% charge. So probably u can use that as a gauge.

called sony, they say that the power to the batt should cut off when it is fully charge. But my laptop still shows charging at 100% so i always take them out as a precaution. anyone else has this problem?

ZeroDivine
21-12-2006, 06:27 PM
no SZ but S user here.. it's true that at 100 percent it still says 'charging' so I always take it out

miracle21
24-12-2006, 01:47 PM
so hows the performance of ur vaio c so far? any complaints?nope, so far am lovin it haha. working perfectly for me. doesn't overheat easily as well. can leave it on the whole day and don't feel super hot, as compared to other lappys. :)

billavin
24-12-2006, 05:39 PM
I using the SZ38GP and so far i do not have much problem with the battery though. very impressed with the battery =D

wakeup2asmile
25-12-2006, 12:23 PM
so urs does not show charging at 100%?

billavin
25-12-2006, 04:08 PM
so urs does not show charging at 100%?
nope .. when it reaches 100% . i will change to ac power and no charging sign being shown

climber99
25-12-2006, 11:38 PM
my sis went to best denki at century sq to get the vaio c but it seems the pink is out of stock island wide according to the sales guy...maybe nxt yr den got stock...dunno the price will drop or rise by then :slant:

Boeing787
26-12-2006, 02:34 PM
Gotton myself FE35GP , any other user of this model ? Know its not as popular as others because of the heavy and bulky design but I love it . Performance has met my expectations. :)

DragonsOfWinter
27-12-2006, 02:15 AM
those who bought a sony recently, can you tell me how the vista upgrade is going to be handled?

i want to get a sz-32 within these 2 days to enjoy the microsoft office and the ram upgrade but when i asked about the vista upgrade, the sales people have no idea and anyhow tell me..

and really they sales dunno their stuff

waitforyou
27-12-2006, 02:53 AM
those who bought a sony recently, can you tell me how the vista upgrade is going to be handled?

i want to get a sz-32 within these 2 days to enjoy the microsoft office and the ram upgrade but when i asked about the vista upgrade, the sales people have no idea and anyhow tell me..

and really they sales dunno their stuff

http://www.sony.com.sg/vaio/vista/index.html

littleprincey
28-12-2006, 03:10 PM
Anyone know where can get Sony Vaio paying via Giro Installment (Hitachi-leasing) for student? My friend needs to buy it.

ChocoVine
30-12-2006, 10:31 AM
I was so lucky to be able to buy the pink vaio C yesterday! Have been contemplating getting it ever since my mac powerbk appear the green line of death, but was told it's out of stock everywhere.

But yesterday, after I sold off my pbk, I went to the Paragon sony branch to try my luck. Intitally the guy told me that I have to wait for 4-6 week before the stock arrive and need a payment of 50% deposit. I was ready to do so when he received a call, telling him that there will be VERY limited stock coming in for the road show. Very nice of him to reserve me 1st. So instead of 4-6 weeks, I waited only 2 hours to receive my lovely blush pink vaio C! SO EXCITED!

Overall it's a very powerful machine, fast and slick (plus free upgrade to 1gb ram and free carrying case)! But the only setback is that, the hot air comes out from the right hand side, the area where your hand will be if you're using a mouse.

Well, nothing is perfect. But the outlook is good enough to make me rate it 9/10! :)

csuman
30-12-2006, 10:15 PM
I also will take 1 Vaio C in next few days . A price and design is really sweet . I prefer Black Espresso color . The Pink one is very nice but for ger only .

trytogetit
31-12-2006, 07:19 PM
good deal for u
keep us informed for those of you have bought the vaio c

bigboysg
01-01-2007, 12:59 AM
Did your friend buy a VAIO? So sad, I've just sold off my SZ18 due to light usage.
Got some other SZ accessories (docking station, extra AC adapter, VGP-CP8 Carrying Pouch) that I'll be getting rid off soon once I get around to it.
Guess I'll have to say goodbye to the Sony family for now :s7:

Antillas
02-01-2007, 10:59 PM
juz joined the vaio family. got a black vaio c15~

trytogetit
03-01-2007, 05:40 PM
any deal that u get?
care to sharE?

Antillas
03-01-2007, 05:49 PM
i got it from a bro in market place. quite a good deal all thx to dat bro. he selling for his fren who won it in a lucky draw. so plz dun flood me wif pm for the lobang =x. i notice the current promotion for c series c13 got free ram upgrade to 1gb while c15 only got free 1 yr international warranty. also the ram i got is a 512mb ddr2-533 instead of a ddr2-667.

jasliders
06-01-2007, 04:38 AM
I am using a TX47GO/B full specs at sony website,

looking to sell it urgently cause find it is too small for me.

It is only 2wks old and no disfunctional, everythng's good and used it to surf web only.

Anyone know where to sell it without losing too much.. bought at $3699 and midnight blue in color. Any advice appreciated.

Would want to sell quickly so can buy a replacement for the weekend.. sim lim square?

any feedback pls reply or email jasliders@hotmail

Antillas
06-01-2007, 04:54 AM
u can try selling it in market place of this forum

joeweeming
06-01-2007, 02:08 PM
juz joined the vaio family. got a black vaio c15~

sob.. i also got my C13G/Espresso Black yesterday, but there is no gree upgrade to 1gb...
i am in malaysia.....

but i got 1 backpack 1 carrying case 1gb tumbdrive and 3 gifts

Antillas
06-01-2007, 03:40 PM
sob.. i also got my C13G/Espresso Black yesterday, but there is no gree upgrade to 1gb...
i am in malaysia.....

but i got 1 backpack 1 carrying case 1gb tumbdrive and 3 gifts
u buy in malaysia? different promo from sg bah

zencro
07-01-2007, 08:07 PM
If I wanna buy in HK (cheaper there rite?), the only thing is that warranty must change to international rite? is there anything else to take note of?

oso, does it come with office ah?

fishcake2005
08-01-2007, 11:13 AM
Looking to let go of my Sony Vaio TX16GP Ultraportable (Cracked LCD) cheap. Ram have been upgraded to 1gig.

Still in working condition. Warranty registered with Sony Vaio Spore and will expire this Feb 07.

Buyer can consider replacing the LCD.

Interested parties, pls sms me at 97593051 for discussion. Selling off cheap.

ZeroDivine
08-01-2007, 12:32 PM
If I wanna buy in HK (cheaper there rite?), the only thing is that warranty must change to international rite? is there anything else to take note of?

oso, does it come with office ah?
vaios dont come with mic office
yea if u buy in HK better extend to intnl.. anyway HK prices are cheaper than SG

Antillas
08-01-2007, 03:03 PM
promotion for sony sz series foc msoffice...but sz quite exp

lappy80
09-01-2007, 04:14 PM
I'm looking to buy sony vaio Sz series . Anyone have one for sale , pm me !

fkfs9
10-01-2007, 03:16 PM
im thinking if now is a good time to get the vaio C? Or shld I say is today is a good time. My hands are itching to get one now.

fkfs9
11-01-2007, 09:09 AM
succumb to temptations and bought a Vaio already. Now I am thinking if I have an original XP Pro, can i upgrade my XP Home in my Vaio C.

Secondly the sales man say I need to burn my own recovery disc on 2 blank DVDs. Any idea how to go about doing it?

ZeroDivine
11-01-2007, 10:33 AM
under start-> programs
there's vaio recovery utility or something like that
then u choose: create backup.
you will require 2 dvds. One for the file system, and the other for the applications recovery.

fkfs9
11-01-2007, 11:37 AM
under start-> programs
there's vaio recovery utility or something like that
then u choose: create backup.
you will require 2 dvds. One for the file system, and the other for the applications recovery.

can i still back up after i install new softwares inside?

ZeroDivine
11-01-2007, 12:25 PM
Yes you can, because it will burn from the recovery partition in a hidden drive(default E:).

fkfs9
11-01-2007, 02:21 PM
Yes you can, because it will burn from the recovery partition in a hidden drive(default E:).

thank you very much! :)

riconeo
11-01-2007, 02:34 PM
I'm looking to buy sony vaio Sz series . Anyone have one for sale , pm me !

same too. have u got it?

zhangjm
13-01-2007, 11:03 PM
yeah, SZ really quite nice. I would be interested if anyone has a set for sale too. Looking out for TX series also! Drop me a PM if you have either one for sale!

waitforyou
20-01-2007, 07:17 PM
hi guys, what sleeve should I get for the C13?

ladyluck1801
21-01-2007, 07:16 PM
im always having trouble with the bluetooth in my vaio C series.....most of the time i got to restart the laptop b4 i can transfer photo fm my hp....sigh.....

Antillas
22-01-2007, 02:52 AM
hi guys, what sleeve should I get for the C13?
im using a zeroshock 3 12-13.3" sleeve, very tight fit. i tink a 14.1" will be better if u dun mind the lappy move abit inside

ZeroDivine
22-01-2007, 12:54 PM
I think sony sells the complimentary sleeve for the C series. they're quite colourful. should get that ..

phrozact
23-01-2007, 08:47 AM
Sorry if this has been asked before, but I am thinking of buying a Vaio from Japan, just wondering if I can install an English operating system into the laptop. The local Japanese laptops are quite a lot cheaper than the overseas English models that they are selling, so even though theres no warranty, I will still consider getting one as long as the operating system is English. Any other issues I should be aware of? Thanks for your help!

ZeroDivine
23-01-2007, 06:08 PM
If you get it, please extend the warranty to international. You will never know what can happen to an electronic device. Laptop repairs are always quite expensive :)

Having said that, you can install the OS no problem. Only issue here I think is the driver. If they use the same hardware parts as the overseas models, then perhaps you can just download the driver and install them manually later.

IMO, I would rather get it from HK or something. Still too much trouble reinstalling and finding drivers.

Spintronics
24-01-2007, 12:19 AM
Where is the best place to get SZ38? Is HK much cheaper compared to here? It's retailing at S$3,999 at Sony SG.

ZeroDivine
24-01-2007, 12:23 PM
not 'much' cheaper la, maybe about 1-200(At most) cheaper. Afterall, sony's pricing is kinda controlled isn't it?

climber99
24-01-2007, 04:20 PM
how about if get from US? US electronics supposed to be cheaper rite?

whimsical
24-01-2007, 07:08 PM

I heard from US customer its abit cheaper ar....but they still buy from spore leh....apparently tt customer got 4 sony vaio le....fierce fierce....

MeAnie180
25-01-2007, 12:22 AM
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16834117401&CMP=AFC-Dealnews&ATT=34-117-401

ZeroDivine
25-01-2007, 10:37 AM
yep it's sometimes cheaper there esp with their year end sale , rebates etc etc...

guozz1
27-01-2007, 11:53 PM
hi everyone i wonder if it has been asked before but.. is it possible to upgrade sz18's core duo to core 2 duo?

ZeroDivine
27-01-2007, 11:59 PM
nope I don't think it's possible

fattsheng
28-01-2007, 01:01 AM
hi everyone i wonder if it has been asked before but.. is it possible to upgrade sz18's core duo to core 2 duo?

http://www.vaioethics.com/blog/archives/2006/06/sz_3.html

This jap guy did it...

vofzxy
28-01-2007, 11:34 AM
just asking
any models to reccomend for studies usage?
i;m not very familar with vaio
budget is round 2400 ...

ZeroDivine
28-01-2007, 11:47 AM
vaio C loh... quite light, value for money and nice trendy colours

littleprincey
28-01-2007, 01:15 PM

sz18 using intel 945 gm. upgrading should not be a problem.

anyone got experience trying to put 4 GB ram (2 x 2 GB) into sony sz laptop. Does it work? I am thinking of putting pqi 2.5" 64 GB sata SSD into the laptop too.

vofzxy
30-01-2007, 12:53 AM
erm regarding sony VAIO, the web shows that their models are main VGN
but i have come across this PCG model
izzit an EOL or . . . .?

thanks

guozz1
30-01-2007, 01:42 AM
thanks fatt sheng for the link. notebookreview forums provides alot of info on SZ too. anywayi heard 2GB rams modules cost like $800.. Unless u've upgraded to vista.. having more than 2gb is as good as useless.

By the way.. those who purchased their sony vista compatible notebooks on or after oct 06 can upgrade to vista for a small small fee!

any one has a problem with worn out keypads for SZ? my vowels and backspace is gone. It's bothering me so much i close my eyes while opening the lid lol, any solution?

wakeup2asmile
30-01-2007, 03:55 AM
its time to utilise ur wty. no i do not face tt.

littleprincey
30-01-2007, 09:24 PM
thanks fatt sheng for the link. notebookreview forums provides alot of info on SZ too. anywayi heard 2GB rams modules cost like $800.. Unless u've upgraded to vista.. having more than 2gb is as good as useless.

By the way.. those who purchased their sony vista compatible notebooks on or after oct 06 can upgrade to vista for a small small fee!

any one has a problem with worn out keypads for SZ? my vowels and backspace is gone. It's bothering me so much i close my eyes while opening the lid lol, any solution?

Windows XP can take up to maximum 3 GB RAM.

vofzxy
30-01-2007, 09:54 PM
erm regarding sony VAIO, the web shows that their models are main VGN
but i have come across this PCG model
izzit an EOL or . . . .?

thanks

anyone ? anyone ? anyone ?

guozz1
31-01-2007, 03:35 PM
not really sure if the os can support but i tink it wont be worthwhile to put a $700 ram for a miniscule improvement. I'm just quoting what others said about xp and 32bit OS.
'

iceman83
31-01-2007, 07:17 PM
Hey guys.. im getting a vaio FE35/SZ38? :s22:

how bout you guys thinks? anyway im also newbie in notebook?

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

riconeo
31-01-2007, 07:29 PM
If you have the budget, i would recommend u get the sz38. It's light and powerful. :)

Hey guys.. im getting a vaio FE35/SZ38? :s22:

how bout you guys thinks? anyway im also newbie in notebook?

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

iceman83
01-02-2007, 01:57 AM
isn't it too small... does it worth getting it since it is 1 yr warranty..

whimsical
01-02-2007, 10:00 AM
isn't it too small... does it worth getting it since it is 1 yr warranty..

lol sony vaio r proud of their products ba...since its made in japan mayb can have more confident with it...FE/SZ also 12mths + 3mths(register online) warranty ma....FE is 2.8 kg leh....compared to SZ38 1.69kg... it does make a diff....if u notice carefully hor FE35 the screen is dual lamp de....if u like 15.4" n a brighter screen FE35 is a gd choice....

wakeup2asmile
01-02-2007, 10:44 AM
i bought my sz28 before the express upgrade offer. anyone knows how to go abt if i wanna go vista?

zhangjm
01-02-2007, 11:13 AM
buy off the shelf lor. they have upgrade options too i think, but it's not at the 5usd price already. it's launching today at funan, until 4th feb. some promotions going on too...

whimsical
01-02-2007, 11:14 AM
Windows Vista upgrades may be offered for free or at a discounted price (shipping and handling charges may also apply), so it pays to check with the particular PC manufacturer for details specific to their offer. Details can also be found at Microsoft's Express Upgrade Website (http://www.microsoft.com/windowsvista/getready/expressupgrade.mspx).

Dell (http://www.dell.com/content/topics/global.aspx/solutions/en/vista_express_upgrade?c=us&l=en&s=gen): live

Check your Service Tag (https://www.dellvistaupgrade.com/ServiceTag.aspx) and then go to registration website (http://www.dellvistaupgrade.com/) no later than the deadline of March 31, 2007. Dell will email you when your order for the Windows Vista Upgrade Kit is shipped out.

Pricing:

Win XP Media Center 2005 to Windows Vista Home Premium (Free + Shipping & Handling Charge)
Win XP Pro to Windows Vista Business (Free + Shipping & Handling Charge)
Win XP Pro x64 to Windows Vista Business x64 (Free + Shipping & Handling Charge)
Acer (http://global.acer.com/support/winvista/index.htm): live

You can submit your order via the this website (https://upgradeweb.moduslink.com/vista/Acer) or via telephone (65-62423642 / 1800 2221111). The upgrade kit will contain a Windows Vista installation DVD, Acer software upgrade DVD, and a booklet explaining all the required steps for your operating system upgrade.

Pricing:

Win XP MCE to Windows Vista Home Premium ($35)
Win XP Pro to Windows Vista Business ($35)
Win XP Home to Windows Vista Home Basic (SGD$106)
Win XP Home to Windows Vista Home Premium (SGD$154)
HP (http://h20219.www2.hp.com/services/cache/416458-0-0-225-121.html): live

You can begin ordering your Vista upgrade solution from this website (https://upgradeweb.moduslink.com/Vista/HP/). Some shipping and handling charges may apply for this upgrade.

Pricing:

Win XP MCE to Windows Vista Home Premium (Free)
Win XP Pro to Windows Vista Business (Free)
Win XP Home to Windows Vista Home Basic (SGD$70)
Lenovo (http://www.pc.ibm.com/sg/microsoft/vista/upgrade.html): live

Qualifying Lenovo customers can now take advantage of the Express Upgrade to Windows Vista program. Buy an eligible PC running Windows XP today and you can get an upgrade to the new Windows Vista operating system when it is released. Users with qualifying Lenovo systems can order their Express Upgrade by visiting the registration website (https://upgradeweb.moduslink.com/vista).

Asus (http://event.asus.com/vistaupgrade/index.htm): live

Additional shipping, handling and other fees may apply. Alternative upgrade choices may also require additional charges. You can register at this website (https://upgradeweb.moduslink.com/vista/).

Fujitsu (http://www.pc-ap.fujitsu.com/vistaupgrade.html):

A language version of the Qualifying Product can only be upgraded to the corresponding language version of the Upgrade Software. In addition, the Qualifying Product can only be upgraded to the associated edition of the Upgrade Software. Redemption website is not available currently; please check our website again on a later date.

Sony (http://www.sony.com.sg/vaio/vista/index.html):

You will received a Microsoft Windows®Vista Upgrade Kit and Supplement Disc for VAIO. Prices will be informed shortly in VAIO online support page. Further information, as well as Application Forms, will be available in our VAIO online support page. The registration period is from the middle of January 2007 to the end of March 2007.

NEC (http://www.nec-computers-ap.com/vista_upgrade/express_sg.asp):

A handling charge of $38.99 applies. You may register at this website (http://www.nec-computers-ap.com/vista_upgrade/register.asp) once it is available.

Win XP MCE to Windows Vista Home Premium (Free)
Win XP Pro to Windows Vista Business (Free)
Win XP Home to Windows Vista Home Basic ($99.01)
Win XP Home to Windows Vista Home Premium ($179.01)
LG (http://www.lge.com/products/computer/notebook/WindowsVista.jsp):

Product Eiligibilty: LG laptops with the Windows Vista logo and with Windows XP Professional, Media Center Edition 2005 or Tablet PC Edition on them. For products with Brazilian Portuguese/Hebrew/Greek, Win XP Home is also included in this promotion and will be upgraded to Windows Vista Home Premium. Additional charges may apply. The website for the Vista promotion will be opened shortly.

Pricing:

Win XP MCE 2005 to Windows Vista Home Premium (Free+Shipping & Handling Charge)
Win XP Pro to Windows Vista Business (Free+Shipping & Handling Charge)
Win XP Tablet PC Edition to Windows Vista Business (Free+Shipping & Handling Charge)
Toshiba (http://pc.toshiba-asia.com/vistaupgrade/):

Website ordering process launch date is to be adviced.

Note:

All these are the listed authorized manufacturers (Asia Pacific) on Microsoft Express Upgrade Site (http://www.microsoft.com/windowsvista/getready/expressupgrade.mspx).

Address of Microsoft Authorized Fulfillment Center for
Acer/Lenovo/Fujitsu/Asus/LG:

Blk 750 Chai Chee Road #01-03, Suite 987
Techno park @ Chai Chee Singapore 46900
Tel: 1800-2221111 / 65 62423642 Fax: 65-62417132

You should be able to register your redemption details online by early January 2007.

Vista will be broadly available as a stand-alone product or pre-installed on new PCs on January 30, 2007 (or based on manufacturers' discretion)

Requirements:

To process your claim, you need to provide your PC or notebook's operating system Certificate of Authenticity (COA) S/N and Proof of Purchase such as a commercial invoice or a customer's receipt, dated between October 26, 2006 and March 15, 2007. The Vista Capable logo must be affixed to the system. Submission of claim should be no later than March 31, 2007.

Retail Pricing Info in USD (from Winsupersite (http://www.winsupersite.com/reviews/winvista_02.asp)):

Windows Vista Home Basic: US$199 (Upgrade: US$99.95)
Windows Vista Home Premium: US$239 (US$159)
Windows Vista Business: US$299 (US$199)
Windows Vista Ultimate: US$399 (US$259)
Comparison Chart (http://www.microsoft.com/windowsvista/getready/editions/default.mspx) of different editions of Vista (credit: seller4)

** Do contribute to this thread when you have updated info ya :)

(Updated on Dec 23)

i bold e sony portion for u le...u mean b4 such as before october last yr?

wakeup2asmile
01-02-2007, 11:30 AM
i got mine on the 16th oct u see sigh. i know buying an oem one off the shelf is an option. but the problem is, vaio's have some unique drivers and uitilities that vista oem cant support off the shelf. i need the supplement disc. installed a 30 days trial vista before and my batt life was down by half.

iceman83
01-02-2007, 05:55 PM
lol sony vaio r proud of their products ba...since its made in japan mayb can have more confident with it...FE/SZ also 12mths + 3mths(register online) warranty ma....FE is 2.8 kg leh....compared to SZ38 1.69kg... it does make a diff....if u notice carefully hor FE35 the screen is dual lamp de....if u like 15.4" n a brighter screen FE35 is a gd choice....

How bout the battery? Issit worth for the vaio fe35? Anyway do u think sony has a booth upcoming Pc show at suntec?

wakeup2asmile
01-02-2007, 06:42 PM
though i am a sony user, personally i would not get the fe35. u can get similar specs laptop with a lighter weight at a cheaper price. The SZ is another story though.

whimsical
01-02-2007, 11:23 PM
How bout the battery? Issit worth for the vaio fe35? Anyway do u think sony has a booth upcoming Pc show at suntec?

1stly FE35 has only abt 2hrs of batt unless u noe how to preserve e battery like switchin off unnecessary hardware of the notebook....unlike SZ38 which has a longer battery life of abt 6.5hrs ba....

rest assured tt sony vaio will b there....for the pass 5shows i've participated...vaio has always been there...if u wanna wait till then...PM me la...probably can intro u vaio properly there...

whimsical
01-02-2007, 11:26 PM
i got mine on the 16th oct u see sigh. i know buying an oem one off the shelf is an option. but the problem is, vaio's have some unique drivers and uitilities that vista oem cant support off the shelf. i need the supplement disc. installed a 30 days trial vista before and my batt life was down by half.

wah tt bad ar...down by half....if vaio lidat le...other notebk i dun dare to imagine...

wakeup2asmile
01-02-2007, 11:38 PM
yar cos using vista rtm drivers then. All of them are not optimised for vaio at all. And there is no vaio powermanagement utility as well + my bluetooth is always on+ brightness always at 100%. So in the end down to 3hrs with wifi on instead of the usual 6hrs. So i know i cant jus buy vista off the shelves and install. i will need the supplementary disc bah

whimsical
02-02-2007, 01:10 AM
yar cos using vista rtm drivers then. All of them are not optimised for vaio at all. And there is no vaio powermanagement utility as well + my bluetooth is always on+ brightness always at 100%. So in the end down to 3hrs with wifi on instead of the usual 6hrs. So i know i cant jus buy vista off the shelves and install. i will need the supplementary disc bah

try switchin off e modem, optical drive[whn not in need] n firewire?

billavin
02-02-2007, 01:45 PM
have any1 registered for express upgrade to windows vista from sony?

iceman83
02-02-2007, 05:30 PM
For those who upgrade to vista, izzit worth upgrading it? I read there's sum issues regarding the installing time..

whimsical
02-02-2007, 05:55 PM
For those who upgrade to vista, izzit worth upgrading it? I read there's sum issues regarding the installing time..

get the upgrade 1st ba...then u can decide u wanna upgrade or not then its ur choice wat....can probably do it whn e OS is more stable???

vofzxy
04-02-2007, 08:09 PM
i just got my VAIO C recently
HAHA
but i realised there are no drivers CD or ANY CD at all int he box

izzit suppsoe to have NO CD?

Antillas
04-02-2007, 09:34 PM
ya no driver cds for vaio c series. ur suppose to burn the recovery cd and drivers from the vaio system recovery

vofzxy
04-02-2007, 10:07 PM
all the SONY stuff that comes with it already installed in the VAIO can uninstall?

haha my 80 GB become like only 60GB
as there is a "recovery partition" and all the other other programs

whimsical
04-02-2007, 10:34 PM
all the SONY stuff that comes with it already installe din the VAIO can uninstall?

haha my 80 GB become like only 20GB
as there is a "recovery partition" and all the other other programs

hmmm tt bad or not? i dun recall seeing vaio c with 20gb after all e prog installed...

vofzxy
04-02-2007, 10:36 PM
hhaha
sorrry its actually it is using up 20 GB
HAHAHA

plus u know where i can get screen protectors for the 13.3"??

thanks

whimsical
05-02-2007, 09:53 AM
hhaha
HAHAHA

thanks

using up 20gb is kinda common de...vista will take even more space i tink...

e last time i saw one is at taka best denki...anyway...using tt might make e screen more reflective u noe...tink twice ba...

vofzxy
05-02-2007, 11:17 AM
i see i see
looks like i'll have to just get a ZS sleeve and 2GB ram for it then

thanks

ZeroDivine
05-02-2007, 07:21 PM
don't need buy screen protector lah.. not as if you are touching your lcd all the time for it to scratch

whimsical
05-02-2007, 09:19 PM
i see i see
looks like i'll have to just get a ZS sleeve and 2GB ram for it then

thanks

yah get a ZS sleeve....got n ZS III series orange one for $49....

vofzxy
05-02-2007, 09:27 PM
I have no idea how it looks like...
looks very normal leh
HAHA

anyway, SLS got sell the cable lock kinda thing stores use to lock their laptops when its placed on the display shelve?

going to a country not that safe to study
HAHAH

inCredilbLurz
05-02-2007, 11:43 PM
any model cost below $2500?

whimsical
06-02-2007, 12:44 AM
I have no idea how it looks like...
looks very normal leh
HAHA

anyway, SLS got sell the cable lock kinda thing stores use to lock their laptops when its placed on the display shelve?

going to a country not that safe to study
HAHAH

have confirm they have...i got one myself too....got one tt can retrieve e cable by pressing a button like measure tap le...v nice...n convenient....

whimsical
06-02-2007, 12:45 AM
any model cost below $2500?

have...
C13 - $1999
C15 - $2499
FE35 - $2799 [in case u wanna increase ya budget...]

tamago_
06-02-2007, 02:18 AM
hhaha
HAHAHA

thanks
nowadays OS have to set aside 20GB liao... Mac OS X also takes up that much space... :s27:

klaivethesecond
06-02-2007, 02:45 AM
hey everyone. i have a Sony Vaio FE-25GP, and i got a little problem. even if i plug in my headphones into the laptop, the sound will still play on the laptop's speakers. help!

waitforyou
06-02-2007, 04:50 AM
can the C13 be upgraded to Windows Vista Home Premium or I'm better off with the basic ver?

wakeup2asmile
06-02-2007, 05:35 AM
can the C13 be upgraded to Windows Vista Home Premium or I'm better off with the basic ver? Premium. jus make sureu have 1 gb ram

whimsical
06-02-2007, 09:39 AM
hey everyone. i have a Sony Vaio FE-25GP, and i got a little problem. even if i plug in my headphones into the laptop, the sound will still play on the laptop's speakers. help!

eh tink u gotta pay wisma 4th level sony gallery for the technical assistance le....

fattsheng
06-02-2007, 01:44 PM
e last time i saw one is at taka best denki...anyway...using tt might make e screen more reflective u noe...tink twice ba...

Not true... You can get those anti-glare ones.

Here's an example of mine:

http://img255.imageshack.us/img255/8476/filtergl2.jpg

whimsical
06-02-2007, 04:20 PM

http://img255.imageshack.us/img255/8476/filtergl2.jpg

lol...did u notice keywords such as might tt i've used?

klaivethesecond
06-02-2007, 05:25 PM
eh tink u gotta pay wisma 4th level sony gallery for the technical assistance le....

woah must pay summore? lol. oh my.

wakeup2asmile
06-02-2007, 05:57 PM

http://img255.imageshack.us/img255/8476/filtergl2.jpgu bought the anti glare for macbook ar

fattsheng
06-02-2007, 06:00 PM
Yes. I'm using the laptop for school work etc.

EDIT: My apologies whimsical if my reply was too harsh. I had only meant to point out that there were alternatives which did not exacerbate the reflective issue.

waitforyou
07-02-2007, 01:52 AM
Premium. jus make sureu have 1 gb ram

ok, thanks! was worried that without a dedicated graphic card, I will just be stuck with the basic version.

whimsical
07-02-2007, 04:10 PM
Yes. I'm using the laptop for school work etc.

EDIT: My apologies whimsical if my reply was too harsh. I had only meant to point out that there were alternatives which did not exacerbate the reflective issue.

lol i'm cool kekeke....no hard feelings de....

by the way ah...how much n where u bought ur anti glare ar? i wanna get one but lookin at spending $20 n below...

wakeup2asmile
07-02-2007, 04:36 PM
lol i'm cool kekeke....no hard feelings de....

by the way ah...how much n where u bought ur anti glare ar? i wanna get one but lookin at spending $20 n below...i believe it is one of the Apple Shop.

whimsical
07-02-2007, 09:28 PM
i believe it is one of the Apple Shop.

apple got 14.1inch lappy or not ar?

ZeroDivine
07-02-2007, 09:34 PM
nope, 13.3 for mb and 15 and 17 for mbp

whimsical
07-02-2007, 10:38 PM
nope, 13.3 for mb and 15 and 17 for mbp

wah sian...i lookin for antiglare screen portector for my gf's V3136 leh...

fattsheng
07-02-2007, 10:46 PM
wah sian...i lookin for antiglare screen portector for my gf's V3136 leh...

Mine is a Power Support Anti-Glare Film. I'm sorry to say it costs ~$49, but it was an investment for me. Btw according to their website, http://www.powersupportusa.com/products/ef.php?category=note , they have other sizes but I'm not sure if you can find these in Singapore...

whimsical
08-02-2007, 01:31 AM
Mine is a Power Support Anti-Glare Film. I'm sorry to say it costs ~$49, but it was an investment for me. Btw according to their website, http://www.powersupportusa.com/products/ef.php?category=note , they have other sizes but I'm not sure if you can find these in Singapore...

wah it cost e same as my Zeroshock III series leh...wat an investment....

ZeroDivine
08-02-2007, 11:35 AM
for me I prefer not to use anti glare. the sony laptop coating is not that reflective IMO, at least not on my S58
What's more it decreases the colour saturation slightly which is supposed to be a boon for the shiny coating.

echeong
08-02-2007, 03:24 PM
The TX's battery life is really remarkable
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v486/echeong/DSC_0057.jpg

But realised that the battery does protrude out a bit
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v486/echeong/DSC_0054.jpg

riconeo
08-02-2007, 06:38 PM
i guess that is the standard for extended batt pack. :)

whimsical
09-02-2007, 12:36 AM
The TX's battery life is really remarkable
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v486/echeong/DSC_0057.jpg

But realised that the battery does protrude out a bit
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v486/echeong/DSC_0054.jpg

TX47? not sure if tt means tt its extended but if compared to SZ's extended battery hor its bigger...thus i believe tt TX47's extended shld b bigger thn its orginal one...

GreenHorn
09-02-2007, 10:09 AM
Anybody knows if the Vista drivers for VAIO SZ28GP are out??

alucard31
09-02-2007, 12:51 PM
Hi guys, I'm Sony VAIO FE 38GP user... pretty happy wif dis lappie so far, i jux bought it on 27 Jan 2007, so far so good... any of u guys know sg got any store selling those silicon skin for Sony VAIO FE series keyboard?? coz the keyboard in white color, easy get dirty... but i find whole sim lim also cant find a store selling dis... perhaps some of u guys can tell me..

whimsical
11-02-2007, 01:47 PM
Hi guys, I'm Sony VAIO FE 38GP user... pretty happy wif dis lappie so far, i jux bought it on 27 Jan 2007, so far so good... any of u guys know sg got any store selling those silicon skin for Sony VAIO FE series keyboard?? coz the keyboard in white color, easy get dirty... but i find whole sim lim also cant find a store selling dis... perhaps some of u guys can tell me..

http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?t=1511964

hey u pm this fella see if he still have stock ba...

miracle21
12-02-2007, 06:04 PM
Hey guys i was juz wondering if any of u did the vista upgrade thingy. i'm swarming wif questions. i got my notebook within the 26 oct thingy and is it supposed to be cheaper in this case? or juz that my notebook is applicable for the upgrade?

and also i noticed that to upgrade from xp home edition to vista home basic muz pay at least 50 bucks? anyone knows the exact price? different brands different prices ar? :s11:

sorry if i sound so lost and blur. :s13: there's so many links until i don't know where to click already. need to do this soon as i'll be going overseas next week, and by the time i get back the registration period will be over. haha.

someone pls enlighten me thanks alot hehe :)

haruko_yoshiko
13-02-2007, 03:12 AM
Anybody knows if the Vista drivers for VAIO SZ28GP are out??

u using vista trial? cuz the upg kit shld contain vista drivers.

i still waitin for mine to come. meanwhile i dl-ed the drivers for my US set from Sony US Site. Using RC1

haruko_yoshiko
13-02-2007, 03:13 AM

U too late ah.. i comin back SG le.. must wait March liao if u wan get from me..

thx whimsical..

meanwhile i got stocks for vaio sz (1) and vaio C (2)