PDA

View Full Version : Sony Vaio laptop users Thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21

littleprincey
28-08-2007, 11:03 AM
Hi guys,

I am so happy today. I just bought a used Sony SZ18GP for my girlfriend and modded it. It is so fun. By the way it still looks very new.

Addition
Intel Core2Duo T7600 (2.33 Ghz) $1000+
MTRON 32GB SATA Solid State Disk SSD $1700+
2 x 2GB Transcend DDR2-667 $500+
Vista Ultimate 32 bit
SIM card expansion slot.

Removal
Internal Optical Drive

Now I got a screamer weighing at 1.42 KG.

zhangyb
28-08-2007, 01:10 PM
Hi guys,

I am so happy today. I just bought a used Sony SZ18GP for my girlfriend and modded it. It is so fun. By the way it still looks very new.

Addition
Vista Ultimate 32 bit
SIM card expansion slot.

Removal
Internal Optical Drive

omg u bought a 32gb ssd at 1700.... u were chopped until dunno like what....

crobin
28-08-2007, 04:35 PM
Where did u get your MTRON SSD from?

Hi guys,

Addition
Vista Ultimate 32 bit
SIM card expansion slot.

Removal
Internal Optical Drive

nicolelah
28-08-2007, 06:29 PM
can I know where's the mic input for sz433?

hangy2k
28-08-2007, 10:41 PM
can I know where's the mic input for sz433?
next to the webcam

publiceducator
29-08-2007, 08:54 AM
new model: http://www.sonystyle.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/ContentDisplayView?cmsId=content/Computers/Desktops/LTSeries/LTSeries_full&hideHeaderFooter=false&storeId=10151&catalogId=10551&langId=-1&XID=F:lt_pr_vaio:sony

littleprincey
29-08-2007, 12:40 PM
new model: http://www.sonystyle.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/ContentDisplayView?cmsId=content/Computers/Desktops/LTSeries/LTSeries_full&hideHeaderFooter=false&storeId=10151&catalogId=10551&langId=-1&XID=F:lt_pr_vaio:sony

Look like an IMAC to me...

littleprincey
29-08-2007, 12:55 PM
Where did u get your MTRON SSD from?

Dvnation. My US friends bought in bulk and sold me one.

littleprincey
29-08-2007, 01:03 PM
omg u bought a 32gb ssd at 1700.... u were chopped until dunno like what....

It is faster than WD Raptor and Samsung SSD in all aspects. I tested on HD Tach 3.0 and got 95 MB/s for average read. Compared this to the 7K200 's 40+ MB/s people is crazy about.

I compared it with my friend's laptop's 5400K RPM for Windows Vista bootup.

The look on his face: priceless

publiceducator
29-08-2007, 02:04 PM
It is faster than WD Raptor and Samsung SSD in all aspects. I tested on HD Tach 3.0 and got 95 MB/s for average read. Compared this to the 7K200 's 40+ MB/s people is crazy about.

I compared it with my friend's laptop's 5400K RPM for Windows Vista bootup.

The look on his face: priceless

So how many sec to boot?

littleprincey
29-08-2007, 05:47 PM
So how many sec to boot?

42 seconds with tweaking

tylsteve
29-08-2007, 10:37 PM

Thank you for your reply. Mind sharing your settings?

First i need to correct some mistakes haha. The close-to-5-hr battery life i got was on Stamina mode, not speed mode...i got confused along the way. I'm assuming u know how to edit the power options. Goto the plan u wan to edit, then 'change advanced power settings'. u will see lots of settings to edit.

It depends on wat u wan to achieve. If u wan to get long battery life for word processing or for school, u can turn down the screen brightness as far as u can. Off peripheral devices such as dvd-drive, wlan, audio blah blah if u are not using them. u can use the 'vaio power management' tab to check out how much it affects ur battery life. U can try setting ur max processor speed to 50% and min speed to 1% to save power. (Although im not too sure if it actually works)

Just explore and try diff configurations. Also, the battery meter does not update immediately. U should leave it for abt 5-10 mins to get an accurate reading.

Hope this helps? Cheers

discoburg
30-08-2007, 04:49 AM
Anyone knows why at times when i use the camera inbuilt on my CR11, there will be a windows popping out saying another software is using it. It happens intermittenly.

WongCL
30-08-2007, 09:04 AM
hi all,

just got the "fusion pc". la38g. it came installed with vista and i found many of my son's educational program doesnt seem to run well even in compatibility mode. so i was wondering if earlier fusion pc was installed with xp cos i m thinking of "downgrading" to xp. but i need to the the drivers.

can anyone help?

thanks in advance.

jus
30-08-2007, 11:14 AM

First i need to correct some mistakes haha. The close-to-5-hr battery life i got was on Stamina mode, not speed mode...i got confused along the way. I'm assuming u know how to edit the power options. Goto the plan u wan to edit, then 'change advanced power settings'. u will see lots of settings to edit.

It depends on wat u wan to achieve. If u wan to get long battery life for word processing or for school, u can turn down the screen brightness as far as u can. Off peripheral devices such as dvd-drive, wlan, audio blah blah if u are not using them. u can use the 'vaio power management' tab to check out how much it affects ur battery life. U can try setting ur max processor speed to 50% and min speed to 1% to save power. (Although im not too sure if it actually works)

Just explore and try diff configurations. Also, the battery meter does not update immediately. U should leave it for abt 5-10 mins to get an accurate reading.

Hope this helps? Cheers

Thanks Bro! I will give it a try.

tylsteve
30-08-2007, 10:30 PM
Anyone knows why at times when i use the camera inbuilt on my CR11, there will be a windows popping out saying another software is using it. It happens intermittenly.

I seem to have the same problem on my SZ-43 too. Sometimes when i try to use the built in webcam, it will show a blue screen and say that the camera is in use somewhere. But its not...it can be used only after restarting the comp. I wonder if its a problem with the camera software. Anyone has any similar experiences or solutions?

hangy2k
31-08-2007, 12:39 AM

I seem to have the same problem on my SZ-43 too. Sometimes when i try to use the built in webcam, it will show a blue screen and say that the camera is in use somewhere. But its not...it can be used only after restarting the comp. I wonder if its a problem with the camera software. Anyone has any similar experiences or solutions?
mine also same, i always think it is windows vista causes this..
my wifi also got some problem, it will always disconnect me after connected to wifi, but after that become stable again :s11:

discoburg
31-08-2007, 08:49 AM
What is your email? I forward you the email Sony sent me on the step by step procedure to rectify it. Also attached with the patch provided by Sony.

discoburg
01-09-2007, 05:27 AM
Clicked my Vaio update notifier and pops out the window showing VAIO Update is required.
VAIO Update (Ver. 2.1 and above) is required on your VAIO Notebook. What happened? Why the old screen image is gone?

gerald27
01-09-2007, 02:59 PM
Clicked my Vaio update notifier and pops out the window showing VAIO Update is required.
VAIO Update (Ver. 2.1 and above) is required on your VAIO Notebook. What happened? Why the old screen image is gone?
what model is your vaio notebook and what is your vaio update version ? :s11:

discoburg
01-09-2007, 04:37 PM
what model is your vaio notebook and what is your vaio update version ? :s11:
CR11 and dunno!

gerald27
01-09-2007, 05:04 PM
CR11 and dunno!
why not you try to do this

1 - Download a new version of VAIO Update from >> http://www.sony-asia.com/support/download/214837/product/vgn-cr11gh/modelfirst?site=hp_en_AP_i

2 - Uninstall the old one

3 - Install the one you downloaded earlier

:D

discoburg
01-09-2007, 06:46 PM
Great it is working. Sorry i am a Vaio noob. :o

why not you try to do this

1 - Download a new version of VAIO Update from >> http://www.sony-asia.com/support/download/214837/product/vgn-cr11gh/modelfirst?site=hp_en_AP_i

2 - Uninstall the old one

3 - Install the one you downloaded earlier

:D

discoburg
02-09-2007, 08:52 AM
Why my Vaio CR11 shows that there is a DVD RW (F) drive as well as a CD drive (G) when there is only 1 visible?

quicklime
02-09-2007, 12:14 PM
Does the cover of the CR11 come with this stick-on film used to protect it? I think all laptops do right? Bot mine yesterday at Sony IMM and it didnt have the film on. Was cleaning the laptop at night when I discovered there is a dent (small one though) on the laptop. And the battery which came with it was 70% charged?

I quite think they didnt give me a brand new set!

whimsical
03-09-2007, 11:31 AM
Does the cover of the CR11 come with this stick-on film used to protect it? I think all laptops do right? Bot mine yesterday at Sony IMM and it didnt have the film on. Was cleaning the laptop at night when I discovered there is a dent (small one though) on the laptop. And the battery which came with it was 70% charged?

I quite think they didnt give me a brand new set!

all CR11 do not some with a stick-on film....so far only LG,TOSHIBA,HP,COMPAQ tt i saw who comes with it due to the glossy surface/piano finish on the laptop....heee tt's all i noe...

regarding e small dent...if i'm not wrong u bought it on e 3rd level rite? u can go back to Juzz1 which is at funan to ask them ba....

batteries do not come 100% charged...its is only charged to an extent tt it is sufficient to allow setup to b done whn bought...

mrbluex
03-09-2007, 01:50 PM
Hi I just purchased a VAIO FZ15G on COMEX through Courts yesterday! but to my horror, it has a bright blue struck pixel! Does anyone have any success with getting SONY or Courts to exchange/service the laptop? I tried calling Courts and Sony but they gave me the usual reason not to exchange the laptop.

Please advice.

discoburg
03-09-2007, 01:52 PM
all CR11 do not some with a stick-on film....so far only LG,TOSHIBA,HP,COMPAQ tt i saw who comes with it due to the glossy surface/piano finish on the laptop....heee tt's all i noe.....Well the CR11 does have a glossy surface. ;)

karenwoods
03-09-2007, 02:57 PM
Has anyone here bought the sony Tz? I'm tempted. Tussle between the Sz and the Tz right now.

kivine
03-09-2007, 09:59 PM
Is the SZ6 out in SG yet?

and also what other lappy has the same keys as TZ?

Antillas
04-09-2007, 01:00 AM
Is the SZ6 out in SG yet?

and also what other lappy has the same keys as TZ?
not yet. CR series got same type of keys like TZ

kivine
04-09-2007, 01:23 AM
not yet. CR series got same type of keys like TZ
yeah, but it doesnt look exactly the same. The TZ series really is a stunning lappy. :(

tdominic
05-09-2007, 12:24 AM
ani one knows where still got offer for the free upgrade ram for the CR11
thanks

whimsical
05-09-2007, 02:33 PM
Well the CR11 does have a glossy surface. ;)

all CR11 do not some with a stick-on film....so far only LG,TOSHIBA,HP,COMPAQ tt i saw who comes with it due to the glossy surface/piano finish on the laptop....heee tt's all i noe...

1stly not all CR11 has a glossy surface...CR11 black doesnt....

2ndly as i bold...n i already mention cr11 dont come with stick on film le lor...lol...

whimsical
05-09-2007, 02:34 PM
Has anyone here bought the sony Tz? I'm tempted. Tussle between the Sz and the Tz right now.

graphic vs no graphic card??
1.86,2.2 vs 1.06,1.2??

whimsical
05-09-2007, 02:36 PM
thanks

tink u can try harvey norman suntec...

jeff_xtreme_88
05-09-2007, 04:55 PM
thanks

all outlets that sell sony vaio offer it..

TurboElmo
05-09-2007, 05:27 PM
Hi I just purchased a VAIO FZ15G on COMEX through Courts yesterday! but to my horror, it has a bright blue struck pixel! Does anyone have any success with getting SONY or Courts to exchange/service the laptop? I tried calling Courts and Sony but they gave me the usual reason not to exchange the laptop.

Please advice.

I also bought the same model from the Courts booth. I bought on the very first day though. Went home and realised they did not put in the free 1GB ram. (You might want to double check yours too)

Went down the very next day to get it. The Courts staff was busy putting in ram modules into the other laptops. He never even checked my receipt and just installed it under 1 min.
I remembered there was a 1-to-1 exchange for x no. of days because the sales staff asked me not to throw away the box in case need to exchange.

So what is the "usual reason" they gave not to exchange?

mrbluex
06-09-2007, 02:07 AM
I tried calling SONY and COURTS and even went down to their TAMP MEGASTORE and the sales guy told me that they cannot exchange unless it is not working. Furthermore, 1 dead/struck pixel is not serious enough to warrant an exchange. I'm stuck. Just wrote a complain letter to them.

whimsical
07-09-2007, 10:57 AM
I also bought the same model from the Courts booth. I bought on the very first day though. Went home and realised they did not put in the free 1GB ram. (You might want to double check yours too)

Went down the very next day to get it. The Courts staff was busy putting in ram modules into the other laptops. He never even checked my receipt and just installed it under 1 min.
I remembered there was a 1-to-1 exchange for x no. of days because the sales staff asked me not to throw away the box in case need to exchange.

So what is the "usual reason" they gave not to exchange?

normally is 7days if i'm not wrong...

I tried calling SONY and COURTS and even went down to their TAMP MEGASTORE and the sales guy told me that they cannot exchange unless it is not working. Furthermore, 1 dead/struck pixel is not serious enough to warrant an exchange. I'm stuck. Just wrote a complain letter to them.

looks like other megastores have better policies thn courts leh...
i've witnessed a 1 on 1 exchange due to 1 dead pixel...

eh i heard tt need more thn 2 dead/bright thn can change is it? mayb can find a way to cre8 more for a 1 on 1 exchange? hmmmm just a suggestion.....just kidding if it stupid...

jeff_xtreme_88
07-09-2007, 03:04 PM
ya la is the store policy.. also depends on the sales person that u approached regarding the matter.. that who sui bian sui bian one will let u exchange.. those guai lan one will surely tell u refer to the manufacturer..

zhangyb
07-09-2007, 03:50 PM
for TZ owners, please remember to clock your memory to 533mhz in vaio control panel... because it makes a hell lot of difference...

Liz
08-09-2007, 11:53 AM
Hi, I am trying to decide between TZ16 or TZ17. The only difference between the 2 models is the processor speed 1.06 vs 1.2 and HDD capacity 80 v 100gb. The HDD can be replace easily so I have no worries. I am just wondering if the approx. 700SGD pirce difference is worth it for the 140mhz difference in speed. Will it really make alot of difference in performance.

The TZ come pre-installed with Vista, I intend to replace the OS with XP, and upgrade to 2gb memory myself. Another question in mind, is it possible to remove the DVD drive and replace it with a 2.5" HDD and also to later buy a SSD drive and install it in place of the current 1/8" HDD. The TZ model is make to order in Japan, however, we lack the flexibility here. Thanks in advance for any advice or info.

zhangyb
08-09-2007, 12:32 PM
Hi, I am trying to decide between TZ16 or TZ17. The only difference between the 2 models is the processor speed 1.06 vs 1.2 and HDD capacity 80 v 100gb. The HDD can be replace easily so I have no worries. I am just wondering if the approx. 700SGD pirce difference is worth it for the 140mhz difference in speed. Will it really make alot of difference in performance.

The TZ come pre-installed with Vista, I intend to replace the OS with XP, and upgrade to 2gb memory myself. Another question in mind, is it possible to remove the DVD drive and replace it with a 2.5" HDD and also to later buy a SSD drive and install it in place of the current 1/8" HDD. The TZ model is make to order in Japan, however, we lack the flexibility here. Thanks in advance for any advice or info.
i dunno about the replacement of SSD into the Optical bay cos i asked in notebookreview, nobody seems to answer it. I also dun want to open up my precious beauty lol.... i tried the 16 and 17 and 18 n the performance difference between 16 and 17 is detectable but minimal, and the SSD is a lot faster. You might want to wait till the vista service pack is out before downgrading since its coming out soon and there are pple who say the performance improve in the new service pack is quite a lot.

Liz
08-09-2007, 01:00 PM
i dunno about the replacement of SSD into the Optical bay cos i asked in notebookreview, nobody seems to answer it. I also dun want to open up my precious beauty lol.... i tried the 16 and 17 and 18 n the performance difference between 16 and 17 is detectable but minimal, and the SSD is a lot faster. You might want to wait till the vista service pack is out before downgrading since its coming out soon and there are pple who say the performance improve in the new service pack is quite a lot.

Hello, thank you for the advice.
From what I have read at notebookreview VAIO forums, some users has successfully installed their own SSD harddisk in place of the 1.8" HDD, but I am not sure which region the TZ is from, so I am not sure if the local version of TZ will have that flexibility.

Here's the link:
http://forum.notebookreview.com/showthread.php?t=162085

In the make to order options on VIAO Japan site, the Optical drive can be replace with a 2.5" HDD. As for my reason for downgrading to XP, I don't intend to upgrade the memory so soon, therefore I thought downgrading to XP will be a good option. :)

Still trying to decide...I would like to buy it today if possible. Orz

jeff_xtreme_88
09-09-2007, 08:59 AM
From what I have read at notebookreview VAIO forums, some users has successfully installed their own SSD harddisk in place of the 1.8" HDD, but I am not sure which region the TZ is from, so I am not sure if the local version of TZ will have that flexibility.

Here's the link:

In the make to order options on VIAO Japan site, the Optical drive can be replace with a 2.5" HDD. As for my reason for downgrading to XP, I don't intend to upgrade the memory so soon, therefore I thought downgrading to XP will be a good option. :)

if you wan to buy, can come to funan IT mall harvey norman.. i'll give u a good deal..
see your pm for my contact info.. cheers!

Finishing_line
09-09-2007, 09:12 AM
If anyone of you are looking for this:

http://aycu08.webshots.com/image/28207/2003146368939548761_th.jpg (http://allyoucanupload.webshots.com/v/2003146368939548761)

<click on image for larger view>

please go over to:

http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?t=1719842

Cheers!

Turtle6power
09-09-2007, 06:45 PM

Here's the link:

Say, will the shop downgrade to XP for buyer? I am looking at Sony TZ too, maybe Sony SZ6 if it comes out really REALLY soon. Heard it comes with lotsa unwanted bundleware that has to be uninstalled....

Definitely want XP over Vista.

zhangyb
09-09-2007, 09:06 PM
no shop will not do downgrade for u for sure.

Liz
10-09-2007, 03:22 PM
Say, will the shop downgrade to XP for buyer? I am looking at Sony TZ too, maybe Sony SZ6 if it comes out really REALLY soon. Heard it comes with lotsa unwanted bundleware that has to be uninstalled....

Definitely want XP over Vista.

Yes Definitely XP over Vista.

And btw, you can definitely do the downgrading yourself. Alot of users has figure it out,
just check notebookreview.com's VAIO forums. Most people are using a mix of drivers and utilities from BX/TX.

And I've also check with Sony Singapore, downgrading the OS will not affect the warranty (not that I thought it should since it's not a hardware issue, but I just want to play safe and placed a call to them!)

astonchew
10-09-2007, 04:29 PM
for those SZ users who just got their laptop recently and wants to downgrade to XP.
goto this site and get the original drivers and programs for your SZ series laptops.
no need to search for compatible 3rd party drivers anymore.

http://www.sony-asia.com/support/download/216785/sectionfirst?site=hp_en_AP_i&subpage=detail

astonchew
10-09-2007, 04:32 PM
this page is for the different series of sony laptop with their XP drivers and programs.

http://www.sony-asia.com/subtype/usefulinfo/asset/216869/productcategory/it%2Bpersonal%2Bcomputer?site=hp_en_AP_i

zhangyb
10-09-2007, 05:17 PM
once again i just like to suggest that people wait a while for vista SP1 to come out, see the speed improvement and decide whether to downgrade from there, unless its really urgent u need XP. Because if you run XP now and decide to vista later on, you need to reinstall every piece of software, same if you are downgrading, very troublesome :)

and anyone wif a fresh TZ wans to try running Mac OSX on it?

Turtle6power
11-09-2007, 06:57 AM
I have no choice but to use XP.

My company's program cannot be run on Vista. Without the program, I cannot show quotations to my clients, which would for me totally defeat the purpose of carrying a laptop around in the first place.

whatscooking
11-09-2007, 08:37 AM
Vista sp1 will only be available in early 2008 where date is still not yet confirmed. With or without Vista SP1, many software that runs on XP will not be able to run on Vista even on compatibility mode. One can either install on dual boot if they dont intend to loose Vista for now or do a clean install for XP.

No point waiting for Vista SP1 to release. Install XP now if most of your exiting software runs well on XP.

wenjie22
11-09-2007, 09:56 AM
Do you find the ViaoL very slow? my internet downloading is very slow. But using other laptop is normal. Any advise?

discoburg
11-09-2007, 12:37 PM
Do you find the ViaoL very slow? my internet downloading is very slow. But using other laptop is normal. Any advise?
Ram of your Vaio L? What kinda connection are you on? 512 dial up?

Turtle6power
12-09-2007, 12:09 AM
no shop will not do downgrade for u for sure.

Seems that no shop WILL do downgrade for me....

jeff_xtreme_88
12-09-2007, 09:05 AM
ya.. and some shops dun even know how to downgrade for u.. lol..

hastyman
13-09-2007, 04:18 AM
hi guys, anyone know if there are wrist rest/pad in the market available for CR?

silverfox
13-09-2007, 09:23 AM
Seems that no shop WILL do downgrade for me....

Why not DIY? Just follow this thread here:
http://forum.notebookreview.com/showthread.php?t=159585

jus
13-09-2007, 10:41 AM
How do i change the speed of the memory?

thanks..

zhangyb
13-09-2007, 12:21 PM
How do i change the speed of the memory?

thanks..

sony control panel :)

jus
13-09-2007, 01:00 PM
you mean windows control panel or vaio control centre?? Either i cannot find any settings that i can change the speed of the memory..

whatscooking
14-09-2007, 08:46 AM
Can anyone advise the site for downloading TZ-17 application(utility) software for XP? I have changed the OS to XP and everything works fine with all drivers found and installed.

I tried using TX and BX applications but none seems to work. Even the TZ1 and TZ1-TZ2 application does not work either. The two application that do not work for me is the webcam and AV control button. Other than all works well.

jeff_xtreme_88
14-09-2007, 09:13 AM
those interested in buying sony vaio laptops can pm me.. i'm a sony vaio promoter from sony direct... cheers!

haruko_yoshiko
14-09-2007, 10:25 AM
those interested in buying sony vaio laptops can pm me.. i'm a sony vaio promoter from sony direct... cheers!

When will the new Vaio SZ be up for sale in Singapore?

zhangyb
14-09-2007, 11:31 AM
you mean windows control panel or vaio control centre?? Either i cannot find any settings that i can change the speed of the memory..
the vaio control panel

jeff_xtreme_88
14-09-2007, 02:56 PM
When will the new Vaio SZ be up for sale in Singapore?

About 2 mths later..

jus
14-09-2007, 03:27 PM
Hi Zhangyb,

I can't find any where i can do the setting for the memory. Mind posting a screen shot or a step by step on how about doing it??

Thanks

gerald27
15-09-2007, 10:22 AM
woo ... cool

but where to find you to buy vaio ??

got discounts :D

zhangyb
15-09-2007, 02:42 PM
Hi Zhangyb,

I can't find any where i can do the setting for the memory. Mind posting a screen shot or a step by step on how about doing it??

Thanks
ok wait a while ill post them up

zhangyb
15-09-2007, 02:51 PM
For Windows Vista

1) Go to Start > Control Panel

2) Select Vaio Control Centre

http://ceek.biz/sc1.jpg

3) Select Performance

http://ceek.biz/sc2.jpg

4) Change the memory bus speed to 533Mhz, by default it is 400Mhz

http://ceek.biz/sc3.jpg

Click Ok to all windows to accept the changes

Done :)

mavericke
15-09-2007, 07:58 PM
Has anyone tried to downgrade Vaio CR11 to Windows XP? Do the drivers here work?

ftp://ftp.vaio-link.com/PUB/OS/XPDOWNGRADE/CR1/

Thanks!

jus
15-09-2007, 08:49 PM
No wonder i don't understand what you saying..

I don't have that option.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v43/Tristan_jus/screenshot02.jpg

jeff_xtreme_88
16-09-2007, 08:45 AM
woo ... cool

but where to find you to buy vaio ??

got discounts :D

I might be located at different stores every week. You can find me at Funan IT Mall Harvey Norman today. Can give u the best deal for vaio than anyone. Those interested can contact me at 81266776. Thanks!

cr11newbie
16-09-2007, 10:34 PM
Hi to all Vaio user,

I just bought a new Sony Vaio CR11 Laptop. Went to mcdonalds and try out the wireless connection as I'm a newbie on this. I began to switch on my laptop and soon after that, it automatically connected to wireless@sg as I saw it from the bottom task bar.

This is strange,my friend told me that when I open up my internet browser, it will prompt me to enter my free singnet wireless user name and password. But it did not.

When I tried to surf website and log on to MSN, all failed.

May I know what's the reason behind this ? Do I need to configue anything ?

Please help me.

Thanks in advance.

Shirley2809
17-09-2007, 03:13 AM
Anyone has CR11 in white? Can tell me whether will it turn yellowish?

Cookymonster
17-09-2007, 10:38 AM
Hi everyone,

newbie question... if i buy a Vaio SZ/TZ series from Vaio US, will it be made in Japan or made in US or made in China?.. anyone who had bought a Vaio from US? care to share?

jeff_xtreme_88
17-09-2007, 11:42 AM
Hi everyone,

newbie question... if i buy a Vaio SZ/TZ series from Vaio US, will it be made in Japan or made in US or made in China?.. anyone who had bought a Vaio from US? care to share?

all SZ/TZ series no matter u buy it from which region will definitely be made in Japan. China does not have the expertise to manufacture this carbon fibre ultra lightweight jem.

haruko_yoshiko
17-09-2007, 01:14 PM
I bought a Vaio SZ from the US before, the bottom of the SZ states Made In US. :)

Cookymonster
17-09-2007, 02:47 PM
I bought a Vaio SZ from the US before, the bottom of the SZ states Made In US. :)

May i ask which model izzit?

Thanks

haruko_yoshiko
17-09-2007, 08:24 PM
May i ask which model izzit?

Thanks

That time was the SZ340P

Shirley2809
17-09-2007, 10:54 PM
Anyone had downgraded their CR11 to windows XP? Able to run well?

lyonlim
18-09-2007, 12:57 AM

I'm also looking at getting a CR soon...with a downgrade to winxp. Does anyone have any experience? Also, is there any news of a CR20 coming to Singapore anytime soon?

Thanks..

Cookymonster
18-09-2007, 08:01 PM
That time was the SZ340P

Thanks yoshiko... :)

Shirley2809
19-09-2007, 06:46 PM
I have this problem with my vaio.. I tried to start my webcam but it tells me can't start the camera please check if other software is using the camera. Anyone has this problem too?

zhangyb
19-09-2007, 08:21 PM
I have this problem with my vaio.. I tried to start my webcam but it tells me can't start the camera please check if other software is using the camera. Anyone has this problem too?
try restarting your computer, could be a software using the software not shut down properly.

discoburg
19-09-2007, 08:28 PM
I had posted about this problem before. Please read the earlier post by me on how to solve it. You will need some updated files.

jus
19-09-2007, 11:21 PM

I solved it by calling the sony service center. need to do update for Camera Capture Utilities.

haruko_yoshiko
20-09-2007, 01:21 AM
Thanks yoshiko... :)

No prob...

Btw anybody interested in keyboard protectors for your new CR/FZ/TZ?

tayster
20-09-2007, 05:07 PM
Hey guys...sorry but dont' know if i am posting in the right thread but i've got a sz28 bought on 18-Jun-2006 for sale. Well the reason is cos I recently upgraded to a TZ so have no need to have 2 laptops...
i have upgraded the ram to 2gb and the warranty has been entended till 17-Sep-2009.

am looking of letting it go at 2,999. Bought it at 3,999.

do let me know if anyone is interested in getting it yea?

haruko_yoshiko
21-09-2007, 01:28 AM
Ahh,

Sony SZ94 in Japan with brown carbon fibre casing.

Sony SZ58/55 out in HK/CN.

jeff_xtreme_88
22-09-2007, 10:15 AM
Those interested in sony vaio can come look for me at Funan IT Mall Harvey Norman this weekend. Can give u better deal than the standard sony promotion that other shops can offer. Those interested can contact me at 81266776. Thanks!

zhangyb
22-09-2007, 11:34 AM
No prob...

Btw anybody interested in keyboard protectors for your new CR/FZ/TZ?

hey hey i am interested in keyboard protector for the TZ. You doing an MO?

Am interested in LCD screen protector as well

mavericke
22-09-2007, 02:26 PM
Downgraded to XP. All works well except the power management. Does not seem to be able to adjust LCD brightness. Function keys, and Volume is all ok, except the FN for brightness. Used the drivers from here http://forum.notebookreview.com/showthread.php?t=159585

If anyone manages to get the brightness controls working, please let me know or PM me. Thanks.

jeff_xtreme_88
24-09-2007, 05:38 PM
those who got any questions about vaio feel free to pm me! =P

haruko_yoshiko
24-09-2007, 06:51 PM
hey hey i am interested in keyboard protector for the TZ. You doing an MO?

Am interested in LCD screen protector as well

HI,

I have ready stocks for the keyboard protector... Screen Protector need to order.

zhangyb
24-09-2007, 09:27 PM
HI,

I have ready stocks for the keyboard protector... Screen Protector need to order.
how to buy from u? can pm me wif details? thanks :D

lyonlim
25-09-2007, 02:20 AM

I chanced upon this site..which showed how CR13 users managed to get AVMODE and i think, power management working on windows xp. It's in chinese though and I tried...but it doesn't seem to work for me. Maybe someone with better chinese skills will be able to make out what their instructions are.

http://5i01.com/topicdetail.php?f=258&t=404055 <- Enabling AVMODE
http://5i01.com/topicdetail.php?f=258&t=394942&last=3678527 <- LCD Brightness

Please let me know if you got it working on your CR11 XP installation.
Thanks

haruko_yoshiko
25-09-2007, 02:54 AM
how to buy from u? can pm me wif details? thanks :D

Can just drop me an email to kuroten.mail@gmail.com

:) Include ur contacts

acerat009
25-09-2007, 09:10 AM
hi, is it true that Sony laptop when switched on too long, it'll be very hot. can anyone confirm that?

jeff_xtreme_88
25-09-2007, 10:20 AM
hi, is it true that Sony laptop when switched on too long, it'll be very hot. can anyone confirm that?

not really when you compare the heat that sony vaio generates compared to other brands..

zhangyb
25-09-2007, 02:15 PM
The ram compartment of the TZ gets pretty hot after some time, but the heat does not spread beyond the compartment interestingly :)

acerat009
25-09-2007, 07:39 PM
well, thanks for confirming with me guys, i was thinking about buying CR11 but one think is the hdd puts me off $1999 but the hdd only 80gb.

discoburg
25-09-2007, 07:57 PM
The ram compartment of the TZ gets pretty hot after some time, but the heat does not spread beyond the compartment interestingly :)
Get the Coolermaster Infinite to go with the Vaio. :s22:

jeff_xtreme_88
25-09-2007, 09:50 PM
well, thanks for confirming with me guys, i was thinking about buying CR11 but one think is the hdd puts me off $1999 but the hdd only 80gb.

if wan buy then buy from me.. will give u more freebies than other places.. lol

acerat009
25-09-2007, 09:52 PM
can anyone tell me is sz 433 good? or if i purchase cr 11 where to get those 120gb ones or 100gb ones? any shop does that?

lyonlim
25-09-2007, 10:52 PM

I got my CR11 from jeff and his service is very good.
Also, Sony is offering CR11 VAIO laptops an additional 2 years warranty extension for only $150 dollars. That's a steal! (for total 3 yrs warranty - just got my email after registering for warranty. but i already extended it for 2 yrs with harvey norman for 192 =x)

acerat009
25-09-2007, 11:02 PM
really? hmm but how big is your CR11's hdd size? what freebies jeff is giving?

acerat009
25-09-2007, 11:12 PM
simi freebies you giving??? =x

bingx88
25-09-2007, 11:33 PM
Hi guys, i jus wanna ask all the CR11 users out there, whether u guys face any problems w Sony VAIO CR11??? cus i'm considering CR11 as one of the lappy i wanna get.
pls advice me!!!
THANKS!

Cookymonster
26-09-2007, 02:50 AM
Ahh,

Sony SZ94 in Japan with brown carbon fibre casing.

Sony SZ58/55 out in HK/CN.

Any idea when will the SZ58 or santa rosa Vaio SZ be launch in Singapore?

wait until neck long long... US/Europe/China/HK all launched liao...

jeff_xtreme_88
26-09-2007, 09:10 AM
HDD is 80GB..
Freebies i'm offering right now is the best promo for the CR series since it was launched.
2gb ram upgrade, slip case, microsoft office 2007 (3 licenses). Additional 2gb thumbdrive or optical mouse (if extend warranty).. standard promo is just the slip case and microsoft office from sony.. i can throw in more freebies for u.. look for me for the best service! =P

jeff_xtreme_88
26-09-2007, 09:56 AM
Any idea when will the SZ58 or santa rosa Vaio SZ be launch in Singapore?

wait until neck long long... US/Europe/China/HK all launched liao...

the SZ6X series will be launched in about 2-3 months time..

acerat009
26-09-2007, 08:28 PM
HDD is 80GB..
Freebies i'm offering right now is the best promo for the CR series since it was launched.
2gb ram upgrade, slip case, microsoft office 2007 (3 licenses). Additional 2gb thumbdrive or optical mouse (if extend warranty).. standard promo is just the slip case and microsoft office from sony.. i can throw in more freebies for u.. look for me for the best service! =P
wah 2gb ram upgrade! zhun bo?

jeff_xtreme_88
26-09-2007, 09:15 PM
wah 2gb ram upgrade! zhun bo?

Zhun! Excellent promo right now!

dc2007
26-09-2007, 10:26 PM
Jeff, what freebies/good deals will you offer for the Sony TZ 17GN ?

Thanks!

jeff_xtreme_88
27-09-2007, 10:00 AM
Jeff, what freebies/good deals will you offer for the Sony TZ 17GN ?

Thanks!

Right now sony promo give you a free upgrade of ram to 2gb only.
I throw in additional slip case, 2gb thumbdrive..

acerat009
27-09-2007, 11:37 AM
jeff when you working...? today i might be getting sony leh..

jeff_xtreme_88
27-09-2007, 02:43 PM
jeff when you working...? today i might be getting sony leh..

be a little more patient.. come on this weekend.. better deal when i'm there..

bloodymiko
27-09-2007, 05:11 PM
where u working? or will u be at the it fair this coming sitex in nov to dec?

i jus found out that there is CR13 other than the CR11.... is CR13 better in terms of specs than CR11?

jeff_xtreme_88
27-09-2007, 09:11 PM
where u working? or will u be at the it fair this coming sitex in nov to dec?

i jus found out that there is CR13 other than the CR11.... is CR13 better in terms of specs than CR11?

i'll be working at funan IT mall harvey norman.. no news regarding sitex yet as still quite some time from now.. lol..

CR13 is the improved version of CR11 in terms of HDD (100GB vs 80GB), OS (Vista Home Premium vs Vista Basic), GPU (ATI X2300 vs Intel X3100).. Pricing wise for CR13 rather more costly ($2599 vs $1999).. $600 difference and only available in white colour.. CR11 available in 5 colours.. Most people will opt for the CR11 for its pricing and some will opt for the CR13 mostly because of the dedicated gpu..

pm me if you are interested in getting the gorgeous CR.. :s13:

acerat009
27-09-2007, 10:15 PM
lol, hi jeff!!! i never buy today.. went to Funan today.. went to South Asia. then almost bought CR11 but was turn off that it doesn't have 1gb ram free upgrade..

jeff_xtreme_88
27-09-2007, 10:16 PM
lol, hi jeff!!! i never buy today.. went to Funan today.. went to South Asia. then almost bought CR11 but was turn off that it doesn't have 1gb ram free upgrade..

haha.. i see.. come to look for me this weekend.. i give it to u! lol..

acerat009
27-09-2007, 10:19 PM
CR11 leh.. he say dont have free 1gb ram upgrade leh.. means 2gb for CR11....... and got plus office give me??? he say the office can use on 3 computer. hmm, zhun bo..

jeff_xtreme_88
27-09-2007, 10:21 PM
CR11 leh.. he say dont have free 1gb ram upgrade leh.. means 2gb for CR11....... and got plus office give me??? he say the office can use on 3 computer. hmm, zhun bo..

of course.. i give u free upgrade to 2gb ram, ms office 2007 (3 licenses), slip case.. trust me for the best deal.. lol..

he nv give u the ram upgrade because they have to follow the sony promo exactly ma by order from sony.. yea the office is 3 license user one.. can use on 3 computers at the same time..

acerat009
28-09-2007, 12:45 AM
buy from harvey norman ah? the basement there is it?

jeff_xtreme_88
28-09-2007, 09:10 AM
buy from harvey norman ah? the basement there is it?

yes.. best deal for u bro!

acerat009
28-09-2007, 09:13 AM
you work full time for Sony is it? can give so many good deals.

jeff_xtreme_88
28-09-2007, 09:17 AM
you work full time for Sony is it? can give so many good deals.

working for sony direct ma thats why can get better deal for u fellow forumers..
a few forumers also got their vaio from me and are very satisfied..

acerat009
28-09-2007, 11:25 AM
working for sony direct ma thats why can get better deal for u fellow forumers..
a few forumers also got their vaio from me and are very satisfied..

hmm, ask you ah, the hdd of sony cannot be changed one ah? cause will void warranty?

jeff_xtreme_88
28-09-2007, 11:26 AM
hmm, ask you ah, the hdd of sony cannot be changed one ah? cause will void warranty?

can change provided you know how to change.. it wont void the warranty.. don't worry..

jeff_xtreme_88
28-09-2007, 11:39 AM
those who are interested in getting vaio can pm me for the best deal! =)

acerat009
28-09-2007, 11:43 AM
can change provided you know how to change.. it wont void the warranty.. don't worry..

no leh, according to what the sales person @ south asia, he say that if open the hdd there got one sticker, then after take out the hdd, the stick definitely will tear.. then warranty void liao..

jeff_xtreme_88
28-09-2007, 11:53 AM
no leh, according to what the sales person @ south asia, he say that if open the hdd there got one sticker, then after take out the hdd, the stick definitely will tear.. then warranty void liao..

sorry my mistake.. according the the terms and conditions in: http://www.sony.com.sg/support/resources/en_SG/html/Warranty_Information/TermsandConditions_All.html
no unauthorised modification is allowed..

actually its better to use an external hdd in this case..

acerat009
28-09-2007, 11:58 AM
sian.. they make their laptop so nice... then HDD so small, zzzzzzz, why Sony like that one....................................... so sian.. vista itself takes up alot of space though, 80gb where got enough..

jeff_xtreme_88
28-09-2007, 01:47 PM
sian.. they make their laptop so nice... then HDD so small, zzzzzzz, why Sony like that one....................................... so sian.. vista itself takes up alot of space though, 80gb where got enough..

use an external hdd la.. nowadays ppl dun store their chunks of data in the internal hdd cuz when hdd failure everything is wiped out and the more data u store in the internal one makes processing even slower.. and external now so cheap...

acerat009
28-09-2007, 03:19 PM
use an external hdd la.. nowadays ppl dun store their chunks of data in the internal hdd cuz when hdd failure everything is wiped out and the more data u store in the internal one makes processing even slower.. and external now so cheap...

i tot more easy spoil is external hdd? cause i bought 1 80gb hdd, i can't writes into it now.. dunno why.. then i heck care but usually my internal hdd hardly spoil.. dunno.. maybe only for my case lah.

jeff_xtreme_88
28-09-2007, 04:21 PM
i tot more easy spoil is external hdd? cause i bought 1 80gb hdd, i can't writes into it now.. dunno why.. then i heck care but usually my internal hdd hardly spoil.. dunno.. maybe only for my case lah.

all hdd are vulnerable thats why they are now coming up with flash technology.. internal hdd is more vulnerable because its together with the lappy and u usually bring it around and tendacy to drop it or subject it to impact force is much greater..

SEvsNK
28-09-2007, 04:27 PM
Sony CR11 got dedicated GPU now? I went to sonystyle.sg and they state it has a ATI X2300

jeff_xtreme_88
28-09-2007, 04:29 PM
Sony CR11 got dedicated GPU now? I went to sonystyle.sg and they state it has a ATI X2300

guess it's just a mistake..CR11 is running on intel x3100 shared gpu.. its the CR13 that has the ATI X2300 dedicated gpu..

jumpmanz
28-09-2007, 09:02 PM
hi all.
just brought a CR11.
wondering if there's some sort of flim to protect the glossy top?

discoburg
28-09-2007, 10:36 PM
hi all.
just brought a CR11.
wondering if there's some sort of flim to protect the glossy top?
Haruko_Yoshiko dude is selling it

JunBunag
29-09-2007, 10:42 AM
HDD is 80GB..

Jeff dude, the offer is cool. Can I avail of that. I may be dropping at Funan to check it out this late afternoon or early night. Until what time you will there today.

jeff_xtreme_88
29-09-2007, 10:46 AM
Jeff dude, the offer is cool. Can I avail of that. I may be dropping at Funan to check it out this late afternoon or early night. Until what time you will there today.

Sure.. This deal is specially just for all you hwz forumers.. :s13: Do drop by funan IT mall harvey norman outlet anytime between 1230-830.. i'll be wearing a sony vaio polo tee that is easily recognised from the harvey norman staffs wearing their own attire.. If i'm not there.. just give me a call at 81266776 as I could be away due to having my lunch break..

See u later!

aBcGaL
29-09-2007, 10:56 AM
any1 knw if there is problem with either s/w or h/w for vaio sz43 for the webcam??? tis is the 3rd set tat was being exchange for mi. bought in march

1st set gt dead pixel, 2nd set webcam cannot be detected after awhile when u on (5mins) always. and tis 3rd set is webcam problem too!!! cant detect but it happen like 6 out of 10....

sw or hw??? any1 wif tis problem

jeff_xtreme_88
29-09-2007, 11:31 AM
any1 knw if there is problem with either s/w or h/w for vaio sz43 for the webcam??? tis is the 3rd set tat was being exchange for mi. bought in march

1st set gt dead pixel, 2nd set webcam cannot be detected after awhile when u on (5mins) always. and tis 3rd set is webcam problem too!!! cant detect but it happen like 6 out of 10....

sw or hw??? any1 wif tis problem

update the webcam drivers and it should work fine..

dchw07
29-09-2007, 02:02 PM
I didn't get any of the freebies thrown in from Jeff. No thumbdrive, no slipcase, only the standard 2GB upgrade from Sony. What a Major Disappointment. To think I went there and waited over an hour for him to start work!
And then later I realized that Harvey Norman salesman 'calculated' a 5% discount (for HN cardholder) that's $5 more than I should pay for!!! Ahhh.....

Reminder to everyone to check their 'offers' and 'discounts'.

mavericke
29-09-2007, 02:26 PM
Bought from Jeff 2 weeks ago. Too bad no Office 2007 thrown in for me...Can collect the Office 2007 now? ;)

jeff_xtreme_88
29-09-2007, 03:02 PM
I didn't get any of the freebies thrown in from Jeff. No thumbdrive, no slipcase, only the standard 2GB upgrade from Sony. What a Major Disappointment. To think I went there and waited over an hour for him to start work!
And then later I realized that Harvey Norman salesman 'calculated' a 5% discount (for HN cardholder) that's $5 more than I should pay for!!! Ahhh.....

Reminder to everyone to check their 'offers' and 'discounts'.

hey sorry bro.. cuz the salesman just now too hard already dun wan to throw in.. i got help you to ask him for the freebies.. he scared affect his profit margin thats why didnt throw in the additional freebies.. your deal also very good le.. a total rebate of $180 off for the extended warranty..

jeff_xtreme_88
29-09-2007, 03:04 PM
Bought from Jeff 2 weeks ago. Too bad no Office 2007 thrown in for me...Can collect the Office 2007 now? ;)

haha.. different promo for different period ma.. i know its abit wasted..

jeff_xtreme_88
29-09-2007, 03:07 PM
haha.. different promo for different period ma.. i know its abit wasted..

those interested in getting a vaio can come funan IT mall harvey norman look for me.. assure u better deals and service! can contact me at 81266776 for those interested.. Cheers!

dchw07
29-09-2007, 03:18 PM
Jeff, nothing against you, you were ok ... just want people to know that it's still up to Harvey Norman salespeople to decide what can give and if they are ngeow like the one I had, then no good deal liao!!!

BTW, my $180 rebate (5% discount) is standard for all HarveyNorman cardholders.. so nothing 'extra'.

jeff_xtreme_88
29-09-2007, 04:18 PM
Jeff, nothing against you, you were ok ... just want people to know that it's still up to Harvey Norman salespeople to decide what can give and if they are ngeow like the one I had, then no good deal liao!!!

BTW, my $180 rebate (5% discount) is standard for all HarveyNorman cardholders.. so nothing 'extra'.

Ya i understand your point.. thats why with me around at least i can try to push for a better deal for u cuz when i'm not there, they will just sell u without any extra freebies for sure.. i apologise for not being able to get you the best deal possible..

jeff_xtreme_88
29-09-2007, 11:19 PM
Thanks for those who came and bought their vaio from me today! Cheers!

sandra08khoo
30-09-2007, 09:33 AM
Hello, I'm also interested in buying a Sony Vaio TZ17GN/B. Any more special offers or promotions???

jeff_xtreme_88
30-09-2007, 09:44 AM
Hello, I'm also interested in buying a Sony Vaio TZ17GN/B. Any more special offers or promotions???

Now standard sony promo is 2gb ram upgrade.. I can try to throw in additional freebies for u.. Do come down to harvey norman funan IT mall today if u r free and i'll try to work out a good deal for u.. :s22:

sandra08khoo
30-09-2007, 09:58 AM
I can't come down today. Can probably go down on next Sunday if you'll still be there. Don't mind can let me know what kind of freebies?

jeff_xtreme_88
30-09-2007, 10:03 AM
I can't come down today. Can probably go down on next Sunday if you'll still be there. Don't mind can let me know what kind of freebies?

no problem.. next sunday is fine.. I would be there too.. freebies includes 1 yr antivirus, 2gb thumbdrive or optical mouse.. :)

sandra08khoo
30-09-2007, 10:07 AM
no problem.. next sunday is fine.. I would be there too.. freebies includes 1 yr antivirus, 2gb thumbdrive or optical mouse.. :)

Ok. I'll see you next Sunday then. What time will you be working? Just look for Jeff?

jeff_xtreme_88
30-09-2007, 10:08 AM
Ok. I'll see you next Sunday then. What time will you be working? Just look for Jeff?

I would be working from 1230pm-830pm.. Yea.. I would be the only one wearing sony vaio polo tee so easy to recognise =)

acerat009
30-09-2007, 10:34 AM
jeff if today i go down, i'll purchase CR11, CR13, SZ433.. what promo you have?

jeff_xtreme_88
30-09-2007, 10:40 AM
jeff if today i go down, i'll purchase CR11, CR13, SZ433.. what promo you have?

You are buying 3 sets? You come down today and we'll discuss because yours is a special case.. lol..

sotaikun
30-09-2007, 10:50 AM
hi jeff. just to check with u regarding the FZ series. saw the display set FZ17 with a HDready sticker on it but on the website only FZ18 has it. so which is which? :(

jeff_xtreme_88
30-09-2007, 10:56 AM
hi jeff. just to check with u regarding the FZ series. saw the display set FZ17 with a HDready sticker on it but on the website only FZ18 has it. so which is which? :(

All FZ series are HD ready wth HDMI Output.. Its just that because FZ18 has a blu-ray disc drive and can directly playback HD videos straightfrom blu-ray.. The FZ15 and FZ17 is also HD ready in the sense that you can download HD videos such as HD trailers and other HD videos from the internet and playback it on your plasma or LCD TV using the HDMI..

jeff_xtreme_88
30-09-2007, 11:37 AM
alright off to work.. ppl interested in getting a vaio can come down to harvey norman funan IT mall to look for me or any queries just give me a call or sms to 81266776 as wont have time to reply to pm..
Thanks!

acerat009
01-10-2007, 11:04 AM
eh, a mistake.. typo , either one of the 3.

dchw07
01-10-2007, 11:56 AM

Hahaha that makes a lot of difference!

jeff_xtreme_88
01-10-2007, 02:36 PM

aiyoh why yesterday nv come look for me? busy huh? lol

xprezzshawn
01-10-2007, 10:14 PM
Dun turn this info sticky thread into your personal sales thread.

acerat009
01-10-2007, 11:43 PM
hmm, xprezzshawn, you using sz433? nice anot? cause i want to ask if its laggy or not. cause 64mb dedicated graphics nia.

xprezzshawn
02-10-2007, 10:34 AM
hmm, xprezzshawn, you using sz433? nice anot? cause i want to ask if its laggy or not. cause 64mb dedicated graphics nia.

The SZ series allow you to switch between Intel GMA and nVidia 7400.
The nVidia chip comes with dedicated memory but has 'Turbocache' which allows it to use system memory on top of its own dedicated memory.

haruko_yoshiko
03-10-2007, 03:48 AM
Btw, for the switch between the Speed and Stamina mode, you need to restart your system for the change to take effect. :)

jeff_xtreme_88
03-10-2007, 10:19 AM
Btw, for the switch between the Speed and Stamina mode, you need to restart your system for the change to take effect. :)

Yes that is right. Hybrid graphic system is good when you can choose u want to use the shared graphics for normal usage or the dedicated graphics when you wan to play games or do 3d stuffs..

acerat009
03-10-2007, 10:35 AM
wow, but sz433 the dedicated graphics good? 64mb right?

jeff_xtreme_88
03-10-2007, 10:47 AM
wow, but sz433 the dedicated graphics good? 64mb right?

ya.. it really depends on ur usage.. the geforce 7400 is a good graphics card if u r into some gaming and 3d stuffs like video editing and photo editing.. it is able to handle them so dun worry..

jumpmanz
03-10-2007, 02:04 PM
Haruko_Yoshiko dude is selling itthanks bro. looking into the various threads now.

jeff_xtreme_88
03-10-2007, 02:18 PM
New promo for Oct 1st to Oct 7th.. Those interested in knowing the promo or getting a vaio can pm me.. Best deals!

toknh-supervaio
04-10-2007, 06:43 PM
I understand that you are waiting for the SZ6XX release.. Do you have any updates.. Pls share with me for any info... I actually intend to buy the SZ483 this week but had better wait for the new SZ..

toknh-supervaio
04-10-2007, 06:49 PM
Jeff, I was the one who sms you this afternoon on S483 free gifts... I think I had better wait for the new SZ6xx to launch.. Do keep me informed if can. Meanwhile, i have to bear with my office Toshiba NB...

jeff_xtreme_88
05-10-2007, 09:02 AM
Jeff, I was the one who sms you this afternoon on S483 free gifts... I think I had better wait for the new SZ6xx to launch.. Do keep me informed if can. Meanwhile, i have to bear with my office Toshiba NB...

Sure. No problem at all. Those who JUST WAN TO KNOW THE PROMO from sony right now can just pm me or add me in msn (jeff_xtreme_88@hotmail.com)..

snoopykk
06-10-2007, 11:41 AM
I was in touch with Jeff since last weekend, after seeing his posts here in HWZ.
Eventually bought the Sony TZ17 from Harvey Norman @ Funan Centre [served by Ricky], and walked away with free 2 GB RAM upgrade, free slip case, and 1 free Sony 2GB thumb-drive.

Am pleased with my purchase.
Thanks, Jeff !

jeff_xtreme_88
06-10-2007, 10:46 PM
I was in touch with Jeff since last weekend, after seeing his posts here in HWZ.
Eventually bought the Sony TZ17 from Harvey Norman @ Funan Centre [served by Ricky], and walked away with free 2 GB RAM upgrade, free slip case, and 1 free Sony 2GB thumb-drive.

Am pleased with my purchase.
Thanks, Jeff !

You're vey much welcomed! Hope you enjoy ur vaio purchase! =)

haruko_yoshiko
07-10-2007, 03:29 AM
Ah,

now even Sony Taiwan launching the SZ5 series le...

Sony JP's FZ config now up to T7800 2.6GHz! hahaz.

toknh-supervaio
07-10-2007, 10:23 AM
Ah,

now even Sony Taiwan launching the SZ5 series le...

Sony JP's FZ config now up to T7800 2.6GHz! hahaz.
Do you think we have high chance to get SZ5x mid Nov?

Cookymonster
07-10-2007, 10:26 AM
Do you think we have high chance to get SZ5x mid Nov?

Just back from Shanghai... they already selling the SZ5x for awhile liao... Sony Singapore really CMI

toknh-supervaio
07-10-2007, 12:36 PM
Just back from Shanghai... they already selling the SZ5x for awhile liao... Sony Singapore really CMI
i always wonder on Sony biz strategy. Did all notice the sony vaio spec in Spore is usually lowest as compare to Jpn & US. Price tag is for sure always the highest almost all countries.. introduce of new model need not to say... take SZ for example.. even China is out with SZ5X.... what Sony trying to do to spore customer??? totally no logic.

zhangyb
07-10-2007, 06:56 PM
i always wonder on Sony biz strategy. Did all notice the sony vaio spec in Spore is usually lowest as compare to Jpn & US. Price tag is for sure always the highest almost all countries.. introduce of new model need not to say... take SZ for example.. even China is out with SZ5X.... what Sony trying to do to spore customer??? totally no logic.
its simple, we are the smallest market. period. So welll... just too bad for us.

Cookymonster
07-10-2007, 11:58 PM
its simple, we are the smallest market. period. So welll... just too bad for us.

Doesn;t justify that HK is selling only 16000HKD(abt3200SGD) for a SZ5X with santa rosa chip and Nvidia 8400GS card... our top-end SZ483 is already selling at 3999SGD with a lousier chip and graphic card...really daylight robbery...

haruko_yoshiko
08-10-2007, 02:04 AM
Sad thing is Sony Taiwan doesn't have the carbon fibre finish lid cover..

The Sony Japan's premium brown SZ is really nice. :D

Another thing is Sony HK, CN, Taiwan doesn't seem to offer the Wireless N, WAN models?

If these features are required, might have to order the CTO from US, Japan le.

toknh-supervaio
08-10-2007, 10:55 AM
Sad thing is Sony Taiwan doesn't have the carbon fibre finish lid cover..

The Sony Japan's premium brown SZ is really nice. :D

Another thing is Sony HK, CN, Taiwan doesn't seem to offer the Wireless N, WAN models?

If these features are required, might have to order the CTO from US, Japan le.
Have you ever made on line purchase of Vaio from USA? international warrenty?

haruko_yoshiko
08-10-2007, 11:17 AM
Have you ever made on line purchase of Vaio from USA? international warrenty?

I bought a SZ-340P from Sony US before... However, I got someone in USA to help..

There's no international warranty as I mentioned for Sony.. You'll have to purchase that International Warranty separately.

acerat009
08-10-2007, 08:08 PM
wow i wonder when the SZ 5 series coming to singapore too. waiting as i'm not interested in the sz433 anymore. 64mb dedicated GE force.. doubt its good enough for me though.

N_Series_Siao
09-10-2007, 11:13 AM
Hi all, I just bought a sony vaio sz483.

Just curious to know whether anyone experience problem with playing back animation video clips on the windows media player or any other player.

Mine will have a intermitent jerking of the video at certain part of the video clips. But when i play it using an external harddisk, there is no jerking.

Anyone have similar experience ? I scare its my harddisk problem.

Any kind souls pls kindly adv me leh. Damn sian just buy a month only.

ifanatic
11-10-2007, 06:43 PM
Hey I must share with all of you what I found! I saw this "hellolulu" bags in Japan when I was there end Dec 06.. saw this Hellolulu laptop bags that were cool ... they are finally having it at epicentre (Wheelock) .. heard you can get it at iShop TOO!! I loved my 10+Laptop case... going to get myself the other one with two way function.. its got 'fury' lining... kinda cool! You can find things for your babes too... lots of female selections... Wosh!!!

My buy...
http://store.yahoo.co.jp/ibplan/ide-hl-02.html :s12:

My next buy... can't find the pix :s27:

publiceducator
11-10-2007, 07:14 PM
blast 1 :crazy:

discoburg
11-10-2007, 08:06 PM
Hey I must share with all of you what I found! I saw this "hellolulu" bags in Japan when I was there end Dec 06.. saw this Hellolulu laptop bags that were cool ... they are finally having it at epicentre (Wheelock) .. heard you can get it at iShop TOO!! I loved my 10+Laptop case... going to get myself the other one with two way function.. its got 'fury' lining... kinda cool! You can find things for your babes too... lots of female selections... Wosh!!!
How much you paid? The bag for how big notebook?

jeff_xtreme_88
12-10-2007, 01:58 PM

My buy...
http://store.yahoo.co.jp/ibplan/ide-hl-02.html :s12:

My next buy... can't find the pix :s27:

Nice bag.........

Finishing_line
12-10-2007, 10:10 PM
I read in the papers (Straits Times, Home section, 12 Oct on page H17) under the heading 'Windows Users prefer Older XP to Vista' that majority of users are unhappy with their Windows Vista. I owned a TX57, and Vista is slowly but surely getting into my nerves. Shut down times takes forever despite employing all the tricks of the tweaks.

My 1 year warranty expires in May 2008. Does anyone knows if Sony Singapore can downgrade my OS to Windows XP; how much will it cost me? Thanks.

zhangyb
12-10-2007, 10:16 PM
I read in the papers (Straits Times, Home section, 12 Oct on page H17) under the heading 'Windows Users prefer Older XP to Vista' that majority of users are unhappy with their Windows Vista. I owned a TX57, and Vista is slowly but surely getting into my nerves. Shut down times takes forever despite employing all the tricks of the tweaks.

My 1 year warranty expires in May 2008. Does anyone knows if Sony Singapore can downgrade my OS to Windows XP; how much will it cost me? Thanks.
sony singapore will not do a downgrade for you. Microsoft is coming out wif a downgrade package i think, but for sony models i think you will still need to obtain the drivers for the cameras etc etc...

you can do a downgrade urself, do a search, i posted a link b4 to notebookreview.com forums to a thread tt has a guide to downgrade from vista to xp.

Finishing_line
12-10-2007, 11:18 PM
sony singapore will not do a downgrade for you. Microsoft is coming out wif a downgrade package i think, but for sony models i think you will still need to obtain the drivers for the cameras etc etc...

you can do a downgrade urself, do a search, i posted a link b4 to notebookreview.com forums to a thread tt has a guide to downgrade from vista to xp.

Thanks for the lead, I managed to get into the link and currently downloading the 2 files (one of them is 323 MB :s31: ).

Finishing_line
13-10-2007, 01:19 PM

I'm done with downloading the 2 files, extracted and run every application. Unfortunately I am stuck now and still in Vista. What do i do next? Thanks

sandra08khoo
13-10-2007, 01:26 PM
Jeff, sorry did'nt purchase frm you. Found a cheaper deal at Sim Lim...

Anyway, can anyone help me with me Sony in-built Motion Eye camera? I'm using TZ17GN. Tried using the Vaio Camera Capture Utility software to use it but it says access failed. Last time had no problem with my old Sony laptop using the windows camera and scanner wizard to use the motion eye camera to take photos...

sandra08khoo
13-10-2007, 03:34 PM
oh...after I re-started my laptop then ok already...hehe =:p

zhangyb
13-10-2007, 04:51 PM
Jeff, sorry did'nt purchase frm you. Found a cheaper deal at Sim Lim...

Anyway, can anyone help me with me Sony in-built Motion Eye camera? I'm using TZ17GN. Tried using the Vaio Camera Capture Utility software to use it but it says access failed. Last time had no problem with my old Sony laptop using the windows camera and scanner wizard to use the motion eye camera to take photos...
it occasionally fails, some times it will say that the camera is in use, just gotta restart will do :)

kukupok
13-10-2007, 07:21 PM
Hi Guys, i have problems updating my software version for cr11gh. the setup stops everytime it reaches the installing wizard part. and my camera is not working too.it says its used by another application. anybody can help??

ginseng1
14-10-2007, 10:55 AM

Go buy a OEM XP from SLS for about $120+ and install yourself.

publiceducator
14-10-2007, 05:25 PM

http://forums.microsoft.com/TechNet/ShowPost.aspx?PostID=1425295&SiteID=17

"in accordance with the Microsoft OEM System Builder license" does not mean taking it off another machine!!! it means aquiring a copy with your target machine at the time of purchase - borrow a retail copy off someone - problem solved!

Can I downgrade my OEM version of Windows Vista Business to Windows XP Professional?

Yes. OEM downgrade rights for desktop PC operating systems apply to Windows Vista Business and Windows Vista Ultimate as stated in the License Terms. Please note, OEM downgrade versions of Windows Vista Business and Windows Vista Ultimate are limited to Windows XP Professional (including Windows XP Tablet PC Edition and Windows XP x64 Edition).

End users can use the following media for their downgrade: Volume Licensing media (provided the end user has a Volume Licensing agreement), retail (FPP), or system builder hologram CD (provided the software is acquired in accordance with the Microsoft OEM System Builder License). Use of the downgraded operating system is governed by the Windows Vista Business License Terms, and the end user cannot use both the downgrade operating system and Windows Vista Business. There are no downgrade rights granted for Windows Vista Home Basic or Windows Vista Home Premium.

http://forums.microsoft.com/Genuine/ShowPost.aspx?PostID=1258121&SiteID=25
http://www.hardwarezone.com.sg/news/view.php?id=8859&cid=11

gerald27
15-10-2007, 01:37 AM
don't you think it is funny

if you can downgrade to XP .... shouldn't you have a valid cd key already ?? :D

jeff_xtreme_88
16-10-2007, 09:21 AM
Hi Guys, i have problems updating my software version for cr11gh. the setup stops everytime it reaches the installing wizard part. and my camera is not working too.it says its used by another application. anybody can help??

please update your camera drivers by using the vaio update found in the start menu..

zhangyb
16-10-2007, 08:39 PM
I'm done with downloading the 2 files, extracted and run every application. Unfortunately I am stuck now and still in Vista. What do i do next? Thanks
which 2 files you downloaded? what do you mean by stuck? did you tryy asking on notebookreview forums? the folks there are pretty helpful :)

thomas990
16-10-2007, 09:05 PM
I just got my Vaio CR11GH. but i think the graphic card memory is set at 10MB (cos my RAM is 10MB less) how do i set to higher graphic memory? i get into bios but nothing can be done there.

Thanks in advance for the help!

jeff_xtreme_88
17-10-2007, 11:19 AM
those who wish to know the current promotion for sony vaio do add me in msn (jeff_xtreme_88@hotmail.com).. cheers

Finishing_line
17-10-2007, 01:03 PM
which 2 files you downloaded? what do you mean by stuck? did you tryy asking on notebookreview forums? the folks there are pretty helpful :)

Hi, thanks for your attention. The 2 files were from Sony's website for downgrading Vista to XP Pro ie XP drivers and applications. From the forums, it seems that one can get hold of any retail XP Pro and when prompted for the CD key, simply call Microsoft Singapore, products & services for a humber. I did not get to the stage to call Microsoft for this because:

a) it was a Hari Raya weekend and a holiday
b) I had in my haste wipe out my TX hard disk to clean install the XP.
c) I had to attend to the TX immediately as I needed it urgently for a project.
d) So I went out to buy an OEM XP Pro (bite the bullet, no choice)

For those who intend to downgrade from Vista to XP Pro, do bear in mind that you will lose all the Sony in house applications such as Roxio, Adobe. I don't really care about these but I suppose you can download them from Sony.

I'm happy to be back to XP Pro, Vista can really make you insane especially if you are in a little hurry :)

zhangyb
17-10-2007, 03:07 PM
Hi, thanks for your attention. The 2 files were from Sony's website for downgrading Vista to XP Pro ie XP drivers and applications. From the forums, it seems that one can get hold of any retail XP Pro and when prompted for the CD key, simply call Microsoft Singapore, products & services for a humber. I did not get to the stage to call Microsoft for this because:

a) it was a Hari Raya weekend and a holiday
b) I had in my haste wipe out my TX hard disk to clean install the XP.
c) I had to attend to the TX immediately as I needed it urgently for a project.
d) So I went out to buy an OEM XP Pro (bite the bullet, no choice)

For those who intend to downgrade from Vista to XP Pro, do bear in mind that you will lose all the Sony in house applications such as Roxio, Adobe. I don't really care about these but I suppose you can download them from Sony.

I'm happy to be back to XP Pro, Vista can really make you insane especially if you are in a little hurry :)
cool, just gotta make sure you get specific drivers for certain components like the card reader, camera which usually does not work without the sony drivers after a clean install.

toknh-supervaio
18-10-2007, 06:50 PM
Hi all SZ fanzzz, SZ 58GN/C is finally here in spore. I am going down to Sony to collect now. SGD 3999. with free gift....! hahahaha

Vincent_G
18-10-2007, 08:34 PM
Hi all SZ fanzzz, SZ 58GN/C is finally here in spore. I am going down to Sony to collect now. SGD 3999. with free gift....! hahahaha

Wah wah.. 3999? It's exactly the same price with SZ483, but the spec is much much much more more more superior. http://www.sony.com.sg/product/CompareProducts.action?site=hp_en_SG_i&models=VGN-SZ483N&models=VGN-SZ58GN

Is this a replacement model or what? This afternoon, walk at bugis area, there is a promotion of SZ483, 200$ rebate + free additional battery + bag + 1 yr int warranty. I almost buy.. But luckily you inform about this new model.

May i kow what is the free gift?? :s12:

jeff_xtreme_88
18-10-2007, 08:39 PM

haha tok, ur patient has paid off.. =P

haruko_yoshiko
19-10-2007, 04:36 AM

Wad free gift?

ZzZ 3999... Around 500+ more than HK/TW... I might considering orderin from Sony US.. With WAN and Wireless N with tt price...

Vincent_G
19-10-2007, 09:11 AM
Wad free gift?

ZzZ 3999... Around 500+ more than HK/TW... I might considering orderin from Sony US.. With WAN and Wireless N with tt price...

And do you think including shipping fee and all the hassle of ordering from US will be equal to 500? Hmm.. But I wonder what the free gift is. And however, is this SZ58 available in all the store yet?

toknh-supervaio
19-10-2007, 01:31 PM
haha tok, ur patient has paid off.. =P
ya bro. The new SZ is really beautiful...

Vincent_G
19-10-2007, 05:03 PM
ya bro. The new SZ is really beautiful...

Is there any change to the design of this new SZ compare to prev SZ483?

Which store do you buy from ah? I have walked around suntec just now, not even single shop there have this model yet, and even Harvey Norman in suntec is unaware such model exists :(. May I know the what the current offer/gift?

haruko_yoshiko
19-10-2007, 08:21 PM
And do you think including shipping fee and all the hassle of ordering from US will be equal to 500? Hmm.. But I wonder what the free gift is. And however, is this SZ58 available in all the store yet?

Hmm, may or may not be equal to 500.. Perhaps consider it as a lil top up for the extra features. :)

jeff_xtreme_88
20-10-2007, 10:48 AM
Sony has just launched new models for the CR series and SZ series!

bonkerz100
20-10-2007, 11:03 AM
so does Harvey Norman have any good freebies for SZ55?

JungleKing
20-10-2007, 11:51 AM
wait for the pc fair at end of nov if you can still wait? :)

Cookymonster
20-10-2007, 02:41 PM
Hmm, may or may not be equal to 500.. Perhaps consider it as a lil top up for the extra features. :)

just got a SZ94 shipped back from Japan, should be arriving monday. Premium Carbon Brown. 200GB 7200rpm HD, english OS, rest the same with the local SZ58. Total damage $3800... :s13:

Vincent_G
21-10-2007, 12:23 AM
wait for the pc fair at end of nov if you can still wait? :)

What might be the usual bonus/gift for VAIO product from the past experience during this PC fair?

toknh-supervaio
21-10-2007, 12:59 AM
Wad free gift?

I have got a Oiginal Vaio briefcase and Office Home and Student.

toknh-supervaio
21-10-2007, 01:08 AM
Is there any change to the design of this new SZ compare to prev SZ483?

Which store do you buy from ah? I have walked around suntec just now, not even single shop there have this model yet, and even Harvey Norman in suntec is unaware such model exists :(. May I know the what the current offer/gift? The noteable diff is touch pad, SZ58 is solid black colour and the SONY and VAIO logo location is just the other way round. The printing quality is much better than SZ483.. For the Gifts, I have got original vaio briefcase and Office for home & student..

Ya, I bought it in Wisma Orchard on 18 Oct. The sales mgr told me that the shop only got 2 units at about 4pm that day and I am the first one who got it... I think the stock is not fully in yet..

jeff_xtreme_88
21-10-2007, 08:17 AM
so does Harvey Norman have any good freebies for SZ55?

the SZ55 has free upgrade of the ram to 2gb.. SZ58 still no promo yet.. think that tok's case is a early bird special indeed.. lol

jeff_xtreme_88
21-10-2007, 08:27 AM
stocks are in for the new CR series (CR23), SZ series (SZ55,SZ58), NR series (NR17), FZ series (FZ27)..
refresh for new TZ series has also been released however stocks still not in yet..

toknh-supervaio
21-10-2007, 12:48 PM
the SZ55 has free upgrade of the ram to 2gb.. SZ58 still no promo yet.. think that tok's case is a early bird special indeed.. lol
Yes Jeff, you are right. The Sony men told me that they are not suppose to give away free gift as the product is very new. It's just my luck i supposed.

gairr
21-10-2007, 09:10 PM
Yes Jeff, you are right. The Sony men told me that they are not suppose to give away free gift as the product is very new. It's just my luck i supposed.

There is promo for Z58: MS Office STE.

Found that in Sony Gallery.

Vincent_G
22-10-2007, 02:56 AM
Does anyone know any shop that sells SZ58 below 3999? :s16: :s7:

haruko_yoshiko
22-10-2007, 03:41 AM
just got a SZ94 shipped back from Japan, should be arriving monday. Premium Carbon Brown. 200GB 7200rpm HD, english OS, rest the same with the local SZ58. Total damage $3800... :s13:

Woweee...

How did you manage to order from Sony JP?

I'm interested in getting from their site directly too... Did u manage to get the Wireless N config? WAN too.

haruko_yoshiko
22-10-2007, 03:42 AM
I have got a Oiginal Vaio briefcase and Office Home and Student.

ah icic... briefcase?? or carrying bag?

cracker
22-10-2007, 08:20 AM
was at sony gallery (wisma) yesterday...
saw the SZ-55 going for 2.5k plus 1 GB upgrade. (hope I didnt see wrongly)
the outgoing SZ-43 was going for 2.7k bundled with 1 GB upgrade plus MS Office (STE).

Spec wise the SZ-55 seem better (it is using santa rosa chip, T7100) plus Nbida 8400 graphic set.

jeff_xtreme_88
22-10-2007, 09:51 AM
the outgoing SZ-43 was going for 2.7k bundled with 1 GB upgrade plus MS Office (STE).

Spec wise the SZ-55 seem better (it is using santa rosa chip, T7100) plus Nbida 8400 graphic set.

yup.. you saw it right.. its going for $2499 with free upgrade to 2gb ram.. better pricing this time round by sony..

Tucksoon
22-10-2007, 10:47 AM
Is the new SZ that same old keyboard? If so, giving it a miss liao =:p

runestyx
22-10-2007, 11:14 AM

The santa rosa is a platform not a chip. The CPU is part of the Merom family. The Sony SZ in Singapore is NOT santa rosa because it does not use the Intel Wireless WiFi Link 4965AGN adapter, although it uses the CPU and chipset for the platform.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Centrino#Santa_Rosa_platform_.282007.29

cracker
22-10-2007, 02:19 PM
The santa rosa is a platform not a chip. The CPU is part of the Merom family. The Sony SZ in Singapore is NOT santa rosa because it does not use the Intel Wireless WiFi Link 4965AGN adapter, although it uses the CPU and chipset for the platform.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Centrino#Santa_Rosa_platform_.282007.29

u r correct to the "m".

IMHO, the SZ-55 will be a seller in the 13.3" category...it will definitely nade those who are targeting the dell xps 1330 to think twice.

jeff_xtreme_88
22-10-2007, 02:56 PM
u r correct to the "m".

IMHO, the SZ-55 will be a seller in the 13.3" category...it will definitely nade those who are targeting the dell xps 1330 to think twice.

yup definitely.. 2499 only right now compared to previous sz433 selling at 2799.. any buyers? lol

cracker
22-10-2007, 03:15 PM
yup definitely.. 2499 only right now compared to previous sz433 selling at 2799.. any buyers? lol

if u packaged it well during the Nov PC Show, u will definitely be doing well !!

my fren just bought the SZ-433 just few days ago....now abit pissed off and shocked with the pricing of SZ-55. But tat's how things are in the IT world.

jeff_xtreme_88
22-10-2007, 03:17 PM
if u packaged it well during the Nov PC Show, u will definitely be doing well !!

my fren just bought the SZ-433 just few days ago....now abit pissed off and shocked with the pricing of SZ-55. But tat's how things are in the IT world.

haha yup.. i was surprised too at the pricing on sz55.. an excellent deal!

ipporek
22-10-2007, 03:21 PM
u r correct to the "m".

Well, guess I'm one of those. =:p

jeff_xtreme_88
22-10-2007, 03:49 PM
Well, guess I'm one of those. =:p

haha.. my stocks just came in not long ago.. if wan i can sell you.. lol

Tucksoon
22-10-2007, 03:53 PM
Well, the SZ keyboard to me is still a large turn off :s13:

Alan_sony
22-10-2007, 04:08 PM
Is it just me or have the new SZ55 grown heavier?