View Full Version : Sony Vaio laptop users Thread
tylsteve
22-10-2007, 06:32 PM
Just saw the laptop on display at the sony shop. Its exterior looks identical to my SZ43, however the specs are better. The SZ55 has a Geforce 8400, compared to the Geforce 7400 for SZ43. However the price is lower by $300 at $2499, compared to $2799 for SZ43. Its definitely a good buy, for it is cheaper yet better than the SZ43. Even now i feel gek when i see the SZ55, cos its more powerful yet cheaper than my SZ43. :s27:
haruko_yoshiko
23-10-2007, 02:03 AM
yup definitely.. 2499 only right now compared to previous sz433 selling at 2799.. any buyers? lol
tt's like the price of the ati x2300 CR series.. so degrading for the SZ series...
jeff_xtreme_88
23-10-2007, 09:58 AM
tt's like the price of the ati x2300 CR series.. so degrading for the SZ series...
the CR13 is $2599 even more expensive than the SZ55! lol
haruko_yoshiko
23-10-2007, 12:17 PM
the CR13 is $2599 even more expensive than the SZ55! lol
Wad the..... CR more expensive than SZ... so ridiculous.. lolz...
Yux man!
Tucksoon
23-10-2007, 01:00 PM
The SZ needs a face lift or something. Getting boring liao :P
jeff_xtreme_88
23-10-2007, 07:41 PM
the SZ keyboard has been improved from my point of view after testing it. It's more sensitive right now compared to the old SZ.. what a better time to get a SZ than right now.. lol
Tucksoon
23-10-2007, 10:35 PM
the SZ keyboard has been improved from my point of view after testing it. It's more sensitive right now compared to the old SZ.. what a better time to get a SZ than right now.. lol
I tried the new SZ in a shop this afternoon. Nah, keyboard feels the same as previous batches :s13:
alvino77
24-10-2007, 12:59 AM
yeah exactly it felt the same to me too!!
BTW anyone interested in a extra AC adaptor? For SZ or compatible models.
it's 19.5V Sony original in original blister packaging. Not those fake sony shrink wrapped found in SLS(which btw are imitation and light weighted) I'm selling mine. PM me for details. :)
discoburg
24-10-2007, 08:43 AM
yeah exactly it felt the same to me too!!
BTW anyone interested in a extra AC adaptor? For SZ or compatible models.
it's 19.5V Sony original in original blister packaging. Not those fake sony shrink wrapped found in SLS(which btw are imitation and light weighted) I'm selling mine. PM me for details. :)
Can use on the CR11? If yes please PM me the price.
jeff_xtreme_88
24-10-2007, 12:08 PM
I tried the new SZ in a shop this afternoon. Nah, keyboard feels the same as previous batches :s13:
haha.. its really personal preference.. alot of ppl who bought the sz from me has no issue with the keyboard.. =P
Tucksoon
24-10-2007, 12:55 PM
haha.. its really personal preference.. alot of ppl who bought the sz from me has no issue with the keyboard.. =P
Those who bought confirm like the keyboard mah, if not why buy leh...:P
alvino77
24-10-2007, 01:02 PM
SZ keyboard hor sut one.. the japanese designer (according to the interview from designer) tried 2mm pitch due to the 1st few design constraint and found that it's not as tactile for the keyboard feedback. then they revamp the SZ design to make sure they get at least 3mm pitch for more 'feel'
SZ is WELL DESIGNED with lotsa consideration
toknh-supervaio
24-10-2007, 02:33 PM
I am selling my Microsoft Office Home & Student Edition) since I already own one. It was free gift for my SZ58GN/C purchase at Orchard Sony Gallery. Totally new and not opened yet... Anybody interested, pls let me know. Cheers!
Tucksoon
24-10-2007, 03:39 PM
SZ keyboard hor sut one.. the japanese designer (according to the interview from designer) tried 2mm pitch due to the 1st few design constraint and found that it's not as tactile for the keyboard feedback. then they revamp the SZ design to make sure they get at least 3mm pitch for more 'feel'
SZ is WELL DESIGNED with lotsa consideration
Well designed or not, it still feels weird to me. Nothing beats the thinkpad keyboard.
alvino77
25-10-2007, 12:37 AM
Well designed or not, it still feels weird to me. Nothing beats the thinkpad keyboard.
yeah well designed or not. it's more of personal preferences. you would be thinkpad's. some people like altis some ppl like evo some ppl like rexes... :)
jeff_xtreme_88
25-10-2007, 09:29 PM
yeah well designed or not. it's more of personal preferences. you would be thinkpad's. some people like altis some ppl like evo some ppl like rexes... :)
yup agree.. =P
Tucksoon
26-10-2007, 01:10 AM
Nonetheless, the industry standard for excellent laptop keyboard is still the Thinkpad keyboard. That's an undeniable fact, not a matter of preference.
Dj_SkyE
26-10-2007, 02:23 AM
Nonetheless, the industry standard for excellent laptop keyboard is still the Thinkpad keyboard. That's an undeniable fact, not a matter of preference.
thinkpad feels damn weird to me
alvino77
26-10-2007, 02:37 AM
fact?
may I ask where you get that fact from?
the supposedly excellent keyboard didn't even incorporated Windows Key only till recent 1 yr? The main reason i refuse to even consider a Thinkpad years back.
Tucksoon
26-10-2007, 06:34 AM
thinkpad feels damn weird to me
fact?
may I ask where you get that fact from?
the supposedly excellent keyboard didn't even incorporated Windows Key only till recent 1 yr? The main reason i refuse to even consider a Thinkpad years back.
Oops...errr...me bad. I forgot this is a Sony Vaio thread, say Thinkpad good, Vaio bad, confirm kena whack upside down :s13:
Peace out :)
Vincent_G
26-10-2007, 10:25 AM
I plan to upgrade my SZ laptop from 2 GB (1x2GB) to 3 GB, by replacing existing 1GB. But, has anyone ever tried this before? Cause, most probably the brand of the new 2GB might not be the same with existing one, and I heard that there is a possibility that Dual Channel mode might not work using two different brand RAM. Anyone experience this?
enzo81
26-10-2007, 03:24 PM
Wad free gift?
ZzZ 3999... Around 500+ more than HK/TW... I might considering orderin from Sony US.. With WAN and Wireless N with tt price...
just got e sz58 from v3 at sls...
free office 2007 STE, 2GB microvault, slim case, optical mouse
jeff_xtreme_88
26-10-2007, 03:47 PM
new models has all been released! CR series (CR23, CR22), FZ series (FZ25G,FZ27G,FZ28G), TZ series (TZ26,TZ27,TZ28), NR series (NR17), SZ series (SZ55,SZ56,SZ58)!
Feel free to add me to msn (jeff_xtreme_88@hotmail.com) to know more! =P
haruko_yoshiko
26-10-2007, 04:43 PM
just got e sz58 from v3 at sls...
free office 2007 STE, 2GB microvault, slim case, optical mouse
wah, u also buy ah... hahaz
What do you think of the speed and performance?
But doesn't have WAN or Wireless-N leh :( Only that part sux.. How's the hybrid hdd performance? As in do you think Windows startup is faster?
haruko_yoshiko
26-10-2007, 04:56 PM
new models has all been released! CR series (CR23, CR22), FZ series (FZ25G,FZ27G,FZ28G), TZ series (TZ26,TZ27,TZ28), NR series (NR17), SZ series (SZ55,SZ56,SZ58)!
Feel free to add me to msn (jeff_xtreme_88@hotmail.com) to know more! =P
How much is the TZ28? its also the carbon fibre lid one right? As in tz28gn/X.. any good offers for that and the sz58?
Maybe the CR23 as well... the gold one looks quite nice.. :)
enzo81
26-10-2007, 05:09 PM
wah, u also buy ah... hahaz
What do you think of the speed and performance?
But doesn't have WAN or Wireless-N leh :( Only that part sux.. How's the hybrid hdd performance? As in do you think Windows startup is faster?
eh... can only tell u next week.. haha
trying to download e XP drivers which is taking a bloody 7hrs... -_-"
but windows XP installation was fast..
maybe faster than my Fujitsu S6410 Premium
jeff_xtreme_88
26-10-2007, 05:09 PM
How much is the TZ28? its also the carbon fibre lid one right? As in tz28gn/X.. any good offers for that and the sz58?
Maybe the CR23 as well... the gold one looks quite nice.. :)
The TZ28 is $4499 same price as TZ18. Carbon fibre as well..
Free upgrade to 2gb ram for the TZ28.. The SZ58 is $3999 with free ms office, slip case and a few more additional freebies.. =P
Cookymonster
27-10-2007, 10:39 AM
Woweee...
How did you manage to order from Sony JP?
I'm interested in getting from their site directly too... Did u manage to get the Wireless N config? WAN too.
Handcarried back by my japanese colleague... yes configured with N to take advantage of the santa rosa chip... the 7200rpm HDD is also a must... the whole setup is much much faster ...
haruko_yoshiko
28-10-2007, 04:25 AM
eh... can only tell u next week.. haha
trying to download e XP drivers which is taking a bloody 7hrs... -_-"
but windows XP installation was fast..
maybe faster than my Fujitsu S6410 Premium
hahahaz... wah lao 7hrs... =.="
sounds good leh...
haruko_yoshiko
28-10-2007, 04:26 AM
The TZ28 is $4499 same price as TZ18. Carbon fibre as well..
Free upgrade to 2gb ram for the TZ28.. The SZ58 is $3999 with free ms office, slip case and a few more additional freebies.. =P
Icic, I dun reali gian those freebies actualli.. juz hoping to get discounts.. ok thanks aniwae :)
haruko_yoshiko
28-10-2007, 04:27 AM
Handcarried back by my japanese colleague... yes configured with N to take advantage of the santa rosa chip... the 7200rpm HDD is also a must... the whole setup is much much faster ...
wahs... can get one more not? lolz...
the 7200rpm will have better performance over the hybrid 5400rpm?
jeff_xtreme_88
28-10-2007, 09:29 AM
Icic, I dun reali gian those freebies actualli.. juz hoping to get discounts.. ok thanks aniwae :)
haha.. you will not even be able to get $1 discount cuz the dealer's dealership will be ended immediately sony finds out.. thats how they build the brand up.. :s13:
enzo81
29-10-2007, 08:32 AM
installation of xp drivers for SZ58 in progress...
upon chipset driver installation and windows restart... BSOD!!! :s22:
had to start windows "use previous good configuration" but BSOD never returned after that
other drivers were ok, just install everything inside the driver folder.
keyboard feels flimsy..
up till now, i still prefer my fujitsu s6410 premium...
edit:
problem which i can't solve yet, Seconday IDE Channel complains "This device cannot find enough free resources that it can use. (Code 12) BUT no IRQ conflict :s27:
solved by updating bios
littleprincey
29-10-2007, 05:49 PM
Anyway guys, the 7200 K RPM Hitachi drive do help to protect laptop data. I dropped my laptop yesterday and the drive activates the protection. Please do not drop your Sony Vaio SZ, the metallic side of the laptop will get dented.
Tucksoon
29-10-2007, 06:03 PM
Anyway guys, the 7200 K RPM Hitachi drive do help to protect laptop data. I dropped my laptop yesterday and the drive activates the protection. Please do not drop your Sony Vaio SZ, the metallic side of the laptop will get dented.
Any laptop (less toughbook) will get dented when dropped mah :s13:
frozentrace
29-10-2007, 11:29 PM
installation of xp drivers for SZ58 in progress...
upon chipset driver installation and windows restart... BSOD!!! :s22:
had to start windows "use previous good configuration" but BSOD never returned after that
other drivers were ok, just install everything inside the driver folder.
keyboard feels flimsy..
up till now, i still prefer my fujitsu s6410 premium...
edit:
problem which i can't solve yet, Seconday IDE Channel complains "This device cannot find enough free resources that it can use. (Code 12) BUT no IRQ conflict :s27:
solved by updating bioswah. 'A' for determination and effort :)
hahha I love my S6410 too.
so how's the performance of the SZ58? faster than your S6410?
enzo81
30-10-2007, 09:26 AM
wah. 'A' for determination and effort :)
hahha I love my S6410 too.
so how's the performance of the SZ58? faster than your S6410?
hopefully can come out with e comparison later in e afternoon... trying to install at least wat i have on e s6410 to have a fairer comparison
downloading e utilities now... taking >5hrs :s27:
waitforyou
30-10-2007, 02:29 PM
sorry for being a noob. how to reinstall windows for Sony laptop?
enzo81
31-10-2007, 01:53 PM
sorry for being a noob. how to reinstall windows for Sony laptop?
after backing up ur files somewhere
just pop in e windows xp cd, boot from cd and reinstall
ipporek
31-10-2007, 02:01 PM
Does the SZ58 come with a 5400rpm HDD or 7200prm? And is it just wireless ABG or ABGN? In the VAIO SG website the specs stated 5400rpm and wireless ABG, but seemed to have read somewhere it's 7200rpm and wireless ABGN. And btw, how many megapixels is the motion eye cam equivalent to?
zhangyb
31-10-2007, 02:19 PM
Does the SZ58 come with a 5400rpm HDD or 7200prm? And is it just wireless ABG or ABGN? In the VAIO SG website the specs stated 5400rpm and wireless ABG, but seemed to have read somewhere it's 7200rpm and wireless ABGN. And btw, how many megapixels is the motion eye cam equivalent to?
Singapore options only 5400RPM and ABG
Sony Japan you can opt for 7200 and ABGN
Sony US also has ABGN i think
ipporek
31-10-2007, 02:23 PM
Oh... so if wanna get, better to get from Japan la.
waitforyou
31-10-2007, 04:33 PM
after backing up ur files somewhere
just pop in e windows xp cd, boot from cd and reinstall
I don't think I have any CD with the laptop.
enzo81
31-10-2007, 04:35 PM
Sony Vaio SZ58 vs Fujitsu S6410 Premium short comparison
Sony Vaio SZ58
~ $4000.00 No Upgrades
Intel C2D T7700 2.4GHz
Intel GM965 Express Chipset
Intel Wireless 3945ABG
DDR2 667MHz 2GB RAM
160GB Hybrid HDD
Nvidia GeForce 8400M
DVD±RW/±R DL/RAM Drive
13.3" Wide TFT LED
315mm x 234.3mm x 21.8/33mm
~1.75kg
Very silent HDD
WLAN/Bluetooth Indicator LED
Dislikes
Flimsy keyboard feel
Static sound when muting/unmuting sound
Stickers everywhere (8) :s22:
Lack of wireless N
Fujitsu S6410 Premium
~ $4233.00 4GB RAM Upgrade, Additional 2 Years Warranty
Intel C2D T7500 2.2GHz
Intel® PRO/Wireless 4965AGN
DDR2 667MHz 4GB RAM
160GB SATA HDD
Intel GMA X3100
DVD±RW/±R DL/RAM Drive
13.3" WXGA LED
314mm x 234mm x 22.4/31.5mm
~1.6kg
Media panel
3x USB ports
4GB RAM support
Dislikes
slight whining sound from hdd during intensive use (i'm a bit sensitive)
speaker panel looks cheap
Both laptops running Windows XP Pro 32bit (don't ask me y not x64 for e S6410 w/ 4GB RAM)
Bootup to desktop
SZ58: ~42s with 44 processes
S6410: ~43s with 53 processes
http://i118.photobucket.com/albums/o110/en81/Gadgets/SFsbslc.jpg
http://i118.photobucket.com/albums/o110/en81/Gadgets/SFsbslo.jpg
e Fujitsu is shinier cos of e transparent skin i applied
jeff_xtreme_88
31-10-2007, 10:14 PM
Sony Vaio SZ58 vs Fujitsu S6410 Premium short comparison
Sony Vaio SZ58
~ $4000.00 No Upgrades
Intel C2D T7700 2.4GHz
Intel Wireless 3945ABG
DDR2 667MHz 2GB RAM
160GB Hybrid HDD
Nvidia GeForce 8400M
DVD±RW/±R DL/RAM Drive
13.3" Wide TFT LED
315mm x 234.3mm x 21.8/33mm
~1.75kg
Very silent HDD
WLAN/Bluetooth Indicator LED
Dislikes
Flimsy keyboard feel
Static sound when muting/unmuting sound
Stickers everywhere (8) :s22:
Lack of wireless N
Fujitsu S6410 Premium
~ $4233.00 4GB RAM Upgrade, Additional 2 Years Warranty
Intel C2D T7500 2.2GHz
Intel® PRO/Wireless 4965AGN
DDR2 667MHz 4GB RAM
160GB SATA HDD
Intel GMA X3100
DVD±RW/±R DL/RAM Drive
13.3" WXGA LED
314mm x 234mm x 22.4/31.5mm
~1.6kg
Media panel
3x USB ports
4GB RAM support
Dislikes
slight whining sound from hdd during intensive use (i'm a bit sensitive)
speaker panel looks cheap
Both laptops running Windows XP Pro 32bit (don't ask me y not x64 for e S6410 w/ 4GB RAM)
Bootup to desktop
SZ58: ~42s with 44 processes
S6410: ~43s with 53 processes
http://i118.photobucket.com/albums/o110/en81/Gadgets/SFsbslc.jpg
http://i118.photobucket.com/albums/o110/en81/Gadgets/SFsbslo.jpg
e Fujitsu is shinier cos of e transparent skin i applied
wa rich man....
haruko_yoshiko
01-11-2007, 11:49 AM
Skin for that SZ58 also out le, stocks arrivin 5th nov
Vincent_G
01-11-2007, 04:12 PM
Skin for that SZ58 also out le, stocks arrivin 5th nov
What do you mean by "Skin" for SZ58?
SpellSinger
01-11-2007, 06:20 PM
any kind soul here can link me to competitive vaio prices in sg? sz58 a bit high end, im looking for the lower end core 2 dup models like say 1.66ghz - 1.83ghz like that...
i have an old s series now i wanna upgrade, wanna check out what the price are like in sg...
haruko_yoshiko
01-11-2007, 11:23 PM
What do you mean by "Skin" for SZ58?
Those transparent skin for your notebook, like gmask like that de... :)
jeff_xtreme_88
02-11-2007, 09:31 AM
any kind soul here can link me to competitive vaio prices in sg? sz58 a bit high end, im looking for the lower end core 2 dup models like say 1.66ghz - 1.83ghz like that...
i have an old s series now i wanna upgrade, wanna check out what the price are like in sg...
SZ55 - $2499 C2D 1.8GHz
SZ56 - $3199 C2D 2.2GHz
Go to www.sony.com.sg/vaio for the detailed specs.
SpellSinger
02-11-2007, 10:06 AM
i thought maybe some places sell below rrp? so the prices on the sony sites r the prices the retailers r allowed to sell for?
jeff_xtreme_88
02-11-2007, 09:15 PM
i thought maybe some places sell below rrp? so the prices on the sony sites r the prices the retailers r allowed to sell for?
yup. vaio has a strictly controlled pricing policy.. the retailers are not allowed to sell any price other than the one sony has set which is displayed on the sony site. any pricing dispute will lead to the end of the dealership for the retailer
jeff_xtreme_88
03-11-2007, 10:19 AM
there's a roadshow going on at funan IT mall atrium this weekend. Great opportunity for those interested in getting a vaio as there's good promotion. Interested to know more? contact me at 81266776. Cheers!
discoburg
03-11-2007, 06:34 PM
Just found out that there is a CR22. Whats the diff between the CR11 and 22?
reynolds11
03-11-2007, 11:11 PM
woah.. promo tis wkend! is it the smile! promo or a diff promo? went to chk at sony gallery today and some of their auth dealers.. all told me the same thing! =)
Actually im looking at the following FZ series models - FZ25 or FZ27. Not taking up the SZ series cos' im going to use it for graphics design and to run maya & 3ds. And the screen size of 15.4" of the FZ series suits me best.
jeff_xtreme_88
04-11-2007, 11:09 AM
woah.. promo tis wkend! is it the smile! promo or a diff promo? went to chk at sony gallery today and some of their auth dealers.. all told me the same thing! =)
Actually im looking at the following FZ series models - FZ25 or FZ27. Not taking up the SZ series cos' im going to use it for graphics design and to run maya & 3ds. And the screen size of 15.4" of the FZ series suits me best.
its definitely a better promo than you get from the smile! promo..
Come down to funan harvey norman or contact me at 81266776 if you are interested to know more. Cheers!
jeff_xtreme_88
04-11-2007, 11:10 AM
Just found out that there is a CR22. Whats the diff between the CR11 and 22?
CR11 is C2D ,CR22 is Core Duo only..
Please view specs at www.sony.com.sg/vaio
SEvsNK
05-11-2007, 12:03 AM
CR11 is C2D ,CR22 is Core Duo only..
Please view specs at www.sony.com.sg/vaio
Since wanting to get Cr11 in the 1st place, might as well get the Cr23 instead :o
haruko_yoshiko
05-11-2007, 12:45 AM
Lolz, dunno why Sony SG dun haf the CR25 with ATi X2300..
ipporek
05-11-2007, 10:28 AM
Just realized Japan SZ94 though offers the 7200rpm HDD (200GB), but it ain't the hybrid one. Seems there ain't a 7200rpm Hybrid HDD. So if comparing the 160GB Hybrid which is 5400rpm vs a 7200rpm HDD, which is better?
XinShou
05-11-2007, 01:04 PM
joined the family with a sz55 ~
ipporek
05-11-2007, 01:24 PM
Now then I realize there's a site where you can order the SZ94 and have it shipped over. But think I'll get my friend to check prices over in Japan and see what the difference's like.
Diavonex
05-11-2007, 01:48 PM
Watch the Japanese keyboard.
ipporek
05-11-2007, 01:57 PM
Watch the Japanese keyboard.
Oh, there's option for English keyboard (black/silver). But OS is Jap la. And I guess the adapter we'd have to get a converter or get another one here. But at least you get specs you don't have in the SZ58 (ie. 200GB 7200RPM HDD, Wireless ABGN, Wireless WAN)
jeff_xtreme_88
05-11-2007, 05:36 PM
Since wanting to get Cr11 in the 1st place, might as well get the Cr23 instead :o
the CR23 is the replacement model for CR11.. CR11 no longer in production..
haruko_yoshiko
05-11-2007, 06:04 PM
Oh, there's option for English keyboard (black/silver). But OS is Jap la. And I guess the adapter we'd have to get a converter or get another one here. But at least you get specs you don't have in the SZ58 (ie. 200GB 7200RPM HDD, Wireless ABGN, Wireless WAN)
If opt for Vista Ultimate, I suppose can download the English language pack?
The ABGN/Wan enough to kill the SZ58 liao... Plus the premium brown carbon fibre... weeeee..
jhlee83
06-11-2007, 12:47 AM
hi all i just bought the aove mentioned... i guess i didn't get the best deal.... anyway, i find it laggy for the system and the keypad...
how can i run the system faster? installing a 2gd ram? installing as little software as possible?
for the kind hearted bros/sis, do drop a note here for me
thank :s12: :s22:
frozentrace
06-11-2007, 12:51 AM
hi all i just bought the aove mentioned... i guess i didn't get the best deal.... anyway, i find it laggy for the system and the keypad...
how can i run the system faster? installing a 2gd ram? installing as little software as possible?
thank :s12: :s22:adding another 1 Gb of ram may help ..
but actually the truth is... just downgrade to win xp :) it'll be alot smoother ^_^
jhlee83
06-11-2007, 12:54 AM
adding another 1 Gb of ram may help ..
but actually the truth is... just downgrade to win xp :) it'll be alot smoother ^_^
how about i getting a 2gb ram to run it and leaving 1 slot free for future(maybe another 1gb)
frozentrace
06-11-2007, 12:57 AM
how about i getting a 2gb ram to run it and leaving 1 slot free for future(maybe another 1gb)wah.. u ish rich. ^_^
alvino77
06-11-2007, 01:11 AM
guess u are trying Vista for the 1st time? vista caused every system i have installed on to be laggy! go for XP anyday!
haruko_yoshiko
06-11-2007, 04:55 AM
how about i getting a 2gb ram to run it and leaving 1 slot free for future(maybe another 1gb)
Umm, my TZ max only 1 slot.. So max ram for TZ is 2GB.
I'd suppose yours is the same :) (So u can only swap that 1GB with a 2GB)
zero7090
06-11-2007, 09:16 AM
anyone know where can i find infomation about VGN-SZ240P ?
cuz i want to upgrade my ram from 512 MB to 1 GB but i not sure it have 2 ram slot or not
xinus84
06-11-2007, 12:38 PM
why did u say u didnt get the best deal?
btw, wad is the free gift mentioned with this vaio?
Finishing_line
06-11-2007, 01:48 PM
guess u are trying Vista for the 1st time? vista caused every system i have installed on to be laggy! go for XP anyday!
I second that - Vista is certainly the culprit for the laggy performance.
haruko_yoshiko
06-11-2007, 03:18 PM
anyone know where can i find infomation about VGN-SZ240P ?
cuz i want to upgrade my ram from 512 MB to 1 GB but i not sure it have 2 ram slot or not
HI, SZ should have 2 slots.
ipporek
06-11-2007, 05:26 PM
Just wondering another thing. Understand the SZ94's similar to the SZ691N/X in other countries. But is it also the similar to the SZ58 we have here? Had just assumed it's similar based on the specs.
jhlee83
06-11-2007, 09:57 PM
why did u say u didnt get the best deal?
btw, wad is the free gift mentioned with this vaio?
haiya i got it from sony style @ bugis... the so called free gift is only the pouch for TZ... thats all..
damn...
well can't regret now ... :s27:
jhlee83
06-11-2007, 09:58 PM
Umm, my TZ max only 1 slot.. So max ram for TZ is 2GB.
I'd suppose yours is the same :) (So u can only swap that 1GB with a 2GB)
so sad, ... :( can't up the ram if that the case
jeff_xtreme_88
07-11-2007, 12:49 PM
yes.. TZ series only 1 ram slot.. max is 2gb..
ipporek
07-11-2007, 07:44 PM
Not sure if anyone knows. Is it true warranty for VAIOs purchased from Japan is only valid in Japan? As in no international warranty?
xinus84
07-11-2007, 08:38 PM
any butties bought extended warranty for the tz26 series?
sony website states around 250 while harvey norman is 293... so which is a better deal?
jeff_xtreme_88
07-11-2007, 09:11 PM
any butties bought extended warranty for the tz26 series?
sony website states around 250 while harvey norman is 293... so which is a better deal?
harvey norman's warranty covers u 1 to 1 replacement of the value of the notebook where in this case is $2999 if product is not repairable and also 100% hardware and labour repair cost. it also covers 4 countries (singapore, west malaysia, australia, new zealand).
Sony's warranty do cover 100% hardware and labour repair cost too.. However, only cover singapore..
intending to get the tz26 soon? :s13:
xinus84
08-11-2007, 12:52 AM
ah yes, very informative. thanks jeff.
still got until xmas to rook around... lols.
luv e vaio... droools.
jerrylsp
08-11-2007, 02:07 AM
I was looking into buying this VGN-CR23G wondering got any advise on it? My wife wans to do work on it so it is ok for her. But I was tinking do you tink it can do some gaming? Can I upgrade the graphics card? thks for advise.
Kamikakushi
08-11-2007, 04:20 AM
there's a roadshow going on at funan IT mall atrium this weekend. Great opportunity for those interested in getting a vaio as there's good promotion. Interested to know more? contact me at 81266776. Cheers!
Thanks for the info. Will go have a look this weekend. Was just about to pick up a SZ from Sony Gallery but guess can wait till the roadshow. :p
jeff_xtreme_88
08-11-2007, 10:38 AM
I was looking into buying this VGN-CR23G wondering got any advise on it? My wife wans to do work on it so it is ok for her. But I was tinking do you tink it can do some gaming? Can I upgrade the graphics card? thks for advise.
What kind of games do you play? it can do some light gaming with no problems. It's able to supports DOTA and online games such as maplestory etc. but it would not be able to support graphics intensive 3D games.
The graphics card cannot be upgraded. The CR23G is a rather value good buy as it running on C2D 2.0GHz with ram free upgraded to 1.5GB..
jeff_xtreme_88
08-11-2007, 10:40 AM
Thanks for the info. Will go have a look this weekend. Was just about to pick up a SZ from Sony Gallery but guess can wait till the roadshow. :p
Haha. The roadshow was last weekend. Guess you read it wrongly.
Anyway i would still be able to offer you the promo that was offered during the roadshow. :s13:
Kamikakushi
08-11-2007, 11:18 AM
Oops... Pai sei. Reading the thread off my handset. Anyway, you still got a good promo for the SZ58?
jeff_xtreme_88
08-11-2007, 11:21 AM
Oops... Pai sei. Reading the thread off my handset. Anyway, you still got a good promo for the SZ58?
of course.. standard sony promo is free ms office 2007 and slip case. I can throw in additional freebies for u!
Kamikakushi
08-11-2007, 11:30 AM
Steady. Funan Harvy Norman si bo? I go down this weekend.
jeff_xtreme_88
08-11-2007, 11:34 AM
Steady. Funan Harvy Norman si bo? I go down this weekend.
ya.. harvey norman at funan IT mall.. lol..
ipporek
08-11-2007, 02:20 PM
So anyone using a SZ94 (from Japan)?? Would like to find out some stuff, e.g. whether you can purchase the VOS if you buy the laptop direct in Japan, and whether the WAN can still work after you install an english OS (read somewhere it doesn't).
zero7090
09-11-2007, 02:44 PM
Anyone know where can i buy Infineon DDR2 RAM ? i want increase my vaio ram but got stuck while find where to buy
idone2u
09-11-2007, 05:24 PM
is SONY laptop got propriety hardware that they charge higher for?
yeomehmeh
09-11-2007, 05:34 PM
Hi everyone, i just bought my sony vaio cr last friday. :s12:
haruko_yoshiko
09-11-2007, 05:35 PM
So anyone using a SZ94 (from Japan)?? Would like to find out some stuff, e.g. whether you can purchase the VOS if you buy the laptop direct in Japan, and whether the WAN can still work after you install an english OS (read somewhere it doesn't).
I heard from my supplier the WAN is locked to NTT Docomo.... (Cannot confirm this issue though)
Can purchase Intl. Wty at an extra cost.
haruko_yoshiko
09-11-2007, 05:37 PM
Hi everyone, i just bought my sony vaio cr last friday. :s12:
Hahaz, u need any accessories for ur Vaio CR can visit my web (http://www.kuroten.com/shop).
jeff_xtreme_88
10-11-2007, 11:50 PM
great year end promo for sony vaio! those interested in know more can contact me at 81266776.
guarantee better promo than shops outside! =)
ipporek
10-11-2007, 11:56 PM
I heard from my supplier the WAN is locked to NTT Docomo.... (Cannot confirm this issue though)
Can purchase Intl. Wty at an extra cost.
International warranty as in the VOS? From Sony itself?
haruko_yoshiko
11-11-2007, 02:45 PM
International warranty as in the VOS? From Sony itself?
Yeah that's what I think it should be. Cause my supplier told me after purchase of the Intl Wty, service can be done at the Sony Vaio svc ctr in Singapore as well
zhangyb
11-11-2007, 03:04 PM
VOS valid for 1 year, yes it can be done at any service centre internationally.
XinShou
11-11-2007, 05:10 PM
does anyone knows what are the power options that i should customize if i want some of my program to remain running while i am away? vaio sz55 here
ipporek
11-11-2007, 11:33 PM
Hmmm... then perhaps I could consider a SZ94 after all. If only the keyboard was more 'solid'.
jhlee83
12-11-2007, 02:42 AM
hi does anyone knows if there's any indication for tz26 when the battery is fully charged?
ipporek
12-11-2007, 07:58 AM
Oh ya... just another thought... does a laptop bought from Japan mean that its BIOS is in Japanese? OS can reinstall english, but BIOS? And if the WAN for the SZ94 is locked to NTT Docomo (meaning its pointless to get it), how about the SZ680 over in the US? Is the WAN locked to some service provider too?
zhangyb
12-11-2007, 10:52 AM
hi does anyone knows if there's any indication for tz26 when the battery is fully charged?
check inside your windows taskbar. It will show if it is fully charge. Another way is you can boot into instant-on mode to check on battery life. No LEDs on the notebook itself to indicate full charge though. :o
haruko_yoshiko
12-11-2007, 11:39 AM
Oh ya... just another thought... does a laptop bought from Japan mean that its BIOS is in Japanese? OS can reinstall english, but BIOS? And if the WAN for the SZ94 is locked to NTT Docomo (meaning its pointless to get it), how about the SZ680 over in the US? Is the WAN locked to some service provider too?
US WAN locked to Sprint (From what I see).
ipporek
12-11-2007, 12:04 PM
Ah... like that can totally don't bother about WAN liao la. And so get from Japan or US also same la.
huntzer
12-11-2007, 12:15 PM
For those who are interest in Virtualization, Sony sz series does not support it. And that is really is a deal breaker for me...so sad...
haruko_yoshiko
12-11-2007, 11:31 PM
US CTO (Customised to Order) sets will indicate Made in USA :)
Anyway, luv my TZ for now.. :D
http://img20.imageshack.us/img20/422/cimg1974yv6.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
http://img20.imageshack.us/img20/1298/cimg1976vh6.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
xinus84
13-11-2007, 12:35 AM
droools....................
I have a less-than-1-year-old Sony TX46GP 11.1" for sale, still with sony warranty and running on Genuine Windows Vista Business. CPU is 1.06gHz with 1G Ram, with full complete set and good condition. I used it to surf net at home and hardly use it at times. I'm upgrading to a new model if can get rid of this system at reasonable price. contact 97431700 between 9am and 10 pm if interested. :)
http://vaio-online.sony.com/prod_info/vgn-tx46gp_w/specifications.html
jeff_xtreme_88
13-11-2007, 11:30 AM
I have a less-than-1-year-old Sony TX46GP 11.1" for sale, still with sony warranty and running on Genuine Windows Vista Business. CPU is 1.06gHz with 1G Ram, with full complete set and good condition. I used it to surf net at home and hardly use it at times. I'm upgrading to a new model if can get rid of this system at reasonable price. contact 97431700 between 9am and 10 pm if interested. :)
http://vaio-online.sony.com/prod_info/vgn-tx46gp_w/specifications.html
wrong thread bro, plz post in the marketplace..
emperor83
14-11-2007, 09:43 PM
The US sony laptop prices are way much cheaper. SZ650 is only ard US$1.6-1.8k in US Ebay similar to sz580 except for a slower 2.2ghz processor. Y singapore so expensive, $1k more at least for similar model.
Hi guys,
Intending to get the SZ55 during Sitex. Can I check if I can expect better pricing (instead of RRP $2499) during Sitex?
Or will they just sweeten the deal, by adding extra stuffs to the package?
How is the dead/stuck pixel policy for Vaios?
Any benefits if I were to pay by cash or credit card during Sitex? Thanks for any help rendered.
jeff_xtreme_88
14-11-2007, 11:04 PM
Hi guys,
Intending to get the SZ55 during Sitex. Can I check if I can expect better pricing (instead of RRP $2499) during Sitex?
Or will they just sweeten the deal, by adding extra stuffs to the package?
How is the dead/stuck pixel policy for Vaios?
Any benefits if I were to pay by cash or credit card during Sitex? Thanks for any help rendered.
1) Nope. Sony vaio's pricing is strictly controlled and wont change unless a newer model is coming out or already out and they are clearing the model..
2) standard extra stuffs to expect is ram upgrade to 2gb and bag from the sony yr end promo which i can provide u too anytime and even more freebies of course... =P
3) 7 dead or bright pixel to be eligible a 1-1 exchange
4) Pay cash and they might be able to throw in something extra for u.. credit card wont as they have to pay the bank %..
According to today's ST (Fri 16 Nov, Page H-5):
VGN-SZ55GN/B: Free 1GB RAM, 14" Slip Case, MS Office 2007 STE
VGN-SZ56GN/B: Free 1GB RAM, 14" Slip Case, 160GB Portable HDD
VGN-SZ58GN/B: Free MS Office 2007 STE, 14" Slip Case, VGP-BPL9 Extended Battery
VGN-SZ433GN: Cash Rebate $300, Free 1GB RAM, MS Office 2007 STE
VGN-SZ483GN/C: Cash Rebate $200, Free 14" Slip Case, VGP-BPL2C Extended Battery, VOS
Available at VAIO Authorised Dealers, Promotion Period is Limited till 25 Nov 07
Not sure if the above offers (or better) will be accorded in SITEX as well.
SITEX 2007: Thu 29 Nov - Sun 2 Dec 2007,
Time: 11am - 9pm daily.
Venue: Singapore Expo Hall 5-6.
Booth No: 5F20
Can I also verify that the FREE 1GB RAM for SZ55 & SZ56 will result in 2GB RAM (largest capacity) in the SZ notebooks? i.e. meaning free 2GB RAM upgrade.
huntzer
16-11-2007, 10:08 AM
Can I also verify that the FREE 1GB RAM for SZ55 & SZ56 will result in 2GB RAM (largest capacity) in the SZ notebooks? i.e. meaning free 2GB RAM upgrade.
well, there are ppl who put in 2x 2 gb ram in vista 32bit. And vista 32 bit reported as 3GB.
jeff_xtreme_88
16-11-2007, 11:00 AM
SZ series are able to support up to 4gb but 32-bit vista is only able to detect 3gb unless u use 64-bit vista.
jeff_xtreme_88
16-11-2007, 11:24 AM
According to today's ST (Fri 16 Nov, Page H-5):
VGN-SZ55GN/B: Free 1GB RAM, 14" Slip Case, MS Office 2007 STE
VGN-SZ56GN/B: Free 1GB RAM, 14" Slip Case, 160GB Portable HDD
VGN-SZ58GN/B: Free MS Office 2007 STE, 14" Slip Case, VGP-BPL9 Extended Battery
VGN-SZ433GN: Cash Rebate $300, Free 1GB RAM, MS Office 2007 STE
VGN-SZ483GN/C: Cash Rebate $200, Free 14" Slip Case, VGP-BPL2C Extended Battery, VOS
Available at VAIO Authorised Dealers, Promotion Period is Limited till 25 Nov 07
Not sure if the above offers (or better) will be accorded in SITEX as well.
SITEX 2007: Thu 29 Nov - Sun 2 Dec 2007,
Time: 11am - 9pm daily.
Venue: Singapore Expo Hall 5-6.
Booth No: 5F20
Yup.. This promo ends on 25th nov 07 which is before SITEX..
hard to see them better the offer come SITEX.. lol
Those who wants to know the latest promo for vaio feel free to contact me. =)
tylsteve
16-11-2007, 10:18 PM
Yup.. This promo ends on 25th nov 07 which is before SITEX..
hard to see them better the offer come SITEX.. lol
Those who wants to know the latest promo for vaio feel free to contact me. =)
The deals at the computer fair would be better than those outside in the retail shops now. When i got my SZ43 this year, it was only a few days before the June computer fair. What happened was that the SZ43 became the SZ433, meaning that it has a faster processor, larger hard disk for the same price. Plus all the freebies similar to those available outside.
But then again, the SZ5+ series is new, so there wouldn't be any changes i guess. Just some advice for those who are thinking whether to buy now or to wait till the fair.
jeff_xtreme_88
16-11-2007, 10:56 PM
The deals at the computer fair would be better than those outside in the retail shops now. When i got my SZ43 this year, it was only a few days before the June computer fair. What happened was that the SZ43 became the SZ433, meaning that it has a faster processor, larger hard disk for the same price. Plus all the freebies similar to those available outside.
But then again, the SZ5+ series is new, so there wouldn't be any changes i guess. Just some advice for those who are thinking whether to buy now or to wait till the fair.
yup understand ur point. The SZ433 and SZ43 issue was a real heartbreaker for those who bought the SZ43 before the SZ433 was launched during the show. and since SZ5+ is so new compared to the SZ43 previously, there shouldnt be any changes to the promo and any new refresh models..
jeff_xtreme_88
17-11-2007, 10:46 AM
Hi everyone, i'm working at Harvey Norman Funan IT Mall on weekends. Those interested in knowing more about vaio models can come down and look for me. I will work out a best deal for u.
Do give me a call at 81266776 if you are interested in knowing more abt the good current promo. =)
alamak
17-11-2007, 06:14 PM
yes... 2 GB total. I just got a SZ55 just now at Sony bugis. :D
Does the Vaio come with any OS CD, or recovery CD, or hidden partition that stores the OS image?
Will Sony Singapore do a OS downgrade from Vista to XP for FREE (w/all drivers) if we were to request for one?
jeff_xtreme_88
18-11-2007, 02:09 PM
Does the Vaio come with any OS CD, or recovery CD, or hidden partition that stores the OS image?
Will Sony Singapore do a OS downgrade from Vista to XP for FREE (w/all drivers) if we were to request for one?
no recovery disk provided. everything is stored in a hidden partition.
alamak
18-11-2007, 02:12 PM
no restore cd, everything is in the hard disk.
not too sure. i dun think anyone will offer this for free.
phrozact
18-11-2007, 02:25 PM
Can just do it yourself, think I remembered Sony VAIO update website had drivers for WinXP
jeff_xtreme_88
19-11-2007, 10:13 AM
windows xp downgrade drivers can be found on http://www.sony-asia.com/subtype/usefulinfo/asset/216869/productcategory/it%2Bpersonal%2Bcomputer?site=hp_en_AP_i
they also specify the functions that will not work in windows xp such as the AV mode buttons, brightness control using keyboard keys.
Thank you all for your kind assistance.
Jeff, if the Sitex promo does not have any other freebies (i.e. same as the promo now), I will be sure to contact you.
By the way, does Sony Singapore come with any warranty extension package? The default is 1 year warranty by Sony only, right?
How does the extended warranty differ among the different merchants (e.g. Sony vs Harvey Norman vs Best Denki vs Courts)?
SEvsNK
19-11-2007, 12:45 PM
Jeff, if the Sitex promo does not have any other freebies (i.e. same as the promo now), I will be sure to contact you.
By the way, does Sony Singapore come with any warranty extension package? The default is 1 year warranty by Sony only, right?
How does the extended warranty differ among the different merchants (e.g. Sony vs Harvey Norman vs Best Denki vs Courts)?
Courts extended wty from wad i know is the most exp, but they give total coverage even if its ur fault like dropping ur lappie from a 10 storey building etc. they will either repair unlimited times or change ur lappie for free
jeff_xtreme_88
19-11-2007, 01:09 PM
Sure. Standard sony warranty is 1 year. Sony singapore does have a warranty extension package right now. Maximum 2 more yrs total 3 yrs. $200 for 2 more yrs warranty for the SZ55.
For sony, its local warranty that covers you parts and labour. Lowest cost for warranty.
harvey norman, best denki, courts all up to additional 4 more yrs of warranty. all cost is for warranty extension for SZ55.
For harvey norman, Its warranty covers singapore, west malaysia, australia and new zealand and also fully covers you parts and labour. It also has a replacement scheme. If the product is not repairable, they will give u a 1-1 replacement of the value of the product u purchase. Replacement scheme is useful. Warranty cost for 2 more yrs $242, 4 more yrs $385.
For best denki, but its coverage is depreciating along the years. For 1st yr, 100% coverage for parts and labour. 2nd yr, 90% coverage. 3rd yr, 80% coverage.
Warranty cost about the same as harvey norman but coverage not complete..
For courts, its coverage includes accident damages such as even u drop it by accident or even use it to hit someone on the head.. lol.. Warranty cost highest among the superstores.
2 more yrs about 400+, 4 more yrs, $700+..
despair
19-11-2007, 05:40 PM
Can anyone help me with this problem? I just got the SZ55 and have been installing the usual software I use (Firefox, SE Suite, etc etc) - nothing very major. However, suddenly I keep getting the error message that Vaio Smart Network has encountered a problem and will be closed. No explanation other than that, and suddenly my wireless connection etc is going crazy. Uninstalling and reinstalling the Smart Network does not work and I am running out of ideas... Does anyone know how to solve this problem or has had a similar problem? Please assist, thanks!!
jeff_xtreme_88
21-11-2007, 09:38 AM
Can anyone help me with this problem? I just got the SZ55 and have been installing the usual software I use (Firefox, SE Suite, etc etc) - nothing very major. However, suddenly I keep getting the error message that Vaio Smart Network has encountered a problem and will be closed. No explanation other than that, and suddenly my wireless connection etc is going crazy. Uninstalling and reinstalling the Smart Network does not work and I am running out of ideas... Does anyone know how to solve this problem or has had a similar problem? Please assist, thanks!!
since you havent installed anything major, try doing a complete recovery by holding down the F10 key immediately after you power on the system (when vaio logo appears).
despair
22-11-2007, 01:06 AM
Yup I did a system restore in the end and it works so... Must be something that screwed up somewhere along the line, but I have no idea what. Works anyway :)
gerald27
22-11-2007, 01:12 AM
windows xp downgrade drivers can be found on http://www.sony-asia.com/subtype/usefulinfo/asset/216869/productcategory/it%2Bpersonal%2Bcomputer?site=hp_en_AP_i
they also specify the functions that will not work in windows xp such as the AV mode buttons, brightness control using keyboard keys.
sorry dude
just wanna ask in where they state what cannot be used after a downgrade ??
i read but cannot find leh ~
jeff_xtreme_88
22-11-2007, 10:52 AM
sorry dude
just wanna ask in where they state what cannot be used after a downgrade ??
i read but cannot find leh ~
It only apply for some models such as the CR
Check out this page:
http://www.sony-asia.com/support/download/224713/sectionfirst?site=hp_en_AP_i&subpage=detail
Other models such as SZ5 no problems.
despair
22-11-2007, 11:14 AM
Okay the Smart Network issue has popped up AGAIN but the only new thing I've installed since last night was Picasa! Can't be right...
Anyway I am giving up on the "Smart" Network liao. Anyone knows any other program that can control the turning on and off of the WLAN and BT if I don't use the Smart Network?
sumsum80
23-11-2007, 10:55 AM
jeff... i interested to get CR22 white. wat the best price and freebies u can secured for me. I also wanted to extend the warrranty. pls advise me
jeff_xtreme_88
23-11-2007, 12:18 PM
jeff... i interested to get CR22 white. wat the best price and freebies u can secured for me. I also wanted to extend the warrranty. pls advise me
Hi.. check ur pm.. =)
jeff_xtreme_88
25-11-2007, 10:06 AM
anybody wan to get sony vaio look for me. better deal than the coming SITEX offer. =)
AMKBoy
25-11-2007, 12:25 PM
Hi Jeff,
Looking at SZ series laptop, are you able to advise on the best price and freebies for the SZ55 and SZ58? Thanks. And i also wonder why there is such a huge 1.5k difference between the Sz55 and SZ58 when the major difference is the speed of the processor? Thanks.
attitudee02
25-11-2007, 08:15 PM
hey jeff. am interested in cr23,white.. how much does it costs? in wad way is it diff from cr22?
despair
25-11-2007, 11:32 PM
Hi Jeff,
Looking at SZ series laptop, are you able to advise on the best price and freebies for the SZ55 and SZ58? Thanks. And i also wonder why there is such a huge 1.5k difference between the Sz55 and SZ58 when the major difference is the speed of the processor? Thanks.
SZ58 is the premium version, the lid is carbon fiber and is thinner by a bit, and the display is lit using white LEDs = lower power consumption. The L2 cache is 4mb instead of 2mb, and the graphics card can utilize 900+mb of memory compared to 371mb on the SZ55.
That said, I stuck with the SZ55 because it's the most value for money with the free 1gb RAM and Office 2007 STE...
inezbelle
26-11-2007, 12:18 AM
I am interested in getting TX28 or TX27. The weight and outlook suits a small size gal the most. LOVE the pink one but it seems slighty heavy for me to carry around. I would like to know what are the price and freebies for this notebk. Will I get a better deal at Sitex or at Sony's current sale promotion?
For this ULTRA PORTABLE, Sony and IBM seems to be the only one that comes with dual 2 core right??
Ps. Many friends told me not the buy sony's notebk, anyone can tell me the cons of their products? Is it difficult to find 3 party service after warranty period?
Thanks.
Vincent_G
26-11-2007, 12:27 AM
SZ58 is the premium version, the lid is carbon fiber and is thinner by a bit, and the display is lit using white LEDs = lower power consumption. The L2 cache is 4mb instead of 2mb, and the graphics card can utilize 900+mb of memory compared to 371mb on the SZ55.
That said, I stuck with the SZ55 because it's the most value for money with the free 1gb RAM and Office 2007 STE...
Ya, SZ55 and 56 price is far different than 58. Other than "Premium Price", Is it worth the money to buy 58? or 56?
xinus84
26-11-2007, 12:56 AM
I am interested in getting TX28 or TX27. The weight and outlook suits a small size gal the most. LOVE the pink one but it seems slighty heavy for me to carry around. I would like to know what are the price and freebies for this notebk. Will I get a better deal at Sitex or at Sony's current sale promotion?
For this ULTRA PORTABLE, Sony and IBM seems to be the only one that comes with dual 2 core right??
Ps. Many friends told me not the buy sony's notebk, anyone can tell me the cons of their products? Is it difficult to find 3 party service after warranty period?
Thanks.
u registered just to post this?
anyway, i'm interested in this series too. they oso told me the same thing. what i feel most it all abt individual's tastes, don't haf to listen to others because they cannot afford a vaio or what they like.
till now none of my flens can tell me wad's wrong wif sony. they jes say 'buy ibm' or 'buy acer, dun buy sony'.
i believe our fellow forumer jeff has got gd deals for sony laptops.. u may wish to rook for him (hi jeff).
sony current promo allows u to extend the warranty up to 3 yrs. i believe tat's a long period before u start worrying.
i'm waiting for sitex :)
inezbelle
26-11-2007, 01:10 AM
Lol, I had joined long ago but mostly read for information that I need. Lazy to post keke.
You are right they can't give me exact reasons that is bad about sony too. I guess cannot use pirated stuffs and not compartible with most things etc...
My 1st choice will be Sony and 2nd choice is Fujitsu.
Will try to compare at Sitex since Sony's promo ends 31 dec 07.
Hi Jeff, what about your offer? care to share?
alvino77
26-11-2007, 01:35 AM
Ya, SZ55 and 56 price is far different than 58. Other than "Premium Price", Is it worth the money to buy 58? or 56?
to further add to what despair has missed out on the difference!
more CPU power being C2D @ 2.4ghz, lighter weight @ 1.75kg(1.93kg for SZ55/56)
hybrid hdd(faster) + larger capacity @ 160gb. like despair said thinner LCD, by far the thinnest u can find for laptop @ 4mm.
slightly better batt life due to LED LCD rated @ 7.0hr.
other than specs, the premium black dark model and the appreciation for carbon fibre that's what you get for bragging rights!
With promo now with free extended battery(worth abt $690) and office STE. Not a bad deal at all, if you have the budget. go for it!
alvino77
26-11-2007, 01:40 AM
Lol, I had joined long ago but mostly read for information that I need. Lazy to post keke.
You are right they can't give me exact reasons that is bad about sony too. I guess cannot use pirated stuffs and not compartible with most things etc...
they're just purely jealous! :P pirated stuffs are downloaded these days. but it's true sony DVD drives are crappy. I have far too many bad experience on the sony 3.5" DVD drive.
Lucky VAIO's DVD drive is not sony branded it's Matsh ita's
xinus84
26-11-2007, 01:48 AM
btw i guess u're refering to the TZ series... TX series are the older models.
relax... pirated stuffs all tat can do on any pc. tons of info on e net. cheers.
gameling
26-11-2007, 12:39 PM
hi everyone,
I was wondering will the promotion in sitex gd for SZ 55? cause my budget is 2.5k... every where now they are giving 1 gb ram + ms 2007.. thats all... some shop do not even give the freebies.. >.<....
jeff_xtreme_88
26-11-2007, 11:30 PM
hey jeff. am interested in cr23,white.. how much does it costs? in wad way is it diff from cr22?
the CR23 is $1999.. all vaio prices are controlled by sony.. its different from CR22 as CR23 is running on Core 2 Duo 2.0GHz while CR22 is running on Core Duo 1.6GHz. CR23 has 6 colours to choose from (Gold, White, Black, Blue, Red, Pink) while CR22 only has 2 (White and Black). If you are looking at just entry level usage, get the CR22 then. Don't have to spend money on something u wont need. :)
jeff_xtreme_88
26-11-2007, 11:34 PM
u registered just to post this?
anyway, i'm interested in this series too. they oso told me the same thing. what i feel most it all abt individual's tastes, don't haf to listen to others because they cannot afford a vaio or what they like.
till now none of my flens can tell me wad's wrong wif sony. they jes say 'buy ibm' or 'buy acer, dun buy sony'.
i believe our fellow forumer jeff has got gd deals for sony laptops.. u may wish to rook for him (hi jeff).
sony current promo allows u to extend the warranty up to 3 yrs. i believe tat's a long period before u start worrying.
i'm waiting for sitex :)
Haha. Thanks for promoting for me. Anyway those planning to get during SITEX can just get from me at my store during the SITEX period. Guarantee better promo than SITEX.
Somemore can avoid the crowd and check your vaio condition after purchase.
Payment using 0% interest credit card instalments up to 48 months accepted :)
jeff_xtreme_88
26-11-2007, 11:37 PM
hi everyone,
I was wondering will the promotion in sitex gd for SZ 55? cause my budget is 2.5k... every where now they are giving 1 gb ram + ms 2007.. thats all... some shop do not even give the freebies.. >.<....
Ya. Most shops wont give additional freebies on top of the standard sony promotion because it will eat into their profit margin. I can throw in useful additional freebies for u. Look for me :)
jeff_xtreme_88
26-11-2007, 11:39 PM
Hi Jeff,
Vaio prices are all controlled by sony. The SZ55 is $2499 with standard free ms office 2007 STE, 2GB ram upgrade, slip case + my freebies such as thumbdrives, antivirus software 1 year 3 user license, optical mouse etc..
:)
jeff_xtreme_88
26-11-2007, 11:42 PM
I guess you must be referring to the new model which is the TZ. Its the new model to replace the previous TX. For the TZ27, standard sony promotion gives you free upgrade to 2gb ram. I can throw in additional freebies for you such as vaio bag, slip case, thumbdrive, optical mouse, antivirus software for 1 year. I'm sure no shops will offer u this much freebies for the high cost price of the TZ. Let me know if you r interested. Can get for u at my store to avoid crowd at SITEX :)
inezbelle
27-11-2007, 02:33 AM
you caught my typo kekeke... ya the TZ series. What is the price for it? You are at selling at Funan right? The freebies sounds gd how many years of warranty? Does the TZ able to read SD cards? Vista or Xp? would prefer Xp currently. 0% instalment avaliable? Will be getting it in 2 weeks ba.
Sorry too many ques...
jeff_xtreme_88
27-11-2007, 08:08 PM
you caught my typo kekeke... ya the TZ series. What is the price for it? You are at selling at Funan right? The freebies sounds gd how many years of warranty? Does the TZ able to read SD cards? Vista or Xp? would prefer Xp currently. 0% instalment avaliable? Will be getting it in 2 weeks ba.
Sorry too many ques...
haha yea.. vaio prices are all controlled by sony. $3699 for the TZ27. I'm selling at funan harvey norman. 1 yr standard sony warranty. Can extend through harvey norman or sony.. TZ does have a built-in SD card reader. Vista Business. Downgrade possible by obtaining the xp drivers from sony asia website. 0% interest instalment available up to 48 months. No problem. Just let me know when u decide to get it.. Can arrange for you.. :)
jeff_xtreme_88
27-11-2007, 08:09 PM
lots of interest in vaio laptops. those interested in getting it during SITEX can just look for me at my store at harvey norman funan.. better as can avoid the crowd and check your vaio for defects if any after purchase. =)
attitudee02
27-11-2007, 10:26 PM
how much is cr22? will Microsoft office ( word doc, excel etc) be added in it? sorry. abit noob abt this. might look for u because of the crowd at sitex.
jeff_xtreme_88
28-11-2007, 09:59 PM
how much is cr22? will Microsoft office ( word doc, excel etc) be added in it? sorry. abit noob abt this. might look for u because of the crowd at sitex.
the CR22 is $1699.. microsoft office is not included.. but i can give you a bundle price for it at $199 (U.P $248) for the ms office 2007 ste 3 license.. can look for me at my store over at harvey norman funan IT mall to avoid the crowd at sitex.. :)
Nonsense
29-11-2007, 05:04 AM
price for fz25?
jeff_xtreme_88
29-11-2007, 09:42 AM
price for fz25?
$2499.. :)
attitudee02
29-11-2007, 05:08 PM
am bak from sitex and if am nt wrong, i think cr22 had got MS office added..
lahgal
29-11-2007, 05:22 PM
Hi , just came back from computer fair, cr22 has got an option to choose between 4gb ram or microsoft office FOC from Vaio counter but only for white colour laptop.
ripclaw
29-11-2007, 07:14 PM
just bought a TZ26 white at the fair. anyone else did the same thing ?
attitudee02
29-11-2007, 09:00 PM
Hi , just came back from computer fair, cr22 has got an option to choose between 4gb ram or microsoft office FOC from Vaio counter but only for white colour laptop.4gb ram?! i tot i saw ms office only. if am to juzt upgrade 4gb ram other time, how much will it costs arh..
attitudee02
29-11-2007, 09:04 PM
and also.. 1699 got included gst and those charges mah? how come no cr23?
jeff_xtreme_88
29-11-2007, 09:05 PM
4gb ram?! i tot i saw ms office only. if am to juzt upgrade 4gb ram other time, how much will it costs arh..
thats the new promo for sitex.. yesterday one was the previous promo.. =)
attitudee02
29-11-2007, 09:16 PM
but i went today and is the ms office ones. will they include gst etc at sitex? 4gb upgrade how much?
jeff, are u able to give such gd offers?
jeff_xtreme_88
29-11-2007, 10:25 PM
but i went today and is the ms office ones. will they include gst etc at sitex? 4gb upgrade how much?
jeff, are u able to give such gd offers?
yes. anything they offer at sitex i can offer too and even do better.. =) just look for me this weekend at my store .. :)
spicyboy
29-11-2007, 10:25 PM
I'm actually stuck between FZ25 and SZ55. Both are good and are at the same price!
spicyboy
29-11-2007, 10:41 PM
I'm actually stuck between FZ25 and SZ55. Both are good and are at the same price!
spicyboy
29-11-2007, 10:54 PM
solstiz
29-11-2007, 10:58 PM
I guess it all depends if you are looking for something portable...
myself veri keen on the SZ55 anyone has any idea wat's the package for at SITEX???
spicyboy
29-11-2007, 11:15 PM
I guess it all depends if you are looking for something portable...
myself veri keen on the SZ55 anyone has any idea wat's the package for at SITEX???
Haiz, how i wish can combine both!
Anyway, I only saw the promo for SZ55, forgot to see FZ one.
Free Ram upgrade, Slip Case, MS Office 07, PC Travel
Cabbage_Green
30-11-2007, 03:15 AM
I may buy SZ58 soooooon.
Anyone want to get any VAIO this weekend from Jeff at Funan or Sitex? We can buy together and will have better bargain power.....hahahaa
Cabbage Green...
jeff_xtreme_88
30-11-2007, 08:52 AM
I may buy SZ58 soooooon.
Anyone want to get any VAIO this weekend from Jeff at Funan or Sitex? We can buy together and will have better bargain power.....hahahaa
Cabbage Green...
Haha.. Sure.. Come together with other fellow hwz forumers to my store.. I give you best best deal.. :)
eljefe
30-11-2007, 08:53 AM
Jeff, whats the price and best package you can offer for the TZ series, specifically TZ26?
Can you beat the sitex offer? Let me know and i'll get it from you come this weekend. Do list the package here. Thanks!
enirevlow
30-11-2007, 10:22 AM
Hi Jeff, what's the price & package for SZ58? I do not need the MS office. Is it possible to exchange that for something else, e.g extended warranty or more ram or even reduction in price?
Machim
30-11-2007, 10:27 AM
hi Jeff, what's price and package for CR23? Wat's the cost of adding additional 4 more yrs of warranty?
AMDer
30-11-2007, 11:03 AM
me too. after some careful analysis,found out that :
SZ55 Pros
-Slim design
-long battery life
FZ25 Pros
-Full HD 1080 LCD
-15.4 big screen
other than these 2 major difference, the rest (e.g CPU, graphics card,HDD..etc) are almost quite similiar.
so it really depends on whether u want a GOOD SCREEN or LONG BATTERY LIFE....im still deciding too..
jeff_xtreme_88
30-11-2007, 11:34 AM
hi Jeff, what's price and package for CR23? Wat's the cost of adding additional 4 more yrs of warranty?
Hi, the price is $1999 and package is now free upgrade to 2gb ram, slip case, carrying case, optical mouse, antivirus for 1 yr 3 user pack. The cost of additional 4 more yrs warranty is $285. :)
jeff_xtreme_88
30-11-2007, 11:40 AM
Hi Jeff, what's the price & package for SZ58? I do not need the MS office. Is it possible to exchange that for something else, e.g extended warranty or more ram or even reduction in price?
Hi, the price is $3999 with free ms office, extra battery pack, slip case, optical mouse, antivirus 1 yr 3 user pack, 2gb thumbdrive. Unfortunately as the ms office is a standard promo from sony, I cant change to something else for u.. Do let me know. Cheers.
jeff_xtreme_88
30-11-2007, 11:49 AM
me too. after some careful analysis,found out that :
SZ55 Pros
-Slim design
-long battery life
FZ25 Pros
-Full HD 1080 LCD
-15.4 big screen
other than these 2 major difference, the rest (e.g CPU, graphics card,HDD..etc) are almost quite similiar.
so it really depends on whether u want a GOOD SCREEN or LONG BATTERY LIFE....im still deciding too..
it really depends on whether u travel alot with the laptop. The weight comes into play. SZ55 is 1.9kg, FZ25 is 2.7kg. Also the battery life is the main issue you should look at. :)
mawjiun
30-11-2007, 12:38 PM
this is current promo for sz55 from sitex
SZ55
$2499
Upgrade to 2gb ram
slip case
F secure net security
Travelpac Bundle kit (cleaning kit, headphones, usb light)
Office STE 2007 (3users)
TZ26
$2999
slip case
F secure net security
TP Bundle pack
thumbdrive
Jeff, is your deal any better then this? I thinking of getting it.
Thks
jeff_xtreme_88
30-11-2007, 01:32 PM
this is current promo for sz55 from sitex
SZ55
$2499
Upgrade to 2gb ram
slip case
F secure net security
Travelpac Bundle kit (cleaning kit, headphones, usb light)
Office STE 2007 (3users)
TZ26
$2999
slip case
F secure net security
TP Bundle pack
thumbdrive
Jeff, is your deal any better then this? I thinking of getting it.
Thks
yes. for the SZ55 i can offer u:
- ram upgrade 2gb
- ms office 07
- slip case
- carrying case
- internet security 3 user pack
- optical mouse
- thumbdrive
jeff_xtreme_88
30-11-2007, 01:38 PM
Jeff, whats the price and best package you can offer for the TZ series, specifically TZ26?
Can you beat the sitex offer? Let me know and i'll get it from you come this weekend. Do list the package here. Thanks!
of course i can beat the sitex offer.
sitex offering:
-slip case
-Internet security
-TP Bundle pack
-thumbdrive
i offer:
-slip case
-carrying case
-Internet security
-thumbdrive
-optical mouse
Kelvin0217
30-11-2007, 04:30 PM
sitex offering:
-slip case
-Internet security
-TP Bundle pack
-thumbdrive
i offer:
-slip case
-carrying case
-Internet security
-thumbdrive
-optical mouse
Hi Jeff, so tomorrow I will be getting these extra from you including the free 2GB ram if I buying TZ27, right? :s13:
jeff_xtreme_88
30-11-2007, 04:44 PM
Hi Jeff, so tomorrow I will be getting these extra from you including the free 2GB ram if I buying TZ27, right? :s13:
sure! see u tomorrow. :)
piaget
30-11-2007, 04:46 PM
Hi Jeff
What is the price for the red VGN-CR11G? thanks
sumsum80
30-11-2007, 08:58 PM
HI , WAT THE FREEBIES FOR CR22
jeff_xtreme_88
30-11-2007, 09:06 PM
Hi Jeff
What is the price for the red VGN-CR11G? thanks
the CR11G is the old model. The new model is the CR23G. Same price at $1999. :)
eljefe
30-11-2007, 09:17 PM
sitex offering:
-slip case
-Internet security
-TP Bundle pack
-thumbdrive
i offer:
-slip case
-carrying case
-Internet security
-thumbdrive
-optical mouse
But would love to see a quote of the current pricing as well. Thanks!
jeff_xtreme_88
30-11-2007, 09:57 PM
sony vaio all controlled fixed price by sony. $2999 for the tz26..
spicyboy
30-11-2007, 10:31 PM
Hey Jeff, sorry couldn't purchase from you as my dad wants to use his Best Denki CC instead. Now we got 400 lucky draw coupons to fill in...............
jeff_xtreme_88
01-12-2007, 11:03 AM
Alright i'm off to work. Those interested to get a vaio with better promo than sitex call me or sms me. Cheers!
spicyboy
01-12-2007, 11:06 AM
I need some advise from SZ series users. Is there anyway to adjust the amount of memory to allocated for the Video Memory?
And is SZ55 (Geforce 8400M GS) dedicated Video memory 64mb or 128mb?
Cabbage_Green
01-12-2007, 01:34 PM
i have asked some salesman (not jeff) frm different shop, none of them able to answer.
ur laptop got 2 mode (stamina and speed), switch to speed mode and u will be able to see Geforce 8400M GS, it should be 256MB as indicated on nvidia official web.
On sony brochure, it only indidate the total (dedicated + shared) amd different brochure says differently! (wtf)
u should go to www.sony.com to find out the latest "corrected" specs
xinus84
01-12-2007, 03:14 PM
hmmm, after sitex will the promos be the same, even better, or worst?
Kelvin0217
01-12-2007, 08:09 PM
Bought the TZ27 from Jeff today, nice guy. More free gifts than the other shops.:D
jeff_xtreme_88
01-12-2007, 11:15 PM
Bought the TZ27 from Jeff today, nice guy. More free gifts than the other shops.:D
haha thanks for coming. i'm sure you will enjoy the beauty of ur tz.. =)
jeff_xtreme_88
01-12-2007, 11:17 PM
hmmm, after sitex will the promos be the same, even better, or worst?
after sitex, the promo will not be as good.. if you wan to get it why not get it now.. tomorrow still got 1 more day.. just let me know if u r interested, can arrange for u =)
jeff_xtreme_88
01-12-2007, 11:21 PM
i have asked some salesman (not jeff) frm different shop, none of them able to answer.
ur laptop got 2 mode (stamina and speed), switch to speed mode and u will be able to see Geforce 8400M GS, it should be 256MB as indicated on nvidia official web.
On sony brochure, it only indidate the total (dedicated + shared) amd different brochure says differently! (wtf)
u should go to www.sony.com to find out the latest "corrected" specs
haha.. buy from someone which gives you confidence in ur purchase..
come look for me.. I will give you that confidence.. =)
spicyboy
02-12-2007, 12:01 AM
Jeff, maybe you could advise us on the Graphics memory thing? It seems that my 'dedicated' memory is 64MB. I hope i'm seeing the wrong thing, will post screen shot later.
spicyboy
02-12-2007, 12:24 AM
Ok, here is what I got from Windows System Properties
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v429/spicyboy/8400MGS.jpg
whyecks
02-12-2007, 01:15 AM
hi all, recently just bought a vaio fz25 and no problems so far. however, one thing that bugs me is that the audio controls at the top, such as the play/pause, ff, rewind only works with windows media player, and does not work with itunes. is there any homebrew that helps solve this problem or any updates that helps with this? help is appreciated!
alvino77
02-12-2007, 01:27 AM
Jeff, maybe you could advise us on the Graphics memory thing? It seems that my 'dedicated' memory is 64MB. I hope i'm seeing the wrong thing, will post screen shot later.
Let me try answer this.
64 mb is our dedicated gfx card's main mem, unlike old range of gfx card, the 'newer' technology uses our main ram's memory for graphical processing.
Like you see in ur screen capture, up to 800+mb of gfx mem to be used.
the 64mb from gfx card is more like a directory to the listing of info on our main ram. don't worry the GPU is still far more capable than our integrated gfx card.
One thing though, some ppl argue the technology is not necessarily faster, since processing has be to send to main ram back and forth to the GPU, this will clog up motherboard's bus bandwith.
Well most newer 'dedicated' gfx card on lappy are based on this schematic, i guess to save their RAM cost.
spicyboy
02-12-2007, 01:48 AM
Thanks alvino77 for the clarifications.
Oh btw, I read some reviews on other notebooks with the same Geforce 8400M GS, but theirs seem to be 128MB dedicated. Can someone confirm Sony's spec cos I can't find it at their webby and mine only 64MB.
Cabbage_Green
02-12-2007, 02:19 AM
Thanks alvino77 for the clarifications.
Oh btw, I read some reviews on other notebooks with the same Geforce 8400M GS, but theirs seem to be 128MB dedicated. Can someone confirm Sony's spec cos I can't find it at their webby and mine only 64MB.
Oh no...64mb only? i tot nvidia web said 256???
total size 831mb is the same as on sony web. (sony sg brochure put 335mb which confused lots of sales staff)
Cabbage_Green
02-12-2007, 02:24 AM
Also, HK sony official web is selling for HKD 16900 (=3180 SGD) for SZ58, omg....
does anyone know whether HK set covers warranty in sg?
dun worry, jeff, i will look for u tmr afternoon as i will go for installment
spicyboy
02-12-2007, 02:26 AM
For all I know, 381MB is for 1GB RAM, 831MB is for 2GB RAM. Nvidia web meant was MAX mem 256MB. I checked from other sites and they stated this model has 64/128/256MB dedicated ram.
spicyboy
02-12-2007, 02:27 AM
Oh yah, jus wanna ask the Vaio users, do u guys peel of the stickers on yr lappie? Does it leave any marks?
whyecks
02-12-2007, 03:34 AM
no marks whatsoever if you do it well.. at least not for me. you just have to stick, pull, stick, pull if you want to get rid of all the small small marks, but the vaio official warranty, intel and vista labels will be left.
dinoboy
02-12-2007, 03:42 AM
Did any of the TZ users get the Kingston DDR667 2GB ram from the Sitex? Is it workable and is it going to improve the speed of the laptop? Me think whether want to get anot leh coz it's selling like less than $80... Expo is sooooo far for me coz i am staying in the west and sunday is the last day. So confirm going to squeeze like hell. Haizzzzz... Any advices?
alvino77
02-12-2007, 03:49 AM
IMHO, RAM the more the merrier!
Basically, i can tell u something about RAM.
Too little ram size, comp SLOWs down(due to virtual paging bogging down HDD performance)
Too much, extra ram doing nothing but eat up ur wallet.
If got budget just whack. if not, use Task manager to see how much memory u churn up commonly. For me 2GB on XP is more than sufficient for gaming, browser with 5-10 tabs, itunes, outlook, msn, skype running at the same time.
If its Vista, don think just go more~ 4gb even better
dinoboy
02-12-2007, 04:04 AM
Haha. Thanks for ur fast reply. I oso think the more the merrier. But for the TZ series, max is only 2GB and there is only a slot for it. So can only get the 2BG ram instead of the 2 X 1GB. Dun know whether Kingston ram got any problem wif the TZ series anot? haha. Oso dun know whether will the price of the 2GB will increase anot after Sitex coz lazy to squeeze wif people at Expo later leh...
Cabbage_Green
02-12-2007, 04:09 AM
FINAL!!!!!!!!!!!
Sony uses 64mb for 8400M GS.. for all SZ5 & SZ6 series. btw, SZ6 n.a. in sg
The NVidia 8400M GS is a midrange dedicated graphics card that's significantly better than even the X3100 but not up to Alienware standards. It's a thin-and-light notebook solution that's relatively power-frugal and doesn't get the machine terribly hot. The 2860 benchmark result with the factory drivers is pretty darned good for a 13" notebook and it's nearly as good as the multimedia powerhouse HP dv9000 with its NVIDIA GeForce Go 7600 and 256 megs of dedicated memory. Memory is where the Vaio's 8400M falls short: Sony opted for 64 megs rather than 128 megs of dedicated memory (why, we'll never know since spec-conscious shoppers have complained about this). This likely brings down the Aero score on Vista's performance rating score (3.5 is surprisingly low for this graphics processor and strangely low compared to the gaming graphics score). But the Aero test places a great deal of importance on the amount of graphics memory. Vista's gaming graphics score for the 8400 is an excellent 4.8 and in fact we found the SZ, like its predecessors to be very viable gaming machines. We tested a variety of fairly demanding 3D games including F.E.A.R. and Age of Empires III with good results. In all but the most demanding games we were able to run with high resolutions and effects settings (we had to be more conservative with F.E.A.R. to get a solid 23 or better fps). No, it's not a 17" gaming monster but it will keep you amused at home and on the road in much better style than other subnotebooks.
alvino77
02-12-2007, 04:10 AM
Haha. Thanks for ur fast reply. I oso think the more the merrier. But for the TZ series, max is only 2GB and there is only a slot for it. So can only get the 2BG ram instead of the 2 X 1GB. Dun know whether Kingston ram got any problem wif the TZ series anot? haha. Oso dun know whether will the price of the 2GB will increase anot after Sitex coz lazy to squeeze wif people at Expo later leh...
eh bro.
if max is 2GB, then stick with 2x1gb config. dual channel ram works best with 2 modules than 1 larger module.
Usually sony's lappy can use Kingston and other brands without problem, unlike apple's lappy very ngiao on the brand and make. ;)
save urself a trip ba
alvino77
02-12-2007, 04:14 AM
FINAL!!!!!!!!!!!
The NVidia 8400M GS is a midrange dedicated graphics card that's significantly better than even the X3100 but not up to Alienware standards. It's a thin-and-light notebook solution that's relatively power-frugal and doesn't get the machine terribly hot. The 2860 benchmark result with the factory drivers is pretty darned good for a 13" notebook and it's nearly as good as the multimedia powerhouse HP dv9000 with its NVIDIA GeForce Go 7600 and 256 megs of dedicated memory. Memory is where the Vaio's 8400M falls short: Sony opted for 64 megs rather than 128 megs of dedicated memory (why, we'll never know since spec-conscious shoppers have complained about this). This likely brings down the Aero score on Vista's performance rating score (3.5 is surprisingly low for this graphics processor and strangely low compared to the gaming graphics score). But the Aero test places a great deal of importance on the amount of graphics memory. Vista's gaming graphics score for the 8400 is an excellent 4.8 and in fact we found the SZ, like its predecessors to be very viable gaming machines. We tested a variety of fairly demanding 3D games including F.E.A.R. and Age of Empires III with good results. In all but the most demanding games we were able to run with high resolutions and effects settings (we had to be more conservative with F.E.A.R. to get a solid 23 or better fps). No, it's not a 17" gaming monster but it will keep you amused at home and on the road in much better style than other subnotebooks.
oh yeah btw i'm using a SZ38, the Geforce go 7600 is 128mb. FYI although doesn't really matter to you guys ;)
PS: i'm just bored
spicyboy
02-12-2007, 04:19 AM
FINAL!!!!!!!!!!!
NICE! Thanks a lot!
discoburg
02-12-2007, 07:21 AM
Oh yah, jus wanna ask the Vaio users, do u guys peel of the stickers on yr lappie? Does it leave any marks?
I peeled off all the stickers, left no marks. Prefer the plain look of Vaio :D
jeff_xtreme_88
02-12-2007, 08:30 AM
Also, HK sony official web is selling for HKD 16900 (=3180 SGD) for SZ58, omg....
does anyone know whether HK set covers warranty in sg?
dun worry, jeff, i will look for u tmr afternoon as i will go for installment
yup.. no problem.. just call me when you reach my store.. i'll arrange everything for you. :)
huntzer
02-12-2007, 09:52 AM
oh yeah btw i'm using a SZ38, the Geforce go 7600 is 128mb. FYI although doesn't really matter to you guys ;)
PS: i'm just bored
I do not remember seeing Sony putting a Geforce go 7600 in Sz series. Too hot to handle. It should be a 7400,128mb.
Vincent_G
02-12-2007, 10:29 AM
IMHO, RAM the more the merrier!
Basically, i can tell u something about RAM.
Too little ram size, comp SLOWs down(due to virtual paging bogging down HDD performance)
Too much, extra ram doing nothing but eat up ur wallet.
If got budget just whack. if not, use Task manager to see how much memory u churn up commonly. For me 2GB on XP is more than sufficient for gaming, browser with 5-10 tabs, itunes, outlook, msn, skype running at the same time.
If its Vista, don think just go more~ 4gb even better
Unless you use 64 bit machine, 32 bits can only use maximum 4GB, although you can install 4GB on your machine, but the OS cannot read all 4GB, because there is other memory allocation for video card, etc. I read in the internet, if you put 4GB, it will be detected up to 3.5GB in the OS. So, I suggest better upgrade up to 3GB. More than that is useless.
Kelvin0217
02-12-2007, 11:12 AM
Did any of the TZ users get the Kingston DDR667 2GB ram from the Sitex? Is it workable and is it going to improve the speed of the laptop? Me think whether want to get anot leh coz it's selling like less than $80... Expo is sooooo far for me coz i am staying in the west and sunday is the last day. So confirm going to squeeze like hell. Haizzzzz... Any advices?
The free 2GB upgrade from Sony is Kingston ram.
haruko_yoshiko
02-12-2007, 11:19 AM
I peeled off all the stickers, left no marks. Prefer the plain look of Vaio :D
I only left the windows vista,vaio official warranty, energy star and intel centrino duo stickers on my TZ.
haruko_yoshiko
02-12-2007, 11:20 AM
So cheap la... tt time I got it around $135
Cabbage_Green
02-12-2007, 10:28 PM
just bought SZ58 from Jeff and Jimmy at Funan Harvey Norman.
Jeff is no doubt the best salesman of the year. I myself is a tough customer,,,, kakaka
spicyboy
02-12-2007, 10:57 PM
I only left the windows vista,vaio official warranty, energy star and intel centrino duo stickers on my TZ.
Left no marks?
alvino77
03-12-2007, 12:45 AM
I do not remember seeing Sony putting a Geforce go 7600 in Sz series. Too hot to handle. It should be a 7400,128mb.
my bad.. late/early morning... blur liao :P
alvino77
03-12-2007, 12:47 AM
just debadge everything la.. chio~
those stickers put there for wat? warranty are from ur registration tied down to name. if u gonna use the notebook for long... those sticker's edges traps dirt... eeeks :P
singaporeguy
03-12-2007, 01:20 AM
Overcame by "Sony Fever" today and bought an SZ58GN/C. It looks quite similar to my previous VGN-SZ18GP/C which I bought from Hong Kong around end March 2006. The T7700 should be a bit faster than the T2400 though. Wow, I can still find my old posts here :-)
Does anyone know the difference between the VGP AC19V26 and AC19V10? I have one set of AC19V10 left over from my previous SZ which I plan to keep at my office if I can use with the SZ58 =:p
alvino77
03-12-2007, 01:31 AM
Does anyone know the difference between the VGP AC19V26 and AC19V10? I have one set of AC19V10 left over from my previous SZ which I plan to keep at my office if I can use with the SZ58 =:p
same voltage 19.5V and same AMP. can use!
singaporeguy
03-12-2007, 01:35 AM
same voltage 19.5V and same AMP. can use!
Thanks, now I can leave the ac adapter at home :s13:
Cabbage_Green
03-12-2007, 01:50 AM
Left no marks?
no marks no marks
spicyboy
03-12-2007, 03:04 AM
Cool, guess I will juz peel of the 'Specs' Stickers. Will leave the 'logos' stickers there
singaporeguy
03-12-2007, 04:48 AM
Picked up 2 strips of Kingston KVR667D2S5/2G 2GB ram at Sitex as they were only $73 each.
Popped them into my SZ58 knowing that Vista probably only sees about 3GB.
What is interesting is that even when I press F2 to go into BIOS setup during bootup, it only shows 3GB of ram. Isn't the BIOS supposed to show 4GB? Does anyone else have an SZ with 4GB of ram that they can confirm if the BIOS setting is correct?
Funny, when I go into VAIO Control Center -> System Information, it shows system memory as 4GB. Now I'm puzzled :look:
jeff_xtreme_88
03-12-2007, 07:23 AM
just bought SZ58 from Jeff and Jimmy at Funan Harvey Norman.
Jeff is no doubt the best salesman of the year. I myself is a tough customer,,,, kakaka
Haha thanks for the compliment.
Thanks everyone who came down to my shop to purchase vaio this past weekend.
Enjoy your vaio! :)
Kelvin0217
03-12-2007, 09:42 AM
Picked up 2 strips of Kingston KVR667D2S5/2G 2GB ram at Sitex as they were only $73 each.
What is interesting is that even when I press F2 to go into BIOS setup during bootup, it only shows 3GB of ram. Isn't the BIOS supposed to show 4GB? Does anyone else have an SZ with 4GB of ram that they can confirm if the BIOS setting is correct?
Funny, when I go into VAIO Control Center -> System Information, it shows system memory as 4GB. Now I'm puzzled :look:
For 32bit OS, system will only show a max of 3GB.
Vincent_G
03-12-2007, 11:12 AM
Try to right click on My Computer > Properties. That is amount of RAM that Windows able to access.
alvino77
03-12-2007, 02:47 PM
Cool, guess I will juz peel of the 'Specs' Stickers. Will leave the 'logos' stickers there
strangely i notice why ppl leaving the other logos ard... just peel all lah :)
Enjoy the whole piece of aluminium rest!
haruko_yoshiko
03-12-2007, 03:23 PM
Left no marks?
I applied my notebook surface protector over it no marks no nothing..
Lolz.. somehow I like the Vista,Vaio and Intel stickers... so i always leave them on my laptops... only the specs sticker I find redundant
spicyboy
03-12-2007, 03:57 PM
Haha, same sentiments. Too plain also not nice
singaporeguy
03-12-2007, 04:54 PM
For 32bit OS, system will only show a max of 3GB.
Yes I am aware of that. However, the BIOS (press F2 at bootup) detects only 3GB which is odd as the BIOS code should not be affected by the OS (32 bit or 64 bit) :s22:
singaporeguy
03-12-2007, 04:59 PM
Try to right click on My Computer > Properties. That is amount of RAM that Windows able to access.
1. My Computer Properties as well as Vista's System Information show 3GB. That was expected.
2. BIOS (press F2 at bootup) showing 3GB, that was not expected! It should show all 4GB of installed memory even though the OS (32bit or 64bit) will determine how much is finally addressible.
3. VAIO Control Center -> System Information showing system memory as 4GB. That was not expected as all as it does not match the Vista System Info.
For point 2, I googled a bit and found other users having the same questions as to why the Sony SZ Bios only sees 3GB. We'll see if newer BIOS in the future would address this issue.
singaporeguy
03-12-2007, 05:29 PM
I applied my notebook surface protector over it no marks no nothing..
Lolz.. somehow I like the Vista,Vaio and Intel stickers... so i always leave them on my laptops... only the specs sticker I find redundant
Does your protector covers just the outside of the notebook, or does it cover the Screen and the keyboard/palmrest as well? I saw some "skins" on displayed but not sure how they would look on a VAIO. Don't want to spoil the image of the VAIO if the skin is too weird..... Would be nice if the protector covers the keyboard to protect against coffee/milk shake spills though :s13:
Thanks.
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.