View Full Version : [Guide] Digital Voice
iMbEst
16-09-2007, 12:12 PM
Anyone tried calling Starhub Digital Voice number from SIP phones like Gizmodo or softphone?
How do I find out my Starhub Digital Voice SIP's ID/number?
I thought itself is a 6xxx xxxx number? call your own handphone lor. if you dun have IDD service then too bad lah.
will the free digital voice thingy get extended???????
already extended to dec 2008 what?
I have a problem here, using it in overseas now. besides doing the port fowarding, I still have to put it in DMZ before it is working. making it DMZ alone will not work, doing port forwarding alone will not work too :( any idea why huh? oh yah, I have to go in to the 102.1 to set its IP address one......
Craver
16-09-2007, 12:16 PM
Where u are using from ? China ? Im having the problem also heard they block the port.
I thought itself is a 6xxx xxxx number? call your own handphone lor. if you dun have IDD service then too bad lah.
I have a problem here, using it in overseas now. besides doing the port fowarding, I still have to put it in DMZ before it is working. making it DMZ alone will not work, doing port forwarding alone will not work too :( any idea why huh? oh yah, I have to go in to the 102.1 to set its IP address one......
iMbEst
16-09-2007, 12:34 PM
I'm using it in Malaysia.
Malaysia never block any port, just that I need to configure quite a few things if I'm using a all-in-1 ADSL modem+router. I believe if I switch to an ethernet modem, i can just plug and play. But my friend also have problem with this, his wifi router got disconnected every 30 mins if he connects it to the IAD.
buaysaikum
16-09-2007, 12:39 PM
my post was like... 2 mths back?
Craver
16-09-2007, 12:48 PM
I also face the problem disconnectin but its before the router the IAD just disconnect n restart itself the technician came dwn say i need to install a new delicate line to handle the flow anway i never did that .
I'm using it in Malaysia.
Malaysia never block any port, just that I need to configure quite a few things if I'm using a all-in-1 ADSL modem+router. I believe if I switch to an ethernet modem, i can just plug and play. But my friend also have problem with this, his wifi router got disconnected every 30 mins if he connects it to the IAD.
iMbEst
16-09-2007, 01:10 PM
my post was like... 2 mths back?
so? :s22:
buaysaikum
16-09-2007, 01:23 PM
so? :s22:
that time not announced yet :s11:
iMbEst
16-09-2007, 01:36 PM
you wols lah, that time already announced liao.
GR_Benji
16-09-2007, 02:24 PM
Someone from HWZ check with SH on 11 July and DV is still free till End 2007 then. See thread (http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?t=1665714&highlight=digital+voice)
The DV extension is updated last month only.
buaysaikum
16-09-2007, 03:18 PM
Someone from HWZ check with SH on 11 July and DV is still free till End 2007 then. See thread (http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?t=1665714&highlight=digital+voice)
The DV extension is updated last month only.
imbest ish got psychic powers... can predick futures :s13:
mingkiat
16-09-2007, 03:20 PM
I'm referring to someone, say, in the state can he/she call me using his/her PC running Gizmo Project SIP phone to my Digital Voice line since my digital voice is using SIP protocol also. IN this case, he/she doesn't have to make IDD call to Singapore ...
GR_Benji
16-09-2007, 04:02 PM
I'm referring to someone, say, in the state can he/she call me using his/her PC running Gizmo Project SIP phone to my Digital Voice line since my digital voice is using SIP protocol also. IN this case, he/she doesn't have to make IDD call to Singapore ...Starhub DV work just like any local fix line. A local number is assigned to the VeCM or IAD based on the MACid.
Regardless where the VeCM/IAD is located (ie local or oversea), calls to/from the DV is considered as make to/from singapore.
iMbEst
17-09-2007, 12:10 AM
imbest ish got psychic powers... can predick futures :s13:
their CSO self-pwned???
http://www.starhub.com/portal/site/Voice/menuitem.6e55f99da54ffdb7eaaf3b608324a5a0/?vgnextoid=a42f4cfef22ff010VgnVCM100000464114acRCRD
aptget
17-09-2007, 12:19 AM
Been using digital voice for one month and I get alot of people telling me
that they can't get thru my new line and they get this Beeping sound instead of
a normal ring...
removing digital voice and replacing it back with Singtel's landline
iMbEst
17-09-2007, 12:29 AM
er...never had such problem leh, i only had the port forwarding thingy......
buaysaikum
17-09-2007, 12:50 AM
their CSO self-pwned???
http://www.starhub.com/portal/site/Voice/menuitem.6e55f99da54ffdb7eaaf3b608324a5a0/?vgnextoid=a42f4cfef22ff010VgnVCM100000464114acRCRD
that's not the point sia. we all NOW know that its extended to dec 2008, the qn is WHEN it's announced. the website you provided is obviously updated...
the CSO probably would be right if he/she gave the ans b4 the extension was announced
iMbEst
17-09-2007, 01:14 AM
haha, i just wanted to point out CSO is just a useless position. nothing can beat the higher level post info :D
mingkiat
17-09-2007, 10:32 AM
Starhub DV work just like any local fix line. A local number is assigned to the VeCM or IAD based on the MACid.
Regardless where the VeCM/IAD is located (ie local or oversea), calls to/from the DV is considered as make to/from singapore.
Thanks for the information.
I'm asking this because if I am oversea I would not want to call home using oversea IDD. I have gizmo project installed on my notebook so it will be great if I can call through my notebook to my home's digital voice number.
So may be I ask the question this way:
Does our digital voice travel has a corresponding SIP address like
6xxxxxxx@starhub.com
SteveAu
22-09-2007, 07:17 PM
guys...i just subscribe the DV sevices...it is totally sucks...I using DECT panasonic phone and the background was super distorted! and the signal was very weak...i have to wait for the 'tooooooooot' sound nearly 1 minute then i can dial.... :( anyone can help?
iMbEst
23-09-2007, 01:06 AM
wah, are you BT-ing at the background? even the lousiest XLVoice also won't be so jialat leh.
I'm using it in Malaysia now, 512kbps connection only, even using half of its bandwidth to do BT, also won't kena such problem.
SteveAu
23-09-2007, 10:40 AM
nope..i am not dling anything....my computer was switch off..signal was damn poor.... :(
iMbEst
23-09-2007, 10:50 AM
try it at other location, if still dun work then call 1633 lor. most probably the IAD got problem, or maybe your router got problem.....
can post some speedtest results?
trigoz
23-09-2007, 11:00 PM
I will be switching over to DV from SingTel next week. After following the thread, i can simply connect the line from IAD Box to an phone port at work and the remaining ports will become "active" right.
Also i tried faxing using the DVT but the fax can't proceed through. Btw i am using Brother All Ib One Unit. MFC - 240C.
Would appreciate your kind advice on the above.. Thanks in advance...
ajng24
15-10-2007, 09:20 AM
Two cable modems for sale:
1: voice-enabled cable modem (for Starhub Digital Voice and Broadband): Motorola SBV5120. Brand new, got it in a lucky draw Price: S$50
Text to:81575829 if interested.
both sold to a fine gentleman.
sorry to interupt the tread
steventay
05-11-2007, 02:09 PM
how much u intend to sell? pm me
iMbEst
06-11-2007, 12:39 AM
Two cable modems for sale:
1: voice-enabled cable modem (for Starhub Digital Voice and Broadband): Motorola SBV5120. Brand new, got it in a lucky draw Price: S$50
Text to:81575829 if interested.
too bad it's not IAD....if not I sure hoot one.
rayderz
08-11-2007, 01:16 AM
o anyone who can advise
I've just bought the starhub ultimate plan with the cable modem SB6100 and subsequently bought the digital voice plan with IAD (also Motorola) and a netgear router WGT 624. Problem is, IAD wouldnt connect behind the router, it'll only connect if it goes from SB6100 - IAD - Netgear router - computer but this slows down the speed to 10 mbps instead of 40mbps if I connect the iAD behind the router. The internet works but the IAD doesnt...please help!!! I have already configured the router to open the neccesary ports like 5060- 5061 and 16384-32767 on the netgear router. Anyone has the same setup your advise will be much appreciated.
Rayderz
GR_Benji
08-11-2007, 09:10 AM
o anyone who can advise
I've just bought the starhub ultimate plan with the cable modem SB6100 and subsequently bought the digital voice plan with IAD (also Motorola) and a netgear router WGT 624. Problem is, IAD wouldnt connect behind the router, it'll only connect if it goes from SB6100 - IAD - Netgear router - computer but this slows down the speed to 10 mbps instead of 40mbps if I connect the iAD behind the router. The internet works but the IAD doesnt...please help!!! I have already configured the router to open the neccesary ports like 5060- 5061 and 16384-32767 on the netgear router. Anyone has the same setup your advise will be much appreciated.
Rayderz
I've no problem connecting the IAD behind a Linksys WRT54G with the following ports forwarded to the static IP set in the IAD:
SIP ports 5060-5061 UDP
TFTP port 69 UDP
DNS port 53 UDP
RTP ports 16384-18383 UDP
rayderz
08-11-2007, 04:40 PM
I've no problem connecting the IAD behind a Linksys WRT54G with the following ports forwarded to the static IP set in the IAD:
SIP ports 5060-5061 UDP
TFTP port 69 UDP
DNS port 53 UDP
RTP ports 16384-18383 UDP
Hi Benji,
Have tried your prescribed port openings and still no luck. Cannot call out, but can receive calls. Do you have any other configurations on the router or on the IAD? The net gear helpdesk also asked me to change some settings on the wan setup page on the router. Can share with me what your wan setup is?
Many thanks
Rayderz
GR_Benji
08-11-2007, 05:13 PM
Hi Benji,
Have tried your prescribed port openings and still no luck. Cannot call out, but can receive calls. Do you have any other configurations on the router or on the IAD? The net gear helpdesk also asked me to change some settings on the wan setup page on the router. Can share with me what your wan setup is?
Many thanks
Rayderz
There is no more other settings on the router beside those that I've stated in my earlier post.
However, please make following settings in the IAD. Set IAD's wan IP address to one that's in same subnet as your router. (eg if router is 192.168.1.1, then IAD address set to 192.168.1.2). Then set IAD's LAN IP to different subnet, (eg 192.168.3.xx).
ajng24
09-11-2007, 08:55 AM
too bad it's not IAD....if not I sure hoot one.
hahaha...
anyways, both sold=)
rayderz
09-11-2007, 05:33 PM
There is no more other settings on the router beside those that I've stated in my earlier post.
However, please make following settings in the IAD. Set IAD's wan IP address to one that's in same subnet as your router. (eg if router is 192.168.1.1, then IAD address set to 192.168.1.2). Then set IAD's LAN IP to different subnet, (eg 192.168.3.xx).
It still doesn't work! Dunno wat to do...haiz
rayderz
12-11-2007, 12:52 AM
The IAD's LAN IP is set to 192.168.102.1 dunno how to change that to the one you prescribed.
rayderz
13-11-2007, 11:34 PM
Hi Guys,
Really quite frustrated with the situation, the IAD just refused to work behind the WGT624... was at my wits end....then I brought this to work and it works behind the router!!!!!! Wat the!!!!!!!! grrrrrr.... if anyone out there has prob with this netgear router give me a buzz...
Niaoson
28-11-2007, 12:27 AM
So Panasonic and Philips - which of the brands should we avoid for Digital Voice Home?
efreelancer
06-12-2007, 11:51 AM
guys...i just subscribe the DV sevices...it is totally sucks...I using DECT panasonic phone and the background was super distorted! and the signal was very weak...i have to wait for the 'tooooooooot' sound nearly 1 minute then i can dial.... :( anyone can help?
Which brand you using? Im tired panasonic phone on both digital home and travel. Basically home is very stable and clear. But travel (with the IAD) had several distortions. I even tried using my cisco Iphone. Still the DTV has some slight distortion. Skype is even more clearer.
Anyone using other brands with IAD and with minimal problems.
efreelancer
06-12-2007, 11:53 AM
Hi anyone tried DVT in Taiwan? Im going there soon. But think the broadband there are ADSL. Anyone tried DVT or flexitalk in Taiwan before? Any port configuration or problems?
dgeralds
23-03-2008, 10:13 PM
Hi
Im currently in Gold Coast and using broadband - Bigponds ADSL 2wire Modem 2701HGV-W. Iam planning to get IAD (starhubs Digital Voice Travel) for use in GoldCoast. But worried about modem / IAD combination not working as im not a computer expert. Anybody in Australia using Starhub's Digital voice travel with 2wire Modem 2701HGV-W?
Thk you.
Hi guys..
Just to update, i'm currently in australia, brisbane using the digital voice travel.
And tried on both 1500/256 and 256/64 adsl..
both works great without any lag and feels just like calling back in singapore.
Setup was easy, just plug into router modem and didn't even set DMZ and it works.
efreelancer
23-03-2008, 11:09 PM
Hi
Im currently in Gold Coast and using broadband - Bigponds ADSL 2wire Modem 2701HGV-W. Iam planning to get IAD (starhubs Digital Voice Travel) for use in GoldCoast. But worried about modem / IAD combination not working as im not a computer expert. Anybody in Australia using Starhub's Digital voice travel with 2wire Modem 2701HGV-W?
Thk you.
Hmm I tried IAD at home in Singapore - CCK area, already experienced echos every now and then. But no echos if I used my digital voice modem. The IAD can be used with ADSL modem (I tried using singtel one before and its ok). Hopes it works for you.
Anyway my report using flexitalk in taiwan. Most of the times it was ok and clear. But one of my client heard echos over the phone. Prob once it was soft. But when called within Taiwan very clear. And no need to bring IAD ard. Just your laptop will do :)
My next trip will be either China (Guangzhou / shenzhen) or HK. Any field reports over there?
spicyboy
14-05-2008, 11:40 PM
I just got my IAD and it works fine on Digital Voice Travel. Quite clear incoming and outgoing.
The only problem I had was, after sometime like afew hours later, my internet will laggy until it doesn't load any pages, but the fone still works fine. Everytime I had to restart the IAD then the speed will go back to normal.
Any way to solve this problem?
efreelancer
15-05-2008, 12:51 AM
I just got my IAD and it works fine on Digital Voice Travel. Quite clear incoming and outgoing.
The only problem I had was, after sometime like afew hours later, my internet will laggy until it doesn't load any pages, but the fone still works fine. Everytime I had to restart the IAD then the speed will go back to normal.
Any way to solve this problem?
FYI if you use IAD your broadband will slow down to 8 Mbps and the priority of bandwidth will go to your phone. Thats one of the reason I dont use IAD but a digital voice modem.
Wonder does this applies to those on 100Mbps plan?
spicyboy
15-05-2008, 02:58 AM
FYI if you use IAD your broadband will slow down to 8 Mbps and the priority of bandwidth will go to your phone. Thats one of the reason I dont use IAD but a digital voice modem.
Wonder does this applies to those on 100Mbps plan?
But my speed be back to normal every time i reset the IAD. The slowdown only begins a few hours later, even when the fone is not used during this period.
andrehabib
30-05-2008, 02:00 PM
Selling my Digital Voice Travel - $50 (Start bid)
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1979234&highlight=digital+travel
U just need to go to starhub and bring the device to register.
Cheers...
adrianchoon
20-06-2008, 07:46 PM
get the pfingo and enjoy free calls in sg....
leonardlcb
23-06-2008, 10:03 PM
Hi all, just got the starhub linksys SPA2102-R3 with my dad's SH rewards points. Does anyone know how to access the admin panel? I am using another VoIP service but want to use the IAD. I find digital voice a rip-off so not subscribing to it and little did i know that the IAD can only be used with Digital Voice.
you mean now starhub dv iad is linksys? It is locked? Cannot be used with other voip?
pker88
24-06-2008, 01:16 PM
So Panasonic and Philips - which of the brands should we avoid for Digital Voice Home?
i use dect siemens for DV all np
my friend on singnet mio voice on dect siemens too all oke
pathfinder6
24-06-2008, 02:06 PM
Hi, new to this post so hope no one will see this as interrupting any flow.
I'm currently using the VeCM in the bedroom, solely for the voice function. Does this result in any drop in voice quality? been experiencing quite substantial background noise and at times, able to hear 2-3 other conversations ongoing.
Also, can anyone recommend any headset-based phones compatible with DV?
drinkcokenow
18-08-2008, 07:33 AM
Anyone got any headaway for using the IAD in dubai?
Can't seem to connect.
ykeen
19-08-2008, 01:57 PM
Dubai UAE, China and some other countries block VoIP...
doing a search on google u can also find...
http://voipguides.blogspot.com/2007/01/dubai-uae-bans-voip-free-calls.html
http://skypejournal.com/blog/archives/2005/04/uae_blocks_skyp.php
http://www.voip-sol.com/dubai-bans-voip/
only way is to tunnel...
trigoz
21-08-2008, 03:20 PM
Dubai UAE, China and some other countries block VoIP...
doing a search on google u can also find...
http://voipguides.blogspot.com/2007/01/dubai-uae-bans-voip-free-calls.html
http://skypejournal.com/blog/archives/2005/04/uae_blocks_skyp.php
http://www.voip-sol.com/dubai-bans-voip/
only way is to tunnel...
Etisalt, the national telecom operator is very firm on monopoly market back in Dubai. So they control majority of the VOIP Traffic.
Understand they have new telco entered the Dubai market. Hope they will ease the market soon.
StarBright_TM
21-10-2008, 02:48 PM
What exactly is the difference between Digital Voice Home and Digital Voice Travel?
It seems like Digital Voice Travel is the better option since we can bring it with us overseas, so it is more versatile. So, what are the benefits of choosing Digital Voice Home over Digital Voice Travel?
Am in the process of deciding between the two.
ChiaZhenYu
21-10-2008, 02:58 PM
What exactly is the difference between Digital Voice Home and Digital Voice Travel?
It seems like Digital Voice Travel is the better option since we can bring it with us overseas, so it is more versatile. So, what are the benefits of choosing Digital Voice Home over Digital Voice Travel?
Am in the process of deciding between the two.
If u travel often or call aboard often, digital voice travel would be ur option. it's basically no difference to DV home expect the above stated. for more info, http://www.starhub.com/portal/site/Voice/menuitem.6e55f99da54ffdb7eaaf3b608324a5a0/?vgnextoid=a42f4cfef22ff010VgnVCM100000464114acRCRD
StarBright_TM
21-10-2008, 03:11 PM
If u travel often or call aboard often, digital voice travel would be ur option. it's basically no difference to DV home expect the above stated. for more info, http://www.starhub.com/portal/site/Voice/menuitem.6e55f99da54ffdb7eaaf3b608324a5a0/?vgnextoid=a42f4cfef22ff010VgnVCM100000464114acRCRD
Thanks. So there should be not much difference in voice quality between the two as both also utilizes VoIP.
In that case, think I shall choose Travel option since its more versatile as the FAQ states that no conversion between each service is allowed after settling for one.
DVH supports fax. DVT does not.
aptget
27-10-2008, 01:52 PM
has any one tried it with 512K speed ?? whats the quality call like
liangtam
27-10-2008, 04:27 PM
128K can work well
w0rksh0p
02-11-2008, 07:46 PM
I have question about the Digital Voice Flexitalk.
When I use wireless connection, I am able to call out from the Softphone. But when I use wired, I am not able to call out but I am able to call out after shutting down the zonealarm.
My question is why when I am using wireless, it allows me to call out and my zonealarm is still active.
Does anyone has the same problem?
Is there any setting I have to do ?
any idea how to disable voice mail or set longer ring time?
liangtam
04-11-2008, 10:39 AM
longer ring time cannot, starhub set it very short.
the voice mail can be removed for sure, as for ringtime, it needs to be adjusted on their equipment and as such, there may not be any procedure for such provision of longer ring time
ekardo
04-02-2009, 10:44 AM
this should be set as sticky !!
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.