View Full Version : Which Hard Drives Brand do you go for?
WhiteShadows
18-04-2006, 11:55 AM
For 3.5" hard drives, SATA/PATA.
Hitachi (3 Years)
Maxtor (3 Years)
Seagate (5 Years)
Samsung (3 Years)
Western Digital (3 Years, 5 Years for Raptors)
For me:
Seagate>Hitachi>Western Digital>Samsung>Maxtor.
dreant
18-04-2006, 12:40 PM
It used to be Hitachi first for me; until Seagate offered their 5 year warranty...
For me, its seagate due to its 5yrs warranty.
weihong
18-04-2006, 10:29 PM
same here. Seagate for 5yrs warranty. Hitachi in terms of performance. :)
WhiteShadows
19-04-2006, 12:52 AM
Looks like Seagate and Hitachi are the more popular ones. :)
acidboy84
19-04-2006, 10:49 AM
WD for their Raptors and Seagate for anything else.
Both has 5 yr warranty. :D
Steve74
19-04-2006, 08:03 PM
I still prefer seagate :D
ab_cat
20-04-2006, 02:28 PM
Western Digital , Seagate and now trying Hitachi, I think Hitachi its a good try for me as the poll I view now is in the top now :)
ab_cat
20-04-2006, 02:29 PM
and whats more Hitachi is also cheaper than Maxtor and some other brand also :)
WhiteShadows
20-04-2006, 03:16 PM
More voters please, you can choose multiple options. ;)
PeterPan
20-04-2006, 03:53 PM
More voters please, you can choose multiple options. ;)
shoot...never see the multiple options.....only selected one...
Hitachi & Western Digital for me. :D
PsyNidE
20-04-2006, 05:25 PM
Hitachi,WD & Samsung for me.
Using HGST since started buying HDD. Recently started using Maxtor
2.5" HDD seems to be dominated by Samsung.
PsyNidE
23-04-2006, 12:28 AM
because Samsung 2.5" HDDs are almost noiseless... my notebook with the MP0402H startup and during usage is noiseless except when the optical drive is spinning...
and also all Samsung 2.5" & 3.5" HDDs are ALL 3-Years One-to-One exchange warranty
i 4C samsung HDD 2b da nxt popularly used HDD in due time .. as they r basically quiet during operation & so far i used one 2.5" myslf + i recommend 2 3.5" HDD to my clients .. so far no complaints
PaLmEr
23-04-2006, 04:16 AM
why so "many" ppl voted for maxtor and samsung ar? :s13:
benqhoo
23-04-2006, 10:58 AM
seagate..5yrs warranty...
PsyNidE
23-04-2006, 02:32 PM
Samsung is quiet in its operations ..... ur WOLS .. hehe ...i got 2 of my customers 3.5" HDD & 2.5" for myslf as portable hdd .. wrking fine till now .. samsung hdd is still made in Korea AFAIK
Used to use all Hitachi drives.. But now I'm using all WD drives. :D
Would have stuck to HGST, but since I got a Raptor and I want all my drives to be the same brand, naturally I changed my storage drives to WD as well.
It doesn't really bother me much even though WD's performance might not be always at the top because I use 7200rpm drives solely for my storage and all my apps are run from the Raptor.
If I have to choose a drive from scratch at this point of time, I'll pick the WD 4000KD though.
BossQ
07-05-2006, 02:24 PM
Only WD for me...
blurpasta
07-05-2006, 02:44 PM
Like to get Hitachi hdds, it had been serving me well...
WenGio78
08-05-2006, 09:42 AM
wa... so many ppl like hitachi so much... Seagate still lost to them... but which ever gives the most reasonable price will win the race lor...
xboxer
09-05-2006, 03:43 AM
I just bought 2 Samsung 250gig recently because it's the cheapest. Any QC problems like Maxtor?
Hope and pray.........
PsyNidE
09-05-2006, 11:36 AM
I just bought 2 Samsung 250gig recently because it's the cheapest. Any QC problems like Maxtor?
Hope and pray.........
Samsung HDD is still made in Korea juz like LG LCD .. so u think da QC is ok? I noe its quiet during operations
xboxer
09-05-2006, 06:18 PM
Samsung HDD is still made in Korea juz like LG LCD .. so u think da QC is ok? I noe its quiet during operations
I know Korean cars are lousy. :s13: :s13:
PsyNidE
09-05-2006, 09:40 PM
I know Korean cars are lousy. :s13: :s13:
we r not talking abt cars here .. hehe .. any1 im using an IDE 80GB Samsung & a 40GB 2.5" Samsung HDD .. both r quiet during operations & no probz so far ... i think in due time ... its gona b popularly in use ...
WhiteShadows
21-05-2006, 05:21 PM
More Voters. :)
gutlink28
21-05-2006, 05:45 PM
WD for me too~!
SolarBurn
21-05-2006, 07:20 PM
seagate taking over maxtor
seagate gonna be BIG
ben0704
21-05-2006, 07:28 PM
anything but Maxtor :)
playst
27-05-2006, 06:31 PM
I prefer Maxtor.
:D
PsyNidE
27-05-2006, 06:33 PM
I prefer Maxtor.
:D
u like da darkside hor? ppl avoiding maxtor .... u buy maxtor.i prefer samsung ovr maxtor now
playst
27-05-2006, 06:38 PM
u like da darkside hor? ppl avoiding maxtor .... u buy maxtor.i prefer samsung ovr maxtor now
I had try Seagate before, the seeking noise and slow access will drive you nuts.
:o
PsyNidE
27-05-2006, 06:41 PM
I had try Seagate before, the seeking noise and slow access will drive you nuts.
i dun like Seagate either ... its much more noisier during operation as compared to da hitachi one. Even da operating temps r higher. Currently im using Samsung on my spare rig. Its quiet
yuri21
27-05-2006, 08:14 PM
Seagate... had at least 3 to 4 hdds from that brand, all died.
PsyNidE
27-05-2006, 08:15 PM
Seagate... had at least 3 to 4 hdds from that brand, all died.
LoL .. den try Samsung ... hehe .. still made in Korea juz like LG LCD monitors ..
yuri21
27-05-2006, 08:16 PM
LoL .. den try Samsung ... hehe .. still made in Korea juz like LG LCD monitors ..
Me satisfied with WD for now. :)
PsyNidE
27-05-2006, 08:24 PM
Me satisfied with WD for now. :)
yeah WD is still gd but lately they seem quiet .... i hope dis brand won't b eaten up by da major ones
yuri21
27-05-2006, 08:27 PM
yeah WD is still gd but lately they seem quiet .... i hope dis brand won't b eaten up by da major ones
I hope so too. :(
I finally found a brand that seems good and reliable, so pls WD... don't die on me. =:p
LightZY
03-06-2006, 11:13 PM
If i want performance and reliability should i go for WD or stay on Hitachi? Cos i tot of switching over to WD for my new HDD
WhiteShadows
07-06-2006, 09:58 AM
More Voters :)
PINOCCHIO_969
07-06-2006, 11:48 AM
My experience so far.....WD have failed on me TWICE!!!
Ever since i bought maxtor, both my 80 & 160GB is working fine..for 2 years liao..
Maybe i jus being too suay with WD... :D
playst
07-06-2006, 12:11 PM
My experience so far.....WD have failed on me TWICE!!!
Ever since i bought maxtor, both my 80 & 160GB is working fine..for 2 years liao..
Maybe i jus being too suay with WD... :D
I also like Maxtor harddisk. Much faster and quite then some other brand. From the poll, many user still did not know how good Maxtor is.
holybananas
07-06-2006, 10:07 PM
I used to like Maxtor too until Seagate came up with the 5 year warranty.
forumgeek
07-06-2006, 11:41 PM
Maxtor for me when i switched over to mac.
Been with seagate but dieded on me once after 2 months of usage. RMA was fast and easy.
Seagate sata sat on my G5, very slow read/write. sad to say.
Change to maxtor eversince, happy user of 4 maxtor hard disk
160gb, 3x 250 gb
2 were raided
Tradingeyes
08-06-2006, 12:14 AM
Can someone please refresh my memory on why HDD original capacity is few GB to over 10 GB lesser after its formatted?
like say a 80GB HDD is 74+GB even before formatting?
patryn33
08-06-2006, 06:13 AM
Maxtor = Seagate now!
HDD quality? Heard from someone who used to worked in Maxtor(SG) and Seagate(Malaysia).
Seem that they have common practise..
Reliable parts that build the HDD usually shipped to IBM or DELL or APPLE.
new suppliers or new parts that build the HDD usually shipped to places like SIM LIM.
Downgraded drives also shipped to places like SIM LIM.. so..
guanyu158
08-06-2006, 04:34 PM
Can someone please refresh my memory on why HDD original capacity is few GB to over 10 GB lesser after its formatted?
like say a 80GB HDD is 74+GB even before formatting?
the two Gs refer to different things.
for os, 1G = 1024*1024*1024
for harddisk manufacturer: 1G = 1000*1000*1000
Moonlight
08-06-2006, 04:47 PM
samsung still ok... but the Maxtor got so many ppl vote?? haha
i have replace more than 20 Maxtor hdd for my friends and companys :s13:
Moonlight
08-06-2006, 04:52 PM
I also like Maxtor harddisk. Much faster and quite then some other brand. From the poll, many user still did not know how good Maxtor is.
fast is good but wat if there is a higher chance of loss data? last 3 month have contacted dell for the HDD dead... all are maxtor inside... but when they replace, all replace by WD... :s13:
Tradingeyes
08-06-2006, 09:29 PM
the two Gs refer to different things.
for os, 1G = 1024*1024*1024
for harddisk manufacturer: 1G = 1000*1000*1000
oh yes!
thanks!
sadyong
19-06-2006, 09:36 PM
hmm.. i would like to get an EXT hard disk. any recommendation?? about 160-200gb. where to buy?? is maxtor alrite? cos it seem to b more cheap. rite?? or should i get WD??
PsyNidE
19-06-2006, 09:42 PM
hmm.. i would like to get an EXT hard disk. any recommendation?? about 160-200gb. where to buy?? is maxtor alrite? cos it seem to b more cheap. rite?? or should i get WD??
dun get Maxtor.Get Seagate for long warranty(5yrs). Get Hitachi or Western Digital for performance. Samsung for quietness.
sadyong
19-06-2006, 10:41 PM
ohh.. western digital ya.. then they got ide, sata and sata2 rite?? should get wat? seems like alot of shop didnt sell 3.5 western digital hard disk.
PsyNidE
19-06-2006, 10:42 PM
ohh.. western digital ya.. then they got ide, sata and sata2 rite?? should get wat? seems like alot of shop didnt sell 3.5 western digital hard disk.
if dun hv WD den get Hitachi.Samsung HDD is oso cheap & reliable. Wat mobo ru using?If ur mobo dun hv SATA suppt den no pt getting SATA HDD. SATA2 HDD r backward compatible with SATA1 supported mobos too.
playst
19-06-2006, 10:49 PM
Get Maxtor better.
=:p
PsyNidE
19-06-2006, 10:50 PM
Get Maxtor better.
its more like Maxtorture
playst
19-06-2006, 10:54 PM
After trying Seagate, I decide to head back to Maxtor ever since. I had given Seagate chance.
PsyNidE
19-06-2006, 10:55 PM
After trying Seagate, I decide to head back to Maxtor ever since. I had given Seagate chance.
try Hitachi or Samsung ... hehe
sadyong
19-06-2006, 11:01 PM
if dun hv WD den get Hitachi.Samsung HDD is oso cheap & reliable. Wat mobo ru using?If ur mobo dun hv SATA suppt den no pt getting SATA HDD. SATA2 HDD r backward compatible with SATA1 supported mobos too.
wats mobo?? sorry.. dun even noe about it.. thanks alot..
so jus get any WD 3.5" one is it?? all the same ya?? then take either ide or sata2?
PsyNidE
19-06-2006, 11:03 PM
wats mobo?? sorry.. dun even noe about it.. thanks alot..
mobo=motherboard. does ur board suppt SATA HDD? If not no point getting da SATA type coz da connector is diff.
sadyong
19-06-2006, 11:06 PM
mobo=motherboard. does ur board suppt SATA HDD? If not no point getting da SATA type coz da connector is diff.
ohh.. ok ok.. hmm.. then jus get any WD 3.5" de lo?? where did u get urs?
PsyNidE
19-06-2006, 11:11 PM
ohh.. ok ok.. hmm.. then jus get any WD 3.5" de lo?? where did u get urs?
wat board ru using? does it hv SATA suppt? Mine was bought quite sometime ago.4get where i got it.But da Samsung HDD for my 2.5" portable HDD was bought end last yr i think
sadyong
19-06-2006, 11:15 PM
wat board ru using? does it hv SATA suppt? Mine was bought quite sometime ago.4get where i got it.But da Samsung HDD for my 2.5" portable HDD was bought end last yr i think
haha.. my com kanna virus.. cannot log into internet.. tats y wanna buy hard disk store all the data then reformat.. but i cant boot up from the cdrom.. heard the cd spin but the screen didnt appear.. sian ah.. but mostly now the motherboard support sata rite??
PsyNidE
19-06-2006, 11:16 PM
look @ ur board.It wud state da brand & da model sumwhere on it.Ur rite abt latest model of mobos having SATA suppt
sadyong
19-06-2006, 11:25 PM
look @ ur board.It wud state da brand & da model sumwhere on it.Ur rite abt latest model of mobos having SATA suppt
ohh.. thanks.. so i will get WD 3.5" then.. thanks alot. still got lots of questions about reformat.. haha.. but well.. buy HDD first then..
PsyNidE
19-06-2006, 11:26 PM
ohh.. thanks.. so i will get WD 3.5" then.. thanks alot. still got lots of questions about reformat.. haha.. but well.. buy HDD first then..
hope u get da rite type.juz mk sure ur mobo hv sata suppt dats all.If ur mobo suppt sata2 ... den get sata2 hdd
sadyong
19-06-2006, 11:31 PM
hope u get da rite type.juz mk sure ur mobo hv sata suppt dats all.If ur mobo suppt sata2 ... den get sata2 hdd
thanks alot..
g3r41d
20-06-2006, 01:59 AM
hitachi all the way... have hitachi 120 and 200... good performance and oso super good rma.. fast and efficient
jtjt00
01-07-2006, 06:37 PM
1st choice: WD
2nd choice: Hitachi
hitachi all the way... have hitachi 120 and 200... good performance and oso super good rma.. fast and efficient
how does hitachi send back the replacement disk after RMA?
through courier or Singpost?
PsyNidE
02-07-2006, 08:52 PM
how does hitachi send back the replacement disk after RMA?
through courier or Singpost?
dun matter i think coz its bck 2 ur hse
that's because I've received an email on 28/06 that says to allow 10 days for delivery and now it's already 6 days. never received a call so far and wondered why it takes so long?
dareth
13-07-2006, 11:28 PM
My first seagate hdd and it give me ample problem.. maxtor last me 3 yrs and WD still kicking strong after 2 yrs usage.... my vote should be hitachi hdd...
furyoo
15-07-2006, 01:03 AM
I like Hitachi, have heard plenty of good things about them.
I can tell you what I hate also. Toshiba 2.5" hdd's. My friend has replaced his 3 times already. Another one had his hdd replaced after 10 months of use. Mine failed after 1.5 years of use, luckily Fujitsu replaced it with a Hitachi.
bizcon
15-07-2006, 12:14 PM
Is there any difference in the buffer??
I am looking for at least 250GB IDE hardisk for my old MB.
Hitachi 250GB / 8M
Maxtor 250GB / 16M
Segate 250GB /8M
WD 250GB / 16M
PsyNidE
15-07-2006, 01:35 PM
more cache supposed 2 mk da HDD access time faster but juz avoid Maxtor. Seagate hv 5 yrs warranty anyway so u decide
WhiteShadows
09-10-2006, 09:45 PM
:s12: :s12: :s12:
iam1e5
09-10-2006, 11:00 PM
seagate bah~
iam1e5
09-10-2006, 11:01 PM
wah~
samsung n maxtor supporter so little~
PsyNidE
10-10-2006, 02:00 PM
wah~
samsung n maxtor supporter so little~
i'm using samsung hdds ...
xboxer
10-10-2006, 03:00 PM
Hitachi
Samsung
WD
only.
hotspur_77
11-10-2006, 09:50 PM
samsung & hitachi 4 me...seagate the worst...so wat they give 5 yrs warranty if their drives can fail every 6 months...u wanna send it 4 RMA 10 times over 5 yrs??
xboxer
12-10-2006, 12:39 AM
samsung & hitachi 4 me...seagate the worst...so wat they give 5 yrs warranty if their drives can fail every 6 months...u wanna send it 4 RMA 10 times over 5 yrs??
I don't care even if they give 50 years. I rather take one with 1 year and at least reliable. :s13:
idohope87
12-10-2006, 03:31 AM
hitachi and seagates is number 1. used maxtor b4. spoilt easily.
inxlee
12-10-2006, 04:02 AM
definately wd followed by hitachi:)
WhiteShadows
17-10-2006, 12:57 AM
:s22: :s22: Up
chunlianghere
17-10-2006, 02:34 PM
hitachi and seagates is number 1. used maxtor b4. spoilt easily.
y maxtor spoilt easily??
lionelow
17-10-2006, 03:23 PM
y maxtor spoilt easily??
Yup hate maxtor now using seagate.
PsyNidE
17-10-2006, 03:24 PM
Too bad im avoiding both Maxtor & Seagate ...
lionelow
17-10-2006, 03:28 PM
Too bad im avoiding both Maxtor & Seagate ...
Why may i know.
PsyNidE
17-10-2006, 03:30 PM
Why may i know.
bcoz the HDD brands that come to me for data recovery are mostly from these 2 brands .... although with the coming of the 7200.10 using perpendicular recording .. it seems better now.
jaloon
17-10-2006, 08:10 PM
Avoid Maxtor... had the most no of bad drives from them. No sure whether to trust Seagate after their merger, even with 5yrs warranty.
PsyNidE
17-10-2006, 08:12 PM
i only start to trust Seagate HDDs only with the intro of the 7200.10 series.Prior to that I don't even wana consider Seagate.Maxtor was also in my blacklist.
Chervelle
11-11-2006, 01:46 PM
woah.. Samsung so little votes..
tot that their hdd not bad..
lastmen
11-11-2006, 01:53 PM
Dont know is just me or not...my maxtor make a loud click sound when I shut down my PC..still working but I hate that sound.
btw...is there a ex-cases for sata..
i only start to trust Seagate HDDs only with the intro of the 7200.10 series.Prior to that I don't even wana consider Seagate.Maxtor was also in my blacklist.
Hey 7200.10 was the first Seagate hdd I decided to try on, hope it does not give problems like its previous series. :s8:
PsyNidE
11-11-2006, 03:40 PM
woah.. Samsung so little votes..
tot that their hdd not bad..
im using x4 samsung hdds .. so far all no probz
So far have tried IBM, Maxtor, Hitachi, Seagate and WD. Might try samsung for my next hdd, any upcoming good series for Samsung drives?
PsyNidE
11-11-2006, 04:13 PM
da SpinPoint T series with 16mb cache
blue_destiny
11-11-2006, 05:31 PM
i only start to trust Seagate HDDs only with the intro of the 7200.10 series.Prior to that I don't even wana consider Seagate.Maxtor was also in my blacklist.since u said so then i going to get seagate hdd soon..
wiShfulStone
11-11-2006, 10:06 PM
My 4 month old 7200.10 still going fine, unlike my old maxtor..
BradenHeat
11-11-2006, 11:58 PM
I'll just say something
First ext 2.5'' 50GB hdd Samsung, had serve me well.
The Second 3.5'' hdd Seagate at 320gb (298gb read), so far no problems. And I dont really wish to see any of them failing and RMA.
I just go for the price-per-gb, because, it really just depends on luck.
Haha. Though I must stress this, I've stressed tested both Hdd for weeks before storing data.
Checking, deleting, 24 hrs. Well you get the picture.
Well, just hope all factories producing hdd would ensure less RMAs.
PsyNidE
12-11-2006, 08:09 AM
since u said so then i going to get seagate hdd soon..
LoL ... anything happen to ur 7200.10 HDD don't blame hor? hehe ..
Techno Pride
12-11-2006, 12:22 PM
my Seagate Barracuda IV is 4yrs 5 mths old, Samsung Spinpoint 2 yrs 8 mths old.
i'd go for a Samsung for my next drive.
your mileage may vary.
rollbread
12-11-2006, 09:49 PM
Hey..But i tot seagate n maxtor is the same??
PsyNidE
12-11-2006, 10:43 PM
Hey..But i tot seagate n maxtor is the same??
its only being bought over by seagate recently ...
UchihaSasuke
13-11-2006, 04:04 PM
Hmm..Has been using maxtor for over 4 years, because the person that is servicing my com recommend that (Not sure whether it is a gd choice to trust him or not) so far the maxtor HDD manage to last me until my warrantly finish -_- meaning it will start to give problem when it is near 3 years n finally it will give u BIG problem when ur warrantly finish :< So anyone can recommend me other HDD after my maxtor HDD die off.
OFF TOPIC: Can someone explain to me, how does RMA work? If it is not convient to explain here, pls PM me.
Thanks
wiShfulStone
13-11-2006, 07:36 PM
Hmm..Has been using maxtor for over 4 years, because the person that is servicing my com recommend that (Not sure whether it is a gd choice to trust him or not) so far the maxtor HDD manage to last me until my warrantly finish -_- meaning it will start to give problem when it is near 3 years n finally it will give u BIG problem when ur warrantly finish :< So anyone can recommend me other HDD after my maxtor HDD die off.
OFF TOPIC: Can someone explain to me, how does RMA work? If it is not convient to explain here, pls PM me.
Thanks
western digital
chunlianghere
17-11-2006, 12:00 AM
btw any different these 3 hdd, maxtor, hitachi n seagate. hitachi really very gd? is it becos not easy to spoilt? so how abt maxtor n seagate?
cos gonna buy new hdd soon. thks..
halozz
29-11-2006, 06:05 AM
i like wd and hitachi. currently using hitachi... very good
wiShfulStone
29-11-2006, 04:07 PM
btw any different these 3 hdd, maxtor, hitachi n seagate. hitachi really very gd? is it becos not easy to spoilt? so how abt maxtor n seagate?
cos gonna buy new hdd soon. thks..
Maxtor failure rate high, plus they got bought over by seagate already. No more maxtor.
EVO13
06-12-2006, 11:00 PM
8mb and 16mb cache differ alot in term of perforamance??
my current hitachi starts to have alot bad sectors after 1 yr....
is the current batch reliable??
ab_cat
06-12-2006, 11:14 PM
16mb cache should be faster and surely can feel the difference between it. ur hitachi is ide or sata de?
i using maxtor for 3 years plus now start to have some errors
EVO13
07-12-2006, 08:21 PM
currently using SATA...
PsyNidE
07-12-2006, 08:27 PM
8mb and 16mb cache differ alot in term of perforamance??
my current hitachi starts to have alot bad sectors after 1 yr....
is the current batch reliable??
better start to backup everything & RMA ur HDD quickly
PsyNidE
07-12-2006, 08:28 PM
you also need to backup all your data
confusex
07-12-2006, 08:51 PM
Ok seem that most of u all saying hitachi and WD giving gd performance. But which has better performance? Im changing HDD soon :)
PsyNidE
07-12-2006, 09:02 PM
da choice is urs ... mine is Samsung Spinpoint
bluebird_608
08-12-2006, 12:22 AM
For 3.5" hard drives, SATA/PATA.
Hitachi (3 Years)
Maxtor (3 Years)
Seagate (5 Years)
Samsung (3 Years)
Western Digital (3 Years, 5 Years for Raptors)
For me:
Seagate>Hitachi>Western Digital>Samsung>Maxtor.
Western Digital (3 years) is from date of manufacture of the drive i.e. if you purchased a drive 6months after the manufacturing date - your warranty is only 2.5 Years. What is the experience of user of other drives, does their warrantly starts from the date of purchase or from the date of manufacture? thanks.
noinimod
08-12-2006, 12:45 AM
My WD has been running strong for bout close to 4 years already w/o problems.
My new hitachi is running good too.
so, WD and Hitachi for me.
bluebird_608
08-12-2006, 01:50 AM
My WD has been running strong for bout close to 4 years already w/o problems.
My new hitachi is running good too.
so, WD and Hitachi for me.
Hi noinimod - Yr new Hitachi warrantly is from date of purchase or from date of manufacture of the drive?
Thanks.
chunlianghere
08-12-2006, 02:28 AM
warranty shld be start from date of purchase.
gcm_rukawa11
09-12-2006, 10:17 AM
WD.. been using from a few yrs back... din die b4
james1055
09-12-2006, 10:41 PM
Mine is Samsung and Hitachi, so far so good.
xforce77
27-12-2006, 02:46 AM
how about 2.5 " which is good ?
chunlianghere
27-12-2006, 02:48 AM
tink 2.5" only runs at 5400rpm. which is slower than 3.5".
PsyNidE
27-12-2006, 02:50 AM
tink 2.5" only runs at 5400rpm. which is slower than 3.5".
there are 2.5" HDDs now that runs @ 7200rpm but still quite pricey
PsyNidE
27-12-2006, 02:51 AM
how about 2.5 " which is good ?
For 2.5" HDDs .. i still trust either Hitachi or Samsung ..
majestic_guy79
29-12-2006, 03:38 PM
WD bad experience
i got a 80gb a few yrs back... spoiled within 5 mths... changed one...
spoiled again ... a yr + later...
now.. warranty just finish... and i am on the 3rd hd within 3 yrs...
hd spoil nvm... prob is .. i ve lotz of data... restoring them frm dvd waste time.
ab_cat
30-12-2006, 12:13 AM
WD bad experience
i got a 80gb a few yrs back... spoiled within 5 mths... changed one...
spoiled again ... a yr + later...
now.. warranty just finish... and i am on the 3rd hd within 3 yrs...
hd spoil nvm... prob is .. i ve lotz of data... restoring them frm dvd waste time.
is it ur cable or motherboard problem or u install more than 1 hdd as in primary and slave? dun think WD will be so weak..
WhiteShadows
01-01-2007, 09:44 PM
:s12: :s12:
koohansen
08-01-2007, 11:36 AM
:s12: :s12: :D
lawrence90
08-01-2007, 02:49 PM
hitachi, maxtor, seagate
PsyNidE
08-01-2007, 03:06 PM
??? since when does WhiteShadows become mod?
keigo
09-01-2007, 04:13 PM
Harddisk I have used before:Hitachi, Western Digital, Seagate, Samsung
No. of times my harddisk crashed while under warranty:
Hitachi 1 time
Western Digital 1 time
Seagate 3 times
Samsung so far never, might be due to under utilization.
If the data not impt one, but u need the storage space, seagate is a good choice.
hkm520240
10-01-2007, 10:22 PM
Mine is Hitachi 250GB SATA II in Raid 0 configuration. Turn on Sata II using its feature tools and it's fast.
PsyNidE
10-01-2007, 11:32 PM
Mine is Hitachi 250GB SATA II in Raid 0 configuration. Turn on Sata II using its feature tools and it's fast.
sidetrack a bit ... whats ur ram timing @ DDR600?Running 1T & ratio 1:1?
hkm520240
11-01-2007, 01:00 AM
sidetrack a bit ... whats ur ram timing @ DDR600?Running 1T & ratio 1:1?
In order to achieve 3Ghz I have to set memory divider at 5/6 and my Corsair XL running @ 250Mhz 2.5-3-3-6-1T. My mem can never achieve 300Mhz (DDR600) and max @ 258Mhz.
PsyNidE
11-01-2007, 01:03 AM
In order to achieve 3Ghz I have to set memory divider at 5/6 and my Corsair XL running @ 250Mhz 2.5-3-3-6-1T. My mem can never achieve 300Mhz (DDR600) and max @ 258Mhz.
icic ... tot ur rams are the tccd ones .... must have mistaken it for another model
i've only bought Hitachi, Western Digital, Samsung and Seagate hdds.
I've always supported Hitachi and Western Digital. Then suddenly, it was like Western Digital was pretty slow with coming out with hdds. SO supported Hitachi. But recently, bought a WD Raptor.
I've never tried and never wanted to try Seagate drives. But dunno why, i suddenly bought the Seagate 7200.10. After 1, i bought another 1.
FOr Samsung, i've bought 2 x 2.5" hdds and they are pretty good. I would recommend Samsung for 2.5" hdds because they are the cheapest and coolest. I had an Hitachi E7K60 before. The performance was really good but its hot because its spinning at 7200rpm.
PsyNidE
11-01-2007, 01:42 AM
For me I've never even considered Seagate HDD before the arrival of 7200.10. Right now I like Samsung HDDs for their quietness & lower in operating temp during operation.
Perhaps part of the reason for me not buying Seagate prior to 7200.10 was that Seagate HDDs were the most that come to me for data recovery other than Maxtor ... haha
WhiteShadows
02-08-2007, 12:05 PM
:s12: Up the thread.
wiShfulStone
02-08-2007, 09:02 PM
For me I've never even considered Seagate HDD before the arrival of 7200.10. Right now I like Samsung HDDs for their quietness & lower in operating temp during operation.
Perhaps part of the reason for me not buying Seagate prior to 7200.10 was that Seagate HDDs were the most that come to me for data recovery other than Maxtor ... haha
Maybe it's because seagate has the largest hdd share in the market? Anyway, so WD or Hitachi then?
harky
03-08-2007, 12:04 AM
after reading .... it seem tht samsung 2.5 hdd is very good? tot of getting a 2.5 hdd for backup .. got any recomm?
staedtler_07
03-08-2007, 12:47 AM
ME too, seems to me like after reading so much, Samsung is the best?
PsyNidE
03-08-2007, 12:55 PM
ME too, seems to me like after reading so much, Samsung is the best?
Samsung HDDs are not the best in terms of read/seek speeds. For speed you go for WD AAKS. IF you want quietness and lower operating temps during operation, then you go for Samsung.
wiShfulStone
03-08-2007, 04:23 PM
Samsung HDDs are not the best in terms of read/seek speeds. For speed you go for WD AAKS. IF you want quietness and lower operating temps during operation, then you go for Samsung.
I don't need the speeds, I prefer lower temps, but is samsung as reliable as a standard AAKS?
PsyNidE
03-08-2007, 04:43 PM
I don't need the speeds, I prefer lower temps, but is samsung as reliable as a standard AAKS?
I'm using x3 Samsung HDDs. All are running fine till now
noobiee
06-08-2007, 07:09 PM
I am going to get a ide casing soon. so i wonder now in the market which brand of ide drive is the latest technology and don't fail easily?
WhiteShadows
11-08-2007, 09:51 AM
Up for more voters! :)
wakui00
13-11-2007, 02:26 PM
Been Hearing good things about WD HDD..using it now also..not bad in my opinion..
axlsteve
28-12-2007, 09:36 AM
videopro selling Samsung 3.5 500G sata2 @ $169, reliable or not, i sick of my seagate which i brought a year ago and i have send to exchange for 2 time already... :eek:
YEOVILLE
07-01-2008, 11:03 AM
if u look at samsung, fujitsu or toshiba for the consumer storage that they are offering are mostly at 5400rpm.
seagate, wd and hitachi offers 7500rpm for consumer storage, however the heating is a problem.
azl-128
23-01-2008, 09:05 AM
I'm getting an external hard disk size of 160GB. It is a choice between Hitachi and Samsung. But, I'm not sure which one to choose. The hard disk will be used to install programs and games. So, any recommendation between this 2 hard disk I mention?
yiptw89
26-01-2008, 07:13 PM
Recommend which brand for 2.5" External use
mrjuns
25-02-2008, 12:05 AM
hey guys... i've seen you people mention about samsung, maxtor, seagate (just to name a few).
But i've seen before Fujitsu external hard disk. Anybody have encountered this hdd before?
Diavonex
25-02-2008, 12:22 AM
My DELL came with a Fujitsu HDD.
oyebto
25-02-2008, 07:04 AM
anione knows if using 7200rpm 2.5inch hdd on laptop ani disadvantages? will there be heating or battery problem?
Diavonex
25-02-2008, 08:56 AM
Laptop will run 2 to 3 degrees higher.
Battery consumption almost the same.
placebomonkey
11-03-2008, 02:35 AM
Has always been Hitachi since IBM days. For some reasons I have been fortunate with these HDD.
Moonlight
11-03-2008, 10:42 AM
i belive the most reliable is WD so far...
the least reliable is maxtor...
samsung?? somewhere middle or below avg... just RMA a Samsung notebook harddisk 2 time in a month!
Jeremy1
11-03-2008, 10:55 AM
i belive the most reliable is WD so far...
the least reliable is maxtor...
samsung?? somewhere middle or below avg... just RMA a Samsung notebook harddisk 2 time in a month!
I think it's all a matter of luck.
But if you want me to choose a more reliable one ===> Toshiba ( don't know are they still manufacturing harddisk or not ).
Warlock86
11-03-2008, 12:54 PM
I think it's all a matter of luck.
But if you want me to choose a more reliable one ===> Toshiba ( don't know are they still manufacturing harddisk or not ).
I agree with what Jeremy1 has mentioned.
I have using Seagate, Hitachi, WD, Maxtor & Samsung Harddisk. All of them have failed me before (except my Samsung 2.5 harddisk).
I think that it's more like that particular batch of particular brand which has higher failure rate. Currently, I am using WD 160 & 400GB. So far, no problem. Just loving it :)
bloodymiko
11-03-2008, 05:48 PM
perhaps should state how long the duration the hard disk lasted and the frequency of usage....
this might determines the lifespan of the hard disk.... i'm new to this and is thinking of which hard disk to buy....
having headache lol.... pondering btw seagate freeagent go, maxtor 4 mini and WD passport...... looking for 250GB 2.5'' hard disk....
wish to clarify.... anyone seen WD passport in other colors other than black? where to buy those assorted colors? are they in spore already?
can WD passport do backup entire os?
for encryption... which offers the best security?
Warlock86
11-03-2008, 07:44 PM
perhaps should state how long the duration the hard disk lasted and the frequency of usage....
this might determines the lifespan of the hard disk.... i'm new to this and is thinking of which hard disk to buy....
IMO, i think that no manufacturer can state the life span of their hard disk but a generic duration of 5 years. I believe that different batches of hard disk's life span are different even under QC.
having headache lol.... pondering btw seagate freeagent go, maxtor 4 mini and WD passport...... looking for 250GB 2.5'' hard disk....
wish to clarify.... anyone seen WD passport in other colors other than black? where to buy those assorted colors? are they in spore already?
I have seen WD passport in other colors on WDD site but yet to be in S'pore. Try to go to Funan or SLS to check it out.
The rest, i am not sure myself. Expert, where are you?
oyebto
14-03-2008, 12:44 AM
got see red black and white in sls cybermind. saw the pink one in challenger funan.. i myself using the red one. hot sia.
AT_HWZ
14-03-2008, 04:28 PM
Went to the Price Guides > Computers / Consumer Electronics > Storage > 3.5" (Serial ATA) 7200/10000rpm Internal Hard Disk and click on whatever HDD info there. And I'm brought to a blank page.
Turned off all cookies and firewalls, and tried all the popular browsers on both PC and Mac and the results were the same.
Now, I'm unable to figure out where to go and buy some good bargain HDDs.
Any idea?
oyebto
02-04-2008, 09:27 AM
Went to the Price Guides > Computers / Consumer Electronics > Storage > 3.5" (Serial ATA) 7200/10000rpm Internal Hard Disk and click on whatever HDD info there. And I'm brought to a blank page.
Turned off all cookies and firewalls, and tried all the popular browsers on both PC and Mac and the results were the same.
Any idea?
how bout best bargain? =)
wiShfulStone
02-04-2008, 11:25 AM
Any idea?
Go straight to the shop price lists
josephchooky
09-04-2008, 02:53 PM
One day I got a SMART error during boot up. So I download a SMART analysis too. Among the 6 HDD I have (yes, SATA + IDE, 3 Seagates, 1 WD, 1 Hitiachi, and 1 Maxtor (oldest). Surpise surprise. The SMART tool say that - the latest 750GB Seagate is the culprit (red light), and the other 2 Seagates got yellow lights. All the others - older HDD - all green light. This was a few months ago. I will not use Seagate drive again. I download another 2 SMART analysis - both also say the same thing.
Man - I am not going to use Seagate from now.
BTW, recently an ex-colleague told me that when he was working for Maxtor when Seagate bought them over years ago - he said that when they tour Seagate plant - Seagate staff told them they use the cheapest component to make HDD, so their HDD are very cheap, and it beat the competition by profit margin. Not by technology. Maxtor and the rest make good HDD using good tech but their cost is higher - making themselves out of business.
trickle_on
14-04-2008, 01:22 PM
Currently using:
Maxtor 160GB - 1 Yr usage
Samsung 500GB Spinpoint - 2 Months
WD 500GB - 6 Months
Retired my old WD 80GB which has served me well for about 5 yrs. Left an image of my Windows installation on it and put it aside as a backup.
Never tried Seagate, although technically, the Maxtor is a Seagate...hah.
felali
14-04-2008, 09:11 PM
Haha Maxtor kena pwn!
vbansal
16-04-2008, 04:27 PM
Edited for Spamming.
thinking to buy Hitachi ........ but then last nite, my Hitachi got crashed, and this is not the first time Hitachi got crashed ....... so most probably will go to Western Digital.
CharmanderWong
17-04-2008, 02:42 PM
My history of hdd... :s22:
Seagate 20gb - working till today, bought in 1999
Maxtor 20gb - dead after 1 year, rma results in another failed drive, another rma returns me a 40gb but dead after 1 week... :s16:
Seagate 40gb x2 - both working till today
Seagate 120gb sata - went bonkers once, left in shelf for few mths, working again. but finally dead right after warranty ended.
Seagate 200gb sata - working till today
Hitachi 2.5" 60gb - almost died after 2 years, rma new drive, working till today
Seagate 2.5" 120gb - <1 year, working
Seagate 500gb - <1 mth, working..
Seagate FTW! :D
doody_
17-04-2008, 04:08 PM
Seagate for 5 year warranty. I'd go for warranty over performance anytime. Plus I just like Seagate over WD :).
AT_HWZ
27-04-2008, 09:26 PM
Wonder which shop is selling the Hitachi (HGST) UltraStar 7K1000 1TB (32MB) SATA
Model: HUA721010KLA330 - 5 Years Warranty for SGD325.00?
Click on info and the page came out empty.
erwinrommel
29-04-2008, 09:03 PM
My history of hard disks:
Hitachi 80Gb (just qcquired IBM): Failed after 2 years...
current hard disks used:
Western Digital 160Gb: Good, steady, reliable, moderate temperature... but loud
Samsung Spinpoint 500Gb 16Mb cache: Cheap (compared to others that time), very cool (38°C)
Seagate 500Gb 16Mb cache: Fast, but very hot (at least 50°C) and slightly loud.
No issues with all these hard disks so far, maybe more worried for Seagate due to its high temperature.
Adelyte
14-06-2008, 09:26 AM
Been using hitachi for 3 yrs, no prob.
wd rma once after 2 yrs of usesage.
bLue_bAbe
27-06-2008, 12:34 AM
Guys, intending to get a WD passport green in color. Anybody have seen it selling anywhere or know where i can get it? I know that the recent PC has sale for it but i missed it out. So anybody have any idea?
flea_pepper
07-07-2008, 02:33 PM
MDT fans ? anybody ? lol
well, for my experience..
i'll never go for Hitachi anymore.
the current laptop that my sister's using, has a hitachi drive.
laptop won't run unless i press the drive hard.
no more hitachi for me!
0.85" Never used before, only Toshiba available.
1" I hate Seagate the most & I like Toshiba the most, but Seagate has the highest capacity.
1.3" Never used before, only Samsung available.
1.8" Toshiba, Hitachi or Seagate, they're all good... sadly, only Toshiba pushed to the limit & Seagate has stopped making any... don't try Samsung, please.
2.5" I hate Fujitsu the most & I like Toshiba the most.
3.5" I hate Maxtor the most & I like Quantum the most... oops, since it's no longer in available, Seagate & WD then.
5.25" Never used before, obsolete before I know it.
pclinux
14-08-2008, 05:03 PM
My Hitachi drive is faulty after about 1.5 years of usage. Horrible grinding sound. :s8:
jklm159
15-08-2008, 10:58 PM
Druids are ;;rs gold the blessed servants of ;;buy rs gold Cenarion and ;;cheap rs gold protectors of the natural order ;;swg credits of the Azeroth. Their powers ;;swg gold spring from the ;;buy swg credits very energy of the ;;cheap swg credits world itself and allow Druid ;;lotro gold characters ;;buy lotro gold to tap into nature's raw ;;cheap lotro gold power to ;;silkroad gold transform themselves ;;buy silkroad gold into fearsome ;;cheap silkroad gold creatures, attack ;;guild wars gold opponents with ;;buy guild wars gold mystic ;;cheap guild wars gold energy, or heal ;;gw gold and buff their ;;anarchy gold allies. Druids ;;buy anarchy gold are welcome ;;cheap anarchy gold in almost any ;;ao gold group, able ;;buy ao gold to perform ;;cheap ao gold multiple roles ;;gaiaonline gold as the need ;;gaia gold arises. For ;;gold on gaia the Alliance, ;;cheap gaia gold only Night ;;gaia gold fast Elves ;;buy gaia gold may become ;;gaia online gold Druids. ;;Knightonline gold Having abandoned ;;ko gold the practices ;;tibia gold of arcane magic ;;buy tibia gold which caused the ;;cheap tibia gold downfall ;;rf gold of their brethren, the ;;buy rf gold Blood ;;cheap rf gold Elves, the Night ;;vanguard gold Elves ;;cheap vanguard gold have become ;;buy vanguard gold masters ;;vanguard soh gold of nature. For the ;;soh gold Horde, only ;;buy soh gold the shamanistic ;;cheap soh gold Tauren have ;;cov infamy the capacity ;;buy cov infamy of becoming ;;cheap cov infamy Druids. The difference ;;cov gold between the ;;cabal alz two races is ;;buy cabal alz slight; a Night Elf ;;cheap cabal alz transforms into a ;;cabal gold Black Panther for ;;shaiya gold their ;;buy shaiya gold combat form, while ;;cheap shaiya gold as a Tauren becomes ;;ddo plat a Lion. No matter ;;buy ddo plat which side your ;;cheap ddo plat character ;;ddo gold may be on, you will ;;buy ddo gold find Druids to ;;cheap ddo gold be one of the ;;2moons dil most capable ;;2 moons dil classes in PVP ;;buy 2moons dil and PVE. Shrugging ;;cheap 2moons dil off ;;2moons gold polymorphs, removing ;;2 moons gold curses and breaking ;;buy 2moons gold any movement ;;cheap 2moons gold afflictions, Druids ;;dofus kamas are a ;;buy dofus kamas terror on any ;;cheap dofus kamas PVP ;;buying dofus kamas battlefield. At ;;dofus gold higher levels, Druids are ;;buy dofus gold primarily healers, becoming ;;cheap dofus gold an essential part ;;archlord gold to 40-man raid groups ;;archlord online gold seeking to ;;buy archlord gold kill dragons ;;cheap archlord gold and gods ;;ultima online gold in the depths of ;;uo gold Azeroth's most ;;buy ultima online gold dangerous ;;uogold dungeons. No ;;buy uo gold guild looking to ;;sof gold kill Ragnaros, the ;;soldier of fortune gold Lord of Fire, or ;;sof 2 gold Nefarion, ruler of Black ;;sof ii gold Rock Mountain, is ;;buy sof gold complete without Druids ;;cheap sof gold in their ranks. We can help you get there. (8/15-hbseo)
erwinrommel
17-08-2008, 04:01 PM
Surprisingly many people choose Hitachi while not many people choose Samsung even after introducing their Spinpoint F1 750Gb/1Tb HDD.
kendrick272
16-09-2008, 05:10 PM
Guys, intending to get a WD passport green in color. Anybody have seen it selling anywhere or know where i can get it? I know that the recent PC has sale for it but i missed it out. So anybody have any idea?
I dont think sls has it yet. You can try getting it online?
Verbatin
23-09-2008, 10:01 PM
My apology if i have posted on the wrong thread.
I have a 250GB Maxtor 2.5" external/portable harddisk which i bought for $149 at Mustafa centre just 2 day ago.
Model number Maxtor OneTouch 4 Mini (made in China)
I am selling it at 12% off as i realised i dont need this actually. it is still in its original packed condition.
It comes with 5 year warranty and need to register the warranty online
I still keep the receipt with me as proof of purchase price
Those who are keen, pls drop me a mail verbatin1969@yahoo.com.sg
Thanks
siao_gamer
16-10-2008, 09:50 PM
Always seagate is my choice......
Adventia
03-11-2008, 10:47 PM
I only use seagate,never tried other brands.
So far my ext hdd 1 yr+,still relatively new i know,still running smoothly.
tualobang
08-11-2008, 07:57 PM
i have 2.5" seagate momentus, RMA twice already. :(
emuji
21-11-2008, 10:18 AM
i have used:
samsung
seagate
maxtor
WD
my favorite is still seagate & WD :D
that applies for external HDD too ;)
bendwolf
23-11-2008, 03:42 PM
IBM, HGST have a long standing reputation for reliability since i start building my pc in 1997. They do get faulty too, but at a significant lower rate than others. Comparing desktop hard disk, excluding enterprise scsi.
Weakest are maxtor and western digital.
emuji
24-11-2008, 09:11 AM
IBM, HGST have a long standing reputation for reliability since i start building my pc in 1997. They do get faulty too, but at a significant lower rate than others. Comparing desktop hard disk, excluding enterprise scsi.
IBM is good. i had a couple of HDD by IBM but that's was ages ago, not sure about quality these days. is IBM HDD still under IBM or Lenovo?
just when i said i prefer seagate and WD... my new WD ext HDD just failed me last week after 6 days of use. got a one-to-one exchange. i hope this new one is going to be ok :D
hockz
30-11-2008, 10:30 AM
My history of hard disks:
Hitachi 80Gb (just qcquired IBM): Failed after 2 years...
current hard disks used:
Western Digital 160Gb: Good, steady, reliable, moderate temperature... but loud
Samsung Spinpoint 500Gb 16Mb cache: Cheap (compared to others that time), very cool (38°C)
Seagate 500Gb 16Mb cache: Fast, but very hot (at least 50°C) and slightly loud.
No issues with all these hard disks so far, maybe more worried for Seagate due to its high temperature.
may i know how u know the temp?
kennyg1969
30-11-2008, 05:49 PM
IBM is good. i had a couple of HDD by IBM but that's was ages ago, not sure about quality these days. is IBM HDD still under IBM or Lenovo?
IBM HDD is now under Hitachi
zhehao
03-12-2008, 08:39 PM
So the winner is wd and seagate.
i still donno which brand to buy for a normal hd.
Any recommendation?
kennyg1969
03-12-2008, 08:56 PM
So the winner is wd and seagate.
i still donno which brand to buy for a normal hd.
Any recommendation?
I dunno about you.. I am on seagate from the 7200.7,7200.9,7200.10 and the latest 7200.11.
I am still using all the seagate HDD. The only issue that i have with my latest 11 series is heat. It can get as hot as 49C in my NAS.
My 7200.7 is almost 4 years and still surviving :)
Success
08-12-2008, 10:39 AM
What HDD is Buffalo using for their 3.5" external?
How about Ranger for their SATA 2.5" portable?
For 3.5" external, I like Buffalo.
For 2.5" portable, which do you guys recommend?
emuji
08-12-2008, 04:34 PM
just curious, have u guys heard or seen of iOmega's eGO helium? available in 320GB USB 2.0 only. sleek looking piece but i was having doubts in reliability issue on iOmega. any comments? thought of getting it - for design sake :s13:
kennyg1969
08-12-2008, 05:03 PM
just curious, have u guys heard or seen of iOmega's eGO helium? available in 320GB USB 2.0 only. sleek looking piece but i was having doubts in reliability issue on iOmega. any comments? thought of getting it - for design sake :s13:
If you are getting for paper weight , by all means but if you intend to use, you have your own doubts on it...
wiShfulStone
09-12-2008, 12:14 AM
I've an old iomega 80GB hdd from 5-6 years back, IBM hdd inside, still working today :D
sdf368
09-12-2008, 07:15 PM
I would go for WD..
http://www.play-asia.com/SOap-23-83-dntw.html
quekghi
10-12-2008, 04:44 PM
Seagate for me. :D
erwinrommel
10-12-2008, 05:53 PM
WD for the reliability and all-round balance.
Samsung for the low temperature and quietness.
Seagate for performance.
Encountered 3 dead Hitachi HDDs over past 2 years, so no Hitachi for me... :s27:
xfiles_wolvie
11-12-2008, 02:54 PM
hmm. i m torn between WD green and Seagate 7200.11 for 1TB drive. which one should i go for? i wan low tempand also realiability. WD only 3 yrs warranty for green. seagate is 5yrs. so duno which to go to.
how?
Kenshin79
11-12-2008, 03:39 PM
Seagate, Hitachi or WD for me.
Samsung is a no-no... slowest performance, used about 12 or 13 HDD over a period once and had 8 of them failed within 3 months.
xfiles_wolvie
12-12-2008, 09:24 AM
wah,8 failed within 3mnths. Omg. New hdd or used?
anyone know WD my book and those my life or watever, are they using WD black hdd or green or blue?
emuji
13-12-2008, 12:36 PM
so does this thread applies to external drives? think i would go for SEAGATE, after going variety of brands in the past.
Success
13-12-2008, 01:32 PM
no more seagate or maxtor for me.
emuji
14-12-2008, 03:40 PM
i guess is up to individual experience.
Outsider_27
14-12-2008, 04:31 PM
i once ask 1 pc technician built a diy system n he gave me a 80gb ide seagate drive
1st few days got ticking sound, after tht no sound
(somehow i miss those ticking sound, athough it may sound scary)
but then i did my own research n bought a seagate sata2 for my self-made rig,
n it has got no sound at all n still going strong
well, seagate best bang
wd / hitachi seems to have FEW batch tht has lifespan issue, so i stay away from them...haha
kennyg1969
14-12-2008, 04:42 PM
it depends on how suay lah.. i got a buffalo NASwhich is a WD 320GB sata.. no issues.. I have seagate hdds too.. no issues with them. My 200GB pata seagate still going strong.......
revogsx
14-12-2008, 05:14 PM
i selected all on the Poll.. :)
i have 2 dead WD (2004 model), but will still buy 1TB WD green next year
but most of my harddisk is seagate
emuji
15-12-2008, 11:06 PM
what u guys think of iOmega? thinking getting a portable drive the eGO HELIUM :D
alanhsieh
28-12-2008, 01:18 AM
Any ideas what hard disk is freecom using for their 2.5" series? Or does freecom manufacture their own hard disks? Thanks.
pclinux
08-01-2009, 07:27 PM
Hitachi has inherited IBM's Deathstar HDD. There's no reliability.
kai_87
08-01-2009, 07:53 PM
WD and seagate for me.
JTMonkey
29-01-2009, 03:23 PM
I plan to buy a new system soon. Seagate was my top choice months ago but recently found out about the firmware issue plaguing Seagate hd, and that the company is not acting fast enough to resolve the problem. So my question is, is it still wise to buy Seagate hd at the moment, or we should only avoid particular models?
playst,
29-01-2009, 04:06 PM
Seagate is only their firmware got problem not a build quality issue and it can be resolved via update.
emuji
31-01-2009, 10:34 AM
these days, 160 and 250GB are like 1.44MB floppy... always not enough.. think i am getting another external HDD.
dunno to get Seagate or WD, or maybe another Freecom for me?
my 8 yrs 40GB pata maxtor is still going strong, while i already got 4 dead seagate sata hdd within this 8 yrs
any idea what firmware issue with seagate is about?
eventidephoenix
10-03-2009, 12:27 PM
my 8 yrs 40GB pata maxtor is still going strong, while i already got 4 dead seagate sata hdd within this 8 yrs
same my 5 yrs 80GB pata maxtor working...
seagate just dies time after time...
I just got a ghost drive (7200.11 batch before jan ZZZ)
My brother's seagate started clicking for no apparent reason (no impact whatsoever)
And their support likes to keep you in the dark (furthermore it's outsourced to India, and they don't know sh!t)
my western digitals are going on fairly strong...
I've had it with seagate...
thesingingbard
12-03-2009, 10:16 AM
if you have a Seagate 7200.11 i suggest you find out the s/no. of your HDD can use this website to see if you need to flash your firmware: :s8:http://seagate.custkb.com/seagate/crm/selfservice/search.jsp?DocId=207931
Apparently 2 things can happen to the HDD:
(1) BSY. Busy state, HDD 'locks' itself up and BIOS cannot detect it. :(
(2) 0 LBA. BIOS detects HDD, but shows up as a 0 MB drive. :(
The problem is pretty widespread, just google "7200.11 problem" and you'll see what i mean. :(
It happened to my HDD, but luckily for me I managed to 'unbricked' the HDD. ;)
I tried asking around for data-recovery services in SLS, but to no avail. :(
thesingingbard
12-03-2009, 10:21 AM
hmm. i m torn between WD green and Seagate 7200.11 for 1TB drive. which one should i go for? i wan low tempand also realiability. WD only 3 yrs warranty for green. seagate is 5yrs. so duno which to go to.
how?
I had a Seagate 1TB 7200.11 that went into BSY state due to the infamous firmware issue.
If you're getting that, PLEASE pay attention to the firmware version, the updated ones are SD1A. The rest may have issues like mine. :(
thesingingbard
12-03-2009, 10:45 AM
Hitachi has inherited IBM's Deathstar HDD. There's no reliability.
After my Seagate 7200.11 firmware issue, i decided to get a new HDD in the IT show...
However after researching into HDD reliability... i realized almost all HDD brands had their reliability fiacos one time or another.... all except Samsung. But then Samsung is new in the field and so imo it is relatively untested in reliability.
That leaves me to one conclusion... i think we should judge each model individually.
Take Deathstar for example, I had a IBM DeskStar5 which run out its lifetime (meaning it was still working when i abandon it for more storage), but years later its 75GXP was dubbed DeathStar. Now, IT dept guys from the company i worked in swears by it.
Western Digital also used to have a lot reliability issues in the old days...
And what about Seagate's current 7200.11 firmware fiacos.
I dun think i'll condemn the company for one failed product coz apparently each and everyone has had problems with at least one product release.
So, my take is no brand loyalty please, and do not be the first to buy it, let eager tech-junkies be the penguin pigs (no offense meant =:p). Do some research into the product, and buy the subsequent release of it. Hopefully that'll reduce the failure rates.
chunlianghere
12-03-2009, 11:23 AM
seagate 7200.12 would be a gd choice.. but now max is 500gb.
waiting for 1tb to come out.
thaddy88
17-04-2009, 02:18 AM
My brother and brother in law currently using seagate and using for quite a long time and so far it is ok :) However, my brother going to upgrade his pc and may be considering WD green Power 1TB.......since the distributor Achieva giving 5yrs warranty and heard quite reliable.
any comments?
YewBoon
15-05-2009, 02:46 PM
Hitachi, WD for me.
Obviouz
16-05-2009, 01:26 AM
Seagate fail me again and again.. around 5x already.no more seagate for me.
Viktoria
16-05-2009, 04:09 AM
ery good information for new birds like us....
I hv a hard time 2 digest the info,
guess need some times to expose to it
anywhere,
erwinrommel
09-06-2009, 08:45 PM
WD for me. Had 4 of them with no problems so far. Samsung is also another to consider.
Had numerous Seagate and Hitachi HDDs that died on me. :(
Sash::
10-06-2009, 09:54 AM
Western Digital and Ranger for me. V reliable and good service from both! Reliable is the most important coz all my pictures, projects etx are on the hard disk.
AngPao
11-07-2009, 07:58 AM
my seagate 500gb died after 6 mths, now waiting for 1 to 1 exchange. But it's take 3 weeks to send to me.... poor service
googol
11-07-2009, 02:18 PM
dug up old thread ah?
anyways 3 weeks too much liao :s22:
Axioaxio
28-07-2009, 09:33 AM
dug up old thread ah?
anyways 3 weeks too much liao :s22:
Pal,
came across this website....
Seagate hd got problem agains......
Ryan Price's Blog
Top of Form
Bottom of Form
Seagate 1TB and 1.5 TB models failing at alarming rate
July 25th, 2009 Ryan Price
Recently this past year Seagate was one of the first companies to release a 1.5 TB drive. However, having this claim to fame doesn’t have much flack when you have an alarming number of the models failing. From personal experience, my dilemma started in January when for a birthday present i was surprised with a 1.5 TB drive to upgrade my 500GB drive (also a Seagate).
Less than a month in the drive began to make a clicking noise and locking up for 30 seconds or more. I promptly went to Seagate, got an RMA request and got a replacement drive. Everything seemed ok until April rolled around and my 1 TB Drive started exhibiting the exact same problem minus the clicking. Now familiar with the RMA process i returned the drive, this time to my surprise it was a “Certified Repaired” drive…(this is what i pay good money for..a failed drive that has been ‘fixed?!). The 1TB drive now has Windows 7 RTM on it and is running great to my surprise. One Week after getting this drive back, I’m back where i started, the 1.5TB drive with CC1H firmware (checking the Seagate site it claims its not affected..i beg to differ) This time transfer rates are on par with the speed of a 56k modem..
Needless to say i am ASHAMED of Seagate. A company that has had my heart and loyalty for over 10 years all thrown away with this deplorable excuse of a product. Frankly i am surprised there isn’t a class action law suit yet. Needless to say i am really pondering weather or not to send the 1.5 drive back..The money i have wasted on RMA-ing these drives could have bought me a Western Digital drive or a Samsung drive which i hear are doing quite well. To those of you considering buying Seagate drives in the near future, stay away from the 1TB and 1.5TB models…at least until they get them fixed.
Shameful Seagate, absolutely shameful..I’d be replacing each of these failing drives with the 7200.12’s or the ES2’s…yet you don’t. You have lost my business
larrious
21-08-2009, 02:26 PM
i use Seagate Free Agent Go 500gb as backup now. so far its pretty ok
qwerqwer
22-08-2009, 08:05 AM
my maxtor onetouch 4 backup HDD Die, all gone :(
that external HDD is so new only use as 8 months :( :( :(
BernardATK
28-08-2009, 09:15 PM
My WD 2.5 Ext HDD Passport Essential 250gb uplorry after just 8 mths. I drop it on the floor and after I plug in cannot work liao. Some dented on the edges of the cover. I dun think can send for one - one exchange rite? :s13:
qwerqwer
31-08-2009, 12:12 AM
my maxtor onetouch 4 backup HDD Die, all gone :(
that external HDD is so new only use as 8 months :( :( :(
This weekend I've decided not to make RMA on my Maxtor OneTouch 4, External HDD. because of It had my personal data. RMA process is repaired and send (Certified Repaired drive) to others.
So, me and my wife decided not to make RMA on my Maxtor OneTouch4, after that I want to open it up, I've spent 15 miniutes tried to open it the External cover.
Eventually, I've surprised as my Crushed MAXTOR One Touch 4 External HDD using
SEGATE Barracuda 7200.11 SD35 (ST3100333AS). Famous crushed reported 7200.11 :(
That is what I found out tonight :(
oh Gosh! Maxtor external HDD using Segate.
glacieraze
31-08-2009, 12:18 AM
This weekend I've decided not to make RMA on my Maxtor OneTouch 4, External HDD. because of It had my personal data. RMA process is repaired and send (Certified Repaired drive) to others.
So, me and my wife decided not to make RMA on my Maxtor OneTouch4, after that I want to open it up, I've spent 15 miniutes tried to open it the External cover.
Eventually, I've surprised as my Crushed MAXTOR One Touch 4 External HDD using
SEGATE Barracuda 7200.11 SD35 (ST3100333AS). Famous crushed reported 7200.11 :(
That is what I found out tonight :(
oh Gosh! Maxtor external HDD using Segate.
Why not? Since Maxtor is under Seagate..
sluggish_homer
31-08-2009, 12:34 AM
so far WD never failed me but seagate again n again but i think nowadays hard to find harddisk which is 100% reliable.
iwanttoknow
01-09-2009, 05:31 PM
Anyone using Seagate External Hdd?
I have a few questions pertaining to External Hard drives:
- How can I do folder to folder password setting?
- What are the preloaded software on the drive mentioned on the packaging (Seagate FreeAgent Go)?
- How can I format the drives to be able to use for both Windows and Mac?
Thanks in advance!
Transylvania
13-09-2009, 01:20 PM
anyone uses Fujitsu Calmee Xena portable HDD?
isit any good?
trailblaze
29-09-2009, 10:37 AM
i have bad experience with samsung....
my company had a faulty samsung 2.5" 60gb MP0603H.
went to rma and got a new one....use abt a year and it died again!!!! WT???
now my freecom 500gb is using samsung 3.5" and it is exhibiting clicking and locking prob...
now can read but cant delete files!!! How to RMA like that with all the private data inside?
systemseven
15-10-2009, 01:21 AM
My WD 2.5 Ext HDD Passport Essential 250gb uplorry after just 8 mths. I drop it on the floor and after I plug in cannot work liao. Some dented on the edges of the cover. I dun think can send for one - one exchange rite? :s13:
Hahah you dropped the hard disk, cannot blame it mah. No shock protection leh..
ashleybono2001
19-10-2009, 12:50 PM
Why not? Since Maxtor is under Seagate..
How long is the warranty for the Maxtor OneTouch 4 mini series HDD? Mine died too but not sure if I can do RMA on it...sien...everything gone now...sighhh
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.