View Full Version : West Ham United Forum
cutter
16-10-2005, 03:10 PM
For all who want to post on anything West Ham in the EPL sub-forum here.
victorian07
17-10-2005, 12:17 AM
y they dun want move that one in?
United_Treble
17-10-2005, 12:57 AM
For all who want to post on anything West Ham in the EPL sub-forum here.
latest score : man city 2-1 west ham
martinweng
17-10-2005, 08:04 AM
latest score : man city 2-1 west ham
:s13: :s13: u insensitive bastark..
cutter
21-11-2005, 08:16 PM
Good fighting spirit by West Ham and Anton Ferdinand... Hislop's last minute charge upfield for the late corner confused the Spurs defence for Ferdinand's injurytime header...Rio hasn't even scored once for Man Utd yet :s22:
Didjerama
22-11-2005, 08:11 PM
to me all the great players today at one point of their life went through the club in west ham..look at these players : joe cole,rio ferdinand,lampard,kanoute,defoe, and many more i cant remember.....although im no hammers fan,to me when they were under redknapp,they played one of the most attractive football with di canio being the magician...fantastic club...i never fail to smile at hammers fans when they wear their jersey proudly
InsaneClownPosse
23-11-2005, 03:12 PM
there's a movie abt west ham soccer " fans "
GREEN STREET HOOLIGAN
Capriccola
23-11-2005, 05:06 PM
SO who's the true hammer fans in here? :s11:
smellybeans
24-11-2005, 04:43 AM
to me all the great players today at one point of their life went through the club in west ham..look at these players : joe cole,rio ferdinand,lampard,kanoute,defoe, and many more i cant remember.....although im no hammers fan,to me when they were under redknapp,they played one of the most attractive football with di canio being the magician...fantastic club...i never fail to smile at hammers fans when they wear their jersey proudly
carrick,glen johnson?
Current crop got Anton Ferdinand, Nigel Reo-Coker... any other potential England/UK region stars?
snake_lover
24-11-2005, 09:52 PM
SO who's the true hammer fans in here? :s11:
supporter for a few years already.
snake_lover
24-11-2005, 09:54 PM
Current crop got Anton Ferdinand, Nigel Reo-Coker... any other potential England/UK region stars?
mark noble(eng u18), james tomkins, james collins(wales young player of the year), danny gabbidon are among the more prominent ones
usjag_18
27-11-2005, 07:27 PM
mark noble(eng u18), james tomkins, james collins(wales young player of the year), danny gabbidon are among the more prominent ones
I am very impressed by M.Noble's style of playing even though I am not a big fan of Hammer. But I still like Hammer way of playing, especially during the time under H.Redknapp. Currently, they are doing quite well even under A.Pardew. I felt tt not only Hammer can produce a lot of youngsters, they can also allow a lot managers to show their abilities, talents and their knowledgable skills and tactics. http://forums.asia.cnet.com/images/smilies/thumbup.gif
Great club, hope both clubs can produced good match tonite.....
Cheers'
O' :D
hello8985
28-11-2005, 12:26 AM
25' West Ham U. 1 - 0 Manchester U.
:s12: :s12:
snake_lover
28-11-2005, 12:40 AM
hammers doing great at the moment :D:D carroll and teddy being former man u players and the ferdinand brothers plying for different teams
Hammers doing well. With Campbell seriously off form and Rio inconsistent, Anton has been rock solid so far, though his chances of making the England squad for WC2006 are remote.
Their strike force is on fire man... now bolstered by that Israeli striker Katan and Dean Ashton instead of David Bellion :s13: :s22:
victorian07
07-02-2006, 03:46 PM
yeah..west ham doing well.. considering they scrapped thru the championship to barely manage a playoff spot.. nice up there in the Premiership now. wish them all the best. :s7:
cutter
16-02-2006, 04:42 AM
http://www.football.co.uk/west_ham/anton_wins_monthly_prize_220941.shtml
Anton wins Premiership Player of the Month for January 2006
Friday Feb 10 2006 14:02
West Ham centre-back Anton Ferdinand has been named the Premiership Player of the Month for January.
Ferdinand, the younger brother of Manchester United and England ace Rio, helped the Hammers to three wins out of four last month, and also netted a superb volley in the 2-1 victory over Fulham.
The 20-year-old's excellent form started rumours of interest in his services from Spanish giants Barcelona.
While Hammers boss Alan Pardew rubbished such talk, he did back Ferdinand to become a candidate for the England World Cup finals squad.
PootPoot
28-02-2006, 11:57 AM
this fixture found by fumofumo. tot be interesting for all the clubs in the race.
http://www.photovideoi.com/share/upload/2006/02/28/11/hmm.png
PootPoot
28-02-2006, 01:07 PM
i know i wols.. just realise..
Glen Johnson , Rio Ferdinard, Anton Ferdinard(prospect),
Noble(prospect), Lampard, Michael Carrick, Joe Cole
Defoe,
so acty westham is one of the largest producer of england national team. just need a homegrown gk, a lb, a striker(english) can make english team liao. :s22:
airkok
01-03-2006, 08:47 AM
i know i wols.. just realise..
Glen Johnson , Rio Ferdinard, Anton Ferdinard(prospect),
Noble(prospect), Lampard, Michael Carrick, Joe Cole
Defoe,
so acty westham is one of the largest producer of england national team. just need a homegrown gk, a lb, a striker(english) can make english team liao. :s22:
Historically Hammers are one of those big teams mah... IIRC, the 66 WC winners got legends like Bobby Moore, Geoff Hurst and Martin Peters.
wilbs
04-03-2006, 09:05 AM
Teddy signs up
Friday March 03 2006
Teddy Sheringham has signed a new one-year deal with West Ham.
The 39-year-old former England striker, who was a target for Tottenham during the January transfer window, is now set for a third season at Upton Park.
Sheringham, who was a free transfer signing in July 2004, has scored 26 goals in 53 league and cup appearances.
Hammers boss Alan Pardew told the club's website: ``I'm absolutely delighted that we have signed Teddy up for another year.
``It's important for our young players that we have good senior professionals at the club, and Teddy has always set the right example.
``More importantly, we have also secured his playing ability for another season.
``Teddy has shown this season that he is still a top Premiership striker and, given his superb fitness levels and dedication to the game, I have no doubt that he will be an important member of the team next year."
snake_lover
18-03-2006, 02:25 AM
yes! bolton are finally beaten in fa cup. can't imagine if we lost to boltan again this time. portmouth and man city next. 3 games in 6 days, really jialat liao.
snake_lover
18-03-2006, 05:07 PM
Catch your preview for West Ham vs Portsmouth here. Thw first time Harry Rednapp returns to upton park since leaving.
http://westhamonline.net/article.php?547053
http://www.kumb.com/0506_article.php?id=2177
mazdaRX
19-03-2006, 01:38 AM
hammers too focus on FA cup liao so put louya team vs portmouth and give 1/2 chance
Good job from west ham beating man city this morning in the FA Cup. :)
snake_lover
24-04-2006, 01:25 PM
Club History
West Ham United Football Club was initially formed in 1895 by employees of the Thames Ironworks shipyard (as Thames Ironworks F.C, hence the nickname 'The Irons'), following an idea of managing director's Arnold Hills to set up an amateur football club.
Club Kits
http://www.photovideoi.com/share/upload/2006/04/24/13/dcp_0925.jpg (http://www.photovideoi.com/)
Club Squad
1. Roy Carroll Goalkeeper
2. Lionel Scaloni Defender
3. Paul Konchesky
4. Danny Gabbidon Defender
5. Anton Ferdinand Defender
6. Carl Fletcher Mifielder
7. Christian Dailly Defender
8. Teddy Sheringham Striker
9. Dean Ashton Striker
10. Marlon Harewood Striker
11. Matthew Etherington Midfielder
13. Stephen Bywater Goalkeeper
14. Chris Cohen Defender (loan)
15. Yossi Benayoun Midfielder
17. Hayden Mullins Midfielder
18. Yaniv Katan Midfielder
19. James Collins Defender
20. Nigel Reo-Coker Midfieder
22. Elliott Ward Defender
23. Jimmy Walker Goalkeeper
24. Mark Noble Midfielder (loan)
25. Bobby Zamora Striker
26. Shaun Newton Defender/Winger
27. Petr Mikolanda Striker (loan)
28. Trent McClenahan Defender (loan)
29. Hogan Ephraim Striker
30. Clive Clarke Defender
31.Tony Stokes Midfielder (loan)
32. Darren Blewitt Defender (loan)
34. Shaka Hislop Goalkeeper
35. Kyel Reid Striker
snake_lover
24-04-2006, 01:25 PM
Goal Statistics
Marlon Harewood 14
Bobby Zamora 6
Teddy Sheringham 6
Yossi Benayoun 5
Nigel Reo-Coker 4
Dean Ashton 3
Goal Replays
West Brom
reo coker http://download.yousendit.com/86FBF7B60E0F970C
Spurs
fletcher http://download.yousendit.com/8B39182626767EF7
benayoun http://download.yousendit.com/A63AFB5A324C9915
Remaining Fixtures
Sat. May 13 15:00 UK Liverpool v West Ham (FA Cup Final!!!)
Other Resources
Hammers Heroics in FA Cup
http://www.youtube.com/results?search=west+ham+fa+cup&search_type=search_videos
Official Hammers Website
http://www.whufc.com
Unofficial Hammers Website/Forums
http://www.westhamonline.net
http://www.kumb.com
snake_lover
24-04-2006, 01:28 PM
http://www.photovideoi.com/share/upload/2006/04/24/13/bw_harewood.jpg (http://www.photovideoi.com/)
West Ham are through to the FA Cup Final for the first time in 26 years thanks to Marlon Harewood's 78th minute winner against Middlesbrough at Villa Park this afternoon.
Harewood scored what he later described as 'the most important goal of my life' to send the Hammers into next month's final against Liverpool, who beat Chelsea 2-1 in the other semi-final on Saturday.
In a tight affair in which one goal was always likely to prove significant, the Hammers did just enough to progress to the final although 'Boro were left rueing a string of missed opportunities - none more so than the chance that fell to Chris Riggott in the final minute of the game, which the young defender blasted wide from only six yards out.
Having controlled the first half 'Boro must have thought they had one foot in the final. However the Hammers had other ideas, and a spirited second-half performance produced the only goal of the game 12 minutes from time.
Anton Ferdinand - back in the team at right-back - sent a 60-yard diagonal pass towards the edge of the 'Boro penalty area. Dean Ashton nodded the ball inside to Marlon Harewood who took one sideways touch before unleashing a bullet of a drive - with his left foot - beyond the despairing dive of substitute goalkeeper Brad Jones.
'Boro has started the game without Mark Viduka, who failed a late fitness test this morning. However inspirational leader Gareth Southgate did start, although after receiving an (accidental) smack on the nose in a challenge by Marlon Harewood he may well have been forgiven for wishing he hadn't bothered.
The Reds injury woes continued when goalkeeper Mark Schwarzer suffered a suspected fractured cheekbone that is likely to keep him out of action for the rest of the season. Dean Ashton was the opponent involved, although again there was no suggestion of any malice.
The game had begun in controversial circumstances after the planned minutes' silence for John Lyall - West Ham's last FA Cup-winning manager, who passed away last week - was interrupted by shouts from the crowd.
The initial disruption clearly came from the Middlesbrough end, although some West Ham fans then broke into a chorus of 'Johnny Lyall's claret and blue army', bringing an abrupt end to the silence.
Current West Ham manager Alan Pardew paid tribute to Lyall and his predecessor Ron Greenwood in an interview with Sky Sports after the game.
"We lost Ron [Greenwood] and John [Lyall], I put one little word on my notes today, maybe it was our destiny to get there," he said.
"That was the word, and I'm pleased for their families inparticular because there is nothing worse than losing a family member.
"So to the families of Ron Greenwood and John Lyall, we did it for you."
And on the game itself he added:
"It's been an absolutely fantastic season, our fans have had a great day here today and [in the] second half we produced what we are about.
"We were disappointed first-half but second-half we raised the tempo, caused problems for them and got the goal.
"I think the important factor was that we didn't change our shape; second half we pushed our full backs on a bit and raised the tempo. Really you have to look at the players and say they won that.
"They turned it round, dug themselves out of a hole - and got a great win."
West Ham will meet Liverpool in the FA Cup Final at Cardiff's Millennium Stadium on May 13th. Irrespective of that result, the Hammers automatically qualify for European competition next season due to Liverpool's qualification for next season's Champions League.
mazdaRX
24-04-2006, 05:35 PM
westham playing uefa cup next season...gd for them
wilbs
24-04-2006, 06:07 PM
Wow... the Hammers are through to the FA Cup Final! Quite an achievement considering that they are a newly promoted side! Steady Teddy will be at the frontline at age 40 :D =:p
Globe
24-04-2006, 10:54 PM
forever blowing bubbles ... hope it dun burst too fast next season .
snake ... i think u shd go over to westhamonline
there isn't much hammer fans here ..
i50000
25-04-2006, 03:06 AM
i'm forever blowing bubbles
pretty bubbles in the air....
they fly so high
nearly reached the sky
and like my dream they fade and die...
fortune always hiding...
i've looked everywhere...
i'm forever blowing bubbles...
pretty bubbles in the air...
UNITED!!! UNITED!!!! UNITED!!!
Ronaldo_7
25-04-2006, 03:08 AM
congrats on the victory over Boro.. good luck in the final
yellowsubmarine
25-04-2006, 03:10 AM
Combine leh. Already have one over here.
http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?t=1131190
i50000
25-04-2006, 03:39 AM
Combine leh. Already have one over here.
http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?t=1131190
keep this thread...
and delete the other thread... :yawn: :yawn: :yawn:
snake_lover
25-04-2006, 11:36 AM
i'm forever blowing bubbles
pretty bubbles in the air....
they fly so high
nearly reached the sky
and like my dream they fade and die...
fortune always hiding...
i've looked everywhere...
i'm forever blowing bubbles...
pretty bubbles in the air...
UNITED!!! UNITED!!!! UNITED!!!
wow..u knew how to sing the song, i'm ashamed of myself :o
snake_lover
25-04-2006, 11:41 AM
forever blowing bubbles ... hope it dun burst too fast next season .
snake ... i think u shd go over to westhamonline
there isn't much hammer fans here ..
i'm frequent lurker over there :s34: the purpose of this thread is to share the latest hammers news, and a gathering place for those who support hammers and those who support west ham as a "second club" :o,
those who support the underdogs also welcomed :D
snake_lover
26-04-2006, 10:24 PM
Match Preview here:
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/preview?id=195984&cc=4716
martinweng
26-04-2006, 10:30 PM
look @ the amazing midfield u can field wif westham's academy.
AMC: Lampard
DMC: Carrick
MC: Reo-Coker
MC: Joe Cole
den the centre back pair
DC: Rio
DC: Anton
a striker like..
FC: Defoe
not bad...not bad at all.
snake_lover
26-04-2006, 11:23 PM
yup, john terry and kieran richardson both left the academy at a young age i.e 14. if not there could be more. u could include jimmy bullard as well. he left as ard 20 yrs after being deemed by the coaches as those who cannot made it. but he worked hard to become what he is today..there are more like mark noble coming through as well :D
snake_lover
27-04-2006, 11:09 AM
http://www.photovideoi.com/share/upload/2006/04/27/10/060426211826.859i76ct1_haydenmullinsrandluisgarciab.jpg (http://www.photovideoi.com/)
Mullins had won the ball back really well off Luis Garcia, Mullins tried to break away with the ball but Garcia seemed to be holding him. The ref gave a free kick to us, but Mullins seemed to lash out at Garcia. A hand (or a finger even) seemed to land on Garcia’s face, and the Spaniard went down like he had been shot. The everyone was over getting involved as the everyone awaited the ref’s decision on the matter. - Part of review from WHO
Jermaine84
28-04-2006, 01:26 AM
allo.. like West ham for its great youth product line.. Mark Noble is one to look forward too :)
wilbs
28-04-2006, 06:22 AM
Is Mullins more important to Hammers than Luis Garcia to Liverpool? Which is the bigger loss?
afbug1
29-04-2006, 05:39 PM
Congrats West Ham and its fans for reaching the FA cup final. Well done.
Its hammer time!............ Can't touch this!........ You can't touch this! :D
Yeah? Show the ball to liverpool players and tell them 'You can't touch this! Its hammer time!'
I'll be rooting for West Ham in the finals. Its quite sometime since a newly promoted club win it in the following season.
snake_lover
03-05-2006, 01:03 PM
another win for west ham..the crunch match will be this weekend derby match with spurs, a win for hammers and wins for arsenal last few games will see guaranteed champs league football for gunners..
Jermaine84
03-05-2006, 01:11 PM
other then its West ham's last home game of the seaon.. a london Derby.. improve the league atnging for more money.. dun tink there other reason for West ham to play well..
snake_lover
08-05-2006, 01:15 AM
we've combined with the gunners to dump spurs out of the champions league! :D
tt32003
08-05-2006, 02:43 PM
Just to say thank you from an Arsenal fan.
All the best in the FA cup final.
Btw will Sheingham be taking the penalty if you guys got one in the FA cup final ?
snake_lover
08-05-2006, 02:54 PM
Just to say thank you from an Arsenal fan.
All the best in the FA cup final.
Btw will Sheingham be taking the penalty if you guys got one in the FA cup final ?
haha, thanks :D , harewood is teh first taker, sheringham won't get to take it unless harewood's not around. if he really takes it, i can take comfort that he hadn't been a scouser fan b4 :s13:
snake_lover
11-05-2006, 12:50 PM
Mr Dave Richards
Chairman
The FA Premier League,
30 Gloucester Place
London
W1U 8PL
9 May 2006
Dear Dave
Re: Protest and request for the match between West Ham United and Tottenham Hotspur FC on 7/5/06 to be replayed
As you are aware, Sunday could have been a momentous day for our Club and our fans. It was the first time since the inception of the UEFA Champions League that we were in a position to qualify for European club football’s most prestigious competition. After such a successful League campaign, the excitement and expectation of our fans was simply enormous. Our match at West Ham was effectively a Cup Final.
However, we believe that our chances of success were significantly reduced by the exceptional circumstances brought about by the sudden illness of the majority of players in our First Team squad in the early hours of Sunday morning. In being given no viable option to postpone the match other than a 2-hour delay to kick-off, our players were denied the possible opportunity of competing in the Champions League, while our fans have been left with a sense of suspicion and injustice at the way subsequent events unfolded.
We contacted the FAPL early on Sunday morning and, after a series of conversations, the FAPL called for the England Team Doctor and the FAPL Company Secretary to attend our Team Hotel to assess the situation. We believed that the FAPL were examining the situation in good faith and were seeking to obtain all relevant information before coming to a decision. Indeed, in those early conversations the FAPL’s Chief Executive had given us every reason to believe the match could be postponed to allow our players some extra time to recover from a lack of sleep, vomiting, diarrhoea and dehydration.
At this time, myself, Board members and other key decision makers joined the players at their hotel. Whilst waiting for the opinion of the England Team Doctor, who was yet to arrive at our Team Hotel, I was contacted from a distance by the FAPL and told that we had to play the game that day or suffer the consequences. This, by implication, may have meant a significant loss of points and the denial of participation in any European competition – a situation I could not sanction. This threat was made by the FAPL despite the fact that West Ham United, acting honourably and fairly as would be expected from that club, had consented to the postponement of the match provided that any re-match did not interfere with their FA Cup Final preparations.
The FAPL’s Chief Executive then said he would consider the match being delayed to later on Sunday evening, but unfortunately the Police would not sanction a kick off time beyond 5pm. Our medical staff advised that a delay of at least 3 hours would be necessary to have any impact on the players and therefore it was Martin Jol’s view that, in the absence of a postponement or a much later kick-off, we had no choice whatsoever but to proceed to play at 3pm. What puzzles us is why the FAPL were prepared to sanction a 4 hour delay but not a 24 hour delay. If the integrity of all matches kicking off at the same time was your primary concern, why sanction a delay of any kind?
Our next issue was team selection. Martin Jol and his staff, having originally selected their squad of 17 players for the match, were then left in the invidious position of choosing between starting the match with their original 17 players, 10 of whom were feeling very unwell, or drafting in Reserve Team players, the majority of whom have not played for the First Team this season or are untried and untested at First Team level. In any case, having ended their season, our Reserve Team players were scattered across various parts of London and the South East, would not have been prepared to play in a Premier League (or any other) match at such short notice and would rarely, if ever, have played together.
This was an impossible position for our coaching staff to find themselves in on the morning of what was our most important match for many years. Playing a make-shift, inexperienced and ill-prepared team in such a high profile game could have turned the match into a farce, resulting in an embarrassment for the players, the coaches, the Club, our fans and the Premier League competition as a whole.
To add insult to injury, the FAPL’s announcement that our game would not be postponed was made live on Sky TV from the pitch side at Highbury. In light of the obvious sensitivities and the competition for 4th place between Arsenal and Spurs this was, to say the least, an unfortunate choice.
We simply do not understand why the FAPL failed to appraise itself of all of the facts before turning down our request that the fixture be postponed under rule E 13.4. We were surprised that the FAPL’s Chief Executive did not make the short journey from Highbury to the Team Hotel at Canary Wharf to assess such a serious issue first hand. We also fail to understand why the England Team Doctor, having been sent to the Team Hotel, was not even consulted before an announcement was made (in fact, he did not even arrive at our hotel before the decision was made or even before our players had to leave the Team Hotel to travel to Upton Park for the match). As a result we played the game with players who were unwell but who were desperate not to let their fans and colleagues down. Clearly, our governing body put us in an impossible situation and gave a significant advantage to Arsenal in competing for that 4th position.
With this in mind we contacted those Premier League Chairmen and Chief Executives we were able to locate to establish what fellow members feel is an appropriate way forward given the unorthodox decision made by the FAPL prior to receiving objective information on the situation. We now have confirmation from a majority of Premier League clubs that they would support a replay and in similar circumstances would expect the game to have been postponed. This is a gesture made by fellow clubs which supports the Charter’s aims of running a professional league in a manner in which all of its member Clubs are treated equally and in a professional, fair and objective way. Additionally, from comments made by Sepp Blatter in the media in the past 24 hours, even FIFA would support the idea of a postponement provided the match was played on or before 15 May 2006.
We therefore formally request that you order that the game be replayed.
It is regrettable that we have been put in this position, but we feel let down by the FAPL’s abdication of its responsibility to consider the request for a postponement fairly and after due consideration of all relevant factors. Where such significant commercial and competitive interests are jeopardised it is only reasonable that our governing body ensures we play on a level playing field and supports us by making decisions based on the facts of the situation which has to include all relevant information. We feel sure that the FAPL, along with most reasonable minded people, would not have wanted such a controversial outcome to the final day of the Premier League season. Furthermore, the FAPL was inconsistent in its approach in being prepared to consider the kick-off to be delayed but not allowing the match to be played on a different day.
Finally, whilst our primary concern here is for our own Club, the situation we find ourselves in highlights what could have been an even bigger issue for a Club facing relegation from the FAPL. Similarly, it is hard to believe that, faced with an identical issue on the morning of a Champions League Final, a club would not seek a postponement (with the opposing team consenting) and that, given the importance of such an occasion, such a request would not be granted by UEFA in the interests of fairness and good sporting practice. In our view, and regardless of the outcome of our case, the FAPL’s decision making process and lines of communication in such a situation need thorough and urgent review in order to ensure that no other club is similarly disadvantaged in the future.
Yours sincerely
DANIEL LEVY
Chairman of Tottenham Hotspur
snake_lover
11-05-2006, 12:52 PM
10 May 2006
Mr Daniel Levy
Chairman
Tottenham Hotspur Football & Athletic Co Ltd.
Bill Nicholson Way
748 High Road
London N17 0AP
Dear Daniel
Re: Protest and request for the match between West Ham United and Tottenham Hotspur FC on 7/5/06 to be replayed
The Board of the Premier League has today convened to consider your letter to Dave Richards regarding the above and would respond as follows:
Firstly, the Board and a majority of Premier League Clubs are sympathetic to your situation. To have Tottenham Hotspur Football Club’s (“THFC”) “momentous day” marred by such unprecedented events is clearly an unsatisfying way for the season to end. However the Board has to take a dispassionate view, independent of Clubs’ opinion, in order to protect the overall integrity of the League competition.
The fact that so much may have been riding on one game is not as a consequence of just last Sunday’s results, but is the product of 380 games played throughout an entire nine-month season. Speculation about what may have happened in different circumstances even within our league is inappropriate and, in other competitions, irrelevant.
As always, the Board can only deal with the facts on an individual basis and deal with any situation as and when presented. All those directly involved on the day acted in the utmost good faith and with due care in what were unusual circumstances.
The Board of the Premier League, as you might expect, were spread around all parts of the country on the last day of the season. The time frame during which the defining conversations took place was between 11.00am and 1.15pm. The initial contact between yourself and the Chief Executive took place around 11.45am. As always, the Premier League acknowledged your position and promised it would make a proper assessment but in order to do so, the General Secretary, Mike Foster, would need to be contacted. This area of the Premier League’s role is Mike’s responsibility and his experience in these matters since the League’s inception in 1992 is well known to all Clubs. The Board look to his wisdom and counsel on all such matters. Jane Purdon, the Premier League Company Secretary, volunteered to go to the team hotel. This was deemed sensible as it meant we could assess the facts on a first hand basis and have an established line of communication with your people at the hotel. Similarly the decision to send a doctor was deemed sensible to assist in any way we could and for gathering evidence in the event that further facts needed to be established independently for whatever purpose.
Over the course of the following hour, the Board gathered its facts and gave the matter due consideration. It concluded the following:
1) It was satisfied that the following significant facts pertained:
· 6 players had been confirmed as having suffered from either sickness and/or diarrhoea (S & D) that morning
· 2 other players had felt unwell but had not suffered from S & D
(These facts were established by Jane Purdon in consultation with the THFC Doctor)
· 17 players had been at the team hotel overnight
· 3 other registered players had been contacted by THFC and were able to make themselves available
· The match was due to take place at West Ham United (“WHU”) – geographically close enough to Tottenham and its vicinity so as not to prevent other players being called upon.
· An informed estimate that THFC had a minimum of 30 registered players.
2) Following a full discussion between all members of the Premier League Board and Mike Foster, we decided that the game should not be postponed. To do so would be inappropriate given past application of Premier League Rules and would lead to future problems for the Premier League if Clubs deemed these circumstances or similar to be worthy of postponement.
3) The appropriate course of action, having given due consideration to the facts, was to not postpone the game and to inform THFC that it would be their decision as to whether or not they fulfilled the fixture.
As you say, this decision was relayed to you by me whilst travelling towards London. You asked what the consequences would be if THFC failed to fulfil the fixture. I said that I could not pre-judge or advise. An independent commission would be convened to consider the facts and clearly THFC could plead mitigating circumstances. However this was one of the most serious of offences and John Alexander could advise on what has happened in the past, though, of course, all cases were different and based on their own facts.
On the basis of this, THFC obviously undertook your own assessment of the facts and reached your own decision.
THFC then asked the Premier League what our attitude would be to a delayed kick off. The Premier League Board reacted with empathy but needed to consider all the facts. WHU were contacted and made every effort to accommodate. However, understandably, the risk to public order of over 35,000 fans potentially converging on Upton Park for a four to five hour wait was deemed by the Police to be too great. A two-hour delay to kick off was considered to be of no material benefit to your players by your own medical people and therefore was rejected by THFC and the game proceeded at 3pm as scheduled. The Premier League response to your request in this matter bears no relevance to your request for a replay.
Clearly the Premier League Board, as THFC have done, reflected on Monday and re-assessed certain facts:
The Premier League appointed doctor we sent to the hotel arrived after the team bus left for Upton Park. However Jane Purdon, our representative at the hotel, had already relayed to the Board in detail the medical opinion of the THFC Doctor, Charlotte Cowie. The Board accepted her professional opinion and had no reason to dispute it. The Premier League-appointed Doctor’s opinion therefore was not needed.
We had made an informed estimate as to how many registered players THFC had. On checking records it turns out to be as follows:
- Registered players (full contracts) 48
- Out on loan (-6)
- In on loan +1
- Scholars +9
- Total eligible to play 52
- 33 players used in the first team this season
Of the six players confirmed with S & D, only two were in the starting eleven for your last three Premier League matches.
With respect to other matters that you do not fully understand, I set off to travel to Highbury for a pre-arranged end-of-season interview with Sky Sports. I arrived at 2.00pm having travelled 111 miles from the West Country. The earliest I could have arrived at your team hotel was 2.00pm, even if I had travelled directly there on approaching west London. I had already confirmed with John Alexander that the team bus was leaving at 1.15pm and so it would have been pointless to go there.
The Premier League made two official statements via its press office to PA concerning the situation. I only referred to the contents of those statements as part of a pre-planned review of the season on Sky Sports. This was not the chosen method of conveying the decision. For your information, the Sky Sports interview took place 40 minutes after your own Press Office had confirmed you were playing the game as scheduled at 3.00pm.
In summary, the Board having considered the contents of your letter carefully, finds no grounds for acceding to your request for a replay. Indeed, this power only exists under certain circumstances as specified in Rule E. 16 and E. 39, neither of which apply in this case. THFC did have the option of not fulfilling the fixture and will have made its own assessment of the risks associated with that decision. It would have been for an independent commission to have decided the merits of your case; rule on any sanction and/or the appropriateness of a replay.
The Board does not wish to jeopardise the respect and excellent relationship that exists between us and THFC. We remain very sympathetic to the unenviable position you found yourselves in and hope that neither THFC or any other Club will suffer the same fate again. However we believe we expedited our responsibilities effectively and with due care and consideration based on the facts available to us. We of course realise that for THFC a feeling of unfairness at the ill fated events of last Sunday will linger but trust that you will put this behind you and concentrate on domestic and UEFA Cup success next season.
Yours sincerely,
RICHARD SCUDAMORE
snake_lover
11-05-2006, 12:53 PM
Following today's decision to refuse our request for a replay of the West Ham game, Chairman Daniel Levy writes an open letter to supporters.
Dear Supporter
The Premier League has today rejected our request for a replay of Sunday's match against West Ham.
We are disappointed, but not surprised. We continue to feel justifiably aggrieved at the course of events and remain convinced that the game should never have been played. If the loss of over half a selected squad to an inexplicable illness in highly suspect circumstances does not warrant the postponement of a match, then I can only despair at the state of our governing rules.
In going ahead with the match, I trust you will appreciate that we chose the only safe option that would guarantee our already hard fought for place in European competition - and that, in making this request to the Premier League, we have fought to right an injustice.
I should stress that our purpose in taking this request to the Premier League was two-fold: Firstly to seek the replay we feel we rightly deserved, but, equally important, to highlight these wholly inadequate and ambiguous rules that fail to regulate such incidents. The Spanish Football Federation allowed for the postponement of an Atletico Madrid game earlier this year due to the illness of players. Keith Lamb, Chief Executive of Middlesborough, has previously referred to the 'incomplete' nature of our rules and called for the Premier League to review them, so that no other club would ever be faced with this situation again. We are therefore the second club to call on the Premier League to urgently review their processes and rules in this regard.
We are continuing to vigorously investigate the cause and origin of the illness. We shall leave no stone unturned in this quest. I know it may be extremely difficult to conclusively prove, but I am determined to, at the very least, establish whether or not this was a deliberate act of sabotage, striking at the very heart of the spirit of the competition. If there is a price to be paid, I shall look to ensure that it is paid. Additionally, if we do find any proof of foul play, we will bring this matter back to the FAPL without delay and will expect them to launch an immediate investigation in the interests of the integrity of the competition.
I have received many emails of support from you, our fans, welcoming our stand on this lack of fair play and I thank you for those. A recurring theme is the pride you all felt in our 'heroes' on the pitch on Sunday and that you are looking forward to our return to Europe. It has been a great season and we should refuse to let this mar the achievements of it and the optimism with which we will now greet the new season.
nestasan
11-05-2006, 07:32 PM
so spurs thinks that, if they had a fully fit team, they could have beaten hammers at home? more reason for you guys to hate them heh...
snake_lover
13-05-2006, 09:06 AM
hammers beat them over 90 mins in a match they chose to go on with, fair enough. i supposed a lot of bigger teams who thought that they could walk over us, simply because =we were a smaller team. i have no problems with that. but i would love to see their reactions when they get stuffed :o
snake_lover
13-05-2006, 07:47 PM
2 hrs plus to kick-off, i hope everything went fine. it isn't everytime west ham gets to the final, but i have a real feeling in this. some pool fans were really arrogant, thinking the match is won without even kicking the ball, well, i hope we have some surprises in for them, we obvioulsy fired up for this match as well. last match between the sides should have a draw when reo coker goal was wrongly ruled out for offsides.
notable exclusions include mullins and garcia, with ashton, etherington, alonso doubtful, but all should start or either on bench. an interesting thing to note that this is the 3rd time in as many seasons, that hammers are in cardiff, what a waste they didn't made the first fa cup in wembley. whatever the result might be, i will be supporting the hammers..
Ronaldo_7
13-05-2006, 07:53 PM
good luck Hammers...
snake_lover
13-05-2006, 09:22 PM
According to the BBC:
Liverpool team: Reina, Finnan, Hyypia, Carragher, Riise, Gerrard, Alonso, Sissoko, Kewell, Crouch, Cisse
West Ham striker Dean Ashton and Matthew Etherington start despite not being able to train all week.
West Ham team: Hislop, Scaloni, Ferdinand, Gabbidon, Konchesky, Benayoun, Reo-Coker, Fletcher, Etherington, Harewood, Ashton
cutter
13-05-2006, 10:30 PM
:s13: :s13: :s13: :s13:
chengsun
14-05-2006, 12:45 AM
good job hammer, good job, I salute u
Kakashi82
14-05-2006, 12:50 AM
tough luck West Ham.. at least u gave a good fight, at least it's not like a walkover match suggested by some fans...
Ronaldo_7
14-05-2006, 12:51 AM
good game Hammers!! nice entertainment for all soccer fans!
but not enough luck... but still had a good season! better luck next time Hammers :)
Shadow04
14-05-2006, 01:53 AM
well done.. scoring 3 against a liverpool side who have been stingy at conceding goals.. well done indeed.. luck just wasnt on ya side..
Didjerama
14-05-2006, 12:52 PM
although im a pool fan,got to say west ham was superb...bunch of farking hardwerking chaps...tink they ran themselves to the bone. just need to fill in few more gaps and they have a chance to fight the likes of spurs and bolton and blackburn..the scoreline shud have read gerrard 3 - westham 3...
Grimz79
14-05-2006, 04:30 PM
although im a pool fan,got to say west ham was superb...bunch of farking hardwerking chaps...tink they ran themselves to the bone. just need to fill in few more gaps and they have a chance to fight the likes of spurs and bolton and blackburn..the scoreline shud have read gerrard 3 - westham 3...
What is this Gerrard 3 - Westham 3? Gerrard is a key part of Liverpool, but he's NOT Liverpool, don't make that mistake. Getting an assist doesn't mean you scored a goal either :s8:
Anyways, this is a West Ham thread, and fair play to them, they looked real impressive at times. They can be real proud, and I'm sure next season they'll do just as well in the league :D
snake_lover
15-05-2006, 12:07 PM
i was really heartbroken :sad: :sad: we were just 3 mins away from being cup finals winners. when a special goal rocketed into the back of our net. we were more than a match during the whole game, and pool couldn't cope with our fast paced counter attacks. we could have won comfortably but did not due to the genius of an exceptional player. scaloni could have booted it downfield when cisse was injured. the throw in back was obviously disgusting and they didn't allow us to let it roll out for a goal kick by pressuring us. harewood had a glorious chance in extra time, but i couldn't fault him, he can barely walk. when it came to penalties, i knew it was over, blame me for being pessimistic, but the hammers simply sucked at penalties, not because reina is good at saving them. alas, luck is not on our side, hope this defeat will spur us on the next season :sad: very nice game overall, except the ending, i cou'dn't even bare to see the after match reviews and replays.
klaha81
15-05-2006, 01:41 PM
kudos to the hammers, a great game they gave to everyone in the stadium, including viewers on the television (Reds fans alike)....
Though Liverpool might have won the cup, but frankly speaking, you folks deserve it more than us with ur pace and industry causing problems throughout. Wishing you hammer fans all the best to your team next season and marching towards qualification towards europe next season.
Regards..(kop fan)
snake_lover
16-05-2006, 10:54 AM
tada! i have asked the mods to merge the 2 west ham forum threads, seems like it's being done :D
but i've forgotten to ask them to merge the old forum by krisurf as well... :s22:
http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?t=1086170
snake_lover
17-05-2006, 12:03 PM
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30217/large/1.jpg
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30219/large/2.jpg
snake_lover
17-05-2006, 12:11 PM
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30227/large/9.jpg
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30229/large/8.jpg
snake_lover
17-05-2006, 12:11 PM
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30228/large/7.jpg
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30242/large/6.jpg
snake_lover
17-05-2006, 12:12 PM
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30223/large/5.jpg
snake_lover
17-05-2006, 12:13 PM
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30243/large/10.jpg
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30215/large/11.jpg
snake_lover
17-05-2006, 12:14 PM
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30212/large/12.jpg
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30225/large/13.jpg
snake_lover
17-05-2006, 12:15 PM
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30211/large/14.jpg
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30226/large/15.jpg
snake_lover
17-05-2006, 12:16 PM
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30210/large/16.jpg
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30235/large/17.jpg
snake_lover
17-05-2006, 12:17 PM
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30250/large/18.jpg
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30241/large/19.jpg
snake_lover
17-05-2006, 12:18 PM
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30234/large/20.jpg
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30239/large/21.jpg
snake_lover
17-05-2006, 12:18 PM
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30232/large/22.jpg
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30237/large/23.jpg
snake_lover
17-05-2006, 12:19 PM
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30245/large/24.jpg
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30251/large/25.jpg
snake_lover
17-05-2006, 12:20 PM
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30221/large/29.jpg
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30249/large/30.jpg
snake_lover
17-05-2006, 12:21 PM
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30214/large/31.jpg
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30233/large/32.jpg
snake_lover
17-05-2006, 12:22 PM
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30224/large/33.jpg
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30238/large/34.jpg
snake_lover
17-05-2006, 12:22 PM
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30240/large/35.jpg
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30231/large/36.jpg
snake_lover
17-05-2006, 12:23 PM
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30244/large/37.jpg
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30246/large/38.jpg
snake_lover
17-05-2006, 12:24 PM
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30248/large/39.jpg
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30236/large/40.jpg
snake_lover
17-05-2006, 12:25 PM
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30222/large/41.jpg
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30216/large/42.jpg
snake_lover
17-05-2006, 02:32 PM
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30304/large/100.jpg
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30291/large/101.jpg
snake_lover
17-05-2006, 02:33 PM
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30305/large/102.jpg
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30270/large/103.jpg
snake_lover
17-05-2006, 02:34 PM
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30289/large/104.jpg
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30292/large/105.jpg
snake_lover
17-05-2006, 02:35 PM
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30311/large/106.jpg
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30298/large/107.jpg
snake_lover
17-05-2006, 02:36 PM
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30271/large/109.jpg
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30268/large/110.jpg
snake_lover
17-05-2006, 02:37 PM
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30285/large/111.jpg
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30287/large/112.jpg
snake_lover
17-05-2006, 02:38 PM
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30278/large/113.jpg
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30284/large/114.jpg
snake_lover
17-05-2006, 02:39 PM
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30314/large/115.jpg
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30294/large/116.jpg
snake_lover
17-05-2006, 02:42 PM
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30302/large/117.jpg
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30307/large/118.jpg
snake_lover
17-05-2006, 02:45 PM
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30315/large/119.jpg
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30274/large/120.jpg
snake_lover
18-05-2006, 05:40 PM
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30279/large/121.jpg
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30313/large/122.jpg
snake_lover
18-05-2006, 05:42 PM
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30303/large/123.jpg
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30300/large/124.jpg
snake_lover
18-05-2006, 05:43 PM
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30281/large/125.jpg
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30297/large/126.jpg
snake_lover
18-05-2006, 05:44 PM
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30312/large/127.jpg
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30295/large/128.jpg
snake_lover
18-05-2006, 05:45 PM
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30316/large/129.jpg
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30267/large/130.jpg
snake_lover
18-05-2006, 05:46 PM
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30301/large/131.jpg
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30306/large/132.jpg
snake_lover
18-05-2006, 05:47 PM
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30273/large/133.jpg
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30269/large/134.jpg
snake_lover
18-05-2006, 05:48 PM
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30276/large/135.jpg
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30283/large/136.jpg
snake_lover
18-05-2006, 05:49 PM
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30296/large/137.jpg
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30275/large/138.jpg
snake_lover
18-05-2006, 05:49 PM
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30288/large/139.jpg
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30308/large/140.jpg
snake_lover
18-05-2006, 05:50 PM
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30309/large/141.jpg
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30299/large/142.jpg
snake_lover
18-05-2006, 05:50 PM
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30277/large/143.jpg
snake_lover
18-05-2006, 05:51 PM
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30310/large/144.jpg
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30280/large/145.jpg
snake_lover
18-05-2006, 05:53 PM
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30272/large/146.jpg
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30290/large/147.jpg
snake_lover
18-05-2006, 05:55 PM
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30282/large/148.jpg
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/17/30286/large/149.jpg
snake_lover
18-05-2006, 05:57 PM
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/18/31074/large/img08026jo.jpg
http://www.photovideoi.com/gallery/uploads/2006/05/18/31075/large/img07824ju.jpg
Globe
18-05-2006, 07:23 PM
anyone know where i can get the reebok logo for the jersey .. mine f**king came off when i wash it ..
wonder if the white kit price will drop since we are having a new one next season :D
snake_lover
18-05-2006, 07:43 PM
anyone know where i can get the reebok logo for the jersey .. mine f**king came off when i wash it ..
wonder if the white kit price will drop since we are having a new one next season :D
not sure about that one, the logo is an ironed-on one right? maybe you can ironed or sew it back :s22:, the new kits will have embroidered badges instead of ironed-on ones, but they are not on the official site for sale yet..
Globe
22-05-2006, 07:33 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_d5P3Vpxs5U&search=west%20ham%20semi%20final
mclarenfan
23-05-2006, 12:40 PM
i believe that west Ham lost the FA cup because they dont know how to waste time ....Steven Gerrard goal was great though....
Left only 4 mins for west ham to clinch the FA cup...i thought they deserved it....and then i think it was Cisse who goes down in pain...west ham kick the ball out....after a while the game continues....Liverpool throw the ball back to west ham......This is where i think west ham made a mistake...they should have let the ball go for goal kick and then the keeper can waste some time...and then he could have kicked the ball to the liverpool corner where one of the west ham strickers could keep the ball and waste the time....
BUT what happens actually is, when liverpool throw the ball back...Ferdinand doesnt let the ball go for goal kick...he kicks it straight back to a liverpool midfielder....and afterwards u know what happened.....disappointing...because i was hoping west ham could have won it and it would be nice for Sheringham too......it was a bit painful for even a neutral like me...because i wanted a fresh face clinching the FA cup...Haiz..
Anyway...the movie ' Football Hooligans ' was great though....it was about west ham united...
i50000
23-05-2006, 12:48 PM
i believe that west Ham lost the FA cup because they dont know how to waste time ....Steven Gerrard goal was great though....
Left only 4 mins for west ham to clinch the FA cup...i thought they deserved it....and then i think it was Cisse who goes down in pain...west ham kick the ball out....after a while the game continues....Liverpool throw the ball back to west ham......This is where i think west ham made a mistake...they should have let the ball go for goal kick and then the keeper can waste some time...and then he could have kicked the ball to the liverpool corner where one of the west ham strickers could keep the ball and waste the time....
BUT what happens actually is, when liverpool throw the ball back...Ferdinand doesnt let the ball go for goal kick...he kicks it straight back to a liverpool midfielder....and afterwards u know what happened.....disappointing...because i was hoping west ham could have won it and it would be nice for Sheringham too......it was a bit painful for even a neutral like me...because i wanted a fresh face clinching the FA cup...Haiz..
Anyway...the movie ' Football Hooligans ' was great though....it was about west ham united...
couldnt agree more...
i would go for the underdogs...
big clubs winning everything bores me silly...
Jermaine84
24-05-2006, 06:12 PM
for mi it not really abt big club or not lo.. after a 3-2 lead for West Ham theres no more big or small club concept between tis 2 clubs.. its the desire tat win the game for Liverpool.. kudos for West Ham to provide such a great match when everyone pointed to a Liverpool trashing.. a Final not to be forgot even for West Ham fans for teaching Liverpool nv underestimate any team at all.. thx
anyway tis West Ham is full of promise.. AP gonna buy new players to up the level of the team ??
snake_lover
07-06-2006, 05:15 PM
most possible signings this summer includes luke young and lee bowyer. we'll have to wait and see. pardew always keeps his card close to his chest unlike redknapp in the past, who announces his transfer targets
nestasan
07-06-2006, 06:24 PM
most possible signings this summer includes luke young and lee bowyer. we'll have to wait and see. pardew always keeps his card close to his chest unlike redknapp in the past, who announces his transfer targets
luke young's good. but why on earth would anybody want bowyer for...
Sheringham signs one-year contract with new employers!
http://www.vcpoker.com/
Sheringham makes his professional gaming debut :D
http://www.vcpoker.com/news/teddy/tournaments.htm
i50000
08-06-2006, 01:04 AM
Sheringham signs one-year contract with new employers!
http://www.vcpoker.com/
Sheringham makes his professional gaming debut :D
http://www.vcpoker.com/news/teddy/tournaments.htm
will sheringham still play in the premier league next season?
snake_lover
09-06-2006, 09:24 AM
http://www.whufc.com/articles/article.php?page_id=8058
West Ham United today completed the signing of Lee Bowyer from Newcastle United.
The 29-year-old midfielder has arrived at Upton Park in a deal that will see Newcastle receive a share of any future sell-on fee.
It is the second time that Lee has joined the Club - he made 11 appearances in a six-month spell at Upton Park after leaving Leeds United in January 2003.
Hammers boss Alan Pardew says: "I am delighted to have a player of Lee's calibre on board.
"In some quarters, it will be regarded as a controversial signing because Lee has had disciplinary problems in the past, both on and off the pitch, and he did not play well during his last spell at Upton Park.
"But he has matured as a player and as a person. My scouts tell me he was Newcastle's best player in the last three months of the season.
"He is one of the most talented midfield players in the country but he has won nothing. I am convinced that is now going to change.
"I want players who are hungry for success. I think Lee is coming into a completely different West Ham scenario to the last time and I think our fans will see the real Lee Bowyer this time round.
"I played with Lee at Charlton and I know the outstanding ability he has. Up to now he hasn't achieved what he should have achieved. He still has time and I am hoping that he will realise his full potential at West Ham.
"The best years are still to come for him."
Pards adds: "It is well known that he was carrying an ankle injury the last time he played for West Ham, but the lad and his family have always been Hammers fans and he wanted to help the club - who were then bottom of the league - out of their predicament.
"He has taken a pay cut to join West Ham, and that says it all to me. He wants to play in the claret and blue because this is where he is from and he can see where this club is going.
"All those incidents that Lee has been involved with down the years have taught him lessons and everyone deserves another chance. I will not tolerate any other incidents, he now needs to have a clean bill of health.
"We had a fantastic disciplinary record last season - one sending-off all year speaks for itself. Lee needs to understand they are the standards we have set and I expect him to abide by them."
cutter
10-06-2006, 12:11 PM
While financially it looks like a good deal (no transfer fee + reduced wages), I will always wonder how destabilising Bowyer will be in the dressing room. Potential red card somemor... but the Hammers do need more depth in midfield.
snake_lover
11-06-2006, 02:02 AM
ups for hislop! he certainly made t&t and hammers proud of him. man of the match performance, great stuff, think he will certainly start next match :D
snake_lover
11-06-2006, 02:05 AM
While financially it looks like a good deal (no transfer fee + reduced wages), I will always wonder how destabilising Bowyer will be in the dressing room. Potential red card somemor... but the Hammers do need more depth in midfield.
i had the same sentiments too, but i trust pardew judgement on him and to change him for the better. he had already laid the rules, if he breaks them, out he goes. i am looking forward to how he fits into the team
Ronaldo_7
11-06-2006, 02:19 AM
good performance by Shake Hislop..
i50000
11-06-2006, 11:01 PM
who do you guys think is a better keeper?
Roy Carrol or Shaka Hislop?
cutter
12-06-2006, 01:30 AM
who do you guys think is a better keeper?
Roy Carrol or Shaka Hislop?
Hislop used to be good but has been declining for the last season or so. Carroll has the advantage of age and makes up for a lack of athleticism with intelligent positioning and safety-first approach... of course he can be occasionally butter-fingers :D
Carroll is first-choice until his injury and Hislop did ok when he first stood-in... then declined towards the end of season.
cutter
16-06-2006, 03:32 AM
http://www.whufc.com/news/?page_id=8072
Spector reveals delight at signing for Hammers
15/06/2006 13:27
New signing Jonathan Spector has revealed his excitement at moving to Upton Park and says he is determined to help Hammers build upon the success of last season.
The 20-year-old defender became the latest young addition to Alan Pardew's squad this morning when he arrived in a £500,000 deal from Manchester United, and admits he can't wait to pull on the claret and blue shirt.
"I'm delighted to have signed for West Ham United and I'm really looking forward to playing for the Club," says Jonathan, who spent last season on loan at our London rivals Charlton Athletic.
"I see it as a great opportunity for myself to become part of a young and exciting team, and I'm excited about playing under Alan Pardew, who has done a fantastic job in his time at West Ham.
"The guys have just had a great year and hopefully I can be a part of helping the team to build on that success next season.
"I came on as a substitute at Upton Park when Charlton played there in April, and I recall being very impressed with the team, the supporters and the stadium itself," he adds.
"I'm already used to life in London, having spent the last year here, so that side of it won't be a problem for me. I'm from Chicago, so I'm used to life in a big city, and I've really enjoyed my time in London so far."
Jonathan is currently back in his hometown of Arlington Heights, a suburb of Chicago, recovering from a shoulder injury sustained playing for Charlton against Portsmouth in April.
The injury cost him the chance of a place in the USA squad at the World Cup finals this summer and, having accepted his fate without bitterness, the three-times capped international admits he is now fully focused on regaining full fitness ahead of the 2006-07 campaign with his new club.
"Of course, it was a big disappointment to miss out on the World Cup," he admits. "I'm not sure if I definitely would have made the squad but I definitely had a good chance, and it would have been a tremendous honour to represent my country in Germany.
"I'm not too down about it, though. There is nothing you can do when it's down to and injury - you just have to accept it and hope for better luck next time.
"I'm doing all the rehab I need to do while I'm back home for the summer and, although I won't be fit to play when I begin pre-season training at West Ham, my general fitness should be fine and I'll be ready to go for the start of the new season.
"Like I said, I'm just delighted to have signed and am really looking forward to becoming a part of the Club. These are exciting times for West Ham and hopefully there will be more success to come in the future."
Wah... transfer fee of just 500k... looks like no agent is involved to inflate the fee :s13:
Good talent and US International on the cheap... United's loss is the Hammers' gain.
snake_lover
24-06-2006, 01:50 AM
Hislop used to be good but has been declining for the last season or so. Carroll has the advantage of age and makes up for a lack of athleticism with intelligent positioning and safety-first approach... of course he can be occasionally butter-fingers :D
Carroll is first-choice until his injury and Hislop did ok when he first stood-in... then declined towards the end of season.
carroll is younger and at a peak age, if i were pardew, i would try to give carroll the nod over hislop, hislop will provide great cover though
snake_lover
24-06-2006, 01:52 AM
http://www.whufc.com/news/?page_id=8072
Spector reveals delight at signing for Hammers
15/06/2006 13:27
New signing Jonathan Spector has revealed his excitement at moving to Upton Park and says he is determined to help Hammers build upon the success of last season.
The 20-year-old defender became the latest young addition to Alan Pardew's squad this morning when he arrived in a £500,000 deal from Manchester United, and admits he can't wait to pull on the claret and blue shirt.
"I'm delighted to have signed for West Ham United and I'm really looking forward to playing for the Club," says Jonathan, who spent last season on loan at our London rivals Charlton Athletic.
"I see it as a great opportunity for myself to become part of a young and exciting team, and I'm excited about playing under Alan Pardew, who has done a fantastic job in his time at West Ham.
"The guys have just had a great year and hopefully I can be a part of helping the team to build on that success next season.
"I came on as a substitute at Upton Park when Charlton played there in April, and I recall being very impressed with the team, the supporters and the stadium itself," he adds.
"I'm already used to life in London, having spent the last year here, so that side of it won't be a problem for me. I'm from Chicago, so I'm used to life in a big city, and I've really enjoyed my time in London so far."
Jonathan is currently back in his hometown of Arlington Heights, a suburb of Chicago, recovering from a shoulder injury sustained playing for Charlton against Portsmouth in April.
The injury cost him the chance of a place in the USA squad at the World Cup finals this summer and, having accepted his fate without bitterness, the three-times capped international admits he is now fully focused on regaining full fitness ahead of the 2006-07 campaign with his new club.
"Of course, it was a big disappointment to miss out on the World Cup," he admits. "I'm not sure if I definitely would have made the squad but I definitely had a good chance, and it would have been a tremendous honour to represent my country in Germany.
"I'm not too down about it, though. There is nothing you can do when it's down to and injury - you just have to accept it and hope for better luck next time.
"I'm doing all the rehab I need to do while I'm back home for the summer and, although I won't be fit to play when I begin pre-season training at West Ham, my general fitness should be fine and I'll be ready to go for the start of the new season.
"Like I said, I'm just delighted to have signed and am really looking forward to becoming a part of the Club. These are exciting times for West Ham and hopefully there will be more success to come in the future."
Wah... transfer fee of just 500k... looks like no agent is involved to inflate the fee :s13:
Good talent and US International on the cheap... United's loss is the Hammers' gain.
spector doesn't look like a first team player yet, hope he's not our first choice right back. hoping for luke young to come to us.
snake_lover
24-06-2006, 01:53 AM
Fixthures for the Hammers
August 2006 Comp H/A Date Opposition Kick Off Score
Premiership H Sat 19 Charlton 15:00
Premiership A Tue 22 Watford 19:45
Premiership A Sat 26 Liverpool 15:00
September 2006 Comp H/A Date Opposition Kick Off Score
Premiership H Sat 09 Aston Villa 15:00
Premiership H Sat 16 Newcastle 15:00
Premiership A Sat 23 Man City 15:00
Premiership H Sat 30 Reading 15:00
October 2006 Comp H/A Date Opposition Kick Off Score
Premiership A Sat 14 Portsmouth 15:00
Premiership A Sat 21 Tottenham 15:00
Premiership H Sat 28 Blackburn 15:00
November 2006 Comp H/A Date Opposition Kick Off Score
Premiership H Sat 04 Arsenal 15:00
Premiership A Sat 11 Middlesbrough 15:00
Premiership A Sat 18 Chelsea 15:00
Premiership H Sat 25 Sheff Utd 15:00
December 2006 Comp H/A Date Opposition Kick Off Score
Premiership A Sat 02 Everton 15:00
Premiership H Wed 06 Wigan 19:45
Premiership A Sat 09 Bolton 15:00
Premiership H Sat 16 Man Utd 15:00
Premiership A Sat 23 Fulham 15:00
Premiership H Tue 26 Portsmouth 15:00
Premiership H Sat 30 Man City 15:00
January 2007 Comp H/A Date Opposition Kick Off Score
Premiership A Mon 01 Reading 15:00
Premiership H Sat 13 Fulham 15:00
Premiership A Sat 20 Newcastle 15:00
Premiership H Wed 31 Liverpool 19:45
February 2007 Comp H/A Date Opposition Kick Off Score
Premiership A Sat 03 Aston Villa 15:00
Premiership H Sat 10 Watford 15:00
Premiership A Sat 24 Charlton 15:00
March 2007 Comp H/A Date Opposition Kick Off Score
Premiership H Sat 03 Tottenham 15:00
Premiership A Sat 17 Blackburn 15:00
Premiership H Sat 31 Middlesbrough 15:00
April 2007 Comp H/A Date Opposition Kick Off Score
Premiership A Sat 07 Arsenal 15:00
Premiership H Mon 09 Chelsea 19:45
Premiership A Sat 14 Sheff Utd 15:00
Premiership H Sat 21 Everton 15:00
Premiership A Sat 28 Wigan 15:00
May 2007 Comp H/A Date Opposition Kick Off Score
Premiership H Sat 05 Bolton 15:00
Premiership A Sun 13 Man Utd 15:00
charlton for the opening match and man yoo on the last day! the chelsea match that followed after arsenal match in april worries me though
snake_lover
24-06-2006, 01:56 AM
West Ham United can confirm that Elliott Ward has completed a £1million transfer to Championship side Coventry City.
The 21-year-old defender has signed for the Sky Blues in a four-year deal, having made a total of 21 league and cup appearances during his time at Upton Park.
Good Luck to Wardy at Coventry
http://www.whufc.com/news/?page_id=8073
Globe
04-07-2006, 09:22 PM
no news on young and CFC yet :D
hope AP can sign one more striker ... encil teddy cant last long
any of u seen the last season away jersey anywhere ? i went to queensway and PP also dun have .. and the new away jersey looks nice :s13:
snake_lover
06-07-2006, 12:12 PM
Shaka departs
Shaka Hislop is looking forward to an "exciting new challenge" after joining American side FC Dallas from West Ham
http://www.whufc.com/articles/article.php?page_id=8104
Carlton Cole
West Ham United is delighted to announce the signing of England under-21 striker Carlton Cole from Chelsea for an undisclosed fee.
http://www.whufc.com/articles/article.php?page_id=8103
Mears
West Ham United have tonight completed the signing of Preston North End defender Tyrone Mears in a deal that could rise to almost £2million.
http://www.whufc.com/articles/article.php?page_id=8106
busy day for the hammers :D , apparantly luke young has failed his medical twice and won't be coming, so this mears guy came instead as a backup, while AP tries to bid for chimbonda
snake_lover
06-07-2006, 12:16 PM
no news on young and CFC yet :D
hope AP can sign one more striker ... encil teddy cant last long
any of u seen the last season away jersey anywhere ? i went to queensway and PP also dun have .. and the new away jersey looks nice :s13:
new away jersey
http://Serv3.imagehigh.com/imgs/04/31706_koncheskyright.jpg
:o
Globe
06-07-2006, 02:28 PM
AP is not gonna splash 6 million for chimbodo ...
can't wait to get the away one ...gonna cost a bomb i guess ...
snake_lover
17-07-2006, 12:26 PM
AP is not gonna splash 6 million for chimbodo ...
can't wait to get the away one ...gonna cost a bomb i guess ...
can't find the jersey in queensway and peninsula too
snake_lover
20-07-2006, 10:04 AM
West Ham winger Shaun Newton has been banned for seven months by the Football Association after testing positive for cocaine.
The 30-year-old provided the positive test following the FA Cup semi-final against Middlesbrough on April 23.
The ban started on May 20, the date the former Charlton and Wolves player was suspended by his club.
A statement on the club's official website read: "West Ham United regret to announce that midfielder Shaun Newton has been suspended for seven months by the Football Association after he failed a drugs test.
"Newton, 30, tested positive for cocaine, after the FA Cup semi final game with Middlesborough at Villa Park on April 23.
"He was suspended by the club on May 20 pending the FA investigation and the ban will apply from that date.
"The ban applies to matches but not training and other football activities.
"The suspension was announced today following an FA Disciplinary Commission hearing yesterday. The FA also revealed Newton will be target tested throughout the period of his suspension.
Newton did not travel with the club when they left for a tour of Sweden today."
http://www.teamtalk.com/football/story/0,16368,1808_1349621,00.html
snake_lover
24-07-2006, 05:00 PM
Newcastle are pushing ahead in their attempts to sign Dean Ashton, despite West Ham insisting the striker is worth at least £10million.
The Magpies are searching for a like-for-like replacement for legend Alan Shearer and have identified Ashton as an ideal successor.
The 22-year-old scored six goals in 16 games for the Hammers last season after moving for £7.25million from Norwich in January.
Alan Pardew is determined to hang onto his target man but Newcastle are continuing to put pressure on the Hammers to sell.
With the services of Damien Duff already secured, Toon chairman Freddy Shepherd means business in the transfer market and is prepared to push the boat out to get Glenn Roeder's first-choice frontman.
Matters are likely to come to a head early this week, with Ashton quoted as saying Newcastle's interest is "flattering".
http://www.teamtalk.com/football/story/0,16368,1808_1357564,00.html
snake_lover
02-08-2006, 10:26 AM
West Ham United today completed the signing of Ghanaian international John Pantsil from Israeli side Hapoel Tel-Aviv in a deal that could rise to £1million.
The 25-year-old defender has agreed a four-year contract at Upton Park after impressing on a brief trial with Alan Pardew's men, although he will have to wait for international clearance and a work permit before being eligible to play for the Club - an issue that is expected to be resolved shortly.
A versatile defender who starred for Ghana at the World Cup finals in Germany this summer, John is recognised as a right-back but has also featured in central defence and at left back for his country.
He began his career in Ghana at Berekum Arsenal FC before moving to Liberty Professionals. He then headed to Europe for a brief spell with Polish side Widzew Lodz, before joining Israeli club Maccabi Tel Aviv in 2002, where he won the Israeli title and reached the Israeli Cup final in his first season.
In December 2004, he signed permanently for Hapoel Tel Aviv after completing a short loan move across town from Maccabi.
A member of the Ghana under-21 side that reached the FIFA World Youth Championship final in Argentina in 2001, John soon moved onto senior duty and was selected to play in the 2002 and 2006 African Cup of Nations in Mali & Egypt respectively.
He was also selected for the 2004 Olympic Games in Greece and played all matches at the World Cup finals this summer, when Ghana progressed through the group stages only to be beaten in the second round by Brazil. He now has 25 full international caps to his name.
Recommended to Hammers by his former colleague in the Israeli league, Yossi Benayoun, John becomes Alan Pardew's fifth summer signing following the arrivals of Lee Bowyer, Jonathan Spector, Carlton Cole and Tyrone Mears.
http://www.whufc.com/articles/article.php?page_id=8169
i50000
02-08-2006, 11:38 AM
haha... nice Dean Ashton avatar...
Didjerama
08-08-2006, 06:40 PM
After I finally laid off spraying people with champagne and was leaving the Millennium pitch, Alan Pardew stopped me and shook my hand. ‘I’d hoped you were saving that for the World Cup,’ he said with a smile. Top man. Pardew’s players were also first-class. They came across, man after man, concealing their agony to say, ‘Well done.’ Everyone associated with West Ham behaved with real dignity in Cardiff, just like the way I try to be in defeat. If they had won, Liverpool could not have complained. Too many of our players were too disappointing. West Ham were desperately unfortunate to lose. Having played so well, it must have been gut-wrenching to go home without the FA Cup, yet they were all gracious. It really moved me that in their hour of utter desolation, West Ham fans stayed behind to applaud as I lifted the FA Cup. I’ll never forget that sporting gesture. I’m Liverpool through and through, head to toe, but I have a place in my heart for West Ham supporters after Cardiff. Fans like West Ham United’s make football special. Usually when we do a lap of honour with a cup, the opponents’ section is empty. The fans have disappeared, dragging their heartache with them. Not in Cardiff on 13 May 2006. The West Ham fans were tremendous, clapping us as we paraded the cup. Both sets of fans were brilliant, which made it such a terrific occasion.
- Steven Gerrard after the FA Cup Final...
snake_lover
08-08-2006, 07:44 PM
West Ham United today completed the signing of Northern Ireland defender George McCartney from Sunderland, with Clive Clarke heading in the opposite direction.
In a deal worth £1million, Hammers have paid £600,000 plus Clarke to secure the services of the 25-year-old left-back, who progressed through the youth ranks at the Stadium of Light to become club captain.
Born in Belfast, George has 19 international caps to his name. He made his senior debut for Northern Ireland in September 2001 in a World Cup qualifying match against Iceland, scoring the final goal in a 3-0 victory - the only strike of his professional career so far.
He leaves Sunderland having made almost 150 league and cup appearances for the Club, but will have to wait a little longer before making his debut in a claret and blue shirt.
George is currently recovering from a knee injury that will keep him out of action for the next 8-10 weeks, but he passed an initial medical on Monday evening and will be assessed again upon his return to full fitness.
Clive Clarke leaves having made just three competitive appearances for the Club last season following his move from Stoke City in the summer of 2005 - two in the Premiership against Arsenal (away) and Portsmouth (home), and one in the Carling Cup away at Bolton Wanderers.
The Republic of Ireland international was unfortunate to find Paul Konchesky in such impressive and consistent form throughout last season, and has now headed to the Stadium of Light in search of regular first team football.
snake_lover
08-08-2006, 07:45 PM
haha... nice Dean Ashton avatar...
from this angle, his baldness is not that obvious :o :o
snake_lover
08-08-2006, 07:48 PM
After I finally laid off spraying people with champagne and was leaving the Millennium pitch, Alan Pardew stopped me and shook my hand. ‘I’d hoped you were saving that for the World Cup,’ he said with a smile. Top man. Pardew’s players were also first-class. They came across, man after man, concealing their agony to say, ‘Well done.’ Everyone associated with West Ham behaved with real dignity in Cardiff, just like the way I try to be in defeat. If they had won, Liverpool could not have complained. Too many of our players were too disappointing. West Ham were desperately unfortunate to lose. Having played so well, it must have been gut-wrenching to go home without the FA Cup, yet they were all gracious. It really moved me that in their hour of utter desolation, West Ham fans stayed behind to applaud as I lifted the FA Cup. I’ll never forget that sporting gesture. I’m Liverpool through and through, head to toe, but I have a place in my heart for West Ham supporters after Cardiff. Fans like West Ham United’s make football special. Usually when we do a lap of honour with a cup, the opponents’ section is empty. The fans have disappeared, dragging their heartache with them. Not in Cardiff on 13 May 2006. The West Ham fans were tremendous, clapping us as we paraded the cup. Both sets of fans were brilliant, which made it such a terrific occasion.
- Steven Gerrard after the FA Cup Final...
based on this, he deserved to be in front of the ingrate lampard in the england team :s13:
i50000
08-08-2006, 11:58 PM
based on this, he deserved to be in front of the ingrate lampard in the england team :s13:
darn... i really hate that frank lampard.. aka fat frank... :(
from this angle, his baldness is not that obvious :o :o
Ashton looks like teddy's elder brother... lol
West Ham United today completed the signing of Northern Ireland defender George McCartney from Sunderland, with Clive Clarke heading in the opposite direction.
not a so good signing... 1 million for an injury prone player...
snake_lover
12-08-2006, 11:43 AM
Hammers are 7th in england and 67th in the world. We are also ahead of spuds, newcastle, charlton, villa, blackburn in the rankings :o Surprisingly bolton is ahead of us in 57th place. :s31:
65. (54.) Cruzeiro EC Belo Horizonte Brasil/4 142,0
(66.) Sport Lisboa e Benfica Portugal/3 142,0
67. (67.) West Ham United FC England/4 141,0
68. (69.) FC do Porto Portugal/3
http://www.iffhs.de/?10f42e00fa2d17f73702fa3016e23c17f7370eff3702bb1c2bbb6f28f5351e
Didjerama
14-08-2006, 11:00 AM
frank is a gud player but damn greedy for fame and fortune...i tink one day joe cole might just come back to west ham...he is a hammer through and thorough
snake_lover
15-08-2006, 09:42 AM
he might just come back, when he's in his thirties and get squeezed out by chelsea superstars. in the near future it just sounds unrealistic, his wages will be a big stumbling block.
snake_lover
15-08-2006, 09:48 AM
West Ham United can confirm that we have had a bid accepted by Norwich City for England goalkeeper Robert Green.
The deal, which could eventually rise to £2million, is still subject to a medical and the player agreeing personal terms.
Green, 26, is currently recovering from a groin injury sustained while playing for England B against Belarus back in May - an injury that ruled him out of the World Cup finals in the summer.
West Ham United will make no further comment until the transfer has been officially finalised.
http://www.whufc.com/articles/article.php?page_id=8200
seems like pardew is still keeping his transfer policy for young british players with talent that has something to prove..hmm. one more midfield signing will probably finish up all the transfer budget. i would really like shaun wright philips to come on loan...
cutter
15-08-2006, 10:49 PM
http://www.football365.com/story/0,17033,8652_1415139,00.html
ASHTON BREAKS ANKLE IN TRAINING
Posted 15/08/06 11:38
Dean Ashton has been ruled out of England's friendly against Greece at Old Trafford after breaking an ankle in training on Tuesday morning.
Ashton was taken to hospital for a scan to discover the extent of the injury and even before learning the result, new England boss Steve McClaren admitted: "It has really clouded our morning".
The West Ham striker would have made his debut against the European champions but Ashton's place has now been handed to Jermain Defoe.
McClaren and his new coaching staff worked with the players at Old Trafford on Tuesday but the training session was overshadowed by Ashton's injury.
Captain John Terry said he heard the scream from the other end of the Old Trafford pitch and knew it was serious straight away.
McClaren said: "He went over on his ankle. It's very unfortunate and it clouded the morning.
"It's always sad to see any player getting injured on the training field and especially Dean, who had just come into the squad and was looking forward to his opportunity."
Ashton, 22, was the one fresh face in McClaren's England squad and his unfortunate early exit leaves the team with a familiar feel.
"It's a friendly but we want to win and play well - and put things in place for the future."
snake_lover
16-08-2006, 07:46 PM
deano will be out for 12 weeks.
snake_lover
16-08-2006, 11:33 PM
http://img107.imageshack.us/img107/2210/whu1155730130green1qg3.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
i think his name suits the colour of our jersey well :s13:
http://www.whufc.com/articles/article.php?page_id=8206
snake_lover
20-08-2006, 12:05 AM
YESSSSS!!! 3-1 WIN!!!!!!!!
Globe
20-08-2006, 12:17 AM
com'on irons!!!!!!!!!!!!
CFC with his first touch ... ****in legend lol
snake_lover
20-08-2006, 12:22 AM
carlton ****ing cole with his first ****king touch, scored a lovely ****ing goal :D :D
snake_lover
20-08-2006, 12:31 AM
spuds are behind...bolton 2 spuds 0 :D
i50000
20-08-2006, 12:47 AM
haha... 3-1 win again...
a bit similar with last season...EPL opening match against blackburn
1 nil down and then 3-1 up...against 10 men(Charlton too)....
i50000
20-08-2006, 12:49 AM
spuds are behind...bolton 2 spuds 0 :D
i don't like spurs too :(
especially their fans in HWZ forum...even the blackburn fans hate them...
hotspur_77
20-08-2006, 12:52 AM
i don't like spurs too :(
especially their fans in HWZ forum...even the blackburn fans hate them...
wat do u mean by their fans? wat's ur problem?? wat did HWZ spurs fans did 2 u?? DEFINE!! :s27:
snake_lover
20-08-2006, 11:18 AM
match highlights from the charlton match
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HYC-87h8QyU
Globe
20-08-2006, 08:42 PM
who realise this season .. every thing encil teddy does will be record breaking ... lol
he is going to break the oldest outfield player every time he is on the pitch ... those keepin the stats must be cursing him ..
cutter
21-08-2006, 12:04 AM
Har? Liddat everytime he scores a goal, kana yellow/red card, start match, substituted, enter as sub, injured, return from injury/suspension, assist, etc.... have to update as oldest player to do these ah? :s11: :s13:....
hmm coming match against watford, WH sure win? :s11:
snake_lover
21-08-2006, 07:27 PM
Har? Liddat everytime he scores a goal, kana yellow/red card, start match, substituted, enter as sub, injured, return from injury/suspension, assist, etc.... have to update as oldest player to do these ah? :s11: :s13:....
i suppose so. those statistic records have to be as precise as possible, the players age is recorded in years and days, our dear teddy will cause them much headaches :s13:
snake_lover
21-08-2006, 07:33 PM
hmm coming match against watford, WH sure win? :s11:
you betting on the match? the odds for hammers win seems surprisingly good at 2+, but we seemed to have this habit of slipping on these probable banana skins. in addition, watford are an unknown quantity who will most probably play an aggressive, long ball style which don't suit us ala bolton's way. I guess it will be a close match with us getting the upper hand
snake_lover
23-08-2006, 09:51 AM
boohoo, a 1-1 scoreline. didn't caught the match as i was working today. read the match reports and in summary all agreed that we escaped with a point from watford vicarage ground.
we played an untried 5-3-2 formation which didn't worked out as well as pardew thought :( james collins was drafted to the backline to win the headers pumped into the hammers box but that didn't work out. on the positive side, we are currently at the top of the league and zamora is the current epl top scorer :s13:
pards reaction
http://www.kumb.com/0506_story.php?id=11830
zamora goal
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bjh-0944EKE
snake_lover
23-08-2006, 06:00 PM
http://img132.imageshack.us/img132/9373/untitleddp3.png (http://imageshack.us)
"And even if it is only for 24 hours, top of the Premiership ain't bad, is it?" - Quote from our boss, after the 1-1 draw with Watford :s13:
Globe
23-08-2006, 08:15 PM
not bad not bad ... lol
:D
Jermaine84
23-08-2006, 08:53 PM
Teddy's making history every time he come on the pitch !!!
thou Konchesky played well aginst Watford
Globe
24-08-2006, 02:09 AM
hmmm ... ok .. kinda late since it's our 2nd season in top flight ..
i made this when we came up last season , was clearing up my hdd ..
original :
http://img292.imageshack.us/img292/3513/llbebackqu0.th.jpg (http://img292.imageshack.us/my.php?image=llbebackqu0.jpg)
edited :
http://img292.imageshack.us/img292/7122/westhamweareback2005qd9.th.jpg (http://img292.imageshack.us/my.php?image=westhamweareback2005qd9.jpg)
snake_lover
24-08-2006, 06:57 PM
hmmm ... ok .. kinda late since it's our 2nd season in top flight ..
i made this when we came up last season , was clearing up my hdd ..
original :
http://img292.imageshack.us/img292/3513/llbebackqu0.th.jpg (http://img292.imageshack.us/my.php?image=llbebackqu0.jpg)
edited :
http://img292.imageshack.us/img292/7122/westhamweareback2005qd9.th.jpg (http://img292.imageshack.us/my.php?image=westhamweareback2005qd9.jpg)
That person holding the banner in the picture was you? :s31:
Globe
24-08-2006, 09:06 PM
i wish i was there .. got to visit upton park if i ever go to england
i just edited the pics la :D
snake_lover
25-08-2006, 11:31 AM
haha, i thought it was really you, going to ask you how it feels to be there
Globe
25-08-2006, 10:53 PM
the academy of football :D
snake_lover
26-08-2006, 07:20 PM
i don;t think pool will get too complacent after our last meeting in cardiff last season, we had our injuries in ashton and matty but they have theirs too. 4 players i believe. they back 4 had not gelled yet and we could take advantage of that with zamorinho on top form and harewood in search for his first goal. however our hoodoo at anfield has not been broken for many years. but i have confidence in this west ham side to edge out a draw
snake_lover
26-08-2006, 07:34 PM
西 ham, 西 ham, 西 ham!!!!
xJoker
26-08-2006, 07:45 PM
Hi Guys!
May the best team win tonite! good luck :)
cheers
snake_lover
26-08-2006, 10:50 PM
thought west ham lost, i think there were positives to take out from the game, gabbs, and anton hold the line well when we went all guns blazing in the second half, we did not let out heads down despite being goal down and should have deserved a goal. the linesman did his job well and made correct decisions. gerrard was a class above everyone else but benayoun and bowyer shone too. encik teddy broke his own record as he plays another game. overall, an entertaining and open game.
Globe
26-08-2006, 11:58 PM
holy crap .. how many have bobby Z score ... 4 in 3 matches .. lol
i think by the time ashton comes back ... harewood would be the one dropped
There is only one Bobby ZZZZZ
cutter
27-08-2006, 12:20 AM
Zamora top scorer with 4 in 3 games... but Pool deservedly won with a dominant performance at Anfield and 2 superb goals. Could've easily been a draw or even win for the Hammers though if Harewood hadn't aimed for the far post when through on goal... or Bowyer managed to score instead of hitting the post in the second half.
snake_lover
28-08-2006, 03:51 PM
4 more days till transfer window closes. i wonder whether malbranque or the other guy who is supposedly good at free kicks will come, even better if both :o maybe that other guy will be simao or figo :s13:
Globe
28-08-2006, 07:07 PM
reo coker rumors seems to be flying ard this few days .. not good ..
snake_lover
29-08-2006, 02:12 PM
he better not go, we need his driving runs frim midfield and i don't think anyone in the squad has the leadership to captain the team
skweam
31-08-2006, 05:00 PM
holy crap .. how many have bobby Z score ... 4 in 3 matches .. lol
i think by the time ashton comes back ... harewood would be the one dropped
There is only one Bobby ZZZZZid rather ashton than harewood...
cutter
31-08-2006, 05:08 PM
WTF....!!!!!
HAMMERS PULL OFF DOUBLE COUP
Posted 31/08/06 09:37
http://www.football365.com/story/0,17033,8652_1462542,00.html
Argentina World Cup forward Carlos Tevez claims he is about to join West Ham along with national team colleague Javier Mascherano.
The double signing would represent a massive - and expensive - coup for the Hammers if it was to come off as both players were among Argentina's most impressive performers in Germany.
A statement on Tevez's personal website: "Carlitos Tevez, along with his team-mate Javier Mascherano, signs a contract to play for West Ham United of England."
Tokieda
31-08-2006, 06:11 PM
Tevez to join West Ham in transfer coup
http://soccernet-att.espn.go.com/design05/images/PH2/tevez.jpg
Argentina World Cup forward Carlos Tevez claims he is about to join West Ham along with national team colleague Javier Mascherano.
http://soccernet-att.espn.go.com/design05/images/PH2/TevezMascherano205.jpg
Argentina's Javier Mascherano (L) and Carlos Tevez: Chin up lads, Upton Park is lovely. Honest.
The double signing would represent a significant coup for the Hammers if it were to come off as both players were among Argentina's most impressive performers in Germany.
A statement on Tevez's personal website read: 'Carlitos Tevez, along with his team-mate Javier Mascherano, signs a contract to play for West Ham United of England.'
Both have been linked with Manchester United and Chelsea over the summer with Arsenal also apparently in the running to bring Tevez from Brazil.
The pair's rights are owned by Media Sports Investment, a British-based company with financial involvement in Corinthians. MSI were linked with a takeover of the Hammers last season.
Tevez and Mascherano are expected to join the east London club on a season-long loan and a permanent deal next summer is possible, either at Upton Park or elsewhere.
The Corinthians pair are in Argentina's squad for Sunday's friendly against Brazil at the Emirates Stadium.
Tevez has endured a tempestuous 18 months at Corinthians, falling out with fans and officials and claiming his life was unbearable as an Argentinian plying his trade in Brazil. After returning from the World Cup Tevez claimed he would not play for Corinthians again.
this is really WTF!!! WTF!!! Hammer fans must be in shock and disbelief! This is a coup of the century, not 1 but 2 of the brightest argentine talents!!!!!
7th heaven!!!!
Houllier
31-08-2006, 06:39 PM
West ham can build on this and make a serious challenge for the uefa spots this season.
cutter
31-08-2006, 06:48 PM
Palermo truly will feel hk if this really materialises... just tio drawn against the Hammers in the UEFA Cup and sakili Tevez and Mascherano going to be facing them... not cup-tied some more....
snake_lover
31-08-2006, 08:22 PM
i swear i almost pissed in my pants when i saw this tevez and mascherano deal. its almost unbelieveable!!! can u believe it? 2 world class players comking to play wearing the colours of our shirt. the official site is almost inaccessible.. i really need the confirmation now.
Globe
31-08-2006, 11:41 PM
still time .. i just check the offical site only mention bout a 16 yr old czech gk we sign..
this is too good to be true ... :D
i50000
01-09-2006, 12:10 AM
ITS OFFICIAL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
31/08/2006 16:52
West Ham United are delighted to announce the double signing of Argentinian World Cup stars Carlos Tevez and Javier Mascherano from Brazilian club Corinthians.
The pair have been signed for an undisclosed fee and put pen to paper on permanent contracts with the Club this afternoon. All other aspects of the transfers will remain confidential and undisclosed.
The transfers represent a massive coup for the Hammers, who have beaten off some of Europe's biggest clubs to secure the services of the duo - both of whom played a key role for Argentina as they reached the World Cup quarter-finals in Germany this summer before losing to the hosts in a penalty shoot-out.
Tevez, 22, is widely regarded as one of the most talented young strikers in the world. Labelled by many as 'the new Diego Maradona', he began his career with Boca Juniors, making his debut at the age of 17 and going on to become a cult hero at the Bombonera Stadium.
The Argentine football writers voted him Footballer of the Year in 2003 and 2004, and also Sportsman of the Year in 2004, after he had led Boca to the Argentine championship and the Copa Libertadores.
In December 2004, Tevez moved to Corinthians in a $22.6million deal - the biggest ever in South American football. Initially, he wasn't well received in the country of Argentina's greatest rivals, but soon won the supporters over and became captain as the club secured the Brazilian championship in 2005.
He appeared in every one of Argentina's five games at the World Cup finals in June, scoring a goal in the memorable 6-0 victory over Serbia and Montenegro, and winning the man of the match award in the 0-0 draw with Holland. He currently has 25 full international caps to his name, and has scored four goals for his country.
Javier Mascherano, also 22, is a highly-rated defensive midfielder who earned rave reviews for his performances at the World Cup finals in the summer, when he provided the steely backbone behind Argentina's attacking style of play.
Like his good friend Tevez, Mascherano left an Argentinian club - River Plate, the great rivals of Boca Juniors - to join Corinthians in 2004, for a fee of $15million, and helped to play a key role in their title success last year.
With 20 caps for the national team, he is considered one of the county's hottest properties, and has also been linked with a number of top European clubs recently.
Both Carlos and Javier are currently in London preparing for Argentina's showcase friendly match against South American rivals Brazil at Arsenal's Emirates Stadium on Sunday and will be available for selection when Hammers return to Premiership action against Aston Villa next week.
Exclusive reaction from Alan Pardew and both players will follow here on whufc.com soon.
The players have now returned to the Argentinian national team camp and will not be available for any further interviews. West Ham United will make a further announcement later regarding the official unveiling of both players.
http://www.whufc.com/articles/article.php?page_id=8247
Tokieda
01-09-2006, 12:21 AM
Some interesting letters from "jealous" fans to football365.com :s13:
Some Rather Tasty Conspiracy Theories
Posted 31/08/06 15:08
This Is Our Favourite Conspiray Theory In Ages
Tevez and Mascherano to West Ham is a complete joke. As far as I recall Roman Abramovich bankrolls the players' agent, so this is his and Jose's work to keep two class players away from Man Utd or Arsenal.
The FA wouldn't consider looking into this, after all the Premiership doesn't seem to be their business.
Not only do Chelski sign players they don't need for ridiculous amounts of money to keep them away from other clubs, SWP and Essien come to mind, but now they are making sure that no team can sign any player that will help them compete against them.
Roman, this may work in business having a monopoly on all the Russian oil but when you kill the competition in sport you don't get richer you just make the fans lose interest.
Sod it, I'm off to watch Accrington Stanley and tiddlywinks until the FA and monopolies commission wake up and make some rules that will return the interest to football.
Danny (the united red) Koor
...Great news for West Ham that they are getting two of the world's best players. Great news on the face of it. Digging a little deeper we can form an idea of the truth.
Can we reasonably conclude that two Argentine internationals, rated at a combined value of ?0m, chose to spurn moves to Bayern, AC Milan, Manchester United, Roma, Arsenal and... Chelsea in favour of the thrills and spills of Upton Park and life alongside the likes of Marlon Harewood, James Collins and Paul Konchesky? Presuming we live outside of the computed generated world of Championship Manager, the answer to that question is "NO".
There are clearly other forces at work here and the way in which these two players are owned needs to be seriously addressed by the footballing authorities. It is widely known who has vested interests in MSI, the company that owns the player's contracts, and the company that has its financial claws in Corinthians. The sad thing for Alan Pardew and West Ham is that the club, known for its strong ties to the local East London community, is being used like a pawn as Russians play around with our domestic league.
David P, Guildford
...It's a Chelsea loan deal in all but name.
Abramovich's tentacles allegedly stretch to Corinthians, there's no room at Chelsea yet. Give them a year in England to see how they settle - if they get on alright they'll be at Stamford Bridge next summer.
Paul Garratt
..."The coup of the summer"? Hello... the Russian criminal has had his mucky hands on this one. Or maybe not. Perhaps two of the world's most coveted players have suddenly realised a lifetime's ambition and followed in Alan Devonshire, Trevor Brooking and Robbie Slater's hallowed footsteps and are now about to play for their boyhood heroes.
What next? Ronaldinho turning out for Charlton... eh? What do you mean? I was just joking. For their next trick they'll probably buy the FA and change the rules so that only clubs with Russian owners are exempt from the offside rule.
Had Enuffsky
snake_lover
01-09-2006, 08:05 AM
it's a permanent deal! i guessed how long the contracts even though it still remains undisclosed. i expect tevez and mascherano to say in their interviews, "we have seen the hammers play since we were kids :s13: " and to think that mascherano requested the number 6 shirt which bobby moore weared. it still feels like dream. some other people were angry that their clubs didn't sign them http://www.caughtoffside.com/west-ham-coup-how-angry-are-you.html but we still got them anyway, can't wait to buy a hammers shirt with the name tevez on it..:D
Kakashi82
01-09-2006, 08:29 AM
congrats to West Ham for signing two excellent players ;)
snake_lover
01-09-2006, 09:51 AM
still time .. i just check the offical site only mention bout a 16 yr old czech gk we sign..
this is too good to be true ... :D
its true :D and nigel is not leaving too
snake_lover
01-09-2006, 09:56 AM
Quote from Pardew - Apparantly Mascherano and Tevez knew west ham too, not those conspiracy theories made up by sour grapes that they were shoved here to west ham.
"Our Chairman Terry Brown came to me on Monday and gave me the opportunity to go for Carlos and Javier - and you don't turn down the chance to sign two world class players.
"When I met the players, though, I didn't have to sell West Ham United to them. They knew all about our success last season and our style of play, as the Premiership is shown on TV in South America every week.
"It is a massive coup for us. I've said all along that, while signing young English players remains very important to our transfer policy, I want to take this Club forward and will get talent from wherever it is available. I want nothing to stand in the way of doing everything we can to win a trophy for this great Club.
http://www.whufc.com/articles/article.php?page_id=8248
I must say that imo west ham got the best deals of the trasnfer period. i tot duff and martins were good, well I guess this round west ham came from know no where got 2 world class players. This season will definately look interesting. :)
oakley
01-09-2006, 10:21 AM
I can't believe this deal!!!
Totally unbelievable!!!
To think i tot tis is a scene from the latest Football Manager 2006!!!
West Ham with Tevez & Mascherano!! Unbelievable!!
snake_lover
01-09-2006, 10:23 AM
yeah, our side will prove a tough opponent if both adapt well, tevez will be scoring loads and mascherano shutting out players and snapping at their ankles. but i will have to admit they won't be here for long and will be off to one of those continental clubs..just enjoy the moment while it lasts
CARLOS TEVEZ and Javier Mascherano joined West Ham in a sensational double transfer and told SunSport: “We can’t wait to take the Hammers to new heights.”
The Argentina World Cup superstars, pictured yesterday in a lift at the posh Docklands Marriott Hotel, signed permanent deals from Brazilian side Corinthians.
Striker Tevez and midfielder Mascherano, both 22, turned down Manchester United and Arsenal to join the Hammers.
Upton Park boss Alan Pardew said: “It’s a monumental day for us. This deal will give us a real chance to compete with the very best teams in the Premiership and in Europe.”
Tevez said: “I have been looking for a move to England and, despite speculation about other clubs, West Ham came in with a more suitable offer for Javier and I.
“I am now looking forward to playing in England. It’s a great challenge and we are both aware of the great tradition behind the West Ham colours.”
Their arrival is the most stunning English club deal since Tottenham’s capture of Argentina stars Ossie Ardiles and Ricky Villa after the 1978 World Cup.
It is understood West Ham paid only £1million to sign them for one year. They are then available for a joint £30m if all parties agree.
The players’ registrations are part-owned by Media Sports Investment, who also own Corinthians.
MSI is headed by Iranian-born tycoon Kia Joorabchian who made an unsuccessful £70m bid to buy the Hammers last year.
http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2006400462,00.html
snake_lover
01-09-2006, 10:28 AM
I can't believe this deal!!!
Totally unbelievable!!!
To think i tot tis is a scene from the latest Football Manager 2006!!!
West Ham with Tevez & Mascherano!! Unbelievable!!
the word to use is 'un****inbelievable'!! plus its not april fools day, but teachers' day :o
wadsad
01-09-2006, 10:37 AM
congrats man... fm06 diff... masch wil go man u and tevez wil go chelsea :D
i50000
02-09-2006, 12:14 AM
http://i86.photobucket.com/albums/k118/lomas1/espn-westham.gif
It has started arleady.....
:)
snake_lover
02-09-2006, 08:39 AM
thanks for all the well wishes, after all the euphoria has died down, i guessed many would like to know what going on behind and speculating frantically..its seems as if a takeover is imminet. overall, we would like people to invest in our club but not in a way lose the culture and soul of our club aka chelski.
MSI investor Kia Joorabchian told BBC Radio Five Live on Thursday: "MSI is a company that will not invest in European football as such by investing in a club, so that speculation is out for sure."
Joorabchian did admit that potential takeover talks last year served as helping build the relationship which led to the Hammers signing Tevez and Mascherano.
"Last year we spoke a lot with West Ham because we were looking at making potential investments which we never did," he added.
"We had a very good relationship with the chairman Terry Brown and Paul Aldridge.
"That relationship continued like a friendship and when this came about we started to speak and here you have it.
"You have two of the best players in the world playing in a big fantastic club."
and another
In an interview with BBC Radio Five Live, Joorabchian admitted that he would "not be going back to São Paulo" because of a fear of the backlash among Corinthians fans unhappy at losing their two biggest stars.
It was confirmed yesterday that Joorabchian has withdrawn his investment from Corinthians and "forfeited" his shares in Media Sports Investment, the company that has specialised in buying up ownership of players and into clubs. The backers for MSI have long been shrouded in mystery, although Roman Abramovich, the Chelsea owner, is not involved.
Although Joorabchian still has links with the company through Tevez and Mascherano, he is expected to raise the capital for his takeover through alternative investors. A source close to him said: "Kia is not in a financial position to buy West Ham, but he knows a lot of investors and should he decided to declare an interest would have no shortage of backers."
West Ham are a plc but they are not listed and shares are traded privately by individuals. The majority shareholder is chairman Terry Brown, an accountant, who owns more than 90 per cent of the stock, and historically the Cearns and Hills families also have an interest although it is unclear how much they actually own. The club have around £20m of debt and the value of the stadium, the Chadwell Heath training ground and playing staff has been estimated at between £45m and £60m.
Having brought two of the brightest young players in the world to West Ham, Joorabchian would be unlikely to find the same level of fans' opposition encountered by the Glazer family at Manchester United. There has been widespread opposition to Brown, who has long suggested he would sell up to the right buyer.
In his interview with Five Live, Joorabchian said he had developed a "friendship" with Brown and managing director Paul Aldridge during talks over a proposed takeover a year ago. Joorabchian has made efforts in the last 24 hours to distance himself from the exiled Russian oligarch Boris Berezovsky and other Russian investors and seems to have launched a public relations campaign.
Admitting he would not go back to Brazil and wished to stay in London with his mother, after the death of his father, Joorabchian said his interest in West Ham was long-standing.
"When I sat down with the boys [Tevez and Mascherano] I explained about the interest from Manchester United, Arsenal, Real Madrid, Inter Milan and Chelsea," he said. "Then I explained about West Ham and the growth of clubs like West Ham. I explained to them about West Ham and they knew about it because Lionel Scaloni had played there. I had a very open conversation.
"They thought about my logic about going to West Ham and West Ham's logic and the way the club has a very deep history. A great club with fanatical supporters like they are used to. It is important they are playing in the Uefa Cup. Tevez loves challenges, he loved the challenge at Corinthians and we went on to win championships.
"You never know in football whether they will stay three, four, five years. What is important is how the success of the two boys goes during the season. All this will have an effect on how they continue.
"But we are in an era of transfers where clubs like West Ham can do deal like this without having to have billions in the bank or without being Chelsea or Manchester United."
if they never tried investing in our club, they must have leased the players to us? All in all, even if these players had a short stay at our club, they must have raised our club profile on a world scale, and helped in our performances on the pitch etc I could only see benefits. Still its a sight to see some sourgrapes supporting 'big' clubs who can't believe that their club lost to west ham in securing the 2 players. They include among their speculation, irrelevant terms like pardew is a sh!t manager, west ham being a prostitute, tevez/mascherano being verons/klebersons (even before they kicked a ball at west ham) , selling cygan is the best transfers, just reeks of jealousy and anger.
Globe
02-09-2006, 12:51 PM
who is still ****ting their pants .. cant wait for next week :D
spykid
02-09-2006, 06:14 PM
Happy for you guys. EPL will certainly be more exciting now.
And pls, return Mascherano back to us when the season ends :D
snake_lover
03-09-2006, 05:50 PM
Happy for you guys. EPL will certainly be more exciting now.
And pls, return Mascherano back to us when the season ends :D
Manchester United turned down the opportunity to sign Argentine midfielder Javier Mascherano on two occasions during the summer.
On Thursday Mascherano, 22, along with striker Carlos Tevez, 22, signed for West Ham from Corinthians of Brazil on permanent deals for undisclosed fees.
"We were never interested in Tevez," United chief executive David Gill told BBC Five Live's Sportsweek programme.
"We were also offered Mascherano, but we didn't want to go for him."
Gill added: "We were offered Mascherano for a significant sum at the start of the summer and also last week on a loan deal.
"We had watched him last season, but the manager and his staff didn't want to pursue him.
"While he is clearly a very good player it was decided he wasn't required at the club."
but SAF is not interested in him :o, reckon our ex-hammer carrick will do a job for u guys though :D
snake_lover
05-09-2006, 05:48 PM
http://img214.imageshack.us/img214/577/71784597ld4.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
snake_lover
05-09-2006, 05:49 PM
Pardew: Deal too good to turn down
West Ham boss Alan Pardew insists the chance to sign Argentinian duo Carlos Tevez and Javier Mascherano was an opportunity not to be missed.
http://www.teamtalk.com/football/story/0,16368,2483_1474002,00.html
audio http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/video_and_audio/help_guide/4304501.stm
snake_lover
05-09-2006, 05:50 PM
Firm offer lured us to Hammers - Tevez
Carlos Tevez admits the fact West Ham made a "firm offer" lured him to Upton Park, while Javier Mascherano felt "loved" by the Hammers.
http://www.teamtalk.com/football/story/0,16368,2483_1474168,00.html
spykid
05-09-2006, 10:59 PM
LOL just a question with no offence, do you guys really believe Tevez and Mascherano meant that? Be honest :)
snake_lover
05-09-2006, 11:53 PM
LOL just a question with no offence, do you guys really believe Tevez and Mascherano meant that? Be honest :)
i would take everything with a pinch of salt like any other news i read. there are so many contradicting/negative reports cooked up by journalists purely on their own speculations and assumptions just to attract readers. i prefer to judge them when they start playing on the pitch.
Anyway, just being curious, do you totally believe david gill when he said mascherano is not required at manu? if given a choice of fletcher or mascherano, who would you choose?
ViLLaRox
06-09-2006, 12:38 AM
i would take everything with a pinch of salt like any other news i read. there are so many contradicting/negative reports cooked up by journalists purely on their own speculations and assumptions just to attract readers. i prefer to judge them when they start playing on the pitch.
Anyway, just being curious, do you totally believe david gill when he said mascherano is not required at manu? if given a choice of fletcher or mascherano, who would you choose?
so u are suggesting that david gill do want mascherano and yet got snubbed by him. no disrespect to west ham but wouldnt that be wierd.. the whole thing is quite confusing with so much strange decisions.
snake_lover
06-09-2006, 01:45 AM
yah, i've got tired of the whole affair too, so i chose to let their football do the talking to judge whether they are committed to the cause or just treating west ham as stopover.
Over here, http://sport.independent.co.uk/football/premiership/article1362677.ece , the agent who brokered the deal claimed that he had only spoke to west ham. if what he says is true, david gil would be lying, Or if what david gill said is true, the agent would be spouting nonsense.
david gill doesn't have the need to come out and clarify the situation. i guessed his intention is to appease incensed fans who thought they had lost out on a long time target by saying mascherano is not required. imo, if the agent really approached him, the more likely reason is that he had baulked at the asking price and possible inclusion of tevez in the deal. he couldn't have admit that they couldn't afford him, could he?? but that is my opinion only, no one really knows as there are too many things about this transfer that we do not know..
spykid
06-09-2006, 12:34 PM
There were reports Masherano and Tevez were offered to the big EPL clubs in United, Chelsea and Arse. All 3 rejected it. Even Portsmouth who were interested in taking the duo on board decided to drop the idea. Why? Because the deal is dodgy and sceptical enough.
They were offered by MSI to buy them for a significant sum of money or a loan deal, but there were apparently reported terms and conditions to comply. Like image and commercial rights where clubs are not allowed to sell jerseys with their names on it etc. Clubs are hold to ransom whereby they are forced to sell when a buyer meets the sell-on clause, etc etc. It makes sense to reject this deal where MSI have all the say in this.
And what does it have to do with David Gill and Manchester United? Funny why you lot like to bring Manchester United into play. It happen in the barcodes forum, and now here.
snake_lover
06-09-2006, 01:58 PM
I haven't read what happened in the barcodes forum. I get what you are saying, but my point here is that nobody really knows what's really happening except a few details, thus we shouldn't believe everything those reports say. There are one thousand and and one conspiracy theories out there, and the one that you have stated is just one of them. The first point you've stated is logical, commonsense tells u the deal is dodgy. I couldn't deny there's the possibility.
The part about the club not being to sell jerseys with the players name on it is purely fabrication as people often buy the jersey first then decide to print whatever name they like on the jersey.
Regarding the sell on clause, i guess the west ham directors have done their homework to agree a deal that is suitable for both parties. The release clause must be a hefty sum which not many cllubs could afford if it exists, thus they still have the possibility to stay on at west ham. every player in spain had to have a release clause in their contratcs, i'm sure the clubs are not hold to ransom and have agreed clauses suitable for both parties.
no, it doesn't concern david gill that much, i'm just drawing an anology. I suppose if you have read Chelski's and William Gallas versions of their views, you would know both views contradict each other. Who is to believe who? u may have cast your doubts if what they players said etc "loved by the club" is true, well, we all know new players will try to say somethings positive about the club when they just joined to endear themselves the their fans, just like everyone else, it ma be a PR stunt for all we know..:s13: my point all the while being no one really knows as there are too many things about this transfer that we do not know, and that we should take everything with a pinch of SALT :D
snake_lover
07-09-2006, 08:17 PM
At the heart of the transfer was 'super agent' Pini Zahavi, who has close connections with West Ham and who was used by the club as their agent. Zahavi told me that Chelsea were never interested in Tevez and Mascherano, though Jose Mourinho went with Zahavi to Sao Paulo to see the players when their former club, Corinthians, played River Plate.
Three months ago Manchester United showed some interest in Mascherano (though not Tevez), but nothing materialised. Their interest revived a couple of days before the West Ham deal was done but by then, Zahavi says, it was too late. Mascherano did not want to go to Old Trafford.
full article here
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/main.jhtml?xml=/sport/2006/09/07/sfnbos07.xml
cutter
09-09-2006, 11:27 PM
http://www.football365.com/story/0,17033,8652_1483449,00.html
DJURGARDENS SWEET ON SHERI
Posted 09/09/06 14:18
Swedish Allsvenskan champions Djurgardens are preparing to make a swoop for West Ham's veteran striker Teddy Sheringham.
The 40 year-old former England international, who spent time on loan with Djurgardens in 1985 while at Millwall, faces tough competition at Upton Park following the recent acquisition of Argentina international Carlos Tevez.
And Djurgardens director Bo Anderson has revealed the Allsvenskan side are considering the possibility.
"It's not a long-term solution, but it would be a spectacular transfer. He knows us, there are people at the club who were here when he played for us," Anderson told FotbollDirekt.com.
Wah strange man... :D it'll be some kind of record for Teddy to return to a club he played for 21 years ago :D
freedom22
12-09-2006, 05:30 PM
Well... Both Tevez and Mascherano are good players in their previous playing grounds but players do have certain difficulties in adjusting new playing style... So let's juz be patient and hope they can show their best!
snake_lover
24-09-2006, 01:25 PM
some of the players in the team really needs a wake up call :s22:
hmm it seem strange since Tevez and Mascherano join the club, west ham have yet to win a match. :s22:
Globe
29-09-2006, 09:20 PM
hope the hammers pick up soon ... yossi is not starting alot of matches recently
he didnt pick up a injury or wat right ... he is our most potent weapon going forward and his work rate is top too ..
cutter
01-10-2006, 10:57 PM
Another defeat... at home to Reading sommor... the arrival of the Argies have really put a curse on the Hammers :(
yellowsubmarine
02-10-2006, 12:38 AM
A dream turning into a nightmare.
Get well soon Hammers.
martinweng
02-10-2006, 06:18 PM
Another defeat... at home to Reading sommor... the arrival of the Argies have really put a curse on the Hammers :(
is the truth behind the transfers of mascherano and tevez a secret west ham is willing to get relegated for?
Confess now, before its too late. ;)
Globe
14-10-2006, 11:15 AM
com'on hammers .. time to turn the tide tonite !!!!
seems like we just lost out ast manager ...
a1v1n_
14-10-2006, 12:12 PM
West Ham's Ferdinand arrested over alleged assault
LONDON, Oct 13 (Reuters) - West Ham United defender Anton Ferdinand has been arrested after an alleged assault outside a nightclub in east London.
The 21-year-old younger brother of England international Rio was formally arrested when he attended a police station on Thursday. The alleged assault took place early on October 2.
A Scotland Yard spokesman 'a man in his 20s' had been bailed until next month.
'We were called to a disturbance outside a nightclub and a subsequent allegation of assault was reported to police,' a police spokesman said on Friday.
'A man in his 20s attended an east London police station in connection with the allegation. He has been arrested on suspicion of assault and bailed to return on a date in November, pending further inquiries.'
Ferdinand was part of England's Under-21 team which beat Germany 3-0 on aggregate on Tuesday to reach the European Under-21 championship next year.
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id=385030&cc=4716
not very good news. :(
Globe
24-10-2006, 01:31 PM
hai ...... sad few months for us ...
snake_lover
24-10-2006, 05:03 PM
yet another game lost without scoring a goal
AhHuat
24-10-2006, 05:25 PM
the argies are nothing but jinx.
good luck hammers.....i dun really wish to see hammers in div1 again....
cutter
05-11-2006, 11:31 PM
Back to back 1-0 wins! Back to basics is the way to go!
RuMmYtUb
05-11-2006, 11:34 PM
Congrats on the 3 points.
Sheringham rox!
cutter
05-11-2006, 11:35 PM
is the truth behind the transfers of mascherano and tevez a secret west ham is willing to get relegated for?
Confess now, before its too late. ;)
Pot calling kettle. At least WHU are not a self-declared "big club", my son.
cutter
05-11-2006, 11:41 PM
Congrats on the 3 points.
Sheringham rox!
Ya man! From the moment he was subbed in, his touch and passing was first class... really carved open Arsenal with his through passes and positioning... no need to huff and puff when he has the ability to anticipate and find space and pick out the runs of younger team-mates. Also showed some pai-kianess with his langah on Lehmann :s13:
snake_lover
18-11-2006, 11:20 AM
chelsea next!
cutter
21-11-2006, 08:41 PM
MAGNUSSON GIVES PARDEW BACKING
Posted 21/11/06 07:03
The Icelandic businessman behind the takeover of West Ham has vowed to bring the good times back to the club - and to keep faith with manager Alan Pardew.
Eggert Magnusson, who is due to take over as chairman in a couple of weeks, also said he would explore the "long-term possibility" of West Ham eventually moving to the 2012 Olympic stadium.
The club announced to the Stock Exchange on Tuesday morning that their main shareholders including chairman Terry Brown had agreed a price for the sale - £85million plus an agreement to take on West Ham's £22.5million debt.
Magnusson, 59, said: "I am both delighted and honoured that Terry Brown and his colleagues wish to support our offer for West Ham. We can now end the uncertainty of recent weeks and move forward into the next phase of development of this great club, with Alan Pardew leading our efforts on the pitch.
"I will also be continuing talks with Alan Pardew on how he sees the future on the playing side. This is very much his domain and he has my full confidence and support."
Magnusson also said funds would be made available for new signings in the January transfer window.
He added: "I will be continuing talks with Alan Pardew on how he sees the future on the playing side. This is very much his domain and he has my full confidence and support.
"He already knows that funds will be made available for the January transfer window but we need to discuss his needs and the investment that might be required to strengthen the squad."
Regarding a possible move to the Olympic Stadium, Magnusson added: "In terms of the club's location we are buying what we see, which is West Ham United at Upton Park.
"However, if there is an opportunity to discuss a long-term move to the Olympic Stadium I would like to explore that, recognising that there will also need to be an athletics legacy from the London 2012 Olympic Games."
Magnusson insisted there was "genuine excitement about what the club could achieve" and praised billonairae financier Bjorgolfur Gudmundsson's role in the takeover.
He added: "The main financial supporter of our bid, Mr Bjorgolfur Gudmundsson, has given me full backing and responsibility to take the club forward. He and I have known each other through football for many years and we share a passion for the game, particularly here in England.
"Mr Gudmundsson's commitment to the club is vital and he also believes that we can build something very special here at West Ham.
"There is a genuine excitement in the club about what we can achieve together, which I hope the fans will share.
"This club has so much to be proud of and I want everyone who loves and supports the club to bring their pride and passion to help build this next stage of West Ham's future."
Magnusson also said he is keen to maintain West Ham's reputation for passing football.
He added: "As we move forward we must not forget the club's great traditions, particularly in the training and development of young English players.
"All the way back to 1966 and the World Cup winning team of Bobby Moore, Geoff Hurst and Martin Peters, this is something that I have admired about the club. I am very committed to protecting and growing this part of the club's work."
And the chairman-in-waiting believes there may be "some positive advantages" to him retaining a role within UEFA.
He said: "I intend to stand down as president of the Icelandic FA at the next congress in February.
"In terms of the UEFA executive committee, I need to reflect about my position going forward, but I can see some positive advantages in remaining a part of UEFA.
"However, I have not made a final decision and I intend to consulate my UEFA colleagues over the next few weeks."
Now that Kia Joorabchian has lost out on buying the Hammers, how long will it be before Tevez and Mascherano leave Upton Park?
snake_lover
12-12-2006, 01:03 AM
pardew gets sacked..not very surprised as the way we have been performing were nothing but awfully bad. the only surprising thing is that the speed of the new owners as they have said they will give pardew time. so 2 weeks is all pardew's got. kind of feel sad for him as he has done much to turn this club around from the championship to last seasons great performance. last season's route to the fa cup final was one of the most memorable highlights from him, together with the victoriess against arsenal, we were the last team to beat arsenal at highbury..somehow i feel the players had let him down this season. they didn't perform up to standards, and pards seems to have run of of ideas. our strikeforce were ineffective and our defence almost inexistent. players that under performed remainin the team week in week out..as much i 've liked pardew, a change is inevitable as i can't see our performance improving..
maxmuzzer00
13-12-2006, 06:08 PM
sometimes when new owner comes in, they want to do things in their own way.
Kiwi8
13-12-2006, 06:14 PM
West Ham had better appoint a good manager to replace Alan Pardew, otherwise it is definitely going under liao... :s22:
snake_lover
23-12-2006, 12:39 AM
good start under the curbishley era...fulham next!
snake_lover
06-01-2007, 02:16 PM
West Ham United have completed the signing of Portuguese international Luis Boa Morte from Fulham for an undisclosed fee.
The 29-year-old winger agreed personal terms at Upton Park yesterday afternoon and passed his medical last night before putting pen to paper on a three-and-a-half year contract with the Club.
The former Arsenal and Southampton star becomes Alan Curbishley's first signing as Hammers boss and will go straight into the squad for Saturday's FA Cup third round clash against Brighton & Hove Albion.
Born in Lisbon in August 1977, Luis began his professional career with his hometown club, Sporting Lisbon, in 1996, but spent just one season there before moving to England at the age of 19 to join the Gunners in June 1997 for a fee of 1.75million.
In two seasons at Highbury, he made 40 league and cup appearances under Arsene Wenger but, after growing frustrated at his lack of first-team opportunities, was allowed to join Southampton in a £500,000 deal in August 1999.
After spending just one season with the Saints, he moved to Fulham in a season-long loan deal in the summer of 2000 and helped the Londoners win the old First Division Championship in May 2001, scoring the goal against Huddersfield that clinched promotion to the Premiership, before completing a permanent £1.7million transfer to Craven Cottage that summer.
In the same year he won a call-up to Portugal's national team, making his international debut in a 4-0 defeat against France, and has since gone on to win 25 caps for his country, scoring two goals. He was a member of the Portuguese squad that reached the semi-finals of the World Cup in Germany last summer, appearing as a substitute in a 2-1 Group D victory over Mexico.
After establishing himself as a firm favourite among the Fulham fans, Luis was appointed the club's captain last season following the departure of Lee Clark, and has since earned a reputation as one of the Premiership's most exciting attackers. He missed just four league matches in the 2005-06 campaign and has again been one of Fulham's key performers this season.
http://www.whufc.com/articles/article.php?page_id=8643
Globe
23-01-2007, 12:38 PM
busy month for us .... come'on hammers!!!!!
let's climb out of the sh*t hole
usjag_18
31-01-2007, 08:58 AM
Seriously, I think the BIGGEST problem which WHUFC having now is NOT manager's problem or the problem of the chairman/owner!
The BIGGEST problem is they need a goalkeeper who's performance shld be stable and able to command the back of the defense... I don't think R.Green or R.Carroll is the guy... Dat's my opinion.... Wad do you Hammers supporters think?? Dun be so quiet leh...
Globe
12-02-2007, 10:06 PM
i guess we were too fortunate with injuries last season ... and it's coming back to hunt us .
can't believe the rate our players are going to the treatment table....
AnekiGX
12-02-2007, 10:48 PM
Seriously, I think the BIGGEST problem which WHUFC having now is NOT manager's problem or the problem of the chairman/owner!
The BIGGEST problem is they need a goalkeeper who's performance shld be stable and able to command the back of the defense... I don't think R.Green or R.Carroll is the guy... Dat's my opinion.... Wad do you Hammers supporters think?? Dun be so quiet leh...
Roy Carroll is in bad shape, just like the rest of the team is. Ditto about Robert Green but it appears that he's not doing half as bad as Roy Carroll before he got rolled out due to injuries. @_@
The players are just not working hard enough. Curbisley said the players knows that the situation is very serious blahblahblah but do they? If so, why are their performances still so torrid?? That 6-0 whipping they got from Reading was especially traumatising. It's such a shame, but the players are obviously thick-skinned enough to ignore it and still play as if their opponents are primary school kids! >.<
Marlon Harewood even missed a friggin penalty kick. That was such a chance to at least grab a point! Goodness sake.
I take back my words from my earlier post. I mean, if this is the players' kind of attitude, they will definitely get relegated and they do do so deserve it because not only are they hurting the club's prospects, they are also hurting their fans!
I really hope they buck up soon --- hopefully they will beat Charlton. :(
snake_lover
25-02-2007, 09:54 PM
to lose to the 2 sides below us in consecutive matches really says it all...curbishley seems to have given up and we are going nowhere but only down..:(
From curbs self defeating post match interview..
"Before I got here West Ham had lost 13 out of 16 games and eight on the spin, and I've not been able to change that," he said. "One win from 11 is just not good enough and no matter what I throw up, it's just not good enough.
"You come in, you try and change things - but I've not managed to impose myself on the team. The people I've brought in haven't managed to impose themselves on the team either because they can't stay fit, and it's been a very difficult time.
"It's going to be extremely tough now. We've had two opportunities in recent weeks against Watford and Charlton and haven't taken them. We're on the receiving end of it at the moment and we don't look as if we're going to get out of it.
"I knew it would be tough to change it around when I took the job, but I haven't managed to do that. I've looked from afar at managers under pressure - and now I realise what it's like.
"I'm not enjoying it one minute; I'm not enjoying it at all."
Songbird
25-02-2007, 09:55 PM
going down with the watford.
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.