PDA

View Full Version : Newcastle United - Toontalk

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109

acchhhoooo
17-11-2003, 02:13 PM
Originally posted by dreamer75

ya lor...oni 10 mil pounds (?) funds...

so if we get Kapo or Jimenez at discounted prices..we shld be happy....better than go for Div 1, 2 or 3 players rite?

sigh... with only 10mil pounds.. who do you guys think we can/should get???

yenyenpark
17-11-2003, 02:34 PM
Originally posted by acchhhoooo

interesting.... i would not mind if we sold off bellamy and get someone more creative.... currently our attacks very predictable.... someone maybe like roy makaay...

how much do u think he can fetch us?? 25 millions?? if so... no problem... roma can have him immediately... money moeny... =p

yenyenpark
17-11-2003, 02:37 PM

sigh... with only 10mil pounds.. who do you guys think we can/should get???

we got Woodgate from the 10 millions... tat's all... we can get Southgate in decent price but SBR and Sheperd dun wan... :( :mad:

we can't get many players as we faced increment of wages from our fellow players too... with no selling at all... how to buy?? :rolleyes:

yenyenpark
17-11-2003, 02:38 PM

from the start...i alr dun have a gd feeling having him in our team...not reliable at all....

sign European players lah...we like to go for South American players...dunno y....

at least that time Asprilla is gd..:)

asprilla got many critics during his time too...

dreamer75
17-11-2003, 02:41 PM
Originally posted by yenyenpark

how much do u think he can fetch us?? 25 millions?? if so... no problem... roma can have him immediately... money moeny... =p

actually they have financial problems too....dunno y so many palyers can be linked to them..:confused:

dreamer75
17-11-2003, 02:42 PM

asprilla got many critics during his time too...

at least he scored for us...not like Acuna...:alien:

acchhhoooo
17-11-2003, 02:48 PM

actually they have financial problems too....dunno y so many palyers can be linked to them..:confused:

link only mah.... no need money one... =p
anyway, all these big clubs can always get financing one... they sure to have some rich person behind them one... eg juve has the prime minister of Italy as their financier, Real Madrid have the city behind them...

dreamer75
17-11-2003, 02:50 PM

link only mah.... no need money one... =p
anyway, all these big clubs can always get financing one... they sure to have some rich person behind them one... eg juve has the prime minister of Italy as their financier, Real Madrid have the city behind them...

correction....that is AC Milan not Juve :)

acchhhoooo
17-11-2003, 02:54 PM

do we need so high a value for him?? anyways, while i dun think that bellamy is rated very highly, he should be able to fetch at least 10mil???

with that and the 10 mil that stingy shepherd managed to cough up, we should be able to get some good players if we spend it wisely....

i wonder if Robson thought abt getting danny mills... England int'l out of favour with club leh...

acchhhoooo
17-11-2003, 02:56 PM

correction....that is AC Milan not Juve :)

oh.. thanks.. but i thought juve also got some big figure behind them??

dreamer75
17-11-2003, 03:08 PM

oh.. thanks.. but i thought juve also got some big figure behind them??

not that i know of...:)

demouse
17-11-2003, 03:31 PM

yes, roma in deep financial problems. we've no $ to pay for players' salary so count roma out :(

i declare any players that link to roma is a rumous :angel:

edhorizon
17-11-2003, 05:14 PM

not that i know of...:)

maffia...

Fresnel
17-11-2003, 06:16 PM
i think we shld get Bergkamp....he shldn't cost much for his age, but his distribution of play is fantastic...my all-time fav player! and poor lulu kana target by SBR...shld go lar he, prove his worth and let SBR bang balls....i think lulu has got good potential

yenyenpark
18-11-2003, 09:26 AM
Originally posted by Fresnel
i think we shld get Bergkamp....he shldn't cost much for his age, but his distribution of play is fantastic...my all-time fav player! and poor lulu kana target by SBR...shld go lar he, prove his worth and let SBR bang balls....i think lulu has got good potential

am i hearing it correctly?? i dun see Arsenal will see any tat kind of players to us...

even Seaman, they are unwillingly released... yet to say Bergkamp...

martinweng
18-11-2003, 10:41 AM
yea...its time we sign some petition to SBR and tell him to start gettin results;)

yenyenpark
18-11-2003, 05:09 PM
Originally posted by martinweng
yea...its time we sign some petition to SBR and tell him to start gettin results;)

unless there is better candidate tat available for us.. else i dun see the point...

martinweng
18-11-2003, 08:01 PM

unless there is better candidate tat available for us.. else i dun see the point...

my petition is not to sack SBR

but Shepherd!

Fresnel
18-11-2003, 08:57 PM
damned chao kuang man arsenal....good stuff like bergkamp warm bench onli....

ZhiQiang
20-11-2003, 12:36 AM
:jump:

dreamer75
20-11-2003, 07:44 PM
yah...he shld b a gd buy...

November 20, 2003

Newcastle United are being linked with a January bid for Chelsea striker Eidur Gudjohnsen.

Boss Sir Bobby Robson is said to be ready to offer £5 million for the Icelander, who he sees as a readymade replacement for crock Craig Bellamy.

Robson is keen to add firepower to his squad in January as Newcastle attempt to win a Champions League place for next season.

dreamer75
20-11-2003, 07:46 PM
November 20, 2003

Midfielder Lee Bowyer insists Newcastle United will bounce back from last week's humiliation at Chelsea.

"People think that, because we are players, what happened at Chelsea doesn't hurt us," he said. "But they are wrong, it does hurt.

"It hurts us as much as anyone else, if not more. We were the ones out there on the pitch who were made to look stupid and it was really hard to take. Chelsea killed us and, on the way home, we were all sitting thinking `what happened there?'

"The manner of that defeat was deeply disappointing and we have had a long time to think about it. But all we can do is concentrate on our next game, stay positive and prepare ourselves properly.

"A big gap has developed between the top three and the rest. But, although nobody thinks we can challenge, you can never say never in football and that result has made us even more determined to succeed. If we could put another good run together we have got every chance of climbing up there and who knows what might happen after that? There is such a gap now that we're relying on the top three losing games.

"The Premiership is a very open league and you do get unexpected results but it would take a lot of upsets for us to challenge for the league now. We cannot think about that, though, we just need to keep going."

martinweng
21-11-2003, 09:59 AM
yah...he shld b a gd buy...

November 20, 2003

Newcastle United are being linked with a January bid for Chelsea striker Eidur Gudjohnsen.

Boss Sir Bobby Robson is said to be ready to offer £5 million for the Icelander, who he sees as a readymade replacement for crock Craig Bellamy.

Robson is keen to add firepower to his squad in January as Newcastle attempt to win a Champions League place for next season.

u see niao-castle lor...see they will buy anot lor...anithing more than 2m they scrimp...

if they buy gudjohnsen, i promise nv to bet against newcastle...

aniway fans, dun haf high hopes on this rumour...for u and i noe, our dear club darn "niao"( niao in hokkien means stingy)

martinweng
21-11-2003, 10:00 AM
November 20, 2003

Midfielder Lee Bowyer insists Newcastle United will bounce back from last week's humiliation at Chelsea.

"People think that, because we are players, what happened at Chelsea doesn't hurt us," he said. "But they are wrong, it does hurt.

"It hurts us as much as anyone else, if not more. We were the ones out there on the pitch who were made to look stupid and it was really hard to take. Chelsea killed us and, on the way home, we were all sitting thinking `what happened there?'

"The manner of that defeat was deeply disappointing and we have had a long time to think about it. But all we can do is concentrate on our next game, stay positive and prepare ourselves properly.

"A big gap has developed between the top three and the rest. But, although nobody thinks we can challenge, you can never say never in football and that result has made us even more determined to succeed. If we could put another good run together we have got every chance of climbing up there and who knows what might happen after that? There is such a gap now that we're relying on the top three losing games.

"The Premiership is a very open league and you do get unexpected results but it would take a lot of upsets for us to challenge for the league now. We cannot think about that, though, we just need to keep going."

hurts me to see u @ st. james park...

somemore u dun produce the form b4 u bcome pai kia..

yenyenpark
21-11-2003, 10:08 AM

u see niao-castle lor...see they will buy anot lor...anithing more than 2m they scrimp...

if they buy gudjohnsen, i promise nv to bet against newcastle...

aniway fans, dun haf high hopes on this rumour...for u and i noe, our dear club darn "niao"( niao in hokkien means stingy)

buy him... if can buy... of course good.. but we are no kids...

yenyenpark
21-11-2003, 10:09 AM

hurts me to see u @ st. james park...

somemore u dun produce the form b4 u bcome pai kia..

i dun like him too... but his performance is decent... or being much better... which i have to admit...

martinweng
21-11-2003, 10:24 AM

buy him... if can buy... of course good.. but we are no kids...

aiya...all rumours...nothing comes..

acchhhoooo
21-11-2003, 12:17 PM
November 20, 2003

the big gap is not because of anything but because of funding... no money to improve the squad... i mean look at chelsea, the only reason they are where they are now is because of the 100 mil pounds that the russian spent...

sigh.. during the off season, all the 3 top clubs spent money... even arsenal who could ill afford to spent money on a keeper... for us... we just got one free transfer player... although i still have to say that i think that bowyer will prove to be a good player for us...

but whatever it is Fat Freddy better start spending before the gap gets even wider... personally, i think that we at least need a warchest of 15-20 mil pounds to even strengthen the squad to challenge for 4th place..

yenyenpark
21-11-2003, 01:22 PM

the big gap is not because of anything but because of funding... no money to improve the squad... i mean look at chelsea, the only reason they are where they are now is because of the 100 mil pounds that the russian spent...

sigh.. during the off season, all the 3 top clubs spent money... even arsenal who could ill afford to spent money on a keeper... for us... we just got one free transfer player... although i still have to say that i think that bowyer will prove to be a good player for us...

but whatever it is Fat Freddy better start spending before the gap gets even wider... personally, i think that we at least need a warchest of 15-20 mil pounds to even strengthen the squad to challenge for 4th place..

not only money.. but some problem with Solano thing... and of course... we are not mature enuff... not like a champ team..

we are too soft after beaten once... and continue being head down till we win one... which is very very bad..

acchhhoooo
21-11-2003, 01:56 PM

not only money.. but some problem with Solano thing... and of course... we are not mature enuff... not like a champ team..

we are too soft after beaten once... and continue being head down till we win one... which is very very bad..

well... i dun know abt the solano thingy... i mean, its difficult to say about maturity of management... even Man U offloaded their best players when they are beyond the management control... SBR repeatedly told solano to withdraw from the peruvian team but he still insists on going... we all know that our team lacks players of quality already and when Solano goes halfway round the world to take part in the national team, he wun be able to get back and play for us...

yenyenpark
21-11-2003, 02:45 PM
so got live for our Newcastle vs man C match this weekend or not??

Fresnel
21-11-2003, 03:07 PM
confirm don't have...check ESPN Star for TV Times. Anyway they already show Man C vS NewC at start of season....

I not supportive of buying another striker. We have Lulu and Ameobi whom i think are good enuff to worth a shot at 1st team...and we have the up and coming Chopra...buying more strikers will only impede the advancement of our home bred strikers (Ameobi)....i say offload Titus Shambles and get a new defender though i seriously think nobody would want him. I've seen Ambrose play before also, i quite like him....the McManaman style type....

bottom line, rid us of Shambles, Ahkoo Hughes (as pronounced in WE7 :P) and Pinnochio O'Brien and get us some good defenders!!

acchhhoooo
21-11-2003, 03:26 PM
i feel that we also need a good holding midfielder... some one who can command the midfield and also win the ball back even at the midfield... some one strong and tenacious....

our wings are already quite good already with dyer on the right, robert on the left... center got bowyer, jenas,

holding midfielder only gary nospeed only...

yenyenpark
21-11-2003, 04:32 PM
i feel that we also need a good holding midfielder... some one who can command the midfield and also win the ball back even at the midfield... some one strong and tenacious....

our wings are already quite good already with dyer on the right, robert on the left... center got bowyer, jenas,

holding midfielder only gary nospeed only...

yup... agree... some defensive mid field... should be okay.. but i still prefer defender...

dreamer75
21-11-2003, 04:57 PM
at least we have a gd leeper..

Shay Europe's No 1 keeper (http://icnewcastle.icnetwork.co.uk/newcastleunited/news/content_objectid=13643057_method=full_siteid=50081_headline=-Shay%2DEurope%2Ds%2DNo%2D1%2Dkeeper-name_page.html)

dreamer75
21-11-2003, 05:01 PM
http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/39573000/gif/_39573159_newcas_2003_150.gif

St James' Park
Saturday, 22 November
Kick-off: 1500 GMT
Referee:

Neale Barry (Lincolnshire)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Team news will appear here.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

BIG-MATCH FACTS

NEWCASTLE UNITED against Manchester City pits two former England managers against each other in Sir Bobby Robson and Kevin Keegan. It also sees the latter returning to St James' Park where he was in charge for five years from February 1992. Over that period Keegan took the Magpies into the Premiership and guided them to a second and a third place finish.

The Tynesiders' revival after an inauspicious start and failure to make the group stages of the Champions League has come to a grinding halt. Following successive victories over Southampton (h), Middlesbrough (a), Fulham (a) and Portsmouth (h), the Black and Whites have been held at home by Aston Villa and slumped to their biggest defeat of the season, 5-0 away to Chelsea last time out.

It was the first time Newcastle, who were without eight-goal Alan Shearer, had failed to score in 11 League and Cup games. Only once in the last five meetings between the Magpies and Manchester City has more than a single goal been scored. The Geordies are looking to bag a fourth maximum in six home Premiership matches against the Citizens, and a third League and Cup home win on the trot against them.

MANCHESTER CITY continue to be the Premiership's consistently most inconsistent side. Their last five results in the Premiership have been lost (Wolves a), won (Bolton h), lost (Chelsea a), won (Southampton a) and lost (Leicester h). If that sequence continues, they will win at St James' Park and ironically record a third successive League and Cup victory away from the City of Manchester Stadium.

Both clubs go into the game on the back of heavy defeats. But while Newcastle's was away to high riding Chelsea, City's was an embarrassing 0-3 home defeat to Leicester, who were languishing in the relegation zone at the time.

The Light Blues' only Premiership victory on Tyneside was 0-1 on 24 February 2001 when Shaun Goater was on target. It was City's only win in 18 League visits over 35 years. Keegan's side lost this corresponding fixture 2-0 last season when Alan Shearer scored the fastest goal of the campaign and second fastest goal of all time in the Premiership, clocked at 10.4 seconds.

SEQUENCES/RECENT FORM

NEWCASTLE UNITED

Club stats
10th 16 points
Highest achievable at the final whistle: 6th
Lowest could fall: 11th

One of three clubs to have built the Premiership's longest winning sequence of four matches. The others are Arsenal and Chelsea.
Drawn the last two League and Cup matches at home.
Won two and drawn two home Premiership matches since losing 0-1 to Birmingham on 30 August.
Undefeated in six home matches in all competitions (three wins, three draws).
Most dangerous Premiership side in the middle 15 minute segment of the first half, when they have scored seven times.
MANCHESTER CITY

Club stats
6th 18 points
Highest achievable at the final whistle: 4th
Lowest could fall: 9th

One of two clubs to have lost the lead most often in Premiership games. Both Fulham and Manchester City have been pegged back five times.
Most dangerous in the first and last 15 minute segments of the second half of Premiership matches. Seven goals have been scored in each of those 15-minute periods.

POTENTIAL CAREER MILESTONES

NEWCASTLE UNITED

Squad profiles

Alan SHEARER has scored seven Premier League goals against Manchester City, including last season's quick-fire first minute effort.
If on the field at kick off SHEARER will be making his 450th career League start.
If selected in the eleven, Shoala AMEOBI will be making his 50th start for Newcastle.
If he figures, Steve HARPER will be making his 100th club career appearance.
If selected in the 11, Lomana Tresor LUALUA will be making his 50th career League start and 150th career club appearance.
If he plays, Laurent ROBERT will be making his 100th appearance for the Tynesiders.
MANCHESTER CITY

Squad profiles

Nicolas ANELKA is a double strike away from 50 English League goals.
If he plays, ANELKA will be making his 50th League appearance for Manchester City.

LAST SEASON'S CORRESPONDING GAME:
Newcastle United 2-0 Manchester City
18 January 2003 - Ref: Graham Poll
Newcastle scorers: Shearer 1, Bellamy 64

HEAD TO HEAD TOTALS
League: Newcastle 61 wins, Man City 43, Draws 32
Prem: Newcastle 4 wins, Man City 3, Draws 3

HEAD TO HEAD at Manchester C
League: Newcastle 45 wins, Man City 9, Draws 14
Prem: Newcastle 3 wins, Man City 1, Draws 1

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/eng_prem/3273237.stm

Fresnel
22-11-2003, 11:51 PM
I think Nobby's sure out soon....not even on subs bench!

ZhiQiang
22-11-2003, 11:54 PM
I think Nobby's sure out soon....not even on subs bench!

update here pls... thanx...

dbchoong
23-11-2003, 12:25 AM
Newcastle 1-0 Man City, Ameobi 55th min.

dbchoong
23-11-2003, 12:38 AM
Newcastle 2-0 Man City, Shearer bullet header 77th min.

Based on current scores, Newcastle will move up to 6th in the league as all other teams closest to Newcastle are losing.

:)

dbchoong
23-11-2003, 12:47 AM
Newcastle 3-0 Man City, Shearer's 2nd of the day. Chested in and bounced into the goal. 85th min.

More doom for Leeds as they're trailing Bolton 0-2.

:)

revenant
23-11-2003, 12:50 AM
Originally posted by dbchoong
Newcastle 3-0 Man City, Shearer's 2nd of the day. Chested in and bounced into the goal. 85th min.

You listen to Live Commentary or subscribe to Newcastle World?

argh, Shearer nearly hat-trick!

dbchoong
23-11-2003, 12:56 AM
BBC World Service FM 88.9Mhz.

Full time 3-0 !!

:D

Originally posted by revenant

You listen to Live Commentary or subscribe to Newcastle World?

argh, Shearer nearly hat-trick!

ZhiQiang
23-11-2003, 01:47 AM
yay!!!

i hope our martinweng bought newcastle wor... hehehe

dreamer75
23-11-2003, 01:52 AM
yes!!!

we won 3-0!!

bullet header by Shearer man :cool:

dreamer75
23-11-2003, 01:53 AM
Originally posted by ZhiQiang
yay!!!

i hope our martinweng bought newcastle wor... hehehe

he always like to bet against us :sarcastic

ZhiQiang
23-11-2003, 01:54 AM

he always like to bet against us :sarcastic yah lo... hahaha

dreamer75
23-11-2003, 02:08 AM
PA
Newcastle talisman Alan Shearer brought the perfect end to a perfect day for Tyneside by completing 100 goals under manager Sir Bobby Robson in a 3-0 victory.

Hours after watching Newcastle Falcons star Jonny Wilkinson kick England to victory in the Rugby Union World Cup final, Tyneside's other sporting superstar claimed a double inside the last 13 minutes to finally break Manchester City as the Magpies bounced back from their mauling at Chelsea.

Those two strikes, coupled with Shola Ameobi's 57th-minute opener, were enough to clinch the three points on an afternoon when Newcastle never really hit top form but were more than good enough to see of Kevin Keegan's men.

City strikers Nicolas Anelka and Robbie Fowler barely got a sniff as the returning Jonathan Woodgate and Titus Bramble won their individual battles, but when the chances came at the other end, there was little opposite numbers Sylvain Distin and Richard Dunne could do to rescue their side.

With England boss Sven-Goran Eriksson watching from the stands on a day of celebration for the nation's sporting fraternity, a bumper crowd of 52,159 arrived ready to continue the party.

However, the fare on offer was not the most appetising as both sides struggled to penetrate as defences dominated.

Indeed, the first 45 minutes passed without either Shay Given or David Seaman having to make a genuine save, the result of a combination of good defending and less than effective attacking.

Both sides were guilty of a lack of quality with the final ball with Laurent Robert and Jermaine Jenas in particular too often picking out blue shirts.

Kieron Dyer, restored to the Newcastle line-up after a six-game absence with a hamstring injury, showed flashes of his best, but was understandably rusty, although Woodgate, who had missed 11 matches following surgery on a double hernia, looked as though he had never been away.

Fowler signalled his intent with an early strike which whistled over Given's crossbar, but chances were few and far between at that end of the ground as Bramble and Woodgate did well to contain Fowler and Anelka.

Newcastle created more opportunities, but few of them were clear-cut, Olivier Bernard flashing one effort wide and Ameobi ballooning another over the bar after controlling Woodgate's knock-down on his chest.

However, the home side looked the more potent and Gary Speed passed up a glorious chance to open the scoring two minutes before the break after Robert had headed Bramble's long ball down to Ameobi and then set off in pursuit of the return pass.

The Frenchman drilled a low cross across the six-yard box, where Speed got his foot to it but just could not direct the ball at goal.

Robert took centre stage in the minutes immediately after the break, twice going just wide as Newcastle moved up a gear.

But his side's frustration increased as the game wore on without a breakthrough, although City were offering little in attack and time was on their side.

The deadlock was finally broken with 57 minutes gone after Aaron Hughes dispossessed Fowler in his own half and with the help of Dyer and Speed, fed the ball to Robert.

The former Paris St Germain winger turned away from Sun Jihai and sent a deep cross to the far post where Steve McManaman managed to block Ameobi's initial header but could not prevent the rangy striker from poking the rebound past Seaman and into the net.

City responded by surging forward, although McManaman wasted a good opportunity after Trevor Sinclair had crossed from the right and Joey Barton could not pick out a team-mate after getting free inside the penalty area.

They were made to pay 13 minutes from time when Bernard produced the perfect ball from the left for Shearer to power an unstoppable header past Seaman from point-blank range to wrap up the points.

It could have been even worse for City had Seaman not pulled off a fine double stop 10 minutes from time to deny first Ameobi and then Jermaine Jenas.

But there was little he could do five minutes later when Ameobi headed down Bernard's cross for Shearer and he scrambled the ball home.

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/report?id=108295&cc=4716

dreamer75
23-11-2003, 02:09 AM
Jenas has agreed a new five-year deal that will keep him at Newcastle until 2008. :cool:

dreamer75
23-11-2003, 02:21 AM
With Craig Bellamy struggling with injury, and Shola Ameobi on form, is it worth keeping a striker who may never be get back to his best?

"Should We Sell Bellamy?"

dreamer75
23-11-2003, 02:22 AM
Where Will We Finish This Season?

Top 4 shld be our target :)

martinweng
23-11-2003, 07:49 AM

he always like to bet against us :sarcastic

alrite i lost....but im still happy :)

Fresnel
23-11-2003, 01:58 PM
i'm still skeptical about the win...remember in soccernet's report that the match was rather 'lack of quality'.....until the time NewC can conclusively beat a top flight club in the EPL, we will be nothing close to championship quality...and that's what i am hoping for the club!

dbchoong
23-11-2003, 02:55 PM
Currently, I would say Newcastle are probably #4 in the EPL after the top 3.

As it is right now, I don't think we can mount a serious challenge for the EPL (yet). Even if in January we can pick a couple of good quality players in the transfer market - it'll still be pretty tough.

Maybe someone should convince Bill Gates to buy Newcastle and put in US$23 billion to buy players instead of donating it to charity.... :laugh:

ZhiQiang
23-11-2003, 04:03 PM
yah, i think sbr is also thinking of finishing @ 4th spot to get the last of the cl spot...

but we have one serious competitor... thats liverpool...

liverpool has the strengths although they r not playing well...

well, finish @ 4th is bestest...

martinweng
23-11-2003, 07:12 PM
guys ar...dun dream too much abt 4th spot juz bcoz of 1 win...

dun believe the hype....our dear club is merely winning bcoz its a must-win game....

we sure slump to clubs like liverpool away 1...

and btw, i dun see liverpool taking 4th spot...neither do i see newcastle...

hard to swallow, but right now wif dis kind of squad, we aint gonna make it to 4th spot..

Coolsmurf
23-11-2003, 07:46 PM
if we keep on winning despite not playing well, then we will survive and nick the 4th spot..

dun think the top 3 will lose steam...

Fresnel
23-11-2003, 09:36 PM
I agree with Martin...with our current quality and standing...to reach 4th spot is gonna be tough....and whenever we meet liverpool, michael Owen will be rubbing his hands/legs gleefully.. *yum yum, Nukey time!!*

dreamer75
23-11-2003, 10:38 PM
Keegan and SBR both paise Shearer...

We must thank Keegan for buying Shearer for 15mil pounds dat time...:D

dreamer75
23-11-2003, 10:39 PM
November 23, 2003

Newcastle United boss Sir Bobby Robson has tabled a three-man shopping list to chairman Freddy Shepherd.

The Sunday People says Tottenham skipper Stephen Carr, Barcelona striker Patrick Kluivert and Leeds forward Michael Bridges are the three Robson wants in January.

The Toon chief said: "I've had a meeting with my staff, we've looked at the playing squad and we will make recommendations to the chairman, as we do twice a year."

dreamer75
23-11-2003, 10:42 PM
we have a youngster Bradley Orr...anybody knows anything abt him?

dreamer75
23-11-2003, 10:44 PM
We must not make any mistakes when we play against FC Basel on Thursday. We are leading 3-2 on aggregate.

dbchoong
23-11-2003, 11:20 PM
One win? Uh, since early Oct, Newcastle has won 5 games, drew 1 and lost 1 in the EPL. Next week Wolves away... and I believe Newcastle will win this game too.

bt Soton 1-0 (home)
bt Boro 1-0 (away)
bt Fulham 3-2 (away)
bt Portsmouth 3-0 (home)
drew Villa 1-1 (home - Newcastle should have won this game)
lost Chelsea (away)
bt Man City 3-0 (home)

Have some faith!!

acchhhoooo
23-11-2003, 11:20 PM
I agree with Martin...with our current quality and standing...to reach 4th spot is gonna be tough....and whenever we meet liverpool, michael Owen will be rubbing his hands/legs gleefully.. *yum yum, Nukey time!!*

while i agree that newcastle's squad quality is quite poor... definately not championship quality yet, however, a 4th place finish is very possible.... anything higher and it would be a bonus....

acchhhoooo
23-11-2003, 11:24 PM
November 23, 2003

Newcastle United boss Sir Bobby Robson has tabled a three-man shopping list to chairman Freddy Shepherd.

The Sunday People says Tottenham skipper Stephen Carr, Barcelona striker Patrick Kluivert and Leeds forward Michael Bridges are the three Robson wants in January.

The Toon chief said: "I've had a meeting with my staff, we've looked at the playing squad and we will make recommendations to the chairman, as we do twice a year."

hmm.... interesting selection... I would definately like to have Kluivert... the club would benefit from having a player like him... good for attracting other players also...

stephen carr would also be good... we need defenders.... esp fullbacks...

but why michael bridges?

also, i am in favour of selling bellamy... get a good holding midfielder/defender...

ZhiQiang
24-11-2003, 02:53 AM
November 23, 2003

carr? he is the best rite back IMO... not bad...
kluivert? ok lah, provided he wanna come...
bridges? sick boy leh... get him for wat? if really wanna get, pay 1 million more than enuff...

yenyenpark
24-11-2003, 08:59 AM

dun believe the hype....our dear club is merely winning bcoz its a must-win game....

hard to swallow, but right now wif dis kind of squad, we aint gonna make it to 4th spot..

lost big bucks??? so better bet on newcastle next time.. like me.. :D

anyway.. think 4th spot is within reach.. but not top three... i checked the table and we are 13 points behind Arsenal.. :eek:

yenyenpark
24-11-2003, 09:02 AM
Originally posted by Coolsmurf
if we keep on winning despite not playing well, then we will survive and nick the 4th spot..

dun think the top 3 will lose steam...

agree.. but we only win one match without not playin good..

but our chance is good.. since... other than Chelsea, Arsenal and Man U... other strong team like Liverpool, Blackburn, Southampton and etc did badly too..

so 4th spot is possible... I dun think Birmingham will be ther for long... neither do Charlton... since Birmingham has lost 0-3 to both Arsenal and Man U away and home...

yenyenpark
24-11-2003, 09:04 AM

hmm.... interesting selection... I would definately like to have Kluivert... the club would benefit from having a player like him... good for attracting other players also...

stephen carr would also be good... we need defenders.... esp fullbacks...

but why michael bridges?

also, i am in favour of selling bellamy... get a good holding midfielder/defender...

i think since Amoebi is doing well... may be Carr will be priority bcos I dun think Kluvert will be coming... even i do hope he come..

martinweng
24-11-2003, 09:20 AM

lost big bucks??? so better bet on newcastle next time.. like me.. :D

anyway.. think 4th spot is within reach.. but not top three... i checked the table and we are 13 points behind Arsenal.. :eek:

4th spot is within reach, but juz not gd enuff to take..

martinweng
24-11-2003, 09:23 AM

carr? he is the best rite back IMO... not bad...
kluivert? ok lah, provided he wanna come...
bridges? sick boy leh... get him for wat? if really wanna get, pay 1 million more than enuff...

wtf...car? wad car? dat spurs 1? omg...his current club tells how pathetic he can be...

kluivert? come here for wad? IMO he's juz gonna leech our wealth

bridges? ok lor...if u believe "London Bridge is falling down"

aqf
24-11-2003, 09:42 AM
wish shearer is still 20 years old

martinweng
24-11-2003, 10:13 AM

agree.. but we only win one match without not playin good..

but our chance is good.. since... other than Chelsea, Arsenal and Man U... other strong team like Liverpool, Blackburn, Southampton and etc did badly too..

so 4th spot is possible... I dun think Birmingham will be ther for long... neither do Charlton... since Birmingham has lost 0-3 to both Arsenal and Man U away and home...

as if we dont lose to them liddat...we even lost 0-1 to birmingham at home...

yenyenpark
24-11-2003, 11:02 AM

as if we dont lose to them liddat...we even lost 0-1 to birmingham at home...

so wat... yup we lost to them.. but u wanna bet with me... to see if they are maintain top six by the end of season or not??;)

yenyenpark
24-11-2003, 11:06 AM

wtf...car? wad car? dat spurs 1? omg...his current club tells how pathetic he can be...

buy from 1st division... u say how to win using lower divison players..

buy from other EPL club, u also not happy..

buy from outside big club.. u say suck blood..

where got cheap and good thing ah???

Kiwi8
24-11-2003, 11:54 AM

buy from 1st division... u say how to win using lower divison players..

buy from other EPL club, u also not happy..

buy from outside big club.. u say suck blood..

where got cheap and good thing ah???

As the saying goes:
U ai pi, U ai qi, U ai dua liap ni (Want cheap, fresh and big boobs)

:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Fresnel
24-11-2003, 02:09 PM
I don't see why do we need Bridges....Our current batch of strikers/fwds are more than good enuff....we lack badly creativity in the middle and good holding at the back line. We need a good right back....Carr seems to be ok...but i wish to see at least 1 major signing for the club...someone who can trigger the fire in Newk (not just shearer who's just a typical strong forward).

yenyenpark
24-11-2003, 02:44 PM
Originally posted by Kiwi8

As the saying goes:
U ai pi, U ai qi, U ai dua liap ni (Want cheap, fresh and big boobs)

:laugh: :laugh: :laugh:

yenyenpark
24-11-2003, 02:47 PM
I don't see why do we need Bridges....Our current batch of strikers/fwds are more than good enuff....we lack badly creativity in the middle and good holding at the back line. We need a good right back....Carr seems to be ok...but i wish to see at least 1 major signing for the club...someone who can trigger the fire in Newk (not just shearer who's just a typical strong forward).

yup we need some quality midfield.. but our midfield are very pack already.. with Hugo, Bowyer, and Solano dun even have his first eleven last match... even if they are fit or etc...

however, our defenders had done us good... but Woodgate is very prompt to injury... he might get injured soon again.. :(

anyway... if got money... sure must buy some players to strengthen.. for future... since our Gary and Shearer will have time ticking... off...

yenyenpark
24-11-2003, 02:48 PM
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/feature?id=284097&cc=5739

ZhiQiang
24-11-2003, 03:02 PM
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/feature?id=284097&cc=5739 wah!!! good leh... first time i think...

acchhhoooo
24-11-2003, 03:19 PM
wah!!! good leh... first time i think...

what thing first time???

dreamer75
24-11-2003, 03:43 PM

at least we dreamt..

hmm..so who do u think can challenge for 4th spot leh?

dreamer75
24-11-2003, 03:44 PM

tough doesn't mean its impossible...we nvr have the heart to try...we nvr will know :)

dreamer75
24-11-2003, 03:46 PM
One win? Uh, since early Oct, Newcastle has won 5 games, drew 1 and lost 1 in the EPL. Next week Wolves away... and I believe Newcastle will win this game too.

bt Soton 1-0 (home)
bt Boro 1-0 (away)
bt Fulham 3-2 (away)
bt Portsmouth 3-0 (home)
drew Villa 1-1 (home - Newcastle should have won this game)
lost Chelsea (away)
bt Man City 3-0 (home)

Have some faith!!

i always have faith in Newcastle...even if they disappoint me...i still have the faith in them..

would appreciate if we dun pour cold water on ourselves..

dreamer75
24-11-2003, 03:50 PM

:laugh:

u really condemn them like hell..:confused:

so tell me..who would u like to see in Newcastle (realistic view)?

dreamer75
24-11-2003, 04:00 PM
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/feature?id=284097&cc=5739

http://forums.hardwarezone.com/images/icons/icon14.gif

dreamer75
24-11-2003, 04:06 PM
Hi there again folks, time for the second instalment in my view of the season 2003-4. Only a few weeks into the season, and things have certainly been kicking off in more ways than one. Let’s face it, most of us probably assumed that by this stage we’d be safely through to the Champions League proper, and have at least4-6 points from our opening 3 games. As things stand, we’ve lost 3 games in a week at SJP, have one point, and have been demoted to the UEFA cup already.

Now there has certainly been a lot written / said / emailed over the course of the last 7 days about just what on earth is going on at our beloved club and who or what is to blame. Obviously I can only give you my take on it, but that’s my job. I am not jumping on the bandwagon of the merchants of doom surrounding SJP at the mo. I still believe in these players, but my thoughts may not make for pretty reading!

I have several gripes with our current situation, and honestly it’s difficult to know where to start. Many fans are currently questioning the wisdom of “hawking ourselves” over to Asia pre-season, seeing it mainly as a marketing ploy first, with footballing matters very much playing second fiddle. Personally, I’m not sure that this is a problem. Fat Fred is obviously very keen to try and maximise any potential income into the club’s coffers and that’s fine by me. Certainly I don’t think this has necessarily hampered our fitness or anything like that. And Chelsea and Birmingham don’t seem to be having any problems….

No, the gripe for me remains that as the summer progressed, Newcastle weren’t even getting linked with any players, let alone being seen to be trying to buy any of them (once the Emerton and Kleberson deals had been resolved elsewhere). And this worried me. Newspapers weren’t even bothering to try and convince their readers that the Toon were even in the market for anyone, and this strikes me as a little unusual. Why weren’t we in the market? Common consensus seems to be that Bobby wanted Emerton to play right back and he wanted to be in midfield. Fair enough, but if we were willing to pay £7.5 million for him less than a year ago, surely we were willing to pay more than the £2.75 million he went to Blackburn for even TO play right side midfield. After all, Nobby was hardly setting the world alight last season, never mind this. And Bowyer allegedly prefers playing in the centre anyway.

As regular readers will know, I have been banging on for some time that our main problem at the back is full backs, not centre halves. The second best centre half at the club, for me, remains Aaron Hughes. Wayne Bridge went to Chelsea without a sniff from us, Stephen Carr was left at Spurs despite hinting he wanted Champions League football (ironic now, but you see my point). So is it simply a case that our lack of spending has led to our poor start? Well partly, yes. If we had spent a (not a Chelsea sized) portion of cash like everyone else seemed to be doing on a couple of decent players, then we would surely not have been done by a merely average team like Belgrade.

But let’s assume just for a moment that for some bizarre reason, we don’t actually have any spare cash (although where that £11.5 million in prize money from last season’s Champions League adventure has gone, that we received in July, along with 42,000 season ticket holders’ cash I don’t know!). Should we be in the state we are? Well let’s face it guys, the answer would remain “NO”.

THESE ARE ESSENTIALLY THE SAME PLAYERS AS LAST SEASON! How is it that they have gone from being one of the most feared attacking forces, perhaps in Europe, to being unable to fashion a single decent chance in 2 and a half games of football, at home, against (alright half a game against the champions), Belgrade and Birmingham chuffing City?!? Some of our players are turning in performances that beggar belief!

There isn’t time here to go through the catalogue of ineptitude that has occurred so far this season. The Leeds away 2-2 draw I can live with. Patches of good football, great counter attack that led to our penalty, two strikes Super Al, two costly individual errors, typical hustle of an opening fixture, not a disastrous result. The first half against Man Ure: great workrate, not too many chances created, but vital lead secured and held to half time. Then something happened.

Suddenly we turned abysmal. Not wishing to single any one player out, but I have been getting increasingly frustrated by the performances of Kieron Dyer. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t think he’s suddenly turned rubbish or anything, just that I have become more and more aware that, well, what does he do? For me, there are essentially two types of central midfielders. Firstly, you have your “holding” type. Your Keanes, Vieras, Gerrards, Speeds of the world, who sit there, hold things together, take the ball from the defence, and generally brake up opposition moves. Then, you have your traditional “attacking” midfielder, who’s job it is to create goals, play defence splitting passes, make late runs into the box, and most importantly to get about 10-12 goals a season.

Which one of these is Kieron Dyer? That’s right, neither. Obviously, the Dyer we all know and love SHOULD be the second of these. The bloke has an incredible engine, loads of ability, and lightning pace. But what does he actually achieve? Whenever he gets to the edge of the box, he ALWAYS passes. He never shoots. He regularly runs into trouble, often gets shoved off the ball, shoots weekly, and his killer pass doesn’t kill. If you’d have asked me a month ago would I take £20 million for him I’d have laughed at you. I’d take £15 million now. In fact I’d take £10 million if I thought he was going abroad! (Cos you know that if we sold him to Man Ure he’d turn into a world beater don’t you?…) I desperately want him to start using his obvious immense talent. But he’s not at the moment.

But is Bobby watching the same player? After the Belgrade game he said, “But I thought Kieron was absolutely magnificent. He gave a complete midfielder's performance. He defended, he passed well, he tried to become an extra forward whenever possible and was all over the pitch. It was an outstanding display from him. We have been edged out by a very good team and I have to give them credit for the way they have played over the two games.” What? And a “very good team”?

This may seem harsh, but our season rests on the shoulders of Dyer and others. And they need to start generating performances FAST. He’s not the only one. Bowyer hasn’t done anything yet (alright he’s only had a couple of games, and some would say out of position, but Bobby has obviously signed him to play right side and the lad must have agreed), Jenas is certainly having a lull in his previously rapid rise to stardom, Speed’s distribution is getting poorer, and we must be the only club to have wingers who can’t cross. Solano and Robert are determined to never ever try to go outside their man, always cutting inside. And corners are often a waste of time as they either come down with snow on or hit the first man.

You see, yes we are losing games. But the defence isn’t really playing any worse than it has done for years. It’s just that as an attacking force we have dried up. Shearer isn’t getting a sniff of goal, Ameobi certainly hasn’t got on his skipper’s wavelength, Bellamy is still having knee trouble, and Lua Lua can’t stay out of trouble with the gaffer long enough to get a run in the side. By the way, wasn’t Lua Lua a winger at Colchester? Why not try him out on the right side and bring Bowyer into the middle with Viana or JJ? I would leave Speed at left back for a bit. His foul for the penalty aside against Birmingham, I thought he did alright. And his positional sense was better than Bernard’s, who’s fragile confidence has been devastated by his cock up at Leeds. I’m pleased to see the kid Chopra getting a bit of first team experience but he’s not ready to be a regular first team striker yet.

All in all, as the transfer window closes, it would appear that we have to rally round, stick together and hope things improve after the international break. Changes are needed in the team selection I feel, even if it is only to ruffle a few expensively assembled feathers. The players must realise the importance of the season that now lies in front of them. They owe this club and these fans some very big performances over the coming months. A cup at the end of it really is bordering on essential. The Carling cup would be fine. I really don’t mind.

The support level at SJP yesterday wasn’t bad. In fact for the first half at least, I was pleasantly surprised after what happened on Wednesday night. I certainly sang with my usual enthusiasm. After all, that’s what we’re there for. But the chorus of boos that rang out at the final whistle, should not be lambasted. It was an understandable reaction to a week of immense frustration for all. The players need to realise that the fans are hurting. We feel like we’re owed. Let’s hope that with a couple of weeks break, Bobby can reunite the troops and we can get things turned around. After all, Arsenal away is looming, and I wouldn’t fancy it at the moment!

All the best
Keep the faith

Mark

http://www.sportnetwork.net/main/s70/st39195.htm

dreamer75
24-11-2003, 04:07 PM
November 24, 2003

Highly-rated Leicester City defender Jordan Stewart is likely to quit Filbert Street if the Foxes are relegated.

Stewart has been watched by Newcastle and Aston Villa and won't sign a new Leicester deal until he knows if the club is safe.

Boss Micky Adams said: "Hopefully, we can stay up and then we can re-sign him."

dreamer75
24-11-2003, 04:08 PM
November 24, 2003

Aston Villa are being linked with Cardiff City centre-half Danny Gabbidon.

The Wales international is also being tracked by Newcastle and Arsenal after a superb 12 months with club and country.

Villa are said to be preparing a £3.5 million bid for Gabbidon.

yenyenpark
24-11-2003, 05:12 PM

i always have faith in Newcastle...even if they disappoint me...i still have the faith in them..

at least we were recover soon in two weeks after a big loss...

acchhhoooo
24-11-2003, 05:29 PM
hmm.. lots of transfer rumors but how true are they??

martinweng
24-11-2003, 06:28 PM
if i were to choose,

i tot we got ameobi liao..i starting to believe in him..

we dun haf to replace shearer, give lua lua and cort a run of their ability, if they still CMI, den go and buy...

for right-back, i realli dunnoe whether we nid 1 anot...
afterall, our leaky defense has alwaes been bcoz of centre-backs, i haven seen ani news saeing our right-back problem...

for midfield, i realli dun tink we nid animore, so mani liao...if u wan, get luis enrique for 1 season, im sure he can feed shearer, @ the same time relieve pressure off robert...

if u nid a gd defense midfielder, i reccomend u get some old ****, coz youngster alwaes end up fighting...

martinweng
24-11-2003, 06:30 PM

i also tot newcastle cud challenge the top 3, but when u draw bolton and lose to birmingham @ home, u cant expect much faith...after all, i haf waited a decade juz like all of ur...so far still no cups won yet :(

martinweng
24-11-2003, 06:33 PM
November 24, 2003

Highly-rated Leicester City defender Jordan Stewart is likely to quit Filbert Street if the Foxes are relegated.

Stewart has been watched by Newcastle and Aston Villa and won't sign a new Leicester deal until he knows if the club is safe.

Boss Micky Adams said: "Hopefully, we can stay up and then we can re-sign him."

November 24, 2003

Aston Villa are being linked with Cardiff City centre-half Danny Gabbidon.

The Wales international is also being tracked by Newcastle and Arsenal after a superb 12 months with club and country.

Villa are said to be preparing a £3.5 million bid for Gabbidon.

erm...not again...i tink u guys noe wad i going to sae..

martinweng
24-11-2003, 06:34 PM
i tink its veri sad dat onli a few of the youngster we've got turned into gems...

jenas, dyer, ameobi

the rest either yet to ripe or ripe liao but lousy quality..

dreamer75
24-11-2003, 06:59 PM

erm...not again...i tink u guys noe wad i going to sae..

dreamer75
24-11-2003, 07:01 PM
i tink its veri sad dat onli a few of the youngster we've got turned into gems...

jenas, dyer, ameobi

the rest either yet to ripe or ripe liao but lousy quality..

3 is consider gd liao..

not many EPL clubs have develop promising youngsters either..

martinweng
24-11-2003, 07:34 PM

3 is consider gd liao..

not many EPL clubs have develop promising youngsters either..

but they dun sign youngsters like siao like we do...

onli shearer, speed 30 years n above?

seriously i dunnoe got animore anot..

acchhhoooo
24-11-2003, 09:31 PM

i also tot newcastle cud challenge the top 3, but when u draw bolton and lose to birmingham @ home, u cant expect much faith...after all, i haf waited a decade juz like all of ur...so far still no cups won yet :(

never really thought that newcastle could seriously challenge for the top 3... however, it is more of a fight for the last qualifying CL spot...

aqf
24-11-2003, 11:02 PM
would be happy if they can get 4th position liao.main threat from liverpool.

Fresnel
25-11-2003, 11:44 AM
OMG, Titus SHambles player of the week!??!
It's a SHAM!!!
:rolleyes:

martinweng
25-11-2003, 12:16 PM

never really thought that newcastle could seriously challenge for the top 3... however, it is more of a fight for the last qualifying CL spot...

2years ago, we fought for dat, and the following season, we r the top 3...

god noes y dis season we r back to 2 seasons ago, squeezing ourselves into the 4th spot when we shud be improving and going for 1st and 2nd spot..

Coolsmurf
25-11-2003, 01:48 PM
arsenal still the same old players

man utd still same old players + new players

chelsea major overhaul

newcastle basically at a standstill as well

acchhhoooo
25-11-2003, 06:51 PM

2years ago, we fought for dat, and the following season, we r the top 3...

god noes y dis season we r back to 2 seasons ago, squeezing ourselves into the 4th spot when we shud be improving and going for 1st and 2nd spot..

that was last season.... this season chelsea got that new crazy billionaire owner and the whole premiership suddenly has a new pedigree.... a new class act....

Arsenal has a very good team already... their 1st team is still strong enough to blow away any team... almost no weakness in any dept... maybe only keeper... most of their players also quite young, in the mid or late 20s oni.... so even if dun add new players, still as strong and also can maintain the team for a few more years also no problem...

Man Utd has been the team to beat in EPL since the last decade... they are just getting stronger and stronger... their winning gives them the confidence... and they have all the while had the funds to strengthen their squad....

honestly, while i am not about to say that newcastle's performance this season is satisfactory... on the contrary in fact, but it is not that we are getting weaker... its just that the top 3 teams are just pulling away....

honestly, before chelsea came into the picture, i have all the while favoured the chance that either we or liverpool would be the ones to break the stranglehold that Man Utd and Arsenal has on the premiership... however, since chelsea, i dun think it is likely....

but i still see newcastle as sort of a black horse... the ones that have an outside chance to win... but only if the top 3 are not performing.... however, so far the top 3 teams have been turning in performances that are required of them, so it really is very difficult for us to break the stranglehold....

also, all the while i felt that newcastle was more of a team for the future.... most of our players are still very young... much younger than arsenal's and are already first team players...

the way i see it, there is no way to break the hold... at least not for the next 2-3 years... however, after that, when dyer, jenas and company comes of age... we would be another force to be reckon with.... for me, i would like to consolidate the squad and add just enough players to win me that CL berth and at the same time, bring in those promising youngsters that are going to mature in the next 4-7 years for I see that that period is going to be our golden era....

dreamer75
25-11-2003, 10:02 PM

that was last season.... this season chelsea got that new crazy billionaire owner and the whole premiership suddenly has a new pedigree.... a new class act....

Arsenal has a very good team already... their 1st team is still strong enough to blow away any team... almost no weakness in any dept... maybe only keeper... most of their players also quite young, in the mid or late 20s oni.... so even if dun add new players, still as strong and also can maintain the team for a few more years also no problem...

Man Utd has been the team to beat in EPL since the last decade... they are just getting stronger and stronger... their winning gives them the confidence... and they have all the while had the funds to strengthen their squad....

honestly, while i am not about to say that newcastle's performance this season is satisfactory... on the contrary in fact, but it is not that we are getting weaker... its just that the top 3 teams are just pulling away....

honestly, before chelsea came into the picture, i have all the while favoured the chance that either we or liverpool would be the ones to break the stranglehold that Man Utd and Arsenal has on the premiership... however, since chelsea, i dun think it is likely....

but i still see newcastle as sort of a black horse... the ones that have an outside chance to win... but only if the top 3 are not performing.... however, so far the top 3 teams have been turning in performances that are required of them, so it really is very difficult for us to break the stranglehold....

also, all the while i felt that newcastle was more of a team for the future.... most of our players are still very young... much younger than arsenal's and are already first team players...

the way i see it, there is no way to break the hold... at least not for the next 2-3 years... however, after that, when dyer, jenas and company comes of age... we would be another force to be reckon with.... for me, i would like to consolidate the squad and add just enough players to win me that CL berth and at the same time, bring in those promising youngsters that are going to mature in the next 4-7 years for I see that that period is going to be our golden era....

as much as i agree with u :)

dreamer75
25-11-2003, 10:04 PM
Shearer now has 12 goals to his name this season and is the Premiership's top marksman with 11. :)

dreamer75
25-11-2003, 10:07 PM
gd news for us....i predict we will win by 2 goals :)

Nov 25 2003

By Paul Gilder, The Journal

Sir Bobby Robson's hopes of extending Newcastle's continental campaign were given a major boost last night when FC Basel coach Christian Gross ruled two of his key performers out of Thursday's Uefa Cup clash at St James's Park.

Murat Yakin and Christian Gimenez both missed Sunday's 5-2 Super League victory over Grasshopper-Club Zürich through injury and sources in Switzerland insist that neither will travel to Tyneside.

Thimothee Atouba was also absent as Basel returned to action at St Jakob-Park for the first time since United's memorable 3-2 second round, first leg victory on November 6.

But the Cameroon international is expected to feature at St James's Park as Gross and his team attempt to defy the odds and secure a place in next February's third round stage.

"Murat Yakin and Gimenez won't play in Newcastle, they have got no chance," said Gross, whose in-form side lead the Swiss top-flight table by an astonishing 12 points having won 16 of their 17 domestic league fixtures. "It is a major blow to us. We have already got a lot of work to do, and we didn't need this."

Yakin and Gimenez started against the Magpies in Switzerland but with the pair suffering both suffering with muscular problems, Gross has been quick to rule them out of the trip to the North-East.

Basel's squad can cope with the demands of the Swiss League. But a coach who will also be without the services of Matias Delgado, Ivan Ergic and Antonio Esposito can ill afford further absences as he pits himself against Premiership opposition.

Although Gross has insisted that the tie is over following his team's first leg defeat Robson knows that his opposite number is well-versed in mind games and will take no chances after the club's failure to complete their passage into the Champions League in August.

The United manager had Basel watched three times before the first leg. And chief scout Charlie Woods was dispatched to St Jakob-Park again on Sunday to run the rule over Gross' side.

Goals from Marco Streller (2), Mario Cantaluppi and Scott Chipperfield secured a comfortable victory over the reigning champions. And, despite their advantage, Robson will underline to his defenders that there can be no room for mistakes on Thursday.

Jonathan Woodgate and Titus Bramble each gave a solid performance during Saturday's 3-0 victory over Manchester City but Robson will be tempted to make a change for the visit of Basel.

Andy O'Brien is expected to recover from illness to stake a claim in the side and, with the former Bradford defender suspended for Saturday's Premiership trip to Wolverhampton Wanderers, Robson will consider resting Bramble, with his side in action at Molineux less than 48 hours after taking on Basel.

* NEWCASTLE Reserves will return to action in the West Midlands this evening when they take on Aston Villa at Walsall's Bescott Stadium (7pm). Villa's second string have yet to lose a game this season but, having beaten United at Kingston Park in September, Tommy Craig's side will be determined to change that record.

http://icnewcastle.icnetwork.co.uk/newcastleunited/news/content_objectid=13659432_method=full_siteid=50081_headline=-Basel-hit-by-double-UEFA-injury-setback-name_page.html

dreamer75
25-11-2003, 10:16 PM
guys...any commnts?

By From Message Board
Date: 25/11/2003

We should know better, and know the laws of publishing and liable, but we never learn. Peter Beardsley did a talk-in last night and here are the Chinese Whispers.

TAKEN FROM THE MESSAGE BOARD: A mate of mine went to a talk in with Peter Beardsley last night at North Shields Rugby Club, and interesting topics of conversation arose.

First of all PB apparently feels he is being eased out of the club. The allegations of bullying as youth coach were made by a handful of kids (2 or 3) who were about to be shown the door. They thought they could make a quick buck in compensation and made the allegations. Pedro was made to look like a bad 'un and was moved to publicity officer.

He is sitting tight in the belief that there will be changes (i.e. Sir Bob's retirement) and that he can return to coaching in the future.

He was recently approached by "Mad" George Reynolds (disclaimer - this was not a phrase coined by PB, or by myself, and is in no way intended to offend the Darlington Chairman or indeed imply he is not in control of all his faculties, so please don't come to my house with bricks) with an offer of employment as manager of Darlington. The offer was for £500 per week, and came with the assumption that PB would be able to get players on loan from Newcastle and Man City because of his contacts at the clubs.

PB turned the offer down, not because of the money but because Reynolds refused to give him a car and a mobile phone, telling him he should get his own!

PB said he doesn't need to work, but does so for the love of the game, and clearly the Darlington job is not associated with love.

Pedro also revealed that Marcelino (pictured right) was given a rough ride by NUFC. He stated that the Spaniard was the best defender the club has had in the last 5 years (bar Woodgate). He was apparently excellent in training and in the reserves, and fantastic with the kids, but was not given a fair crack of the whip by Sir Bob.

PB believes that Sir Bob has a principle where he tends not to select players he hasn't signed. Obvious exceptions are Shearer, Given, Speed, Griffin, Hughes, Solano (kind of), Dyer. So not a particularly convincing argument really.

Also, Pedro feels NUFC are wasting there time and money buying the likes of Ambrose and other youngsters. He believes that the academy has enough good players coming through, a la Man Utd, to save the club millions in the future.

He thinks MIchael Chopra (pictured left) is a brilliant player and needs a few games to show the club and the fans what he can do. He doesn't think Shola will ever be a great player and has probably got as good as he is ever going to get.

Finally Freddy Shepherd is apparently intent on purchasing all the shares to return the club to private ownership and to disband the plc, which most people suspect anyway.

Nothing too controversial, but something to mull over at lunchtime. Remember, kids, these are not my views, but a Chinese Whispers version of what Peter Beardsley said last night.

http://newcastleunited.rivals.net/default.asp?sid=893&p=2&stid=8330407

ZhiQiang
26-11-2003, 12:40 AM
newcastle vs basel is live on chn 21 on friday morning i think...

dreamer75
26-11-2003, 01:37 AM
newcastle vs basel is live on chn 21 on friday morning i think...

yes...

UEFA Cup 2nd Rd (2nd Leg) - Newcastle United Vs Basel (Live & Exclusive)

Friday, 28 Nov 2003, 03:25 AM Ch 21

After edging Basel 3-2 away in Switzerland, Newcastle take on Basel at St James' Park in this second leg UEFA Cup tie. Shola Ameobi will be up for another run against Basel after the matchwinner in the first leg in Switzerland. Don't miss this exciting match "live" on SuperSports Plus (Ch 21).

http://cabletv.starhub.com/eng/showdetails/0,1756,118816,00.html

martinweng
26-11-2003, 08:10 AM
guys...any commnts?

By From Message Board
Date: 25/11/2003

Also, Pedro feels NUFC are wasting there time and money buying the likes of Ambrose and other youngsters. He believes that the academy has enough good players coming through, a la Man Utd, to save the club millions in the future.

He thinks MIchael Chopra (pictured left) is a brilliant player and needs a few games to show the club and the fans what he can do. He doesn't think Shola will ever be a great player and has probably got as good as he is ever going to get.

http://newcastleunited.rivals.net/default.asp?sid=893&p=2&stid=8330407

YES!! my view has been justified...dis is exactly wad i mean..

wasting time buying players like ambrose...

martinweng
26-11-2003, 08:11 AM
but he is not true about

PB believes that Sir Bob has a principle where he tends not to select players he hasn't signed. Obvious exceptions are Shearer, Given, Speed, Griffin, Hughes, Solano (kind of), Dyer. So not a particularly convincing argument really.

he is not giving his 8m Hugo Viana Enuff matches!!

yenyenpark
26-11-2003, 09:12 AM
but he is not true about

he is not giving his 8m Hugo Viana Enuff matches!!

wat principle is tat... he is there to make sure we win... even Cort is healthy.. he can't just put him into first 11...

anyway... i do agree tat SBR make mistake in some areas say... our first League match.. he thought resting some of the players will be good for following EPL matches... but we lost... in Cup match and draw one and lost the other in following... :mad: :mad:

martinweng
26-11-2003, 09:33 AM
we shud alwaes send in our best, bcoz Newcastle depends on momentum, not first XI...

martinweng
26-11-2003, 09:34 AM
I give my vote to Shay Given

also on my mind:

woodgate, robert, dyer

Coolsmurf
26-11-2003, 09:41 AM
just when bramble seems to be playing well, he has just been confirmed as 1 of 2 premiership players in the infamous hotel rape case. the other being carlton cole.

yenyenpark
26-11-2003, 10:35 AM
just when bramble seems to be playing well, he has just been confirmed as 1 of 2 premiership players in the infamous hotel rape case. the other being carlton cole.

better... give him some pressure to perform our of his best...

:mad:

dreamer75
26-11-2003, 11:31 AM
I give my vote to Shay Given

also on my mind:

woodgate, robert, dyer

Given :)

Coolsmurf
26-11-2003, 11:43 AM
i would say robert, since his return to form, newcastle has been creating chances, 2 of our goals came from the left..our right flank like non-existent now

yenyenpark
26-11-2003, 11:48 AM
i will think Ameobi is another one of good players... that we should appreciate... his service...

Fresnel
26-11-2003, 12:31 PM
well, i think Vianna is not good enuff for the club...SBR has put him in a couple of 1st start runs and i must say the performance is dreadful. He has absolutely no confidence in taking on defenders (unlike Robert). He plays more like a defensive mid than an attacking mid. He's easily shoved off the ball, no aggression and no creativity. He's every bit a waste of 8 million pounds if you ask me. I got a Brit friend from Tyneside who similarly lambasted Vianna's performances (he gets to watch every NewC match cuz season holder :(( )
......For performance-wise, i'll think Robert will get my vote, although he's a little inconsistent at times (funny thing is he performs poorly everytime he's aired on starhub!! )
And our dear Titus Shambles has been identified as a rape accuse. Time to call in the calvary Andy 'Pinnochio' OBrien.

Coolsmurf
26-11-2003, 12:43 PM
viana is definitely one of the worst players i have seen...seems to have severe lead-filled legs...he somehow doens't suit the swash-buckling play that newcastle is adopting...

robert, jenas, bernard, dyer, bowyer, solano, bellamy are all faster than him

revenant
26-11-2003, 01:08 PM
http://images.thesun.co.uk/picture/0,,2003501238,00.jpg

By BEN KINSELLA

ALAN SHEARER has Tyneside buzzing over the possibility of him being a future Newcastle boss.

The Toon icon, planning to quit playing in the summer of 2005, already works as a media pundit and seemed most likely to head in that direction.

But he is currently taking his UEFA ‘B’ coaching badge, along with fellow Geordie stars like Gary Speed.

And that is increasing speculation the former England skipper, 33, could take over the St James’ Park hot-seat at some stage after Bobby Robson finally decides it is time to quit.

Shearer, who aims to get his first-stage badge by the end of the season, confirmed: “I think I’ll need coaching qualifications in the future and now is the right time to start.

“It’s going all right at the moment and I’m just keeping my options open.

“It’s better having it than not having it.”

Shearer hit his 100th goal under Robson with a double in Saturday’s 3-0 win over Manchester City and now plans to put the boot into Basel in tomorrow’s UEFA Cup return clash.

Robson, 71 in February, said: “I’m delighted Alan has taken the line he has.

“But only he can decide what he wants to do. It’s up to him whether he eventually goes into media work or coaching.”

Source (http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2003542265,00.html)

acchhhoooo
26-11-2003, 02:57 PM
well, i think Vianna is not good enuff for the club...SBR has put him in a couple of 1st start runs and i must say the performance is dreadful. He has absolutely no confidence in taking on defenders (unlike Robert). He plays more like a defensive mid than an attacking mid. He's easily shoved off the ball, no aggression and no creativity. He's every bit a waste of 8 million pounds if you ask me. I got a Brit friend from Tyneside who similarly lambasted Vianna's performances (he gets to watch every NewC match cuz season holder :(( )
......For performance-wise, i'll think Robert will get my vote, although he's a little inconsistent at times (funny thing is he performs poorly everytime he's aired on starhub!! )
And our dear Titus Shambles has been identified as a rape accuse. Time to call in the calvary Andy 'Pinnochio' OBrien.

viana is definitely one of the worst players i have seen...seems to have severe lead-filled legs...he somehow doens't suit the swash-buckling play that newcastle is adopting...

robert, jenas, bernard, dyer, bowyer, solano, bellamy are all faster than him

Definately have to agree with you guys... the few times that I watch Viana played.... I almost wanted to cry... how could we have spent 8mil on this kind of player... can't seem to pass... definately cannot dribble... soft... care less attitude... no power, no pace...

till now i still remember the backpass he made in our own penalty area... :mad: with this kind of play, can forget about playing for newcastle...

dreamer75
26-11-2003, 03:18 PM

Definately have to agree with you guys... the few times that I watch Viana played.... I almost wanted to cry... how could we have spent 8mil on this kind of player... can't seem to pass... definately cannot dribble... soft... care less attitude... no power, no pace...

till now i still remember the backpass he made in our own penalty area... :mad: with this kind of play, can forget about playing for newcastle...

couldn't agree more.!!

we dun need such player around here...reminds me of Gary Neville's suicide back passes...

:alien:

dreamer75
26-11-2003, 03:19 PM
By Matthew Jones

Newcastle United fan and Tyne Talk's message board's number one poster, Carys, gives HER view on the recent goings on at St James' Park - both on and off the field.

After a delayed start to the season we are getting somewhere – okay so we slipped up against Chelsea but we bounced back!
We have Woodgate and Dyer back in the team, which gave the whole squad a boost of confidence before our win against Keegan’s Man City team of which Ameobi scored followed by a double from Shearer.

Kevin Keegan has never doubted Newcastle in their game or position in the premiership table and Saturday was no exception, and his praise for Shearer will never die

"Alan's a master of his trade," Keegan said afterwards. "Of his type, there still isn't a better English striker. There isn't anyone better at what he does in the world. When I paid £15m for him people said I had overspent but with every year that goes by it looks more and more value for money. How you replace him, I don't know."

And we can honestly say he never made a better buy! – And how we replace him is a question, which will need to be answered in time – but that time is yet to come!

I have read many reports this week and last, asking who would replace Alan Shearer when he departs but it isn’t a problem at the moment. We still have a few years left of him yet – and nobody can doubt his game!

Ameobi has come on in leaps and bounds since being partnered next to Shearer, his game has improved and it has benefited everybody not just his self-esteem! – I’m sure we can safely say so far it hasn’t gone to his head – he is playing sensibly and not with the arrogance shown by other young premiership stars!

And Robert the Frenchman full of surprises! – Honestly we all new he was a good player but I for one didn’t expect to see such a show of consistency and talent like the one we have seen over the last few weeks - keep it up Robert!

CARYS

http://www.sportnetwork.net/main/s70/st39366.htm

dreamer75
26-11-2003, 03:20 PM
Robert and Shearer are the most performing players so far...

dreamer75
26-11-2003, 03:33 PM
y William Gordon
Date: 24/11/2003

Can we catch the leading pack and squeeze into third spot? Bobby says "Yes" while JJ says "No". Arsenal are 14 points clear of us; Chelsea 13 and Man Utd 12. What we are looking at is one of those sides to lose 4 or 5 games and we have to win while they're doing it.

Considering we have lost to all three of those sides this season shows (on paper) they deserve to be in that top three elite. But Sir Bobby still believes we can break them up.

SIR BOBBY ROBSON: "We can't change the bad start we made to the season but of course we regret it.

"You never know what might happen during the remainder of the season. You never know the dip Chelsea could have or what might happen to Manchester United in February - nobody knows that.

"We just have to keep going and see what happens. We made a bad start but we cannot do anything about it now - that's life, we will just get on with it."

JERMAINE JENAS: "Those mistakes I made earlier in the season cost us some big points and your confidence can get knocked so it is nice to know that the manager has got faith in me.

"The more strong-minded you are as a player, the better chance you have of bouncing back. When he stood by me, the manager showed he believes I am capable of bouncing back.

"We had a lot of injuries at the time so I hoped I would keep my place. It might have been different if everybody had been available. The manager has been good enough to stick with me and by doing that, he has proved that he is a clever man-manager. That is one of his biggest skills."

"I'm delighted to have signed a new contract but it will not make any difference to my game.

"To be back in the top six is a big boost after the start we had. We have gradually worked our way up the league table.

"I'd agree with Alan Shearer, the top three probably can't be caught. They're flying at the minute. It would be a difficult task, getting into the top three, but we can still aim for that Champions League spot.

"To be back in the top six is a big boost for us after the start to the season. We've slowly and gradually worked our way up and after the disappointing result at Chelsea, it's good to get back to winning ways.

"It's weird when you're grinding out results. The flowing football is not really back, but the lads are working hard and that's been a reward for all that hard work. The hard work and drive has got us there so far.

"But the last 20 minutes on Saturday was brilliant. We were on fire. That was our best performance of the season."

Having taken only three points from the first 18 on offer this season, United have since collected 16 of the last 21 to move to within a victory of fourth place, although they are 12 adrift of Manchester United in third.

But that run sends the Toon into Thursday night's UEFA Cup second round, second leg clash with FC Basle confident of defending the 3-2 lead they earned in Switzerland and determined to extend their European campaign beyond the New Year.

With Jonathan Woodgate and Kieron Dyer having returned from injury at the weekend and Lee Bowyer due to complete his six-match ban in Europe later this week, that would be a further boost for a club which is gradually emerging from their early season woes.

This European campaign may not be the competition they hoped to be in at this stage of the season, but it is one many believe they can win. Celtic got to the final last season, so why can't we?

http://newcastleunited.rivals.net/default.asp?sid=893&p=2&stid=8330297

yenyenpark
26-11-2003, 03:39 PM
By Matthew Jones

Newcastle United fan and Tyne Talk's message board's number one poster, Carys, gives HER view on the recent goings on at St James' Park - both on and off the field.

After a delayed start to the season we are getting somewhere – okay so we slipped up against Chelsea but we bounced back!
We have Woodgate and Dyer back in the team, which gave the whole squad a boost of confidence before our win against Keegan’s Man City team of which Ameobi scored followed by a double from Shearer.

Kevin Keegan has never doubted Newcastle in their game or position in the premiership table and Saturday was no exception, and his praise for Shearer will never die

"Alan's a master of his trade," Keegan said afterwards. "Of his type, there still isn't a better English striker. There isn't anyone better at what he does in the world. When I paid £15m for him people said I had overspent but with every year that goes by it looks more and more value for money. How you replace him, I don't know."

And we can honestly say he never made a better buy! – And how we replace him is a question, which will need to be answered in time – but that time is yet to come!

I have read many reports this week and last, asking who would replace Alan Shearer when he departs but it isn’t a problem at the moment. We still have a few years left of him yet – and nobody can doubt his game!

Ameobi has come on in leaps and bounds since being partnered next to Shearer, his game has improved and it has benefited everybody not just his self-esteem! – I’m sure we can safely say so far it hasn’t gone to his head – he is playing sensibly and not with the arrogance shown by other young premiership stars!

And Robert the Frenchman full of surprises! – Honestly we all new he was a good player but I for one didn’t expect to see such a show of consistency and talent like the one we have seen over the last few weeks - keep it up Robert!

CARYS

http://www.sportnetwork.net/main/s70/st39366.htm

homework done... :D

yenyenpark
26-11-2003, 03:40 PM
y William Gordon
Date: 24/11/2003

Can we catch the leading pack and squeeze into third spot? Bobby says "Yes" while JJ says "No". Arsenal are 14 points clear of us; Chelsea 13 and Man Utd 12. What we are looking at is one of those sides to lose 4 or 5 games and we have to win while they're doing it.

Considering we have lost to all three of those sides this season shows (on paper) they deserve to be in that top three elite. But Sir Bobby still believes we can break them up.

SIR BOBBY ROBSON: "We can't change the bad start we made to the season but of course we regret it.

"You never know what might happen during the remainder of the season. You never know the dip Chelsea could have or what might happen to Manchester United in February - nobody knows that.

"We just have to keep going and see what happens. We made a bad start but we cannot do anything about it now - that's life, we will just get on with it."

JERMAINE JENAS: "Those mistakes I made earlier in the season cost us some big points and your confidence can get knocked so it is nice to know that the manager has got faith in me.

"The more strong-minded you are as a player, the better chance you have of bouncing back. When he stood by me, the manager showed he believes I am capable of bouncing back.

"We had a lot of injuries at the time so I hoped I would keep my place. It might have been different if everybody had been available. The manager has been good enough to stick with me and by doing that, he has proved that he is a clever man-manager. That is one of his biggest skills."

"I'm delighted to have signed a new contract but it will not make any difference to my game.

"To be back in the top six is a big boost after the start we had. We have gradually worked our way up the league table.

"I'd agree with Alan Shearer, the top three probably can't be caught. They're flying at the minute. It would be a difficult task, getting into the top three, but we can still aim for that Champions League spot.

"To be back in the top six is a big boost for us after the start to the season. We've slowly and gradually worked our way up and after the disappointing result at Chelsea, it's good to get back to winning ways.

"It's weird when you're grinding out results. The flowing football is not really back, but the lads are working hard and that's been a reward for all that hard work. The hard work and drive has got us there so far.

"But the last 20 minutes on Saturday was brilliant. We were on fire. That was our best performance of the season."

Having taken only three points from the first 18 on offer this season, United have since collected 16 of the last 21 to move to within a victory of fourth place, although they are 12 adrift of Manchester United in third.

But that run sends the Toon into Thursday night's UEFA Cup second round, second leg clash with FC Basle confident of defending the 3-2 lead they earned in Switzerland and determined to extend their European campaign beyond the New Year.

With Jonathan Woodgate and Kieron Dyer having returned from injury at the weekend and Lee Bowyer due to complete his six-match ban in Europe later this week, that would be a further boost for a club which is gradually emerging from their early season woes.

This European campaign may not be the competition they hoped to be in at this stage of the season, but it is one many believe they can win. Celtic got to the final last season, so why can't we?

http://newcastleunited.rivals.net/default.asp?sid=893&p=2&stid=8330297

into 3rd spot?? too early to think of tat... and it need some help from those three big clubs to lose points too.. possible... but really dun wanna think about tat now...

ZhiQiang
26-11-2003, 04:01 PM
i tot viana scored a couple of good goals last season towards the end? no doubt he dribbles/ passes the ball poorly but i think we are comapring him and robert... he is still young... give him time...

but hor, i think he is also involved in a drug test thingy with man utd ronaldo leh... dunno will tio ban or not... :(

dreamer75
26-11-2003, 04:05 PM
By Rob Stewart (Filed: 26/11/2003)

Newcastle captain Alan Shearer has taken the first significant step towards becoming a manager when he retires with a move that could eventually see him take charge at St James' Park.

Shearer, whose current contract runs out at the end of next season, has started a coaching course to secure his UEFA B Pro-Licence badge - which is a crucial requirement for Premiership managers - by the end of the present campaign.

"I think that I may need coaching qualifications in the future but even if I don't, it won't have been a waste," said Shearer, 33.

"I'm keeping my options open and whatever happens, it's better having them, than not having them. Hopefully, I'll have the badge by the end of the season. I'm doing the course at the moment and it's going OK."

The Newcastle manager, Sir Bobby Robson, who will be 71 in February, is on a 12-month rolling contract and has given no indication as to when he intends to retire but is happy to see Shearer moving towards management.

"Alan will decide for himself where his future lies but I'm delighted that he is doing this," said Robson. "For Alan, there's the option of the media or he could go into coaching or management. It's very different from playing and the more players in the squad thinking about the sport more deeply, the better it will be for the team

http://sport.telegraph.co.uk/sport/main.jhtml?xml=/sport/2003/11/26/sfnshe26.xml&sSheet=/sport/2003/11/26/ixfooty.html

ZhiQiang
26-11-2003, 04:31 PM
can anyone confirm whether bowyer can play against basle??

yenyenpark
26-11-2003, 04:54 PM

too soon lah.. how to confirm..

Fresnel
26-11-2003, 06:55 PM
watch the game on fri morning and see loh...even if he's not playing what can u do?
;)
C'mon toon!

martinweng
26-11-2003, 07:30 PM
watch the game on fri morning and see loh...even if he's not playing what can u do?
;)
C'mon toon!

for wad...

dreamer75
26-11-2003, 09:22 PM

for wad...

:confused:

yenyenpark
27-11-2003, 09:38 AM
;)
C'mon toon!

yup... on SCV... the problem for me is either i bet Newcastle draw or win more than 2 goals???

seems to me that Basel will have mountain to climb in St James Park...

it all depends on Newcastle to play its game... even 0-1 lose will also qualify...

acchhhoooo
27-11-2003, 09:43 AM

has his european ban been lifted???

martinweng
27-11-2003, 10:00 AM

:confused:

his presence upsets me..bcoz i noe dyer is not fit..

martinweng
27-11-2003, 10:02 AM
of coz bet basel win lar...lose 2-3 at home, surely come st james park shoot birds...

2-1 or 2-0 to basel, and newcastle will be eliminated for a cocked-up reason again..

dreamer75
27-11-2003, 11:00 AM
of coz bet basel win lar...lose 2-3 at home, surely come st james park shoot birds...

2-1 or 2-0 to basel, and newcastle will be eliminated for a cocked-up reason again..

wah lao....not again....:alien:

2-0 Newcastle :)

martinweng
27-11-2003, 11:09 AM

wah lao....not again....:alien:

2-0 Newcastle :)

SBR is liddat 1...bet basel man...

dreamer75
27-11-2003, 01:56 PM
Newcastle v Basle | Uefa Cup second round, second leg | Thurs 26 November | 1930 GMT

First-leg score: Basle 2-3 Newcastle

Newcastle defender Jonathan Woodgate could be rested after just coming back from a lengthy lay-off, with Andy O'Brien a possible replacement.

Lee Bowyer completes the last-match of his six-game European ban, but Nolberto Solano returns from international duty.

Newcastle (from): Given, Harper, Hughes, Bernard, Bramble, Woodgate, O'Brien, S Caldwell, Dyer, Speed, Robert, Jenas, Solano, Viana, Ambrose, Orr, Shearer, Ameobi, LuaLua.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/n/newcastle_united/3239216.stm

dreamer75
27-11-2003, 02:05 PM
11/26/2003. BACKGROUND:
Newcastle put themselves firmly in the driving seat in this tie by winning the first leg 3-2 in Basle. The Magpies twice came from behind in an exciting encounter, Laurent Robert equalising Mario Cantaluppi's opening strike, then Scott Chipperfield restoring Basle's lead before Titus Bramble squared matters again towards the end of a pulsating first half. Shola Ameobi struck a late winner, but bitter experience should ensure that Sir Bobby Robson's men take nothing for granted on Thursday.

The memory of allowing a similar advantage to slip through their grasp at St James' Park in their Champions League qualifier against Partizan Belgrade still causes nightmares on Tyneside.

CURRENT FORM:
Newcastle United (all competitions - oldest results first): WLDWLW
The Magpies bounced back from a 5-0 drubbing by Chelsea to despatch Manchester City in fine style on Saturday. The 3-0 victory saw Alan Shearer claim a brace, taking him to 100 goals under Robson's reign at Gallowgate. Apart from that defeat against a rampant Chelsea, and a less important reversal in the Carling Cup, Newcastle have produced some good form in recent weeks, climbing from the bottom three of the Premiership to sixth and
producing more and more flashes of the panache that typified their play last season.

Basle (all competitions - oldest results first): LDWWLW
Christian Gross's side have won 16 of their 17 Swiss League matches this season and top the table with a commanding 12 point lead over second- placed Young Boys. But they have lost their last two Uefa Cup games ? at home top Newcastle three weeks ago and Malatyaspor 2-1 at home in the previous round, having beaten the Turkish side 2-0 away in the first leg.

TEAM NEWS:
Newcastle: Central defender Jonathan Woodgate could be rested after making his first appearance at the weekend after a lengthy lay-off caused by a double hernia operation. Andy O'Brien is a possible replacement. Lee Bowyer completes the last-match of his six-game European ban, but Nolberto Solano is back in contention after international duty with Peru.

Basle: To be confirmed.

WATCH OUT FOR:
Newcastle: In his present form, it has to be Alan Shearer, though alongside him young strike partner Shola Ameobi is blossoming in the absence of Craig Bellamy.

Basle: Christian "Jimmy" Gimenez has been scoring consistently for Basle this season while Hakan Yakin is another potential dangerman and Australian Scott Chipperfield netted against Newcastle in Switzerland.

POSSIBLE STARTING XIs:

Newcastle: Given, Hughes, Bramble, O'Brien, Bernard, Dyer, Speed, Jenas, Robert, Shearer, Ameobi.

Basle: Zuberbuhler, P Degen, M Yakin, Zwyssig, Acouba, Huggel, Cantaluppi, Chipperfield, H Yakin, Steller, Gimenez.

http://www.soccerage.com/en/13/r6231.html

dreamer75
27-11-2003, 02:06 PM
November 27, 2003

Leeds United's massive financial problems are expected to lead to the sale of star striker Alan Smith in January.

The Sun says Liverpool, Manchester United, Arsenal and Newcastle have all been alerted by the spiralling crisis at Elland Road, but won't enter a bidding war.

Instead, they believe Leeds will have no choice but to sell for a cut-price £6 million.

An Elland Road insider said: "Alan Smith is the last bastion.

"Rio Ferdinand, Harry Kewell, Jonathan Woodgate and Lee Bowyer all went. But Smith is the fans' hero - he is Leeds through and through.

"If he went, the supporters would go crackers.

"Even if administrators come in they have to keep the company going as a viable concern.

"And they will know an asset like Smith is vital to the club's future.

"They would obviously have to balance that with the need for a quick and substantial cash injection.

"And with the transfer window opening in January, there is bound to be speculation."

yenyenpark
27-11-2003, 02:09 PM
11/26/2003. BACKGROUND:
Newcastle put themselves firmly in the driving seat in this tie by winning the first leg 3-2 in Basle. The Magpies twice came from behind in an exciting encounter, Laurent Robert equalising Mario Cantaluppi's opening strike, then Scott Chipperfield restoring Basle's lead before Titus Bramble squared matters again towards the end of a pulsating first half. Shola Ameobi struck a late winner, but bitter experience should ensure that Sir Bobby Robson's men take nothing for granted on Thursday.

The memory of allowing a similar advantage to slip through their grasp at St James' Park in their Champions League qualifier against Partizan Belgrade still causes nightmares on Tyneside.

CURRENT FORM:
Newcastle United (all competitions - oldest results first): WLDWLW
The Magpies bounced back from a 5-0 drubbing by Chelsea to despatch Manchester City in fine style on Saturday. The 3-0 victory saw Alan Shearer claim a brace, taking him to 100 goals under Robson's reign at Gallowgate. Apart from that defeat against a rampant Chelsea, and a less important reversal in the Carling Cup, Newcastle have produced some good form in recent weeks, climbing from the bottom three of the Premiership to sixth and
producing more and more flashes of the panache that typified their play last season.

Basle (all competitions - oldest results first): LDWWLW
Christian Gross's side have won 16 of their 17 Swiss League matches this season and top the table with a commanding 12 point lead over second- placed Young Boys. But they have lost their last two Uefa Cup games ? at home top Newcastle three weeks ago and Malatyaspor 2-1 at home in the previous round, having beaten the Turkish side 2-0 away in the first leg.

TEAM NEWS:
Newcastle: Central defender Jonathan Woodgate could be rested after making his first appearance at the weekend after a lengthy lay-off caused by a double hernia operation. Andy O'Brien is a possible replacement. Lee Bowyer completes the last-match of his six-game European ban, but Nolberto Solano is back in contention after international duty with Peru.

Basle: To be confirmed.

WATCH OUT FOR:
Newcastle: In his present form, it has to be Alan Shearer, though alongside him young strike partner Shola Ameobi is blossoming in the absence of Craig Bellamy.

Basle: Christian "Jimmy" Gimenez has been scoring consistently for Basle this season while Hakan Yakin is another potential dangerman and Australian Scott Chipperfield netted against Newcastle in Switzerland.

POSSIBLE STARTING XIs:

Newcastle: Given, Hughes, Bramble, O'Brien, Bernard, Dyer, Speed, Jenas, Robert, Shearer, Ameobi.

Basle: Zuberbuhler, P Degen, M Yakin, Zwyssig, Acouba, Huggel, Cantaluppi, Chipperfield, H Yakin, Steller, Gimenez.

http://www.soccerage.com/en/13/r6231.html

chiat lat lei... not sure... not sure how to bet... :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

woodgate not playing?? a bit risky lei... other than tat... nothing much...

well wel.., i tok we might got 1-1 at least... sigh.. very difficult to bet... for this game...

Fresnel
27-11-2003, 02:10 PM
I'm expecting a 1-1 draw. :)
anyways, for all that's worth, i think A Smith is good buy though he's a striker, i love his style man......

yenyenpark
27-11-2003, 02:11 PM

has his european ban been lifted???

even lifted... will he play?? think let him play as sub first... can one time go first 11... very dangerous..

dreamer75
27-11-2003, 02:13 PM

even lifted... will he play?? think let him play as sub first... can one time go first 11... very dangerous..

not lifted lah...finished serving the ban..

acchhhoooo
27-11-2003, 02:22 PM

not lifted lah...finished serving the ban..

thanks for correcting... but anyway, basle is the last match right?? only after this coming match then can he start playing right??

yenyenpark
27-11-2003, 03:32 PM
I'm expecting a 1-1 draw. :)
anyways, for all that's worth, i think A Smith is good buy though he's a striker, i love his style man......

same thought... but my though always differ from the actualy result.. :D

yenyenpark
27-11-2003, 04:06 PM
Basel boss aims for perfection Nov 26 2003

By Alan Oliver, The Evening Chronicle

FC Basel coach Christian Gross has warned his side they must come up with the perfect match if they are to go through to the third round of the UEFA Cup at the expense of Newcastle United at St James' Park tomorrow night.

Gross said: "Our aim is to score a goal in each half and stop Newcastle from scoring and we will be there."

United, of course, are very much in the driving seat following their second round first-leg victory in Switzerland, although what happened in their Champions League qualifier with Partizan Belgrade will be at the back of their minds.

Gross will be in charge of a team at St James' Park for the first time, his only other visit being when he was manager of Spurs and he was doing a bit of spying on future opponents.

He knows it is going to be difficult for his team tomorrow night.

Indeed he added: "I have a lot of respect for Newcastle United and I know that they hardly ever fail to score at home.

"I had them watched on Saturday and my scouts say Olivier Bernard and Laurent Robert were outstanding in the way they linked down the left. But our aim is still to be in the UEFA Cup next year."

Basel will train at St James' Park tonight without Murat Hakin, Antonio Esposito, Matias Delgardo and strikers Herve Tum and Christian Gimenez, who will miss tomorrow night's match because of injury.

Both midfielders Hakan Hakin and Mario Cantaluppi will play even though neither is 100 per cent fit.

Gross will rely on Julio Rossi and Marco Streller up front, the latter just a couple of days after he was watched by Liverpool boss Gerard Houllier in the 5-2 Swiss League win over Grasshoppers.

With Murat Hakin out, Gross will turn to his third choice central defender Alexandre Quennoz against Alan Shearer.

Basel pointed out today that while Quennoz does not have the experience and standing of Murat Hakin he is more mobile. He stopped Michael Owen from scoring in last season's 1-1 draw with Liverpool in the Champions League at Anfield

Coolsmurf
27-11-2003, 06:20 PM
seems like basel missing many key players and some players who are not fullly fit

with them trailing 3-2, basel will be coming at newcastle and newcastle can hit them on the counter-attack

newcastle will win comfortably..

Fresnel
27-11-2003, 09:25 PM
Win comfortably??? THEY BETTER...or ELSE.......Grrrrr...2morow u will see me call father call mother here!

martinweng
27-11-2003, 09:53 PM
dunno where got this feeling they wud lose...perhaps 1-0

edhorizon
27-11-2003, 10:31 PM
i go for newcastle to win by at least 1 goal.

ZhiQiang
28-11-2003, 02:32 AM
go newcastle go!!!

revenant
28-11-2003, 02:38 AM
Who's staying up?

ZhiQiang
28-11-2003, 02:40 AM
Who's staying up? me me! but room no tv... maybe bring lappie outside watch... :D

revenant
28-11-2003, 03:09 AM
me me! but room no tv... maybe bring lappie outside watch... :D

Use notebook watch?

ZhiQiang
28-11-2003, 03:25 AM

Use notebook watch? no lah, watch on tv, surf net on lappie...

ZhiQiang
28-11-2003, 03:32 AM
18 secs... shearer tio book...

ZhiQiang
28-11-2003, 03:45 AM
13 min... robert corner, shearer head in goal...

ZhiQiang
28-11-2003, 03:47 AM
13 min... robert corner, shearer head in goal... but it came @ a price... shearer head bleeding...

ZhiQiang
28-11-2003, 04:06 AM
33rd min basle free kick juz outside newcastle pen box... hit the wall... nothing happened...

revenant
28-11-2003, 04:26 AM
13 min... robert corner, shearer head in goal...

Basel player own goal lah.

ZhiQiang
28-11-2003, 04:27 AM

Basel player own goal lah. izzit? paisay...

revenant
28-11-2003, 04:28 AM
but it came @ a price... shearer head bleeding...

Not head, its around the eye-brow area.

ZhiQiang
28-11-2003, 04:28 AM

Not head, its around the eye-brow area. paisay again...

revenant
28-11-2003, 04:32 AM
paisay again...

You need some sleep :D

ZhiQiang
28-11-2003, 04:32 AM

You need some sleep :D :(

yah, i am tired...

martinweng
28-11-2003, 08:15 AM
1-0! but by own goal...:( :o

acchhhoooo
28-11-2003, 09:27 AM

wat matters is that we got the result right??? ;)

dbchoong
28-11-2003, 09:39 AM
Watched the match last night... still sleepy now... :laugh:

Average game by Newcastle. Defended reasonably ok - not great. Woody didn't play. Ameobi was pretty quiet too. Robert was over-dribbling again.

Basle looked very ordinary. Not sure why they are run-away leaders in the Swiss league. Basle had one goal disallowed for offside. Slow motion replays shows that the linesman got it right.

Otherwise, nothing much interesting about the game... except that Newcastle won and got the result they wanted.

Bring on the next victims: Wolves...

:cool:

yenyenpark
28-11-2003, 09:58 AM
Watched the match last night... still sleepy now... :laugh:

Average game by Newcastle. Defended reasonably ok - not great. Woody didn't play. Ameobi was pretty quiet too. Robert was over-dribbling again.

Basle looked very ordinary. Not sure why they are run-away leaders in the Swiss league. Basle had one goal disallowed for offside. Slow motion replays shows that the linesman got it right.

Otherwise, nothing much interesting about the game... except that Newcastle won and got the result they wanted.

Bring on the next victims: Wolves...

:cool:

a big thumb up for our Newcastle supporter.. sigh tat i dun have SCV at home.. :(

yup... i checked the WAP.. and it said no Woodgate... and I thought %&^*#@... wat if... and wat if...

but luckily the wat if never happened.. hahaha...

yenyenpark
28-11-2003, 10:03 AM

lose money again ah??? i dun think u got bet.. just wild guess...

ai yoh... i will think u will only happy with Newcastle when they are as stronger as Man U or stronger than them... which is very impossible now... so stop complaining.. about our team lah...

anyway... I think u will always support Newcastle United... FC... rite... think supporting is enuff..

Newcastle v Basel match only got like slightly over 40,000 spectators... :( which is a bit less than EPL games...

edhorizon
28-11-2003, 10:45 AM
how come newcastle supporter seems to lack confidence for ur fav team?

everytime i read this thread post u guys only like assume they will get a draw or maybe lose by 1 goal etc........ even against lousier teams.

think u guys should have more confidence in them.

yenyenpark
28-11-2003, 12:13 PM
Originally posted by edhorizon
how come newcastle supporter seems to lack confidence for ur fav team?

everytime i read this thread post u guys only like assume they will get a draw or maybe lose by 1 goal etc........ even against lousier teams.

think u guys should have more confidence in them.

lack confidence??? where got.. we are just more careful about our money.. :D :D

Coolsmurf
28-11-2003, 12:22 PM
as i said, newcastle won although it was an own goal. basle only 1 season wonder and that was last year. runaway leaders in own league because its a one-horse race there.

comeon wolves, revenge for last year fa cup exit.

Fresnel
28-11-2003, 12:24 PM
I used to have very high confidence for the team ...but eversince Dalglish era, it has dropped drastically...i'm not trying to pour cold water so something. But can you imagine the feeling where every week when there's an EPL match involving NewK, where a loss is a great shock? But now every week a draw is a sigh of relief while a win is a shock?? I'm telling you NewK standard is just there now....I can even single out that pompey plays more exciting football than newk. How many years have the fans been waiting for silverware?? Do you consider Div1 cup as one?? the fact is Newk just do not have the depth to challenge for honours. Take out Wooddog, Dyer ,Robert and Shearer or any one of them just missing, you will see how hard newk struggle to get any foothold. Champions' League material? Sadly no....European Quality? By fluke maybe.
Even as of now, the consistency showed by Newk is nothing more than mid table EPL quality.
Like i said before, we should not look for just the result, but the quality of the result. We may have come away lucky winners against Basle 1-0, but what does this result show?? Were any of NewK players' names on the scoring list? Sadly no. So what does this show? I'll leave this analysis to you.....coming away as lucky winners is no show of real quality.

Coolsmurf
28-11-2003, 12:27 PM
u do need lady luck to play a part in football results...

guranteed that we might not be playing like that because teams know how to play against us unlike last season or even the previous season....but now SBR trying to work out someting again...

but i think SBR going to change things around once Shearer decides to call it a day..

dbchoong
28-11-2003, 01:02 PM
If you watched the game, Newcastle did not win by luck. I would say they controlled the game but everyone left their scoring boots at home. Shearer did have quite a few good shots at goal, but Basle's keeper made pretty good saves.

In some games, I feel anxious or nervous hoping that they won't let in a goal. But this game, no such feeling as I can see that they were very much in control even without Woody.

Have to agree with you about Newcastle's quality. Not exactly great, but I think they should be good enough to challenge for 4th-6th placing.

Oh yeah, Pompey's been playing well too... but Newcastle still crushed them 3-0 just recently. Remember?

Have some faith !!

;)

coming away as lucky winners is no show of real quality.

Coolsmurf
28-11-2003, 01:06 PM
pompey is good at home but atrocious away from it so getting beaten by Newcastle at SJP is no real surprise

If you watched the game, Newcastle did not win by luck. I would say they controlled the game but everyone left their scoring boots at home. Shearer did have quite a few good shots at goal, but Basle's keeper made pretty good saves.

In some games, I feel anxious or nervous hoping that they won't let in a goal. But this game, no such feeling as I can see that they were very much in control even without Woody.

Have to agree with you about Newcastle's quality. Not exactly great, but I think they should be good enough to challenge for 4th-6th placing.

Oh yeah, Pompey's been playing well too... but Newcastle still crushed them 3-0 just recently. Remember?

Have some faith !!

;)

yenyenpark
28-11-2003, 02:50 PM

Have some faith !!

;)

sigh... Newcastle just dun have the champ quality yet... but we still have more than enuff to win a game...

for this morning show... it's very hard to say.. many of us think Basel will give Newcastle a very hard time...

well, although we constantly challenged by Basel... we managed to keep them in bay... and with some counter attack in awhile...

playing at home realy are more pressured as we dun really know much about the opponent team...

however, a 1-0 win is well reserved... by our players... NOT Basel's players.. :D :D

yenyenpark
28-11-2003, 02:57 PM
I used to have very high confidence for the team ...but eversince Dalglish era, it has dropped drastically...i'm not trying to pour cold water so something. But can you imagine the feeling where every week when there's an EPL match involving NewK, where a loss is a great shock? But now every week a draw is a sigh of relief while a win is a shock?? I'm telling you NewK standard is just there now....I can even single out that pompey plays more exciting football than newk. How many years have the fans been waiting for silverware?? Do you consider Div1 cup as one?? the fact is Newk just do not have the depth to challenge for honours. Take out Wooddog, Dyer ,Robert and Shearer or any one of them just missing, you will see how hard newk struggle to get any foothold. Champions' League material? Sadly no....European Quality? By fluke maybe.
Even as of now, the consistency showed by Newk is nothing more than mid table EPL quality.
Like i said before, we should not look for just the result, but the quality of the result. We may have come away lucky winners against Basle 1-0, but what does this result show?? Were any of NewK players' names on the scoring list? Sadly no. So what does this show? I'll leave this analysis to you.....coming away as lucky winners is no show of real quality.

yup... u got points.. but winning a champ is really not easy... we got chances slipped away... few years ago... and now... we look like very close to EPL champ... but yet we are still behind... manager is most important key.. in success...

besides tat, money is another important thing... we has come from div 2?? and we are EPL challenging the champ...

even Liverpool can't win champ from Man U or Arsenal although they won a minor treple once..

anyway... we need something... club should continuing buying... and fans should continuing supporting...

then we will be strong..

edhorizon
28-11-2003, 04:55 PM

lack confidence??? where got.. we are just more careful about our money.. :D :D

try searching the last 10 pages and maybe u can do abit of statitics that against lousier teams, newcastle supporter also not confident of 3 pts. a draw or 1pt is good for u guys... i think especially during fulham and boro during that period.

to me as long i just have faith when i bet is all it matters. and have confidence in ur fav team also.

ZhiQiang
28-11-2003, 05:16 PM
next... wolves!!! chop them up!!!

ZhiQiang
28-11-2003, 05:19 PM
Wolves lose two for Magpies clash

Wolves boss Dave Jones has been hit by a double injury blow ahead of tomorrow's Premiership clash with Newcastle.

Nigerian defender Isaac Okoronkwo limped out of a midweek reserve game with a hamstring injury and will not be included in Jones' first-team squad.

Meanwhile, long-term injury victim George Ndah faces another three months on the sidelines following a second knee operation.

While neither player had been expected to figure against Sir Bobby Robson's men, Jones may soon be counting the cost of their absences.

He is desperate for defensive cover with Joleon Lescott out for the season and regular centre-back Paul Butler facing an imminent three-match ban.

But Okoronkwo has yet to play in the Premiership following his summer move from Shakhtar Donetsk and Jones admitted to the Express & Star: 'Everyone is challenging for a first-team place but Isaac is taking time to settle.

'He gave a stupid penalty away and for him it is just a learning process.'

Ndah had an operation on Tuesday after complications in his recovery.

Dean Sturridge and Hassan Kachloul both played the first half of the reserve match and are set to figure in Jones' Saturday squad.

edhorizon
28-11-2003, 06:59 PM
who home ah?

revenant
28-11-2003, 08:14 PM
Originally posted by edhorizon
who home ah?

Wolves

edhorizon
28-11-2003, 09:57 PM

Wolves

okz. but i still fancy a newcastle 2 goals win. :D
cause of one guy. alan shearer. he playing hor?

dreamer75
29-11-2003, 12:21 AM
woohoo!!! we r thr to the next round of the UEFA Cup...see told u we would win...have some failth Martin.

bring on Wolves :)

paisey...now then post cause v angry with TDK staff at SITEX :mad:

dreamer75
29-11-2003, 12:27 AM
woohoo!!! we r thr to the next round of the UEFA Cup...see told u we would win...have some failth Martin.

Kiwi8
29-11-2003, 12:34 AM

What was up with the TDK staff? :confused:

dreamer75
29-11-2003, 01:13 AM
Originally posted by Kiwi8

What was up with the TDK staff? :confused:

read my post...

http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?forumid=73&threadid=615676

martinweng
29-11-2003, 12:29 PM
yo...Newcastle wont survive thru the next round..or the next..and the next...they shud juz purposely lose lor...

if i see my team not going to beat the likes of those CL 3rd spot team, i wont wanna extend my run in UEFA...since u runner-up oso no fame...

its ok to try lor...but newcastle players often kana tackled liao den injured until ppl tot they r dead..

shud concentrate on EPL, bcoz we go 4th spot can earn money and CL spot..and den if shepherd decides to pocket the money, i quit Newcastle...

dreamer75
29-11-2003, 12:39 PM
My Pick : 1-3

The early kick off match this weekend should be an entertaining one as Newcastle travel to face Wolves at Molineux.

Wolves started their season getting thumped 1-5 at Blackburn and while things have got slightly better - well they would have to improve wouldn't they ? - Wolves are still mired deep in the relegation zone.

Scoring goals in the big problem for Wolves with just 8 in their first 13 games, and half of those came in that amazing 4-3 home victory over Leicester City.

Wolves are haven't won in their last three games, with a couple of away losses and a home draw against Birmingham, and really it's hard to see them pulling a good performance out of the bag.

However, things wont be that easy for Newcastle, as they were busy on Thursday night playing in the UEFA Cup, so I expect to see some tired legs and the last time that happened we saw the Geordies lose 0-5 at Chelsea.

Newcastle's away results haven't been great so far - they've earned a 2-2-2 record from their first six games - but the losses were at Chelsea and Arsenal - and those are very tough places to play.

This should be an easier task though and with five wins from their last seven league games it's reasonable to expect Newcastle to do the business.

A win for Newcastle is the call then - although the game on Thursday night could take a lot out of them.

Fresnel
29-11-2003, 05:59 PM
My Pick 1-2 . With Nukey going behind first....so far, most of the matches they screened live for EPL has shown Nuke either lose or draw. I'm hoping this time will be different!

martinweng
29-11-2003, 07:43 PM
1-1...i tink newcastle will be held..

dreamer75
29-11-2003, 09:19 PM
Latest: Wolves 1 Newcastle 1

31mins: SHEARER LEVELS THE SCORES LuaLua plays a sublime ball through the Wolves defence, Shearer latches onto it and fires a first-time ball across the face of the goal, past his marker and the keeper, and into the net for his 12th of the season.

Jedihan
29-11-2003, 09:21 PM
Can anyone provide me with the match stats? like er is newcastle dominating the game?

dreamer75
29-11-2003, 09:27 PM
The half-time whistle is blown and the teams go into the dressing room at 1-1. The Wolves players are still arguing about the Blake penalty incident, and are being lead from the pitch by stewards.

Fresnel
29-11-2003, 09:30 PM
Performance is dreadfully AWFUL (what's new)...losing possession, throwing blind balls. Wolves were in firm control. And SUper dUper Titus Shambles nearly does it again...his SUPER vertical clearances (kick or head which shoots vertically into the sky to hit UFOs) and SUPER challenge which he's sooo damned lucky to get away wif it that could have resulted in a penalty/fk at D. If you do not notice everything i've said are sacarsm.

It's quite painful watching NewC play like that....D grade. AWFUL...No creativity, No cohesion, NO fluidity..
And as i had predicted earlier in this thread, they DID go behind first.....

Fresnel
29-11-2003, 10:50 PM
a Lacklustre performance....i'm quite sick of it already......

ZhiQiang
30-11-2003, 03:11 AM
sianz, draw...

dreamer75
30-11-2003, 03:18 AM
come on guys....give them a break...
they just played a UEFA match 48 hrs ago...

i'm not trying to find excuses for our team but this is the fact.

dreamer75
30-11-2003, 03:19 AM
By Mark Staniforth, PA Sport

Newcastle manager Sir Bobby Robson hailed his side for fighting fatigue and earning a hard-fought point at Wolves today.

Alan Shearer hit his 12th Barclaycard Premiership goal of the season to cancel out Nathan Blake’s opener four minutes earlier at Wolves.

The Magpies’ bid for three more points to boost their climb up the table floundered as their pace dropped after the break.

But Robson, who watched his side triumph over Basle in the UEFA Cup less than 48 hours earlier, said: “Considering we played on Thursday night I can’t give my team enough credit.

“Not many managers would have agreed to play this game today but we did and it was a commendable effort.”

Robson admitted a point would not help his side’s bid to wrestle their way into the top three but he said his sights were now firmly focused on fourth.

He added: “I’m not saying the top three is totally conclusive but can anybody catch them? I would say realistically no.

“With all due respect to Wolves these are the games we have got to pick three points up from. But a point could be valuable in the end particularly because of having played on Thursday.”

Wolves boss Dave Jones criticised referee Steve Bennett for not giving a penalty when Blake appeared to be up-ended by Titus Bramble in the first half.

Jones blasted: “I’ve been told it was outside the box but the referee had two decisions.

“Is it outside or is it inside the box? Maybe that was too much for him to think about.”

Jones said his team were unfortunate after a number of glaring misses shattered their chances of getting the win which would have lifted them out of the bottom three.

He added: “We took the game to them but we ended up talking about the width of the post and the crossbar.

“At 1-0 up we started to do one or two sloppy things and we got punished for them.

“But everyone did their jobs and I can’t take anything away from my players today. We gave them a good game and on another day the chances would have gone in.”

martinweng
30-11-2003, 08:04 AM
hey SBR...now a 1-1 draw wif a div1 team is oso acceptable? hmm...ok..i'm wif newcastle..lets fight relegation together :alien:

Fresnel
30-11-2003, 01:53 PM
I admire your persistence in faith in nukey dreamer...but c'mon it's not the first time they play like that WITHOUT having a UEFA cup match 48hours ago. Search through the previous pages, i mentioned that everytime they show the match on TV the performance is sucky....well what do we have here again? The UEFA match thing is just an excuse. He's playing so many players out of position...and that old gaffer sure knows how to bear grudges by leaving Nobby out.
YEah give them a break my ass, they break my heart everytime they play.....'The Entertainers' have become the 'The Clowns'....dunch u agree Martin? If any of you watched the match you will know how painful it is.....

matoriv
30-11-2003, 04:12 PM
give em a break lah...

2 heart bursting matches in 48 hours..
who do u expect em to play to their full potential..
u could see for yourselves the players were quite tired in their movement and passing..

e singapore team would be worse man..
heck they are worse.. going 0-2 down to myanmar...

yes they have played worse or similar without e uefa cup match beforehand..
but e uefa cup makes it worse..
look at their recent form... they have being winning since their 0-5 thrased by chelsea...
they will bounce back from this setback..

though newcastle were denied a penalty..
haiz..
at least they didnt lose..

Fresnel
30-11-2003, 08:43 PM
hahaaha u said it....'AT LEAST' they didn't lose.....heh heh...another skeptic? I'll be forever critical on them until the day i see them put together a convincing performance against a Div 1 type club. We cannot afford to drop points against clubs who are fighting relegation, i can imagine the massacre when we meet ManUre or Arsenal.....and you know to switch supporting club is a very difficult and near impossible task for me...so the only thing i can do is lambast their weaknesses.

dreamer75
30-11-2003, 11:34 PM
I admire your persistence in faith in nukey dreamer...but c'mon it's not the first time they play like that WITHOUT having a UEFA cup match 48hours ago. Search through the previous pages, i mentioned that everytime they show the match on TV the performance is sucky....well what do we have here again? The UEFA match thing is just an excuse. He's playing so many players out of position...and that old gaffer sure knows how to bear grudges by leaving Nobby out.
YEah give them a break my ass, they break my heart everytime they play.....'The Entertainers' have become the 'The Clowns'....dunch u agree Martin? If any of you watched the match you will know how painful it is.....

thanks for ur complement...:)

dreamer75
30-11-2003, 11:54 PM
he's also pissed off with our team...

Wolverhampton Wanderers 1 - 1 Newcastle United

Well, I said that if we played like we did against Basel that we would lose this game. In actual fact we played worse and yet managed a draw.

Over the many years that I have supported our team I have learned to accept many things.

I can accept that we failed to beat a team that is going to be relegated.

I can accept that I have never seen as many of our passes going straight to the opposition.

I can accept that for some unknown reason, Robert was not even on the bench.

I can accept that we only played for a couple of minutes after they had scored, until we had scored ourselves a few minutes before kick off.

I can even accept that our midfield gave little support to either the defence or the attack and that Jenas and Dyer appear to believe that they are the best players on the pitch.

What I CAN NOT accept is that the manager after the game said that he was PLEASED with the performance. If that IS the case, and he was satisfied with that, then there is something wrong with him.

Whisky club man of the match......Bernard.

http://drgloom.co.uk/post_mortems/postmortem_frameset.html

dreamer75
30-11-2003, 11:56 PM
The transfer window opens in 32 days, and this is as good a reson as any for there to be loads of the old transfer speculation around. Amongst the rumours is one worrying one.

Villa and Wales right back Mark Delaney, rated by many as one of our better players, is rumoured to be 'mulling over' a possible move to join Bobby's dazzlers up in the North East. The Mr Bean lookalike, famous for his sliding tackles has come on tremendously since being signed by John Gregory from Cardiff City. He is that rare thing in this day and age, a player who developed not from some acadamy or other but who first cut his teeth in non-League football with Haverfordwest. Newcastle would be expected to pay at least £3m for the Welshman.

The story linking Olof Mellberg to just about anyone worht mentioning refuses to go away. You have to feel that he is too good for this current Villa setup and a move is surely inevitable.

David O'Leary wants to reward Dion Dublin's recent performances with a new contract. Dion, who's current deal expires in the summer, has scored twice recently from his new role as central defender (A goal scoring central defender? Surely shome mishtake). More Shaun Teale than Paul McGrath perhaps, Dubbers has been very effective. Is there anything he can't do?

Meanwhile, Villa seem ready to finally end the Bosko Balaban saga by coming to some arrangement over the three years remaining on his £750,000 per year contract. Whilst John Gregorycan be rightly proud of buying the other players mentioned in this article, the Balaban one is real head shaker. he has not to date started a Premiership match, and has not started any match since the League Cup tie against Sheffield Wednesday 2 years ago.

Peter Bosworth
Editor@villatalk.com

http://www.villatalk.com/modules.php?op=modload&name=News&file=article&sid=1681

martinweng
01-12-2003, 08:26 AM
yawn....liverpool climb on top of us again...:mad:

sian again..after SBR revolutionized us, we r back to mid-table again...

Fresnel
01-12-2003, 10:28 AM
he's also pissed off with our team...

Wolverhampton Wanderers 1 - 1 Newcastle United

Well, I said that if we played like we did against Basel that we would lose this game. In actual fact we played worse and yet managed a draw.

Over the many years that I have supported our team I have learned to accept many things.

I can accept that we failed to beat a team that is going to be relegated.

I can accept that I have never seen as many of our passes going straight to the opposition.

I can accept that for some unknown reason, Robert was not even on the bench.

I can accept that we only played for a couple of minutes after they had scored, until we had scored ourselves a few minutes before kick off.

I can even accept that our midfield gave little support to either the defence or the attack and that Jenas and Dyer appear to believe that they are the best players on the pitch.

What I CAN NOT accept is that the manager after the game said that he was PLEASED with the performance. If that IS the case, and he was satisfied with that, then there is something wrong with him.

Whisky club man of the match......Bernard.

http://drgloom.co.uk/post_mortems/postmortem_frameset.html

OMG we have telepathic link!! The exact same sentiments as mine minus the Bernard part !!!
Way to go GLOOM!!!!

martinweng
01-12-2003, 12:18 PM
For me is

1) Given. Our defense too yaya bcoz they noe we got Given...if he leaves, our defense may tighten up knowing we dun haf a gd keeper @ the back...

2) Shearer. IF he leaves, Shepherd will hunt for another gd striker. Also, he is hindering youngsters like ameobi, lualua and chopra from xpressing themselves...Although he got gd leadership...scoring abilities, he cannot last 4eva..so i tink its time he leaves, let Newcastle revitalise wif better players coming in..

Kiwi8
01-12-2003, 12:54 PM
For me is

1) Given. Our defense too yaya bcoz they noe we got Given...if he leaves, our defense may tighten up knowing we dun haf a gd keeper @ the back...

2) Shearer. IF he leaves, Shepherd will hunt for another gd striker. Also, he is hindering youngsters like ameobi, lualua and chopra from xpressing themselves...Although he got gd leadership...scoring abilities, he cannot last 4eva..so i tink its time he leaves, let Newcastle revitalise wif better players coming in..

U siao boh? :confused:

What for put the blame on the players who are doing well like Given and Shearer, instead of putting blame on the players who are not doing well like the clowning defenders in front of Given? :confused:

dreamer75
01-12-2003, 01:09 PM
For me is

if u r the manager of NUFC....u confirm keen chopped! :)

dreamer75
01-12-2003, 01:09 PM
next match...we are against Liverpool at home...

dreamer75
01-12-2003, 02:11 PM
The transfer window is approaching and the tabloid hacks obviously know something about football, as they’ve worked out we need a right-back and a forward.

The People and Sunday Mirror both claim that Sir Bobby wants to make Alan Smith his big January signing, with Freddy Shepherd keen on the idea of picking up an England international for a bargain price.

According to the story in the Sunday Mirror, which appears to be based entirely around the opinion of an unnamed, but very convenient and possibly fictional club insider, Shepherd will try and get Smith for as little as £2.5million, with Leeds’ administrator being duty-bound to accept the offer.

The fact that Leeds aren’t actually in administration yet and that a consortium are said to be planning a rescue package appears to have escaped the attention of the paper though.

Not sure whether or not there is any truth in the story, but Smith would certainly be a good signing.

His disciplinary problems have often overshadowed his ability, but make no mistake, he is a talented footballer who has the kind of determination to win that a few of our youngsters could do with developing.

All reports about Smith’s off-field behaviour suggest that he is tucked up in bed with a cup of cocoa and a colouring-in book by 9.30 every night, which is certainly no bad thing.

Elsewhere, we are again linked with signing another Leeds United forward, the talented but perennially crocked Michael Bridges with the fee quoted this time £1million.

As for the right-back situation a number of papers report that Spurs are keen to sign Danny Mills to replace a St James’ Park-bound Stephen Carr, while others claim that Sir Bobby is weighing up a bid for Aston Villa and Wales star Mark Delaney.

I’ve always viewed Carr as being slightly over-rated, good going forward but prone to defensive lapses, while Delaney is solid but far from being top class.

Both though are probably better than what we already have available, and the fact that Mills is regularly named in the England squad illustrates just how poor the quality of full-backs available in the Premiership really is.

And back to the Sunday Mirror for the final word, as they claim that Andy Griffin’s recent sending off for some top-notch fisticuffs in the reserves will stop him agreeing a new contract. It may surprise some to know that the tough-tackling Griffin actually has a pretty good disciplinary record for a defender, with just one red and 14 yellow cards in 102 first-team outings.

dreamer75
01-12-2003, 02:14 PM
Ron Atkinson
Monday December 1, 2003
The Guardian

Newcastle allowed too many long balls to drift over them and won't be able to beat top teams in the Uefa Cup or Premiership if they carry on like that.
Jonathan Woodgate and Titus Bramble were all over the place when Wolves hit 60-yard balls towards Nathan Blake. I'm sure Sir Bobby Robson will be very angry because that's not about ability, it's basic organisation and discipline.

Blake would be the only Wolves player in their half, so you're talking about three defenders against one attacker. The goal they conceded was down to untidy, dozy defending.

Because Woodgate and Bramble were ball-watching and switched off, Blake was often able to run through them. Alex Rae lofted an optimistic ball forward and neither defender took responsibility for marking Blake or clearing the danger. If they had only one man back he would have marked Blake but as it was they left him to each other. One of the basic rules of defending is that you don't let long balls bounce over your head unless you are certain there's no one within 30 yards of it.

Newcastle's starting positions could have been better. Woodgate should have been back to cover balls hit into the gully, and Bramble should have shuffled over to mark Blake, with Aaron Hughes the insurance man.

http://football.guardian.co.uk/comment/story/0,9753,1096864,00.html

dreamer75
01-12-2003, 02:18 PM
guess what Dr Gloom predicting..

I used to think that after a poor show, we would turn in a good one and to be fair there are times that we still do, beating Man City after the debacle against Chelsea is evidence of that.

The trouble now, though, is that even when the team do play badly, the manager assures them that they have performed well so we could go into this game thinking that we are on a good run of form.

I thought last season's beating of Liverpool was one of our best, and most satisfying, performances of the season and with them going through, like us, an inconsistent spell, we should be capable of repeating the result...while at the same time be capable of losing.

If you have seen my last couple of post mortems, you will be aware that I have got the "Gloom" hat firmly back onto my head and am in great need of a good show from the lads to set me up for the Christmas season.

My forecast...another performance where we struggle to create chances. A Defeat.

Prove me wrong lads.....PLEASE

See you at the post mortem - Doctor Gloom

Fresnel
01-12-2003, 02:21 PM
good good Alan Smith come good good. But sad for other forwards....

martinweng
01-12-2003, 06:01 PM
jump ship liao lar...chelsea now top of the table...

omg..newcastle vs liverpool..i needa go bank withdraw my money put on liverpool

dreamer75
01-12-2003, 06:16 PM
jump ship liao lar...chelsea now top of the table...

omg..newcastle vs liverpool..i needa go bank withdraw my money put on liverpool

Chelsea deserved to win :)

haha..pls...have some faith man...
we shall not fall at home..

martinweng
01-12-2003, 07:03 PM

Chelsea deserved to win :)

haha..pls...have some faith man...
we shall not fall at home..

ok...history textbooks up..

Aug 23: newcastle 1-2 man utd
Aug 30: newcastle 0-1 birmingham

Coolsmurf
01-12-2003, 10:22 PM
we were sorely missing robert who was rested against wolves...bowyer is not the bowyer of leeds and looks rather subdued everytime i see him play. and why doen solano keep on appearing on the bench.

ZhiQiang
01-12-2003, 10:56 PM
i reaaly wish to see rivaldo come to newcastle after he walk out...

Fresnel
01-12-2003, 10:57 PM
ya know coolsmurf....i'm just as puzzled as you are...perhaps SBR is trying to prove that his free transfer buy can do magic which obviously NOT....and there are talks of Viana leaving which i say..GOOD RIDDANCE.....but perhaps cannot blame him cuz SBR keep playing him out of position...Vianna's fav role is central...but SBR keep forcing him play left winger.....but from what i seen from this player's performance, he doesn't deserve to be at the club...but then again...somem good players always end up bad at NEwC(Think JD Tomasson and Andreas Andersson...)

NewC Vs Liverpool?? Well Martinweng, i wld just hold onto the money there at the moment...cuz pool has no Michael 'Eat Newcastle' Owen....and pool's performances have not been great either...BUT then again there is Vladimir 'May Eat NEwcastle' Smicer and HArry 'Terrorise Newcastle' Kewell....so i'm keepin my fingers crossed!

martinweng
02-12-2003, 08:23 AM
ya know coolsmurf....i'm just as puzzled as you are...perhaps SBR is trying to prove that his free transfer buy can do magic which obviously NOT....and there are talks of Viana leaving which i say..GOOD RIDDANCE.....but perhaps cannot blame him cuz SBR keep playing him out of position...Vianna's fav role is central...but SBR keep forcing him play left winger.....but from what i seen from this player's performance, he doesn't deserve to be at the club...but then again...somem good players always end up bad at NEwC(Think JD Tomasson and Andreas Andersson...)

NewC Vs Liverpool?? Well Martinweng, i wld just hold onto the money there at the moment...cuz pool has no Michael 'Eat Newcastle' Owen....and pool's performances have not been great either...BUT then again there is Vladimir 'May Eat NEwcastle' Smicer and HArry 'Terrorise Newcastle' Kewell....so i'm keepin my fingers crossed!

I can't believe u actually doubt LIVERPOOL!

i was tinking can Given and his clowns in front of him able to stop the reds? can SHearer 1 person alone fight 4 defenders? wad force of nature do we need to hold liverpool to a draw?

hmmm....$200 draw, $100 liverpool

martinweng
02-12-2003, 08:25 AM
we were sorely missing robert who was rested against wolves...bowyer is not the bowyer of leeds and looks rather subdued everytime i see him play. and why doen solano keep on appearing on the bench.

dats wad i mean...no squad depth...1 player missing, whole team lan lan..

martinweng
02-12-2003, 08:27 AM
i reaaly wish to see rivaldo come to newcastle after he walk out...

I'm sorry, u can toss billions of coins into wishing wells all over the world, but dis dream aint gonna come true, for u and i noe wad lies beneath St. James Park

dreamer75
02-12-2003, 01:35 PM

I'm sorry, u can toss billions of coins into wishing wells all over the world, but dis dream aint gonna come true, for u and i noe wad lies beneath St. James Park

u r right man...

he won't join us...Chelsea?

dreamer75
02-12-2003, 01:41 PM
Story by Martyn Elliott
1 December 2003

Sir Bobby has confirmed that he hopes to be able to strengthen the squad in the January transfer window, by making at least two new signings.

Without being specific Sir Bobby admitted that he knew which positions he wanted to strengthen, but the smart money is on right-back and striker.

"Two new players would be a wonderful addition in January if we can get them,” he said.

"I know the two positions we need to strengthen. The club must always look for progression, it must not stand still.

"Liverpool don't stand still, they try to buy, and just look at what Arsenal, Chelsea and Manchester United have done with money."

Unfortunately of the four clubs Sir Bobby mentions only Liverpool are a realistic comparison, and with the exception of Harry Kewell when was the last time they purchased a real top quality player? Surely their example isn’t one we want to follow.

Arsenal are skint and it’s a long time since Wenger made a successful big-money signing. Instead the Gunners have picked up some decent youngsters for next to nothing and developed them in the reserve team and by sending them out on loan. Why is that we try and do something similar, but pay big fees for the inexperienced players and let them learn their trade in the first team?

Chelsea are just in a completely different league financially, as are Manchester United, who today announced a £36million deal with Vodafone and confirmed that part of the money will be made available to strengthen the team, which puts our £5million casino deal into perspective.

When you look at the amount of money that has been wasted on duff players in the post-Keegan era and then consider what we might have achieved this season had some of it been available to spend in the summer, it makes for a depressing conclusion.

Signing two proven Premiership players - we need the finished article, not just more potential - in January would be a welcome boost, but for this season it is too little too late.

As Sir Bobby admitted on Saturday we are already playing for fourth.

And that can hardly be described as progress.

http://www.newcastleutd-mad.co.uk/news/loadnews.asp?cid=TMNW&id=131188

dreamer75
02-12-2003, 01:45 PM
Story by Martyn Elliott
1 December 2003

Sir Bobby has been attempting to explain his decision to omit in-form Laurent Robert from the team that faced Wolves on Saturday.

Apparently the Frenchman was considered too weary to play, which made sense until Sir Bobby revealed that the player he replaced him with wasn’t actually match-fit.

"I took him (Robert) off late in the Basel game,” he told the Evening Chronicle.

"He has done very well for us in the last five or six weeks and played most of the time.

"Laurent was very tired after Thursday and he has played brilliantly these last few weeks.

"But I just felt it wasn't his game. I felt we had enough tired legs without Robert.

"I thought I wasn't going to get very much out of him. When he's like that it's best not to play him.

"I thought we would get some up-and-down work from Bowyer but he didn't train last week and that affected him."

It’s fair to say that I’m not a big fan of Robert, but after his displays in the past few weeks it was a disappointment not to see him in action at Molineux, particularly with a full week for him to recover before the Liverpool game.

It seems that a £1million-a-year salary isn’t enough to stop you feeling tired, but given just how poor the winger was in last season’s FA Cup defeat you’d have thought he’d have been desperate for the chance to make amends on Saturday.

http://www.newcastleutd-mad.co.uk/news/loadnews.asp?cid=TMNW&id=131200

dreamer75
02-12-2003, 01:47 PM
s Gary Speed past his best, or does he still have life left in him? Will Viana, Jenas or Bowyer be able to fill his boots?

Newcastle fan AKIN, says:

speed is our only defensive midfielder so everyone thinks he is indespensible, in actual fact he dosent even play in midfield for his national side, is not as good as robbie savage???....well mark hughes seems to think he isnt.

there are LOADS of players in the premiership who would play in that role better than him............everyone says we miss him when he is injured, but the ONLY time that he has been replaced by bowyer, newcastle played there best football(against arsenal)

bowyer has bags of energy and is naturally combative......... his natural posistion is in the centre of midfield.......... he could break up play and break from midfield to score......... hes distrisbution is great, he would create more goals than speed would he would compliement jj perfectly.......... and lets face it he is a better player than speed.

speed has been a great servant but he is the past, its time to move on, we will never win things if we continue to talk about how good a player used to be............. even sir alex drops keane in favour of younger blood despite the fact that he is STILL an exceptional player

im sure if three years ago i had suggested that rob lee was past it many people in here will be screaming bloody murder..........fans cannot accept that players can be replaced until they are.

just look at arsenhole..........anelka left, henry arrived overmars left pires arrived...........................nobody thought they could cope without vieira............5-1 at inter

http://www.sportnetwork.net/main/s70/st39818.htm

Coolsmurf
02-12-2003, 02:21 PM
it was sad to know that robert was left out against wolves because of tiredness, but to use bowyer in place of him is crazy, bowyer is not left-footed for goodness sake.

i have seen bowyer play quite a few times, seems to play whenever newcastle is on the telly, he has never impressed me other than the one time he was playing in the middle. i would agree with dreamer75 to stick him in the middle with jenas.

we certainly need new players in to spice up the squad, make it more competitive. and pls no more duds! rivaldo is certainly a class act but sadly he will never suit newcastle style of play just like viana, plus he wun be happy in the north-east as well. JD Tomasson is a good player but he didnt suit newcastle.

acchhhoooo
02-12-2003, 02:30 PM
s Gary Speed past his best, or does he still have life left in him? Will Viana, Jenas or Bowyer be able to fill his boots?

Newcastle fan AKIN, says:

speed is our only defensive midfielder so everyone thinks he is indespensible, in actual fact he dosent even play in midfield for his national side, is not as good as robbie savage???....well mark hughes seems to think he isnt.

there are LOADS of players in the premiership who would play in that role better than him............everyone says we miss him when he is injured, but the ONLY time that he has been replaced by bowyer, newcastle played there best football(against arsenal)

bowyer has bags of energy and is naturally combative......... his natural posistion is in the centre of midfield.......... he could break up play and break from midfield to score......... hes distrisbution is great, he would create more goals than speed would he would compliement jj perfectly.......... and lets face it he is a better player than speed.

speed has been a great servant but he is the past, its time to move on, we will never win things if we continue to talk about how good a player used to be............. even sir alex drops keane in favour of younger blood despite the fact that he is STILL an exceptional player

im sure if three years ago i had suggested that rob lee was past it many people in here will be screaming bloody murder..........fans cannot accept that players can be replaced until they are.

just look at arsenhole..........anelka left, henry arrived overmars left pires arrived...........................nobody thought they could cope without vieira............5-1 at inter

http://www.sportnetwork.net/main/s70/st39818.htm

personally, gary speed for me would just simply be a squad player... definately no longer good enough for a first team that is trying for silverware...

Fresnel
02-12-2003, 03:02 PM
Very agreed. Replacing Speed with Bowyer would be awesome!! but SBR thinks there has to be some 'experience' in the D-Mid area to shore up things...but sadly Speed is nothing more than hey-day.

martinweng
02-12-2003, 07:36 PM
hmm...reinforcements?

sounds gd, but alwaes end up bad...

hack care lah...as if they going to sign proven players...
surely go and find raw gems...yawn~...i had enuff of cultivation, its time to harvest....

dreamer75
02-12-2003, 11:11 PM
Dec 2 2003

By Alan Oliver, The Evening Chronicle

Newcastle United will be seeded for the UEFA Cup third-round draw - but only just.

It means that Sir Bobby Robson's side will be kept away from the big boys when the pairings are drawn in Nyon a week on Friday.

The 32-team draw isn't being made until the eight clubs who are dropping out from the Champions League into the UEFA Cup are known after next week's final group fixtures.

It is likely that those eight teams will all be seeds, who are elected according to their co-efficient ranking.

But United are among the eight other teams who are already guaranteed to be among the 16 seeds irrespective of the rankings of the sides who will join from the Champions League.

United are currently the seventh highest-rated side in the UEFA Cup, although they would be eighth in that number should Valencia, as expected, qualify at the expense of Maccabi Haifa when their postponed second-round tie is finally played.

That would be enough to ensure United avoid facing the likes of Valencia, Barcelona, Roma, Parma and Liverpool together with the big guns who finish third in the Champions League group tables.

However, Rangers' co-efficient rating is currently 50.187, which is below United's 51.170. That raises the possibility of the Glasgow outfit not being among the seeds and playing Newcastle, again something which depends upon the complex UEFA rating of the other clubs coming down from the senior European club competition.

Yet there is still some formidable opposition lurking among the likely non-seeds, including Benfica, Rosenborg, Perugia, Spartak Moscow, Villareal and Auxerre.

http://icnewcastle.icnetwork.co.uk/newcastleunited/news/content_objectid=13683636_method=full_siteid=50081_headline=-United-handed-seeding-boost-name_page.html

dreamer75
02-12-2003, 11:12 PM
Former and Current Newcastle players paid tirbute to Peter Beardsley last night at a sell-out dinner on Tyneside.

Btw, where is he now?

Fresnel
02-12-2003, 11:16 PM
he's a youth coach at NewC larr

dreamer75
03-12-2003, 12:23 AM
he's a youth coach at NewC larr

oh..paisey...heehee..

eehhh...sooo...Peter...any promising youngsters to intro to our team? :)

aqf
03-12-2003, 12:38 AM
sat newcastle playing liverpool.Got live.Yeah!

ZhiQiang
03-12-2003, 03:49 AM
i read in football365 then smith is available for 3 million... dunno true or not...

ZhiQiang
03-12-2003, 03:56 AM
sat early kick off... ;ast season 1-0 win... robert deflected free kick...