PDA

View Full Version : Newcastle United - Toontalk

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109

martinweng
21-02-2004, 12:04 AM
Originally posted by aqf
not a draw again

u dun like it, i dun like it, the geordies dun like it, but its going to haunt us

aqf
21-02-2004, 12:31 AM
Originally posted by martinweng

u dun like it, i dun like it, the geordies dun like it, but its going to haunt us no pls!A draw is as gd as 2 pts lost.Newcastle have the most draws this season.

martinweng
21-02-2004, 09:40 AM
Originally posted by aqf
no pls!A draw is as gd as 2 pts lost.Newcastle have the most draws this season.

u beg me for wad..im juz an ordinary fan..

anyway, u beg heaven beg earth oso cannot change the result..

definitely 1-1

aqf
21-02-2004, 10:16 AM

u beg me for wad..im juz an ordinary fan..

anyway, u beg heaven beg earth oso cannot change the result..

definitely 1-1 :laugh:

dreamer75
21-02-2004, 11:05 AM
Posted by jimbo - 20:34 Friday, February 20 2004

When is a derby not a derby ? when its between Newcastle united and Middlesbrough it seems, debate between fans has raged about the subject this week but one thing remains amongst the debate, Newcastle United welcome visiting North Yorkshire rivals Middlesbrough to St James's park in a return to premiership action following the recent international break.

Newcastle are without defensive leader, Jonathan Woodgate, the Boro born star is still recovering from a groin strain and is not included in the squad, however manager Sir Bobby Robson is ever hopeful his star will be back in first team action very soon.

Craig Bellamy is looking to return to the starting line up again after receiving a battering from Lucas Neill last time out against Blackburn, the Welsh striker has been wrapped in cotton wool all week since his set back and was excluded from international action last week, Bellamy needs to continue his convalescence without any more breakdowns.

Boro see the return to action of Ugo Ehiogu and George Boateng who have both been missing from action recently, it remains to be seen if Boro will be fully focused on the match or will have one eye on next week's Carling cup final against Bolton, if they do the could sacrifice three points at St James's park.

St James' Park
Saturday, 21 February
Kick-off: 1500 GMT
Referee: Graham Poll

http://www.the-mags.net/#20boro

dreamer75
21-02-2004, 11:07 AM
All the pre-match reaction ahead of tomorrow's game at St. James' Park against Middlesbrough with the thoughts of Sir Bobby Robson, Andy O'Brien, Olivier Bernard, Gary Speed and Shola Ameobi.

Sir Bobby on the game:

"It is a North East derby, there are three big teams in the region and two of them are playing each other on Saturday. Their fans are very envious of us, they want their club to beat us as we are a big scalp for them, but beating Middlesbrough is also a big result for us. It's a special game and one we're looking forward to."

"Steve is doing a good job. He's spent time at Manchester United, he worked under Jim Smith at Derby, and he's travelled the world picking up experience with England so he's well qualified."

"He's put together a good side at Middlesbrough, they have some some good players. They have picked up Mendieta and Zenden for nothing so there's two great deals, he's got Boateng and Doriva playing well in the middle, and Juninho is back in the team now as a second striker."

"And in defence, Southgate and Ehiogu are as good a partnership as there is in the country. They're a good side and will give us a tough test tomorrow."

Andy O'brien on the game:

"They'll be full of confidence because they had a fantastic result at Old Trafford in their last league game, but we're confident as well and everyone is raring to go after the international fixtures. They are a tough side to break down, but we manage to beat them at their place and hopefully we can do the same this time. They put us under a lot of pressure that day and Shay pulled off some great saves, but we're at home this time and the onus is on us to get at them."

Olivier Bernard on the game:

"Middlesbrough is our derby so we have to make sure we win this game, above all others. It's not just a gesture to our public - it is vital if we are to maintain our challenge for fourth spot. I always think Middlesbrough look like a great side and it's strange that they're not doing so well in the league. But they had a great win at Manchester United and they beat Arsenal twice to reach the Carling Cup final. That proved their class."

"There's no doubt they'll be heading to St James's Park on a high. Perhaps they'll have one eye on Cardiff already and people are saying it could be a good time to play them at St. James' Park. But I'm not so sure. Derbies are all about desire and if Boro play with the desire of a team desperate to beat their local rivals then it will be a very difficult game for us. We just have to make sure we want the victory more than they do. We know the prize waiting for us at the end of the season and it could be bigger than the Carling Cup."

Gary Speed on the game:

"We've got a tough game against Middlesbrough. Like any local derby this is bound to be hard fought and Boro will be full of confidence off the back of their 3-2 win over Manchester United at Old Trafford last time out."

"There's been a lot of talk about my mate Alan Shearer's recent goal drought, but as any striker will tell you these dry patches always happen and there's no doubt in anyone's mind at St. James' that it won't be long before Al's back on target."

"Robbie Earnshaw was supposed to be having a goal drought before Wales' game on Wednesday and look what happened there! There's no danger that Al won't be back scoring soon and let's hope he can silence any doubters on Saturday. Since he retired from international duty Alan obviously has had no midweek match and that means he'll be rested and raring to go again on Saturday."

"Newcastle have been drawing a few too many games lately and we really need to start turning those draws into wins. The race for fourth place is so tight and every point counts so we've really got to push hard now if we're going to get that Champions League spot."

Shola Ameobi on the game:

"It's important that we get the right result on Saturday because the race for fourth spot is going to go to the wire. A lot of teams are within a few points of each other, which means that every point between now and the end of the season will be crucial. Derby games are normally tight affairs and I expect this one to be the same ? but at the end of the day I think all of us will be disappointed if we don't collect three points this weekend."

http://www.howaythetoon.com/latest_news/feb_newsarchive/feb_20_2004_article44.htm

dreamer75
21-02-2004, 11:08 AM
Newcastle 2 Middlesbrough 1 :)

aqf
21-02-2004, 11:37 AM
newcastle to win 2-0.time for shearer to start scoring.

martinweng
21-02-2004, 11:43 AM
Originally posted by dreamer75
Newcastle 2 Middlesbrough 1 :)

maybe..but its not possible for them to win boro by more than 2 goals...

aqf
21-02-2004, 11:44 AM

maybe..but its not possible for them to win boro by more than 2 goals... its hard with bramble playing:laugh:

dreamer75
21-02-2004, 11:49 AM
Originally posted by aqf
newcastle to win 2-0.time for shearer to start scoring.

Shearer and Bellamy each scoring a goal :D

aqf
21-02-2004, 12:11 PM

Shearer and Bellamy each scoring a goal :D :D hope so!

Fresnel
21-02-2004, 01:53 PM
wif titus shambles playing, it will be 10 man newcastle vs 12 man Boro.
Period....let's see the clown in action again today

orca_sea
21-02-2004, 04:43 PM
Originally posted by Fresnel
Period....let's see the clown in action again today

hahahaha :laugh: :laugh:

aqf
21-02-2004, 04:54 PM
Period....let's see the clown in action again today lets hope this is not the case tonight:laugh:

martinweng
21-02-2004, 08:22 PM

Shearer and Bellamy each scoring a goal :D

shearer's goal drought will continue today..

aqf
21-02-2004, 08:32 PM

shearer's goal drought will continue today.. come on,y u always criticise the team u support.Cheer them on!!COME ON!!!

martinweng
21-02-2004, 09:56 PM
Originally posted by aqf
come on,y u always criticise the team u support.Cheer them on!!COME ON!!!

GO! NEWCASTLE! GO! WIN THE EPL! :alien:

GO! NEWCASTLE! GO! BEAT BORO AND CLAIM 4th SPOT! :alien:

neither seems fun...

i rather jeer them..let them fall as low as possible..den mabbe they realise SBR CMI liao..

aqf
21-02-2004, 11:50 PM
newcastle 1-0 down.bloody hell.

Fresnel
21-02-2004, 11:56 PM
well u see...aqf....it's not that we want to jeer...but we know where NEwc's standard is now....definitely not going up...and definitely not champion league material. We r pathetically fighting scraps man....see? 1-0....though it's half time u might say...just look at how newc is playing...it's sooo OMG...ambrose shld go back Ipswich....NOBBY can play much better on the right...and i agree wif weng....NEwc shld proillly keep losing all the way and let them realise u don't make yourself a champion club with ****e players. Wake up Newc. Wake up.

aqf
22-02-2004, 12:58 AM
Phew!Managed to win 2-1 in the end!Scrappy game.

Fresnel
22-02-2004, 01:00 AM
very scrappy.....wait till they meet arsenal....

Coolsmurf
22-02-2004, 01:07 AM
very and i mean very lucky to win by 2-1, boro is not a top team yet we struggle for almost the entire match, living by virtue of winning a wrestling match with them and living on generous decisions given by the ref. its really unwatchable...

Elspectro
22-02-2004, 01:12 AM
Beating Boro who is on a 3 game winning streak ..... with confidence skyhigh reaching the league cup final is no mean feat ....well done Newcastle ....3pts is all that matters ..scrappy o not

aqf
22-02-2004, 01:12 AM
bellamy made alot of difference to the newcastle side.He makes newcastle play more lively.I think we miss Solano on the flank.

Elspectro
22-02-2004, 01:19 AM
anyway .... just for our info ..Carl Cort scored the winning goal for Wolves....

aqf
22-02-2004, 01:21 AM
at least he have a chance to score when he join other clubs

Elspectro
22-02-2004, 01:24 AM
Next up is Lua lua ... he is cleared to play against us in our next match

aqf
22-02-2004, 01:34 AM
at least shearer break his goal drought.

dbchoong
22-02-2004, 01:34 AM
Yes, very scrappy. But at least we got the 3 pts.

The new offside rule a bit confusing... before, there would have been no question about the offside as Juninho was offside. Now, not sure. How would the referee & linesmen judge if Juninho's position mattered or not? If he jumped and tried to head the ball, then it's offside? If he didn't move, he's not offside? ???

It doesn't matter when we meet Arsenal - cos every other team got to meet Arsenal too. Even Chelsea with their multi-millionaire star team can't do anything about it.

Newcastle love to live dangerously, yah?

:laugh:

very scrappy.....wait till they meet arsenal....

ZhiQiang
22-02-2004, 01:54 AM
scrappy win... din watch although i was sitting in front of the tv... cos was playing mahjong... but the commentor kept me alert... hahaha... ricketts nearly goal was the only incident i truned around to see...

dreamer75
22-02-2004, 02:16 AM
Originally posted by aqf
come on,y u always criticise the team u support.Cheer them on!!COME ON!!!

i'm used to his comments...:alien:

dreamer75
22-02-2004, 02:18 AM
hey...i predicted correctly for the Newcastle and Arsenal match...:D

dreamer75
22-02-2004, 02:19 AM
Shearer's penalty is clinicak....bottom corner...gk no chance at all..*thumbs up*

aqf
22-02-2004, 09:58 AM
hey...i predicted correctly for the Newcastle and Arsenal match...:D good job:D

Coolsmurf
24-02-2004, 11:22 AM
any chance, newcastle travelling to ice-cold norway against v******...

aqf
24-02-2004, 08:34 PM
Originally posted by Coolsmurf
any chance, newcastle travelling to ice-cold norway against v******... last chance of a silverware this season.Anyway we won't win the uefa cup also.

martinweng
24-02-2004, 08:40 PM
Originally posted by aqf
last chance of a silverware this season.Anyway we won't win the uefa cup also.

win the cup? omg..looks like we've got more than 1 dreamer..:D

aqf
24-02-2004, 09:23 PM

win the cup? omg..looks like we've got more than 1 dreamer..:D
didn't i say we wouldn't win the cup.:mad:

Fresnel
24-02-2004, 10:57 PM
I think what he meant was 'don't even THINK about it' hahaahah yah...looks like aqf also slowly losing steam over NEwC liaoz :P

aqf
24-02-2004, 11:05 PM
I think what he meant was 'don't even THINK about it' hahaahah yah...looks like aqf also slowly losing steam over NEwC liaoz :P yup esp after watching their match against boro.

martinweng
25-02-2004, 08:31 AM
Originally posted by aqf
yup esp after watching their match against boro.

i tot we win?

aqf
25-02-2004, 08:50 AM

i tot we win?
but we didn't played well

Coolsmurf
25-02-2004, 08:56 AM
Originally posted by aqf

my same sentiments..they didn't deserve to win!!! its was more of them winning the wrestling matches + dodgy referee decisions

just so painful to watch them play

dbchoong
25-02-2004, 10:44 AM
That's actually a good thing. Don't play well and still win. Imagine if they played well - Boro would have been thrashed.

Sure, the referee's decision did look a bit dodgy to some but I still think the penalty and Boro's offside goal were correct decisions.

Southgate should have been smarter than to make that kind of tackle in the box.

Juninho was offside when ball was played. The ball flew over his head. If he jumped, would it be an offside?

:)

Originally posted by aqf

aqf
25-02-2004, 02:00 PM
the uefa cup match with valenrenga will be shown live on thursday

Fresnel
25-02-2004, 09:35 PM
Originally posted by dbchoong
That's actually a good thing. Don't play well and still win. Imagine if they played well - Boro would have been thrashed.

NewC playing well? Hmm....i cannot remember how often they can do that....it's like one out of every 10 matches u see them putting it in...the other 9? scrappy wins/draw or tyko goals,etc.etc....

Coolsmurf
25-02-2004, 09:39 PM

NewC playing well? Hmm....i cannot remember how often they can do that....it's like one out of every 10 matches u see them putting it in...the other 9? scrappy wins/draw or tyko goals,etc.etc....

newcastle has nevered play well at all this season at all, the rot started after the 6-2 trashing by man u at SJP last season if u haven notice

aqf
25-02-2004, 09:42 PM
i noticed tat they nv played since since they change to this season jersey

Coolsmurf
25-02-2004, 11:04 PM
they change new jersey all the time..nothing;s new

ZhiQiang
25-02-2004, 11:56 PM
i think this yr is definitely worse than last yr... but wat goes up must come down... think we just have to buckle up next season. I am happy with their performance but upset with the sale of nobby solano...

other than that, i am happy.

anyway, even if we get relegated, i will still say i am a newc fan... ;)

martinweng
26-02-2004, 08:11 AM
Originally posted by ZhiQiang
i think this yr is definitely worse than last yr... but wat goes up must come down... think we just have to buckle up next season. I am happy with their performance but upset with the sale of nobby solano...

other than that, i am happy.

anyway, even if we get relegated, i will still say i am a newc fan... ;)

yes yes yes...i must really tell u wad Newcastle are...

Newcastle are juz a normal mid-table team..

last 2 seasons were fairytale..but if u look @ the history, we are nothing more than a mid-table team..if u classify the 20 teams, here it goes

Super teams:
Man utd
Arsenal
Chelsea

Above Average:
Liverpool
Newcastle

Average:
Spurs
Villa
Man City
Birmingham
Blackburn
Boro

Below Average:
Everton
Fulham
Charlton
Saints
Bolton

Weak teams:
Leeds
Wolves
Pompey
Leicester

Coolsmurf
26-02-2004, 09:08 AM
It was revealed on Tuesday morning that contrary to expectations, Lee Bowyer will not be eligible for selection for our impending trip to Valerenga - and will actually be forced to miss the next six European games.

As we didn't actually name him in the squads registered earlier in the season for the Champions League or the UEFA Cup, UEFA have now said his ban has not yet started.

In other words, even though he wasn't eligible to play for us due to the ban imposed on him when at Leeds, in order for the "clock to start ticking" he had to be recorded in our squad list. The club didn't know that, so didn't include him.

A full statement on .cock appears to point the finger of blame at both UEFA and the FA - the former failing to make the situation clear and the latter also being unaware of the rules and misadvising Newcastle.

The club are said to be "shocked and exasperated" in general, "extremely annoyed" with the FA and "extremely disappointed" with UEFA.

This ruling has been made after an appeal and while a further appeal looks to have been ruled out, the PFA have been notified and unspecified "diplomatic channels" are being explored.

Assuming we made continued progress in the UEFA Cup, Bowyer would be eligible for the semi-finals.

Only in the world of Newcastle United, eh?

aqf
26-02-2004, 09:36 AM
now they will realise selling solano is a bad move

ZhiQiang
26-02-2004, 10:22 AM
serve them right!!!

aqf
26-02-2004, 01:59 PM
any tonight match is shown live at 12am on ch 22

ZhiQiang
26-02-2004, 02:52 PM
Originally posted by aqf
any tonight match is shown live at 12am on ch 22 who watching??

aqf
26-02-2004, 03:23 PM
who watching?? me!

dreamer75
26-02-2004, 03:34 PM
who watching??

maybe :)

martinweng
26-02-2004, 07:23 PM
it has been a long time...

aqf
26-02-2004, 07:50 PM
it has been a long time...
it has been a long time since wat?

aqf
27-02-2004, 12:52 AM
HT:Newcastle leading 1-0 (Bellamy)

dreamer75
27-02-2004, 01:16 AM
Valerenga Oslo [1 - 1] Newcastle U. (Eng)

39' [0 - 1] Craig Bellamy
54' [1 - 1] Runar Normann

aqf
27-02-2004, 01:50 AM
FT:1-1

Coolsmurf
27-02-2004, 08:42 AM
well 1-1 eh, the score does not surprise me 1 bit...robson still has the cheek to say we are the draw specialists..:mad: :mad:

martinweng
27-02-2004, 09:07 AM
woo...we escape wif a draw...

Coolsmurf
27-02-2004, 09:29 AM
A deeply disappointing performance in Oslo and a puzzling team selection leaves us with it all still to do at St. James' Park next week, when the tie could and should have been dead and buried.

Bobby elected to start the game with Alan Shearer, Kieron Dyer and Laurent Robert on the bench and the young trio of Darren Ambrose, Hugo Viana and Shola Ameobi all given the chance to prove themselves.

The decision backfired horribly as Ambrose left the field in agony with suspected cartilage damage and Ameobi and Viana, in particular, having games to forget as United struggled to avoid defeat against a poor Vålerenga side.

Craig Bellamy had fired us into the lead with an excellent low volley in off the post shortly before half-time but from then on the Norwegians took control and equalised ten minutes into the second half when Runar Normann out jumped Aaron Hughes to head beyond Shay Given into the same corner that Bellamy's drive had found.

Kieron Dyer and Laurent Robert replaced the injured Ambrose and utterly useless Viana respectively and Michael Bridges came on for Ameobi. It was only in the last ten minutes, when the home side, who are in their close season, started to tire that Newcastle looked anything like regaining the lead.

Robert had a long shot well-saved but back came Vålerenga and only Shay Given's fine save from Lars Ovrebo prevented a humiliating defeat.

With hindsight it's easy to pick fault with Bobby's team selection but as soon as the teamsheet was handed in the Norwegians were given a boost. Not only did it signal that the visitors didn't rate their opponents but Vålerenga coach Kjetil Rekdal probably had his easiest ever teamtalk.

What was Bobby's thinking? Surely playing a weakened side was never going to result in a big win that would have allowed the big guns to be rested next Wednesday?

Why not frighten the life out of the Norwegians from the first whistle and wrap up the tie within the first hour, thus allowing Shearer, Dyer and Robert to be withdrawn with the tie won and then playing the youngsters in the home leg when the pressure would be lessened?

It seemed false economy to do it Bobby's way round and end up sending Vålerenga to Tyneside full of optimism and fighting spirit. We'll now have to play our strongest side from the off next week just three days after our trip to Portsmouth.

Having said that, it's unimaginable that we won't finish off the tie in front of a big crowd at St. James' although there's nothing to say that the weather or the playing surface will be any better at our place....

martinweng
27-02-2004, 09:58 AM
A deeply disappointing performance in Oslo and a puzzling team selection leaves us with it all still to do at St. James' Park next week, when the tie could and should have been dead and buried.

Bobby elected to start the game with Alan Shearer, Kieron Dyer and Laurent Robert on the bench and the young trio of Darren Ambrose, Hugo Viana and Shola Ameobi all given the chance to prove themselves.

The decision backfired horribly as Ambrose left the field in agony with suspected cartilage damage and Ameobi and Viana, in particular, having games to forget as United struggled to avoid defeat against a poor Vålerenga side.

Craig Bellamy had fired us into the lead with an excellent low volley in off the post shortly before half-time but from then on the Norwegians took control and equalised ten minutes into the second half when Runar Normann out jumped Aaron Hughes to head beyond Shay Given into the same corner that Bellamy's drive had found.

Kieron Dyer and Laurent Robert replaced the injured Ambrose and utterly useless Viana respectively and Michael Bridges came on for Ameobi. It was only in the last ten minutes, when the home side, who are in their close season, started to tire that Newcastle looked anything like regaining the lead.

Robert had a long shot well-saved but back came Vålerenga and only Shay Given's fine save from Lars Ovrebo prevented a humiliating defeat.

With hindsight it's easy to pick fault with Bobby's team selection but as soon as the teamsheet was handed in the Norwegians were given a boost. Not only did it signal that the visitors didn't rate their opponents but Vålerenga coach Kjetil Rekdal probably had his easiest ever teamtalk.

What was Bobby's thinking? Surely playing a weakened side was never going to result in a big win that would have allowed the big guns to be rested next Wednesday?

Why not frighten the life out of the Norwegians from the first whistle and wrap up the tie within the first hour, thus allowing Shearer, Dyer and Robert to be withdrawn with the tie won and then playing the youngsters in the home leg when the pressure would be lessened?

It seemed false economy to do it Bobby's way round and end up sending Vålerenga to Tyneside full of optimism and fighting spirit. We'll now have to play our strongest side from the off next week just three days after our trip to Portsmouth.

Having said that, it's unimaginable that we won't finish off the tie in front of a big crowd at St. James' although there's nothing to say that the weather or the playing surface will be any better at our place....

viana really dat useless?

dbchoong
27-02-2004, 10:15 AM
Viana not useless. Just not very good.

I was surprised to see the starting line-up. Anyway, 1-1 is not too damaging as Newcastle should not have any trouble at home if the first team plays.

Some other "big" teams also have bad results last night:

Gaziantepspor 1 - 0 Roma
Parma 0 - 1 Genclerbirligi
Sochaux 2 - 2 Inter Milan

viana really dat useless?

aqf
27-02-2004, 10:16 AM
y shearer nv play

acchhhoooo
27-02-2004, 11:46 AM
Viana not useless. Just not very good.

I was surprised to see the starting line-up. Anyway, 1-1 is not too damaging as Newcastle should not have any trouble at home if the first team plays.

Some other "big" teams also have bad results last night:

Gaziantepspor 1 - 0 Roma
Parma 0 - 1 Genclerbirligi
Sochaux 2 - 2 Inter Milan

sigh... relieved that NewC did not lose... as for Viana.... he still have not impressed me at all.... can someone please remind me why we got him??

aqf
27-02-2004, 11:57 AM
Originally posted by acchhhoooo

sigh... relieved that NewC did not lose... as for Viana.... he still have not impressed me at all.... can someone please remind me why we got him?? i prefer robert

leo_llw
27-02-2004, 09:50 PM

sigh... relieved that NewC did not lose... as for Viana.... he still have not impressed me at all.... can someone please remind me why we got him??

maybe he will come good one day if Robson gave him more chance to play...

Just like Postiga scoring his first goal or C.Ronaldo getting in his first decent cross :)

Hmmm...new generation of Portuguese world-beaters?

aqf
27-02-2004, 10:33 PM
dunno y bobby robson likes to play him on the left flank?He is not a left winger.

martinweng
27-02-2004, 10:37 PM

there can be no explanations..b4 i even find an explanation for y he was signed, lemme take u back to other craps dat haf crapped newcastle..

Carl Cort: The Insider was never wrong, and dear old SBR just couldn't admit it was his fault, his responsibility that this player did not make it. Well, why not. The division 1 striker never belong to the EPL at all. He will NEVER be able to become world-class, at least not physically.

Titus Bramble: He'll never be Sol Campbell. He'll always be at the heart of controversy. He'll never leave a pitch without causing harm to Newcastle. He'll never be a Newcastle player, for he'll always be the opposition striker, not good enough to score, but surely stir up chances.

Jonathan Woodgate: U might wonder why he's not a gd buy. But his proness to injury tells us why you should never splurge 9m on a defender whom you will miss badly should he not play. He is good, no doubt. But if he is going to continue missing matches, we'll never be able to survive with Bramble as deputy.

Darren Ambrose: No class, No inspiration. We'll never be able to attack from the right flank. 10 Ambrose also cannot replace Solano.

Coolsmurf
27-02-2004, 11:06 PM
Originally posted by leo_llw

maybe he will come good one day if Robson gave him more chance to play...

Just like Postiga scoring his first goal or C.Ronaldo getting in his first decent cross :)

Hmmm...new generation of Portuguese world-beaters?

over-hyped or being expected to play like world beaters from the word go

dreamer75
28-02-2004, 12:59 AM
1/2 saw the Magpies' one-nil up thanks to a Craig Bellamy strike just six minutes before the break, but the home side staged a comeback and looked a different side after the interval.

IN the end, it was former Coventry midfielder Runar Normann who gave Valerenga the equaliser.

SIR BOBBY ROBSON: "I feel, because of their better, inspired second half performance, that they deserved to get something out of the game.

"We were the better side first half, but I think one or two of our players thought the game was over at half-time and it wasn't, obviously. They came out full of spirit, changed their game a little bit, hit longer passes, put the ball in behind our defenders, made us turn and made it uncomfortable for us.

"They came into the game and our two wide players were pushed back, so we didn't get anything down the flanks, and because of that, our forward play disappeared as well, so in the second half, they were more or less in control of the game.

"The goal obviously gave them a lift, gave them a big inspiration, did a lot for them, so from looking comfortable at half-time, we found ourselves under siege a little bit.

"I didn't think we looked as though we would concede a lot of goals, but they were very much in the game and Shay Given did make a very good save late in the second half.

"That's what he's there for, of course, but they played some decent football. We've got an away goal - I suppose that's quite important - but I have to say I'm going back home disappointed in the result because I didn't expect we would only draw.

"I felt we could come here and win - we're in good form and a difficult team to beat. We haven't lost today, but we didn't play well enough, I have to admit, over 90 minutes to win this match and their second-half performance deservedly gives them a bit of a chance at Newcastle.

"I didn't under-estimate our opponents at all - I respect our opponents. But we have a big squad, we have a talented squad.

"It was never in my mind to play Shearer here. We have a tough match at Portsmouth on Sunday and with the squad we have, we felt we could do well in this match without them."

dreamer75
28-02-2004, 01:02 AM
Feb 27 2004

By Alan Oliver, The Evening Chronicle

Newcastle United's band of loyal fans in Norway today accused Sir Bobby Robson of letting them down by leaving Alan Shearer on the bench in their UEFA Cup tie in Oslo yesterday.

And when United finally arrived back on Tyneside after their 1-1 draw with Valerenga just after 4am - almost seven hours late - they knew they would have to act quickly to prevent any talk of problems between their manager and skipper.

But United woke up later today to headlines reporting that Robson allegedly told Shearer he is not the player he once was - which is NOT something the manager has said.

What Shearer said after the match, in which he was an unused substitute, was that he was "disappointed and angry" that he did not start yesterday's game.

And so too were United's Norwegian fans, with Lena Oddekalv telling me: "Some of us have come 10 hours by bus from western Norway to see Newcastle United and Alan Shearer and we are very disappointed he was not playing."

When I suggested to Lena that Robson had to have the right to manage and pick the team he thought was best for United, she insisted: "Yes, but he should still have sent Shearer on for the last five minutes at least."

Newcastle fans in general were upset by Robson's team selection, judging by the texts received by the Chronicle, a selection of which are on Page 48 tonight.

This Robson-Shearer situation is going to rumble on, which is nothing short of a tragedy for United. And certainly there are several ways of looking at it.

One is that if Robson knew he wasn't going to play his skipper then he could have left him at home to rest for Sunday's long trip to Portsmouth.

On the other hand, with Shearer one booking away from a one-match ban in Europe, Robson could have played his skipper and hoped that he would pick up a yellow card which would have meant him sitting out next Wednesday's second leg - a game United are still supremely confident of winning to book their place in the last 16.

The questions flew quick and fast to Shearer in the mixed zone after the game with the skipper saying: "I was disappointed and angry that I did not start but what can I do? That was the manager's decision."

Asked by the Norwegian press if he was looking forward to being in the line-up for the second leg at St James' Park on Wednesday night, Shearer retorted: "Yes, just like I was for the game out here.

"Obviously I would like to start next Wednesday. As to whether I am going to play you will have to ask the manager."

A Norwegian journalist told Shearer that Robson had said in his after match press conference that he thought his side were not prepared mentally for the game.

But Shearer retorted: "I would disagree. We were prepared and knew what to expect. We were all ready for a tough game and that's exactly what we got.

"We were okay in the first half, but give Valerenga credit for the way they took the game to us in the second half and in the end we were a trifle fortunate to come away with a draw.

"Certainly we will have to play a lot better at home than we did in Norway if we are to go through to the fourth round."

Robson defended his decision to leave Shearer on the bench.

He said: "I don't think I'm wrong at all. They (Valerenga) played very well second half. If Shearer had been on the pitch, I don't think Shearer would have stopped them playing so well.

"You have got to give credit to the other side. We will get the benefit of what we did, hopefully, on Sunday.

"But I used the squad that we have got. They are all good players and we should have done better. Our performance in the second half was disappointing."

http://icnewcastle.icnetwork.co.uk/newcastleunited/news/content_objectid=13996067_method=full_siteid=50081_headline=-You-let-us-down-name_page.html

dreamer75
28-02-2004, 01:06 AM
Friday, 27 February 2004

by Peter ORourke

Portsmouth are back in Premiership action this weekend when they host UEFA Champions League chasing Newcastle at Fratton Park.

The Fratton Park outfit are on a high following their shock FA Cup win over Liverpool last weekend and they will be aiming to continue that in The Premiership as they try to steer clear of trouble.

Pompey have failed to win in their last five Premiership games and boss Harry Redknapp still has a number of selection worries to contend with.

Patrik Berger is out for the rest of the season after undergoing knee surgery in America, while Dejan Stefanovic could face a lengthy spell on the sidelines with a foot problem.

Croatian striker Ivica Mornar misses out again with a groin problem meaning Yakubu Aiyegbeni will lead the attack.

Teddy Sheringham and Steve Stone are back in light training after hamstring and shin problems respectively, but the Newcastle game has come too soon for the pair.

Loan signing Tresor Lomana Lua Lua is available to face his employers after being cup tied for the Liverpool game along with other recent arrivals John Curtis and Richard Duffy.

Senegal international Amdy Faye is back from suspension and he is set to start in midfield.

Svetoslav Todorov continued his recovery from injury in the reserves against West Ham on Thursday night, but he is still not deemed ready for a first team return.

Newcastle boss Sir Bobby Robson is set to recall all his top guns for the trip to the South Coast having rested some players for the Uefa Cup game with Valerenga.

Alan Shearer, who was unhappy at being rested on Thursday, is set to return in attack alongside Craig Bellamy.

Laurent Robert and Kieron Dyer are also expected to start having made late substitute appearances in Olso.

Darren Ambrose is likely to miss out after picking up a calf problem against Valerenga so Lee Bowyer is likely to come in having been suspended for the European tie.

Jonathan Woodgate is struggling to shake off a groin strain which forced him to miss the trip to Norway with Titus Bramble and Andy O'Brien set to continue in defence if Woodgate
misses out.

http://skysports.planetfootball.com/Article.asp?id=188313

dreamer75
28-02-2004, 01:07 AM
Portsmouth v Newcastle United on Sunday...wat say u?

aqf
28-02-2004, 10:27 AM
tough one.

leo_llw
28-02-2004, 11:01 AM
will see a Shearer on fire to prove his manager wrong for leaving him on the bench. :)

Should get a slim win.

martinweng
28-02-2004, 11:36 AM
my question is, how many 1st team players are they without now?

martinweng
28-02-2004, 11:37 AM
Originally posted by aqf

it has been a long time since wat?

since i watched newcastle match.

Fresnel
28-02-2004, 03:15 PM
there's something seriously wrong with NewC this season. OMG a draw against Vale-who??? And they were real lucky to scrap away with a draw...could be worst....come on Lulu, show nukey what you are made of on sunday.....such pathetic performances so far deserve a wake up call. A draw against portsmouth will be humiliating...a loss? i'll rest my case....

aqf
28-02-2004, 03:23 PM
lua lua to scored against his team?

kraze
28-02-2004, 03:46 PM
it's been awhile since i posted anything here.. been busy with school projects and stuff anyway hope we get a win this sunday

aqf
29-02-2004, 11:02 AM
whether newcastle can win today depends on 1 player and he is none other than

---------------> LUA LUA

martinweng
29-02-2004, 11:19 AM
Originally posted by aqf
whether newcastle can win today depends on 1 player and he is none other than

---------------> LUA LUA

yea...and also hislop..

dreamer75
01-03-2004, 12:00 AM
Portsmouth [0 - 1] Newcastle U.
34' [0 - 1] Craig Bellamy

ZhiQiang
01-03-2004, 01:02 AM
lualua of all ppl... serve sbr right... hahahaha... orbi good...

we are not good enuff for champions league i think... the way we play are crap (relative to other champion league teams)

SueDE_84
01-03-2004, 01:04 AM
lualua of all ppl... serve sbr right... hahahaha... orbi good...

we are not good enuff for champions league i think... the way we play are crap (relative to other champion league teams)

btw wats the full time score???

ZhiQiang
01-03-2004, 01:08 AM
Originally posted by SueDE_84

btw wats the full time score??? 1-1

SueDE_84
01-03-2004, 01:09 AM
1-1

icic...

Coolsmurf
01-03-2004, 06:55 AM
another draw, i am not surprised..

martinweng
01-03-2004, 08:04 AM
yawn...wake up and win another 300 again..

newcastle really my lucky charm..

bet draw and lose, u are bound to win :D

dbchoong
01-03-2004, 10:05 AM
:D Good for you martin.... wah $300...

Don't know how Newcastle is still in 4th place despite all these bad results. Goes to show that all other teams are also getting poor results.

It's quite funny.. when Lua Lua plays for Newcastle, his performance is quite bad. Like no motivation, no desire and poor body language. Last night he played very well. Nice touches, dribbles or is it Newcastle made him look good?

Sigh... I'll be happy if Newcastle can come in top 6.... 4th will be a bonus.

:D

Coolsmurf
01-03-2004, 10:45 AM
:D Good for you martin.... wah $300...

Don't know how Newcastle is still in 4th place despite all these bad results. Goes to show that all other teams are also getting poor results.

It's quite funny.. when Lua Lua plays for Newcastle, his performance is quite bad. Like no motivation, no desire and poor body language. Last night he played very well. Nice touches, dribbles or is it Newcastle made him look good?

Sigh... I'll be happy if Newcastle can come in top 6.... 4th will be a bonus.

his desire to show SBR his worth + newcastle are really crappy

yesterday was a good day, pool and nufc draw, boro won! woohoo...$$ rolling in

Coolsmurf
01-03-2004, 10:48 AM
LuaLua 1 Newcastle 1

http://images.thesun.co.uk/picture/0,,2004100032,00.jpg

Once again Newcastle proved totally incapable of holding onto a lead but this time it was a double-barrelled shotgun by the name of Lomana LuaLua who shot us firmly in the foot with just a minute to go.

Questions were asked before the game as to why LuaLua hadn't been excluded from facing us when his loan deal to Portsmouth had been negotiated. The possibility of one of Bobby's problem players stuffing it to us seemed high and April's trip to Villa Park seems certain to see Nobby Solano perform a similar act of vengeance.

Ironically, we'd insisted that Nicos Dabizas' couldn't face us after moving to Leicester, although he's one player - given his penalty and own goal record - that we should have stipulated must play us.

It's unlikely now that LuaLua will be welcomed back on Tyneside at the end of the season - not because he scored against us - but because his celebrations in front of fellow players, fans and United staff were way over the top. It's one thing doing a "Graham Fenton" but enjoying it so much showed an incredible lack of tact and certainly wasn't appreciated.

After the game LuaLua claimed he hadn't intended to celebrate in such an exuberant manner but he was reacting to some booing by the Newcastle fans. Booing not heard by our ears....

Craig Bellamy had got his fourth goal in four games to give us a glimmer of hope of a rare away victory. Sporting some stunning pearly whites, to go with his new-look Shirley Temple hair, Bellers latched on to an excellent run from Dyer to find the far corner past Shaka Hislop in front of the joyous Toon fans.

Alan Shearer had the chance to get back on the goal trail (from open play) but made an awful hash of a chance that might have given us the lead before Bellamy's goal and Jermaine Jenas forced a great save from Shaka in the second half.

But it was LuaLua who thumped home a loose ball from a short corner near the end to stop us from going four points clear of Charlton as we stayed in fourth place.

Sir Bobby has denied it was his decision to allow LuaLua to play and Harry Redknapp expressed his surprise that permission was given, so who was the idiot at St. James' Park that allowed it to happen? Presumably the same fool who didn't register Lee Bowyer for the UEFA Cup....

dreamer75
01-03-2004, 10:57 AM
yah..pretty puzzled y Lua Lua was not 'banned' from facing us?

revenant
01-03-2004, 11:11 AM
yah..pretty puzzled y Lua Lua was not 'banned' from facing us?

Sir Bobby has denied it was his decision to allow LuaLua to play and Harry Redknapp expressed his surprise that permission was given, so who was the idiot at St. James' Park that allowed it to happen? Presumably the same fool who didn't register Lee Bowyer for the UEFA Cup....

martinweng
01-03-2004, 07:45 PM
oh well, with ambrose-standard of players @ St. James Park, whose football wont be crappy?

Fresnel
01-03-2004, 08:49 PM
One word to sum up their performance. DISGRACEFUL. Pompey could've scored more....they played with much more drive and passion...NewC Draw wif Pompey....absolutely disgrace.

leo_llw
02-03-2004, 10:42 AM
One word to sum up their performance. DISGRACEFUL. Pompey could've scored more....they played with much more drive and passion...NewC Draw wif Pompey....absolutely disgrace.
Haizzz...Magpies already ok liao....

there is one EPL ex-giant who falls to Pompey a few days back remember?

yenyenpark
02-03-2004, 11:31 AM
we are draw experts.... sigh... dun really like this nick.... :(

revenant
02-03-2004, 12:04 PM
Originally posted by yenyenpark
we are draw experts.... sigh... dun really like this nick.... :(

I prefer last year's nick. COME-BACK KING!

dreamer75
02-03-2004, 02:44 PM
admit it SBR...we just ain't gd enuff!!

Hiding behind a mask...

On the web, radio phone-ins, Howaythetoon's inbox and in the media it seems everybody and everyone is lambasting the decision that allowed Lomano Lua Lua, still a United player, to play against the Toon on Sunday. A player who in the eyes of many shouldn't have been on the pitch to smash home his 18 yard strike to gain his new team a valuable point thus the club who holds his registration - Newcastle United yet another 1-1 draw conceded at the death.

So what if he scored?

It goes without saying that he would do just that - all former Toon players either score against us or play a blinder. However blaming the decision to allow him to play, therefore to score against us as a reason as to why we dropped 2 points really is masking the true reasons as to why we actually did drop 2 points.

They do say denial is addictive...

The true reason had nothing to do with the decision to allow Lua Lua to play. The true reason is that the Toon just isn't good enough to beat the likes of an under strength Portsmouth. Latest form highlights this even more so. 1-1 draw's at St. Andrews, Ewood Park and the Ulleval Stadium for example. 3 draws against 3 very ordinary teams. 3 draws in almost identical fashion too. 1-0 up in every game yet we fail to pick up a win in each. Ask yourself why?

Let me put this to you: Had Lua Lua not scored that late equaliser resulting in 3 points for the Toon would you be cursing the decision that allowed him to play?

No you damn well wouldn't!

The outpouring of 'grief' over this begs belief. Some are even saying that Lua Lua daresn't come back to the Toon as he's not welcome. Exactly the same mentality that saw a Toon player, regardless of what colors he wore receive jeering and booing - from his very own supporters. A bit hypocritical of those who demand he be hung from the Gallowgate for treason eh?

Whether Lua Lua played or not, whether he scored or not doesn't take away from the fact that Newcastle United can't kill a team off and can't hold onto a lead with minutes to go.

Why is that? Because we just aren't good enough that is why. Mentally the team is weak and fragile and Footballing wise poor managerial decisions along with certain first-team regulars playing well below average are costing us points. Not a squad player who was loaned out because his manager who bought him didn't fancy him and when he did fancy him, on very rare occasions, no matter how well he did play he was still a mere squad player.

At Portsmouth he is a first-team player and scoring goals. He scored past a mentally retarded team with too many under performing first-team players being managed by a man who's poor decision making along with these factors are the reasons as to why we are dropping points.

Get over it!

http://www.howaythetoon.com/latest_news/march_newsarchive/march_1_2004_article2.htm

dreamer75
02-03-2004, 02:45 PM
Kieron Dyer could be sidelined for at least six weeks because of a hamstring injury...siao liao lor..:(

nonoxynol
02-03-2004, 03:52 PM
Kieron Dyer could be sidelined for at least six weeks because of a hamstring injury...siao liao lor..:(

1 thing about dyer is that hes far too proned to injury...

martinweng
02-03-2004, 09:32 PM

wah six weeks...................................nia.. come on..we've got players who injure themselves longer...-> Cort..

nonoxynol
02-03-2004, 10:21 PM

wah six weeks...................................nia.. come on..we've got players who injure themselves longer...-> Cort..

cant believe u juz said that... do u have any idea the about of times Dyer gets injured.. if u add them all it'll be juz like cort...

Furthermore.. cort is history.. Dyer is an integral part of newcastle!!

Fresnel
02-03-2004, 11:23 PM
i'll prefer dYer n wooddog go....so what if they are good but keep getting injured easily....it's no use.

dbchoong
03-03-2004, 12:20 AM
No Dyer, still have Jenas or Viana to take over. Not as bad as not having Woody.... no Woody, got no one to replace.

nonoxynol
03-03-2004, 12:23 AM
No Dyer, still have Jenas or Viana to take over. Not as bad as not having Woody.... no Woody, got no one to replace.

exactly no woody.. defence leaks

ZhiQiang
03-03-2004, 12:42 AM
No Dyer, still have Jenas or Viana to take over. Not as bad as not having Woody.... no Woody, got no one to replace. yah lo... that bramble is very error prone...

nonoxynol
03-03-2004, 01:45 AM
yah lo... that bramble is very error prone...

That clumsy pig..

martinweng
03-03-2004, 08:58 AM
Originally posted by nonoxynol

cant believe u juz said that... do u have any idea the about of times Dyer gets injured.. if u add them all it'll be juz like cort...

Furthermore.. cort is history.. Dyer is an integral part of newcastle!!

i already said Medical facilities @ newcastle not gd..

dbchoong
03-03-2004, 09:33 AM
Nothing to do with the facilities there lah... even if they had the best, players will still get injured. It's the individual players not the club.

You always see Woody, Dyer (Cort) being injured. But you hardly ever see some other players like Speed, Bernard, Nobby getting injured. Some players are like tofu, and some are made of steel.

Maybe we should get rugby players to play for Newcastle... at least they are more robust.

;)

i already said Medical facilities @ newcastle not gd..

leo_llw
03-03-2004, 10:12 AM
Nothing to do with the facilities there lah... even if they had the best, players will still get injured. It's the individual players not the club.

You always see Woody, Dyer (Cort) being injured. But you hardly ever see some other players like Speed, Bernard, Nobby getting injured. Some players are like tofu, and some are made of steel.

Maybe we should get rugby players to play for Newcastle... at least they are more robust.

;)

Are you taking a dig at Spurs? :laugh:

nonoxynol
03-03-2004, 11:43 AM

;)

more robust? whats the use if they cant even control the ball?

matoriv
04-03-2004, 10:10 AM
heng newcastle managed to win it big nuff to advance to e last 16 of e UEFA cup..

but haiz..bellamy injured again..
sianz..
good news about ameobi's brace...
can rely on someone else besides shearer and bellamy..
hopefully...

Coolsmurf
04-03-2004, 11:09 AM
i am not surprised to hear of YET another injury to bellamy

bellamy, woodgate, dyer

how often have they last 10 - 15 games and beyond, nil, zlich!

how to get stability in a alrady struggling team

acchhhoooo
04-03-2004, 11:40 AM
i am not surprised to hear of YET another injury to bellamy

bellamy, woodgate, dyer

how often have they last 10 - 15 games and beyond, nil, zlich!

how to get stability in a alrady struggling team

sigh... sian... play half a game only injured liao.... so well built still like that... henry so skinny also hardly injured...

Coolsmurf
04-03-2004, 01:12 PM
their lifestyle maybe got something to do with it?

henry hardly makes the news and has a perfect loving family

nonoxynol
04-03-2004, 02:59 PM
Ameobi has grown alot.. If u had seen him years b4.. the amount of improvements he made to his game is realli tremendous..

Definately one for the future..He juz has did uncanny ability to take on players.. and play the ball.. and score too.. unlike lualua

dreamer75
05-03-2004, 12:54 AM
Originally posted by matoriv
heng newcastle managed to win it big nuff to advance to e last 16 of e UEFA cup..

but haiz..bellamy injured again..
sianz..
good news about ameobi's brace...
can rely on someone else besides shearer and bellamy..
hopefully...

yah...we won but Bellany injured...:(

next stop is

NEWCASTLE v Real Mallorca

Coolsmurf
05-03-2004, 08:57 AM
ameobi always turn on the goods when called upon but he nevers gets a run unless bellamy or shearer is suspended or injured

mallorca huh, eto'o will be a mighty danger, dun think bramble can handle him nor o-brien

acchhhoooo
05-03-2004, 09:19 AM
ameobi always turn on the goods when called upon but he nevers gets a run unless bellamy or shearer is suspended or injured

mallorca huh, eto'o will be a mighty danger, dun think bramble can handle him nor o-brien

true... amoebi is one for the future... still young though but would be good to see how he will turn out.... :)

dun know much abt real mallorca... they strong??? did hear of eto'o though before... but anyway, dun think bramble should play anyway.... play speed with woodgate lah... that way, our defence will be strong and sturdy....

dbchoong
05-03-2004, 10:07 AM
Newcastle probably got the "easiest" possible opponent for the next round in the UEFA Cup.

Mallorca is currently 4th from bottom of the La Liga. Knowing Newcastle, I won't say they'll definitely win, but compared to the rest - I think Newcastle got a good draw.

Here's Newcastle's draw line-up (provided they progress to next stage):

Q-Final: PSV/Auxerre in the Q-finals.
Semi-final: Benfica/Inter or Liverpool/Marseille
Final: Celtic/Barca or Villareal/Roma or Bordeaux/Club Brugge or Gencibergli/Valencia

martinweng
05-03-2004, 04:50 PM
Newcastle probably got the "easiest" possible opponent for the next round in the UEFA Cup.

Mallorca is currently 4th from bottom of the La Liga. Knowing Newcastle, I won't say they'll definitely win, but compared to the rest - I think Newcastle got a good draw.

Here's Newcastle's draw line-up (provided they progress to next stage):

Q-Final: PSV/Auxerre in the Q-finals.
Semi-final: Benfica/Inter or Liverpool/Marseille
Final: Celtic/Barca or Villareal/Roma or Bordeaux/Club Brugge or Gencibergli/Valencia

Min Requirement to beat Newcastle:

At least 7 physically-enabled men on field (referee will cancel the match if you only have 6, although 6 also can win Newcastle's 11-man team)

Reccomended System:

N/A. Any system can beat Newcastle.

------------------------------------------------------------

so it doesnt matter who u r, where u r from, wad u did, how u do it, as long as u play, u are bound to win Newcastle.

martinweng
05-03-2004, 04:51 PM

yah...we won but Bellany injured...:(

next stop is

NEWCASTLE v Real Mallorca

er...bellamy is nothing la...he can run, but he cant tink..

we need creativity, we've got olympics runner in our team alreadi...

acchhhoooo
05-03-2004, 05:11 PM

er...bellamy is nothing la...he can run, but he cant tink..

we need creativity, we've got olympics runner in our team alreadi...

lol... true... robert is our only one such player... why SBR dun get joe cole...

robert can play left, joe cole center, dyer on the right...

jenas and speed can play behind them...

dbchoong
05-03-2004, 05:23 PM
With the exception of the Singapore national team!! :laugh: :laugh:

so it doesnt matter who u r, where u r from, wad u did, how u do it, as long as u play, u are bound to win Newcastle.

martinweng
05-03-2004, 06:09 PM
With the exception of the Singapore national team!! :laugh: :laugh:

yes yes yes..4got...

Guiness World Records: Worst Football team played play a 11-man team

2nd Worst: Newcastle Utd (Time frame: 2004/2005 Under guidance of Senile, i mean Senior, Manager SBR)

And...the Worst of the Worst-ess: Team Singapore (Time frame: Anytime, anywhere)

Fresnel
06-03-2004, 02:17 PM
ya know...weng is right......anyone can beat NEwC .....can u remember how we struggled against Stevenage (non-league side made up of part time workers/players) in FA Cup when we were under dalglish? We won on return tie by a single goal by Shearer.

Nways, even though we won Valeg. 3-1.....it seems the match was very scrappy and newc was lucky to win....anyway Valeg is an unfancied side......

acchhhoooo
10-03-2004, 03:19 PM
wow.. although Newcastle performance not too good this year... but to let the club thread drop to 3rd page is :eek: ....

so here is a bump :p

:bounce:

anyway, any updates? so far only thing coming out of St James seems like the SBR and Shearer row... with gullit coming in to sow discord... :mad:

martinweng
10-03-2004, 03:32 PM
2 quiet weeks @ SJP..now dat Our match is coming, lets wait for dreamer's big match update...

dreamer75
10-03-2004, 03:59 PM
2 quiet weeks @ SJP..now dat Our match is coming, lets wait for dreamer's big match update...

ya...looking for me? :D

martinweng
10-03-2004, 06:49 PM

ya...looking for me? :D

where is ur Big Match Analysis?

dreamer75
11-03-2004, 01:11 PM
BACKGROUND

Newcastle and Mallorca are approaching this Uefa Cup fourth round tie with vastly contrasting opinions, as their priorities vary. Mallorca coach Luis Aragones has suggested he will rest players in order to concentrate on their La Liga plight, while the Magpies' boss Sir Bobby Robson claims this tie is all that on his mind at the moment.

Mallorca are currently fourth from bottom in La Liga and so understandable that is their primary concern.

"The UEFA Cup is here and we have to get on with it," said Aragones. "We can alternate players knowing that La Liga is the most important competition for us.

"It's not so difficult for a team to be in two competitions at the same time, but we are interested in some players getting a rest, although I don't think our potential will be affected much."

Newcastle, on the other hand, also have a domestic fight on their hands as they strive to seal the fourth and final Champions League spot, which they currently occupy.

However, Robson said: "We aren't even thinking about playing Tottenham on Sunday - all we are thinking of is trying to get a good result in our first leg against Real Mallorca to take out there with us in the second leg.

"We do not want to look too far ahead and think about beating this team or that team, we have to stay focused and do the job against Mallorca. After that, we can look forward."

TEAM NEWS

Kieron Dyer and Craig Bellamy are both expected to start after recovering from hamstring injuries, while Oliveir Bernard is set to return after suspension. However, Lee Bowyer is unavailable and Andy Griffen is injured.

Depending on how seriously Aragones is taking his intention to rest players some of Mallorca's stars could be dropped, but star striker Samuel Eto'o will surely start in what is another chance to put himself in the shop window.

PROBABLE STARTING LINE-UPS

Newcastle: Given; Hughes,Woodgate, O'Brien, Bernard; Dyer, Jenas, Speed Robert; Shearer, Bellamy.

Mallorca: Mallorca: Miki; Edu Moya, Ramis, Nadal, Poli; Campano, Pereyra, George, Nené; Eto'o, Delibasic.

http://www.soccerage.com/en/13/t7560.html

dreamer75
11-03-2004, 01:18 PM
After watching how Mallorca played in La Liga, i'm quite confident we can get a win. Their defending is horrible, feel dat ours are not as bad as theirs. hehee..

BUT muz beware of Eto'o :eek:

My Pick : 2-0 :)

ZhiQiang
11-03-2004, 03:11 PM
After watching how Mallorca played in La Liga, i'm quite confident we can get a win. Their defending is horrible, feel dat ours are not as bad as theirs. hehee..

BUT muz beware of Eto'o :eek:

My Pick : 2-0 :) the fact that they are in the uefa cup as us now means that we must not under estimate our opponents...

eto'o is good... eto'o vs bramble = goals for mallorca

martinweng
12-03-2004, 08:19 AM
Newcastle 4-1 Mallorca: FT Report

PA

Newcastle staged a remarkable second-half fightback to fire themselves to within touching distance of the UEFA Cup quarter-finals with a 4-1 win against Real Mallorca.

Trailing 1-0 to Fernando Correa's 57th-minute opener, Craig Bellamy levelled after 68 minutes before skipper Alan Shearer headed home his 20th goal of the season three minutes later.

Laurent Robert made it 3-1 with a 74th-minute free-kick, and after Edu Moya, one of eight Mallorca players booked previously, was cautioned for a second time and shown the red card, Titus Bramble scored a fourth six minutes from time.

Bellamy and Kieron Dyer handed Newcastle boss Sir Bobby Robson a major boost after both declaring themselves fit after hamstring injuries while French full-back Olivier Bernard returned after suspension with Jonathan Woodgate, unwell earlier in the week, dropping to the bench.

Mallorca boss Luis Aragones made no fewer than nine changes to the side which lost 3-2 in La Liga at Barcelona on Sunday with only dangermen Alejandro Campano and Samuel Eto'o surviving and veteran defender Miguel Angel Nadal having to make do with a seat on the bench.

The game was preceded by a minute's silence for the victims of the Madrid bombings but the visitors took little time to get into their stride, Eto'o shooting over from close range after United failed to deal adequately with Nene's left-wing corner.

Campano combined neatly with striker Correa down the right and sent in a cross which wrong-footed Bramble in the middle but Eto'o was unable to take advantage as he bundled his effort wide.

Andy O'Brien's deep free-kick fell to Robert beyond the far post but his driven cross was cleared in uncompromising style by Federico Lussenhoff.

Jermaine Jenas set Newcastle moving in the right direction four minutes later when he robbed Gonzalo Colsa and went forward before forcing Fernando Nino to concede a corner with a ball in to Robert, although the Frenchman wasted the chance with a lazy delivery.

Mallorca continued to play with a confidence which belied their lowly league position and Eto'o tested Shay Given with an audacious 22nd-minute volley with the outside of his right foot.

However, Bellamy was appealing for a penalty - more in hope than expectation - a minute later after going to ground in an untidy clash with Cortes.

Referee Alain Hamer lost patience with the visitors twice in quick succession when he booked Moya for a challenge on Dyer and then cautioned Correa for disputing his decision.

Robert had Real's Argentinian keeper Leo Franco on his toes after he won a 41st-minute free-kick 25-yards out and hammered a low shot just wide of his left post.

The Frenchman began the second half where he had left off in the first when he found space down the left and crossed, but once again, his delivery lacked the necessary quality and Franco claimed with ease.

Given was less comfortable after 48 minutes when he had to contend with Moya's mis-hit ball into the box as it wobbled on the swirling wind but he collected safely.

United created their best opportunity yet after 57 minutes when Robert played Bellamy in on the right side of the penalty area but although the Welshman struck his shot well, Franco saved with his legs.

The home side had started to build up a momentum but they threw it all away seconds later when Speed's loose pass was intercepted by Eto'o and he fed the ball out to Campano before heading into the box to receive his return pass.

Eto'o fired his shot off immediately and was unfortunate to see it come back off the crossbar with Given beaten, but Correa followed up to head into the empty net and give his side the lead.

Newcastle hit back after 68 minutes when Shearer flicked on Bramble's free-kick and Bellamy ran through to slot right-footed past Franco.

Shearer was not to be denied and when Robert drove the ball in he charged unmarked to the near post to glance home his 20th goal of the season.

United forged further ahead after 74 minutes when Real conceded a free-kick 30 yards out and Robert crashed in a low shot which caught Franco flat-footed as it swerved into the back of the net.

The keeper did well to keep out another Robert pile-driver two minutes later as the Spaniards, who had by now had no fewer than eight players booked, lost their cool and, after 83 minutes, Moya for a second bookable offence.

To rub salt into the wound, Bramble volleyed Robert's free-kick from point-blank range into the back of the net to make it 4-1.

Coolsmurf
12-03-2004, 09:35 AM
the score 4-1 does look flattering so did newcastle play last night justify the scoreline?

i didn't watch

dreamer75
12-03-2004, 09:36 AM
4-1....song bo??? :bounce:

dbchoong
12-03-2004, 10:29 AM
Good result for Newcastle. Real Mallorca had 7 or 8 players with yellow cards and 1 red card... wow... those guys play rough or what?

Up next on Sunday - Spurs at White Hart Lane...

swalk21
12-03-2004, 10:43 AM
good job mappies:bounce:

Kiwi8
12-03-2004, 10:53 AM
Originally posted by swalk21
good job mappies:bounce:

It's "magpies" not "mappies"! :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek:

martinweng
13-03-2004, 08:25 AM
the score 4-1 does look flattering so did newcastle play last night justify the scoreline?

i didn't watch

nah..it juz consoled us that we are not the only pathetic pack of crap still in the UEFA..

martinweng
13-03-2004, 08:25 AM
Good result for Newcastle. Real Mallorca had 7 or 8 players with yellow cards and 1 red card... wow... those guys play rough or what?

wad the...u smiling @ an upcoming defeat?

u tink spurs gonna give anything away?

yenyenpark
13-03-2004, 09:10 AM
hi guys... long time no see you all... :)

yenyenpark
13-03-2004, 09:12 AM

:D we can play good football at home, just tat we seems very lag very very lag in first half...

and for away matches, we lag for the whoel 90 mins for the most of the time....

yenyenpark
13-03-2004, 09:14 AM

u tink spurs gonna give anything away? Spur used to be very strong... but now... :rolleyes:

anyway, our away results were bad... draw for eight or nine mathces... :eek:

so i dun really big hope... but will happy for one point and delighted for three points...

dbchoong
13-03-2004, 09:30 AM
Think we'll finally win our first away match tomorrow....

Must win lah... else Birmingham, Charlton or Liverpool will overtake us.... final 11 EPL matches - must make every one count.

u tink spurs gonna give anything away?

yenyenpark
13-03-2004, 09:31 AM
Think we'll finally win our first away match tomorrow....

Must win lah... else Birmingham, Charlton or Liverpool will overtake us.... final 11 EPL matches - must make every one count.

i hope so... anyway, got live on TV or not ??

ZhiQiang
14-03-2004, 03:15 PM
i think draw leh... newc drew the last 5 away liao rite?

leo_llw
14-03-2004, 04:06 PM
should win Spurs lah..

their defense in a charitible mood with Doherty the Santa Claus :)

martinweng
15-03-2004, 01:20 AM
FARK U LAH! NABEH O'BRIEN..

I SAY HOW MANY TIMES LIAO...DUN FARKING FIELD DIVISION 1 PLAYERS...U SEE LAR...OWN GOAL LIAO...

NBCCB..

ZhiQiang
15-03-2004, 02:55 AM
FARK U LAH! NABEH O'BRIEN..

I SAY HOW MANY TIMES LIAO...DUN FARKING FIELD DIVISION 1 PLAYERS...U SEE LAR...OWN GOAL LIAO...

NBCCB.. i tot u oredi dun support newc le... hahaha

leo_llw
15-03-2004, 05:36 AM
cannot understand why with such a strikeforce, Newcastle had been struggling to score goals. This drought started actually much earlier and only some of Laurent Robert's individual brillance and goals got Magpies out of jail in several occasion.

They definitely needed some fresh ideas as well as someone to partner Woodgate in defense. Confirm not that Bramble or today's hero :mad:

martinweng
15-03-2004, 08:14 AM
i tot u oredi dun support newc le... hahaha

liddat how 2 support them?

dbchoong
15-03-2004, 11:39 AM
Uhh... even World class players score own goals, ok? O'Brien only human, liao.

Yeah, Newc needs a change. Maybe it's Shearer who's slowing down that's creating a bad effect to the team. He's good, but I think it's time Newc started using him less.

Newc need a new striking hero. Don't have one in the team (Ameobi, Chopra, Bridges don't have what it takes yet) right now, so have to go and buy a good one.

=p

I SAY HOW MANY TIMES LIAO...DUN FIELD DIVISION 1 PLAYERS...U SEE LAR...OWN GOAL LIAO...

dreamer75
15-03-2004, 12:04 PM
bad week for me...both the teams that i support lose...:(

martinweng
15-03-2004, 12:07 PM
Uhh... even World class players score own goals, ok? O'Brien only human, liao.

Yeah, Newc needs a change. Maybe it's Shearer who's slowing down that's creating a bad effect to the team. He's good, but I think it's time Newc started using him less.

Newc need a new striking hero. Don't have one in the team (Ameobi, Chopra, Bridges don't have what it takes yet) right now, so have to go and buy a good one.

=p

SO WAD! IT STILL DOESNT CHANGE THE FACT DAT HE'S A DIVISION 1 PLAYER! HE WILL NEVER EVER BE A WORLD-CLASS PLAYER! GET HIS A55 OUT OF SJP! ARGH!!!!!!!!!

ZhiQiang
15-03-2004, 01:02 PM
:(

newcastle really no creativity... all depend on robert...

wat we have?? a headless chicken(dyer), two sec school defenders(obrien and bramble) and the most impt...

ONE SENILE GRANDFATHER!!!

acchhhoooo
15-03-2004, 01:32 PM
sigh....

now 5th place....

SBR, get daniel van buyten~~!! get joe cole~~!!

Fresnel
15-03-2004, 02:49 PM
A lost......as expected..

Coolsmurf
16-03-2004, 09:04 AM
From the Sunday Sun, quotes attributed to Sir Bobby Robson concerning the SJP playing surface:

"It's not the best pitch in the Premiership - it's probably the worst - but we're just going to have to see the season through on it.

"It's not conducive to our players; Bellamy, Dyer, Laurent Robert - quick players. It's not what we want when we want to pass the ball.

"But the club isn't going to do anything about it. They are not happy about spending any more on it now - they think it's a waste of money. They're going to do a complete overhaul in the summer and we've been asked to accept it as it is and get on with it."

its looks as if we are paupers

martinweng
16-03-2004, 09:20 AM
From the Sunday Sun, quotes attributed to Sir Bobby Robson concerning the SJP playing surface:

"It's not the best pitch in the Premiership - it's probably the worst - but we're just going to have to see the season through on it.

"It's not conducive to our players; Bellamy, Dyer, Laurent Robert - quick players. It's not what we want when we want to pass the ball.

"But the club isn't going to do anything about it. They are not happy about spending any more on it now - they think it's a waste of money. They're going to do a complete overhaul in the summer and we've been asked to accept it as it is and get on with it."

its looks as if we are paupers

I believe the board of directors should just issue a letter like this:

Dear Fans,
Despite our success in the past 2 seasons, The board of directors has decided to come down harsh with the fact that, we, the so-called gentlemen, are GAYS!
Our signings may have sound absurd to you in recent years, but it is their willingness to gay with us that matters! Not their skills! We fired Gullit's a55 after he refused to continue gay with us! We brought in Newcastle's number 1 gay, Bobby Robson, from PSV. Hell, He was knighted because of his adaptability to gay anywhere under the sun!
We hope you fans would not be enraged by this letter, we sincerely request you fans would be understanding, give us time to kick the habit of gaying. But for the time being, We'll try to get more gays in, and hope our iron ladies would play at their best.

Sincerely signed, sealed and gayed
The Board of Di-gay-tors

martinweng
16-03-2004, 09:27 AM

I believe the board of directors should just issue a letter like this:

Dear Fans,
Despite our success in the past 2 seasons, The board of directors has decided to come down harsh with the fact that, we, the so-called gentlemen, are GAYS!
Our signings may have sound absurd to you in recent years, but it is their willingness to gay with us that matters! Not their skills! We fired Gullit's a55 after he refused to continue gay with us! We brought in Newcastle's number 1 gay, Bobby Robson, from PSV. Hell, He was knighted because of his adaptability to gay anywhere under the sun!
We hope you fans would not be enraged by this letter, we sincerely request you fans would be understanding, give us time to kick the habit of gaying. But for the time being, We'll try to get more gays in, and hope our iron ladies would play at their best.

Sincerely signed, sealed and gayed
The Board of Di-gay-tors

okok...a serious version

Dear Fans,
Despite our success in the past 2 seasons, The board of directors has decided to come down harsh with the fact that, we, are just a mid-table club that luckily soared to 3rd and 4th last year. Our performance did not attracted World-class players. We've tried to sign Rivaldo, but he wouldn't come.
I hope you all would understand, that Newcastle's fortune is not to be spent on players or facilities, but to spend on us. After all, we own the club, and we should enjoy the money. With that, I have to end this short letter because I'm going to sail with the newly constructed TITANIC! YES!!! I've reconstructed TITANIC! with the money we yielded these past years.
Bon Voyage to us and U playing staffs and fans! We are going to set sail, and you all are setting sail to a new division, known us the Nationwide Division 1!

Affectionally signed
The Board of NEWCASTLE-DIE-NOT-MY-PROBLEM Directors

aqf
16-03-2004, 07:02 PM
:( seems like it is hard to get even a fourth place.Need to improve away form.Still have away games to difficult teams like liverpool,man city,bolton to go.

dbchoong
16-03-2004, 09:24 PM
After seeing the Red Devils demolished by Man City, looks like Wes Brown, Phil Neville, John O'Shea, Silvestre also look like Nationwide players! :laugh:

So Newcastle defenders suddenly don't look that bad...

leo_llw
17-03-2004, 10:22 AM
Yeah...at least Woodgate and Given can be counted upon :laugh:

aqf
20-03-2004, 03:48 PM
Any prediction for tonight game against charlton.Got show live, yeah!

7cantona
20-03-2004, 03:53 PM
My all time favourite striker... " Alan Shearer "!!!!!

But he's my no. 2... Batistuta was... :cool:

nonoxynol
20-03-2004, 03:55 PM
Prediction 0-0 after 90minutes

SheaRer pops out from nowhere to steal the win in the 91sttttttttttttttttttttt!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

shifty22
20-03-2004, 04:16 PM
I predict 1-1 draw

nonoxynol
20-03-2004, 04:19 PM
Prediction 0-0 after 90minutes

SheaRer pops out from nowhere to steal the win in the 91sttttttttttttttttttttt!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

for CharltoN.. what an OG!

haha kiddin

aqf
20-03-2004, 06:16 PM

for CharltoN.. what an OG!

haha kiddin :laugh: not again

martinweng
20-03-2004, 08:27 PM
Shearer from the spot...

aqf
20-03-2004, 08:29 PM
Shearer from the spot... 1st time see u predict a win for newcastle

nonoxynol
21-03-2004, 12:12 AM
Newcastle to give charlton a major footballing lesson.. 3-0

Fresnel
21-03-2004, 12:59 AM
i predict a draw or an upset. The way newc's playing is a definite No no.

Mankul
21-03-2004, 01:40 AM
Shearer is Supreme http://www.mankul.purehub.com/smiley/up.gif he scored the lead with that header. I'm an admirer of Shearer. He's a natural striker. Newcastle is lucky to have him. http://www.mankul.purehub.com/smiley/up.gif

dreamer75
21-03-2004, 01:41 AM
Originally posted by aqf
1st time see u predict a win for newcastle

ya lor..=p

aqf
21-03-2004, 02:21 AM
HT:2-0 lead

martinweng
21-03-2004, 08:04 AM
newcastle 3-1 charlton!!!!!!!

aqf
21-03-2004, 08:28 AM
yeah!

nonoxynol
21-03-2004, 02:46 PM
Originally posted by Mankul
Shearer is Supreme http://www.mankul.purehub.com/smiley/up.gif he scored the lead with that header. I'm an admirer of Shearer. He's a natural striker. Newcastle is lucky to have him. http://www.mankul.purehub.com/smiley/up.gif

what lucky, we paid 15million bucks for him...

shifty22
21-03-2004, 02:56 PM
a win for sir bobby

newcastle were hanging on for dear life with a 2-1 lead when the ref fell prey to laurent robert's dive and awareded the penalty.
shearer almost served justice when his well taken penalty was saved on to the post by kiely but no charlton defenders followed up and shearer tapped it in.

3points for the magpies!

Fresnel
21-03-2004, 04:14 PM
I fell asleep in the 2nd half...sloppy performance...and Ambrose is like sh*t. We really need a good right winger

aqf
21-03-2004, 09:30 PM
should have sold ambrose and bowyer instead of solano

Coolsmurf
22-03-2004, 10:25 AM
so its was a lucky win and flattering scoreline...

anyway, lucky we won because liverpool also won with a 90th min goal

lucky all the 4th place wannabes all lost ground

dreamer75
22-03-2004, 10:53 AM
yes..3-1!!! :D

i have a feeling the 4th spot will be decided on our last league game..

aqf
22-03-2004, 11:28 AM
yes..3-1!!! :D

i have a feeling the 4th spot will be decided on our last league game.. hopefully it dun need to be decided by the last game cos liverpool at home

Coolsmurf
22-03-2004, 12:41 PM
i hope the 4th place will be settled before the last game so that there is less pressure

but then again its too close to call now

aqf
22-03-2004, 01:58 PM
newcastle better improve their away form otherwise it is hard to get 4th place

dbchoong
22-03-2004, 04:19 PM
Last 9 games for the 4th position contenders. Those highlighted in Italics are key-games.

Newcastle
Mar 28 Bolton v Newcastle
Apr 3 Newcastle v Everton
Apr 10 Southampton v Newcastle
Apr 12 Newcastle v Arsenal
Apr 17 Aston Villa P - P Newcastle
Apr 24 Newcastle v Chelsea
May 1 Man City v Newcastle
May 8 Newcastle v Wolverhampton
May 15 Liverpool v Newcastle

Liverpool
Mar 28 Leicester v Liverpool
Apr 4 Liverpool v Blackburn
Apr 10 Arsenal v Liverpool
Apr 12 Liverpool v Charlton
Apr 17 Liverpool v Fulham
Apr 24 Man Utd v Liverpool
May 1 Liverpool v Middlesbrough
May 8 Birmingham v Liverpool
May 15 Liverpool v Newcastle

Charlton
Mar 27 Charlton v Aston Villa
Apr 3 Man Utd P - P Charlton
Apr 10 Charlton v Portsmouth
Apr 12 Liverpool v Charlton
Apr 17 Charlton v Birmingham
Apr 24 Fulham v Charlton
May 1 Charlton v Leicester
May 8 Leeds v Charlton
May 15 Charlton v Southampton

Birmingham
Mar 27 Birmingham v Leeds
Apr 3 Fulham v Birmingham
Apr 10 Birmingham v Man Utd
Apr 12 Portsmouth v Birmingham
Apr 17 Charlton v Birmingham
Apr 24 Birmingham v Wolverhampton
May 1 Arsenal v Birmingham
May 8 Birmingham v Liverpool
May 15 Blackburn v Birmingham

aqf
22-03-2004, 05:04 PM
Mar 28 Bolton v Newcastle(not easy)
Apr 10 Southampton v Newcastle(not easy)
Apr 12 Newcastle v Arsenal(not easy)
Apr 24 Newcastle v Chelsea(not easy)
May 1 Man City v Newcastle(not easy)
May 15 Liverpool v Newcastle(not easy)

acchhhoooo
22-03-2004, 05:46 PM
Originally posted by aqf
Mar 28 Bolton v Newcastle(not easy)
Apr 10 Southampton v Newcastle(not easy)
Apr 12 Newcastle v Arsenal(not easy)
Apr 24 Newcastle v Chelsea(not easy)
May 1 Man City v Newcastle(not easy)
May 15 Liverpool v Newcastle(not easy)

lol... almost every match you label not easy...

but anyway, we really need to win against those easier opponents... cannot afford to drop any points... against liverpool, chelsea and arsenal must at least draw...

aqf
22-03-2004, 06:01 PM
I think liverpool get easier fixtures.Just pray for the best.

martinweng
22-03-2004, 07:38 PM

lol... almost every match you label not easy...

but anyway, we really need to win against those easier opponents... cannot afford to drop any points... against liverpool, chelsea and arsenal must at least draw...

of coz la..see our farking standard...

Fresnel
22-03-2004, 07:40 PM
I think u shld have italic everthing...NewC is NOTORIOUS for dropping points at lowly clubs, struggle at mid table clubs and generous to top clubs.

Seeing how they play against Charlton only serves to justify my opinions.
put it simply...we'll struggle for 4th spot.

martinweng
22-03-2004, 08:14 PM
I think u shld have italic everthing...NewC is NOTORIOUS for dropping points at lowly clubs, struggle at mid table clubs and generous to top clubs.

Seeing how they play against Charlton only serves to justify my opinions.
put it simply...we'll struggle for 4th spot.

if anybody deserves the 4th spot, it wont be us...

we deserve no european football at all...

why the fark shud we be given the chance if we haf no intention to get better?

the route to success is to have quality players...not BRITISH craps!!

dbchoong
23-03-2004, 12:46 AM
If not Newcastle, then who?

Liverpool - probably the only one with "quality" players, but IMO not very much better than us, don't you think?
Charlton - not Euro quality yet
Birmingham - not Euro quality yet
Aston Villa - not Euro quality yet
Fulham - not Euro quality yet (on the way down after selling Saha)
Boro, Spurs, Soton??? :rolleyes:

if anybody deserves the 4th spot, it wont be us...

we deserve no european football at all...

why the fark shud we be given the chance if we haf no intention to get better?

the route to success is to have quality players...not BRITISH craps!!

leo_llw
23-03-2004, 08:10 AM
It's time to build a decent defense and plan without Shearer.

Shearer had been heavily relied upon and he is not getting younger. Newcastle had been very predictable with much of the play targeting at Shearer.

With Dyer not playing, the opposition just need to close in on Robert and Shearer will get zero service.

Promising young players like Hugo Viana is not been given a chance to play. Solano is sold off to Villa. Instead Bowyer and Ambrose are retained.

Maybe it's time for SBR to go and enjoy his retirement. Anyway he deserved a break after all these years of football.

martinweng
23-03-2004, 08:21 AM

Liverpool - probably the only one with "quality" players, but IMO not very much better than us, don't you think?

I AM SHOCKED!

i cant believe u actualli said dis...

wad makes u think we are euro quality...if we cant win against spurs?

players wise, name a euro quality player...

u name robert, i tell u he's a PSG drop-out

u name Shearer, i ask u how long more?

u name dyer, woodgate, bellamy, i tell u their total playing games does not even exceed 38 games

u name bramble, i say wtf:alien:

acchhhoooo
23-03-2004, 09:42 AM

actually, spurs got quite a good squad, just that always can't seem to perform.

dbchoong
23-03-2004, 10:08 AM
Well, ManUtd also got thrashed by Man City... (Man City lost to bottom club Leeds last night).... Man Utd also lost to teams like Fulham, Southampton, Wolves.... so what does that mean?

Chelsea have also lost to Charlton, Bolton earlier this season.

So, losing to Spurs doesn't automatically mean Newcastle are worse than Spurs.

Sure, we don't have players like Henry, Viera, Giggs, Ruud... but compared to the other 4th place contenders, I think Newcastle still have a slight edge.

Anyway, we'll know in May if we're 4th or not. If yes, great. If no, too bad.

martinweng
23-03-2004, 11:51 AM
Well, ManUtd also got thrashed by Man City... (Man City lost to bottom club Leeds last night).... Man Utd also lost to teams like Fulham, Southampton, Wolves.... so what does that mean?

Chelsea have also lost to Charlton, Bolton earlier this season.

So, losing to Spurs doesn't automatically mean Newcastle are worse than Spurs.

Sure, we don't have players like Henry, Viera, Giggs, Ruud... but compared to the other 4th place contenders, I think Newcastle still have a slight edge.

Anyway, we'll know in May if we're 4th or not. If yes, great. If no, too bad.

i would like to tell u we do have a chance to have great players...

but some farked up directors screw us up...

acchhhoooo
23-03-2004, 01:29 PM

i would like to tell u we do have a chance to have great players...

but some farked up directors screw us up...

really? i thought the problem seems more like the club's reputation... seems difficult for the club to attract players of sufficient calibre...

yenyenpark
23-03-2004, 02:28 PM
we can get some good players, but just our money is not as much as man u, chelsea... and of course, we have not won any trophy recently.. :(

revenant
23-03-2004, 02:39 PM

players wise, name a euro quality player...

u name robert, i tell u he's a PSG drop-out

Welcome to soccer :)

Please tell me which GREAT soccer clubs never lost to a lowly before.

Please tell me Henry was not a previous Serie A reject.

martinweng
23-03-2004, 06:31 PM

really? i thought the problem seems more like the club's reputation... seems difficult for the club to attract players of sufficient calibre...

mendieta > boro

okocha > bolton

ricardinho > boro

martinweng
23-03-2004, 06:32 PM
Originally posted by revenant

Welcome to soccer :)

Please tell me which GREAT soccer clubs never lost to a lowly before.

Please tell me Henry was not a previous Serie A reject.

ok...den explain these...

Leeds 2 - 2 Newcastle
Newcastle 0 - 1 Birmingham
Newcastle 0 - 0 Bolton
Newcastle 1 - 1 Aston Villa
Wolverhampton 1 - 1 Newcastle
Leicester 1 - 1 Newcastle
Newcastle 0 - 1 Blackburn
Portsmouth 1 - 1 Newcastle
(AWAY LOSS FILTERED OUT)

all in 1 season? quite a feat...

well, i wouldnt doubt so if i were u..

players like ambrose, 1st team player? omg...

revenant
23-03-2004, 07:35 PM

ok...den explain these...

Leeds 2 - 2 Newcastle
Newcastle 0 - 1 Birmingham
Newcastle 0 - 0 Bolton
Newcastle 1 - 1 Aston Villa
Wolverhampton 1 - 1 Newcastle
Leicester 1 - 1 Newcastle
Newcastle 0 - 1 Blackburn
Portsmouth 1 - 1 Newcastle
(AWAY LOSS FILTERED OUT)

all in 1 season? quite a feat...

well, i wouldnt doubt so if i were u..

players like ambrose, 1st team player? omg...

heh, no need to skip my questions. I'm just correcting you.

Though I agreed that Newcastle do not have Euro quality yet. Seldom see them perform well in both halfs. Most either in first. or second. :(

aqf
23-03-2004, 08:05 PM
newcastle is not consistent.

dreamer75
24-03-2004, 10:44 PM
Did Michael Bridges play for Newcastle since his transfer? injured again!!!

Newcastle boss Sir Bobby Robson will make a late check on striker Craig Bellamy ahead of the UEFA Cup fourth-round second-leg clash with Real Mallorca in Palma.

The frontman, who was involved in an incident with first-team coach John Carver at Newcastle International Airport as the squad prepared to fly out, is battling to recover from a hamstring injury and Shola Ameobi is standing by.

Midfielder Kieron Dyer (hamstring), full-back Aaron Hughes (calf) and striker Michael Bridges (shin) were all left behind with Andy O'Brien in line to start at right-back and Titus Bramble coming in to replace him in the middle.

Youngsters Michael Chopra, Steven Taylor, Martin Brittain and Bradley Orr have been added to the squad.

matoriv
25-03-2004, 05:04 AM
hope newcastle can hold on to get past mallorca..
pls dun conceed 3 goals..

Fresnel
25-03-2004, 09:40 PM
well, juz be prepared for any surprises.....NEwC is full of it

Coolsmurf
26-03-2004, 06:16 AM
just saw that nufc won 3-0 away and all the favourites have been knocked out...

the stage is set for nufc

martinweng
26-03-2004, 08:18 AM
7-1 on aggregate..

looks like we aint bad afterall

Coolsmurf
26-03-2004, 08:23 AM
7-1 on aggregate..

looks like we aint bad afterall

might argue that Mallorca has not been that good but it still takes effort to score, so can't fault newcastle on that, hope that we can bring this form to epl since pool can now concentrate fully on epl

dbchoong
26-03-2004, 09:54 AM
Shay Given was on form last night and prevented Mallorca from scoring on quite a few ocassions. Then early in the 2nd half, Mallorca's keeper poor clearance kick sent the ball straight to Shearer who sent the ball into the back of the net from 30 yards out. Thank you.

Mallorca started pushing players up and SBR sensing that their defense was weakened sent in Bellamy for Speed to make a 3 striker team! It paid immediate returns as Bellamy outran all defenders and calmly scored the 2nd.

Game as good as over!!

I missed the 3rd goal as I channel surfed to watch Barca and Liverpool go down in flames.... :laugh:

Bring on PSV!!

Mankul
26-03-2004, 10:15 AM
Congrats Geordies... you guys actually TRASHED a SPANISH side... well Done!

leo_llw
26-03-2004, 11:07 AM
yeah...the Spanish teams must be cursing their luck on meeting British oppositions. Even mighty Barca has fallen.

Next up for Magpies PSV. :D

dreamer75
26-03-2004, 11:47 AM
Originally posted by Mankul
Congrats Geordies... you guys actually TRASHED a SPANISH side... well Done!

yeah!!!!

GOOD LUCK to Arsenal this Sunday, shldn't have any prob at home to Man U :D

aqf
26-03-2004, 04:50 PM
gd win

dreamer75
26-03-2004, 05:51 PM
LONDON: Newcastle confirmed on Thursday that manager Bobby Robson has signed a new contract which will keep him at St James Park until the end of the 2004-05 season.

The 71-year-old had been working on a rolling 12-month deal since taking over from Ruud Gullit in September 1999.

?Bobby has signed a new one-year contract,? Newcastle chairman Freddy Shepherd said.

?He's got one more season to go after this season which I think he's happy with and we're happy with, so he's here until the end of 2005.?

Shepherd hinted that, despite his age, Robson could even extend his contract again at some point in the future.

?Knowing Bobby, I wouldn't be surprised by anything that happens. He's a one-off.? ? dpa

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2004/3/26/sports/7629956&sec=sports

aqf
26-03-2004, 06:42 PM
LONDON: Newcastle confirmed on Thursday that manager Bobby Robson has signed a new contract which will keep him at St James Park until the end of the 2004-05 season.

The 71-year-old had been working on a rolling 12-month deal since taking over from Ruud Gullit in September 1999.

?Bobby has signed a new one-year contract,? Newcastle chairman Freddy Shepherd said.

?He's got one more season to go after this season which I think he's happy with and we're happy with, so he's here until the end of 2005.?

Shepherd hinted that, despite his age, Robson could even extend his contract again at some point in the future.

?Knowing Bobby, I wouldn't be surprised by anything that happens. He's a one-off.? ? dpa

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2004/3/26/sports/7629956&sec=sports
when will he retire

revenant
26-03-2004, 11:53 PM
Jenas signed a 5 years deal while Shearer and Speed extend till end of next season.

I reckon Shearer, Speed and SBR will retire at the end of next season :(

Coolsmurf
27-03-2004, 12:07 AM
Originally posted by revenant
Jenas signed a 5 years deal while Shearer and Speed extend till end of next season.

I reckon Shearer, Speed and SBR will retire at the end of next season :(

when they leave, they will leave a huge void behind, their experience and leadership is hard to replace at short notice

newcastle will no doubt suffer

dreamer75
27-03-2004, 12:30 AM
Jay-Jay Okocha is hoping to end his goal drought against Newcastle on Sunday.

The Nigerian playmaker has yet to score in the Barclaycard Premiership this season.

Bolton go into the match in decline after a run of four straight league defeats and Sam Allardyce is again definitely without Youri Djorkaeff, who has a hamstring injury.

Sir Bobby Robson will make late checks on several players before naming his squad.

Aaron Hughes (calf), Kieron Dyer (hamstring) and Michael Bridges (shin) all missed the 3-0 UEFA Cup victory over Real Mallorca in Palma last night, but some or all could yet be included.

Craig Bellamy showed no ill-effects on returning from his hamstring injury as a substitute while Lee Bowyer is available after suspension.

dreamer75
27-03-2004, 12:33 AM
BACKGROUND:

Bolton Wanderers take on their 3rd top 5 team in as many games when Newcastle United come to the Reebok Stadium on Sunday. The Wanderers have had a torrid time recently and have slid down the table since Sam Allerdyce was being touted as the Premiership's Manager of the Year by the panel on ITV's The Premiership. The Wanderers now find themselves in 13th position only 7 points from the drop zone.

Sam Allerdyce said this week that the club is in crisis. The Wanderers are going through their worst run of the season by some way at the moment. This is made even more surprising by the fact that not too long ago they were within easy reach of the European places and had their sights set on a trophy. Things have changed somewhat for the worst at the Reebok and Bolton will be desperate to prevent this season, which began in such a promising manner, ending like so many seasons previously as a relegation dog fight. However, as this season has been much closer than previous seasons, Wanderers' fans will seek solace in the fact that there are only 18 points from the relegation places to the Champions' League places.

Newcastle United are in a much better situation than there were early on in the season when Bolton travelled to St. James' Park. Despite dominating the game, Newcastle were held 0-0 and came away with only their third point in the first 5 games of the season. However, Newcastle are traditionally a slow starter and since then have climbed the table steadily to engage in a duel with Liverpool and Charlton Athletic, amongst others, for the 4th Champions' League Place.

The Toon Army are also going strong in the UEFA Cup at present. Despite the altercation between Craig Bellamy and coach John Carver on the way to the Balearics, Newcastle put in a decent performance to ease their way through to the quarter finals. However, Newcastle need to be wary of being distracted by the possibility of bringing home their first silverware in 35 years. The Champions' League is where the real success is and at the moment qualification is very tight. Newcastle are on exactly the same points and goal difference as Liverpool and the two are almost identical in the number of goals scored and conceded. Every goal counts in the next 9 games.

FORM GUIDE:

Bolton Wanderers (All competitions- oldest results first): D L L L L L

Bolton appear to be in freefall at the moment after scoring a poor 4 goals in the past 6 matches. The Carling Cup Final loss didn't do much for confidence but the decline had already begun before that game with Bolton's run-up being 2 draws and a loss. March has been a tough month fixture wise for Bolton but April looks to be a little kinder. Strangely, Bolton's poor form has coincided with the return of Jay-Jay Okocha from the African Cup of Nations. He returned to the bench for the 3-1 defeat against Manchester City and Bolton have lost every game since. However, he cannot be solely blamed for this run. The club are suffering from a confidence crisis and are desperately in need of a win or even a point.

Newcastle United (All competitions- oldest results first): D D W W L W

Apart from a slight hiccup against Tottenham Hotspur, where they were defeated by a last minute own goal, Newcastle are playing well at the moment in their quest for a Champions' League place. Before that game, Newcastle's last defeat in the Premiership was at the end of December against Blackburn Rovers. However, a large number of draws has prevented the Toon Army from pulling away from the rest of the pack. They often follow a win with a draw and have not put together any real run of form.

TEAM NEWS:

Bolton Wanderers

Sam Allerdyce looks set to make no changes to the side which put in a spirited performance in the defeat against Arsenal. The influential Frenchman Youri Djorkaeff is still unavailable because of a hamstring injury.

Newcastle United

Craig Bellamy makes a return to Premiership action following his goal off the bench in the midweek European tie. He should get a place in the starting line up but Bobby Robson faces a difficult choice as to who will make way. Shola Ameobi may have to start the game on the bench.

Titus Bramble will continue at the back as Aaron Hughes is out with a calf injury. Kieron Dyer and Michael Bridges are both injured and very doubtful for the trip. Laurent Robert will be hoping to keep his place in the starting line up following a disappointing performance against Mallorca followed by a display of anger when he was replaced by Hugo Viana.

PLAYERS TO WATCH:

Bolton Wanderers

Jay-Jay Okocha ? This week, Okocha decided to postpone contract talks over a new deal until the end of the season. Whilst Wanderers fans are eager to see Okocha at the Reebok Stadium next season, they will surely be glad to see that Okocha now has no real distractions until May. His form has been poor since he returned from the African Cup of Nations and it is arguable that the contract wrangling may have played some part in this. Okocha is looking forward to concentrating on his football and finally scoring that elusive first Premiership goal for the season.

Newcastle United

Alan Shearer ? Bolton's back four will need to be ready for the man who has scored 8 goals in his last 8 league games against the Trotters. Shearer has haunted the Trotters' defence over the years and will be hoping to continue that trend this weekend as he closes in on the Golden Boot. Whilst Thierry Henry has been receiving all the plaudits for his goal scoring prowess this season Shearer has been quietly getting along with business and is now the second highest scorer in the league, only 2 goals behind Henry.

POSSIBLE STARTING XIs:

Bolton Wanderers: Jaaskelainen, Hunt, N'Gotty, Thome, Charlton, Giannakopoulos, Nolan, Campo, Okocha, Pedersen, Davies

Newcastle United: Given, Bramble, O'Brien, Woodgate, Bernard, Ambrose, Jenas, Speed, Robert, Bellamy, Shearer

http://www.soccerage.com/en/13/u0789.html

dreamer75
27-03-2004, 12:35 AM

when they leave, they will leave a huge void behind, their experience and leadership is hard to replace at short notice

these things had to happen sooner or later. We just need to 'develope' new players or the board have to throw in funds to buy in new players.

but Shearer can continue wat...he's oni 33 now...

leo_llw
27-03-2004, 05:13 PM

these things had to happen sooner or later. We just need to 'develope' new players or the board have to throw in funds to buy in new players.

but Shearer can continue wat...he's oni 33 now...
Shearer is very influential to the playing style of a team.

Every coach will try to rally the team and play to Shearer's strength. A target man approach is adopted with a fast player like Bellamy to thrive on layoffs. Usually this will limit the attacking potential of the team...esp with time, rivals knows how to counter this tactic.

Teams like Sunderland, Real Sociedad enjoy some success with such approach. We all know what happen to them rite?

Sven Goran Eriksson is also hoping to adopt this approach when he took over England(Shearer with Owen)

I think with so many ball playing players in Newcastle, SBR should not try to play with a target man. Maybe next season, he could bring Ameobi to replace Shearer more often or even play Viana behind Bellamy.

2 cents from an Arsenal/Forest man :cool:

martinweng
27-03-2004, 05:55 PM

wad is there to suffer?

we got jenas cover speed hor...

we got ameobi/chopra/lua-lua/bridges cover shearer hor...

we got shearer cover SBR hor...

ZhiQiang
27-03-2004, 06:24 PM

wad is there to suffer?

we got jenas cover speed hor...

we got ameobi/chopra/lua-lua/bridges cover shearer hor...

we got shearer cover SBR hor...

i take that as an insult...

Fresnel
27-03-2004, 08:59 PM
watever it is...it is high time NEwC bring in quality players.

martinweng
27-03-2004, 09:07 PM

i take that as an insult...

true to god, if they are going to be the descendents, den i tink going down to div1 better...train them 1st..den come back to epl and fight...

SINCE U WONT FARKING WIN WITH THESE BASTARKS!

matoriv
27-03-2004, 11:02 PM
lua lua went to portsmouth liao mah..
scored against us..sian..

tot shearer say 1 more season to go after this..

dreamer75
28-03-2004, 08:37 PM
My Pick : 1-2 :)

Fresnel
28-03-2004, 11:02 PM
hmmm...lost 1-0
Performance is pathetic, poor and disgusting. I switched off halfway through 2nd half.
Want to play CL football? Wait long long...such disgusting performance belongs to the lower end of EPL or Div1. They play worst than a soon to be relegated club. So what if Ars/MAnU/Chelsea lose to lower pos club?? At least those clubs go out in a blaze of glory with exciting football....us??? Don't even bother......

Do they play like they deserve to go to CL????
I think not.
NewC....get real.

matoriv
29-03-2004, 07:48 AM
disappointing man...

super tyco goal..
given was so out of position..

and bramble!
once again he blunders
as e epsn commentator said..
dat was a defender's clearance, not a strike...

martinweng
29-03-2004, 08:44 AM
wah.. knn...i din see the results...i din...

la la la la...i wonder how newcastle would thrash bolton..maybe 3-0?

sigh...FARKERS

Fresnel
29-03-2004, 08:00 PM
hmm...wondering whatever happened to our 'pro-underperforming-newcastle' fans? I think NewC's performances have stunned them into silence.

martinweng
29-03-2004, 08:26 PM
hmm...wondering whatever happened to our 'pro-underperforming-newcastle' fans? I think NewC's performances have stunned them into silence.

i dun think dats the spirit man...if they still tink they are doing fine, nothing to sae...

i dun scared to scold newcastle...bcoz they deserve it..

Fresnel
29-03-2004, 09:05 PM
ya me too.....unless they can prove their consistency and quality (which i think is severely lacking!)
seeesssh....cannot even win a club trying to fight relegation...some quality indeed.

aqf
29-03-2004, 09:11 PM
Newcastle really let me down:( do u all notice they can even win 2 games in a row.Win 1 time next time confirm draw or lose one.

ZhiQiang
30-03-2004, 01:01 AM
Bowyer's been a Magpies flop - Robson

Newcastle boss Sir Bobby Robson has admitted that Lee Bowyer has so far proved a major disappointment in a black and white shirt.

The former Leeds midfielder was again a shadow of his former self on Sunday as the Magpies went down to a dismal 1-0 defeat at Bolton.

But Robson insists Bowyer is still paying a price for having arrived at Newcastle injured last summer and missing the whole of the club's European campaign through suspension.

"I have had several chats with Lee about his form," admitted Robson. "He hasn't shown what he is capable of and he knows that.

"He has suffered as a result of not playing regular football and he has not been able to build up to Premiership match tempo.

"Perhaps he hasn't played as well as people think he should have but it wouldn't help him become the player he was again to leave him out."