View Full Version : Newcastle United - Toontalk
Shingoz
09-03-2002, 08:31 PM
Originally posted by aqf
it will not be easy for newcastle today since many players r out with injury..the central midfield looks bad,no speed,no jenas,no dyer
Gary Speed will not be out for long i think.
Just a thigh strain...shld be ok for the next EPL match.....nope?
kraze
10-03-2002, 02:29 AM
wah.. it's alrady 1-0 to the arsenal team...
but the waves and waves of attacks are from the toon army...carl cort finally playing properly...
hope a miracle will pull through after the 1/2 time break...
go magpies go....
Shingoz
10-03-2002, 02:36 AM
I heard carl cort got a glaring chance but instead of shooting he passed back to shearer. :rolleyes:
kraze
10-03-2002, 02:49 AM
NEWCASTLE EQUALISED!!!!!
HOORAY~!!!
Shingoz
10-03-2002, 03:02 AM
Stupid cort just missed again.
kraze
10-03-2002, 03:30 AM
final score
NUFC 1 ARSENAL 1
-goals by robert and edu...
we'll give them a whammy during the replay~!!!
kraze
10-03-2002, 03:32 AM
Originally posted by Shingoz
Stupid cort just missed again.
u cant blame him much.. played only a few games and had a series of injuries that haunt him...
remember when shearer just recovered... he played quite bad the other time...
give cort some time and i'm sure you'll see the difference...
i have this strange feeling that cort is gonna score the winner at highbury
Shingoz
10-03-2002, 03:33 AM
Originally posted by kraze
final score
NUFC 1 ARSENAL 1
-goals by robert and edu...
we'll give them a whammy during the replay~!!!
At the stupid High Bury? :rolleyes:
Hopefully by then Bellamy, Speed and Dyer is back. :D
kraze
10-03-2002, 03:38 AM
the current team is good... maybe bellamy for cort or lualua....
that's my 2cents....
well but the best is still when all the main 11 plays...
wongsd
10-03-2002, 03:48 AM
Newcastle certainly the better team this match but Cort was a disappointment.
Hope they continue to perform for rest of the matches yet to come.
Shingoz
10-03-2002, 03:50 AM
Originally posted by wongsd
Newcastle certainly the better team this match but Cort was a disappointment.
Hope they continue to perform for rest of the matches yet to come.
Yah he did missed afew chances...but given his not a regular....should blame him too much. =/
matoriv
10-03-2002, 08:07 AM
phew
lucky they draw
still got hope.....
argh...
most of newcastle strikers not dat good.......
sigh
better get a good defender next season...
kraze
10-03-2002, 12:12 PM
Originally posted by matoriv
phew
lucky they draw
still got hope.....
argh...
most of newcastle strikers not dat good.......
sigh
better get a good defender next season...
from the looks of this game... their defense has done very very well just a little minor hiccups.... just that their ending is missing a little luck to send the ball into the net...
imo Dabizas long header should have gone in.. too bad i was slightly far wide....pity pity
Shingoz
10-03-2002, 01:10 PM
Distin looks good....he is on loan right?
Rem hearing that from the commentator.
wongsd
10-03-2002, 01:52 PM
Distin looks good....he is on loan right?
Rem hearing that from the commentator.
Currently on loan from PSG.
Looks very solid and fast!
Should be having a permanent deal near end of the season.
Currently on loan from PSG.
Looks very solid and fast!
Should be having a permanent deal near end of the season.
he is improving since taking over robbie elliot position
kraze
11-03-2002, 02:07 AM
we must contd to support them....
they just gain momentum this season i'm sure they will be amidst the best and competing to win the championship
wongsd
11-03-2002, 07:29 AM
we must contd to support them....
they just gain momentum this season i'm sure they will be amidst the best and competing to win the championship
I still continue supporting them even when they were down last few seasons ago!
Newcastle fan forever! :)
kraze
12-03-2002, 12:26 AM
:bounce: :bounce:
kraze
12-03-2002, 08:41 PM
Dabizas believes that robert gonna kickass pires for the player of the season... next season though...
his performance is outstanding for the fa cup q-final match with arsenal..
go to soccernet.com to read more abt it...
kraze
14-03-2002, 02:37 AM
Go Magpies!~!!
:bounce: :bounce: :bounce:
Shingoz
14-03-2002, 02:39 AM
They have matches today? :confused:
kraze
14-03-2002, 09:49 PM
---------------------------
Newcastle VS Ispwich
---------------------------
either this sat or sun..
matoriv
14-03-2002, 09:57 PM
should be able to win
scrap thru 1-0 i also dun mind
just win the damn game and prove dat they can finish 2nd or 3rd even without bellamy ,dyer.....
should be able to win
just win the damn game and prove dat they can finish 2nd or 3rd even without bellamy ,dyer.....
dyer may be back
verydead
14-03-2002, 11:20 PM
should be able to win
y not first?
Shingoz
15-03-2002, 12:22 AM
Hey Bellamy is back in training...saw him on tv just now...
Will be back in 1 wk or 2 i hope.
chelsea chasing right behind newcastle.must hang on newcastle pls.
Kiwi8
15-03-2002, 03:42 PM
Originally posted by aqf
chelsea chasing right behind newcastle.must hang on newcastle pls.
Dun worry... all Newcastle's games against the top 3 & Chelsea over liao rite??
Then I think they can make it.
Shingoz
15-03-2002, 04:37 PM
Magpies fans out there!
Got a question....Speed is out and will not be featured in this sat's match??
kraze
15-03-2002, 07:21 PM
Magpies fans out there!
Got a question....Speed is out and will not be featured in this sat's match??
mcclen is doing fine right?
even not jenas can play
Shingoz
15-03-2002, 08:31 PM
mcclen is doing fine right?
even not jenas can play
I think Jenas is more preferred.
Shingoz
15-03-2002, 08:33 PM
Just curious.....Speed most likely cannot make it right?
kraze
15-03-2002, 11:35 PM
Just curious.....Speed most likely cannot make it right?
not sure abt that...
Shingoz
16-03-2002, 04:41 AM
Dyer is back i think hmmm sounds like a good news.
Wonder when is bellamy returning...
wongsd
17-03-2002, 01:06 AM
Fianal score
Newcastle 2 Ipswich 2
Shearer missed the last min penalty! :(
Coolsmurf
17-03-2002, 01:21 AM
i think shearer too stressed already....pity for newcastle...
now that they got just a pt only...and with chelsea crashing another 4 goals. they are just 3 pts behind and with a superior goal diff....
bellamy really makes a difference. newcastle haven won since his injury.
Shingoz
17-03-2002, 01:24 AM
I happened to see the penalty missed by Shearer....
He must be damn dissapointed at himself, that's for sure.
Question: Shearer will place his penalty meh? I thought he usually wack it in!? And i believe >90% of his penalty sure goal.....
wongsd
17-03-2002, 09:20 AM
Is it football!
Anything can happen..............Ipswich hardly have any chance but they manage to score twice because of defensive error.
Tough Luck!
can't believe he send his penalty wide.
Chelsea chasing up now
kraze
18-03-2002, 12:42 AM
well u got to watch the whole thing ... u'll see the different expressions...
when acuna was fouled inside the box, u can see him cheering as he was overly excited that the ref awarded a penalty... maybe it's just fate... since acuna doesn't seem to be foul so maybe it's fate that it doesnt end 3-2 instead....
newcastle wasn't really performing during the early stages of the 2nd half...
Shingoz
18-03-2002, 01:09 AM
well u got to watch the whole thing ... u'll see the different expressions...
when acuna was fouled inside the box, u can see him cheering as he was overly excited that the ref awarded a penalty... maybe it's just fate... since acuna doesn't seem to be foul so maybe it's fate that it doesnt end 3-2 instead....
newcastle wasn't really performing during the early stages of the 2nd half...
Cant believe how happy he was.....
Must be damn sianz when Shearer missed it.
kraze
18-03-2002, 04:59 AM
Cant believe how happy he was.....
Must be damn sianz when Shearer missed it.
well.. maybe it's nufc's mind game again with chelsea now.. haha....
maybe maybe....
kraze
18-03-2002, 05:03 AM
Lorient striker Jean-Claude Darcheville claims he has been contacted by Newcastle over a possible move to the Premiership.
Darcheville, who has previously spent time on loan at Nottingham Forest, has hit 17 goals in 27 games this season and been linked with both Monaco and Inter Milan.
The 26-year-old says he wants to return to the English game, and told L'Equipe: 'It is true to say that I am being coveted, and that I have been contacted by Newcastle.
'If a good opportunity to join a good club abroad comes up, I won't say no. I am not interested in playing in Italy - I want a league that suits my style of playing, like Spain or England. In Italy there is no space.'
is it gonna be true??
Shingoz
18-03-2002, 08:26 AM
Who is he going to replace?
I'm sure @ 26-7 he's not coming to Newcastle as a reserve?
kraze
18-03-2002, 11:31 AM
Who is he going to replace?
I'm sure @ 26-7 he's not coming to Newcastle as a reserve?
i dunno bellamy's backup striker?
since the guy's a hotheaded person
kraze
19-03-2002, 11:05 PM
who do you think newcastle need the most now?
which player in the field can join the toon army to strengthen the team... suggest some players
who do you think newcastle need the most now?
which player in the field can join the toon army to strengthen the team... suggest some players
some defenders
Shingoz
20-03-2002, 01:40 AM
They need speed.
Not the player.... :D
Maybe players like dyer and bellamy got quick effective attacks...
wongsd
20-03-2002, 02:01 AM
Central Backs.
A creative mid or striker.
kraze
20-03-2002, 09:22 PM
i believe they have to practise on man marking... i've seen alot of other teams..their man-marking damn good... but it seems nufc's only defending by heading or clearing loose balls
Shingoz
23-03-2002, 02:18 PM
Confident on today's fa cup q-final? :D
Shingoz
23-03-2002, 02:27 PM
Btw, anyone knows when the postponed premierleague match be played? Will it be this week?
wongsd
23-03-2002, 07:05 PM
Btw, anyone knows when the postponed premierleague match be played? Will it be this week?
Its today!
7.55pm at SCV Ch 22
Kiwi8
23-03-2002, 07:15 PM
Its today!
7.55pm at SCV Ch 22
wongsd,
it's Premier League match!! Not FA Cup!!
Open your eyes!!! =p
Shingoz
23-03-2002, 07:22 PM
Originally posted by Kiwi8
wongsd,
it's Premier League match!! Not FA Cup!!
Open your eyes!!! =p
Hahaha.....so anyone knows?
Shingoz
23-03-2002, 08:26 PM
Oh man...so fast 2-0 already...
I think Arse is inspired by the defeat ah...
Coolsmurf
23-03-2002, 08:40 PM
very digusted by the defenders.....
Shingoz
23-03-2002, 08:43 PM
When you cant defend well you'll have to attack well....
:( the defence was pathetic.worst game i have seen from newcastle.buck up pls.
kraze
24-03-2002, 01:23 AM
Oh man ~!!! WHy oh why~!!!...
utterly disappointed...
haiz..
hope they buck up for the epl or else a champion's league placing is also out for us... sigh~!!
nevertheless We'll continue to support them..
GO Magpies GO~!
kraze
24-03-2002, 01:24 AM
Bellamy quick come back to the 1st team~!!!!!
either that of nufc needs to get a player like him so that we can have a punch to our attack
the whole team not hardworking enuff.gave too much space arsenal
kraze
25-03-2002, 02:23 PM
how how how?
do u think we can even book a place in next yrs champions league?
Shingoz
25-03-2002, 06:23 PM
Any idea when Bellamy and Speed will be back?
Will they play for the following matches?
I think they need these 2 players alot.
Elspectro
26-03-2002, 01:15 AM
dont worry !
we will make it for the champions league next season!
kraze
26-03-2002, 04:33 AM
good luck to the magpiez...
Shingoz
26-03-2002, 05:02 AM
Any idea when Bellamy and Speed will be back?
Will they play for the following matches?
I think they need these 2 players alot.
Just curious. :)
kraze
28-03-2002, 07:10 PM
confident abt the nufc everton match tomoroe?
verydead
28-03-2002, 07:49 PM
confident abt the nufc everton match tomoroe?
i think nucfc will do well........at the same time, everton has picked up after new mgr come in.
wongsd
29-03-2002, 10:58 AM
Lets hope Newcastle can come back from the winless nightmare!
lets hope so
wongsd
29-03-2002, 11:10 AM
Newcastle v Everton Kickoff tonite at 10pm ESPN
Elspectro
29-03-2002, 03:19 PM
Everton currently has a number of ex NUFC players like
Ferrguson,Pistone,Watson!
kraze
29-03-2002, 04:57 PM
but that was ex nufc... the new revival team seems to play better... but lets hope nufc can pull through several goals to win this... even a 1-0 win would be good enough... go magpies..
Shingoz
29-03-2002, 10:38 PM
Hey i think there'll be Bellamy for Newcastle soon...heard he's back in training already....
yellowsubmarine
29-03-2002, 11:36 PM
currently its 5-2 to newcastle...great job
6-2.final score.nice attacking display in the second half.
Elspectro
30-03-2002, 12:11 AM
nice to see Cort scorin!
Kiwi8
30-03-2002, 12:18 AM
6-2. Newcastle power man.......
kraze
30-03-2002, 01:10 AM
yeah... finally we are back with a *BANG*
:) CHEERS to the magpies...
kraze
30-03-2002, 01:18 AM
btw finally saw the bernard play for the 1st time.. not bad...scored one...
Elspectro
30-03-2002, 01:33 AM
defense is still shaky though.......
kraze
30-03-2002, 04:21 AM
Originally posted by Elspectro
defense is still shaky though.......
at least they stilll can score ...phew
something have to be done about their defense.
kraze
30-03-2002, 02:26 PM
Originally posted by aqf
something have to be done about their defense.
yeah.. must work on their defence... but impressive attack in the 2nd half... yeah...
wongsd
30-03-2002, 03:46 PM
Very impressive attack!
I think Bobby will be getting new defenders next season.
robinang
30-03-2002, 10:56 PM
the second goal by Cort was excellent....Go Magpies....
i will always support u....
hmmmm think Acuna shld not be playing see how pacey was the midfield when he is NOT ard...i dont like him....
Originally posted by robinang
hmmmm think Acuna shld not be playing see how pacey was the midfield when he is NOT ard...i dont like him....
something still need to be done abt the defence.hope dyer stay fit.
Elspectro
31-03-2002, 03:29 AM
Originally posted by robinang
acuna is more of a ball winner rather than the creator, saw how he shackled patrick viera in the first leg of fa cup match against arsenal.
one thing i like bout him is his aggresiveness in his ball winning.
martinweng
31-03-2002, 10:36 AM
im late...but its late than never...
u wan to noe wat is a fan? me....newcastle rox...newcastle win a match, it makes my dae...it loses, nth go rite for me...
newcastle is gd
bobby robson is god
shearer is good
the whole team? goooooooooooooood
btw their defense surely is steady...we got given, the last man, and the most reliable man
dabizas is scorer and defender
the rest, not tat sure
matoriv
31-03-2002, 10:59 AM
charge for 2nd place
haha
but i think robson is correct
3rd is reasonable
kraze
31-03-2002, 03:02 PM
yeah... NUFC YEAH....
it's been a while since we last see a thrashing coming from them...
3rd 3rd 3rd 3rd 3rd.....~!!!!
next season
1st 1st 1st 1st~!~!~~!!~
matoriv
31-03-2002, 04:02 PM
get some more defenders for next season.....
kraze
01-04-2002, 01:46 AM
i think that all the nufc players have the ability to attack...
well their defence requires brushing up..
i rather they stick with the current team.. maybe one or two new players will do... getting new players requires time to gel up the team...
Shingoz
02-04-2002, 12:29 PM
Hmm sucks....just when i thought Bellamy is back, he's out again. -_-"
kraze
02-04-2002, 01:10 PM
Hmm sucks....just when i thought Bellamy is back, he's out again. -_-"
out again???~?
wongsd
02-04-2002, 01:30 PM
Yap, Bellamy out again after complaining pain on his knee.
But looks like Newcastle is adapting football without him.
Tonite Aston Villa Vs Newcastle
I predict Newcastle is going to win again.
Kiwi8
02-04-2002, 01:36 PM
Yap, Bellamy out again after complaining pain on his knee.
But looks like Newcastle is adapting football without him.
Tonite Aston Villa Vs Newcastle
I predict Newcastle is going to win again.
Newcastle needs to win in order to put some distance from the chasing pack, in order to secure it's 4th place.
Shingoz
03-04-2002, 12:00 AM
Just a win out of the last 5-6 games...cant really say they've adapted well.
Anyway i believe it's not all about Bellamy.
Afterall he's just one player.
Think the rest of the team were @ fault previously too.
yellowsubmarine
03-04-2002, 05:58 AM
they drew 1-1 with villa...guess its not so bad...
shearer with his 199th goal....he will become the first player to score 200 EPL goals if he can score this weeked...
Shingoz
03-04-2002, 07:23 AM
Originally posted by yellowsubmarine
they drew 1-1 with villa...guess its not so bad...
shearer with his 199th goal....he will become the first player to score 200 EPL goals if he can score this weeked...
Wow...hmm but i bet alot of players can break his record in the future. :D
kraze
04-04-2002, 12:18 AM
wah a draw.. hm... not that bad.. at least they didn't lose...
kraze
04-04-2002, 03:35 PM
looks like the champion's league placing is ours fro sure...
but cannot be too happy so soon...
yeah.. go magpies....
kraze
06-04-2002, 04:54 AM
:bounce: :bounce: :bounce:
kraze
07-04-2002, 05:22 AM
fulham nufc how?
Shingoz
07-04-2002, 06:22 AM
Dont think Bellamy's gonna play again.
Coolsmurf
07-04-2002, 03:18 PM
newcastle must beat fulham on monday although we have 2 games in hand over chelsea, we must make them count. we cannot be level on pts with them as our goal diff is lousier than chelsea..
kraze
08-04-2002, 05:30 AM
we will win~!!!!
GO GEORDIES...
kraze
08-04-2002, 07:48 PM
what time the match?
Kiwi8
08-04-2002, 07:51 PM
Chelsea & Leeds breathing down Newcastle's neck liao...... if still cannot win the 2 games in hand, can go kick themselves in the foot liao....
matoriv
08-04-2002, 08:13 PM
go newcastle!!!!!!
should be able to win fulham
hope shearer can get his 200th goal
but most impt, get those 3 pts.....hehe:D
kraze
08-04-2002, 11:44 PM
----------------------
NUFC VS FULHAM
----------------------
2.55am
-----------------------
GO MAGPIES
kraze
09-04-2002, 02:26 AM
whois watching?
Shingoz
09-04-2002, 03:24 AM
whois watching?
Not going to watch i think, but monitoring the score.
0-0 now.
No Bellamy. :(
Shingoz
09-04-2002, 03:46 AM
Oh newcastle leading 1-0 now through dyer hmm the hotman now.
kraze
09-04-2002, 03:51 AM
newcastle leading 1-0..
goal courtesy of kieron dyer~!
kraze
09-04-2002, 03:52 AM
full time score will be reported asap..
shearer still havent meet his 200th point yet...soon...
kraze
09-04-2002, 04:54 AM
****... it's a draw..... freaking tyco goal...
kraze
11-04-2002, 02:37 AM
upz..
Kiwi8
11-04-2002, 07:18 AM
upz..
Why upz when there's nothing to report?? :confused:
wongsd
11-04-2002, 07:45 AM
Chelsea drew 0-0 with Blackburn!
Good news for us!
kraze
12-04-2002, 02:37 AM
Good news for us!
*phew*:sarcastic:
Shingoz
12-04-2002, 02:43 AM
Good news for us!
Err who's fan are you?
Kiwi8
12-04-2002, 02:45 AM
Err who's fan are you?
Aiyah, I think he meant that it's still good for Newcastle...... at least Chelsea didn't take all 3 points. :rolleyes:
Shingoz
12-04-2002, 04:06 AM
Aiyah, I think he meant that it's still good for Newcastle...... at least Chelsea didn't take all 3 points. :rolleyes:
Got it. Was just curious.
wongsd
12-04-2002, 08:45 AM
Err who's fan are you?
A Newcastle fan of course.
Shingoz
12-04-2002, 01:09 PM
Btw one good news is that i THINK Bellamy shld be back for the next match.
That is if he get himself injured during training again!
Kiwi8
12-04-2002, 01:16 PM
Btw one good news is that i THINK Bellamy shld be back for the next match.
That is if he get himself injured during training again!
Huh?? How is Bellamy going to come back for the next match if he gets himself injured during training again?? :confused:
Shingoz
12-04-2002, 01:37 PM
Huh?? How is Bellamy going to come back for the next match if he gets himself injured during training again?? :confused:
Missed out a dont eh...typo.
3-2 to the magpies!Wat a comeback from 2-0 down.Again defence never improve.
wongsd
14-04-2002, 12:56 AM
Wat an exciting game!
Shingoz
14-04-2002, 04:11 AM
2 of the goals were offside if u ask me.
It's quite clear....linesman's mistake.
Anyway i wonder why is Bellamy left out.
Anyone? He was back in full training days ago..
Wonder how serious is Shearer's injury, looks like a knock on the nose.
Kiwi8
14-04-2002, 08:41 AM
2 of the goals were offside if u ask me.
It's quite clear....linesman's mistake.
Anyway i wonder why is Bellamy left out.
Anyone? He was back in full training days ago..
Wonder how serious is Shearer's injury, looks like a knock on the nose.
Yup, I saw the offside goals too. The linesman damn cock-eyed & Newcastle damn kio tio.....:bounce:
wongsd
14-04-2002, 10:12 AM
Yup, I saw the offside goals too. The linesman damn cock-eyed & Newcastle damn kio tio.....:bounce:
This is football.
Newcastle is lucky to get all 3 pts but he last 20 mins football is breath-taking!
Shingoz
14-04-2002, 12:06 PM
This is football.
Newcastle is lucky to get all 3 pts but he last 20 mins football is breath-taking!
Yup..the Robert free kick is very nice.
as usual!
kraze
15-04-2002, 01:59 AM
the newcastle attack against derby was spectacular.. but again the defence is far from a champion's
about the offsides.. yeah it's off side oh right but dun you think other times referees also give goals like this against newcastle?
hope to see bellamy back soon... now there's no complaining abt offsides again...
Elspectro
15-04-2002, 03:17 AM
News
My biggest challenge since Romario Apr 13 2002
By The Evening Chronicle
Bobby Robson has admitted that his £10 million winger Laurent Robert is one of the biggest challenges of his career.
"He is as big a challenge to me as Romario was when I was at Barcelona," the Newcastle United boss said today.
"Romario presented me with some problems but together we overcame them and this is what I am hoping to do with Robert."
Robert is probably not far away from being as talented as the Brazilian. But the Frenchman has again found himself under fire from United fans after not only another lacklustre display against Fulham on Monday night but also his devil-may-care attitude.
But at the same time, Robert has scored eight goals since his £10 million switch from Paris St Germain in the summer and he is well into double figures with goal assists.
The United boss has even gone to the trouble of bringing in an interpreter so that the non-English speaking Robert gets the message.
Robson added: "I have spoken privately to Laurent more than any other Newcastle player this season.
"He is a very talented but also a frustrating sort of player."
Robson made a couple of substitutions in a bid to lift a dismal United on Monday night, with both the disappointing Carl Cort and the injured Andy O'Brien coming off.
But Robert stayed on and with the rest of his colleagues in a black and white shirt he had to endure the booing from the United fans when he trooped off.
"We know that if we take Robert off, we would then no doubt get a last-minute free-kick which would be no problem for him to score from," said the United boss.
"That free-kick he scored against Ipswich Town recently was nothing short of fantastic.
"And we know that no matter how he is playing, he is always liable to put over a great cross and win the game for us."
When Robert first arrived at St James's Park, it was said that he did not have as many French caps as his talents deserve because of his disciplinary problems.
However, Robson moved to stamp this out after his early flurry of bookings and since that one-match ban against Peterborough in the fourth round of the FA Cup, Robert has only picked up one more yellow card and this has not been a problem to United.
But getting Robert to give 100 per cent in every game clearly has not been so easy.
kraze
15-04-2002, 11:34 AM
News
My biggest challenge since Romario Apr 13 2002
By The Evening Chronicle
Bobby Robson has admitted that his ?0 million winger Laurent Robert is one of the biggest challenges of his career.
"He is as big a challenge to me as Romario was when I was at Barcelona," the Newcastle United boss said today.
"Romario presented me with some problems but together we overcame them and this is what I am hoping to do with Robert."
Robert is probably not far away from being as talented as the Brazilian. But the Frenchman has again found himself under fire from United fans after not only another lacklustre display against Fulham on Monday night but also his devil-may-care attitude.
But at the same time, Robert has scored eight goals since his ?0 million switch from Paris St Germain in the summer and he is well into double figures with goal assists.
The United boss has even gone to the trouble of bringing in an interpreter so that the non-English speaking Robert gets the message.
Robson added: "I have spoken privately to Laurent more than any other Newcastle player this season.
"He is a very talented but also a frustrating sort of player."
Robson made a couple of substitutions in a bid to lift a dismal United on Monday night, with both the disappointing Carl Cort and the injured Andy O'Brien coming off.
But Robert stayed on and with the rest of his colleagues in a black and white shirt he had to endure the booing from the United fans when he trooped off.
"We know that if we take Robert off, we would then no doubt get a last-minute free-kick which would be no problem for him to score from," said the United boss.
"That free-kick he scored against Ipswich Town recently was nothing short of fantastic.
"And we know that no matter how he is playing, he is always liable to put over a great cross and win the game for us."
When Robert first arrived at St James's Park, it was said that he did not have as many French caps as his talents deserve because of his disciplinary problems.
However, Robson moved to stamp this out after his early flurry of bookings and since that one-match ban against Peterborough in the fourth round of the FA Cup, Robert has only picked up one more yellow card and this has not been a problem to United.
But getting Robert to give 100 per cent in every game clearly has not been so easy.
lazy genius i guess haha...works wonder only when he likes it..and has the mood for it..
kraze
15-04-2002, 11:35 AM
nevertheless a good player.. someday he's gonna be a legend...
Elspectro
15-04-2002, 02:50 PM
Craig Bellamy has been named PFA Young Player of the Year, with Bolton's Michael Ricketts second and Steven Gerrard third.
Bellamy has been instrumental in steering The Magpies to the brink of Champions League football, scoring 14 goals alongside Alan Shearer. He collected the award from his Wales international boss Mark Hughes.
The striker has collected the award just a season after suffering relegation with Coventry City, and the player recalled how much his fortunes had changed.
The 22-year-old said: "This year has been a massive year for me. You don't become a bad player overnight. I had a tough time last year being relegated and this seems a million miles away a year later to be here receiving this trophy.
"Now I've got a great chance of playing Champions League football next year. It's all happened so quickly but it's what I want."
Elspectro
15-04-2002, 03:07 PM
Individual player ratings- Derby away
14:33, April 14, 2002
Top game but who gets top mark and top billing. All the players for Newcastle rated out of ten and commented on with an average mark for the team at the end.
Shay Given: Despite saves galore in his last few games he had nothing to do in this one other than pick the ball out the net twice and take a couple of dodgy back passes from the full backs and centre halves. Nothing he could do with the goals either but he gets an extra mark for his extravagant celebrations with the lads after the match.
Rating: 7/10
Aaron Hughes: A bit of a weak link today who, as the Newcastle squad call him, was too much like the nicest man on earth. If you could ally Griffin's mean streak with Aaron's ability you would have some player. Struggled at times with Morris' pace and Derby had a lot of joy down that side, even with Nobby tracking back.
Rating: 6/10
Andy O'Brien: Pretty standard fare until he was substituted. Had a field day against the chubby Strupar and probably with circumstances better would have stayed on. Christie gave him a bit of bother at times but Andy did what Aaron needed to do and roughed him up a little bit. It was interesting to see that Christie went off with what seemed like and injury. Maybe it was a by-product of this 'horse play'?
Nikos Dabizas: A much better game for Dabs today and the most remarkable thing was he managed to keep his mitt down for the entire 90 minutes (unless you count shaking it about when the Lua scored!). Strong in the air and dominated Strupar. Alarmingly he went to ground a little easy at times but on the whole he did much better than Arsenal, Fulham, Everton and Villa.
Sylvain Distin: Suspect at times. He picked the wrong option a couple of times when he headed out and let the ball drop to them, much like the one when Barton crossed for Morris to score. Some of his back passing was suspect as well and he also missed a couple of headers as well. I have a sneaking feeling though that the idea of his uncertain future might be playing on his mind and that when its resolved he might again recapture the form when he first arrived.
Nol Solano: Brilliant. Committed going forward and tracked back well today. Two more assists and an all round outstanding performance in finding space and using it well. He can seal our campaign in the Champions League if he keeps up the performance level he showed today.
Rating: 8/10
Kieron Dyer: The man. Chipped in with another goal and more slide rule passes and incisive running. As Terry Venables said last night he sometimes gets ahead of himself and did a couple of times today. He was simply inspirational though in the last 20 minutes, taking the mantle of responsibility on from the injured Alan.
Rating: 9/10
Gary Speed: A bit of an unsung hero today as he outbattled Rob Lee and had his most effective game for a long time. Played a cute ball in for Nobby to cross to Kieron for the second goal but unfortunately he couldn't get on the scoresheet despite being in good positions as his teammates (aka Robert) got a bit greedy.
Laurent Robert: What an enigma. The first 15 he roamed about causing all sorts of trouble but then his shot hit the bar and he switched off after that until his next shot, a free kick, flew into the net. After that he came alive a lot more and got himself involved, winning back the support of fans that had begun to get angry with him after 50 minutes of lazy wandering about. A total matchwinner but a frustrating one at that.
Rating: First 65- 5, last 25- 9 Overall- 7
Carl Cort: Very disappointing again. Offered little to Alan and won hardly anything in the air. His jumping was off and his close control could hardly even be called that. There is only so far you can back a man and today at times he was an embarrassment. As a long term signing he will probably come good but right now our long term policy is being dictated by the next four games. Hopefully Bellers will come in and take him out of the spotlight so maybe he can play without the fans on his back.
Rating: 5/10
Alan Shearer: Pretty ineffective due to the lack of support up front he only had the one chance to get the proverbial 199 monkey off his back. The clash of heads though was more worrying with talk of him being out for two to three weeks with a fractured nose.
SUBS:
Lua-Lua- excellent today. Gave us a new dimension that the Derby defence simply couldn't handle. Missed a good chance before he scored the goal but made amends with the winner. Great celebration too.
Jenas- Looked excellent making driving runs and was unlucky not to get his first goal when he crashed one off the bar.
Bernard- Perked things up well on the left and made a couple of good jinking runs.
Average team rating: 6.8/10
Howay the Lads,
Ross Molyneux
kraze
15-04-2002, 08:45 PM
Individual player ratings- Derby away
14:33, April 14, 2002
Top game but who gets top mark and top billing. All the players for Newcastle rated out of ten and commented on with an average mark for the team at the end.
Shay Given: Despite saves galore in his last few games he had nothing to do in this one other than pick the ball out the net twice and take a couple of dodgy back passes from the full backs and centre halves. Nothing he could do with the goals either but he gets an extra mark for his extravagant celebrations with the lads after the match.
Aaron Hughes: A bit of a weak link today who, as the Newcastle squad call him, was too much like the nicest man on earth. If you could ally Griffin's mean streak with Aaron's ability you would have some player. Struggled at times with Morris' pace and Derby had a lot of joy down that side, even with Nobby tracking back.
Andy O'Brien: Pretty standard fare until he was substituted. Had a field day against the chubby Strupar and probably with circumstances better would have stayed on. Christie gave him a bit of bother at times but Andy did what Aaron needed to do and roughed him up a little bit. It was interesting to see that Christie went off with what seemed like and injury. Maybe it was a by-product of this 'horse play'?
Nikos Dabizas: A much better game for Dabs today and the most remarkable thing was he managed to keep his mitt down for the entire 90 minutes (unless you count shaking it about when the Lua scored!). Strong in the air and dominated Strupar. Alarmingly he went to ground a little easy at times but on the whole he did much better than Arsenal, Fulham, Everton and Villa.
Sylvain Distin: Suspect at times. He picked the wrong option a couple of times when he headed out and let the ball drop to them, much like the one when Barton crossed for Morris to score. Some of his back passing was suspect as well and he also missed a couple of headers as well. I have a sneaking feeling though that the idea of his uncertain future might be playing on his mind and that when its resolved he might again recapture the form when he first arrived.
Nol Solano: Brilliant. Committed going forward and tracked back well today. Two more assists and an all round outstanding performance in finding space and using it well. He can seal our campaign in the Champions League if he keeps up the performance level he showed today.
Rating: 8/10
Kieron Dyer: The man. Chipped in with another goal and more slide rule passes and incisive running. As Terry Venables said last night he sometimes gets ahead of himself and did a couple of times today. He was simply inspirational though in the last 20 minutes, taking the mantle of responsibility on from the injured Alan.
Rating: 9/10
Gary Speed: A bit of an unsung hero today as he outbattled Rob Lee and had his most effective game for a long time. Played a cute ball in for Nobby to cross to Kieron for the second goal but unfortunately he couldn't get on the scoresheet despite being in good positions as his teammates (aka Robert) got a bit greedy.
Laurent Robert: What an enigma. The first 15 he roamed about causing all sorts of trouble but then his shot hit the bar and he switched off after that until his next shot, a free kick, flew into the net. After that he came alive a lot more and got himself involved, winning back the support of fans that had begun to get angry with him after 50 minutes of lazy wandering about. A total matchwinner but a frustrating one at that.
Rating: First 65- 5, last 25- 9 Overall- 7
Carl Cort: Very disappointing again. Offered little to Alan and won hardly anything in the air. His jumping was off and his close control could hardly even be called that. There is only so far you can back a man and today at times he was an embarrassment. As a long term signing he will probably come good but right now our long term policy is being dictated by the next four games. Hopefully Bellers will come in and take him out of the spotlight so maybe he can play without the fans on his back.
Rating: 5/10
Alan Shearer: Pretty ineffective due to the lack of support up front he only had the one chance to get the proverbial 199 monkey off his back. The clash of heads though was more worrying with talk of him being out for two to three weeks with a fractured nose.
SUBS:
Lua-Lua- excellent today. Gave us a new dimension that the Derby defence simply couldn't handle. Missed a good chance before he scored the goal but made amends with the winner. Great celebration too.
Jenas- Looked excellent making driving runs and was unlucky not to get his first goal when he crashed one off the bar.
Bernard- Perked things up well on the left and made a couple of good jinking runs.
Average team rating: 6.8/10
Howay the Lads,
Ross Molyneux
well said...:D
Shingoz
16-04-2002, 12:14 PM
Newcastle fans here...hmm do you guys know hw long will shearer and bellamy be out?
wongsd
16-04-2002, 01:12 PM
Newcastle fans here...hmm do you guys know hw long will shearer and bellamy be out?
I think Bellamy will be available for this sat game while shearer claim tat he is prepare to play with a broken nose.
But i think he will be out for 2 weeks.
Shingoz
16-04-2002, 01:34 PM
I think Bellamy will be available for this sat game while shearer claim tat he is prepare to play with a broken nose.
But i think he will be out for 2 weeks.
Bellamy..he's injured and out and injured and out..i've lost count already....haha dont know when he's back.
What if he pulls sth again during training... j/k :D
Shearer hmmm nose shldnt be a big problem right.....
In case he got knocked again....better play safe.
kraze
16-04-2002, 08:22 PM
hopefully a much better defence for this saturday's game... with dyer attacking with noby,robert and lualua i'm sure it's still good enuf.. maybe acuna can play a more defensive role..
Kiwi8
16-04-2002, 08:42 PM
hopefully a much better defence for this saturday's game... with dyer attacking with noby,robert and lualua i'm sure it's still good enuf.. maybe acuna can play a more defensive role..
Newcastle's defence cannot make it one lah...... the only hope to win is to score more than the opponent. :rolleyes:
kraze
16-04-2002, 10:07 PM
yeah.. hopefully by next season it will be better....
ZhiQiang
17-04-2002, 08:14 PM
newcastle should get a good defender for the next season. actually would love stam to come to tyneside but he hates england... should try to buy mark iluiano over...
kraze
18-04-2002, 01:22 AM
wah the newcastle utd mastercard so nice... want to get it next time...
matoriv
18-04-2002, 09:27 AM
master card??
where got?
Shingoz
19-04-2002, 09:03 PM
This is the lineup for charlton......first 18 to be exact.
Newcastle United manager Bobby Robson has named the following 18-man squad for the Premiership match with Charlton Athletic at St. James' Park on Saturday 20 April (3.00 p.m.).
Clarence ACUNA
Craig BELLAMY*
Olivier BERNARD
Carl CORT
Nikos DABIZAS
Sylvain DISTIN
Kieron DYER
Robbie ELLIOTT
Shay GIVEN
Steve HARPER
Aaron HUGHES
Jermaine JENAS
Lomana LUALUA
Andy O'BRIEN
Laurent ROBERT
Alan SHEARER
Nobby SOLANO
Gary SPEED
* Provisional
Bellamy is under "provision" ?
Meaning he MAY or MAY NOT include him in his squad again? Alamak.....
Lets hope newcastle play well at home this time.They were all boo by the fan at home the last time.
3-0 to the magpies.Shearer score his 200th goal and newcastle 100th goal of the season.great job!Nice celebration from Lua Lua too!
Kiwi8
21-04-2002, 12:17 AM
Originally posted by aqf
3-0 to the magpies.Shearer score his 200th goal and newcastle 100th goal of the season.great job!Nice celebration from Lua Lua too!
I was thinking whether sometime in future, Lua Lua will sprain or break some part of his body given his action filled celebration antics...
Shingoz
21-04-2002, 04:43 AM
I was thinking whether sometime in future, Lua Lua will sprain or break some part of his body given his action filled celebration antics...
Hahaha...he is a former gymnastic?
I think so.y not do somersault from one end of the field to the other end.:laugh: :laugh:
kraze
21-04-2002, 10:39 PM
excellent form for newcastle..
did bellamy play??
kraze
21-04-2002, 10:39 PM
master card??
where got?
hm.. go to the official nufc website lor.. there have but duno can apply not.. lazy to read..
Shingoz
22-04-2002, 01:27 AM
excellent form for newcastle..
did bellamy play??
No he didnt. But he's on the bench.
kraze
22-04-2002, 04:39 AM
No he didnt. But he's on the bench.
k thnx
kraze
23-04-2002, 04:36 AM
yeah we are gonna be in the cpl next season.. go magpies
... anyway hope italy wins the world cup haha
Kiwi8
23-04-2002, 07:13 AM
yeah we are gonna be in the cpl next season.. go magpies
... anyway hope italy wins the world cup haha
What has the 1st sentence got to do with the 2nd sentence?? :confused:
kraze
27-04-2002, 11:53 PM
3-1 win for newcastle
Kiwi8
28-04-2002, 12:07 AM
3-1 win for newcastle
Power leh....... to come back from 0-1 down.
Kiwi8
28-04-2002, 12:16 AM
But result quite irrelevant, cos Newcastle wun get enough pts to catch Man U or Liverpool, or get caught up by Chelsea.
so long as they win i happy
matoriv
28-04-2002, 11:43 AM
good win by nufc!
but now must focus on next season
they definitely need more and betta players
esp in defense to do well in champions league
and maintain their epl standards
anyone has suggestions?
good win by nufc!
but now must focus on next season
they definitely need more and betta players
esp in defense to do well in champions league
and maintain their epl standards
anyone has suggestions?
there are rumours saying tat nufc are planning a 12 million swoop for stam
ZhiQiang
30-04-2002, 08:03 PM
i really hope stam comes.
Elspectro
01-05-2002, 01:42 AM
Toon target better than Stam Apr 29 2002
By The Evening Chronicle
Newcastle united will only go for the best when Bobby Robson strengthens his squad in the close season.
The United boss has identified the players he would like and the positions he wants to improve before the Champions' League in the middle of August.
And I believe Robson is looking to bring in a quality central defender and a top midfielder in the summer.
But, despite reports to the contrary, that defender will not be Dutch hard man Jaap Stam.
The Chronicle said a week past Saturday that United needed a tough, no-nonsense central defender and that Stam would fit the bill.
However, when I put this to Robson he said simply: "I have someone in mind who is better than Jaap Stam."
Robson has made no secret of his admiration for Ipswich Town's £8 million-rated central defender Titus Bramble but he is aware that the England Under-21 is due to have an operation on his Achilles tendon.
Chief scout Charlie Woods has spent a lot of time in Holland recently looking at the likes of PSV Eindhoven's midfielder Marc van Bommel and Feyenoord's Australia international Brett Emerton.
But while Leeds have dropped out of the fight for Emerton I hear that Liverpool have come into it.
United were not too impressed at the way the Aussie played in the UEFA Cup against Rangers. United are keeping their options open on the Feyenoord player but won't pay the current asking price of £12 million.
ZhiQiang
01-05-2002, 01:51 PM
i think stam should be a good buy. his life in italy is not as smooth sailing as he would like. newcastle should try igor tudor or monetro or even pessesoto from juventus. another midfielder would be good for newcastle.
wongsd
01-05-2002, 02:06 PM
The top prority list must be top class central defenders.
Our defend is weak!
Their midfield quite good maybe just need to get another midfielder
A goal-scoring striker is needed, just look how we suffer without Bellamy.
Shingoz
01-05-2002, 07:23 PM
The top prority list must be top class central defenders.
Our defend is weak!
Their midfield quite good maybe just need to get another midfielder
A goal-scoring striker is needed, just look how we suffer without Bellamy.
I thought the new hero is Lua-Lua ?
Hmmmm they shld sell off cort man.
Maybe get a promising young striker.....to replace Shearer in the future.
matoriv
01-05-2002, 07:36 PM
we have nuff strikers lah
just dat most of em injury prone
and hence they take time to recover
and when they recover
they need time to get back their form.....
cort injured for long time mah
so need some time to see his form
but if it still sucks
sell him..
kraze
01-05-2002, 07:45 PM
and when they recover
but if it still sucks ]
hahaha
kraze
01-05-2002, 07:46 PM
and when they recover
but if it still sucks sell him ]
hahaha
kraze
01-05-2002, 07:47 PM
anyway stam is a good choice wonder if he would ever come to newcastle.. so whois going if new defenders come in? which nufc defender u think is the worst?
personally i think that the defence is ok just that they are sometimes caught because they attack with defenders too..
kraze
01-05-2002, 07:50 PM
Originally posted by Qoonutz
i think stam should be a good buy. his life in italy is not as smooth sailing as he would like. newcastle should try igor tudor or monetro or even pessesoto from juventus. another midfielder would be good for newcastle.
neh a central defender shld be able to communicate well with the rest of the team and this italians dun speak much english so there is a communication breakdown..
YellowCat
02-05-2002, 04:38 AM
Now it seems that NUFC has revived interest in Carrick. Imagine paying 12million for a player whom they released when they disbanded their youth teams!
kraze
02-05-2002, 04:58 AM
Originally posted by YellowCat
Now it seems that NUFC has revived interest in Carrick. Imagine paying 12million for a player whom they released when they disbanded their youth teams!
that would be interesting..
Shingoz
02-05-2002, 04:53 PM
Originally posted by YellowCat
hahahaha....sounds like a "joke".
ZhiQiang
06-05-2002, 10:44 PM
stam says he is not interested in leaving lazio. too bad. heard that newcastle going to buy a ipswich defender. ipswich kanna relegated still wanna buy their player.... funny...
Kiwi8
06-05-2002, 10:47 PM
Originally posted by Qoonutz
stam says he is not interested in leaving lazio. too bad. heard that newcastle going to buy a ipswich defender. ipswich kanna relegated still wanna buy their player.... funny...
U goondu or what?? Ipswich will probably be relegated, but still it's too good to go down. Its players are still good.
deadlyorgasnism
08-05-2002, 10:42 PM
Looking at Titus Bramble from Ipswich. Reports that Emerton and Keown are priorties instead...
Shingoz
09-05-2002, 12:38 AM
U goondu or what?? Ipswich will probably be relegated, but still it's too good to go down. Its players are still good.
Hmm dont need to be so "straight".
Btw, didnt ipswich has one of the worst defense record in epl this season?
Kiwi8
09-05-2002, 04:42 AM
True..... but there're still defenders in the team that are still worth it for other EPL clubs to buy.
kraze
10-05-2002, 09:24 PM
ain our defence worst enuff?
Shingoz
10-05-2002, 10:06 PM
ain our defence worst enuff?
I dont kinda understand u.
matoriv
12-05-2002, 09:34 AM
oh no.....
poor dyer
damn dat moroccan!
bloody hell
last game of epl
everyone wants to stay injury free for world cup
and wat the f***er did?
kick dyer rite in the knees!!
foul!!
foul!!!!!
should break his legs!!!!!
hope dyer recovers in time.....
but..sigh
doubt so..
swalk21
12-05-2002, 10:14 AM
oh no.....
poor dyer
damn dat moroccan!
bloody hell
last game of epl
everyone wants to stay injury free for world cup
and wat the f***er did?
kick dyer rite in the knees!!
foul!!
foul!!!!!
should break his legs!!!!!
hope dyer recovers in time.....
but..sigh
doubt so..
think quite hard , feel sorry for dyer , he missed the world cup again .
Kiwi8
12-05-2002, 10:24 AM
Really ah?? Aiyoh.... was looking forward to Dyer's performance in the World Cup leh.... :(
matoriv
12-05-2002, 03:22 PM
they should sack dat moroccan
fine him also
and ban him from playing in england!!!!
:(
Dyer out of the world cup!Feel sad for him.so unlucky.Newcastle will hate that moroccan forever.
kraze
14-05-2002, 03:51 AM
Originally posted by aqf
:(
Dyer out of the world cup!Feel sad for him.so unlucky.Newcastle will hate that moroccan forever.
not only newcastle.. but the whole of england . wonder if the morrocan be killed by the english hooligans remember the '94 incident where the columbian scored an own goal resulting gangsters killing him...
wongsd
14-05-2002, 09:19 AM
Tough luck for Dyer :(
kraze
17-05-2002, 06:22 PM
any team updates?
Kiwi8
18-05-2002, 11:40 AM
any team updates?
All of the team either teng chu koon liao or preparing for the World Cup liao lor.... :rolleyes:
wongsd
18-05-2002, 11:48 AM
All of the team either teng chu koon liao or preparing for the World Cup liao lor.... :rolleyes:
Haha.........most of them r on holiday liao :laugh:
kraze
18-05-2002, 05:21 PM
no transfer rumours?
Elspectro
18-05-2002, 09:58 PM
Monday D-Day for Kieron flyer May 18 2002
By The Evening Chronicle
Newcastle United ace Kieron Dyer was today racing to join up with the England party and prove his fitness for the World Cup.
Dyer caught an overnight flight out from England with just eight fellow passengers, all from the Football Association, on a plane laid on by British Airways.
Their landing time gave them time only for a shower at the squad hotel before setting off back to the airport to take the same plane on a nine-hour flight to Korea.
Training is then due to take place at 5pm tomorrow, although the fitness tests aimed at deciding whether Dyer will be fit for the tournament are not scheduled to start until Monday as he will need time to recover from the flights.
The United midfielder will also be behind his team-mates in getting used to the time difference and the baking conditions in the Far East.
Elspectro
18-05-2002, 09:59 PM
United are set to swoop for PSV Eindhoven and Denmark winger Dennis Rommedahl, who has expressed a desire to link up again with Bobby Robson.
The 23-year-old, who played 80 minutes for the Danes in their 2-1 friendly win over Cameroon last night, worked under Robson when the the Magpies boss returned to the Dutch giants in 1998.
Rommedahl has a fine scoring record at international level, with six goals in only 18 games for Denmark, but has recently revealed his frustration at the approach of current PSV coach Eric Gerets.
Rommedahl is set to be part of the summer exodus from the Philips Stadium after PSV lost out in the Dutch title race to rivals Ajax, and would be available for around £2million.
Elspectro
18-05-2002, 10:00 PM
Stam's the man May 17 2002
By The Evening Chronicle
Newcastle United are back on the trail of former Manchester United stopper Jaap Stam.
United have at last given up on Sylvain Distin - and that makes a central defender No.1 on Bobby Robson's summer shopping list.
Robson is determined to bolster his back four as he prepares for Champions' League qualification.
He has drawn up a short-list of targets - and Stam is back on top of it.
United are ready to test Lazio's resolve on Stam, who was controversially sold into Italy's Serie A by Sir Alex Ferguson.
Many believe that Fergie's decision to chuck out Stam and replace him by the one-paced Laurent Blanc was a major factor in Manchester United ending the season without a trophy.
Ironically, any money Lazio may receive from Newcastle for Stam could go straight into the Old Trafford coffers.
Manchester United have called in FIFA claiming they are still owed £12 million from the transfer. Lazio have apparently paid only the first £4 million on the £16 million deal, and FIFA are trying to draw up a new agreement whereby the balance will be paid in three instalments by the end of the summer.
With Lazio strapped for cash, United believe it could be an ideal time to move in with a bid.
Robson is also a great admirer of Ipswich Town's Titus Bramble but the £5-million rated centre-half is undergoing an operation on his foot which will sideline him for six weeks.
As a result, United have decided to hedge their bets and returned to explore the situation with Stam.
Robson is furious that Distin has chosen to go to Manchester City instead of following the example of Kieron Dyer and Shay Given in pledging his long- term future to Newcastle.
United believe that Distin has put cash before ambition and jumped ship for a club which, newly promoted, will have to make survival their first priority while Newcastle play in Europe.
Distin's departure and the impending transfer of out-of-contract Gary Caldwell to Coventry City leaves Robson with only Nicos Dabizas and Andy O'Brien as recognised central defenders and he isn't prepared to go into the Champions' League with such thin cover.
Though Marcelino has one year left on his contract, Robson doesn't see the Spaniard as having a long-term future at St James's Park. Indeed he would be prepared to farm out Marcelino on a long-term loan, as he did with Diego Gavilan, if any club was interested.
Robson and chairman Freddie Shepherd are currently mulling over their targets, but while they want to strengthen other areas the squad the need for a centre-half is paramount.
Martin Keown was also a target but Arsenal have indicated they want England's World Cup star to stay at Highbury.
wongsd
19-05-2002, 12:28 AM
We need solid centre back to achieve any sliverware
kraze
19-05-2002, 02:36 AM
cool~!!!
kraze
23-06-2002, 09:11 PM
they bought portugese star viana from sporting lisbon at $8millions
viana's a left sided attacking midfielder
revenant
23-06-2002, 11:07 PM
Another Magpies support here.
Yeah, they described him as an exciting young player. hmm..... left sided midfielder.... Robert will be on the centre then...
kraze
25-06-2002, 09:46 PM
heyhey revenant i support italy too :)
but their bid for marcus brambel was turn down... :(
heyhey revenant i support italy too :)
but their bid for marcus brambel was turn down... :(
maybe they feel that 4.2 million is too little.
revenant
25-06-2002, 11:00 PM
I think I saw somewhere where Robson is interested in one player. He's a star btw.. forgot who....
Elspectro
25-06-2002, 11:04 PM
Newcastle consider £3M move for Corradi
tribalfootball.com - June 25, 2002
Newcastle United have been linked with Chievo Verona striker Bernardo Corradi.
The 6ft 2in Corradi is being considered by boss Sir Bobby Robson as an ideal back-up to senior centre-forward Alan Shearer.
Inter Milan and Chievo share the player's registration and he is expected to move to Udinese.
However, Robson may attempt to trump their hopes by tabling a £3 million bid of his own for the 26 year-old.
Theychosenone
28-06-2002, 01:55 AM
Soccernet reports that Newcastle has agreed terms with Ipswich Town for Titus Bramble. That's good news.. he's a young and good central defender with potential. That's one area improved on. Now for a central midfielder to replace Speed.
revenant
28-06-2002, 01:56 AM
Originally posted by Theychosenone
Soccernet reports that Newcastle has agreed terms with Ipswich Town for Titus Bramble. That's good news.. he's a young and good central defender with potential. That's one area improved on. Now for a central midfielder to replace Speed.
Where's Speed going?
Theychosenone
28-06-2002, 02:06 AM
Not going anywhere, but he's getting old and needs a good replacement. So does Shearer actually..when he retires.
revenant
28-06-2002, 02:24 AM
Originally posted by Theychosenone
Not going anywhere, but he's getting old and needs a good replacement. So does Shearer actually..when he retires.
orh ok.....
kraze
04-07-2002, 07:50 PM
more news coming in .......................
anyway if i've not forgotten or mistaken.. Nufc's gonna have pre-season friendly with the mighty Barca on home ground...
what a way to start of the season..
revenant
04-07-2002, 08:02 PM
more news coming in .......................
anyway if i've not forgotten or mistaken.. Nufc's gonna have pre-season friendly with the mighty Barca on home ground...
what a way to start of the season..
wow....
Wonder where will Viana play in the team?
kraze
04-07-2002, 11:41 PM
Bramble agrees Newcastle terms
By Chris Borg
Ipswich defender Titus Bramble has moved a step closer to joining Newcastle after agreeing personal terms with the club.
Bramble: Closer to move
(RossKinnaird/Allsport)
But a move cannot be finalised until Newcastle's medical staff are satisfied that surgery carried out on a heel injury at the end of last season has been successful.
Relegated Ipswich agreed a fee for highly-rated Bramble earlier this week after turning down an initial bid from Sir Bobby Robson's team.
The Suffolk club have confirmed that Bramble is happy with what Newcastle have offered him and is ready to put pen to paper on a St James' Park deal.
A statement said: 'Titus Bramble has agreed personal terms with Newcastle and is staying up on Tyneside until the medical team is satisfied that his heel injury has cleared up.
'Titus and his representatives have been in discussions with the Magpies over the past few days.
'Titus had an operation on his heel at the end of the season after being troubled by the injury on and off during the campaign, and Newcastle's medical team have requested a little more time before they give the green light for the deal to be completed.'
But it is believed both clubs are confident that the deal - thought to be worth around £6million - will go through without any problems.
kraze
04-07-2002, 11:42 PM
Robson admits interest in £10 million Rivaldo swoop
Newcastle boss Bobby Robson has refused to rule out a move for Brazilian superstar Rivaldo.
Rivaldo: Future undecided
(PhilCole/Allsport)
Robson perhaps significantly did not pour cold water on reports of the Magpies interest in the 30-year-old Barcelona striker after it emerged that there has been contact between the clubs.
`Rivaldo is one of more than 40 players we have been linked with, so I suppose there is a 40-1 chance we could be signing him,' Robson said.
`I am interested in the details of the story, but I am not prepared to say whether or not a Newcastle delegation has been in touch with the player's representatives.
`I would not disclose that kind of information,' he told the Newcastle Journal.
The flames have been further fanned by the news that United chairman Freddy Shepherd and his deputy Douglas Hall are on holiday in Barcelona, although the Magpies would be certain to face stiff competition for the signature of a man who, even though he will be out of contract next summer, could cost in excess of £10million.
However, there is a feeling in Spain that Barca may be prepared to allow Rivaldo to leave rather than risk losing him in 12 months for nothing.
Newcastle appear to have positioned themselves well for any scramble after one of the player's representatives confirmed yesterday that there has been contact.
`Newcastle are interested in Rivaldo but no official offer has been received from Newcastle or any other club for the time being,' he said.
`Rivaldo's intention is to stay at Barcelona and finish his contract, but as an intelligent man, he will look at the possible offers and decide what is best for his future career.
`Rivaldo is with Brazil at the World Cup and is not aware of what's going on
kraze
04-07-2002, 11:44 PM
PRE-SEASON SCHEDULE
Date Opposition H/A K-Off
18 - 27 July Holland Training Camp
Wed 31 July Nottingham Forest A TBA
Sat 3 August Wolverhampton W A 3.00
Wed 7 August Barcelona H TBA
kraze
04-07-2002, 11:47 PM
Originally posted by aqf
Wonder where will Viana play in the team?
he'll be playing the left wing.. maybe they will pull robert to the centre left???
viana robert dyer solano <---probably liek this??
anyway kinda missed bellamy it's been a whiel sicne we last seen him..
Elspectro
05-07-2002, 12:28 AM
he'll be playing the left wing.. maybe they will pull robert to the centre left???
viana robert dyer solano <---probably liek this??
anyway kinda missed bellamy it's been a whiel sicne we last seen him..
i dont think they will put viana n robert together.i think viana is like a replacement for robert coz in the long run of the competition they will need more players to replace one another.The weakness of newcastle last season was that they do not have much replacement when a player got injured or something.
kraze
05-07-2002, 01:25 AM
i dont think they will put viana n robert together.i think viana is like a replacement for robert coz in the long run of the competition they will need more players to replace one another.The weakness of newcastle last season was that they do not have much replacement when a player got injured or something.
that was the 2nd probablility i tot too... newcastle players are always pushed to the limits some players having to play positions which they are not familiar with... viana is still young so i believe he can learn from robert and be more aspiring...
Elspectro
05-07-2002, 01:50 AM
Hugo Viana, Newcastle United's recent signing from Sporting Lisbon, will tomorrow night receive the European Young Player of the Year award, as voted for by the coaches in Serie 'A', in a special ceremony in Sardinia.
The awards ceremony is taking place at Costa Smeralda in Sardinia and is a television event run in conjunction with Serie 'A' featuring players, coaches, and V I P stars from music, the stage and theatre.
There are a number of awards being presented including best Italian Young Player, best Italian Coach, best Italian Player, best foreign Player in Italy, an Honorary Career award and the Best Young Player outside of Italy (which is the award Hugo has won).
With the awards being voted upon by all the Serie "A" coaches, the fact that Hugo has won it says a tremendous amount about his ability.
Speaking in advance of the ceremony, Viana said:
" This year has been really special for me, making the Portuguese Squad for the World Cup, signing for Newcastle and now this award. I can't wait to report for training, meet my teammates and prepare for a new season in the Premier League and hopefully Champions League Football.
It's all so exciting I have only seen St. James' Park full on the television at home in Portugal but I have heard that the atmosphere is unbelievable to play in - I cant wait."
And United Chairman Freddy Shepherd added:
"We are all delighted for Hugo. To win such a prestigious award shows that the faith Newcastle United have put in him is very well placed. I am sure that all our supporters, like myself, are relishing the prospect of him turning out in a black and white shirt."
Viana, full name Hugo Miguel Ferreira Viana, was born in Barcelos, Portugal on 15 January 1983. He played 32 times for Sporting Lisbon last season, and was part of the Portuguese Under 21 team at the European Championship Finals in May. He was also a member of the Portugal squad for the 2002 World Cup but did not make any appearances in the tournament.
Elspectro
05-07-2002, 01:52 AM
Laurent Robert has put paid to rumours over his United future by vowing to return to Tyneside as committed as ever this summer.
The Magpies' signing of £8.5million left-sided midfielder Hugo Viana led to speculation that Robert may not be returning to St James' Park ahead of the new season.
However, the French winger has insisted that he cannot wait to get his teeth into Champions League football with United next season.
Robert said: "I have had a good long holiday and now I am looking forward to training again.
"I am happy to spend my second year in Newcastle. We have the qualifying round of the Champions League and if we get through that we can meet the biggest teams in Europe, which is a big challenge for me personally."
Robert added: "When I was in Monaco in the summer, people were asking me to sign for them and the same in Marseille, but I had to tell them 'sorry, I'm spending the next season in Newcastle'."
Robert could shortly find himself as the only Frenchman still at St James' Park - Sylvain Distin opted for better terms at Manchester City while Olivier Bernard's return to the club is far from certain to say the least. The defender is appealing against a Premiership tribunal which insisted he still has a year of his contract to serve with United rather than being allowed to join West Ham.
Hopefully Newcastle can make it though the Champion League qualifer.
kraze
06-07-2002, 10:49 AM
Originally posted by aqf
Hopefully Newcastle can make it though the Champion League qualifer.
definately with preseason friendly with BARCELONA for practice..
Interesting.
kraze
06-07-2002, 02:45 PM
too bad espn or the sports channels wun be playing this on air.. so we can only wait for the scores...
Elspectro
07-07-2002, 10:35 AM
News
Robson lines up Miguel swoop Jul 6 2002
By Luke Edwards, The Journal
Sir Bobby Robson is still pondering a second raid on Portugal's hugely impressive Under-21 side following the capture of European young player of the year Hugo Viana.
According to reports on the Continent, United have followed their £8m outlay on Viana by making an enquiry about Benfica's young midfielder Luis Miguel.
But United are yet to make a firm bid for the player, after Robson's contacts in the Portuguese game passed on glowing references about the 22-year-old, who has partnered Viana at international level.
And Miguel admitted last night there had been interest shown and how he would jump at the chance of playing under Robson in the Premiership. He said: "Everything at the moment is in the hands of the Benfica directors regarding any interest from Newcastle United, but they have indicated that if a good offer came in I would have the chance to leave.
"He (Robson) is a trainer with great qualities and all the players speak highly of him. His experience has been great with his clubs. I have never had the privilege of working with him, but I know he is an excellent man-manager."
Miguel, who played 27 times for Benfica in the league last season, scoring six times, is also keen to link up with Viana again.
He explained: "I know Hugo very well and, of course, I would love to play in the same side as him.
"He is a great player and it would fill me with pride to be in the same team as him."
Robson, though, although making no secret of his policy of trying to sign the best young players in Europe, may decide he does not need another midfielder, although Miguel would be perfect cover for Nolberto Solano on the right wing.
The United boss still has transfer funds available this summer, but is thought to be still looking to strengthen his squad defensively, rather than offensively, despite the capture of Ipswich's Titus Bramble.
Meanwhile, Viana, who picked up his Young European Player of the Year award on Thursday, is yet to start pre-season training with Newcastle as he, along with United's other World Cup stars, has been given an extra week's holiday.
The 50-year-old has handed the role of chairman to John McClelland, previously vice chairman at Ibrox.
It brings an end to a golden era at the club which included Rangers equalling Celtic's nine league titles in a row during his time at the helm.
News
Robson lines up Miguel swoop Jul 6 2002
By Luke Edwards, The Journal
Sir Bobby Robson is still pondering a second raid on Portugal's hugely impressive Under-21 side following the capture of European young player of the year Hugo Viana.
According to reports on the Continent, United have followed their £8m outlay on Viana by making an enquiry about Benfica's young midfielder Luis Miguel.
But United are yet to make a firm bid for the player, after Robson's contacts in the Portuguese game passed on glowing references about the 22-year-old, who has partnered Viana at international level.
And Miguel admitted last night there had been interest shown and how he would jump at the chance of playing under Robson in the Premiership. He said: "Everything at the moment is in the hands of the Benfica directors regarding any interest from Newcastle United, but they have indicated that if a good offer came in I would have the chance to leave.
"He (Robson) is a trainer with great qualities and all the players speak highly of him. His experience has been great with his clubs. I have never had the privilege of working with him, but I know he is an excellent man-manager."
Miguel, who played 27 times for Benfica in the league last season, scoring six times, is also keen to link up with Viana again.
He explained: "I know Hugo very well and, of course, I would love to play in the same side as him.
"He is a great player and it would fill me with pride to be in the same team as him."
Robson, though, although making no secret of his policy of trying to sign the best young players in Europe, may decide he does not need another midfielder, although Miguel would be perfect cover for Nolberto Solano on the right wing.
The United boss still has transfer funds available this summer, but is thought to be still looking to strengthen his squad defensively, rather than offensively, despite the capture of Ipswich's Titus Bramble.
Meanwhile, Viana, who picked up his Young European Player of the Year award on Thursday, is yet to start pre-season training with Newcastle as he, along with United's other World Cup stars, has been given an extra week's holiday.
The 50-year-old has handed the role of chairman to John McClelland, previously vice chairman at Ibrox.
It brings an end to a golden era at the club which included Rangers equalling Celtic's nine league titles in a row during his time at the helm.
I dun think newcastle need another attacking midfielder.
They would have to improve defensively rather.
revenant
07-07-2002, 12:08 PM
Wondering how much available funds Robson have? hmm.... funds enough to get Rivaldo perhaps? :eek:
Originally posted by revenant
Wondering how much available funds Robson have? hmm.... funds enough to get Rivaldo perhaps? :eek:
Heard he is staying barcelona.Anyway he is quite old already,so y not invest in younger players.
Anyway wonder how will hugo viana perform and which position will he play?Maybe take over from Gary speed position.
Our left back seems to be vacant with only Robbie Elliot,since Distin have left and Bernard just want to leave Newcastle.Perhaps Newcastle should go for another left back.Any gd players in mind?
revenant
07-07-2002, 12:48 PM
Originally posted by aqf
Heard he is staying barcelona.Anyway he is quite old already,so y not invest in younger players.
Anyway wonder how will hugo viana perform and which position will he play?Maybe take over from Gary speed position.
Our left back seems to be vacant with only Robbie Elliot,since Distin have left and Bernard just want to leave Newcastle.Perhaps Newcastle should go for another left back.Any gd players in mind?
Lizarazu? Carlos? :D
Kiwi8
07-07-2002, 03:35 PM
Originally posted by revenant
Lizarazu? Carlos? :D
Roberto Carlos is going to Manchester United. Talks are going on. :rolleyes:
Elspectro
07-07-2002, 07:35 PM
Football
Peru Star In Toon To Sign Jul 7 2002
Sunday Sun
Peruvian international Martin Hidalgo will this week become Newcastle United's second summer signing.
The Sunday Sun can reveal free agent Hidalgo has agreed a five-year deal with the Magpies and flown to Tyneside in the last few days.
Newcastle boss Sir Bobby Robson sees the versatile 26-year-old, who can play anywhere down the left flank, as the answer to his leftback problem.
And before leaving Peru for the long journey to the North East, Hidalgo said: "I am sure I am going to prevail in Newcastle.
"I am still young but I have experience of playing in Europe and I aim to improve as a player."
But Hidalgo's chances of joining his compatriot Nolberto Solano in black and white stripes still hinge on him gaining a work permit.
Robson was keen to sign him after inviting him to train with the United first-team squad for a week in May 2001.
But Hidalgo's then lack of competitive international appearances meant he would certainly have been refused permission to ply his trade in the Premiership.
However, Hidalgo has appeared in Peru's last 11 games and now played 65 per cent of their matches over the last two years.
And United believe that will be enough to win him a work permit on appeal.
Hidalgo, who is currently in a top Tyneside hotel, spent last season in Buenos Aires with Velez Sarsfield but was released earlier this summer because of the financial crisis in Argentina.
A former team-mate of Solano at Peruvian club Sporting Cristal, he spent two years in Spanish football with Las Palmas.
Robson was openly impressed by what he saw of Hidalgo last year.
And with Sylvain Distin departed and Olivier Bernard determined to join West Ham, the United manager quickly identified Hidalgo as a vital addition to his squad.
revenant
07-07-2002, 09:37 PM
Roberto Carlos is going to Manchester United. Talks are going on. :rolleyes:
**** man, everyone going manure.
kraze
08-07-2002, 07:17 AM
hopefully another misfit in MUFC lor...
later beckham and carlos quarrel over who to take the freekick.. although they have great respect for each other...
anyway the peruvian left player seems a good proposal to NUFC's defensive problems...
Lets hope Newcastle will win a trophy in the new season.
Elspectro
09-07-2002, 12:46 AM
07/08/2002. Newcastle boss Sir Bobby Robson has said that new signing Hugo Viana could be a `frightening player`.
The Portuguese Under-21 international joined the Tyneside club last week and Robson believes that he has a bright future.
He said, "I think the fact Hugo has been over to Sardinia to pick up a top award from the Serie A coaches last week tells you something about his quality. He's a boy with immense talent and potentially he could be a frightening player."
"We have to help him realise that potential at Newcastle. He has a big chance and is a player for our future. I first saw him play for Portugal in a friendly against Brazil earlier this year. He came on as a substitute and he did quite well and we'd heard quite a lot about him. I sent my chief scout Charlie Woods to the European Under-21 Championships in Switzerland in the summer and he came back with very good reports."
Elspectro
09-07-2002, 12:47 AM
Olivier Bernard has signed a new three-year deal with The Magpies after his bid to move to West Ham was today rejected by the Football League.
The left-back was keen to conclude a free transfer move to The Hammers in search of regular first-team football as he believed he was out of contract with Sir Bobby Robson's side.
However, a Premier League tribunal has today decided that Bernard is still contracted to Newcastle after the defender appealed against last week's decision by an appointed arbitrator that he would not be able to sign for Glenn Roeder's outfit.
And, despite recently declaring that he would find it 'very difficult' to return to the North-East, The Magpies have also claimed that the Frenchman has this afternoon put pen to paper on a new three-year deal with United.
A statement from the club read: "Olivier Bernard's appeal with the Football League Appeals Committee was dismissed this afternoon and Olivier left the appeal as he entered it, a Newcastle United player.
"Olivier has confirmed his commitment to Newcastle United having signed a new three year contract with the club this afternoon."
Speaking before the original verdict last week, Bernard said: "Whatever happens, I don't want to play for Newcastle United and I would find it very difficult to go back now.
"I'm confident that common sense will prevail and I'll be able to play for West Ham in the new season."
But the star, who made just four first-team starts in the league for The Magpies last season, will now be aiming to line up for Newcastle in their opening Premiership fixture, which ironically takes place against The Hammers at St James' Park.
Elspectro
09-07-2002, 12:49 AM
Sir Bobby Robson has urged second-choice keeper Steve Harper not to quit Newcastle after assuring him that he will be involved next season.
The Magpies manager is well aware that his number two keeper is considering a move away from Tyneside this summer.
Rangers and Watford have both been linked with the Easington-born star, who admitted at the end of last season that he is growing frustrated at a lack of first-team opportunities.
But Robson pointed out that the club will be using more players than ever before next season, as they target the group stages of the Champions League as well as three domestic competitions.
"We are going to be playing in four competitions this season and we need to have all hands to the pump," he said.
"We have to have a strong squad as nobody will be able to play in every single game.
"It is important that we keep players like Steve Harper happy.
"I have said that in he and Shay Given we have the best keeper combination in the Premiership and I want to keep that."
kraze
10-07-2002, 08:10 PM
cant wait to see the epl kick off with this new NUFC team..
Elspectro
11-07-2002, 01:05 AM
A Magpies official confirmed that the South American left-back is actually in Newcastle to visit his friend and countryman Nolberto Solano.
Solano arranged for Hidalgo to train with Newcastle during their pre-season preparations so that he could maintain his fitness while in the country.
This arrangement soon ignited gossip to the effect that Hidalgo would be joining Solano as a Newscatle player, but all parties have moved quickly to dispell such rumours.
Further evidence that Hidalgo is only visiting can be found in the fact that Robson already has three left-backs on his books in Robbie