View Full Version : Newcastle United - Toontalk
revenant
17-10-2004, 05:25 PM
Charlton are likely to be without defender Radostin Kishishev.
The Bulgarian international picked up a groin strain playing for his country in a World Cup qualifier against Croatia last week.
Newcastle striker Patrick Kluivert has lost his battle to be recover from a hamstring injury but Shola Ameobi has recovered from a hip injury.
Craig Bellamy is set to play alongside Alan Shearer, with Laurent Robert or James Milner on the left wing.
Charlton (from): Kiely, Perry, Young, Hreidarsson, El Karkouri, Murphy, Rommedahl, Stuart, Holland, Euell, Johansson, Lisbie, Andersen, Hughes, Bartlett, Jeffers, Thomas, Konchesky.
Newcastle (from): Given, Harper, Carr, Hughes, O'Brien, Elliott, Bramble, Bernard, Jenas, Butt, Bowyer, Robert, Milner, Ambrose, Shearer, Bellamy, Ameobi.
BIG-MATCH FACTS
# CHARLTON ATHLETIC play their 650th game since Alan Curbishley originally took joint charge with Steve Gritt in the close season of 1991. This Sunday fixture against Newcastle is also the Addicks' 100th home Premiership match and sees the Londoners defending an unbeaten home Premiership record against a side yet to lose under Graeme Souness.
# Athletic are hoping to add the Magpies to Portsmouth, Aston Villa and Blackburn - all of whom have been beaten at the Valley this season. Going into the weekend, no club as yet has won four home Premiership games and only three clubs have conceded once in home top flight encounters - Charlton being one of them. Conversely, home and away, the Addicks have shipped 14 League goals, and no top flight club had conceded more ahead of this latest round of fixtures.
# Charlton have only recorded one home Premiership victory over Newcastle. That was 2-0 on 11 February 2001 when Mathias Svensson and Shaun Bartlett netted. Last season's corresponding fixture finished goalless after Charlton wasted several good scoring chances with sloppy finishing.
# NEWCASTLE UNITED go into the game on a six-match undefeated run in League and Cup. Successive victories over Blackburn (3-0 h), Southampton (1-2 a) and West Brom (3-1 h) were followed by a two-all draw at Birmingham City last time out.
# Newcastle, who will be in Athens to play Panionios in the Uefa Cup on Thursday, have averaged exactly two goals per League game this term, and have scored two on each occasion on their Premiership travels. But they've also lost the lead in Premiership matches more often than any other club (six occasions).
# The Black and Whites have won four and drawn two of their last six Premiership meetings with the Londoners.
Referee:
Peter Walton (Northamptonshire)
SEQUENCES/RECENT FORM
CHARLTON ATHLETIC
Club stats
Fixtures
Going into the weekend: 10th 11 points
# Chasing a 150th League victory since Alan Curbishley took sole charge in June 1995.
# Only once made a better Premiership start than 11 points after eight games, when in 2000/01 12 points were accrued to this identical stage. But need to win to keep pace with last season when 14 points were pocketed after the first nine matches.
# Kept three clean sheets in the last six Premiership outings.
# Won three and drawn one of their four home League games to date.
# Undefeated in eight home Premiership matches.
# Won four and drawn four at the Valley since losing 1-2 to Aston Villa on 27 March.
# Not conceded in the last three home Premier League encounters.
# Played 307 minutes (five hours seven minutes) of Premiership football at the Valley without conceding a goal.
# Yet to net in the first 15 minutes of a Premiership game this season.
NEWCASTLE UNITED
Club stats
Fixtures
Going into the weekend: 6th 12 points
# Undefeated in six in all competitions.
# Won five and drawn one League and Cup games since losing 4-2 away to Aston Villa in the Premiership on 28 August.
# Unbeaten in four Premiership outings.
# Won three and drawn one top flight engagements since the defeat at Villa Park.
# Scored 10 goals in three Premiership and Uefa Cup matches.
# Second highest scorers in the Premiership, ahead of this weekend's games. Their tally of 16 is still 10 fewer than Arsenal.
# Only managed one clean sheet in the top League, home or away. West Brom and Portsmouth are the remaining clubs to have conceded in each Premiership game.
# Not kept a clean sheet on their Premiership travels.
# Opened the scoring in six top flight games. Only Arsenal have managed it more often - leading the way in all eight of their encounters prior to this series of fixtures.
KEY PLAYER NOTES/POTENTIAL MILESTONES
CHARLTON ATHLETIC
Squad profiles
# If he participates, Kevin LISBIE will be playing on his 26th birthday.
# If he turns out, Mark FISH will be making his 100th Premiership appearance for Charlton.
# If he plays, Simon ROYCE will be making his 200th English League appearance.
# Should he be on the field at kick off, Graham STUART will be making his 150th club start for Charlton.
NEWCASTLE UNITED
Squad profiles
# If he participates, Lee BOWYER will be facing his former club.
# BOWYER needs two to register 50 career League goals.
# Should he be selected in the 11, BOWYER will be making his 350th club career start.
# Alan SHEARER has scored three goals in two appearances against Charlton.
# If he takes his usual place in goal, Shay GIVEN will not only be making his 138th consecutive Premiership appearance for Newcastle, but will also be making his 250th career League appearance.
# If involved, reserve keeper Steve HARPER - Newcastle's longest serving player - will be making his 100th club career appearance.
LAST SEASON'S CORRESPONDING GAME:
Charlton Athletic 0-0 Newcastle United
20 December 2003 - Ref: Steve Bennett
HEAD TO HEAD TOTALS
League: Charlton 16 wins, Newcastle 29, Draws 15
Prem: Charlton 2 wins, Newcastle 4, Draws 4
HEAD TO HEAD at Charlton
League: Charlton 9 wins, Newcastle 9, Draws 12
Prem: Charlton 1 win, Newcastle 1, Draws 3
feitz
17-10-2004, 06:03 PM
hope bramble is not playing......
Coolsmurf
17-10-2004, 07:13 PM
no he's not dun worry...elliot and obrien is our centerbacks once more..
hope bramble is not playing......
we are better without him
BERSERK1980
17-10-2004, 11:33 PM
I am sure newcastle will win this game! :)
revenant
17-10-2004, 11:56 PM
Bernard with a great cross, Bellamy with a superb header/shoulder :s13:
kraze
18-10-2004, 12:29 AM
wonder y nv play robert
he just got on... 66th min.. but bellamy out and was replaced by ameobi
o0SpaceY0o
18-10-2004, 12:41 AM
http://www.socceraudio.com/inglaterra.htm
Come on....win it!!! Newcastle.
o0SpaceY0o
18-10-2004, 12:47 AM
5 more mins + extra time
o0SpaceY0o
18-10-2004, 12:54 AM
:frus: draw liao :(
o0SpaceY0o
18-10-2004, 12:57 AM
hai.....sob sob :alien:
kraze
18-10-2004, 12:57 AM
Charlton vs Newcastle
final score : 1 - 1
garh.. the last part was scary.. charlton nearly scored ><
kraze
18-10-2004, 01:16 AM
Phew.Damn heng!
i was like "oh crap" then heng the ball hit the post ><
yenyenpark
18-10-2004, 07:11 AM
leading 1-0 currently.HT
left home when we r leading, tok we can win since we played better, but who knows... we shud hav win the game.. :(
yenyenpark
18-10-2004, 07:14 AM
he just got on... 66th min.. but bellamy out and was replaced by ameobi
they r strike force r lousy... no match wif ours... though attach nvr score.. they score 9 out of 9 games, ave one per game... we can't win bcos of ourselves.. :frus:
martinweng
18-10-2004, 08:03 AM
no big surprises..i thought we were lucky to keep our own unbeaten run..
and no need to tell me about how dominating we are...we have always been dominating in games but not winning them is our speciality..
how was last night @ the pennyblack? was it fun?
dreamer75
18-10-2004, 09:07 AM
i'm fine with the result
dreamer75
18-10-2004, 09:08 AM
sorry guys, can't make it to pennyblack as the matcg started too late last nite.
gotta work in the morning...how was the gathering at pennyblack?
dreamer75
18-10-2004, 09:09 AM
next match against Man City at St James Park!!!
dreamer75
18-10-2004, 09:12 AM
next match against Man City at St James Park!!!
Sun Oct 24 10PM SGT
dbchoong
18-10-2004, 09:39 AM
1-1... guess fair result. Too bad Bowyer's goal was ruled out. Thought no foul.
Charlton have a very good home defensive record. Before last night's game, they only conceded one goal since start of season.
:)
revenant
18-10-2004, 10:44 AM
By CHARLIE WYETT: Charlton 1 Newcastle 1
http://images.thesun.co.uk/picture/0,,2004480746,00.jpg
CRAIG BELLAMY could be in hot water with Graeme Souness — after appearing to call his Newcastle boss a f***ing p**ck.
Souness said he will look at a video of the 67th-minute incident before deciding whether to throw the book at the Wales striker.
Bellamy was furious at being substituted for Shola Ameobi during yesterday’s draw at The Valley, shown live by Sky TV. While walking towards the bench, he appeared to say: “What me? You f***ing pr*ck.”
The volatile hitman had given Newcastle the lead before Charlton levelled with an Andy O’Brien own goal.
http://images.thesun.co.uk/picture/0,,2004480747,00.jpg
Souness said: “I didn’t see it, so I will have to look at the video before doing anything.
“Craig has not been happy. He’s played two internationals in the last week, lost both, and psychologically and physically was not in good shape.”
yenyenpark
18-10-2004, 10:54 AM
sorry guys, can't make it to pennyblack as the matcg started too late last nite.
gotta work in the morning...how was the gathering at pennyblack?didn;t go as too late for me, just went to my neighbourhood kopitiam to watch the first half...
:s7:
revenant
18-10-2004, 11:02 AM
http://images.thesun.co.uk/picture/0,,2004480668,00.jpg
By CHARLIE WYETT: Charlton 1 Newcastle 1
ALAN SHEARER was the blood-spattered hero for Newcastle.
The Toon skipper finished the game with claret pouring from a gashed head.
But he turned in a true captain’s performance — clearing an effort off the line and going close to scoring a late winner.
The strike star had to put on Aaron Hughes’ shirt because there was so much blood on his.
He said of his wound: “It’s just a nick. I’ve had a few over the years and, no doubt, I’ll have a few more before the season ends but it’ll be all right with a couple of stitches.”
Craig Bellamy fired the Toon ahead but Kevin Lisbie forced a leveller off defender Andy O’Brien.
Shearer added: “We said at half-time, ‘beware of the Charlton backlash’. It was a silly goal for us to give away.
“From then on it could have gone either way. We had chances and they’ve hit the post, it was an even game after that.”
Former England star Shearer, 34, suffered his injury from an accidental clash.
He added: “When you’re 1-0 up we should really see the game out — but any point away from home is one gained.
http://images.thesun.co.uk/picture/0,,2004480661,00.jpg
“We’ve got players who can come off the bench and win it but it wasn’t to be. Our unbeaten run continues, though.”
Geordies boss Graeme Souness said: “I am happy with a draw.
“It is the fair result — neither side deserved to lose.
“We know what to expect from Charlton. They really get up and at you — but we fought well.”
Charlton chief Alan Curbishley was also happy with the result and boosted by a strong midfield display from new signing Danny Murphy.
He was also lifted by Matt Holland, making his second start of the season after a spell out through injury.
Curbs, whose side remain unbeaten at home, said: “We are playing a really top side — definitely a top-five club — and they are on a run.
“They showed that in the first half and we are happy to get a point.
“Their goal was a blow. We got in at half-time a bit subdued. I said we could get back into this and we did. I was delighted with that.
“The goal opened up the match a bit. They had their chances, we had our chances — but in the end it was a fair result.”
dreamer75
18-10-2004, 11:12 AM
guys, help add each others reputation leh?
added urs :)
dreamer75
18-10-2004, 11:31 AM
done for urs too
Coolsmurf
18-10-2004, 11:48 AM
2 pts lost, but on the other hand we are rather fortunate to have come away with 1 pt...we sorta dominated the first half but we lost the grip in the second half as the rain seem to affect us more
butt was unusually wasteful with his wayward passing and he was virtually pedestrain, very disappointing performance
dreamer75
18-10-2004, 11:53 AM
2 pts lost, but on the other hand we are rather fortunate to have come away with 1 pt...we sorta dominated the first half but we lost the grip in the second half as the rain seem to affect us more
butt was unusually wasteful with his wayward passing and he was virtually pedestrain, very disappointing performance
juz added ur reputation :)
Coolsmurf
18-10-2004, 11:55 AM
i also added for those on this page
Yup, Butt had a disappointing game. Wonder y put Ambrose on the left.Felt tat he CMI.
dreamer75
18-10-2004, 12:32 PM
Bellamy scored the goal but apart from that had a poor game. Not surprised to see him substituted, he has had 2 hard international games this week and we have Europe coming up.
With his style of play he needs to be rested occasionally.
Shearer was our main goal threat.
Butt looked tired, Jenas had a very good 1st half but faded, Bowyer started poorly but improved.
Bernard was excellent going forward and for me defended better this time. Elliot and O'Brien are an accident waiting to happen but Souness has few choices at the moment. O'Brien is easily turned and then fouls and his distribution is woeful.
dreamer75
18-10-2004, 12:34 PM
The Times:
CHARLTON ATHLETIC WORE SPECIAL shirts with a white stripe to mark their official centenary match but, if that was a one-off, the game’s outcome was utterly routine. Unbeaten records remain, both Charlton’s at home and Newcastle United’s under Graeme Souness, while the visiting team have now drawn 15 of their past 23 away games in the Premiership. There was even a predictable show of dissent by Craig Bellamy towards his bench when he was substituted.
To extend the theme, the Newcastle Supporters Club’s London branch might note they have seen only five wins in the team’s past 44 appearances in the capital, but at least the route to this draw was eventful. In a breathtaking last ten minutes, Alan Shearer had a shot blocked off the line amid a flurry of Newcastle corners but then cleared off his own line in between Charlton twice striking the frame of the goal.
Souness declared himself happy with a point as “Charlton are an in-your-face kind of team”, a comment that Shearer might confirm after a challenge with Hermann Hreidarsson left him with a cut above his eye and forced him to replace his blood-stained shirt with one bearing the name Aaron Hughes, a substitute. Matt Holland also finished the game with a bandaged head after he was caught by Shola Ameobi’s arm, but, despite the bumps and bruises, the game’s two bookings, for Ameobi and Graham Stuart, were for dissent.
In the bottom four in the early weeks under Sir Bobby Robson, Newcastle would have risen to fourth in the Premiership yesterday with victory but the draw nevertheless continues the vast improvement since Souness took charge. Unlike the other members of the Premiership’s big five, Newcastle have concentrated on picking from within the British Isles, a policy only emphasised by Souness’s decision yesterday to fill the vacant wing position by selecting Darren Ambrose instead of Laurent Robert, the unsettled Frenchman. Ten English speakers started, but it was the odd man out, Olivier Bernard, who set them on their way.
The French left back’s wonderfully curling cross from the left was headed home at the near post by Bellamy, brought in to the centre from the wing because of Patrick Kluivert’s injury. The Welshman’s first goal in ten games for club and country was the perfect answer to those home fans who had mocked him for the defeat by England. It was a deserved lead after Newcastle had dominated territorially, with Bellamy and Lee Bowyer prominent. Jermaine Jenas, who made his full debut for England on the right of midfield in midweek, remained in that position and, after a Zidane-esque pirouette and a clever exchange of passes with Bowyer, he could only shoot wide weakly.
Charlton’s difficult start, which has included three hammerings away from home, has been blamed partly on the slow starts made by the summer signings but Danny Murphy demonstrated his ability with some excellent driving runs. “Danny showed today what a good player he is after all the criticism he has had. He looks a lot sharper,” Alan Curbishley, the manager, said of the former Liverpool midfield player.
Newcastle’s much-criticised defence had been troubled by the pace of Kevin Lisbie and aerial power of Shaun Bartlett, returning after injury, and those qualities produced the home side’s equaliser. Bartlett’s header was collected by Lisbie, who flicked the ball over Andy O’Brien and rounded Shay Given before delivering a goalbound shot that O’Brien could only help into his own net.
That intervention deprived Lisbie of what would have been only his 20th goal on his 151st appearance for Charlton, although more than half of those have come as a substitute. Still, he will be pleased to have forged a promising double act with Bartlett in a season when the team has been affected badly by injuries. “Lisbie has had about four partners this season — we’ve not been able to keep it settled,” Curbishley said.
Lisbie teed up Bartlett to fire into the side netting while Murphy tested Given from 25 yards but the belated arrival of Robert swung the game Newcastle’s way. The winger caused panic in the home defence with a series of dangerous corners and free kicks, one of which saw Shearer’s header cleared off the line by Murphy. Robert and Shearer also had goalbound efforts blocked by diving bodies.
Ameobi somehow failed to connect with Robert’s cross from five yards out before the frantic action moved to the other end. Shearer was forced to chest away a shot by Jon Fortune from his own line while Holland hit the post and Dennis Rommedahl’s deflected drive struck the crossbar. Both managers declared the draw “a fair result”, while Shearer said that “any point away from home is a point gained”. Whether the long-suffering London-based Newcastle fans agree is a different matter.
Independent:
That Charlton should choose to celebrate their centenary at this match turned out to be entirely fitting. Wearing a special commemorative strip, the home side produced a characteristically spirited performance before finishing neither up nor down. Classic Charlton.
Although a club that was surviving on crowds of 7,000 when Alan Curbishley began managing them with Steve Gritt 13 years ago has provided a heart-warming example of home-grown success in recent years, Curbishley appears more and more impatient over the inherent frustrations of his position.
As speculation swirls about the possible return of Scott Parker, the Charlton manager is reflecting upon the onward and upward route. "If we can start adding to our squad, rather than replacing, that would be the next step for us," he said. "That's what the likes of Arsenal, Manchester United, Newcastle and Chelsea do. We are hoping there may be some money available during the next transfer window."
Whatever Curbishley's ambitions, the home crowd seemed satisfied with a wholehearted performance which might have yielded three points had a goalmouth incident three minutes from time, when Alan Shearer chested Jonathan Fortune's shot off the line and then Matt Holland hit the post, gone slightly differently.
Newcastle, however, could point to a goal-line clearance five minutes earlier when Danny Murphy - singled out for praise afterwards by Curbishley following the criticism he has received from some home fans - kicked Shearer's header away.
"That reminded me of one of those old Division One games," said one Charlton fan to his companion as he filed out of the ground. "You don't mind turning up for a game like that. The draw was a fair result." He might have been reading the minds of the respective managers, who both used exactly the same phrase in conclusion.
Newcastle appeared to have the measure of their hyper-active hosts in the first half, taking the lead with a beautifully fashioned goal which saw Craig Bellamy head home at the near post after Olivier Bernard concluded a string of thoughtful passes with a perfectly measured cross from the left.
But the home side drew level after just six minutes of the second half when a slumbering Newcastle defence allowed the ball to bounce invitingly for Kevin Lisbie, who hooked it over the head of the oncoming Andy O'Brien, rounded the keeper and drove in a shot which the recovering O'Brien could only divert more firmly into the net.
That moment of slackness did not please Newcastle's manager, Graeme Souness, but he nevertheless pronounced himself satisfied with his players' "grit and determination".
There may be some harsher words spoken in private, however, to Bellamy, who reacted to being substituted in the 66th minute with a comment to his manager that anyone with eyes, never mind lip-reading skills, could have established as being extremely rude.
"I'll have to look at it again," said Souness, adding that Bellamy was tired after playing consecutive matches for Wales. "If you are a top player what you are going to have is a big ego, but you have to be prepared to be substituted," he continued.
"It's up to me to make the right decision to keep myself in a job." He's not doing so badly - Newcastle remain unbeaten in his charge.
dbchoong
18-10-2004, 01:01 PM
What's this "Reputation" thing for? How did this Newcastle thread get 5 stars?
yenyenpark
18-10-2004, 01:26 PM
Bellamy scored the goal but apart from that had a poor game. Not surprised to see him substituted, he has had 2 hard international games this week and we have Europe coming up.
With his style of play he needs to be rested occasionally.
Shearer was our main goal threat.
Butt looked tired, Jenas had a very good 1st half but faded, Bowyer started poorly but improved.
Bernard was excellent going forward and for me defended better this time. Elliot and O'Brien are an accident waiting to happen but Souness has few choices at the moment. O'Brien is easily turned and then fouls and his distribution is woeful.
well at least i know Bellamy in first half got a occasion shud pass the ball instead of shoot.. that's the golden opportunity to score.. i really think Bellamy show a selfish side of him... but i did score for us at least..
anyway, i think we all miss kluivert on the pitch.
yenyenpark
18-10-2004, 01:30 PM
What's this "Reputation" thing for? How did this Newcastle thread get 5 stars?
for making frens instead of enemies in football forum?? =p
BERSERK1980
18-10-2004, 01:42 PM
Charlton seems to be doing very well this season. :frus:
yenyenpark
18-10-2004, 01:53 PM
not only this season, remember they fight with us and liverpool for 4th and 5 th place.. but lost to us and liverpool..
they r quite strong actually...
anyway, i'm quite relief to see tat actually we r not far from top 3 or 4, since ony about 3 points seperating about 5 or 6 teams.. the fight will continue.. :s8:
dreamer75
18-10-2004, 02:02 PM
Hugo Viana scored two goals from open play as Sporting Lisbon ran out 4-1 winners against Estoril
dreamer75
18-10-2004, 02:04 PM
they are a very gd team....very gd at home too..
dreamer75
18-10-2004, 02:08 PM
O'brien didn't look like the senior ** today...quite disappointed with his performance yest..
dreamer75
18-10-2004, 02:08 PM
shld give Taylor more chance to prove himself..
dreamer75
18-10-2004, 02:10 PM
how i wished we could have some world class centre back in our own squad like
Campbell of Arsenal
Terry of Chelsea
Hyypia of Liverpool
dreamer75
18-10-2004, 02:12 PM
e has to wise up according to our manager Graeme Souness who told Sky Sports:
"Laurent has a future here but he has got to do things I want him to.
"I want him to channel his anger by showing me what he can do in training and by improving as a player.
"No one has questioned his ability at going forward but he has to impress me when we do not have the ball.
"We have to have 10 outfield players when we are not in possession. It's no good having nine.
"I can understand him not being happy but it's something we have to address because we will be giving ammunition to our enemies if we give the impression that things are not harmonious here."
dreamer75
18-10-2004, 02:14 PM
Panionios Vs NUFC [UEFA Cup]
Nea Smyrni Stadium
21 October 2004 K.O 7.45pm UK
ZhiQiang
18-10-2004, 02:29 PM
well, last nite was the 1st match i watch since souney became manager...
abit disappointed... o'brien looks jaded... elliot was good...
and shearer looks like in war with rob styles... i can imagine wat will it be like when rob styles is in charge of our other games...
revenant
18-10-2004, 02:29 PM
Hugo Viana scored two goals from open play as Sporting Lisbon ran out 4-1 winners against Estoril
:s31:
Hope he will come back next season to fight for his place here.
revenant
18-10-2004, 02:31 PM
shld give Taylor more chance to prove himself..
Yeah, I can't wait to see him play.
revenant
18-10-2004, 02:34 PM
well, last nite was the 1st match i watch since souney became manager...
abit disappointed... o'brien looks jaded... elliot was good...
and shearer looks like in war with rob styles... i can imagine wat will it be like when rob styles is in charge of our other games...
Shearer is really our Geordie hero :love:
See how eagar he wanna get onto the field and how much desire and hunger he possesses. :eek:
Wonder hows life at Newcastle w/o him :(
dreamer75
18-10-2004, 02:45 PM
added reputation to both ZhiQiang and revenant :)
Campbell of Arsenal
Terry of Chelsea
Hyypia of Liverpool
we used to have one if not for greedy shepherd
Coolsmurf
18-10-2004, 03:01 PM
anyone got the newpaper, it appears Shearer was the backstabber that got rid of SBR afterall, Shepard was made to be the bad guy, shld we forgive fat fred?
yenyenpark
18-10-2004, 03:06 PM
anyone got the newpaper, it appears Shearer was the backstabber that got rid of SBR afterall, Shepard was made to be the bad guy, shld we forgive fat fred?
hur?? r u sure?? even fat sherp wish to discontinue shearer's contract when it expires... well, i hav to say is SBR shud go when time is up.. i will respect him if he resign instead of being sacked... i really think SBR shud "zhi dong" resign when results were bad.. 2 points in 4 games... if we let him lead us, i think probably i hav only left FA Cup and EPL to play.. :frus:
Coolsmurf
18-10-2004, 03:09 PM
yah all will be revealed when SBR releases his new book, it was mentioned that the tone he had towards shearer was very acidity and had to be toned down if it was to be make it to the bookshelves
there is immense bad blood between the both of them
dreamer75
18-10-2004, 03:10 PM
so it was Sheare....saw the word backstaber in todays THE NEW PAPER when sopme1 was reading when i was queueing for food..hmm...
dreamer75
18-10-2004, 03:13 PM
Shearer stabbed me
Former Newcastle boss Robson claims in new book
Coolsmurf
18-10-2004, 03:37 PM
Robson: Shearer betrayed me
(Filed: 17/10/2004)
An updated, authorised, biography of Sir Bobby Robson to be published next month will include a new final chapter entitled Betrayed, detailing the breakdown of the former Newcastle United's manager's relationship with Alan Shearer, his captain.
Written by the journalist Bob Harris, a longstanding friend and regular biographer of Robson, who was sacked by Newcastle at the end of August, that final chapter also charts an often difficult relationship with Freddy Shepherd, the club chairman.
Signficantly when Sir Bobby was presented with a special sword by the city of Newcastle at the conclusion of The Match, a pro-celebrity football show filmed at St James' Park and recently screened by Sky, both Shepherd and Shearer pointedly vacated the directors box before the on-pitch ceremony.
While Robson is understood to feel betrayed by Shearer after reviving his career on succeeding Ruud Gullit at St James' five years ago - it is apparently no coincidence that he lost his job after dropping the No 9 for his final game in charge, a 4-2 defeat at Aston Villa - he is deeply dismayed by Shepherd's decision to pay him his compensation settlement in monthly instalments until May rather than as a lump sum.
Should the 71-year-old secure another job, such instalments will either cease or be reduced depending on the differential between Robson's former remuneration and any new salary.
Although Robson has previously denied that Shepherd interfered in his transfer activities, the new chapter - in which Sir Bobby is not quoted directly - suggests otherwise. Indeed, it appears that the decision to sell Gary Speed to Bolton Wanderers and replace him with Nicky Butt was not entirely the manager's.
Moreover the update - appreciably toned down by lawyers prior to publication - reflects Robson's disappointment that, having offered Shearer a free rein as captain, he did not exercise the control over Newcastle's young players that might have been anticipated from such a senior and influential figure.
Having initially been happy to groom the local hero as his successor he duly changed his mind, telling reporters that Shearer, who is at present studying for his coaching badges, would be much more suited to a media career.
Intriguingly Gullit, now in charge of Feyenoord, was dismissed days after dropping Shearer to the substitutes' bench for a home defeat against Sunderland and has since publicly described his bete noire as a "bad apple" and that he regretted not selling him.
Tellingly, Shearer apparently became disillusioned with Robson after the latter's forlorn attempts to sell him to Liverpool in the summer of 2003.
When Robson dropped him for a meaningless second leg UEFA Cup encounter in Norway last season, Shearer made his indignation extremely plain and the exercise was never repeated.
It now seems that the manager's detection of a lack of boardroom support for his gesture deterred him from omitting Shearer - who at the age of 34 has lost much pace and mobility - from some League games for tactical reasons and this arguably cost Newcastle a Champions League place.
Since succeeding Robson, Graeme Souness has showered Shearer with generous praise but also made a point of omitting him for a UEFA Cup match at home to Bnei Sakhnin of Israel, thereby almost certainly dropping a not so subtle hint that no player is indispensable.
dbchoong
18-10-2004, 04:01 PM
Added approval reputation to dreamer75, zhiqiang, revenant, aqf, coolsmurf, yenyenpark so far. Will add more Newcastle forum members when very free... :s21:
dreamer75
18-10-2004, 04:13 PM
Added approval reputation to dreamer75, zhiqiang, revenant, aqf, coolsmurf, yenyenpark so far. Will add more Newcastle forum members when very free... :s21:
thanks, added urs :)
dreamer75
18-10-2004, 04:36 PM
Bernard issues Newcastle United Football Club threat
08:55 October, 18, 2004
Olivier Bernard has once more threatened to quit Newcastle United Football Club.
The Frenchman is out of contract at the end of this season, yet his frustration at not being offered a suitable deal as of yet may force him out of St James’ Park in the summer.
"The way they are treating me over the contract shows they have no respect for me - that's something I really don't like," said Bernard. "They don't understand what I want. I'd love to stay at the club but I don't want to waste my time.
"I think I've proved to that club what I can do. If they don't want me, they should say it. The coach said he wanted to keep me and that he'll help me get a contract. But it's still the same as it was two months ago and six months ago.
"They keep playing with me, every week they come back with more money than the last. I think I've proved enough to the chairman, I felt last season I was one of the best players."
dreamer75
18-10-2004, 04:39 PM
Charlton 1 Newcastle 1 Legend is still growing He was covered in blood and wearing someone else's shirt, but the heroic figure of Alan Shearer was quite unmistakable
By Oliver Holt
HE WAS wearing a shirt too big for him and with someone else's name on it - but there was no mistaking the identity of the man with the No.18 on his back.
Blood streaming from a gash above his eye stained his jersey so badly that by the closing stages, officials had insisted Alan Shearer changed it for another.
And after pulling on Aaron Hughes' top, the Newcastle captain copied his team-mate's defensive instincts by clearing a shot off the line three minutes from the end to preserve United's unbeaten record under Graeme Souness.
Undaunted by his wound, Shearer was in the thick of everything as an honestly-fought no-holds-barred encounter at The Valley careered to a breathless finish.
He might have scored in the 83rd minute when he rose unmarked to meet a Laurent Robert corner, but Danny Murphy hacked off the line.
He was denied again seconds later when Chris Perry blocked his rising drive after another Robert corner caused chaos.
And when Shearer was eventually forced to the sidelines for treatment, he was so desperate to get back on the crowd was treated to the sight of fourth official Rob Styles tugging forlornly at his shirt as he dashed on to the pitch before the referee's signal.
"If you're looking for someone to stand up and be counted then Alan Shearer is your man," said Souness. "But we've known that for a long time."
Both Souness and Charlton boss Alan Curbishley recognised it would have been churlish to be disappointed with a point from a game either side might have won.
Shearer was pleased enough with the Newcastle performance to have a light-hearted dig at the physique of the Northern Ireland defender whose shirt he borrowed.
"He better get on the weights," said Shearer. "It's a bit small for me, this shirt."
Shearer's battle with defender Chris Perry was one of the high points of a fine game that turned from a first-half slow burner into a second period full of fireworks.
Nicky Butt, who performed poorly after his solid performances for England, began by giving away possession with alarming nonchalance midway inside his own half.
Danny Murphy, gradually finding his feet at his new club, worked the ball wide to Graham Stuart and it took a flying save from Shay Given to spare Butt's blushes.
Much of the half was mired in a stalemate of tough tackling, poor control and careless passing but gradually Newcastle began to gain the upper hand.
Shearer was angered when Dennis Rommedahl closed his free kick down so efficiently the ball rebounded the length of the pitch to Given.
When Newcastle earned another dead-ball opportunity in the same spot a minute later, Shearer stood in front of Rommedahl to prevent a repeat.
But this time it was Darren Ambrose who smashed the free-kick into the wall.
Lee Bowyer, returning to his old stomping ground, was unlucky to have a goal ruled out nine minutes before half time after he was ruled to have used an elbow on Murphy.
Undaunted, Newcastle took the lead two minutes later with a strike that was beyond dispute.
Olivier Bernard put over a fine cross from the left and Craig Bellamy, who had been taunted by Charlton fans about Wales' defeat to England, sent a bullet header past Dean Kiely from six yards.
United might have gone further ahead before the interval when Shearer threw himself at another Bernard cross and his stab at goal rolled inches wide.
But six minutes after the break and a following a prolonged period of pressure from the home side, brilliant forward play by Kevin Lisbie brought Charlton level.
Lisbie flicked a through ball over Andy O'Brien and dribbled around Given. As he stretched to slide the ball into the net, Stephen Carr nudged it off his toe but O'Brien's desperate lunge could not stop it going in.
Michael Owen might have claimed it if he had done Lisbie's approach play but the more you looked at it, the more it seemed like an O'Brien own goal.
Newcastle's confidence drained from them and Charlton besieged their goal. Rommedahl would surely have scored if Shaun Bartlett had passed to him and Given had to dive full length to beat out a drive from Murphy.
Bartlett hit the outside of a post midway through the half with a rising shot that bulged the side-netting, but the introduction of Robert swung the impetus back towards Newcastle.
Shearer might have scored twice from Robert corners in the closing minutes but Rommedahl hit the bar at the other end with a fizzing shot that took a deflection off Bowyer.
Three minutes from the end, Shearer saved Newcastle with his defending when he chested away a shot from Jonathan Fortune.
After a scramble, the loose ball fell to Matt Holland, whose scuffed shot hit the post and was hacked to safety by Shola Ameobi.
"It's always a full afternoon with Alan Shearer," Curbishley said afterwards.
"They all know they have been in a game when he's around."
ATTENDANCE: 26,553
MAN OF THE MATCH: Shearer
yenyenpark
18-10-2004, 05:43 PM
MAN OF THE MATCH: Shearersee... no score also can get MOM..
yenyenpark
18-10-2004, 05:44 PM
thanks, added urs :)
added alot of ppl... so how many i can add to them???
dreamer75
18-10-2004, 05:55 PM
added alot of ppl... so how many i can add to them???
added urs too..
errmm..once per day...
drift01
18-10-2004, 06:10 PM
hi guys
i'm also a newcastle fan
glad to meet u guys~
revenant
18-10-2004, 06:30 PM
Added yours too.
Strange, sometimes my adding increase by 16, some by 6/7 etc.
kraze
18-10-2004, 07:31 PM
hey~ added rep for the posters of the past few pages. keep it up =)
dreamer75
18-10-2004, 08:20 PM
dbchoong
18-10-2004, 08:47 PM
added yrs too... :)
Theychosenone
18-10-2004, 08:51 PM
Not a bad performance from the Magpies in the last game, except for the goal in which Lisbie made a fool of Andy O'Blind by doing a "Gazza" on him. Olivier Bernard played a great game, probably motivated by the recent contract talk troubles.
I'd prefer Robbie Elliott to Titus Fumble also.. he seems to be much more stable in defense than the fat one.
yenyenpark
18-10-2004, 10:03 PM
Not a bad performance from the Magpies in the last game, except for the goal in which Lisbie made a fool of Andy O'Blind by doing a "Gazza" on him. Olivier Bernard played a great game, probably motivated by the recent contract talk troubles.
I'd prefer Robbie Elliott to Titus Fumble also.. he seems to be much more stable in defense than the fat one.yup, think bernard reserve our respect and also a paper of contract.. if not of him, we might hav lose the game..
yenyenpark
18-10-2004, 10:10 PM
hi guys
i'm also a newcastle fan
glad to meet u guys~
welcome onboard.. :s7:
kraze
18-10-2004, 11:18 PM
wonder what's with the management... quick give bernard the pen, man.. bah
revenant
18-10-2004, 11:46 PM
Craig Bellamy laughed off reports he was seeking a showdown with Graeme Souness - and insisted he wanted to give the Newcastle United manager the best years of his career.
The Wales striker was also seen mouthing his unhappiness at his substitution in yesterday's draw at Charlton Athletic by millions of viewers, having opened the scoring at The Valley with a first-half header.
That followed a report in a Sunday newspaper that Bellamy was so unhappy at being asked to play out of position that he wanted a showdown with Souness.
But while a candid Bellamy freely admits he does not like playing in midfield, the 25-year-old former Norwich and Coventry player insists the last thing on his mind is knocking Souness' door down to demand a move away from St James' Park.
"I don't want a showdown - what do I want a showdown for?" said Bellamy. "I'm at a great club. I've got two and a half years left and I want to spent those two and a half years here. That's my whole aim in football.
"In those two and a half years I'll hopefully play the best football of my career for this club.
"Everyone in football knows my favourite position. But it's up to me, if I'm asked to go on either wing, to get on with it. I don't particularly like it, it's frustrating, but the team comes first. I've got to try and do it to the best of my ability."
Souness will speak to Bellamy about the comments made when his number was raised in the 66th minute, but there is no doubt that the United manager would rather his players were unhappy at being substituted.
He felt Bellamy was physically and psychologically exhausted following a trying fortnight with Wales, and brought on fresh legs in the shape of fit-again Shola Ameobi.
"I have never experienced someone coming off and saying `thank you very much boss for substituting me,"' said Souness.
"There is disappointment, but I can understand it - if I was ever substituted as a player I would not have been happy.
"I did not see it. I will look at it and ask him (Bellamy) if it was directed at me, and I will let you know what happens."
Souness added: "If you are a top player, what comes hand in hand with that is a big ego and you have to be prepared to be substituted if a manager feels the situation is right.
"That is what I am paid for, making decisions, and if you get too many wrong you are looking for another job. That's part of the price on my ticket.
"We have a squad of 17 or 18 top players, and that is the way it has to be - it is not any different at Manchester United, Arsenal or Chelsea. It is a balancing act for the manager."
Ironically, Bellamy had been restored up front alongside Alan Shearer yesterday, with Patrick Kluivert out with a hamstring problem.
And Bellamy, who planted a header past Dean Kiely from a superb Olivier Bernard cross to open the scoring in the 39th minute, admits he cannot remember his last headed goal.
He said: "I can't remember the last time I scored a header. It was all down to Olivier's ball really - it was a special ball. All I had to do was make sure I got my head on it and direct it towards goal.
"The run was a bit of a gamble, really - you can do that all the time but the ball picked the run out. Basically it was the ball that made the goal."
Bellamy added: "A win would have been nice - it's been a relatively bad week. It's not the first time I've had a bad result in football. It's up and down, and I've had another down."
http://images.icnetwork.co.uk/upl/icnewcastle/sep2004/7/6/00030B85-052F-1150-B1AB80BFB6FA0000.jpg
http://icnewcastle.icnetwork.co.uk/newcastleunited/news/tm_objectid=14769471%26method=full%26siteid=50081%26headline=i%2dswear%2di%2dm%2dhappy%2dhere-name_page.htmlp
revenant
18-10-2004, 11:54 PM
Patrick kluivert is out of Newcastle United's trip to Athens as the six-goal striker struggles to overcome a troublesome hamstring injury.
The Holland international did not travel to London for yesterday's game against Charlton Athletic, and Graeme Souness revealed after the Magpies' 1-1 draw at The Valley that Kluivert was also out of Thursday's UEFA Cup group game against Panionios.
Kluivert has been suffering from a niggling hamstring problem since Souness took over at St James' Park, and he will not press the 28-year-old to return before he is ready and risk a setback.
Kluivert also had two wisdom teeth taken out last week and his continued absence is a blow to Souness.
Against Charlton, Souness restored Craig Bellamy up front alongside Alan Shearer in the absence of Kluivert and the pair will lead the line again against Panionios in the first of United's four UEFA Cup group stage games.
"Patrick Kluivert won't travel to Athens," said Souness. "He's not recovered from his hamstring injury and has also had two wisdom teeth out."
Meanwhile, Souness insists that on the back of a tiring international fortnight he was not disappointed with yesterday's draw.
He said: "We got ourselves into a great position and I thought we would weather the first 15 minutes of the second half and then kick on from there.
"But we can't be disappointed, with the international players having been away. The travelling and the games take it out of you. Losing games, like Craig Bellamy has, is also hard psychologically.
"As the game wore on we looked tired. This was arguably the worst game we could have had after an international break. Charlton are in your face and don't give you a minute's peace. We had to challenge them throughout. We introduced Laurent Robert and Shola Ameobi and it was all attacking - them attacking us and us attacking them.
"We've got a lot of firepower. We've got people who create goals and people who score goals, and if we can keep a clean sheet we've got a great chance of winning."
http://icnewcastle.icnetwork.co.uk/newcastleunited/news/tm_objectid=14769509%26method=full%26siteid=50081%26headline=kluivert%2dto%2dmiss%2dtoon%2dgreek%2dtrip-name_page.html
kraze
19-10-2004, 01:55 AM
Patrick kluivert is out of Newcastle United's trip to Athens as the six-goal striker struggles to overcome a troublesome hamstring injury.
hope he recovers fast.. wont wanna miss his action
kraze
19-10-2004, 01:56 AM
issit just me or is the rep points now back to 10 for everyone?
kraze
19-10-2004, 02:00 AM
re-added back ur rep pts guys =) cheers
martinweng
19-10-2004, 08:15 AM
Campbell of Arsenal
Terry of Chelsea
Hyypia of Liverpool
Rio of Man Utd
Bramble of Newcastle.
martinweng
19-10-2004, 08:16 AM
Who are u all behind? SBR or Alan Shearer?
Im behind shearer..SBR time was up..he really shudnt spoil his image as a geordie..
I am behind shearer.Wonder if those words sbr said are true?
revenant
19-10-2004, 10:04 AM
I'm on the neutral side. If what SBR said is true, are you all shocked that Alan did this? I am.
kraze
19-10-2004, 10:28 AM
i'm for shearer too..
o0SpaceY0o
19-10-2004, 10:30 AM
saw the newpaper news ytd...was quite shock too...but for bobby...serve him right for playing Bowyer on the right wing. :s13:
martinweng
19-10-2004, 01:06 PM
I'm on the neutral side. If what SBR said is true, are you all shocked that Alan did this? I am.
actually wad Alan did?
wad back-stabbing he say?
i bought the newpaper but was lazy to read it..strange though..i bought it in the 1st place to read it..but ends up reading news, entertainment but not newcastle-related sports news..
yenyenpark
19-10-2004, 01:11 PM
not really lah.. if we think think abit.. shearer wants a silverware like FA Cup where we hav more chance while SBR hope we can get UEFA Cup Champ... this is one of the fire point between them...
and Shearer hav expressed many times unhappiness of players in defence, probably hinted that SBR shud do more jobs in our defence as well..
and lastly, Shearer is not young anymore, his eager to get a last silverware in St James Park might be the root of why he wanted to force a change in manager...
and again, SBR shud go if it's time, and not saying he wants to stay.. or watsoever..
yenyenpark
19-10-2004, 01:13 PM
actually wad Alan did?
wad back-stabbing he say?
i bought the newpaper but was lazy to read it..strange though..i bought it in the 1st place to read it..but ends up reading news, entertainment but not newcastle-related sports news..
well.. i wont feel strange if u r the person.. =:p u r Toons fan but critics us alot.. well.. it's not strange to me too.. :s8:
yenyenpark
19-10-2004, 02:37 PM
Bramble of Newcastle.
:s13: :s13:
dreamer75
19-10-2004, 02:45 PM
i am neutral..
it seems that Shearer appealed to the Chairman, and the Chairman backed the player. I think the Chairman backed Shearer partly because he rated him as a player, but also because the thought of the Geordie hero taking over as manager appealed to him. However, i don't think Shearer ever has the intention of taking over Robson as the job will be very demanding. Besides, he's a family man whom thinks family is very impt to him.
I think he’s looked after Number 1 in quite a crafty way, and isn’t a particularly unifying influence in or out of the dressing room. He's a hero to me but this is what i feel in my heart.
dreamer75
19-10-2004, 02:45 PM
Bramble of Newcastle.??
:s13: :s13:
dreamer75
19-10-2004, 02:47 PM
do u all think Shearer has been a great captain?
dreamer75
19-10-2004, 02:50 PM
would be a damn shame to lose Bernard really would as he really does enjoy playing for us.
the chairman better do something!!!
dreamer75
19-10-2004, 04:54 PM
pardon me if i'm blur, but we have signed Ronny Johnsen alr?
he's injured btw...
shucks..most of our players very injury-prone...
waynez
19-10-2004, 05:06 PM
wah..dreamer75 .... chiong post oso dun chiong like tat ar.. split so many post which can be using one post... ....haha... :s13: ronny johnsen..already sighed until end of this year leh...
Coolsmurf
19-10-2004, 05:09 PM
wah..dreamer75 .... chiong post oso dun chiong like tat ar.. split so many post which can be using one post... ....haha... :s13: ronny johnsen..already sighed until end of this year leh...
right up to jan transfer window open
dreamer75
19-10-2004, 05:12 PM
where got chiong post? :=p
if lump together, pple will be confused mah...haha.. :s13:
dreamer75
19-10-2004, 05:13 PM
right up to jan transfer window open
still injured...worse than woody..
I hope bernard continue to play for newcastle. He is good enough for newcastle.
martinweng
19-10-2004, 06:47 PM
i am neutral..
it seems that Shearer appealed to the Chairman, and the Chairman backed the player. I think the Chairman backed Shearer partly because he rated him as a player, but also because the thought of the Geordie hero taking over as manager appealed to him. However, i don't think Shearer ever has the intention of taking over Robson as the job will be very demanding. Besides, he's a family man whom thinks family is very impt to him.
I think he’s looked after Number 1 in quite a crafty way, and isn’t a particularly unifying influence in or out of the dressing room. He's a hero to me but this is what i feel in my heart.
back-stab or no back-stab, it was the time for SBR to leave..
dun gimme any shock, surprise crap SBR..u jolly well noe we kick ur butt bcoz u fail to do a gd job..
Coolsmurf
19-10-2004, 06:50 PM
probably Shearer just help to accelerate his departure....backstab or not, it was clear the results wasnt happenning for SBR...
looking on another perspective, probably Shearer realise that SBR departure + arrival of someone with fresh ideas will help to stabilise the rocky ship
the same could be said of ruud gullit
martinweng
19-10-2004, 06:54 PM
it will be a shame if shearer do not become part of newcastle coaching team.
IMO he is already a cult figure..
ZhiQiang
19-10-2004, 07:19 PM
i think shearer is the most lao jiao of the lao jiaos in newcastle rite???
yenyenpark
19-10-2004, 08:10 PM
i think shearer is the most lao jiao of the lao jiaos in newcastle rite???
his never give up football spirit is wat i admire most... he fight even with head bleeding like water melon juice.. :bandit:
he is my idol!!!
yenyenpark
19-10-2004, 08:11 PM
back-stab or no back-stab, it was the time for SBR to leave..
dun gimme any shock, surprise crap SBR..u jolly well noe we kick ur butt bcoz u fail to do a gd job..
this is one of few of statement i like from u.. =:p
yenyenpark
19-10-2004, 08:13 PM
do u all think Shearer has been a great captain?
i think he's a good captain.. i remember tat one time, he's injured.. we got problem winning games.. until he's back.. :frus:
yenyenpark
19-10-2004, 08:14 PM
wah..dreamer75 .... chiong post oso dun chiong like tat ar.. split so many post which can be using one post... ....haha... :s13: ronny johnsen..already sighed until end of this year leh...at least we wil happy tat he chiong post in Newcastle here.. hope we can get pass Liverpool.. :bandit:
waynez
19-10-2004, 08:50 PM
anyway..no offence... dreamer75 ...
regarding the SBR and AS issue..my opinion is... whether or not AS backstab or whatever... the important thing is... he is into so-called last season... and moreover... AS is like the spirit of newcastle... so when SBR books is out.. how much damage can AS image be affected in fans mind... when seems like most supporter is there for newcastle mainly becos of this 'AS'.... haha... abbreviation rules... keke :s13:
Coolsmurf
19-10-2004, 09:08 PM
you can also say SBR is using this issue as publicity stunt to make his book sales rise more..
dbchoong
19-10-2004, 09:56 PM
i remember tat one time, he's injured.. we got problem winning games.. until he's back.. :frus:
Think this role now belongs to Kluivert. We've stopped winning since he's been out. He didn't complete the Birmingham game which ended 2-2. If he was not injured in that game, maybe we could have won.
Let's hope he's back very soon.
Think this role now belongs to Kluivert. We've stopped winning since he's been out. He didn't complete the Birmingham game which ended 2-2. If he was not injured in that game, maybe we could have won.
hope to see kluivert back in action as soon as possible
kraze
19-10-2004, 10:39 PM
wow.. just realised this thread is very active. log in and it's the next page already.
yeah hope to see kluivert in action soon too. and hopefully we can bang on a good central def soon. seems like elliot is doing not that bad actually.
martinweng
19-10-2004, 11:02 PM
one of the things is, Kluivert cannot stop our downward spiral..2 consecutive draws already..
I think Bellamy is our source of hope now..
one of the things we fail to realise is, When we say Shearer is going to retire,
nobody think of bellamy and ameobi as replacement..
Nowadays the trend is speedy striker..we have 1 in bellamy..but we are too old-fashion to realise dat...
so? bernard leaving is no surprise..he was unappreciated.. we nv realise we had a reliable left back for so long..
and its hard to get a gd left back nowadays..
IMO, dyer shud be given a 2nd chance..im quite a fan of dyer too...
dreamer75
19-10-2004, 11:11 PM
anyway..no offence... dreamer75 ...
regarding the SBR and AS issue..my opinion is... whether or not AS backstab or whatever... the important thing is... he is into so-called last season... and moreover... AS is like the spirit of newcastle... so when SBR books is out.. how much damage can AS image be affected in fans mind... when seems like most supporter is there for newcastle mainly becos of this 'AS'.... haha... abbreviation rules... keke :s13:
in the fans' mind, Shearer is always their hero lah :)
dreamer75
19-10-2004, 11:15 PM
one of the things is, Kluivert cannot stop our downward spiral..2 consecutive draws already..
I think Bellamy is our source of hope now..
one of the things we fail to realise is, When we say Shearer is going to retire,
nobody think of bellamy and ameobi as replacement..
Nowadays the trend is speedy striker..we have 1 in bellamy..but we are too old-fashion to realise dat...
so? bernard leaving is no surprise..he was unappreciated.. we nv realise we had a reliable left back for so long..
and its hard to get a gd left back nowadays..
IMO, dyer shud be given a 2nd chance..im quite a fan of dyer too...
the fact is we simply cannot afford to lose more defenders, at the moment our defence is crippled and crap enough as it is.
dreamer75
19-10-2004, 11:22 PM
qho wants Newcastle wallpaper??
grab it over here...a lota Shearer ones..
Wallpaper (http://perso.wanadoo.fr/shearerm4/shearer/wall/w.htm)
dreamer75
19-10-2004, 11:25 PM
Oct 19 2004
By Miles Starforth, The Evening Chronicle
Ronny Johnsen gave Newcastle United an injury scare last night after he limped out of a reserves game with a knee problem.
The former Norway international went down holding his knee after challenging Javier de Pedro in last night's 1-0 defeat by Blackburn Rovers at Kingston Park.
Johnsen was unable to continue and he was today having the injury assessed by United's medical staff.
The 35-year-old former Manchester United and Aston Villa defender, on a short-term contract at St James' Park and yet to make his Magpies debut, has been troubled by knee problems in the past.
Reserves coach Tommy Craig said: "Ronny had a knock on the nerve on his knee and lost feeling in his foot for a little while, but it came back after a bit.
"We'll have a look at it but I'm optimistic - it's a fairly common thing. He's just jarred his knee as he's landed."
Jemal Johnson had earlier scored the only goal of the game for Blackburn. He latched onto a Paul Gallagher pass and beat Titus Bramble before shooting past Tony Caig from 15 yards in the 14th minute.
Guy Bates glanced a header wide before the end of the half, and after the break Lewis Guy should have done better with a 61st-minute effort, but in truth Newcastle did not look like scoring.
United have now gone 425 minutes of Premiership Reserve League football without a goal, having scored just three times in seven games.
Craig said: "It was extremely disappointing. We're not playing well, and not looking like scoring goals.
"Our passing's a major disappointment to us."
Among those in the stands at Kingston Park was Birmingham City boss Steve Bruce, watching his son Alex line up for Rovers, and Sunderland manager Mick McCarthy.
Newcastle are back in action next Tuesday, October 26, when they face Bedlington Terriers away in the Northumberland Senior Cup.
NEWCASTLE UNITED: Caig, Taylor, Hughes, Smylie (Webster, 79), Johnsen (Brennan, 18), Bramble, Brittain, Howe (Walton, 62), Bates, Guy, Cave. Subs not used: Gate, Bartlett.
BLACKBURN ROVERS: Enckelman, Peers, McEveley, Douglas, Todd (Fitzgerald, 79), Bruce, Donnelly, Harkins, Gallagher, Johnson, De Pedro (Morgan, 75). Subs not used: Drench, Derbyshire, Hodge.
dreamer75
19-10-2004, 11:27 PM
Oct 19 2004
By Luke Edwards, The Journal
Alan Shearer has told Newcastle United they must use Arsenal as their benchmark as they prepare for another journey into the unknown to face Greek side Panionios in the UEFA Cup this week.
The Magpies skipper is confident his side have developed the sort of hard-nosed professionalism under new manager Graeme Souness to extend their unbeaten run after they secured a point at Charlton in a classically end to end Premiership clash.
Shearer left The Valley on Sunday night with four stitches in a head wound following his part in the tussle to take a point and urged people to recognise that Newcastle were now a team playing to Souness' carefully prepared design.
He explained: "This is definitely Graeme's side. He came in and straight away he tinkered with the way we played, especially away from home and we're seeing the benefits of that at the moment.
"He has made the midfield more solid so that we're harder to break down when we lose possession away from home and you can tell that in the games we've played. I'd say all of our away games have been ones we could have lost and perhaps might have in the past.
"You can look at the Charlton result both ways. At half time, when we were 1-0 up and controlling the game, it is a match we should have won and it's two points lost.
"But for me it was a classic game of English football. In the second half it could have gone either way, they cleared the ball off the line and we cleared the ball off the line.
"Both sides had chances to win it so I think a draw is probably a fair result.
"It was a difficult game. In the past we might have folded at the end.
"We've been to Southampton, Birmingham and Charlton since the new manager came in and we remain unbeaten.
"That's an achievement because all three of those are extremely tough places to go and try and get a result.
"None of the games have been easy, but we've given a good account of ourselves in all of them and that is something we can be pleased with."
When Newcastle return to Premiership action against Manchester City next weekend they will, all being well in Greece, be looking to extend their unbeaten run to nine games under Souness.
At Old Trafford, Arsenal will be desperately looking to avoid defeat to bitter rivals Manchester United and make it 50 games without defeat in domestic league action.
And, while Shearer admitted the reigning Premiership champions are head and shoulders above Newcastle now, he also believes United must try to follow their example.
He said: "What we've got to do is turn this seven-game unbeaten run into a 15 or 16-game unbeaten run. We've got the players to do it and we've got to keep it going.
"Arsenal are in a league of their own at the moment and I don't think anybody will ever go on a run like they're on again, but we've got to get our run into double figures.
"If we can do that then we're going to be in a strong position in the league. Unbeaten runs are fantastic because they breed confidence."
Newcastle's first opportunity to maintain their run comes in Athens on Thursday night in the first game of the Uefa Cup group stage.
On paper, the Magpies look too strong for one of Greek's football lesser lights, but after their national side stunned European football's big guns in Euro 2004 this summer, Shearer knows they can take nothing for granted.
He added: "We know absolutely nothing about them, but our scouts will have watched the play so they'll be able to tell us something.
"Like our last game against Sakhnin, it's a step into the unknown for us.
"We did a professional job out in Israel and we have to approach it in exactly the same way."
dreamer75
19-10-2004, 11:28 PM
Oct 19 2004
Fit-again Shola Ameobi has vowed to make up for lost time under Graeme Souness.
The Newcastle United striker made his comeback at Charlton Athletic on Sunday following a frustrating month on the sidelines with a hip injury.
Up until then, Ameobi's only appearance under Souness had been his first in full charge, against Hapoel Bnei Sakhnin, and since the 23-year-old has seen Alan Shearer, Craig Bellamy and Patrick Kluivert stake their claims.
Today, Ameobi, who had come on as a substitute at The Valley, jetted to Greece ahead of Thursday's UEFA Cup group stage game against Panionios determined to force his way into Souness' plans.
"The other three strikers have been brilliant," said Ameobi. "Obviously the new manager's come in and they've reacted positively.
"It's unfortunate the injury did come at that time, but I have to show the manager I'm worthy of being at Newcastle and worthy of being in the team."
He added: "It's not a nice injury to have, it's very painful. It had come on gradually. I felt it the week before the European game I played in and in that game I tipped it over the edge. I couldn't walk after the game, I was struggling.
"The physios have done a fantastic job and I've worked hard to get back as soon as possible. Hopefully Sunday's game will prove a stepping stone if I get a run out on Thursday.
"I had two sessions last week and wasn't expecting to be in the squad. Obviously Patrick's absence was a massive blow and he's needed me. I went out and tried to do my best.
"I felt it a bit against Charlton when I whipped that ball in for Alan (Shearer). I struggled a little bit and I felt it afterwards. The physios tell me I'm going to feel it a bit for the next two weeks. Hopefully it'll get better sooner rather than later."
Ameobi had been due to play for the reserves last night, but with his hip still sore from Sunday he was told to rest.
At Charlton, he came on for Bellamy but Ameobi could not help to fashion a second goal and he admits the Magpies must turn draws into wins away from Tyneside.
Ameobi said: "It could have gone either way in the end. Both teams had shots cleared off the line."
dreamer75
19-10-2004, 11:29 PM
Oct 19 2004
By The Evening Chronicle
Darren Ambrose jetted to Greece with his Newcastle United team-mates today desperate for another taste of first- team football.
Ambrose was handed a surprise start on the left at Charlton ahead of Laurent Robert and James Milner by Graeme Souness.
Going into the game, Ambrose had only played 30 minutes of competitive football, away to Hapoel Bnei Sakhnin, having started the season in the treatment room after he tore his medial ligament against Rangers in pre-season.
And the versatile midfielder is hoping to again be involved on Thursday when the Magpies kick off their UEFA Cup group stage campaign at Panionios.
Ambrose said: "I got the injury against Rangers - I tore my medial ligament. That was frustrating as I missed last pre-season as well. I'm pleased I'm back now and injury-free.
"I enjoyed it at Charlton. The manager put me out on the left and I enjoy that position. I can do a lot of things in that position like cut inside, shoot or take it down the line.
"It was a difficult game to get into. It was end-to-end stuff and it was all going down the middle. Hopefully I'll get more opportunities. I enjoyed the 70 minutes.
"Before the game the only bit of football I'd played was an hour for the reserves and half an hour in the UEFA Cup and to give me a start in a game like this was a vote of confidence and I'm grateful for that. Hopefully there'll be more opportunities.
"Early last week I was off for two days with a stomach bug and when I came back into training I felt a bit weak, but I worked with the fitness coach and I was pleased to get the start."
But Ambrose, signed in March last year by Sir Bobby Robson for £1m from Ipswich Town, was frustrated by the 1-1 draw given the Magpies first-half dominance.
"We could have gone in two or three up and killed the game off," said the 20-year-old.
dreamer75
19-10-2004, 11:30 PM
Oct 16 2004
By Luke Edwards, The Journal
Graeme Souness has described Titus Bramble as possessing everything necessary to become one of the game's outstanding defenders - as long as he gets out of the comfort zone.
Bramble is back in the first-team picture against Charlton for the first time this season after more than six weeks out with a groin injury.
And his new manager insists he can save the club a fortune in the transfer market. Souness admitted his impression of the former England Under-21 international was the same as the majority of fans, with the powerful centre-back excelling for 89 minutes, but capable of blowing it all with a costly blunder.
But the Scot is now determined to extract the best from the 23-year-old and establish him as one of the Premiership's most reliable defenders.
He said: "Before I came here my impression of Titus was probably the same as everyone else's.
"For 86, 87, 88 minutes he is fantastic, but then he makes a mistake. He has been guilty in the past of falling into the armchair and switching off and that is what we're trying to stop.
"He is a young man who has everything to be a top player. He has athleticism and power, two good feet, good on the ball, good in the air and aggression.
"It's about putting that together in a package and making him consistent. That's the challenge we have with him. If he does that he can save this club a fortune."
Bramble, who successfully came through a full 90 minutes in the reserves' 3-0 defeat at Aston Villa in midweek, is unlikely to start at Charlton tomorrow, but should be named as one of the substitutes.
And Souness was quick to stress how impressed he was with the former Ipswich man's application in getting back to fitness.
He said: "He has been on a mini pre-season over the last few weeks. He has been in the swimming pool at 7am, back home for breakfast and then double sessions in the morning and the afternoon.
"He has worked extremely hard since I arrived and he is back in the squad for Saturday. He has done everything we've asked of him."
Meanwhile, Souness has confirmed his interest in Chelsea's Damien Duff.
The Journal revealed on Thursday that United were planning an ambitious January bid for the Republic of Ireland international, who played under Souness at Blackburn Rovers before his £17m move to Chelsea. Souness said: "If I come up with a couple of names I am sure the chairman will do his best to get them to this football club.
"It is not just a case of spending the money, we need to try and get the right ones.
"I think everyone admires Damien (Duff). Damien is an old-fashioned winger and gets you on the edge of the seat.
"He is direct, he is honest as the day is long, he is hard-working and on top of that he is a good lad to have around, but he is someone else's player and I would rather not say anymore on that."
* ALAN Curbishley believes former Charlton pupil Lee Bowyer is ready for an England recall as he prepares his team to face the midfielder's Newcastle side in the Barclays Premiership tomorrow. Bowyer's talent was first in evidence at The Valley under Curbishley's management in the 1995-96 season in the First Division, and he left the club to join Leeds that summer.
After two indifferent seasons, Bowyer seems to have found his best form again this term, and Curbishley is in no doubt the 27-year-old can be an asset to national coach Sven-Goran Eriksson.
"He is a midfield player who gets goals, he puts his foot in and he passes it well," said Curbishley.
"And if you are playing at a top Premiership club, you have to think you have a chance of getting back in the national side.
"Lee has got himself back in the middle of the park. I think, like Kieron Dyer, he was having problems playing both wide on the right and in the centre.
"But Bobby Robson put him back in the middle at the end of last season and he has done well since then."
Newcastle have looked a rejuvenated team since Graeme Souness took over from Robson last month, but they are unlikely to find it easy at The Valley.
Curbishley's team have been poor away from home and were crushed 4-0 at Arsenal in their last Barclaycard Premiership fixture, but they are far more resilient on their own ground.
The south London side have collected 10 points and conceded only one goal in their four league matches at The Valley this season but, despite that excellent record, Curbishley is expecting a severe test tomorrow.
"They have a great squad of players there, and Graeme Souness said it all when he admitted he couldn't quite believe his luck that he was able to go in there and inherit it all," continued Curbishley.
"They have managed to get back on track and have had some reasonable results since he has been there, so I think it will be a tremendously hard game but we are certainly looking forward to it. "
Curbishley is happy his team are playing tomorrow, which gives his international players one more day to recuperate than their counterparts at the majority of other Premiership clubs.
yenyenpark
20-10-2004, 09:58 AM
agree.. this is only his first season in Newcastle, or even in England... and yet he impressed everyone...
no offence to Bellamy fan, i used to like him very much, but i think he needs to be more team work..
and the last.. I HOPE BERNARD STAY!!
yenyenpark
20-10-2004, 10:07 AM
Wallpaper (http://perso.wanadoo.fr/shearerm4/shearer/wall/w.htm) :love: :love:
revenant
20-10-2004, 11:38 AM
Thanks bro
kraze
20-10-2004, 12:41 PM
thanks man..
martinweng
20-10-2004, 12:54 PM
agree.. this is only his first season in Newcastle, or even in England... and yet he impressed everyone...
no offence to Bellamy fan, i used to like him very much, but i think he needs to be more team work..
and the last.. I HOPE BERNARD STAY!!
no need to hope..what we can do is offer him a good deal..so that he would stay..
ZhiQiang
20-10-2004, 01:12 PM
haiz, one wave never stop, another wave start...
thanks for the wallpapers
yenyenpark
20-10-2004, 03:06 PM
haiz, one wave never stop, another wave start...
tv series like tat.. :s13:
yenyenpark
20-10-2004, 03:15 PM
haiz, one wave never stop, another wave start...tv series.. :s22:
martinweng
20-10-2004, 03:15 PM
sai man..Souness VS Bellamy..
i sure hope Souness realise Bellamy is v.important to us..
Theychosenone
20-10-2004, 03:45 PM
Actually the Bellamy episode is just plain stupid, and blown up by the media. There are so many other players who have done the same thing (as seen on TV) when they were substituted, but I don't see their clubs charging them for this? It simply shows the player's desire to play and perform. This is just a media witchhunt which is getting out of hand.
Ever heard the boos during away games when Bellamy gets the ball? It is probably his face and his aggression, and his complaining of referee decisions, that makes other 'fans' do that to him. Some other similar players do the same, but gets much less disrespect. Not very fair, isn't it? :s8:
If every player has to be charged because of such incidents, the clubs would be very rich with the amount of fines accumulated after each single game. :s13:
yenyenpark
20-10-2004, 04:02 PM
Actually the Bellamy episode is just plain stupid, and blown up by the media. There are so many other players who have done the same thing (as seen on TV) when they were substituted, but I don't see their clubs charging them for this? It simply shows the player's desire to play and perform. This is just a media witchhunt which is getting out of hand.
Ever heard the boos during away games when Bellamy gets the ball? It is probably his face and his aggression, and his complaining of referee decisions, that makes other 'fans' to that to him. Some other similar players do the same, but gets much less disrespect. Not very fair, isn't it? :s8:
If every player has to be charged because of such incidents, the clubs would be very rich with the amount of fines accumulated after each single game. :s13:
true.. but i think the reason behind is SOuness and Bellamy are famous with bad temper.. so media wish to make it big.. but i think they failed to make big thing out of it.. :s8:
So far i nv seen Bellamy keeping his mouth shut and stop swearing in every game he played. :s13:
Coolsmurf
20-10-2004, 04:55 PM
if bellamy does not keep his mouth shut and swearing in every game, thats not bellamy...
bellamy is like robbie savage, they are adored by home fans but detested by fans in away games...
strangely enuff, both are welsh
dreamer75
20-10-2004, 05:08 PM
i bet with u to the last dollar that Bellamy won't keep his mouth shut :s13:
:s13: as long as he keep scoring i dun mind
Fracas leaves Craig isolated
Craig Bellamy's Newcastle future was last night plunged into doubt after it emerged that the striker was involved in a training ground fracas with Graeme Souness shortly before the United squad's flight to Greece.
The Journal understands that the pair clashed after Souness sought urgent talks with the 25-year-old following the latest display of insolence which saw Bellamy react to his substitution at Charlton on Sunday by aiming a volley of foul-mouthed abuse at the Magpies boss.
Souness had earlier expressed his anger at the Welshman's behaviour and admitted he was annoyed that the incident had cast a shadow over his preparations for tomorrow's Uefa Cup encounter with Panionios.
And, although the tough-talking Scot had talked about his determination to finally bring Bellamy to book, it seems that this latest bout of controversy could have serious implications for the volatile frontman.
Speaking before the incident, Souness said: "We want to concentrate on football and not people acting like children. It will stop, I can guarantee the supporters that. He (Bellamy) has to sort himself out. I'm angry because we are talking about it when we should be talking about the game we are preparing for on Thursday.
"I'm angry and not because he called me names or because he was petulant. I'm angry and the reason is because we are talking about it.
On Sunday we weren't talking about how gritty and determined we had been to get a point at Charlton; we weren't talking about the good goal Craig Bellamy had scored. We were talking about him for the wrong reasons and that caused us to take our eye off the ball.
"I'm a big boy. I have been called a lot worse names in the past and I will be called a lot worse names in the future. But the fact is that this is not helpful in preparing for football matches. It was the headlines in all the newspapers yesterday and it was the same today. It isn't what we want."
It is not the first time that a trip into Europe has been overshadowed by Bellamy's misdemeanours and Souness is determined to put a stop to such incidents. The former Blackburn boss showed the door to several high profile players during his time at Ewood Park and it seems that Bellamy is in danger of following in the footsteps of Andy Cole, Dwight Yorke and David Dunn.
The build-up to last season's Uefa Cup tie at Real Mallorca was soured by a violent clash between the striker and Sir Bobby Robson's assistant manager John Carver before the squad had even left Newcastle Airport.
Bellamy declined all interview requests before yesterday's flight to Athens and wore a stony expression as he posed for pictures with United supporters unaware of the unfolding crisis.
And Souness, although keen to draw a line under the matter during his early morning press conference, has left all his players in no doubt that he will not tolerate the kind of indiscipline which is perceived to have dogged United in recent times.
"It has to be addressed and it cannot go on," said the former Blackburn manager, who, until now, has been reluctant to discuss the question of off-the-field indiscretions.
"From a football person looking at this club from the outside before I came, it was an obvious problem that there were simply too many stories in the newspapers which had nothing to do with football. It does not happen at Manchester United or Arsenal or at any club which wins things.
"We don't need people going out and getting into trouble with the police, we don't need people getting into the newspapers for the wrong reasons. That isn't right."
Souness named an 18-man squad for the four-hour flight to the Greek capital yesterday. There was no place for the injured Patrick Kluivert or Kieron Dyer but Titus Bramble and Shola Ameobi did travel. Tony Caig was a last minute addition to the United squad yesterday. United's third-choice goalkeeper had not been due to travel but, with Shay Given's wife Jane expecting the couple's first child any day, Souness is determined to plan for all eventualities.
Steve Harper will be an able deputy should Given return to Tyneside before tomorrow's game.
And the unexpected presence of Caig will ensure that the Magpies have plenty of cover.
martinweng
20-10-2004, 07:42 PM
if bellamy does not keep his mouth shut and swearing in every game, thats not bellamy...
bellamy is like robbie savage, they are adored by home fans but detested by fans in away games...
strangely enuff, both are welsh
i like savage..i hope he will come to newcastle..
i wan see bellamy VS savage VS souness..
Theychosenone
20-10-2004, 08:10 PM
Although he's already 30 years old, Robbie Savage would have been a good buy. Watch him closely and you can see his array of skills is grossly underestimated by many. He has very good passing range, which many don't notice when they are distracted by his aggression, (over)commitment and strong tackling. :s8:
Nicky Butt is good enough though. :)
savage and souness will fight man!
dbchoong
20-10-2004, 10:13 PM
Besides me, who else thinks that Bellamy have a serious problem with his hairdresser?
Cannot stand him having to keep flicking his hair throughout the game. Some time during the Charlton game, he collected the ball, flicked his hair and started his dribbling... :s8:
What's worse, he actually looks pretty bad with this new hairstyle. Just don't suit him... :super:
kraze
20-10-2004, 11:03 PM
dont really bother much about his hairstyle as long as he likes it and he starts putting more balls into the net, i'm happy. but the fracas thing sounds a little worrying.
dbchoong
21-10-2004, 12:35 AM
There's some rumour in howaythetoon.com forum that Bellamy might be exchanged with Chelsea's out of favour Damien Duff this January. Not sure true or not.
If true, by end of the season, we'll be short of strikers - with only Kluivert and Ameobi left... :P
dreamer75
21-10-2004, 12:36 AM
Oct 20 2004
By The Evening Chronicle
Michael Martin, of Newcastle United fanzine True Faith, tells us why he is concerned about the addition of a new chapter entitled 'Betrayed' in Sir Bobby Robson's biography.
News that Sir Bobby Robson is to release an updated version of his biography with the additional chapter 'Betrayal', in which he is alleged to have blamed Freddy Shepherd and Alan Shearer for his exit from Newcastle United, is disappointing in the extreme.
Robson, despite being sacked, just about managed to retain the respect of supporters but this book's additional chapter is likely to test that affection to the limit.
Some of the early sightings of the new chapter state that Robson felt Shearer should have done more to quell player indiscipline at our club.
If true, this is truly astonishing. I am yet to see the job description for the holder of the captain's armband but the discipline and conduct of the players is the responsibility of the manager alone.
To suggest otherwise is nonsense and may give us an insight into the mind of a man whose public perception is one of a favourite uncle but for which the reality may be somewhat different.
The additional chapter is said to express a disappointment in Shearer, who Robson considers he revived following the abysmal management of Ruud Gullit.
Of course, there is another way of looking at this and it is that much of the success Robson enjoyed at St James' Park came as a result of the leadership and goals of our beloved Lion of Gosforth.
It is difficult to imagine us getting anywhere near the Champions League with nuggets like Carl Cort leading the line.
Further, the role of Shepherd in bringing players to the club is discussed, with some talk of the chairman bringing in Nicky Butt and Patrick Kluivert rather than Robson.
If that is the case, perhaps our chairman should have intervened earlier and we'd not have wasted millions on Cort, Bramble, Bassedas, Viana, Gavilan, etc.
That he contemplated flogging Shearer to Liverpool and then Celtic caused this black-and-white soldier to question his motives.
Shearer is an iconic figure in the history of Newcastle United and attempting to sell him at this stage of his career is, in my opinion, akin to the foolishness of attempting to drop Jackie Milburn from the 1955 FA Cup final.
Robson claims to be a Newcastle United supporter but he seems strangely ignorant of the place his captain occupies in its history as one of its most-loved sons and arguably greatest player.
No-one other than Robson was responsible for his handling of the appalling situation with Kieron Dyer at the start of the season.
That Dyer had the audacity to refuse to play in an allocated position is one thing. That Robson put him on the bench and then played him again so soon after this farrago was straightforwardly wrong.
Dyer has let NUFC and Robson down time and time again and should have been immediately transfer-listed and sent into internal exile pending his departure.
I could not imagine Wenger, Ferguson or even Souness tolerating such insurrection.
When Robson was sacked at United, the dissatisfaction was not that he was going but that he should have gone much earlier.
Robson's dissatisfaction at his pay-off being in monthly instalments is unlikely to win much sympathy on Tyneside, where few of us have much experience of getting anything without having to work damned hard for it.
Robson has breathed in too much of the rarefied air of the Premiership if he thinks his personal financial situation will curry much favour in the North East.
I wonder also if Robson will cover his relationship with the Toon Army, which became ever more fractious, in the additional chapter.
Muppets and budgerigars are one matter but the rant our ex-manager is said to have had unwittingly on camera against supporters who left SJP en masse following the last home game of last season is quite another. That would make interesting viewing.
Robson failed to realise United are not followed by forelock-tugging serfs in thrall to celebrity but by an informed and independent-thinking public.
Sir Bobby Robson should do what many of his charges failed to do at NUFC - keep it shut.
Souness has steadied the ship
Graeme Souness has proven there was not much wrong with our squad and remains unbeaten since he picked up the reins at Gallowgate.
Souness' game plan seems to be wholly driven by pragmatism - he'll play the team to get the result with the ambitions of individuals subsumed within the team ethic.
It remains early days but we look a harder team to beat with the new man in the dugout and I am firmly of the conviction that with Sir Bobby Robson at the helm we'd have lost at both Charlton and Birmingham.
Craig Bellamy may be undiplomatic but what he does not lack is an appetite and hunger. The lad wants to play - anger is an energy!
One player who has undergone a renaissance under Souness is Jermaine Jenas. So often listless and playing on the edges of games last season, JJ has looked reinvigorated and his performance for England against Azerbaijan and for us against Charlton were excellent. He put in full games of technique and industry.
We still have a distance to travel before we can gate-crash the Top 3 Club - and will need two centre-halves of real quality to do that - but we are definitely moving in the right direction, even if it won't happen this season or possibly even next.
dreamer75
21-10-2004, 12:37 AM
Oct 20 2004
Graeme Souness will make a late decision on whether to start Craig Bellamy against Panionios tomorrow after giving the striker the "mother of all rollickings".
Bellamy had vented his anger at being substituted at Charlton on Sunday with a verbal volley aimed at Souness, which had been picked up by TV cameras at The Valley.
And yesterday morning Souness had a showdown with Bellamy at the club's training ground at Darsley Park in front of the rest of the first-team squad.
Souness forcibly made his point, telling Bellamy exactly how he expected him to behave in future. But when the Wales international answered back, his manager grabbed him by the throat and the two had to be separated before Souness left the room.
The row stunned those players gathered for the meeting, who had up to now only seen the milder side of Souness.
An insider said: "Craig Bellamy was told in no uncertain terms that he had stepped out of line. It was the mother of all rollickings."
Souness, speaking today for the first time about yesterday's confrontation, told the Chronicle:
"We had a meeting yesterday. My aim is to try and keep our business in-house as much as possible without our supporters, not the public, being starved of information.
"What happened yesterday was a case of me pointing out what I expect from our players. Over the past week we've made headlines for the wrong reasons and I'm determined to stamp out non-footballing stories.
"Our supporters need to know what is going on at this football club but it has to be footballing stories that people are reading.
"The players are aware of how I think about non-footballing stories taking our eye off the ball. We have a big European game tomorrow and we don't need distractions."
Bellamy did not train well after the incident, and Souness will gauge tonight in the final training session before tomorrow night's game whether he is in the right frame of mind for the UEFA Cup group stage fixture.
After training yesterday the players headed to Newcastle Airport for the team flight to Athens, and Bellamy was clearly unhappy when he arrived to check-in.
At The Valley he had been restored up front alongside Alan Shearer and his goal against Charlton has almost been forgotten amid the furore.
And with Patrick Kluivert back on Tyneside for treatment and Shola Ameobi having suffered a slight reaction following his return from a hip injury, Souness is short on options up front.
Ameobi trained yesterday but he is still in pain from the injury and another alternative would be to play James Milner or Laurent Robert in a more advanced role.
But Souness will be hoping that he has drawn a line under the episode, and that Bellamy is ready to play against Panionios.
Meanwhile Bellamy's bust-up with Souness brought different reactions from members of the Chronicle's Punters Panel.
Shaun Kelly said: "I don't think Bellamy's outburst was directed at the manager at such. I think it was just borne out of frustration.
"Craig is passionate about his football and passionate about the club - and it says a lot about him that he did not want to leave the field even though he'd played two tiring matches for Wales inside the previous week.
"I do not blame him even one per cent for what he did. More power to him I say - we need more players like him in the team."
But Neil Mitchell said: "Craig Bellamy chose to make his displeasure at being substituted known in public before a big TV audience.
"That forced Souness to deal with the issue through the media rather than being able to concentrate on Thursday's match. It should have been resolved quietly behind closed doors.
"However, I am very impressed with the way Souness has handled the issue. He has a reputation for standing for no nonsense from players and this has proved that again.
"It also makes a refreshing change from the way Sir Bobby Robson used to handle incidents like this."
dreamer75
21-10-2004, 12:42 AM
By Matthew Jones - October 20 2004
Ruud Gullit claims that the reason he resigned from Newcastle was the problems in the dressing room. The problems are still at the St James' Park club, and the former Magpies' boss has wished Graeme Souness the best of luck.
Gullit said:
"When I was at Newcastle it was a more difficult period than at Chelsea. The reason I resigned from Newcastle is still happening at the moment.
"The reasons for leaving there meant it was the right thing to do. After four or five years it has not changed, the same things are happening which is unfortunate for the club.
"The interviews I have seen recently with Robson show me that nothing has changed. That is sad for the club. I wish Graeme Souness well."
dreamer75
21-10-2004, 01:01 AM
There's some rumour in howaythetoon.com forum that Bellamy might be exchanged with Chelsea's out of favour Damien Duff this January. Not sure true or not.
If true, by end of the season, we'll be short of strikers - with only Kluivert and Ameobi left... :P
not surprisedif such rumouurs start popping out after the outburst...hope not true..
waynez
21-10-2004, 09:36 AM
tonite is the kick off to the new system for UEFA CUP... good luck newcastle...
yenyenpark
21-10-2004, 10:04 AM
tonite is the kick off to the new system for UEFA CUP... good luck newcastle...
no really lei... actually after the knockout of this special system, some of the CL teams will join us for the fight... eg Roma or etc.. :s8:
daveaha
21-10-2004, 10:17 AM
Hi all,
Another gathering is coming....
Live Match: NUFC v Man City Sunday 24 October 10pm & we will gather at The Penny Black upstairs Snug Bar to watch, so do join us!!
www.nufcsingapore.com
martinweng
21-10-2004, 10:47 AM
chelsea dun need an welsh international to play in reserve..
and btw, we cannot afford to lose bellamy..
i rather Souness go than Bellamy..
dreamer75
21-10-2004, 10:55 AM
no really lei... actually after the knockout of this special system, some of the CL teams will join us for the fight... eg Roma or etc.. :s8:
Porto is one potential candidate :)
waynez
21-10-2004, 01:17 PM
maybe after this morning matches, u might even see Arsenal in the next stage of the UEFA CUP haha
maybe.hope newcastle can get easier opponents along the way
waynez
21-10-2004, 03:45 PM
maybe.hope newcastle can get easier opponents along the way
frankly speaking... newcastle got the players and abilities to bring any team down but... DON'T always have the "mood" to do so... tats fact..haha... when they are on form, and when like no-mood to play, its heaven and earth aparts for the final result...
if you are their fans, you should know what i mean...
yenyenpark
21-10-2004, 04:16 PM
frankly speaking... newcastle got the players and abilities to bring any team down but... DON'T always have the "mood" to do so... tats fact..haha... when they are on form, and when like no-mood to play, its heaven and earth aparts for the final result...
if you are their fans, you should know what i mean...
TRUE... it depends on how eager the players want the silverware.. we even took down Juventus before... we r strong.. but of course we also hav many things to resolve too.. :frus:
Do u all think Bellamy will play later?
yenyenpark
21-10-2004, 04:45 PM
Do u all think Bellamy will play later?
think he will..
revenant
21-10-2004, 05:07 PM
think he will..
And hope he will.
Anyway, whos staying up with me?
dreamer75
21-10-2004, 05:09 PM
Panionios Vs Newcastle United
Date: Thursday 21 October 2004
Kick Off: 7.30pm BST
Venue: Nea Smyrni Stadium
Ref: Roberto Rosetti (Italy)
Comp: UEFA Cup Group D
Match Preview In Association With Toon Ale
Click Here For Howaythetoon's Panionios Fact File!
Once again Newcastle go into a match on the back of controversy and none footballing headlines but if there is one thing that can vanquish tales of "Toon Woe" (for a few days anyway...) it is a thumping win on foreign soil and that will be at the forefront of Souness' mind as he leads his United team out in Athens against the unknowns of Panionios at the Nea Smyrni Stadium.
Souness must put confrontations and personal grudges aside and select a team to go out, do a job and get back hyem intact, ready for the visit of a former Toon legend on Sunday. Indeed his players must also share the same bullish attitude because this match has humdinger written all over it.
Little is known of Panionios but any side that dumps out an Italian outfit in Europe must be encountered with respect and caution. Newcastle can just as easily thrash the Greek team or be on the end of a shock home win. Selection will play a significant role in the outcome and Souness will have a few posers to mull over.
Does he start with Craig Bellamy given what has went on since Sunday or does he pick Shola Ameobi? If he was deciding on dropping the Welshman he may have to alter those plans as Ameobi is struggling for fitness according to reports so that may be one decision that makes itself. And what of Laurent Robert, does he continue to ignore the Frenchman and let Darren Ambrose keep his place or does he unleash that balance, creativity and crossing precision that we lack when he sits on the bench? Barring injuries prior to the match the back-four will pick itself and only the news of a little Shay entering the world can keep the Irishman out it seems. In midfield Jermaine Jenas and Bowyer will almost certainly play in the centre leaving the two flanks as the two positions open.
Love or hate Souness' selections, it beats knowing that the same players week in week out will play regardless of form and in some instances under Sir Bobby, fitness. It will be interesting and intriguing as to future events that may or may not take place as to just which 11 Souness does put out.
Either way, if we play to our strengths, work hard and maintain a level of composure and discipline, nothing less than a win should prevail. Good luck Souey and the lads.
dreamer75
21-10-2004, 05:10 PM
Likely Lineup:
Given
Carr
O'Brien
Elliott
Bernard
Milner
Jenas
Bowyer
Robert
Shearer
Bellamy
Player watch
Panionios
Player: Mario Breska
Position: Striker
Shirt: No. 28
Nationality: Slovakia
Small pacey forward, Breska is the man Panionios rely on to get goals. Recently capped by his country Slovakia after a few years in the wilderness where he failed to live up to his early promise that saw him titled Slovakia's 'Talent of the Year' back in 2001. The equivalent of the PFA Young player of the year award. With Panionios however he has developed into somewhat of a dangerous attacker and a cult hero on the stands. Apparently he is attracting the attention of a "host of European clubs" and he will relish the opportunity to score against Newcastle. Panionios' best and most dangerous player and one to watch.
For The Toon: Craig Bellamy
After all that has went on in Craig world these past few days the best way to patch things up with team-mates, fans and Souness alike is by going out onto the pitch and doing what he does best - creating havoc, creating chances and scaring the life out of the opposition. Bellamy doesn't need fired up at the best of times but you can bet your life he will be fired up for this one and that can only mean bad news for the Greeks, and good news for us. Providing he gets selected that is...
NUFC Squad News & Pre-Match Reaction
Manager Graeme Souness on the match:
"We have to expect the worst. We're going to go there and I'm sure it won't be a pitch that we will like.
"The word is that it's a bobbly old pitch but we'll have to deal with that.
"We'll be playing against players who offer something different to the Premiership, but I expect us to deal with it and deal with it well.
"We have to respect everybody we play. We've had them watched. We must give them the utmost respect, we've all be down that road. If you have been in football five minutes you have been down that road.
"What we must not do is go to Athens thinking it will be an easy game. I don't think if we go there and win 3-0 we will have a stranglehold on the group - I've been in the game too long.
"Nothing will be settled after tomorrow - win, lose or draw. It's what happens in the coming games in this group.
"We're looking forward to it but we're not taking it for granted.
"We must do what we did in Israel. We didn't get involved in what they wanted. We played football and scored our goals.
"I'm told that they are not as physical as the Israeli team. All 10 of their outfield players wanted to leave their feet in and be quite mischievous.
"This time we're confronted with a different challenge."
United squad:
Given, Harper, Carr, Hughes, Elliott, O'Brien, Bramble, Taylor, Bernard, Ambrose, Jenas, Bowyer, Robert, Milner, Brittain, Shearer, Bellamy, Ameobi.
Panionios Squad
Panionios squad:
TBC
The Referee
Roberto Rosetti
Notoriously difficult, fussy and melodramatic referee from Italy who seems to be at the centre of most controversial moments in Serie A. Not the greatest ref we could have been giving for this game but if we don't do nothing silly we should be OK. What concerns me however is diving and cheating from the home side, with a similar temperament to the Greeks and used to this kind of gamesmanship back home in Italy, Rosetti could let a lot of things go unpunished. Lets hope he has a good, quiet game.
Prediction
A hard game to call given what very little is actually known about the opposition but Newcastle seem to be more at ease against European teams and are a match for anyone, never mind a small Greek team. A close, 1-0 victory for our lot with Craig Bellamy scoring the winner.
dreamer75
21-10-2004, 05:11 PM
Souness lays down the law to Bellamy
Jon Brodkin in Athens
Thursday October 21, 2004
The Guardian
Craig Bellamy has been told by Newcastle's manager Graeme Souness that he will have no future at St James' Park if he continues to attract publicity for reasons that have nothing to do with his performances on the pitch.
Souness spelled that out at a squad meeting he called on Tuesday in the wake of an incident involving Bellamy last weekend, when the Wales striker appeared to swear at his manager on being substituted midway through the second half at Charlton. Though Souness's words were not directed solely at Bellamy, the subtext seems plain.
Souness and Bellamy ended up arguing, increasing the ill-feeling between the former Coventry player and his manager, and the fallout of the past four days could see Bellamy leave Newcastle during January's transfer window.
Souness has taken a firm tone without suggesting his relationship with Bellamy is irreparable, though it is unclear whether Bellamy shares that sentiment. He has not been happy in any event at spending time on the wing rather than as a central striker. What is plain is that Souness will not tolerate behaviour such as Bellamy's on Sunday, which was captured on television.
"What happened yesterday [at the meeting] was a case of me pointing out what I expect from our players," Souness said. "Over the past week we have made headlines for the wrong reasons and I am determined to stamp out non-football matters.
"Our supporters need to know what is going on at this football club but it has to be footballing stories that people are writing. The players are aware of how I think of non-footballing stories taking our eye off the ball. We have a big European game tomorrow and we don't need distractions."
Souness reiterated the point in his pre-match press conference. "I'm not here to talk about anything other than what's going to happen tomorrow night in the 90 minutes. Don't waste your breath because I won't be answering any questions on it."
The European game is this evening's opening Uefa Cup group match against Panionios. It is not certain whether Bellamy will start and Souness would be making a big statement if he chose not to play the 25-year-old given that Patrick Kluivert has not travelled to Greece because of a hamstring injury.
The obvious alternative strike partner for Alan Shearer would be Shola Ameobi, who replaced Bellamy at The Valley but whose fitness needs to be judged after he suffered a reaction to a hip injury. Otherwise Laurent Robert could be moved in from the left wing.
Souness acknowledges that attack is Newcastle's best form of defence. "If you look at the players we have, we are geared to going forward and getting after teams and scoring goals," he said. "We're not a team that will set our stall out and try and get a nil-nil. It's been widely acknowledged that the strongest part of our team would be our front six and we'll try and play to our strengths.
"I think if people score against us, so what? Our attitude is that we can score two against them and I'm very much aware that people who support our club want it to be."
Souness will want maximum focus against Panionios, who finished sixth in Greece last season but have suffered three defeats in four matches.
"We are going into the unknown," he said. "We've got videos of them and we had them watched at the weekend but what we must do is give them respect.
"It doesn't matter who you play. If you think it's a formality and go out there thinking it's only the Greek league and it's only a small team from the Greek league and it's only a case of us turning up, you'll end up with a red face with embarrassment because they'll be fit and organised and they'll be confident because their national team are the European champions."
dreamer75
21-10-2004, 05:11 PM
Dyer to follow Bellamy out of Newcastle
By Jason Burt in Athens
21 October 2004
Graeme Souness is facing the loss of two of his young stars in the January transfer window. Both Kieron Dyer and Craig Bellamy are lining up moves away from Newcastle United.
While Bellamy, who is embroiled in a row with his new manager, is considering putting in a transfer request and may look to move overseas, Dyer is thought to be the target of a surprise bid from Manchester United.
No approach has been made as yet for Dyer but he and Bellamy, both 25, are believed to be confident that they will secure moves in the new year. Both players have had colourful, at times tempestuous, careers at St James' Park.
The news will be a test to Souness, but if they leave it will give him the funds to reshape his side. There is already cash available and he is considering a bid for Chelsea's Damien Duff, but knows that he also has to strengthen his defence and find reinforcements in attack.
Yesterday Souness confirmed that he had had a meeting with the first-team squad to discuss Bellamy's behaviour after the Welsh international directed abuse at the manager following his substitution at the weekend. "We had a meeting," Souness said when asked about the confrontation which took place at the club's Darsley Park training ground on Tuesday prior to the flight to Athens for today's Uefa Cup tie against Panionios. Sources at Newcastle claim the exchange became heated after Bellamy again spoke out. Souness delivered "the mother of all rollickings," according to one.
However, Souness said yesterday: "What happened was a case of me pointing out what I expect from our players. Over the past week we've made headlines for the wrong reasons and I'm determined to stamp out non-footballing stories. Our supporters need to know what is going on at this football club but it has to be footballing stories that people are reading. The players are aware of how I think about non-footballing stories taking our eye off the ball. We have a big European game tomorrow and we don't need distractions."
Bellamy did not train after the incident and his whereabouts on the team-sheet may prove a clue as to what future Souness believes he has at the club.
With Patrick Kluivert absent, as he recovers from a hamstring problem and surgery to remove a wisdom tooth, and Shola Ameobi struggling with a recurrence of a hip injury, it would seem certain that Bellamy would partner Alan Shearer in attack. However, Souness's feelings are so strong that he may play Laurent Robert or James Milner further forward and consign Bellamy to the bench.
It has all served to over-shadow today's tie against a side who finished only sixth in the Greek league last season and who have lost three of their last four league matches. However, Souness was also quick to guard against complacency, especially as Panionios defeated another team in black-and-white strips, Udinese, to reach the Uefa Cup group stages.
"We are going into the unknown," Souness said. "We had them watched at the weekend but what we must do is give them respect. They'll be fit and organised and they'll be confident because their national team are the European champions."
Souness added: "The game that all the teams in this group are looking forward to is the Newcastle game and we must understand that. We are the big glamorous team from the English Premiership."
Souness is also concerned that Newcastle may not have the defensive nous to cope at the Nea Smymi Stadium. "If you look at the players we have, we are geared to going forward and getting after teams and scoring goals," he said. "We're not a team that will set our stall out and try and get a nil-nil."
http://sport.independent.co.uk/football/newcastle/story.jsp?story=574452
dreamer75
21-10-2004, 05:13 PM
ROBSON GIVES BELLAMY WARNING
Thursday 21 October 2004
Ex-Newcastle United boss Sir Bobby Robson has warned Graeme Souness that he will never be able to curb Craig Bellamy's fiery temper.
CRAIG BELLAMY
The Welshman had two angry clashes with Souness earlier in the week and his future at St James' Park now appears to be in doubt.
The situation is all too familiar to Robson, but he still believes that Bellamy's performances are worth the trouble.
"I fear Craig will never change - and don't talk to me about trying," the former England manager told The Sun.
"We must have spoken on 30 or so occasions as I tried to appeal to his better nature.
"I have handed him hefty fines - but at the end of the day I'd love him to be remembered for his football. He is a great player, one who excites supporters.
Play Multiplayer Golf Just one of several amazing sports games available to play free or for cash prizes. Win over £15,000 now...
"I would always stand by him because he has genuine talent, with unbelievable pace and a burning desire to win something, hopefully still for Newcastle United.
"But, unfortunately, he does seem to bring problems upon himself. He is the only man I know who could start an argument with himself.
"He always has his own point of view, he is always invariably right and is never wrong. It wasn't worth arguing with him. He could be so infuriating."
Robson also had words of praise for the controversial forward, adding: "When he is on the field, he gives nothing less than 100 per cent, the perfect pro in so many ways.
"He is always a superb trainer and no one I have ever known works harder to recover from serious injury. His work ethic is phenomenal.
"Craig loves the training field, he was never late for training and often we would have to almost drag him off it.
"He has a genuine love and excitement for the game and his work-rate and enthusiasm to better himself is a joy.
"There is nothing wrong with this part of his make-up, he was a pleasure to work with out there."
dreamer75
21-10-2004, 05:17 PM
predctions, guys?
My pick : 1-0 away win for us
daveaha
21-10-2004, 05:18 PM
And hope he will.
Anyway, whos staying up with me?
Me.
Anyway, to confirm.... The game is live right ?
If I 'm not wrong, it'll be on ch 22, @ 2.25 am.
CCMIW :)
HOWAY THE LADS !
Coolsmurf
21-10-2004, 05:55 PM
will be watching tomorrow morning!!! howay the toon!
martinweng
21-10-2004, 07:11 PM
we will come away with nothing, 0-0 is the scoreline to be brought to SJP.
:sad: tat will be boring
dbchoong
21-10-2004, 08:50 PM
Prediction? Tough lah... know nothing about the opposition. Think Newcastle will be able to overcome them.
So, simply whack type of prediction: Newcastle win 2-0.
yenyenpark
21-10-2004, 09:10 PM
there is no return leg, so must go all out, else in 4 games, we might not even qualify...
since EPL champ is impossible, UEFA should be another battle ground for us.. :bandit:
yenyenpark
21-10-2004, 09:27 PM
Bellamy says 'sorry' to Souness
Newcastle striker Craig Bellamy today apologised to manager Graeme Souness following their clash earlier this week.
Craig Bellamy: Outspoken striker. (JohnWalton/Empics)
As the Welshman prepared for tonight's UEFA Cup tie with Panionios in Athens, he attempted to clear the air after his training ground bust-up with Souness, which was sparked by his reaction to being substituted at Charlton on Sunday.
'I was out of order for what I did at the Valley on Sunday and I want to apologise to the manager,' he said.
'I knew within 10 seconds what I did was wrong and I have tried to say so, but really I haven't had the chance because of other things that have happened.
'My outburst wasn't really aimed at the manager on Sunday but more at the situation.
'Call me old fashioned if you want, but my view when a player is substituted is that he has been ineffective, and I didn't feel I was ineffective against Charlton Athletic.'
The showdown between manager and player took place at the club's training headquarters on Tuesday a matter of hours before the Magpies party flew out to Greece for tonight's game.
Souness was furious at Bellamy's reaction to being substituted and let him know in no uncertain terms as he reminded his squad of their responsibilities on and off the pitch.
The Scot refused to discuss the incident further at his pre-match press conference at the Nea Smymi Stadium last night and the 25-year-old striker later trained with his team-mates.
He seems likely to start in attack alongside skipper Alan Shearer as Newcastle attempt to launch the group stage with a victory, and he is desperate to rebuild his relationship with the club's fans after another flashpoint led to suggestions that he could be offloaded.
'I know there is only so much the club and the fans can take and I know I have been to blame for what has happened in the past,' he said. 'But I also know that I have achieved nothing in this game.
'And not only that, I know I will never get a better club than Newcastle United. There is no other club I want to play for and it would be a dream for me stay here for the rest of my career.'
Souness has vowed to stamp out indiscipline at the club after initially suggesting he would take a more laidback approach.
Bellamy, who has more than once hit the headlines for the wrong reasons, insists he is happy to toe the line.
'I haven't any problems with what the manager is trying to do,' he told the Evening Chronicle. 'My own personal situation has changed so much that I hardly ever go out these days.
'Since the arrival of Patrick Kluivert, we have a lot of top strikers here and I have never been as determined at any time in my career as I am at this moment in time.
'I can only look at the next two-and-half years I have left on my contract here and hope to help this club win something.
'There are two routes I can go down and I know which one I will be taking. I have never failed to give 100% whichever club I have been to, and that includes Newcastle United.
'They are a fantastic club with fantastic fans and I want to be part of a Newcastle United team that wins something.
'And my only thoughts today are tonight's match here in Athens and giving everything I can for the club, the fans and the manager.'
ZhiQiang
22-10-2004, 01:32 AM
here are my predictions for tonite uefa cup match...
newcastle win 20% conifdence
newcastle draw 50% confidence
newcastle lose 30% confidence...
hello8985
22-10-2004, 01:34 AM
hello mod...
u like castle ar???
i think DRAW cos they draw king =)
kraze
22-10-2004, 01:59 AM
Me.
Anyway, to confirm.... The game is live right ?
If I 'm not wrong, it'll be on ch 22, @ 2.25 am.
CCMIW :)
HOWAY THE LADS !
will be watching.. cant wait for the match up :s22:
dreamer75
22-10-2004, 02:14 AM
21st October 2004
Well, not quite Solano himself. Although the very thought of the little Peruvian making a return home would be appealing in itself - hell, I'd be the first to carry him on my shoulders across the Tyne Bridge and up Barrack Road, he's small enough. No, we need a player with all those skills that he possesed and showed at St. James' Park. Forget Damien Duff, we already have a capable left-winger - it's CREATIVITY, CRAFT, GUILE, SPARKLE and CLEVERNESS that we need - and badly. In the form of a *playmaker. More to the point one Lee Bowyer needs this player because it is he (and ultimetly us) who will benefit most from having a Solono-esque player in the team.
We don't have anyone capable of spotting a run and having the brain and deftness to deliver the ball to a runner. Not since Solano was disgracefuly sold for a pittance (aye I'm still bitter). Nobby took over Peter Beardsley's role at NUFC and although he didn't reach the heights that only Pedro could, he did make us sparkle, he did create goals and openings for his fellow team-mates.
Looking at our team now, we don't have that anymore and this, I believe, is one of the major reasons why we struggle away from home and why we keep churning out draws. We struggle to kill off teams. To finish them off. It's not for the want of trying, but when we invarioubly take the lead (which we have done 7 times this season), we sit back to protect that lead - a neccasary tactic on the road. This is where a Nobby Solano can make all the difference as he did down the years at grounds where we needed that killer goal. The craft, cleverness, guile and alround creativity I touched on above is what creates openings in tight games. What can get you a goal out of nothing. What changes a 1-0 lead to a 2-0 lead. What changes a 1-1 draw to a 2-1 win.
On Sunday at the Valley we had Lee Bowyer getting into great positions, as he always does and will, but the pass never come or looked like coming (Bellamy deciding to shoot) or when it did, it wasn't good enough (Robert's over-hit through ball). Had Nobby Solano or a player with his brain and execution on the ball been wearing the Black & White against Charlton, Bowyer would have been found, Bowyer would have scored, and we would have won. Of that I have no doubt! That's the difference at the moment in our attacking game. At home, teams come to the Old Gallowgate and are already beaten before they step onto the pitch. We haven't played well at SJP for a long time now yet we keep chalking up these big wins - scoring goals isn't a problem at home nor is winning. On the road however, it's a different matter. On both counts.
This is more to do with the attacking side of our game than our defensive frailties. Of course we need new centre-halfs (quality ones) but even last season with Woodgate and a pretty decent defensive record, we still failed to hang onto leads, to kill teams off. Back then, and to some extent now, the game plan was/is to create from the flanks - which is so easy to defend against. Most of our goals on the road last season come from set-pieces which is hard to defend against. However it is rare to win a game by scoring all your goals from set-pieces, you need variation and different tactics. Chelsea struggle to break teams down and to find that killer pass because they don't have any real creativity in midfield - lots of running but nobody to find that killer pass. Just like us. They do have a great defence so they will not lose many leads. Not like us. They won't win the League though because it's goals that win Leagues, not 1-0 wins and 0-0 draws.
We, as we know, have a crap defence and although our real priority is to strengthen it with quality centre-halfs, the lack of creativity from midfield must not be ignored because even with a good defence, we will still need to kill teams off on the road. Scoring goals is the only way how.
I can't see Damien Duff spotting the run of Bowyer from 50-yards and dropping the ball into his path. He of course would bring a different dimension to our attacking game, mainly getting to the byeline and that would bring with it obvious attacking benefits, but I'd prefer a bit of craft and creativity from midfield and so would Bowyer who's fruitless forays into the opposition box are not bringing him the goals thats his game deserves. Goals we need from the centre of midfield. Is it any coincidence that he hasn't scored this season? He will get goals for sure, but he would get a hell of a lot more if we had some brains and quality on the ball in midfield. Butt's job is to destroy and keep it simple. Robert is not a great passer of the ball nor does he have the vision to spot a run. What he can do is whip in a great cross and pack a powerhouse shot. JJ doesn't have the vision nor skills either to deliver a killer pass - nobody at NUFC does. Maybe Kluivert but he's a striker. We want him getting on the end of things and doing all his work in and around the opposition's box.
If Souness has the money to splash out on Duff (as well as a decent centre-half or two), I'd love that money to go to Fulham for Steed Malbranque who would kill two birds with one stone. He'd solve what is fast becoming a problematic right-flank (any of JJ, Dire, Brittain, Ambrose and Milner just isn't good enough long term). Malbranque has those twinkle toes, that vision, that sparkle and that creativity about him that we lack. Furthermore he works his socks off, can play in a variety of positions and chips in with a fair few goals himself. If anyone needs any pointers as to just how creative he is, look at the number of goals Saha scored for the Cottagers - most come via the vision and execution of Malbranque.
He's exactly what we need and I'm sure we could do a deal with Fulham. Maybe swap Dire plus a few quid? Throw in Ambrose if that's what it takes. Either way this is one area of the team that needs fixed sooner rather than later otherwise we will struggle like we are doing, to kill off teams on the road regardless of just how good or poor our defence is.
How much did we sell Nobby for again? :(
*Forget Viana as well... (incase you were thinking...)
kraze
22-10-2004, 03:32 AM
0-0 at halftime
yenyenpark
22-10-2004, 07:35 AM
0-0 at halftime
Panionios 0-1 Newcastle: FT Report
PA
Alan Shearer stole Craig Bellamy's thunder to clinch a vital 1-0 UEFA Cup victory over Panionios with a late, late penalty.
Shola Ameobi is tripped for the penalty (ShaunBotterill/GettyImages)
Shearer: 'It was hard work'
The 34-four-old converted coolly from the spot after 87 minutes after substitute Shola Ameobi had been tripped by defender Grigoris Makos to ensure that the Magpies opened their Group D campaign with an away win.
It was just about what Graeme Souness' men deserved after a performance which improved from unpromising beginnings as the game wore on, although it took Shearer's seventh goal of the season and 21st in Europe for his hometown club to finally kill off the stubborn Greeks and extend his side's unbeaten run to eight games.
The stage was set for the Welshman to answer his critics with a rip-roaring performance after apologising to his manager for an outburst sparked by his substitution against Charlton. But if he failed to deliver in the opening 45 minutes - neither his work rate nor commitment were ever in question - he was far from the biggest culprit.
The Magpies turned in a lacklustre display against distinctly ordinary opposition as Jermaine Jenas found support from his midfield colleagues Lee Bowyer, Laurent Robert and James Milner in depressingly short supply to leave Bellamy and strike partner Shearer woefully short of ammunition.
Panionios keeper Sorin Colceag was tested only twice in the first half, and on both occasions, proved equal to the task.
Frenchman Robert was first to pull the trigger, atoning for a dreadful 28th-minute free-kick with a blistering follow-up which blazed through a crowded penalty area before being turned firmly away.
Jenas warmed Colceag's hands with an equally well-struck shot 10 minutes before the break, but the England international should have walked off at half-time with his name on the scoresheet.
Colceag could only parry Robert's free-kick, and when the ball fell to the 21-year-old, he neatly side-stepped the cover only to hammer his left-foot effort high over the crossbar from just 10 yards.
The home side were afforded plenty of the ball by Newcastle's failure to secure it on too many occasions, and they might have gone in ahead at the break had expectant father Shay Given not tipped a 23rd-minute Mario Breska header around the post.
Defender Panagiotis Giannopoulos also had two free headers and only got one on target, Given saving comfortably to preserve his clean sheet.
United returned determined to up the tempo and found space twice within minutes as the half unfolded.
First Robert ran on to Bellamy's overhit pass and crossed for Shearer to head under pressure from Gianopoulos straight at Colceag, and then the captain played in the Frenchman once again, but this time his ball was cut out by defender Zil Domoraud.
Influential midfielder Martin Parodi wasted a good opportunity 55 minutes in when he smashed a 25-yard free-kick straight into Olivier Bernard in the defensive wall, but in truth, the crowd got more enjoyment out of the arrival of a stray dog on the pitch a few minutes later.
Bowyer had gone into overdrive in a bid to force his way into the game and picked up a yellow card for a rash 56th-minute challenge on Parodi, but it was the home side who looked the more likely to break the deadlock as the half wore on.
However, Bellamy found himself in on goal after 66 minutes after Robert split the home defence, but his first-time effort was blocked by Colceag.
Alan Shearer holds off Giannopoulos (AdamDavy/Empics)
Souness withdrew the ineffective Milner to send on Shola Ameobi after 67 minutes with Bellamy dropping deeper, and his side quickly created two promising openings.
First Shearer forced a good save from Colceag with a powerful header, but the new arrival should have opened the scoring after 72 minutes when he was presented with a free header at the far post but planted the ball wide.
The Magpies were finally dominating totally and Shearer directed another firm header into the `keeper's arms 12 minutes from time as Robert continued his improvement, but still the breakthrough would not come.
Panionios' lack of adventure was not being well received by the home supporters, and their mood did not improve when Robert cut in from the left and fired the ball into the side-netting.
But the deadlock was finally broken three minutes from time when Ameobi was tripped by Grigoris Makos inside the box and Shearer did what he does best to snatch the points.
Shearer: 'It was hard work'
Alan Shearer admitted Newcastle had been made to work hard for their late 1-0 UEFA Cup victory over Panionios in Athens.
After toiling for 87 minutes without success Shola Ameobi was fouled in the penalty area and Shearer converted the spot-kick with aplomb.
The Newcastle captain said: 'It was hard work. If anyone has been to these places they know how difficult it is - the pitch is poor and the marking is tight.
'You have to dig in for 90 minutes and work hard and you get your rewards. It was a matter of getting that first goal - it just took us 87 minutes to get it.'
The experienced former England international revealed he was slightly nervous as he ran up to take the penalty, knowing how important it was to the club's chances of progression to the knockout stage of the competition.
He continued on ITV2: 'It is a nerve-wracking situation but I've had enough of them (penalties) to get used to them. It is a one-on-one with the goalkeeper, which is what you ask for as a striker. I would be lying if I said my heart wasn't beating a little bit.
'We knew the French (Sochaux beat Dinamo Tbilisi 2-0) had won. Our aim was to finish top of this group so we needed three points from this.'
Bellamy said afterwards: 'It was always going to be tough here - and the pitch was very poor. But we knew it we could keep a clean sheet we stood a good chance of winning.
'We needed a win and these points are very valuable for us.'
The Wales striker was pleased to put the events of the past few days behind him.
Bellamy apologised for his response to manager Graeme Souness' decision to substitute him in the Premiership match at Charlton on Sunday - an apology which was accepted by the Scot tonight.
Bellamy added: 'I love the club - this is the place for me to play.'
Souness kept his praise for skipper Shearer short and to the point after seeing him clinch UEFA Cup victory in Athens with a last-gasp penalty.
'He's a big boy,' Souness said. 'He's used to pressure situations.'
However, Souness was delighted with the way his players remained patient on a difficult pitch and against negative tactics to claim the points.
'We have to be satisfied with the three points in difficult conditions,' he said. 'The tactics of the opposition tonight made life difficult.
'They were similar tactics to the Greek national team when they won the European competition. They didn't get people forward and tried to play on the break.
'We dominated the game throughout and were worthy winners. They showed us great respect by playing like that.
'We thought one goal would be enough. They were never going to step out and make it an open game.
'It would have been better for us if they'd come out at us. I think their tactics were very good tonight. If they'd tried to take us on, we would have scored more than just one goal.
'Their supporters got frustrated and that was a reflection of the way they played, but that's the way they wanted to play and fair play to them.
'I thought we were disciplined throughout, controlled things throughout and the longer the game went on, it was all about whether we were going to get a chance to get a goal.'
The Panionios camp was unhappy with the penalty, which came as Ameobi twisted his way into the box and lured Makos into his unwise challenge.
However, Souness, while admitting he was a long way away, was confident that the Italian referee made the right decision.
'I'm 70 yards away, but it looked like a penalty to me,' he said. 'But you have to give great credit to the Greek team.
'They defended well, they were organised, but we have some very good players and you can't stop all of them all of the time, and that's exactly what happened.'
Panionios boss Karol Pecze was understandably disappointed with the result and the crucial decision, and admitted that his side's hopes of progression from Group D had suffered a blow.
'When you're playing in a group stage, you always try to estimate how many points you will get at home,' he said. 'We wanted to get as many points as we could at home.
'These three have gone, but there are a lot more to play for and we'll keep going.'
Asked about the penalty, he said diplomatically: 'It's always a very difficult decision in a tight match, but the referee had to make it and he gave the penalty.'
yenyenpark
22-10-2004, 07:37 AM
21st October 2004
*Forget Viana as well... (incase you were thinking...)very cheap.. think btwn 2 -5 millions oni..
yenyenpark
22-10-2004, 07:39 AM
but we win.. :love: :s13:
martinweng
22-10-2004, 08:24 AM
:sad: tat will be boring
oh well..i seriously think lady luck should stop helping us anymore..if she wans us to be successful..
give us a late penalty, and wan us to think we are the side who can beat everybody..dats total crap..
the current squad is so pathetic dat if Souness thinks its excellent, he may come and coach S-League..
Coolsmurf
22-10-2004, 08:41 AM
pathetic, we were woeful in passing the ball around, so many times the ball was lost in critical areas, ppl like jenas and especially laurent robert, i can understand why souness dun start him in epl games, he would have costs us goals...
possession wise, we had the lion share of the play, and to win by a late late penalty just shows how woeful our finishing in the final third was, where is kluivert, hope he recovers soon..
21st October 2004
Well, not quite Solano himself. Although the very thought of the little Peruvian making a return home would be appealing in itself - hell, I'd be the first to carry him on my shoulders across the Tyne Bridge and up Barrack Road, he's small enough. No, we need a player with all those skills that he possesed and showed at St. James' Park. Forget Damien Duff, we already have a capable left-winger - it's CREATIVITY, CRAFT, GUILE, SPARKLE and CLEVERNESS that we need - and badly. In the form of a *playmaker. More to the point one Lee Bowyer needs this player because it is he (and ultimetly us) who will benefit most from having a Solono-esque player in the team.
We don't have anyone capable of spotting a run and having the brain and deftness to deliver the ball to a runner. Not since Solano was disgracefuly sold for a pittance (aye I'm still bitter). Nobby took over Peter Beardsley's role at NUFC and although he didn't reach the heights that only Pedro could, he did make us sparkle, he did create goals and openings for his fellow team-mates.
Looking at our team now, we don't have that anymore and this, I believe, is one of the major reasons why we struggle away from home and why we keep churning out draws. We struggle to kill off teams. To finish them off. It's not for the want of trying, but when we invarioubly take the lead (which we have done 7 times this season), we sit back to protect that lead - a neccasary tactic on the road. This is where a Nobby Solano can make all the difference as he did down the years at grounds where we needed that killer goal. The craft, cleverness, guile and alround creativity I touched on above is what creates openings in tight games. What can get you a goal out of nothing. What changes a 1-0 lead to a 2-0 lead. What changes a 1-1 draw to a 2-1 win.
On Sunday at the Valley we had Lee Bowyer getting into great positions, as he always does and will, but the pass never come or looked like coming (Bellamy deciding to shoot) or when it did, it wasn't good enough (Robert's over-hit through ball). Had Nobby Solano or a player with his brain and execution on the ball been wearing the Black & White against Charlton, Bowyer would have been found, Bowyer would have scored, and we would have won. Of that I have no doubt! That's the difference at the moment in our attacking game. At home, teams come to the Old Gallowgate and are already beaten before they step onto the pitch. We haven't played well at SJP for a long time now yet we keep chalking up these big wins - scoring goals isn't a problem at home nor is winning. On the road however, it's a different matter. On both counts.
This is more to do with the attacking side of our game than our defensive frailties. Of course we need new centre-halfs (quality ones) but even last season with Woodgate and a pretty decent defensive record, we still failed to hang onto leads, to kill teams off. Back then, and to some extent now, the game plan was/is to create from the flanks - which is so easy to defend against. Most of our goals on the road last season come from set-pieces which is hard to defend against. However it is rare to win a game by scoring all your goals from set-pieces, you need variation and different tactics. Chelsea struggle to break teams down and to find that killer pass because they don't have any real creativity in midfield - lots of running but nobody to find that killer pass. Just like us. They do have a great defence so they will not lose many leads. Not like us. They won't win the League though because it's goals that win Leagues, not 1-0 wins and 0-0 draws.
We, as we know, have a crap defence and although our real priority is to strengthen it with quality centre-halfs, the lack of creativity from midfield must not be ignored because even with a good defence, we will still need to kill teams off on the road. Scoring goals is the only way how.
I can't see Damien Duff spotting the run of Bowyer from 50-yards and dropping the ball into his path. He of course would bring a different dimension to our attacking game, mainly getting to the byeline and that would bring with it obvious attacking benefits, but I'd prefer a bit of craft and creativity from midfield and so would Bowyer who's fruitless forays into the opposition box are not bringing him the goals thats his game deserves. Goals we need from the centre of midfield. Is it any coincidence that he hasn't scored this season? He will get goals for sure, but he would get a hell of a lot more if we had some brains and quality on the ball in midfield. Butt's job is to destroy and keep it simple. Robert is not a great passer of the ball nor does he have the vision to spot a run. What he can do is whip in a great cross and pack a powerhouse shot. JJ doesn't have the vision nor skills either to deliver a killer pass - nobody at NUFC does. Maybe Kluivert but he's a striker. We want him getting on the end of things and doing all his work in and around the opposition's box.
If Souness has the money to splash out on Duff (as well as a decent centre-half or two), I'd love that money to go to Fulham for Steed Malbranque who would kill two birds with one stone. He'd solve what is fast becoming a problematic right-flank (any of JJ, Dire, Brittain, Ambrose and Milner just isn't good enough long term). Malbranque has those twinkle toes, that vision, that sparkle and that creativity about him that we lack. Furthermore he works his socks off, can play in a variety of positions and chips in with a fair few goals himself. If anyone needs any pointers as to just how creative he is, look at the number of goals Saha scored for the Cottagers - most come via the vision and execution of Malbranque.
He's exactly what we need and I'm sure we could do a deal with Fulham. Maybe swap Dire plus a few quid? Throw in Ambrose if that's what it takes. Either way this is one area of the team that needs fixed sooner rather than later otherwise we will struggle like we are doing, to kill off teams on the road regardless of just how good or poor our defence is.
*Forget Viana as well... (incase you were thinking...)
very true.we need a playmaker.tats a lack of creativity in the newcastle side.
yenyenpark
22-10-2004, 09:24 AM
pathetic, we were woeful in passing the ball around, so many times the ball was lost in critical areas, ppl like jenas and especially laurent robert, i can understand why souness dun start him in epl games, he would have costs us goals...
possession wise, we had the lion share of the play, and to win by a late late penalty just shows how woeful our finishing in the final third was, where is kluivert, hope he recovers soon..
probably lack of concentration after travelling... anyway, i read tat first half really horrible.. but lucky we pick up the game in second half .. and again, we win... thanks to our strikers of tiredless efford!! kudos to amoebi and shearer.. :s7:
yenyenpark
22-10-2004, 09:31 AM
oh well..i seriously think lady luck should stop helping us anymore..if she wans us to be successful..
give us a late penalty, and wan us to think we are the side who can beat everybody..dats total crap..
the current squad is so pathetic dat if Souness thinks its excellent, he may come and coach S-League..
this is no lady luck in football.. when u r "suay", u can lose in hand of "devil" :bandit:
dbchoong
22-10-2004, 09:35 AM
Tough match last night... it's just so difficult to score against Greeks (hey, their country are Euro champs)...
Newcastle were in control despite poor passing and had countless attempts at goal last night while the Greeks had a few attacks on the breaks. Given did not have really any difficult shots to stop. It was only whether Newcastle can score or not.
Luckily Ameobi came in as his runs and dribbles made a difference. The Greeks had tired out a bit near the end and their tackles were less timely. Ameobi could have gotten 2 penalties instead of one.
It's good to see the team win although not exactly in style.
It's better to see them play badly and win than to see them play well and not win.
dreamer75
22-10-2004, 09:37 AM
Souness Happy To Secure The Win
10/22/2004 1:22:00 AM
Newcastle United manager Graeme Souness was relieved to see his side emerge from a potentially awkward Uefa Cup tie in Athens with all three points.
The Magpies beat Panionios 1-0 with an 87th minute penalty converted by skipper Alan Shearer, and afterwards Souness said:
"We have to be happy with three points in difficult conditions.
"The tactics of the opposition made life difficult, they didn’t get people forward and tried to play on the break.
"One goal was always going to be enough, they were never going to step out and make it an even game."
Souness added: "We dominated the game throughout and were worthy winners.
"They showed us great respect by playing like that, they were similar tactics to the Greek national team when they won the European competition.
"I thought we were disciplined throughout, controlled things throughout and the longer the game went on, it was all about whether we were going to get a chance to get a goal."
The Greek side were unhappy with the penalty awarded against them when impressive substitute Shola Ameobi tumbled under the challenge of Panionios defender Grigoris Makos.
But Souness said: "I’m 70 yards away, but it looked like a penalty to me."
The Newcastle manager – still unbeaten after eight games in charge of the club - paid tribute to goalscorer Alan Shearer, who coolly hammered the spot-kick into the net.
"He’s a big boy and he’s used to pressure situations," said Souness.
dreamer75
22-10-2004, 09:38 AM
http://media.goal.com/200409/2944_news.jpg
dreamer75
22-10-2004, 09:39 AM
FOOTBALL: BELLAMY'S APOLOGY ACCEPTED
Oct 22 2004
NEWCASTLE manager Graeme Souness has made his peace with Craig Bellamy - but warned the striker not to step out of line again.
Bellamy has apologised to Souness after their fall-out which was sparked by his reaction to being substituted in Sunday's draw at Charlton.
Souness last night accepted Bellamy's apology while warning he does not expect a repeat of such behaviour.
The former Rangers manager said: 'We're a club filled with good players. Sometimes people get bashed up and you have to deal with it.
'I'm not happy with his reaction at being substituted and I've pointed out what I want from him and the rest of the group - and I don't expect it to happen again.
'I don't have to go into or explain my reason for substituting him.
'But he had played two games for Wales prior to Charlton and both were very hard games.
Protect 'He lost both games so psychologically couldn't be right but he gave us a very good70minutes at Charlton and scored a goal.
'But I try to protect players for future games, it's the bigger picture that players fail to see and it's my job to see it.
'He's a cracking player with a genuine desire to do well in the game but he has to learn the rules you have to adhere by.
'You can't give up on players like him because of the kind of spat we had. I want him at the club but it has to be on my terms.'
Bellamy had earlier said: 'I was out of order for what I did at The Valley on Sunday and I want to apologise to the manager.
'I knew within10seconds what I did was wrong and I have tried to say so but I haven't had the chance because of other things that have happened.
'My outburst on Sunday wasn't really aimed at the manager but more at the situation. Call me old fashioned if you want but my view when a player is substituted is that he has been ineffective - and I didn't feel I was ineffective against Charlton.'
The showdown between manager and player took place at the club's training headquarters on Tuesday, a matter of hours before the Magpies party flew out to Greece for last night's UEFA Cup clash against Panionios.
Souness was furious at Bellamy's reaction to being substituted and let him know as he reminded his entire squad of their responsibilities on and off the pitch.
And Bellamy said: 'I know there is only so much the club and the fans can take and I know I have been to blame for what has happened in the past.
'But I also know that I have achieved nothing in this game and that I will never get a better club than I have at Newcastle.
'There is no other club I want to play for and it would be a dream for me to stay for the rest of my career.'
dreamer75
22-10-2004, 09:40 AM
Kevin Keegan returns to St James Park on Sunday with his Manchester City side hopeful of building on last weekend’s fine win over Chelsea.
BACKGROUND
City got off to a slow start to the season, with Keegan’s position at the helm again being questioned, but following some decent results and displays the Citizens are up to eleventh and look in a strong position to mount a challenge for European qualification.
Newcastle’s midweek Uefa cup win over Panionios of Greece means Graeme Souness has yet to taste defeat at the St James Park helm and despite a much publicised bust-up with striker Craig Bellamy he has got off to a good start since his departure from Blackburn.
Newcastle have won the last three corresponding fixtures at St James Park, with an Alan Shearer brace helping the home side to a 3-0 win in the Premiership last November. The Magpies have won 68 to City’s 48 from 151 encounters in all competitions.
FORM GUIDE
Newcastle: WWWDDW
The Toon are unbeaten in five Premiership outings, with wins over Blackburn, Southampton and West Brom followed by draws at both Birmingham and Charlton. Bnei Sakhin were comfortably disposed of in the first round of the Uefa Cup and Thursday’s 1-0 win over Panionios has given the Magpies a fine start in the group stages.
Manchester City: LWWLDW
City became the first side to defeat Chelsea this season with Nicolas Anelka’s early penalty securing a 1-0 win last weekend. That was only City’s third league win this season, the others coming at home to Charlton and away at Crystal Palace. Paul Hart’s League Two outfit Barnsley were hammered 7-1 in the last round of the Carling Cup and Keegan’s side play host to Arsenal on Tuesday in round three. Arsenal, Liverpool, Birmingham and Everton have each taken maximum league points of City this term.
TEAM NEWS
Newcastle:
Patrik Kluivert still has a hamstring problem and Shola Ameobi may be struggling with a hip injury, so Souness will probably continue with Shearer and Bellamy up front. Titus Bramble has recovered from a groin injury and could figure in the starting line up. Kieron Dyer may also be included in the squad following his latest hamstring injury.
Manchester City:
Midfielder Trevor Sinclair is back in contention following a knee injury that has kept him sidelined for a month, but Keegan will be without Claudio Reyna, Sun Jihai and Joey Barton. Robbie Fowler has undergone a rigorous personal training regime and despite Keegan previously earmarking the Arsenal cup game for a return to the team he came on in the win over Chelsea and could figure again at Newcastle.
PLAYERS TO WATCH
Newcastle:
Midfielder Jermaine Jenas was Sven Goran Eriksson’s surprise inclusion to England’s starting line up that faced Azerbaijan and the Nottingham born youngster has been earning some rave reviews of late. It took a while for Jenas to acclimatise to Premiership life following his £5 million move from Forest, but ‘JJ’ is now a regular for the Magpies and putting in some accomplished displays. He could be a key man against City and has great potential for the future.
Manchester City:
Nicolas Anelka has already scored six Premiership goals this season and is looking like recapturing some of the fine form he showed in his early days at Arsenal. The Frenchman has a good record against the Geordies having scored five goals against the North East side in his Arsenal days – including one FA Cup final strike.
POSSIBLE STARTING XIs
Newcastle:
Given, Carr, O’Brien, Elliott, Bernard, Milner, Jenas, Bowyer, Robert, Bellamy, Shearer
Manchester City:
James, Mills, Distin, Dunne, Thatcher, Wright-Phillips, Bosvelt, Sibierski, McManaman, Macken, Anelka
PREDICTION
Teams often find it difficult to focus on Premiership games following mid-week European competition and Newcastle’s reaction to the trip to Greece may be the major factor in determining the outcome of this encounter.
Souness has got off to a fine start as Magpies boss, but still has plenty to do before United will be challenging for top honours. With all due respect to Manchester City, he will be expecting his side to win these kind of games if they really are to challenge the likes of Arsenal at the top of the table.
City meanwhile continue to be frustratingly inconsistent, Anelka will be a big threat and Shaun Wright-Phillips will have fond memories of the ground in which he scored on his England debut.
A difficult to one to call, but I think Newcastle will do just enough to take the points.
Prediction: Newcastle 2-1 Manchester City
martinweng
22-10-2004, 12:07 PM
My prediction is,
Robert + Bernard cannot stop Shaun Wright Phillips..
Keegan's bad blood with Newcastle will mean he will fight Newcastle tooth for tooth..
Newcastle 1-1 Man City
Shearer will probably score another penalty, and Man City to tie by a possible goal from Wright-Phillips or Anelka. Yes, Newcastle will dominate the match. No, They won't be able to convert their domination into 3 points.
kraze
22-10-2004, 12:22 PM
the match was kinda disappointing actually. half the passes were nicely to the crisps. those 1-2s but overall the thru balls and long passes arent that good.. lost possession for a number of occasions, thankfully in the opponent half mostly. some heated comotions during the game, scary almost felt that bowyer might see red. basically we're a good team cept that we cant convert chances. the build up was quite good but they lost possession during the critical moment. my 2cents :s8:
martinweng
22-10-2004, 12:37 PM
anyway, nice yellow away jerseys..nv seen them worn b4..
they worned it at the last uefa match where they won 5-1
ZhiQiang
22-10-2004, 03:10 PM
newc played that bad ar??
how to win against man city???
they juz beat chelsea lehz...
hope kluivert will be fit for the man city match
revenant
22-10-2004, 05:00 PM
the match was kinda disappointing actually. half the passes were nicely to the crisps. those 1-2s but overall the thru balls and long passes arent that good.. lost possession for a number of occasions, thankfully in the opponent half mostly. some heated comotions during the game, scary almost felt that bowyer might see red. basically we're a good team cept that we cant convert chances. the build up was quite good but they lost possession during the critical moment. my 2cents :s8:
Bowyer's high balls were crap :frus:
yenyenpark
22-10-2004, 05:04 PM
My prediction is,
Keegan's bad blood with Newcastle will mean he will fight Newcastle tooth for tooth..
Newcastle 1-1 Man City
Shearer will probably score another penalty, and Man City to tie by a possible goal from Wright-Phillips or Anelka. Yes, Newcastle will dominate the match. No, They won't be able to convert their domination into 3 points.
anelka is another unpredictable striker tat can explode any time..
doubt our defenders can handle him
yenyenpark
22-10-2004, 06:46 PM
doubt our defenders can handle him
in order to win, we must score more than them.. :s7:
yenyenpark
22-10-2004, 06:48 PM
My prediction is,
Newcastle 1-1 Man City
who can stop kluivert and shearer?? :s8:
yeah.I think we haven't seen the best out of kluivert yet.
dreamer75
22-10-2004, 11:42 PM
no Bramble can liao...if not we will :angel:
dreamer75
22-10-2004, 11:45 PM
i still think we can beat Man City at home...2-1 is my pick!!
martinweng
22-10-2004, 11:52 PM
so far i have yet to see them make themselves unstoppable..
newcastle haven won a game by a scoreline of 3 or more yet..
so cannot really say they unstoppable
P.S > Dun count the Israeli side pls..we'll be juz kidding ourselves if we do.
dreamer75
23-10-2004, 12:19 AM
NEWCASTLE UTD v MAN CITY TEAM NEWS
By Dave Morgan
Date: 22/10/2004
Striker Patrick Kluivert could be back in contention for the match against Man City on Sunday. following his recovery from a hamstring problem and surgery to remove a wisdom tooth.
NEWCASTLE UTD (from): Given, Harper, Caig, Carr, Bernard, Hughes, Elliott, O'Brien, Bramble, Taylor, Butt, Bowyer, Jenas, Robert, Ambrose, Milner, Brittain, Shearer, Bellamy, Ameobi, Kluivert.
MAN CITY (from): James, Waterreus, Mills, Distin, Dunne, Thatcher, Bosvelt, McManaman, Negouai, Sibierski, S Wright-Phillips, Macken, Anelka, Fowler, Sinclair, Onuoha, Flood, Jordan.
Nicky Butt returns to the Newcastle squad for Sunday's Barclays Premiership clash with Manchester City after missing last night's victory over Panionios through suspension.
Keeper Steve Harper remains on stand-by with Shay Given's wife Jane due to give birth any day - the Irishman has made 139 consecutive league appearances for the club.
The Magpies picked up no new injuries in Greece and only Kieron Dyer is still on the casualty list with a hamstring problem.
Trevor Sinclair is set to return to the Manchester City squad for the first time in four weeks against Newcastle on Sunday.
The 31-year-old midfielder has returned to full training following a nagging knee injury.
With Sun Jihai ruled out after damaging cruciate and medial ligaments in the victory against Chelsea, Steve McManaman could return to the starting line-up.
Robbie Fowler looks likely to be on the bench again with Jon Macken partnering Nicolas Anelka up front.
dbchoong
23-10-2004, 12:40 AM
My prediction: Newcastle win 3-1.
so far i have yet to see them make themselves unstoppable..
newcastle haven won a game by a scoreline of 3 or more yet..
so cannot really say they unstoppable
P.S > Dun count the Israeli side pls..we'll be juz kidding ourselves if we do.
U r wrong. Newcastle did beat Blackburn by 3 goals.
nonoxynol
23-10-2004, 10:47 AM
yeah.I think we haven't seen the best out of kluivert yet.
true, but he has shown his class sporadically.
I feel his being loved at newcastle, things can only get better..
martinweng
23-10-2004, 11:11 AM
seriously i disagree..
i always thought that Kluivert's ego will give way, and Souness will stamp him out..
Matter of fact, we'll just be a stopover for Kluivert to regain fitness, form and confidence before another big club grab him away, and as we Newcastle fans know, Money can lure our Board to give up on our players..I wouldn't doubt Fat Fred accepting a 5m bid for Shearer.
martinweng
23-10-2004, 11:13 AM
Anyway, WHich Jacka55 rate us down? better own up..
As much as I dislike and like this club, I wouldn't go down and see the HWZ no.1 official thread for Newcastle Utd not getting the 5 stars it deserved.
TO ALL GENUINE NUFC HWZONERS: Lets start rating our thread 5 stars..
dreamer75
23-10-2004, 11:52 AM
Anyway, WHich Jacka55 rate us down? better own up..
As much as I dislike and like this club, I wouldn't go down and see the HWZ no.1 official thread for Newcastle Utd not getting the 5 stars it deserved.
TO ALL GENUINE NUFC HWZONERS: Lets start rating our thread 5 stars..
i gave a 5 star rating when i saw 4 stars not long ago...Let's GIVE OURSELVES A 5 STAR RATING OK!!!
dreamer75
23-10-2004, 11:53 AM
seriously i disagree..
i always thought that Kluivert's ego will give way, and Souness will stamp him out..
Matter of fact, we'll just be a stopover for Kluivert to regain fitness, form and confidence before another big club grab him away, and as we Newcastle fans know, Money can lure our Board to give up on our players..I wouldn't doubt Fat Fred accepting a 5m bid for Shearer.
i'm with on this one, i doubt Kluvert will stay long with us.
PROVE US WRONG KLUVERT!!
dreamer75
23-10-2004, 11:55 AM
U r wrong. Newcastle did beat Blackburn by 3 goals.
yes yes!!!
martinweng
23-10-2004, 12:09 PM
i gave a 5 star rating when i saw 4 stars not long ago...Let's GIVE OURSELVES A 5 STAR RATING OK!!!
Yea..although self-praise is no praise
martinweng
23-10-2004, 12:11 PM
i'm with on this one, i doubt Kluvert will stay long with us.
PROVE US WRONG KLUIVERT!!
he has got nothing to prove to us. Matter of fact, we have to prove to him we're a great team! great home ground and great honour to work for!
If results dun shine, any gd players will walk out on us.
dreamer75
23-10-2004, 12:19 PM
he has got nothing to prove to us. Matter of fact, we have to prove to him we're a great team! great home ground and great honour to work for!
If results dun shine, any gd players will walk out on us.
prove to us that he is a changed man...not as ego as b4... :s13:
dreamer75
23-10-2004, 12:22 PM
our win cost this guy his job :p
Panionios have fired coach Carol Pecze following their defeat against Newcastle United.
Pecze has been under pressure after a poor start to the season and the defeat to Newcastle was the final straw for the Panionios' directors.
Panionios only appointed Pecze in the summer, but they currently lie 13 in the Greek league after finishing sixth last season.
Giorgos Vazakas and former Panathinaikos coach Yitzhak Schum are favourites for the job.
http://skysports.planetfootball.com/Article.asp?id=233320
dreamer75
23-10-2004, 12:23 PM
The game between Newcastle United and Manchester City in the Premiership on Sunday 24th October 2004 at 15:00 takes centre stage for FootyMad's preview analysis.
History of the Newcastle United v Manchester City fixture
Man City face a trip to Newcastle United at St. James' Park on Sunday afternoon, needing to turn around their fortunes at the ground. The Sky Blues will be hoping to improve upon a record which has seen them lose 48 and win only 11 of the 75 games.
The most recent encounter between these two sides was less than a year ago, in November 2003, with Newcastle Utd. running out comfortable 3 - 0 winners in a Premiership match.
Recent encounters between the teams:
2003/2004 Sat 01 May Man City 1 - 0 Newcastle Utd. PREM
2003/2004 Sat 22 Nov Newcastle Utd. 3 - 0 Man City PREM
2002/2003 Sat 18 Jan Newcastle Utd. 2 - 0 Man City PREM
2002/2003 Sat 24 Aug Man City 1 - 0 Newcastle Utd. PREM
2001/2002 Sun 17 Feb Newcastle Utd. 1 - 0 Man City FAC
2000/2001 Sat 24 Feb Newcastle Utd. 0 - 1 Man City PREM
2000/2001 Sat 30 Sep Man City 0 - 1 Newcastle Utd. PREM
Recent respective form guides
Newcastle United have been playing quite well at home, winning 3, drawing 2, and losing just 1. A total of 11 goals have been scored by the Magpies in those games, with 5 conceded.
Man City have an average recent record on the road, seeing them win just 1 and draw 2 of the last six. Only 5 goals have been registered in this time, with 7 leaked at the wrong end.
Newcastle Utd.'s 13 points from 9 games sees them lie inside the top half of the table, in 8th position. Man City see themselves just below half way in the Barclays Premiership, showing a record of 11 points from their 9 games played so far,
Current form guides: P W D L F A P
Newcastle Utd. 6 4 2 0 14 6 14
Man City 6 3 1 2 10 4 10
dreamer75
23-10-2004, 12:24 PM
We've never fallen out
REPORT by CARL LIDDLE
BOBBY ROBSON has slammed talk of a personal rift with Alan Shearer.
The former Newcastle boss hit out at reports suggesting he believed Shearer betrayed him during the last months of his managerial reign at St James? Park.
He is also fuming at claims his former skipper recently snubbed him on his return to the club.
Robson insists Toon skipper Shearer was actually one of the FIRST to congratulate him when he was honoured by the City Council after Sky?s ?The Match?.
While he admits there may have been the odd disagreement during their time together, Robson says both he and Shearer are determined to stamp out talk there has been any animosity between them since his departure from St James?.
The former England boss said: ?I was amazed to read I was producing a final chapter to a book that was being re-launched as a paperback and that the chapter was entitled ?Betrayal? ? and that it was referring directly to Alan.
?I couldn?t understand it, I knew nothing about it!
?It was being written by a long-time journalist friend of mine but I didn?t get a penny from the original book.
?I had nothing to do with it ? the book was done on the back of an excellent Gary Lineker documentary about me.
?But I started to get lots of calls about it and had to react.?
And the first thing stunned Robson did was to set the record straight with his former striker.
Robson revealed: ?I?ve spoken to Alan, explained my amazement at the stories and he accepted what I had to say ? that I had nothing to do with any of the stories.
?I also rang the author Bob Harris and he told me the book was being reproduced in soft back with this added final chapter ? which is usually the way.
?It?s not even finished yet, however, some people put two and two together and got five. It left me in a terrible position.?
And the former Ipswich, Porto and Barcelona coach emphasised: ?Alan Shearer and I have NOT had a fall-out.
?Of course, when we were together he wasn?t happy when I left him out to rest him ? but I didn?t mind that, I wouldn?t expect him to be.
?But there were no tantrums from him.
?He would simply train harder the next time we were in and he knew my reasoning, knew why I?d done it ? three times in five years by the way!
?I knew just how important he was to the team, to the club, its fans and as a representative of the whole city.
?Alan Shearer has been one of the finest centre-forwards around for years now ? and his acquisition was a wonderful piece of business by the club. And he chose his home-town club ahead of Manchester United.
?I have nothing but respect for the man and what he stands for.?
STILL GREAT PALS ... Robson and Shearer
The former Magpies boss insists his relationship with his former skipper is solid and will remain so ? on both their parts.
Robson plans to heap praise aplenty on Shearer in his definitive autobiography when it is published.
But the County Durham-born legend felt he had to go public now because of the ?totally unnecessary stick? being directed at Shearer when people thought he had snubbed his former gaffer.
And as for tales that Shearer ignored him on his return to St James? Park earlier this month, Robson was eager to kick that idea straight into row Z.
He said: ?Alan DID hang around to see me honoured by the City Council after The Match on Sky.
?He DID congratulate me on the proud honour bestowed on me and I not only spoke to Alan but also his wife and family later that Sunday evening. But what angered me most was to read newspaper articles suggesting I had added that final chapter to a book and that it was aimed by me at Alan.
?I repeat: I DID NOT write a word of the book, I didn?t get a penny for the book. I had NOTHING to do with it.
?These stories have hurt and upset both of us, I tell you.
?But I know we will be able to talk to one another and respect one another for the rest of my life.?
Robson added: ?Yes, we?ve had our odd difference in opinion.
?But we were five years together at Newcastle. We?ve had no fall-out, no bust up.
?I want to put an end to this because it is simply not true.
?We had five great years together and I hope he believes I helped him because he certainly helped me and the football club.
?I hope our lasting legacy will be that we played an important part in turning things around to the positive again at Newcastle United.?
Robson finished with a personal tribute to Shearer and raved: ?He is a great captain, a huge personality and a wonderful signing for the club.
?But let me end with a final tale for you. Some two or three weeks before I left the club for the final time, I got Alan into my office and we talked.
?We agreed that it was likely to be our last season, that we?d go out together with a united front and with all guns blazing.
?We agreed on this and while I can?t keep my part of that, I know for sure he will keep his side of the bargain.
?I will be writing about him in the definitive Bobby Robson book, about my huge regard and respect for the man.
?Will all of these good things I then say be reported?
?I hope so, because it?s the truth ? it?s how I feel deep down about a great centre-forward and Geordie.?
http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2004491235,00.html
nonoxynol
23-10-2004, 02:16 PM
If u see the way kluivert plays nowadays ull think differently... he tracks back , unselfish and doesnt complain
he has found a breath of fresh air... and souness will be the man to restore the Kluivert of old
Mark my words! :P
Fresnel
23-10-2004, 02:37 PM
ahh long time never come back here....well...looks like i'll be cancelling my sports channel...bloody ESPN wanna rip us all off...we shld boycott those bloodsuckers....as for our club....i believe with Souness in charge we will never be able to make it champions...Souness is the typical 'middle table' manager......we won't go far with him....we need a better manager than him...
kraze
23-10-2004, 03:17 PM
maybe souness has plans this time round.. hopefully this streak of wins/draws continue for him, even if it's just luck on our side. somehow whenever i see the lads in yellow i thought of refrees lol.. some ref do wear yellow top black bottom rite.. :s13:
yah lets carry on the streak of wins/draws.If can match arsenal better.lol.
martinweng
23-10-2004, 08:19 PM
If u see the way kluivert plays nowadays ull think differently... he tracks back , unselfish and doesnt complain
he has found a breath of fresh air... and souness will be the man to restore the Kluivert of old
when a man has already fought the greatest war, rub shoulders with world-class players, travelled around the world, its now time to settle down. He has found peace in Tyneside, so now he hopes to continue earning his wages and settle down @ newcastle.
On the other hand, lets pay tribute to Alan Shearer. He chose us, and we gave him nothing to shine on. So lets just say we've wasted 1 human being with all the skills one could dream of.
when a man has already fought the greatest war, rub shoulders with world-class players, travelled around the world, its now time to settle down. He has found peace in Tyneside, so now he hopes to continue earning his wages and settle down @ newcastle.
On the other hand, lets pay tribute to Alan Shearer. He chose us, and we gave him nothing to shine on. So lets just say we've wasted 1 human being with all the skills one could dream of.
very sad this is his last season liao
daveaha
24-10-2004, 11:45 AM
Lads,
tonight gathering @ Penny Black, 10 PM for Newcastle vs Man City.
Be there to cheers for the lads !!!
Anyway, myself can't be there since my parents visit me this weekend...
Dave
dreamer75
24-10-2004, 12:48 PM
Lads,
Dave
sorry, cant make it tonight.
btw, how much per person @ Penny Black?
martinweng
24-10-2004, 12:58 PM
Lads,
Dave
i'll go when its newcastle vs west brom or newcastle vs crystal palace..
not sure win matches, i dun watch..
dreamer75
24-10-2004, 01:05 PM
i'll go when its newcastle vs west brom or newcastle vs crystal palace..
not sure win matches, i dun watch..
hahaha...and it might not be telecast LIVE..
Fresnel
24-10-2004, 02:23 PM
We shld try to arrange and meet up before hand about a week so we can go down watch together.
Where is Penny Black by the way? I think i'm going to terminate my cable soon (Sports channel)
kraze
24-10-2004, 02:45 PM
We shld try to arrange and meet up before hand about a week so we can go down watch together.
Where is Penny Black by the way? I think i'm going to terminate my cable soon (Sports channel)
i pre-planned outing to watch a match sounds good..
yeah i might cancel my sports too, damn the prices.
yenyenpark
24-10-2004, 03:20 PM
the nearest pub in boat quay to the raffles mrt if not mistaken... actually Newcastle fans will be there every week if there is a live.. sigh it's too late for me and some more on Sunday.. but i will go down one day.. :bandit:
yenyenpark
24-10-2004, 03:22 PM
agree fully..
yenyenpark
24-10-2004, 03:24 PM
ahh long time never come back here....well...looks like i'll be cancelling my sports channel...bloody ESPN wanna rip us all off...we shld boycott those bloodsuckers....as for our club....i believe with Souness in charge we will never be able to make it champions...Souness is the typical 'middle table' manager......we won't go far with him....we need a better manager than him...
u shud come here more often... let's see how they perform tonite.. i hope we can win the match to be in top 5 at least... anyway, think my concern is more in UEFA than EPL..
and again, i think the price of the sport channel is okay lah.. since it wil cost us more if go out to watch footbally every week..
martinweng
24-10-2004, 04:10 PM
hahaha...and it might not be telecast LIVE..
we shud organise trip to SJP instead..
why call urself a true NUFC fan if u dun go and watch them play?
martinweng
24-10-2004, 04:13 PM
finally fresnel..my ally in dis thread...
anyway i agree with u...
I nv agree on signing Souness b4...
but im very impressed with Fat Fred..he sign Souness to make sure newcastle beat Bburn..
i like cowardly ppl...;)
dreamer75
24-10-2004, 05:25 PM
we shud organise trip to SJP instead..
why call urself a true NUFC fan if u dun go and watch them play?
that will mean careful planning of the trip...i also wanna go watch my Juve play in Turin :)
dreamer75
24-10-2004, 05:26 PM
the nearest pub in boat quay to the raffles mrt if not mistaken... actually Newcastle fans will be there every week if there is a live.. sigh it's too late for me and some more on Sunday.. but i will go down one day.. :bandit:
sundays a bit hard for me too...
dreamer75
24-10-2004, 05:27 PM
we r FAST catching up on the Liverpool thread.....heehee :)
dreamer75
24-10-2004, 05:44 PM
Newcastle United manager Graeme Souness has hinted the club are unlikely to land Chelsea's Damien Duff, but stated he is of the calibre The Magpies want to acquire.
The North East giants have been linked with the former Blackburn Rovers star recently, who was out of favour under Jose Mourinho earlier this season.
However, the Republic of Ireland star has featured more prominently for The Blues of late and has played a key part in the side's domestic and European campaign.
Souness believes Duff is happy in London and it may prove too difficult a job prizing the star away from Stamford Bridge, even before piecing an attractive financial package together.
"We have been linked with Damien Duff but I am not sure if he'll want to leave London," said Souness to The People.
"But that's the type of class player we want in order to improve this squad because he is of the highest standard.
"We have some good players here but if we want to do well we need a few additions. We are light.
"I will probably spoil the chairman's breakfast on Sunday morning when he reads this. But I've got a relationship with him and I will tell him we need to strengthen with maybe four more players."
dreamer75
24-10-2004, 05:45 PM
Newspaper reports today claim that Liverpool manager Rafael Benitez is interested in signing Gerard Houllier's former target, Scott Parker.
Parker has struggled to make an impact at Chelsea after joining them from Charlton and Liverpool did make a discreet enquiry earlier this year but were warned off.
The midfielder is valued at around £7million and other clubs including Newcastle United and Aston Villa are said to be interested in him with Graeme Souness tipped to make a bid in January.
One report today by Duncan Wright of The Sunday Mirror claims that Parker could make the switch to Anfield with Steven Gerrard going in the opposite direction.
Meanwhile, other reports today state that Liverpool have turned their attentions from Morientes to Mista. Both players have been linked with the Reds for several months.
dreamer75
24-10-2004, 05:47 PM
SHEARER ADMITS HEART SCARE
By William Gordon
Date: 23/10/2004
Alan Shearer admitted his heart was racing as he put away his penalty against Panionios. Talking to the Evening Chronicle, the United skipper said his 87th-minute spot kick was one of the most important he has ever taken.
ALAN SHEARER: "I would be lying if I said the old ticker was not going quicker than normal. I've had my fair share over the years and I was relieved to see it go in the back of the net.
"We were never in danger of losing the game, but we wanted to get three points on the board, particularly with Sochaux winning in Tbilisi earlier on.
"You do think it's not going to come when you see so many half-chances go begging, but we kept at it and got there in the end.
"The performance wasn't the greatest, but as I said the result was the priority.
"It was a difficult pitch to play on, it was hot and they made it hard for us. But we are on a little run now and we want to keep it going.
"Last season we picked up a bit of momentum in the UEFA Cup as each round passed, and while it's a different format this season, hopefully that will be the case again.
"But we cannow forget about the European games for a couple of weeks, and the games are coming up thick and fast in the league."
dreamer75
24-10-2004, 05:50 PM
Panionios 0-1 Newcastle United
Date: Thursday 21 October 2004
Kick Off: 7.30pm BST
Venue: Nea Smyrni Stadium
Att: 8,000
Ref: Roberto Rosetti (Italy)
Comp: UEFA Cup Group D
Premiership Match Report In Association With Toon Ale
Souness Smelling Of Roses After Testing Week
In my Charlton match report I touched on how problems are just starting to surface after a relatively low key start under the new man and that Souness would have to deal with these problems. Well, after what has been his first true testing spell in the hot seat since he was appointed as Sir Bobby's successor back in September, he has passed his first exam with flying colours. Another win (away from home too), a clean sheet and a smiling Craig Bellamy at the end can leave the Scot feeling pretty pleased with himself and us supporters that little bit happier.
A potentially damaging and negative week has ended on a positive note for once.
Not a vintage performance from United, far from it, but more than enough to come away from the bobbly, grassy pitch of the Nea Smyrni Stadium with all 3 points to give us a winning start in Group D of the UEFA Cup. Had the defensive approach of Panionios, playing with a lone striker in Mario Breska and getting all 11 men behind the ball at all times, of been less cautious we would have almost certainly chalked up a bigger win and not needed a late late winner from the spot - a chance that Shearer buried for his 180th Toon goal and his 21st in Europe.
It's not hard to understand just why the Greek team are struggling domestically - they aren't set up to score goals but to keep them out. News that their manager Carol Pecze has bitten the bullet on the grounds of their defeat to our lot and the manner of their negative football can leave Panionios' fans with a smattering of hope that they can progress from the group, don't put any money on it however. Spirited, hard working and solid enough at the back they were. Skilful, inventive they weren't. Had they come out to play and actually went at us with attacking purpose, we would have slaughtered them.
Mind our lot weren't that skilful or inventive either - especially in the first 45. We started the game in a lackluster fashion and struggled to get to grips with both the pitch and the defensive shield of Panionios. Sloppy passing, hesitant movement and rushed play was a feature of the half. The home team were happy to sit back, defend in numbers and try to hit us on the break. The only time they looked remotely capable of puncturing the back of our net come from set-pieces with centre-half Panagiotis Giannopoulos, the man who scored a brace against Udinese in the 1st round, looking particularly dangerous. As was Mario Breska who tested Given with a clipped header that looked like going wide but to be sure, Shay tipped it around his post for a corner to be on the safe side. And that was about the only real test all night for the father to be.
At the other end we should have scored a few before the break, with JJ missing a glorious opportunity just before half-time after nifty footwork created an opening, but the England man blasted over. That was systematic of our performance really. Good in patches but not good enough. Robert and Milner, in for Ambrose and Butt, just weren't being found on the flanks with Bowyer guilty of quite a few over hit and wayward passes and JJ not too far behind either. When we did get it to the flanks Robert looked capable of delivering the service that Shearer was largely starved of - the No.9 falling foul to the whistle/flag happy antics of the ref and his linesman whenever he jumped for a highball, stood tall to guard the ball, or looked to spin his man. A frustrating half.
After the break, no doubt with a pep talk from Souness wringing in their ears, United come out and did what they failed to do in the first-half. Control the game, kept possession and created openings. Lead by JJ who dropped deep in the anchor role - it was he more than anyone who got our game going with a variety of passing to feet and space which was took up by those in yellow. A marked improvement from all with Robert seeing more of the ball, Bellamy finding more space and Shearer linking up play impressively. Yet for all our possession, half chances and dominance it wasn't until the introduction of Shola Ameobi for Milner with just over 20 minutes remaining, that we really pressed home our superiority. With the big man giving his team-mates different options and avenues to play the ball into.
With Shola on, Bellamy found himself back wide right, his favourite position... yet for a 5 minute spell he hovered and operated mainly in the centre in a free role and this in a way helped our game as it meant he could get on the ball and drag his marker deep into the midfield - which left a gap up front for Shola to exploit. The Panionios defence didn't know what to make of him. He held off their challenges, flummoxed them with his unpredictable dexterity, control on the ball and his forcefulness in the box eventually won United a penalty at the death. After a previous shout was waved away when he was adjudged to have made a meal of his fall. He was clipped but he did go to ground easily. No arguments about the 'proper' pen however, clear as glass. Up stepped Big Al to win us the game.
A deserved win. It wasn't pretty nor easy. We didn't play overly well. Bowyer had a poor game and could have saw red for a daft challenge that came just a few minutes after picking up a yellow. Milner was disappointing and Bellamy was unusually quiet. In defence we were largely untested and although the back four played well, especially Elliott and Bernard, lets not get carried away. But like I said in my preview for this match, a win on foreign soil will always put a positive gloss over any cracks. Cracks that have been plastered over. Whether those cracks will resurface anytime soon, remains to be seen.
No doubt there is another series of the Toon soap opera planned for production with a highly paid cast of stars lined up to play the leading role. However if the past week is anything to go off, the director, Mr. Souness, is more than capable of running the show and getting the best out of his stars. Well played lads and keep it going Souey. Slowly but surely the masses are being won over and although sterner tests are around the corner and an inevitable defeat never far away, he can't do anymore than what he has achieved thus far. Lets hope it keeps going.
Toon Player Ratings Vs Panionios
Next up: NUFC Vs Man City (Sunday October 24 2004 Premiership 3.00pm K.O)
Team Lineups
Panionios Newcastle United Match Facts & Stats
Half-Time: 0-0
Full-Time: 0-1
Yellow Cards: 4
Red Cards: 0
Panionios Facts & Stats
Goalscorers: 0
Yellow Cards: Stuart (75)
Red Cards: Zimonjic (68), Lagonikakis (86)
Substitutions: 2
Goundoulakis (for Zimonjic 69), Lagonikakis (for Parodi 75)
Injuries: N/A
NUFC Facts & Stats
Goalscorers: Shearer (90 pen)
Yellow Cards: Carr (24), Bowyer (56)
Red Cards: 0
Substitutions: 1
Milner (for Ameobi 67)
Injuries: None
Colceag Given
Dodd Carr
Domoraud O'Brien
Giannopoulos Elliott
Makos Bernard
Spiropoulos Milner
Vlcek Jenas
Zimonjic Bowyer
Parodi Robert
Tsiolis Shearer
Breska Bellamy
Substitutes Bench
Sotiriou Harper
Exouzidis Hughes
Lagonikakis Bramble
Mitrou Taylor
Goundoulakis Brittain
Mantzios Ambrose
Meszaros Ameobi
NUFC Milestones
James Milner made his first start under Souness. Shearer grabbed his 7th goal of the season and now has 180 goals for Newcastle. 3rd clean sheet of the season. Panionios were the first side we have played from Greece in European competitions.
How The Goals Were Scored
NUFC Goal 90 Minutes: Alan Shearer (penalty)
Shola Ameobi was brought down in the box leaving Shearer to step up and take the penalty, dully slotting it home for his 21st European goal for Newcastle and his 180th altogether.
Match Reaction From Souness & Bellamy
Souness said:
"We have to be satisfied with the three points in difficult conditions. The tactics of the opposition tonight made life difficult.
"They were similar tactics to the Greek national team when they won the European competition. They didn't get people forward and tried to play on the break.
"We dominated the game throughout and were worthy winners. They showed us great respect by playing like that.
"We thought one goal would be enough. They were never going to step out and make it an open game.
"It would have been better for us if they'd come out at us. I think their tactics were very good tonight. If they'd tried to take us on, we would have scored more than just one goal.
"Their supporters got frustrated and that was a reflection of the way they played, but that's the way they wanted to play and fair play to them.
"I thought we were disciplined throughout, controlled things throughout and the longer the game went on, it was all about whether we were going to get a chance to get a goal."
Souness on the penalty:
"I'm 70 yards away, but it looked like a penalty to me. But you have to give great credit to the Greek team.
"They defended well, they were organised, but we have some very good players and you can't stop all of them all of the time, and that's exactly what happened."
Bellamy said:
"I love this club, everyone knows that. I love Newcastle and this is the only place I want to play.
"It's been difficult for me with everything going on, but you saw me out there running all over the place, even defending at the end.
"It was always going to be tough tonight, it was a very bumpy pitch. We knew if we could keep a clean sheet then we would have a chance."
Match Reaction From Carol Pecze
Pecze said:
"When you're playing in a group stage, you always try to estimate how many points you will get at home.
"We wanted to get as many points as we could at home.
"These three have gone, but there are a lot more to play for and we'll keep going."
Pecze on the penalty:
"It's always a very difficult decision in a tight match, but the referee had to make it and he gave the penalty."
Pecze was sacked following this defeat...
Your Shout: Toon Army Match Reaction
Cla1dwa wrote:
They were lucky they didn't get stuffed. We could have easily had another penalty. Jenas and Shearer had a great strike and two good headers respectively that went straight at the keeper. Another night we'd have thrashed them. And they were awful going forward. Plus Points? Good game defensively, with Elliott impressive and Bernard superlative. Bellamy ran like mad and caused problems (from up front and midfield). Jenas looked good and Robert hassled really well for about 75 mins. Shola did well when he came on. Not too many negatives, though my attitude may have been different if the game hadn't been won. We created enough chances to steamroller them, and in the end only got one. Also, and I know people will say I'm having a go again, but Bowyer should have been sent off. 1 minute after a clear booking and he goes in wildly that, had he not been booked just prior, would have seen him booked at the least. Needs to get his head sorted.
Skeletor wrote:
Elliott and Robert had really good games. I wonder if it's because European football is a lot slower that Elliott can look so composed? Robert did lots of hassling and tracking back, just what we want from him. Bernard was superb, getting back to form hopefully. Jenas 2nd half looked alot better when he had a defined role instead of being everywhere on the pitch. I don't think Milner did that badly but something had to be changed to get a goal. Ameobi always looks better in Europe, I've always thought if he was playing on the continent in say Italy or Spain he would be superb. He missed an absolute sitter though. Dived for the penalty but I was getting so desperate that I don't care. Lee Bowyer should have been sent off, very lucky and that would be the last thing we needed with Butt still missing from the next European match! Bellamy reacted well to all the criticism by putting in a good performance. The whole team did well really...with one glaring exception. Andy O'Brien. He's not Franz Beckenbauer or David Beckham, please no more long balls. He was even struggling to make simple short passes. He was beaten in the air alot as well. Really needs replacing.
http://www.howaythetoon.com/2004_05/reports/panionios_vs_nufc.shtml
dreamer75
24-10-2004, 05:51 PM
Player Ratings: Panionios 0-1 NUFC 21st October 2004
Shay Given
Not an awful lot to do for the father to be with just the one save all game to make from Breska, who tested the Irishman with a header that Shay did well to push away for a corner. As ever Given's alertness at sweeping up potential danger was first-class.
Stephen Carr
A much better performance from Carr both in defence and in attack - especially at their end where he got forward at every opportunity, linking up great in the attacking 3rd at times. He also put in some decent crosses and made some solid blocks and interceptions too. Got booked for a nothing foul from the pedantic ref. Overall a decent game.
Andy O'Brien
No mistakes from O'Brien this time and no nervous moments either. Won a few challenges, did well to catch his opponent off-side a few times and generally had a solid enough game. He even went on one 60-yard run, made a one-two and tried to set up Shearer in the box. Once again however his distribution was typically poor.
Robbie Elliott
An excellent performance from Elliott who is more at ease when the game is played at a slow pace. Used his head, read things well, won a few tackles - one a decisive clean take in our own box - and his passing was pretty decent too with a great 60-yard ball to Bellamy nearly sending the Welshman through but their keeper was quick to react. Solid, assured and composed.
Olivier Bernard
Followed on from his excellent game at Charlton to produce another fine performance. It seems he as upped his own level after seeing an ankle specialist back in his native France. The most committed, determined and arguably, the most focused player on the pitch. Got forward well, passed the ball about well and did his defensive duties without any real concern. Good to see a few crunching tackles as well and once again he got kicked more than anyone on the pitch. He needs to keep this going. Encouraging.
James Milner
I feel for the lad. Starting for the first time under Souness, and well deserved too given how sprightly he has looked when coming on from the bench, the game passed him by and although he worked hard he rarely got on the ball. Disappointing but to be expected.
Jermaine Jenas
Started off slow and hesitant but after a few orders were instructed his way from Souness his game picked up considerably, especially in the second half. He was everywhere - in the centre of midfield, defence, down both the right and left flanks and in attack. Should have scored just before the break after some nifty foot-work in Panionios' box but his job was to hold the fort if you like and he did that and more. Spraying the ball about and starting moves, always eager to get on the ball and working like a dog. This is the real JJ and it's so good to see. It wasn't all great, he gave away possession quite a lot in the opening 20 minutes, but where as he disappeared last season, he goes looking for the ball and gets himself back into the game now. Souness is clearly getting the best out of him and he looks more confident, assured and at ease in the team and what ever role he has been asked to do. Well played, lets hope it continues. My man of the match.
Lee Bowyer
Not a great performance from Bowyer where the ugly side of his game reappeared again. He could so have easily walked in this game. A few minutes after picking up a yellow for a cynical foul he lunged into a Panionios player who was already on the floor - lucky to stay on. His passing and whole game was off key. He seems frustrated which could have had something to do with the amount of runs he made against Charlton without ever being spotted. He needs a goal and is perhaps trying too hard at the minute. To his credit though his game picked up in the last 10 minutes or so, as did his passing.
Laurent Robert
A rare start for Robert these days and we got to see both the good and bad side of his game. The good: he worked his socks off, tracking back, putting in challenges, helping Bernard and generally pressing Panionios back. 3 of his numerous set-pieces were absolute peaches which all reached their intended target. The bad: His decision making was poor at times and he gave away possession so cheap and needlessly on a few occasions. Overall he had a mixed game but a decent one. Conclusion? We are a far better team with him in it than not. Not only does he gave us balance but accuracy (more often than not) from set-pieces which on any given day we would have scored 3 goals from. Whether this is enough to sway Souness' thinking remains to be seen. If he keeps tracking back and cuts out giving away cheap possession, he has a fighting chance. Lets hope he takes it.
Alan Shearer
More than a decent performance from our Captain. Lead the line superbly and won his fair share of headers and most pleasing of all he was very mobile. Coming deep to pick the ball up, hugging the flanks at times and laying off some cracking balls out wide. Furthermore he was rewarded with a well taken penalty to win us the game. Didn't get much change from the ref and linesman who were far too whistle/flag happy whenever he tried to guard the ball, jump for it or spin his man. The service to him wasn't that great either but he made the most of it as he usually does. It's now 7 goals for the season. Keep em' coming Big Al and well played.
Craig Bellamy
Not his usual self. It seems the events of the past few days have took their toll on the little Welshman who was unusually subdued and quiet for large spells - no gobbing off to team-mates, referee or linesman. Worked hard without any real threat or effect.
Substitutes:
Shola Ameobi
Brought on for Milner and his presence changed the game by giving his team-mates a different avenue to channel balls to and he responded by winning the penalty that won us the game after a previous shout was denied when he was clipped but made a meal of it. Strong, great control, involved and different - exactly what was needed. What is it with Shola and the European stage? He's took to it like a duck to water. Can he do it in the Premiership?
The Boss man:
Graeme Souness
Showed his intent to grab 3 points by selecting a strong attacking lineup that included Robert and Milner. Arguably our strongest 11 given the absence of Butt and Kluivert - a team most of us would have chosen to take on Panionios. He got that part right and it has to be said he got the tactics spot on too. United started the game slow and in sloppy mood but no doubt after a good talking to from the Scot at half-time, they came out snappier, more determined and more composed on the ball in the second half. Switching Bellamy to his favourite position wide right also showed he has nerve. Under Sir Bobby, once it was made known that Bellamy didn't like playing in that position, he was reluctant to force him. Not so under Souness. So a winning end to what has been his first real test since taking over as manager. You can't ask for more. Well done Souey.
http://www.howaythetoon.com/2004_05/ratings/vs_panionios_a.shtml
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.