View Full Version : Newcastle United - Toontalk
ZhiQiang
02-01-2005, 01:12 PM
beattie will not come... harry redknapp has just given him 48hrs to choose between everton or villa...
Coolsmurf
02-01-2005, 02:18 PM
chopra is on season long loan at barnsley
martinweng
02-01-2005, 04:15 PM
halfway through the season. we stand at 25points. chelsea stands at 52points. haiz...
cool eh? we're not even at the top half of the table...
yenyenpark
02-01-2005, 04:54 PM
i think if chelsea and newcastle swap manager, we might not see so much of a gap.
hahaha.. this is a good suggestion..
ZhiQiang
02-01-2005, 05:44 PM
football365 say newc wanna sell bramble for 2 million pounds... any1 here have serious objections??? :D
Theychosenone
02-01-2005, 06:22 PM
football365 say newc wanna sell bramble for 2 million pounds... any1 here have serious objections??? :D
Go Mr Bramble Go!! :s13:
revenant
02-01-2005, 07:02 PM
http://rapidshare.de/files-en/268571/ameobi_birmingham.wmv.html (2.2 MB)
http://rapidshare.de/files-en/268576/bowyer_birmingham.wmv.html (1.9 MB)
http://rapidshare.de/files-en/268163/missed_chances.wmv.html (9.2 MB)
yenyenpark
02-01-2005, 07:21 PM
objections?? u must be kidding.. we will all MISS him.. MISS him so much.. :s31:
yenyenpark
02-01-2005, 07:24 PM
http://rapidshare.de/files-en/268571/ameobi_birmingham.wmv.html (2.2 MB)
http://rapidshare.de/files-en/268576/bowyer_birmingham.wmv.html (1.9 MB)
http://rapidshare.de/files-en/268163/missed_chances.wmv.html (9.2 MB)
the links got problem lei.. :o
yenyenpark
02-01-2005, 07:28 PM
Striker injury crisis.. sounds like Newcastle have to play Dyer up front with Michael Chopra (is he still on loan?). Not a very good prospect.
probably we have to play Dyer up front liao.. :s8:
feitz
02-01-2005, 08:23 PM
the links got problem lei.. :o
u got to wait a while before the page will let u dl the file.
You have requested the file ameobi_birmingham.wmv (2316602 Bytes). This file has been downloaded 11 times already.
IMPORTANT: Do not use download-accelerators or similar programs to download this file! Infos Send to friends PREMIUM-Login
Download: ameobi_birmingham.wmv
yenyenpark
03-01-2005, 10:11 AM
any latest news??
yenyenpark
03-01-2005, 11:38 AM
watched the near miss clip.. so many near miss.. if not.. we might hav score more.. :D
yenyenpark
03-01-2005, 02:25 PM
Newcastle to unveil Babayaro
Celestine Babayaro stats
Souness issues ultimatum
Transfer window explained
Newcastle have confirmed that Chelsea full-back Celestine Babayaro will become Graeme Souness' first transfer window signing on New Year's Day.
The 26-year-old, who would have been out of contract at the end of the season, moves for an undisclosed fee.
Babayaro looks set to make his debut in the FA Cup third round against Yeading.
The left-back can also play in the Uefa Cup for the Magpies as he has not featured in Chelsea's Champions League campaign despite being on the bench.
A Newcastle spokesman confirmed: "The player will be transferred for an undisclosed fee on 1 January.
"He also qualifies to appear in the FA Cup and Uefa Cup, the latter being because although nominated as a substitute, he has not taken the field for Chelsea in European competition this season."
Babayaro won the FA Cup, League Cup, Charity Shield and European Super Cup during his seven-and-a-half years at Stamford Bridge, but has been out-of-favour since Roman Abramovich's millions allowed Chelsea to embark on a spending spree.
Whichever way I look at it - I think it's a loss for Chelsea
The Nigerian's arrival at St James' Park leaves a question mark over the future of Olivier Bernard who is yet to agree a new deal and will be out of contract at the end of the season.
Souness is also looking at bringing in other defenders to shore up hjs leaky defence, but has ruled out increasing his £8m bid to lure Jean-Alain Boumsong from Rangers.
yenyenpark
03-01-2005, 02:26 PM
West Brom v Newcastle
The Hawthorns
Monday, 3 January
Kick-off: 2000 GMT
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
West Brom defender Thomas Gaardsoe returns to the squad after suspension.
Midfielder Jason Koumas is pushing for a return to the starting line-up as is striker Robert Earnshaw, who has recovered from a virus.
Newcastle striker Craig Bellamy (knee) is doubtful after limping off during Saturday's victory over Birmingham.
Stephen Carr could return to the squad after a knee problem but Alan Shearer (calf), Patrick Kluivert (hamstring) and Nicky Butt (knee) are all out.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
West Brom (from): Hoult, Scimeca, Robinson, Purse, Gaardsoe, Greening, Horsfield, Johnson, Gera, Clement, Wallwork, Kanu, Koumas, Albrechtsen, Hulse, Kuszczak, Earnshaw.
Newcastle (from): Given, Harper, Carr, Taylor, Bernard, Bramble, O'Brien, Hughes, Ramage, Bowyer, Jenas, Dyer, Robert, Milner, N'Zogbia, Brittain, Bellamy, Ameobi, Guy.
BIG-MATCH FACTS
WEST BROMWICH ALBION are striving for a first ever Premiership victory over Newcastle in this Monday night match. It is also Albion's 60th game in their Premier League history, and their 30th at home. They've only managed four victories from the previous 29 Premiership games at the Hawthorns.
This will be Bryan Robson's fourth home Premiership game in charge of the Baggies, and so far they've failed to accumulate even one point for him - mind you the fixtures were against Middlesbrough, Manchester United and Liverpool. Albion have not scored at the Hawthorns since Robert Earnshaw's strike against Middlesbrough. They've played 233 minutes (three hours 53 minutes) of top flight soccer in front of their home fans without netting.
The last time these two met at the Hawthorns, it was Albion's Premiership swan song in May 2003. Jermaine Jenas and Hugo Viana scored either side of a Scott Dobie double. It was the second successive League draw between these two on this ground.
NEWCASTLE UNITED go to the Hawthorns looking to achieve a first top flight maximum against them in over 32 years, since a 2-3 triumph on 4 November 1972.
The Magpies have claimed maximum points just once in the last seven away games this season. They beat Crystal Palace 2-0 at Selhurst Park on 20 November, and have since lost at Chelsea and Liverpool and been held to a 2-2 draw at Blackburn. They need a confidence boosting result against the Premiership's bottom club, with a potential banana skin in the Third Round of the FA Cup on the horizon, at non League Yeading scheduled for Sunday.
The Magpies' only win in seven League visits over 27 years to the Black Country club was 1-5 in the former Second Division on 1 November 1989. Graeme Souness continued his winning start in the hot seat at St James' Park with a 3-1 victory in the reverse fixture in September. Albion held out until Darren Purse was sent off. Thereafter goals from Patrick Kluivert, James Milner and Alan Shearer sealed victory. The Toon are therefore now hoping to celebrate a first Premiership 'double' over the Baggies and seventh since they first participated in League conflict in 1898.
Referee:
Neale Barry (Lincolnshire)
SEQUENCES/RECENT FORM
WEST BROMWICH ALBION
Club stats
Fixtures
20th 12 points
Highest realistically achievable after the Monday's matches: 19th
Lowest could fall: STAY ROOTED TO THE FOOT
Drawn the last two, both 1-1 away to Manchester City and Bolton.
Not won in 13 Premiership games.
Drawn five and lost eight League games since beating Bolton 2-1 on 2 October.
Played 12 League games since keeping their only clean sheet of the season.
Least effective attack in the Premiership with just 17 goals scored in 21 matches.
NEWCASTLE UNITED
Club stats
Fixtures
13th 25 points
Highest achievable after the Monday's matches: 9th
Lowest could fall: 13th
Recorded one win in seven League games.
Not managed a clean sheet in seven.
KEY PLAYER NOTES/POTENTIAL MILESTONES
WEST BROMWICH ALBION
Squad profiles
If he plays, Darren PURSE will be making his 300th career League appearance.
NEWCASTLE UNITED
Squad profiles
If he participates, Lee BOWYER will be playing on his 28th birthday.
Should he turn out, BOWYER will be making his 50th appearance for Newcastle.
If involved, James MILNER will be playing on the eve of his 19th birthday.
If he plays, Shoala AMEOBI will be making his 150th appearance for the Magpies.
If Aaron HUGHES plays, he'll be making his 200th Premiership appearance for the Tyneside club.
THIS SEASON'S REVERSE FIXTURE:
Newcastle United 3-1 West Bromwich Albion
St James' Park - Ref: Mike Riley
Newcastle scorers: Kluivert 70, Milner 78, Shearer 86
WBA scorer: Horsfield 87
Sent Off: Purse (West Brom) 63
HEAD TO HEAD TOTALS
League: WBA 38 wins, Newcastle 36, Draws 27
Prem: WBA 0 wins, Newcastle 2, Draws 1
HEAD TO HEAD at WBA
League: WBA 24 wins, Newcastle 10, Draws 16
Prem: WBA 0 wins, Newcastle 0, Draws 1
yenyenpark
03-01-2005, 02:34 PM
who is the Man of Match for our game vs Birmingham?? anyone knows?
dreamer75
03-01-2005, 02:43 PM
great that we start yr 2005 with a win and have signed 2 decent defenders :)
dreamer75
03-01-2005, 02:43 PM
who is the Man of Match for our game vs Birmingham?? anyone knows?
Dyer?.....
dreamer75
03-01-2005, 02:46 PM
WBV vs Newcastle...sorry...me still not so sonvinced that we can win this one...i predict a draw..
Bellamy doubtful..
dreamer75
03-01-2005, 02:49 PM
Jan 2 2005
Exclusive By Martin Hardy
JUBILANT Newcastle boss Graeme Souness has backed £8million new boy Jean-Alain Boumsong to succeed Alan Shearer as club captain.
Souness finally landed the 25-year-old French international on Friday in a deal that could cost Newcastle up to £20m if Boumsong honours the five-and-a-half year contract he signed.
Yet the Toon chief believes he has captured the man to take over when Shearer gives up his skipperÕs armband in the summer.
ÒJean-Alain is a shouter and an organiser and seems to have all the attributes required for captaincy,Ó said Souness.
ÒHe would appear to be a leader on the pitch and you can never have enough leaders.
ÒWe donÕt have enough people who get angry when things go wrong. I want him to show his anger in the proper way when we concede a goal or a decision goes against us.
Leaders
ÒWhen you have leaders on the pitch that encourages other players.
ÒI think he has all the ingredients to be a top player in this country, otherwise I wouldnÕt have been asking the chairman to spend that kind of money.Ó
Souness had Dean Saunders sound out John Hartson about playing against Boumsong in the Old Firm derbies.
He received a glowing report and that convinced him to ask chairman Freddy Shepherd to push through the £40,000-a-week deal.
Souness added: ÒJean-Alain has played in French football where he has dealt with a style of football that is about quick, sharp movement.
ÒThey donÕt often get to play against big traditional English centre- forwards on the Continent, but he has dealt with that in Scotland and thatÕs the most encouraging thing about him.
ÒAlan Shearer played against Jean-Alain in our pre-season tournament and thought he was a good player.
ÒWe spoke to John Hartson and he thought so, too.Ó
dreamer75
03-01-2005, 02:50 PM
Jon Hotton
HISTORY insists that Newcastle United are not winners. The first day of 2005 marks the fiftieth year since they took a domestic trophy, the FA Cup of 1955. The league title last went to St James’s Park in 1927. Yet the oceans of fans who fill the ground boil with expectation, and it’s here, in the gap between reality and dreams, that Graeme Souness may tumble.
Unlike Newcastle, Souness is a winner. His has been a life lived in the jet-streams of success. As a player he was storied, his career crowned by three European Cups. As a manager there are three league titles and four league cups at Rangers, the FA Cup at Liverpool and then the equivalent in Turkey with Galatasaray, and most recently the League Cup with Blackburn Rovers. They are triumphs that have been tempered by failure with Southampton, Torino and Benfica, but then failure is the true currency of football.
Almost everyone fails almost all of the time, and Newcastle has become a particular vortex for failure. Their last four managers have been giants of the game - Kevin Keegan, Kenny Dalglish, Ruud Gullit and Sir Bobby Robson - and yet they could not deliver titles or trophies. The pressure already being exerted upon Souness comes in part from the exasperation of those years. His immediate predecessor, a knight of the realm no less, had them finishing fourth, third and fifth in his three seasons, and it was not enough.
The man is impossibly tough - and he’s going to need to be. He once said that "football can never hurt me", and yet it’s giving him its best shot - two wins in 13 games, none in the last six. His squad is a curious mix of talent and rebellion, and Robson was said to have fallen foul of its factions and its youth; a man cast adrift by the generation gap.
It’s a club and a team that fits the theoretical blueprint for success; it is young and filled with pace, it has players of international quality, it has a dash of experience, it pays big money, it has world-class facilities. And yet it is a side that is emblematic of the modern Premiership malaise. It is a triumph of style over substance; it has been weakened by its excesses.
Souness may be able to stamp on the brattish behaviour of Kieron Dyer, Craig Bellamy and Laurent Robert, he may be able to work around Alan Shearer’s desire to play every game, with the capture of Jean-Alain Boumsong he may even have bought them a defence that ships less than two goals a game, but can he bear the weight of Newcastle’s endless wait for success?
He has a plan, at least: "When we line up in the tunnel I want the opposition to look at the 11 players who are starting the game and think: ‘Bloody hell, we are in against men today’."
He has thrown in an 18-year-old, Steven Taylor, who was not afraid to put Robert Pires on his backside during the Arsenal defeat. He has yearned for the return of Nicky Butt, he Boumsong to be joined by Celestine Babayaro and perhaps Sylvain Distin from Manchester City. He has rotated Bellamy, Shearer and Patrick Kluivert when Shearer has been fit, and has even played Bellamy on the left with Dyer as a midfield runner. A team in the manager’s image is gradually emerging.
And Souness has usually prospered with teams who take to his philosophy. He likes to marry pragmatism with the audacious. At Rangers he bought Mo Johnston. At Liverpool, he broke up the Boot Room. At Galatasaray, he put the club flag in the centre circle of Fenerbahce’s ground.
Yet his singular personality can also leave him isolated. At Liverpool, he never recovered from the decision to sell the story of his heart bypass operation to the Sun, a newspaper loathed on Merseyside. Souness admitted that he should have resigned over the matter. Instead, it was the harbinger for a ruinous time. At Southampton he fell out with Rupert Lowe. At Galatasaray, the flag-planting incident caused a riot. At Blackburn he was unable to arrest the gradual entropy that had set in.
He will have to draw on all of his remarkable self-belief, for he needs to alter not just the team but the entire culture of the club. Shearer’s retirement must be managed, as must the conventional wisdom that the striker is a boss in waiting. Most of all Souness must serve a gaffe-prone chairman in Freddie Shepherd who, this time last year, found seventh place in the Premiership "unacceptable".
Souness must make Shepherd and the fans understand what is realistic. Newcastle are not Arsenal, Chelsea or United, all of whom they have lost to this season. They are not even Liverpool, who have a rich history of success. They are a team who might win some cups and challenge for a Champions League place.
Much lip-service is paid to the "amazing" fans, yet their fantasies have held Keegan, Dalglish, Gullit and Robson hostage. An astonishing arrogance supports the notion that Souness is somehow not qualified for the job, not big enough for the club.
It is time that Newcastle accepted the reality of the past 50 years and let a capable manager do his job before they judge him by standards they have never attained. That is the first step towards reaching them.
http://sport.scotsman.com/index.cfm?id=3212005
Coolsmurf
03-01-2005, 03:32 PM
nothing less than 3 pts tonight against WBA.
and do play laurent robert pls, thanks.
United_Treble
03-01-2005, 04:43 PM
FT West Bromwich 1-1 Newcastle
yenyenpark
03-01-2005, 04:47 PM
Dyer?.....
heard Bowyer perform well and chosen as player of the week in soccernet..
yenyenpark
03-01-2005, 05:06 PM
WBV vs Newcastle...sorry...me still not so sonvinced that we can win this one...i predict a draw..
Bellamy doubtful..i hope can win lor.. since they r at the bottom.. :D
Theychosenone
03-01-2005, 05:09 PM
great that we start yr 2005 with a win and have signed 2 decent defenders :)
Too bad one of them is a direct replacement for a decent defender, Bernard. Still needs that ONE decent central defender and Newcastle will be good to go. :)
If not, we will be stuck in the situation where the good defender (Woodgate, now Boumsong) gets confused and fumbles because of the inaptness and crappy covering of his partner (Bramble or O'Brien).
yenyenpark
03-01-2005, 05:19 PM
Too bad one of them is a direct replacement for a decent defender, Bernard. Still needs that ONE decent central defender and Newcastle will be good to go. :)
If not, we will be stuck in the situation where the good defender (Woodgate, now Boumsong) gets confused and fumbles because of the inaptness and crappy covering of his partner (Bramble or O'Brien).
dun think we will buy again without selling any.. u know lah.. the chairman super stingy one.. no sugar daddy like Roman.. :s8:
Coolsmurf
03-01-2005, 06:13 PM
i prefer to think the other way, the competent defender will make the other bumbling idiot look like world-class defender....
woodgate + obrien was 1 such example, we were quite decent with this pairing
i really antipate to see boumsong playing soon man, just to see if he's the ONE
Shadow04
03-01-2005, 07:02 PM
nothing less than 3 pts tonight against WBA.
and do play laurent robert pls, thanks.
hope so...
2-0 to newcastle... hopefully...
United_Treble
03-01-2005, 07:38 PM
hope so...
2-0 to newcastle... hopefully...
1-1 i hope
daveaha
03-01-2005, 08:22 PM
1-1 i hope
oh.. here comes the great predictor...
I think we can win this time round. Confidence is quite high even though we're not with lots of 1st eleven players...
yenyenpark
03-01-2005, 08:43 PM
i prefer to think the other way, the competent defender will make the other bumbling idiot look like world-class defender....
woodgate + obrien was 1 such example, we were quite decent with this pairing
i really antipate to see boumsong playing soon man, just to see if he's the ONE
that's true.. even without Woodgate, O brien still perform on par.. but after woodgate left.. :s22:
yenyenpark
03-01-2005, 08:47 PM
anyone of u will be watching the LIVe match at 3.45am??
yenyenpark
03-01-2005, 08:49 PM
Souness sweats on Craig Jan 3 2005
By Alan Oliver, The Evening Chronicle
Newcastle United have not given up on Craig Bellamy being fit for tonight's game with bottom-of-the-table West Bromwich Albion at The Hawthorns.
The Welsh international limped off 14 minutes from time in Saturday's victory over Birmingham City at St James' Park complaining of a problem with his knee.
And, with Alan Shearer and Patrick Kluivert already ruled out of tonight's encounter along with full-back Stephen Carr, Graeme Souness is quite naturally keen to have Bellamy in his side.
Indeed, Souness told me today: "Bearing in mind the amount of knee trouble Craig Bellamy has had in the past I think he gave himself a bit of a shock on Saturday.
"But we are still hoping he will make it tonight and we will have one last look just before we get to Newcastle Airport. And I would say his chances are 50-50."
The United boss admitted today that he expected to be without Shearer and Kluivert for "another couple of weeks" because of their respective injuries.
Shearer was set to return on Saturday after his nine-match absence with a thigh injury but he felt some tightness on his calf on Friday and his comeback has now been put on ice.
As far as Kluivert is concerned, United fans can only hope that he has made a New Year resolution to give them value for their money bearing in mind the massive wages he picks up every week.
In the meantime, if Bellamy does fail to make it tonight, Souness has the option of playing James Milner, Darren Ambrose or Charles N'Zogbia.
The United boss added: "We ended up with three 18-year-olds on the field on Saturday in Milner, N'Zogbia and Steven Taylor, and how often do you see that in the Premiership?
"But we have just got to get on with it and know we will move back into the top half of the table tonight if we win and that's what we are hoping to do"
However, United will have to do it without the figure of their manager on the touchline as Souness serves his one-match suspension tonight after being found guilty of improper conduct in the game against Fulham at St James' Park at the beginning of November.
"I will be in the directors box but I will be in touch with our bench by phone," said the United boss.
Meanwhile, new boys Jean-Alain Boumsong and Celestine Babayaro trained at the club's complex today but did not travel to the Midlands with the rest of the United party.
no debut for Boumseng and Baba.. :(
yenyenpark
03-01-2005, 08:51 PM
Shola hungry for more goals after stinging Blues Jan 3 2005
By Miles Starforth, The Evening Chronicle
Shola Ameobi goes in against West Bromwich Albion tonight gunning for more goals after opening his Premiership account for the season on New Year's Day.
Newcastle United's only fully-fit striker scored his first league goal of the season, and his third in total, in Saturday's 2-1 victory over Birmingham at St James' Park and Ameobi is hoping more will follow in 2005.
For the second game in a row Ameobi lined up as a lone striker, supported by Craig Bellamy and Laurent Robert from the flanks. And in the sixth minute Bellamy swung in an inch-perfect cross from the right and Ameobi beat Kenny Cunningham to head home from close range.
"I was due a goal and it was nice to start off the year like that," said Ameobi. "It was a great cross from Craig and it shows I can score with my head!
"I work on my heading all the time. I always want to improve and it has paid off.
"Hopefully I can score a few more in the coming weeks. I felt I could have had a couple more, but the ball just didn't run for me.
"As a striker you're judged on goals - that's the bottom line.
"That's what you're paid to do.
"I want to improve on my tally from the first half of the season and hopefully that goal will open the floodgates.
I'm getting the opportunities and getting into the right positions.
"I've just been enjoying playing, I can only do the best I can. The manager picks the team, and the formation and the new system seem to have worked for us.
"Against Arsenal, I felt we were unlucky and I thought we played well against Birmingham."
Ameobi was denied a second goal by Cunningham's goalline block, with referee Rob Styles stopping play as he tried to force the ball over the line.
He added: "The referee said to me he's always going to give the defender the benefit of the doubt when it's on the goalline. It's one of those things.
"But we wanted to start the year off on a good note, and we've done that.
"We could have had five or six goals, we had so many opportunities.
"Thankfully we've won the game and I've scored a good goal, which I'm pleased about.
"They came back a bit in the second half. They had their tails up after they scored, but we dug in and
full credit to the lads. We came out with three points.
"I'm pleased for the team. We've had this bad run at home when we've not been winning games. We've started the New Year perfectly so hopefully we can continue that against West Brom."
West Brom are still looking for their first win under Bryan Robson and Ameobi knows it's a game the Magpies must win. "We said after the game we're already preparing for the game on Monday," said Ameobi.
"It's two games that we feel we should get maximum points from. We'll go there with our tails up, hopefully this will turn things round for us results-wise.
"Hopefully we can build on this in the second half of the season and climb up that table."
Alan Shearer had been due to return against Birmingham, only to suffer a set-back in training, while Bellamy limped off in that game with a knee injury.
Patrick Kluivert is also sidelined while Ameobi himself has taken a battering in recent weeks.
Ameobi said: "I'm falling apart, especially my back and my shoulder. We're short on strikers but I'm sure the players who come in will do us good."
revenant
03-01-2005, 09:00 PM
anyone of u will be watching the LIVe match at 3.45am??
I think I'll be getting up and watch. Hopefully another 3 points in the bag.
Coolsmurf
03-01-2005, 09:30 PM
i will be watching virtually on espn gamecast,
boumsong and babayaro will make their debut against yeading in fa cup...
kluivert is getting more and more of an liability with his niggling injuries...
dbchoong
04-01-2005, 07:30 AM
:s27: Lucky didn't wake up to watch a bore 0-0 draw.... if it's any consolation, Newcastle had more possession, more shots at goal and no bookings. Lone striker Ameobi just don't have the penetration needed.
:s8:
yenyenpark
04-01-2005, 07:42 AM
:s27: Lucky didn't wake up to watch a bore 0-0 draw.... if it's any consolation, Newcastle had more possession, more shots at goal and no bookings. Lone striker Ameobi just don't have the penetration needed.
:s8:
this is like schumacher driving a proton kancil... want to drive fast also hard.... =:p
Coolsmurf
04-01-2005, 08:37 AM
i think bowyer had the most shots, but as usual, it ends up everywhere but the net
dreamer75
04-01-2005, 11:46 AM
boring game...cant even beat WBA...wat else can we expect come end of the season?
Fresnel
04-01-2005, 12:07 PM
As usual we drew no points from a lowly side. This is so disgraceful.
Theychosenone
04-01-2005, 12:09 PM
Don't think there's much Woodgate sales money left to buy both a proper defender and a striker..
If only Kluivert and Bellamy didn't need to make so many visits to the medical centers :s7:
yenyenpark
04-01-2005, 12:15 PM
by the way, i can't remember when is the last time we got a scoresheet of 0-0.. sigh..
yenyenpark
04-01-2005, 12:46 PM
boring game...cant even beat WBA...wat else can we expect come end of the season?
our EPL advanture is over liao.. i just hope we can win UEFA Cup.. :D
dreamer75
04-01-2005, 02:47 PM
our EPL advanture is over liao.. i just hope we can win UEFA Cup.. :D
can finish top 10 at end of sesason i happy liao..
ZhiQiang
04-01-2005, 02:50 PM
no need another striker... if need another striker, pls sell away kluivert 1st...
as for defender, i feel we need another centre back...
Pls get mexes...
dreamer75
04-01-2005, 03:00 PM
By European Football - January 3 2005
Inter Milan Winger Andy van der Meyde has admitted that he would like to move away from inter and begin a new life in the premiership, and that he has several clubs interested in him, but he favours a move to Newcastle United.
He has bee a peripheral figure at best since the arrival of coach Mancini and has already stated his desire to move to either the premiership or back home to his native Holland.
Speaking to an Italian radio station van der Meyde stated:
“It’s true I am considering a move, I am not part of the coach’s long term plans a feel it would be better for me and Inter if we were to part company now.”
“I have enjoyed my time here, but it is time to move on”.
When asked his likely destination he went on to say:
“I have had no formal contact with any club, but several have expressed an interest, out of those I would favour a move to the premiership and Newcastle, they are a great club and it would be an honour”.
Inter have recently been linked with Dyer, so there could be an outside chance of him being part of any deal.
http://www.sportnetwork.net/main/s342/st64203.htm?fromrss=1
dreamer75
04-01-2005, 03:02 PM
By JANINE SELF
GEOFF HORSFIELD talked referee Neale Barry out of handing team-mate Andy Johnson a red card last night as the Baggies finally had some joy at The Hawthorns.
Official Barry was reaching into his pocket after Albion’s Johnson and rival Toon midfielder Olivier Bernard collided in the 77th minute of this goalless draw.
Johnson had been booked earlier for encroachment at a free-kick and seemed certain to get his marching orders.
But Horsfield’s quick intervention and an injury break so that both players could be treated resulted in a change of heart, and Barry gave a dropped ball instead.
Horsfield revealed: “I said I thought it was a 50-50 ball but the referee told me it was a second yellow card. Then, luckily he changed his mind. I don’t know why.”
Bemused West Brom boss Bryan Robson said: “You’d have to ask the referee why he changed his mind, but I think it was quite sensible.
“I’m not exactly sure what happened, but the ball was there to be won and both players went in a bit high.
“I think that’s why the referee started with a bouncing ball because both players went in exactly the same way.”
The referee admitted his first instinct was to reach for the yellow card but was not sure which player had connected first, so decided not to book either of them.
Newcastle boss Graeme Souness said: “He said to the players there was going to be another yellow card but he changed his mind.
“If he’s admitted it, then fair play to him. It doesn’t help us now, but who knows if it would have changed the course of the game.”
The incident was the main talking point in a match which started full of promise but gradually faded away.
Robson was the happier manager after seeing his team take a first point at home since he became manager, and also keeping a first clean sheet in 13 Premiership matches.
Newcastle were without their three main strikers yet had enough possession to snatch victory.
Defender Titus Bramble steered a free header straight at Russell Hoult.
Lee Bowyer, 28 yesterday, also hit the post in the first half but Newcastle could not capitalise on their superiority.
MY BALL ... Purse tackles Amoebi
Horsfield had the best chance to seal matters in the second half after breaking clear but Shay Given spread his body to block.
Robson can now build on three successive draws and can take heart from the fact that his team never looked like repeating their whipping-boy act of previous games. Robson said: “We’re not 100 per cent happy because we didn’t win, but this has given us the platform to build on. It was important not to get beaten and keeping my first clean sheet was also pleasing.
“This run has been important for players’ confidence. We now have teams in the bottom half of the table coming up so now it’s up to us to prove we’re good enough.”
Souness refused to blame the absence of Alan Shearer, Patrick Kluivert and Craig Bellamy for the fact his team fired blanks.
He confirmed he has made an enquiry for Manchester City’s Sylvain Distin, and he is also looking at several other options.
Souness said: “We are down to the bare bones but we could have won the game.
“But we did not capitalise when we were dominant, and we were not imaginative enough in the last third.”
Robson can only look at the quality of Newcastle’s squad and go green with envy.
He is also planning some business in January, but it is likely to be loans and cheap deals — that’s the difference in the top flight between the big boys and the rest.
DREAM TEAM SUN STAR MAN
LEE BOWYER (Newcastle). Birthday delight for the midfielder.
SUN RATINGS
WEST BROM: Hoult 7, Albrechtsen 6, Purse 6, Clement 6, Robinson 6, Scimeca 7, Johnson 6, Wallwork 7, Earnshaw 6, Horsfield 7, Kanu 5 (Gera 5). Subs not used: Koumas, Contra, Gaardsoe, Kuszczak. Booked: Johnson, Purse.
NEWCASTLE: Given 7, Taylor 6, Bramble 6, Hughes 7, Bernard 6, N’Zogbia 6 (Milner 5), Bowyer 8, Dyer 6, Jenas 6, Robert 7, Ameobi 7. Subs not used: Andrew O’Brien, Ambrose, Brittain, Harper. Booked: Bowyer.
http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2005001351,00.html
ZhiQiang
04-01-2005, 03:08 PM
By European Football - January 3 2005
Inter Milan Winger Andy van der Meyde has admitted that he would like to move away from inter and begin a new life in the premiership, and that he has several clubs interested in him, but he favours a move to Newcastle United.
He has bee a peripheral figure at best since the arrival of coach Mancini and has already stated his desire to move to either the premiership or back home to his native Holland.
Speaking to an Italian radio station van der Meyde stated:
“It’s true I am considering a move, I am not part of the coach’s long term plans a feel it would be better for me and Inter if we were to part company now.”
“I have enjoyed my time here, but it is time to move on”.
When asked his likely destination he went on to say:
“I have had no formal contact with any club, but several have expressed an interest, out of those I would favour a move to the premiership and Newcastle, they are a great club and it would be an honour”.
Inter have recently been linked with Dyer, so there could be an outside chance of him being part of any deal.
http://www.sportnetwork.net/main/s342/st64203.htm?fromrss=1
wah, am i dreaming or not?????????????
yenyenpark
04-01-2005, 03:09 PM
no need another striker... if need another striker, pls sell away kluivert 1st...
as for defender, i feel we need another centre back...
Pls get mexes...
why? i think Kluivert not really tat bad.. considered his wage higher abit, but overall still below Dyer mah.. so dun forget, we get him FREE.. think we should keep them at least til end of the season to tell if really a flop..
dreamer75
04-01-2005, 03:09 PM
haha...no..he plays in right wing?
dreamer75
04-01-2005, 03:10 PM
dreamer75
04-01-2005, 03:11 PM
why? i think Kluivert not really tat bad.. considered his wage higher abit, but overall still below Dyer mah.. so dun forget, we get him FREE.. think we should keep them at least til end of the season to tell if really a flop..
he's free but he doesn't work hard enuff.
Doesn't challenge for headers and dun really go in for tackles.
ZhiQiang
04-01-2005, 03:18 PM
considering the fact that he adds more style to our play, he is basically another walking player on the pitch... must be thinking of where to chiong after the game...
ZhiQiang
04-01-2005, 03:18 PM
not sure... since solano left, our rite wing is lacking big time...
dreamer75
04-01-2005, 03:29 PM
not sure... since solano left, our rite wing is lacking big time...
Andy van der Meyd is a right winger//but it will not come cheap....center back still most critical now..
ZhiQiang
04-01-2005, 03:42 PM
Andy van der Meyd is a right winger//but it will not come cheap....center back still most critical now..
he is going to cost newc if he comes...
yenyenpark
04-01-2005, 04:33 PM
any news about Bellamy injury?? coming back soon?
dreamer75
04-01-2005, 05:46 PM
By Alan Nixon
ASTON VILLA boss David O'Leary is making a shock move for Newcastle United's versatile defender Andy O'Brien.
O'Leary is keen to sign O'Brien and the Toon Army may be willing to let him go if the price is right as Graeme Souness looks to shake up his leaky back line.
O'Brien can play right-back or centre-half and would be a useful addition for Villa, who are still reeling from missing out on Southampton striker James Beattie.
The Newcastle defender has been a regular but could find his place under threat from the signing of Jean-Alain Boumsong.
And if Villa offer enough for O'Brien it could enable Newcastle to raise their offer for Sylvain Distin at Manchester City.
Souness does not want to push O'Brien out, but it could make business sense if Villa come up with around £3million.
Villa are stretched at the back and O'Leary knows his fellow Irishman can perform at the top level in a couple of roles.
Villa also want Portsmouth midfielder Amdy Faye and are willing to go close to the £2.5m valuation, but they face a fight with Middlesbrough for his signature.
http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/sporttop/tm_objectid=15037091%26method=full%26siteid=50143%26headline=villa-in-o-brien-swoop-name_page.html
dreamer75
04-01-2005, 05:47 PM
Graeme Souness lamented his team's lack of creativity as Newcastle were held to a 0-0 draw at bottom club West Bromwich Albion.
The Magpies were shorn of the attacking threat of Alan Shearer, Patrick Kluivert and Craig Bellamy for Monday's tussle at The Hawthorns.
The visitors sorely missed that trio, with Newcastle struggling to break down a resolute Baggies defence.
Souness acknowledged that his squad currently has a threadbare look to it but refused to use it as an excuse for the stalemate.
Instead, Souness bemoaned his team's failure to create enough chances which may have earned The Magpies a vital win.
"We had most of the ball, were on the front foot for the most of the game but without creating enough to come up with the killer blow," said Souness.
"When we got into the last third, we weren't quite imaginative enough, with the obvious reason being the games in such close proximity to one another.
"I don't want to talk about the players I didn't have available because we're Newcastle United and we should have a big, healthy squad.
"We're down to the bones and it shouldn't be like that. But we fielded a team that was good enough to have won the game.
"We just didn't capitalise when we were dominant."
http://skysports.planetfootball.com/Article.asp?id=247634
By Alan Nixon
ASTON VILLA boss David O'Leary is making a shock move for Newcastle United's versatile defender Andy O'Brien.
O'Leary is keen to sign O'Brien and the Toon Army may be willing to let him go if the price is right as Graeme Souness looks to shake up his leaky back line.
O'Brien can play right-back or centre-half and would be a useful addition for Villa, who are still reeling from missing out on Southampton striker James Beattie.
The Newcastle defender has been a regular but could find his place under threat from the signing of Jean-Alain Boumsong.
And if Villa offer enough for O'Brien it could enable Newcastle to raise their offer for Sylvain Distin at Manchester City.
Souness does not want to push O'Brien out, but it could make business sense if Villa come up with around £3million.
Villa are stretched at the back and O'Leary knows his fellow Irishman can perform at the top level in a couple of roles.
Villa also want Portsmouth midfielder Amdy Faye and are willing to go close to the £2.5m valuation, but they face a fight with Middlesbrough for his signature.
http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/sporttop/tm_objectid=15037091%26method=full%26siteid=50143%26headline=villa-in-o-brien-swoop-name_page.htmlpls take o'brien away
yenyenpark
04-01-2005, 07:39 PM
Distin and O brien.. who's better??
Coolsmurf
04-01-2005, 09:40 PM
distin not very competent i feel but he's a tad pacier than o'brien
both I also dun like.Distin slightly better than o brien
Fresnel
04-01-2005, 10:03 PM
no distin pls....pls use money get Van Der Meyde...or a another centerback...maybe even give young Taylor a try and get Der Meyde.
I like Van Der Meyde.Can take over solano position which newcastle have been missing
Shadow04
04-01-2005, 10:43 PM
I like Van Der Meyde.Can take over solano position which newcastle have been missing
i also like Van Der Meyde... :)
and yes, he can take over solano's position...
Shadow04
04-01-2005, 10:46 PM
Distin should be a little better ba... but idealy both stay away from SJP...
Coolsmurf
05-01-2005, 02:22 AM
yah..since boumsong is a direct replacement for woody, souness shld be looking for someone to cover solano position which has been vacated for far too long
jenas/dyer/ambrose/bowyer all cant fill his position, a true natural right winger please!!!
i would love to see emerton though...at least he has settled down already in epl!
dreamer75
05-01-2005, 09:31 AM
both dun like so no comments :)
waynez
05-01-2005, 09:33 AM
both oso useless :s13:
:s7:
dreamer75
05-01-2005, 09:37 AM
yah..since boumsong is a direct replacement for woody, souness shld be looking for someone to cover solano position which has been vacated for far too long
jenas/dyer/ambrose/bowyer all cant fill his position, a true natural right winger please!!!
i would love to see emerton though...at least he has settled down already in epl!
how much will Emertion cost?
if ard same cost as Andy VDM...then get him from Inter better :)
waynez
05-01-2005, 09:48 AM
my opinion.. dont get anymore personnel from Blackburn liao..if not make enemy with them liao.. take their manager, coaches, players... wah lau..might as well buy over blackburn
yenyenpark
05-01-2005, 10:05 AM
my opinion.. dont get anymore personnel from Blackburn liao..if not make enemy with them liao.. take their manager, coaches, players... wah lau..might as well buy over blackburn
i think differently lor.. i think Souness came to Newcastle had not been done properly.. and Blackburn hated Souness, like us hated him for not managing the club well.. anyhow manage then runaway like nothing happened.. very irresponsible..
but if we wanna get Emerton, we should do it in proper way.. negotiate abit.. then Blackburn happy, we happy.. but again will we neg?? :s8:
by the way, who bought Solano to St James Park??
yenyenpark
05-01-2005, 10:08 AM
i also like Van Der Meyde... :)
and yes, he can take over solano's position...
who's he?? pls brief me abit with his background lei.. :D
yenyenpark
05-01-2005, 10:16 AM
Much room for improvement Jan 4 2005
Graeme Souness may have got two of the three defenders Newcastle United so desperately want.
But after watching his side fail to beat a terrible West Bromwich Albion team who had little to offer but the big boot, dare I suggest the United boss starts to looks for some fresh blood up front and also in midfield?
Just how Newcastle failed to win this game after the overwhelming amount of play and possession they had was down to a lack of quality in those two areas of their side.
For, make no mistake about it, the Baggies were there for the taking - but United weren't good enough to do it.
West Brom boss Bryan Robson tried to emulate Bolton Wanderers but they simply didn't have the men to utilise big Sam's dead-ball tactics.
OK, Newcastle did well enough in the first half as West Brom gave them the room and space to play.
But after the break, despite driving forward time after time, United rarely looked like getting the breakthrough and the result was 45 minutes of sheer boredom.
Yet it could have been much worse. For this was one of those games where the fear was always there that West Brom would snatch a late winner.
But Albion were so lacking in ideas, imagination and know-how that they looked what they are - a team going back down into the Championship. And yet Newcastle failed miserably to beat them.
In the first half West Brom put their boots into Shola Ameobi and for the rest of the game they just booted the ball up the field and waited for United to make their usual mistakes.
But Newcastle's much-maligned defence stayed firm and picked up only their third clean sheet from the Premiership this season.
Lee Bowyer claimed yesterday that United had a midfield with as much pace, passion and energy as any in the Premiership.
So how couldn't they open up the worst defence in the Premiership?
With so many players missing through injury, Laurent Robert should have taken on the extra responsibility - but the Frenchman had one of his too frequent infuriating nights.
And what about Kieron Dyer? With the pedigree he has he should be controlling games against teams like West Brom.
But time after time, Dyer ran into trouble and despite all his running he achieved precisely nothing.
They used to say that a point away from home was a good one but boss Souness could have hardly looked more down in the dumps as he left The Hawthorns last night.
i wish our midfielders can score like Manyoo, Arsenal or Chelsea or even Liverpool.. sigh.. our goal from midfield r so limited.. issit running wat they can do ONLY????
yenyenpark
05-01-2005, 10:17 AM
Not good enough Jan 4 2005
Graeme Souness admitted that he is looking to strengthen Newcastle United in every department after his side could only draw with a woefully weak West Bromwich Albion at The Hawthorns last night.
The United manager looked as down last night as at any time since he arrived at St James' Park early in September even though he had seen his team pick up a point and keep only their third clean sheet of the season in the Premiership.
But with the signings of Jean-Alain Boumsong and Celestine Babayaro already in the bag, it is clear that the United boss is still aiming to be busy in the transfer market this month.
Souness could have his own kitty swelled by the fact that both Aston Villa and Wigan are keen on his Republic of Ireland international central defender Andy O'Brien.
And if the United boss does decide to sell O'Brien, it would obviously strengthen his hand in his bid to bring Manchester City captain Sylvain Distin back to St James' Park.
"We had some big-hitters missing but we have got our targets in the transfer market and we are pursuing them," he said.
"I am looking at everything and I think there are areas all over the pitch that we need to strengthen.
"If we don't get another defender in I still think we've improved our lot a great deal by getting in Celestine Babayaro and Jean-Alain Boumsong.
"However, we are thin on options. We are Newcastle United and when we line up against teams in the tunnel the opposition should be looking at us and thinking `that's some group of men we're going to play out there'.
"But we had some young boys out there and for the second game in a row we had three 18-year-olds on the pitch."
Souness fumed after last night's goalless draw: "I am frustrated and disappointed that we did not win after having so much of the ball.
"We have come here and started brightly enough and we had West Brom on the back foot and played well at times.
"We defended very well from the first minute until the last and we were aggressive enough in midfield because we ended up getting the ball back most of the time, but in the final third we were missing.
"Games have come around in quick succession and that showed in our last-third play because that is where you are looking for something with real imagination and we couldn't come up with it.
"We have players who feel they should be in the team all the time and it's up to them to show me they should be in the team all the time.
"We've have had some good performances and some...well, let's say some less than impressive performances against West Brom.
"I am frustrated because we came here and I thought we'd win. I had a smile on my face after the start we made, but when we had them on the back foot we didn't come up with the killer punch.
"If we had done that I think we could have run out winners by more than one goal, but as long as it's 0-0 they are holding on.
"When you have that much of the ball their goalkeeper should be making more saves than he had to and I would have liked to have stretched them more.
"We are a good football team and we can pass it around, keep the ball and create things but the cutting edge was missing from our game."
action!!! dun just talk.. the transfer window dun open permenantly for us!!! Idiot!!
dreamer75
05-01-2005, 10:22 AM
who's he?? pls brief me abit with his background lei.. :D
Dutch winger who's playing with Inter now. Might not be in Mancini's long term plans anymore.
Theychosenone
05-01-2005, 10:24 AM
In my opinion Van Der Meyde has never been a convincing and consistent player.. has skills but only shows them on the rare occasion. Otherwise he just fades out of the game. Sort of like Laurent Robert actually.. :)
His Euro2004 profile: http://www.euro2004.com/tournament/players/player=30725/
An old profile:
ANDY VAN DER MEYDE
------------------------
September 2, 2003
WWith Ajax making losses of some œ17million last season, Andy Van der Meyde is just one of a talented crop of young Amsterdammers who could be sold off to reduce the deficit.
Only last spring, the winger signed a contract extension until summer 2005, but few in Holland would be surprised if the 23-year-old was the first out of the door.
Yet another product of Ajax's celebrated youth system, Van der Meyde has never concealed his long-term plans to emigrate to the English Premier League, and, significantly, it would seem his relationship with Ajax coach Ronald Koeman is far from harmonious.
Koeman has publicly admonished the Holland winger for being too individualistic at times and, in an attempt to rectify the problem, recently switched him from his usual right-wing spot to the opposite flank.
"When Van der Meyde plays on the left he keeps the ball better and doesn't look to make big plays all the time," explained Koeman.
He was proved right. Stationed on the left against Heerenveen in November, Van der Meyde gave one of his best displays of the season, scoring twice in a 3-0 victory. Then again, he is probably used to criticism. Early in his career, some of the Ajax coaching staff thought he did not have a strong enough personality to make the grade. While they gave him top marks for speed, technical prowess and crossing, questions were raised about his lack of confidence and consistency.
After making his debut in October 1997, events seemed to bear out the widely-held view. He could not make the breakthrough permanent and in the next 20 months played only four more times. But Van der Meyde came of age when farmed out to Twente Enschede for the 1999-2000 campaign. He was picked regularly by coach Fred Rutten and played with the sort of purpose he had rarely shown at Ajax.
"My year at Twente was great for my development," says Van der Meyde. "I learnt a lot and gained valuable experience of playing in the top flight. I went back to Ajax a more complete player."
On his recall, he quickly established himself as a first-team mainstay and last season improved still further, making a vital contribution to Ajax's League and Cup double. He also scored on his full debut for the national team in a friendly win over the United States in May.
Van der Meyde obviously has much more character and drive than he was once given credit for.
FACT FILE
Club Ajax
Country Holland
Born September 30, 1979, in Arnhem
Previous club Vitesse 1892
International debut May 2002, v United States
International caps 3 (1 goal)
Honours Dutch League 1998, 2002; Dutch Cup 2002
yenyenpark
05-01-2005, 10:24 AM
Ace Craig gets the green light after knee scan Jan 4 2005
Craig Bellamy has been given the all-clear by a knee specialist and should be fit for Sunday's FA Cup third-round tie with non-league Yeading at Loftus Road.
That was about the only good news to come out of St James' Park today after last night's dismal goalless draw with West Bromwich Albion at The Hawthorns.
Graeme Souness had hoped his Welsh international would be fit to play in the Midlands after Bellamy limped off 14 minutes from the end of Saturday's victory over Birmingham City at St James' Park.
But in the end Bellamy (pictured) did not even travel and instead went to see a specialist about his knee.
And Souness told me: "The specialist has given him the all-clear and we are hoping Bellamy will be OK for Sunday's game in London."
Bellamy's value to United was clear after last night's powder-puff effort at The Hawthorns and Souness will be desperate to have him back, especially as both Alan Shearer and Patrick Kluivert have no chance of being fit.
United, of course, have both their new boys Jean-Alain Boumsong and Celestine Babayaro available to face Yeading but left-back Olivier Bernard is suspended.
Obviously it's too early to say whether Souness will select both Boumsong and Babayaro on Sunday but I would be surprised if he didn't.
Both the new signings have been training at the club's complex while United have been in the Midlands and the first-team squad were given today off before starting to prepare for Yeading tomorrow.
phew.. sweat.. cold sweat for days.. phew..
yenyenpark
05-01-2005, 10:36 AM
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/feature?id=252775&cc=4716
we spent the most in this Jan transfer window..
dreamer75
05-01-2005, 10:55 AM
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/feature?id=252775&cc=4716
we spent the most in this Jan transfer window..
if its money well spent...i dun mind :)
yenyenpark
05-01-2005, 11:02 AM
if its money well spent...i dun mind :)
agreed.. if get relegated.. so much money also no use.. we will be back.. every big club got their downtime.. :s12: :s12:
dreamer75
05-01-2005, 11:07 AM
Well, I predicted that we would blow the chance of getting our second win of the year and I am not at all happy to be correct.
Personally, I would have been happier after the Birmingham game if certain players had not predicted another win, as every time they do that they end up not performing. It is no use claiming that we had many injuries and had to put out a depleted team..........all of the players on show last night are full time professionals earning mega wages so they should at least have been up to the task of beating a side destined for relegation..........and besides, it was probably the younger players who played best anyway.
The simple fact is this............if we can not beat............or at least threaten to beat........West Brom, then we are in big trouble.
Another match to forget in a very forgettable season so far.
Man of the match................at least N'Zogbia tried.
http://drgloom.co.uk/post_mortems/postmortem_frameset.html
dreamer75
05-01-2005, 11:08 AM
dun think they deserved such high ratings
By toonboy_awaisyboy™ - January 4 2005
Toonboy_awaisyboy™ gives his player ratings for the match against WBA. (Parts may have been edited for frontpage resons)
Bramble was good tonight. He won all the balls in the air (which we would have struggled if he was not playing. Great long passes that were ****ed up by the recipient. 8/10
Taylor impresses me more and more at RB. He was solid and should play ** when Carr is back. 8/10
Hughes played well (well not noticeable) albeit all the balls thrown by opposition seemed to aim for Bramble. 7/10
N'Zogbia is a talent. He got to the byline twice in the 2nd half and crossed to player who messed up! 7.5/10
Bowyer was rubbish. He couldn’t hit a ball or get in the game in midfield. 5/10
Dyer was the same as Bowyer except ran like a headless chicken with the ball. 5/10
Jenas was playing the holding role – and played OK. 6/10
Robert was a liability in defensive positions. He showed the ball to opponent and often had it taken from him and was totally single footed. Although, his weighted passes were good but players were offside or messed up their final decisions. 6/10
Ameobi did well for a player on his own and who has a shoulder injury. He held the ball up but had a lack of first touch by his midfielders bar N'Zogbia. 7/10
Bernard did OK. He got up quickly and didn’t appeal for penalty after he dived in penalty area. There was a harsh WBA crowd on his back after that incident. 6/10
Given made one save against Horsefield which was a one on one situation and did well saved us from going one down. 7/10
Team performance: 5/10. The reason for this is because WBA were really bad. They gave the ball away to often to us. We could not hold the ball at all long enough before long balls headed towards Bramble’s direction. Liverpool when they played WBA held the ball much longer then us in their play.
That was the main difference.
Saunders was clueless in the dugout. Kept looking at Souness for guidance! I don’t think he is a good coach at all!
http://www.sportnetwork.net/main/s70/st64262.htm?fromrss=1
dreamer75
05-01-2005, 11:10 AM
The Norwegian international signed a short-term deal with Newcastle when Graeme Souness took over as manager and earned praise from Souness for his contribution to the side.
Johnsen has not featured recently though and with Jean-Alain Boumsong and possibly one other central defender arriving in the near future he is not part of Souness's future plans.
Valerenga, coached by Johnsen's former international team-mate Kjetil Rekdal lead the chase to sign the former Aston Villa and Manchester United man.
http://www.fansfc.com/frontpage/frontpagenews.asp?newsid=134533
dreamer75
05-01-2005, 11:11 AM
Jenas will succeed Shearer as captain
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/main.jhtml?view=DETAILS&grid=D&xml=/sport/2005/01/05/sfnnew05.xml
dreamer75
05-01-2005, 11:11 AM
Newcastle United manager Graeme Souness has expressed an interest in luring Deportivo La Coruna striker Walter Pandiani to St James’ Park if the Spanish club is willing to open negotiations.
Depor president Augusto Cesar Lendoiro has confirmed the Magpies have already been in contact with him concerning a possible deal but he admits it would be very unlikely that they would allow him to leave the club.
“We have had a call from Newcastle but there is also interest from other clubs,” Lendoiro said.
“The situation is complicated and the decision depends on the coach.”
“If Irureta decides that he needs Pandiani, then a sale will not be possible.”
“Depor need much help in attack for the second half of the season and The Rifle is an excellent player.”
“Personally I think it is a very difficult deal to do.”
http://www.robbieslater.com/news.php?NewsID=2527
dreamer75
05-01-2005, 11:12 AM
Any1 has info on Pandiani??
but we dun need a striker leh!!!!
Coolsmurf
05-01-2005, 11:13 AM
i think differently lor.. i think Souness came to Newcastle had not been done properly.. and Blackburn hated Souness, like us hated him for not managing the club well.. anyhow manage then runaway like nothing happened.. very irresponsible..
but if we wanna get Emerton, we should do it in proper way.. negotiate abit.. then Blackburn happy, we happy.. but again will we neg?? :s8:
Aug 1998 Nolberto Solano MID Boca Juniors £2,500,000
signed by Kenny Daglish
Theychosenone
05-01-2005, 11:23 AM
Any1 has info on Pandiani??
but we dun need a striker leh!!!!
Er..
1) Used to be preferred to Diego Tristan to lead Deportivo Attack (don't know what happened recently)
2) Got into a fight with his teammate Albert Luque not so long ago
3) Looks like Robbie Williams :D
http://cache.gettyimages.com/comp/51271383.jpg?x=x&dasite=MS_GINS&ef=2&ev=1&dareq=771BD3E8B814D5CD8F66028ADAAF2CE4A9C30E9B9B114CE8
waynez
05-01-2005, 11:41 AM
still the same la.. not different.. i no say souness come liao make newcastle good... but kapo here kapo there their fans oso wont be happy... emerton not so ideal oso.. got other better option out there.. newcastle is still one of the BIG club in epl so.. dont scare no one will come..hehe.. in the other thread ..they mention chelsea interested in RIO... im currently fantasizing that RIO gone... next season..ManU become this season NewC haha and we next season become stronger than them.. haha.. YESH!
striker wise... since not bringing in Beatties liao.. so might as well opt for Dean Aston... young player.. wont mind this season have little chance of appearing first 11 but maybe after shearer gone after next season... will have the chance of proving himself.. and budget counts too..keke
yenyenpark
05-01-2005, 11:42 AM
Aug 1998 Nolberto Solano MID Boca Juniors £2,500,000
signed by Kenny Daglishsigh tat SBR's heart is too small to let him play Peru.. and the end of story is SOlano leaving us.. :s8:
dreamer75
05-01-2005, 12:17 PM
Portsmouth are set to sell their striker Yakubu Aiyegbeni for around £8m. Three Premiership clubs - including last night's opponents Everton - are in talks about signing the Nigerian, still just 22, who is unlikely to be the only player to leave Fratton Park during the transfer window.
Aston Villa are close to completing a £2m move for the midfielder Amdy Faye - who was put up for sale last month by Portsmouth's chairman Milan Mandaric - while Eyal Berkovic will be allowed to go. At the same time Patrik Berger, whose contract expires this summer, has made it clear he has no intention of signing a new deal. He is prepared to sit out the remainder of his contract, which may force Portsmouth's hand in trying to secure a fee. Villa also hope to finalise a £3m move for the Newcastle defender Andy O'Brien.
dreamer75
05-01-2005, 12:19 PM
Fulham manager Chris Coleman has laughed off speculation linking Luis Boa Morte with a £2 million move to Newcastle United.
The Cottagers chief expects the Portuguese forward to sign a new contract in West London and would not even enter into discussions over a bid of that nature.
"We've not had one enquiry," Coleman said.
"I'm sure there would be a lot of clubs who want Luis because he's a quality player but, unfortunately, they won't be getting him.
"He's not for sale; not up for grabs. All we want to do is keep him at the club as he's a very good player.
"He's important to us, especially the position we are in. We want to keep him, well, extend his contract and keep him at the club.
"It makes you laugh, people talking about Boa Morte moving from this club.
"£2 million is an insult, if you like.
"I wouldn't even get drawn in on a conversation."
http://www.fulhamweb.com/fulhamweb/news/result.asp?article_id=4019
yenyenpark
05-01-2005, 03:24 PM
anymore speculations??
daveaha
05-01-2005, 04:13 PM
NUFCsingapore gathering for Live Match:
NUFC v Yeading, FA Cup, LIVE 9.45pm Sunday 9th Jan, and we will gather at The Penny Black to watch, 9pm onwards, so join us for the first get together of 2005!!
Upstairs in the 2nd storey Snug Bar.
yenyenpark
05-01-2005, 04:50 PM
NUFCsingapore gathering for Live Match:
NUFC v Yeading, FA Cup, LIVE 9.45pm Sunday 9th Jan, and we will gather at The Penny Black to watch, 9pm onwards, so join us for the first get together of 2005!!
Upstairs in the 2nd storey Snug Bar.wow.. sure a nice time to go.. but drinks there not cheap.. :s8: (all pubs not cheap one.. :D )
daveaha
05-01-2005, 05:12 PM
wow.. sure a nice time to go.. but drinks there not cheap.. :s8: (all pubs not cheap one.. :D )
Yup. It's not cheap.
But do you know that you have the option not to buy one ? I think lots of people will think that 11$ drink is too much. Agree...
Anyway, It's worthed for me to watch the game together with the lads !
Shadow04
05-01-2005, 06:43 PM
sigh tat SBR's heart is too small to let him play Peru.. and the end of story is SOlano leaving us.. :s8:
ya lo... pity he left us.... he's really a gem sia... look at Villa now...
revenant
05-01-2005, 08:11 PM
NEWCASTLE have made Portugal star Jorge Andrade their No 1 transfer target.
Boss Graeme Souness had the Deportivo La Coruna central defender watched before Christmas and sees him as the perfect partner for new £8million signing Jean-Alain Boumsong.
Andrade, 26, has asked Fulham striker Luis Boa Morte, his international team-mate, about the Geordies.
Deportivo coach Javier Irureta is keen to keep Andrade and has offered the Euro 2004 star a new contract to keep him in Spain until 2009.
http://images.thesun.co.uk/picture/0,,2005000458,00.jpg
http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2005001496,00.html
GET HIM!
revenant
05-01-2005, 08:15 PM
LEE BOWYER is to be sacrificed by Newcastle boss Graeme Souness in a bid to sign Fulham hitman Luis Boa Morte.
Cottagers boss Chris Coleman does not want to sell — but Souness believes £1million plus Bowyer will make him change his mind.
Portuguese ace Boa Morte, 27, is seen as the man to solve Toon’s striker shortage.
http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2005001481,00.html
LEE BOWYER is to be sacrificed by Newcastle boss Graeme Souness in a bid to sign Fulham hitman Luis Boa Morte.
Cottagers boss Chris Coleman does not want to sell — but Souness believes £1million plus Bowyer will make him change his mind.
Portuguese ace Boa Morte, 27, is seen as the man to solve Toon’s striker shortage.
http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2005001481,00.htmldun waste money on Boa Morte.He is crap
yenyenpark
05-01-2005, 08:34 PM
dun waste money on Boa Morte.He is crap
Bowyer performed well then we wana sell him.. :s8:
yenyenpark
05-01-2005, 08:35 PM
NEWCASTLE have made Portugal star Jorge Andrade their No 1 transfer target.
Boss Graeme Souness had the Deportivo La Coruna central defender watched before Christmas and sees him as the perfect partner for new £8million signing Jean-Alain Boumsong.
Andrade, 26, has asked Fulham striker Luis Boa Morte, his international team-mate, about the Geordies.
Deportivo coach Javier Irureta is keen to keep Andrade and has offered the Euro 2004 star a new contract to keep him in Spain until 2009.
http://images.thesun.co.uk/picture/0,,2005000458,00.jpg
http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2005001496,00.html
GET HIM!he looks good..
Shadow04
05-01-2005, 08:42 PM
dun waste money on Boa Morte.He is crap
yea.. its a bad move by Souness.... again...
trade him just when he's at his top form?
yenyenpark
05-01-2005, 08:44 PM
Souness eyes striker swoop Jan 4 2005
By Simon Rushworth, The Journal
Graeme Souness left the West Midlands last night ready to reassess his January transfer blueprint after shot-shy Newcastle failed to take three points from the Premiership's bottom club.
United's manager confirmed a bruised Shola Ameobi received post-match treatment to a worrying leg injury following a series of heavy first-half collisions at The Hawthorns.
And, although the former England Under-21 international will be fit to face non-League Yeading in Sunday's FA Cup Third Round clash, it is clear Souness requires a short-term solution to his club's sudden dearth of attacking talent.
Craig Bellamy joined Alan Shearer and Patrick Kluivert on the sidelines before Newcastle failed to make their early pressure count against Bryan Robson's West Bromwich Albion and the Welshman's continued absence could force a change of emphasis during the transfer window.
"Shola is okay," insisted Souness after the former trainee left The Hawthorns with a noticeable limp.
"He's got a lot of ice on his leg, but I'm confident he'll be fine. We're looking at several options and, in an ideal world, we would like to sign players to cover various positions this month.
"We have targets but we'll see what happens and much will depend on Craig's injury. We will see what comes along."
Ameobi suffered the heaviest of several falls as a result of Andy Johnson's cynical first-half tackle from behind and the Welsh international was fortunate to avoid a red card 13 minutes from time.
Booked for encroachment before the break, the robust midfielder avoided a second caution only after referee Neale Barry decided against issuing a yellow card following a collision with Olivier Bernard.
The official was holding his card aloft before various Baggies players intervened and Souness confirmed: "The referee said to the players that Johnson's challenge on Bernard warranted a yellow. And then, somewhere along the line, and after some bullying from certain players, he changed his mind.
"If he's admitted as much then fair play to him, but it doesn't help us. I'd have to see the challenge again to see whether it was the right decision or not. I only got a flash of it from the stands. But it's a man's game and these things happen."
Souness was more concerned with his team's failure to convert a series of presentable first half chances and admitted: "We needed to score in that first half hour. I thought we were on the front foot for most of the game but we just didn't have that killer touch when it counted.
"In the final third we just weren't imaginative enough and the obvious reason for that is the number of games the players have been forced to play over the holiday period.
One obvious highlight on an otherwise disappointing night in the Black Country was the assured performance of French teenager Charles N'Zogbia.
The former Le Havre youth player blossomed inside fellow countryman Laurent Robert and Souness added: "I think that's only his second start in four months - the other was a reserve game - and he was fantastic against West Brom. He's going to be a real player and it's obvious he can deal with the pressure at this level."
County Durham-born Robson believed the Baggies created the better of the game's clear cut opportunities. He said: "Newcastle are a great counter-attacking team and I'm delighted with a first clean sheet as West Brom boss. I wanted to put some pressure on their back players and I think it worked well."
yenyenpark
05-01-2005, 08:44 PM
ANDRADE TO TOON?
Graeme Souness wants Deportivo La Coruna central defender Jorge Andrade to partner new signing Jean-Alain Boumsong at the heart of his defence. But he will face a tough task trying to persuade him to leave Spain after Depor coach Javier Irureta offered the Portuguese international a lucrative new contract.
Souness is also chasing Portsmouth striker Yakubu, say the Daily Mirror, while according to The Sun, Lee Bowyer plus £1m will be offered to Fulham in exchange for Luis Boa Morte.
overhaul of Newcastle United?
yenyenpark
05-01-2005, 08:48 PM
Souness salutes braveheart Dyer Jan 5 2005
By Luke Edwards, The Journal
Graeme Souness last night thanked Kieron Dyer for refusing to limp out of Newcastle's Festive programme.
Dyer has been troubled by a cyst behind his knee for almost three weeks and Souness has admitted he would have rested the midfielder had he not had so many other injuries to contend with.
The England international is likely to see a specialist this week to see if anything can be done to remove the cyst and the pain it is causing, ahead of Newcastle's FA Cup third round clash with non-League Yeading at the weekend.
But Souness has admitted that, with Nicky Butt, Stephen Carr, Alan Shearer and Patrick Kluivert all set to miss out, Dyer is unlikely to get the rest he needs.
"I've got to say a big thank-you to Kieron Dyer," said United's manager as he continues to close in on his third transfer window signing, Manchester City's Sylvain Distin.
"Kieron has been carrying an injury for a few weeks now and it is causing him a lot of pain, but he has soldiered on for me and I am very appreciative of that.
"Not only has Kieron played with the injury he has actually been one of our best players over the Christmas period.
"He is a very special player and, in an ideal world, we'd be able to give him a rest and let the injury clear up so that he is playing in games 100pc fit.
"But we've not been able to do that. And, with the number of players we've got out at the moment, we're unlikely to be able to do that this week either."
Dyer has, in recent weeks, begun to look like the player who both Chelsea and Manchester United tried to sign 18 months ago.
His performances have also started to win back the support of the club's fans, who were angered by his refusal to play on the right wing for former manager Sir Bobby Robson.
But Dyer believes he has only been able to shine because of the belief his manager has shown in him.
He said: "A few of the fans may never forgive me and rightly so because what I did at the start of the season was wrong.
"But I am grateful to those who have backed me.
"The manager has put a lot of faith in me, which has boosted my confidence and the fans have also given me a second chance to be honest."
Meanwhile, Distin appears to have paved the way for a return to St James's Park by admitting his interest in the move, while Inter Milan winger Andy Van der Meyde has claimed he is also on Souness' wanted list.
Distin, who left Newcastle two years ago, when chairman Freddie Shepherd refused to match his wage demands, said: "I am fine at City where the club is starting to stabilise, but Newcastle would be an attractive challenge."
United are understood to have made a bid of £5m for the French defender, but City are holding out for £7m. Right-winger van der Meyde, who has been capped 15 times by Holland, has also suggested he is interested in a move to Tyneside.
The 25-year-old, who has also been linked with Middlesbrough, said: "I have had no formal contact with any club, but several have expressed an interest.
"Out of those I would favour a move to the Premiership and Newcastle are a great club and it would be an honour to play for them."
No point linking to so many player.Just sack Souness and it will make the job easier. Sad to see a team rebuilt by bobby robson sliding down the table.
revenant
05-01-2005, 09:57 PM
Fulham want Newcastle United left-back Olivier Bernard - and this could pave the way to their striker Luis Boa Morte arriving at St James' Park.
Fulham boss Chris Coleman is aware of United's interest in his Portuguese forward - and so too is the player.
Indeed, Coleman's reaction to all this is to offer Boa Morte a two-year extension to his contract which still has 18 months to run.
And United's interest in Boa Morte has alerted former Fulham assistant manager Christian Damiano, who is now working for Southampton and would love to take his former protege to St Mary's Stadium.
Fulham are currently operating with 20-year-old Adam Green at left back, but he has not looked the part and they have also used Argentinian central defender Carlos Bocanegra there.
This is because they have their No 1 choice, the former Rangers left-back Jerome Bonnissel, out for the rest of the season with Achilles tendon trouble.
Bernard has reacted positively to the signing of Chelsea left-back Celestine Babayaro but, with his new contract still lying unsigned, the young French defender does not appear to have much future at St James' Park.
He is now free to sign a pre-contract agreement for any other club and there will be no shortage of takers, especially as he will be a free transfer at the end of the season.
With the FA offices now open after the holidays, things are expected to hot up in the transfer market and United will be in the thick of things.
Aston Villa boss David O'Leary is keen on United defender Andy O'Brien, while I hear that, after losing out to Everton for Southampton striker James Beattie, Villa are now looking in the direction of Shola Ameobi.
But the problem O'Leary has is that his chairman Doug Ellis, unlike Freddy Shepherd at St James' Park, will not come up with the wages to attract the best players to Villa Park.
Meanwhile, Graeme Souness took in the Everton game with Portsmouth at Goodison Park last night and there were several players on view who could have interested the United boss.
One of them would undoubtedly be Everton's midfield driving force Thomas Gravesen.
Indeed, United know that Everton boss David Moyes is an admirer of Kieron Dyer but they have not suggested Gravesen in any swop deal because they know that the Danish midfielder is bound for Italy.
http://icnewcastle.icnetwork.co.uk/newcastleunited/news/tm_objectid=15042062%26method=full%26siteid=50081%26headline=ollie%2dbait%2din%2dluis%2dbid-name_page.html
Fresnel
05-01-2005, 11:14 PM
he looks good..
EEEE WHEre got look good? He reminds me of a certain Titus Shambles.
Fresnel
05-01-2005, 11:16 PM
No point linking to so many player.Just sack Souness and it will make the job easier. Sad to see a team rebuilt by bobby robson sliding down the table.
AGREED. So many players oso no use....CUZ' we are bottlenecked by a mid-table standard manager
waynez
05-01-2005, 11:22 PM
wah kao.. he bloody hell changing the whole squad issit.. sian... the more linkage he suggesting.. makes me more du lan... ... now even the on-form bowyer is oso linked to fulham...kaoz.
Shadow04
06-01-2005, 12:00 AM
wah kao.. he bloody hell changing the whole squad issit.. sian... the more linkage he suggesting.. makes me more du lan... ... now even the on-form bowyer is oso linked to fulham...kaoz.
actually... changing the whole squad is not necessarily a bad thing... provided that he can make this team an even better one(though i higher doubt so) that is...
but trading off bowyer is really pissing me off sia... i have high hopes for him(been impressed by him during his Leeds days), now, just when he is starting to prove himself, this moron had to trade him out....
Coolsmurf
06-01-2005, 09:15 AM
too many rumours flying around man...very unsettling for current players..
van der meyde - remote possibility only
boa morte - depends on whether he signs with fulham
andrade - remote, but he's good man, boumsong + him = power
distin - well, this looks likely, both sides seem to admit a liking to each other
bernard - his future looks bleak
bowyer - granted he's playing well now, but his goal to shots ratio is still poor and he''s still a nutcase
i dun really see a need to overhaul the whole squad, but if he needs to sell to get in players, i dun blame him..
dreamer75
06-01-2005, 10:00 AM
Fulham want Newcastle United left-back Olivier Bernard - and this could pave the way to their striker Luis Boa Morte arriving at St James' Park.
Fulham boss Chris Coleman is aware of United's interest in his Portuguese forward - and so too is the player.
Indeed, Coleman's reaction to all this is to offer Boa Morte a two-year extension to his contract which still has 18 months to run.
And United's interest in Boa Morte has alerted former Fulham assistant manager Christian Damiano, who is now working for Southampton and would love to take his former protege to St Mary's Stadium.
Fulham are currently operating with 20-year-old Adam Green at left back, but he has not looked the part and they have also used Argentinian central defender Carlos Bocanegra there.
This is because they have their No 1 choice, the former Rangers left-back Jerome Bonnissel, out for the rest of the season with Achilles tendon trouble.
Bernard has reacted positively to the signing of Chelsea left-back Celestine Babayaro but, with his new contract still lying unsigned, the young French defender does not appear to have much future at St James' Park.
He is now free to sign a pre-contract agreement for any other club and there will be no shortage of takers, especially as he will be a free transfer at the end of the season.
With the FA offices now open after the holidays, things are expected to hot up in the transfer market and United will be in the thick of things.
Aston Villa boss David O'Leary is keen on United defender Andy O'Brien, while I hear that, after losing out to Everton for Southampton striker James Beattie, Villa are now looking in the direction of Shola Ameobi.
But the problem O'Leary has is that his chairman Doug Ellis, unlike Freddy Shepherd at St James' Park, will not come up with the wages to attract the best players to Villa Park.
Meanwhile, Graeme Souness took in the Everton game with Portsmouth at Goodison Park last night and there were several players on view who could have interested the United boss.
One of them would undoubtedly be Everton's midfield driving force Thomas Gravesen.
Indeed, United know that Everton boss David Moyes is an admirer of Kieron Dyer but they have not suggested Gravesen in any swop deal because they know that the Danish midfielder is bound for Italy.
http://icnewcastle.icnetwork.co.uk/newcastleunited/news/tm_objectid=15042062%26method=full%26siteid=50081%26headline=ollie%2dbait%2din%2dluis%2dbid-name_page.html
FAT HOPE Fulham...no way man..
dreamer75
06-01-2005, 10:01 AM
agreed!!
that;s one of our wish for the new yr..
yenyenpark
06-01-2005, 10:05 AM
actually... changing the whole squad is not necessarily a bad thing... provided that he can make this team an even better one(though i higher doubt so) that is...
but trading off bowyer is really pissing me off sia... i have high hopes for him(been impressed by him during his Leeds days), now, just when he is starting to prove himself, this moron had to trade him out....i think like u too.. i dun like Bowyer since he came.. but as he's shining now, SOuness should encourage him to prove himself by scoring more, instead of asking him to leave..
may b overhaul at this time is good, as our season is more than over, if we overhaul next season, players need to gel themselves with one anothers... tat very hard to play well.. :D
dreamer75
06-01-2005, 10:05 AM
Results from a recent poll held about French winger, Laurent Robert. "Laurent Robert is a..."
- mercurial genius who should start every game 47%
- luxury player who should start some games 32%
- lazy **** who should be sold to whoever will take him as soon as the clock strikes 12 on December 31st 21%
Number of votes: 1024
dreamer75
06-01-2005, 10:06 AM
guys, Best Newcastle Utd Player Of 2004?
yenyenpark
06-01-2005, 10:07 AM
without pouring money into the market, swapping money is like a gamble.. it might b lose-lose situation for teams.. sianz..
it's like Blackburn and us, we get their manager, as guess wat, we r still nowhere near half the strength of a big club... sigh..
dreamer75
06-01-2005, 10:10 AM
any possibility of signing Jermaine Pennan?
yenyenpark
06-01-2005, 10:17 AM
guys, Best Newcastle Utd Player Of 2004?
who?? can't think of anyone.. if i am going to choose one, i will choose Bellamy.. he scored quite some goals for us, and if our defence were not this bad, we might hav in at least in top 7.. if not top 5.. :s8:
yenyenpark
06-01-2005, 10:19 AM
any possibility of signing Jermaine Pennan?
gunner's defender?
Coolsmurf
06-01-2005, 10:24 AM
pennant is gunners youth academy product, england u-21 winger, was playing on loan for leeds for the last season, has not been a favourite of arsene wenger, hardly plays...
he's a explosive winger...ever-present for leeds, but always injured when at arsenal...
dreamer75
06-01-2005, 10:24 AM
gunner's defender?
no lah...right winger...IIRC..
dreamer75
06-01-2005, 10:25 AM
pennant is gunners youth academy product, england u-21 winger, was playing on loan for leeds for the last season, has not been a favourite of arsene wenger, hardly plays...
he's a explosive winger...ever-present for leeds, but always injured when at arsenal...
now playing for Man City i think?
injury-prone again..
bro, u keep changing ur avatar?
yenyenpark
06-01-2005, 10:27 AM
hmm.. i dun think so.. keep bowyer and dyer.. may b get viana back next season.. but if Pennant price is under our budget, why not.. the more, the merrier.. :D
yenyenpark
06-01-2005, 10:29 AM
Boum will take no chances Jan 5 2005
Jean-Alain Boumsong is hoping he does not get plastered when he makes his Newcastle United debut in Sunday's FA Cup third round tie with Yeading at Loftus Road.
But the £8m former Rangers man will be taking no chances, even though he will be facing part-time striker and full-time plasterer Errol Telemague in his first appearances in a black and white shirt.
Boumsong knows that had he not signed for United he would have been playing in Sunday's big Scottish Cup-tie between Rangers and Celtic.
However, he says: "Yeading is now the big match for me and even though I don't know many of their players I will treat anyone I am playing against with respect."
Telemague has one advantage over Boumsong in that he seems to know all about the French international, saying: "When I heard they had signed him from Rangers and that he was likely to make his debut against us, my heart sank.
"He is a quality player and while the Newcastle defence has not been particularly impressive this season, Boumsong and Celestine Babayaro will make it that much harder for us."
United thought they had found a loophole in the rules that allowed Boumsong to play for them in the UEFA Cup if they won their way through to the final.
But they have been told that this is not the case because Boumsong has already played for Rangers in Europe this season.
United can register three other new players they may sign in January to play in the UEFA Cup for them for the rest of this season.
United have sold 3,100 tickets for Sunday's trip to Loftus Road and tickets are now on general sale.
dreamer75
06-01-2005, 10:30 AM
hmm.. i dun think so.. keep bowyer and dyer.. may b get viana back next season.. but if Pennant price is under our budget, why not.. the more, the merrier.. :D
If Pennant is not injury-prone...i dun mind...
cos i feel that he's a gd winger...:)
yenyenpark
06-01-2005, 10:30 AM
now playing for Man City i think?
injury-prone again..
bro, u keep changing ur avatar?
i like his signature's pic though.. :D
dreamer75
06-01-2005, 10:36 AM
i like his signature's pic though.. :D
our common idol..heehee..:D
yenyenpark
06-01-2005, 10:40 AM
our common idol..heehee..:Dany more news on Newcastle United hur?? pls help post it here lei.. :)
yenyenpark
06-01-2005, 10:42 AM
Shearer 'close' to Newcastle return
Alan Shearer is edging closer to full fitness after a suffering a calf injury in training.
But whether the former England striker will be ready in time for Newcastle's FA Cup game against non-league Yeading on Sunday remains to be seen.
Manager Graeme Souness is certainly light up front at the moment with Craig Bellamy and Patrick Kluivert suffering from knee and hamstring injuries respectively.
Shearer was in line to make his comeback against Birmingham at the weekend following an 11-match absence with a thigh problem.
But a day before the game he felt tightness in his calf and his return was put on hold and he cannot disguise his frustration.
'Things are going fine now but it is killing me not being able to play,' he told the club website.
'The fact that I have not been able to return is not for the want of trying,
'I cannot say how frustrated and disappointed I was to pull out of the squad for the game against Birmingham - I found it all a bit embarrassing.
'In 18 years as a player I have never had a niggly muscle injury and yet I have had a couple in the past couple of months.
'I built my hopes up on a return against Birmingham only to have my calf tighten in training on Friday. I was devastated.'
sian... is Bellamy ready to play?? and when can Shearer come back?? really sian of these injury news.. cannot confirm one.. sigh..
Coolsmurf
06-01-2005, 10:49 AM
pennant is still at arsenal, playing in the carling cup and 1 or 2 sub appearances in the epl, tats it, wenger doesnt favour him 1 bit, because pennant is a winger who likes to chiong, chiong, playing kinda direct which doesnt suit arsenal style. but he will suit us i feel, he can penetrate but crossing wise dun think can fight with solano
dreamer75
06-01-2005, 10:50 AM
interesting./....training bust up?
---------------------------------
By William Gordon
Date: 5/1/2005
Alan Shearer as been out for 11 games, but even the player himself said he was ready to play LAST weekend. He admitted to the Evening Chronicle that his absence from the side is "killing him." But some think there is another reason why he hasn't been out on the field in black and white.
The United skipper added that he hoped to be back "sooner rather than later", but has he missed 11 games simply because he damaged his thigh muscle in training?
The injury happened in the middle of November but he said he would be back to play against Birmingham City (which took place last Saturday) and manager Graeme Souness knocked it back straight away: "Shola Ameobi and Craig Bellamy will play against Birmingham".
Then it came out Shearer had picked up a calf injury.
There have been wild rumours of a training ground bust up, some say it wasn't on the training ground but after training. There has been talk of player bans, the chairman dishing out fines, and all manner of stories. None of which we can confirm.
So let's leave Shearer to talk and do what he does best ... tell you nothing!
ALAN SHEARER: "Things are going fine now but it is killing me not being able to play, and the fact that I have not been able to return is not for the want of trying.
"I cannot say how frustrated and disappointed I was to have to pull out of the squad for Saturday's game with Birmingham and to tell the truth I found it all a bit embarrassing.
"In 18 years as a player I never had a niggly muscle injury and yet I have had a couple in the last few months.
"But I built my hopes up for a return against Birmingham only to have my calf tighten in training on Friday - and I was devastated."
http://newcastleunited.rivals.net/default.asp?sid=893&p=2&stid=8369683
dreamer75
06-01-2005, 10:52 AM
pennant is still at arsenal, playing in the carling cup and 1 or 2 sub appearances in the epl, tats it, wenger doesnt favour him 1 bit, because pennant is a winger who likes to chiong, chiong, playing kinda direct which doesnt suit arsenal style. but he will suit us i feel, he can penetrate but crossing wise dun think can fight with solano
i luv his PACE...:D
Coolsmurf
06-01-2005, 10:53 AM
pennant was a loan success at leeds because leeds was playing direct and those balls over the top for him to chase, sadly, leeds still was relegated...
dreamer75
06-01-2005, 11:03 AM
Clubs join race to sign winger Arsenal seem content to let go
Matt Scott
Thursday January 6, 2005
The Guardian
Jermaine Pennant dug out the ball from under his foot and, from the corner flag, contrived to swing in an improbable cross which gave Robin van Persie a golden shooting chance. The Dutchman missed his shot against Manchester City on Tuesday night and, with the headlines focusing on Arsenal's slip to seven points behind the league leaders Chelsea, Pennant's good work was hardly noted.
Pennant is used to such frustrations. It will be fully six years on Saturday since his £2m move from Notts County made him the most expensive teenager in English football history. On the basis that he has made only two Premiership starts for Arsenal, it was a gamble on a 15-year-old which backfired spectacularly for Arsène Wenger. Why, then, is he generating so much Premiership interest?
Pennant's contract expires in five months and, unlike for his team-mates Edu and Lauren, there has been no offer of an extension from Arsenal. Since the transfer window opened last Saturday he has had the right to sign a pre-contract agreement with any foreign club. Atlético Madrid, keen to provide Fernando Torres with the crosses he craves, head a list of overseas suitors.
Everton had a £1.5m bid for Pennant turned down last summer, and Birmingham, Liverpool, Middlesbrough and Tottenham are all monitoring his progress. At a time when the tactical fad is for 4-5-1 or 4-3-3, in which goalscoring wingers are prized possessions, Pennant could offer sides genuine width and penetration.
Yet still he makes little impact at Highbury. "We are a team who have a youth policy," said Wenger. "It is one thing having that and it is another thing putting them in. People say we want you to fight for the championship, we want you to integrate all the young players and we want you to win every game. It is very, very difficult."
Nevertheless, the likes of the 17-year-old Cesc Fábregas, the 20-year-old Mathieu Flamini and the 21-year-old Van Persie can point to CVs containing numerous Arsenal starts in a fraction of the time that Pennant has spent with the champions. Wenger still seems wary of the youngster's historical lack of application.
Pennant is aware of the weight of words when the Arsenal manager talks of his admiration for Shaun Wright-Phillips, the right-winger who scored for City in the 1-1 draw on Tuesday, saying: "I like his attitude."
Liam Brady, the head of Arsenal's academy, said in the Wenger biography The Glorious Game that Pennant "has only got himself to blame. He's not punctual enough, he was sent home from England [Under-21]. He has to demonstrate that he can handle that side of it as well, because Arsène has a lot of options to choose from."
Pennant feared that dismissal from the England Under-21s, after he broke a curfew before an international against Turkey in April 2003, would be the final straw for Wenger. "I know I have to change and this is probably the turning point," he said at the time.
A month later Wenger offered him a final chance, as a starter for Southampton's visit to Highbury, and he scored a hat-trick in a 6-1 demolition.
The following season was spent at Leeds, where he gained his first real top-flight experience with 34 Premiership starts. "Being a young lad with maybe a few hangers-on, it's easy to see where the pitfalls have arisen and why he strayed once or twice," Leeds's manager Kevin Blackwell said yesterday. "But he's a good lad, Jermaine.
"There are top Premiership clubs interested in Jermaine and those clubs don't go for people who are going to cause trouble all the time."
Wenger has five months to decide whether Arsenal remain among them.
http://football.guardian.co.uk/News_Story/0,1563,1384221,00.html?gusrc=rss
yenyenpark
06-01-2005, 11:12 AM
Clubs join race to sign winger Arsenal seem content to let go
Matt Scott
Thursday January 6, 2005
The Guardian
Jermaine Pennant dug out the ball from under his foot and, from the corner flag, contrived to swing in an improbable cross which gave Robin van Persie a golden shooting chance. The Dutchman missed his shot against Manchester City on Tuesday night and, with the headlines focusing on Arsenal's slip to seven points behind the league leaders Chelsea, Pennant's good work was hardly noted.
Pennant is used to such frustrations. It will be fully six years on Saturday since his £2m move from Notts County made him the most expensive teenager in English football history. On the basis that he has made only two Premiership starts for Arsenal, it was a gamble on a 15-year-old which backfired spectacularly for Arsène Wenger. Why, then, is he generating so much Premiership interest?
Pennant's contract expires in five months and, unlike for his team-mates Edu and Lauren, there has been no offer of an extension from Arsenal. Since the transfer window opened last Saturday he has had the right to sign a pre-contract agreement with any foreign club. Atlético Madrid, keen to provide Fernando Torres with the crosses he craves, head a list of overseas suitors.
Everton had a £1.5m bid for Pennant turned down last summer, and Birmingham, Liverpool, Middlesbrough and Tottenham are all monitoring his progress. At a time when the tactical fad is for 4-5-1 or 4-3-3, in which goalscoring wingers are prized possessions, Pennant could offer sides genuine width and penetration.
Yet still he makes little impact at Highbury. "We are a team who have a youth policy," said Wenger. "It is one thing having that and it is another thing putting them in. People say we want you to fight for the championship, we want you to integrate all the young players and we want you to win every game. It is very, very difficult."
Nevertheless, the likes of the 17-year-old Cesc Fábregas, the 20-year-old Mathieu Flamini and the 21-year-old Van Persie can point to CVs containing numerous Arsenal starts in a fraction of the time that Pennant has spent with the champions. Wenger still seems wary of the youngster's historical lack of application.
Pennant is aware of the weight of words when the Arsenal manager talks of his admiration for Shaun Wright-Phillips, the right-winger who scored for City in the 1-1 draw on Tuesday, saying: "I like his attitude."
Liam Brady, the head of Arsenal's academy, said in the Wenger biography The Glorious Game that Pennant "has only got himself to blame. He's not punctual enough, he was sent home from England [Under-21]. He has to demonstrate that he can handle that side of it as well, because Arsène has a lot of options to choose from."
Pennant feared that dismissal from the England Under-21s, after he broke a curfew before an international against Turkey in April 2003, would be the final straw for Wenger. "I know I have to change and this is probably the turning point," he said at the time.
A month later Wenger offered him a final chance, as a starter for Southampton's visit to Highbury, and he scored a hat-trick in a 6-1 demolition.
The following season was spent at Leeds, where he gained his first real top-flight experience with 34 Premiership starts. "Being a young lad with maybe a few hangers-on, it's easy to see where the pitfalls have arisen and why he strayed once or twice," Leeds's manager Kevin Blackwell said yesterday. "But he's a good lad, Jermaine.
"There are top Premiership clubs interested in Jermaine and those clubs don't go for people who are going to cause trouble all the time."
Wenger has five months to decide whether Arsenal remain among them.
http://football.guardian.co.uk/News_Story/0,1563,1384221,00.html?gusrc=rss
but no bid from Newcastle United??
yenyenpark
06-01-2005, 12:11 PM
anyone will b watching Sunday live match?? debuts for our two defenders??
Coolsmurf
06-01-2005, 12:15 PM
yah of course. everyone will be watching boumsong..
dreamer75
06-01-2005, 12:17 PM
i will be...defintely...
yenyenpark
06-01-2005, 01:10 PM
Bernard will have to pay the price of playing fire on his contract.. sigh sigh.. 5 millions worth of contract!!! why Bernard??
hope Babayoro is equally good.. may b not attacking.. but i will hope he did better in defence than Bernard... go go.. Toons..
dreamer75
06-01-2005, 02:16 PM
Bernard will have to pay the price of playing fire on his contract.. sigh sigh.. 5 millions worth of contract!!! why Bernard??
hope Babayoro is equally good.. may b not attacking.. but i will hope he did better in defence than Bernard... go go.. Toons..
hope he changes his mind lor..
dreamer75
06-01-2005, 02:17 PM
but no bid from Newcastle United??
start bidding now if its feasible...
ZhiQiang
06-01-2005, 02:36 PM
i would rather sell bowyer and get pennant than sell boywer get boa monte...
dreamer75
06-01-2005, 02:49 PM
i would rather sell bowyer and get pennant than sell boywer get boa monte...
well said...
waynez
06-01-2005, 03:28 PM
looks like this january transfer windows is the TIME for newcastle to get back on HEADLINES :s13:
dreamer75
06-01-2005, 03:38 PM
looks like this january transfer windows is the TIME for newcastle to get back on HEADLINES :s13:
we are considered a big club...so everyday shld have headlines...
waynez
06-01-2005, 04:37 PM
we are considered a big club...so everyday shld have headlines...
tats whyi i said... we are fighting BACK to be in the headlines...
ZhiQiang
06-01-2005, 04:37 PM
i hope that deport defender comes...
and that monte dun!!!
daveaha
06-01-2005, 05:45 PM
Guys,
the Penny Black will be closed this Sunday because of their own staffs dinner.
Therefore, the gathering to watch Yeading vs NUFC is shifted to Molly Malone.
Molly Malone, located very near to Penny Black (around 100m away, the new one at the end of circular road, behind penny black and mcdonalds), are screening the NUFC match and welcome us down.
Hence gathering 9pm onwards, Molly Malones, Sunday 9th Jan.
See you all there !
Dave
Map link :
http://www.streetdirectory.com.sg/mapsize2.jsp?masterID=100966&postal=048618&building_name=MRT%20Station:%20Raffles%20Place%20(EW14-NS26)&road_name=Raffles%20Place&house_blk_no=5&heading=Mrt+Station%3A+Raffles+Place+%28ew14-ns26%29&&x=29743.47&y=30001.79&level=7&iconlist=star1,29743.47,30001.79;&star=1&clickMap=0&clickX=29774.89&clickY=29879.36
Theychosenone
06-01-2005, 06:06 PM
Buying Jorge Andrade would be awesome, he was very good partnering Ricardo Carvalho in Euro 2004. Don't worry he doesn't fumble much, not as much as Titus anyway. :)
Coolsmurf
06-01-2005, 06:57 PM
this andrade news might not be real, but it has got me very excited indeed, he will represent a big buy...
yenyenpark
06-01-2005, 08:54 PM
any prediction on Sunday's FA cup scoreline??
Shadow04
06-01-2005, 09:08 PM
2-0, 2-0, we're gonna win 2-0...
Fresnel
06-01-2005, 11:21 PM
you mean headlines like :
"Why Souness ? Why?"
Positive scorelines continue to evade Souness and the toon army as they fail yet to beat Southampton who are rock bottom...blah blah blah.
OR
"French Flop?"
Boumsong admitted that he is anable to adapt to Souness' draconian style of management and may seek for a place elsewhere. News of Babayaro having a bust up with his manager has been confirmed...blah blah blah
Well, u ged the picture ;p
daveaha
07-01-2005, 12:06 AM
Guys,
Molly Malone, located very near to Penny Black (around 100m away, the new one at the end of circular road, behind penny black and mcdonalds), are screening the NUFC match and welcome us down.
See you all there !
Dave
Guys, I really hope that you all can join us at Molly Malone to watch the game together.... anybody ?
yenyenpark
07-01-2005, 10:17 AM
you mean headlines like :
"Why Souness ? Why?"
Positive scorelines continue to evade Souness and the toon army as they fail yet to beat Southampton who are rock bottom...blah blah blah.
OR
"French Flop?"
Boumsong admitted that he is anable to adapt to Souness' draconian style of management and may seek for a place elsewhere. News of Babayaro having a bust up with his manager has been confirmed...blah blah blah
Well, u ged the picture ;pdun be so... anyway, can't blame u.. considering we can't even win over West Brom.. :s22:
yenyenpark
07-01-2005, 10:18 AM
no less than 2 goals is considerred good for us.. and a clean sheet is a MUST against Yeading..
Coolsmurf
07-01-2005, 11:41 AM
this yeading is a conference team and yes i know fa cup always have upsets, but i see nothing less than a big-scoring win + no goals conceded...
dreamer75
07-01-2005, 11:48 AM
i expect a big-scoring match...with us scoring a few goals..
if not we really jia lek case..
Fresnel
07-01-2005, 01:06 PM
We shall see.....we shall see...i'll never forget how we struggled against Stevenage a non-league side. Souness have lotsa to prove to get me on his side man....jerK....
Shadow04
07-01-2005, 01:32 PM
i expect a big-scoring match...with us scoring a few goals..
if not we really jia lek case..
under Souness? i think not..
if we concede a goal, it's bad enough imo(nevermind the high scoring part).... we'll see how Boumsong fare then...
yenyenpark
07-01-2005, 01:39 PM
guys.. give some confidence to Newcaslt United lah.. aiyoh.. i really hope can see any silverware.. even small one like FA Cup or big one like UEFA Cup..
i just want the silverware... :s12: :s12:
yenyenpark
07-01-2005, 01:44 PM
Henchoz still considering his options
Liverpool defender Stephane Henchoz insists he has not ruled out a move to Rangers.
The Switzerland international has been offered a deal by Rangers but had told reporters in his home country that he wanted to stay in England.
However the 30-year-old maintains he has made no final decision on his future.
Henchoz told BBC Sport: 'I haven't made up my mind yet.
'There are two clubs from the Premiership interested, but all three are interesting offers.
'My agent is dealing with the negotiations with Rangers. I need to see what is the best option.'
should we get him?? :p
Shadow04
07-01-2005, 01:55 PM
guys.. give some confidence to Newcaslt United lah.. aiyoh.. i really hope can see any silverware.. even small one like FA Cup or big one like UEFA Cup..
i just want the silverware... :s12: :s12:
i also want sliverware... who doesnt... but seriously... i think we should give Shearer a piece of sliverware before he retires..... :(
waynez
07-01-2005, 02:12 PM
i also want sliverware... who doesnt... but seriously... i think we should give Shearer a piece of sliverware before he retires..... :(
i give him... All-Time Newcastle Fans' Player Award
Henchoz still considering his options
Liverpool defender Stephane Henchoz insists he has not ruled out a move to Rangers.
The Switzerland international has been offered a deal by Rangers but had told reporters in his home country that he wanted to stay in England.
However the 30-year-old maintains he has made no final decision on his future.
Henchoz told BBC Sport: 'I haven't made up my mind yet.
'There are two clubs from the Premiership interested, but all three are interesting offers.
'My agent is dealing with the negotiations with Rangers. I need to see what is the best option.'
should we get him?? :p
i got him in my FM2005
ZhiQiang
07-01-2005, 02:22 PM
is the newcastle televised in astro??? will be in malaysia tomolo... dun think can catch this match... hope when i come back, i dun see bad results...
daveaha
07-01-2005, 02:42 PM
is the newcastle televised in astro??? will be in malaysia tomolo... dun think can catch this match... hope when i come back, i dun see bad results...
I belive Astro also showing the same thing.
Just look for Star sports @ 9.40 pm, unless it's stated otherwise...
dreamer75
07-01-2005, 03:26 PM
shld be showing lah..M'sia also a lota EPL fans..
ZhiQiang
07-01-2005, 05:04 PM
shld be showing lah..M'sia also a lota EPL fans..
I belive Astro also showing the same thing.
Just look for Star sports @ 9.40 pm, unless it's stated otherwise...
Thankie all... :D
Ultimate10002000
07-01-2005, 10:05 PM
Newcastle is obviously under performing this season...hope they can do better anyway still got chance to get a place in european football. The team cant lose points like that anymore.
yenyenpark
07-01-2005, 11:45 PM
Coleman warns Souness off striker
Fulham manager Chris Coleman today vowed Luis Boa Morte will not be leaving Craven Cottage during the January transfer window and revealed the Portuguese midfielder is close to signing a new contract.
Boa Morte: Newcastle target (CraigPrentis/GettyImages)
Boa Morte has been targeted by Newcastle with manager Graeme Souness today stating his interest in the coveted playmaker as he bids to add at least one more new face to his squad following the signings of Jean-Alain Boumsong and Celestine Babayaro.
But Coleman will resist any attempt to lure Boa Morte away from south-west London, describing his loss during the Cottagers' battle to maintain their Barclays Premiership status as 'suicide'.
'If Graeme Souness is interested he needs to call me and speak with me. But he will only be told that Boa is not for sale and never has been. It's not something we would even consider,' said Coleman.
'Boa is an important member of our squad and we are very close to agreeing a new contract with him. We'll be keeping him until at least the end of the season. Hopefully he'll stay for longer if he signs the new deal.
'I can't stop managers from other clubs talking about my players. It's not something I'd do but we've all got different styles. Our position in the league is tough and Boa is an important player for us.
'Newcastle are a big club and they would turn any player's head. But he knows what he means to us and he respects that. To lose him at this stage of the season would be suicide on our part.
'I don't think Newcastle can afford Boa after just spending #8million on a defender. They wouldn't be able to meet our valuation of him anyway. He is worth a lot of money - there are not too many Boa Mortes about.'
Newcastle have only just made public their interest in Boa Morte and Cottagers fans will be anxiously hoping the situation does not develop into the saga which marred Louis Saha's last days at Craven Cottage.
Saha moved to Manchester United in acrimonious circumstances 12 months ago with Coleman having to backtrack on his initial declaration that the French striker would be sold over his dead body.
United inevitably got their man while the player landed his dream move and the whole episode left a bitter taste in Coleman's mouth. But the rookie boss insists there will be no repeat with the in-form Boa Morte.
'The Louis Saha saga had been going on for about six weeks. The bids were getting higher and higher and it got to the point where they were so high that we had to sell in the interests of the club,' he said.
'Louis was adamant that he wanted to join Manchester United. We were fourth or fifth in the league at the time and it was good business. This time it's totally different. We're sixth from bottom in the league and still fighting for points.'
yenyenpark
07-01-2005, 11:46 PM
Friday, January 7, 2005
New men delight Souness
Newcastle manager Graeme Souness today revealed his defensive masterplan as he unveiled new signings Jean-Alain Boumsong and Celestine Babayaro.
Boumsong, an £8million capture from Rangers, and Babayaro, who has joined for an undisclosed fee from Chelsea, go straight into the squad for Sunday's FA Cup third-round clash with Ryman League club Yeading.
However, Souness is looking to the club's long-term future after seeing his side concede 39 goals in the Barclays Premiership already this season.
'I think you are looking at two people who will help us enormously,' he said. 'From day one, we felt we had to get some more defenders in and I am delighted to have these two.
'Certainly in Jean-Alain's case, we chased him long and hard and Celestine, I am absolutely delighted to have him. In his case, he has got experience of the Premier League and has shown he can be a top player in that league.
'For Jean-Alain, it is all there, the challenge is there for him. I have seen him play in UEFA Cup football, I have seen him play for Auxerre. I have seen him play international football and for Glasgow Rangers, and obviously I feel he can make that adjustment and quickly, and that is why they is sitting here today. I am delighted.'
French international Boumsong is seen as the man to finally fill Jonathan Woodgate's shoes at St James' Park after spending just six months in Scotland. The 25-year-old is relishing the challenge of proving himself south of the border.
'As a young player, to play in the Premiership is a good challenge,' he said. 'In my opinion, it is the best league in the world and it is very interesting to play. If I get used to the championship, I think I will play my football.'
Former Auxerre star Boumsong enjoyed a bruising encounter with Magpies' skipper Alan Shearer during the pre-season Newcastle-Gateshead Cup tournament, and admitted his relief at now being able to wear the same coloured shirt.
'I am delighted to have Alan Shearer on my team,' he said. 'You notice I use the word `improve' - I hope I will improve my game by playing with him in unofficial games and in training with him because he is a very good player.'
Nigerian international Babayaro knows all about Newcastle after his eight years at Stamford Bridge, and is confident he has made the right move.
'I know a lot about Newcastle,' he said. 'If I can remember properly, the last game I played against Newcastle on this ground, I lost that game.
'Newcastle is an even bigger team than Chelsea. They have got a 52,000 crowd and Chelsea have got only 40,000.
'It is a big honour for me to be here today and to play for this club.'
yenyenpark
07-01-2005, 11:50 PM
Bellamy's back but no Shearer for Yeading tie Jan 7 2005
Newcastle United will have Craig Bellamy in their squad when they fly down to London tomorrow for Sunday's FA Cup third-round tie with Yeading at Loftus Road.
But hopes that Alan Shearer would also be back in the frame were dashed when the skipper's name was not included in the squad named today.
In addition, midfielder Kieron Dyer is being left behind to recover from a niggling knee injury.
The news that Shearer has not made it will be a blow to Souness who only yesterday was making optimistic noises about his skipper returning for the Yeading game.
But at least the United boss has got Bellamy back after the striker limped off against Birmingham City on New Year's Day and missed Monday's goalless draw with West Bromwich Albion at The Hawthorns.
Souness says fellow striker Patrick Kluivert is still 10 days away from being back in action after his lay-off with a hamstring injury.
Nicky Butt cannot think about any comeback for another couple of weeks, either, because of his hamstring problems.
But the United boss admits he is "a trifle concerned" at the time it is taking Stephen Carr to recover from his knee injury.
Souness will hand United debuts to his new boys Jean Alain Boumsong and Celestine Babayaro, although Olivier Bernard is suspended after picking up five yellow cards.
yenyenpark
07-01-2005, 11:52 PM
Baba: I want more cup glory Jan 7 2005
Fa Cup winner Celestine Babayaro has set his sights on more glory with Newcastle United, starting with this year's competition.
The 26-year-old Nigerian international will make his United debut in Sunday's third-round tie with Yeading at Loftus Road, not far from his former stamping ground at Stamford Bridge.
And the player, who won his FA Cup winners medal with Chelsea in 2000 and has a bagful of other honours, insists the reason he has come to St James' Park is to win things.
He said today: "I have been lucky enough to win a few things in my career with Chelsea and Nigeria and what this does is whet your appetite.
"I have only been at Newcastle for a short time and I already know just how much the whole club wants to win something.
"Obviously, it was disappointing to leave Chelsea and I did have the chances to join two other clubs who are chasing Premiership football next season.
"But Newcastle are the only club I spoke to, and it did not take me long to sign after talking to Graeme Souness and Freddy Shepherd and remembering the passion of the fans from the times I have played against them."
Babayaro actually got the Chelsea goal in a 1-1 draw at Stamford Bridge in August 1998 in Kenny Dalglish's last game in charge of Newcastle before the arrival of Ruud Gullit.
It was Gullit who signed Babayaro for Chelsea for £2.25m in June 1997, but it was his successor Gianluca Vialli who gave his former Sampdoria team-mate Souness such a glowing reference about his first signing.
Babayaro, who will wear the No 33 shirt at United where he has signed a contract for three and a half years, added: "Ever since I came to England I have been a Cockney-Nigerian and now I am going to be a Geordie- Nigerian.
"And I must say that I have not been as excited about my football for a long time as I am now.
"Indeed, while I know some fans might not agree, I have not given up hope of still making the Champions League next season.
"There are still over 50 points to play for and it hasn't taken me long to realise that we have some very good players here at St James' Park.
"That's why I will not be taking it for granted that I will be an automatic first-choice."
yenyenpark
07-01-2005, 11:54 PM
Thankie all... :D
hav a good Malaysia trip.. we will win this match for sure.. :D
yenyenpark
07-01-2005, 11:57 PM
Yeading v Newcastle (Sun)
Loftus Road
Sunday, 9 January
Third Round
Kick-off: 1345 GMT, live on BBC One
Referee: Howard Webb (South Yorkshire)
Team news will appear here.
KEY MATCH STATS
YEADING against Newcastle United encapsulates the romance, the glamour, the very essence of the FA Cup, as the minnow is matched with the mighty, the part-timer opposes the professional, the non-League unknown plots against the mega-star multi-millionaire.
The west London based side, 123 places lower than Newcastle in football's pyramid system, have qualified for this club record third round berth by successfully negotiating six ties, and not one of them against League opposition. Indeed it was known at the time of the second round draw that there would be at least one non-League representative at this stage when Yeading were paired away to fellow Ryman League neighbours Slough - a tie they won 1-3.
Under manager Johnson Hippolyte, Yeading have hit tip-top form. They hold a nine point lead at the head of the Ryman Premier League, with seven wins in a row. Indeed they've won 11 of their last 12 in all competitions since 6 November, the only reverse being a 0-4 loss to Billericay in the FA Trophy. It's all been good news for their commercial manager Bill Perryman of "Bend It Like Beckham" fame.
NEWCASTLE UNITED became the first club in the 20th century to win the FA Cup in successive seasons. They claimed the trophy three times in that decade (1951, 52 and 55) but have not lifted the silver pot since. Against non-league opposition, the Magpies have traditionally struggled. Bedford Town pulled off a major shock in achieving a 1-2 third round victory at St James Park in 1964. Television have recorded for posterity Ronnie Radford's thunderbolt in the Edgar Steet mud as Hereford humbled the Tynesiders in a third round replay in February 1972. Then the "Black and Whites" were held by Hendon and Stevenage 1974 and 1998, but progressed after replays on home turf.
The Premiership club will be thankful they are not playing this tie at Yeading's ground, the Warren. It's been switched to Queen's Park Rangers home at Loftus Road for safety reasons.
The Magpies, who've recorded one win in nine games under Graeme Souness since the end of November, have managed to progress past the third round in six of the last eight seasons.
HEAD TO HEAD
Comp Total Yeading Newcastle Draws
All 0 0 0 0
FAC 0 0 0 0
YEADING
TOP Ryman Premier
Best FA Cup record
Current run
Last season's FA Cup exit point
Date Rnd Res
30 Aug 2003 Prelim Histon 7-0 Yeading
This season's Cup run
Date Rnd Res
18 Sep 2004 1Q Chelmsford 0-1 Yeading
02 Oct 2004 2Q Yeading 2-0 Long Melford
16 Oct 2004 3Q Heybridge S 2-3 Yeading
30 Oct 2004 4Q Bognor Regis 0-2 Yeading more
13 Nov 2004 R1 Yeading 2-1 Halesowen T more
04 Dec 2004 R2 Slough T 1-3 Yeading more
NEWCASTLE UNITED
14th PREM
Club stats
Best FA Cup record
WINNERS (six times) Date Rnd Res
28 Apr 1910 FNL Barnsley 0-2 Newcastle
26 Apr 1924 FNL Aston Villa 0-2 Newcastle
23 Apr 1932 FNL Arsenal 1-2 Newcastle
28 Apr 1951 FNL Blackpool 0-2 Newcastle
03 May 1952 FNL Arsenal 0-1 Newcastle
07 May 1955 FNL Man City 1-3 Newcastle
Last season's FA Cup exit point
Date Rnd Res
24 Jan 2004 R4 Liverpool 2-1 Newcastle
yenyenpark
07-01-2005, 11:58 PM
we actually won 6 times FA Cup... wow.. but i think all of us still not born yet tat time..
Coolsmurf
08-01-2005, 12:37 AM
Souness in for Sammy - claim
http://nufc.com/2004-05images/kuffour.jpg
Skysportsnews claimed on Friday afternoon that United were "in advanced talks" with Bayern Munich defender Sammy Kuffour. The 28 year-old Ghanian defender was linked with a move to Tyneside last month and is out of contract at the end of this season. As well as alleged interest from United, the likes of Inter Milan, Liverpool and the Smoggies have been linked with the player in recent weeks.
it will be great if we really do get him, fast and athletic defender...woohoo..
Coolsmurf
08-01-2005, 01:57 AM
after reading about souness masterplan in soccernet, his ideal defence after the closure of the jan transfer window is as follows if he succeeds...just 50% completed
DC - Boumsong (signed)
DC - Distin (bid rejected)
DR - Kuffour (rumour)
DL - Babayaro (signed)
what do you think of his selection?
Shadow04
08-01-2005, 02:33 AM
after reading about souness masterplan in soccernet, his ideal defence after the closure of the jan transfer window is as follows if he succeeds...just 50% completed
DC - Boumsong (signed)
DC - Distin (bid rejected)
DR - Kuffour (rumour)
DL - Babayaro (signed)
what do you think of his selection?
not bad... best is can get Mexes to partner Boumsong... :D heh..
i prefer stephen carr to kuffour though..
waynez
08-01-2005, 02:49 AM
just some interesting talks... not racist or anything..
seems that souness is fond of the "DARK" side..
in his mind...
BOUMASONG = DARK
BABAYARO = DARK
? BOA MONTE = DARK
? KUFFOUR = DARK
? DISTIN = KINDOF DARK
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v404/chongz/baby.gif
but getting kuffour in is good as carr is out duno for a few more weeks..
United_Treble
08-01-2005, 08:23 AM
oh.. here comes the great predictor...
I think we can win this time round. Confidence is quite high even though we're not with lots of 1st eleven players...
thks :) hope that a good results
yenyenpark
08-01-2005, 10:21 AM
Skysportsnews claimed on Friday afternoon that United were "in advanced talks" with Bayern Munich defender Sammy Kuffour. The 28 year-old Ghanian defender was linked with a move to Tyneside last month and is out of contract at the end of this season. As well as alleged interest from United, the likes of Inter Milan, Liverpool and the Smoggies have been linked with the player in recent weeks.
it will be great if we really do get him, fast and athletic defender...woohoo..but still got many ppl interested on him lei.. :s8:
yenyenpark
08-01-2005, 10:24 AM
in his mind...
BOUMASONG = DARK
BABAYARO = DARK
? BOA MONTE = DARK
? KUFFOUR = DARK
? DISTIN = KINDOF DARK
but getting kuffour in is good as carr is out duno for a few more weeks..Carr is a headache as his come back is an unknown.. at least even Kluivert will b back in about 10 days... Shearer may b back training but no match yet.. :D
back to topic.. i dun really care about dark or no dark.. may b dark r NOT tat injury prone.. every dark is good except Bramble... :s27: his concentration on field is darn low.. :s27:
yenyenpark
08-01-2005, 10:27 AM
..i feel really angry with Yeading news against us.. wat do they think they r.. want to beat us.. no DOOR.. fugger.. go go Toon.. crash them
By CHARLIE WYETT
DELROY PREDDIE plans to turn Newcastle into an FA Cup laughing stock tomorrow — with a little help from The Sun.
Yeading’s keeper will be in the firing line against Graeme Souness’ superstars in the third-round clash at Loftus Road.
So we arranged a masterclass from goalkeeping legend Bob Wilson, who won the Double with Arsenal and helped establish David Seaman as England’s No 1 while he was coach at Highbury.
The Gunners hero put civil servant Del, 28, through his paces yesterday at Yeading’s tiny Warren ground in West London.
And he told him: “This match is a win-win situation for you.
“You cannot lose, it is Newcastle who are under all the pressure.
“Newcastle will know they must perform. They know that every neutral fan in the country is dead against them — and every team in the land wants to see them end up with egg on their faces.
“I don’t mean just losing. Even a draw would be a complete embarrassment for Newcastle.
“And you and the rest of the Yeading players can make it happen.”
Wilson, 63, took his 1971 FA Cup winner’s medal to show Del and spent the whole morning with the Yeading stopper.
The former Arsenal ace retired in 2002 after 39 years with the club as player and coach — but borrowed a pair of boots from England ace Sol Campbell for yesterday’s training session.
Really hoping Souness not to sign BOA MONTE
Jinyu
08-01-2005, 11:00 AM
in his mind...
BOUMASONG = DARK
BABAYARO = DARK
? BOA MONTE = DARK
? KUFFOUR = DARK
? DISTIN = KINDOF DARK
but getting kuffour in is good as carr is out duno for a few more weeks..
dark defence is good :s31:
at least they look fierce
yenyenpark
08-01-2005, 11:23 AM
dark defence is good :s31:
at least they look fierce
WELCOME TO THE DARK SIDE.. but their face must be fierce enuff, else "gong gong" standing there, will make us EPL laughin stock nia.. :s8:
yenyenpark
08-01-2005, 11:25 AM
Really hoping Souness not to sign BOA MONTE
buying without selling or get any of our current players except Bramble, i dun mind..
i think got more striker r good in case our strikers injured or wat.. as we r in UEFA, EPL and FA Cup.. some many games... :s22:
yenyenpark
08-01-2005, 11:27 AM
City turn down Distin bid
Friday January 07 2005
Manchester City have rejected a £5million bid from Newcastle for captain Sylvain Distin.
The 27-year-old Frenchman has been in good form for Kevin Keegan's side this season. Distin joined City from Paris St Germain in a £4million deal in May 2002, after a loan spell at St James' Park.
Newcastle manager Graeme Souness has expressed his interest in the player previously as he seeks to shore up his side's leaky defence.
``I can confirm that Newcastle have made a formal approach for Sylvain Distin with a bid in the region of £5million,'' said City communications chief Paul Tyrrell.
``We have rejected the bid as Sylvain is not for sale. He has three and a half years left on his current contract and is staying here.''
Meanwhile; Newcastle are maintaining a silence over their remaining transfer window dealings amid claims that they are in talks with Bayern Munich defender Samuel Kuffour.
The club declined to comment on reports that they are deep in negotiations with the 27-year-old Ghanaian central defender, who has been linked with the Magpies and Liverpool in recent days.
Kuffour is a man who has been watched by Newcastle, who today unveiled recent signings Jean-Alain Boumsong and Celestine Babayaro, the first recruits for Graeme Souness' new-look side.
However, it is understood that Distin remains the main target.
Souness has also confirmed that the club has registered its interest in Fulham's Portuguese striker Luis Boa Morte, and perhaps significantly, revealed that he hopes to have at least one more new signing on board by the time the transfer window closes at the end of the month.
``We have declared an interest in him, yes,'' he said. ``The chairman is still working hard to bring at least one more body in before this window goes, but there is nothing I can tell you about that.''
Whether or not that man is Kuffour remains to be seen, although Bayern today insisted that no club has made an offer for the Accra-born stopper.
yenyenpark
08-01-2005, 11:30 AM
Toon silent over Kuffour link
Friday January 07 2005
Newcastle were tonight maintaining a silence over their remaining transfer window dealings amid claims that they are in talks with Bayern Munich defender Samuel Kuffour.
The club declined to comment on reports that they are deep in negotiations with the 27-year-old Ghanaian central defender, who has been linked with the Magpies and Liverpool in recent days.
Kuffour is a man who has been watched by Newcastle, who today unveiled recent signings Jean-Alain Boumsong and Celestine Babayaro, the first recruits for Graeme Souness' new-look side.
However, it is understood that Manchester City's Sylvain Distin, who spent several months on loan at St James' Park before opting instead to join Kevin Keegan's outfit in a £4.5million move from Paris St Germain, remains the main target.
Souness has also confirmed that the club has registered its interest in Fulham's Portuguese striker Luis Boa Morte, and perhaps significantly, revealed that he hopes to have at least one more new signing on board by the time the transfer window closes at the end of the month.
``We have declared an interest in him, yes,'' he said. ``The chairman is still working hard to bring at least one more body in before this window goes, but there is nothing I can tell you about that.''
Whether or not that man is Kuffour remains to be seen, although Bayern today insisted that no club has made an offer for the Accra-born stopper.
yenyenpark
08-01-2005, 11:37 AM
a good news for every Toons fan!!!
Newcastle United's Laurent Robert could perform a surprise U-turn and commit his future to The Magpies.
The unpredictable Frenchman had spoken of a frosty relationship with his manager Graeme Souness but, after finding a place in the starting line-up in recent weeks, he is now understood to be prepared to sign fresh terms on Tyneside.
The winger has always been happy in the North East and had intimated he would like to stay in England if he was forced to leave St James' Park.
Robert, who is under contract until 2006, is ready to begin negotiations over a two-year extension with an increase in his salary.
Any feud with Souness appears to have been resolved and the former Paris Saint Germain star is said to be willing to thrash out his future with Magpies officials.
Souness has been busy in the transfer market, prioritising his defence, but it now seems unlikely that Robert will be one of the players sacrificed during January's transfer window.
yenyenpark
08-01-2005, 11:39 AM
okie guys.. this is not DARK liao.. :D
Swiss international defender Patrick Muller has emerged as a target for Newcastle after cancelling his contract with Mallorca.
The 28-year-old centre back only joined the Islanders last summer after leaving French champions Lyon as a free agent.
However, he failed to command a regular starting berth at Estadio Son Moix and has made only five appearances all season.
He has not featured at all since the arrival of Hector Cuper at the club in early November, and has now reached an agreement to end his time in Spain.
French newspaper L'Equipe quotes the player as pinpointing "the lack of confidence of the coach" as the reason for his decision to quit the Islanders.
Newcastle boss Graeme Souness is keen to further strengthen his defence and the fact Muller would cost no fee is sure to appeal to The Magpies.
However, the stopper - who attracted interest from Tottenham last summer - is also thought to be a target for former club Lyon.
Meanwhile, Mallorca have sealed the loan capture of Argentine striker Bernardo Romeo.
The hit-man is out of favour at Hamburg and has been allowed to move by boss Thomas Doll.
Romeo will stay with the Islanders until the end of the current campaign whereupon the Spaniards will have an option to make the deal permanent.
yenyenpark
08-01-2005, 01:24 PM
Kuffour agent calms Magpies talk
Magpies fail with £5m Distin bid
Newcastle face Boa Morte battle
The agent for Bayern Munich defender Samuel Kuffour has played down talk of a possible move to Newcastle.
The 28-year-old Ghanaian is a free agent in the summer and Magpies manager Graeme Souness is a long-time admirer.
"We know they are interested but I have to be clear - there has been no official approach from anyone at the club," said agent Fabio Parisi.
Souness is keen to bolster his defence, having already signed Jean-Alain Boumsong and Celestine Babayaro.
Kuffour has been with the Munich side since 1993, but will be available on a free transfer in the summer, so they may be keen to sell him before then.
"Newcastle is a great club and the Premiership is of interest to Sammy, justlike the Primera Liga," said Parisi.
"But I am in constant contact with clubs all over Europe."
waynez
08-01-2005, 07:48 PM
WELCOME TO THE DARK SIDE.. but their face must be fierce enuff, else "gong gong" standing there, will make us EPL laughin stock nia.. :s8:
gong gong and dark.. haha.. tats reminds me of Titus Bramble..keke
dreamer75
09-01-2005, 12:00 AM
it will be great if we really do get him, fast and athletic defender...woohoo..
woo...this guy is AWESOME...hope we really can sign him!!!
daveaha
09-01-2005, 01:18 AM
Guys,
See you all there !
Dave
Hi all,
gentle reminder for our next gathering !
dreamer75
09-01-2005, 05:50 PM
By European Football - January 8 2005
Bayern Munich’s Samuel Kuffour wants to move to Newcastle United according to the player’s agent, it was revealed earlier that negotiations between the tow clubs were in an advanced state, and now it seams that the player is ready to come out publicly and do his bit to ensure the move.
Graeme Souness has already strengthened Newcastle’s defence this month with the signatures of Celestine Babayaro and Jean-Alain Boumsong, but obviously feels that he still needs more before the transfer window closes.
Agent Fabio Parisi stated:
"Bayern would like the player to go now because he could leave for free at the end of the season."
"So if they receive a good offer something could happen."
"Newcastle is a great club and the Premiership is of interest to Sammy."
http://www.sportnetwork.net/main/s342/st64549.htm?fromrss=1
dreamer75
09-01-2005, 05:52 PM
what's a gd offer for Kuffour?
better buy since he's interested to join us man...
dreamer75
09-01-2005, 05:55 PM
By B.Russell
Date: 7/1/2005
How ironic would this be ... Chelsea replace left-back Babayaro with Newcastle's Olivier Bernard? If that doesn't tell a tale I don't know what does, but Jose Mourinho is serious about it.
Not only does it ask questions who is the best player (Bernard or Babayaro), but Newcastle's hopes of landing Fulham midfielder Luis Boa Morte could be scuppered by Chelsea.
It is understood that the Magpies are finally ready to offer French full-back Olivier Bernard, who has turned down the offer of a new deal at St James' Park and will be out of contract at the end of the season, as a make-weight in their bid to bring the Portuguese midfielder north.
They had their scouts at Southampton on Wednesday to see Boa Morte in action once again, and although they have not yet submitted any bid, he is a player whose name appears on manager Graeme Souness' wish-list.
However, Jose Mourinho has had Bernard watched three times in recent weeks, and if he decided to make a move, that could throw a spanner into the works, although whether or not 25-year-old Bernard would be happy with a place in such a large and star-studded squad remains to be seen.
Babayaro was recruited when it became clear that the problems over the full-back's contract were unlikely to be ironed out, and although he could remain on Tyneside beyond the transfer window and leave as a free agent during the summer, Bernard's chances of keeping his place in the team have reduced dramatically.
http://newcastleunited.rivals.net/default.asp?sid=893&p=2&stid=8369858
yenyenpark
09-01-2005, 06:06 PM
By B.Russell
Date: 7/1/2005
How ironic would this be ... Chelsea replace left-back Babayaro with Newcastle's Olivier Bernard? If that doesn't tell a tale I don't know what does, but Jose Mourinho is serious about it.
Not only does it ask questions who is the best player (Bernard or Babayaro), but Newcastle's hopes of landing Fulham midfielder Luis Boa Morte could be scuppered by Chelsea.
It is understood that the Magpies are finally ready to offer French full-back Olivier Bernard, who has turned down the offer of a new deal at St James' Park and will be out of contract at the end of the season, as a make-weight in their bid to bring the Portuguese midfielder north.
They had their scouts at Southampton on Wednesday to see Boa Morte in action once again, and although they have not yet submitted any bid, he is a player whose name appears on manager Graeme Souness' wish-list.
However, Jose Mourinho has had Bernard watched three times in recent weeks, and if he decided to make a move, that could throw a spanner into the works, although whether or not 25-year-old Bernard would be happy with a place in such a large and star-studded squad remains to be seen.
Babayaro was recruited when it became clear that the problems over the full-back's contract were unlikely to be ironed out, and although he could remain on Tyneside beyond the transfer window and leave as a free agent during the summer, Bernard's chances of keeping his place in the team have reduced dramatically.
http://newcastleunited.rivals.net/default.asp?sid=893&p=2&stid=8369858
i dun care.. if they want Bernard, then give them.. Bernard got some attitude problem on his contract thingy.. sigh.. if we can make him stay, what else can we do?? :s8:
yenyenpark
09-01-2005, 06:09 PM
i read tat Bellamy will be at bench when we play Yeading..
United_Treble
09-01-2005, 09:23 PM
FT Yeading 0-0 Ncastle
Tokieda
09-01-2005, 09:41 PM
dun think so, at least a win for newcastle.
Coolsmurf
09-01-2005, 10:23 PM
ongoing game between Yeading and Newcastle
27 mins - Bramble, more untidy than malicious, kicks another Yeading player up in the air. He has been warned and so gets the first yellow card of the afternoon. Bramble looks uncomfotable every time I watch him play.
haiz faster get him out!!!
Shadow04
09-01-2005, 10:31 PM
27 mins - Bramble, more untidy than malicious, kicks another Yeading player up in the air. He has been warned and so gets the first yellow card of the afternoon. Bramble looks uncomfotable every time I watch him play.
i agree! crap player.....
Theychosenone
09-01-2005, 11:03 PM
1-0. Bowyer. :)
Shadow04
09-01-2005, 11:44 PM
2-0!! :D :s7:
feitz
09-01-2005, 11:57 PM
2-0!! :D :s7:
good to hear we kept a clean sheet, but the real test will be in the premier league.
yenyenpark
10-01-2005, 12:03 AM
i agree! crap player.....
me twoooo.. :D
yenyenpark
10-01-2005, 12:07 AM
Yeading 0-2 Newcastle
Lee Bowyer and Shola Ameobi scored the goals which ensured Newcastle avoided a potentially embarrassing pitfall against non-league Yeading.
Yeading held out for 50 minutes before Ameobi and Craig Bellamy opened up Yeading's stubborn defence to provide Bowyer with a simple tap-in.
Ameobi clinched victory with a firm header from a free-kick.
Although Newcastle finished comfortable winners, David Clarke's free-kick forced a fine save from Steve Harper.
Despite a difference of 129 league places, Yeading showed scant respect for their Premiership opponents and in the opening exchanges were determined to test out Newcastle's new £8m signing Jean-Alain Boumsoung.
The French defender twice conceded free-kicks in dangerous positions and from the second for a foul on Errol Telemaque, Newcastle's defence was flat-footed as Emond Protain rose highest to head over.
Newcastle tried to draw Yeading's sting by patiently stringing passes together and Ameobi worked his way to the by-line where his pull-back was met by a stretching Bowyer who deflected the ball wide from three yards out.
Davis Haule's challenge on Laurent Robert epitomised Yeading's spirit.
Yeading escaped on 19 minutes when Ameobi slid a pass through for Bellamy to rattle the crossbar with a ferocious shot, and as Newcastle maintained the pressure Delroy Preddie produced a brilliant fingertip save from Jermain Jenas's piledriver.
But at the other end, Newcastle keeper Steve Harper had to be at his best to prevent the Rymans League leaders from taking the lead.
Bowyer's rash challenge on Telemaque 20 yards out gave David Clarke the chance to curl a free-kick round the wall and it needed a full-length save from Harper to keep it out.
Another free-kick gave Yeading a chance at the start of the second half but from a training ground routine the ball was worked to Clarke whose shot curled wide from 22 yards.
But five minutes into the second half, the sighs of relief were audible as Newcastle took the lead.
Ameobi's pass found Bellamy scuttling into the inside-right channel and he faced the ball across goal to provide Bowyer with the simplest of tap-ins.
Bowyer had a chance to kill the game but lifted the ball over keeper Preddie and the crossbar as he burst on to Robert's cross.
Newcastle boss Graeme Souness suffered a frustrating first half
Ameobi did give Newcastle breathing space just after the hour when he got ahead of his marker to plant a firm header past Preddie.
Relieved of the tension, Newcastle were able to play with some freedom and Bellamy led a lightning break from defence which ended with Bowyer firing over under pressure from Clarke.
Newcastle attacked in waves as the part-timers tired, but they refused to fold and showed determination and spirit to deny Newcastle.
With their place in the fourth round sealed, some Newcastle players indulged in needless showboating which showed arrogant disrespect for their opponents and drew derision from both sets of supporters.
Yeading were denied a deserved consolation when Harper went full-length to palm away Darti Brown's fierce shot.
Yeading: Preddie, Nevin Saroya, Marc Leach, Stanley, Barima (Behzadi 74), Haule, Darti Brown, Clarke, Protain (Woodruffe 78), Telemaque (Quamina 84), DJ Campbell.
Subs Not Used: Newby, Kleboe.
Booked: Protain.
Newcastle: Harper, Taylor, Boumsong, Bramble (Andrew O'Brien 45), Babayaro, N'Zogbia (Ambrose 39), Jenas, Bowyer, Robert (Milner 70), Bellamy, Ameobi.
Subs Not Used: Given, Hughes.
Booked: Bramble.
Goals: Bowyer 51, Ameobi 61.
Att: 10,824
Referee: H Webb (S Yorkshire).
dreamer75
10-01-2005, 12:10 AM
buai tahan....totally crap player...
Shadow04
10-01-2005, 12:13 AM
good to hear we kept a clean sheet, but the real test will be in the premier league.
yea... if we did not keep a clean sheet against them, we can forget about it in the EPL liaoz.. anyway.. bright start to the new year.. hopefully Souness can finally get this season back on track(but sack him at the end of the season nonetheless :s8: )...
dreamer75
10-01-2005, 12:13 AM
Yeading manager Johnson Hippolyte hailed his side's FA Cup heroics against Newcastle as the "second proudest day of my life".
'The Ding' dominated the early stages of the third round tie at Loftus Road following an early chance for Newcastle's Laurent Robert, but their Barclays Premiership opponents eventually ran out 2-0 winners.
But Hippolyte's heroes captured the imagination of a nation before the game and their first-half performance was exceptional.
"I'm very proud, it's the second most proudest day of my life," he told BBC1.
"A lot of those lads have had disappointments earlier in their career but I knew they had the character and they showed it today.
"Not being full-time was always going to be an issue, but the boys did ever so well."
Dave Clarke was particularly impressive for the 'home' side, playing at QPR's stadium because their own ground was too small.
"I said before the game 'Clarkie will not freeze, he'll be awesome', and I was right," said Hippolyte.
yenyenpark
10-01-2005, 12:16 AM
yea... if we did not keep a clean sheet against them, we can forget about it in the EPL liaoz.. anyway.. bright start to the new year.. hopefully Souness can finally get this season back on track(but sack him at the end of the season nonetheless :s8: )...
actually i dun wanna to really compare the team tonight and the team in EPL.. why?? Harper did a great save, but also very "funny" throwing the ball in the first half.. i'm happy tat nothing more than "funny" happened..
dreamer75
10-01-2005, 12:17 AM
Laurent Robert is ready to commit his long term future to Newcastle after conceding that he wants to sign a contract extension.
The talented Frenchman has endured an indifferent relationship with new Toon boss Graeme Souness but the pair now appear to have resolved their differences.
Robert's current deal expires in 2006 and the player is intent on inking a two-year extension at St James' Park.
''I hope my agent will open talks about my future after the club finishes its transfer business next month,'' revealed Robert.
''I would like the chairman to give me two more years at Newcastle.
''I have always wanted to stay here and things look much better for me here now.''
Robert's agent, Willie McKay, has confirmed that Robert is looking to extend his stay in the North East.
''Laurent wants to extend his contract. It's now up to Graeme Souness, and there's not been a problem between them,'' said McKay.
http://skysports.planetfootball.com/list.asp?hlid=248751&lid=2&cpid=8&title=Robert+keen+on+Toon+deal&channel=Football_Home
Shadow04
10-01-2005, 12:18 AM
buai tahan....totally crap player...
ya lo... thats why we can only score after he's sub off the field.. otherwise, we'll be more busy helping him out(read: cover his bloody mistakes) to muster an effective attack..
yenyenpark
10-01-2005, 12:19 AM
Yeading manager Johnson Hippolyte hailed his side's FA Cup heroics against Newcastle as the "second proudest day of my life".
'The Ding' dominated the early stages of the third round tie at Loftus Road following an early chance for Newcastle's Laurent Robert, but their Barclays Premiership opponents eventually ran out 2-0 winners.
But Hippolyte's heroes captured the imagination of a nation before the game and their first-half performance was exceptional.
"I'm very proud, it's the second most proudest day of my life," he told BBC1.
"A lot of those lads have had disappointments earlier in their career but I knew they had the character and they showed it today.
"Not being full-time was always going to be an issue, but the boys did ever so well."
Dave Clarke was particularly impressive for the 'home' side, playing at QPR's stadium because their own ground was too small.
"I said before the game 'Clarkie will not freeze, he'll be awesome', and I was right," said Hippolyte.
the manager very funny, dunno too cold or wat, keep jumping and rubbing his hand at the late second half..
today match like Juventus vs AC Milan.. the jerseys really look :D so alike...
yenyenpark
10-01-2005, 12:22 AM
ya lo... thats why we can only score after he's sub off the field.. otherwise, we'll be more busy helping him out(read: cover his bloody mistakes) to muster an effective attack..
the problem is...
who wants him?? :s8:
think he will b with us at least til his contract end.. sigh..
yenyenpark
10-01-2005, 12:23 AM
i tok Arsenal lost... but they fight back... somehow i hope those EPL exits earlier for this FA Cup except us.. :D
dreamer75
10-01-2005, 12:24 AM
for god's sake....dun ever play him again...give Taylor the permenant center back role lah...
dreamer75
10-01-2005, 12:25 AM
Fulham attacker Luis Boa Morte admits he would relish a move to Newcastle United.
Magpies boss Graeme Souness has confirmed he is keen to lure the Portugal international to St James' Park during January's transfer window.
His Fulham counterpart Chris Coleman has brushed off the interest and feels the reported offer of £2 million for Boa Morte is derisory.
But Coleman may have to soften his stance, after Boa Morte acknowledged he is flattered that Newcastle want to sign him.
The 27-year-old, who can play on the wing or up front, revealed it is a source of pride that a club the size of The Magpies are chasing his signature.
"I am a Fulham player and I am not authorised to speak about this subject," Boa Morte told A Bola.
"Clearly, though, I would like to play for Newcastle.
"It is a club that is on a different level to Fulham.
"This interest fills me with pride. It is a great club in England."
In an attempt to ward off Newcastle's interest, Fulham have offered Boa Morte a contract to stay at Craven Cottage until 2008.
The former Arsenal winger has not been enamoured by the initial proposal but has not ruled out staying in West London.
He added: "They have presented me with a proposal but the figures offered were not what I was waiting for.
"Still, I am ready to study any offer."
dreamer75
10-01-2005, 12:31 AM
the manager very funny, dunno too cold or wat, keep jumping and rubbing his hand at the late second half..
today match like Juventus vs AC Milan.. the jerseys really look :D so alike...
my juve won juz now too :)
yenyenpark
10-01-2005, 12:35 AM
my juve won juz now too :)
happy sunday for u.. :)
yenyenpark
10-01-2005, 12:36 AM
Fulham attacker Luis Boa Morte admits he would relish a move to Newcastle United.
Magpies boss Graeme Souness has confirmed he is keen to lure the Portugal international to St James' Park during January's transfer window.
His Fulham counterpart Chris Coleman has brushed off the interest and feels the reported offer of £2 million for Boa Morte is derisory.
But Coleman may have to soften his stance, after Boa Morte acknowledged he is flattered that Newcastle want to sign him.
The 27-year-old, who can play on the wing or up front, revealed it is a source of pride that a club the size of The Magpies are chasing his signature.
"I am a Fulham player and I am not authorised to speak about this subject," Boa Morte told A Bola.
"Clearly, though, I would like to play for Newcastle.
"It is a club that is on a different level to Fulham.
"This interest fills me with pride. It is a great club in England."
In an attempt to ward off Newcastle's interest, Fulham have offered Boa Morte a contract to stay at Craven Cottage until 2008.
The former Arsenal winger has not been enamoured by the initial proposal but has not ruled out staying in West London.
He added: "They have presented me with a proposal but the figures offered were not what I was waiting for.
"Still, I am ready to study any offer."
this is another good news.. as i hope to see one more striker... as we sold Carl Cort and Lua Lua.. loan Copra.. :s22:
dreamer75
10-01-2005, 12:37 AM
this is another good news..
no lah, we dun want him.
Hope Robert can extent his contract.
Kuffour can join us :)
yenyenpark
10-01-2005, 12:38 AM
no lah, we dun want him.
Hope Robert can extent his contract.
Kuffour can join us :)
i will happily see him here if he willing to sit at bench.. :D
Shadow04
10-01-2005, 12:44 AM
for god's sake....dun ever play him again...give Taylor the permenant center back role lah...
ya lo.. Taylor much more solid than Bramble... :s22:
waynez
10-01-2005, 02:45 AM
taylor.. thumbs up...
babayaro.. time for him to permanently replaced benard.. better built, speed, creativity and most of all better provider than bernard.. although bernard is not bad oso...
bellamy .. since after trying out on the mid-role.. become more of a provider than striker.. recently.. keke
boumasong.. good start but bigger test is yet to come.. make 2 or 3 blunder during the game.. but able to recover rather than bramble.. once let opposition gain control .. lose his initiative to continue thru..
bowyer.. try to cultivate anger abit...
at least i see some performance from the current stand-in skipper, Jenas..
looks like harper has proved himself to be worth something in the transfer windows (i rather he remain in St. James Park)
:s12:
overall.. WE WON !!!
dreamer75
10-01-2005, 10:27 AM
Yeading rattled us - Souness
Graeme Souness paid non-league Yeading a huge compliment when he revealed he had been forced to substitute defender Titus Bramble for his own good during their third-round FA Cup tie.
Second-half goals from Lee Bowyer and Shola Ameobi gave Newcastle a 2-0 victory over the Ryman League side which owed more to the Premiership club's superior fitness than any vast gulf in class.
The Newcastle manager, however, explained Yeading were causing his side so many problems in a goalless first half he feared Bramble, booked for a 28th minute foul on Darti Brown, would get sent off.
"In the first half we weren't competing enough and I took Bramble off in case he got sent off," said Souness. "If we had gone down to 10 men it would have been very tight.
"Their game plan was to get in there among us and test our resolve and in the first half we were losing too many 50-50s. But in the second half we went up a gear. I expected us to be like that from the first minute.
"They pushed us all the way but we were guilty of missing some great chances. We scored two but we could have had another four or five. Until the second goal went in it was game on."
dreamer75
10-01-2005, 10:28 AM
Well, we won and as I predicted it was not easy but at least it was comfortable, and for the first time in history we saw off a non-league team at the first attempt so I am happy that we avoided serious injuries and embarrassing headlines.
While these games are never easy it is fair to say that we made hard work of the first half with none of our players making an impact. Once Bowyer had scored our opening goal, Yeading looked beaten and Shola's header made it safe so we coasted it to the final whistle without any real incident apart from a good shot from Yeading which was saved by Steve Harper.
Well done lads.
Man of the match............................Bowyer.
yenyenpark
10-01-2005, 10:30 AM
taylor.. thumbs up...
babayaro.. time for him to permanently replaced benard.. better built, speed, creativity and most of all better provider than bernard.. although bernard is not bad oso...
bellamy .. since after trying out on the mid-role.. become more of a provider than striker.. recently.. keke
boumasong.. good start but bigger test is yet to come.. make 2 or 3 blunder during the game.. but able to recover rather than bramble.. once let opposition gain control .. lose his initiative to continue thru..
bowyer.. try to cultivate anger abit...
at least i see some performance from the current stand-in skipper, Jenas..
looks like harper has proved himself to be worth something in the transfer windows (i rather he remain in St. James Park)
:s12:
overall.. WE WON !!!
Bowyer has found his play with Newcastle.. may b we should just let him play his own game.. without requesting too much from him...
Bellamy not really sharp last night, but i actually hope he got substitued as i dun wan to see him injured himself..
Boumseng is good.. but needs some EPL match experience, he looks blur blur at some points as he thought was a foul but no foul, and he fouled when needless.. :s8:
anyway, well done to everyone.. Harper should really shape up if he really think of challenging Given for the place..
dreamer75
10-01-2005, 10:30 AM
Reality bites as Newcastle bring Yeading's Cup odyssey to end
Yeading 0 Newcastle United 2
By Sam Wallace
10 January 2005
It was the 51 minutes of their lives. A period of parity between the artisans of Yeading and the millionaires of Newcastle when the 123 league places between the two clubs fell away and left us with a tense, physical FA Cup tie between two sets of footballers divided only by the lives they go back to today. For Johnson Hippolyte's team, defeat was the end of their dream but it only tells a small part of their story.
Yeading succumbed to a Lee Bowyer goal that finally established Newcastle's supremacy after 51 minutes of embarrassment for the Premiership side. Tackled, hustled, challenged and kicked, Graeme Souness's team were substantially matched by their Ryman Premier League opponents.
"Their game plan was not to beat us at football but to test how we handled the physical side," Souness said. "We lost too many 50-50 balls in the first half." As they took the applause from a generous stand full of Newcastle fans, Yeading could look back with pride on some predictions from their manager which had come to pass. Newcastle's Titus Bramble did find himself under pressure, so much so that Souness admitted he substituted the defender to prevent him from being dismissed after a first-half caution. And David Clarke, the club captain and self-employed property developer, was outstanding in midfield.
But no one gave more than goalkeeper Delroy Preddie who broke a finger when he tipped away a Jermaine Jenas shot on 20 minutes and carried on without complaint. Preddie was on a deal with a tabloid newspaper that would see him win a brand new car to replace his £800 L-reg Ford Escort if he held out for 90 minutes. As the minutes ticked by he must have thought that the prospect of a life improved by power steering and climate control looked a distinct possibility.
Up until the goal, Yeading had been Newcastle's equal in every department. They were brave enough not to play two strikers, and Clarke, Davis Haule and Darti Brown smothered Jenas' creative impulse in midfield. Craig Bellamy reflected on the shape of his side and admitted that Newcastle, with only one striker, had "played into the hands of Yeading", but also recognised the hunger of an opposition who refused to be overwhelmed.
"I thought we forced and rushed our chances in the first half, but we knew what we were up against" Bellamy said. "It doesn't matter who you are up against in the Cup, or where they are from, it is a chance of a lifetime for these lads. They are going to give everything and that's what makes the Cup so great. I've worked very hard to become a Premiership player but on a day like this reputation counts for nothing."
Shola Ameobi made the first goal out on the right wing. Escaping from three challenges, he upset the disciplined balance of Yeading's team. Bellamy darted down the right side of the area to pick up Amoebi's pass and cut the ball back to Bowyer who was unmarked at the back post. The second goal came just after the hour when Ameobi nodded home substitute Darren Ambrose's free-kick from the right.
"We showed we were a good side and mentally very strong," Hippolyte said. "What made a difference in the end was fitness. Apart from the birth of my kids this has been the proudest day of my life. They were right to bring Bramble off because at the rate he was going he could have been sent off. We are proud of ourselves and rightly so - our performance showed the value of grassroots football."
Only with a minute left did Yeading genuinely threaten the Newcastle goal when Brown's drive was tipped wide by Steve Harper. The confident swagger of Yeading's striker D J Campbell, a little man with a big reputation around the Ryman League, did not make a great impression on Jean-Alain Boumsong, the £8m signing making his Newcastle debut.
In the end, there was plenty for Yeading to celebrate. Preddie got the new car, if only for three months. His team-mates helped themselves to their opponents' shirts and the assistant manager, Derek Brown, got Bellamy's boots for his son. Next Saturday Yeading face Harrow Borough at home. Their 51 minutes of fame are up, but what they achieved will endure much longer.
Goals: Bowyer (51) 0-1; Ameobi (61) 0-2.
Yeading (3-4-1-2): Preddie; Saroya, Leach, Stanley; Barima (Behzadi, 74), Clarke, Brown, Protain (Woodruffe, 77); Haule; Telemaque (Quamina, 84), Campbell. Substitutes not used: Newby (gk), Kleboe.
Newcastle United (4-3-2-1): Harper; Taylor, Boumsong, Bramble (O'Brien, h-t), Babayaro; Bowyer, Jenas, N'Zogbia (Ambrose, 39); Robert (Milner 69), Bellamy; Ameobi. Substitutes not used: Given (gk), Hughes.
Referee: H Webb (South Yorkshire).
Booked: Yeading: Protain. Newcastle: Bramble.
Man of the match: Clarke.
Attendance: 10,824.
http://sport.independent.co.uk/football/newcastle/story.jsp?story=599329
dreamer75
10-01-2005, 10:33 AM
Bowyer has found his play with Newcastle.. may b we should just let him play his own game.. without requesting too much from him...
Bellamy not really sharp last night, but i actually hope he got substitued as i dun wan to see him injured himself..
Boumseng is good.. but needs some EPL match experience, he looks blur blur at some points as he thought was a foul but no foul, and he fouled when needless.. :s8:
anyway, well done to everyone.. Harper should really shape up if he really think of challenging Given for the place..
overall gd match but can be better :=)
Theychosenone
10-01-2005, 10:34 AM
It says a lot when a so-called 'professional' like Tits Fumble cannot even handle a part-timer striker!
yenyenpark
10-01-2005, 10:46 AM
Man of the match............................Bowyer.
quality player shines when we need him most.. Bowyer, u deserved my salute and i am wrong to think u as another flop when u just reach St James Park.. :D
dreamer75
10-01-2005, 10:51 AM
quality player shines when we need him most.. Bowyer, u deserved my salute and i am wrong to think u as another flop when u just reach St James Park.. :D
needs time to settle down...
yenyenpark
10-01-2005, 10:53 AM
It says a lot when a so-called 'professional' like Tits Fumble cannot even handle a part-timer striker!
but we might still need him in our UEFA Cup adventure as Boumseng is not eligible.. and Taylor might not fit to the big occassion yet.. sigh.. until we get another non Euro tied player.. so if Kuffo to come, could he play for us in UEFA CUP? :s11:
waynez
10-01-2005, 11:02 AM
but we might still need him in our UEFA Cup adventure as Boumseng is not eligible.. and Taylor might not fit to the big occassion yet.. sigh.. until we get another non Euro tied player.. so if Kuffo to come, could he play for us in UEFA CUP? :s11:
haha... how come u keep calling him Ah "Seng" instead of feeling "Song"... :s13:
yenyenpark
10-01-2005, 11:03 AM
needs time to settle down...
i used to think him as bad boy who can do NOTHING.. :D anyway, i like his playing now... every ball he will cheong.. cheong..
last night see him hesitating to tap the ball in for the first goal.. i can think of wat happening, but may b he want to see if Bellamy can make it as a goal.. :eek: :D before tapping in.. :s22:
yenyenpark
10-01-2005, 11:05 AM
haha... how come u keep calling him Ah "Seng" instead of feeling "Song"... :s13:
oops.. French name.. i think i dunno how to spell full name of Zidane too.. :D hard to memorise..
yenyenpark
10-01-2005, 11:26 AM
By SHAUN CUSTIS
SVEN GORAN ERIKSSON turned up to fine tune his England squad for next month’s friendly against Holland.
And keep your eyes open for Yeading’s David Clarke when he announces his 23.
Boss Eriksson has always promised that if a player proves himself he will be in — and, yesterday, there was no one on the field better than The Ding’s Captain Marvel.
This is not some patronising platitude to the Ryman League leaders — it is a fact.
Property developer Clarke, 33, built the foundations for his side to give the Premiership visitors a real fright.
And Eriksson admitted: “Yeading played very well — well done to them.”
In the first half you could not tell the difference between the sides — and worrying for Graeme Souness’ men they went down the tunnel 0-0.
Midfield dynamo Clarke, who began his career at Notts County, was the main man but he had heroes all around him and it was probably a lack of fitness rather than ability which did for Yeading in the end.
Lee Bowyer, in the 51st minute, and Shola Ameobi 10 minutes later allowed the travelling Toon Army to heave a very big sigh of relief.
This was no weakened Geordie side. With the exception of keeper Steve Harper, in for Shay Given, this was the strongest boss Souey could put out.
Newcastle are notoriously prone to struggling against minnows — and, astonishingly, this was the first time they had beaten a non-league team in the competition at the first time of asking in six attempts.
They had previously lost to Bedford and Hereford and drawn against Wigan, Hendon and Stevenage — but this would have been the biggest FA Cup shock of them all.
Yeading are six divisions — and 123 places — below Newcastle. It was the widest gap between two teams in the history of the competition.
Souness admitted his defence was given a torrid time by DJ Campbell who was once on Aston Villa’s books.
Titus Bramble, who cost £6million, was subbed at half-time to save him from being sent off while £8m debutant Jean-Alain Boumsong had a nightmare. Toon chairman Freddy Shepherd has seen a lot of money wasted and must have headed home worried another shedload has been chucked away.
Frenchman Boumsong was turned time and again by Campbell — but had Newcastle done the unthinkable and lost at Loftus Road, there would have been no sympathy for Shepherd.
The man, who when it comes to putting his foot in his gob has no equals, went on record saying he was not interested in the little clubs.
So the Geordies supremo ought to have given Harper a pat on the back for keeping the egg off his face.
Harper made a brilliant save from Clarke’s free-kick on 23 minutes, just managing to get his right thumb on it and turn it a fraction past the post.
Then, right at the death, he sprang to his left to tip round Darti Brown’s 30-yard strike. Newcastle could have made life easier had they capitalised on a great chance after just 70 seconds.
Ameobi flicked the ball into Laurent Robert’s path but the French winger tamely side-footed it straight to keeper Delroy Preddie. Bowyer missed a gift on 10 minutes, then Craig Bellamy hit the bar from seven yards when he should have scored.
Preddie came into his own as he acrobatically turned over a 25-yard blast from Toon skipper Jermaine Jenas.
Then came Harper’s heroics from Clarke’s free-kick which had the Geordie faithful in a panic.
Souness must have been stripping paint off the dressing-room walls at the break. But Bowyer’s simple tap-in broke Yeading’s resistance after a good run by Bellamy down the right.
Ameobi converted a free-kick by sub Darren Ambrose with a powerful header from 10 yards and we waited for the part-timers to cave in.
It never happened as Clarke and his midfield partners Brown and Davis Haule ran their legs off.
The spoils to Newcastle, the honour to Yeading.
DREAM TEAM STAR MAN: DAVID CLARKE (Yeading). Give him a game, Sven.
YEADING: Preddie 8, Saroya 7, Leach 8, Stanley 8, Barima 8 (Behzadi 7), Brown 8, Clarke 9, Haule 8, Protain 7 (Woodroffe 6), Campbell 8, Telemaque 7 (Quamina 6). Subs not used: Newby, Kleboe. Booked: Protain.
NEWCASTLE: Harper 8, Taylor 6, Bramble 5 (O’Brien 6), Boumsong 4, Babayaro 7, Bowyer 7, Jenas 6, N’Zogbia 5 (Ambrose 6), Robert 6 (Milner 5), Bellamy 6, Ameobi 7. Subs not used: Given, Hughes. Booked: Bramble.
REF: H Webb 7.
yenyenpark
10-01-2005, 11:32 AM
think TheSUn not really happy with us NOT losing to Yeading.. darn.. Yeading did well, of course.. but we played 11 players to 11 players.. there r no visible advantages over Yeading as i think our team r mix and match with Baba and Boumsong first play for us.. Harper takes over the posts for so many games.. and Bellamy just came back from his injury..
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.