ShaqONeal
15-04-2005, 10:09 AM
Souicide
SHEAR MISERY ... Alan Shearer trudges off as Sporting celebrate
• S Lisbon 4 Newcastle 1
By CARL LIDDLE
From CARL LIDDLE
in Lisbon
GRAEME SOUNESS saw his Newcastle side commit suicide as they crashed out of the UEFA Cup.
Kieron Dyer added to the Toon’s 1-0 first-leg lead but Sporting Lisbon still stormed into the semi-finals.
Boss Souey was hit by a string of injuries and he said: “We were asking boys to do a man’s job out there. We’re very disappointed, things went against us.”
Newcastle used all their substitutes within 60 minutes after Jermaine Jenas, Titus Bramble and Dyer limped off.
Midfielder Charles N’Zogbia, 18, suffered a suspected broken collarbone midway through the second half but had to play on.
While Newcastle lost their cutting edge and organisation, Sporting struck back with three goals in the last 19 minutes to turn the quarter-final around.
Upset Souness added: “We missed golden opportunities to kill off the game.
“When we lost two of our better players, Jermaine Jenas and Kieron Dyer — who was a real threat throughout — we were in trouble.
“We were quite confident when we got the game’s first goal and when we had our strongest 11 out.
“But there was nothing we could do. I’ve said we need to strengthen the squad.
“If we kept our starting 11 on the pitch, it would have been a different story.”
SOUNESS ... upset by defeat
Dyer’s 20th-minute opener gave Newcastle a two-goal cushion but Marius Niculae gave Sporting a lifeline before half-time.
Sa Pinto levelled the tie on aggregate but they needed to score again as the Tynesiders had grabbed an away goal.
Beto’s header 13 minutes from time put Sporting ahead and Fabio Rochemback sealed victory in the final minute.
Dyer said: “You don’t deserve to win if you concede four goals in any game. For 60 minutes we were comfortable. But then we blew a gasket.”
Souness must now patch a side together for Sunday’s FA Cup semi-final against Manchester United.
Jenas, Bramble, N’Zogbia and Celestine Babayaro are doubts while Dyer and Lee Bowyer are suspended.
blame who?? blame SOuness who play young gun.. Robert shud b included.. fuk u, Go hell Ouness
ShaqONeal
15-04-2005, 10:16 AM
http://images.thesun.co.uk/picture/0,,2005170550,00.jpg
FLASHPOINT ... Robert's blast in yesterday's SunSport
who to blame?? both lah.. Sack souness then sack robert (only when getting a replacement on left wing.. ) :s8:
Shadow04
15-04-2005, 11:24 AM
defending a 1-0 lead is always hard for us....but to concede 4 goals in Sporting...wah liao eh...sian 1/2..
oh well....as usual no silverware this season....:(
we were 2-0 up in the 20th min, plus we had an away goal, which means Sporting had to score 3 agaisnt us to win the match...
how the fark we lost the plot and conceded 4 is beyond me...... fark.... not going to watch anymore toon match for the rest of the season liao~ :look:
Takeshi_0
15-04-2005, 11:29 AM
wtf man! :s27:
like that later Alan Shearer changes his decision to retire again :s13:
Shadow04
15-04-2005, 11:36 AM
erm... sorry to break it to you..... but Shearer had already said he will play on for another season since April 1st... :look:
matoriv
15-04-2005, 11:51 AM
disappointed by newcastle again..
haiz...
season after season...
dreamer75
15-04-2005, 11:52 AM
i belif he's a man of his word...i have faith in him..
playing next season means playing next season...
daveaha
15-04-2005, 12:01 PM
Why you all always blame the gaffer ? He might be weak at times, but look at our players also. Robert. Totally w@nker. Idiot to launch that kind of comments just before the game. Destroy the morale of the team. Surely you all haven't forgot Villa's game ?
I say not because of Souey we lost UEFA cup.
See how unlucky we are that Dyer, Bramble and Jenas got injured. The turning point is when these players injured during the game.
For God's sake, DON'T ALWAYS BLAME SOUEY.
Gave him a chance. Stand behind the club all the times.
David
www.nufc.sg
daveaha
15-04-2005, 12:06 PM
This is THE NUFC.sg gathering of 2005 (to-date)...
CALLING ALL NUFC FANS...
THIS IS IT!
FA Cup Semi- Final from the Millenium Stadium:
NEWCASTLE UTD v Manu is LIVE
9.00pm Sunday 17th April,
and we will gather at The Penny Black to watch it! 8.00pm onwards.
JOIN US!!
Remember: Our Singapore Magpies banner will be hanging outside the pub.
The Blaydon Races will be played, and then the battle with the Manu-scum will commence.
Every Black and White shirt owner is needed, as we aim to drown out the Manu fans and make the whole of Singapore sit up and take notice of the TOON ARMY!
For the TOON, come stand with us!
Bring your lass/girlfriend/wife too!
HOWAY THE LADS!!
http://nufcsg.proboards3.com/index.cgi?board=general&num=1113281479&action=display&start=15
ZhiQiang
15-04-2005, 12:10 PM
if i spill out all the vulgarities i know also not enuff to blast the whole newcastle.
seriously, i feel that souney must go, as robert said, we are worse than last season. Yes, maybe we go a fa cup semi final clash with manu but look at out pathetic epl standings and the number of goals we leaked. totally disgusting.
now bellamy is leaving for 99.99999% sure. robert soon will follow, that about 60 to 70% sure.
who's next? who???
i certainly hope its souney!!! f**k off souney!!!
ShaqONeal
15-04-2005, 12:10 PM
unlucky?? 9 goals in 3 games is unlucky?? if it's not Souney?? who?? as manager, he is the one who shud responsible..
wat Robert said is right.. he might wana challenge their teammates to wake up.. bcos most of them r sleeping..
Robert is outspoken for so many season liao, u think our players will morale down solely bcos his words???
dreamer75
15-04-2005, 12:12 PM
unlucky?? 9 goals in 3 games is unlucky?? if it's not Souney?? who?? as manager, he is the one who shud responsible..
wat Robert said is right.. he might wana challenge their teammates to wake up.. bcos most of them r sleeping..
Robert is outspoken for so many season liao, u think our players will morale down solely bcos his words???
Roy Keana also blast his man u teammates, did SAF ever say he wanna sell keane?
enuff said...
ShaqONeal
15-04-2005, 12:12 PM
if i spill out all the vulgarities i know also not enuff to blast the whole newcastle.
seriously, i feel that souney must go, as robert said, we are worse than last season. Yes, maybe we go a fa cup semi final clash with manu but look at out pathetic epl standings and the number of goals we leaked. totally disgusting.
now bellamy is leaving for 99.99999% sure. robert soon will follow, that about 60 to 70% sure.
who's next? who???
i certainly hope its souney!!! f**k off souney!!!
i agreed.. wat Robert said is wat wel fans think.. he's the only one who saying the truth.. am i right.. while others trying hiding themselves behind bushes..
ShaqONeal
15-04-2005, 12:15 PM
Roy Keana also blast his man u teammates, did SAF ever say he wanna sell keane?
enuff said...
tat's wat i say.. think SHearer a bit too soft spoken now.. may b he think he will become manager one day, so din wan to talk much.. :s8:
daveaha
15-04-2005, 12:20 PM
Shaq...
What's the problem ? Definitely is a player badmouthed the team, whole team morale will be lowered. He is right about the team. Absolulely right. BUT NOT JUST BEFORE AN IMPORTANT match, and in front of the media. Cr@p.
U might not know since you never know the power of media in UK.
Correct the fact first. I gave you the stats from the past 5 games.
16-Mar
UEFA Cup
Olympiakos (h) 4-0
Sat
19-Mar
Portsmouth (a) 1-1
Sat
02-Apr
Aston Villa (h) 0-3
07-Apr
UEFA Cup
QF 1L
Sporting Lisbon (h) 1-0
10-Apr
Tottenham (a) 0-1
Ameobi
daveaha
15-04-2005, 12:24 PM
i agreed.. wat Robert said is wat wel fans think.. he's the only one who saying the truth.. am i right.. while others trying hiding themselves behind bushes..
OKAY,
cut the whole debate and brawling here.
Surely everyone has different view. Whatever u say, the management still the last word.
Let's focus for the Manyoo game.
Who's IN TO SUPPORT THE LADS TOGETHER AT PENNY BLACK THIS SUNDAY ???
ShaqONeal
15-04-2005, 12:29 PM
daveaha, i'm regular here.. i'm TOon fan who post very frequent here.. but now my nick changed (bcos some reason)..
if u r good in guessing, i think u can think who am i very quicky.. i post here up and down, with Toon win or lose.. i post..
anyway, sorri about the fact thingy.. i think i was too disappointed with ur current result tat i tok we had lost 0-4 to Aston Villa, 0-1 to Spurs and 1-4 to SPorting...
anyway, i still think SOuness shud not put the blame on Robert solely.. and he shud carry the responsibility... bcos manager r just by their result.. simple as tat..
SAF and Mourinho might b cocky.. but as long as they can produce result, everyone happy (or most of ppl).. else even SAF will face sack.. why not SOuney??
i just dun wish to see Toon getting lower in EPL table next season.. how lower can we be.. we r at second half of the table liao..
ShaqONeal
15-04-2005, 12:31 PM
OKAY,
cut the whole debate and brawling here.
Surely everyone has different view. Whatever u say, the management still the last word.
Let's focus for the Manyoo game.
Who's IN TO SUPPORT THE LADS TOGETHER AT PENNY BLACK THIS SUNDAY ???
i dun think i will go.. although i might wanna watch it elsewhere.. since it's one of the BIG match..
may b we really pull a surprise?? (although very little chance)
daveaha
15-04-2005, 03:03 PM
daveaha, i'm regular here.. i'm TOon fan who post very frequent here.. but now my nick changed (bcos some reason)..
if u r good in guessing, i think u can think who am i very quicky.. i post here up and down, with Toon win or lose.. i post..
anyway, sorri about the fact thingy.. i think i was too disappointed with ur current result tat i tok we had lost 0-4 to Aston Villa, 0-1 to Spurs and 1-4 to SPorting...
anyway, i still think SOuness shud not put the blame on Robert solely.. and he shud carry the responsibility... bcos manager r just by their result.. simple as tat..
SAF and Mourinho might b cocky.. but as long as they can produce result, everyone happy (or most of ppl).. else even SAF will face sack.. why not SOuney??
i just dun wish to see Toon getting lower in EPL table next season.. how lower can we be.. we r at second half of the table liao..
Sorry man,
I kind of lose my temper also. I think I know who you are. hehe :s12:
Anyway, the blame is with the team.
Anyway,
Let's give the gaffer time. Remember the 1st season SBR manage us ? We placed 11 or 12th If I'm not wrong.
Next season, not performing...
Sack him. whatever.
Theychosenone
15-04-2005, 04:28 PM
Newcastle needs a really big miracle against manu now. :s8:
martinweng
15-04-2005, 07:17 PM
PAWNED
sporting pawned newcastle, enuff said.
yurika
15-04-2005, 07:29 PM
England : Newcastle boss Graeme Souness has blasted winger Laurent Robert after the Frenchman bemoaned the Magpies form on the day they face Sporting Lisbon in a crucial UEFA Cup tie.
Robert, on the bench for Thursday's quarter-final second leg against Sporting, was quoted in the press as saying: "Are we better this year than last year? No, I don't think so. Are we the same? No, probably worse.
"We have not played well in the last three games. We've been very, very bad.
"It is difficult to explain why we are playing so badly, but we have to get out of it quickly."
His remarks, which he later claimed had been taken out of context, were not welcomed by no-nonsense Scot Souness, who said Robert should know better to make waves, especially on the eve of the UEFA Cup quarter-final with Sporting Lisbon.
"We've had to take our eyes off the ball because of the selfish attitude of one of our own players," Souness fumed.
"Once again, we've been sidetracked by a selfish player at a time when this club is playing its two most important games for 35 years."
Souness, whose team have another crucial date coming up - Sunday's FA Cup semi-final against Manchester United - added: "That is totally unacceptable, not only for the management team of Newcastle United and its players, but also the supporters.
"These two games are not about Laurent Robert, they are not about Alan Shearer or Graeme Souness either, they are about the cause, and that cause is Newcastle United."
And Souness added: "What Laurent Robert has to do is to look at himself first and if he is not playing well, he should try harder."
Later Robert tried to take the heat out of the row.
"I never wanted a dispute," he declared in a statement.
"My words were taken out of their context and were amplified for a reason that I fail to understand. I simply made an objective statement on the average performances of the team and of my own that I don’t find very good regarding Newcastle's ambitions.
"My personal future is less important than the clubs interests. My words have been deformed and amplified. They may have upset Newcastle's management and fans and I’m sorry for that.
"I remain at the disposal of the team and the manager to show on the pitch my attachment to the club and to help lead the team to success."
http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/afp_sports/view/142691/1/.html
dbchoong
15-04-2005, 09:05 PM
Don't what to say... *sigh* :s27:
Just hope that the lads pick themselves up and start kicking some a** - starting with Man U...
:o
Fresnel
15-04-2005, 09:21 PM
I Agree wif wat Robert say....i dun think there's anything wrong wif his words. More like words to stir up fighting spirit within the camp. Why Souness blast him for that? Would he do the same (or would anyone Criticise) if it was Shearer who said those words???
It's harmless to me....Souness is trying to make a meal out of it.
Get lost you aS*head/face. NewC never reach to such a low.....at least under Dalglish or Ruud , not many players revolted.
Takeshi_0
16-04-2005, 01:14 AM
Recent team unhappiness have brought such a horrific effect on the team. I believe Souness should bring the team back together and stop all the nonsense he has with the players (which i think it would be hard). One thing about that is he such a stubborn manager at times and totally refuses to bring changes to his thoughts.
Hope newcastle can beat man utd :)
o0SpaceY0o
16-04-2005, 03:29 AM
I am done with Newcastle United this season. :s27:
martinweng
16-04-2005, 08:26 AM
I am done with Newcastle United this season. :s27:
same. no more checking of epl results liao..
Fresnel
16-04-2005, 10:41 AM
SOuness will NEVER Change....he did the same thing when he was at Blackburn. And i must emphasize to you all how HAPPY the blackburn FANS were when NewC PAID HIM OUT of their club.
He doesn't have fan respect when he was at BB anyways!
SAME HERE!!!!!!
yellowsubmarine
16-04-2005, 12:23 PM
Frankly speaking, Souness did pretty well in the first couple of seasons at Rovers. We won the Worthington Cup back then when he was still on good terms with everyone. He did had some respect, not say dont have.
But last season, everything started to go wrong. At the beginning of this season, we thought we are going back to Div1 after a horrible start. But guess what, Souness saved us, by leaving for Newcastle. Not only that, he took Dean Saunders along as well and we dont have to compensate them. Whaha.. thank God.
Life is better now at Rovers. Get rid of Souness/Saunders soon, or Magpies will rot further..
martinweng
16-04-2005, 12:29 PM
Frankly speaking, Souness did pretty well in the first couple of seasons at Rovers. We won the Worthington Cup back then when he was still on good terms with everyone. He did had some respect, not say dont have.
But last season, everything started to go wrong. At the beginning of this season, we thought we are going back to Div1 after a horrible start. But guess what, Souness saved us, by leaving for Newcastle. Not only that, he took Dean Saunders along as well and we dont have to compensate them. Whaha.. thank God.
Life is better now at Rovers. Get rid of Souness/Saunders soon, or Magpies will rot further..
hey ur win arsenal hor, den we beat man utd, let us fight each other out in final. :D
o0SpaceY0o
16-04-2005, 03:05 PM
same. no more checking of epl results liao..
ya...no point checking liao....Let's start afresh next season(been telling myself this many times) But every season is always disappointing :s27:
daveaha
16-04-2005, 03:19 PM
This is THE NUFC.sg gathering of 2005 (to-date)...
CALLING ALL NUFC FANS...
THIS IS IT!
FA Cup Semi- Final from the Millenium Stadium:
NEWCASTLE UTD v Manu is LIVE
9.00pm Sunday 17th April,
and we will gather at The Penny Black to watch it! 8.00pm onwards.
JOIN US!!
Remember: Our Singapore Magpies banner will be hanging outside the pub.
The Blaydon Races will be played, and then the battle with the Manu-scum will commence.
Every Black and White shirt owner is needed, as we aim to drown out the Manu fans and make the whole of Singapore sit up and take notice of the TOON ARMY!
For the TOON, come stand with us!
Bring your lass/girlfriend/wife too!
HOWAY THE LADS!!
http://nufcsg.proboards3.com/index.cgi?board=general&num=1113281479&action=display&start=15
PEOPLE ! Gentle reminder !
Shadow04
16-04-2005, 03:24 PM
ya...no point checking liao....Let's start afresh next season(been telling myself this many times) But every season is always disappointing :s27:
ya lor~ :s27:
daveaha
16-04-2005, 03:28 PM
FA Cup Semi-Final:
NUFC v MUFC.
We will gather at The Penny Black to watch it.
Sunday 8.00pm onwards.
For the TOON, come stand with us!!
Help us fly the flag.. where were YOU on Sunday 17th April v Manu when we made our stand together
HOWAY THE LADS!
ShaqONeal
16-04-2005, 09:35 PM
while we blaming Souness, think we shud blame Sheperd for bringing him to St James Park... darn.. darn..
daveaha
16-04-2005, 10:46 PM
while we blaming Souness, think we shud blame Sheperd for bringing him to St James Park... darn.. darn..
That's more like it ! heh !
Shadow04
16-04-2005, 11:47 PM
actually we should curse both of them..... just my opinion... :)
still dont understand why SBR got sacked..... sure poor start to the season... but hasnt it been our "tradition" for the past few seasons? bah... no point talking bout something that is not going to change...
o0SpaceY0o
16-04-2005, 11:58 PM
SBR has to be sacked....he keeps playing players out of postion and keep using lame tactics...and he is too 'soft' cannot control the bad boys in the camp (my 2 cents)
dreamer75
17-04-2005, 12:19 AM
actually we should curse both of them..... just my opinion... :)
still dont understand why SBR got sacked..... sure poor start to the season... but hasnt it been our "tradition" for the past few seasons? bah... no point talking bout something that is not going to change...
Fat Shep is the main culprit... :s22:
Theychosenone
17-04-2005, 12:34 AM
Sheperd chose to pay peanuts, he will only get monkeys. :s13:
So we get a monkey like Sourness instead of proven managers like Hitzfeld and Scolari.
daveaha
17-04-2005, 12:35 AM
from nufc.sg forum...
From Biffa at NUFC.com, cos i couldnt say it better myself.. for those who will join at PB, lets make a stand, for those who said they wouldnt come.. make this the exception and change-your-mind. FOR THE TOON.
"Stiffen the sinews, summon up the blood, Cardiff here we come.
Sunday gives us the chance to right the wrongs, to forget the damage brought upon this club by those charged with its stewardship. To show the world what Newcastle United is all about.
The thing that no-one can ever take away from us is that regardless of who is in charge, no matter who wears the shirt on the field, the club belongs to the fans. Without us it is nothing.
Make sure you go to Cardiff wearing the black and white with pride. Let's have a show of strength from the people that make the difference - us.
If you don't normally sing and make a noise, make this the exception, if you usually sing, make this exceptional.
If we go behind, double the volume. If we go two behind treble it. Even if we leave Cardiff with our tail between our legs, let's make sure we growl, snarl and bark out our message until the final whistle.
Let's make it clear that everyone knows who the real United is - 30,000 of us with one voice. It could be some time before we get the chance to do it again.
Regardless of what happens on the pitch we need to leave Wales with our heads held high - if we are failed by those on the field then we can still return victorious.
A day may come when the courage of men fails, when we forsake our friends and break all bonds of fellowship, but it is not this day. As someone once said...."
HOWAY THE LADS!! TOMMOROW @ PB.
daveaha
17-04-2005, 12:41 AM
from nufc.sg forum...
From Biffa at NUFC.com, cos i couldnt say it better myself.. for those who will join at PB, lets make a stand, for those who said they wouldnt come.. make this the exception and change-your-mind. FOR THE TOON.
"Stiffen the sinews, summon up the blood, Cardiff here we come.
Sunday gives us the chance to right the wrongs, to forget the damage brought upon this club by those charged with its stewardship. To show the world what Newcastle United is all about.
The thing that no-one can ever take away from us is that regardless of who is in charge, no matter who wears the shirt on the field, the club belongs to the fans. Without us it is nothing.
Make sure you go to Cardiff wearing the black and white with pride. Let's have a show of strength from the people that make the difference - us.
If you don't normally sing and make a noise, make this the exception, if you usually sing, make this exceptional.
If we go behind, double the volume. If we go two behind treble it. Even if we leave Cardiff with our tail between our legs, let's make sure we growl, snarl and bark out our message until the final whistle.
Let's make it clear that everyone knows who the real United is - 30,000 of us with one voice. It could be some time before we get the chance to do it again.
Regardless of what happens on the pitch we need to leave Wales with our heads held high - if we are failed by those on the field then we can still return victorious.
A day may come when the courage of men fails, when we forsake our friends and break all bonds of fellowship, but it is not this day. As someone once said...."
HOWAY THE LADS!! TOMMOROW @ PB.
So lads,
read and understand.
Be heard. Even we're thousand miles away, BUT WE HAVE TO STAND UNITED, support the lads.
Whatever your stance is, hate Shepperd, hate Souey, hate Dyer do as you wish. BUT WE HAVE TO STAND BEHIND THE CLUB !
I hope I can see you lads tomorrow @ Penny Black.
-HTL-
ShaqONeal
17-04-2005, 05:54 PM
So we get a monkey like Sourness instead of proven managers like Hitzfeld and Scolari.
same thinking as u.. while there r so many possible "quality" candidates, he chose Souness.. from a team tat is even lower than us... :s27:
no disrespect to Blackburn, but shudn't we judge a manager by how many trophies they win?? like Mourinho said, it's his managment skill tat count, not his playing experience..
a good player not really a good manager although ther r few, but certainly not SOuness.. :o
Tokieda
17-04-2005, 06:16 PM
he choose souness to discipline the team not to win trophies
martinweng
17-04-2005, 08:57 PM
yes...dats wad he have been agreeeing on ever since it started..
Its all over for Newcastle
Fresnel
17-04-2005, 11:09 PM
Hapless display once again....and fer sure Robert will be used as scapegoat for Souness....this season is O-V-E-R. Period....this is one of those years we are mid-table material....very ordinary and never european quality...Time to go Souness...you were never the man to handle NewC. Too big for you...get lost.
Personally i think SheepHead got Souness as a scapegoat for Shearer, so as to give reason to sack Souness so that Shearer can be manager. If he were to get a good manager, there will be no reason for Shearer's ascension to managerial post in due time. I still cannot believe our club is managed by a man the likes of Souness.......Unbelievable....
ZhiQiang
17-04-2005, 11:11 PM
i knew it. terrible score.
another 4-1 defeat...
F**K!!!
Shadow04
17-04-2005, 11:13 PM
yay... no surprises.... we lost..... again....
knew our season is over ever since we were sent packing from the UEFA cup... and yea, i agree, NUFC is tooo big for the likes of Souness... :s27:
Shadow04
17-04-2005, 11:17 PM
i knew it. terrible score.
another 4-1 defeat...
F**K!!!
it's not that bad wat... i mean... sure we conceded 8 goals in 2 matches, but we manage to score 2 in 2 matches leh! isnt that something for us to cheer about...?
o0SpaceY0o
17-04-2005, 11:17 PM
Well well well.....disappointing again....i am not being sceptical or whatsoever....but i feel so hard for those who went to the pub to cheer for this half past ten team...This season is over....we shall hope for a better things to come soon...time to throw in those 2nd string players for EPL matches now can see what 'potential' they have.
No Europe next season. Who will join Newcastle?
o0SpaceY0o
17-04-2005, 11:29 PM
Win Intertoto cup??? :s13:
daveaha
17-04-2005, 11:39 PM
Well well well.....disappointing again....i am not being sceptical or whatsoever....but i feel so hard for those who went to the pub to cheer for this half past ten team...This season is over....we shall hope for a better things to come soon...time to throw in those 2nd string players for EPL matches now can see what 'potential' they have.
We all went to the pub, and you don't have to feel sorry for us.
Winning or losing, we still sing, and stand up for them. The atmosphere is electric, and we stood until the final whistle and beyond.
Simply Geordie.
Fresnel
17-04-2005, 11:43 PM
what has NEwC come to.....sigh......IT was never meant to be like this for us....it's too unfair for the fans.....
o0SpaceY0o
17-04-2005, 11:51 PM
what has NEwC come to.....sigh......IT was never meant to be like this for us....it's too unfair for the fans.....
ya it is too unfair. :s27:
dreamer75
18-04-2005, 12:13 AM
sighz...we lost again....what's new?
Shadow04
18-04-2005, 12:15 AM
ya it is too unfair. :s27:
bah... fair or not, get use to it..... things are not going to change anytime soon...... not unless Souness is out, and hopefully we can a much better replacement...
dreamer75
18-04-2005, 12:15 AM
look at the way we concede the goal by Ronaldo, he was completely unmarked!!
where was the defence???
dreamer75
18-04-2005, 12:16 AM
Bitter rivals Manchester United and Arsenal will return to the Millennium Stadium on May 21 to put their seasons on the line in a mouthwatering FA Cup final.
Twenty-four hours after Arsene Wenger's men had set up a confrontation that will fill Soho Square with eager anticipation and total dread in equal measure, holders United booked their Cardiff return with an easy win over hapless, Intertoto Cup-bound Newcastle.
Given the bad blood that boils between the men of Highbury and Old Trafford, it is a clash that will not need any hype, leaving the loser, as it will, literally potless.
Ferguson will relish the build-up as much as he enjoyed a seventh straight semi-final win, none of which have been as easy as this.
And the added bonus was a brace for Ruud van Nistelrooy, such an unhappy figure since his return to action in February.
Much of a five-month goal drought has been spent recovering from an Achilles injury but van Nistelrooy's barren streak was undoubtedly causing Ferguson concern. Now the Scot has no need to fret.
It takes only a passing knowledge of Ferguson's extraordinary 18-year tenure at Old Trafford to know any suggestion his team's powers are on the wane is usually greeted with a performance that begs why anyone had questioned them in the first place.
Last weekend's appalling display at Norwich predictably had the critics sharpening their knives.
Talk swirling round Old Trafford all week has been of a club in crisis. It should have been no surprise therefore that by half-time United had booked another Cup final appearance.
The Red Devils were helped massively by a Newcastle side ejected by the same scoreline from the UEFA Cup on Thursday and who were so bad in the first 20 minutes here they would not have looked out of place in the Conference.
Graeme Souness' mounting problems at St James' Park should not take too much away from United though, whose passing was as slick as it was awful at Carrow Road.
From the first whistle, they exploited gaping holes in the Newcastle defence, with Roy Keane biting into challenges and Cristiano Ronaldo at his beguiling best, although he did also place a major early blot on his copybook.
It was on this ground in last year's final win over Millwall that the young Portugal winger turned in one of the most effective afternoons of an at times frustrating United career.
He quickly made an impact on proceedings this time, but for all the wrong reasons as he tumbled over under pressure from Steven Taylor as he charged onto van Nistelrooy's sixth-minute through ball.
Referee Mike Riley, who is not totally unused to giving United penalties, blew his whistle immediately, leaving the vast majority of the crowd to believe he had ordered Ferguson's men another. Instead, the official deservedly flashed a yellow card in Ronaldo's face, as TV replays backed Riley's view the youngster had taken a dive.
It proved to be the last time anyone had reason to criticise Ronaldo, who from that point on, limited his trickery, produced the two crosses which saw Ferguson's men seize control and then finished off a one-sided romp 12 minutes from time.
Like his young team-mate, van Nistelrooy had served notice he was up for the contest, scrapping for possession, muscling his way round Taylor and Jean-Alain Boumsong and generally causing a major nuisance of himself.
All the big Dutchman needed was a goal. And, to Ferguson's obvious glee, after eight long games and 19 minutes, the longest drought of a 124-goal United career came to an end.
Van Nistelrooy did need a bit of good fortune as Boumsong slipped attempting to reach Ronaldo's low ball. But after that, it was typical precision, deftly steering the ball beyond Shay Given in a manner United fans have become so accustomed to.
The goal did bring an improvement from the Magpies, although that was not too hard. Laurent Robert took aim with two free-kicks but produced the worst from his extensive repertoire and Alan Shearer got a boot in the face as he steered a brave header goalwards.
It was the red shirts who were dominant though and when Paul Scholes, match-winner in last year's semi against Arsenal, rose to meet Ronaldo's powerful near post cross and flash a header into the far corner, it was no more than the holders deserved.
The renewed conviction coursing through Newcastle veins at the start of the second half was quickly quelled when Wayne Rooney led a counter-attack which ended with Scholes presenting van Nistelrooy with an opportunity to tap his 14th of the season into an empty net.
Shola Ameobi pulled one back almost immediately but it was United who looked more like adding to their lead than the Magpies decreasing it.
And, after Given had denied van Nistelrooy, Scholes, Ronaldo and the outstanding Gabriel Heinze, the Red Devils finally grabbed a fourth, Van Nistelrooy teeing up Ronaldo for the simplest of finishes.
Teams
Newcastle Given, Carr, Boumsong, Taylor, Babayaro (Andrew O'Brien 45), Milner (Kluivert 63), Faye (N'Zogbia 45), Butt, Robert, Ameobi, Shearer.
Subs Not Used: Harper, Ambrose.
Booked: Milner, Robert.
Goals: Ameobi 59.
Man Utd Howard, Gary Neville, Brown, Ferdinand, Heinze, Ronaldo (Smith 78), Keane, Scholes (Fletcher 78), Fortune, Rooney (Giggs 78), van Nistelrooy.
Subs Not Used: Carroll, Silvestre.
Booked: Ronaldo, Brown, Heinze.
Goals: van Nistelrooy 19, Scholes 45, van Nistelrooy 58, Ronaldo 76.
Att: 69,280
Ref: M Riley (W Yorkshire).
http://www.sportinglife.com/football/live/reports/story_get.dor?STORY_NAME=soccer/05/04/17/SOCCER_Newcastle.html
dreamer75
18-04-2005, 12:22 AM
Personally i think SheepHead got Souness as a scapegoat for Shearer, so as to give reason to sack Souness so that Shearer can be manager. If he were to get a good manager, there will be no reason for Shearer's ascension to managerial post in due time. I still cannot believe our club is managed by a man the likes of Souness.......Unbelievable....
actually it makes sense, Shearer might be our player-manager after Souness is sacked next season?
martinweng
18-04-2005, 12:26 AM
hmm...its time to close dis thread liao..lets all join everton..they seem more deserving of our support..
but den seriously, yea..shearer be manager man..dream come true..
dreamer75
18-04-2005, 12:45 AM
hmm...its time to close dis thread liao..lets all join everton..they seem more deserving of our support..
but den seriously, yea..shearer be manager man..dream come true..
closing this thread? nah.....
dreamer75
18-04-2005, 12:51 AM
Well, that's it then............as expected we lost the game. I suppose if you look at it realistically we were beaten by a better team who perform on the big stage............in big games...........better that we do, or indeed have done for a number of years.
The lads played well enough.......apart from not being able to pass the ball, but we no longer have anything extra. Without the exiled Bellamy and the banned Dyer we have no pace which meant we were always going to find it difficult to score and once we had let them have their first goal it was all over..............and our lads knew it too.
It was on the cards that Van Nistlerooy would be the one to score as well because of all the pre-match "he hasn't scored for ages" stuff, but we did make it easy for him didn't we?
We made a bit of a fist of it in the second half but in the end a score of 4-1 made it look far too easy for the Mancs..........which, sadly, it was.
As usual, the only bright spot in games like these was the fans............surely somone "UP THERE" has to smile on us one day.
Man of the match.....................the fans.
dreamer75
18-04-2005, 12:53 AM
we may not even make the Intertoto next year.... :s27:
dreamer75
18-04-2005, 12:54 AM
OK, we are out of both cups but contrary to popular belief the season is NOT over yet.
We still have two things to fight for................three if you include pride. We are still not yet safe from relegation and we are still trying to get a European place..........okay it's just the Intertoto, but last time we played in that tournament we had our best league start for ages.
Mind you, Norwich are fighting for their lives and at the moment are probaby showing better form - they did beat Man U the other day after all.
I think the lads will be drained after the two cup games and I think we will find this game very difficult indeed.
My prediction...........................A DEFEAT.
ZhiQiang
18-04-2005, 01:07 AM
the confidence is very low now... 2 semis in 4 days lost by the same scoreline.
i will not be surprise to see us losing to norwish by the same scoreline.
dreamer75
18-04-2005, 01:15 AM
Graeme Souness bemoaned Newcastle's hectic schedule after their disappointing 4-1 FA Cup semi-final defeat to Manchester United.
Souness was left unhappy that his troops had played twice since their opponents' last game, and insisted events had conspired against The Magpies.
"We've had two games since they've last played," he declared.
"We've travelled to Lisbon, we been bashed up physically and mentally on Thursday and we came into this game with the squad of players we have down to the bones.
"It was always going to be a very difficult afternoon's work for us.
"When you think things are going well it can come back and kick you where it hurts and I think we have experienced that in the last couple of weeks."
http://skysports.planetfootball.com/list.asp?hlid=270535&lid=2&cpid=1&title=Souness+unhappy+with+schedule&channel=Football_Home
ZhiQiang
18-04-2005, 02:30 AM
1st he blamed robert only to realise that he is a crowd fav.
now he blame the schedule?
in this modern game, he should expect to play 2 matches in 4 days. not whine!
Tokieda
18-04-2005, 08:28 AM
blames everything else except himsef, selfish bugger!
http://www.patrick-kluivert.com/temp/souness_edit.gif --> You are either with me or with Souness!
Theychosenone
18-04-2005, 08:49 AM
A mediocre team can only do so much.. let's hope for a better next season then. :)
martinweng
18-04-2005, 09:11 AM
I cross my fingers on a new GOOD striker..
pls dun bring in andy johnson...overhyped player..
i hope they are not stupid enuff to bring in say, james vaughan,
waste of time nia..
dreamer75
18-04-2005, 09:17 AM
blames everything else except himsef, selfish bugger!
http://www.patrick-kluivert.com/temp/souness_edit.gif --> You are either with me or with Souness!
i have always been against Souness since the 1st day he's being appointed as our manager!!!! :mad:
dreamer75
18-04-2005, 09:20 AM
so bros, do you still need to wait till the end of the season to make ur verdict on Souness?
Tokieda
18-04-2005, 09:23 AM
i think most of us cant be bothered, nothing to play for already..the season is in theory over already..
martinweng
18-04-2005, 09:23 AM
so bros, do you still need to wait till the end of the season to make ur verdict on Souness?
ur are sacked upon the last match's final whistle.
Den Shearer will make history, overwrite moyes' record as youngest manager.
and if we get relegated, nvm..i rather relegate wif shearer than souness..
martinweng
18-04-2005, 09:24 AM
i think most of us cant be bothered, nothing to play for already..the season is in theory over already..
i hope we lose every farking match, but still not get relegated, and dumb shepherd will see right thru it, fire souness and get us shearer
andy81
18-04-2005, 09:49 AM
Actually in robert case i am totally with Souness. I mean Robert blames souney for not letting him play the full game but personally i feel he is not playing well in those games thats y he got subbed. As for last nite, i dun think he played well. Most of his deliveries was bad and that was 1 stupid moment when he kicked out at ronaldo. He was lucky to be on the pitch, personally i think that was a red card. I really think Newcastle shld sort things out and get ready for next season. Kluivert was disappointing as usual and suprisingly ameobi was quite lively. I think we really miss Dyer's pace. Anyway i dun think all the blame shld be put on Souness as injuries and suspensions plus the morale damaging defeat at lisbon really drained Newcastle. I feel sorry for Newcastle BUT WE WILL BE BACK WITH A BANG NEXT SEASON!!!
martinweng
18-04-2005, 11:28 AM
I feel sorry for Newcastle BUT WE WILL BE BACK WITH A BANG NEXT SEASON!!!
how? lao kok kok shearer 1 person atk, bousong 1 person defend, given 1 desperate goalkeeper?? enuff wif our 3-man team...time to get 8 more players and start playing 11-man soccer.
Tokieda
18-04-2005, 11:50 AM
hope if some good team wants to sign given, he ought to give it serious thought, so many years at the mickey mouse club, he must be sick and tired of it
how? lao kok kok shearer 1 person atk, bousong 1 person defend, given 1 desperate goalkeeper?? enuff wif our 3-man team...time to get 8 more players and start playing 11-man soccer.
True indeed. Boumsong really one man show in the defence. Babayaro was disappointing
Tokieda
18-04-2005, 01:39 PM
True indeed. Boumsong really one man show in the defence. Babayaro was disappointing
he wasnt match-fit and will probably not be match-fit ever...
ShaqONeal
18-04-2005, 03:23 PM
OK, we are out of both cups but contrary to popular belief the season is NOT over yet.
We still have two things to fight for................three if you include pride. We are still not yet safe from relegation and we are still trying to get a European place..........okay it's just the Intertoto, but last time we played in that tournament we had our best league start for ages.
Mind you, Norwich are fighting for their lives and at the moment are probaby showing better form - they did beat Man U the other day after all.
I think the lads will be drained after the two cup games and I think we will find this game very difficult indeed.
My prediction...........................A DEFEAT.
sigh.. why loan Bernard when he still contract to us?? i dun see why?? well.. i'm pissed with his attitude of dragging the contract, but i had to admit he;s hardworking..
and SOunes r bastad tat cannot see the good thing in Robert speech.. i think Robert wish to challenge his teammates to play good football.. but in the end, he was coldstoraged by SOuness...
okay.. see u elsewhere Robert..
the most disappointing player i think will b Butt... really disappointing..
PrinCe_iL
18-04-2005, 04:19 PM
I'm sorry for the 4-1 defeat by Man Utd.. but honestly speaking, i feel souness is not cut out for the top jobs in england... look at how he had "transformed" liverpool from a mediocre team.. to an even more mediocre(er) team.....enough said.. haiz... good luck to your newcastle man...
Tokieda
18-04-2005, 04:31 PM
newcastle will lose to our greatesst rival sunderland next season...
Theychosenone
18-04-2005, 04:49 PM
sigh.. why loan Bernard when he still contract to us?? i dun see why?? well.. i'm pissed with his attitude of dragging the contract, but i had to admit he;s hardworking..
and SOunes r bastad tat cannot see the good thing in Robert speech.. i think Robert wish to challenge his teammates to play good football.. but in the end, he was coldstoraged by SOuness...
okay.. see u elsewhere Robert..
the most disappointing player i think will b Butt... really disappointing..
You would expect someone who performs consistently and reliably to have the right to criticise his teammates and his given role in the team, unfortunately Robert does not belong to this category. :s13: It damages his creditability altogether when he speaks out so often. He claims he was misquoted but how many times have we heard that one? He should have known better and do his talking with his game.
ShaqONeal
18-04-2005, 05:37 PM
You would expect someone who performs consistently and reliably to have the right to criticise his teammates and his given role in the team, unfortunately Robert does not belong to this category. :s13: It damages his creditability altogether when he speaks out so often. He claims he was misquoted but how many times have we heard that one? He should have known better and do his talking with his game.
his French mah.. may b he just say wat he think, and "catcha"... by the way, r we really doing badly?? yes we r..
anyway, i dun think it will b much different even if he dun say it.. will it??
although i really abit fedup with RObert.. but i really wish to choose to angry with SOuness and SHeperd more than others.. simple as tat.. :o
ShaqONeal
18-04-2005, 05:39 PM
I'm sorry for the 4-1 defeat by Man Utd.. but honestly speaking, i feel souness is not cut out for the top jobs in england... look at how he had "transformed" liverpool from a mediocre team.. to an even more mediocre(er) team.....enough said.. haiz... good luck to your newcastle man...
said to say, it's happening here now. :o
i hope we no need to wait to get into relegation zone again to get SOuness sacked..
Tokieda
18-04-2005, 06:13 PM
its impossible to get into relegation zone for now...there are worse teams with daunting fixtures...
dreamer75
18-04-2005, 06:50 PM
another unknown player??
Newcastle United are reportedly eyeing a summer swoop for Strasbourg midfielder Yacine Abdessadki.
The 24-year-old Morocco international has impressed this term and had previously attracted attention from Spanish clubs Malaga and Mallorca.
Abdessadki is out of contract in the summer and with talks having broken down with his current paymasters, it seems certain that he will quit the Alsace club in the summer.
With Newcastle likely to make several changes to their playing staff in the close season, Abdessadki has emerged as a possible target for Graeme Souness.
''I will leave,'' confirmed Abdessadki. ''The talks to extend my contract have fallen through.
''I just know that I will not be at Strasbourg next season.
''I have had contact with both French and foreign clubs.
''I am thinking it about it now. I think I can still improve. So I will choose an ambitious club.
''I want to learn about the European Cup.''
http://skysports.planetfootball.com/list.asp?hlid=270607&cpid=8&CLID=4&lid=&title=Newcastle+eye+Moroccan&channel=Premiership
dreamer75
18-04-2005, 06:52 PM
rubbish...
A defiant Graeme Souness last night insisted that Newcastle still have plenty to play for this season as he sought to salvage something from the wreckage of the club's latest calamitous cup exit.
Just three days after the crushing disappointment of their 4-1 Uefa Cup defeat in Lisbon, the Magpies were beaten by the same scoreline in yesterday's FA Cup semi-final to ensure that the club's 50-year search for domestic silverware will be extended by at least 12 more months.
With seven league matches remaining, United's main aim must now be to avoid the ignominy of finishing the season in the bottom half of the Premiership table.
But, although he seemed determined to put a brave face on the latest setback to befall his troubled reign on Tyneside, it is difficult to see how Souness' out-of-sorts side can hope to recover from the wounds of a punishing week over the course of the final month of the campaign.
"We have got to lift them, we have seven games left, seven hard games to play, and we have to somehow regroup," said a manager who, following yesterday's shattering loss to Manchester United, knows a fourth straight defeat at bottom-of-the-table Norwich on Wednesday night would further raise the pressure which is mounting at St James's Park.
"We somehow have got to find the energy and the togetherness for Wednesday evening. But there is still a long way to go before our season is over.
"I can't be critical of any of my players. We were bashed up physically and mentally in Lisbon last week and sometimes it can take you 45 minutes of football to get your legs going, especially if you have been travelling.
"I think that was the case - I think that is why we lost it in the first half. But we believed that we could do it.
"You must always believe. I feel sorry for all my players and I feel sorry for the supporters. We will be back."
An insipid Newcastle trailed to goals by Ruud van Nistelrooy at Paul Scholes at half-time at the Millennium Stadium and, while the Dutchman's second strike of the afternoon inspired a brief backlash which saw Shola Ameobi reduce the deficit, Cristiano Ronaldo completed a routine victory for the Red Devils.
"We played a very good team," said Souness, who was without several players as a result of injuries and suspensions.
"We also have played two games and travelled to Lisbon since they last had a game and it was always going to be a difficult afternoon given our team."
Souness did restore Laurent Robert to the starting line-up but, although he revealed how the Frenchman had apologised to his team-mates following last week's untimely outburst, it is unclear whether the same courtesy has been extended to the United boss.
"We felt that he was the best man for the job," said Souness of a player with an uncertain future on Tyneside.
"He has apologised to the players."
Robert could still face disciplinary measures for his latest indiscretion, with United officials keen to get this weekend out of the way before deciding what action to take.
Newcastle have never finished lower than 13th - their present position - in a Premiership campaign but, having won only one of their last four league matches, must make great improvements for a positive end to the season.
http://icnewcastle.icnetwork.co.uk/newcastleunited/news/tm_objectid=15414315%26method=full%26siteid=50081%26headline=there-s-more-to-play-for-name_page.html
dreamer75
18-04-2005, 06:54 PM
Newcastle
Shay Given - 6: Could have done better for the first goal, but made some impressive saves later on.
Stephen Carr - 6: Toiled away on the right and tried hard in the second half particularly, but rarely got the chance to set up goal chances.
Celestine Babayaro - 4: Well off the pace in the first half, suffered a calf injury and was replaced at half time by N'Zogbia.
Jean-Alain Boumsong - 7: Newcastle's busiest outfield player, kept the scoreline respectable in the first half.
Steven Taylor - 5: Denied Ronaldo an early chance but other than a late header against the post, played an insignificant role after that.
Nicky Butt - 5: His mistake helped set up United's third goal and he was left stranded in midfield when Newcastle changed to a more attacking formation.
Amdy Faye - 5: Replaced by O'Brien at half time after failing to make an impact due to a thigh injury.
Laurent Robert - 4: Occasional flashes early on but faded altogether when Newcastle were really up against it.
James Milner - 5: Booked early on, but contributed little before being substituted on the hour.
Shola Ameobi - 6: Quiet in the first half but his goal kept Newcastle in the game after Man Utd went 3-0 up.
Alan Shearer - 5: Few clear chances. Took a knock on the head in the first half, posed more threat later on in more attacking formation.
Substitutes
Andy O'Brien (replaced Faye, 45 mins) - 6: Half-time replacement for Faye, got stuck in but failed to have significant impact.
Charles N'Zogbia (replaced Babyaro, 45 mins) - 5: Put forward in a more attacking role than Babayaro, but with little joy.
Patrick Kluivert (replaced Milner, 63 mins) - 6: Came on as Newcastle threw everything forward, but added little to their threat.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/fa_cup/4454381.stm
dreamer75
18-04-2005, 06:58 PM
By Nick Raynor - April 18 2005
Well, seeing as we have little to play for now many of us are looking for how we can reform the team in the summer.
Personally, I would love to see us back in the Champions League but UEFA Cup is a minimum requirement and through league position. We should be in the top 6!
To do this, the squad is really going to have to be sorted out and players that we don’t need anymore just got rid of.
Here’s a look at our senior squad as it is now:
Goalkeepers
Given
Harper
Defenders
Right-Back
Carr
Hughes
Taylor
Centre-Back
Boumsong
Bramble
Taylor
O’Brien
Hughes
Elliot
Left-Back
Babayaro
Elliot
Hughes
Taylor
Midfielders
Right-Wing
Dyer
Milner
Ambrose
Central Midfield
Dyer
Jenas
Bowyer
Faye
Butt
Milner
Left-Wing
Robert
N’Zogbia
Milner
Strikers
Shearer
Kluivert
Ameobi
Bellamy
That’s a total of 22 players.
WHO SHOULD WE SELL + BUY
Goalkeepers
OK, we’ll start off simply. Given and Harper are perfectly fine as they are. We have a top quality goalkeeper and a decent reserve incase Given in unavailable. No worries here.
Defenders
Souness’ signings in the summer were decent I think. Boumsong was the kind of player we were looking for and has been very good at centre-back. Babayaro has been acceptable at left-back when he has actually played. Carr at right-back has been decent too and there is no need to replace.
We do need to scrap O’Brien. I will give him credit for the service he has done for the club because he gives 100% all the time but he can simply not cut it at this level and may be better suited to a newly promoted Premiership team than us. I think we should be able to get £1 million for him aswell.
Babayaro is another interesting one. He’s had injury problems but IF he can sort them out I want him to stay. But if they will be persistent I want rid of him sooner than later and get somebody else in but I’d be happy with Babayaro.
Elliot I feel is not good enough and is about 30 now so maybe time to move him on aswell. I doubt we’d get much for him anyway.
Now the key at the back is a new centre-half. True, Bramble has improved and Taylor is still a good prospect but if we REALLY want UEFA Cup football then I suggest getting somebody of Boumsong’s quality in beside him.
But who? We’ve not actually been linked to anybody since signing Boumsong and there are few options open to us ESPECIALLY if we do not qualify for continental competition.
Woodgate is always an option. Madrid may wish to move him on for cheap in the summer as he hasn’t even played due a new injury. Now it would be a risk with Woody’s obvious injury troubles but not out of the question.
Upson, King and a few others were mentioned in January but we’ll just have to see what Souness does.
Let’s look at our defenders afterwards:
Defenders
Right-Back
Carr
Hughes
Taylor
Centre-Back
Boumsong
NEW PLAYER
Bramble
Taylor
Hughes
Left-Back
Babayaro
Hughes
Taylor
It looks a lot more agreeable to me.
Midfielders
Here’s where it gets complicated. I think we should be selling a few names here but getting a few in aswell.
Against Man Utd, people thought we may need another attacking midfielder because we couldn’t pass the ball etc… but I think we have that in Bowyer and Dyer who were obviously suspended. Jenas was injured as well.
I don’t think we should sell Bowyer; he’d just hit some decent form as had Dyer and I think we should give them another chance. There is no need to sign another AM as we have those 3.
I also think Faye should stay as he has been decent for us especially for the price we got him for. We have quality youth like Ambrose and N’Zogbia who I’m happy to use as back-up players if they are happy to stay.
But that is all I think should stay. Butt, Milner and especially Robert should go.
Robert has opened his mouth too many times and is not performing like he should. He’s had one chance too many and I think it is time to call it on his career on Tyneside. We may get a few million for him too.
Butt just hasn’t been the man we hoped he would be and we’ll probably shift him on for a pittance.
Milner is an interesting one because he hasn’t played much but hasn’t looked anything special when he has. He was good at Leeds and the price we paid for him just isn’t worth what he is. We should sell him on while he is still young.
All I think we need to buy is a new left-winger. Again, many options I’m sure Souey will explore such as Giggs and Duff but left-wingers are in short supply so I hope we can find somebody decent.
Here’s the midfield situation afterwards:
Midfielders
Right-Wing
Dyer
Ambrose
Central Midfield
Dyer
Jenas
Bowyer
Faye
Left-Wing
NEW PLAYER
N’Zogbia
Also looks a lot better to me – And Finally…
Strikers
Simple here – We have 4. Shearer is obviously staying and Ameobi doesn’t deserve to be sold.
Bellamy will definitely go and if we don’t sell Kluivert I don’t know what is going on. Bellamy might actually go for £5 million which is very good and I reckon about £3 million for Paddy.
We then need a minimum of 2 strikers in. One quality man who can knock them in alongside Shearer and maybe a young prospect.
There have been numerous links with players such as Owen, Johnson, Saviola etc… and I did a piece last month indicating who I thought we should get and who should stay. But again, its all down to Souness.
He convinced Shearer to stay, who knows who he will sign.
Strikers
Shearer
NEW PLAYER
Ameobi
NEW PLAYER
Here’s a look at the final team in my opinion:
Goalkeepers
Given
Harper
Defenders
Right-Back
Carr
Hughes
Taylor
Centre-Back
Boumsong
NEW PLAYER
Bramble
Taylor
Hughes
Left-Back
Babayaro
Hughes
Taylor
Midfielders
Right-Wing
Dyer
Ambrose
Central Midfield
Dyer
Jenas
Bowyer
Faye
Left-Wing
NEW PLAYER
N’Zogbia
Strikers
Shearer
NEW PLAYER
Ameobi
NEW PLAYER
Now if the places where is says NEW PLAYER are filled with someone top quality, I think we could have a good year next season (How many times have I said that before)
http://www.sportnetwork.net/main/s70/st71253.htm?fromrss=1
dreamer75
18-04-2005, 06:59 PM
who do u think we shld sell??
dreamer75
18-04-2005, 07:01 PM
Shay Given
Shay made a couple of decent saves and couldn't be blamed for any of the goals really. After the second went in he looked resigned to a long and painful afternoon. It wouldn't surprise me if he was off in the Summer and who could blame him?
Stephen Carr
Carr got forward well throughout but his delivery was awful and defensively he was very weak, often getting dragged out of position and left on his backside as Rooney and Ronaldo took it in turns to torment him.
Jean-Alain Boumsong
Held the defence together at times and seemed on a one man mission to keep out Man Utd - he was everywhere and made countless telling interceptions with his feet, head and body in the opening 20 minutes. Was at fault for Scholes' header but the cross should never have came in. He tried to bring the ball out of defence and to get things going but the movement ahead of him was so static he was often pounced upon and left all alone to get rid of the ball.
Steven Taylor
Not the greatest of games from young Taylor playing at centre-half. At times he showed all his huge promise but at other times he should his inexperience and rashness which contributed to nervy moments at the back. He'll come good though because his head never dropped and by the end he was there, pointing and cajoling.
Celestine Babayaro
Firstly he doesn't look fit which demands the question; why did he play? And secondly, he was awful. Every time Man Utd attacked down the left he was beaten easily and at times the Nigerian looked like he couldn't give a damn. Not helped by Robert either. Awful!
James Milner
I feel sorry for Milner because he came into a team struggling, up against a very powerful left-flank in Heinze and Rooney and with the sheer ineptness of those around him in using the ball, he was always going to struggle and struggle he did, badly. It was embarrassing at times as he got pushed and shoved off the ball, as he fought just to get a toe on it, as he looked for options that weren't there when on it. NUFC is not a club to blood youngsters or to develop them, not in our current state.
Amdy Faye
He did nothing. He didn't protect the back-four, he didn't get on the ball and those rare times when he did, he gave it straight back to the opposition. Now I know he's a new signing and he has played well at times and is a welcome squad addition in my opinion, but his passing is shocking and if he can't do the simple things, what point is there in playing him? Is it him, the coaching or is just the way of life at NUFC at the moment? He may as well not have played for all the good it did us.
Nicky Butt
Man Utd's 12th man who had a hand in a couple of their goals. Showed no commitment whatsoever and had he not had a Newcastle shirt on, you would have sworn he was playing for the team in Red as he gave the ball away time after time, as he allowed his man to escape his clutches time after time. Disgusting!
Laurent Robert
Just one of his countless other nothing performances in the Black & White shirt and exactly why he gets criticised and why he should be one of the first out of the door in the Summer. In fact, don't play him again and that goes for all the other wasters. Pathetic!
Alan Shearer
Toiled away up front as ever but the service wasn't none existent. At times he was our play maker as he got on the ball and it was he who set up Shola for his goal. Another trophyless year for Big Al and one has to wonder, why he would want to play on for another season with this shower of crap.
Shola Ameobi
It says it all when Shola was our best player. Worked his socks off and unlike the vast majority of his team-mates, he cared enough to put himself about and grabbed himself a well taken goal. Numerous decisions went against him but he kept plugging away, feeding on scraps. My man of the match. Well played Shola lad.
Substitutes:
Charles N'Zogbia
Came on in place of Faye in the centre and put in a decent if unspectacular shift. Got back, helped stem the tide and won a few tackles and showed more commitment than most.
Andy O'Brien
Came on for Babayaro and had a steady, solid half. Never put a foot wrong.
Patrick Kluivert
Apparently he came on with just under half an hour to go.
The Boss Man:
Graeme Souness
Couldn't have done much more with the team selection although why he picked Babayaro who is clearly unfit (mentally and physically) I don't know but he recalled Robert as many had hoped and gave Milner a chance on the right as many had been calling for in the past few weeks. Then the game got underway... as the manager, and I have praised him and defended him, it's his job to organise, to lift them and to create an effective game plan. The team were as badly organised has they had been at the start of the season, they showed no spirit or fight and if the 'game plan' consisted of hoofing it long.
http://www.newcastle-online.com/articles/ratings_manutd_facup.shtml
Tokieda
18-04-2005, 07:28 PM
Given shld be sold if a decent offer comes in, he deserves better.
o'brien shld be off, who wants him is a big qn mark. babayaro is a injury liability. bramble shld be given the chance to improve further along with boumsong.
butt shld go, seems to have lost all desire to put on the newcastle shirt. bowyer has well as to go.
kluivert must go, we cant have someone on 65k/wk wages playing the odd big games.
martinweng
18-04-2005, 07:33 PM
o'brien shld be off, who wants him is a big qn mark. babayaro is a injury liability. bramble shld be given the chance to improve further along with boumsong.
butt shld go, seems to have lost all desire to put on the newcastle shirt. bowyer has well as to go.
kluivert must go, we cant have someone on 65k/wk wages playing the odd big games.
note dat we dun have a gd choice of getting gd new players liao..
bowyer's standard is the max we can find..let him go = we cant find somebody as gd as him liao..
ShaqONeal
18-04-2005, 07:33 PM
sigh... i wonder with our current form, who will wanna come?? hur?? who?? while there r so many to go... who will come??
sad but true.. i can enjoy my Toon only when i playing Football manager or CL game... sigh..
Tokieda
18-04-2005, 07:55 PM
most likely, we are stuck with most of the players we have most probably
Ultimate10002000
18-04-2005, 08:03 PM
Newcastle will have to sell a few poor performance player such as Bowyer and Kluivert at the end of this season. Quit hard to bring in good players due to the club current performance and position, nothing attractive about the club to bring in good player. The only way is to train the current squad harder and hopefully to improve the situation.
Shadow04
18-04-2005, 08:52 PM
the rest i pretty much argree..... but if we let Given go ar.... we will be relegated next season.... he's prolly the one that kept most of our scoreline "respectable" and we dont have the calibre to attract another keeper of his standard... and no, Harper cant even be compared with Given.... no doubt, he(Given) deserve better.... but we CMI without him.... yes... i'm selfish~ :look:
martinweng
18-04-2005, 08:58 PM
Newcastle will have to sell a few poor performance player such as Bowyer and Kluivert at the end of this season. Quit hard to bring in good players due to the club current performance and position, nothing attractive about the club to bring in good player. The only way is to train the current squad harder and hopefully to improve the situation.
apparently we are equivalent of
real betis in la liga,
unbankrupt parma in serie A,
hertha berlin in bundesliga,
some nantes or marseille in french.
lets face it, we are terribly unknown if u dun watch EPL at all. nobody would wan to join us if we arent in EPL, the so presumed elite league..
dbchoong
18-04-2005, 09:10 PM
Another fruitless season... :s27:
Are the Toon jinxed and always never win any games with some good luck? I've seen many games where poorer teams win with a bit of luck. How come the Toon never get lucky?
:s22:
ShaqONeal
19-04-2005, 10:36 AM
jus wonder where will we b at the end of the season..
dreamer75
19-04-2005, 11:06 AM
Shola Ameobi will swallow his FA Cup disappointment and use the rest of the season to persuade manager Graeme Souness that he is the man to replace Alan Shearer.
The 23-year-old striker briefly gave his side hope in Sunday's 4-1 semi-final defeat with Manchester United when he reduced the deficit to 3-1 with 31 minutes remaining with his sixth goal of the season.
Newcastle boss Graeme Souness has already started his planning for the summer and one of his main focuses is sure to be his frontline with the exiled Craig Bellamy seemingly having no future at St James' Park and Patrick Kluivert having done little to prompt the club to take up the option of a further two years on his contract.
Shearer's decision to delay his retirement will simply delay the inevitable and leave the club desperately searching for top-class goalscorers, although Ameobi is determined to provide one of the answers.
"That is my aim," he said. "Obviously, it is Alan's last season and I want to show the manager that I am the guy to replace him.
"That is all I can do, try to show him, and in the games to come until the end of the season, if I get my chance, I am going to do that."
Ameobi's performance was one of the few bright spots for Newcastle as they ran out of energy and ideas after a traumatic few weeks.
He took his goal well and made Rio Ferdinand work hard for his place in the final, although he felt he had got a raw deal from referee Mike Riley, who turned down a penalty appeal and pulled him back for a foul on the defender when he thought he had turned him fairly to run in on goal.
"It has been a wierd time with me and referees of late, they have not really favoured me," he said. "I felt in the first half, it was a penalty as he (Ferdinand) kicked my leg.
"That was unfortunate, and when I turned him, I do not know what he gave the free-kick for."
Even his goal did not ease Ameobi's disappointment, although he is determined to bounce back.
"It is very disappointing for us," he said. "Scoring a goal does not mean anything, our major objective was to win the game and get to the final and we have not done that, so scoring a goal does not mean anything to me at the moment.
"It was nice to get a goal after so long, I suppose. Given the lean spell I have had, it is nice to be on the scoresheet, but it does not hide the disappointment of the game.
"It has been a disappointing season and it is down to the players at the end of the day. We have had a torrid time in the league and we have to show the manager that we are willing to fight.
"I am sure we will do that. We tried in the second half, we gave it all we have got, but we just could not do enough on the day."
dreamer75
19-04-2005, 11:08 AM
Alan Shearer has backed Graeme Souness to bring success to Newcastle United.
Shearer, 36, believes manager Souness has the hunger to turn the club around and says he can lay the foundations by recruiting well in the summer.
"I am hungry for success, as I always have been, and I know the manager is and he will be working his socks off to get the right people in," Shearer said.
"It's about getting good players in with good characters and doing jobs, and the manager will do that."
Shearer was unable to save Newcastle's search for silverware in either the Uefa Cup and the FA Cup.
The Magpies crashed out of both competitions in the space of three days, letting slip a 2-0 aggregate lead in the Uefa Cup quarter-finals at Sporting Lisbon.
And on Sunday they lost 4-1 in the FA Cup semi-final after a lacklustre performance against Manchester United.
Souness has spent much of his tenure at St James' Park coping with problem players such as Kieron Dyer, Craig Bellamy and Lee Bowyer.
On his arrival he had to pick up the pieces after Dyer had refused to play out of position under old manager Sir Bobby Robson.
It's a big period of change at the club and Graeme's got to go back to the drawing board
Chris Waddle
Newcastle 'must make big changes'
In the New Year he off-loaded Bellamy to Celtic, and just when it seemed they could cap the season with a cup, Dyer and Bowyer's on-field fight and subsequent suspensions seriously undermined their chances against Manchester United in the FA Cup.
Shearer insists the summer recruitment drive is as much about getting players with the correct character as it is about talent.
"It comes hand in hand," the skipper said. "You do not become a good player having a bad character.
"Top players go on because they hate losing and they want to play in big games. It hurts them, we all know that.
"It has been a bad week for us but you do not get anything in this game for feeling sorry for yourself.
"We have got to dust ourselves down and get on with it."
dreamer75
19-04-2005, 11:09 AM
By John May
Waddle says Newcastle should back Souness as he rebuilds the team
Former Newcastle hero Chris Waddle says boss Graeme Souness must return to the drawing board before the Magpies can challenge for major honours.
Waddle has also called on chairman Freddie Shepherd to ignore pressure and give Souness time.
He told BBC Sport: "It's a big period of change at the club and Graeme's got to go back to the drawing board.
"It's going to be another two years before we see them challenging for the title or Champions League place."
Newcastle's hopes of winning a first domestic trophy since the 1955 FA Cup fell apart in two 4-1 defeats in the space of four days at the end of last week.
Report: Man Utd 4-1 Newcastle
Report: Sporting 4-1 Newcastle
They let a 2-0 aggregate lead slip against Sporting Lisbon in the Uefa Cup on Thursday and then lost to Manchester United in Sunday's FA Cup semi-final.
But Waddle has called on Newcastle fans to be patient as Souness first undertakes his primary task of sorting out the Newcastle dressing-room and eliminating the on- and off-field problems which have bedevilled the club.
The former England international said he was confident Shepherd would back Souness if the manager has to go to war against certain players.
Waddle says Souness has the strength to turn Newcastle around
Waddle said: "Graeme has come into a dressing-room which had a few egos.
"I think he would have been asked to sort that out first, and anything they did this season would have been seen as something of a bonus.
"He showed Craig Bellamy the door early on, he's had Kieron Dyer and Lee Bowyer fighting on the pitch and Laurent Robert is always spitting his dummy out.
"He's had four or five incidents of the sort that don't normally happen at other clubs.
"Graeme is strong-willed, he's a battler and he knows what he wants.
I don't think Alan Shearer will be playing by the time Newcastle are in a position to challenge for the title
Former Newcastle hero Chris Waddle
"I can see four or five players leaving in the summer and four or five - who Graeme has probably already identified - coming in to replace them.
"That's the only way forward, and the fans have to be patient," insisted Waddle.
Former England international Waddle says Newcastle need a period of stability before they can mix it with the big boys.
Waddle said: "I'm sure Freddie Shepherd doesn't want to keep changing the manager and I'm also sure Graeme has a good relationship with him.
"Jose Mourinho is a new kid on the block at Chelsea, but if you look at Arsenal and Manchester United, they've both had managers who have been there for more than five years.
Shearer may well face another medal-free season
"They've been able to structure the club as they want it, from the youth set-up up to the first team.
"If Newcastle want to catch them, they need a manager who is going to be there for a long time.
"Next season will be one in which I expect to see them improving again, and winning a cup is a possibility.
"But in terms of the title or a top-six finish, I think that's a couple of years away."
Waddle admits his forecast raises the possibility of Alan Shearer ending his playing days at Newcastle without a medal.
I am worried of us going down the Dalglish road and ending up a boring average mid-table team
From SLB
Have your say on 606
"Alan's return home has been something of a fairy story, but he's player-coach next season and with the players I expect Graeme to bring in, it will be interesting to see how much he will be used.
"They have always got a chance of winning a cup competition, but I don't think Alan will still be playing by the time that Newcastle are in a position to challenge for the Premiership title."
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/n/newcastle_united/4456563.stm
dreamer75
19-04-2005, 11:27 AM
Butt in danger as Shearer backs Souness
By Rob Stewart (Filed: 19/04/2005)
Newcastle captain Alan Shearer yesterday voiced his support for manager Graeme Souness, whose overhaul of the St James' Park playing staff is likely to see Nicky Butt ushered out after just one season on Tyneside.
Newcastle's season has suddenly unravelled due to elimination from the FA Cup and UEFA Cup in the space of 72 hours, but Shearer is backing Souness's long-term plans to recruit "good players with good characters" during the summer to revitalise his hometown club. Patrick Kluivert and Laurent Robert are also expected to be among high-profile departures.
"It will be a busy summer for the manager," Shearer said yesterday in the aftermath of the FA Cup semi-final defeat by Manchester United. "I know he will be working his socks off throughout the summer to get the right people in.
"He knows who he wants to bring in and no one will be working harder to bring those targets here. It is about getting good players in with good characters at doing good jobs; the manager will do that.
"You don't become a good player by being a bad character. Top players go on to another level because they hate losing, they want to play in big games, if they don't then it hurts them."
Souness now has to rally his players for tomorrow's visit to Norwich and then Old Trafford on Sunday and can count on Shearer to lead by example during a tricky run-in.
"We have got to dust ourselves down and get on with it, starting at Norwich," Shearer said. "The semi-final defeat hurts, but you get nothing for feeling sorry for yourself in life, if you do then people will walk all over you. You have got to be able to take it forward, to the next level and bounce back.
"It is going to be a very tough seven games to the end the season but we have to regroup to represent the club the correct way and in the summer start again. This time will be a tough period for us but we will get through it and then go forward."
Next season Shearer, who says he is "as hungry for success as I always have been", is unlikely to be playing alongside Butt, who has been the subject of criticism due to his lacklustre display in Cardiff.
The England midfielder has been a disappointment this season and his situation has been aggravated by his decision not to acknowledge the club's supporters following the final whistle at the Millennium Stadium.
They are the same long-suffering supporters who made defeat even harder to swallow for Shearer who added: "It is tough to see that support and yet lose 4-1. We drove past them on the way to the stadium and it was unbelievable. It made the hair stand up on the back of your neck.
"That support makes you tingle and you want desperately not to let them down. They went home very disappointed but no more than me. It is a frustrating time for them as it is for us and I feel for them too."
dreamer75
19-04-2005, 11:29 AM
By Tony Cascarino
The Newcastle manager should be able to take criticism
A MEMBER OF Newcastle United’s staff phoned me about four years ago when I was living in Paris to ask my opinion of Laurent Robert. I said: “Outstanding left foot, bit of pace, exceptional creativity. But his temperament . . .” I had watched a French Cup final in which Robert, playing for Paris Saint-Germain, was substituted. He jogged straight down the tunnel and that stuck in my mind. You’ re in a cup final and you can’t even watch the last 20 minutes from the bench?
Newcastle signed him anyway, a decision Graeme Souness probably regrets to judge from his anger at Robert’s critical comments about the side last week. But it looks like the winger was right: Newcastle have regressed. Last season they finished fifth in the Premiership, now they’ll be lucky to make the top half. Recent good results have just been a veneer masking deep problems. Newcastle are always an accident waiting to happen and yesterday ’s 4-1 thrashing by Manchester United in the FA Cup semi-final, combined with the Uefa Cup loss to Sporting Lisbon and Robert’s criticism, make these a very accident-prone past few days.
Anonymous yesterday even though his manager had dropped him from the squad to face Sporting, Robert is the latest player Souness has made an example of, after Patrick Kluivert, Craig Bellamy, Kieron Dyer and Lee Bowyer. Some players roll up their sleeves when they’re not wanted, others shrug their shoulders. I tried harder at Chelsea when Glenn Hoddle shunned me, but then my career was on the line. Robert, Kluivert, Bellamy — they all know they can find another club with ease.
I can understand Souness making a stand, wanting to stamp his authority on the club and demanding a radical change in attitude. I accept that the dressing-room at St James’ Park is a nightmarish collection of egos. But when you walk into a minefield you don’t start chucking grenades. You can’t treat everyone the same way. Roy Keane may not need an arm round the shoulder; Robert does. Whether you’re an office manager or a football manager, you need to be shrewd and adaptive.
Double standards? So be it. Different rules for different people, if you think it’s for the good of the club. Manipulate them, sweet-talk them, make them believe that they have a future. Then get rid of them in the summer if you want, not halfway through the season when you still rely on them, when you are on the brink of cup success and you need to coax that little bit extra from them. Note how troublesome players vanish from Arsenal and Manchester United during close-seasons with the minimum of fuss.
Look how well Sir Alex Ferguson handled Eric Cantona. Once or twice, even Ferguson has backed down in the face of a training-ground tirade directed at him from Keane. Not because he’s weak, but because he knows his captain needs to let off steam and sometimes tense moments need to be defused, not ignited.
It was a mistake not to put Robert in the squad against Sporting because he’s the kind of player who can turn a game. He’s an enigma, a match-winner, and Alan Shearer benefits from better service when he’s in the team.
Sure, Robert isn’t the best defensively, as yesterday underlined, but you can’t blame Newcastle’s failings at the back on Robert. It goes far deeper than that. They were at sixes and sevens every time Manchester United attacked.
Far too many British managers take criticism personally. It’s not like that on the Continent, where players often speak out but managers just rise above it. Even if others mouth off, sometimes you have to bite your lip for the good of the team, play it cool.
It’s like Michael Corleone’s famous line from The Godfather, “It’s strictly business”. Souness has made his management personal. And given the kind of personalities hanging around that Newcastle dressing-room, was it really wise? There’s plenty of justification for the manager wanting to tear Newcastle apart and start again. But he should have waited until the end of the season before setting the wrecking ball in motion. No point holding back now: to all intents and purposes, Newcastle’s season ended yesterday.
http://www.timesonline.co.uk/article/0,,293-1574606,00.html
dreamer75
19-04-2005, 11:33 AM
Going or staying?
• Craig Bellamy: Quality player, but has fallen out with Shearer and Souness. Verdict: going
• Laurent Robert: One outspoken interview too many, and not enough match-winning performances. Verdict: going
• Patrick Kluivert: Supremely talented, but injured too often and struggles to motivate himself. Verdict: going
• Titus Bramble: Once the defensive scapegoat, but a revelation under Souness. Verdict: staying
• Kieron Dyer: Also said to have no future under Souness, but has been in superb form, despite continuing to attract bad publicity. But has only a year left on contract, and has been linked to swap deals for either Manchester United's Alan Smith or Chelsea's Scott Parker. Verdict: future uncertain
• Alan Shearer: Some suggested he should retire after the shambles of the last five days, but not someone to rush into such a decision. Verdict: staying
dreamer75
19-04-2005, 11:34 AM
Louise Taylor
Tuesday April 19, 2005
The Guardian
When Graeme Souness succeeded Sir Bobby Robson as Newcastle United's manager he pronounced himself delighted with his inheritance. Insisting his new squad was "the best" he had ever worked with, the Scot suggested a little "tinkering" might be required but ruled out radical change.
Seven largely disillusioning months later the tune has changed. These days Souness is talking full-scale revolution and has identified six potential close-season signings with at least the same number of players departing.
"It's going to be about getting good people in with good characters," explained Alan Shearer yesterday in an implicit attack on certain under-achieving team-mates. "You don't become a good player by being a bad character; you have to be a strong character to be a top player. Top players go on to another level because they hate losing; they want to play in games and, if they don't, it hurts them.
"No one will be working harder than the manager to bring in the right players with the right characters this summer," Newcastle's captain stressed in the wake of Newcastle's calamitous Uefa and FA Cup defeats against Sporting Lisbon and Manchester United. "We have to start again in the summer but the manager knows who he wants and will be working his socks off to get them."
Souness may have made mistakes in man management and match tactics but his political game plan has proved highly astute. Unlike Robson and Ruud Gullit, who enjoyed uneasy relationships with Shearer, he has succeeded in manoeuvring the No9 very much on to his side - and on message.
In persuading Shearer to postpone his retirement for another year Souness has cultivated a supremely important ally who not only has the ear of Freddy Shepherd, Newcastle's chairman, but boasts sufficient influence to buy the manager time to get things right.
Significantly Souness, who spent tens of thousands of Shepherd's budget on two "squad bonding" weeks in Dubai in two months, enjoyed his captain's backing when he fell out with Craig Bellamy. Having holidayed in Barbados with a strike partner he felt was a friend, Bellamy is understood to have expected greater support from Shearer.
Newcastle's manager and No9 are expected to present a similarly ruthless front tomorrow when the squad reconvenes and Laurent Robert is likely to be fined three weeks' wages for claiming Newcastle had regressed since Robson's departure and that Souness ignored him.
Despite a macho, somewhat unreconstructed exterior - facing vaguely hostile questioning by female Greek reporters after a Uefa Cup victory at Olympiakos Newcastle's boss complained about being challenged "by women" - Souness seems strangely sensitive to personal criticism.
He may talk the language of confrontation - his sentences overflow with words like "beat up", "bash up" and "proper men" - but the Scot rarely seems able to cope with having his authority queried and invariably freezes out perceived rebels.
Although Garry Flitcroft and Andy Todd were never forgiven for crossing him at Blackburn, Souness must privately wish some of his new charges - not to mention his £1m January buy Celestine Babayaro, who has been dubbed "a poor man's Alessandro Pistone" - possessed at least a little of that pair's undeniable commitment.
Shepherd is understood to have been the prime mover behind recruiting Nicky Butt, who has been increasingly ineffective, and Patrick Kluivert, who has been alarmingly detached, last summer.
Butt offended Geordies by refusing to acknowledge Newcastle's fans on Sunday before walking out of the Millennium Stadium alongside his old Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson, who had an arm draped affectionately round his shoulder.
But moving unwanted players out may not be as straightforward as Souness hopes. According to informed sources Butt's future is "on the line" but how many clubs would be prepared to pay the stratospheric wages of a midfielder patently on his way down? Equally several clubs would happily gamble on Robert's mercurial talent but not on the £40,000 a week he currently earns.
Moreover, with Newcastle mid-table in the Premiership and hoping to enter the Intertoto Cup at the start of July, attracting high-calibre targets such as Real Madrid's Michael Owen - and even Manchester City's Sylvain Distin - could prove even trickier.
"There is a tough period ahead," admitted Shearer. "But we will get through it and start moving forward."
Tynesiders should not hold their breath.
Heading out?
Shay Given
A top-class keeper and he knows it - which is why he would not resist possible overtures from Manchester United or Arsenal.
Patrick Kluivert
Arguably the only good thing about his £67,000-a-week contract was that it was for one year. Will definitely go.
Nicky Butt
A major disappointment who is understood not to want to be at Newcastle. There has been talk of a return to Old Trafford in a swap deal with Alan Smith but Sir Alex Ferguson is not that soft and his wages may deter other suitors.
Laurent Robert
Newcastle's most creative individual remains erratic and his relationship with Souness appears broken beyond repair. Who, though, will match his £40,000-a-week remuneration? With another year on his contract Robert is hoping to sit tight and finally secure himself a Bosman transfer. Alternatively David O'Leary is a fan - and Villa Park could beckon if Doug Ellis really releases £20m.
Andy O'Brien
A good character but a poor Premiership central defender; that said O'Leary remains keen and he may revive a mooted January move to Aston Villa.
Lee Bowyer
Souness has gone beyond the call of duty in supporting him in the wake of his on-field assault on Kieron Dyer but would be willing to sell the volatitle midfielder - quite possibly to Aston Villa from where O'Leary has already inquired about his former Leeds protege and may even be willing to trade him for Nolberto Solano.
Robbie Elliott
£20,000-a-week cover left-back and the centre half is out of contract and will be released.
Moving in?
Michael Owen
Shares an agent with Alan Shearer and is coveted by Souness but would Owen, pictured, really exchange Real Madrid for a team praying to be allowed into the Intertoto Cup?
Jermain Defoe
Newcastle's manager is on record as saying he is the next best striker after Shearer and Owen but would the fringe England man leave Tottenham for Tyneside?
Nolberto Solano
A cult hero before falling out with Sir Bobby Robson but Aston Villa love him and will be extremely reluctant to release him.
Luis Boa Morte
Newcastle pursued the Fulham forward throughout January and Souness may return for him - especially if Robert leaves.
Yakubu Aiyegbeni
Souness was alerted to the African striker when he played in Israel and he would love to sign him from Portsmouth.
Sylvain Distin
Souness would love to pair the Manchester City centre half with compatriot Jean-Alain Boumsong.
Robert Huth
Another central defensive target
Alan Smith
The Manchester United striker certainly falls into approved category of "proper players" but Sir Alex is unlikely to trade him for the unwanted Nicky Butt.
http://football.guardian.co.uk/comment/story/0,9753,1462973,00.html?gusrc=rss
dreamer75
19-04-2005, 11:45 AM
Last updated: April 18, 2005
Pos Club name P GD Pts
1 Chelsea 32 50 81
2 Arsenal 32 40 70
3 Man Utd 32 29 67
4 Everton 32 6 54
5 Bolton 33 6 52
6 Liverpool 33 12 51
7 Tottenham 33 4 47
8 Middlesbro 32 2 45
9 Aston Villa 33 -1 45
10 Charlton 33 -10 44
11 Man City 33 2 41
12 Birmingham 33 -4 38
13 Newcastle 31 -8 38
14 Blackburn 32 -9 36
15 Portsmouth 33 -14 35
16 Fulham 32 -14 34
17 West Brom 32 -21 28
18 Southamptn 33 -18 27
19 Crystal P 33 -21 27
20 Norwich 33 -31 24
ZhiQiang
19-04-2005, 01:27 PM
Heading out?
Shay Given
Yes, pls let him leave, he is a top GK in a f**k up team.
Patrick Kluivert
Leave also. Injury prone.
Nicky Butt
I believe his heart is still at manu. You can play for a team if you got no heart in it.
Laurent Robert
Laid back at times but inspirational. Too bad, souney will never blame himself.
Andy O'Brien
Is he as bad as bramble? YES!!!
Lee Bowyer
Maybe he should join boxing. Fight with mike tyson
Robbie Elliott
WHO IS HE???
Moving in?
Michael Owen
Nah, he will not come. He will be another nicky butt. Heart at liverpool, body at newcastle.
Jermain Defoe
Can newcastle afford him???
Nolberto Solano
He should not have left.
Luis Boa Morte
An arsenal flop. Are we recruiting flops???
Yakubu Aiyegbeni
Just because he scores alot this season, does not mean he is good. PLS DUN COME
Sylvain Distin
Another ex newcastle player. Dun come back.
Robert Huth
Will he want to leave cash rich chelsea?
Alan Smith
Erm, one of the better choices to come to newcastle. Yet again, will he leave giants manu?
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
In conclusion,
I HATE SOUNEY!!!
Heading out?
Shay Given
Yes, pls let him leave, he is a top GK in a f**k up team.
Patrick Kluivert
Leave also. Injury prone.
Nicky Butt
I believe his heart is still at manu. You can play for a team if you got no heart in it.
Laurent Robert
Laid back at times but inspirational. Too bad, souney will never blame himself.
Andy O'Brien
Is he as bad as bramble? YES!!!
Lee Bowyer
Maybe he should join boxing. Fight with mike tyson
Robbie Elliott
WHO IS HE???
Moving in?
Michael Owen
Nah, he will not come. He will be another nicky butt. Heart at liverpool, body at newcastle.
Jermain Defoe
Can newcastle afford him???
Nolberto Solano
He should not have left.
Luis Boa Morte
An arsenal flop. Are we recruiting flops???
Yakubu Aiyegbeni
Just because he scores alot this season, does not mean he is good. PLS DUN COME
Sylvain Distin
Another ex newcastle player. Dun come back.
Robert Huth
Will he want to leave cash rich chelsea?
Alan Smith
Erm, one of the better choices to come to newcastle. Yet again, will he leave giants manu?
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
In conclusion,
I HATE SOUNEY!!!
U might as well say no one wants to play for Newcastle
ShaqONeal
19-04-2005, 01:34 PM
It's over Apr 18 2005
By Alan Oliver, The Evening Chronicle
Nicky Butt's Newcastle United career is on the line after the England man snubbed the fans in yesterday's dismal FA Cup semi-final defeat by his former club Manchester United.
Butt was an embarrassment to his black-and-white shirt and could not get down the tunnel quickly enough - that is after congratulating his former team-mates.
It was in direct contrast to skipper Alan Shearer, the first man to salute the supporters who were as brilliant as the players had been pathetic.
There was worse to follow in the media mixed zone afterwards when players of both clubs have to walk past reporters.
When Butt appeared, he was alongside Sir Alex Ferguson and I could not believe it when I saw the Manchester United manager had his arm around one of his favourite sons.
And when I asked Butt if he had "a couple of minutes" to talk to the fans through the media, he looked at me as if to say `How dare you speak to me?'
Butt headed straight back to Manchester last night and my advice is for him to stay there.
After his splendid debut in the opening game against Middlesbrough, Butt has been a huge disappointment to Newcastle United and his attitude has always suggested to me that he does not want to be at St James' Park.
So why don't United sell him back to Ferguson and bring in Alan Smith instead?
A section of supporters booed Butt after Man U's third goal, which came from his mistake, and United fans' website nufc.com wrote today: "Nicky Butt disgraced the black and white shirt by heading straight down the tunnel at the end of the defeat. He might as well have been wearing the red shirt at times."
However, Butt isn't the only United player to let down the supporters. If I were in charge at United, I would send Patrick Kluivert back to Holland today and not wait until the summer to get rid of the under-performing Dutch striker.
In addition, I would put Celestine Babayaro on the first train back to London as the Nigerian international has turned out to be a poor man's Alessandro Pistone.
Laurent Robert had the perfect stage to show Graeme Souness that he is still worth a place at St James' Park - but he didn't take it.
Freddy Shepherd has given the United players the best of everything. They get a weekly wage packet of more money than most fans earn in a year. They play in one of the best stadiums in Europe. They travel in style.
Contrast this with Sunderland, who arrived back at Newcastle Airport at the same time as United did last night - on budget airline EasyJet. The pilot on United's plane apologised for having to bank when he came in to land because the EasyJet plane was in the way.
United will be back in their own private plane for Wednesday's trip to Norwich City. And then it's Manchester United again at Old Trafford next Sunday.
The appearance of Man U and Arsenal in the final means the team that finishes seventh in the Premiership will qualify for next season's UEFA Cup. United are currently nine points adrift of seventh place, occupied by Tottenham, but have two games in hand.
is his heart still with Manyoo, then why came??
ShaqONeal
19-04-2005, 01:36 PM
Robbie Elliott
WHO IS HE???
Moving in?
In conclusion,
I HATE SOUNEY!!!
actually i think like u before.. and I checked and found out Elliot actually with us since Keegan time??
ShaqONeal
19-04-2005, 01:37 PM
U might as well say no one wants to play for Newcastle
yes. those overrated.. young talented will come.. and end up like Dyer or Bramble..
sigh.. sigh..
ShaqONeal
19-04-2005, 01:38 PM
Last updated: April 18, 2005
Pos Club name P GD Pts
1 Chelsea 32 50 81
2 Arsenal 32 40 70
3 Man Utd 32 29 67
4 Everton 32 6 54
5 Bolton 33 6 52
6 Liverpool 33 12 51
7 Tottenham 33 4 47
8 Middlesbro 32 2 45
9 Aston Villa 33 -1 45
10 Charlton 33 -10 44
11 Man City 33 2 41
12 Birmingham 33 -4 38
13 Newcastle 31 -8 38
14 Blackburn 32 -9 36
15 Portsmouth 33 -14 35
16 Fulham 32 -14 34
17 West Brom 32 -21 28
18 Southamptn 33 -18 27
19 Crystal P 33 -21 27
20 Norwich 33 -31 24
we r points from relegation zone.. with 7 games left.. two more games than the bottom two..
ShaqONeal
19-04-2005, 01:40 PM
We must bring in the right players - Shearer Apr 18 2005
By Miles Starforth, The Evening Chronicle
Skipper Alan Shearear predicted a "busy summer" for manager Graeme Souness after Newcastle United's capitulation at the Millennium Stadium.
Shearer admitted yesterday's FA Cup semi-final was lost in the first half, with the Magpies standing off Manchester United and giving them far too much space on the ball.
And he added that only in the second half did United make a fight of it, strike partner Shola Ameobi sparking a brief comeback when he pulled the score back to 3-1.
It was the second cup exit, and second 4-1 defeat, in the space of a week for Graeme Souness's team, but Shearer believes the manner of the loss in Cardiff was quite different to that in Portugal to Sporting Lisbon.
"It's two 4-1 scorelines but two very different games," said Shearer. "I think the first half is where we lost it. We stood off them too much and when you do that to the calibre of players they have they're going to punish you and that's what happened.
"It was always going to be tough with the players we had out injured and suspended but at least we gave it a go in the second half. At least we battled and put up a fight but you don't get a place in the final for that.
"We had to drive through the fans before the game and the way they were cheering us on just sent a shiver through your spine.
"I think they'll go home disappointed, the same as we are, but knowing that we gave it a go in the second half.
"I'm aware of what can happen in football but you get nothing in football for feeling sorry for yourself. You get knock-backs but you have to take them. If you feel sorry for yourself, people will walk all over you and move on to the next level."
Newcastle have seven remaining Premiership games and little but pride for which to play.
And Shearer, persuaded to play on for another season by Souness, knows that his manager has a huge job on his hands, tellingly remarking that he needs to bring players with the "right characters" to St James' Park in the summer.
Shearer added: "We've got to bounce back. It's going to be a very tough seven games. We've got to try and get as many points as possible, and then start again. It'll be a tough period for us but we'll get through and move forward.
"I'm sure it'll be a busy summer for the manager. He knows what he wants to bring in and no-one will be working harder to bring in the right players with the right characters than him."
dreamer75
19-04-2005, 01:46 PM
we r points from relegation zone.. with 7 games left.. two more games than the bottom two..
really can belif with the likes of Bolton and Everton doing so well while we (so called "big" team" lingering pathetically at the bootom of the table...sighz
dreamer75
19-04-2005, 01:48 PM
morale is super low with the media toking abt The Toon revolution, who shld leave blah blah...
ShaqONeal
19-04-2005, 01:50 PM
morale is super low with the media toking abt The Toon revolution, who shld leave blah blah...
sigh.. sigh.. may b Souness will b with us for another season.. and hopefully, next season will b better.. if not.. :o
Tokieda
19-04-2005, 02:06 PM
newcastle is no longer a "big" team...
dreamer75
19-04-2005, 02:19 PM
newcastle is no longer a "big" team...
i agree, it shld be considered a middle-table team now...
Tokieda
19-04-2005, 02:29 PM
i agree, it shld be considered a middle-table team now...
i beg to differ, with souness, we would be relegation scrappers
Tokieda
19-04-2005, 02:39 PM
Should they stay or should they go?
A brutal appraisal of our current first team squad:
Shay Given - top class keeper
Stephen Carr - rotten crosser, liability at times
Robbie Elliott - can still do a job as cover for injured colleagues
Nicky Butt - Old Trafford spy
Andy O'Brien - decent squad member but simply not good enough
Jean-Alain Boumsong - quality defender
Jermaine Jenas - England player, my arse
Kieron Dyer - final warning should have meant exactly that
Alan Shearer - needs some young legs to do his running
Craig Bellamy - not welcome back
Patrick Kluivert - disgrace, go somewhere else and pick up your fat salary
Stephen Harper - excellent cover
Charles N'Zogbia - worth developing
Amdy Faye - passing practice required
James Milner - big fee, not yet justified
Darren Ambrose - out of favour
Aaron Hughes - same as O'Brien
Titus Bramble - starting to look good before injury
Jamie McClen - Gullit liked him....
Shola Ameobi - not good enough. A poor man's Tino
Tony Caig - reserve keeper, no more no less - unproven at this club.
Steven Taylor - big potential
Michael Chopra - won't be coming back
Lee Bowyer - hanging on by a thread, somehow
Laurent Robert - self-deluded. Gridiron goal kicker, serial media waffler.
Celestine Babayaro - shirker
Martin Brittain - brief sightings
Kristopher Gate - untried
Peter Ramage - very brief sighting
Matthew Pattison - untried
Hugo Viana - foppish flop, stay in Portugal
from nufc.com
dreamer75
19-04-2005, 02:54 PM
i beg to differ, with souness, we would be relegation scrappers
dun think its that bad...but pls sack Souness!!!
dreamer75
19-04-2005, 02:55 PM
from nufc.com
90% of our team needs to be changed...goodness me... :s27:
Theychosenone
19-04-2005, 03:43 PM
The assessment of Jenas is too harsh. He is one of the rare few players (or perhaps the only one) who has shown improvement. I like his ball holding and distribution skills, he can dribble out of a tight situation pretty well, only bad thing is he's too lightweight and always get outmuscled by players like Vieira, Gerrard and Lampard. He also ran out of steam after playing all plenty of games in the first half of the season.
Tokieda
19-04-2005, 05:49 PM
The assessment of Jenas is too harsh. He is one of the rare few players (or perhaps the only one) who has shown improvement. I like his ball holding and distribution skills, he can dribble out of a tight situation pretty well, only bad thing is he's too lightweight and always get outmuscled by players like Vieira, Gerrard and Lampard. He also ran out of steam after playing all plenty of games in the first half of the season.
he burst onto the scene with plenty of potential and since then? running out of steam far too easily, who to blame?
our coaching system i guess for not nurturing him the way it was suppose to be...
Ultimate10002000
19-04-2005, 07:25 PM
from nufc.com
According to this appraisal seems to me that Newcastle squad is really very jialat, need to make alot of changes when this season ends. Lousy players will be shown the door. For the manager perhaps can give him another season to prove his worth before any decision made.
Tokieda
19-04-2005, 07:30 PM
our 2nd-team is practically non-existent
Theychosenone
19-04-2005, 11:26 PM
Which makes one wonder what NUFC's youth academy and overseas scouts are doing. The only decent youth player to emerge these years is Steven Taylor. The rest are either sub-standard players (McClen, Chopra, Ameobi, Caldwell brothers), or have been bought for a sizeable transfer fee (Dyer, Jenas, Milner, Viana).
As for overseas scouts, you see other teams finding raw gems, digging up unknown players who immediately or eventually make big impacts, but not NUFC. As a result we can only go after has-been players who are past their prime for a few years already.
Shadow04
19-04-2005, 11:28 PM
!!! and i thought we have been fielding our 2nd team all season long.... :s22: :s22:
Fresnel
19-04-2005, 11:48 PM
For the record, Souness IS A MID TABLER MANAGER (or Div1,2,3 type). Rubbish in, rubbish out.
as for JEnas, he was blooming or was showing signs of blooming when SBR in charge....after SOUNESS and SAUNDERS came in, every raw gem which we has was probably shoved down the sewerage. Sigh...if there was only another Arsene Wenger around...Newsene Wenger sounds good heh heh
ZhiQiang
20-04-2005, 12:34 AM
i would support anything to get souney's arse out! even if its relegation, i will swallow it.
Theychosenone
20-04-2005, 01:58 AM
The worst thing is we don't have a proper defensive team, yet Souness plays a defensive game in most of the away games, and especially against the stronger teams. Where's the logic in that?
martinweng
20-04-2005, 09:54 AM
!!! and i thought we have been fielding our 2nd team all season long.... :s22: :s22:
it depends on how u see it. 1st team players get loaned out, Bernard, Bellamy, Viana,
who fill in? ameobi, babayaro
if u arent chelsea, dun play the stupid chelsea game..
wad is ur problem when u loaned out 1st-team player, den use 2nd-team to play?
the player-management skills in our team is truly lacking, we cannot control our 1st team player, we can only control 2nd team, why? bcoz they have no fame, no desire and dat is wad we are going to become.
FYI, our signings dis season have been REJECTS of other clubs..stephen carr and boumsong wif exception although carr is going to move away from white hart lane in next season for free.
kluivert reject, bowyer reject, babayaro reject
dreamer75
20-04-2005, 10:24 AM
August 19, 2004: Kieron Dyer apologises for refusing to play out of position against Middlesbrough: “I sincerely regret the whole incident,” he said.
August 21: Jonathan Woodgate, the defender, apologises for joining Real Madrid: “I’m gutted to leave Newcastle before I could show the fans what I can really do.”
October 21: Craig Bellamy apologises for being captured on television swearing at Graeme Souness, the manager, during Newcastle’s 1-1 draw against Charlton Athletic: “I was out of order.”
April 2, 2005: Kieron Dyer (“I am deeply sorry”) and Lee Bowyer (“I am sincerely sorry”) apologise for brawling on the pitch.
April 16: Laurent Robert apologises for criticising Newcastle’s style of play: “I have no intentions to rock the boat.”
April 19: Nicky Butt apologises for appearing to snub fans after the FA Cup semi-final defeat by Manchester United: “If I gave that impression, I wholeheartedly apologise.”
dreamer75
20-04-2005, 10:30 AM
Graeme Souness wants bring in a whole new core of players and the suggestions are that he will be given £25 million to do it. He wants six new players. ??
martinweng
20-04-2005, 10:35 AM
Graeme Souness wants bring in a whole new core of players and the suggestions are that he will be given £25 million to do it. He wants six new players. ??
he needs to change 25 of them.
i am saying dat aside 3 players, boumsong shearer and given,
the rest needs to get the 'F' out.
and we shudnt be heart broken,
jenas, carr, robert all this are simply sub-standard players. They only sound better bcoz they are not rotten.
dreamer75
20-04-2005, 10:36 AM
Our squad appraisal continues with a look at the one area of the field where we have an abundance of quantity but very little quality
JERMAINE JENAS – Of all the midfielders he is the easiest to argue should remain because of long-term potential. His form this season has however been awful. Another chance next season to prove he is an England international.
KIERON DYER – Since realising he is not a ‘complete’ central midfielder, he has begun to utilise his main asset – pace. I don’t know how he is still at the club and it’s amazing that he has emerged as somewhat of a fans’ favourite in recent weeks – just goes to show it’s about what you do on the pitch that counts.
LEE BOWYER – Another player whose lack of quality is compensated for by effort and commitment. A player we need to improve upon, it’s a shame there is a queue of players in front of Bowyer for whom the same could be said.
LAURENT ROBERT – Must go. It is as simple as that. To improve we need players who can perform consistently over a season. That Robert had to remind fans during a recent interview that he played well during our recent good run serves to highlight the problem with him – he is good for two or three games, earns a reprieve from the fans and manager, then proceeds to put in performances like that in Cardiff for the next five or six games.
NICKY BUTT - Will be reluctant to leave St.James' Park given the direction in which his career his headed. Too slow, offers nothing in attack and even his accurate passing has become wayward. We'd do well to recoup the £2.5million we paid last summer.
AMDY FAYE - What does he offer? His defensive attributes are average and his attacking contribution is almost apologetic. Not good enough and another we'd do well to get our money back from.
DARREN AMBROSE - A decent shot and a bit of pace disguise what is a poor player.
JAMES MILNER - Has shown very little to date but has demonstrated huge potential when he plays at a lower level (under 21's and reserves) suggesting that he isn't quite ready for first team action but could be a good player given some coaching and guidance.
CHARLES N'ZOGBIA - Direct, energetic and great on the ball. Weren't we saying the same about Jenas at 18 years old? Let us hope N'Zogbia can develop and become a key member next year - he already offers more than Faye or Butt in a central midfield position (as he showed on Sunday)
dreamer75
20-04-2005, 10:39 AM
he needs to change 25 of them.
i am saying dat aside 3 players, boumsong shearer and given,
the rest needs to get the 'F' out.
and we shudnt be heart broken,
jenas, carr, robert all this are simply sub-standard players. They only sound better bcoz they are not rotten.
replacing 22 out of 25 players...that's 88% revamp of our team :eek:
he will need 50k pounds or more to do that :s13:
i feel jenas and dyer shld not be sold...
martinweng
20-04-2005, 10:47 AM
replacing 22 out of 25 players...that's 88% revamp of our team :eek:
he will need 50k pounds or more to do that :s13:
i feel jenas and dyer shld not be sold...
how many times have dis thread been debating dis?
jenas is small, weak, cannot challenge roy keane and viera.
dat has been the description since SBR days.
so far i dun see him bulking up, so if dats the case, leave loh..
if u say football is, skills, talents, techniques 90%, physical ability 10%.
he lacks dat 10%, he will forever lose to them.
and dyer, its ok if we dun sell him, but he's still mid-range looking to me, perhaps use as backup shud we be unable to sign new and gd players?
dreamer75
20-04-2005, 11:59 AM
and dyer, its ok if we dun sell him, but he's still mid-range looking to me, perhaps use as backup shud we be unable to sign new and gd players?
its hard to find a complete player so we juz have to 'tap' his most 'useful skill'..
i agree jenas is small build but maybe he can improve on that.
dreamer75
20-04-2005, 11:59 AM
autenthic newcastle jerseys..
http://www.weston.com.sg/mercantor.acv?cat=English+Premier+League&subcat=Newcastle&rtvuser=711022782605141400#body
ShaqONeal
20-04-2005, 03:00 PM
wow.. in icnewcastle.com, the poll show 58% go for a Norwich win instead of a Toon win.. :(
ShaqONeal
20-04-2005, 03:04 PM
can't compare Jenas with Viera lah.. why dun u compare him to Lampard then??
i personally think Jenas is not so good, but not so bad.. i wiling to keep him.. but i will sure get one of two better midfields..
overall, if i were manager, i will issure warning to everyone to give them their 100%.. if not they will face CHOP!!!
but recently injury is another headache as well.. not to mention our concentration on the field..
ShaqONeal
20-04-2005, 03:06 PM
autenthic newcastle jerseys..
http://www.weston.com.sg/mercantor.acv?cat=English+Premier+League&subcat=Newcastle&rtvuser=711022782605141400#body
tok we got new jersey liao??
ZhiQiang
20-04-2005, 03:59 PM
2-0 to norwich
dreamer75
21-04-2005, 09:13 AM
no presents for guessing correctly, yes...we lost again :(
dreamer75
21-04-2005, 09:16 AM
FT Norwich C. [2 - 1] Newcastle U.
68' [1 - 0] Y. Safri
90' [2 - 1] D. Ashton P. Kluivert
dreamer75
21-04-2005, 09:31 AM
http://cache-1.sportinglife.com/pictures/general/leonmckenzieobrien.jpg
Norwich's record signing Dean Ashton netted what could prove to be a priceless injury-time winner to beat Newcastle and keep alive his side's hopes of staying in the Barclays Premiership.
Substitute Patrick Kluivert looked to have denied the hosts when his last-minute goal cancelled out a stunning 35-yard strike from Youssef Safri midway through the second half.
However, Norwich - who remain bottom of the table, but now two points behind 17th-placed West Brom - threw everything forward and Ashton headed in Thomas Helveg's cross to condemn Newcastle to a fourth straight defeat.
The visitors, though, had been inches away from taking an early lead after just six minutes.
Jean Alain Boumsong's long ball into the box was missed by Norwich defenders Jason Shackell and Craig Fleming, allowing Alan Shearer to collect and turn at the near post, before drilling a low effort right across goal and only just wide.
In the 15th minute, Darren Huckerby swung over a teasing cross along the six-yard line, which just eluded McKenzie.
After 21 minutes, there was an horrendous miss from former England captain Shearer.
Laurent Robert's free-kick from the right was swept goalwards, with the ball bouncing right through to Robert Green.
The Norwich goalkeeper then inexplicably fumbled on his line, and the loose ball was dropped at Shearer's feet, no more than a yard out - but somehow the Newcastle skipper stabbed it wide with his left foot.
After 30 minutes, though, David Bentley finally managed a decent cross into the danger area from the right, but it was just too high for Ashton to steer on target at the back post.
Shearer got much better contact on a 20-yard drive a couple of minutes later, but Green was able to beat the effort clear.
In the 34th minute, Newcastle looked to have a clear penalty turned down when Norwich full-back Adam Drury brought down James Milner as he slid in to make a challenge on the byline.
Referee Andre Marriner was, though, unimpressed - along with his assistant only yards away from the incident down the right channel.
It was all Newcastle now, and only a fine reaction save from Green prevented Robert firing them ahead with his first-time effort, coming in at the back post from Stephen Carr's deep right-wing cross.
The Frenchman was then unable to slot home the rebound off the goalkeeper's legs, sending the ball high into the crowd behind the goal.
In first-half stoppage time, Shay Given managed to get just enough on Francis' back-post header to keep the ball out.
Norwich made a change at the restart, Huckerby - who had not been running freely - was replaced by Sweden winger Mattias Jonson.
After 55 minutes, a deep free-kick from the left into the Newcastle six-yard box caused all sorts of problems as Ashton out-jumped Andy O'Brien at the back post, with Francis eventually sending his half-volley over the bar as the ball dropped awkwardly for him on the penalty spot.
As the hour-mark approached, Robert twisted his way into the left side of the Norwich penalty area, before a low centre across the six-yard box was guided just the wrong side of the near post by Shola Ameobi.
A fine move between Helveg and Bentley down the right then resulted in the on-loan Arsenal midfielder chipping a perfectly-weighted, angled ball into the penalty box, where Francis got his timing all wrong and sent a poor header well off-target.
Norwich knew only a win would realistically keep their slim hopes of survival alive - and the home side took a crucial lead with a stunning 35-yard strike from Safri in the 68th minute.
There appeared no danger when Drury slid the ball sideways to the Moroccan just inside the Newcastle half.
The midfielder, though, took one touch before firing an unstoppable drive past Given right into the top corner, hitting the bottom of the bar, for his first Premiership goal.
Dutch international Kluivert, on for Ameobi, looked to have rescued a point for the visitors when he pounced on a loose ball in the box to send a low drive past Green's right-hand.
Norwich were not to be denied, though, as Helveg sent over a last-gasp cross into the Newcastle box, which Ashton got up between two defenders to head in a dramatic winner.
Teams:
Norwich Green, Helveg, Fleming, Shackell, Drury, Bentley (Holt 89), Safri, Francis, Huckerby (Jonson 45), McKenzie (Svensson 82), Ashton.
Subs Not Used: Edworthy, Ward.
Goals: Safri 68, Ashton 90.
Newcastle Given, Carr, Boumsong, Andrew O'Brien, Elliott, Milner (Ambrose 63), Butt, N'Zogbia, Robert, Shearer, Ameobi (Kluivert 76).
Subs Not Used: Harper, Ramage.
Goals: Kluivert 90.
Att: 25,503
Ref: A Marriner (W Midlands).
http://www.sportinglife.com/football/live/reports/story_get.dor?STORY_NAME=soccer/05/04/20/SOCCER_Norwich.html
Tokieda
21-04-2005, 10:12 AM
we'll be 16th on sunday with only soton, palace, west brom n norwich below us
I've just got in from the game and I'm ****ing livid. Tongiht's performance was a ****ing disgrace - Robert Green has had to make one ****ing save!
Blackburn post-Souness:
League only:
Played: 29
Wins: 9
Draws: 10
Losses: 10
37 points.
Newcastle under Souness:
Played: 27
Won: 8
Drawn: 9
Lost: 10
33 points.
Our very public humiliation is complete.
We are ****ing pathetic, we cant beat the worst team in the league.
From our last 6 games I imagine we'll collect at most 5! which would be enough
ManUre away - 0
Everton away - 0
Smogs home - 1
Palace home - 3
Fulham away - 1
Chelski home - 0
i see ppl also selling their home tickets for the remaining home matches
in conclusion, Souness is ****
selection of quotes from disgruntled newcastle fans in the forums
dreamer75
21-04-2005, 10:51 AM
Last updated: April 20, 2005
Pos Club name P GD Pts
1 Chelsea 33 50 82
2 Arsenal 33 40 71
3 Man Utd 33 28 67
4 Everton 33 7 57
5 Liverpool 34 13 54
6 Bolton 34 6 53
7 Tottenham 34 4 48
8 Middlesbro 33 2 46
9 Aston Villa 34 -1 46
10 Charlton 34 -10 45
11 Man City 34 5 44
12 Blackburn 33 -8 39
13 Birmingham 34 -7 38
14 Newcastle 32 -9 38
15 Fulham 33 -14 35
16 Portsmouth 34 -15 35
17 West Brom 33 -21 29
18 Southamptn 34 -18 28
19 Crystal P 34 -22 27
20 Norwich 34 -30 27
dreamer75
21-04-2005, 10:52 AM
Newcastle boss Graeme Souness was bitterly disappointed to see his side lose out 2-1 to Norwich as they had a point taken off them in dramatic fashion.
Dean Ashton netted deep into injury time to condemn Souness to his fourth defeat in a row, and the fiery Magpies manager insisted that his side deserved more from the game.
The St James' Park faithful have endured a roller coaster ride so far this term and, despite things beginning to improve under Souness, the club have now hit a terrible patch of form.
The former Liverpool boss was adamant that he wanted to see the side improve before the end of the season, and could not disguise his frustration with the result.
"I'm extremely disappointed. It's been a difficult week for us," said Souness.
"To lose in the manner we did tonight is hard to take. I think we were better than Norwich and we were unlucky to lose.
"I don't want the season to end with this bitter taste I've got in my mouth."
dreamer75
21-04-2005, 10:53 AM
20 Apr 2005 by Ally Campbell
Tucked away in yesterday's Chronicle (page 8) is a little snippet regarding United Chairman Freddy Shepherd and his shares in NUFC:
Newcastle United Chairman Freddy Shepherd is inching towards the point where he will have to launch a takeover of the club. Mr Shepherd's company Shepherd Offshore has snapped up another 100,000 shares worth an estimated £43,500.
The buy brings the company's interest in Newcastle United to 26.43%. A takeover bid must be launched if Shepherd Offshore holds 30% of shares in the club. The Wallsend company now has more than 34m shares in Newcastle United.
The deal comes after Mr Shepherd bought 1.1 million shares in December. Newcastle unveiled bumper £5.1m six-month profits last week, up 4.5m on the last six months.
haiiizzz magpies magpies, why why why why :sad: :sad:
ceLsius
21-04-2005, 11:05 AM
haiiizzz magpies magpies, why why why why :sad: :sad:
Not too bad lah, at least magpies wons a goal instead losing 2 nil like man u. :s13:
some kind of self consolation ah :s13:
haiz one min i saw 1-1, the other min 2-1 liaoz so fast man it happened, so disappointed.
tot magpies will whack them.
Theychosenone
21-04-2005, 12:05 PM
Well well another loss, what a surprise.
Only good thing was I put Dean Ashton into my yahoo fantasy league team this week. Was expecting him to score against our defence. Talk about negative vibes. :D
ZhiQiang
21-04-2005, 12:47 PM
yay we lost again!!!!!!!!!
ShaqONeal
21-04-2005, 03:32 PM
not surprise but equally hurt.. i hope SOuness get out of St James Park asap.. and Sherperd too..
if we drop to div 1, how much his share will worth???
ShaqONeal
21-04-2005, 03:33 PM
we r only 11 points from the bottom.. with 6 gmaes left.. if we lost all.. may b we can say bye bye to EPL..
Shadow04
21-04-2005, 06:42 PM
good job......
Ultimate10002000
21-04-2005, 07:04 PM
Poor Newcastle to yet lose another crucial game. Red Alert for this soccer team.
martinweng
21-04-2005, 08:00 PM
simply another dark and gloomy day..
Fresnel
21-04-2005, 10:41 PM
We r condemned to the depths of middle table soccer teams already......well..as long as the vulgar Souness is in charge. Rubbish in , rubbish out.
batigol0902
21-04-2005, 11:55 PM
Has anyone noticed that newcastle's current dip in form started after shearer's announcement that he will postpone his retirement till next year? Hmm... No offence intended, but maybe shearer should have stick to his original decision :s8:
Tokieda
22-04-2005, 08:23 AM
i had already stated he should have retired this season...why must that stupid fat fred and souey persuade him????
dreamer75
22-04-2005, 09:15 AM
Has anyone noticed that newcastle's current dip in form started after shearer's announcement that he will postpone his retirement till next year? Hmm... No offence intended, but maybe shearer should have stick to his original decision :s8:
sorry, but i dun see any link with his decision to play for one season linking with our poort performance recently.
its the team performance and manager's fault..enuff said..
Tokieda
22-04-2005, 09:16 AM
looking ahead, its man utd next at old trafford, not a bad place for yet another successive defeat
NUFC: to follow...Dyer may feature after getting the all-clear on his hamstring.
MUFC: to follow...Paul Scholes and Gary Neville are automatically suspended following their red cards at Everton on Wednesday evening.
Toon @ Old Trafford over the years
93/94 drew 1-1 Cole
94/95 lost 0-2 no scorer
95/96 lost 0-2 no scorer
96/97 drew 0-0 no scorer
97/98 drew 1-1 Andersson
98/99 drew 0-0 no scorer
99/00 lost 1-5 Berg (og)
00/01 lost 0-2 no scorer
01/02 lost 1-3 Shearer
02/03 lost 3-5 Bernard, Shearer, Bellamy
03/04 drew 0-0 No scorer
04/05 ?????
With dyer back, maybe some attacking threat, but then again, o'brien likely inclusion is likely to negate the attacking impact. man utd may be in poor form, but we are in poorer form and they always like and only can thrash us. strangely enuff, both teams have lost to the bottom place team norwich in the last month.
andy81
22-04-2005, 09:30 AM
what has that got to do with Newcastle's form?
Theychosenone
22-04-2005, 09:37 AM
Shearer is probably well aware that playing another extra year won't win him more trophies at Newcastle, not unless there are drastic changes to the team anyway. I assume he is staying solely to become the all-time highest goalscorer record for Newcastle.
Tokieda
22-04-2005, 09:37 AM
sorry, but i dun see any link with his decision to play for one season linking with our poort performance recently.
its the team performance and manager's fault..enuff said..
his thinking is that all the other lads got sianz on they have to listen and play to shearer strengths (which is clearly waning) again next season
dreamer75
22-04-2005, 09:46 AM
looking ahead, its man utd next at old trafford, not a bad place for yet another successive defeat
NUFC: to follow...Dyer may feature after getting the all-clear on his hamstring.
MUFC: to follow...Paul Scholes and Gary Neville are automatically suspended following their red cards at Everton on Wednesday evening.
Toon @ Old Trafford over the years
93/94 drew 1-1 Cole
94/95 lost 0-2 no scorer
95/96 lost 0-2 no scorer
96/97 drew 0-0 no scorer
97/98 drew 1-1 Andersson
98/99 drew 0-0 no scorer
99/00 lost 1-5 Berg (og)
00/01 lost 0-2 no scorer
01/02 lost 1-3 Shearer
02/03 lost 3-5 Bernard, Shearer, Bellamy
03/04 drew 0-0 No scorer
04/05 ?????
With dyer back, maybe some attacking threat, but then again, o'brien likely inclusion is likely to negate the attacking impact. man utd may be in poor form, but we are in poorer form and they always like and only can thrash us. strangely enuff, both teams have lost to the bottom place team norwich in the last month.
Personally I would rather we just concede this game and at least keep our players fit for the next match……………although our lot seem to pick up injuries when they tie their shoelaces so that would probably not work anyway.
We have absolutely no chance at all here.
We are already beaten………….expect even more “mystery” injuries to certain players who are not up for this one.
My Prediction……………..A defeat…..hopefully the Mancs will feel sorry for us and not make it too big.
dreamer75
22-04-2005, 09:46 AM
sorry guys, do i sound like martinweng now ? :s13:
dreamer75
22-04-2005, 09:47 AM
his thinking is that all the other lads got sianz on they have to listen and play to shearer strengths (which is clearly waning) again next season
sianz?? but he's still the most dangerous player in our team mah....
ShaqONeal
22-04-2005, 09:59 AM
well, it's time to sound like martinweng.. since our chance of touching silverware gone, and had conceded dunno how many goals.. like there r no defenders... sigh..
i HOPE to see us get relegated.. and Sherperd see all his $$ in his share become worthless.. and another bigger than ROman come to rescue.. hahahaha.. :s13:
ShaqONeal
22-04-2005, 10:01 AM
for me, it's like started since they went to DUbai for second time.. sigh.. i think magic can only work for one time.. second time must depends on our own strength.. i dun see the point of going Dubai for second time... may b after getting a trophy, but surely not before getting anything..
think we r a bit of cocky when we r in winning streak.. and now.. :s8:
dbchoong
22-04-2005, 10:19 AM
:s27: What a bad time for Newcastle... this weekend also can't see much hope against Man U...
Just 2 weeks ago things looked ok with 2 cups to play for... now... as long as don't need to fight relegation battle should be happy.
Let's see if some miracle will suddenly happen and Newcastle win all their remaining 6 matches (that's 18 points)... :s13:
ShaqONeal
22-04-2005, 11:33 AM
:s27: What a bad time for Newcastle... this weekend also can't see much hope against Man U...
Just 2 weeks ago things looked ok with 2 cups to play for... now... as long as don't need to fight relegation battle should be happy.
Let's see if some miracle will suddenly happen and Newcastle win all their remaining 6 matches (that's 18 points)... :s13:
wat's the use?? sigh.. and i dun think they can do it.. sian.. sian..
szeli
22-04-2005, 12:35 PM
actuali i also tink Shearer shud hav stuck to his decision to retire n move into the backrm staff.. for sure he'll b remembrd as 1 of e all time greats bt i dislike e style of play of e team when he's playing, i hate LONG BALL crap..
we used2 hav Bellamy who can play off his flick ons n get by e oppositions' backline.. bt nw Ameobi, Kluivert etc... r more of 'play on e ground type players' i can't ever see any of that long ball crap workin against any team mayb it works in trainin when yr 2nd team got players lik O'brien, Bramble etc... Souness gotta get e team2 play to its strength NOT to Shearer's strength.. so no amount of $$ will change anything if we continue2 play dis style, as much as i hate to say dis, Shearer needs to go.. pronto..
we ain't got no Zidane, Ronaldinho, so wat is our only strength? e high energy we play wf when we'r in front of e 50K Geordies! we need2 get stuck in, pass2 e wings, let e pace n trickery of Dyer, whipped crosses into e box from Robert do e work for us! dun 4get we managed2 defeat Chelsea frm this.. Robert's whipped cross into e near post headed in by Kluivert! wing play i'm sayin wing play!
i see alot of Kluivert bashing in dis thread, bt i tink he just din get enuf playin time.. cant do much when u always get sub in wf e team down 1-0, 2-0 n of course, the LONG BALL crap again..
sigh, tink e Toon army has endured long enuf... mayb time for me to becom a Sunderland fan liao.. they'll b back next yr.. HELL NO! haha
another guy who needs2 get out MUS B Butt, 0 contributions, 0 fighting spirit, where hav all e lunging tackles, snarling @ e referees, e pushing n shoving of opponents gone to? this bugger 4got hw2 play e moment he stepped into St James? JUST GET OUT BUTT!
martinweng
22-04-2005, 12:41 PM
come on...i tink rite now nobody will say im wrong..juz look @ statistics..
i doubt anybody will stand up and tell me newcastle has a bright future yet dis season..
Juz gain some pathetic pride, finish on the top 1/2 of the table pls..
Theychosenone
22-04-2005, 01:50 PM
http://www.hardwarezone.com/img/forums/styles/hwz/smilies/laugh.gif
dreamer75
22-04-2005, 03:33 PM
FROM Norwich, it's the quiz of the week, and the big question is: Who'll be next Newcastle United employee to issue an apology for this latest sorry performance?
It certainly won't be boss Graeme Souness.
"We've lost a game we didn't deserve to lose," was the Magpie manager's verdict on a 2-1 loss at Norwich City before he proceeded to wax lyrical about the chances his team created and the possession they enjoyed at Carrow Road last night.
The handwringing gestures of a Bowyer, or a Dyer, or a Butt, or a Robert were not for him ... in fact, he talked about anything and everything other than the fact his side had just lost their fourth consecutive match, this one to the team that has proved itself the Premiership whipping boys for the past nine months.
Suddenly, eight-game winning streaks and bonding sessions in Dubai seem a long time ago for Souness.
Yes, he has been plagued by injuries and let down by certain carefree poseurs in his dressing room; but he was specifically brought in to deal with precisely that last problem, and his methods, like results, have been decidedly inconsistent.
Indeed, while Newcastle were losing to the spirited yet limited Canaries, they were being overtaken in the league standings by his former club Blackburn Rovers in the process.
It is the first time that has happened since he made the move from Ewood to St James's Park, and should that remain the case come mid-May, then just how symbolic might it prove to be? Answers on a postcard to Freddy Shepherd ...
Any visit to Norwich always conjures up memories of Nicholas Parsons and his old Anglian TV flagship programme Sale Of The Century, yet we have been told United's proposed clearout (aka Sale Of The Summer) will make for far more compelling viewing.
Souness expects to be the compere, but unless he can prevent the final six games of the season being played out in such depressing fashion then the 51-year-old may find he's not around too long himself.
Defeat against Norwich can not be dressed up as anything else, so it helps his cause not one bit when he uses delusory tactics while addressing the disillusioned. "You cannot be critical of the way the team played," he insisted, neatly sidestepping the fact Newcastle have now won just twice on their Premiership travels this term.
The Magpies are such a bedraggled bunch right now that they couldn't even name a full complement of substitutes for the trip to Norfolk.
Souness shrugged off that minor handicap to insist his side were "better than Norwich" on the night, though a quick glance at the table would confirm all of England's top flight could say as much.
The visitors did carve out a host of decent chances, but when Alan Shearer starts missing opportunities from four yards then maybe the season cannot end quickly enough.
Equally, had home midfielder Damien Francis shown any kind of heading ability at all on the evening, then maybe Nigel Worthington's side might have won by more than a one-goal margin.
Their fifth win of a tough campaign was the result of two finishes of unerring accuracy. The first, a sensational 35-yard strike from Moroccan midfielder Youssef Safri in the 68th minute would have beaten any goalkeeper across the globe; so too might the downward header of new Carrow Road hero Dean Ashton, as he soared between Stephen Carr and Jean Alain Boumsong to seal a dramatic triumph in the fourth and final minute of injury time.
Nothing
"To come away from here with nothing is really, really hard to take," groaned Souness. "Even if we'd drawn the game I think people would have left wondering how we only got a point.
"It's been a hard week for the players and we have to regroup for another stiff test at Manchester United on Sunday, but any Newcastle supporter here at Norwich has seen us play well."
Really? It has been a harder week for those who pay to watch from the stands, and most trooped away wondering how much worse things can actually get
Many also queried why the coach hauled off a disbelieving James Milner midway through the second half at the very point when the often unfairly maligned teenager was starting to regain his confidence.
United might well have pinched a point when, with 30 seconds of normal time remaining, Adam Drury's block tackle on Shearer saw the ball roll into the path of substitute Patrick Kluivert, who stirred himself sufficiently to sweep home a low right-footed shot.
Given that he has spent the bulk of the campaign picking up an inflated salary while contributing precious little, and given that he offered only lazy, disinterested cameos in the two biggest games of the season, there was something grotesque about the sight of the Dutchman offering himself up for acclaim in front of the travelling support as some kind of saviour.
A goal, or even 90 minutes of effort, in either Lisbon or Cardiff last week might not have been too much to ask from a man on in excess of £60,000 a week, might it?
From Norwich, it's the swizz of the week – and to think the Canaries might have cursed Kluivert before Ashton's late, late winner.
Transfer
In the words of Nicholas Parsons, it'll be time for an instant sale or two from the Gallowgate dressing rooms come the summer when the transfer window constraints are lifted again by UEFA.
But if Souness wants to be around to run the show much longer, then he'll have to make a better job of convincing Geordie viewers he's the man with all the right answers.
They're already in danger of turning off in serious numbers.
http://www.southtynesidetoday.co.uk/ViewArticle2.aspx?SectionID=1112&ArticleID=1005077
dreamer75
22-04-2005, 03:37 PM
DEJECTED Newcastle United skipper Alan Shearer insisted the blame for last night's 2-1 defeat at Norwich City rests firmly on his shoulders after a glaring miss at Carrow Road.
The 34-year-old somehow failed to convert a gilt-edged opportunity from four yards provided to him when Canaries keeper Robert Green fumbled Laurent Robert's 21st minute free-kick.
Shearer, along with manager Graeme Souness, was convinced that had Newcastle established a half-time lead against Premiership basement club Norwich, they would have gone on to win an entertaining contest.
Instead, Youssef Safri's thunderbolt and Dean Ashton's dramatic clincher, the latter's 94th minute header following Patrick Kluivert's equaliser in the last seconds of normal time, handed the Norfolk outfit a huge tonic in their fight to avoid relegation.
It also condemned the Geordies to a fourth straight defeat, and coming on the heels of their double FA and UEFA cup exit, there appears no end in sight to the misery being suffered by the club's long-suffering supporters.
Shearer said: "We created plenty of chances in the first half, and I had one in particular that was a dreadful miss.
"If I'd put that one in then it might have been a different story.
"At the break we were still quite content with the way we'd been playing and the amount of chances we were creating.
"But you cannot legislate for Norwich's first goal. I doubt if the lad has ever hit one like that before or if he ever will again, but it got their tails up.
"We got back level at the end but have then thrown it away again."
Ashton's winner was his sixth Premiership goal in 12 outings since a £3m switch from Crewe Alexandra, and he's now achieved that goal-every-other-game ratio all top strikers crave.
Shearer has enjoyed that level of potency throughout his top-flight career, which means it came as no surprise that he'd be so self-critical at failing to take the opportunity to move to within seven of Jackie Milburn's Newcastle record of 200 goals.
"It's my job to score goals, that's what I'm paid to do," he added. "I should have taken the chance and I accept responsibility when it doesn't happen."
Shearer described yet another turbulent Newcastle campaign as "a rollercoaster ride," but right now, there's a real danger that the final Premiership fixtures will be played out in lacklustre fashion as the club drifts aimlessly in the lower reaches of mid-table.
Next up is Sunday's immediate rematch with a Manchester United side in front of a gloating Old Trafford crowd still celebrating last weekend's FA Cup semi-final victory.
"Confidence is not high because winning breeds confidence and we've had some poor results of late," added Shearer.
"Norwich was a kick in the teeth. We could have won the game but we've paid the price.
"It's not going to get any easier for us. We are in a rut and we need to work hard to get out of it.
"We've got to get a good result from somewhere and it would be nice to get it there (Manchester United).
"They'll want the points for their own reasons, but we need them too."
dreamer75
22-04-2005, 03:42 PM
Souness reveals summer strategy
Graeme Souness has revealed that he'll be looking to bring players with experience to Newcastle in the summer.
Following a disastrous two-weeks which has seen Magpies season collapse and the club hit the headlines for a number of embarrassing incidents, Souness said: "We have played in the quarter-final of the UEFA Cup with two 18-year-olds and a boy who just turned 19 a fortnight ago, and we played the semi-final at Cardiff with two 18-year-olds and a boy who turned 19 two weeks ago,
"You cannot win trophies with 18-year-olds on the pitch. I am a believer in that, that was the way we were taught at Liverpool, that was the way it was,
"I do not see myself - and I would love to be here for a long time - I do not see me being here a long time having gone down the road of buying a team of James Milners. That is not going to keep me in a job, without being critical of James Milner.
"I am not being critical there, I am talking about anyone who is 18, 19 - that is not going to keep me in a job.
"I am not going to give you a number of how many players I think we need, but it has been evident that in the last two games we have been found out because we have been short, and I am referring to the boys being on the pitch.
"Over the years on three or four occasions, I have met players that I played against and they have said something along the lines of ’when we used to play against Liverpool and the ball was on the centre-spot before the start of the game and you looked at the 11 red shirts, everyone was a man, everyone had a history’.
"I am not saying we have to have that, but that is what you are looking to get at a big club like this where, when you go 1-0 down, it is like a bit of dandruff, when you are not playing well yourself, you just shake it off.
"That is the type of player we have got to have here if we are going to be successful at this club."
dreamer75
22-04-2005, 03:45 PM
O’Brien to Fight
By Nick Raynor - April 21 2005
Newcastle defender Andy O’Brien is going to fight for his place in the Newcastle United team.
O’Brien has been criticized in the past and branded ‘not good enough’ by many Toon fans but he wants to stay and prove his worth.
He said:
"When I was brought off in those circumstances against Aston Villa a couple of weeks ago, it was a personal disappointment for me.
"However these are the things you have to live with when you play for a football club like Newcastle United.
"But I am not questioning myself too much. I have played over 300 first-team games in my career, including 160 for Newcastle United, and nobody can ever take that away from me.
"My defending has been okay lately, although I haven't played as much as I would have liked.
"I thought I did all right last night, even though we didn't keep a clean sheet, and it's not up to me to say if either of the two goals were my fault."
dreamer75
22-04-2005, 03:45 PM
http://cache-1.sportinglife.com/pictures/general/allsportgivencelebcharlton.jpg
Shay Given has urged his shellshocked Newcastle team-mates to raise themselves to avoid another mauling at the hands of Manchester United on Sunday.
Just over a week ago the Magpies stood on the brink of a place in the FA Cup final and the last four of the UEFA Cup.
But two heavy defeats, followed by an abject Premiership loss at Norwich on Wednesday night, have left Given's side feeling down and out.
Keeper Given admitted: "We are all in the trenches and we have all got to stick together. We are at the point where you wonder if we have run over any black cats."
Things could be about to get worse for Graeme Souness' side, which is down to its bare bones having been ravaged by injuries and suspensions.
On Sunday they face a side which ended their FA Cup dream just a week ago with an utterly dominant 4-1 win in Cardiff.
Given said: "We know what a good side Manchester United are because they showed us first-hand last weekend.
"If we're going to get a result at Old Trafford we will have to play a lot better than we did in Cardiff."
Patrick Kluivert's last-minute equaliser at Carrow Road looked to have given Souness' beleaguered men at least something to shout about going into their re-match with United.
But there was still time for Dean Ashton to pop up with a winner for the rock-bottom Canaries.
Given added: "We're down on our luck but that is the time when you have got to stick together and dig deep to produce points and results."
Steven Taylor missed the Carrow Road defeat with an ankle injury but the young defender should be in contention to make the squad for the visit to Old Trafford.
Meanwhile Kieron Dyer could return after his three-match suspension providing he is feeling no ill effects from a hamstring injury.
http://www.sportinglife.com/football/news/story_get.dor?STORY_NAME=soccer/05/04/22/SOCCER_Newcastle_Given.html&TEAMHD=soccer
dreamer75
22-04-2005, 03:49 PM
Old Trafford
Sunday, 24 April
Kick-off: 1605 BST
Team news to follow later.
BIG-MATCH FACTS
MANCHESTER UNITED and Newcastle go head to head a week after meeting at the Millennium Stadium in the FA Cup semi-finals, when the Magpies put up little resistance and the holders breezed to a 4-1 victory and qualified for a second successive appearance in the final. In the Premiership however, it's a different story.
United may hold an unbeaten home league record and have never lost in the Premiership to Newcastle at Old Trafford, but they are closing this League season with the same patchy form that was on display at the outset. A goalless home draw with Blackburn, was followed by a shock 0-2 reverse at rock bottom Norwich, and then by the tetchy midweek clash with Everton, which saw Gary Neville and Paul Scholes both red carded and the Merseysiders win 1-0. A 20 game undefeated streak could be followed by United's longest winless sequence of the season. They've played 339 minutes (five hours 39 minutes) of Premiership football without scoring and have never gone four matches without netting in the Premiership era. The last time they failed to score in four successive League games was April 1989. United find themselves six points behind second placed Arsenal. Both clubs have five to play, and both are keen to gain automatic entry to the group stages of next season's Champions League. Victory for Sir Alex Ferguson's side would half the gap, 24 hours or so before the Gunners host Tottenham.
United have won 15 and drawn six of their last 21 home League matches against Newcastle, and have won over half of their 23 Premiership encounters with the Magpies home and away (12 of 23). A brace from Wayne Rooney and a Ruud van Nistelrooy penalty gave the Red Devils a 3-1 victory in this season's reverse fixture, and put them on course for a third Premiership 'double' over the Magpies and eighth overall since their first meeting in 1895. The most recent home and away maximum was in 2002/03, when six points out of six were posted with an 11-5 aggregate.
NEWCASTLE UNITED have the opportunity to avenge the FA Cup defeat, but may not have the stomach for the fight, having seen a season which promised so much fall apart at the seams in the last fortnight.
The Magpies have lost four on the bounce, having earlier won eight in a row. Either side of the Uefa Cup exit at Sporting Lisbon and the Cup crash in Cardiff came a 1-0 Premiership loss at Tottenham and a 2-1 midweek defeat away to relegation battlers Norwich. Graeme Souness, who's seen his side concede 10 goals in three games, could be about to witness a fourth consecutive Premiership reverse.
The Black and Whites have won only once in 38 League visits to the Theatre of Dreams since 1951 - a 0-2 success on 12 February 1972. Last season's visit resulted in a goalless draw, but match referee Paul Durkin admitted after the game that Alan Shearer should have had a penalty, but he was too far away and did not get a clear view of the collision between the Newcastle skipper and the United keeper Tim Howard.
Referee:
Neale Barry (Lincolnshire)
SEQUENCES/RECENT FORM
MANCHESTER UNITED
Club stats
Fixtures
Going into the weekend: 3rd 67 points
(all statistics are ahead of this weekend's round of Premiership fixtures)
Won 19 Premiership matches. Only Chelsea (25) and Arsenal (21) have won more.
Lost four times in the top division (all four away to Chelsea, Portsmouth, Norwich and Everton). Only Chelsea have been beaten less often (once).
Conceded 20 top flight goals. Only Chelsea have shipped fewer - 12.
Kept 18 clean sheets at the top League level. Only Chelsea have managed more (23).
Not lost a top flight game this season in which they've opened the scoring. Won 18 and drawn two of the 20.
Scored 13 goals in the last 15 minutes of Premiership games this term, making them the joint second most dangerous side with Fulham in the last quarter-hour of top flight matches behind Chelsea, who've netted 15 times in the last quarter-hour.
Conceded the opening goal seven times. Only Chelsea (four games) and Arsenal (six) have allowed their opponents to score first less often.
Played more League and Cup games than any other top flight club this season (55).
Their 33 League games have yielded 68 goals (48 for, 20 against). Only Blackburn have a lower such tally (66).
One of two clubs with an unbeaten home Premiership record. Chelsea is the other.
Won 11 home top League games. Only Chelsea can beat that with 12.
Managed 10 clean sheets in home top flight games. Only Chelsea have a better return (13 block outs).
Conceded less than one goal every two League games at Old Trafford - seven in 16.
Not conceded in two Premiership matches away from home, or in 223 minutes (three hours 43 minutes) of top flight soccer on the road.
Shipped just two goals in seven top tier engagements away from the Theatre of Dreams.
Last lost a home League match on 24 April 2004 (0-1 against Liverpool) - United's only defeat in 22 home top flight outings.
NEWCASTLE UNITED
Club stats
Fixtures
Going into the weekend: 14th 38 points
(all statistics are ahead of this weekend's round of Premiership fixtures)
Lost the last four in all competitions.
Managed one win in seven League and Cup games, since reeling off eight victories in a row.
Won eight, drawn nine and lost 10 of the 27 Premiership games played under Souness.
Managed only four clean sheets in this Premiership campaign. Only Norwich have so few.
Failed to score in only seven Premiership games. Just Arsenal (three) and Chelsea (five) have missed the target in fewer games.
Scored more goals in the opening 15 minutes of Premiership duels this season than any other club (nine).
Only club to lose all Premiership matches in which the opening goal has been conceded. The opposition has scored first and gone on to win in 11 games.
Not won a League game in which they were behind.
Gained just one point when in arrears (2-2 away to Birmingham on 3 October).
Still the Premiership's least resilient side having failed to win 12 matches in which they were in front (10 drawn, two lost).
Lost the lead 18 times in top division encounters - that's more often than any other club.
Lost all seven highest League matches in which behind at half time.
Lost the last three League and Cup matches away from home.
Not won in nine on their Premiership travels.
Drawn four and lost five League games on the road since beating Crystal Palace 0-2 on 20 November.
Drawn four of the last seven League games away from St James' Park.
The victory at Selhurst Park is the only time maximum points have been claimed in 13 away from home.
KEY PLAYER NOTES/POTENTIAL MILESTONES
MANCHESTER UNITED
Squad profiles
Louis SAHA was on loan to Newcastle in the 1999/2000 season from FC Metz.
If involved, Alan SMITH will be making his 200th career League appearance.
NEWCASTLE UNITED
Squad profiles
Alan SHEARER lies joint fourth in the scorers list for Premiership players in all club competitions. He's netted 19 times this season, and trails Thierry HENRY of Arsenal by 11, and Jermain DEFOE of Tottenham by three.
SHEARER is eight short of Jackie Milburn's record of 200 for the Tyneside club. (Milburn's total consists of 177 League goals and 23 in the FA Cup. It does not include the goal he scored in Newcastle's 2-1 loss to Tottenham in the 1951 FA Charity Shield).
SHEARER needs two more to total 275 in English top flight football.
Nicky BUTT and Ronny JOHNSEN are Newcastle old boys.
LAST SEASON'S CORRESPONDING GAME:
Manchester United 0-0 Newcastle United
11 January 2004 - Ref: Paul Durkin
THIS SEASON'S REVERSE FIXTURE:
Newcastle United 1-3 Manchester United
14 November 2004 - Ref: Mike Dean
Newcastle scorer: Shearer 71
Man United scorers: Rooney 7, van Nistelrooy 74 pen, Rooney 90
HEAD TO HEAD TOTALS
League: Man United 62 wins, Newcastle 38, Draws 33
Prem: Man United 12 wins, Newcastle 3, Draws 8
HEAD TO HEAD at Man United
League: Man United 39 wins, Newcastle 9, Draws 18
Prem: Man United 6 wins, Newcastle 0, Draws 5
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/eng_prem/4451359.stm
dreamer75
22-04-2005, 03:55 PM
i dont rem this...any bro do??
dreamer75
22-04-2005, 03:55 PM
so Dave, any gathering this time round? :)
dreamer75
22-04-2005, 03:59 PM
Shay Given has pledged his future to Newcastle insisting he has no plans to leave the club.
It has been feared that Given may leave St James' Park in the summer with the likes of Arsenal and Manchester United both in the market for a new goalkeeper.
Given has two years to run on his current deal and despite a disappointing season this term he is hoping Magpies boss Graeme Souness can build a successful side on Tyneside.
"I have two years left on my contract and I am very happy to stay here, unless someone tells me different," said Given.
"I will ignore the speculation. The manager has said he will strengthen the squad in the summer and that there will be good times.
"I will be here next season.
"I haven't got a clue who he wants but I'm sure he knows where we need to improve."
http://skysports.planetfootball.com/list.asp?hlid=271575&cpid=8&CLID=4&lid=&title=Given+going+nowhere&channel=Premiership
dreamer75
22-04-2005, 04:00 PM
By Stuart James, Evening Standard
22 April 2005
Chris Coleman today warned that any club hoping to prise Luis Boa Morte from Fulham in the summer will have to pay "serious money".
The Portuguese winger, who has been in exceptional form since he masterminded Fulham's recent crucial victory over Portsmouth, was watched by Newcastle manager Graeme Souness on Tuesday night.
Souness failed to sign Boa Morte in January for a fee in the region of £6million when the former Arsenal forward agreed a new three-year contract at Craven Cottage.
However, with Laurent Robert seemingly heading out of Newcastle, Souness is looking for a left-sided attacking player. Coleman, though, is keen to hold on to Boa Morte. "We don't want to lose him, he's quality," said the Fulham manager.
"The last four games are the best I've seen him play in a long time. He's been outstanding. Of course, teams will be looking at him but if anyone is serious about buying him they will need to come up with serious money."
Fulham make their shortest away journey of the season tomorrow when they visit champions elect Chelsea.
Coleman watched Jose Mourinho's side against Arsenal, and was relieved there will be no champagne corks popping tomorrow.
He said: "The good thing is that they can't win the league on Saturday. If they were to have won it by beating us it would be hard for our supporters. "
Coleman believes that Fulham require one victory from their remaining five matches to banish any relegation fears.
Earlier this year Mourinho named Coleman as his favourite coach in English football. "He is a great leader . . . he has presence," he declared.
Fulham are without Sylvain Legwinski (thigh) and Papa Bouba Diop (hamstring), while Andy Cole (Achilles) is very doubtful.
http://www.thisislondon.co.uk/sport/football/articles/18097534?source=Evening
Tokieda
22-04-2005, 04:04 PM
he hardly played
Theychosenone
22-04-2005, 04:17 PM
Hardly caused a ripple in his time here. Like Jon-Dahl Tomasson he only came into prominence AFTER leaving NUFC. :) They were still young and undeveloped in skills back then.
Tokieda
22-04-2005, 04:21 PM
only buy unproven youngsters back then and then got trained by our untalented coaches....our scouts so good also no use to spot potential also no use...
dreamer75
22-04-2005, 04:28 PM
oh no wonder...not much impact for us then...so i din notice either..
ZhiQiang
22-04-2005, 10:37 PM
3-0 to manu
daveaha
22-04-2005, 11:09 PM
so Dave, any gathering this time round? :)
yo Dreamer.
No gathering. Sunday 11 pm too late. No night rider for everybody.
So... sad....
Fresnel
23-04-2005, 10:20 AM
eh NewC Vs ManU no more considered big match larr.....wad big match??? Big matches are only when clubs at the top spots are fighting tooth for tooth for position. Now this match is nothing more like MAn U vs Sunderland, Vs Norwich, Vs WBA, Vs Wolves kind of match.
Big turn off.....and i dun wan see them getting mauled by a bullish ManU now...
martinweng
23-04-2005, 12:10 PM
eh NewC Vs ManU no more considered big match larr.....wad big match??? Big matches are only when clubs at the top spots are fighting tooth for tooth for position. Now this match is nothing more like MAn U vs Sunderland, Vs Norwich, Vs WBA, Vs Wolves kind of match.
Big turn off.....and i dun wan see them getting mauled by a bullish ManU now...
erm...they consider man utd games as big match bcoz, as long as man utd fans watch soccer, they earn enuff liao..
dis kind of man utd own newcastle match, confirm will draw more fans than ever 1..
Fresnel
24-04-2005, 01:10 AM
Mauling Session. Round 2. Get Ready to Fight. *Ding Ding*
dreamer75
24-04-2005, 01:20 AM
With the season all but over save the singing (or more likely the booing) thoughts have turned to the Summer and what promises to be; namely a mass clear-out of dead wood and the possibility of much needed new faces being signed. Already reports of a £20-25m transfer kitty are doing the rounds and while I don't for one minute believe Graeme Souness (or his replacement!) will get anywhere near that amount, even if those kind of funds were to be released (they won't), it wouldn't be enough to turn the club around in my opinion... nowhere near enough!
Oh no, we will need much more than £20-25m to arrest the slide and to get back to competing for that coveted 4th spot which Freddy Shepherd & Co. maintain is the bare minimum of what this club should achieve. A lot more!
The club could well lose up to twelve players in the Summer if reports, rumours, body language and promised disciplinary action are to be believed; Shay Given, Robbie Elliott, Celestine Babayaro, Andy O'Brien, Kieron Dyer, Lee Bowyer, Laurent Robert, Patrick Kluivert and Shola Ameobi are all up for grabs in one way or another allegedly. While the-out-on-loan trio of Michael Chopra, Hugo Viana and Craig Bellamy will not be returning back for pre-season training. Those three are most definitely on their way out if you like.
Not all twelve will leave of course, but even if a third of them do which is very likely, they will all need replaced and that will cost money. Then there are additional players who will need brought in regardless of who stays and goes because the current squad simply isn't big enough nor good enough. Again they will all cost money. Suddenly, even far fetched figures like touched on above don't seem sufficient enough.
With no European revenue, an increasing wages to turnover ratio now touching above the recommended 50% guide, the manager whoever that is, will have to sell to boost what I expect to be a meagre kitty.
And that eventual figure, will just not be enough to bring in the quality of players in the positions we require strengthening to launch us from mid-table mediocrity where we now reside to challenging for that final Champions League spot we crave.
A mere two seasons after finishing 3rd, Newcastle, through grave mismanagement at Board and team level, indecision and failing to invest at the right time and with the necessary funds, now find ourselves playing catch up, big time. We have been overtook by Liverpool and Chelsea and are now struggling to keep neck and neck with the likes of Spurs, Villa, Everton, Middlesbrough and a whole host of other clubs who believe it or not, have all spent more on transfers (net spend) since we clinched that 3rd place finish.
Since then Newcastle have spent just £19m on transfer fees but have recouped £19.8m in sales. Effectively the club haven't spent a penny in the transfer market in two seasons - ZERO! This alarming statistic is just one of many reasons why we have went from 3rd in the League to 14th as I write. From Title contenders to relegation material. In that time the following clubs have all spent more in the transfer market (net spending) on new players than Newcastle:
Biggest Net Spenders *Total Net Spend (2003-04/2004-05)
Chelsea £192.23m
Manchester United £38.74m
Liverpool £25.1m
Arsenal £21.05m
Tottenham Hotspur £19.95m
Birmingham City £15.05m
Aston Villa £7.93m
Westbromwich Albion £7.85m
Norwich City £4.5m
Portsmouth £4.5m
Crystal Palace £4.150m
Middlesbrough £2.5m
Bolton Wanderers £650,000
Manchester City £200,000
What is alarming is that only the top four in the above table can expect to be able or capable of outspending Newcastle who despite missing out on Champions League football, had something the rest, with the exception of Middlesbrough this season, just couldn't count on - European football.
Tottenham have invested heavily in their squad in the last two seasons considering their lack of European revenue and smaller gate receipts and they are now reaping the rewards. However they are a long long way off even contemplating challenging for a Champions League spot which just goes to show how tough it will be for Newcastle who now trail the London side, to bounce back to that level.
While Newcastle have a lot of dead wood to clear, Spurs don't, having signed young and promising players with a mixture of experience thrown in to give them a balance. Every new player they sign from here on in, will strengthen their squad further. Every new signing we make, will most probably be signed to replace an outgoing player. Therefore they get stronger, we don't. They are on the up, we are going nowhere.
That applies to the likes of Middlebrough, Aston Villa, Everton, Bolton, Charlton and those other sides hovering around 10th to 4th place too. They don't need to sell or clear out dead wood or have the internal and external problems that we do. Any signings they do make will strengthen their squads further thus their challenge. Villa are rumoured to have £20m to spend in the Summer. Everton could well have Champions League income to boost coffers already full with the return on Wayne Rooney and recently subsidised further by a refinancing package. Bolton could well have European football in the shape of the UEFA Cup to look forward to as well. Already an accomplished outfit, well balanced and organised, they can only get stronger should they bring in new faces. Middlesbrough will have got a taste for European football and will want more of it. Expect good old Steve Gibson to dip his hands into his own pockets once more in the Summer.
And what of Liverpool? The one club, who like Newcastle, are expected to at least fight it out every season for a Champions League spot. Yet having spent over £40m in the Summer, they, like ourselves, still lag way way behind the top three. And they have spent a net total of £25.1m more than we have over the past two seasons. Are they guaranteed a Champions League spot? No they aren't. But they will qualify for Europe next season and they will have more funds via their Champions League exploits to further boost their aspirations of at least reclaiming 4th spot. Next season is already looking a forgone conclusion...
Newcastle on the other hand, even if we are to see £20-25m, will struggle to to truly compete. I'm afraid mid-table mediocrity beckons for a long time, whether Souness stays or goes. Unless the club seeks outside investment or significant funds are to be released that is because that's the type of fix that is needed. Looking at the finances of the club however and the projected forecasts for the coming years, there isn't a lot there. Too much damage in such a short space of time has put the club back years.
The rich are getting richer, the strong are getting stronger and the weak are getting even. Without European football and being unable to fund and attract top quality players, the future for our lot is very bleak indeed.
Perhaps it is time for those running the club to relinquish their badly managed vice like control. We have a magnificent stadium as good as any in the world, gates of 53,000 come rain or shine, a loyal and passionate support and a hot bed of potential talent to tap into. Is there a club with more potential than Newcastle United? Is there a club so beset by the stench of underachievement and doom and gloom?
Freddy Shepherd & Co. now need to stop riding the cash cow they have created from the proceeds of our wallets and do the decent thing by the club and it's supporters. You've made you're money, now kindly get off!
*Source: Nufc.com & Soccerbase.com
http://www.newcastle-online.com/articles/nufcinvest.shtml
dreamer75
24-04-2005, 01:21 AM
" The rich are getting richer, the strong are getting stronger and the weak are getting even. Without European football and being unable to fund and attract top quality players, the future for our lot is very bleak indeed. "
Shadow04
24-04-2005, 03:02 AM
Mauling Session. Round 2. Get Ready to Fight. *Ding Ding*
haha.... sad but true.... :look:
ShaqONeal
24-04-2005, 03:16 AM
chiat lat.. chiat lat.. we r 14th now.. think even after tomolo.. only consolation is we got more games in hand.. but if all those below us team keep winning, then we might get relegated.. sigh..
ShaqONeal
24-04-2005, 03:17 AM
yo Dreamer.
No gathering. Sunday 11 pm too late. No night rider for everybody.
So... sad....
think it's good not to gather too.. sad to see the result.. better rest earlier for a blue Monday..
ShaqONeal
24-04-2005, 03:19 AM
can't remember too.. may b here just not suitable for him..
Shadow04
24-04-2005, 03:30 AM
chiat lat.. chiat lat.. we r 14th now.. think even after tomolo.. only consolation is we got more games in hand.. but if all those below us team keep winning, then we might get relegated.. sigh..
yup... our only consolation(if you call that one) is that we have more games in hand.... but even that is not going to help if we somehow manage to lose all of them...........
dreamer75
24-04-2005, 09:28 AM
think it's good not to gather too.. sad to see the result.. better rest earlier for a blue Monday..
i agree with u :)
Tokieda
24-04-2005, 09:29 AM
hope we at least stop the losing streak.its possible only if o'brien doesnt play.
dreamer75
24-04-2005, 09:29 AM
http://images.thesun.co.uk/picture/0,,2005181236,00.jpg
By CARL LIDDLE
LEE BOWYER has copped an EXTRA three-match ban for thumping team-mate Kieron Dyer.
The Newcastle star is already on a four-game suspension over the pair’s amazing brawl.
FA chiefs also fined Bowyer £30,000 — on top of his whopping £200,000 punishment from Newcastle, who docked him a maximum six weeks wages.
He said: "I’ve had a fair hearing, now I just want to concentrate on getting back playing again. And I will give my all like I do in every other game I play for Newcastle.
"I’m glad I will get to play again this season and, hopefully, we’ll still be playing for something by the time I return."
Bowyer admitted violent conduct after brawling with Dyer during last month’s 3-0 home defeat by Aston Villa.
Both men had three-game bans but Bowyer also misses Sunday's trip to Manchester United because it was his second red card this season.
Friday’s verdict means he sits out games against Middlesbrough, Palace and Fulham.
He will be available for the Toon’s final two matches, at Everton on May 7 and away to Chelsea eight days later.
But the midfielder, 28, clearly fears for his long-term future at the club.
When asked whether he would still be with Newcastle next season he said: "Don’t ask me, ask my chairman."
dreamer75
24-04-2005, 09:41 AM
By Simon Turnbull
24 April 2005
It might just have been coincidence, but on Friday afternoon Graeme Souness had a near-full complement of first-team players in tow at the opening of the Newcastle United Superstore in the south-east corner of St James' Park. Only Lee Bowyer was absent. He was on fighting duty in London - battling, vainly, as it proved, against a Football Association charge of violent conduct.
On his return to Tyneside, with an additional three-match ban, the one-time England midfielder might well have been advised to check out the new club shop. With its two storeys and 1,000 square metres of space, it has ample room for the shelf-load of players Souness is preparing to put on sale this summer.
Asked earlier whether Bowyer had a future at St James' next season, the Newcastle manager replied: "We shall see what the summer brings." Asked whether Nicky Butt had a future, Souness repeated: "We shall see what the summer brings."
It could be that the summer brings a lack of interest in all of the ill-disciplined and underperforming members of the Newcastle squad, but it has become clear in the fall-out from all the controversies, and in the wake of their fall out of the Uefa and FA Cups, that the stock of players deemed surplus to requirements has risen halfway to job-lot proportions. The names of Craig Bellamy and Hugo Viana have already been airbrushed from the squad list in the club programme, and that of Patrick Kluivert is certain to disappear, too, after the lead-swinging Dutchman collects the final £67,000 weekly instalment of his 12-month contract.
The loose-tongued Laurent Robert and the loose-cannon Bowyer would also appear to be on the unwanted list. Then there is Celestine Babayaro, whose lack of commitment since his £1m January move from Chelsea has infuriated the backroom staff at St James' - and Butt, who would need to make a dramatic recovery from an injury sustained in training on Friday and beat his old team-mates on his own in the Premiership engagement at Old Trafford this afternoon to start winning round the supporters and critics who questioned for which United he was playing in the 4-1 FA Cup semi-final defeat against Man-chester United last Sunday. There are question marks, too, about Kieron Dyer, Darren Ambrose and Andy O'Brien.
In an effort to draw a definitive line under a season undermined from within, Souness has drawn up a new code of conduct for Newcastle players - and a long list of new players he would like at the club. Significantly, he has also carried out background checks on his potential recruits. "We've already done all of our checks," he said. "You find out as much as you can about players' characters before you spend big money and commit to four- and five-year contracts."
Asked how many "bad eggs" it took to spoil a dressing room, Souness added: "I'm not talking about Bellamy or any other individual, but if you have a bad one and a few sympathetic ears then you have a problem. We will sort it out for next year... For us to be successful, we can't continue like we have been. We can't have another season like this. Let's see what new faces are here and what faces are not. Let's see what sort of squad we have to work with."
Back in September, Souness proclaimed that the squad he inherited from Sir Bobby Robson was "probably the best I have ever worked with". Seven months on, the same squad has become a collection of misfits to rival Clark Gable, Marilyn Monroe and Montgomery Clift. Ironically, two members of the cast already cast aside on loan are playing starring roles in teams still on the trail of silverware. Bellamy lines up for Celtic at Ibrox today, on course for a Scottish League and Cup double. Viana returns to Uefa Cup duty for Sporting Lisbon in the first leg of their semi-final at home to AZ Alkmaar on Thursday, having been prevented by the terms of his loan arrangement from playing against Newcastle in the quarter-finals.
The Portuguese midfielder leapt out of the home dugout to hug the Sporting players when the final whistle confirmed Newcastle's 4-1 defeat in the Estadio Jose Alvalade 10 days ago. His nominal clubmates from Tyneside lost their last hope of silverware with their 4-1 defeat in Cardiff three days later. And now, after an injury-time loss at Norwich on Wednesday, they have to face Manchester United again today. Still, at least history could be on their side. The last time Newcastle beat the Mancunian United at Old Trafford came precisely seven days after a similarly painful FA Cup humiliation - the loss to the part-timers of Hereford back in 1972.
"Yeah, it's been a tough few weeks," Shola Ameobi, scorer of last Sunday's hollow consolation goal, reflected, "but we want to get one back over them. We'll be going to Old Trafford to fight like hell." On the evidence of seven days ago, Fergie's Red Devils could well make it a hellish fight for Souness's team and for Ameobi - who happens to be the son of a Christian minister, and one Newcastle player who never needed a character check.
dreamer75
24-04-2005, 09:50 AM
Sunderland won promotion back to the Premiership after they beat Leicester City 2-1 and rivals Ipswich Town were held to a 1-1 draw at Leeds
Tokieda
24-04-2005, 10:44 AM
Sunderland won promotion back to the Premiership after they beat Leicester City 2-1 and rivals Ipswich Town were held to a 1-1 draw at Leeds
good, another defeat looming next season :look:
martinweng
24-04-2005, 10:45 AM
wah lao...not again..
the last pressure we need is to fight against another arch rival at EPL
dreamer75
24-04-2005, 11:16 AM
be prepared for derby matches next season...
dreamer75
24-04-2005, 11:16 AM
United are unbeaten at home and have never lost in the Premiership to Newcastle at Old Trafford, but they are ending season with the same patchy form that they started with.
a 2-0 loss for us (Toon)....:(
ShaqONeal
24-04-2005, 11:52 AM
hope we at least stop the losing streak.its possible only if o'brien doesnt play.
it's whole team disappointing.. not really obrien.. even Shearer shud take the blame.. not to say Souness or Sherperd..
ShaqONeal
24-04-2005, 11:52 AM
go to Hell SOuness... go to Hell... i hate Sounes..
hello8985
24-04-2005, 12:04 PM
i still have confidence in CASTLE!
revenant
24-04-2005, 12:46 PM
Nice try man. I already given up hope.
Next season when they are better than I will post more.
Shadow04
24-04-2005, 01:48 PM
wah lao...not again..
the last pressure we need is to fight against another arch rival at EPL
yup..... the last thing we need is to face our arch-rival in the epl................. :s27:
cant be avioded though... they(sunderland) have had a great season(unlike us)... just hope they can go down the same season they came up...
Shadow04
24-04-2005, 01:49 PM
nice to see some postive toon fan...
i myself lost hope for this season ever since our knock-out from the UEFA cup....
Shadow04
24-04-2005, 01:50 PM
United are unbeaten at home and have never lost in the Premiership to Newcastle at Old Trafford, but they are ending season with the same patchy form that they started with.
a 2-0 loss for us (Toon)....:(
my take 3-0....
ShaqONeal
24-04-2005, 02:29 PM
nice to see some postive toon fan...
i myself lost hope for this season ever since our knock-out from the UEFA cup....
yah.. i hope i can too.. but i still give up liao..
dreamer75
24-04-2005, 03:36 PM
me also given up hope liao...
dreamer75
24-04-2005, 08:55 PM
Bernard shld b coming back to us since Saints might be relegated?
Shadow04
24-04-2005, 08:59 PM
Bernard shld b coming back to us since Saints might be relegated?
:s22: :s22:
scarly he rather go down with Southampton than come back here to face Souness.... we prolly will get relegated nxt season IF we are still under Souness anyway.... :s22: :s22:
Tokieda
24-04-2005, 09:33 PM
i am all set for relegation battle...europe is so distant
Korn123
24-04-2005, 10:45 PM
please tell me wat souness is thinking... wat kind of midfield is this??? SACK HIM!!!!!!
http://img134.echo.cx/img134/8185/image04242242tv416sz.jpg
dreamer75
24-04-2005, 10:51 PM
piang eh......crap midfield....
Korn123
24-04-2005, 10:54 PM
This is ABSOLUTELY RIDICULOUS!!!! Dyer not playing? Robert on bench?? Kluivert too??? C'mon man.. Look at the horrible midfield!!!! No experience at all!! Butt dropped summore.... WTF....
Bloody shifty eyes..... STFU u ass hole... When asked by the reporter if 'this is payback', bloody souney dunno wat to answer... Of COS LA... Simi lan?
http://img199.echo.cx/img199/2324/image04242255tv497ir.jpg
dreamer75
24-04-2005, 11:03 PM
really wtf is Souness is thinking manz??!!!!!
Shadow04
24-04-2005, 11:04 PM
wtf is Ramage?
the midfield is total crap.... i take back my words.... 3-0 is not a possiblity... comfirm more than that.... midfield belong to MU liao..... comfim tio chop till siao... :s27:
Korn123
24-04-2005, 11:07 PM
I heard something... Dyer available but not selected... Butt available but not selected....
I dun wan NUFC to beat MU... Better that we suffer a loss now than to wreck our next season... I wan us to lose... and lose badly... so that the guys will bay for his head...
Shadow04
24-04-2005, 11:08 PM
This is ABSOLUTELY RIDICULOUS!!!! Dyer not playing? Robert on bench?? Kluivert too??? C'mon man.. Look at the horrible midfield!!!! No experience at all!! Butt dropped summore.... WTF....
Bloody shifty eyes..... STFU u ass hole... When asked by the reporter if 'this is payback', bloody souney dunno wat to answer... Of COS LA... Simi lan?
http://img199.echo.cx/img199/2324/image04242255tv497ir.jpg
see his lan jiao face also sian... :s27: :s27:
dreamer75
24-04-2005, 11:18 PM
Newcastle United
Players :
1 Shay Given
3 Robbie Elliott
2 Stephen Carr
6 J. Boumsong
5 Andy O'Brien
16 James Milner
17 Darren Ambrose
14 Charles N'Zogbia
42 Craig Ramage
23 Shola Ameobi
9 Alan Shearer
Substitutes :
11 Patrick Kluivert
32 Laurent Robert
39 Martin Brittain
12 Steve Harper
22 Jamie McClen
dreamer75
24-04-2005, 11:38 PM
Woeful clearance by Tim Howard and Ambrose intercepts... bustles past Brown and slots it home!!
1-0!!!!
dreamer75
24-04-2005, 11:41 PM
Robbie Elliott really in bad shape now..a bit worried...
Shadow04
25-04-2005, 12:02 AM
!!!!!!!! we actually lead 1-0 in HT?
omg.... unbeliveable... let's see if we can hold on to it then...
feitz
25-04-2005, 12:06 AM
!!!!!!!! we actually lead 1-0 in HT?
omg.... unbeliveable... let's see if we can hold on to it then...
we wouldnt hold on to it and souness is going to cook up some excuses to cover for it. he can seriously count his days as newcastle boss....
Shadow04
25-04-2005, 12:30 AM
we wouldnt hold on to it and souness is going to cook up some excuses to cover for it. he can seriously count his days as newcastle boss....
if losing at old tradford can cost Souness his job, then it is a small price to pay.....
edit: haha.. equalised liao......
Fresnel
25-04-2005, 12:50 AM
woohoo ManU scored....now Souness..WHO"S YOUR DADDY YOU FAR_KING UGLY SOB , NEWC DESTROYER , LAMEAS(S) <F((U)))CKSHI))T....ARRGHHH CANNOT TAKE IT LIAO...BLOOD BURSTING FROM MY VESSELS!!!
ZhiQiang
25-04-2005, 12:50 AM
4 more minutes... pls manu pls score another one to thrash newcastle!!!
ZhiQiang
25-04-2005, 12:53 AM
score pls, MANU pls score!!!
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.