View Full Version : Newcastle United - Toontalk
fatally
27-06-2005, 08:15 PM
hi daveaha, i'm interested in ordering a XXL jersey. thks thks
ShaqONeal
27-06-2005, 10:38 PM
r u all sure to take XXL.. very big lei.. if not mistaken, i used to take L before and that's quite big for me although the neck size just nice for me..
i am 170cm and about 56-60kg...
ShaqONeal
27-06-2005, 10:39 PM
I think you may want to take L.
Not because of your chest width, but your height.
I wear L a little bit larger. My size is in between M and L, but prefer L.
The deadline is 7th of July. Have lots of time to think about it...
i am still considering it.. :D
o0SpaceY0o
27-06-2005, 10:44 PM
Me 177cm 49kg...Still dunno which size to take....Dave can enlighten us here???
ShaqONeal
27-06-2005, 10:46 PM
Me 177cm 49kg...Still dunno which size to take....Dave can enlighten us here???
think L should b okay... bcos the shirt quite long.. if not, may b u can go to those sport shop and try see see the jersey there which size suit u.. ;)
ShaqONeal
27-06-2005, 10:47 PM
No climbdown in prospect on Bellamy future Jun 27 2005
By Miles Starforth, The Evening Chronicle
Craig Bellamy is on a collision course with Graeme Souness when he returns to training - with the Newcastle United manager having ruled out a U-turn over the striker.
Bellamy revealed last week that he will report back for training a week today determined to salvage his St James' Park career.
The Wales forward was sent out on loan to Celtic in January after his public fall-out with Souness, and Bellamy had been expected to move on permanently in the summer with several Premiership clubs keen to sign him.
But having said he will train with Newcastle's youngsters if necessary, all eyes will be on United's training ground when the players report back.
Souness is not about to offer an olive branch to Bellamy even if he apologises.
A source said: "Graeme's position and attitude as far as Bellamy is concerned has not changed in any shape or form."
Bellamy (pictured) has two years left on his St James' Park contract and as it stands he is keen to honour it, having seemingly ruled out moves to Aston Villa and Everton, and the 25-year-old knows he will be putting Souness in a difficult position.
In the Chronicle's end-of-season poll, supporters were split 50-50 as to whether Bellamy should ever pull on a black-and- white shirt again.
Souness, who is interested in Middlesbrough's Mark Viduka, has so far failed to bring in a striker this summer.
And although he will be without Shola Ameobi until late August following his hip operation, leaving him short of options for the Intertoto Cup and first few weeks of the season, Souness has already ruled out a change of heart on Bellamy.
o0SpaceY0o
27-06-2005, 10:48 PM
think L should b okay... bcos the shirt quite long.. if not, may b u can go to those sport shop and try see see the jersey there which size suit u.. ;)
Hmm i think i will decide on size L bah... :s12:
coz i got a england jersey i took XL kinda long for me wen i wear long pants not nice...so for this i think L shub be just nice and cosy ;)
matoriv
27-06-2005, 11:37 PM
how much is e jersey?
e link to e other forums seems to be dead
daveaha
28-06-2005, 12:00 AM
Honestly, since it's still around 2 weeks before the closing of the order,
It's best if those of you who still have doubt about their sizing to give the toon jersey a try.
It's to avoid the wrong sizing. I think you guys don't always think about the width of the jersey. Give a thought that if you're tall, the jersey need to be long enough also...
martinweng
28-06-2005, 07:35 AM
im 178-181 (the number keep changing)
weight is 80-84kg (changing too)
martinweng
28-06-2005, 07:36 AM
http://www.soccervillage.co.uk/images/2005newcastlehomel.jpg
i am still debating whether to buy or not, any deadline?
adidas + newcastle logo = worth it.
but northern rock quite sian leh..a.villa oso northern rock?
o0SpaceY0o
28-06-2005, 01:07 PM
Honestly, since it's still around 2 weeks before the closing of the order,
It's best if those of you who still have doubt about their sizing to give the toon jersey a try.
It's to avoid the wrong sizing. I think you guys don't always think about the width of the jersey. Give a thought that if you're tall, the jersey need to be long enough also...
Hmm dave u mean the jersey is out in stores??? Where can i get my hands on it so that i can give it a try to know my size before i place order here...
ShaqONeal
28-06-2005, 01:17 PM
Souey will take 'em down
ROBERT ... criticised Souness
Interview by DAVID BARNES
LAURENT ROBERT last night launched a savage attack on Newcastle boss Graeme Souness.
In an explosive interview, the French star claimed Souness: Could take the Geordies down.
Tokieda
28-06-2005, 04:59 PM
Robert: Souness Will Relegate Toon
http://www.football365.co.uk/mediastore/Story_Images/Gallery/New_Newcastle/robert110.jpg
Laurent Robert has claimed Newcastle manager Graeme Souness should be sacked after branding his former boss "childish".
The French winger recently ended his controversial spell in the north-east by joining Portsmouth. The 30-year-old fell out with Souness soon after the Scot took over at St James' Park last season and criticism of his team-mates and coaching staff spelled the end of his time at Newcastle.
But Robert told The Sun: "Souness put kids in the team and left me on the bench to annoy me. He's just a child. If he keeps going like he has been he'll quite simply get fired. And he'll deserve it."
He added: "We would have won the UEFA Cup last season if Souness had possessed the intelligence."
sell already, still like that! who's the childish one?
ShaqONeal
28-06-2005, 10:18 PM
http://www.football365.co.uk/mediastore/Story_Images/Gallery/New_Newcastle/robert110.jpg
Laurent Robert has claimed Newcastle manager Graeme Souness should be sacked after branding his former boss "childish".
The French winger recently ended his controversial spell in the north-east by joining Portsmouth. The 30-year-old fell out with Souness soon after the Scot took over at St James' Park last season and criticism of his team-mates and coaching staff spelled the end of his time at Newcastle.
But Robert told The Sun: "Souness put kids in the team and left me on the bench to annoy me. He's just a child. If he keeps going like he has been he'll quite simply get fired. And he'll deserve it."
He added: "We would have won the UEFA Cup last season if Souness had possessed the intelligence."
only time will tell...
ShaqONeal
28-06-2005, 10:19 PM
United step up Luis bid Jun 28 2005
Newcastle United are closing in on Fulham's Luis Boa Morte, with Graeme Souness determined to land the midfielder at the second time of asking.
Both Boa Morte and Edwin van der Sar signed extended contracts in January, scuppering the Magpies' original bid for the Portuguese winger, as Fulham attempted to stave off relegation from the Premiership.
But the Chronicle understands the pair were told they would be allowed to leave in the summer for the right price - and Van der Sar has already quit Fulham for Manchester United.
Now Boa Morte is ready to follow suit, with the 28-year-old on both Newcastle and Liverpool's summer shopping lists.
Souness is looking for a left- winger, having let Laurent Robert leave St James' Park, while Rafa Benitez needs a player to replace out-of-form Harry Kewell in his Champions League-winning team.
Coleman said in January that United would not be able to afford Boa Morte, but a fee of £2-3m could land the former Arsenal and Southampton man.
Souness, meanwhile, is playing his cards close to his chest, and said: "Hopefully come the start of the season we will have a few new faces, that is as much as I can tell the supporters at this time."
Chairman Freddy Shepherd, meanwhile, has been working hard behind the scenes, and is still in negotiations with Inter Milan over midfielder Emre.
*United's Charles N'Zogbia attended a seven-hour hearing in Switzerland yesterday as his former club Le Havre appealed against a FIFA ruling ordering the Magpies to pay compensation for the French teenager at the Court for Arbitration in Sport. Le Havre insist they want the player back instead.
The 19-year-old midfielder made 19 appearances last season after joining from Le Havre and is free to continue his St James' Park career while a decision, which could take a month, is awaited.
*Bookmakers SkyBet have opened a book on which club Craig Bellamy will be at on August 13, when the Premiership season kicks off.
Odds of 9/2 are given for Bellamy to be at Newcastle, while Everton (7/4) are favourites to have the striker. Prices are also given for Celtic, Aston Villa, Blackburn Rovers, Manchester City and Birmingham City by the bookies.
Meanwhile, the odds on Graeme Souness being the first managerial casualty of the season have tumbled in recent days, with SkyBet having cut theirs from 14/1 to 7/1.
Fresnel
28-06-2005, 10:39 PM
WTF BUY BOA MOTRE?!??!?! IS HE NUTS?!?!? WE ALReaDY LOADED At MID!!!
o0SpaceY0o
29-06-2005, 01:02 AM
Any 1 know which shop in SG has the lastest Newcastle jersey so that i can try and know my size???
dreamer75
29-06-2005, 01:20 AM
Laurent Robert's tumultuous Newcastle United career has ended acrimoniously with the 30-year-old being fined two weeks wages for insulting manager Graeme Souness.
The winger, a fans' favourite during his four years at the club since signing from French side Paris St Germain, will join Premiership rivals Portsmouth this week on a season-long loan with a permanent two-year deal following when his contract at Newcastle expires.
His move to the south coast only comes into force on Friday and his current employers fired a parting shot at the talented Frenchman following a scathing attack on the Magpies boss in Tuesday's Sun newspaper.
The club announced on its website: "Newcastle United today fined Laurent Robert two weeks' wages for a breach of club discipline.
"It follows a newspaper article containing comments attributed to the Frenchman criticising Magpies manager Graeme Souness.
"Both the player and Portsmouth, where Robert will play next season, will be notified of the decision."
Robert had branded his manager "childish" and claimed he should be sacked.
"Souness put kids in the team and left me on the bench to annoy me. He's just a child," fumed Robert.
"We would have won the UEFA Cup last season if Souness had possessed the intelligence.
"If he keeps going like he has been he'll quite simply get fired. And he'll deserve it."
The pair clashed soon after the Scot took over at St James' Park last season with Robert's frequent outbursts, criticising team-mates and the coaching staff, landing him in hot water with his fiery manager.
The temperamental midfielder has often fallen out with managers frustrated at his lack of work ethic.
Inter Milan's Turkish midfielder Emre Belozolglu looks set to replace the Frenchman at the club as Newcastle are said to be in negotiations with the Italian giants.
They are understood to have agreed personal terms with the 24-year-old and look set to beat Everton to his signature, just as they did with the signing of Scott Parker from Cheslea.
Fresnel
29-06-2005, 08:13 PM
newc jersey not released yet in SGP
o0SpaceY0o
29-06-2005, 10:26 PM
newc jersey not released yet in SGP
thanks fres.....
o0SpaceY0o
29-06-2005, 10:28 PM
Any way dave....i have decided on the size. I will take L, pls check your PM thanks.
daveaha
29-06-2005, 10:59 PM
Yo people,
All your order has been noted down.
Please, re-check your order in our main list (I'm having hard times to maintain the main list and HWZ list), so do visit this link and let me know if your order has not been taken correctly.
Link :
http://nufcsg.proboards3.com/index.cgi?action=display&board=general&thread=1113266915&page=3
PS : I indicate the order from HWZ with (confirmed - HWZ)
martinweng
29-06-2005, 11:07 PM
Yo people,
All your order has been noted down.
Please, re-check your order in our main list (I'm having hard times to maintain the main list and HWZ list), so do visit this link and let me know if your order has not been taken correctly.
Link :
http://nufcsg.proboards3.com/index.cgi?action=display&board=general&thread=1113266915&page=3
PS : I indicate the order from HWZ with (confirmed - HWZ)
dave i wanted a XXL. not M :D
daveaha
30-06-2005, 12:32 AM
dave i wanted a XXL. not M :D
changed.
but... r u sure ? XXL is huge !
martinweng
30-06-2005, 07:39 AM
changed.
but... r u sure ? XXL is huge !
ya lor..i dunno leh..
im not a small man either..
its either XL or XXL for me.
how about giving me 1 more day, i do last reconfirmation wif u?
martinweng
30-06-2005, 08:11 PM
ok dave..i take XL. check the sizing liao. :D
ShaqONeal
30-06-2005, 10:08 PM
Tottenham ace is Keane on a move to Toon Jun 30 2005
Robbie Keane has sounded out three of his Republic of Ireland team-mates about a move to Newcastle United.
The Magpies' retain an interest in the Tottenham Hotspur striker, with chairman Freddy Shepherd and manager Graeme Souness desperate to bring a big-name centre forward to St James' Park before the start of the season.
Keane asked Shay Given, Stephen Carr and Andy O'Brien about the set-up at St James' while on international duty earlier this month.
Last season the former Inter Milan and Leeds United man was relegated to the bench on several occasions, boss Martin Jol partnering Jermaine Defoe with Freddie Kanoute up front. The 24-year-old, who is approaching the final year of his contract, is ready to call time on his White Hart Lane career after three years at the North London club.
Souness, meanwhile, faces going into next month's Intertoto Cup campaign with just Alan Shearer and Michael Chopra as available strikers.
Shola Ameobi is out until at least the end of August following an end-of-season hip operation.
Craig Bellamy remains on Newcastle United's books, though Souness is not about to do a U-turn and bring him back into the fold.
Souness' only other option is to deploy midfielder Kieron Dyer as a forward, as he did on several occasions last season.
o0SpaceY0o
30-06-2005, 10:25 PM
ok dave..i take XL. check the sizing liao. :D
martin where u check yr sizing at?
martinweng
01-07-2005, 01:36 PM
martin where u check yr sizing at?
i juz measure nia leh..but bcoz of difference in uk sizing as well, so nvm, i'll take a risk in XL :D
Theychosenone
01-07-2005, 02:44 PM
Robbie Keane??? Faster lah Sourness take him!! :s27:
studmufn
01-07-2005, 03:21 PM
sounnes is a real dumb cock.
robert's remarks are quite true.
dbchoong
01-07-2005, 09:11 PM
Spurs are reported to be linked to Christian Vieri after he's parted with Inter. So, it could be a good indication that Spurs are preparing to let Robbie Keane go.
:)
matoriv
01-07-2005, 11:57 PM
1 L nufc jersey pls
dreamer75
02-07-2005, 01:05 AM
Newcastle United manager Graeme Souness has confirmed he has failed with enquiries for Alan Smith and Christian Vieri, the club's official website was told today. Vieri, released by Inter Milan, and Smith of Man United have both been linked with moves to Premiership clubs.
Newcastle are struggling for firepower leading into their Intertoto Cup campaign, with veteran skipper Alan Shearer and rookie Michael Chopra the only fully-fit senior forwards available for selection. After Patrick Kluivert's release, Shola Ameobi is injured and Craig Bellamy is not believed to be part of Souness' first-team plans.
Vieri's contract was surprisingly cancelled by mutual consent after six years at Inter Milan, with the Italian international known to be of interest to Spurs.
"We did inquire about Christian Vieri," Souness told Newcastle's official website.
"I got a mutual friend to have a word with the player but it appears he wants to go to Spain.
"We made an inquiry for Alan Smith also but were told there is nothing doing."
Alan Smith was linked with Newcastle even before his controversial move from Leeds United last summer, but is understood to be willing to fight for a first-team place after an injury-plagued season under Ferguson.
Italian sources contradict Souness by claiming Vieri is attracted by a possible move to England, with Spurs touted as possible suitors. Vieri, who is Australian by birth, has often intimated that he would like to play in England.
He has, however, had a prior period in Spain with Atletico Madrid. Atleti signed Mateja Kezman from Chelsea last week and are under pressure to sell star striker Fernando Torres, so a return could be on the cards.
http://www.eurosport.com/home/pages/v4/l0/s22/e10028/sport_lng0_spo22_evt10028_sto737592.shtml
daveaha
02-07-2005, 01:26 AM
1 L nufc jersey pls
If you don't mind, maybe you may want to refer to the earlier post...
Well, at least you may want to give me your name (real name, not nick), and also your handphone for start...
dreamer75
02-07-2005, 08:35 AM
NEWCASTLE boss Graeme Souness is ready to turn his attentions to Robbie Keane at Spurs after a double snub in his search for a new striker.
chopra
02-07-2005, 01:39 PM
65 SINGAPORE dollars right? Not pounds right?
Dave can i order a polo teeshirt as well?
http://shop.nufc.co.uk/product.pasp?txtProductID=162157
I'll give you my confirmation latest by tonight =) Cheers!
Tokieda
02-07-2005, 01:50 PM
NEWCASTLE boss Graeme Souness is ready to turn his attentions to Robbie Keane at Spurs after a double snub in his search for a new striker.
he's even worse than bellamy
Fresnel
02-07-2005, 09:01 PM
wah lau if can order polo t shirt i oso want! Me ! Me ! me! At least can wear to office w/o looking too unprofessional! haahahah
dreamer75
02-07-2005, 11:12 PM
wow, the white polo t-shirt quite nice hor..
http://shop.nufc.co.uk/sites/newcastle/images/Products/162157_B.jpg
matoriv
02-07-2005, 11:45 PM
Well, at least you may want to give me your name (real name, not nick), and also your handphone for start...
pmed u my details..
chopra
03-07-2005, 07:25 AM
dave: nvm. i've given my details in the nufc forum liao.
dreamer75: yea! that one! NICE RIGHT!! But the only problem is Singapore doesnt sell it. So if you wear outside, ppl might think that it's chiong stuff from pasar malam. Thus, i've decided to drop the idea of buying it. :D
ShaqONeal
03-07-2005, 02:45 PM
dave: nvm. i've given my details in the nufc forum liao.
dreamer75: yea! that one! NICE RIGHT!! But the only problem is Singapore doesnt sell it. So if you wear outside, ppl might think that it's chiong stuff from pasar malam. Thus, i've decided to drop the idea of buying it. :D
why care wat other ppl think??
ShaqONeal
04-07-2005, 10:33 AM
any updates on the player transfers??
sian lei... like nobody wanna come to St James Park or we dun hav $$ to buy one like tat..
why bcos we sell too cheap?? :o
dreamer75
04-07-2005, 02:54 PM
FOOTBALL: TEXT MESSAGE FOR BELLAMY: U R H8ED
CRAIG BELLAMY is heading towards an awkward confrontation with Alan Shearer as the pair return to training with Newcastle United today.
Shearer and his team-mates have not forgotten the scornful and gloating text messages that Bellamy sent after their FA Cup exit against Manchester United.
And the Welshman's presence at the training ground is destined to create an ugly atmosphere, even though manager Graeme Souness will order him to train with the juniors.
Bellamy's showdown with Souness and the players was ensured once chairman Freddy Shepherd failed yesterday in a desperate last-ditch attempt to offload him to Celtic or Everton. Shepherd had further talks with Celtic chief executive Peter Lawwell, but there are still major obstacles to the move.
Shepherd remained adamant that Bellamy won't be allowed to leave on loan and Celtic are not prepared to pay the asking fee of £6million for the striker who joined them on loan after branding Souness a liar. Now Shepherd will have to consider slashing Bellamy's price tag by a third to prompt a move from the Scottish club or Everton, who are also deterred by the striker's £40,000-a-week pay demands.
But the reaction of his team-mates and the furore surrounding his return today is likely to convince thestriker it's time to go
dreamer75
04-07-2005, 02:55 PM
Newcastle manager Graeme Souness admits he will do well to stay in the job for another year.
The Scot is the bookies' favourite to be the first Barclays Premiership boss sacked in the new season.
He has endured a turbulent first 10 months at St James' Park since succeeding Sir Bobby Robson.
But Souness has vowed face up to the challenge and run the club his way.
"If I last another 12 months in this job I will have done well," Souness told the News of the World.
"I have to be strong and certainly won't turn my back on this challenge.
"There is only one way I will go about it - my way. I have got to be strong and be my own man.
"There have to be standards of discipline on the training field and a code of conduct at the club."
Tokieda
04-07-2005, 04:05 PM
any updates on the player transfers??
sian lei... like nobody wanna come to St James Park or we dun hav $$ to buy one like tat..
why bcos we sell too cheap?? :o
who wanna come with only intertoto cup competition and uefa later?
who wanna buy when all the players are troublemakers? non trouble-makers already snapped up..
ShaqONeal
04-07-2005, 10:27 PM
Souness frustrated at lack of signings Jul 2 2005
Graeme souness today admitted his frustration at a lack of progress in the summer transfer market - but insisted there is still time to bolster his squad.
The bulk of Newcastle United's players report back to the club's training ground on Monday, with those on international duty last month returning a week later.
But former Chelsea midfielder Scott Parker will be the only new face among them, Souness and chairman Freddy Shepherd having been frustrated so far in their efforts to bring up to half a dozen new players to the club.
Souness' bid to sign Inter Milan midfielder Emre is currently stalled over the 24-year-old's fee, while there has been slow progress on other deals.
Yesterday a report suggested that Souness and Shepherd were at "loggerheads" over the Magpies' transfer policy, but Souness played down talk of a rift and instead insisted that there was still plenty of time to strengthen his squad.
"You want to bring players in early - but there's still time as the start of the season's a long way off," said Souness.
"Hopefully there will be a few new faces before the start of the season. We have a list of targets and the chairman's working hard to bring new players to this football club."
But Souness, despite his depleted striking resources, is not about to do a U-turn over controversial striker Craig Bellamy, who returns from his summer holiday in Majorca tonight in time for the first day of pre-season training.
Bellamy, determined to salvage his St James' Park career after his loan spell at Celtic, could yet issue a formal apology for his actions and put the ball firmly in Souness' court.
However, there has been no softening of Souness' stance towards a player he has said on more than one occasion can never play for him again.
Souness, meanwhile, has given several of his internationals - including Jermaine Jenas, Shay Given and Stephen Carr - an extra week's holiday.
He said: "It's going to be a long, hard season again and we'll be playing a lot of games. We could be playing even more with the Intertoto Cup. There will be two groups coming back. Some are back next week, and some are back a week later."
r u kidding?? plenty of time?? i think there is not much time for u to leave..
matoriv
05-07-2005, 02:00 PM
hi dave,
pmed u my details a few days ago..
checked e nufcsingapore board but my name is still not in it..
o0SpaceY0o
05-07-2005, 06:29 PM
Two more days for the ordering to stop...Has the jersey appear in SG yet???
dreamer75
05-07-2005, 06:42 PM
even Emre transfer is not confirmed/completed...sian..
o0SpaceY0o
05-07-2005, 08:00 PM
even Emre transfer is not confirmed/completed...sian..
ya loh...wanna come come lah drag so lnog for what...
chopra
05-07-2005, 09:52 PM
matoriv: register a nick inside and dyi. time is running out
dreamer75
05-07-2005, 11:32 PM
wah seh...desperate move is it?
Toon eye Saha loan move!!
Newcastle United have been alerted to the fact that Sir Alex Ferguson is willing to let Louis Saha leave Old Trafford on a long-term loan.
The Manchester United striker has been touted around the Premiership, with Ferguson looking for Saha, who started just seven league games in an injury-ravaged 2004/05 campaign, to prove his fitness on a season-long loan.
Graeme Souness is looking to bring two strikers to St James' Park this summer, and former Magpie Saha could yet return to St James' Park.
As a raw prospect, the Frenchman spent almost five months on loan at Newcastle from Metz in the 1998/99 season, famously scoring the only goal of the game in United's FA Cup fifth- round replay at Blackburn Rovers.
But Ruud Gullit was unable to do a deal to bring Saha to St James' at the end of his loan, and he returned to France for a season before joining Fulham.
The Cottagers sold Saha (pictured) on to Man United for £12.8m in January last year, but after an explosive start to his Old Trafford career, injuries have hampered his progress.
Saha was first offered to Fulham on loan, but the 26-year-old is understood to have vetoed a return to Craven Cottage.
But a return to St James' would be more attractive and, with Souness having so far having failed to bolster his striking resources this summer, a deal could be on for Saha, who is not one of the big earners at Old Trafford.
Meanwhile, Newcastle will also be aware that agent Pini Zahavi has bought out Israel midfielder Yossi Benayoun's contract at Racing Santander.
But while the winger, who scored nine goals in La Liga last season, has been watched by Souness's staff, he is not understood to be one of the Magpies' top summer targets.
And Belgium defender Daniel van Buyten has insisted he is staying at Hamburg, with his £10m price tag having put off Souness.
daveaha
06-07-2005, 12:29 AM
**Today is the last day of ordering.**
We will close the ordering at the end of today's office hour, 6 pm.
People,
please do check the main list for counter checking. We'll order based on the list on our forum.
http://nufcsg.proboards3.com/index.cgi?action=display&board=general&thread=1113266915&page=5
daveaha
06-07-2005, 12:36 AM
Anyway people.
if any of you want to order polo or whatsoever,
Yes, we do order together.
Check the main forum thread :
http://nufcsg.proboards3.com/index.cgi?board=adverts&action=display&thread=1119935248&page=1
ShaqONeal
06-07-2005, 09:47 AM
wah seh...desperate move is it?
Toon eye Saha loan move!!
Newcastle United have been alerted to the fact that Sir Alex Ferguson is willing to let Louis Saha leave Old Trafford on a long-term loan.
The Manchester United striker has been touted around the Premiership, with Ferguson looking for Saha, who started just seven league games in an injury-ravaged 2004/05 campaign, to prove his fitness on a season-long loan.
Graeme Souness is looking to bring two strikers to St James' Park this summer, and former Magpie Saha could yet return to St James' Park.
As a raw prospect, the Frenchman spent almost five months on loan at Newcastle from Metz in the 1998/99 season, famously scoring the only goal of the game in United's FA Cup fifth- round replay at Blackburn Rovers.
But Ruud Gullit was unable to do a deal to bring Saha to St James' at the end of his loan, and he returned to France for a season before joining Fulham.
The Cottagers sold Saha (pictured) on to Man United for £12.8m in January last year, but after an explosive start to his Old Trafford career, injuries have hampered his progress.
Saha was first offered to Fulham on loan, but the 26-year-old is understood to have vetoed a return to Craven Cottage.
But a return to St James' would be more attractive and, with Souness having so far having failed to bolster his striking resources this summer, a deal could be on for Saha, who is not one of the big earners at Old Trafford.
Meanwhile, Newcastle will also be aware that agent Pini Zahavi has bought out Israel midfielder Yossi Benayoun's contract at Racing Santander.
But while the winger, who scored nine goals in La Liga last season, has been watched by Souness's staff, he is not understood to be one of the Magpies' top summer targets.
And Belgium defender Daniel van Buyten has insisted he is staying at Hamburg, with his £10m price tag having put off Souness.
Saha on loan here?? well, although i'm not his fan, but lookin at the current situation, he might b the best choice we can hav for next season, hopefully he will b another Ferdinard for us??
ShaqONeal
06-07-2005, 10:05 AM
Burden on boss just Sou unfair Jul 5 2005
Newcastle manager Graeme Souness has found himself the victim of unrealistic expectations as he attempts to bring the glory days back to Tyneside.
That is the view of John Barnwell, chief executive of the League Managers' Association, following Souness's admission he will do well to survive another 12 months on Tyneside.
The Magpies finished a disappointing 14th in the Barclays Premiership last season.
They also missed out on a glorious opportunity to end their 35-year wait for a trophy when they squandered a 2-0 aggregate lead in the quarter-finals of the UEFA Cup.
Having fallen out with Craig Bellamy and Laurent Robert, the pressure is firmly on Souness as the start of the new campaign approaches, although Barnwell believes that is unfair.
He said: "There are probably a dozen clubs whose main aim is just to stay in the Premiership - not to win it, to stay in it.
"That is realistic but is that acceptable to fans?
"Graeme is at one of those clubs where the desire is perhaps greater than what is realistic and no matter what he does he is not going to change that.
"He will be expected to finish high up that league and be knocking on the door.
"However, I always say, if it was not tough anybody could do it. Nobody forces you to do it - if you do not like it put your coat on and go home."
Even Newcastle chairman Freddy Shepherd, who has seen his last three managers depart in August, admits it is a unique job and the pressure for success is acute after so many barren years.
Barnwell points to Chelsea's Roman Abramovich-inspired revolution as the catalyst for another surge in pressure just when a calm had settled over the Premiership.
He said: "It is not an impossible job but Newcastle are expected by the supporters to be doing better than they are - and any manager who goes up there and says the club is no different to any other is dead in the water before he starts."
matoriv
06-07-2005, 11:50 AM
matoriv: register a nick inside and dyi. time is running out
huh?
dyi?
wat?
o0SpaceY0o
06-07-2005, 08:31 PM
Ordering Closed??
daveaha
07-07-2005, 09:44 AM
Yes, ordering has been closed.
The final list has been laid down on the main forum page.
http://nufcsg.proboards3.com/index.cgi?board=general&action=display&thread=1120700488
Please, check your size, quantity, and handphone number. Let me know if you find anything not right.
Thanks !
ShaqONeal
07-07-2005, 10:02 AM
Belgian giant snubs United Jul 5 2005
By Luke Edwards, The Journal
Newcastle United have received a fresh setback to their grand rebuilding plan with the news that another of their top targets, Daniel van Buyten, has decided to snub the chance of a move to St James's Park.
Graeme Souness was keen to sign the giant 6ft 5in Belgium international defender as a replacement for Andy O'Brien and Aaron Hughes, who have been allowed to leave the club as part of a summer clear-out, joining Portsmouth and Aston Villa respectively.
But, while the 27-year-old Hamburg centre-back made much of Newcastle's interest last month, insisting he was going to become Jean-Alain Boumsong's first-choice partner in the centre of the Magpies' back four, he has now decided to remain in Germany, forcing United's manager to look elsewhere for defensive reinforcements.
"I am going to remain with Hamburg," said van Buyten. "My head and my heart belong here and I'm happy to stay.
"I have a contract until 2008 and I believe this team can do a lot better in the Bundesliga than we did last season."
The rejection of Newcastle's advances is another embarrassment to the Magpies, who have also seen attempts to sign Christian Vieri from Inter Milan and Alan Smith from Manchester United rebuffed. With the transfer of Inter Milan's Turkish international winger Emre also dragging on, despite the fact the United hierarchy believed they had wrapped up the deal last week, Souness' plans have stalled and only Scott Parker has arrived at the club for the start of pre-season.
To make matters worse, Fulham winger Luis Boa Morte has also suggested he will stay at Craven Cottage next season, despite a second attempt by Newcastle to sign him in the space of six months.
With just under six weeks until the start of the season, Souness is still searching for two strikers, a centre-half and two wingers.
The manager's mood will not be helped by the whispers from Merseyside that Everton are prepared to allow Craig Bellamy to return to pre-season training on Tyneside next week, even though they are convinced the Welsh international will move to the club before the start of the season. Bellamy has been given an extra week's holiday by the Newcastle hierarchy and, as revealed in The Journal yesterday, is close to completing a move to Goodison Park.
But, while Souness would like to see the transfer completed as quickly as possible, Everton are prepared to delay things in the hope that Bellamy's price will come down the longer the saga continues.
Toffees manager David Moyes is convinced Bellamy wants to move to Merseyside and he has already rejected the chance of a move to Celtic, despite spending a successful loan spell north of the border following his much-publicised row with Souness last season.
The problem for Newcastle, though, is that Everton are so confident about the player's desire to join them that they are now trying to get him as cheaply as possible.
The Mersysiders are well aware of Bellamy's troubles on Tyneside and Newcastle's desperation to offload him before he returns to training on Monday. As a result they believe they hold the trump card in the haggling.
A Goodison Park source told The Journal: "Craig Bellamy wants to come to Everton and the manager wants him here, but we believe we can get him for less than £6m. There were talks at the weekend and all that remains (to be done) is sorting out the price with Newcastle."
Everton's stance will not go down well within the St James's Park boardroom and Newcastle chairman Freddie Shepherd appears to be ready to hold firm over the asking price. He said: "There is still some way to go, but we have given Craig permission to talk to Everton and Celtic about a possible move.
"We have not agreed a fee, but we do not believe either club will have any problem matching our asking price."
Everton, who have privately admitted they are surprised by Celtic's refusal to admit defeat in their pursuit of the player, fly out to Austria today for a training camp, although Moyes has hinted signings could still be made while they are there.
Moyes' first signing of the summer, former Tottenham midfielder Simon Davies, feels Bellamy's arrival would be a major coup. Davies has played with Bellamy for several years at international level.
And he added said: "I know Craig Bellamy very well and he is a much nicer lad than he has been painted. I hope he does come here."
siow liao... can't imagine wat will we b with Boumsong partnering Bramble for whole season, if one kena injured, then Taylor covered??? sigh.. think next season will b even worse
dreamer75
07-07-2005, 10:27 AM
sigh..........
dreamer75
07-07-2005, 10:27 AM
Viana Accepts Newcastle Return
7/6/2005 2:33:00 PM
Hugo Viana has confirmed that he'll be returning to Newcastle and insists he has no problem with the decision.
The 22-year-old suffered a frustrating time in the North East of England following an £8.5m move from Sporting Lisbon, but he returned to form with the Portuguese club during a season-long loan spell last season.
However, the Uefa Cup finalists have decided against signing the player permanently and consequently he will be back at St James' Park this season.
He told the Newcastle Journal: "I’ve accepted I’ll return to Newcastle on Monday and I’m very relaxed.
"I’m contracted to the club for another three years and that’s not a problem."
However, while he is aware that the Magpies have been trying hard to overload him he is determined to get himself into Graeme Souness' squad.
"Everybody knows United have tried to transfer me this summer but I do not expect the club to sell me for next to nothing," Viana said.
"The chairman has done everything in his power to make things happen, but it is all quiet.
"Now I am only thinking about the Intertoto Cup and my aim is to make the first squad.
"I always said I was proud to wear the black-and-white stripes and that has never changed. This is a second chance for me.
"I played for Portugal’s Under-21s last month so I have stayed fit and healthy over the summer.
"If the manager still wants to sell me then other clubs can have a look at what I can offer."
dreamer75
07-07-2005, 10:28 AM
Emre to Newcastle off?
By European Football - July 6 2005
While I hate to be the bearer of bad news, particularly when it involves Newcastle United, but according to the Italian press this evening, the move at least as far as Inter are concerned is off.
And while Emre is still likely to leave the San Siro, all the talk now is of a move to Fenerbahce.
No reason has been given and speaking as a Newcastle fan I hope there is yet a change of heart and we do see Emre in Black and White next season, but as things stand in Italy tonight it is appearing doubtful.
http://www.sportnetwork.net/main/s342/st76533.htm?fromrss=1
dreamer75
07-07-2005, 10:30 AM
Newcastle United connected as Barca prepare to loa
By European Football - July 6 2005
Newcastle United are being connected with a possible loan deal for FC Barcelona’s Argentine striker Javier Saviola, by the Spanish media today.
Atletico Madrid and Espanyol are also comected, but it is thought that Barcelona would prefer to send the player abroad, wherever he ends off, one thing is certain and that is he will be loaned out with the club's soccer director, Aitor "Txiki" Begiristain stating:
"Saviola serves Barcelona, but for this Barcelona other players serve better."
Souness is of course looking to strengthen Newcastle’s forward line ahead of the new season, and putting aside impartiality for a moment, I think this would be a hell of a coup should he pull it off.
http://www.sportnetwork.net/main/s342/st76500.htm
dreamer75
08-07-2005, 12:19 AM
Bellamy seals Rovers switch
Blackburn have completed the signing of Newcastle striker Craig Bellamy for an undisclosed fee.
The 25-year-old fell out with Magpies manager Graeme Souness earlier this year and spent the second half of last season on loan at Celtic.
The Scottish side, along with Everton and Aston Villa, were interested in signing Bellamy but the player has opted to link up again with Mark Hughes, who was his manager for Wales until, coincidentally, he moved to Ewood Park to replace Souness last season.
"Rovers have today completed the signing of Craig Bellamy. The Wales international has signed a four-year deal," said a statement by Blackburn.
Coolsmurf
08-07-2005, 08:26 AM
goodbye bellamy!!! i was hoping that there would be a turnaround since they put off his return...
please get your transfer targets souey!!! only parker in, the squad has been decimated by sell sell sell policy!!!
we dun even have a decent first XI for the intertoto!
martinweng
08-07-2005, 10:24 AM
goodbye bellamy!!! i was hoping that there would be a turnaround since they put off his return...
please get your transfer targets souey!!! only parker in, the squad has been decimated by sell sell sell policy!!!
later we withdraw from Intertoto bcoz we dun have 16 players.
dreamer75
08-07-2005, 10:35 AM
really man..sell sell policy..
LATEST!!! WTH!!
Charlton are in talks to sign Newcastle ace Darren Ambrose.
The Magpies have agreed an undisclosed fee with The Addicks for Ambrose and they have given the London outfit permission to talk to the player.
http://skysports.planetfootball.com/list.asp?hlid=290083&CPID=8&CLID=4&lid=&title=Addicks+in+Ambrose+talks&channel=premiership
dreamer75
08-07-2005, 10:37 AM
Bellamy's transfer fee is belived to be ard £5m..
He is worth more than that amount. Newcastle having lelong sale
dreamer75
08-07-2005, 02:01 PM
He is worth more than that amount. Newcastle having lelong sale
sell sell sell...lelong lelong... :s27:
Fresnel
09-07-2005, 01:24 AM
we are descending into Anarchy......this is ridiculous...
Tokieda
09-07-2005, 12:33 PM
the latest is ambrose has departed as well
are there enuff players !!!!!!!
Y is souness always going for boa morte. I dun like him. Robert is much better than him
Shadow04
09-07-2005, 01:46 PM
kns mans... all sell, onli one new face...
WTF IS THIS!
Theychosenone
09-07-2005, 02:29 PM
Well well, looks like my prediction that Parker would be the only new signing is coming true. I didn't expect Sour-ness to turn senile faster than Bobby Robson, and sell all the other useful players though. :s13:
Fresnel
10-07-2005, 12:26 AM
Please.........Souness is not senile lar......he is just plain retarded....
ShaqONeal
10-07-2005, 01:57 PM
Well well, looks like my prediction that Parker would be the only new signing is coming true. I didn't expect Sour-ness to turn senile faster than Bobby Robson, and sell all the other useful players though. :s13:
sigh... our squad is really cannot make it liao.. now again selling those first team players.. sigh.. i predict Souness will say goodbye to St James Park early or middle of next season..
dreamer75
11-07-2005, 09:41 AM
Newcastle United Sign Dutch Youngster
By Brenz - July 10 2005
Newcastle United have signed 17-year-old Tim Krul from Dutch relegation battlers ADO Den Haag. The young goalkeeper is being touted as one of the brightest young goalkeepers in Holland.
ADO Den Haag failed to sign Krul as professional after his youth contract run out and Newcastle jumped at the chance to sign him. Because his youngster contract run out Newcastle only need to pay a schooling compensation. A fee of around €200.000.
It's being expected that Tim Krul will join the Newcastle reserves next week.
dreamer75
11-07-2005, 09:42 AM
Magpies' merry-go-round
NEWCASTLE'S midfield merry-go-round continued to gather pace last night after Darren Ambrose completed his move to Charlton and Emre Belozoglu inched nearer to St James' Park, writes Scott Wilson.
Ambrose has signed a four-year deal at The Valley after the Addicks agreed to pay an undisclosed fee, believed to be £1m, for the England Under-21 international.
The 21-year-old, who will now link up with former team-mate Darren Bent, made 59 senior appearances after joining the Magpies from Ipswich in March 2003.
He scored six goals in that time, including two spectacular strikes last season against Bolton and Manchester United, but struggled to hold down a regular place in Graeme Souness' first-team squad.
"I think he's (Ambrose) been stifled a little bit at Newcastle after impressing under Bobby Robson," said Charlton boss Alan Curbishley. "A change of manager and everything that goes with it doesn't necessarily suit everyone.
"I spoke to Graeme Souness on a couple of occasions during the summer and he didn't want to do anything with Darren, but things have changed this week.
"I'm happy that a young player who is 21 years of age, and has a lot ahead of him, has signed for us."
Ambrose's departure is likely to be followed by the imminent arrival of Emre from Inter Milan.
The Turkey international is set to finally complete his protracted move to Tyneside this weekend after Newcastle officials reached an agreement over his personal terms.
Emre has verbally agreed to join the Magpies, provided the club can make a satisfactory offer to his current employers.
Newcastle are understood to have formally tabled a £4m bid on Thursday night - moments after Craig Bellamy completed his move to Blackburn - and anticipate receiving a response from Inter within the next 24 hours.
The Italians had been hoping to spark a bidding war for Emre's services, with Turkish side Fenerbache having previously confirmed their interest in the 24-year-old.
But the midfielder has subsequently dismissed any suggestion of a return to his homeland and told Inter officials he is keen to try his hand in the Premiership.
That leaves Newcastle firmly in the driving seat and the Inter board is expected to accept chairman Freddy Shepherd's offer, enabling the transfer to finally go through early next week.
"Everything has been finalised between Emre and Newcastle," confirmed Emre's agent, Ahmed Bulut.
"The matter is now in the hands of the two clubs and it would be wrong of me to say anything more while he is still an Inter Milan player."
Further midfield movement is expected next week, with Souness poised to step up his pursuit of Fulham winger Luis Boa Morte and Lee Bowyer ready to fly the Magpies' nest.
The Northern Echo first confirmed Souness' interest in Boa Morte last January, when the Scot met the Portuguese international in a London hotel.
Both parties were confident of sealing a deal at that stage but Boa Morte opted to sign a new contract at Craven Cottage and consequently helped keep Fulham in the Premiership.
Souness has maintained a watching brief since then and, while the winger has publicly committed himself to the Cottagers in recent weeks, he is understood to have privately given the Newcastle boss the green light to make a formal approach.
Boa Morte's current contract includes a get-out clause, whereby Fulham are unable to prevent him talking to any club that makes a £4m bid for his services.
Souness is reluctant to pay that much for the 27-year-old but is set to test Chris Coleman's resolve by tabling an initial offer of around £3m.
His coffers, which have already been replenished by the £6m sale of Bellamy and Ambrose, will receive an extra boost if Bowyer completes his move from St James' Park.
The former Leeds midfielder, who effectively ended his Newcastle career when he traded blows with team-mate Kieron Dyer last season, is still wanted by both Birmingham and Charlton with another of his former clubs, West Ham, continuing to monitor his availability.
dreamer75
11-07-2005, 09:44 AM
Newcastle in shock link with ex-Old Trafford star
13:07 July, 9, 2005
Diego Forlan is a target for the Magpies according to reports this morning
Forlan left Manchester United last summer after failing to make a real impact at Old Trafford despite some memorable moments but has been rejuvenated at Spanish side Villareal.
The 26-year-old finished last season tied with Thierry Henry for the European Golden Boot award after netting 25 goals in La Liga and that has alerted some of Europe's top clubs.
With Patrick Kluivert and Craig Bellamy having left St James' Park this summer and Alan Shearer set to retire next summer, Newcastle boss Graeme Souness needs at least one new striker and may make a move for Forlan in the next few weeks.
Tokieda
11-07-2005, 07:15 PM
forlan for newcastle??? please lah, dun joke with me!
Fresnel
11-07-2005, 07:22 PM
I'm too old...pls.....i can't take anymore of this........
Tough draw awaits Magpies
Newcastle's hopes of playing in the Uefa Cup next season were dealt a major blow when Deportivo la Coruna, Lazio and Marseille stepped into their path.
Graeme Souness' side will launch their campaign in the third round in Slovakia on Sunday when they take on ZTS Dubnica, who will visit St James' Park the following Saturday.
However, the winners will then face the side which comes out on top in the clash between Spanish giants Deportivo and Croatian side NK Slaven Koprivnica in the semi-finals, and there is potentially another tough tie for the victors.
If Newcastle make it to one of three finals, they could face Marseille, who play Swiss side Young Boys in the third round, or Italian outfit Lazio who meet Tampere United of Finland.
United_Treble
11-07-2005, 10:10 PM
forlan for newcastle??? please lah, dun joke with me!
top liga scorer go to a struggling epl team? really a joke
Tokieda
12-07-2005, 07:48 AM
Emre touches down in Newcastle
http://www.soccernet.com/images/england/20050615/emre_nfrench.jpg
Inter Milan midfielder Emre arrived on Tyneside tonight to tie up a move to Newcastle as Graeme Souness closed in on his second summer signing.
The 24-year-old Turkey international was met at Newcastle International Airport by the Scot and coach Dean Saunders and whisked off to prepare for a medical tomorrow after the Magpies finally made a breakthrough in their protracted pursuit.
Emre is expected to complete his move to St James' Park tomorrow to join £6.5million Scott Parker among the new faces in Souness' rapidly evolving squad.
'I am so happy because Newcastle is a very big team and for me, the manager is a very important person,' he told the club's official website.
Souness was cautiously optimistic as he prepared to close the deal.
'We have worked hard to get him here,' he said. 'Hopefully we can tie everything up and get him signed as he will be a real addition to the squad.
'We are just going over the final details. There are a few things still to be decided, but I am confident we can do that.
'He will bring a bit of grit and determination and he is a real flair player as well. He works very hard, he has been in Italy for a number of years and has obviously learned a great deal of his trade out there.
'He will do well and he is keen to play English football. He sees it as a type of football that will suit him.
'We have still to tie up a few loose ends, but when he has signed, I will be a very delighted man.'
Newcastle have been on the former Galatasaray player's trail for several weeks since it became apparent that Inter were prepared to let him go despite the fact that he had two years remaining on his contract.
They had to fight off stiff competition from Everton, while Arsenal, Liverpool and Manchester United were at various points linked with him after he made just 19 Serie A appearances last season.
However, the Magpies emerged as the leading contenders after Souness flew off to hold preliminary talks with the midfielder, although with his wages, reported to amount to be around £90,000 a week, proving a problem, it was not until last Thursday that they tabled an undisclosed bid.
By that point, Emre had already signalled his intention to head for St James', and by then it was a matter of sorting out the numbers.
It is no coincidence that Newcastle's offer was received at the San Siro as striker Craig Bellamy underwent a medical in Blackburn, completing his move to Ewood Park hours later to release a further £5million in fee and £2million a year in wages.
Emre's arrival would represent something of a coup for Souness, who has offloaded six men so far this summer - Bellamy, Patrick Kluivert, Laurent Robert, Andy O'Brien, Aaron Hughes and Darren Ambrose - but until now, has drafted in only Parker.
Providing that there are no last minute hitches, he will now turn his attention to Fulham forward Luis Boa Morte and his search for reinforcements in central defence and up front.
The Magpies will launch their campaign on Sunday when they face Dubinica in Slovakia in the first leg of their Intertoto Cup third round tie, although Souness has already indicated that neither Emre nor Parker will be involved.
However, having seen today's draw for the semi-finals and final put them on a collision course with Deportivo la Coruna and then Lazio or Marseille, he may decide that they need to be, should the club progress.
ShaqONeal
12-07-2005, 10:05 AM
Emre touches down in Newcastle
http://www.soccernet.com/images/england/20050615/emre_nfrench.jpg
Inter Milan midfielder Emre arrived on Tyneside tonight to tie up a move to Newcastle as Graeme Souness closed in on his second summer signing.
The 24-year-old Turkey international was met at Newcastle International Airport by the Scot and coach Dean Saunders and whisked off to prepare for a medical tomorrow after the Magpies finally made a breakthrough in their protracted pursuit.
Emre is expected to complete his move to St James' Park tomorrow to join £6.5million Scott Parker among the new faces in Souness' rapidly evolving squad.
'I am so happy because Newcastle is a very big team and for me, the manager is a very important person,' he told the club's official website.
Souness was cautiously optimistic as he prepared to close the deal.
'We have worked hard to get him here,' he said. 'Hopefully we can tie everything up and get him signed as he will be a real addition to the squad.
'We are just going over the final details. There are a few things still to be decided, but I am confident we can do that.
'He will bring a bit of grit and determination and he is a real flair player as well. He works very hard, he has been in Italy for a number of years and has obviously learned a great deal of his trade out there.
'He will do well and he is keen to play English football. He sees it as a type of football that will suit him.
'We have still to tie up a few loose ends, but when he has signed, I will be a very delighted man.'
Newcastle have been on the former Galatasaray player's trail for several weeks since it became apparent that Inter were prepared to let him go despite the fact that he had two years remaining on his contract.
They had to fight off stiff competition from Everton, while Arsenal, Liverpool and Manchester United were at various points linked with him after he made just 19 Serie A appearances last season.
However, the Magpies emerged as the leading contenders after Souness flew off to hold preliminary talks with the midfielder, although with his wages, reported to amount to be around £90,000 a week, proving a problem, it was not until last Thursday that they tabled an undisclosed bid.
By that point, Emre had already signalled his intention to head for St James', and by then it was a matter of sorting out the numbers.
It is no coincidence that Newcastle's offer was received at the San Siro as striker Craig Bellamy underwent a medical in Blackburn, completing his move to Ewood Park hours later to release a further £5million in fee and £2million a year in wages.
Emre's arrival would represent something of a coup for Souness, who has offloaded six men so far this summer - Bellamy, Patrick Kluivert, Laurent Robert, Andy O'Brien, Aaron Hughes and Darren Ambrose - but until now, has drafted in only Parker.
Providing that there are no last minute hitches, he will now turn his attention to Fulham forward Luis Boa Morte and his search for reinforcements in central defence and up front.
The Magpies will launch their campaign on Sunday when they face Dubinica in Slovakia in the first leg of their Intertoto Cup third round tie, although Souness has already indicated that neither Emre nor Parker will be involved.
However, having seen today's draw for the semi-finals and final put them on a collision course with Deportivo la Coruna and then Lazio or Marseille, he may decide that they need to be, should the club progress.
6 out, 2 in?? still like not enuff lei.. one more striker pls...
dreamer75
12-07-2005, 10:11 AM
finally manz..
so 6 + 6.5 mil pounds spent..how much $$ we still have for trabsfer?
dreamer75
12-07-2005, 11:03 AM
Emre will operate on the left of the three-man midfield, which Souness intends to play regularly next term, and the manager’s hope is that Boa Morte will plug the gap in front of him. Laurent Robert’s departure to Portsmouth has left Newcastle lacking creativity and the Portugal forward is viewed as a sound candidate to supply crosses for Alan Shearer as well as score goals.
Souness tried to persuade Fulham to sell Boa Morte during the January transfer window, an approach that pushed the London club into offering the 27-year-old an extended deal. Newcastle, though, are expected to try again this week with a formal offer of about £3 million.
Acquiring another established forward and a new central defender are other priorities, while Newcastle have also made moves to tempt Tim Krul, the highly regarded teenage Dutch goalkeeper, to the North East. The Holland Under-17 player has not agreed a professional contract with ADO Den Haag, his present club, who would be entitled to compensation if the Newcastle deal goes ahead.
“If we can land Emre and we can get another couple of high-class players and we can get a wee bit lucky with injuries, I feel we can certainly challenge for a Champions League spot,” Souness said.
Lee Bowyer may follow Robert, Craig Bellamy and Patrick Kluivert through Newcastle’s rapidly revolving exit door, with West Ham United now vying with Birmingham City and Charlton Athletic for the midfield player.
dreamer75
12-07-2005, 11:03 AM
None of Newcastle’s new signings will be pressed into service for the club’s opening fixture in this summer’s Inter-Toto Cup, which begins away to FK ZTS Dubnica on Sunday evening. The draw for the later rounds of the competition was made yesterday and it is likely that Newcastle would face Deportivo La Coruña in the semi-finals, while potential final opponents include Marseilles and Lazio.
Their route to the first round of the Uefa Cup, for which the winners of the InterToto qualify, is therefore daunting, but Souness said: “I’ve been in football long enough to know that the minute you start taking your eye off the ball you can be punished.”
dreamer75
12-07-2005, 11:04 AM
If Newcastle beat Dubnica, the Slovakian team, they will play the winners of the tie between Deportivo La Coruña and Slaven Koprivnica, of Croatia.
In the other half of the draw, Lazio play Tampere United, the Finnish team, and Young Boys, from Switzerland, meet Marseilles.
The team that emerges from each section will play off for a place in the Uefa Cup.
dreamer75
12-07-2005, 11:06 AM
Asked in a fans' question and answer session on the World section of the club's official website if there was anything he would have done differently, he replied: 'There is not too much, I do not think.
'People talk about the Bellamy situation or Laurent's situation - they were situations that had to be confronted, they needed strong management and I felt I dealt with both those situations in the best way possible for Newcastle United.
'I am not a fool, I have been in the game a long time and the only thing that matters at a football club is the football club. We, as individuals, can come and go, players come and go, managers come and go. The club and the group, that is the only thing that matters.
'I am sure if I sat down and thought about it long and hard, there would be things, but there are no major things, no obvious things.
'I am happy with the signings we have made; I am happy with the ones we have let go. It was sad to see Andy O'Brien go and Aaron Hughes go and Darren Ambrose - they are genuinely good lads, really good lads, but to be fair to them and to be fair to the club, I thought it was the best thing.'
ShaqONeal
12-07-2005, 12:56 PM
dun think we can go too far with only two signing.. but well, as long as we can get higher position than last year, i'm happy liao..
and i really hope Ameobi can score more for us... if he given partnership with Shearer next season..
ZhiQiang
12-07-2005, 01:04 PM
been lurking around in this forum...
quite sad to see so many leave and yet only 2 coming in.
god bless newcastle.
dreamer75
12-07-2005, 01:46 PM
dun think we can go too far with only two signing.. but well, as long as we can get higher position than last year, i'm happy liao..
and i really hope Ameobi can score more for us... if he given partnership with Shearer next season..
and i tot he is leaving us? :s11:
Theychosenone
12-07-2005, 02:18 PM
Ameobi has probably already reached his peak abilities and won't improve further. Which means he still will not be a prolific goalscorer. We sorely need another proper goalscorer because Shearer is sadly fading away already.
Tokieda
12-07-2005, 04:34 PM
he was fading last season and yet he wants to stay 1 more season...
Tokieda
12-07-2005, 06:46 PM
http://www.nufc.com/2005-06images/boa-morte-fulham-3.jpg
With the Emre deal seemingly in the bag. attention now switches to the next of our targets, Fulham's Luis Boa Morte Pereira.
The 27 year-old Portuguese international (28 next month) didn't appear for Fulham as they began their pre-season games on Monday night with a 0-0 draw against a local side in Austria.
The Cottagers face German side Schalke 04 in Austria on Wednesday then return to England for Saturday's home friendly against Celtic.
martinweng
12-07-2005, 09:32 PM
Ameobi has probably already reached his peak abilities and won't improve further. Which means he still will not be a prolific goalscorer. We sorely need another proper goalscorer because Shearer is sadly fading away already.
its time for a new 15m pound striker.
i mean, its proven already, why dowan to go ahead wif the plan?
all these years newcastle sign below 10m pound strikers, do they work? HELL NO.
the time to scrimp is over..
dont sign = no goals = relegate = bankrupt.
http://www.nufc.com/2005-06images/boa-morte-fulham-3.jpg
With the Emre deal seemingly in the bag. attention now switches to the next of our targets, Fulham's Luis Boa Morte Pereira.
The 27 year-old Portuguese international (28 next month) didn't appear for Fulham as they began their pre-season games on Monday night with a 0-0 draw against a local side in Austria.
The Cottagers face German side Schalke 04 in Austria on Wednesday then return to England for Saturday's home friendly against Celtic.
Not interested in him at all, save the money
Shadow04
12-07-2005, 10:06 PM
why is souness soOooo obsessed with Boa Morte??
Shadow04
12-07-2005, 10:08 PM
6 out, 2 in?? still like not enuff lei.. one more striker pls...
6 out, 2 in is a formula for failure... wat's more, we havent really been linked to strikers.. mostly midfielders..
no striker in we jiu die le.. dun think Shearer can still play the full season liao..
o0SpaceY0o
12-07-2005, 11:37 PM
playing 4-3-3 next season??? WTH :s11:
dreamer75
12-07-2005, 11:42 PM
playing 4-3-3 next season??? WTH :s11:
Emre will operate on the left of the three-man midfield, which Souness intends to play regularly next term, and the manager’s hope is that Boa Morte will plug the gap in front of him. Laurent Robert’s departure to Portsmouth has left Newcastle lacking creativity and the Portugal forward is viewed as a sound candidate to supply crosses for Alan Shearer as well as score goals.
dreamer75
12-07-2005, 11:42 PM
4-3-3 formation...sighz...can work boh?
Boa Morte so creative meh?
dreamer75
12-07-2005, 11:44 PM
Siao liao lor!!!
Newcastle United have suffered a defensive blow, as Titus Bramble suffered a training ground injury today - which could leave him sidelined for up to three months.
The defender was taken to hospital, where an elbow fracture cast was put in place.
Andy O'Brien and Aaron Hughes have recently left the club, leaving Toon boss Graeme Souness with real problems at the back. Surely a centre-back must be a transfer prioriy.
It is likely that Stephen Taylor and Peter Ramage will be taken to the Intertoto Cup in order to partner Jean-Alain Boumsong - a competition which Newcastle United really need to win.
A club spokesman told the club's official website, nufc.co.uk: "We can confirm Titus has suffered a fractured elbow in training.
"However, the length of time he will be out has still to be fully established."
o0SpaceY0o
12-07-2005, 11:49 PM
4-3-3 formation...sighz...can work boh?
Boa Morte so creative meh?
dun think can work in EPL...althou our defence have improve abit...teams playing 4-4-2 can bypass us using the flanks and our strike force oso quite jatbalang..think can score alot infront meh...
studmufn
12-07-2005, 11:53 PM
sad to say, but now newcastle is lacking in defence, midfield AND attack.
at least got shay given in goal, but i think he's also gonna die from stress soon.
dreamer75
12-07-2005, 11:54 PM
dun think can work in EPL...althou our defence have improve abit...teams playing 4-4-2 can bypass us using the flanks and our strike force oso quite jatbalang..think can score alot infront meh...
souness really a dickhead...!!!
Ronaldo_7
13-07-2005, 12:04 AM
dreamer bro.. i think Boa Morte quite ok bah.. and Emre is good... congrats to NUFC for securing his services
o0SpaceY0o
13-07-2005, 12:14 AM
players are okay....but that suckness got to do smth abt this stewpig tactics..he tot newcastle are the mighty milan ah???
Fresnel
13-07-2005, 12:15 AM
EMre no confirm yet ler....Soccernet dun say anythign means no confirm...not until the fat lady sings....
United_Treble
13-07-2005, 12:23 AM
EMre no confirm yet ler....Soccernet dun say anythign means no confirm...not until the fat lady sings....
then trust our own newpaper lo
Shadow04
13-07-2005, 12:58 AM
sad to say, but now newcastle is lacking in defence, midfield AND attack.
at least got shay given in goal, but i think he's also gonna die from stress soon.
ya lo.. wa lao.. really pity him(Given) leh.. have to play with such "top class" defence in front of him...
actually if he leave us hor, i wont blame him de..
Shadow04
13-07-2005, 01:00 AM
players are okay....but that suckness got to do smth abt this stewpig tactics..he tot newcastle are the mighty milan ah???
no.... he just think that he is the master tactition that is able to play players in whichever formations he likes, and still get results..
He better get a df and striker. I think Bramble may be out for 3 months. I saw the news in nufc.com
Tokieda
13-07-2005, 07:47 AM
Bramble body blow
The defensive options open to manager Graeme Souness diminished on Tuesday - and it wasn't because we'd sold anyone....
A training ground injury sustained by Titus Bramble saw the defender taken to hospital to have an elbow fracture cast - an injury that could sideline him for anything up to three months.
With the recent departures of Andy O'Brien and Aaron Hughes, Souness will doubtless now step up his bid to add defensive recruits to his squad, but in the short term has Steven Taylor and Peter Ramage available to partner Jean-Alain Boumsong.
United were forced to rely on Robbie Elliott as an emergency centre back at the end of last season when Bramble limped off in Lisbon and Taylor then damaged an ankle in training.
And the injury may yet see a lightning promotion of Academy central defender Paul Huntington to the Intertoto squad as cover - the England U18 international signed his first professional contract with United only last month.
While thinking that we're just fated, the Bramble news does beg the question - why exactly did we sell utility defender Aaron Hughes ?
here we go again....
dreamer75
13-07-2005, 07:51 AM
the Bramble news...i posted earlier liao lah...
siao liao lor..
kraze
13-07-2005, 08:42 AM
sigh... what has this team become.. sorry guys haven been posting for quite a long while.. was just lurking and reading up on what you all have posted plus those on soccernet. sad to see such things happening, what has happened to the glory days, now we're like no other mediocre clubs or even worse =/
dreamer75
13-07-2005, 09:07 AM
Clumsy!!!!
Bramble will be absent for up to three months after colliding with Michael Chopra, the forward, during a practice session. In immediate terms, it leaves Souness with few options before Sunday’s InterToto Cup fixture away to FK ZTS Dubnica, of Slovakia.
dreamer75
13-07-2005, 09:08 AM
Let's look at our targets for defenders...their status..
Newcastle have sold Andy O’Brien and Aaron Hughes since the end of last season and while acquiring a new central defender was always a priority for Souness this summer, Bramble’s misfortune has placed that search in sharper perspective. Daniel van Buyten, one leading target, has pledged his future to SV Hamburg, while Sylvain Distin, of Manchester City, is viewed by Newcastle as overpriced at £7 million.
dreamer75
13-07-2005, 09:09 AM
look at this...haiz...
Souness will have little choice other than to field Steven Taylor alongside Jean-Alain Boumsong against Dubnica, with Robbie Elliott and Peter Ramage, who is inexperienced, offering back-up.
dreamer75
13-07-2005, 09:10 AM
sigh... what has this team become.. sorry guys haven been posting for quite a long while.. was just lurking and reading up on what you all have posted plus those on soccernet. sad to see such things happening, what has happened to the glory days, now we're like no other mediocre clubs or even worse =/
its ok bro...every1 low morale here..
martinweng
13-07-2005, 11:11 AM
i was browsing thru our 1st-team squad,
i realised we only have 23 players. which is inclusive of tommy caig our 3rd choice gk, steven taylor, peter ramage, n'zogbia, chopra, brittain.
u take the 6 of em out, we have 17 experienced 1st team players. While 16 can be fielded at once, we have 7 backup players. anytime u have 8 unavailable players, u have to field reserve team players liao.
heres the 17 players:
given
harper
carr
babayaro
bramble
boumsong
elliot
dyer
bowyer(is he gone?)
parker
jenas
emre(is he here?)
butt
faye
milner
shearer
ameobi
----------------------------------
we have 3gk, 7def(5 experienced), 9mid(7 experienced), 3 strikers(2 experienced).
midfield department looks ok, we definitely needs defenders and strikers.
P.S> I keep highlighting the experience/inexperience players bcoz,
some of our inexperienced players could not even make it in chelsea's..arsenal's reserve team. They can technically not be counted as 1st-team. I mean..wth? who is martin brittain? ramage? wtf?
dreamer75
13-07-2005, 11:18 AM
11 Jul 2005 by Howaythetoon
For playing the trumpet! A few snippets from a Nobby Solano interview in Four Four Two that tickled us pink:
"When I joined Newcastle in 1998, I brought my Holton trumpet. Sometimes I'd take it into training and play it for the lads in the dressing room - though it wasn't always too successful.
"One time I played a duet with Gary Speed on guitar, but he likes rock and I like salsa. I now realise the two styles should probably never be mixed.
"I don't think Sir Bobby Robson was keen on me playing my trumpet. He didn't know about it when he first took over as manager but he soon found out when I rang him up one night and played down the phone to him. I'm not sure he was too amused!
"It's the same with David O'Leary at Aston Villa, he's not a fan of my playing either. Whenever I call him and his mobile's off I leave him a nice loud mesage with my trumpet!"
i realised we only have 23 players. which is inclusive of tommy caig our 3rd choice gk, steven taylor, peter ramage, n'zogbia, chopra, brittain.
u take the 6 of em out, we have 17 experienced 1st team players. While 16 can be fielded at once, we have 7 backup players. anytime u have 8 unavailable players, u have to field reserve team players liao.
heres the 17 players:
given
harper
carr
babayaro
bramble
boumsong
elliot
dyer
bowyer(is he gone?)
parker
jenas
emre(is he here?)
butt
faye
milner
shearer
ameobi
we have 3gk, 7def(5 experienced), 9mid(7 experienced), 3 strikers(2 experienced).
some of our inexperienced players could not even make it in chelsea's..arsenal's reserve team. They can technically not be counted as 1st-team. I mean..wth? who is martin brittain? ramage? wtf?
The striking department looks pathetic. U forgot to add chopra to the list
dreamer75
13-07-2005, 11:29 AM
heres the 17 players:
given
harper
carr
babayaro
bramble
boumsong
elliot
dyer
bowyer(is he gone?)
parker
jenas
emre(is he here?)
butt
faye
milner
shearer
ameobi
the def dept really vulnerable...dun 4get our defs gets injured too easily...only 2 backups?
no firepower at all....Shearer cant last 90mins now..
ShaqONeal
13-07-2005, 11:34 AM
The striking department looks pathetic. U forgot to add chopra to the list
i agree.. if we wanna make it to CL, we really hav to work harder and get one experience striker and one experience defender..
if we just wanna stay afloat in EPL, without aiming anything, then this squad is okay liao.. if Shearer injured or Amoebi, get Dyer to play up front lor..
if players performs on par, we can b in top 10, else if same thing happened last season again in next season, then.. :(
As long as Souness is in charge, newcastle can't make it into the CL. Can get into UEFA happy liao
dreamer75
13-07-2005, 11:41 AM
I hope he will be the 1st manager to be sacked when the new season kicks off! :s27:
Yah, repeat of last yr where SBR got sacked
martinweng
13-07-2005, 11:58 AM
i cant believe newcastle united 1st-team strikeforce could happen to be ameobi-chopra.
dreamer75
13-07-2005, 12:03 PM
i cant believe newcastle united 1st-team strikeforce could happen to be ameobi-chopra.
really pathetic....which team's strike force is worst then us now?
mabe the newly promoted clubs....cant belif it!
o0SpaceY0o
13-07-2005, 03:27 PM
Dave, when will the jersey be coming to SG? And our mode of payment? :s11:
Tokieda
13-07-2005, 03:49 PM
we can be scraping just to stay above the promoted 3 teams...
Thats Souness target for next season
daveaha
13-07-2005, 07:11 PM
Dave, when will the jersey be coming to SG? And our mode of payment? :s11:
Yo man,
the jersey is not yet in Singapore.
Will likely in August arrive. (early).
Payment wise, will let you all know.
I'm bloody damn busy with work, have to go overseas also soon, so have to bare with me,...
o0SpaceY0o
13-07-2005, 07:19 PM
Yo man,
the jersey is not yet in Singapore.
Will likely in August arrive. (early).
Payment wise, will let you all know.
I'm bloody damn busy with work, have to go overseas also soon, so have to bare with me,...
sure man...thanks for updating here. :s12:
Shadow04
13-07-2005, 07:41 PM
As long as Souness is in charge, newcastle can't make it into the CL. Can get into UEFA happy liao
correction.. with Souness in charge, and we can still stay in EPL good eonugh liao.. :s22:
o0SpaceY0o
13-07-2005, 09:53 PM
i will judge him on our 1st match of the season...we are like playing the gunners right??? :s13: :D
martinweng
14-07-2005, 11:04 AM
SACK! SACK! SACK!
P.S > i meant to check out my new siggy nia..:D
dreamer75
14-07-2005, 11:13 AM
Laurent in truce with Sou
By BEN KINSELLA
LAURENT ROBERT yesterday made peace with Graeme Souness.
Now he aims to lead Portsmouth into Europe for the first time in their history.
Robert paid Toon £180,000 in fines last month after two SunSport exclusives in which he labelled Souness ‘a child’ and claimed the Newcastle boss was heading for the sack.
French winger Robert, 30, is now on a season’s loan at Fratton Park.
And he said: “What happened with Graeme is history now and I wish Newcastle all the best for next season.
“It is a big change from what I have been used to but Portsmouth is a new challenge for me.
“I think we can finish in the top 10 and maybe even push for a place in the UEFA Cup. Why not?
“I have spoken to manager Alain Perrin and he says he wants to build the team around good young players so I have every reason to be confident.”
dreamer75
14-07-2005, 11:14 AM
Dyer has signed a new 4 yr deal with us, earning £80,000 a week :eek:
dreamer75
14-07-2005, 11:16 AM
Shepherd gets serious and targets Viduka
By George Caulkin
MARK VIDUKA remains an active transfer target for Newcastle United, who are close to opening negotiations for the Australia forward. Officials at St James’ Park are aware that Viduka, who has played only ten minutes of football for Middlesbrough this year, would be a controversial addition to their first-team squad, but they view him as an experienced back-up to Alan Shearer.
Newcastle are also expected to bolster their depleted forward ranks with the £3 million signing of Luis Boa Morte from Fulham next week. While the broken elbow suffered by Titus Bramble in training on Tuesday ensures that defensive reinforcements are also necessary — Sylvain Distin, of Manchester City, remains under consideration — attracting new strikers to Tyneside is the priority after the departures of Craig Bellamy and Patrick Kluivert.
Michael Owen is the first choice of Graeme Souness, the manager, but he has accepted that Real Madrid’s England forward is unattainable. His intention this season is to favour a 4-3-3 formation with Scott Parker, Jermaine Jenas and Emre Belözoglu in midfield and Kieron Dyer — who is preparing to sign a new four-year contract — Shearer and probably Boa Morte in attack.
dreamer75
14-07-2005, 11:17 AM
i will judge him on our 1st match of the season...we are like playing the gunners right??? :s13: :D
yes...at Highbury!
oh wel....i'm not surprised if we lost on 1st day of the new season..
martinweng
14-07-2005, 12:05 PM
1/2 a55ed player earning wad he dun deserve..40k a week is already excessive liao.
Theychosenone
14-07-2005, 12:17 PM
They should have put a pay-as-you-play contract to him, since he spends too much time in sickbay than on the field. :)
Shadow04
14-07-2005, 08:10 PM
WTF?!
and here i am thinking that he is already on an over-inflated wage of £55,000, now £80,000? WTF??????
dreamer75
14-07-2005, 09:05 PM
From the official Newcastle website:
Turkish star Emre today revealed his delight at completing his move to Newcastle United.
The 24-year-old has signed a five-year contract after joining from Inter Milan and becomes the second summer arrival at St. James' Park behind Scott Parker.
Emre will begin his Newcastle career on Tuesday when he reports for training with the rest of the senior squad.
And the left-sided player admits he cannot wait for the challenge of proving himself in the Premiership.
Speaking exclusively to nufc.co.uk, he said: "I am very happy to have signed for Newcastle United because they are one of the biggest clubs in England.
"This is a very big club and I am so excited about the prospect of playing in the Premiership. It is a new challenge and one I am looking forward to very much.
"I would like to thank the manager Graeme Souness and chairman Freddy Shepherd for having the trust in me to bring me to Newcastle.
"Now I will give my very best for Newcastle and try to bring success to the club."
Emre is no stranger to Newcastle United fans having played for Inter Milan when the Serie A aristocrats won 4-1 on Tyneside in a Champions League encounter during the 2002-03 term.
He added: "I remember that night very well. St. James' Park is a fantastic stadium and the fans make a wonderful atmosphere inside the ground.
"I'm looking forward to playing there many times as a Newcastle player now."
Welcome to the Toon little man. Lets hope he turns out to be a great signing.
PS Emre will wear the No.5 shirt.
http://www.newcastle-online.com/#abouttime
Shadow04
14-07-2005, 09:07 PM
yay.. i like Emre... :)
dreamer75
14-07-2005, 09:08 PM
By Paul Fraser
NEWCASTLE United chairman Freddy Shepherd last night warned manager Graeme Souness that his minimum target this season is a top-six place.
After taking over from Sir Bobby Robson at St James' Park last September, Souness' controversial first season in charge was always seen as his bedding-in period.
Now, with a month to go until Newcastle kick-off their league campaign with a trip to Arsenal, Shepherd has begun to turn up the heat by insisting the boss will have no excuses for under-achievement come May.
Only Scott Parker and Emre, providing he is granted a work permit, have been signed this summer, but work is well under way to add to those.
Shepherd, ahead of Sunday's Intertoto Cup first leg with Slovakian minnows Dubnica, insists there will be at least three more new faces in the Newcastle squad before the start of the domestic campaign.
And he believes Souness will have a squad strong enough to challenge for a UEFA Cup place through the league despite offloading six players this summer and possibly Lee Bowyer to follow.
"This season it will be his team," said Shepherd. "Including January, when he brought in Jean-Alain Boumsong, Amdy Faye and Celestine Babayaro, he has five new players - with the probability of more.
"That's half a team. Now we must finish in the top six in the league. That is absolutely imperative. We must qualify for Europe and not rely on the Intertoto Cup."
Despite increasing the pressure on the manager's shoulders, Shepherd also reiterated his belief that Newcastle's millionaire playing staff should also take their share of the blame for any failings.
Last season's 14th-place finish was seen as unacceptable by the club's supporters, who are still waiting to see a major trophy return to Tyneside for the first time since 1969.
As well as Bowyer and Dyer's onfield brawl, Craig Bellamy and Laurent Robert also played their part in shaming the club by publicly criticising Souness.
Shepherd hopes next season should herald the beginning of improved attitudes from the playing staff. He said: "I can understand fans gunning for the chairman and the manager because they always do, but what about the players?
"We pay them Hollywood money and for that they have a responsibility to go out and perform like a Rolls Royce. We have paid the huge transfer fees and the huge wages, given them one of the best stadia in the world, marvellous training facilities and a terrific, loyal crowd.
"For that they should produce the goods. After we have done our bit it is down to the manager and the players to fulfil their side of the bargain.
"Noone is underpaid at St James' Park. From the goalkeeper through to the centre-forward we pay quality money looking for a quality job."
Shepherd confirmed the club are actively seeking a new striker, left-midfielder and centre-back, particularly in light of Titus Bramble's latest injury set-back.
Bramble will miss the start of the campaign after fracturing his elbow and Souness is aiming to bring in experience, with young Steven Taylor the only recognised replacement.
Greek European Championships winner Traianos Dellas has emerged as a possible target, but is also wanted by Fulham, Manchester City and Everton.
Dellas, who turns 30 in January, has left Roma, is available on a free transfer and is looking to return to the Premiership, where he failed to make a name for himself with Sheffield United between 1997-99.
Shepherd, also keeping tabs on Fulham's Luis Boa Morte, said: "There are still seven weeks to go before the transfer window closes. We have until the end of August. We will sign a striker, cover at centre-back and probably a wide-left player."
Newcastle are confident midfielder Kieron Dyer will sign a new four-year deal.
Shepherd said: "Dyer's contract is all agreed. Now it's just a matter of checking legal and tax details before it's signed."
http://www.thisisthenortheast.co.uk/the_north_east/sport/football/newcastle/news/140705.html
Tokieda
14-07-2005, 10:08 PM
'Toon to pay £1.7million for Lux'
Newcastle have made a £1.7million offer for River Plate goalkeeper German Lux, according to Argentinian media reports.
The 23-year-old Argentinian, born in the city of Carcarana in Santa Fe province, is currently preparing for the new season and has not commented on the reports as yet.
Lux is not River's first choice goalkeeper as he is understudy to Franco Costanzo but played for Argentina during the Confederations Cup where the Latin Americans finished runners-up to Brazil.
He is expected to be one of the three goalkeepers Argentina will use in the upcoming World Cup.
Lux has played 24 matches for River Plate and 11 in continental tournaments and also featured in the Argentina team that won the Under-21 World Cup in 2001.
what for sia???
dreamer75
14-07-2005, 10:48 PM
ya lor, Given is staying with us mah.
martinweng
14-07-2005, 11:13 PM
By Paul Fraser
NEWCASTLE United chairman Freddy Shepherd last night warned manager Graeme Souness that his minimum target this season is a top-six place.
After taking over from Sir Bobby Robson at St James' Park last September, Souness' controversial first season in charge was always seen as his bedding-in period.
Now, with a month to go until Newcastle kick-off their league campaign with a trip to Arsenal, Shepherd has begun to turn up the heat by insisting the boss will have no excuses for under-achievement come May.
Only Scott Parker and Emre, providing he is granted a work permit, have been signed this summer, but work is well under way to add to those.
Shepherd, ahead of Sunday's Intertoto Cup first leg with Slovakian minnows Dubnica, insists there will be at least three more new faces in the Newcastle squad before the start of the domestic campaign.
And he believes Souness will have a squad strong enough to challenge for a UEFA Cup place through the league despite offloading six players this summer and possibly Lee Bowyer to follow.
"This season it will be his team," said Shepherd. "Including January, when he brought in Jean-Alain Boumsong, Amdy Faye and Celestine Babayaro, he has five new players - with the probability of more.
"That's half a team. Now we must finish in the top six in the league. That is absolutely imperative. We must qualify for Europe and not rely on the Intertoto Cup."
Despite increasing the pressure on the manager's shoulders, Shepherd also reiterated his belief that Newcastle's millionaire playing staff should also take their share of the blame for any failings.
Last season's 14th-place finish was seen as unacceptable by the club's supporters, who are still waiting to see a major trophy return to Tyneside for the first time since 1969.
As well as Bowyer and Dyer's onfield brawl, Craig Bellamy and Laurent Robert also played their part in shaming the club by publicly criticising Souness.
Shepherd hopes next season should herald the beginning of improved attitudes from the playing staff. He said: "I can understand fans gunning for the chairman and the manager because they always do, but what about the players?
"We pay them Hollywood money and for that they have a responsibility to go out and perform like a Rolls Royce. We have paid the huge transfer fees and the huge wages, given them one of the best stadia in the world, marvellous training facilities and a terrific, loyal crowd.
"For that they should produce the goods. After we have done our bit it is down to the manager and the players to fulfil their side of the bargain.
"Noone is underpaid at St James' Park. From the goalkeeper through to the centre-forward we pay quality money looking for a quality job."
Shepherd confirmed the club are actively seeking a new striker, left-midfielder and centre-back, particularly in light of Titus Bramble's latest injury set-back.
Bramble will miss the start of the campaign after fracturing his elbow and Souness is aiming to bring in experience, with young Steven Taylor the only recognised replacement.
Greek European Championships winner Traianos Dellas has emerged as a possible target, but is also wanted by Fulham, Manchester City and Everton.
Dellas, who turns 30 in January, has left Roma, is available on a free transfer and is looking to return to the Premiership, where he failed to make a name for himself with Sheffield United between 1997-99.
Shepherd, also keeping tabs on Fulham's Luis Boa Morte, said: "There are still seven weeks to go before the transfer window closes. We have until the end of August. We will sign a striker, cover at centre-back and probably a wide-left player."
Shepherd said: "Dyer's contract is all agreed. Now it's just a matter of checking legal and tax details before it's signed."
http://www.thisisthenortheast.co.uk/the_north_east/sport/football/newcastle/news/140705.html
unless i'm wrong, we're called the Magpies, not the Dreamers.
the 3 easy steps of gaining top-6 finish was there since last season, yet not 1 step was taken.
i) Sack Souness (i'm not evening going to talk more abt him)
ii) Sign Players (come on freddy, who are u kidding?)
iii) Sell Bramble (at least we can play wif 11 NORMAL men instead of 10 us and opposing 12)
kraze
15-07-2005, 09:24 AM
By Paul Fraser
finally~ this warning is long overdued IMO :s27:
ShaqONeal
15-07-2005, 10:13 AM
Wenger Gunning for JJ Jul 14 2005
By Alan Oliver, The Evening Chronicle
Arsenal are keen to sign Newcastle United midfielder Jermaine Jenas as a replacement for their Juventus-bound skipper Patrick Vieira.
But the only way United will allow Jenas to go to Highbury is if Arsenal let Sol Campbell come in the opposite direction.
Arsene Wenger has acted quickly to line up Jenas even before Vieira has put pen to paper on an £18m move to Italy and while both Freddy Shepherd and Graeme Souness are insisting that their England midfielder will not be leaving St James' Park, Titus Bramble's fractured elbow has put a different slant on things.
United are aware that Campbell is unhappy at Highbury, where he has had his wages slashed and also found himself overshadowed by young Swiss defender Philippe Senderos.
Obviously, it would take something to prise Campbell away from his native North London and there has always been a feeling in the game that should he ever leave Arsenal then it would be to one of the top sides on the Continent.
But Campbell will be 31 next month and cannot afford to hang around at Highbury with the World Cup less than 12 months away and with Sven Goran Eriksson looking at a John Terry-Rio Ferdinand link-up at the heart of his England defence.
Apart from Manchester United, Newcastle probably pay the best wages outside London these days and I get the impression that United feel if they got the chance to sit down with Campbell and his agent Sky Andrew they could persuade him to come to St James' Park.
United have other irons in the fire as far as signing a top-class central defender goes and one of them is Matthew Upson at Birmingham City.
The former Arsenal player, who came close to joining United in Sir Bobby Robson's time as manager, is stalling on signing a new deal at St Andrews and this has alerted not only United but also Liverpool and Everton.
And United could dangle Nicky Butt in front of Birmingham boss Steve Bruce, who has previously tried to sign the England midfielder in his Man U days.
Bramble's injury has obviously thrown a spanner into the works but Newcastle have not lost sight of the fact that they need strengthening up front and are continuing to put pressure on Fulham regarding Luis Boa Morte.
The Portuguese forward may have signed a five-year-contract in January but he knows of United's interest and it would not be a surprise if he was putting a bit of pressure of his own on Fulham
boss Chris Coleman down at Craven Cottage.
Boa Morte did not go with Fulham to Austria this week but they are back tomorrow and things could hot up on this front soon.
According to Argentinian media reports, Newcastle have made a £1.7m offer for River Plate goalkeeper German Lux.
The 23-year-old Argentinian is currently preparing for the new season and has not yet commented on the reports.
Lux is not River's first-choice goalkeeper as he is understudy to Franco Costanzo but played for Argentina during the Confederations Cup, where the Latin Americans finished runners-up to Brazil.
He is expected to be one of the three goalkeepers Argentina will use in the next round of World Cup qualifying games.
Lux has played 24 matches for River Plate and also featured in the Argentina team that won the Under-21 World Cup in 2001.
ZhiQiang
15-07-2005, 01:40 PM
a 22 yr old for a 31 yr old???
is shephard and souney mad???
Dun think jenas can replace viera. Physically he is not strong enough.
Shadow04
15-07-2005, 11:27 PM
Dun think jenas can replace viera. Physically he is not strong enough.
and i dont think Jenas for Campbell is a good deal~
dreamer75
16-07-2005, 12:16 AM
http://www.teamtalk.com/Images/29147.jpg
Toon could turn to Anelka
Newcastle could be ready to turn to controversial Frenchman Nicolas Anelka in their desperate search for a new striker.
:s31:
dreamer75
16-07-2005, 12:17 AM
Graeme Souness has revealed his specific plans to make Kieron Dyer a widely-feared attacker once again.
Dyer has endured a long period of frustration at Newcastle, after initially bursting onto the scene following his £6.5 million transfer from Ipswich.
The England international has been tried in many different roles, most infamously when he refused to play on the wing under Bobby Robson.
New boss Souness has no such restrictive plans for Dyer, and the Scotsman wants to see the 26-year-old amongst the goals in the coming season.
"Kieron in the last few weeks of the season when we got him further up the field, people were telling me that is the best football he has played since he has been at St James'," said Souness.
"He was scoring goals and he was causing all sorts of problems to whoever he was playing against. That is where I see him playing.
"I do not see him as a tough-tackling midfield player who is good at breaking things up; I see him as someone that would terrorise defences if we can get him on the ball in the last third, the attacking third, in games. That is where I want him to play.
"An obvious criticism of Kieron Dyer in his past life as a midfield player would be that he did not score enough goals - we are going to try to get him to get goals from the position he is going to be playing for us."
New signings Emre Belozoglu and Scott Parker are expected to comprise two parts of the midfield, along with Jermaine Jenas.
Souness is ready to use Dyer to dictate Newcastle's attacks, and the former Blackburn boss admitted: "He (Dyer) is someone, both short term and long term, I am looking to build the team around."
martinweng
16-07-2005, 08:32 AM
I dunno why but it seems like..Emre is a gem?
everybody keep saying abt him.
but as we noe all imports from foreign countries dun turn out to be wad they are expected to be.
Theychosenone
16-07-2005, 02:27 PM
Anelka is an excellent player. But if Sour-ness couldn't handle Bellamy and Robert, how could he possibly handle Anelka? :s8:
As for Emre, I believe we don't have to worry about him adapting to the EPL. From the previous games I saw him play in, he does show good skills and technique, and he is also a tenacious little tackler, and quite dirty too. Although he's a rather short fella, I think he will be able to handle himself quite well among midfielders like Savage, Gerrard and Keane. :) Well we hope so, for the sake of Newcastle anyway.
Tokieda
17-07-2005, 11:01 AM
Intertoto Cup 3rd Rd (1st Leg): Dubnica vs Newcastle United (Same day Telecast)
Monday, 18 Jul 2005, 12:58 AM Ch 21
i am surprised that they are showing this, anyone watching? many players not playing though..
ShaqONeal
17-07-2005, 11:50 AM
Anelka is an excellent player. But if Sour-ness couldn't handle Bellamy and Robert, how could he possibly handle Anelka? :s8:
As for Emre, I believe we don't have to worry about him adapting to the EPL. From the previous games I saw him play in, he does show good skills and technique, and he is also a tenacious little tackler, and quite dirty too. Although he's a rather short fella, I think he will be able to handle himself quite well among midfielders like Savage, Gerrard and Keane. :) Well we hope so, for the sake of Newcastle anyway.
if anelka wanna come is good.. whether souness can tame him anot, i dun really care.. :s8:
dreamer75
17-07-2005, 05:19 PM
http://www.teamtalk.com/Images/26047.jpg
Nicolas Anelka has ruled out talk of a return to the Premiership with Newcastle by insisting he is keen to remain in Turkey with Fenerbahce.
Magpies boss Graeme Souness declared on Saturday that Anelka was 'desperate' to move to St James' Park, and revealed that he had carried out detailed research into the striker's state of mind.
The 26-year-old has developed a reputation as a troublemaker after engineering his exit from Arsenal and failing to settle at either Real Madrid or Paris Saint-Germain, although Souness stated that Anelka was now ready to return to England.
However, contrary to Souness' claims, Anelka has now insisted that he is happy to continue his adventure in Turkey after his £7m move from Manchester City in January.
"I haven't received any offer, I've said many times that I'm happy here," Anelka told the club's official website.
"Those who want me in their teams forget that I have a club, Fenerbahce.
"If they did they'd know that an offer should be made to my club, not me."
Souness is desperate to recruit another striker after the departures of Craig Bellamy and Patrick Kluivert.
http://www.teamtalk.com/teamtalk/News/Story_Page/0,7760,1780_576303,00.html
dreamer75
17-07-2005, 05:21 PM
new signings Parker and Emre miss the tie as do Steven Carr and Jermaine Jenas.
But star men like Dyer, Bowyer, Boumsong and Shearer are named in the squad, although there are doubts over the fitness of big Al.
The visitors will enter this game as big favourite and will look to use a blend of youth and experience so players such as Chopra, Milner, Taylor and N’Zogbia could feature but primarily it should be a solid Newcastle team who will be hoping to attain a lead to build on in the second leg.
A tough Intertoto Cup draw which could see future opposition of Depor and Marseille may have reduced the St James’ Park side’s motivation but against a Slovakian side that relies heavily on youngsters who are not used to these sort of big games.
dreamer75
17-07-2005, 05:22 PM
1-0 win for us ...i predict..
travmufc
17-07-2005, 06:55 PM
although i not magpies fan, but i'm so soccer starved i dun mind watching it. tonight 1am right?
Coolsmurf
17-07-2005, 07:03 PM
i will watch wwe vengeance then switch to it
dreamer75
17-07-2005, 10:03 PM
Transfer speculation: John O'Shea to Newcastle United (£4m)
If Newcastle bid £4m it may be difficult for player or club to turn down"
Player: John O'Shea
To: Newcastle United
Cost: £4m
Source: News of the World (17 July 2005)
Likely?: 4/5
Krisurf
18-07-2005, 01:48 AM
new win 3-1 already
Shadow04
18-07-2005, 02:08 AM
new win 3-1 already
we away rite?
anyway.. who score?
dreamer75
18-07-2005, 09:34 AM
FT Dubnica [1 - 3] Newcastle U. (Eng)
4' [0 - 1] M. Chopra
6' [0 - 2] A. Shearer
42' [1 - 2] Tesak
70' [1 - 3] J. Milner
dreamer75
18-07-2005, 09:38 AM
Chopra is Newcastle's boy of summer
Dubnica 1 Newcastle 3
Two goals in the opening seven minutes helped Newcastle secure a battling first-leg advantage against Slovakian side Dubnica in the third round of the Intertoto Cup.
Michael Chopra grabbed his first senior goal for the Magpies after just four minutes to give the under-strength visitors the ideal start, before Alan Shearer poached a second on the line three minutes later.
James Milner lobbed an excellent third midway through the second half to cap a fine personal performance - but Dubnica were anything but outclassed and Lukas Tesak's strike just before half-time will give them hope for the second leg at St James' Park next week.
The departures of Patrick Kluivert and Craig Bellamy, and an injury to Shola Ameobi, had allowed 21-year-old striker Chopra a chance to impress manager Graeme Souness.
And the youngster wasted little time, latching onto an excellent pass from Milner before slotting past the advancing Dubnica goalkeeper Dusan Pernis.
The hosts, competing in the biggest game in their 79-year history, looked stunned by the early strike but soon found themselves two behind.
An awkward cross from the left by tricky winger Charles N'Zogbia caused confusion in the home defence, deflecting off centre-back Robert Novak and goalwards - with Shearer waiting on the back post to double the lead.
To their credit, the hosts did not buckle under the early pressure and forced their way back into the game late in the first half.
The impressive Igor Drzik, excelling against a Magpies midfield without new signings Scott Parker or Emre Belezoglu, floated in a delicate cross from the right, allowing Tesak to crash home a header from close range.
The complexion of the game could have changed completely early in the second period but for a smart save by Newcastle keeper Steve Harper from a Marian Zimen rocket.
But when Milner made room and lifted a superb side-footed shot over the stranded Pernis from all of 35 yards in the 70th minute, a hard-fought win was secured.
dreamer75
18-07-2005, 09:39 AM
By Simon Williams
Published: 18 July 2005
It would be wrong to believe that the bitter memories of last season's lowest-ever Premiership finish have been replaced by a fresh wave of optimism at Newcastle United, but the Magpies have at least begun their recovery with an Intertoto Cup win.
Two goals inside the first seven minutes set up a relatively easy afternoon for Graeme Souness's side, despite a lack of match fitness that allowed Slovenia's ZTS Dubnica to stay in touch with them for longer than they should have.
Lukas Tesak provided some semblance of hope for the home side with a header just before half-time, but United restored their two goal advantage ahead of the return leg at St James' Park through James Milner's delightful lob.
Souness has barely been able to hide his irritation at his chairman Freddy Shepherd's decision to enter this competition. While the club is keen to further its standing abroad by qualifying for the Uefa Cup for a third consecutive season, Souness would rather concentrate on rebuilding the side's reputation in the Premiership.
As a result, he left several first-choice players back on Tyneside to rest, Stephen Carr and Jermaine Jenas joining new signings Scott Parker and Emre, while Shay Given rested on the bench. Jean-Alain Boumsong would not have played had it not been for Titus Bramble's broken arm and Kieron Dyer was withdrawn as a precaution due to a "tight" hamstring.
Lee Bowyer was also absent, fuelling speculation he is on the verge of a move back to his first club, Charlton Athletic.
It gave the game a low-key feel as hopes of an upset effectively disappeared once Michael Chopra had slotted the ball calmly home for his first goal for his hometown club. The lead was doubled two minutes later when Robert Novak deflectedCharles N'Zogbia's cross over the line.
Dubnica enjoyed increasing possession as Newcastle tired, but they could not convert their chances, profligacy that was punished when the impressive Milner lobbed goalkeeper Dusan Pernis.
Goals: Chopra 5 (0-1), Novak (og) 7 (0-2), Tesak 42 (1-2), Milner 70 (1-3).
FK ZTS Dubnica (4-5-1): Dusan; Marian, Novak, Zimen, Pleva; Tesak Izvolt (Grendel 69), Kiska, Kopacka, Drztk (Filo 85); Adam. Substitutes not used: Postrk, Svikruma, Grendel, Brusko, Filo, Skultety, Augustini.
Newcastle United (4-4-2): Harper; Taylor, Boumsong, Elliott, Babayaro; Milner, Butt, Faye, N'Zogbia; Chopra (Brittain 58), Shearer. Substitutes not used: Given, Ramage, Huntington.
Referee: Yefet Alon.
Man of the Match: Milner.
ZTS DUBNICA 1
NEWCASTLE UNITED 3
http://sport.independent.co.uk/football/newcastle/article299927.ece
dreamer75
18-07-2005, 09:42 AM
Souness crazy huh...dun even want us to go to Inter-toto cup??!!! :eek:
Korn123
18-07-2005, 12:04 PM
He was crazy all along... Wat's new... Crap Manager... Kena suan by Anelka even before he has come.. This says alot about his 'research'... And Anelka as well... I feel that he's 10x worse than Bella ever was
United_Treble
18-07-2005, 01:06 PM
He was crazy all along... Wat's new... Crap Manager... Kena suan by Anelka even before he has come.. This says alot about his 'research'... And Anelka as well... I feel that he's 10x worse than Bella ever was
new win u oso complain, really happy to c u guys scolding ur own manager, wait i go get popcorn 1st
Coolsmurf
18-07-2005, 02:19 PM
i dun blame souness, our squad is too thin...too bad shepard wants to interfere...pulling strings as usual..
Tokieda
18-07-2005, 07:54 PM
* On the transfer front, Souness is trying to bring Nicolas Anelka to the club whilst Fulham's Luis Boa Morte has admitted he would be keen on a move to St James' Park. "Representing Newcastle is different from being at Fulham. It's a bigger club with more projection and which has other ambitions," said the 27-year-old. "Who doesn't aim to play at a great club, which takes part regularly in European competitions?"
dreamer75
19-07-2005, 09:40 AM
* On the transfer front, Souness is trying to bring Nicolas Anelka to the club whilst Fulham's Luis Boa Morte has admitted he would be keen on a move to St James' Park. "Representing Newcastle is different from being at Fulham. It's a bigger club with more projection and which has other ambitions," said the 27-year-old. "Who doesn't aim to play at a great club, which takes part regularly in European competitions?"
hahaha...think he will regret if he joins us :D
dreamer75
19-07-2005, 09:44 AM
Bookies tip Souness as first fall guy
Louise Taylor
Tuesday July 19, 2005
The Guardian
The build-up to the new season gained momentum yesterday when William Hill released its odds for the Premiership "sack race" and duly predicted that Newcastle's Graeme Souness would be first to part company with his club.
These odds always make uncomfortable reading for those near the top of a list which this year features Souness at 5-1, ahead of Fulham's Chris Coleman, West Ham's Alan Pardew, Charlton's Alan Curbishley and Portsmouth's Alain Perrin, all at 8-1.
Article continues
In contrast odds of 14-1 do not seem worrying but Sir Alex Ferguson will not be overjoyed to see them applied to him - especially when Chelsea's Jose Mourinho is rated 100-1 and Arsenal's Arsène Wenger 66-1. Though Ferguson is thought to be "happy" with the takeover of Manchester United by Malcolm Glazer he has confided to friends that he "will be out" if success is elusive.
Newcastle have a history of sacking managers early and in the past eight seasons have dispensed with Kenny Dalglish, Ruud Gullit and Bobby Robson before the end of September.
If the seeds of Souness's status as favourite this time were sown when he fell out with Craig Bellamy last winter, his fate was arguably sealed on Friday when he declared unbridled enthusiasm for signing Nicolas Anelka from Fenerbahce, even claiming that the move represented "no risk".
Some odds seem puzzling: for instance Blackburn's Mark Hughes, Birmingham's Steve Bruce and Tottenham's Martin Jol are all regarded as safer than Liverpool's European Cup-winning manager Rafael Benítez, quoted at 16-1.
Those near the top can take solace from the experience of one of last season's favourites, Everton's David Moyes, who now stands at an apparently secure 25-1 and has the bonus of Champions League football.
And the odds of making some decent money? Sam Allardyce at 33-1 may be a long shot but Bolton are an ageing team and Allardyce has lost his influential assistant Phil Brown to Derby.
Graeme Souness 5-1
Chris Coleman 8-1
Alan Pardew 8-1
Alan Curbishley 8-1
Alain Perrin 8-1
Paul Jewell 12-1
Mick McCarthy 12-1
Bryan Robson 12-1
Alex Ferguson 14-1
David O'Leary 14-1
Rafa Benítez 16-1
Steve McClaren 20-1
Steve Bruce 20-1
Martin Jol 20-1
Mark Hughes 20-1
Stuart Pearce 25-1
David Moyes 25-1
Sam Allardyce 33-1
Arsène Wenger 66-1
Jose Mourinho 100-1
No manager to leave in 2005-06 40-1
http://football.guardian.co.uk/News_Story/0,1563,1531278,00.html
dreamer75
19-07-2005, 11:13 AM
Michael Chopra pledged to make an impact in the Premiership after setting Newcastle on the way to an Intertoto Cup victory on Sunday.
The England Under-21 international recently signed a new one-year contract to stay at St James' Park and he repaid Graeme Souness' faith by scoring his first United goal in the 3-1 win at ZTS Dubnica.
Chopra hopes to benefit from a lack of strikers at the club this season, with Craig Bellamy signing for Blackburn and Patrick Kluivert securing a move to Valencia.
dreamer75
19-07-2005, 11:13 AM
Lee Bowyer will complete a £2m return to Charlton next week after failing to even make the bench for Newcastle's Intertoto Cup tie on Sunday.
Theychosenone
19-07-2005, 11:23 AM
Newcastle Change Kit (probably means 3rd kit)
http://shop.nufc.co.uk/sites/newcastle/images/Products/163100_B.jpg
dreamer75
19-07-2005, 11:35 AM
Newcastle Change Kit (probably means 3rd kit)
http://shop.nufc.co.uk/sites/newcastle/images/Products/163100_B.jpg
so dull ah....
dreamer75
19-07-2005, 02:04 PM
heres the 17 players:
given
harper
carr
babayaro
bramble
boumsong
elliot
dyer
bowyer(is he gone?)
parker
jenas
emre(is he here?)
butt
faye
milner
shearer
ameobi
steven taylor is still with us mah..
dreamer75
19-07-2005, 08:58 PM
Jul 19 2005
Newcastle United have increased their offer for Nicolas Anelka to £6m - but Fenerbahce are still holding out for more for the 26-year-old French international.
http://images.icnetwork.co.uk/upl/icnewcastle/jul2005/8/6/00025D30-8739-12D7-9C860C01AC1BF814.jpg
But while I cannot see Freddy Shepherd going any further for Anelka I gather that the hierarchy at St James' Park are still confident they will get their man.
Shepherd has been in similar situations before and he knows £6m is a lot of money as far as Turkish football is concerned and he has left his bid on the table.
Anelka has been making the right noises for the Fenerbahce supporters, but my information is that he is ready to return to the Premiership with United, as the Chronicle revealed on Friday night.
Indeed, I am told everything is in place for the transfer to go through at United's end and also with the player's army of representatives when, as expected, Fenerbahce agree to let Anelka go.
In the meantime, United chief scout Ray Clarke took in Fulham's match with Celtic over the weekend but Graeme Souness's other big target, Luis Boa Morte, was not playing for the London side.
Fulham, like Fenerbahce, are holding out for as much as they can for their Portuguese striker and Craven Cottage boss Chris Coleman is talking about wanting "north of £5m" for Boa Morte.
But United and Shepherd have heard it all before. They know that even after cashing in on their Dutch keeper Edwin van Der Sar to Manchester United and letting their former striker Andy Cole go to Manchester City, Fulham still need to sell another player to balance their books before the season starts.
Meanwhile, United were linked with Liverpool's Finnish central defender Sami Hyypia
over the weekend but Shepherd says that is not the case.
Hyypia, who had a trial with United in Kevin Keegan's days as manager, wants a new three-year contract at Anfield but Rafael Benitez has only offered him a one-year deal.
Meanwhile, Newcastle will unveil new signing Emre at a press conference at St James' Park tomorrow.
*Alan Shearer has been told by UEFA that United's second goal against Dubnica on Sunday is an own goal, leaving the skipper still on 192 goals for the club.
*United's game against Tottenham at White Hart Lane on New Year's Eve has been brought forward a couple of hours to 1pm to give visiting fans a better chance of getting back to the North East to celebrate the New Year.
http://icnewcastle.icnetwork.co.uk/newcastleunited/news/tm_objectid=15754174%26method=full%26siteid=50081%26headline=toon-up-nic-bid-to--6m-name_page.html
dreamer75
19-07-2005, 09:01 PM
Jul 19 2005
Dutch keeper Tim Krul today signed for Newcastle United - and then set his sights on challenging Shay Given and Steve Harper for a first-team place in the next two years.
Krul became Graeme Souness's third signing of the close season after agreeing a two-year contract at St James' Park.
The 17-year-old, who has joined United from Dutch outfit Den Haag, is regarded as one of the top young keepers in Holland and the natural successor to Edwin van der Sar when new Manchester United's new signing retires from international football after the World Cup in Germany next summer.
Krul is obviously one for the future, but in an interview with the Chronicle today, the 6ft 3in keeper said he hoped to be challenging Given and Harper for the United keeper's jersey in the next couple of years.
A very modest and unassuming Krul said today: "My contract with Den Haag has expired and I was hoping to come to the Premiership, so I am delighted a club as big as Newcastle United have given me my chance.
"I spoke to a lot of people about Newcastle, including John Karelse who of course used to be one of their goalkeepers, and they all told me I could not go wrong by coming to St James' Park.
"Of course, I'm not the first Dutchman to be with Newcastle as Ruud Gullit and Patrick Kluivert have been here before me."
Krul, who trained with United today, added: "I am hoping to start off in the Reserves and then make progress into the first team and in a couple of years I am looking to be challenging for a first-team place.
"But I know this is not going to be easy because Shay Given is such a fantastic goalkeeper."
Krul will only be at St James' Park for a couple of months before he goes to Peru with the Dutch side for the World Under-17 championships.
dreamer75
19-07-2005, 11:35 PM
Nice NewC Video Comp (http://s5.yousendit.com/d.aspx?id=27EFYQIPAK2AX3CF0UCD5EW9EX)
ZhiQiang
19-07-2005, 11:52 PM
Nice NewC Video Comp (http://s5.yousendit.com/d.aspx?id=27EFYQIPAK2AX3CF0UCD5EW9EX)
more like kluivert's goals in newcastle in the first 2 mins... lol...
dreamer75
20-07-2005, 12:14 AM
more like kluivert's goals in newcastle in the first 2 mins... lol...
mai hiam lah bro..haha..
ZhiQiang
20-07-2005, 01:25 AM
mai hiam lah bro..haha..
haiz... terrible season...
hope souney gets it right this time...
ShaqONeal
20-07-2005, 10:21 AM
haiz... terrible season...
hope souney gets it right this time...
so how many budget we hav left for this transfer window period??
any idea how much Souness signed so far??
Tokieda
20-07-2005, 05:32 PM
OT a bit, i just browsed the nufc shop and found something that i want to buy, but its costly. is there anyelse to buy it on the net??
and anyone knows where to get juventus stuff too?
dreamer75
20-07-2005, 06:16 PM
OT a bit, i just browsed the nufc shop and found something that i want to buy, but its costly. is there anyelse to buy it on the net??
and anyone knows where to get juventus stuff too?
i started a thread on where to buy Juve jerseys..take a look there :D
martinweng
20-07-2005, 06:29 PM
so how many budget we hav left for this transfer window period??
any idea how much Souness signed so far??
they say we spent 6m each on 2 midfielders liao.
anelka another 6m.
dreamer75
20-07-2005, 08:39 PM
they say we spent 6m each on 2 midfielders liao.
anelka another 6m.
Nt sure whether is it 4mil or 6mil for Emre?
dreamer75
20-07-2005, 08:40 PM
Dyer's injury problems continue
After his cursed hamstring struck again, Kieron Dyer will see a specialist today.
Dyer has played just 35 minutes of Newcastle's last eight games due to a recurrence of the problem and is now a big doubt for Saturday's Intertoto Cup second-leg tie against Dubnica at St James' Park.
Tokieda
20-07-2005, 09:09 PM
Dyer's injury problems continue
After his cursed hamstring struck again, Kieron Dyer will see a specialist today.
Dyer has played just 35 minutes of Newcastle's last eight games due to a recurrence of the problem and is now a big doubt for Saturday's Intertoto Cup second-leg tie against Dubnica at St James' Park.
and souey said he want to use him beside shearer and see him score loadsa goals, what BS
kraze
21-07-2005, 08:54 AM
as reported from soccernet:
Emre completes £3.8m Newcastle move
Newcastle today completed the finalities of Emre's £3.8million move from Inter Milan.
The Turkish midfielder has signed a five-year contract at St James' Park.
Emre, 24, joins former Chelsea midfielder Scott Parker as a summer arrival at Newcastle and is rated highly by Magpies boss Graeme Souness, who first encountered him as a teenager during the Scot's stint as Galatasaray boss.
Discussing Emre's arrival last week, Souness said: 'I am delighted to have him.
'I think he will prove to be a really good player for this football club.
'He is left-footed and I think it is imperative that you have a couple of left-footers in your team to give you the balance. We have two at the moment - I would like three.
'There is a feeling in Turkey that he is the best Turkish player ever.
'When I was there as a coach, he was a young boy, a very young boy and the name kept cropping up.'
A statement from Newcastle to the Stock Exchange today confirmed the deal had been completed.
It read: 'The directors of Newcastle United PLC are pleased to announce that agreement has been reached with Inter Milan whereby Newcastle United has purchased the registration of Emre Belozoglu for a fee of €5.5 million.
'The player has agreed personal terms and signed a five-year contract ending in June 2010.'
Emre spent four seasons in Italy and was a losing World Cup semi-finalist in 2000 with Turkey.
dreamer75
22-07-2005, 12:32 AM
Guti Linked to Newcastle
http://www.sportnetwork.net/main/s70/st77561.htm?fromrss=1
Shadow04
22-07-2005, 01:41 AM
Guti Linked to Newcastle
he better not come here.
Guti Linked to Newcastle
Newcastle have no shortage of midfielders
dreamer75
22-07-2005, 09:13 AM
he better not come here.
waste our $$$ and too many here liao,,.
dreamer75
22-07-2005, 09:21 AM
Stuttgart keen on Newcastle winger
16:54 July, 21, 2005
Stuttgart are interested in signing Hugo Viana of Newcastle United Football Club.
The Portuguese winger spent last season on loan at Sporting Lisbon after failing to settle at St James’ Park, and is available for permanent transfer this summer.
Stuttgart boss Giovanni Trapattoni admits he would like Viana to replace Alexander Hleb who head to Arsenal, yet he has believes he may struggle to sign the 22-year-old at the moment.
"He is a very good and very interesting player," said Trapattoni of Viana. "But maybe it's not the right time-frame right now."
http://www.fansfc.com/frontpage/frontpagenews.asp?newsid=142395
dreamer75
23-07-2005, 10:49 AM
Newcastle bids for Anelka and Boa Morte rejected
Tats a good news
dreamer75
23-07-2005, 11:21 AM
Tats a good news
hahahaa..i agree!!! :s13:
TiOnGSquare
23-07-2005, 11:27 AM
dreamer yr pm inbox full.....spring cleaning time...
dreamer75
23-07-2005, 11:37 AM
dreamer yr pm inbox full.....spring cleaning time...
hehe bro...sorry...cleared! :D
Tokieda
23-07-2005, 11:42 AM
hahahaa..i agree!!! :s13:
it means we are still nowhere near a full squad... :yawn:
whats new...
sleepyhealer
23-07-2005, 11:56 AM
Newcastle will need a lot of new blood if they want to make it to the top ten this season. They cannot go anywhere without adding on more players especially strikers....
dreamer75
23-07-2005, 11:59 AM
it means we are still nowhere near a full squad... :yawn:
whats new...
wat to do, he wans to sign those sibei jialet players..
prepare to be the 1st manager to be CHOP when new season starts..haa..
Tokieda
23-07-2005, 12:40 PM
just watched a bellamy video compliation...kinda miss him..
dreamer75
23-07-2005, 12:49 PM
just watched a bellamy video compliation...kinda miss him..
share share leh?
Tokieda
23-07-2005, 03:23 PM
login to http://www.mofile.com and enter 9799781972216860 as the pickup code
studmufn
23-07-2005, 08:27 PM
does anyone remember a former french striker that newcastle signed?
it was shortly after the 98 world cup i think.
Tokieda
23-07-2005, 08:37 PM
a big-time flop, Stéphane Guivarch
Shearer brace kills off ZTS
Alan Shearer netted a late double for Newcastle as they brushed aside ZTS Dubnica 2-0 in the second leg of the Intertoto Cup at St James' Park.
Shearer's brace underlined his side's superiority over two legs (5-1)against the Slovakians and booked a semi-final trip to either Spain or Croatia next week.
The Newcastle captain leapt highest to head home James Milner's 76th-minute corner, then Stephen Carr's final minute free-kick, to complete a welcome double in his second competitive match of the season.
Boss Graeme Souness has not tried to hide his displeasure at having to use the maligned summer tournament in order to claim a lucrative Uefa Cup berth.
But besides Shearer's strikes he took the opportunity to give Jermaine Jenas and Lee Bowyer their first tastes of competitive action this term.
Jenas was withdrawn at half-time after a useful 45 minute warm-up while Bowyer continued to scurry all afternoon as if trying to prove to his doubting boss that his future remains very much on Tyneside.
Indeed Bowyer made the first mark in a game distinctly lacking in urgency after Newcastle's comprehensive 3-1 success in the first match in Slovakia a week ago.
The midfielder set up the lively Charles N'Zogbia on the left, whose cross was cleared from the Dubnica box by Robert Novak.
Novak was also on hand four minutes later to half-clear a cross from James Milner before Matej Izvolt denied Shearer a shooting chance with a block on the edge of the six yard box.
Another N'Zogbia cross went astray and Jenas blazed a right-foot shot over from the edge of the box before Bowyer set up Shearer with a 13th-minute chance.
The veteran striker turned on a low through-ball in the box but could only stab his shot narrowly wide of keeper Dusan Pernis' right-hand post.
Souness' hope of an early goal to snuff out the slightest threat of a dramatic revival was not forthcoming as his side side continued to look sluggish in the final third against limited opponents.
Indeed the visitors created a chance of their own in the 19th minute when Igor Drzik set up a chance for Peter Kiska who bobbled a weak effort straight at Given.
Milner was denied by a fine save from Pernis in the 21st minute when he was sent clear by Bowyer and hit a low left-foot shot from the edge of the box.
Three minutes later, Jenas' 25-yard free-kick hit the underside of the bar and bounced down only for Amdy Faye to head the rebound wide of his target.
And with the home side finally starting to get things together, Jenas was again denied by a point-blank save by Pernis after stealing to the edge of the six-yard box unmarked.
Souness replaced Jenas at half-time with Michael Chopra, who had scored his first senior goal for the club in the first leg but endured a more miserable afternoon this time around.
Before he had even touched the ball Chopra was involved in a collision with keeper Pernis which required him to exit the pitch on a stretcher.
Although Chopra returned to the action he was forced to give up after another 15 minutes and was replaced by fellow substitute Martin Brittain.
Dubnica stole forward through Peter Kiska on the hour mark, finishing his run with a rising shot which the acrobatic Given did well to tip over the bar.
N'Zogbia finally fashioned an overdue chance for Newcastle after cutting in from the left and unleashing a cross-cum-shot which flashed across the face of goal.
Then Milner's cross was just missed by Bowyer in the box as the home side finally began to exert a bit of pressure.
Shearer's goal had an air of inevitability about it and the second was almost inevitable, coming in almost identical fashion from Carr's looping free-kick from the right flank.
Tokieda
24-07-2005, 12:36 AM
so our attack seemed toothless against limited opposition..whats new?
dreamer75
24-07-2005, 01:12 AM
at least Shearer still can score lah..
dreamer75
24-07-2005, 01:12 AM
new injury to jenas...
I believe newcastle have enough cover for him. They need to get new strikers.Think they will have a hard time against Deportivo on wednesday.
dreamer75
24-07-2005, 01:21 PM
I believe newcastle have enough cover for him. They need to get new strikers.Think they will have a hard time against Deportivo on wednesday.
haiz...Depor is no push-over..i fear the worse..
dreamer75
24-07-2005, 01:24 PM
new high calibre midfield signings Scott Parker and Emre were rested but the broadly 4-3-3 system did not function smoothly with James Milner and Charles N'Zogbia largely flattering to deceive just behind Shearer.
With Amdy Faye, Jermaine Jenas and Lee Bowyer in midfield, Nicky Butt's fall from grace was highlighted by his failure to leave the bench. Moreover any Arsenal or Manchester United scouts will have noted that Jenas, allegedly "the new Patrick Vieira" was eclipsed by both the at times Vieira-esque Faye and, particularly, the seemingly Charlton bound Bowyer.
Bowyer was the best player on view but, as Newcastle fans know only too well, all that glisters is not necessarily gold.
dreamer75
24-07-2005, 01:24 PM
Sami Hyypia 4 us?
Shadow04
24-07-2005, 01:53 PM
Sami Hyypia 4 us?
not bad.. imo...
aging yes.. but his experience might be vital in be keeping a our backline strong.. his reading of the game isnt that bad..
dreamer75
24-07-2005, 10:48 PM
not bad.. imo...
aging yes.. but his experience might be vital in be keeping a our backline strong.. his reading of the game isnt that bad..
dun mind him coming cos he's one of the more established def in epl.
dreamer75
24-07-2005, 10:49 PM
Celta Interested In Viana
dreamer75
24-07-2005, 10:49 PM
Newcastle boss Graeme Souness has confirmed that he's in talks with former Rangers defender Craig Moore about a move to St James' Park.
The Australian centre-back is a free agent having been sacked by Borussia Monchengladbach.
Tokieda
24-07-2005, 11:00 PM
i dun think hypia will move...baseless rumour....
craig moore, journeyman defender i reckon...
ShaqONeal
25-07-2005, 08:34 PM
i dun think hypia will move...baseless rumour....
craig moore, journeyman defender i reckon...
all kind of rumours, true or not true.. although i oso dun believe he will come...
ShaqONeal
25-07-2005, 08:41 PM
United silent on takeover reports Jul 25 2005
By Graeme Whitfield, The Journal
Newcastle United chairman Freddie Shepherd was remaining tight-lipped yesterday after reports the club was facing two takeover bids.
There were claims yesterday that a British businessman is planning to use money from the sale of his company to launch a bid for the St James's Park club.
And there have also been rumours that a group of entrepreneurs from Malaysia are looking at taking a controlling interest in the club to make it the centrepiece of a leisure and gambling complex.
Mr Shepherd has recently increased his stake in Newcastle's plc, with the Shepherd Offshore company he runs with brother Bruce buying 150,000 shares in the club for £71,625. But yesterday he said that he could not comment on any takeover rumour because of rules concerning the governance of publicly listed companies.
Mr Shepherd said: "Even if I had heard anything, I couldn't comment. It's a public company and we're bound by certain rules. The only thing I can say is that I've got absolutely no comment to make."
Mr Shepherd's latest investment in the club brings Shepherd Offshore's holding to 26.7% of the total shares in Newcastle United.
A takeover bid would have to be launched if a single shareholder reaches a 30% stake but it is thought unlikely that Mr Shepherd wants to take the club back into private hands. Sir John Hall and his family remain effectively the club's biggest shareholder, owning 28.5% via a trust and 12.6% through vice-chairman Douglas Hall's Cameron Hall company.
After a disappointing last season, many Newcastle fans have hoped for the same sort of investment that transformed Chelsea into title winners. But there are few people in the world that can match Chelsea owner Roman Abramovich's massive wealth.
Supporters would also fear a takeover similar to the Malcolm Glazier deal for Manchester United, which has brought warnings of higher ticket prices and tight controls on spending on players.
dreamer75
25-07-2005, 09:19 PM
fr malaysia...hahaa....
ShaqONeal
26-07-2005, 02:09 PM
fr malaysia...hahaa....
may b Petronas becoming our next sponsor for their jersey??? :s31:
dreamer75
26-07-2005, 06:00 PM
The Daily Mail says that Manchester United are ready to listen to offers of around £3m for the utility man - with Newcastle and MIddlesbrough already said to be interested.
http://www.soccer365.com/EUROPEAN_NEWS/Premiership/page_99_101718.shtml
dreamer75
26-07-2005, 06:01 PM
may b Petronas becoming our next sponsor for their jersey??? :s31:
OMG............ :s31:
ZhiQiang
26-07-2005, 11:18 PM
takeover? i choose not to get excited over it... haiz...
sack souney is da thing to do...
dreamer75
27-07-2005, 01:47 AM
Deportivo v Newcastle
DEPORTIVO v NEWCASTLE
Intertoto Cup semi-final, first leg
Venue: Riazor
Kick off: 2000 BST, 26 July
Newcastle boss Graeme Souness is without Jermaine Jenas for the Intertoto Cup semi-final first leg against Deportivo on Wednesday.
Jenas suffered a hamstring injury in the win over Dubnica on Saturday, so Michael Chopra could play despite being concussed in the same match.
However, Kieron Dyer is still out and neither Emre nor fellow new signing Scott Parker will figure.
Deportivo's unsettled stars Albert Luque and Jorge Andrade are doubts.
dreamer75
27-07-2005, 01:50 AM
Trio rule out Toon takeover
Shares in Newcastle United rose another 16% on Tuesday despite three high-profile businessmen ruling themselves out as being behind an attempted takeover of the club.
The news that Sir John Hall has been approached to sell the 28.5% stake held by his Wynyard business sparked an 18% rise to 59.5p on Monday, and on Tuesday the share price went up again by another 9.5p to 69p at close of trading.
The development means the value of Newcastle has gone up to £88.8m from £65m when trading opened on Monday morning.
The identities of those behind the approach remain unconfirmed however after the most likely candidate, software and horse racing multi-millionaire Graham Wylie, has ruled himself out.
Wylie, who sold IT company Sage for £195m two years ago, said of speculation that he is involved: "It's rubbish - I'm not interested."
Barry Moat, chief executive of Premier Direct plc, has also ruled himself out as has the former Newcastle defender Ray Ranson, who tried unsuccessfully to buy Aston Villa.
Attention will now switch to other avenues with rumours of a Malaysian-based group being keen to be involved. Newcastle chairman Freddy Shepherd has refused to comment but his 26.7% holding plus the 12% owned by his friend and vice-chairman Douglas Hall, Sir John's son, should be enough to see off a hostile takeover.
City finance experts however believe the most likely bid is from someone who wants to be associated with the club rather than someone hoping to make money out of Newcastle.
Henk Potts, of Barclays stockbrokers, said: "This is not the best time to take over football clubs. Revenue growth is slowing, the current Premiership TV deal is worth less than the previous one.
"That makes you think someone would like to own Newcastle as a kind of trophy.
"Having said that, they do have a large and loyal fan base and there is the potential to earn more from getting into the Champions League on a much more regular basis."
Newcastle skipper Alan Shearer insists the takeover talk will not affect the players.
He told the Newcastle Evening Chronicle: "It's hardly a distraction for the players. They just get paid to play."
JONATHAN WOODGATE could have his contract terminated by Real Madrid after breaking down injured again.
The defender’s left thigh muscle gave way in training and his career is now in danger of being declared OVER by doctors.
dbchoong
27-07-2005, 10:13 AM
Tonight - Deportivo vs Newcastle in semis of Inter-Toto. Tough...
:o
dreamer75
27-07-2005, 10:55 AM
JONATHAN WOODGATE could have his contract terminated by Real Madrid after breaking down injured again.
The defender’s left thigh muscle gave way in training and his career is now in danger of being declared OVER by doctors.
luckily we sold him..
Tonight - Deportivo vs Newcastle in semis of Inter-Toto. Tough...
:o
Is it live? :s7:
pringles321
27-07-2005, 11:41 AM
woodgate damm sad... transfer to RM liao kip getting injures...
wonder if he still get paid going thru the last season with injuries??
hope he gets well man, kinda wasted to see a player of his caliber being jinxed by injury problems...
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.