PDA

View Full Version : Newcastle United - Toontalk

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 [60] 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109

ShaqONeal
06-12-2005, 08:39 PM
As of now Mr Graeme Souness is still the manager of Newcastle United FC.
may b i should stop watching football until he's out... :s8:

really sian.. really hope Owen can bring us back but again, issit really our team is a one-man team????????? :o

martinweng
06-12-2005, 08:52 PM
may b i should stop watching football until he's out... :s8:

really sian.. really hope Owen can bring us back but again, issit really our team is a one-man team????????? :o

its like a weaker version of Arsenal.

Fresnel
06-12-2005, 10:47 PM
correction, more like a stronger version of Sheffield Wednesday

ShaqONeal
07-12-2005, 08:14 AM
good news... good news for those who wan to see souness out!! ;p

Rangers offer way out Dec 6 2005

By Alan Oliver, The Evening Chronicle

Rangers will part company with their manager Alex McLeish tonight - and the word from Scotland is that this will increase Graeme Souness' chances of returning to Ibrox.

Rangers entertain Inter Milan in the Champions League, and sources in Glasgow told me today that, regardless of the result, McLeish will be leaving Ibrox.

They even say that £900,000 compensation - a year's salary - has already been agreed between Rangers and McLeish, but that both parties agreed to stay silent until after tonight's game.

Rangers can actually become the first Scottish team to reach the knockout stages of the revamped Champions League, but it is their run of nine match without a win in all competitions - the worst run in their history - which has sealed McLeish's fate.

The Rangers fans would love Souness to return to Ibrox, but both the club and the Scot will distance themselves from this at this moment in time for obvious reasons.

Souness is still very much manager of Newcastle United and he insists that while he has clearly lost the backing of the vast majority of supporters, he is determined to fight for his future at St James' Park.

Souness has always insisted that United will be his last managerial job, but the talk in Glasgow is that Rangers supremo David Murray sees his big pal as a possible director of football, with a younger coach looking after the players.

If Souness were to leave St James' Park and go to Rangers, United would be entitled to compensation - just as Souness would be looking to have the 18 months of his contract paid up if he were to leave for any reason.

These are difficult days for Souness, Newcastle United and chairman Freddy Shepherd, and it's hard to predict how things will turn out.

Souness is as tough as they come - but was it because of the fans that he changed his usual routine in Saturday's match with Aston Villa at St James' Park ?

Instead of taking his seat alongside Shepherd in the directors' box as he usually does at the start of a game, Souness went straight down to the dug-out.

And instead of patrolling his technical area like a caged tiger Souness stayed in his dug-out for most of the match.

Meanwhile, if United fans are keeping a close eye on what is happening at Rangers tonight, they will not be happy at what is going to happen at Highbury tomorrow night.

Having already qualified for the knockout stages of the Champions League, Arsene Wenger is likely to put out a weakened team against Ajax and put out his rested first-choice players at St James' Park on Saturday tea-time.

ShaqONeal
07-12-2005, 08:16 AM
it seems tat Souness has to compensate us if he wanna quit.. think tat's why he dun wanna quit.. if Sherperd to fire him, he got paid for 18 months salary lei.. am i right??

kaseymunson
07-12-2005, 11:31 AM
nabei already turned the team upside down still expecting compensation from the club. screw souness

kaseymunson
08-12-2005, 09:26 AM
Strange enough things have been quiet on Tyneside and here. Come on u toon-army roar!

ShaqONeal
08-12-2005, 11:38 AM
Strange enough things have been quiet on Tyneside and here. Come on u toon-army roar!
ok.. miaow.. miaow.. miaow..........

ShaqONeal
08-12-2005, 11:39 AM
Out of frying pan and into the fire Dec 7 2005

By The Evening Chronicle

Is this the right time for Newcastle to be thinking about another change of manager? Mark Jensen of The Mag thinks not.

It is hard to know where to start but yet again the club is in turmoil.

Graeme Souness may say he has never known a club like it but maybe somebody should have had a word in his ear before he leapt into the proverbial fire from the half-empty frying pan that is Ewood Park.

A number of points for you to consider:

1. The last time Newcastle United parted company with the manager out of season was Jack Charlton in 1985, which was his choice by the way, thankfully. In that period how many times have the `other' big teams such as Arsenal, Liverpool and Manchester United ditched their managers during the season?

2. Is there any other club in the Premiership where they have to replace players of the calibre of Emre and Michael Owen with triers such as Amady Faye and Michael Chopra?

3. Did anybody really expect a much better performance than we got against Villa, when United fielded at least three players who would not secure a game for the Mackems?

4. How did Newcastle end up having an entire midfield out on loan all season and exactly what good is that to Newcastle United (that midfield is Milner, Butt, Viana and Robert by the way)?

5. Does it remind you of anybody when the current Newcastle manager tries to convince you it was actually a really good performance, plus certain players did a lot better than you saw with your own eyes?

6. Will Newcastle's first-choice 11 ever play together in your lifetime?

7. Is it really better for Newcastle United to ditch Souness now rather than wait until the end of the season and then have a wider choice of potential replacements, if he is going to get the bullet?

8. If you need time to consider that last one, I wuld just like to point out I have seen fans in the newspapers suggesting Steve Bruce as a possible replacement!

9. Can the club keep on giving managers money to spend and then not stick it out when the criticism comes with bad results?

10. Can anybody explain how Newcastle's fans can outnumber the home fans at Wigan yet the team are outclassed by their reserves?

What about some answers? That is where it becomes difficult and what I will say is that surely we have all learnt there are no quick fixes when it comes to Newcastle United's problems.

Why could the club not have done the right thing over a year ago when there clearly was not the belief in Sir Bobby among many fans and almost certainly in the boardroom. A parting of the ways then and a handover to somebody who could then plan a new, hopefully successful, direction.

Rumour has it a handful of managers turned the job down before Graeme Souness was appointed and I am not talking Ferguson, Wenger and Mourinho.

If managers of teams like Bolton, Villa and Birmingham were allegedly not willing to jump ship to St James' Park, what does it tell you is likely to happen if Newcastle panic again?

The last thing the board should do is sack the manager just because they are getting stick from the fans.

I think it is essential we go through to the end of the season and the board sit down and rationally decide who is the best person to take Newcastle United forward.

For once the club has to look to the long-term and try to establish Newcastle United as a regular top side, otherwise we may well end up as just another Bolton, Villa or Birmingham.

Look at the league table if you do not believe me.

ShaqONeal
08-12-2005, 11:40 AM
there r too many unanswered question in our minds.. sigh.. that's why we r so quiet... miaow..

dreamer75
08-12-2005, 11:58 AM
:s31: :s31:

12/08/2005 - 2:37:58 PM

Kieron Dyer has signed a new four-year contract at Newcastle.

The England midfielder has completed a spectacular turn-around in his fortunes on Tyneside after his Newcastle career looked over nearly a year ago.

Dyer, 26, confirmed last weekend he had agreed a new deal with the Magpies after winning over the St James’ Park crowd last season.

He told stellargroup.co.uk: “The club wanted me to stay and I wanted to stay. It didn’t take long for my agent and the club to agree everything.

“I am delighted it has all been sorted out so quickly. This is a really important season for the club and for me personally. We have to improve on our showing last year and I’m sure we will.

“There is an excellent spirit here and we are all looking forward to the start of the Premiership. I hope to stay fit and play in as many games as I can and hopefully there will be a place at the World Cup waiting for me at the end of the season.”

http://www.eecho.ie/news/bstory.asp?j=61514400&p=6y5y4685&n=61514690

dreamer75
08-12-2005, 12:00 PM
we gonna be threashed thhis weekend

Injuries mount for Souey

Newcastle boss Graeme Souness is facing another injury crisis as he attempts to dig himself out of trouble.

The Scot was delighted with the way his depleted side responded to their Carling Cup debacle at Wigan last Wednesday night in Saturday's 1-1 Premiership draw with Aston Villa despite missing Michael Owen, Kieron Dyer, Emre, Celestine Babayaro, Steven Taylor, Stephen Carr and Charles N'Zogbia, and with Albert Luque sitting on the bench.

However, that did little to silence his critics. Speculation persists that his time at St James' Park is drawing to a close after just 15 months - he has played down talk of a return to Rangers - and he heads into Saturday's league visit of Arsenal to Tyneside still under pressure.

Yet again, he will be forced to use the full depth of his squad with Emre and N'Zogbia already ruled out and Babayaro completing a three-match suspension, and hopes that Owen, Taylor, Carr and Dyer could all be fit appear to be receding.

Owen has missed the last four games with a groin injury - the Magpies have only scored a penalty in his absence - while Taylor has been sidelined since dislocating his shoulder on England Under-21 duty last month, and is still several weeks away from his scheduled return date.

Souness has already paid for rushing players back from injury during his reign, with Dyer and Titus Bramble both succumbing during last season's Uefa Cup quarter-final trip to Sporting Lisbon, and Dyer and Emre breaking down before half-time in the 2-0 home defeat by Manchester United on 28 August.

Should Souness' fitness problems continue, Senegal international midfielder Amady Faye is likely to be one of the beneficiaries, and he is relishing the chance to make his mark.

The 28-year-old returned to the starting line-up against Villa and had one of is better games for the club he joined in a £2m switch from Portsmouth in January.

"I want to show the fans what I can do," he said. "This is a big club and I want to do well here. The manager brought me to the club and he has faith in me.

"Now I hope I can get a run of games in the team, and I am confident we can start winning again soon. I had been struggling with my ankle for a while, I would say I have only been about 70 or 80% fit.

"I felt the pressure because it was important for me personally to come in and do well for the team. Now I hope to stay in the side at the weekend when we play Arsenal.

"We take the positives from the game against Villa and, while Arsenal will be tough for us, we hope to get the three points."

Faye has had a difficult start to his career on Tyneside, but Souness launched a passionate defence of the African after last Saturday's game.

"There seems to be a general feeling that Amady Faye is not a very good football player," he said.

"I felt he was the best player on the park and, being a midfield player - and regarded by some as quite a good midfield player as a central midfield player - I'm telling you Amady Faye is a good player.

"I wish people would understand that. I do not think there are many midfield players who would enjoy playing against Amady Faye."

Faye and his team-mates know they face a major task, both against the Gunners and to achieve their aim of a top-six finish this season, but he is determined to play his part.

"It has been tough over the last few weeks," he told the club's official website. "We have a lot of competition in midfield, especially in the middle where I play.

"We are all professionals though, we know what the situation is. You cannot just have 11 players in the squad. You always get injuries and suspensions and you have to be ready to come in when you are called upon."

dreamer75
08-12-2005, 12:04 PM
rely on Faye???!!!!!

ShaqONeal
08-12-2005, 01:17 PM
rely on Faye???!!!!!
dun think we can rely on any player to win a match... whole team must play their best, plus tactically good manager..

even now with our first 11 on the field, if our tactic is always the same, then.. :s8:

Shadow04
08-12-2005, 03:01 PM
:s31: :s31:

12/08/2005 - 2:37:58 PM

Kieron Dyer has signed a new four-year contract at Newcastle.

The England midfielder has completed a spectacular turn-around in his fortunes on Tyneside after his Newcastle career looked over nearly a year ago.

Dyer, 26, confirmed last weekend he had agreed a new deal with the Magpies after winning over the St James’ Park crowd last season.

He told stellargroup.co.uk: “The club wanted me to stay and I wanted to stay. It didn’t take long for my agent and the club to agree everything.

“I am delighted it has all been sorted out so quickly. This is a really important season for the club and for me personally. We have to improve on our showing last year and I’m sure we will.

“There is an excellent spirit here and we are all looking forward to the start of the Premiership. I hope to stay fit and play in as many games as I can and hopefully there will be a place at the World Cup waiting for me at the end of the season.”

http://www.eecho.ie/news/bstory.asp?j=61514400&p=6y5y4685&n=61514690
you wanted to stay or the money we offer made you want to stay? :s8:

Shadow04
08-12-2005, 03:05 PM
dun think we can rely on any player to win a match... whole team must play their best, plus tactically good manager..

even now with our first 11 on the field, if our tactic is always the same, then.. :s8:
pls la.. lets be realistic.. anything more than 4-4-2 is faar too complicated for our dear Souness... :s8:

kaseymunson
08-12-2005, 05:53 PM
i predict a 0-2 defeat for the magpies.

feitz
09-12-2005, 03:36 AM
Rangers chairman David Murray insists manager Alex McLeish was 'not even close' to leaving Ibrox.

The former Scotland international will continue in his position despite the worst run of results in the club's history.

The Light Blues are currently 17 points behind Bank of Scotland Premier League leaders Celtic and have not won for 10 matches.

However, McLeish became the first manager to guide a Scottish club beyond the group stages of the Champions League on Tuesday.

A 1-1 draw with Inter Milan at Ibrox, coupled with the goalless game between Artmedia Bratislava and Porto in Slovakia, ensured Rangers would progress.

Now that success on Tuesday has kept McLeish in his position and he will occupy the dugout at Kilmarnock on Sunday and beyond.

Murray said: 'Alex will remain manager of Rangers Football Club.

'As I said two weeks ago, we would have a review and there is no reason for him to leave the club.

'It did not get close to Alex leaving. What I wanted to do was to meet Alex and see if he was up for it and the man is determined to be successful.

'He has been manager for 200 weeks and we will not judge him on a 10-week or 12-week indifferent period.

'As much as a disappointment as our domestic form is - and we all acknowledge that - we should not dismiss what we achieved this week.'

Murray admitted the club had considered what would happen in the event of McLeish leaving - with the chairman receiving plenty of interest from other managers - but he stressed he always felt his man would stay.

Murray told Sky Sports News: 'I met Alex today and I saw a man who was battered by some of the criticism from the media.

'This has been a very difficult time for him and his family and he was concerned about that.

'I have never thought he was going, I didn't want him to leave and that is all I can say, but we had to consider a plan B.

'We received numerous CVs of people who would like to become manager but why should a caretaker get the benefit of all the injured players coming back and getting a [Champions League] tie at the Nou Camp or Stamford Bridge.'

Murray added: 'We have played eight European games this season and lost one and we have just become the first Scottish club in the last 16 [of the Champions League] - Manchester United have not achieved it and they have far more resources than us.

'For me, he has done a great job at the club.'

The chairman also pledged to back McLeish with financial investment in the January transfer window.

'I have already said we need to strengthen in the break and we will do so. We will re-invest.'

'What we need to do is get back to doing well domestically.'

Murray denied Rangers' 1-1 draw with Inter Milan in midweek had any great influence in his decision to back McLeish.

He said: 'You've got to judge him over a period of time not on an individual moment or an individual game.

'He is a good manager and he deserves to be at the club.

'If you take his record over a period of time his batting average is as good as anyone in Scottish football in the last 20 years so to make him a sacrificial lamb for an isolated period of time is not the way I do business.'

Murray also refuted claims he had offered the post to various managers in the recent turbulent weeks.

He said: 'I spoke to Alex and told him what I would do if it didn't work out and we needed a Plan B.

'I kept him on board at all times but I never offered the job to anybody else.

'We had a meeting and I said we had to see a sign of improvement.

'I think the European part has been the improvement.

'I don't think domestically we have seen an improvement and we both agree on that.

'It would have been easy for me to say to Alex `we should end this' and somebody else would have had the benefit of players coming back from injury.

'And why should anyone else get the Rangers blazer to go to the Nou Camp or Anfield or Stamford Bridge. Alex deserves that.'

ShaqONeal
09-12-2005, 08:14 AM
pls la.. lets be realistic.. anything more than 4-4-2 is faar too complicated for our dear Souness... :s8:
and his 4-4-2 r the one tat cannot work when attack and collapse when defence.. sian.. ppl oso play 4-4-2 but surely can play better than us.. :s8:

dreamer75
09-12-2005, 09:32 AM
It was only a couple of years ago (although it seems ages now) that a December game against Arsenal (on their ground as well) resulted in us winning in fine style to go top of the league………and Arsenal had a better team then!!!

Even though this game is at home, does anyone expect us to get anything from it?……….I don’t think so and I sadly include the manager and every single player when I say that.

Even with Owen back, and I honestly can’t see him being bothered about playing again before Christmas, we will struggle to find the back of the net.

Possibly, the players may respond to playing a big side like Arsenal and that is our only hope as they certainly show little signs of responding to the manager although even then, we will almost certainly be unsuccessful

My prediction then……………………A DEFEAT

dreamer75
09-12-2005, 09:40 AM
Fresh injury woe for Dyer

The BBC are reporting that Newcastle United midfielder Kieron Dyer has suffered a setback in his long-standing battle against injury. The England international is said to have suffered a hamstring injury whilst at the British Olympic Medical Centre where he was trying to cure muscle problems. Dyer has had absolutely no luck at all with injuries this season. A BOMC spokesman said: "He settled in well but felt a twinge in his hamstring when he was doing some work."

Dyer was scheduled to return to training with Newcastle last Monday, but following his latest setback, he will remain at the BOMC in Harrow. He has started just two Premiership matches this season and this is the latest blow in a long list of injuries during his spell on Tyneside. The BBC have also said that his recovery was not helped by his mystery illness which the club have still not given any further details on.

dreamer75
09-12-2005, 09:42 AM
And i cant belif its our gk! Given is a superb gk for us, saving our a s s many times but i expected a outfield player

By Newcastle-Online.com 08 Dec 2005

Shay Given

Games: 5
Marks: 37
MOTM: 2
Ave Rating: 7.40

Based on the marks we hand out to each player for their individual match performances after every Toon game, Shay Given wins our player of the month award for November.

Shay picked up 37 points from a possible 50, and averaged a 7.40 mark in each of the 5 games United played in the month of November. He also picked up two man of the match awards for his performance at Goodison Park and the JJB Stadium respectively.

As a result of his phenomenal form the Ireland man has overtaken Scott Parker in the race to win our player of the season award, although it's a tight race, with the Toon pair way ahead in front and clearly our most consistent performers this season.

Speaking of Parker, he was just edged out by Shay for player of the month, amassing 36 points himself and averaging a 7.20 rating per game.

While Michael Owen's absence sees us struggling in front of goal, heaven knows where we would be without Shay and Parker. Well done the pair of them.

Of course this is all subjective and based on the opinions of Newcastle-Online.com writers, but we feel at the end of the season, our ratings will act as a canny guide.

And to give YOU the option of having your say, you lot who read this site will be able to pick your own player of the season with our end of season polls.

We will get two separate mementoes created, one for the writers and one for the readers and we'll pass these awards on to the individuals who win them.

All in due course... in the meantime to get a better idea of our rating system, click the following link: Player Ratings Guide

http://www.newcastle-online.com/#momnov

aqf
09-12-2005, 10:52 AM
Fresh injury woe for Dyer

The BBC are reporting that Newcastle United midfielder Kieron Dyer has suffered a setback in his long-standing battle against injury. The England international is said to have suffered a hamstring injury whilst at the British Olympic Medical Centre where he was trying to cure muscle problems. Dyer has had absolutely no luck at all with injuries this season. A BOMC spokesman said: "He settled in well but felt a twinge in his hamstring when he was doing some work."

Dyer was scheduled to return to training with Newcastle last Monday, but following his latest setback, he will remain at the BOMC in Harrow. He has started just two Premiership matches this season and this is the latest blow in a long list of injuries during his spell on Tyneside. The BBC have also said that his recovery was not helped by his mystery illness which the club have still not given any further details on.
Not surprise, he is always in the treatment room

kaseymunson
09-12-2005, 09:59 PM
Match Preview:

The pressure really is on for Graeme Souness at the moment. The 1-1 home draw with Villa last Saturday very nearly saw the end of the Scot, and if Barry’s penalty had gone in, we may well have been heading into this match managerless.

He’s clinging on though, and who better to play than the mighty Gunners? The focus needs to shift away from Souness however, and on to the match ahead, with winning this the main priority. We need to be united behind the team on Saturday, tension spreads and the players certainly reflected how we felt last week in their performance.

Injuries/suspensions

Where do we start? At the time of writing Souness said that both Owen and Taylor will both be back for this game, having backed down from original claims that Dyer would also be fit. However it appears Taylor has aggravated his shoulder injury and yesterday reports claimed that Owen would miss this one.

Although he is now back in the squad it would seem. Whether he actually plays or not, remains to be seen. I personally wouldn’t put money on it. I guess we’ll just have to see on Saturday. Elsewhere, Moore, Carr, Emre and N’Zogbia are all out injured, and Babayaro sits out the third game of his suspension.

United squad:
Given, Harper, Ramage, Elliott, Boumsong, Bramble, Parker, Faye, Bowyer, Solano, Luque, Clark, Brittain, Shearer, Owen, Ameobi, Chopra.

Arsenal are without Reyes, Cole, Clichy and Bergkamp remains a doubt for the match.

Arsenal Squad:
TBC...

How should we approach this game?

Arsenal’s away form has been terrible this season, and the 2-0 defeat to Bolton last week adds to Wenger’s misery. As ever, teams usually end their dodgy records against us, but hopefully Arsenal can keep it up for another week. They’ve got their own injury problems, with left back a certain concern.

The awful Cygan has played there recently and looked poor on TV against Bolton, they’ve not got many other options so hopefully he’ll play. Solano will have to pick up his form and exploit this weakness. He’s not been great since his return to the club, but we all know what he can do. Just stick on the right Nobby and attack their defence, he’s barely crossed the ball all season so we need some of that for Shearer.

I imagine Luque will play on the left wing rather than Ameobi. He needs to play regularly to prove himself, and against one of the best teams in the country the motivation is certainly there. From what I’ve seen in Spain he’s better up front, but hopefully he’ll do a good job out wide. Just give him the ball rather than hoofing it to Shearer and we’ll be ok.

This is either the best or the worst time to face Arsenal. They’ve already qualified for the latter stages of the Champions League, so their best players will be fresh for Sunday after a rest midweek against Ajax and they’ll be wanting to try and close the gap at the top.

So another defeat would be disastrous for them, and I’m sure Wenger has been telling them that all week. We’ve got injury problems, but if there’s a good atmosphere like there usually is for this game, and we get a bit physical with them we just might succeed. They don’t like to be ruffled, and a midfield two of either Parker and Faye or Parker and Bowyer will certainly do that.

Key Players

Newcastle:
For Newcastle I’d say Scott Parker is pretty key to this game. He’s been great all season and in the first match against Arsenal he was absolutely immense. With a midfield of Gilberto and Fabregas its certainly not the strongest in the world, and a physical battle often sees them on the losing side. Parker has that tenacity in his game and hopefully he can get a foothold in midfield.

Arsenal:
For Arsenal it has to be Thierry Henry. For me, he’s the best player in the Premiership and can score out of nothing. Boumsong has done well in the past against him, and he’ll have to get out of this awful form to stand a chance against his fellow Frenchman. Even if Arsenal are poor, Henry is still a massive threat. It’ll be a tough day for the centre backs.

Verdict

It’ll be a hard game for sure, and as I said the pressure really is on Souness. My head says we don’t stand much chance as we’ve been utterly awful recently, but my heart just says that in typical NUFC style we’ll be crap against the average teams and step up a gear against the big guns. Sod realism, I’m going for a 2-1 win for us. Howay the lads!

http://www.newcastle-online.com/nufc2005_06/previews/arsenal_home.shtml

kaseymunson
09-12-2005, 10:02 PM
Owen has been added to the squad but honestly I think he wouldn't figure for the game. How many times were he included but still yet to play?

Fresnel
10-12-2005, 08:57 AM
2 Words : Ass Whacked or Butt washed or White Wash or Mercilessly Raped. your choice. But either one of them will describe what is gonna happen to us.

Tokieda
10-12-2005, 11:54 AM
we will lose today...simple

henry will have a field day against the 2 goondus in the middle

aqf
10-12-2005, 01:04 PM
Come on, support ur team. 1-0 to newcastle!!!!Go magpies go!!

studmufn
10-12-2005, 01:32 PM
owen not playing again?
will we see a miracle?
http://www.newcastle-online.com/nufcdownloads/wallpaper/ameobi1.jpg

feitz
10-12-2005, 02:25 PM
owen not playing again?
will we see a miracle?

you said it yourself, we need a miracle to win....

kaseymunson
10-12-2005, 06:10 PM
If Owen plays then there's a chance. If Cygan plays then there's a chance too.

aqf
10-12-2005, 06:26 PM
:s13: :s13: Cygan is arsenal ver of Titus bramble

Shadow04
10-12-2005, 11:02 PM
lol.. this is funny.. :s13:

donald83
11-12-2005, 03:10 AM
Unbelievable man.. We beat Arsenal 1-0!!!

AhHuat
11-12-2005, 03:12 AM
well done newcastle !!!

good job !!!

aqf
11-12-2005, 03:13 AM
Yeah!!!!!!!!!!!

Shadow04
11-12-2005, 03:15 AM
oh my.. wat did we do to deserve this..?

anyway.. good job...

ticcan
11-12-2005, 03:22 AM
The bright side is that Newcastle are probably gonna be stuck with Souness even longer... haha ;)

usjag_18
11-12-2005, 03:33 AM
Hi guys,

I have been watching the match... They really did very well in 2nd-half like wat the commentator had said....

It's no joking, the magpies really did better than everyone expecting...... It's so impressive.... C'mon guys, cheer up, at least U got one more ammunition to "shoot" @ the targets....

N.Solano is really damn strong....

Congratulation to U guys.... Enjoy your happy wkend!!! :D

Cheers'
O'

P/S:- Do U guys still think U wannna to change your skipper?? Becos other than Shearer, can U guys think of anyone else can be the captain of this club with long history?

chikyblink
11-12-2005, 03:35 AM
The bright side is that Newcastle are probably gonna be stuck with Souness even longer... haha ;)

Isn't that the dark side lol?

Anyway i feel the ref is sucumbing to home pressure. Naughty Shearer's fouls went unpunished until the very end. Very physical game. Arsenal misses Viera badly. Parker's my Man of the Match.
N wat u guys think of Souness's reaction when Nobby scores?

Shadow04
11-12-2005, 03:47 AM
didnt watch the match.. was out.. so cant comment bout anithing in match..

but i'm impressed with our clean sheet agaisnt *gasp* Arsenal.. granted Arsenal seems to be misfiring recently, firing blanks for 3 straight games, losing 2 games in the process, but with our shaky defence i had expected 1 goal conceded at the very least..

nice to know that we are finally playing football for a change now..

usjag_18
11-12-2005, 05:31 AM
Isn't that the dark side lol?

Anyway i feel the ref is sucumbing to home pressure. Naughty Shearer's fouls went unpunished until the very end. Very physical game. Arsenal misses Viera badly. Parker's my Man of the Match.
N wat u guys think of Souness's reaction when Nobby scores?

Must be breathing a deep air....

Tokieda
11-12-2005, 08:37 AM
WHY WHY WHY WHY!!!!

martinweng
11-12-2005, 08:48 AM
WTF we beat Arsenal.

dis is BULL****!

aqf
11-12-2005, 09:06 AM
Great wrestling match from shearer. Anyone have the clip of Shearer's rock bottom on Lauren?

kaseymunson
11-12-2005, 10:06 AM
I'm a magpies fan but to be honest I thought Shearer ought to be sent off for the cynical foul on Lauren. The game was physical but I don't think we have a choice. We aren't a match for Arsenal's slick passing movements and at times Newcastle were made to look dirty. Apart from the great save that Shay Given made in the first half, our magnificent gk was made a spectator in the second. Newcastle kept on piling pressure on the gunners that the latter got slightly disorientated. After Gilberto's sending off Newcastle didn't look like losing the game at least. Our defence were alright, Jean and Fat Bram weren't given too much trouble by the opposing strikers, and I thought Parker and Faye did well to contain Arsenal's passes. Owen was relatively quiet after a long layoff and needless to say Shearer became the centre of gunner's complains with his physical approach to the game. Our wingers Nobby got a good goal after a series of wayward set-pieces, while Ameobi continued to look lost and out of sorts in unfamiliar terrain on the left. My Man of the Match is definitely Scott Parker. Played his heart out as in every games and finally got replaced after 2 collisions that left him bleeding from the mouth and nearly got him a knock-out.

ShaqONeal
11-12-2005, 11:33 AM
two successive defeat for gunners..

i thought we will give them chance to revive from their previous defeat, and i was wrong.. (think i almost guess wrong)

anyway, i didn't watch the match, good to get a win esp vs Arsenal... but come on, we have to do better than tat, bcos we can win a match in 5 to b in top 6...

donald83
11-12-2005, 11:45 AM
But we played quite well in the second half man. Parker DAMN GOOD!!! I think he's a terrific signing. Look at his work rate and his determination. No one else can come close.

At least ease off the pressure on Souness. Hope we can build up on this.

Tokieda
11-12-2005, 12:07 PM
just watch football extra, and they were debating about shearer x-rated challenges, not 1 but 3 challenges

1) rock bottom on lauren (fair enuff)
2) x-rated two footed lunge from behind on campbell (nothing given amazing considering this happen 60secs after gilberto sending off)
3) high foot raised challenging for the ball (nothing given)

Tokieda
11-12-2005, 12:08 PM
But we played quite well in the second half man. Parker DAMN GOOD!!! I think he's a terrific signing. Look at his work rate and his determination. No one else can come close.

At least ease off the pressure on Souness. Hope we can build up on this.

he has been ace together with shay given so far...

martinweng
11-12-2005, 01:13 PM
just watch football extra, and they were debating about shearer x-rated challenges, not 1 but 3 challenges

1) rock bottom on lauren (fair enuff)

wad u mean by rock bottom?

u mean rock bottom dat wrestling move?

Tokieda
11-12-2005, 02:03 PM
sorta, he won a challenge with lauren on the right, and he then wrapped his arm around lauren and lifted him a little before he went crashing down...

donald83
11-12-2005, 02:35 PM
And Shearer won a free kick. Actually he's quite rough. Smelly. Haha

dbchoong
11-12-2005, 03:08 PM
Think the dirtiest was Lehmann - I think he purposely elbowed Parker. Thought it was a really dirty move. :s27:

Shearer was rough too but at least he did not injure anyone.

donald83
11-12-2005, 06:27 PM
Think the dirtiest was Lehmann - I think he purposely elbowed Parker. Thought it was a really dirty move. :s27:

Yah f*ck man Lehmann. Poor Parker.. I looked at him crashed into Lehman like a mini cooper crashing into a truck head on.

Totally flat man. haha. But well done.

usjag_18
11-12-2005, 07:32 PM

Abt Lehmann, I totally agreed with U... He's damn dirty... He can just lie down when Parker coming twds as he's facing down, but he purposely fly towards Parker.... :s27:

martinweng
11-12-2005, 07:33 PM
i need to see the highlights of dis game.

I'm sure its a nice warm-up until arsenal face man utd again.

Ronaldo_7
11-12-2005, 07:35 PM
good for newcastle united :)

kaseymunson
11-12-2005, 08:35 PM
sorta, he won a challenge with lauren on the right, and he then wrapped his arm around lauren and lifted him a little before he went crashing down...
That was an elbow and a costline (in wrestling term, but how do u spell that?) on Lauren which was a joy to watch :D

Shadow04
11-12-2005, 08:43 PM
wah.. sounds more like a wrestling match den a football match now.. whaha..

martinweng
11-12-2005, 09:19 PM
That was an elbow and a costline (in wrestling term, but how do u spell that?) on Lauren which was a joy to watch :D

clothesline. (think of running urself into a clothes-line at neck level lor)

martinweng
11-12-2005, 09:20 PM
anyway i dun care wad gunner fans will say.

we all noe Newcastle stole it. But im not going to admit it :D

Tokieda
11-12-2005, 09:36 PM

just drama a bit =:p

daveaha
12-12-2005, 03:56 PM

Agreed,
Apparently, Parker lost a tooth over the elbowing incident...
Gunners b@stard !

dreamer75
12-12-2005, 05:52 PM
wow! we won!

din watch the match so no comments.

Souness can breathe for 1 more match.

dreamer75
12-12-2005, 05:57 PM
http://www.frankievalley.com/images/fv-live-0.jpg

hope we have a few Parkers in our squad..

aqf
12-12-2005, 06:02 PM

Is that Parker? Damn Lehmann, look at what he did to Parker handsome face :mad:

Shadow04
12-12-2005, 06:03 PM

ouch... that got to hurt... damn Lehmann indeed... :mad:

martinweng
12-12-2005, 06:20 PM
dat will only make our parker more violent and gangster-like.

dreamer75
12-12-2005, 06:23 PM
Is that Parker? Damn Lehmann, look at what he did to Parker handsome face :mad:

yes.......:(

dreamer75
12-12-2005, 06:26 PM
Parker's handsome face?

http://images.icnetwork.co.uk/upl/icnewcastle/jun2005/4/9/0000A22F-3EBE-12B1-B74F80BFB6FA0000.jpg

usjag_18
12-12-2005, 06:33 PM

This is really Scott Parker???

dreamer75
12-12-2005, 06:37 PM
SOUNESS:

"I am delighted with the effort, delighted with the commitment, and delighted for my players.

"In the first half we were a wee bit nervy, but did very well second half.

"With the players we had unavailable, the route we went down was trying to get Arsenal turned. We played a game that suited us."

He added:

"The players are aware of what has been written and said about them, and answered today in an extremely positive manner.

"I doubt if we could field an eleven that could fight any more. Scott Parker and Amady Faye, and the grumpy old man up front, epitomised that."

kaseymunson
12-12-2005, 06:42 PM

Are u farking sure thats Parker? He didn't look like that when he left the field..

martinweng
12-12-2005, 06:46 PM
its a pity parker is so handsome, no menacing face.

I worry about shearer. our wrestler is getting unkind media attention.

ShaqONeal
12-12-2005, 09:19 PM
Street fighters spike Gunners Dec 12 2005

I don't know what Newcastle United fans must have thought was the more pleasing.

Beating Arsenal - or hearing Arsene Wenger bleating, whinging and moaning about it afterwards.

Have Arsenal got short memories? Can't they remember the corresponding game last season when Ashley Cole took the lace out of the ball in the penalty area with referee Steve Bennett and his Scunthorpe assistant referee Dave Babski being the only two people at St James' Park who did not see it, or did not have the bottle to say they had seen it?

And have Arsenal and Wenger already forgotten the opening game of the season when the hapless Bennett sent off Jermaine Jenas and had to send a grovelling apology to Tyneside admitting he was wrong?

Wenger, of course, sees no evil, hears no evil and speaks no evil as far as Arsenal are concerned. And perhaps he did not see his keeper Jens Lehmann flatten Scott Parker with his elbow.

Instead of lambasting United in general and Alan Shearer in particular before a world-wide audience after the game, the Arsenal manager should have been in his own dressing room asking his side why they had not had the game won when they were streets ahead of United in the first half.

But United came out like street fighters in the second half, and even before Gilberto, who made such a meal of that Jenas foul at Highbury, was sent off in the 57th minute, Arsenal were already on the ropes.

The only surprise was that the knockout blow from the admirable Nobly Solano did not come until the 82nd minute after Shearer had done brilliantly to get the ball to him.

Perhaps another reason for Wenger's fury was the fact that he did not bid for Michael Owen when it became obvious that the England striker was leaving Real Madrid in the summer.

Not surprisingly, after a four- match lay-off because of a groin injury Owen was a bit ring rusty, but there can be no doubt that had he been in an Arsenal shirt on Saturday night then the Gunners would have gone home with the three points.

The next goal Arsenal score against United will be their 200th against the black and whites, but following Shay Given's heroics in the first half they never looked like getting it after the break.

As a result, United kept their seventh clean sheet in the Premiership this season, which is already one more than last season - and we haven't even reached the halfway stage yet.

That will come against Charlton Athletic at St James' Park on December 28, but before then United have difficult away games at West Ham on Saturday and Liverpool on Boxing Day, by which time we should know if they are going to be serious contenders for European football next season.

The football they played on Saturday wasn't exactly what you could call European football. But it wasn't half effective as Arsenal didn't know what had hit them in the second half.

Indeed, it's a long time since I saw Arsenal as intimidated by a side in black and white as they were on Saturday.

Wenger's criticism will be music to Shearer's ears. But while the skipper, Given and young defender Peter Ramage all excelled, United's man of the match had to be Scott Parker.

A fortnight ago Gavin Peacock told me that his dad Keith, who is assistant manger at Charlton, always claims that there is something about Arsenal that gets to Parker.

They say that in his Charlton days Parker used to play like two men against the Gunners and this was certainly the case again on Saturday.

But it's just not Parker. United have now picked up 16 points from the seven games Owen has played for them and the sheer presence of the little striker puts fear into the hearts of the opposition.

And many more performances like the one United gave in the second half will strike fear into a lot of teams in the Premiership.

VERDICT: United weren't in it in the first half, but they scared the life out of Arsenal in the second.

send Wenger to hospital to check his brain, his gunners r one of the club in EPL which is known for their physical... now lost liao, kpkb..nb... can't accept ah.. eat your own pill..

Shadow04
12-12-2005, 09:35 PM
Street fighters spike Gunners Dec 12 2005

I don't know what Newcastle United fans must have thought was the more pleasing.

Beating Arsenal - or hearing Arsene Wenger bleating, whinging and moaning about it afterwards.

hearing him bleat, whine and moan about it thank you ver much... sometimes managers are just blind to his own players' behaviour.. the pot calling the kettle black.. he conviently forgot to mention Lehmann's treatment of Parker.. :s8:

dreamer75
12-12-2005, 09:50 PM
By Scott Wilson

ALAN Shearer last night defended his aggressive style of play and told Arsene Wenger to look a little closer to home in the search for an overtly physical footballer.

Wenger accused Shearer of over-stepping the mark in the aftermath of his side's 1-0 defeat on Saturday night, claiming the Newcastle skipper repeatedly targeted the man and not the ball during a succession of aerial challenges.

Shearer also came under fire following last month's 1-0 defeat at Goodison Park, a game in which he appeared to elbow Everton defender David Weir in the head as the pair tussled for a long ball.

The 35-year-old makes no apologies for his whole-hearted approach, arguing that an inability to compete effectively enables defenders to dominate the game.

And, after Gilberto Silva added to Arsenal's long list of disciplinary problems by being sent off in the second half of Saturday's game, he cited former Gunners skipper Patrick Vieira as an example of a player who was not afraid of physical confrontation.

"I wasn't aware that Arsene Wenger had been complaining about how physical I was," said Shearer, who still needs two more goals to equal Jackie Milburn's goalscoring record in a black and white shirt. "I don't mind that, but I've certainly never seen Vieira pulling out of challenges.

"You have to be physical. If you go out there and let yourself be pushed around and bullied, you won't get anywhere. You have to be physical because football is a physical game.

"I'm not aware of anyone, particularly in the midfield area or up front, who doesn't give a little bit. If you don't, you'll get pushed around and bullied. It's a big position for big boys.

"I thoroughly enjoyed it out there. I thought it was a great battle and I wish every game could be like that."

Shearer's combative qualities were matched by every member of the Newcastle team, with the much-maligned Titus Bramble and Jean-Alain Boumsong performing admirably against the pace of Thierry Henry.

United's centre-halves were protected by the defensive screen afforded by Scott Parker and Amdy Faye, while even Shola Ameobi and Nolberto Solano displayed a previously unseen willingness to throw themselves into every tackle going.

"You have to have diggers and fighters in your team," said Shearer. "Every successful team has players like that and I thought, on the day, Scott Parker and Amdy Faye were magnificent.

"They didn't give Arsenal's players any time on the ball to settle and they set the tone for the rest of the performance. Everyone followed on from that and that was great."

Nevertheless, Arsenal can feel aggrieved at having to complete the game with just ten men. Compared to some of the challenges that were flying in, Gilberto Silva's two bookings seemed particularly harsh.

Shearer had some sympathy for his opponents' plight, but highlighted the contrast to what happened at Highbury on the opening day of the season. Then, Jermaine Jenas was dismissed for an equally innocuous challenge on Gilberto.

"I know we always say it, but maybe things do even themselves out," said Shearer. "I'm not so sure it was a sending off, but we were the better team up until then anyway - certainly in the second half.

"It was a clumsy tackle, but that was all it was. But then I didn't think JJ's was a sending off at Highbury either on the opening day of the season. It's funny how that seems to happen in football."

The challenge now, of course, is for Newcastle to produce the same effort and intensity in their forthcoming away games at West Ham and Liverpool.

Saturday's win took them back into the top half of the table, but it will count for little if the Magpies fail to pick up something on their travels before returning to Tyneside on December 28.

"We have set a standard now," said Shearer. "Hopefully, that can be a turning point and we can climb the table. That performance should help our confidence - there's no doubt about that."

dreamer75
12-12-2005, 09:52 PM
Chelsea Or Newcastle?
Story by Bill Gordon
12 December 2005

Chelsea or Newcastle Utd? The choice could be offered to Albert Luque's old team-mate, and he seems happy to please both parties.

According to SKY TV, Newcastle look to be in pole position for the services of Real Betis' Joaquin after the winger admitted it would be 'beautiful' to play alongside fellow Spanish international Albert Luque.

The player, who Chelsea boss Jose Mourinho had been looking to take to Stamford Bridge during the summer transfer window, revealed Newcastle's interest in him at the end of last month.

Joaquin is quoted in the News of the World as saying, "I've been told Newcastle have asked Luque for reports on me.

"That is good news as far as I'm concerned - I hope he told them nice things.

"It would be beautiful to have him as a team-mate and play alongside somebody like Owen who is one of the best strikers in the world."

Shadow04
12-12-2005, 10:45 PM
Chelsea Or Newcastle?
Story by Bill Gordon
12 December 2005

Chelsea or Newcastle Utd? The choice could be offered to Albert Luque's old team-mate, and he seems happy to please both parties.

According to SKY TV, Newcastle look to be in pole position for the services of Real Betis' Joaquin after the winger admitted it would be 'beautiful' to play alongside fellow Spanish international Albert Luque.

The player, who Chelsea boss Jose Mourinho had been looking to take to Stamford Bridge during the summer transfer window, revealed Newcastle's interest in him at the end of last month.

Joaquin is quoted in the News of the World as saying, "I've been told Newcastle have asked Luque for reports on me.

"That is good news as far as I'm concerned - I hope he told them nice things.

"It would be beautiful to have him as a team-mate and play alongside somebody like Owen who is one of the best strikers in the world."
knn.. zhun bo? we dont need another midfielder la.. much as i would like to have him in our team...

martinweng
12-12-2005, 10:50 PM
knn.. zhun bo? we dont need another midfielder la.. much as i would like to have him in our team...

u dunno how much money Fat Fred has eaten over the past decade.

i would rather have solano/dyer/joaquin on right flank.

den juz buy Henry den ok liao.

Tokieda
12-12-2005, 11:07 PM
http://img212.imageshack.us/img212/9939/scottparkerforengland2gq.jpg

Fresnel
12-12-2005, 11:56 PM
I must say no matter how cynical i am about NewC's performances, if they continue to play like they did against Arsenal in the 2nd half then i must say we will be heading somewhere. Every player were giving their 100% to tussle and fight for the ball and play it forward. Pure commitment! Parker was awesome and i must say he deserved every support from every fans. Saying that, another player worth mentioning is Amdy Faye. All the while i thought he was 'useless' , but that day he was really anchored and fought for the ball throughout the match. A definite improvement in him! If he and Parker can shore up the defense to support our wingers, i'll say NewC will be in for good times again...ONLY IF...and i repeat...ONLY IF we play consistently like that every match!

martinweng
13-12-2005, 08:33 AM
I must say no matter how cynical i am about NewC's performances, if they continue to play like they did against Arsenal in the 2nd half then i must say we will be heading somewhere. Every player were giving their 100% to tussle and fight for the ball and play it forward. Pure commitment! Parker was awesome and i must say he deserved every support from every fans. Saying that, another player worth mentioning is Amdy Faye. All the while i thought he was 'useless' , but that day he was really anchored and fought for the ball throughout the match. A definite improvement in him! If he and Parker can shore up the defense to support our wingers, i'll say NewC will be in for good times again...ONLY IF...and i repeat...ONLY IF we play consistently like that every match!

er...nah...not everyday is sunday.

kaseymunson
13-12-2005, 09:13 AM
and we can't play like that in every match. The team still lack the flair of Sir Bobby's era. The arsenal match bought souness time, but I don't know for how long.

Tokieda
13-12-2005, 01:50 PM
as much as i want to believe, i believe this was a one-off performance...

we arent getting the same lenient refereee or ST James park every game

daveaha
13-12-2005, 01:55 PM
as much as i want to believe, i believe this was a one-off performance...

we arent getting the same lenient refereee or ST James park every game

I don't expect the same leniency from the ref everytime we play, but instead, the same committment and passion from the players !

Tokieda
13-12-2005, 02:23 PM
Dyer left 'suicidal' by injuries

http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/41099000/jpg/_41099492_dyersulk203.jpg

Newcastle midfielder Kieron Dyer admits his battle against frustrating injury and illness left him feeling "suicidal." The 26-year-old's recovery from hamstring and other muscle problems has been complicated by illness.

Dyer admitted: "I was suicidal after the West Brom game when I broke down injured again. "I was at an all-time low, that's when the physio, the manager and my family stepped in and kept supporting me."

Dyer has started just two games for Newcastle this season, and his last appearance was at The Hawthorns on 30 October. That has placed his chances of making the England squad for next summer's World Cup in Germany in jeopardy. Everyone now has an explanation as to why I kept breaking down. It has taken the pressure off

Dyer has spent a productive two weeks at the British Olympic Medical Centre and said: "I hope to be back sooner rather than later." The England midfielder's recovery has not been helped by a side effect of the drugs to treat his illness, which render him more prone to muscle injuries. Dyer said: "I have obviously had a medical problem that the fans don't know about. They just kept seeing me break down and they are frustrated by it, but didn't know the full story.

"Now they do. It was a blessing that the club issued a statement so that everyone now has an explanation as to why I kept breaking down. It has taken the pressure off. "I want to get back as soon as possible. The team have been struggling and I know I can help when I'm fit." Dyer was scheduled to return to training with Newcastle last Monday, but following his latest setback, he will remain at the BOMC in Harrow.

Shadow04
13-12-2005, 05:27 PM
I don't expect the same leniency from the ref everytime we play, but instead, the same committment and passion from the players !
yah... if the players can show the same level of commitment(ask yourself, how often do you see the likes of Ameobi tracking back and tackle for the ball?) we might be off to something here..

Shadow04
13-12-2005, 05:29 PM
Dyer left 'suicidal' by injuries

http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/41099000/jpg/_41099492_dyersulk203.jpg

Newcastle midfielder Kieron Dyer admits his battle against frustrating injury and illness left him feeling "suicidal." The 26-year-old's recovery from hamstring and other muscle problems has been complicated by illness.

Dyer admitted: "I was suicidal after the West Brom game when I broke down injured again. "I was at an all-time low, that's when the physio, the manager and my family stepped in and kept supporting me."

Dyer has started just two games for Newcastle this season, and his last appearance was at The Hawthorns on 30 October. That has placed his chances of making the England squad for next summer's World Cup in Germany in jeopardy. Everyone now has an explanation as to why I kept breaking down. It has taken the pressure off

Dyer has spent a productive two weeks at the British Olympic Medical Centre and said: "I hope to be back sooner rather than later." The England midfielder's recovery has not been helped by a side effect of the drugs to treat his illness, which render him more prone to muscle injuries. Dyer said: "I have obviously had a medical problem that the fans don't know about. They just kept seeing me break down and they are frustrated by it, but didn't know the full story.

"Now they do. It was a blessing that the club issued a statement so that everyone now has an explanation as to why I kept breaking down. It has taken the pressure off. "I want to get back as soon as possible. The team have been struggling and I know I can help when I'm fit." Dyer was scheduled to return to training with Newcastle last Monday, but following his latest setback, he will remain at the BOMC in Harrow.
so when excatly is his "new" return date? he seems to rekindle his passion for football during his last match before his injury... running up and down the flanks, crossing like nobody's business... hope to see him with this form after his injury.. :)

kaseymunson
13-12-2005, 08:55 PM
I don't expect him to excel this season.

ShaqONeal
13-12-2005, 09:17 PM
actually i dunno wat to expect for our beloved team.. really dunno wat to expect.. win?? lose?? top 6?? i really dunno.. although I will b always Toon fans..

ShaqONeal
13-12-2005, 09:19 PM
I don't expect him to excel this season.
worse than Jenas... wat he can do best is running... dun hav the real football skills..

i wonder if this time, he got the same big pay salary or k"kena" pay cut"...

Ultimate10002000
13-12-2005, 09:23 PM
worse than Jenas... wat he can do best is running... dun hav the real football skills..

He do have some skills la. Nonetheless he is always an important member of the first team.

Shadow04
13-12-2005, 09:32 PM
actually i dunno wat to expect for our beloved team.. really dunno wat to expect.. win?? lose?? top 6?? i really dunno.. although I will b always Toon fans..
we can expect us to be screwd left, right, centre with Souness in charge.. haha...

Shadow04
13-12-2005, 09:35 PM

should be the same salary bahs...

on a side note though, i duno wtf our managers see in him.. granted he is capable of putting in terrific performace once in a blue moon, but that just does not justify his 55,000 pound a week salary he is drawing.. unless he is capable of staying consistent with his performance, like i hoped for.. seriously hope he can find and keep his form.. otherwise, its just 55,000 pound a week down the drain..

dreamer75
13-12-2005, 11:22 PM
Match Date: 10th December 2005
By Paul Mosley

An in depth look at each individual performance from the 1-0 win over Arsenal at St. James' Park, rating the players, the manager, Toon fans and the referee. Also included in our match analysis are ratings for Arsenal.

Shay Given - 8

Well for a change our Irish keeper didn’t have a lot to do, thanks to a misfiring Arsenal and a better defensive display. However, his incredible reflex save from Henry in the 1st half earns him his 8 alone. His distribution was better, but at times still poor. He must be relieved to have a game like this, he doesn’t get many! Please sign that contract Shay, I don’t know what we’d do without you!

Peter Ramage - 9

The lad gets better by the game. It’s hard to believe that he’s only 22 and playing in an unfamiliar position when he puts in performances like this. Thierry who? Arguably the best player in the Premiership, the Frenchman never got a sniff thanks to a fantastic Ramage rampage. Some of his challenges and interceptions were vital, and brilliantly timed. Old head on young shoulders

Titus Bramble - 6

Still not the Bramble we came to see during last season, but this was better. He still has me a bag of nerves whenever he’s in possession of the ball, and when he went charging into a couple of tackles I winced, but fortunately he came out of risky challenges in possession. His distribution was nothing like we came to expect last season, playing balls either straight to Arsenal or straight into touch. Titus looks likely to be dropped when Taylor returns in light of his partner’s better performances.

Jean-Alain Boumsong - 9

This was the type of performance we got from Boumsong at the back end of last season, when he actually looked like the French international central-defender that he is. As has been a theme of the previous Newcastle vs Arsenal fixtures he’s played in, he kept Henry very quiet indeed. He looked composed and in control, won a share of headers, and showed some nifty footwork before Gilberto’s dismissal.

Robbie Elliott - 6

A fully committed display from the Geordie Elliott, never shirking a challenge when he was required to make one. His distribution however was abysmal and needs to be sorted out if he is to continue filling in for Babayaro, giving the ball away countless times and looking long whenever on the ball, needlesly handing over possession to Arsenal..

Nobby Solano - 7

Still nothing like the Nobby we had 2 years ago. He didn’t show any willingness to get down the right hand side and attack, despite there often being oceans of space there. He did get stuck in and keep the pressure on Arsenal though. His involvement in the goal was two-fold, firstly the clever ball to Shearer, and then the beautiful finish with the outside of his right boot. A nice Birthday present for him turning 31 on Monday.

Scott Parker - 10

Yes, ten out of ten. Scott Parker gave one of the finest performances I have ever seen from anyone in our famous black and white shirt. Having been shown up by Faye last week he decided he needed to show exactly who was boss, even topping his opening day showing at Highbury. He fought tooth and nail for every single ball, won vital challenges, blocked anything and everything and played the ball around very well. He can also count himself unlucky not to get on the scoresheet after a long range effort went just over, and fell foul of a deliberate attack by Lehmann which ensured damage to his mouth and concussed him. Amazingly he played on but was finally done for when Toure sat on his head soon after. If he hadn’t been about 3% conscious I reckon he would still have played on to the end. The guy just gets better and the price we paid for him, originally looking a little high, now looks a real bargain. My Man of the Match, and surely the England manager cannot continue to ignore him on this form.

Amdy Faye - 8

I think we must have replaced Amady Faye with Andy Henry, such has been the improvement in his performances of late. One feared he would struggle to follow on from a man of the match display against Villa, yet he proved it was no fluke with another assured and battling display. His partnership with Parker is working nicely, and they complement each other well. He also won some aerial challenges and his passing was good. Keep up the good work Amady.

Shola Ameobi - 7

Shola toiled away in the unfamiliar left-wing role for the 2nd week in a row, working Kolo Toure extremely hard and turning in a few Shola party pieces on the way. He was less lazy than usual, and helped out defensively aswell, which proved vital to our victory. He is showing that he is an option in this role when others are unavailable.

Michael Owen - 7

A welcome return from injury for our record signing, despite him failing to get on the scoresheet. The difference he made was clearly noticeable, as his pace and movement meant we were miles better going forward than at Chelsea, Everton and Wigan, and against Villa. His fitness was impressive, and he appeared fine even until the final moments when he was replaced. Had he been a little sharper late on when he controlled a ball over the top he may have made the game somewhat safer than it was.

Alan Shearer - 9

A true captain’s performance, and one which we really needed in a game like this. Shearer knows the game better than anyone, and he’ll know that the way to beat Arsenal was to wind them up and rattle them, and he did his fair share of that with sly digs at Lehmann and Lauren, and a nasty challenge on Campbell for which he was lucky to escape sanction. He gave Campbell and Senderos a torrid time at the back, really roughing them up, and it was his classic Shearer hold-up play and quality ball to Solano which made our goal. We’ll miss him on days like this when he’s gone.

Subs

Lee Bowyer (74 mins, for Parker) – 6 – Far, far better than he has been of late. He was in the action right from the get go, won plenty of aerial challenges and was fully committed from the moment he stepped on the field.

Michael Chopra (90 mins, for Owen) – Did nothing to rate.

The Boss Man

Graeme Souness - 8

Souness has had his critics, myself being one of the main ones, but to be fair to him he got it spot on against Arsenal. The line-up was probably the best available, with Ameobi a good option on the left side for this game in place of the strangely absent Luque. In the 1st half we seemed to take a back seat and let the visitors do all the pressing, but for all of that they only had an Henry effort brilliantly saved to show. We then came out for the 2nd half and got at them in a style similar to Bolton the previous Saturday, with Shearer and Parker being the chief combatants, and boy did it work. After the sending off of Gilberto, Arsenal seemed to lose a bit of discipline, and the supposed ‘roughhouse’ tactics had worked a treat when Solano buried a peach of a shot 9 minutes from time. Souness has beaten Arsenal before, as manager of Blackburn, and he certainly knew what we had to do to beat them again. Well done.

Magpies

Toon Fans - 7

In the 1st half the atmosphere was pretty similar to last weekend against Villa, tense and quiet. However, once we got stuck into them in the 2nd half, the crowd were lifted, and the sending off of Gilberto definitely helped, as did a few wrong decisions made by Dermot Gallagher, as well as some pantomime antics from Arsenal and Lehmann inparticular. Scott Parker got a well deserved ovation when he was finally knocked out of the game, and when Solano buried his 1st goal at St James since April 2003, the roof was lifted off the place, and the atmosphere continued until the end, with loud cheers greeting the final whistle, nice to hear for a change.

Referee

Dermot Gallagher - 6

Dermot Gallagher was the perfect referee for this fixture. I say this because he is one of the most lenient referees on the Select Group, and he was never going to take a really hard line on our ‘roughhouse’ antics. Had Mike Riley been in charge, I fear there would have been a couple of penalties to Arsenal, yellow cards in double figures and probably 2 or 3 sent off (Riley himself had 9 yellow cards and a penalty on Saturday at Blackburn vs West Ham). Thus I was amazed when Dermot sent Gilberto off. Both challenges were yellow card offences, thus he couldn’t really have any complaints. However, if Gilberto watched the rest of the game he would be aggrieved at some of the things which did go unpunished, such as a couple of challenges by Shearer, particularly the foul on Campbell which amazingly drew no card. However, overall I felt Dermot did miss quite a few offences, particularly by the away side and, while we do like to see games which are a bit more physical I think he let too much go. Nonetheless he was correct to wave away Arsenal’s penalty appeals when Bramble accidentally handled, and I’d happily rather have him referee one of our games than the likes of Riley and Bennett. It will be a shame when he hangs up the whistle in May.

http://www.newcastle-online.com/nufcratings/2005_06/arsenal_home.shtml

dreamer75
13-12-2005, 11:25 PM
Saturday's 1-0 victory over Arsenal was, to use an old cliche, a game of two halfs and showcased the best and worst of both Newcastle United and the Gunners. Moreover this match was the ultimate advert for the Premiership as the two contrasting elements that make up our game clashed in a battle royale; brains vs brawn.

Thankfully for Newcastle, our way won the day. Yet for the first 45 minutes it looked like Arsenal's style and panache was going to overrun a confidence shot Magpies side.

Despite our spirited start, pressing and closing down quickly, the away side soon started to pick us off with ease, settling into that rhythm of theirs like a one-size-fits-all glove.

After the 10 minute mark we just dropped off, sat deep and handed the initiative to them. Something you just can't do against a side as slick as they are.

Why we lowered our tempo which was quite high in the opening minutes, I don't know. Perhaps we showed them too much respect or were worried about the ball over the top, but what I do know is that by doing so, we conceded ground to them.

And we were very nearly punished because of it... but for a magnificent save by that man Shay Given! Make no mistake about it, had Thierry Henry's effort gone in, Arsenal most certainly would have went back to Highbury with all three points. But it didn't go in, Arsenal failed to take advantage of our own self inflicted weaknesses, while we brutally punished theirs.

Where the game was won for Newcastle

Two things changed the game in our favour. Two things that for me, were pivotal factors in our victory more than any other element or facet of the game and our performance.

1 - Pushing up field a further 30-yards after the break as opposed to playing deep within our own half during the first period.

2 - Width in the shape of Nobby Solano who stayed out wide in the second half as opposed to playing more central as he did for the entire first 45.

During the first-half Newcastle defended deep, very deep with the defence basically operating just outside of Shay's penalty box and the midfield not that far away a further 10-yards or so in front of them.

While up top Alan Shearer was stuck in the centre-circle and Michael Owen, the one man Arsenal feared the most and our main outlet, was left isolated up against 4 big, pacey, powerful central defenders. Food and drink for Sol Campbell and Co. who had a sweat free time of it for 45 full minutes.

We were basically shooting ourselves in the foot once again in that agonising way of ours by playing so deep and playing without any real width on the right as Nobby pushed infield to supplement Scott Parker and Amdy Faye in the centre.

And by playing so deep this just allowed Arsenal to push up themselves and gave the Gunners a licence to be expressive on the ball. Which they did with aplomb at one stage, making 30 or so consecutive passes in succession while we chased shadows.

As a result of the congested midfield through our narrow width we saw the likes of Parker, Faye and Nobby grouped together in a tight, enclosed area of the pitch which meant our own possession was skewered sideways or backwards and not forwards to that man Owen. And when it did go his way, he had to crane his neck just to get a glimpse of it.

Newcastle were suffocating under our own blanket of cautious, negative, long ball football and gave Arsenal the incentive to come out and attack us, and attack us they did; by getting a grip on midfield they swept the ball forwards and sideways, over the top, through the channels and into gaps, with a brand of football I can only describe as mouth watering.

All because we were defending deep and playing without an outlet on the right.

With no outlet on the right, we would look to the left to play the ball, and while this saw Shola Ameobi getting into the game and seeing plenty of the ball, he too had nowhere to turn to.

With Owen isolated up front all alone and Shearer stuck in the centre-circle pottering about, the Geordie striker-cum-winger had no option but to either play the ball back to Robbie Elliott who would launch it long to no-man's land or back infield to Parker and Co. who in turn would pass it back towards the defence, who, yep you guessed it, launched it long to no-man's land.

A perpetual cycle of nothing football. We were going nowhere with or without the ball while Arsenal were camped in our half, their defence pushed right up, and their forward line weaving pretty intricate patterns.

Only Shay's left hand saved us from going behind, that and good positional sense from Peter Ramage, Elliott and Jean-Alain Boumsong, blocked clearances, one passes too many by the away side and their lack of threat down our right. Noticeable due to the fact that Lauren isn't a left-back and didn't look comfortable in either the attacking third or on the left-flank of their defence all game.

As it turned out our deep defensive line proved to be a good exorcise in the art of defending which we did very well but it also hamstrung us as an attacking force and it's a dangerous game to play, especially against a fluent, incisive side like Arsenal.

Had we continued to play like that in the second half we would have succumbed to pressure or conceded due to a lapse in concentration or from an individual error like we did at Goodison, Stamford Bridge and the JJB Stadium to name a few grounds where we have shot ourselves in the foot.

Luckily we did the exact opposite in the second-half and actually forced Arsenal into adopting the shape we held in the first 45. We spun the table completely on them and it was they who held a deep line and withdrew their width. Admittedly they weren't helped by Gilberto Silva's sending-off, but by that stage we were well on top anyway and I don't believe it played any significance in the end result.

If anything, one less body in midfield gave the Gunner's some breathing space when they themselves were on the ball... which wasn't very often in the second period thanks to United's new found game plan.

Whether our second half role reversal was down to a tactical change by Graeme Souness at half-time, I'm not convinced. For me, the high tempo we started with in the second half was what forced Arsenal back and gave us the confidence to play a further 30-yards up field.

And with Parker and Faye advanced and getting on the ball more and more, Nobby's intelligence saw to it that he would have to hug the touch line to give his fellow midfielders an outlet. Which he did.

Still, Souness must have done something right or said something meaningful during the interval because Newcastle were a different animal in the second half completely and by playing so advanced up the field and with width, we gave ourselves a great platform to go on and cause Arsenal some real problems. Problems from which we won the game from.

And unlike the away side, we made the most of our chances, with Nobby coming OFF the RIGHT wing to curl a delightful shot into the net with the outside of his right-foot, a richly deserved winning goal.

By NOT playing so deep, we challenged Arsenal to reassess their own game and forced them to concede ground to us. And by playing with width on the right, suddenly Arsenal who were forced into a narrow three in midfield, were stretched and as a result Ameobi came more and more into the game and Ramage also got forward, linking up with Nobby to good effect.

These were important areas of the pitch, the right and the left side. With Lauren playing out of position, we took advantage of that and started to ask questions of the Cameroon international. Questions he had no answers to with the trio of Shearer, Nobby and Owen all getting joy down that flank.

On the other flank, Ameobi's physical presence and unpredictability caused Toure all kinds of problems and with Owen having someone to feed off and link up with, this dragged Arsenal's centre-backs out of position from which both Shearer and Parker exploited to the full.

Parker getting two shots away having broken into attacking positions and Shearer seeing himself marked by the considerable slight frame of Fabregas. Food and drink for the No.9.

Back in our own half, in defence, for once Shay had room in front of him as well as alternative options and used the long ball much less, often opting to play it to Ramage or Elliott instead. While the two centre-backs pushed up and squeezed Henry and Van Persie back into midfield, some 40-50 yards away from Given's goal.

The result? Not one shot in vain from Arsenal in the second half nor any cause for alarm in the United rearguard. This is the way to play Graeme, pushed up and with width, not deep and narrow with no attacking options.

We must stop defending so deep and playing so narrow if we are to build on these three points. If we revert back to type, West Ham and Liverpool, our two next opponents, won't be so fussy in front of goal as Arsenal clearly were. You're call Graeme. Learn from this match and use this as a springboard for the second half of the season. If not, it's your head that rolls.

Where the game was lost for Arsenal

For me, Arsenal lost the game in the first-half by being overly fussy in the final third. When a strike on goal was needed, they opted to play another unnecessary pass, when in a crossing position, they opted to come infield to find a midfielder, allowing Newcastle to get into good defensive positions. It is this over cooking of the ball that is failing what is a top quality football team.

MORE below

http://www.newcastle-online.com/nufcviews/arsenalmatch_analysis.shtml

dreamer75
13-12-2005, 11:26 PM
Newcastle manager Graeme Souness has challenged defender Titus Bramble to prove once again he can be a genuine force in the Premiership.

kaseymunson
14-12-2005, 09:17 AM
He should challenge Fat Bram to lose some weight first.

martinweng
14-12-2005, 12:35 PM
Newcastle manager Graeme Souness has challenged defender Titus Bramble to prove once again he can be a genuine force in the Premiership.

I challenge both of them to quit Newcastle if we lose again.

batigol0902
14-12-2005, 01:39 PM
Next match against west ham. Can newcastle pull off another victory?

dreamer75
14-12-2005, 01:49 PM
That was more like it lads! Having said that, it prompts the question, “Why can’t you play like that against the poorer sides? Because if you did, we would certainly be sitting in the top six of the league".

Never mind. I am not complaining as I have just witnessed the best performance from a Newcastle United side for a while. Every one of the lads in black and white were COMMITTED to the cause and this was enough in the first half to stop the visitors from being in front after a good first half showing from them. The second half was a different story again as our lads stepped up a gear and bullied the opposition into submission.

For me, one of the best things about the display in this game was the central midfield pairing of Amdy Faye and Scott Parker. It has been ages since I have seen Newcastle dominate the midfield as much against any side, let alone the “fancy Dans” of Arsenal, but dominate they did, winning almost every loose ball that came out of the Arsenal defence. The much maligned (by this website as much as anywhere) Faye looked strong in the tackle and very powerful in the air and what can I say about Scott Parker? His performance today was immense and his attitude rubbed off on the other lads too. He should have come off after his brush with the keeper but he still kept on going until he looked like he had no energy left and had to be carried off eventually to a huge, deserved ovation from the crowd.

The defence looked reasonably capable throughout, despite an early chance which Shay saved well from Henry who looked quiet after that.

Solano gave his best display of the season and capped it off with a fine winner from a good pass by Big Al, while Shola looked a different player in the second half giving us glimpses of what he actually is capable of.

We needed a display from several players today and, possibly as I suggested in my forecast (which I happily got wrong) the opposition being Arsenal gave the players the urgency to raise their game, or maybe they wanted to respond to the fully deserved criticism that has been flying around from all directions. Whatever the reason, I thoroughly enjoyed the game, the performance and the result.

Man of the match……………..Scott Parker

dreamer75
14-12-2005, 01:51 PM
I have said this before after a good performance and I will say it again.

“If we play like that we will beat this lot” and that is a fact. If we can boss the game like we did against Arsenal, we will be more than a match for the Hammers.

We have good enough players to beat most “mid table” sides but we will only do it if we match them for effort.

Personally, I still have my doubts and I think that many of our players will probably now live off the Arsenal performance for a while and we will see the old, uninterested Newcastle here………..although I am hoping that we won’t because I would love to get 3 points from London.

My prediction then………………A Defeat!

Prove me wrong lads………like you did big style last week.

aqf
14-12-2005, 03:09 PM
Hope Owen can play, he is our lucky star

chikyblink
14-12-2005, 10:46 PM
Hope Owen can play, he is our lucky star

Pardon my poor memory, have we lost before everytime Owen plays?

kaseymunson
15-12-2005, 10:27 AM
Yes if i'm not wrong its a league match against wigan. We lost 0-1 and Owen did play in that game.

dreamer75
17-12-2005, 10:37 AM
Newcastle had a morale boosting win over Arsenal last weekend, but do not be fooled by the Gunners reputation as this season Arsenal are an easy touch when playing away.

Newcastle are very reliant on the Alan Shearer / Michael Owen strike force, as these two have scored 7 of the 14 goals that the Geordies have managed this season.

However, I cannot shake the feeling that Newcastle are less than complete, and with an away record of just 2-1-5 this season it never seems profitable to back them to play as well away from St James's Park.

West Ham put in another good performance in midweek, beating Everton 2-1 at Goodison Park for their 7th win of the season.

With Harewood and Zamora upfront, the Hammers have their own impressive English attacking pair, and perhaps a little younger and quicker too as these two players have scored 11 goals.

West Ham's home record of 4-1-2 is good enough, but they've lost their two bigger tests against Man Utd and Bolton, and drawn 0-0 against Arsenal.

West Ham : Carroll, Hislop, Repka, Ferdinand, Konchesky, Benayoun, Fletcher, Noble, Dailly, Newton, Mullins, Etherington, Sheringham, Harewood, Zamora, Bellion, Aliadiere, Bywater.

Newcastle : Given, Harper, Ramage, Elliott, Gate, Bramble, Boumsong, Parker, Faye, Solano, Luque, Ameobi, Bowyer, Clark, Brittain, Shearer, Owen, Chopra.

Newcastle boss Graeme Souness will not rush back midfielder Emre or defender Celestine Babayaro from injury for this game. Stephen Carr (hernia), Charles N'Zogbia (broken hand), Kieron Dyer and Craig Moore (hamstring) are all out,

MY PICK : West Ham 2-1 Newcastle

martinweng
17-12-2005, 11:45 AM
fight for a draw Newcastle~~~

Tokieda
17-12-2005, 11:28 PM
bummer, accident outside Upton park, no live telecast!!!

Tyer
17-12-2005, 11:31 PM
Think they would show it later rite?

aqf
17-12-2005, 11:44 PM
Think they would show it later rite?
Not showing leh. Anyway owen scored!!!!

Shadow04
17-12-2005, 11:56 PM
Not showing leh. Anyway owen scored!!!!
ya.. Solano also scored.... an own goal...

aqf
17-12-2005, 11:58 PM
ya.. Solano also scored.... an own goal...
Damn!!! Heard its bramble's fault

Tokieda
18-12-2005, 12:00 AM
yes he slammed the ball against solano and it smacked into our own goal...dumb bramble!

Shadow04
18-12-2005, 12:47 AM
yes he slammed the ball against solano and it smacked into our own goal...dumb bramble!
i see gamecast, Solano's own goal is from West Ham's half.. :eek:

haha.. Bramble whack sooo hard ar? den how come never see him make use this power when clearing balls ones? bloody good for nothing, use his strength for all the wrong thing..

aqf
18-12-2005, 12:59 AM
3-1....Shearer 199th goal

Shadow04
18-12-2005, 01:01 AM
3-1....Shearer 199th goal
how many more goals till he break the record huh? one more to equal the record, two to break it izzit?

ZhiQiang
18-12-2005, 01:06 AM
amoebi handball... westham 2 - 3 newcastle

ZhiQiang
18-12-2005, 01:07 AM
how many more goals till he break the record huh? one more to equal the record, two to break it izzit?i tot the record is 20X goals? X not 0

Shadow04
18-12-2005, 01:13 AM
i tot the record is 20X goals? X not 0
should be ba.. 201 or 202 izzit? just remember reading somewhere that he's 2 goals short of either breaking or equaling the record(before this match).. maybe read wrong bahs...

dreamer75
18-12-2005, 01:18 AM
201 to beat record bah..

aqf
18-12-2005, 01:25 AM
FT:4-2 owen hattrick!!!

Shadow04
18-12-2005, 01:25 AM
wah.. Owen hat-trick before final whistle...

dreamer75
18-12-2005, 01:29 AM
i think we cant live w/o OWEN :s13:

Congrats to owen for his hatrick!!!!!!

aqf
18-12-2005, 01:31 AM
The bad news is that Parker gonna miss the trip to Anfield on boxing day due to his yellow card

dreamer75
18-12-2005, 01:35 AM
OOOOOOOOOOOWWWWWWWWWWWWWEEEENNNN! Early Christmas Present for the Toon!

Hattrick Hero!!!

:s7: :s12:

usjag_18
18-12-2005, 01:36 AM
Congrats to Magpies supporters... Enjoy your winning streak bah... Lolx... I think Souness did a nice job by getting M.Owen...

Fresnel
18-12-2005, 02:24 AM
anyone knows where to find the goals?
yum yum

hello8985
18-12-2005, 02:28 AM
Congrats to Magpies supporters... Enjoy your winning streak bah... Lolx... I think Souness did a nice job by getting M.Owen...

he is the man :)

studmufn
18-12-2005, 02:35 AM
hat trick away man! if only owen can stay injury-free.
looks like owen and rooney are confirmed the 1st choice strike pair for the owrld cup, they're red hot!

Tokieda
18-12-2005, 08:57 AM
awesome, we outscored them to win!!! thats the tradition!

martinweng
18-12-2005, 09:36 AM
hey! 4 goals! when is the last time we scored that many?

kaseymunson
18-12-2005, 10:03 AM
A little thought on the game last night. Don't let the scoreline fool u as both sides were evenly matched. In fact we have Given to thank for if not for his 2 excellent saves in the second half. Don't blame Fat Bram for the own goal-I've watched the match and it was just plain misfortune that Solano stood in the way of Brambie's clearance. The only difference to both sides is that we have Owen and the hammers don't. West Ham conceded the first two goals and didn't know what hit them. Such was the class of Owen that Soccernet mentioned that Owen didn't contribute much to the game except the 3 goals (plus an assist to Shearer's). We were also a wee bit lucky to have West Ham's effort came off the post and another cleared by Shearer just off the line. If either had gone in it would be a different ball game. One player in my view performed poorly and he is none other than Elliot. True that he didn't make any costly mistakes but his clearance of the ball and his wayward passing left much to be desired. Didn't look like an EPL player to me and definitely not a first team player should Carr or Baba are to be fit. My Man of the Match: Owen-Looked sharp and alert. Took the only chances he had and converted them into goals. Pity the hammers though, played well but just lacked the final touch.

ShaqONeal
18-12-2005, 10:30 AM
i see gamecast, Solano's own goal is from West Ham's half.. :eek:

haha.. Bramble whack sooo hard ar? den how come never see him make use this power when clearing balls ones? bloody good for nothing, use his strength for all the wrong thing..
funny too... dunno how it happened.. may b we should watch the goals.. if have..

ShaqONeal
18-12-2005, 10:33 AM
A little thought on the game last night. Don't let the scoreline fool u as both sides were evenly matched. In fact we have Given to thank for if not for his 2 excellent saves in the second half. Don't blame Fat Bram for the own goal-I've watched the match and it was just plain misfortune that Solano stood in the way of Brambie's clearance. The only difference to both sides is that we have Owen and the hammers don't. West Ham conceded the first two goals and didn't know what hit them. Such was the class of Owen that Soccernet mentioned that Owen didn't contribute much to the game except the 3 goals (plus an assist to Shearer's). We were also a wee bit lucky to have West Ham's effort came off the post and another cleared by Shearer just off the line. If either had gone in it would be a different ball game. One player in my view performed poorly and he is none other than Elliot. True that he didn't make any costly mistakes but his clearance of the ball and his wayward passing left much to be desired. Didn't look like an EPL player to me and definitely not a first team player should Carr or Baba are to be fit. My Man of the Match: Owen-Looked sharp and alert. Took the only chances he had and converted them into goals. Pity the hammers though, played well but just lacked the final touch.
i read the report, it did say tat both sides gave balls away easily.. both r not good enuff, but somehow, Owen did wat his price tag put on him..

we still remain 10th place, but happy tat we get 2 wins already.. :s7:

Tokieda
18-12-2005, 10:40 AM
for those who have scv, watch the highlights on scv channel 24 at 11am!

kaseymunson
18-12-2005, 10:46 AM
Thats what I worry most. 7 points from the last 3 games and we're only 10th. I'm afraid we'll be stuck in mid-table dogfight for the rest of the season. Did I not mention that Ameobi was crap in the game last night? It puzzles me the team could still play well despite his woeful performance. True that he played out of position and looked lost, but thats what he always does even when upfront. Don't get me wrong, he played well (not excellent) against Arsenal but it was a flash in the pan. Give me Emre or Luque anytime.

Tokieda
18-12-2005, 11:35 AM
Thats what I worry most. 7 points from the last 3 games and we're only 10th. I'm afraid we'll be stuck in mid-table dogfight for the rest of the season. Did I not mention that Ameobi was crap in the game last night? It puzzles me the team could still play well despite his woeful performance. True that he played out of position and looked lost, but thats what he always does even when upfront. Don't get me wrong, he played well (not excellent) against Arsenal but it was a flash in the pan. Give me Emre or Luque anytime.

it was owen goals which helped greatly :s22:

martinweng
18-12-2005, 01:04 PM

why is Luque not scoring?

ShaqONeal
18-12-2005, 02:50 PM
why is Luque not scoring?
how many games he played for us until now... and again our form r up and down.. think it's oni time for him to score..

United_Treble
18-12-2005, 02:55 PM
MICHAEL OWEN really good, hope he can contribute as much as he can for my ENGLAND team in Germany next year

Shadow04
18-12-2005, 05:21 PM
from wat i see on gamecast, our possession of the ball very pathetic. seems that West Ham dominated possession throughout the game... our possession didnt even pass 50% the entire game, was mainly in the 30+% region except for end game where our possesion rise up to 40%..

think the scoreline flatter us.. only owen's finishing saved us from defeat.

martinweng
18-12-2005, 07:02 PM
from wat i see on gamecast, our possession of the ball very pathetic. seems that West Ham dominated possession throughout the game... our possession didnt even pass 50% the entire game, was mainly in the 30+% region except for end game where our possesion rise up to 40%..

think the scoreline flatter us.. only owen's finishing saved us from defeat.

possession dun count at all...

many times we possess the ball but din win the game.

so even if west ham and arsenal were 2 lucky wins, i dun really care...

ShaqONeal
18-12-2005, 08:07 PM
possession dun count at all...

many times we possess the ball but din win the game.

so even if west ham and arsenal were 2 lucky wins, i dun really care...
agreed... winning is good, i hope we can continue winning, else i will shout sack souney again.. =:p

ShaqONeal
18-12-2005, 08:08 PM
MICHAEL OWEN really good, hope he can contribute as much as he can for my ENGLAND team in Germany next year
think he surely will do...

dbchoong
18-12-2005, 08:09 PM
Statistics is basically statistics. It does not need to reflect the actual outcome of a game. If you want to see usefless numbers - check out the gamecast of Everton vs Bolton which Everton was thrashed 4-0 at home.

Everton had 62% possession, 13 shots at goal 10 on target. Bolton had 38%, 7 shots at goal 5 on target... result - Everton 0 Bolton 4....

Tokieda
18-12-2005, 08:35 PM
possession is nothing if u dun convert or create chances...

Shadow04
18-12-2005, 09:35 PM
possession is nothing if u dun convert or create chances...
yah.. actually this is the point i wanted to make.. not clear enough just now.. we are lucky to have good finishers like Owen and Shearer.. had it been Ameobi up front, the scoreline would have been very very different.. Owen/Shearer made every attempt count.. and thats wat gives us the win..

donald83
18-12-2005, 10:11 PM
Anyway I was shocked by the result that we managed to knock in 4 goals. Maybe the tide has turned!! I think the players are showing more confidence now.

martinweng
18-12-2005, 10:44 PM
Anyway I was shocked by the result that we managed to knock in 4 goals. Maybe the tide has turned!! I think the players are showing more confidence now.

we cant stop Liverpool.

bad time to meet them.

bh0322
19-12-2005, 04:26 AM
However, our defnce still very weak, GS should do something about it. Hopefully Owen will stay long in Newcastle.

dreamer75
19-12-2005, 10:44 AM
The first League hat-trick to be scored by a Newcastle player in 6 years that is. That's right, 6 long years! And the scorer? Alan Shearer of course, a 5 goal salvo against Sheffield Wednesday in THAT 8-0 win back in September 1999. Lets hope we don't have to wait that long for another one.

dreamer75
19-12-2005, 10:45 AM
Match Date: 17th December 2005
By Howaythetoon

An in depth look at each individual performance from Newcastle's 4-2 win over West Ham at Upton Park, rating the players, the manager, Toon fans and the referee. Also included in our match analysis are ratings for the Hammers.

Players
Shay Given - 7

Given made one or two good saves and couldn't be faulted for any of West Ham's goals. His distribution was also quite good in this match as was his handling from corners, crosses and other set-pieces. Overall another consistent display from the Ireland man, then. I do have one criticism however and it's mainly a general criticism of his game and not his actual performance in this match - he needs to force that back-four upfield when we sit too deep because that is what invites the pressure on and only serves to increase his workload. Have a word with them Shay.

Peter Ramage - 7

Ramage had a steady game at right-back, getting up and down the flank throughout. He was caught out once or twice by Etherington but in the main, he defended well, especially (and not surprisingly) in more central positions. When one of either Bramble or Boumsong went up field or followed an attacker, he filled in at the centre of defence with aplomb. It's obviously his natural position. His distribution was poor throughout though and this is a major area of his game he will have to improve on.

Jean-Alain Boumsong - 9

For me, this was Boumsong's best performance of the season, coming on the back of a fine game Vs Arsenal last week. He was a rock and made countless telling interceptions either with his head, foot or just by putting his body in the way and his distribution was often well thought out too. He was quite calm even when under pressure and this is the Boumsong of last season. Commanding, strong, unfazed and reading the danger well. In the air, he was much better, heading the ball away with distance and clearance. I don't think he put a foot wrong all game.

Titus Bramble - 6

Bramble actually defended well, certainly well enough to pick up a 7 or an 8 with many vital interceptions and good moments of defensive discipline. But his distribution was shocking throughout, playing numerous long-balls into no-man's land when a simple 5-yard pass would have done. We all know he has the capability to play an accurate long-ball but there is a time and a place for that, not every bleeding touch. I won't lay any blame at his feet for the own goal, he did the right thing and had Solano not been in his direct vision, the ball would have cleared the penalty box. Overall, a decent game but someone needs to tell him he is not a playmaker. Stick to defending Bramble. Leave the passing to the midfielders.

Robbie Elliott - 5

The chink in an otherwise solid defence. If marks were awarded for commitment, work-rate and durability, wor Elliott would pick up a 10 each week. But football demands more than that and the left-back just doesn't have the pace, engine or ability on the ball to be as effective as we need him to be, or need from that position on the park. He was turned time and time again most of their attacks came from that side. In an attacking sense he was virtually nonexistent which made Ameobi's job all the more difficult. That said, he's a squad player nearing the end of his career and any performance at this level is manful of him so beggars can't be choosers really. And as ever, he never shirked, hid or dropped that head of his.

Nobby Solano - 6

Once again, Nobby played a narrow game in the first-half and this is a waste of his talent as he just isn't effective at all inside, he needs to be out on the flank, linking up with the full-back and runners, not stuck in a traffic jam. In the first-half his passing was wayward, he was caught out of position a number of times and you can see he just isn't happy in that role. Noticeably after the break he was on the wing and he was much happier, far more involved and much more effective. Also claimed an assist to his name, setting up Owen's second. We'll not talk about that OG...

Scott Parker - 9

Parker just carried on from where he left off against Arsenal really, dominating that midfield and patrolling the park like a man possessed. With Sven in the stands hopefully his performance will have made the Swede take notice. If not I for one don't know what Parker has to do. He was immense in this game. Crunching tackles, delightful little passages of link up play, a lion in midfield. What a signing he has been. Unfortunately, a downside of his all-action game is yellow cards and in this match he picked up his 5th of the season, meaning he misses our trip to Anfield.

Amdy Faye - 7

Another canny game from Faye, although not as good as his two previous games, but still a vast improvement from the Faye that started the season. He did a good job in midfield, helping Parker out and covering the full-back positions. He also tried to get forward as often as he could, even having a long-range (but way off target) shot and it was the Senegalese man who set up Owen for his hat-trick with a sublime through ball. The game did seem to pass him by at times and he gave the ball away cheaply more than once or twice but overall, a fine game. Well played Amdy lad.

Shola Ameobi - 5

Excellent against Arsenal out wide on the left, frustrating against West Ham, despite some good moments in the game. At times he was very effective when coming infield as he linked up well with the central midfielders but up front he wasn't involved much while in defence he gave away a penalty (not intentional handball) and for parts of the match, went missing. Yet to be fair, he is playing in an unnatural position and in Elliott he doesn't exactly have the best foil to work with down that flank. He did a job asked of him and worked hard for the team and that I guess, is all we can ask of him at the moment.

Alan Shearer - 8

Like Parker Shearer followed on from his Arsenal performance and while he wasn't quite as involved in this match as he was in that one, he contributed an awful lot nonetheless, at both ends. Took his goal expertly, set up Owen and cleared a goal bound effort off the line, just one of many vital defensive interceptions. He also sent in one or two mean crosses that I bet he would have loved to have been on the end of and he conserved his energy well, often playing in midfield alongside Parker. Just 2 to go now Al...

Michael Owen - 10 (My Man Of The Match)

Anyone who was at this match or who watched the highlights on TV could be forgiving for thinking that all Owen did was score three goals, which he did. But off the ball, his movement and positioning, his awareness, timing and speed of thought is absolutely magnificent to witness. He could have had 5 goals in this game simply because of his movement and it's frightening, and mouthwatering, to think just how many goals he would score in a free-flowing, fluid footballing Newcastle side. The service at times was shocking and he had to fight and toil with much bigger defenders which is kind of sad to see in a way because we are under using him, as crazy as that will read. But on the other hand, thank god we have him. He, as Big Al says, was the difference and his hat-trick will be the first of many, I'm sure. Brilliant finishing.

Subs
Lee Bowyer - 4

Came on for Solano with 10 minutes to go and got stuck in from the start and even set up Owen with a great cross that Carroll did well to save from the England man's header.

Boss Man
Graeme Souness - 7

Souness kept faith with the side that beat Arsenal and we won so in many ways, another fine weekend for the Scot. However, once again we start the game with no width and playing deep as a unit which just invited pressure and saw United concede lots of possession to West Ham. And it left Owen looking forlorn once or twice as he pleaded with his midfielders to push up, with the England man often left isolated. It's these tactics that are undermining Newcastle and it's infuriating because it happens in every game and every defeat we have suffered this season has often been the result of playing narrow in midfield and pushed back deep in defence. Push upfield a further 30-yards and give Nobby licence to hug that touchline Graeme and we will pick up more points. It's your job on the line, why be so cautious and negative? Nonetheless, 3 much needed points so well done Souey.

Mags
Toon Fans - 8

Very loud, and travelled in large numbers despite it being only a week before Christmas. They stuck with the team when we were pegged back and upped the noise levels. Shearer's goal was met with delirium as the fans chanted: "He only needs one more!" as well as an old favourite "Jingle bells, jingle bells, jingle all the way, oh what fun it is to see Newcastle win away!" Top effort.

Referee
Phil Dowd - 8

One of the better officials and the Staffordshire ref had a good game, letting it flow where and when called for and not too whistle happy. He did give West Ham a penalty but it was a penalty, despite no real intent by Ameobi. No major decisions to call other than that and it's good to see a referee use common sense and officiate intelligently.

http://www.newcastle-online.com/nufcratings/2005_06/westhamunited_away.shtml

dreamer75
19-12-2005, 10:59 AM
Sunday, December 18, 2005

or Ex-Newcastle, Spurs and England Forward Turns 39! (Also, West Ham, Leicester, Bolton, Reading & oh, QPR!)
-
How Media Probably would portray it!

Born December 18, 1966...Les Ferdinand Happy Birthday! -

Really nothing else needs to be said about one of greatest players; our biggest non-league "steals" and our highest-priced player sold. And from all accounts, a great guy! Q.P.R.: 1986-1987 Played 2 Scored 0 1987-1988 Played 1 Scored 0 Brentford: 1987-1988 on loan Besiktas: 1988-1989 Played 24 Scored 14 goals Q.P.R.: 1989-1990 Played 9 Scored 2 goals 1990-1991 Played 18 Scored 8 1991-1992 Played 23 Scored 10 goals 1992-1993 Played 37 Scored 20 goals 1993-1994 Played 36 Scored 16 goals 1994-1995 Played 37 Scored 24 goals Transferred to Newcastle United on 7/6/1995 for £6, 000, 000 http://www.sporting-heroes.net/football-heroes/displayhero_club.asp?HeroID=5633

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia. Jump to: navigation, search Les Ferdinand MBE (born December 18, 1966 in London) is an English footballer. He was a powerful and elegant centre forward famed for his ability in the air. He is the cousin of Rio and Anton Ferdinand. Ferdinand started his career in non-league football, first at Southall and then moving to Hayes. He was spotted by QPR and moved there for £30,000. Ferdinand had two loan spells at Brentford and Besiktas (in Turkey). He became first choice at QPR in 1991 and made his England debut in 1994. He had a great career with Rangers and was a often seen leaping like a salmon to power home headers. Much to the fans' disappointment, Ferdinand was sold to Newcastle in 1995 for £6 million, with Hayes receiving £600,000 of this (a huge sum for a non-league side) due to a sell-on clause. He scored 29 goals in his first season with them, and got them within touching distance of the Premiership title. Meanwhile, his absence precipitated Queens Park Rangers' relegation in the 95/96 season. In 1997 Ferdinand was bought by Spurs, again for £6 million. In the 2002/2003 season he moved to West Ham, but the club was relegated at the end of the season. Ferdinand joined Leicester on a free transfer at the beginning of the 2003/2004 season. After the Foxes were relegated at the end of that season he joined Bolton Wanderers, but left them on January 2, 2005. Four days later, Ferdinand signed with Reading. His contract at the club lasted until the end of the 2004/2005 season, at which point he retired from professional football. He was made an MBE in the 2005 Queen's Birthday Honours List. In September 2005, Ferdinand committed to non-contract terms with Football League Championship side Watford as both part-time player and coach. For England, Ferdinand was capped 17 times, scoring five goals. He was part of the Euro 96 and 1998 World Cup squads. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Les_Ferdinand

http://qprreport.blogspot.com/2005/12/or-ex-newcastle-spurs-and-england.html

dreamer75
19-12-2005, 11:00 AM
St James' Park legend Alan Shearer netted his 199th goal for the club against West Ham, taking him ever so close to Jackie Milburn's all-time goalscoring record. Shearer only needs one more goal to equal the record - and with his partnership with Michael Owen, it is sure to come soon.

dreamer75
19-12-2005, 11:01 AM
Newspaper reports today claim that Newcastle boss Graeme Souness will be handed a new year transfer ban by the board of directors.

It is claimed that no additional funds will be made available to Souness once the transfer window opens because of the uncertainty surrounding his future at the club following mixed results.

Souness is keen to sign Nicholas Anelka, Roberth Huth and Wayne Bridge but if today's reports are to be believed, chairman Freddy Shepherd has already informed the manager that only loan deals can be negotiated.

http://www.upthetoon.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=819

dreamer75
19-12-2005, 11:03 AM
West Ham 2 - 4 Newcastle United

Well, last week when I forecast a defeat in the capital, I urged the lads to prove me wrong and happily they did although, of course, it would not be Newcastle if there were not a few scares and anxious moments along the way.

Newcastle took to the field with the same side that did so well against Arsenal although leaving Luque on the bench and sticking with Ameobi on the wing did seem a little strange. Anyway, despite some early pressure from West Ham, we took the lead soon after with a goal from Owen which we hoped would be the first of a few bearing in mind the open way we expect West ham to play.

We did score another of course but this time it was Nobby putting the ball past Shay for a West ham equaliser.

The game was pretty open with both sides not afraid to attack and right at the end of the half Owen scored another with what looked like a deflection from his ear……….never mind - they all count.

In the second half, Owen unselfishly set up Big Al for his 199th………only one away now from the famous record and it appears that we will now coast it to the end. That was until Shola decided to throw West ham a lifeline by inexplicably handling in the box to gift them a penalty.

At this point, the Dr Gloom hat is firmly back on and I can see us not only throwing away the lead, but also the game. Happily I am wrong as not only do the lads dig deep to defend the lead but also take advantage of West Ham throwing caution to the wind in attempting to equalise by having Owen complete his hat trick with the simplest of tap ins when the West ham keeper is out of position.

So a 4 – 2 victory and their goals are an own goal and a penalty. The only black spot being another booking for superman Parker meaning he will miss the Liverpool game on boxing day.

Well done lads……..can we keep it up even longer?

Man of the match………………Michael Owen, of course.

dreamer75
19-12-2005, 11:04 AM
http://images.thetimes.co.uk/TGD/picture/0,,252203,00.gif

Owen applies finishing touch
By Tom Dart
West Ham United 2 Newcastle United 4

MICHAEL OWEN WAS IN EBULLIENT mood on Saturday night, and no wonder. He needs only another 194 goals to break Jackie Milburn’s Newcastle United goalscoring record. It will be Alan Shearer’s all-time mark soon, of course, after he moved to 199 goals, within one of Milburn, in this win. While Shearer soldiers on to cement his place in history, Owen’s value in the here and now is difficult to overestimate.

Shearer famously said when he signed that he was “just a sheet metal worker’s son”; in Owen, Newcastle have a master plasterer, applying finishes that mask the shoddy workmanship of his colleagues. His hat-trick was his seventh goal in eight games for Newcastle, who have won six and drawn one of those matches. With Owen hogging the spotlight, the focus could shift away from the shortcomings that have made Graeme Souness’s future a matter for debate, even though they were as visible at Upton Park as usual.

Owen is no doubt relishing the trip to Anfield on Boxing Day and the chance to prove to Liverpool that they made a mistake by not re-signing him in August. “When I came here I promised that I would score goals, but it wasn’t much of a promise because I’ve always scored goals.” Owen said. “As a team we’ve got a lot of goals in us. We have a lot of creative players and the big man up front (Shearer). He ’s always going to give you a few moments.”

“At half-time someone said to me how dangerous they both looked and I said I just wish they were both 25,” Souness, the manager, said. Owen is 26 and Shearer is 35. Yet blood seems to pump extra-quickly through Shearer’s slowing legs when there is a scoring chance and he was back to make a crucial clearance off the line in the second half.

“I don’t think anyone in their right mind will say Alan Shearer will stop scoring goals until the day he hangs up his football boots. I will be the same,” Owen said. “No matter what I might lose, it will always be my instinct to score.”

“I had a conversation before the game how few partnerships there are around today. ” Alan Pardew, the West Ham United manager, said. “As an out-and-out pair they take some beating. Newcastle had no control over the game but they scored four goals.”

It helped Newcastle that West Ham’s centre backs are inexperienced. James Collins and Anton Ferdinand: combined age 42, combined career Premiership appearances 20. “I could sense that their whole back four were very nervous and I think it’s because Michael, as well as being exceptionally quick, has a really, really sharp football brain,” Souness said.

Owen steered a shot past Roy Carroll for the opener. West Ham equalised when Titus Bramble’s clearance rebounded off Nolberto Solano for an own goal but Owen scored — with his shoulder — just before half-time. Owen set up Shearer for the third, then Shola Ameobi’s handball enabled Marlon Harewood to score from the penalty spot and set up an exciting finish. Owen’s third came into an empty net at the end.

Pardew spent the previous two seasons enduring sniping from sections of the West Ham support who felt that his allegedly direct playing style jarred with the club’s ethos, but this was a performance in harmony with tradition: wonderfully entertaining and ultimately fruitless. Pardew was frustrated to concede four times, but he might have felt equally upset that his team did not score five against Newcastle’s dodgy defence.

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/article/0,,297-1939365,00.html

dreamer75
19-12-2005, 11:07 AM
A couple of games ago, before the Arsenal game, I looked at the next 3 fixtures, Arsenal (home) followed by West Ham and Liverpool (both away), and, bearing in mind the appalling display against Wigan reserves, I could see us losing all three games and like many people, I would have taken 3 draws and 3 points as a good return from these games.

Remarkably, thanks mainly to an improvement in effort and of course the return of talisman Owen, we have won the first two of those games so that even i f we do lose at Anfield we have still done well in those three important games.

The big question now is, can we maintain the progress we have made in recent weeks and actually get something against Liverpool?

We will not be helped by the suspension of Parker but hopefully we may have some of the (seemingly permanent) walking wounded back in contention.

Liverpool, to me, seem to be the most improved side in the Premiership and history has shown that we rarely get anything from our travels against them so I am certainly not confident of a win, but then again I wasn’t confident in our last two games either and look what happened.

My prediction then……………A Defeat.

Howay lads…………prove me wrong again!!

donald83
19-12-2005, 11:20 AM
Yah man it's always hard to beat Liverpool considering their good form right now.

Shadow04
19-12-2005, 11:57 AM
Newspaper reports today claim that Newcastle boss Graeme Souness will be handed a new year transfer ban by the board of directors.

It is claimed that no additional funds will be made available to Souness once the transfer window opens because of the uncertainty surrounding his future at the club following mixed results.

Souness is keen to sign Nicholas Anelka, Roberth Huth and Wayne Bridge but if today's reports are to be believed, chairman Freddy Shepherd has already informed the manager that only loan deals can be negotiated.

http://www.upthetoon.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=819
sad.. means we wont see new defenders arriving at SJP le...

on the bright side, it means the directors aren't having much faith with Souness, if the report is to be belived..

Shadow04
19-12-2005, 12:00 PM
A couple of games ago, before the Arsenal game, I looked at the next 3 fixtures, Arsenal (home) followed by West Ham and Liverpool (both away), and, bearing in mind the appalling display against Wigan reserves, I could see us losing all three games and like many people, I would have taken 3 draws and 3 points as a good return from these games.

Remarkably, thanks mainly to an improvement in effort and of course the return of talisman Owen, we have won the first two of those games so that even i f we do lose at Anfield we have still done well in those three important games.

The big question now is, can we maintain the progress we have made in recent weeks and actually get something against Liverpool?

We will not be helped by the suspension of Parker but hopefully we may have some of the (seemingly permanent) walking wounded back in contention.

Liverpool, to me, seem to be the most improved side in the Premiership and history has shown that we rarely get anything from our travels against them so I am certainly not confident of a win, but then again I wasn’t confident in our last two games either and look what happened.

My prediction then……………A Defeat.

Howay lads…………prove me wrong again!!
hard to prove wrong this time... a draw against Liverpool is all i can hope for now, given their performance now...

ShaqONeal
19-12-2005, 12:55 PM
Owen going back to Anfield.. and yes, Liverpool lost their first match since so long ago to Sao Paolo..

i dunno wanna think about the game, and may b then we can get something out from Anfield..

Adidas says Nothing is Impossible..

dreamer75
19-12-2005, 01:58 PM
our next 2 matches..

Monday 26th December 2005
Liverpool v Newcastle 15.00 UK time

Wednesday 28th December 2005
Newcastle v Charlton 19.45 UK time

Tokieda
19-12-2005, 04:10 PM
Owen going back to Anfield.. and yes, Liverpool lost their first match since so long ago to Sao Paolo..

i dunno wanna think about the game, and may b then we can get something out from Anfield..

Adidas says Nothing is Impossible..

we are not sao paolo who are defensively good and can hold them scoreless even though pool had i heard 23 shots against them...again, possession doesnt translate into 3 points..

ShaqONeal
19-12-2005, 08:36 PM
we are not sao paolo who are defensively good and can hold them scoreless even though pool had i heard 23 shots against them...again, possession doesnt translate into 3 points..
i know we r not Sao Paolo.. but...

anyway, i dun hope too big on Toon now, if they win, i will b happy, if not.. life goes on too.. :s8:

kaseymunson
19-12-2005, 08:51 PM
our next 2 matches..

Monday 26th December 2005
Liverpool v Newcastle 15.00 UK time

Wednesday 28th December 2005
Newcastle v Charlton 19.45 UK time
We'll have Charlton for dinner. Bowyer most likely will replace the suspended Parker in Anfield.

Tokieda
19-12-2005, 09:26 PM
We'll have Charlton for dinner. Bowyer most likely will replace the suspended Parker in Anfield.

we shld makan charlton kao kao

donald83
20-12-2005, 11:37 AM
1500 UK is wat time in sg?

studmufn
20-12-2005, 11:44 AM
should be ard +8..

acchhhoooo
20-12-2005, 11:45 AM

depending on whether got daylight savings.. should be + 7 or 8 hours..

so about 10 or 11 pm here i think...

bh0322
20-12-2005, 12:56 PM
what actually is daylight saving?

Tokieda
20-12-2005, 07:06 PM
Souness suffers transfer blow
Mon, Dec 19 2005 17:18

Graeme Souness will only be able to draft players in on loan in the transfer window and has targeted Wayne Bridge and Robert Huth.

Souness has been told by chairman Freddie Shepherd there is no big money to spend after he splashed out £50million on the likes of Emre, Michael Owen and Albert Luque.
It has left the coffers empty at St James' Park and it means that Souness will have to use the loan market to strengthen his squad. That means a swoop for Nicolas Anelka is out of the question.

After missing out on him last summer, Souness was hoping to make a renewed attempt to land the Frenchman in January but Fenerbahce do not want to sell him never mind loan him out.

Souness could have more success in his pursuit of Bridge and Huth though as both players could be available on a temporary basis. The duo are keen to get some first-team action under their belt and they do not look like getting it at Stamford Bridge.

Defence is an area the boss wants to strengthen and he is known to have sounded out Mourinho about a move for the duo after the two sides recently played each other.

Tokieda
20-12-2005, 07:07 PM
what actually is daylight saving?

Daylight saving time (also called DST) is the North American term for a system intended to "save" daylight (the British observe summer time, and likewise the Europeans). The official time is adjusted forward, (usually) one hour from its official standard time, remaining that way for the duration of the spring and summer months. This is intended to provide a better match between the hours of daylight and the active hours of work and school. DST is most commonly used in temperate regions, due to the considerable variation in the amount of daylight versus darkness through the seasons in those regions.

ZhiQiang
22-12-2005, 12:27 AM
Meite may make Toon move

Newcastle manager Graeme Souness is hoping to steal Marseille defender Abdoulaye Meite from under the nose of Bolton boss Sam Allardyce.

Although Bolton have agreed a £1.8m fee for the player with the French side, the deal has stalled over the Trotters' reluctance to offer Meite the four-and-a-half year contract he wants.

This has alerted Souness, who has indicated he is keen to add to the Magpies squad during the January transfer window.

Ivory Coast international Meite, who is set to feature in the World Cup, can play at right-back or in central defence - both positions where Newcastle have been short this season.

The Paris-born 25-year-old has been told he can leave Marseille after a recent fall-out with the club, although he is still a regular in the side.

He was part of the team that dumped Newcastle out of the Uefa Cup in 2004.

Fresnel
22-12-2005, 11:49 AM
watever happened to our Luque??I hardly ever see him played eversince he recovered!! :(

martinweng
22-12-2005, 11:55 AM
watever happened to our Luque??I hardly ever see him played eversince he recovered!! :(

last time u heard Luque, u fear he will score...

how souness/newcastle make his name sounds like no threat is a mystery to me.

perhaps we shud play him up front wif owen.

kaseymunson
22-12-2005, 04:38 PM
The side is playing well without Luque at the moment and I guess Souness does not want to disrupt the momentum of the team. It disturbs me that Ameobi is the one keeping him out at the moment.

kaseymunson
22-12-2005, 08:44 PM
http://www.nufc.premiumtv.co.uk/page/NewsDetail/0,,10278~758807,00.html

Toon Five Back To Face Liverpool
By Gary Oliver

NEWCASTLE United boss Graeme Souness received a timely boost with the return of five players for the Boxing Day trip to Liverpool.

Celestine Babayaro, Stephen Carr, Emre, Charles N'Zogbia and Steven Taylor have all been declared fit to make the trip to Anfield.

The manager will select from the following 20-man squad: Shola Ameobi, Celestine Babayaro, Jean Alain Boumsong, Lee Bowyer, Titus Bramble, Martin Brittain, Stephen Carr, Michael Chopra, Lee Clark, Robbie Elliott, Emre, Amady Faye, Shay Given, Steve Harper, Albert Luque, Charles N'Zogbia, Michael Owen, Peter Ramage, Alan Shearer, Nolberto Solano, Steven Taylor.

Midfielder Scott Parker is suspended for the Liverpool game, while Kieron Dyer and Craig Moore are still missing through injury.

kaseymunson
22-12-2005, 08:45 PM
Selection headaches for souness finally. A pity Parker is suspended.

ShaqONeal
22-12-2005, 09:53 PM
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/columns/story?id=352622&root=england&cc=4716

somehow i tok we got three person in the dream team.. but then i remember O Brien not with us anymore..

martinweng
22-12-2005, 11:15 PM
http://www.nufc.premiumtv.co.uk/page/NewsDetail/0,,10278~758807,00.html

Toon Five Back To Face Liverpool
By Gary Oliver

NEWCASTLE United boss Graeme Souness received a timely boost with the return of five players for the Boxing Day trip to Liverpool.

Celestine Babayaro, Stephen Carr, Emre, Charles N'Zogbia and Steven Taylor have all been declared fit to make the trip to Anfield.

The manager will select from the following 20-man squad: Shola Ameobi, Celestine Babayaro, Jean Alain Boumsong, Lee Bowyer, Titus Bramble, Martin Brittain, Stephen Carr, Michael Chopra, Lee Clark, Robbie Elliott, Emre, Amady Faye, Shay Given, Steve Harper, Albert Luque, Charles N'Zogbia, Michael Owen, Peter Ramage, Alan Shearer, Nolberto Solano, Steven Taylor.

Midfielder Scott Parker is suspended for the Liverpool game, while Kieron Dyer and Craig Moore are still missing through injury.

Craig Moore is like come Newcastle treat injuries nia.

Shadow04
23-12-2005, 01:32 AM
Craig Moore is like come Newcastle treat injuries nia.
haha.. :s13:

martinweng
24-12-2005, 09:10 AM
Souness urges Shearer to delay retirement again

Newcastle boss Graeme Souness has urged Alan Shearer to consider putting off his retirement for a second time.

Former England skipper Shearer was persuaded to stay on at St James' Park for one more year after originally declaring he would hang up his boots at the end of last season.

That decision has been justified by over 20 appearances for the Magpies already this term, with Shearer also adding another eight goals to his awesome tally - taking him to just one short of Jackie Milburn's club record of 200.

And while it is still long odds-on that the 35-year-old will finally call it a day next summer, Souness has not given up hope of again delaying the inevitable.

'We'll see what happens over the next six months, but I certainly wouldn't close any doors,' said Souness.

'It would have to come from him, but if he's still playing like he has in recent weeks, he has an enormous part to play.

'I said last year that I do not see a player on the training ground who is ready to pack in and there's nothing that's happened since which suggests that has changed.

'It's like everything - if you're enjoying it, why stop?'

Shearer has been boosted by a recent hernia operation and the arrival of Michael Owen on Tyneside has also given him a new lease of life.

'I think that since his operation - only he knows how much he was being held back - he looks to have found another yard from somewhere,' added Souness.

'And that's coupled with the fact he's now playing with Michael. He really enjoys that.

'They have an understanding that goes back to when they played together with England.'

he's losing pace and all, so...no..i dowan see my hero shearer continue to work for u souness..sign shearer to a coaching role and den partner luque and owen!

kaseymunson
24-12-2005, 09:25 AM
Souness wants to prevent Shearer to replace him as the next manager.

feitz
24-12-2005, 09:48 AM
Souness thinks that if he can persuade shearer to stay on, he can get into the fan's good books and keep his job.... fat hope

ShaqONeal
24-12-2005, 10:51 AM
shearer can stay.. but how about yourself, Souney????? how long do u think u can stay with tat kind of results????

Tokieda
24-12-2005, 02:05 PM
http://images.thesun.co.uk/picture/0,,2005590948,00.jpg

ALAN SHEARER has said a No Ho Ho to any idea he will go back on his retirement.

Newcastle manager Graeme Souness wants the striker to think again.

But Shearer’s Christmas message last night was: “As far as I am concerned, nothing has changed. I will retire at the end of this season.”

Tokieda
24-12-2005, 03:43 PM
http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a249/johnson293/parker.gif

donald83
26-12-2005, 11:11 PM
Magnificent save from Given man!! As usual, dunno wtf is BOumsong doing.

aqf
26-12-2005, 11:52 PM
HT: 2-0 to pool
Think its game over

donald83
26-12-2005, 11:59 PM
Very poor performance man. Kenna whacked hard by Liverpool.

studmufn
27-12-2005, 01:48 AM
did owen even touch the ball in the 2nd half?
quite a ****ty performance man. and even without bowyer it didn't matter that much.

Tokieda
27-12-2005, 08:19 AM
Magnificent save from Given man!! As usual, dunno wtf is BOumsong doing.

seems like boumsong can only play against henry only...

seems like souness had given up on this game beforehand, no solano and ameobi from the start...

dreamer75
27-12-2005, 10:08 AM
din watch the match....heard got some fighting on the pitch..sighz...

Shadow04
27-12-2005, 10:58 AM
seems like boumsong can only play against henry only...

seems like souness had given up on this game beforehand, no solano and ameobi from the start...
haha... ya lo.. everytime see he always make Henry look bad whenever Boumsong play against Henry...

didnt watch the match.... but i'm guessing they totally marked out Owen.. atm, newcastle no Owen = no goal..

martinweng
27-12-2005, 11:11 AM
it was an okay result though...something like default loss to me, u noe...those kind of default loss we automatically receive when we visit stamford bridge, highbury, old trafford.

Tokieda
27-12-2005, 11:18 AM
they were like going through the motions thats it, and if bowyer deserves a red card, surely crouch and gerrard also for they punch ppl in the aftermath in the free-for-all...

feel sorry for stevie taylor, he was rushed back just like emre against man utd last time, his shoulder got dislocated and then put back again, but he needs an operation to set it right once and for all, so it mean we are stuck with BB defence for the rest of the season, optimistic now?

studmufn
27-12-2005, 11:31 AM
anyone noticed the liverpool fans laughing and 'cheering' when bramble was brought on?
real pathetic man.

they were like going through the motions thats it, and if bowyer deserves a red card, surely crouch and gerrard also for they punch ppl in the aftermath in the free-for-all...

feel sorry for stevie taylor, he was rushed back just like emre against man utd last time, his shoulder got dislocated and then put back again, but he needs an operation to set it right once and for all, so it mean we are stuck with BB defence for the rest of the season, optimistic now?

dreamer75
27-12-2005, 12:28 PM
Well, I suppose none of us really expected to get anything from this game, and while I have seen a lot worse this season, it would have been something if we had at least had a go at them instead of simply letting them totally outplay us.

I honestly believe that this Liverpool side is not a good one, and yet this was as one sided a game as we have seen all season.

To make matters worse, when we looked like we were trying to mix it with them, Bowyer gets sent off for a tackle which was not that bad and Crouch only gets a yellow for blatantly pushing him and Gerrard gets away with even worse when he barges in pushing every one in sight.

Owen’s big return to Liverpool was a total damp squib as he hardly got a touch and it also looks like we brought young Taylor back too soon as he now looks set for a lengthy stay on the sidelines with his shoulder injury.

Having said all of that, I will forget this inept display if we can get three points against Charlton on Wednesday night.

Man of the match……………….Given

dreamer75
27-12-2005, 12:29 PM
the qn is can we beat Charlton Athletic on wed?

Tokieda
27-12-2005, 12:50 PM
anyone noticed the liverpool fans laughing and 'cheering' when bramble was brought on?
real pathetic man.

they were happy what do u expect from an away match

Ryuichi
27-12-2005, 02:20 PM
Well of course this Liverpool side is definitely not a good one,22 shots vs 4 shots.

I guessed newcastle gotta have better luck in getting the right manager and free of injury.

kaseymunson
27-12-2005, 02:39 PM
Poor poor performance from us. No excuses for the woeful magpies. By halftime I'd already switch channel and watched something else instead. Positives from the game? Given still looked as sharp as ever. The rest were dozing throughout the game.

aqf
27-12-2005, 04:17 PM
Really miss parker

bh0322
27-12-2005, 04:22 PM
Considering the players we have had, we ought to give any premiership team a really good fight. I really miss the team we had during Bobby Robson time. The newcastle at that time is really playing attacking fantastic football. But now........ GS needs to go.

martinweng
27-12-2005, 06:10 PM
Considering the players we have had, we ought to give any premiership team a really good fight. I really miss the team we had during Bobby Robson time. The newcastle at that time is really playing attacking fantastic football. But now........ GS needs to go.

He needs to go, but not now.

This season is yet another transition year (i refering to a year of stablizing our team, which has yet to settle down for almost 4 seasons)

sack him during June, see which WC national team win, den we hire who.

feitz
27-12-2005, 07:11 PM
He needs to go, but not now.

This season is yet another transition year (i refering to a year of stablizing our team, which has yet to settle down for almost 4 seasons)

sack him during June, see which WC national team win, den we hire who.
players like ambitious, i feel there is a lack of a sense of belonging in most of our squad, this is clearly reflected in the kind of team performance produced.

when players have no loyalty, they look elsewhere for success at the earliest opportunity...

bh0322
27-12-2005, 09:42 PM
Our defence is the weakest yet he still keep his faith in the 2 central defenders who are not doing well, buomsong is not that good, don't you all find it? bramble is really a waste of the money when we bought him, or I should say that Newcastle has never had any defender that is good except for peacock, albert and howey

martinweng
27-12-2005, 10:50 PM
Our defence is the weakest yet he still keep his faith in the 2 central defenders who are not doing well, buomsong is not that good, don't you all find it? bramble is really a waste of the money when we bought him, or I should say that Newcastle has never had any defender that is good except for peacock, albert and howey

peacock rox!!!

all-time favourite centre-back of newcastle.

all-time favourite full-back of newcastle goes to warren barton.

er...come to think of it..dis sounds like a fun topic...

[What's your all-time favourite player of the various position]

1. Fav GK
2. Fav Centre-back
3. Fav Full-back
4. Fav Winger
5. Fav Holding midfielder
6. Fav Attacking midfielder
7. Fav Striker

for me is:

1. Given
2. Peacock
3. Barton
4. Ginola
5. Parker
6. Nil
7. Shearer

usjag_18
27-12-2005, 11:23 PM
But I really hate it the way Crouch & Carragher treated Bowyer... They pushed him like he's just a toy.....

Shadow04
28-12-2005, 12:12 AM
But I really hate it the way Crouch & Carragher treated Bowyer... They pushed him like he's just a toy.....
after watching epl highlights, i kinda agree with this one... why only a yellow to crouch who basically grab our dear Bowyer by the throat and throw him on the floor? worse, gerrad barged his way in and totally got away with it...

Bowyer's tackle is not as bad as i first thought, initally i was thinking to the likes of Essien's tackle on Hanman hence the reaction from the pool players, but after watching, i think its at most a yellow... a little bit of over-reaction from the home side ya? totally uncalled for.. :s8:

studmufn
28-12-2005, 12:14 AM
that gerrard also, just anyhow chiong in and pushed shearer. bloody hooligans man.
bowyer was a bit stupid but i think the liverpool players' reactions were worse.

aqf
28-12-2005, 07:34 AM
1.Given
2. Woodgate
3. Pearce
4. Ginola
5. Parker
6. Beardsley
7. Shearer

Theychosenone
28-12-2005, 10:24 AM

Er... Peacock and Albert good? Peacock is another unreliable defender, but not to the extent of Boumsong and Bramble of course. Albert was the 'defender' who always ran forward as an attacking midfielder, leaving big holes at the back. Howey was good. In fact the only decent solid central defenders we've had for the past 10 years were probably Howey, Woodgate, and Steven Taylor. At least all of them are definitely better than the current star defender Titanic Fumble.

It was damn funny to hear Liverpool supporters cheering when he came on, so sad but so justified too. :s13:

bh0322
28-12-2005, 12:22 PM
peacock rox!!!

1. Fav GK
2. Fav Centre-back
3. Fav Full-back
4. Fav Winger
7. Fav Striker

for me is:

1. Given
2. Peacock
3. Barton
4. Ginola
5. Parker
6. Nil
7. Shearer

for me No 6 goes to Peter Beardsley

bh0322
28-12-2005, 03:49 PM
Hey guys, I have a few posters of Newcastle united, it has been with me for quite sometime. Wanting to sell them off, interested pls let me know. Sorry, I know this is not the classifid but since this is the Newcastle forum, I find it better post it here. Sorry for any inconvenience caused.

http://img479.imageshack.us/my.php?image=32winoverbarca0aw.jpg
http://img490.imageshack.us/my.php?image=4unitedplayerspostcards3hl.jpg
http://img490.imageshack.us/my.php?image=50winovermanu9uh.jpg
http://img490.imageshack.us/my.php?image=1998cupfinalspecialposter1ji.jpg
http://img490.imageshack.us/my.php?image=1998cupfinalspecialposter11ei.jpg
http://img490.imageshack.us/my.php?image=asprilla7me.jpg
http://img490.imageshack.us/my.php?image=robertlee5gw.jpg
http://img490.imageshack.us/my.php?image=shearerferdinand2oq.jpg

Tokieda
28-12-2005, 04:15 PM
Er... Peacock and Albert good? Peacock is another unreliable defender, but not to the extent of Boumsong and Bramble of course. Albert was the 'defender' who always ran forward as an attacking midfielder, leaving big holes at the back. Howey was good. In fact the only decent solid central defenders we've had for the past 10 years were probably Howey, Woodgate, and Steven Taylor. At least all of them are definitely better than the current star defender Titanic Fumble.

It was damn funny to hear Liverpool supporters cheering when he came on, so sad but so justified too. :s13:

yah they wasnt good, but still a tad better than what we have now...and we were attacking better to cover that up in the past too...

of course time have change, but we are still living in the past...

Tyer
28-12-2005, 07:43 PM
1. Fav GK Given
2. Fav Centre-back Woodgate
3. Fav Full-back John Besford
4. Fav Winger Ginola
5. Fav Holding midfielder Parker
6. Fav Attacking midfielder Beardsley (He reallly play like a attacking mf)
7. Fav Striker Shearer

Tokieda
28-12-2005, 08:19 PM
1. Fav GK
2. Fav Centre-back
3. Fav Full-back
4. Fav Winger
7. Fav Striker

for me is: (bracket denotes 2nd choice)

1. Shay Given
2. Philipe Albert (Jonathan Woodgate)
3. Oliver Bernard (Warren Barton)
4. David Ginola (Noberto Solano)
5. Scott Parker (Robert Lee)
6. Peter Beardsley (Faustino Asprilla)
7. Alan Shearer (Craig Bellamy)

aqf
28-12-2005, 08:35 PM
How about
1. Worst GK: Hislop
2. Worst Centre-back: Marcelino
3. Worst Full-back: Elliot
4. Worst Winger: Stephen Glass
5. Worst Holding midfielder Faye
6. Worst Attacking midfielder Daniel Cordone
7. Worst Striker: Ian Rush

martinweng
28-12-2005, 09:10 PM
How about
1. Worst GK: Hislop
2. Worst Centre-back: Marcelino
3. Worst Full-back: Elliot
4. Worst Winger: Stephen Glass
5. Worst Holding midfielder Faye
6. Worst Attacking midfielder Daniel Cordone
7. Worst Striker: Ian Rush

GK: is Hislop dat bad?
**: i would give my vote to bramble anytime.
FB: i wonder why we still keep him(elliot) in our time.
WG: Yupz...glass sux
AM: Cordone!! u idiot! louya like fark..
ST: Its a tie between Gui'varch and Tomasson.

bh0322
28-12-2005, 11:56 PM
there are so many players that newcastle have bought in the past, but none have really performed up to expectation, even tommason so good in Denmark and AC even bought him, howcome nobody mention about les ferdinand? I find that he is the best one to partner shearer with his powerful headers and strong built.

Ginola, Keith Gillespie are all very good.

Tokieda
29-12-2005, 11:37 AM
as always, its how the managers want to play their tactics

we always play direct style, so ginola and gillespie suited us...

tomasson is more of the technical player..so there..

kaseymunson
29-12-2005, 11:50 AM
smelly cheesepies match kena cancelled :(

Tokieda
29-12-2005, 12:24 PM
yah not good, now we dun have a possible win against charlton to build on, its white hart lane against spurs tomorrow night, not good!

feitz
29-12-2005, 02:04 PM
spurs is a strong side this season... hard to beat

bh0322
29-12-2005, 03:32 PM
will it be another loss?

kaseymunson
29-12-2005, 09:07 PM
spurs lost to wba for god's sake

dreamer75
29-12-2005, 09:10 PM
peacock rox!!!

1. Fav GK
2. Fav Centre-back
3. Fav Full-back
4. Fav Winger
7. Fav Striker

for me is:

1. Given
2. Peacock
3. Barton
4. Ginola
5. Parker
6. Nil
7. Shearer

1.Given
2. Woodgate
3. Pearce
4. Ginola
5. Parker
6. Beardsley
7. Shearer

dreamer75
29-12-2005, 09:14 PM
Dec 28 2005

Another rollercoaster ride for the Toon Army - Michael Martin of the True Faith fanzine looks back on an eventful 12 months at St James' Park.

Having been at first bewildered then angered (a more or less perpetual state for Mags these days) by the tactical ineptitude of our Boxing Day jaunt to Merseyside, rather than list the various failings in the NUFC game plan at Anfield, I thought a bit of quiet reflection on the last 12 months might be more appropriate. Eyes down, here we go:

1-0, Chelsea FAC, 5th Round

We carried some luck that afternoon but the players fought for every ball and, in the cold, the regulars at St James' Park showed we can still whip up a great atmosphere when occasion demands it.

Best player

Shay Given. Without shadow of a doubt, a top-class professional, playing at the peak of his powers and the best goalkeeper we've had in living memory. Mr Shepherd, get him signed up for life.

Best new signing

Scott Parker: If this lad isn't on the plane to Germany with Micky Owen and the rest of them, then there is one speccy Swedish bloke picking the England team who has completely lost the plot. Definitely the candidate to take the captain's armband from Alan Shearer when he retires at the end of the season.

What a waste

Patrick Kluivert: He came, he saw, he had a few nice touches, he never looked like he had any hunger in his belly. He did off to Valencia and he's not been missed.

Best young player

Stephen Taylor: We've spent £5m on Bramble (sob) and £8m on Boumsong but neither is as reliable as the teenage rookie from the coast. If Taylor keeps his head, doesn't get carried away with himself, continues to work hard, then the Monkseaton Maestro could be at the heart of our defence for many years to come.

Best laugh

To the directors, management, players and supporters of Sunderland AFC, we can only say, thank you very, very, very much. Do keep it up!

Wish it had never happened award

Craig Bellamy becoming The Premiership's very own Vicky Pollard. This lad got completely carried away with himself and thought he was bigger than he was. That said, we have a poorer squad without him and as he looks to savannahs of empty blue plastic seats at Ewood Park he must wonder where his career is going. He'll never play for as big a club as NUFC again.

Never a buy a player from Man Utd (unless you are Real Madrid) award

Nicky Butt. There are still some amongst my coterie of match-going Mags who are firmly of the belief that on his way up the A1 to sign on the dotted line from Salford Red Sox, Nicky Butt was abducted by aliens and replaced by a body double with the gone-to-seed skills of Christian Bassedas. He just looked shot, disinterested, off the pace and undeserving of the wages NUFC had him on. Birmingham City fans appear to have come to the same conclusion.

Disgrace of SJP award

Bowyer and Dyer incident. Never seen it before and don't want to see it again. Nothing excused what went on between players who disgraced the club. In the real world both would have been sacked for gross misconduct.

Why have we sold him award

Aaron Hughes. A top-class professional with the club in his bones, a player who played where he was selected to the best of his ability and without complaint. He's never going to be a Maldini but there are individuals on the club's books who aren't as good players and many who aren't as good professionals. A "proper" person!

Worst result of 2005

Sporting Lisbon away. Leading 1-0 from the first leg in the UEFA Cup QF we went to Portugal full of hope. When we went 1-0 up on the night, the away end, as well as thousands of pubs and living rooms on Tyneside, dared to believe we had it sewn up. Then we collapsed. The full-on support for the team at Cardiff as we were ritually humiliated in the FA Cup semi-final only days later was completely undeserved but, like the score-line, predictable.

Biggest surprise

Signing Michael Owen. I didn't think we had a chance and I wasn't the only one, but the club pulled it off and fair play to everyone who was involved in a fantastic deal.

Newcastle United should be applauded for bringing players of the quality of Scott Parker, Michael Owen, Emre, Alan Shearer, Nobby Solano and Shay Given to St. James' Park. There are too many great players warming the benches of Old Trafford, Stamford Bridge etc and a competitive league needs the best players spread around.

Conclusion on 2005

We're an average team, with an average manager in an average, hyped up, over-rated league. And we'll be there for more in 2006.

http://icnewcastle.icnetwork.co.uk/newcastleunited/news/tm_objectid=16526743%26method=full%26siteid=50081%26headline=highs-and-lows-of-toon-s-2005-name_page.html

What ya think?

dreamer75
29-12-2005, 09:21 PM
Referee Mike Dean issued a public apology last night after Newcastle's match with Charlton at St James' Park was called off just 25 minutes before the planned kick-off due to safety concerns outside the ground.

"I am sorry," Dean said. "I wanted the game to be played as well as everyone else because I've travelled 200 miles. The pitch is playable. Outside influences, which are road traffic, safety etc, are obviously a major concern. We all have to try get home in one piece."

The game was cancelled as snow blanketed Tyneside, although the Wirral official had given a thumbs-up following inspections as 5.45pm and 6.30pm.

"It is a last resort," Dean added. "There had been one or two road traffic accidents and the safety officer decided to pull the plug due to public interest at 7.20pm.

"That's no good to anybody but if the weather turns as it did we have no choice but to go on his say-so."

Charlton chief executive Peter Varney added: "I understand why there is such a hectic schedule this season but it is unfair to be asked to play games like this during the festive period. We should be playing local matches at this time of year.

dreamer75
29-12-2005, 09:24 PM
Real Madrid look set to prise unsettled Spanish forward Albert Luque from Newcastle in January with a cash-plus Thomas Gravesen offer.

Luque arrived at St James' Park from Deportivo La Coruna for a bumper £9.5million fee in the summer - but has found life away from Spain hard and been plagued by a string of injuries.

The 27-year-old has made it known he is missing the Spanish league and finds the Premiership too physical for his liking, and despite Fat Fred insisting the player is 'going nowhere', our insider from St James' Park begs to differ.

Luque can play in two positions, on the left wing or striker. But he is behind Alan Shearer and Michael Owen in the attacking pecking order, and youngster Charles N'Zogbia and (amazingly) Shola Ameobi have kept him on the bench in recent matches.

Real are well aware the player is strugging in the English game, and are set to make an offer of around £7million-plus Gravesen when the transfer window reopens. They are looking for home-grown talent, not foreigners, as they try and pull back a daunting 11 points from champions Barcelona.

Souness may be tempted by the cash - and rumours that Amdy Faye and Lee Bowyer are set to leave - who's to say he won't be tempted by Gravesen as well.

http://www.newcastle.vitalfootball.co.uk/article.asp?a=4818

feitz
29-12-2005, 10:00 PM
Luque hasnt really had the chance to prove himself and now we are talking about selling him?

*Oh yeah! 1K page has been reached!*

dreamer75
29-12-2005, 10:35 PM
Luque hasnt really had the chance to prove himself and now we are talking about selling him?

*Oh yeah! 1K page has been reached!*

dun think the news is true...

*u beat me to page 1000.... :s13: "

martinweng
30-12-2005, 12:12 AM
lets see who can get post number #15000 ;)

dreamer75
30-12-2005, 12:16 AM

haha...not far away...

dreamer75
30-12-2005, 12:19 AM
BOWYER LOSES APPEAL

http://www.sportinglife.com/pictures/general/allsportbowyeranfieldfurious.jpg

Newcastle midfielder Lee Bowyer has lost his appeal against his red card at Liverpool on Boxing Day and will now serve a three-match ban.

The 28-year-old received a straight red card from referee Mark Halsey for serious foul play for a challenge on Xabi Alonso, and although he launched an appeal which would have made him available for Wednesday night's postponed Barclays Premiership clash with former club Charlton, his case was rejected on Thursday.

"Lee Bowyer's claim for wrongful dismissal was rejected at a disciplinary commission hearing on Thursday," said a statement on the FA's official website, www.thefa.com.

"He will therefore serve a three-match suspension with immediate effect."

Bowyer will miss the trip to Tottenham on Saturday, the Tyne-Tees derby clash with Middlesbrough two days later and the FA Cup third-round tie against Mansfield.

The ban could effectively signal the end of his spell on Tyneside with Birmingham and Charlton monitoring his situation after it became clear that he sees his future elsewhere.

The London club, where he started his career, have yet to show their hand but Birmingham made contact with the Magpies last week after aborting their move to sign him during the summer.

Bowyer pulled the plug on a switch to St Andrews after some of the club's fans protested over Steve Bruce's attempt to sign him.

Bruce, whose side ended their dreadful run of results with a 2-2 home draw with Manchester United last night, was furious at the time but has rekindled his interest.

The stumbling block could be the player's £35,000-a-week wages although, with the whole of January in which to work, City will hope they can come to some kind of compromise.

Bowyer's red card at Anfield was the fourth of his Newcastle career, which began during the summer of 2003 when he made a free transfer move from West Ham.

His first also came at Liverpool, while he was harshly sent off in a UEFA Cup clash with Heerenveen in Holland and then for his infamous disagreement with team-mate Kieron Dyer in a 3-0 home defeat by Aston Villa in April, an incident which is still the subject of court action.

Bowyer was named only among the substitutes for last night's game and, although manager Graeme Souness has insisted he does not want him to leave, his departure seems inevitable.

feitz
*u beat me to page 1000.... :s13: "

=:p =:p

Bowyer banned after losing appeal

Newcastle United midfielder Lee Bowyer has lost his appeal against his sending-off at Liverpool on Boxing Day and will now serve a three-match ban.

Lee Bowyer: Lost appeal.

The 28-year-old received a straight red card from referee Mark Halsey for serious foul play for a challenge on Xabi Alonso, and although he launched an appeal which would have made him available for Wednesday's postponed Premiership clash with former club Charlton, his case was rejected on Thursday.

'Lee Bowyer's claim for wrongful dismissal was rejected at a disciplinary commission hearing on Thursday,' said a statement on the FA's official website.

'He will therefore serve a three-match suspension with immediate effect.'

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id=353478&cc=4716

feitz
wah! dreamer75 was ahead of me this time.... :s13:

didnt get to watch the match but i heard even though bowyer deserves the card, some liverpool players shouldnt escape scot free

dreamer75
30-12-2005, 12:21 AM
Bowyer leaving us ??????

dreamer75
30-12-2005, 12:24 AM
wah! dreamer75 was ahead of me this time.... :s13:

didnt get to watch the match but i heard even though bowyer deserves the card, some liverpool players shouldnt escape scot free

hahaha...i think i was ahead of u by a mere few secs?.. :o

feitz
30-12-2005, 12:31 AM
hahaha...i think i was ahead of u by a mere few secs?.. :o
your internet faster! mine 512kbps nia, dont even watch P2PLive

Tyer
30-12-2005, 07:05 AM
Bowyer leaving us ??????

Ya. He wanna go back to London if I am not wrong.

ShaqONeal
30-12-2005, 09:28 AM
Real Madrid look set to prise unsettled Spanish forward Albert Luque from Newcastle in January with a cash-plus Thomas Gravesen offer.

Luque arrived at St James' Park from Deportivo La Coruna for a bumper £9.5million fee in the summer - but has found life away from Spain hard and been plagued by a string of injuries.

The 27-year-old has made it known he is missing the Spanish league and finds the Premiership too physical for his liking, and despite Fat Fred insisting the player is 'going nowhere', our insider from St James' Park begs to differ.

Luque can play in two positions, on the left wing or striker. But he is behind Alan Shearer and Michael Owen in the attacking pecking order, and youngster Charles N'Zogbia and (amazingly) Shola Ameobi have kept him on the bench in recent matches.

Real are well aware the player is strugging in the English game, and are set to make an offer of around £7million-plus Gravesen when the transfer window reopens. They are looking for home-grown talent, not foreigners, as they try and pull back a daunting 11 points from champions Barcelona.

Souness may be tempted by the cash - and rumours that Amdy Faye and Lee Bowyer are set to leave - who's to say he won't be tempted by Gravesen as well.

sigh.. think he a rising hitter... but come to us, like nobody like tat.. very quite..

may b wat i worry comes true when he joined, although i told myself it wont happen... tat he wont score like the video clips post here... :(

Shadow04
30-12-2005, 11:24 AM

think its bs... mardrid is forever linked to players~

Shadow04
30-12-2005, 11:28 AM
Ya. He wanna go back to London if I am not wrong.
Charlton perharps..?

duno bout the rest of u, but i dun wan him to go.. hard to find players with his passion of the game... he really gets into tackles.... though his discipline leaves alot to be desired...

Edit: alright.. nVm.. i forgot bout Parker.. :look:

Shadow04
30-12-2005, 11:29 AM
opps... guess its me... =:p

martinweng
30-12-2005, 01:20 PM
Charlton perharps..?

duno bout the rest of u, but i dun wan him to go.. hard to find players with his passion of the game... he really gets into tackles.... though his discipline leaves alot to be desired...

Edit: alright.. nVm.. i forgot bout Parker.. :look:

parker + gravesen???

omg...wad centre midfield wud dat be.

not to mention real madrid becoming our fren liao.

their dropouts we kio...