View Full Version : Newcastle United - Toontalk
donald83
06-09-2006, 11:00 AM
that's what i was referring to in my previous post as well. why are you so sure newcastle can get a world-class manager? imo, liverpool is really damn kio sai to have benitez, who won so much and still came to a demoralised club. chelsea even more kio sai to have mourinho, of course thanks to abramovich's billions. wenger at arsenal, that was a rare find, nobody knew he'd turned out that fantastic. ferguson is priceless at old trafford, then again you'd have to wait for a while for his success...
given all that, what makes you think newcastle can employ that treasured world-class manager so easily? yup you can pay for it of course, but so could other clubs. like i mentioned, newcastle could probably get a better manager than roeder, but not very much better.
Well even Tevez and Mascherano went to West Ham. Anything is possible. :D
nestasan
06-09-2006, 11:04 AM
i hope you did follow the news when SOuness was sacked... there were some good manager available saying they r interested to come to Toon...
everytime someone gets sacked, the media will speculate who's to be employed next, names bandied about. but when the real appointment comes, it is always a realistic one for the team. ie. houllier sacked, mourinho hiddink rumoured, benitez hired (ok that turned out pretty well didnt it). eriksson left, hiddink scolari wenger rumoured, mcclaren hired. all managers which roughly match the team's profile at that point of time.
so souness gets sacked, did you really believe rumoured hiddink or scolari will come and take over? (well maybe you did. ok fine) and roeder did well for his half term or so, at that point of time if he was released, there will be another newcastle fan in your mould wondering out aloud why wasnt he given a chance.
i'll say newcastle fans shouldnt be delighted at the state of their club now, but they shouldnt be too despondent either. there is an improvement now already as compared to the stormy souness years, and none of us are in a position to judge that roeder will take newcastle nowhere come end of season.
nestasan
06-09-2006, 11:08 AM
haha ok i got nothing to say to that. :D still feel it's some sort of elaborate scam for them to go to chelsea, given msi's links with their owner. but nobody can be sure for now.
MrWeiWei
06-09-2006, 11:15 AM
i think you are sadly mistaken if you think we were just thinking of that 1 season...
a couple of seasons ago, before the Roman and Chelski empire, the big 4 in EPL are namely, Man Utd, Arsenal, Liverpool and Newcastle...
We have regularly been up there challenging, even if not for the league champions, for at least a place in the CL...
ok ba since you say so, i wish NUFC all the best but not at the expense of Man Utd lol.
MrWeiWei
06-09-2006, 11:15 AM
well, the most famous transfer coup from nufc i feel is alan shearer . really legend !
spykid
06-09-2006, 12:22 PM
there were world top class manager waving to Toon, saying come get me... if we really wanna get a good manager, I am very CONFIDENT to get a as good as those managers in Pool, Chelsea, ManU or Arsenal if we want to... we have the finance capability...
Name me the world top class manager(s) you claimed that are interested in going to you lot. As far as i remember, i don't remember any articles of managers linking or actually interested in your job. Martin O'neil is the only one i can remember, as he's obviously not available at that time.
You are very CONFIDENT? Do you work for Shepherd so you are saying that? :s13:
snake_lover
06-09-2006, 02:22 PM
i never thought much of roeder abilities, but as a person he never gave up trying from the way he fought back from cancer back to managerment, can see he has improved, plus he's a former player, so cut him some slack lah. besides, there are litttle better alternatives, could only think of eriksson and curbishley
ShaqONeal
06-09-2006, 03:07 PM
Well even Tevez and Mascherano went to West Ham. Anything is possible. :DAdidas says, NOTHING IS IMPOSSIBLE
martinweng
06-09-2006, 05:27 PM
everytime someone gets sacked, the media will speculate who's to be employed next, names bandied about. but when the real appointment comes, it is always a realistic one for the team. ie. houllier sacked, mourinho hiddink rumoured, benitez hired (ok that turned out pretty well didnt it). eriksson left, hiddink scolari wenger rumoured, mcclaren hired. all managers which roughly match the team's profile at that point of time.
so souness gets sacked, did you really believe rumoured hiddink or scolari will come and take over? (well maybe you did. ok fine) and roeder did well for his half term or so, at that point of time if he was released, there will be another newcastle fan in your mould wondering out aloud why wasnt he given a chance.
i'll say newcastle fans shouldnt be delighted at the state of their club now, but they shouldnt be too despondent either. there is an improvement now already as compared to the stormy souness years, and none of us are in a position to judge that roeder will take newcastle nowhere come end of season.
that time gullit tio sack, we oso never dreamt of SBR coming to help us.
nestasan
06-09-2006, 06:25 PM
that time gullit tio sack, we oso never dreamt of SBR coming to help us.
precisely. having hiddink is like a dream which might come true, but in the meantime should be satisfied with roeder lah. so many people here like baying for his blood...
iamnotkeith
06-09-2006, 11:49 PM
roeder not too bad barh
cutter
07-09-2006, 10:24 AM
aiya... looks like for some 'fans' here, another case of the local fans generally being more supportive while some glory-hunting foreign 'fans' are unhappy with not having a superstar manager on TV to boast about from 10000km away....
Tokieda
08-09-2006, 04:41 PM
after tomorrow's game against fulham, it should be clearer what the future of Newcastle is going to be, it's only 1 game and it's only Fulham, but it will tell us someting
mclarenfan
08-09-2006, 07:22 PM
I want to watch the Newcastle match tomorrow..but dont know whether it will be shown on TV live...there is this Arsenal match and Chelsea match too
newcastlefan
08-09-2006, 07:40 PM
I want to watch the Newcastle match tomorrow..but dont know whether it will be shown on TV live...there is this Arsenal match and Chelsea match too
think there a place where newcastle fanz gather and show newcastle match if i not wrong
No live telecast. Only delay telecast on espn.
martinweng
09-09-2006, 11:00 AM
No live telecast. Only delay telecast on espn.
4.30 to 6.30.
WTF is dat?
nvm..i'll watch it if Newcastle win.
AhnNakata7
09-09-2006, 01:04 PM
think there a place where newcastle fanz gather and show newcastle match if i not wrong
penny black got
i thk is at 2nd floor
first floor is liverpool east anfield supporters
zhaohan
09-09-2006, 02:30 PM
will rossi get to start?
TrueBeliever_jh
09-09-2006, 03:36 PM
will rossi get to start?
maybe only.. but if i am the manager.. i will start Martins and Luque.. time to prove their worth liaoz.. Luque... hope Luque wakes up his ideas after making up his mind to stay in Newcastle. he need to get some goals in man.. we got nice midfielders to provide them chance liaoz.. now is up to them liaoz..
Rossi will probably sub bah..
zhaohan
09-09-2006, 04:05 PM
but is martins fit already?
studmufn
09-09-2006, 04:18 PM
martins is doubtful right?
sigh.. newcastle doesn't have 1 proven striker. closest would be ameobi and even he is injured. really pathetic.
maybe only.. but if i am the manager.. i will start Martins and Luque.. time to prove their worth liaoz.. Luque... hope Luque wakes up his ideas after making up his mind to stay in Newcastle. he need to get some goals in man.. we got nice midfielders to provide them chance liaoz.. now is up to them liaoz..
Rossi will probably sub bah..
Shadow04
09-09-2006, 05:23 PM
yah.. Martins is doubtful.. think Ameobi back from injury liao? but dun think will rush him back..
prolly Luque or Rossi playing upfront.. guessing it will be a 4-5-1 formation..
Think rossi and martins will start
kaseymunson
09-09-2006, 06:44 PM
Ameobi and Martins for me.
newcastlefan
09-09-2006, 06:45 PM
Ameobi and Martins for me.
i think most likely GR will put tis 2 guyz
iamnotkeith
09-09-2006, 11:48 PM
butt is injured!!!
iamnotkeith
09-09-2006, 11:50 PM
sorry butt came for parker, who is injured
iamnotkeith
09-09-2006, 11:51 PM
1-1!!! :(
ShaqONeal
09-09-2006, 11:56 PM
dunno how come suddenly 82 mins, kena scored a goal.. sianz liao...
2-1 liaos... from teamtalk live score... sianz 1/2
ShaqONeal
10-09-2006, 12:02 AM
darn... 3 points gone in 8 mins.. darn..
iamnotkeith
10-09-2006, 12:02 AM
omg. this sucks
TrueBeliever_jh
10-09-2006, 12:07 AM
okay.. thats it.. fire the manager...
donald83
10-09-2006, 12:09 AM
wtf? i went to bathe and we are 1-0. After i finished bathing then check livescore and we lost 2-1. wtf is the team doing?
TrueBeliever_jh
10-09-2006, 12:14 AM
sadly.. we going into a relagation battle early into the season again.. it happened and we got SBR sacked.. now its back again.. haha.. matches that we should win.. its really bad when the matches that we should win but instead losing it.. (at least a draw is fine)
kaseymunson
10-09-2006, 12:28 AM
Fat Bram to the destruction again. Loose marking by that fat bustard led to the 2 goals conceded. Wonder what the espn commentator said? Bring back boumsong.
kaseymunson
10-09-2006, 12:29 AM
Glen Roeder OUT anyone?
Shadow04
10-09-2006, 12:37 AM
wow.. i'm overwhelmed.. when Parker scored i thought game is ours to take liaoz.. i was even more convinced when i left my room at round 78min, score remains 1-0.. but was seriously shocked when i return now to see score 1-2, 2 goals conceded within 10 minutes, at home no less!
dunno what to expect now.. its early in the season, true.. we are slow starters by tradition, true.. but you would have expect us to 'escape' with a point at home..
donald83
10-09-2006, 12:38 AM
I said it before and i'm gonna say it again, it's a MISTAKE in appointing Roeder. So what if he steered us to safety last season? It's only a shortlived one and he's certainly not someone we want at the helm for the long term.
Shadow04
10-09-2006, 12:39 AM
Fat Bram to the destruction again. Loose marking by that fat bustard led to the 2 goals conceded. Wonder what the espn commentator said? Bring back boumsong.
you know, of the two evils, i would very much rather take Boumsong thank you very much.. while Framble was crap all the way since his debut here, Boumsong manages to shine at various stages(however few it may be) of our campaign during his time here..
yeah better show something than nothing at all...
sianz... maybe fulham on fire after the last trashing...
ThuGx__
10-09-2006, 01:09 AM
I said it before and i'm gonna say it again, it's a MISTAKE in appointing Roeder. So what if he steered us to safety last season? It's only a shortlived one and he's certainly not someone we want at the helm for the long term.
agree.FS appointment of GR is based on last season's performance.
not tt i m a luque fan,
but he chose not to play him agn..
does he haf something aginst him?
Disappointing defense again. Peter Rubbish Ramage.
dbchoong
10-09-2006, 01:17 AM
*Sigh* 3 points lost. Maybe NUFC give chance because they feel bad about Bullard's injury... :s22:
dreamer75
10-09-2006, 01:21 AM
wtf?!!! we lost again!! :s27:
dreamer75
10-09-2006, 01:27 AM
Newcastle manager Glenn Roeder:
"We've conceded two bad goals.
"Individual mistakes have cost us - we were in the position to take three points, but we've taken nothing.
"The players concerned have held up their hands, but we now have to pick up ourselves and look forward to Thursday."
donald83
10-09-2006, 01:39 AM
Newcastle manager Glenn Roeder:
"We've conceded two bad goals.
"Individual mistakes have cost us - we were in the position to take three points, but we've taken nothing.
"The players concerned have held up their hands, but we now have to pick up ourselves and look forward to Thursday."
everytime say the same thing not sian meh. always the same problem.
Shadow04
10-09-2006, 02:01 AM
actually i took a look at our lineup.. we started with Duff and N'Zogbia, two left wingers, either one of them took the right wing i presume, wont be surprised if the one that took right under-perform(Solano is on bench btw).. Ramage took left side of defence if i'm not wrong, which begs the question, is Babayaro out injured? how bout Bernard? the man brought in, apparently, as cover for Babayaro.. from soccernet report, Ameobi is not 100% but started the match nonetheless.. Martins prolly still need some more time to settle into English football..
Luque is missing again, cant say i'm surprised, considering its not the first time Roeder pulled this one off, but his replacement on bench, now this is interesting, Sibierski! someone tell me how this guy is better then Luque again, i would prolly be more understanding if its Milner on bench.. afterall he(Milner) did prove his worth at Villa last season, Sibierski on the other hand..........
studmufn
10-09-2006, 02:26 AM
wha lau i just saw the replay.. can we shoot ramage and bramble? they're really one of the worst defenders i've ever seen..
TrueBeliever_jh
10-09-2006, 09:05 AM
wha lau i just saw the replay.. can we shoot ramage and bramble? they're really one of the worst defenders i've ever seen..
no we cant :sad:
think GR is trying to rest players for UEFA cup this thursday.. we shall see if it is worth it then.. we shall see..
martinweng
10-09-2006, 09:37 AM
SACK ROEDER LA!
He's a clueless cunt who cant do anything. We not even deserving to score the 1st goal. Then those 2 goals let in like wtf liddat.
2 goals down he react like a small boy just broken his toys..on the verge of crying liddat.
KAM PUAH USELESS
kaseymunson
10-09-2006, 09:57 AM
Roeder is a hardworking nice man who has the ability to spot young talents and mold them into shining stars. The problem is that he has no talent when it comes to the big stage.
zzzzzzz
10-09-2006, 11:14 AM
Abit OT, but our old boy Boumsong does it again at Juventus~!
:s22:
A misunderstanding between Jean-Alain Boumsong and Robert Kovac allowed Adrian Ricchiuti to beat Juve's Italy World Cup-winning goalkeeper Gianluigi Buffon.
full article here:
http://www.football365.com/story/0,17033,8652_1485096,00.html
ShaqONeal
10-09-2006, 11:21 AM
r we too comfortable with 1-0 lead?? we shot so many... yet one goal nia...
defence should take up the blame, but whole team oso... it's like we play good 45 mins or 75 mins game but not 90mins..
sad.. i think i might stop following Newcastle games for some time may b.. sad..
I would think the best thing tat come out of last nite's game is to know Parker as a player and as a person. After reading on reports on his reaction on the Bullard's injury and watching the game, we can know that he is a really honest chap who would just run the whole game for us. Greatest plus and great captain to have.
ShaqONeal
10-09-2006, 11:32 AM
Disappointing defense again. Peter Rubbish Ramage.once again, it proves that our defence needs overhaul... it happens since souness time, while he made mistake by signing boumsong... and GR made BIGGER mistake by think Bramble and Ramage can make it... we cursed about Bramble since Sir Bobby Robson time.. and until now..
donald83
10-09-2006, 11:38 AM
Wah piang even a decent FM player or fantasy manager can do better than Roeder. Ramage is a right back and he isn't good to start with. Putting him at left back is suicidal. Why can't we play Taylor and Moore together with Bernard on the left and Carr on the right?
Duff on the left eing, Emre, Park and the Solano on the right.
Either Martins and Ameobi or Rossi can start wat.
Of all teams, we lost to Fulham. WTF. Just sack Roeder man.
For one, I know that Bernard is still not fit yet.
Tokieda
10-09-2006, 12:24 PM
bernard is not match fit, his last competitive game was in march 2006
mclarenfan
10-09-2006, 01:22 PM
i think its too early to criticize the manager.....look at Everton last season..David moyes was under fire too...
Maybe the defence needs sorting out...
And the strikers dont really scare other clubs...(but now got Rossi - except him)
In midfield i got lot of respect for Duff
What was NUFC doing in the transfer window anyway? When there were players leaving Italy....not enough funds? Why cant NUFC get Hasselbaink?
Its just sad to see this club not performing as well as it should...its one of the stylish clubs around
Shadow04
10-09-2006, 02:07 PM
i think its too early to criticize the manager.....look at Everton last season..David moyes was under fire too...
And the strikers dont really scare other clubs...(but now got Rossi - except him)
What was NUFC doing in the transfer window anyway? When there were players leaving Italy....not enough funds? Why cant NUFC get Hasselbaink?
Its just sad to see this club not performing as well as it should...its one of the stylish clubs around
while i agree its still early, but i'm curious of your choice of manager to draw comparison.. Moyes last season was also under fire, and look where they finish? 11th, and i'm very sure it is not the position Toon fans want to see..
not maybe defence need sorting out, its confirmed defence needs sorting out.. even the blind knows that, apart from Roeder apparently..
and your striker statement seriously amuse me.. Rossi scare other club? i think you grossly over-rate him(are you by any chance a manu fan, which would prolly explain this).. Martins will do a much better job scaring other clubs, i assure u.. :s22:
wat were we doing indeed.. ask the manager.. not impressed at all by our transfer this season whatsoever..
martinweng
10-09-2006, 03:27 PM
Roeder is a hardworking nice man who has the ability to spot young talents and mold them into shining stars. The problem is that he has no talent when it comes to the big stage.
no way do i wan Newcastle to sink like Arsenal.
he's the next big meathead in SJP and i dowan see him hang around too long.
this kind of bacteria the faster we get rid of him, the better it is.
Tokieda
10-09-2006, 03:57 PM
give him some more matches, we can't expect him to perform miracles just like that...it's not just playing football manager 2006
arsenal and tottenham aren't faring much better even though they have a better squad than us and we are still higher than them right now in the league table
donald83
10-09-2006, 05:41 PM
Moyes is different cos he did well at Preston before.. But Roeder? Don't even have the proper qualifications..
donald83
10-09-2006, 05:45 PM
It's not that we purposely wanna criticise people. Look at us, we are a big club and used to be one of the big 4 challenging for the title. Our below par performances over the recent years have certainly frustrated many newcastle fans. We definitely deserve to be challenging for top honours and not battling to be mid table or even battling to qualify for UEFA Cup.
We just want our glory days back..
(Play some sad background music to feel the effects of us die hard fans..)
kaseymunson
10-09-2006, 07:00 PM
Well...sacking Sir Bobby when we got 5th in the league could be a nice thing to start with...(pardon my wicked sarcasm here)
martinweng
10-09-2006, 08:55 PM
give him some more matches, we can't expect him to perform miracles just like that...it's not just playing football manager 2006
arsenal and tottenham aren't faring much better even though they have a better squad than us and we are still higher than them right now in the league table
miracles?
omg we need a miracle to beat fulham at home?!
spykid
10-09-2006, 10:49 PM
Well...sacking Sir Bobby when we got 5th in the league could be a nice thing to start with...(pardon my wicked sarcasm here)
It was between Sir Bobby and Alan Shearer wasn't it? When he dropped Shearer for the derby. Your fans apparently wanted him out from there.
Hindsight is just a wonderful thing. I don't see anyone giving Roeder the appreciation for what he did last season.
Shadow04
11-09-2006, 03:06 AM
It was between Sir Bobby and Alan Shearer wasn't it? When he dropped Shearer for the derby. Your fans apparently wanted him out from there.
Hindsight is just a wonderful thing. I don't see anyone giving Roeder the appreciation for what he did last season.
bullocks la.. unlike Gullit's case, the fans didnt biatch bout SBR when he dropped Shearer.. none(or rather, few) wanted him out.. Shepherd himself made the decision.. and btw it isnt of the SBR and Shearer thingy that led to his sacking, its pure conincidence(read: same would prolly have happen if Shearer wasnt dropped).. apparently SBR was getting increasingly unpopular in the dressing room following the falling out with several 'stars' and the lack of discipline in the dressing room(Dyer's public spat with him, Robert had bad times with SBR, etc), Shepherd presumably sided with his 'superstars' rather then stand by his manager.. Shepherd justified his action by telling the press that finishing 5th wasnt good enough for a club of this stature, he then contridicted his statement when he brought in Souness and claim was that Souness is here to guide the club back to the top 5.. read SBR's autobiography and you would have also realised that there is a growing riff between him and the chairman during the last few months of his stay at St James..
it should be noted how fans still hold him in high esteem, something which would not be if we 'wanted him out' and see how many fans were disgusted by the way the club treated SBR after what he had done here.. the fans contributed nothing to SBR's ax..
the fans already sounded our appreciation for what he(Roeder) did.. just because you dont fequent Newcastle forums worldwide and that we dont create new threads here appaulding his works last season doesnt mean we didnt..
kaseymunson
11-09-2006, 08:02 AM
Anyway Sir Bobby wouldn't have last in nufc for long given his age and health problems. Sooner or later we'll have to replace him.
donald83
12-09-2006, 08:49 AM
Yah we appreciated what he did last season by steering us to Intertoto. But it doesn't mean we want him as our manager. Anyway Fat Fred promised us that they are taking their time to search for a manager and it raises everyone's hopes of landing a world class one. But wtf man, in the end we got Roeder as a full time manager.
When i see how well Villa and Portsmouth are performing right now, I can't help but feeling full of envy. I watched 2 Villa games this season and they definitely improved alot. They have very nice and fluent passing and I think it's all because of Martin O'Neil. So I think that appointing a right manager is very very important. But unfortunately Roeder doesn't lie in this category. We cannot measure his success just based on last season. We need someone with a proven track record
dbchoong
12-09-2006, 11:20 AM
Envy Pompey and Villa? :D
It is still very early in the season. Look, Spurs and Arsenal are below us. We're actually only just 1 point behind Liverpool.
Give GR a bit of time. Once Martins and Ameobi start to click, the goals will come. The midfield should be ok. Only bad thing is the defense. :s8: How I wish Sol Campbell was in black & white...
:)
ShaqONeal
12-09-2006, 11:29 AM
they better get the defence fixed earlier... else we will really in relegation fight..
Ya. I am also not too worried about the season yet. We are usually quite slow off the block in the league. Would probably take a few more games before our mf and att click. But as long as we are still progressing in Europe and the cups, I feel we are fine. The league is never our priority, at least this season.
ShaqONeal
12-09-2006, 12:01 PM
Ya. I am also not too worried about the season yet. We are usually quite slow off the block in the league. Would probably take a few more games before our mf and att click. But as long as we are still progressing in Europe and the cups, I feel we are fine. The league is never our priority, at least this season.i think we must oso do too bad in League, bcos it will affect our "form" in Euro too..
wonder if this season, we can touch any silverware... any one silverware... plssss...
Kilrach
12-09-2006, 12:20 PM
Well like they say, "You're only as good as your last game".
Heard that Dyer is returning from injury pretty soon.. That's something to cheer about.
Btw, SCV got show our UEFA match live?
Shadow04
12-09-2006, 12:22 PM
Yah we appreciated what he did last season by steering us to Intertoto. But it doesn't mean we want him as our manager. Anyway Fat Fred promised us that they are taking their time to search for a manager and it raises everyone's hopes of landing a world class one. But wtf man, in the end we got Roeder as a full time manager.
When i see how well Villa and Portsmouth are performing right now, I can't help but feeling full of envy. I watched 2 Villa games this season and they definitely improved alot. They have very nice and fluent passing and I think it's all because of Martin O'Neil. So I think that appointing a right manager is very very important. But unfortunately Roeder doesn't lie in this category. We cannot measure his success just based on last season. We need someone with a proven track record
the best part is when Shepherd say it will be someone the fans wanted, fans place full colour brochure in St Jame's Park that laid out Ottmar Hitzfeld's track record as a manager in a bid to tell him who fans want as manager, Shepherd straight denouce it betting scam.. bloody insult to the fans.. :s27:
after Roeder was appointed, he even dared to issue a statement along the lines that Roeder was the man fans wanted as a manager and he listened to the fans' choice, even though Roeder wasnt anywhere near the list of managers fans wanted in various nufc forums..
but whats done is done.. no point harping over it.. still early in the season.. as someone mentioned earlier, there are teams with higher expectation then us performing worse then us atm.. just hope he will be able to guide us to Europe this season.. league can forget it la, think even Champions League also can forget it.. i will settle for a UEFA spot thank you very much or a league cup or a FA cup or whatever cup you can deliver.. desprate for sliverware :o
Kilrach
12-09-2006, 01:00 PM
I seriously pity Duff, think he's gotta get used to losing from now on :s13:
Tokieda
12-09-2006, 01:08 PM
GIVEN SLAMS UNACCEPTABLE DEFENDING
http://www.teamtalk.com//Images/72809.jpg
Shay Given admitted the errors which cost Newcastle three points against Fulham would have embarrassed a Sunday League side.
The 30-year-old Irishman was left exposed as defensive mistakes handed Brian McBride a chance he took to cancel out Scott Parker's opener on Saturday.
And then Fulham frontman McBride set up Carlos Bocanegra's winner as Newcastle's defence faltered.
The Magpies had been set for a relatively comfortable win, despite failing to build on skipper Parker's 54th-minute opener.
Instead, they were left to reflect on a woeful surrender which has thrown their defensive frailties into the spotlight once again.
Given said: "If you looked at the Sunday League football around Newcastle, you would not even see the kind of goals we gave away against Fulham.
"I do not want to dig things out or blame any individuals, but we have given one of the best players in the Premiership in terms of heading the ball total freedom of the six-yard box.
"It is amazing - but we have to talk about it privately and get it sorted out within the camp.
"It just is not acceptable and as a team, we need to improve.
"They (Fulham) did not even carve us open, we handed them the goals on a plate.
"That is the most disappointing thing for us."
Although makeshift full-back Peter Ramage's slip did not help things, Titus Bramble's failure to pick up McBride for both goals proved fatal.
But with six games coming up inside the next 21 days - the first of them their UEFA Cup trip to Levadia Tallinn on Thursday - Newcastle have to sort out their problems as quickly as possible.
Given told the club's official website, www.nufc.co.uk: "At the end of the day, we win as a team and lose as a team. It is just frustrating that we have lost in the way we did.
"We have got time to work on these errors, but we also have some difficult games coming up as well.
"Now we need men around the dressing-room because we have to go on the pitch and stand up and be counted.
"We have got West Ham away and then away to Liverpool, and they are tough games.
"But we have got Tallinn away on Thursday, so we need to bounce back as quickly as possible."
Manager Glenn Roeder was back at former club West Ham yesterday to run the rule over his side's next Barclays Premiership opponents, and he returned north hoping for good news.
Parker was forced to leave the pitch with a knee problem after 81 minutes of Saturday's game, and was a distraught onlooker as Newcastle conceded the two late goals.
Roeder will be desperate to have Parker fit for Thursday evening's game.
He said: "Scott will be okay in a few days and he has got a chance of playing on Thursday night in Tallinn.
"If not, he will be okay for West Ham next Sunday because he will be desperate to play in that one.
"Scott had an awful bang on his leg and he had to come off - but it would be a weak excuse from me if I was to say that was the reason we lost.
"One individual lost his concentration and one player lost his balance."
Kilrach
12-09-2006, 03:06 PM
http://youtube.com/watch?v=BdNXMjQoQdo
As highlighted by the pundits, Fat Bram was oblivious to McBride's presence each time prior to the individual goals conceded.
iamnotkeith
12-09-2006, 05:51 PM
sigh. woodgate suddenly comes to mind
Kilrach
12-09-2006, 06:06 PM
Oh and the save by Given against Boa Morte's shot was super :s22:
Shadow04
12-09-2006, 07:07 PM
I seriously pity Duff, think he's gotta get used to losing from now on :s13:
i pity Given more.. he definately deserve better, but chose to stick with us.. hope we can get him something to repay him, dun wish him to be another 'Shearer', give so much to this club only to end up empty handed..
kaseymunson
12-09-2006, 08:46 PM
Give the academy boys a chance. Things cannot get more worse with Fat Bram around.
United_Treble
13-09-2006, 12:56 AM
Good news, Newcastle will not lose next match against West Ham, likely to get full 3 points
newcastlefan
13-09-2006, 01:13 AM
Good news, Newcastle will not lose next match against West Ham, likely to get full 3 points
wa make u think so, newcastle away leh
i newcastle fan also dun dare to say they sure will win
United_Treble
13-09-2006, 09:56 AM
wa make u think so, newcastle away leh
i newcastle fan also dun dare to say they sure will winwe shall see, hope im right, dun u people want to get a win?
ceLsius
13-09-2006, 10:02 AM
Hohoho.... if u believe what this guy says, pigs can fly. Didn't Sum1 said he expect Liverpool to bounce back against PSV? ;)
no need 3 points... i think 1 point happy liaos... unless the defense improves from the last game...
Tokieda
13-09-2006, 07:24 PM
the uefa cup tie is live at 10.50pm thus night! we should win! it's those weird weird team, we always win one!
kaseymunson
13-09-2006, 07:35 PM
the uefa cup tie is live at 10.50pm thus night! we should win! it's those weird weird team, we always win one!simi channel?
donald83
13-09-2006, 08:57 PM
where is Taylor? If not just field some youngster lah. Bloody Bramble.
Framble u mean... =:p
Gonna stay up and watch the match... NUFC pls dun make me regrett not farming in WOW instead...
Kilrach
13-09-2006, 10:59 PM
SCV got show?
dreamer75
14-09-2006, 01:27 PM
Newcastle United v Levadia Tallinn
1st leg: Kadriorg Staadion, 14 September, 1555 BST
2nd leg: St James' Park, 28 September, 1930 BST
Overall odds: Newcastle - 16/1; Levadia Tallinn - 1500/1
Check out those odds. Roll on the second round. This is a gimme of a tie for Newcastle, isn't it?
They have been involved in Europe in one form or another every season since 2001. This should set them up for a good run and the chance to eclipse their best showing in that time - a Uefa Cup semi-final against Marseille in 2004.
However, the Magpies have not won in three games, a run of matches that included a 0-0 second-leg draw in the Uefa Cup qualifying round against FK Ventspils of Latvia.
Not that impressive on paper, but it was a case of job done after they had won the first leg having come through the Intertoto by beating Norwegian side Lillestrom. More of the same is the order of the day here.
Their opponents
Who are they?: They were formed in only 1999, but in that short time have become a dominant force in Estonia.
European record: Prior to this their best performance was the qualifying rounds, but in getting this far they have become trailblazers for their country as the first Estonian club to reach the first-round proper.
How did they get here?: Levadia came second in their domestic league, then beat Finnish side FC Haka and caused a huge shock in seeing off Dutch side FC Twente.
Ones to watch: Konstantin Nahk was the hero of the day in sealing the victory over Twente, but 17-year-old Russian Nikita Andreev scored a fantastic goal in the first leg and at the other end of the age scale in the striker's union, Indrek Zelinski has more than 100 caps for Estonia.
Recent form: Levadia are currently runaway leaders in Estonia's Meistriliiga, a massive 12 points clear of second place having won 23 of their 26 games. After winning 15 straight games they lost their last outing on the road at Maag 4-2, but they did rest eight regular first-teamers.
Did you know?: They are Tallin's 'Russian' team.
They say: "It cannot get any harder, as Twente dominated us completely. Let's be honest, they were the stronger side in both legs, but in football it is not always the strongest side that wins. You also need defensive resilience and good fortune to go through."
Tarmo Ruutli, Levadia coach
Tokieda
14-09-2006, 01:42 PM
Levadia Tallinn vs Newcastle United First Leg
Tonight Channel 22, SuperSports, 10.50pm
cool hope they do well tonite
Tokieda
14-09-2006, 02:40 PM
a bit off topic, but heard that sven eriksson is looking for a "top" job, hope that he won't be at SJP
hope some other clubs nick him instead before GR gets the cut
spykid
14-09-2006, 03:21 PM
a bit off topic, but heard that sven eriksson is looking for a "top" job, hope that he won't be at SJP
:s13: :s13:
Is he the top class manager with the big name that some of you have been talking and looking for? Roeder and Eriksson. Now who do you prefer between these two? I wouldn't be surprise if Shepherd and the newcastle job is linked with him. 1 is a humble manager who does his job his way, while the other is a mercenary cunt with a big name.
United_Treble
14-09-2006, 04:37 PM
Levadia Tallinn vs Newcastle United First Leg
Tonight Channel 22, SuperSports, 10.50pmsense a bad news again, u guys can look forward to sat epl
MrWeiWei
14-09-2006, 04:39 PM
i dont think top job refers to the postion in SJP ba.......
Kilrach
14-09-2006, 05:11 PM
Eriksson is seriously overrated... Look the the difference of the England team now as compared to one in the era under him
TrueBeliever_jh
14-09-2006, 08:49 PM
i also say a draw or maybe a lost.. lol..
and we will be in a relagation battle through the season.. hows that as a script for this season?
dreamer75
14-09-2006, 10:20 PM
I know Europe is important but frankly I don't care about it if we are struggling in the league, and as it looks like we will be in for a long hard winter, I am really not that interested in this game.
If we play like we did against Fulham we will lose anyway.
My prediction…………Probably a poor, emotionless, gutless performance ending in A DRAW!!
Kilrach
14-09-2006, 11:01 PM
Sibierki in starting XI...
Kilrach
14-09-2006, 11:04 PM
Sibierski miss 1v1...
o0SpaceY0o
14-09-2006, 11:05 PM
once a newcastle manager dislike a player..it is hard to get into the 1st 11...James Milner comes to my mind...even shambe playing so good was an auto choice..luque...dun even nid to say :s16:
Kilrach
14-09-2006, 11:08 PM
1-0 to Newcastle... Sibierski scores... surprisingly
donald83
14-09-2006, 11:20 PM
Haha but Martins looking good. very hard working. Now bramble lying on the ground injured. lol
donald83
14-09-2006, 11:25 PM
******* bramble at fault again!!! opposition almost scored!!! blooy sleeping sia he.. never track the guy properly.. damn funny, they showed replay then can see Stephen Carr showing hand gesture to bramble, like asking him wtf he's doing. lol
Kilrach
14-09-2006, 11:45 PM
Good thing he got subbed.. I seriously don't know what GR is doing playing Duff at left back. He would be much more effective than N'Zogbia. Milner looks impressive tho.. His string of passes almost broke the opposition's defence a couple of times.
ViLLaRox
14-09-2006, 11:48 PM
bramble is realli rubbish... and this is not the time. its a wonder newcastle still playing him
Kilrach
14-09-2006, 11:50 PM
If Steven Taylor returns, I think out goes Framble liao
studmufn
14-09-2006, 11:50 PM
duff as LB, brilliant strategy..
and sibierski over luque. sigh...
ThuGx__
15-09-2006, 12:32 AM
now tt sibierski scored gol,
GR would likely put him in the lineup over luque
poor luque,benched
studmufn
15-09-2006, 12:43 AM
i think if jose mourinho sees duff playing LB behind n'zogbia he will laugh his head off..
Kilrach
15-09-2006, 12:49 AM
A very disappointing performance despite the result..
dbchoong
15-09-2006, 12:57 AM
Don't think Duff will play LB - this game exception as no one else on the bench to fill that role.
Still can't figure out why Newcastle did not take in Sol Campbell when they had the chance.
Ah, at least it's a good result.
Well a win is a win so lets hope the return leg goes well. :)
kaseymunson
15-09-2006, 08:11 AM
I'm happy with how sibierski gel into the team so soon. He's the only player in the team who can do a proper heading flick-on. How surprised I was to notice that until now, the team has no player who can do that! We are short of heights and therefore our aerial chances are very limited. Anyway fat bram was once again a disaster. Against inferior opponents he might have gotten away from his mistakes. Moore was livid at the fatty's lapse of concentration as he showed his teeth.
Yup, am now glad that we actually got him on transfer deadline already. A precious away goal for us.
Shadow04
15-09-2006, 10:25 AM
Don't think Duff will play LB - this game exception as no one else on the bench to fill that role.
Still can't figure out why Newcastle did not take in Sol Campbell when they had the chance.
Ah, at least it's a good result.
er? i thought i saw Bernard on bench?
Shadow04
15-09-2006, 10:29 AM
Framble is reallly crap lehs.. bloody hell how he keep his starting XI place in Newcastle, under 3 different managers no less, has got the be the mystery of the century.. what do these managers see in him that the thousands of Toon fans do not?
MrWeiWei
15-09-2006, 10:32 AM
Framble is reallly crap lehs.. bloody hell how he keep his starting XI place in Newcastle, under 3 different managers no less, has got the be the mystery of the century.. what do these managers see in him that the thousands of Toon fans do not?
cos no 1 to replace him?
Shadow04
15-09-2006, 11:01 AM
cos no 1 to replace him?
ya.. and why is it so? cos no one is doing anything to bring in defenders to replace him.. this transfer window is the most frustrating, Roeder had the chance to bring in 1 out of 3 decent defenders(Campbell who went to Portsmouth, Woodgate and Huth who moved to Boro) to get rid of this rubbish, but he chose not to.. bloody hell! :s27:
mclarenfan
15-09-2006, 11:09 AM
Everyone will know whether Roeder stays or leaves by the end of this season...The EPL standings will tell
Dont be like Real madrid..change managers like clothes
martinweng
15-09-2006, 11:17 AM
Everyone will know whether Roeder stays or leaves by the end of this season...The EPL standings will tell
Dont be like Real madrid..change managers like clothes
Roeder stays only 1 reason.
thats when we relegates and we cant afford a paid manager.
He'll leave once this season is over.
Bcoz while he cant do much worst than Souness, he certainly cant do better than any other manager in England.
dbchoong
15-09-2006, 11:50 AM
er? i thought i saw Bernard on bench?
Maybe he's not fully fit yet. Not sure why GR didn't send him in and used Duff as LB.
mclarenfan
15-09-2006, 02:50 PM
anyone know when rossi will play... i waiting to see him play
I like to watch nufc matches when either Rossi or owen play and duff playing along is a big bonus
donald83
15-09-2006, 09:45 PM
actually should play Carr, Ramage, Moore and Bernard. Ramage play center half lor..
o0SpaceY0o
15-09-2006, 10:11 PM
as we know...our tactics wun be heard by GR...so u just pray he choose the 1st 11 dat we choose..and start playing milner and drop shambles
newcastlefan
15-09-2006, 10:32 PM
as we know...our tactics wun be heard by GR...so u just pray he choose the 1st 11 dat we choose..and start playing milner and drop shambles
hahas hope it work
TrueBeliever_jh
16-09-2006, 12:36 AM
jus sidetrack abit.. Jonathan Woodgates will captain Boro in the next match.. loan player to captain the club.. cool...
sigh. why didnt we make a move for our former man.. at least tell him we really interested in him.. we really need a player of this caliber.. sigh.. :sad:
newcastle really got a scoring crisis now.. need a old midfielder to score somemore.. Martins.. wake up your ideas.. pls
martinweng
16-09-2006, 12:46 AM
jus sidetrack abit.. Jonathan Woodgates will captain Boro in the next match.. loan player to captain the club.. cool...
sigh. why didnt we make a move for our former man.. at least tell him we really interested in him.. we really need a player of this caliber.. sigh.. :sad:
newcastle really got a scoring crisis now.. need a old midfielder to score somemore.. Martins.. wake up your ideas.. pls
Lemme remind u GR does not even have the license requirement for EPL.
so u dun need to be moaning abt why he is not doing this or that.
Wait for Fat Shepherd to arrange some money, then we'll get rid of that pathetic charity case of a manager.
come to think of it, GR is like the FOC version of Souness.
newcastlefan
16-09-2006, 12:57 AM
cool meh a loan player become the captain if i is one of the 1st 11 in boro i sure not happy lor
Kilrach
16-09-2006, 01:34 AM
And put Luque instead of Sibierski...
Don't know what's wrong with the whole team, super under-performing for quite a few seasons liao.
So predictions for the game against Hammers?
martinweng
16-09-2006, 08:11 AM
Don't know what's wrong with the whole team, super under-performing for quite a few seasons liao.
draw or lose lor.
hopefully tevez is juz media-hyped.
issit LIVE on SCV?
ShaqONeal
16-09-2006, 10:45 AM
newcastle really got a scoring crisis now.. need a old midfielder to score somemore.. Martins.. wake up your ideas.. plswe r up and down for past few season, i think we will continue to be like tat.. we dun hav striker like henry or RVN or sechenkov, of course can high hope we can score goal in every game..
Amoebi just started to get his form and he got injured.. sian ah.. then other like Luque can really perform up to par.. i really dunno wat to say..
donald83
16-09-2006, 11:47 AM
nobody knows why luque is not playing. always used as a sub
MrWeiWei
16-09-2006, 11:52 AM
nufc is under-performing..... but other teams are performing at a much higher standard whereby even without nufc under-performing..... they cant catch up......:D
dbchoong
17-09-2006, 09:16 AM
draw or lose lor.
hopefully tevez is juz media-hyped.
issit LIVE on SCV?
Tevez looks good. Skillful. Hopefully he still will not get a good understanding with the rest of the team yet.
Game is delayed telecast at midnight, I think.
kaseymunson
17-09-2006, 09:40 AM
woodgate excels at boro. knn roeder must be hitting himself hard on the foot.
chikyblink
17-09-2006, 10:23 AM
woodgate excels at boro. knn roeder must be hitting himself hard on the foot.Worse. Campbell at Portsmouth. Clean sheets for the last 5 matches.
dreamer75
17-09-2006, 11:25 AM
This is the way I see it going basing my thoughts on the way we are playing (and perceived to be playing) at the moment:
1) The midfield will create very little in the way of scoring opportunities.
2) The striker(s) will find it very difficult to cope with the odd chance that might come their (or his) way.
3) We will almost certainly concede, probably more than once.
4) The defence will once again get the total blame for losing.
My prediction…………………..A Defeat.
martinweng
17-09-2006, 11:32 AM
This is the way I see it going basing my thoughts on the way we are playing (and perceived to be playing) at the moment:
1) The midfield will create very little in the way of scoring opportunities.
2) The striker(s) will find it very difficult to cope with the odd chance that might come their (or his) way.
3) We will almost certainly concede, probably more than once.
4) The defence will once again get the total blame for losing.
My prediction…………………..A Defeat.
not that hard to see.
although i see this more of a 60% draw, 40% defeat.
ShaqONeal
17-09-2006, 11:33 AM
so roeder was a player before rite? where was his position hur?? Tony Adam from Portmouth and Southgate from boro were defenders... they lured good defenders and Portmouth especially did a great defence.. thumb up for them.. but how long will tat be...
ShaqONeal
17-09-2006, 11:35 AM
woodgate excels at boro. knn roeder must be hitting himself hard on the foot.i think i wanna vomit blood when he said he wished to sign tevez blah blah blah.. now transfer closed liao, he still talk about tevez..
is he trying to play mental game with west ham??
Kilrach
17-09-2006, 01:13 PM
Thing is Emre has been very inconsistent at times.. He is our creative central midfielder whose crosses/passes are supposed to be of quality (or so i heard) but that doesn't happen too often. As much I like N.Zogbia, I'd prefer Duff taking the left wing and Milner the right.. We would have lethals wings then.
Shadow04
17-09-2006, 03:30 PM
so roeder was a player before rite? where was his position hur?? Tony Adam from Portmouth and Southgate from boro were defenders... they lured good defenders and Portmouth especially did a great defence.. thumb up for them.. but how long will tat be...
he was our ex-captian, playing as defender..
saw something interesting as i browse through older threads in some uk football forums and i saw this interesting record of clubs managed by Roeder..
Gillingham 1st season 7th; 2nd season relegated
Watford 1st season 7th; 2nd season relegated
West Ham 1st season 7th; 2nd season relegated
Newcastle 1st season 7th; 2nd season ...
newcastlefan
17-09-2006, 03:32 PM
saw something interesting as i browse through older threads in some uk football forums and i saw this interesting record of clubs managed by Roeder..
OH NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Tokieda
17-09-2006, 04:14 PM
nothing can be more accurate than striking lottery, newcastle relegated this season a possibilty?
Kilrach
17-09-2006, 05:25 PM
HUAT AH!!!
martinweng
17-09-2006, 06:32 PM
they talking about those just promoted den 1st season in top flight 7th, next season relegate?
TrueBeliever_jh
17-09-2006, 06:49 PM
i say we will tio relagated man. matches that we should win didnt win.. I bet today we will get a beating of a lifetime at West Ham..
donald83
17-09-2006, 07:02 PM
huh he managed so many clubs before meh? or you mean played for those clubs before?
Shadow04
17-09-2006, 08:39 PM
huh he managed so many clubs before meh? or you mean played for those clubs before?
no. those are the clubs he managed~
Shadow04
17-09-2006, 08:49 PM
they talking about those just promoted den 1st season in top flight 7th, next season relegate?
no, someone there pointed the coincidence that the clubs he managed finished 7th in the first season and ended up relegated to one other divison the next.. for a start, neither Gillingham nor Watford were in the EPL when he took over.. dunno bout Gillingham(was in divison 3 when he took over i think) but for Watford, he missed out a play-off spot in 94/95(3rd - 6th place get the playoff, he finished 7th) in the old division one, but he ended up guilding the club to relegation the 95/96 season..
ThuGx__
17-09-2006, 09:06 PM
kuyt is gd.
pity GR cant buy him
Tokieda
17-09-2006, 10:16 PM
live radio stream (hammers vs newcastle)
http://a924.l609521693.c6095.g.lm.akamaistream.net/D/924/6095/319274370/reflector:21693
paste in windows media player
iamnotkeith
17-09-2006, 11:00 PM
we're not doing too bad atm...
iamnotkeith
17-09-2006, 11:11 PM
goal by damien duff!!!
iamnotkeith
17-09-2006, 11:12 PM
we're leading!!!
iamnotkeith
17-09-2006, 11:16 PM
hopefully this match doesnt go like the one last week. when we conceded 2 in the last 8 mins
iamnotkeith
17-09-2006, 11:25 PM
nobody's here today :(
Obafemi martins 2-0
obagoal!!!
Korn123
17-09-2006, 11:37 PM
live radio stream (hammers vs newcastle)
http://a924.l609521693.c6095.g.lm.akamaistream.net/D/924/6095/319274370/reflector:21693
paste in windows media player
Thank you very much for this stream!
And the two goals, even listening to it, really made my day!
And I'm here. Ever a magpie!
Korn123
17-09-2006, 11:46 PM
Oh no. Harewood has seriously injured Given? Skin him alive.
newcastlefan
17-09-2006, 11:48 PM
duff and maritan 1st goal for newcastle
feitz
17-09-2006, 11:57 PM
an away win made the victory all the more sweeter!
Shadow04
18-09-2006, 12:00 AM
ok.. a nice win and Martin's first goal for us..
btw, what happen to Given?
Korn123
18-09-2006, 12:14 AM
He was kicked in the ribs by Marlon Hare-brained
Tokieda
18-09-2006, 12:24 AM
West Ham 0-2 Newcastle
By Saj Chowdhury
http://img59.imageshack.us/img59/9774/71910382zy2.jpg
Duff runs in to celebrate with fellow goalscorer Martins
Nigerian Obafemi Martins scored his first goal for Newcastle to help them to all three points away at West Ham.
The former Inter Milan star capitalised on a misunderstanding between Lee Bowyer and Danny Gabbidon to coolly slot home from just inside the area.
Damien Duff gave the Magpies the lead when he latched on to Martins' pass and rifled past Roy Carroll.
Carlos Tevez hit the crossbar from a free-kick for West Ham, and Bowyer narrowly missed with a speculative lob.
The focus of both sets of fans was on their new forward recruits and whether they could finally open their account and justify the hype surrounding their arrival.
In the claret and blue corner was Tevez, the feisty bulldog of a striker who had made a big impact playing in the World Cup for Argentina.
In the black and white corner was Martins, the £10m signing from Inter Milan, who was brought in by manager Glenn Roeder to inject some pace into the side - and, of course, score goals.
Both looked lively and willing, but understandably both were getting used to English game.
Tevez found himself bullied and hassled for most of his time on the pitch by centre-back Craig Moore and full-back Stephen Carr.
Unlike Brazilian league football, English football does not allow a player of Tevez's class to have time on the ball.
The only time he was allowed to display his worth was when West Ham won two free-kicks at the edge of the area in the first-half.
With his first attempt the diminutive Argentine rattled Shay Given's crossbar and with his second he made the Newcastle keeper save low down.
But despite those two moments of brilliance, Hammers boss Alan Pardew felt his Argentine could not last another half, and prior to the start of the second half he was replaced by Marlon Harewood.
So, what about Martins? The Nigerian, paired with Shola Ameobi, worked tirelessly for the cause. And although his first touch is not quite in the Dennis Bergkamp class, his pace and strength is a huge weapon for the Magpies.
He should have given Newcastle the early lead, but screwed his six-yard shot wide of Carroll's goal after he was played in by Ameobi.
But shortly after the break, Martins more than made amends.
The striker won the ball 30 yards from his own goal and sped down the pitch before laying a pass into the path of the supporting Duff, who fired in his first for the Magpies past Carroll from the edge of the area.
And Martins finally got his personal reward when he took full advantage of a mistake between Bowyer and Gabbidon, to slot in a low shot past the West Ham keeper.
The Hammers, who edged the first half, were largely passengers after the break.
But they had their chances with Bowyer coming close to scoring from the halfway line after picking up Given's poor clearance and Harewood heading wide from substitute Yossi Benayoun's cross.
But it was to be Newcastle's day, although the win was soured by an injury to Given, who came off the worse in a challenge with Harewood late in the second half.
Kilrach
18-09-2006, 02:07 AM
Haha as i said before Milner and Duff on wings would make a difference, and it did :)
o0SpaceY0o
18-09-2006, 03:02 AM
lol at last he listen didnt he? as long as you have control in yr midfield u more orless win the game..and lucky tevez nv come...he is jsut a hype
Oh no. Harewood has seriously injured Given? Skin him alive.
I wonder how many NUFC fans are thinking the same thing...
I know I am... :D
dbchoong
18-09-2006, 10:30 AM
Ah, nice. 2 away wins consecutively (Levadia and now Hammers). Can we make it 3 in a row? :D
Coming up next, Anfield!! Anyone can remember when we last won there?
donald83
18-09-2006, 10:45 AM
Guess what? No Bramble, no goals conceded. lol
A away win, 2 summer signings who score for us, clean sheet. Nothing more that we can ask for. The only downs would be Given's injury, but this probably allows Harper to show us what he is all about. I am sure he would do okay, and if I remember right, he just signed a new contract. So having a start would pleased him a bit too.
MrWeiWei
18-09-2006, 11:03 AM
haha.... some of u were still blaming roeder for signing duff and martins...... think the 2 dulan ppl keep cursing them so they score ! curse more for the sake of ur club lol. :D
Kilrach
18-09-2006, 12:11 PM
Considering Liverpool's form and performances, we might just be able to take advantage of that at Anfield... Hope I'm not feeling too ambitious :s13:
Think with their strikers mis-firing at the moment, we might just have a chances on Wed. :)
Kilrach
18-09-2006, 12:14 PM
Ameobi and Martins are both hardworking and have good technical skill. Parker, Milner and Duff is a no-brainer. The only qualm I have is Emre. Like I said, he has been very inconsistent and get dispossessed of the ball easily by opponents.
ShaqONeal
18-09-2006, 12:45 PM
Guess what? No Bramble, no goals conceded. lolas usual, i dun really like him, although he sometimes scoled our only goal in a game for us...
think he should do his defence work better...
Considering Liverpool's form and performances, we might just be able to take advantage of that at Anfield... Hope I'm not feeling too ambitious :s13:
A draw would be good but a win there, that would be something special :)
Definitely 2 very good signning in Duff and Martins. Works hard for the team and good ball players as well. And at 15m for the 2 players, great signing, considering their age as well. Let's hope for more goals from them this Wed.
ShaqONeal
18-09-2006, 12:58 PM
Ameobi and Martins are both hardworking and have good technical skill. Parker, Milner and Duff is a no-brainer. The only qualm I have is Emre. Like I said, he has been very inconsistent and get dispossessed of the ball easily by opponents.except for the central defenders (really kind of give up hope), i personally very satisfied with our players... of course i hope we hope we can more choices in striking force too.,..
ShaqONeal
18-09-2006, 01:04 PM
Definitely 2 very good signning in Duff and Martins. Works hard for the team and good ball players as well. And at 15m for the 2 players, great signing, considering their age as well. Let's hope for more goals from them this Wed.i myself didn't expect Martins to score for us in first few games...
well done Martins... Duff likes long shots (screamers) very much, i assume.. will be very entertaining to watch since Laurent Robert time..
Realised we had quite a couple of natural left foot players in our team. Duff,Emre,Zog,Luque(Give him a chance, Roeder)
spykid
18-09-2006, 01:29 PM
Congrats. Good win there, not many leave Upton Park with maximum points. Hopefully this will be the turn-around for you lot :)
Kilrach
18-09-2006, 01:37 PM
i myself didn't expect Martins to score for us in first few games...
well done Martins... Duff likes long shots (screamers) very much, i assume.. will be very entertaining to watch since Laurent Robert time..
Yeah too bad he had to leave the club. As far as i can remember, he have been pulling off spectacular shots for us on a regular basis.
Kilrach
18-09-2006, 01:41 PM
except for the central defenders (really kind of give up hope), i personally very satisfied with our players... of course i hope we hope we can more choices in striking force too.,..
Carr is one of the better right backs from the Premiership. Babayaro is hardworking and was very impressive yesterday considering it was his first match since his return. The pair-up of Rammage & Moore is quite effective as we have seen last season and yesterday. The imminent return of Taylor leaves Framble struggling to even get on the bench :s22:
ShaqONeal
18-09-2006, 02:01 PM
stastically, we scored 5 and conceded 5.. really only a decent or so-so nia... but i am glad tat we won in away game... we muz work harder...
so next game seeing Bellamy in Pool???
Yeah too bad he had to leave the club. As far as i can remember, he have been pulling off spectacular shots for us on a regular basis.
I think compared to Robert, Duff works a lot harder for the team as well. Take the last UEFA game, try asking Robert to play left-back for us. :) Same for Martins, he runs a lot more than Kluvert would ever do for our cause.
martinweng
18-09-2006, 05:32 PM
wah Liverpool VS Newcastle is LIVE 2.55am on Thursday morning (Wed midnight in case u dun get it right)
i think dont watch better...dowan see newcastle embarrass themselves.
Tokieda
18-09-2006, 06:09 PM
GIVEN UNDERGOES STOMACH OP
Posted 18/09/06
http://www.teamtalk.com//Images/76566.jpg
Newcastle goalkeeper Shay Given has had stomach surgery following the injury he picked up against West Ham.
The 30-year-old was taken off with four minutes remaining at Upton Park after a collision with Hammers striker Marlon Harewood.
Newcastle manager Glenn Roeder told nufc.co.uk: "Shay has had surgery to repair a small tear in his lower stomach.
"He is comfortable and will have a short stay in hospital.
"We'll let things settle down now and it's too early to be putting any date on when he'll be expected back."
The Magpies were leading 2-0 against West Ham when Given picked up his injury, with Steve Harper brought on for the final minutes as Roeder's men held on for victory.
Given signed a five-year contract with Newcastle last season and has been a consistent performer since arriving from Blackburn in 1997, although reports suggest he faces six weeks out now.
After the victory at Upton Park, with Damien Duff and Obafemi Martins getting the goals, Roeder said: "I would like to think Harewood was being completely honest in trying to get the ball. It's a man's game and I'm sure Shay would understand."
Steve Harper will get a run-out now for a period of time and it's time to show how good he is
martinweng
18-09-2006, 07:31 PM
it is now time to take what ur life has accumulated throughout ur years slogging and working to live a comfortable life, to leave what is not a rich life, no longer a dreamer of becoming a millionaire....
TO BET ALL OUT ON LIVERPOOL this thursday and u can Finally retire from work!
do not hesitate to bet against a team that will be without a goalkeeper and has 2 weird centre backs that will score for Liverpool even if they have Peter Crouch who will hit the corner flag more than he hit the target!
my fellow fans! wealth is within sight!!!
No chance for Newcastle to win. 3-0 to pool. Will be happy with a draw.
donald83
18-09-2006, 10:14 PM
ball is round man. liverpool on a bad run now. got chance.
Hope Crouch dun play. We sure to lose out in aerial battle with the no of shorties in our team.
Kilrach
18-09-2006, 11:09 PM
We all predicted having a bad result against the Hammers but we came out tops with a convincing scoreline. I agree the ball is round :)
dbchoong
19-09-2006, 08:11 AM
TO BET ALL OUT ON LIVERPOOL this thursday and u can Finally retire from work!
Yeah, and they also told me to bet everything on Brazil winning the World Cup 2006... :D
Current Sg Pools odds say Liverpool is the favourite...
H-1.47, D-3.6, A-5.90
martinweng
19-09-2006, 08:27 AM
Dun be fooled.
This 1 is sure Liverpool's win.
Dun be fooled.
This 1 is sure Liverpool's win.
I really hope you would be eating your words after the game.
donald83
19-09-2006, 09:33 AM
got a feeling that newcastle will nick this.
kaseymunson
19-09-2006, 09:41 AM
hard to say. i wish bramble to remain injured forever.
dreamer75
19-09-2006, 10:25 AM
West Ham 0 - 2 Newcastle United
Football, as we all know, is not only a funny game but it is also a great game and this is a good example of why that is true.. Just when you think that your team has hit rock bottom and they have little chance of a result, they put in a performance like this and get a thoroughly deserved three points.
The way that Newcastle have been playing recently left many fans believing that we would find this game really hard going. An away game, ex-player Bowyer looking good for the hosts in the opening games and the two Argentinean lads still trying to impress meant that even a draw would be hard to come by. How pleasing then, that the team put in a very solid and at times entertaining performance and that another two of the new boys found the back of the net with very well taken goals.
While Duff had already done enough to justify his signing before this game, it was very worrying that the longer Martins went without scoring, the more pressure he would be under as each game came along. That worry has, I hope, now been removed, for not only did he take his goal very calmly (we all know how difficult it can be when there is only the keeper to beat), but he also made the first and then showed us some nice bursts of speed as well as demonstrating that he is not afraid to get involved physically.
The midfield had a lot more control over the game than I forecast, which was great and it was nice to see the defence looking a lot more assured, Moore and Ramage playing well together (would you pick a fight with Moore?). Babayaro looks like he knows that Bernard could soon be pushing him for his place.
All in all a very good show and a deserved result and most welcome three points…………..the only downer, of course, being the injury to Shay………..let's just hope he is not seriously hurt.
Well done lads!
Man of the match……………The whole team!
dreamer75
19-09-2006, 10:27 AM
Liverpool vs Newcastle United
Before the West Ham game, most of us would have said that a point each from the next two away games would be acceptable, bearing in mind the previous performances against Villa and Fulham. Well we now have three points from the first game so a defeat here will not be the end of the world, although I would at least like to see the effort and passion shown against West Ham.
Liverpool will still be smarting after the defeat by Chelsea and I do feel that while we always struggle at their ground, it may be even more difficult this time as they try to make amends for their beating by the champions.
We also have the small matter of trying to keep Bellamy quiet which will not be easy.
I gave us no chance last week and the lads happily proved me wrong……….I think that it will be a lot harder to do that in this game………….although if they make the effort and show the passion………….who knows?
My prediction then…………………A Defeat!
Prove me wrong (again) lads!!
Shadow04
19-09-2006, 11:48 AM
thinking pool to take this as well.. Kuyt will prolly just prove too much for our defence to handle, Framble or not..
anyways, i will be (very) glad if they prove me wrong~
Kilrach
19-09-2006, 12:10 PM
I would like us to win and make Dirk regret joining Liverpool instead of us haha :s22:
studmufn
19-09-2006, 12:46 PM
i think bellamy will also be out to make a point. i think the defence is gonna kenna pwned by the liverpool strikeforce..
Kilrach
19-09-2006, 12:49 PM
The defence we used as against West Ham is pretty good... Think Pool will have a difficult time. :s22:
ShaqONeal
19-09-2006, 01:24 PM
The defence we used as against West Ham is pretty good... Think Pool will have a difficult time. :s22:consider they jus kena thrashed by Everton.. and revenged by Chelsea.. it's time for them to prove themselves..
if their mental is good, they r hard to beat.. but we muz ride on their low form to beat them... it will be at Anfield, tough match, but hope we will fight hard...
newcastlefan
19-09-2006, 04:24 PM
GOGOGOGO NEWCASTLE!!!!!
liverfool sure lose
iamnotkeith
19-09-2006, 08:01 PM
im all behind newcastle. show liverpool our stuff!
bh0322
19-09-2006, 10:41 PM
NUFC supporter here, but with Given out injured, we are facing with even more problems at the back. Harper is not bad but can our defenders handle the speed of liverpool? I am afraid not, however with martins scoring last game, hope he can continue with his firing boots on.......Who knows that might be a repeat of the famous high scoring games in Anfield
newcastlefan
19-09-2006, 10:43 PM
NUFC supporter here, but with Given out injured, we are facing with even more problems at the back. Harper is not bad but can our defenders handle the speed of liverpool? I am afraid not, however with martins scoring last game, hope he can continue with his firing boots on.......Who knows that might be a repeat of the famous high scoring games in Anfield
Dun worry our attack oso beri fast wad
Kilrach
20-09-2006, 12:13 AM
Hopefully Ameobi can play, he looks pretty sharp against West Ham considering he just returned from injury. We should be able to put up a fight with the same players from defence and midfield.
felagund
20-09-2006, 12:30 AM
liverpoop have yet to find a perfect 11 yet and due to the changing of personnels, I doubt the attackers can play well as they have yet to forge an understanding with each other. Don't think they will attack very well
newcastlefan
20-09-2006, 01:52 AM
liverpoop have yet to find a perfect 11 yet and due to the changing of personnels, I doubt the attackers can play well as they have yet to forge an understanding with each other. Don't think they will attack very well
wa well said
dbchoong
20-09-2006, 12:00 PM
There is nothing wrong with Pool's attack. Against Chelsea, they could have scored 2 or 3 on another day. That day was just an unlucky day for them.
So, just hope Pools bad luck continue at least for today's game... ;)
United_Treble
20-09-2006, 01:41 PM
There is nothing wrong with Pool's attack. Against Chelsea, they could have scored 2 or 3 on another day. That day was just an unlucky day for them.
So, just hope Pools bad luck continue at least for today's game... ;)hope not, they haven start winning, at least u guys won last match so be generous, lets cheer for the reds
newcastlefan
20-09-2006, 01:54 PM
hope not, they haven start winning, at least u guys won last match so be generous, lets cheer for the reds
LOL where got fanz cheer for thier oppenents de
United_Treble
20-09-2006, 02:04 PM
LOL where got fanz cheer for thier oppenents debro me boring ma so just joke ard lol
ceLsius
20-09-2006, 02:48 PM
So, just hope Pools bad luck continue at least for today's game... ;)
Nothing wrong with their attack. If you watch Pool's last 3 matches, against Everton, PSV and Chelsea, we will see the no. of chances they missed. It not just down to luck, it's the players themselves that shot themselves to the foot.
I don't see Liverpool winning by a big margin against Newcastle. It looks like a big fat draw to me. :D
newcastlefan
20-09-2006, 02:54 PM
Nothing wrong with their attack. If you watch Pool's last 3 matches, against Everton, PSV and Chelsea, we will see the no. of chances they missed. It not just down to luck, it's the players themselves that shot themselves to the foot.
I don't see Liverpool winning by a big margin against Newcastle. It looks like a big fat draw to me. :D
nth wrong wif thier att but something wrong abt thier defence and gk
TrueBeliever_jh
20-09-2006, 08:20 PM
sadly... with our defense liddat and a gk that hasnt started much for the last few seasons..
i will say... a 5-0 win for liverpool since they have been losing last few matches.. think they will use Newcastle as a cushion.. :sad:
Kilrach
20-09-2006, 10:15 PM
Half of our team is hard-working.. I'm sure we'll close down on their players pretty quick :)
iamnotkeith
20-09-2006, 10:18 PM
we got duff and parker and martins now. hopefully it turns out good
Kilrach
20-09-2006, 11:10 PM
Who staying up to watch? :)
coranyge
21-09-2006, 04:41 AM
sian... we are gonna be the joke of the season. 70yards goal from alonso. wtf..............
Shadow04
21-09-2006, 04:45 AM
omfg.. that lob is so wtf lo.. bloody hell!
coranyge
21-09-2006, 04:50 AM
yea it seems like harper's hope of being nufc no.1 is getting dim now...
wadsad
21-09-2006, 07:13 AM
wat happen to solano ah... injured rite??
ShaqONeal
21-09-2006, 10:29 AM
nth wrong wif thier att but something wrong abt thier defence and gksigh.. anfield very hard to win.. since our team hardly gel... anyway, the long shot goal is a shameful thing.. (but we r always at the centre of the wrong doing eg: team players fighting..)
not much fat hope, as this team r really no chance of competing with big 3... we r sad but hav to accept we r second-tier in EPL.. :(
ShaqONeal
21-09-2006, 10:37 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VlMNDKWsBUU&NR
watch the goal better than Beckham...
ShaqONeal
21-09-2006, 10:41 AM
we got duff and parker and martins now. hopefully it turns out good
i will be another roller-coaster season for us, i predict.. prepare for BIG surprises.. good or bad.. or worse**
**not suitable for those who on heart medical..
Kilrach
21-09-2006, 10:42 AM
It's not the result, it's the way the team played... I think it was not enough...
studmufn
21-09-2006, 10:59 AM
http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=7032316303141404085&q=alonso+newcastle&hl=en
this goal is a bit of a joke. soon i think teams will be scoring agst newcastle from goal kicks.
Kilrach
21-09-2006, 11:45 AM
LOL he even made it to celebrate with his keeper.. Goes to show how far the shot was taken. To be fair, it was quite unlucky for Harper to slip otherwise he would have made it. We would most probably have lost anyway... :s16:
United_Treble
21-09-2006, 12:13 PM
well serious;y can the keeper be blamed?, dun think he expected alonso to shoot on target
There are reasons/excuses for the defeat so far. Harper slip and Ameobi penalties claims. But the game is over and we probably have to look forward to Sunday's game nw.
donald83
21-09-2006, 02:49 PM
what the heck man? to concede a goal from such a long distance is so embarassing. sigh...
newcastlefan
21-09-2006, 02:57 PM
what the heck man? to concede a goal from such a long distance is so embarassing. sigh...
sigh haf the same feeling with u now :o
ShaqONeal
21-09-2006, 07:18 PM
i dun really blame harper.. but it's very embrassing... think he dun feel good with it too..
newcastlefan
21-09-2006, 07:47 PM
i dun really blame harper.. but it's very embrassing... think he dun feel good with it too..
sure dun feel gd de ma 1st match replace given like tat lai
kaseymunson
21-09-2006, 08:28 PM
If harper wasn't off position u think alonso would shoot?
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.