PDA

View Full Version : Newcastle United - Toontalk

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 [78] 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109

o0SpaceY0o
26-04-2007, 10:50 AM
3rd choice capt was solano. the king of "off the line" with those clearance
he is god to me....standing right next to King Alan!!!

MrWeiWei
26-04-2007, 11:18 AM
actually solano playing at right def is quite good leh..... many ppl cannot get pass him

Kilrach
26-04-2007, 03:30 PM
actually solano playing at right def is quite good leh..... many ppl cannot get pass him

including Ronaldo :s22:

hoon_ki
26-04-2007, 04:16 PM
he is god to me....standing right next to King Alan!!!
yeah he's fantastic.. imho ranks among the likes of shearer, ferdinand etc.. was damn sad when SBR sold him away to villa last time..

TrueBeliever_jh
27-04-2007, 12:03 AM
yeah he's fantastic.. imho ranks among the likes of shearer, ferdinand etc.. was damn sad when SBR sold him away to villa last time..
but luckily he came back to us. he only belongs to one club in EPL and its our club:s42:

if i am not wrong.. Nobby was originally a defense position player. jus that when he comes to EPL.. damn he is good on the right wing as well

dreamer75
28-04-2007, 12:39 AM
what are ur prefictions?

i have a feeling that we will llose again :s22:

dreamer75
28-04-2007, 12:43 AM
Meanwhile, Tottenham are considering a £5m to £6m offer for Newcastle winger Kieron Dyer, who is keen to link up with old pal Jermaine Jenas. (Various)

But the move could fail because Dyer's current salary of £80,000 per week is almost double what Tottenham's highest earner Robbie Keane make

Glenn Roeder has warned Tottenham off midfielder Kieron Dyer after speculation suggested he will be a target for the Londoners this summer.

Kilrach
28-04-2007, 10:55 AM
Monday got live telecast.. Will only be watching if Owen plays :s22:

TrueBeliever_jh
28-04-2007, 06:24 PM
Meanwhile, Tottenham are considering a £5m to £6m offer for Newcastle winger Kieron Dyer, who is keen to link up with old pal Jermaine Jenas. (Various)

But the move could fail because Dyer's current salary of £80,000 per week is almost double what Tottenham's highest earner Robbie Keane make

Glenn Roeder has warned Tottenham off midfielder Kieron Dyer after speculation suggested he will be a target for the Londoners this summer. if dyer were to go.. we will lose our link between the midfield and striker.. of course unless we get a replacement of dyer's standard or better..

from nufc.com

Departure lounge

The following players see their current playing contracts at SJP expire at the end of this season:

Olivier Bernard - expected to leave
Titus Bramble - no public contract offer
Phil Cave - expected to leave
David Edgar - expected to leave
Kris Gate - contract offer made (tbc)
Alan O'Brien - expected to leave
Craig Moore - expected to leave
Oguchi Onyewu - purchase not expected
Antoine Sibierski - one year deal agreed
Nolberto Solano - one year deal agreed
Pavel Srnicek - expected to leave

Six Academy/Reserve players have already been informed of their release:

Robert Cavener
Ross Cowan
Dean Critchlow
Callum Little
Lewis Marr
Glenn Reay

Assuming Sib and Sol sign but no others are retained, our first team squad before sales and acquisitions consists of:

Goalkeepers: Given, Harper, Krul, Forster

Defenders: Carr, Babayaro, Solano, Taylor, Ramage, Huntington.

Midfielders: Dyer, Butt, Parker, Milner, Duff, Emre, N'Zogbia, Pattison.

Forwards: Owen, Ameobi, Martins, Luque, Carroll, Sibierski, LuaLua, Troisi.

(positions in some cases are nominal only)it will be a dream to see Owen scoring on Monday. but think we shouldnt make him work so hard after spending quite a big deal of time recovering from his season long injury. I hope Martins score in this one to give GR a headache over striker selection for the next match.

KWSW
28-04-2007, 10:30 PM
David Edgar -> iirc he was the one who scored against Man Utd right?

KWSW
28-04-2007, 10:32 PM
Monday got live telecast.. Will only be watching if Owen plays :s22:

gonna record it down with DVR... Unless I do my assignmen until burn midnight until the match start... :o

Shadow04
28-04-2007, 11:20 PM
David Edgar -> iirc he was the one who scored against Man Utd right?
yup. he was the one..

i looked at the list, i saw Oliver Bernard, i laughed.. ok, granted we got him as a free signing, but really wtf is he back here for again?

TrueBeliever_jh
28-04-2007, 11:28 PM
yup. he was the one..

i looked at the list, i saw Oliver Bernard, i laughed.. ok, granted we got him as a free signing, but really wtf is he back here for again?
to get himself injured :s22:

martinweng
28-04-2007, 11:34 PM
to get himself injured :s22:

NUFC the bed all very cosy players like to come and chill.

carl cort, dyer, owen all PR of our club's hospital.

Tyer
28-04-2007, 11:40 PM
Maybe we should just have a side business doing medical center, might as well.

donald83
29-04-2007, 11:03 AM
So is Owen gonna play on Monday against Reading?

TrueBeliever_jh
29-04-2007, 12:12 PM
So is Owen gonna play on Monday against Reading?
not too sure bro. but hope he is inside.. or else there is really not to watch liaoz

so far our pts stand at 42.. 12th on the standing.. our worst ever finish was 44pts.. and our worst finish is at 14th

will we break that record this season? :crazy:

KWSW
30-04-2007, 10:55 PM
anyone gonna stay up to watch?

kaicheng83
30-04-2007, 10:57 PM
the game show at 3am right?

KWSW
30-04-2007, 11:01 PM
2.54am to be precise :)

kaicheng83
30-04-2007, 11:03 PM
ok thks :)

GetFuzzy
30-04-2007, 11:19 PM
I am not sure whether to watch. :(

dreamer75
30-04-2007, 11:20 PM
http://images.sportinglife.com/07/03/330/GlennRoeder1_209901.jpg

ROEDER STILL THE MAN FOR MAGPIES

Newcastle boss Glenn Roeder has been assured his job is safe amid speculation that former Bolton boss Sam Allardyce is being lined up to replace him.

Chairman Freddy Shepherd was not commenting on a new wave of rumours on Monday in the wake of Allardyce's resignation from his post at Bolton on Sunday.

However, it is understood he has told Roeder he will remain at the helm despite a disappointing season which will at best result in a 10th-place Barclays Premiership finish with three games still to play.

There is little doubt that is way below the expectations of a club which not so long ago claimed a top-four berth in successive seasons - Sir Bobby Robson was sacked after managing just fifth in 2003-04 - but Shepherd knows there are mitigating factors.

Injuries to key players such as Michael Owen, Shay Given, Stephen Carr, Titus Bramble, Damien Duff, Charles N'Zogbia, Kieron Dyer and Shola Ameobi have undoubtedly been a major hindrance.

In addition, the excesses of Graeme Souness' reign - the Scot was handed £50million with which to strengthen his squad, but invested £20million of it in Albert Luque, Jean-Alain Boumsong and Amdy Faye - left Roeder's hands tied to an extent.

That said, the former West Ham boss, who was handed the job on a permanent basis last May after dragging the club into Europe as caretaker, was still able to bring in Obafemi Martins and Duff at a cost of £15million.

Former academy manager Roeder has been repeatedly under the spotlight simply because his appointment broke tradition with the Magpies having consistently gone for big names since Kevin Keegan reignited the club under former chairman Sir John Hall.

Allardyce famously turned the job down before Souness was appointed, and although he was heavily linked with it once again after the Scot's departure, Shepherd was not about to give him a second chance.

That has not stopped him being repeatedly touted as a future manager at St James' Park, although he is not the only one.

Earlier this month, Shepherd was forced to issue a denial, and not for the first time, that he was courting former England manager Sven-Goran Eriksson.

He said: "Is it April Fools day today? Any talk of Sven-Goran Eriksson - or anyone else for that matter - coming as manager to St James' Park is sheer and utter garbage.

"I have not spoken to Sven since he left the England job and I have no intention of speaking to him.

"Neither have I spoken to his agent Athole Still or Tord Grip, and as far as I am aware, they have not approached us.

"In any case if they did, it would not matter a jot because we already have a manager."

The word coming out of St James' on Monday was that the situation has not changed, although at a club which has had five different managers in the last 10 years, that is unlikely to quell the speculation.

o0SpaceY0o
30-04-2007, 11:25 PM
i rather big sam come and manage us...at least we will play like bol hard to beat team plus our attking style woot! force to be reckon with....im dreaming thou :s22:

GetFuzzy
30-04-2007, 11:25 PM
I think Sam Allardyce should coach Newcastle! He's pretty good. Glenn Roeder is a bit disappointing.

dreamer75
01-05-2007, 12:06 AM
wat to do.....sigh

KWSW
01-05-2007, 12:15 AM
wat to do.....sigh

oh well... hope next season he will do better

TrueBeliever_jh
01-05-2007, 12:51 AM
it has been an injury filled season and the first ever season without Shearer.. lets look at this season as a team building season where lotsa new players comes in.. next season think they will play together betta.

and hope martins continue to grew in EPL and become a striker to be reckon with..

thats all my dreams for now..

btw.. Owen is in this one.. wonder if he will start or not.. probably not.. but interesting to see two quick strikers up front..

TrueBeliever_jh
01-05-2007, 03:59 AM
no one watching?? Owen tio 4x offside liaoz :crazy: too long nv play keep tio offside trap

TrueBeliever_jh
01-05-2007, 04:15 AM
1-0 down liao :(

TrueBeliever_jh
01-05-2007, 04:37 AM
sigh.. 12 shot 8 on target.. cant get in one.. :(

hoon_ki
01-05-2007, 04:39 AM
sigh.. 12 shot 8 on target.. cant get in one.. :(
i gave up watching liao... 2nd half was disastrous..

TrueBeliever_jh
01-05-2007, 04:54 AM
Owen was completely silent off in the second half.. must the 1st half offsides.. playing very precautiously..

thats it.. 1-0

i am very disturbed by the results.. with 3 strikers in the second half we cant answer for the 1 goal down.. :sad:

KWSW
01-05-2007, 04:59 AM
and once again the defense just cannot make it...

dreamer75
01-05-2007, 10:28 AM
Michael Owen finally made his long-awaited comeback but the England striker's presence could not prevent Newcastle slipping to defeat at the Madejski Stadium.

All eyes were on Owen, who has been out for 10 months since rupturing his anterior cruciate ligament in last summer's World Cup, but it was Reading marksman Dave Kitson who stole the show.

Kitson buried Seol Ki-Hyeon's cross in the 50th minute for his second Barclays Premiership goal in an injury-hit season to clinch the Royals' third straight victory.

A cool seventh-minute finish also saw Owen, making only his 11th start for Newcastle since arriving from Real Madrid in August 2005, put the ball in the net but the goal was ruled out for offside.

Magpies boss Glenn Roeder had been able to select the £17million signing just once before tonight - bringing him on as a second-half substitute against Birmingham in April last year.

But Owen completed tonight's match and did not look too far off the pace to soften the blow of yet more injury problems for Roeder.

Antoine Sibierski withdrew shortly into the second half with a suspected broken arm and soon after Emre was stretchered off in considerable pain following an apparently innocuous tackle.

Shola Ameobi, who has been out since November after undergoing hip surgery, replaced Sibierski to give Roeder more options for the two remaining games.

The defeat will have done little to relieve the pressure on Roeder whose position has been the source of speculation amid claims Sam Allardyce, who quit as Bolton boss on Sunday, is poised to take over.

In contrast, Reading manager Steve Coppell's Midas touch continued as the Royals climbed to seventh in the Premiership with a victory that catapulted them back into the UEFA Cup reckoning.

Coppell's side were nearly caught out early on tonight, however, when with barely a minute on the clock Owen dashed in to meet Emre's cross only to fall inches short with a flag also raised for offside.

Owen had the ball in the back of the net in the seventh minute following a beautifully-worked move but once again the linesman came to Reading's rescue.

Sibierski found Martens and the former Inter Milan marksman threaded a perfect ball through to Owen who raced clear and found the back of the net, only for Newcastle's celebrations to be silenced by a raised flag.

Reading had a penalty shout turned down when Titus Bramble sent Kevin Doyle tumbling with a robust shoulder-barge but referee Mike Riley waved play on.

Doyle then fired inches wide after a poor clearance from goalkeeper Steve Harper landed at his feet and moments later defender Michael Duberry blazed over the crossbar.

Nicky Shorey and Dave Kitson combined to good effect but Newcastle's defence recovered in the nick of time with Doyle lurking.

Hunt was booked for a nasty challenge on Nolberto Solano as the chances at both ends dried up.

James Milner burst from midfield, easily evading a tackle by Seol and then escaping Duberry before hitting the top netting with a well-struck shot.

A crafty free-kick saw Owen release Kieron Dyer down the right with the England midfielder then squaring the ball dangerously across the face of goal, but keeper Marcus Hahnemann came to the rescue.

Reading broke free in the 44th minute but Doyle, who was being well-marshalled by Solano, ran down a dead end with Kitson waiting on the edge of the area.

Dyer fired wide after being teed-up by Owen shortly into the second half but Reading then breathed life into a game that had fizzled out after a bright opening.

Seol did the damage with a floated cross which fell perfectly for Kitson after John Oster had ducked to allow the ball to reach his team-mate.

Kitson made no mistake from 15 yards out, rifling home in emphatic style for his fourth goal in an injury-hit season and the 50th of his Reading career.

Sibierski was replaced by Ameobi after sustaining a suspected broken arm but the former England Under-21 international made a hash of a great chance moments after arriving on the pitch.

He was picked out by Milner but despite being unmarked and having time to compose himself, he directed his header straight at Hahnemann.

Newcastle's problems increased when Emre was stretchered off in the 61st minute following a strong tackle from Kitson.

The Reading hitman then nearly made it two for the home side after Doyle pounced on Dyer's mistake but he blasted just wide.

Martens was off-target with a routine header and Seol powered wide with a useful shot.

Newcastle finished the stronger side as they went in search of the equaliser but they could not deny Reading their 16th Premiership win of the season.

dreamer75
01-05-2007, 10:29 AM
Newcastle boss Glenn Roeder would be happy for a fit Michael Owen to make his England comeback this summer - but stressed his first priority is to the Magpies.

Owen made his long-awaited return in the 1-0 defeat by Reading after 10 months out since rupturing his anterior cruciate ligament in last summer's World Cup.

England face Brazil in a friendly on June 1 and then have a pivotal Euro 2008 qualifier against Estonia three days later and Roeder refused to rule the 27-year-old out of contention.

He said: "Michael did not go to last summer's World Cup fit. He played 29 minutes at Birmingham last year.

"His metatarsal was sore, he was in pain, he went off and joined the England squad and the coach must have thought he was fit but he should never have gone to the World Cup.

"I'm not worried about a fully-fit Michael Owen playing for anybody, as long as people realise he's a Newcastle player first.

"I can't look into the future but he'll now play two more games before the end of the season.

"He won't be 100% match fit after three games having been out so long but by the end of our last match against Watford he will be that bit fitter.

"Michael Owen will tell you Newcastle comes first because it does. We're all pretty fed up at the club with people saying it's England and then Newcastle.

"It's the other way round - Newcastle comes first and then England. Anyone who thinks differently is completely out of order.

"We know he's a world-class striker but he's a Newcastle player first.

"I'm sure he'll be fine for Saturday and will finish the season with three Premiership games under his belt. Thereafter we'll have to go and see what happens."

Roeder's position is reportedly under threat following Sam Allardyce's decision to quit Bolton yesterday but the Newcastle boss insisted he was unconcerned by the talk.

He said: "Down the years Newcastle have always been an easy target for speculation - it happened with Graeme Souness, Bobby Robson and now me.

"It's the same with the players. That's the animal and I do not lose one second's sleep over it. I've been through too many things in my to worry about the speculation."

Newcastle were dealt two fresh injury blows with Antoine Sibierski suffering a broken forearm and Emre sustaining a serious ankle injury. Both will miss Newcastle's last two games.

TrueBeliever_jh
01-05-2007, 11:08 AM
can bah... Sibierski's position.. got players to stand in.. Emre's position.. also got replacements.. our midfielders shouldnt be problem replacing with.. wheres Luque btw..

last 2 games.. Blackburn and Watford.. sigh.. why do i got a feeling we will lose these 2 games also

if so.. this will be our worst finish since EPL started. hoping for Nicky Butt to come back in the last 2 games..

:sad:

donald83
01-05-2007, 11:09 AM
Seriously I've been utterly disappointed with GR. He should go cos he'll never make Newcastle the force to be reckoned with. We should hire Sam since he's available now.

United_Treble
01-05-2007, 11:26 AM
i admit i lost money on new, but new u really two thumbs up, even this type of odds given by bookie u oso can lose, gd gd, can be the next leeds soon

chopra
01-05-2007, 01:38 PM
i admit i lost money on new, but new u really two thumbs up, even this type of odds given by bookie u oso can lose, gd gd, can be the next leeds soon
:o :o
very mocking

o0SpaceY0o
02-05-2007, 12:20 AM
Such a big club, such a big disappointment. Why cant we get a powerful manager to manage us? Or should i say, why no manager is interested in managing us? GR? Weak. Wrong tactic every week. Too weak to be flirting with the big 4. Big Sam...come to us now....SACK GR!

donald83
02-05-2007, 01:23 AM
Glenn Roeder has been given a vote of confidence by the Newcastle board.

Heard this from ESPN. We all know what that means! If we get Allardyce also not so good, cos we will be playin with long ball under him.

SecretZone
02-05-2007, 10:28 PM
im glad u lost money, and wish u all the best in yur further bets ( as in lose more)
:)

bh0322
02-05-2007, 11:18 PM
im glad u lost money, and wish u all the best in yur further bets ( as in lose more)
to add on to secretZone, i think the guy united_treble knows nuts about soccer betting. If he knows the kind of odds that is open for the match and yet he still go and take NUFC, this guy must be definitely a fool as he is not a NUFC supporter so why should he take NUFC in the first place. Only NUFC supporters like us would continue to support our team regardless of any odds.

Hey, learn something about odds before spatting nonsense here UNITED TEBLE!!!

donald83
03-05-2007, 12:25 AM
to add on to secretZone, i think the guy united_treble knows nuts about soccer betting. If he knows the kind of odds that is open for the match and yet he still go and take NUFC, this guy must be definitely a fool as he is not a NUFC supporter so why should he take NUFC in the first place. Only NUFC supporters like us would continue to support our team regardless of any odds.

Hey, learn something about odds before spatting nonsense here UNITED TEBLE!!!

Why u all even bother replying him? :s13:

SecretZone
03-05-2007, 09:10 AM
Why u all even bother replying him? :s13:
haha, anyway there goes MU's treble hope :s13: (if presuming tats wat his nick meant)

bh0322
03-05-2007, 02:07 PM
haha, anyway there goes MU's treble hope :s13: (if presuming tats wat his nick meant)

saw how pathetic man u play? lol................ 3 goals well deserved!

dreamer75
03-05-2007, 05:06 PM
at least Man U still stronger than us. we are pathetic :(

TrueBeliever_jh
03-05-2007, 10:58 PM
Another discard goes Dutch

Thursday's Chronicle claims that Newcastle will loan misfit Albert Luque to PSV Eindhoven next season, meaning the 29 year-old Spaniard will be playing in the Champions League.

It remains to be seen whether the Dutch Champions will replace another Magpie discard with Luque - Patrick Kluivert currently being in residence at the Philips Stadium.

Luque's Toon contract runs until 2010.

from nufc.com

still waiting for official news

dreamer75
03-05-2007, 11:18 PM
Valencia are reportedly ready with a £13m bid for Newcastle United strike Obefami Martins.

The latest on the David Villa front is that Valencia have already started making contingency plans, the first of them being a mega-bid for Obefami Martins.

The former Inter Milan man moved only last summer, for a transfer fee in the region of 15m euros (£10m), but Los Che are set to tempt the the St. James' Park club with a 20 million euro offer.

Villa has been linked with a number of clubs, and Valencia expect to make at least 35-40 million if they have to sell him (they are demanding much more at the moment), and look upon the Nigerian as the ideal replacement given his pace, power and finishing.

Martins has already admitted in the past that he would love to play in Spain, while Newcastle might well consider the offer given the return of Michael Owen and Shola Ameobi from injury.

On another front, Valencia are also hunting for a quality defender to replace the departing Ayala, with it looking unlikely that they will be able to buy him straight back from Villarreal.

dreamer75
03-05-2007, 11:25 PM
Joey Barton for us?

dreamer75
03-05-2007, 11:26 PM
Roeder to opt for older heads

Newcastle boss Glenn Roeder will change his policy of targeting young players by signing an experienced central defender in the summer.

Roeder declined the chance to take 32-year-old former England international Sol Campbell to St James' Park last year when he became available from Arsenal, citing his age as a problem.

Campbell, who has enjoyed a hugely successful season at Portsmouth, has again been linked with a switch to Tyneside this summer, and while Roeder is not naming his targets, he seems prepared to alter his policy as he addresses the seemingly annual task of strengthening a much-maligned defence.

He said: "I would like a central defender this side of 26 and an experienced one over 30 with a big CV and successful playing career."

That is a marked departure for Roeder, who has repeatedly spoken of his intention to sign players with their best days ahead of them.

However, the emergence of 21-year-old home-grown centre-half Steven Taylor as a real prospect - the England Under-21 international has even attracted the attention of senior international boss Steve McClaren - has prompted a potential change of direction.

With Titus Bramble, Craig Moore and loan signing Oguchi Onyewu all appearing likely to leave St James' this summer, Roeder is considering attempting to pair Taylor with an experienced campaigner to fast-track his development.

The fact Roeder is drawing up plans for the new campaign is an illustration of his belief he will remain in charge beyond the end of the current season despite continuing speculation linking Sam Allardyce with his job.

Newcastle have not commented publicly on the rumours, although it is understood assurances have been given privately.

In the meantime, the 51-year-old will get on with the business of preparing his side for Saturday's Premiership clash with Blackburn desperate to end their home campaign by bouncing back from Monday night's 1-0 defeat at Reading.

Roeder handed England midfielder Kieron Dyer the captain's armband for that game as the 28-year-old became the fifth different man this season to lead the side out.

That caused raised eyebrows in certain circles - the former Ipswich midfielder famously refused to play on the right wing for Sir Bobby Robson at Middlesbrough and once throw the armband on to the ground at the Riverside Stadium after being tossed it by the departing Alan Shearer.

However, Roeder, who saw Dyer almost gift the Royals a second goal with a wayward pass and then squander a glorious opportunity to snatch a point, said: "I made Kieron Dyer captain for purely motivational reasons.

"When I told him, his eyes lit up and it was a special moment for him.

"I thought he carried the responsibility of being captain off very well, even though a couple of vital aspects of the game went against him.

"He is an England player and an experienced player, and he was playing in a position on the pitch on Monday night in which he was in touch with the rest of the team.

"The majority of people do not understand Kieron Dyer. If you sit down with him, he has a lot of football intelligence and has a good understanding of the game."

Meanwhile, 18-year-old striker Andy Carroll looks likely to opt for England after turning down the chance to represent Scotland at Under-19 level.

Carroll was selected for the Scottish side, for which he qualifies through his family, for last night's friendly against Austria, but did not travel north, with England's Under-18s expected to call him up within weeks.

TrueBeliever_jh
03-05-2007, 11:59 PM
Valencia are reportedly ready with a £13m bid for Newcastle United strike Obefami Martins.

The latest on the David Villa front is that Valencia have already started making contingency plans, the first of them being a mega-bid for Obefami Martins.

The former Inter Milan man moved only last summer, for a transfer fee in the region of 15m euros (£10m), but Los Che are set to tempt the the St. James' Park club with a 20 million euro offer.

Villa has been linked with a number of clubs, and Valencia expect to make at least 35-40 million if they have to sell him (they are demanding much more at the moment), and look upon the Nigerian as the ideal replacement given his pace, power and finishing.

Martins has already admitted in the past that he would love to play in Spain, while Newcastle might well consider the offer given the return of Michael Owen and Shola Ameobi from injury.

On another front, Valencia are also hunting for a quality defender to replace the departing Ayala, with it looking unlikely that they will be able to buy him straight back from Villarreal.
but he only played one season for us

:(

and we havent seen Martins and Owen causing rampage in EPL yet. i say a no no... given now we are left with 4 strikers.. i say we concentrate on getting defenders liked we used.. i am quite comfortable with our strike force..

KWSW
04-05-2007, 12:26 AM
Martins has this week been linked with a £13million move to Valencia as they prepare for the possible departure of David Villa to Champions League finalists Liverpool.

However, the Newcastle striker insists he is happy where he is and is hoping to add to the two goals he scored in a 3-1 win at Ewood Park in December this weekend.

Martins at home in number nine shirt (http://www.teamtalk.com/football/story/0,16368,1780_2104756,00.html)

I dun think he is going anywhere...

Tyer
04-05-2007, 12:47 AM
Headlines on a few internet news : Allardyce Will Become Toon Manager May 14th

United_Treble
04-05-2007, 12:58 AM
:)thanks for ur wishes, indeed i jackpot for UCL after the loss in newcastle game

KWSW
04-05-2007, 01:19 AM
thanks for ur wishes, indeed i jackpot for UCL after the loss in newcastle game

on liverpool wining chelsea ah... cos i dun think u would have placed ur money on milan to win... looking at ur nick... :s7:

KWSW
04-05-2007, 01:20 AM
Headlines on a few internet news : Allardyce Will Become Toon Manager May 14th

as much i think GR needs more time... Big SAM taking over is good news... GR shld go back to taking care of the youth team... he is better there... :)

GetFuzzy
04-05-2007, 09:08 AM
Seriously, I think Newcastle has got potential, man. We just need someone good to lead us! Sam! You are the man!

hoon_ki
04-05-2007, 10:06 AM
as much i think GR needs more time... Big SAM taking over is good news... GR shld go back to taking care of the youth team... he is better there... :)
Sam taking over is good news indeed, but since there's no official news yet try not to think too much about it.. less expectation then less disappointment when May 14th comes haha..

United_Treble
05-05-2007, 12:51 AM
on liverpool wining chelsea ah... cos i dun think u would have placed ur money on milan to win... looking at ur nick... :s7:suay suay i did i bet on milan win odds 2.10, milan to score 1st over 2.5 goals as what i say in man u thread. tomo i betting blackburn +1/4

KWSW
05-05-2007, 08:02 AM
suay suay i did i bet on milan win odds 2.10, milan to score 1st over 2.5 goals as what i say in man u thread. tomo i betting blackburn +1/4

if i am not wrong, its at st james park... usually it will end up a draw there... :D

but they will be wearing the new jersey...

MrWeiWei
05-05-2007, 10:26 AM
if i am not wrong, its at st james park... usually it will end up a draw there... :D

but they will be wearing the new jersey...
nufc quite strong at home wat. should be able to win by 1 goal

TrueBeliever_jh
05-05-2007, 11:17 AM
nono... i say a lost... been awhile since we win and score at home liao

dreamer75
05-05-2007, 11:47 AM
Newcastle United vs Blackburn Rovers

As Blackburn have nowhere near the amount of skill in their side as we are supposed to have, I fully expect them to put in more effort than most of our bunch of wasters and if we do not match them in that department it will be another defeat.

Once again, expect statements about “owing it to the fans” and other stuff before the game…………..all of which will be forgotten once they have kicked off!

My prediction then………………… A Defeat……….. and they won't even be bothered!

KWSW
05-05-2007, 11:53 AM
i would be more positive and say its gonna be another draw... this time due to the lack of effort... either that or martins trying too much to get his 20 goals... owen shld be playing well as i think he would want to impress for england although GR dun want him to play for England...

GetFuzzy
05-05-2007, 04:45 PM
St James Park here we go!

dreamer75
05-05-2007, 09:13 PM
i would be more positive and say its gonna be another draw... this time due to the lack of effort... either that or martins trying too much to get his 20 goals... owen shld be playing well as i think he would want to impress for england although GR dun want him to play for England...

i would b optimistic if Roeder is not our manager?

TrueBeliever_jh
05-05-2007, 10:20 PM
0-1 down liaoz :s22:

o0SpaceY0o
05-05-2007, 10:39 PM
yes...pls lose all the remaining matches n give GR the sack!!! lose lose lose!!!

TrueBeliever_jh
05-05-2007, 10:59 PM
yes...pls lose all the remaining matches n give GR the sack!!! lose lose lose!!!
home match somemore.. we supposed to have the best home record in epl...

oh well... hope we wont get into european matches next season and concentrate rebuilding the club

dreamer75
05-05-2007, 11:06 PM
0-1 down liaoz :s22:

see...i told u...

but suspicion of offside.... :s22:

KWSW
05-05-2007, 11:39 PM
2 - 0... bye bye glenn

TrueBeliever_jh
06-05-2007, 12:00 AM
lol

the squad we pushed out today.. is almost our full starting XI minus duff...

and we lost at home.. hahahha

man.. are we able to survive the next season.. nv thought we have come to this stage

Tyer
06-05-2007, 12:20 AM
Think next week is GR last game.

dreamer75
06-05-2007, 12:21 AM
i will be happy if he is sacked b4 the last game....:D

donald83
06-05-2007, 12:28 AM
Confirm GR will kenna sack soon liao.. 1 win in the last 10 premiership matches. How can?? Anyway how come they wore the new jersey already??

o0SpaceY0o
06-05-2007, 12:36 AM
Confirm GR will kenna sack soon liao.. 1 win in the last 10 premiership matches. How can?? Anyway how come they wore the new jersey already??

when they change the jersey from purple northern rock to gold..they reveal at the last home game last season oso...

KWSW
06-05-2007, 12:43 AM
Cue more boos and a flood of home supporters out of St James' Park for the last time this season.

source (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/eng_prem/6602883.stm)

FROM BBC Sports... lols...

I wonder if they are singing "Glenn Must Go" :D

TrueBeliever_jh
06-05-2007, 12:50 AM
this is by far the worst season i have since i supported newcastle.. more good years to come

dreamer75
06-05-2007, 01:19 AM
Newcastle boss Glenn Roeder on being booed off the pitch:
"Of course I know why they boo, they are frustrated, but they must understand that I'm equally frustrated.

"I don't like talking about luck but we haven't had much and I hope I am given the opportunity in an injury-free season next time to carry on.

"Today was hugely disappointing. We just can't buy a goal at the moment."

o0SpaceY0o
06-05-2007, 03:00 AM
you going le lah..still tok so much for wat...acting like u wun kana the sack...actually u are peeping in yr pants now...weako, just **** off.. :s16: :s7:

martinweng
06-05-2007, 08:49 AM
you going le lah..still tok so much for wat...acting like u wun kana the sack...actually u are peeping in yr pants now...weako, just **** off.. :s16: :s7:

as much as we all hate him, he's not gonna go.

the attraction of a FOC manager i guess.

United_Treble
06-05-2007, 01:23 PM
suay suay i did i bet on milan win odds 2.10, milan to score 1st over 2.5 goals as what i say in man u thread. tomo i betting blackburn +1/4got 3.20 odds for bb victory at spools, but only bet $40 from bookie side, if i noe new really that lousy i would have bet even more
mr wei wei u took new?

dreamer75
06-05-2007, 06:39 PM
Glenn Roeder remained defiant in the face of concerted protests after seeing Newcastle capitulate against Blackburn in their final home game.

There were chants of "Taxi for Roeder", "Shepherd out" and "Sack the Board" after the Magpies failed to score in a fifth successive league game at St James' Park for the first time since 1951 and slumped to a 2-0 defeat by Rovers.

Roeder has spent the week trying to deal with speculation that Sam Allardyce is being lined up to replace him, and there is little doubt chairman Freddy Shepherd faces a tough decision.

However, Roeder was refusing to throw in the towel 12 months after winning the job by guiding his side into Europe.

He said: "Chants like that happen in football stadiums around the world. I understand the fans' frustration.

"When I see my team create chances and miss them, I am as disappointed as any of the fans because I know the importance of winning games when you are a manager.

"But it has not made me lose any confidence in myself. I am very much the same person who was here last year who had a fantastic finish to the season.

"I have not changed as a person. Of course I understand, 100% understand, where the fans are coming from.

"They want a winning Newcastle team and I also want a winning Newcastle team. At the moment, we have not been winning and I understand their frustration.

"To win matches, you need to score goals and we have not done that for four, five, six weeks now, and that has cost us greatly.

"I do understand their feelings."

Kieron Dyer passed up a glorious opportunity to put the home side ahead with a fifth-minute header which was turned away by Brad Friedel, but it was largely downhill from there for the Magpies.

Benni McCarthy claimed his 22nd goal of the season on 14 minutes despite looking suspiciously offside, and after Michael Owen - playing his first game at St James' since December 10, 2005 - saw a 69th-minute shot cleared off the line by Christopher Samba, Jason Roberts wrapped up a deserved victory with his fifth in as many games.

Roeder's players were initially roundly booed when they returned to the pitch to thank the fans for their support this season, and some remained to protest for more than an hour after the final whistle.

He added: "My determination could not be increased anyway, it is always flat-out. I am always striving to do better, like I expect my players to."

Rovers boss Mark Hughes had sympathy for Roeder.

He said: "It is very difficult. We are all judged on results. We have to win Premier League games.

"Points at Premier League level are like gold dust. They are so valuable to everybody and when you don't gain Premier League points, then people are not happy, and that is understandable."

Hughes was delighted, but not surprised, by his side's performance.

He added: "I thought we were good value. We created numerous chances in the first half and the only frustration at half-time was we were only one goal to the good.

"We were a little bit frustrated that we had not converted more of the chances we created.

"You expect a response from Newcastle, they always try to put you under pressure.

"But we set our stall out and we were really strong today defensively. The two centre-halves and the full-backs coped with everything and in an attacking sense, we were excellent.

"We got the second goal and, from that point onwards, we were never in any danger of losing the game."

http://www.teamtalk.com/football/story/0,16368,2483_2110345,00.html

dreamer75
06-05-2007, 06:42 PM
On hearing the news that Sir Bobby Robson has been diagnosed with cancer again for the 5th time I'm sure of all of you guys and myself included wish him a quick and safe recovery from this terrible disease. Its ironic that when we look back at this period of the last 10 years it was him that brought us the success we craved for and we havent had since. I'd do anything to have a manager of his calibre to raise us back to where we should be.

stanlfc
06-05-2007, 06:44 PM
come on u barcodes the EPL is going to be over aleast stay clear of relegation or a fight for a inter toto cup a big clubs like your cant just fight relegation

xOxMxGx
06-05-2007, 06:46 PM
come on u barcodes the EPL is going to be over aleast stay clear of relegation or a fight for a inter toto cup a big clubs like your cant just fight relegation

lol... since when they are in a relegation fight? they lost so many in a row but also not in the relegation fight leh. u got a different league table or something? :s13:

TrueBeliever_jh
06-05-2007, 06:50 PM
soon lar... with 42 pts... the relagation battle around that region.. next season shall be interesting with all the crap players gone.. and see wat tricks can GR pull off..

xOxMxGx
06-05-2007, 06:53 PM
actually i see newcastle squad is like damn good. with the youngsters coming in gaining experience this season. just get rid of bramble and get a experience and good centerback. someone like blackburn nelsen mold i think it will help alot.

dreamer75
06-05-2007, 07:07 PM
soon lar... with 42 pts... the relagation battle around that region.. next season shall be interesting with all the crap players gone.. and see wat tricks can GR pull off..

next season we will see Sunderland, will Sunderland whip our ass???

dreamer75
06-05-2007, 07:08 PM
http://images2.asianbookie.com/SGE.AMZ09.060507024952.photo00.quicklook.default-142x245.jpg

Sunday, May 06, 2007, 10:50:08 HRS

File photo of former Newcastle United manager Sir Bobby Robson at St James's Park, in Newcastle. Robson said Sunday he had been diagnosed with cancer for the fifth time. The 74-year-old started a six-week bout of chemotherapy last week after small cancerous nodules were discovered in his lungs.

Former England manager Sir Bobby Robson said Sunday he had been diagnosed with cancer for the fifth time.

The 74-year-old started a six-week bout of chemotherapy last week after small cancerous nodules were discovered in his lungs.

The knight has battled cancer on and off for the last 15 years and has undergone cancer surgery four times.

"Of course, it's not the greatest news I've ever had but I have fought hard throughout my life and I will continue to fight. I will battle as I've always done," he told The Mail on Sunday weekly newspaper.

"My last operation in August was a success but this time the doctors have said they can't operate.

"The good news is that they are measuring the nodules in my lungs in millimetres rather than centimetres!

"That is encouraging and we are hopeful the treatment will keep it under control.

"I've been advised to keep busy and active, and that's what I will be trying to do whenever possible."

Robson vowed to carry on with his life as normal and plans to attend his annual charity golf day in Portugal next week before celebrating his 52nd wedding anniversary next month with his wife Elsie, two sons and four grandchildren.

His last battle with cancer came in August 2006 when he had a tumor the size of a grape removed from his brain.

He successfully fought cancer three times previously: he had a golf ball-sized tumour removed from his lung in May 2006, while in 1995, he was discovered to have a rare form of skin cancer behind an eye.

Treatment for that involved complex surgery which left him needing a rubber plug in his mouth. Three years before that he overcame bowel cancer.

Robson played for Fulham and West Bromwich Albion during a successful career. He won 20 England caps and played in the 1958 and 1962 World Cups.

He made his name as a manager with Ipswich in the 1970s, winning the FA Cup in 1978 and the UEFA Cup in 1981 during a 13-year spell with the club from 1969.

He guided England to the 1990 World Cup semi-finals before managing PSV Eindhoven, Sporting Lisbon, Porto and Barcelona, winning trophies in each country.

Robson returned to English football at Newcastle in 1999 and was made a knight by Queen Elizabeth II in 2002 for his services to football.

- AFP

United_Treble
06-05-2007, 07:41 PM
home match somemore.. we supposed to have the best home record in epl...

oh well... hope we wont get into european matches next season and concentrate rebuilding the clubsupposed to be, but i dun think so esp this season, how many team can actually lose to sheffield utd at home?

donald83
06-05-2007, 09:20 PM
However, Roeder was refusing to throw in the towel 12 months after winning the job by guiding his side into Europe.

He said: "Chants like that happen in football stadiums around the world. I understand the fans' frustration.

"When I see my team create chances and miss them, I am as disappointed as any of the fans because I know the importance of winning games when you are a manager.

"But it has not made me lose any confidence in myself. I am very much the same person who was here last year who had a fantastic finish to the season.

"I have not changed as a person. Of course I understand, 100% understand, where the fans are coming from.

"They want a winning Newcastle team and I also want a winning Newcastle team. At the moment, we have not been winning and I understand their frustration.

"To win matches, you need to score goals and we have not done that for four, five, six weeks now, and that has cost us greatly.

Understand our feelings so what? But he don't understand how to manage a football team.

ShaqONeal
06-05-2007, 10:10 PM
dunno why like tat... i jus want them to be at top half.. but it seems so hard for them even when Owen is back.. sigh..

xOxMxGx
07-05-2007, 05:32 AM
GR just left. u guys must be happy. but i think u will be more happy if bramble is gone. lol

Roeder was in defiant mood after Saturday's game, which extended his side's run with a Premiership goal at St James' to five games - their worst return since 1951 - and a staggering seven hours and 51 minutes.

He said: "I am very much the same person who was here last year who had a fantastic finish to the season.

"I have not changed as a person. Of course I understand, 100% understand where the fans are coming from.

"They want a winning Newcastle team and I also want a winning Newcastle team.

"At the moment, we have not been winning and I understand their frustration.

His change of heart sparks yet another search for the man to bring success back to Tyneside for the first time since they lifted the Fairs Cup in 1969, with their last domestic success coming in the FA Cup 14 years earlier.

Roeder's departure comes at the end of a week which has seen frenzied speculation about his position and the availability of Sam Allardyce.

However, chairman Freddy Shepherd had earlier insisted he had never spoken to Allardyce, who turned the job down before Graeme Souness was appointed in 2004, about the matter.

He told the Sunday Sun: "I have never spoken to Sam Allardyce. I don't know where all this is coming from."

Shepherd, who has also dismissed suggestions that former England boss Sven-Goran Eriksson could be heading for Tyneside, will now start the process of looking for the sixth manager of his reign and the fifth he will have appointed.

http://www.teamtalk.com/football/story/0,16368,2483_2111451,00.html

TrueBeliever_jh
07-05-2007, 05:44 AM
i wake up... saw the news that we lost our manager liaoz :(

still got one game and he left us

final game against Watford... i think a lost..

we nv win our final game since 1993.. this is no exception..

wat a moody monday morning..

martinweng
07-05-2007, 07:37 AM
FINALLY...

SecretZone
07-05-2007, 09:17 AM
its not good to keep changing manager every season... :s31:

we should change the chairman :s7:

Tyer
07-05-2007, 09:35 AM
Scoring a goal is a problem for the last few weeks. I think probably Pearson will take the last game and the new manager will come in on 14th May.

hoon_ki
07-05-2007, 09:52 AM
FINALLY...
LOL... a simple word that effectively sums up our feelings :s13:

hopefully Fatty Shepherd will wake up his idea and appoint someone more competent... Big Sam or Sven next? or is there any other big name available that u guys would prefer?

sgpeasant
07-05-2007, 09:57 AM
Roeder resigns as Newcastle manager

Glenn Roeder has resigned as Newcastle boss after reaching the point of no return.

PA Sport understands the 51-year-old parted company with the club today after 15 months in charge at St James' Park including his spell as caretaker.

He made his decision in the wake of yesterday's dismal 2-0 home defeat by Blackburn which ended the Magpies' faint hopes of claiming the Intertoto Cup route into Europe for the second successive season.

The club are yet to confirm Roeder's departure, although are expected to do so within hours.

Rumours that he had been summoned to an emergency board meeting had been circulating throughout the day, with some suggesting he had been sacked.

Roeder was in defiant mood after yesterday's game, which extended his side's run with a Barclays Premiership goal at St James' to five games - their worst return since 1951 - and a staggering seven hours and 51 minutes.

He said: 'I am very much the same person who was here last year who had a fantastic finish to the season.

'I have not changed as a person. Of course I understand, 100% understand where the fans are coming from.

'They want a winning Newcastle team and I also want a winning Newcastle team.

'At the moment, we have not been winning and I understand their frustration.

'To win matches, you need to score goals and we have not done that for four, five, six weeks now, and that has cost us greatly.

'I do understand their feelings.'

His change of heart sparks yet another search for the man to bring success back to Tyneside for the first time since they lifted the Fairs Cup in 1969, with their last domestic success coming in the FA Cup 14 years earlier.

Roeder's departure comes at the end of a week which has seen frenzied speculation about his position and the availability of Sam Allardyce. However, chairman Freddy Shepherd had earlier insisted he had never spoken to Allardyce, who turned the job down before Graeme Souness was appointed in 2004, about the matter.

He said: 'I have never spoken to Sam Allardyce. I don't know where all this is coming from.'

Shepherd, who has also dismissed suggestions that former England boss Sven-Goran Eriksson could be heading for Tyneside, will now start the process of looking for the sixth manager of his reign and the fifth he will have appointed.

He fought to be allowed to give Roeder the job last summer, a battle which has since resulted in a change to the Premier League's rules, despite the fact he did not have the necessary UEFA Pro Licence.

Roeder won his chance after inheriting Graeme Souness' dispirited side and dragging it into seventh place at the end of last season with a return of 10 wins and two draws in 15 league games.

Despite being linked with several bigger names - he insisted he would not consider Allardyce again after his earlier refusal - Shepherd went with the groundswell and handed the former West Ham manager, who had been working as his Academy manager, his chance.

But Roeder was hamstrung even before he began in earnest by the knee injury £17million striker Michael Owen picked up during England's World Cup finals campaign, and injury woe was to become a familiar theme at St James' as 12 bouts of major surgery robbed the manager of key players for extended periods.

In addition, a relative shortage of cash following Souness' £50million spending spree limited the club's recruitment plans both during the summer and in January with Obafemi Martins and Damien Duff accounting for the manager's entire £15million kitty as Mark Viduka and Robert Huth among others getting away.

On the pitch, performances were patchy, although results in Europe were good until the Magpies squandered a 4-2 first leg lead in Alkmaar to miss out on a place in the UEFA Cup quarter-finals.

By that point, they had been dumped out of the Carling Cup by eventual winners Chelsea and exited the FA Cup at the first hurdle when Coca-Cola Championship Birmingham inflicted a hugely embarrassing 5-1 third round replay defeat on them on Tyneside.

Newcastle fared reasonably well against the top four, defeating Liverpool and drawing with Manchester United, Chelsea and Arsenal at St James'.

However, home defeats by Fulham, Bolton, Sheffield United, Manchester City and Blackburn left the fans in militant mood.

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id=428301&cc=4716

who's gonna caretake us?? lee clark??

SecretZone
07-05-2007, 09:57 AM
vote for keegan =:p i always like keegan's play style =P

dreamer75
07-05-2007, 10:09 AM
i wake up... saw the news that we lost our manager liaoz :(

still got one game and he left us

final game against Watford... i think a lost..

we nv win our final game since 1993.. this is no exception..

wat a moody monday morning..

i cant bear my joy in hearing this piece of GREAT NEWS!

it juz make my day brighter!!!!!

FINALLY!!!!!!!!!

dreamer75
07-05-2007, 10:10 AM
I would vote for Big Sam,any1?

yellowsubmarine
07-05-2007, 10:12 AM
Can Newcastle now finally get a GOOD manager. Shearer maybe?

KWSW
07-05-2007, 10:31 AM
some good news after all :)

o0SpaceY0o
07-05-2007, 11:15 AM
we need a manager with class & brain...not a manager that only lead us to the top half of the table...with a stadium and players like ours..we need a manager to help us rub shoulder with the top 4 every season.

KWSW
07-05-2007, 11:18 AM
we need a manager with class & brain...not a manager that only lead us to the top half of the table...with a stadium and players like ours..we need a manager to help us rub shoulder with the top 4 every season.

euro cup place would be nice... no more intertoto pls... :D

Kilrach
07-05-2007, 12:40 PM
Be careful what you wished for, it just might come true. And for this case, it did. I'm not so sure whether it's a good thing or not. We'll see how it goes.

GetFuzzy
07-05-2007, 12:45 PM
Big Sam for us!!! I don't think Sven is good! We are a good team, with a nice stadium and a huge number of fan! We need a good leader! We have been changing managers like changing underwear!

dreamer75
07-05-2007, 01:40 PM
so the emergency board meeting was to sack him :s13:

GetFuzzy
07-05-2007, 02:27 PM
I pity GR...

SecretZone
07-05-2007, 04:37 PM
I pity GR...
think anyone being the Newcastle manager will aleady be perpared for it (sacking) ... :|

GetFuzzy
07-05-2007, 06:08 PM
Anyway, GR is a survivor of Cancer tumour, right?

donald83
07-05-2007, 06:17 PM
YES!! He's gone!!!

studmufn
07-05-2007, 06:21 PM
it's really too late anyway.. entire season ruined. 2-0 loss to blackburn is really disappointing.
no use if the next manager is as bad or even worse...

donald83
07-05-2007, 06:23 PM
If the next manager who comes in is as bad as Roeder or even worse, I think the board should go man. Dunno wtf they are doing.. I guess the most realistic choice now would be Big Sam

KWSW
07-05-2007, 06:47 PM
Big Sam or Sven(worst case) for me. Anyone else pls dun even think of it... Most importantly is someone who can nature the youngsters like milner, zoggy, taylor and recently andrew while helping owen, duff, parker and martins get their form back.

And of cos pls either throw bramble into the reserves until he learns to play properly or tell him bye bye...

dreamer75
07-05-2007, 08:52 PM
Big Sam or Sven(worst case) for me. Anyone else pls dun even think of it... Most importantly is someone who can nature the youngsters like milner, zoggy, taylor and recently andrew while helping owen, duff, parker and martins get their form back.

And of cos pls either throw bramble into the reserves until he learns to play properly or tell him bye bye...

tot Bramble's contract expiring soon?

dreamer75
07-05-2007, 08:57 PM
http://images.teamtalk.com/07/03/190/Allardyce_207997.jpg

Newcastle chairman Freddy Shepherd will turn to former Bolton manager Sam Allardyce after accepting Glenn Roeder's resignation.

The Magpies supremo is expected to offer the job to Allardyce for the second time following Roeder's departure on Sunday.

Shepherd insisted at the weekend that he had not spoken to Allardyce either before or after he announced his decision to leave the Reebok Stadium despite fevered speculation that he was on his way to St James' Park.

However, it is understood that his availability and his track record with Bolton will prompt Shepherd to renew his interest in the man he tried to land as Sir Bobby Robson's successor in September 2004.

On that occasion, Allardyce rejected Newcastle's advances and although he was touted for the job once again following Graeme Souness' departure in February last year, Roeder's performance as caretaker earned him the nod.

However, the 51-year-old former Magpies skipper's reign came to an end on Sunday, although his decision was only confirmed by the club on Monday morning in a statement released through their official website.

It said: "Newcastle United today announced that Glenn Roeder has offered his resignation as team manager with immediate effect and this has been accepted by the Newcastle United board."

Neither Shepherd not Roeder have yet elaborated on the development, which came 24 hours after fans protested outside St James' Park in the wake of Saturday's 2-0 home defeat by Blackburn which finally ended hopes of European qualification.

Allardyce, who was also a serious candidate for the Sunderland job during the summer before Roy Keane was appointed, was immediately installed as a hot favourite with bookmakers Ladbrokes suspending betting at 1-4.

Former skipper Alan Shearer is a popular candidate for the future, although he has shown little appetite to return to the fray just yet and in any case, has not yet collected his UEFA A Licence, let alone the Pro Licence.

The names of Mark Hughes, Sven-Goran Eriksson, Steve McClaren and Sevilla's Juande Ramos among others have been thrown into the hat by the rumour machine with varying degrees of plausibility, but it is Allardyce, who has also recently been linked with Manchester City, who will be the major focus.

That, however, would leave Newcastle with a sizeable compensation bill to pay with more than two years of his Bolton contract still to run.

After the excesses of Graeme Souness' reign, in which £50million was spent on players, much of it badly, cash is at a premium on Tyneside and that could have a knock-on effect for the new manager's summer transfer kitty.

The Magpies currently have debts of around £80million, much of which is secured against future season ticket sales, and with the time for renewals now fast approaching, the club cannot afford a major revolt.

Predictions of Allardyce's arrival have not been met with overwhelming approval on Tyneside with critics pointing to Bolton's style of football under his charge and the allegations, which he strongly denies, made against him by the Panorama investigation into football.

However, there is little doubt something had to be done after Roeder reached the end of the road on Saturday, when his side failed to score in a fifth successive home league game for the first time since 1951.

Mark Jensen, editor of fanzine The Mag, said: "It has been bubbling under. With Glenn Roeder being well liked as a player and as a captain and then coming to work with the Academy, there was a lot of goodwill towards him.

"Graeme Souness did not have a lot of goodwill when he came in, so there was nothing to be eroded then.

"I don't think many people will take great pleasure in Glenn Roeder leaving the job, whereas with Souness, there was dancing in the streets.

"But Alkmaar away (when Newcastle went out of the UEFA Cup on away goals despite taking a 4-2 lead to Holland) was the real straw that broke the camel's back"

Number two Nigel Pearson is expected to take charge for Sunday's final day trip to relegated Watford with coach Lee Clark, who was called back from a scouting mission to Argentina having arrived in Paris en route on Sunday, standing by.

In the longer term, Roeder's successor faces the task of assessing an expensively-assembled, but seriously under-achieving squad and rebuilding it for the challenge which lies ahead.

dreamer75
07-05-2007, 08:57 PM
Albert Luque, a £9.5million signing from Deportivo la Coruna, is expected to head for PSV Eindhoven on loan after spectacularly failing to make his mark in the Premiership, while Titus Bramble, Craig Moore and loan signing Oguchi Onyewu were unlikely to be offered new deals under the previous regime.

The future of Turkish midfielder Emre has been in some doubt despite his reprieve from allegations of racism, while the Magpies have failed to see the best of the likes of Celestine Babayaro, Stephen Carr, Kieron Dyer, Charles N'Zogbia and Damien Duff in recent months.

dreamer75
07-05-2007, 09:02 PM
I am not sure that Big Sam is the right man for us... Simply is the style of football which Bolton have shown in the past 8 year under Big Sam,which they are very physical/ good in air combined with set piece, yes, now they are @ 6th in the league which is very good, but I would rather see our team play short with clever move which in KK & SBR's era.... But I think FS will love to have him , as Big Sam can save a lot money for him in the transfer market ...ha

dbchoong
07-05-2007, 09:18 PM
Here's some stats I picked up about Newcastle managers:

Keegan P: 251 W: 138 L: 62 D: 52 Pts Avg: 1.896
Dalglish P: 78 W: 30 L: 26 D: 22 Pts Avg: 1.487
Gullit P: 52 W: 18 D: 14 L: 20 Pts Avg: 1.308
SBR P: 255 W: 119 L: 72 D: 64 Pts Avg: 1.682
Souness P: 87 W: 39 D: 19 L: 29 Pts Avg: 1.563
Roeder: P: 73 W: 33 D: 16 L: 24 Pts Avg: 1.575

1. Keegan
2. SBR
3. Roeder
4. Souness
5. Dalglish
6. Gullit

TrueBeliever_jh
07-05-2007, 09:54 PM
no big sam for me.. i dun wan big sam as manager.. he so taoz one..

somemore he is not proven to be able to manage a club with lotsa money.. he is more suit for budget tight clubs..

maxmuzzer00
07-05-2007, 10:56 PM
theres really not much candidates.

there will not be any surprise appointment.

Shadow04
08-05-2007, 12:10 AM
ok, so the man whom most Toon fans want gone is well, gone.. i admit i was kinda taken aback when i came across this news when i surf this forum mins ago, i wasnt expecting this to happen..

i recall at the start of the season, some fans from other clubs were lambasting us when we made it clear we have no faith whatsoever with Roeder, despite his heroic turn around bring us to Europe after taking over from the hopeless Souness.. we thanked him for cleaning up the mess left by Souness, we did, but it was clear from the beginning that he was not the man to bring us back to league nor European glory, and we were proven right in the end.. granted some fans(myself included) started to put more trust in him after a mini resurgence during winter break where we enjoy a short unbeaten run, including a credible draw agaisnt league champion ManU, fielding mostly academy players and a bunch of players played way out of position.. you would have been forgiven if you thought that when first team players return from injury results would have been better, but results took a turn for the worse when first team players start playing for reasons unknown..

put it simply, he's inept at all aspect of management.. the only formation he knows is 4-4-2, regardless of opponent nor does it matter if we are chasing a game or defending a lead.. he's hopeless at making selection, Parker, much as i like him as a player, has been pissed poor this season but he always starts ahead of Butt nonetheless, in some cirumstances he is even played alongside Butt, everyone can see they cant play together apart from Roeder it seems.. Solano has been playing the rightback position to perfection this season, but once Carr, who is very poor imo, gets fit, Solano, who isnt getting any younger, get thrown to the midfield when he has to run more than his legs can carry him.. the end result is Milner, prolly one of our best player this season, gets relegated to the sub bench, well done Roeder.. Duff, also pissed poor this season, started ahead of N'Zogbia, who is prolly one of the best young player we have, anyways.. Bramble starts in a game more often then not, need i say more?

its always other people's fault, never his.. does wonder to motivating his players i bet.. look a Mourinho, he's loudmouth and controversial, most people dun like him, but it takes pressure off his players, Roeder does the exact opposite, he points to blame to his players adding to their pressure.. we know injury crisis is a major factor in our campaign, but isnt it getting old to push the blame to it when we are what? 20 games into the season? he totally lost it when he lambasted failure is stitched to our club logo, it turned it turned everyone in Newcastle agaisnt him..

we are a big club(i love saying this despite the fact that we havent won anything for as long as i can remember), we deserve better.. i think Big Sam look good, turning unfashionable Bolton into an European contender with minimum funds, makes one wonder what he can do with players of our calibre and funds avalibable to him.. Macello Lippi out of job since he left World Cup winning Italy after the conclusion of the tournament looks an even more attractive prospect, but one i really doubt we can attract.. Sven, also out of job since the conclusion of World Cup, is better left jobless if it was ever my decision to make.. think Big Sam is our most realisitic manager-to-be.. if we cant get him, i shudder to think of our next manager..

Shadow04
08-05-2007, 12:22 AM
vote for keegan =:p i always like keegan's play style =P
he's good no doubt... but i think Keegan lost it when he surcumb to Ferguson's mind game during our 95/96 season.. he never really did recover after that imo..

dreamer75
08-05-2007, 12:34 AM
Who should Newcastle United buy in the transfer window to strengthen squad?

Shingoz
08-05-2007, 12:47 AM
I heard they are in big debt....dont think they can afford anyone expensive.

dbchoong
08-05-2007, 12:47 AM
we havent won anything for as long as i can remember

Newcastle DID win the recent Intertoto Cup. Still a cup although not a "big" cup... :)

KWSW
08-05-2007, 01:01 AM

a proper experienced center back to keep the back 4 in line and mentor talyor would be nice... and help given/harper relax abit.... :s13:

martinweng
08-05-2007, 01:09 AM
For the 2006 tournament, the format for the Cup changed. There are three rounds instead of the previous five, and the eleven winning teams from the third round went through to the second qualifying round of the UEFA Cup.[5] For the first time since the 1960s, there is provision for an actual trophy — whichever sides go furthest in the UEFA Cup will each be awarded a trophy.[6] The first winners were Newcastle United, who won the 2006 tournament outright by going further in the 2006-07 UEFA Cup than the other ten qualifiers.[7]

nice to see we win a cup by progressing the furthest

TrueBeliever_jh
08-05-2007, 05:52 AM
nice to see we win a cup by progressing the furthest
we won it. but cant defend it.. :sad:

Tyer
08-05-2007, 10:08 AM
I heard they are in big debt....dont think they can afford anyone expensive.

I understand we got a debt of 80 million pounds. Based on an attendence of 50,000 per home game, I don't think it is too big a debt as long as the fans are still going to matches and we got the TV money, etc.
But I think it will be good if we can remove some weed from the team. Cut down our wages payout and bring in more positive players. Now I am not sure if the deal for Sidwell is still on.

ShaqONeal
08-05-2007, 10:54 AM
at least Roeder wiling to resign.. then we could get a new manager b4 next season.. the new manager wil have enough time to restructure the team..

Tyer
08-05-2007, 12:00 PM
Yes, the difference between the next manager and our last 3 is that he will be hired at the beginning of the summer break where he can bring in his players/staff rather than BR, GS, GR who comes in at Aug.

MrWeiWei
08-05-2007, 12:03 PM
maybe u all can try to get wayne bridge from chel$ki ........ for C.B not much suggestion......

hoon_ki
08-05-2007, 01:32 PM
defenders defenders and more defenders... definitely a gd centre back and LB at least.. bramble, moore and onyewu should be going.. we'd be left with taylor and ramage (though he usually plays as RB).. bringing back woody would be good, has woody's permanent deal to boro been confirmed? as for LB, babayaro and bernard (where the hell is he?) simply cmi. wigan might be going down so we could probably try for leighton baines..

(edited: wigan still got chance of surviving relegation)

KWSW
08-05-2007, 01:48 PM
wayne bridge and glenn johnson... both from chelsea but at least u got a proper LB and RB... well i always aim them in FM2007 anyway :D

Shadow04
08-05-2007, 04:03 PM
wayne bridge and glenn johnson... both from chelsea but at least u got a proper LB and RB... well i always aim them in FM2007 anyway :D
LOL~ i always sign both of them for Newcastle as soon as i got the funds, they will always to be the first signing in Newcastle for me..

dont need to touch the rest of the squad, strengthen left and right back can liao.. surprisingly, Framble in the game still quite solid partnering Taylor in all games i played, so i didnt offload him..

GetFuzzy
08-05-2007, 04:14 PM
Anyway, Owen's weekly wages is 100k pounds, right?

TrueBeliever_jh
08-05-2007, 10:51 PM
Glenn Roeder's dreadful run of results ultimately proved his undoing and few would argue that he deserved to keep his job based on what was certainly relegation form over his final 16 games:

P16 W4 D5 L7 Pts 17

So why on earth would anyone even contemplate employing a manager whose form over the same 16 games reads:

P16 W4 D4 L8 Pts 16

So who is that manager? Could it be one of the relegated duo Aidy Boothroyd or Alan Pardew? No, it's Sam Allardyce - seemingly our next manager....

number games from nufc.com :s22:

up to you if you wanna believe it or not

dreamer75
08-05-2007, 11:07 PM
Sam Allardyce is the hot favourite to be the new Newcastle boss, but is he the right man for the job? You the TEAMtalk readers and jury decide.

PROSECUTION - Mark Holmes

Sam Allardyce will always be remembered as a huge success at Bolton for turning an unfashionable second-tier side into regular European contenders.

He performed a magnificent job on limited resources and I'm not trying to take that away from him, in fact I've been amazed by what he's achieved with the Trotters.

However, despite his obvious qualities I am far from convinced he is the right man for Newcastle.

The Toon Army have been starved of success for a long time now but they have not altered their aims. They see the Magpies as a club who should be challenging for titles and regularly winning silverware.

I agree with them. Newcastle are an unbelievably huge club not only in England but in world football and they need a world class manager who can finally bring the glory days back to Tyneside.

Allardyce simply is not that man. He may, although I personally doubt it, go on to become one of Europe's top bosses but he hasn't had a chance to prove himself at the top level yet.

My collegue will argue he deserves that chance now, but if I was a Newcastle fan, I wouldn't want Freddy Shepherd to take yet another risk.

I would want to see a manager come in who has won titles and trophies and achieved something in Europe. Not a man who's best achievement is a 6th placed finish in the Premiership.

Newcastle also need a boss who is known throughout Europe. Someone who top players respect and are desperate to play for.

Allardyce has a proven track record of signing 'has-beens' and successfully extending their career with the Trotters, and while this worked wonders at the Reebok, I'm not sure it would go down quite as well on Tyneside.

The fans want young, exciting and big-name players to come in. Players with long, bright futures ahead of them. Not quick-fix journeymen who will be gone again within two years.

It remains to be seen whether Allardyce can attract this sort of star and Shepherd would put his head well and truly on the block again if he gave the 52-year-old the chance at St James' Park.

Another massive reason not to appoint him is the questionable style of football his Bolton side have churned out in recent years. It has proved to be successful but it has not provided the sort of entertainment the Geordies yearn for.

The Magpies haven't played attractive football under Roeder and people will argue Allardyce would be an improvement from his regime. I agree, but how much longer must the club settle for second best?

There are some fantastic coaches in European football right now, not least Sevilla's Juande Ramos and it is this sort of personality Newcastle must seek out if they are to move forward again.

As the famous Roy Walker would say, Allardyce is 'good, but not the one'. And if you still need convincing...he's a former Mackem.

Prosecution stands

DEFENCE - James Marshment

Sam Allardyce could just be the missing link that Newcastle are waiting for. Ever since Kevin Keegan walked from St James' Park, a number of big-name appointments have tried and failed to bring the success-starved Toon faithful the trophy they crave.

Even though Keegan never actually won anything as manager, he restored Newcastle back amongst the elite and got them playing a particular brand of football that was as pleasing on the eye as anything the Premiership has ever witnessed.

Since Keegan left, Kenny Dalglish and Ruud Gullit took the club to successive FA Cup finals in 1998 and 1999 but neither were able to bring home the silverware, while the reigns of Messers Robson, Souness and Roeder yielded nothing much to crow about either.

But whilst all can claim an element of misfortune as a key component of their failure, the excuses just did not wash with the Geordie masses.

But if anyone can bring the club the trophy they are longing for, then Sam is most definitely the right man.

Since winning promotion to the Premiership with the Trotters in 2001, Allardyce has steadily turned Bolton from relegation 'certainties' into a regular top-seven outfit in each of the last four seasons. And all this by spending relatively little in the transfer market.

But Bolton just would not go the extra mile for Allardyce in the transfer market to allow for a push towards the top four, and after he missed out on the England job last summer, it was obvious he was up for a new challenge.

And now that hunger and desire to succeed could be to Newcastle's benefit - especially now as he could well be given the warchest he so often longed for at Bolton.

By recognising the star qualities of some of footballs lesser lights (be honest, who had heard of Abdoulaye Meite, Stelios Giannakopolous and Andranik Teymourian before they signed for the Trotters?), Big Sam has proved he has the knowledge and the scouting network to pick up players of genuine quality. But hand him that additional cash backing and not only will you get the best of Sam's shrewd investments, but also the star names that the extra cash will allow him to sign.

Amongst Sam's first tasks will be to a) persuade Michael Owen to stay and b) get his defence right. But Allardyce has shown with Bolton that he can not only handle the big names (Okocha, Djorkaeff and Anelka to name three), but to also get the best out of them.

And when it comes to defending, Allardyce has shown he knows how to get that area right too - after all, you don't finish in the upper echelons of the Premiership with a leaky defence. Usually based on centre-halves with a strong aerial and physical presence, it has often been felt that but for some shambolic and kamikaze defending, Newcastle could have already ended their long wait for a trophy. And if he can reproduce that formula at St James', surely the potential is there for the club to breach the top four's Premiership stranglehold.

To add further weight to Big Sam's argument, Allardyce has also shown the ability to get the best out of under-achieving players, with El-Hadji Diouf, Kevin Davies and Gary Speed all grateful in recent years for giving their careers a much-needed kick up the backside. If he can work similar magic with the likes of Kieron Dyer, Damien Duff and possibly Titus Bramble, then who knows, Allardyce could even save himself millions in the transfer market. And what price at this stage, Albert Luque yet to resurrect his Toon career under Allardyce?

Chairman Freddy Shepherd has been blasted for his managerial appointments in the past, but any move of Allardyce could yet prove his canniest appointment yet.

Defence rests.

http://www.teamtalk.com/football/story/0,16368,2483_2114202,00.html

dreamer75
08-05-2007, 11:30 PM
Glenn Roeder has expressed his "sincere thanks and affection" to Newcastle fans after standing down as manager following a disastrous season.

Former Bolton boss Sam Allardyce is favourite to succeed Roeder at St James' Park after the 51-year-old called it a day on Sunday.

"Our fans don't deserve the results we have had. They are the best fans in the country and I wanted to bring success," Roeder told the Daily Mirror.

"I'm a huge Newcastle fan. I would like to have been the person to oversee the changes so urgently required.

"I wish the new manager the best but, most importantly, I want to convey my sincere thanks and affection to all Newcastle fans.

"They have always been an inspiration to me both during my playing and managerial career. It was a great honour.

"Results have not been what I would have wished. We were dogged by horrendous injuries but I was very proud of the players."

Natsairda
09-05-2007, 12:04 AM
baines from wigan after they relegated

ShaqONeal
09-05-2007, 10:18 AM
Owen gets England nod

By SHAUN CUSTIS
May 09, 2007

COMMENT ON THIS STORY

MICHAEL OWEN will be allowed to play for England in their crucial Euro 2008 qualifier in Estonia — if he comes through Newcastle’s last game of the season at Watford.

And that will be major boost for under-fire England boss Steve McClaren.

It is understood the Toon’s manager-in-waiting, Sam Allardyce, would not prevent Owen from turning out for his country — despite the ongoing row between the club and the FA over compensation.

Chairman Freddy Shepherd has threatened to stop Owen playing in the June 1 friendly against Brazil at the new Wembley and the June 6 clash in Estonia because of the dispute.

However it is believed Allardyce wants Owen, 27, to get in as many games as possible so he is match fit for the start of next term.

The strike star is vulnerable to a sale because of clauses in his contract which mean he can leave St James’ Park for less than £10million.

But Allardyce would be hopeful of persuading Owen to stay and give the fans the full season he owes them.

Letting Owen play for England would be a good start to their relationship if, as expected, Allardyce takes over next week.

Shepherd is ready to go to war with Bolton to get his man.

Big Sam is the only name in the frame to replace Glenn Roeder but Bolton chairman Phil Gartside wants £2m compensation. Shepherd, though, is ready to use the manager’s walk-out at Notts County as ammo.

In 1999, Allardyce quit County only to pop up at Bolton just days later — and the fuming Meadow Lane club received hardly anything back while Bolton got a slap on the wrists.

Shepherd, meanwhile, has another meeting planned with FA officials.

He was not happy Newcastle’s insurers had to cough up half of Owen’s £110,000-a-week wages for an injury suffered at the World Cup. And he is angry the FA have failed to chip in for the £150,000 medical expenses.

Owen is determined to help England’s cause despite having just returned — the Watford game will be only his third appearance of the season.

And last week he said: “If I’m fit and playing for Newcastle obviously I would jump at the chance to play for my country. It’s a fantastic honour.”

seems like Sam almost very confirm to be our next manager at the end of season..

dreamer75
09-05-2007, 12:35 PM
not much choices really....

dreamer75
09-05-2007, 12:35 PM
btw bros....interested to go fo watch FA CUP final together?

join us leh...

http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?t=1605947

sgpeasant
09-05-2007, 05:39 PM
for wat leh? see man u or chelsea win the cup gives u a shiok feeling ah?

dreamer75
09-05-2007, 07:41 PM
for wat leh? see man u or chelsea win the cup gives u a shiok feeling ah?

juz to enjoy an exciting match and nothing more.

if u cant take this kinda of thing, then dun join. :)

dreamer75
09-05-2007, 07:45 PM
Sven-Goran Eriksson is interested in talking to Newcastle about the vacant manager's job, while Gerard Houllier is also keen on the position.

http://www.teamtalk.com/football/story/0,16368,2483_2116064,00.html

dreamer75
09-05-2007, 08:00 PM
Michael Owen could be on his way out of Newcastle after it emerged a £9million release clause will kick in at the end of the season.

According to reports in Wednesday's newspapers, the England striker's contract states that he can leave the club for a cut-price transfer fee if the Tyneside club fail to qualify for Europe.

The clause was included as part the deal which brought Owen to St James' Park in a £16million move from Real Madrid in August 2005 and will be activated by Newcastle's lowly Premiership finish this season.

Toon chairman Freddy Shepherd admitted when he signed Owen that clauses were included as part of the deal, saying: "Of course Michael has clauses in his contract. In this day and age, all top players do."

And if former Bolton boss Sam Allardyce is named as Newcastle's new manager in the next few days, then one of his first tasks will be to persuade the hitman to pledge his future to the club.

Manchester United, Liverpool and Chelsea are all thought to be monitoring the situation and would be able to offer Owen Champions League football and a more realistic chance of winning silverware.

But Newcastle are hoping the striker will remain loyal to the club after playing only 12 games for them in two injury-plagued seasons on Tyneside.

Owen, who still has two years to run on his contract, has recently expressed guilt at being unable to help Newcastle in their quest for honours during his time in the North East.

He said: "For the first hour when I did my cruciate, my first feeling was one of guilt, to the chairman and the fans and even down to the people who sponsor your boots and invest so much in you.

"I'm one of those people who feel sorry for others before they think of themselves. Hopefully I can make up for lost time."

But it remains to be seen if Owen will stay with the underachieving Magpies if one of the Premiership's heavyweight sides comes calling over the summer.

dreamer75
09-05-2007, 08:01 PM
ok we din qualify for Europe, will Owen leave us??

Tyer
09-05-2007, 08:11 PM
That can be a problem. But I am sure Owen will be like the rest of us. Waiting to know who is the next manager.

dbchoong
09-05-2007, 09:13 PM
Now got more choice...

Big Sam, Eriksson and Houlier...

Gus Hiddink also in the market. And if Jose leaves Chelsea, he should be available too.

Think Newcastle should shop a little bit before confirming the manager.

martinweng
09-05-2007, 09:44 PM
wtf...owen din even helped out with our season. if he leave i will condemn him forever.

Tyer
09-05-2007, 09:47 PM
And if Owen really goes, I think surely we will be in for Darren Bent.

TrueBeliever_jh
09-05-2007, 10:49 PM
sigh... got clause one :sad:

hope next season will be a better season...

please play more attacking soccer since our club sucks in defence since day 1 of EPL..

its interesting to see the names appearing to be interested in our club.. cos the players are there liaoz.. jus need the correct formula to set the morale in the locker room and stuffs...

wait wait wait..

Shadow04
09-05-2007, 11:36 PM
with only 12 games to his name, if he leaves for only 9M, lets just say he wont be making many friends in the Newcastle camp.. moreoever, he part of the reason why we arent in Europe next season in the first place, missing an entire reason due to injury.. we could really use him up front except that he was too busy seeing pyshios..

KWSW
10-05-2007, 01:04 AM
wtf...owen din even helped out with our season. if he leave i will condemn him forever.

yeah same here... i was so excited when i found out he will be playing that I actually stayed up to watch the match... was a morning match iirc...

I think if he still has a heart left, he would stay one season and try to make a difference... but if than newcastle still cmi and he leaves than not so bad I guess...

Of cos a good manager will help alot... :o

SecretZone
10-05-2007, 09:30 AM
i never really like owen.. if he leave i think i will condemn him for life =X

Natsairda
10-05-2007, 10:16 AM
get sven goran eric maybe can persuade him to stay,if he leave,make sure he vomit all the salary pay to him,100,000 pounds per week time 4 time the mths he injured and the medical fees.

SecretZone
10-05-2007, 10:42 AM
i believe a big name manager and some good signings will convince owen that NUFC will be up there fighting for cup glory..

bh0322
10-05-2007, 05:41 PM
Really hope owen can stay for another season, the reason is because I want to see him and martins play for a season.

Natsairda
10-05-2007, 07:00 PM
i want see berbatov and owen pair.

dreamer75
11-05-2007, 12:15 AM
Newcastle United hope to unveil former Bolton boss Sam Allardyce as their new manager as soon as next week.

Chairman Freddy Shepherd is confident of getting the man on whom he set his sights after Glenn Roeder's departure at the weekend, although the emergence of Gerard Houllier and Sven-Goran Eriksson as possible candidates on Wednesday has caused great interest in the north east.

It is understood Lyon boss Houllier is very interested in the post and early results from a poll conducted by the city's evening newspaper, the Evening Chronicle, indicated that those fans who have responded are more excited by the prospect of his arrival than that of Allardyce.

Eriksson was always unlikely to be a candidate, and when his agent Athole Still indicated on Wednesday that the Swede would talk to Newcastle if they contacted him, he was only responding to a hypothetical question.

However, Allardyce appears to still be in the box seat despite a lukewarm response to his proposed appointment from some supporters.

That will be a concern to Shepherd, who will not need reminding of the atmosphere which greeted Graeme Souness' arrival on Tyneside, and the fact that many fans never took to the Scot during his ill-fated reign.

Houllier's track record - he won three major trophies with Liverpool in 2001 and then added the Charity Shield and the European Super Cup, and has just landed his second French title in as many years - is impressive.

He worked with Michael Owen at Anfield, although whether or not the £17million man will remain a Newcastle player next season has been an equally pressing topic for debate in recent days.

Shepherd has hit out angrily at reports that the 27-year-old, who has played two games after returning from his 10-month injury lay-off, could be available for as little as £9million this summer.

He has reminded Owen and his representatives of the loyalty the Magpies have shown him during his two years at the club - during which he has managed just 13 appearances - and what they expect in return.

Neither Newcastle nor the Owen camp were commenting any further on the matter on Thursday, but the spat has set off alarm bells.

That is an issue the new manager will have to address as a matter of urgency, and if things go to plan, Allardyce could be dealing with it within days.

He is currently enjoying a break in Spain as Shepherd goes through the process of dealing with the details of his recruitment - principally, the compensation payment former club Bolton will demand for the two remaining years of his contract at the Reebok Stadium.

In the meantime, Roeder's number two Nigel Pearson will lead the club into Sunday's final-day clash with Watford at Vicarage Road.

He and coaches Lee Clark and Terry McDermott have been working with the players this week, and Nolberto Solano admits it has been a difficult few days.

He told the club's official website: "I feel sorry for Glenn and he tried to do his best. It is difficult when someone leaves, but that's football.

"The good thing in football is that you get another chance. We have to learn from our mistakes this season and we have to work hard to do that.

"Pre-season will be very important for us. We need a little bit of luck with getting players fit and maybe a few new faces.

"We wanted to finish in the top six this season, but unfortunately that did not happen.

"At this level you cannot just have six or seven players at the top of their game.

"Next year we need a big squad, free of injuries, if we are to compete with the top sides."

http://www.teamtalk.com/football/story/0,16368,2483_2118679,00.html

dreamer75
11-05-2007, 12:18 AM
Owen selected in England B squad

Michael Owen has been named in the England B squad for the friendly against Albania on May 25, alongside Nicky Shorey and Phil Jagielka.

http://www.teamtalk.com/football/story/0,16368,2483_2118818,00.html

dreamer75
11-05-2007, 01:03 AM
who's happy to hear this piece of news??

http://images.icnetwork.co.uk/upl/icnewcastle/sep2003/0/0/000D9AF8-9C39-1F65-9D1180BFB6FA0000.jpg

Newcastle United plan to announce Sam Allardyce as their new manager in the middle of next week.

The chances are that United will unveil the former Bolton Wanderers manager at a press conference at St James' Park.

TrueBeliever_jh
11-05-2007, 06:03 AM
who's happy to hear this piece of news??

http://images.icnetwork.co.uk/upl/icnewcastle/sep2003/0/0/000D9AF8-9C39-1F65-9D1180BFB6FA0000.jpg

Newcastle United plan to announce Sam Allardyce as their new manager in the middle of next week.

The chances are that United will unveil the former Bolton Wanderers manager at a press conference at St James' Park. i dun understand it.. why is it Big Sam... I dun think Big Sam's style is suitable for the club at all.. somemore he will buy old players one.. i dun wan this kinda thing happening to my club:sad:

must be another hasty move and i believed we will regret for doing all this

SecretZone
11-05-2007, 10:54 AM
shepherd is always so hasty in choosing manager... we are not a small club.. sure got some good manager wan to be nufc manager..

we should/must change the chairman instead =X

Kilrach
11-05-2007, 12:05 PM
you guys don't be stupid la... Sam used those tactics for bolton cause he knows it works for them. If he REALLY uses the same style for all the teams he manages then i got nothing to say. But I'm sure it's common sense to play the strength of individual teams. It's up to Sam to find out which style works best for us.

studmufn
11-05-2007, 03:18 PM
i think the question is this.. would any big club hire sam allardyce as its manager? can u imagine man u, chelsea or arsenal hiring him? i rest my case..

Tyer
11-05-2007, 03:47 PM
How abt Big Phil instead of Big Sam?

BIG PHIL EYES TOON

By Alan Nixon 11/05/2007

BIG Phil Scolari has emerged as a shock late rival for Sam Allardyce in
the race to become the next Newcastle manager.

While Allardyce is still favourite for the job, Brazilian Scolari's
agents have been in touch with the Toon in the past few days to discuss
a possible move to the Premiership.

Scolari snubbed England a year ago when Sven Goran Eriksson quit. But
Scolari, who is still under contract with Portugal, would match the
demands being made of chairman Freddy Shepherd to make a 'sexy'
appointment.

Advertisement
Shepherd would rather not bring in a foreigner, but the availability of
a World Cup winner would give any chairman reason to reconsider. A move
for Allardyce is opposed by some figures within the club although he has
been the firm favourite for the post since Glenn Roeder was forced to
resign last weekend.

Allardyce will wait to see if the Newcastle interest turns into a formal
offer - and that he is given the right funds to turn round the Geordie
outfit.

GetFuzzy
11-05-2007, 04:33 PM
For me, it's between Houllier and Big Sam. Sven is out!

Kilrach
11-05-2007, 04:35 PM
i think the question is this.. would any big club hire sam allardyce as its manager? can u imagine man u, chelsea or arsenal hiring him? i rest my case..

No i think the question is this; are we a big club? Nope, not anymore when we stopped rubbing shoulders with the big 4 in the table since seasons ago. Deal with it, then get used to it. I rest my case.

TrueBeliever_jh
11-05-2007, 07:23 PM
rest case rest case

Phil Scolari in the chase also.. haha. maybe he sees potential in our club.
its Phil or Houllier for me. No Big Sam pls.

studmufn
11-05-2007, 07:50 PM
how are we not a big club? we have good players, lots of money (that ends up being wasted), one of the biggest stadiums, enormous supporter base. the only thing we lack is the manager to bring us the success that we should be getting. so u see what my point is?

No i think the question is this; are we a big club? Nope, not anymore when we stopped rubbing shoulders with the big 4 in the table since seasons ago. Deal with it, then get used to it. I rest my case.

bh0322
11-05-2007, 08:00 PM
I want a manager that can play some attacking football, dont think Sam is a good choice, but strangely Bolton always produce results for him. But pls no Sam

Kilrach
11-05-2007, 09:38 PM
how are we not a big club? we have good players, lots of money (that ends up being wasted), one of the biggest stadiums, enormous supporter base. the only thing we lack is the manager to bring us the success that we should be getting. so u see what my point is?

Good players only in paper. Them being on the pitch is a different story (except for maybe Owen). Money? We have 80 million pounds of debt yet to be cleared. Big stadium and fan base don't count for much really.

We might have been a big club in the past but we can't use use our history as a backing anymore. It's the present that counts. Who cares what happened in the past.

So yeah we're a big club, in paper.

KWSW
11-05-2007, 09:39 PM
The former Bolton manager is expected to be unveiled as the new manager in the next few days despite the reservations of many Magpies fans who are uninspired by the brand of football Allardyce created at the Reebok Stadium.

And Solano shares their concerns. He told the Daily Star: "Sam Allardyce is a name that has gone around, although we don't know anything officially.

source (http://www.teamtalk.com/football/story/0,16368,1780_2119562,00.html)

You can take the job... but pls no boring football :o

TrueBeliever_jh
11-05-2007, 11:33 PM
You can take the job... but pls no boring football :o yah... and ppl actually wan him to come here...

i haven seen him manage other teams but he sure is not known to be an attacking style manager..
the thing is.. if we can get the attention of our more well known manager why are we settling on a manager that many dun see eye to eye with..

one of the comments:
"Nobby won,t need to change his style should Sam Allardyce take over as Sam likes big physical players to fit into his long ball game and Nobby is a cultured skillful player so he will be sold.":s13:

KWSW
12-05-2007, 12:34 AM
he sell nobby... i will condemn him... bloody hell...

i rather take sven any day any time... at least he is more proven at club level...

dreamer75
12-05-2007, 12:37 AM

i agree wif u, we aren't a big club anymore.

a big club lingering at mid or bottom half of the table for the past 2 or 3 seasons....? :s22:

dreamer75
12-05-2007, 12:38 AM
rest case rest case

Phil Scolari in the chase also.. haha. maybe he sees potential in our club.
its Phil or Houllier for me. No Big Sam pls.

i like Scolari :D

dreamer75
12-05-2007, 12:42 AM
Scott Parker is out of Newcastle United's final match of the season against Watford at Vicarage Road after undergoing a hernia operation.

And United are keeping their fingers crossed that Damien Duff will be fit for the start of the new season after undergoing an operation on his foot.

Parker's operation is the 11th by a United player since Michael Owen damaged his knee ligaments playing for England in the World Cup in Germany on June 20 and it just about sums up their injury-ridden season.

It means that for the second season in a row the skipper has missed the end of the season after going down with glandular fever last April and United supporters can be forgiven for wondering whether they will see the England international midfielder in a black and white shirt again.

Meanwhile, Duff is back recuperating in Dublin feeling pretty miserable at the operation on his foot, which the Irish fear could keep him out for up to six months.

The word from Dublin today was that Irish manager Steve Staunton is worried that he will have to be without one of his key players until October.

But United are banking on their new manager having the Republic of Ireland winger back for the start of the season.

Looking at the Duff situation, I wonder just what the Portsmouth supporters who jeered the United player in the defeat at Fratton Park last month when he was carried off with has foot injury because they thought he was play-acting think of it all today.

What Duff's club and international colleague Shay Given was thinking of was a return to the United side at Vicarage Road on Sunday.

Given has not played since limping off with groin trouble in the game with Arsenal at St James' in April, but he would love to get back into action for the last match of the season - and the word from the training ground is that he has a 50-50 chance.

The odds on Steven Taylor, who missed Saturday's defeat by Blackburn Rovers with a thigh strain, returning at Watford are about the same.

dreamer75
12-05-2007, 12:46 AM
Current Poll results by ChronicleLive

Who's the man to lead NUFC?

Sam Allardyce
43.20%
Gerard Houllier
50.79%
Sven-Göran Eriksson
6.01%

dreamer75
12-05-2007, 12:49 AM
Glenn Roeder left St James' Park praising the Newcastle fans after standing down as manager, despite angry scenes following the defeat to Blackburn when a section called for him to leave.

Glenn Roeder: "Our fans don't deserve the results we have had. They are the best fans in the country and I wanted to bring success. I'm a huge Newcastle fan. I would like to have been the person to oversee the changes so urgently required.

"I wish the new manager the best but, most importantly, I want to convey my sincere thanks and affection to all Newcastle fans.

"They have always been an inspiration to me both during my playing and managerial career. It was a great honour.

"Results have not been what I would have wished. We were dogged by horrendous injuries but I was very proud of the players."

Inexperienced in working with star players, lacking the motivation skills needed to manage in the Premiership, and found wanting at the highest level. It maybe a harsh assessment of a manager who wanted success on Tyneside just as much as the Toon Army ... but it will forever stay with him ... he wasn't up to the job.

If you believe his first interview as Newcastle manager, he didn't even WANT the job in the first place!

Roeder: "Normally, the first question a caretaker manager gets asked is, 'Do you want the job?'. The answer is always no, but most caretaker managers actually do. I don't -and that's the truth.

"This is not a job for me. I'm capable of doing the job in the short-term - whether that's one week, one month or to the end of the season.

"But, in the longer-term, I'm not interested. After everything that happened at West Ham, I sat down with my wife and we came to a joint decision. It's not something I'm going to go back on."

Roeder steadied the ship after Souness, and he proved more than capable of doing a decent job in the short term. But we should have moved on there and then. Instead Shepherd saw a Toon fan in the hot seat, and of course, he didn't have o pay another club compensation to get him. He was a quick fix, and, as it turns out, nothing more.

But just as was at West Ham, Watford and Gillingham ... he was out of his depth.

Football has changed from the days when Roeder was a Newcastle player. The Premiership demands charisma and personality, and I often wondered how he tried to motivate his players when his interviews were guaranteed to send you to sleep if they lasted more than 30 seconds.

Kevin Keegan had inspirational leadership and astute man-management skills, Roeder failed in just about every department. A nice guy ... but lacking as a manager ... and in truth the players knew it very quickly.

You look down the road at Roy Keane and the way he works. Would you see half-hearted (at times pathetic) displays by Damien Duff, Kieron Dyer, Stephen Carr, Scott Parker and Celestine Babayaro if Keane was the gaffa?

The infamous interview with Jonathan Woodgate when the defender said he was far from impressed with the Toon manager put a nail in his coffin. Freddy Shepherd wanted Woodgate to return, set the deal in motion, and Roeder blew it. That was the turning point of the manager/chairman relationship.

Shepherd sacked Roeder's assistant Kevin Bond and Roeder wasn't even told about it! Shepherd organised for James Milner to go for a medical at Aston Villa, only to hastily order to change direction when a move for Mark Viduka fell through at the final minute.

Roeder was Shepherd's puppet ... and now we wait to see who takes his place.

martinweng
12-05-2007, 09:14 AM
i tink i will go for big sam

im tired of looking at world class manager liao.

wad we need is a big time disciplinarian. 1 where bramble would never touch the pitch of SJP.

even if we have houllier or SGE, they juz gonna sign those expensive defenders which will turn out to be boumsongs.

but with big sam, the players gonna work their a55 off every week. dats wad i wan to see. hardworking players and not players dat bend over and lose to Sheffield united at home.

i dun mind bolton style of play. look at arsenal, attractive football dun = success. we are done with suicidal tactics, now lets do the hide-in-turtle-shell and counter attack football.

dreamer75
12-05-2007, 10:45 AM
i tink i will go for big sam

im tired of looking at world class manager liao.

wad we need is a big time disciplinarian. 1 where bramble would never touch the pitch of SJP.

even if we have houllier or SGE, they juz gonna sign those expensive defenders which will turn out to be boumsongs.

but with big sam, the players gonna work their a55 off every week. dats wad i wan to see. hardworking players and not players dat bend over and lose to Sheffield united at home.

i dun mind bolton style of play. look at arsenal, attractive football dun = success. we are done with suicidal tactics, now lets do the hide-in-turtle-shell and counter attack football.

at the end of the day, its the results that counts.

dreamer75
12-05-2007, 10:49 AM
By HTT On Mon 7 May 2007 |

It seems to me there are a few of us more than concerned at the possibility of Big Sam Allardyce managing our beloved Toon and while there are a few valid points in and amongst these concerns, most are superficial and need not concern us.

Ex mackem - So what. Only a true cretin would - out of a whole list of plus points - use such a meaningless statistic to rule against someone. He only played 27 games for them, just a few more than Wor Jackie…

Panorama programme - More hyperbole than actual substance. Big Sam has never been charged or found guilty of taking bungs. He’s conducted over 200 transfers in and out since becoming a manager, all those breadcrumbs and nothing but conjecture and accusations says a lot.

Style of football - Firstly it is a bit of a myth that Bolton play ****e football. They use the long ball just as much as Chelsea and Liverpool do. Secondly they play better football than we have done over the past few years, as was on show when they beat us at SJP earlier on in the season. Thirdly who gives a **** about being entertained, give me results and success over that all day long. Fat lot of good entertainment has done us over the years anyway. Lastly, you’d have to be an idiot to expect a manager not to be able to adapt something as simple as a pattern of play, given that this manager in particular has been doing it every year he’s been in charge of Bolton. Don’t believe me, ask one of their fans. Furthermore, you don’t sign and play technically gifted players like Campo, Djorkaef, Okocha, Anelka, Diouf and others and actually get them performing if all you are is a “long ball team”.

Attracting top players - The fact this concerns a lot of fans whenever a new manager is up for grabs, says a lot about how some value our trophy players here. I would gladly swap half of our so-called top players, the Duffs, Luques, Parkers and other big money signings for half of Bolton’s team which cost a full total of zero to assemble due to Big Sam’s knack at building a team of a transfer budget of zero effectively. But do not fret because being able to attract top players has never been a problem at Newcastle even for poor managers like Souness and Roeder, now getting them to perform…. that’s what’s important and more of an issue. Money talks, we could have Hitler in charge and we’d be able to buy top players so long as we continue to dangle enough money in their and their clubs’ face which we are experts at doing.

Dealing with pressure/expectations - God, you’d think this is the only club that has to live with pressure and expectations. We create half the pressure ourselves or bring it on ourselves, yet should any manager win a mere League Cup he’d be a king, 6 games to become a King? Hell, he’d get a civic reception if he lost a Final (Dalglish & Gullit). Pressure? Newcastle should be the easiest club in the world to manage. All you need to do is sign trophy players, play attractive football and nearly win something, and you’ll become a messiah. Seriously, the margin of pressure at a club like Bolton and Newcastle is very thin or not that different. At Bolton the pressure is on to stay up, to somehow compete with those around you who are much bigger and have bigger kitties, at Newcastle it’s top 6 and a good cup run (we gave up hope of trophies long ago or should do). By the way - expectations at Bolton under Big Sam (self imposed expectations I might add) top 6 and a good cup run. Same as wors.

Now look at the pros…

Man management skills - check
Tactical acumen - check
Good grasp of worldwide transfer markets - check
Match preparation - check
Motivational skills - check
Good grasp of fitness and diet techniques - check
Improving players - check (made Michael Rickets into an England player)
Spotting unknown talent - check (Ben Haim, their ‘keeper and countless others)
Discipline - check
Bringing through any available youth - check
Improving a club’s all-round status such as league, financial and playing/coaching wise - check
Working with a limited budget - check
Mapping out strategies, plans and future improvements - check
Use of technology to aid players, club and results - check

Nah, not for us.

Once a mackem…
Those bung allegations…
Long ball football…

Big Sam? Yes please!

PS: From the horses mouth…

“If I was a manager of a top club with top players and huge resources, my players would be better than the other team’s players 95 per cent of the time and we’d play a different style to how we do at Bolton, although there would be a lot of core values that I’d want to retain.”

usjag_18
12-05-2007, 10:49 AM
Guys, I am just curious.. All of U wanna 2 have Eriksson, Houllier or Big Sam as ur manager??

I think if I am a supporter, I'll rather go for Eriksson and Big Sam... Houllier only slow a team down w/some of his tactics...

TrueBeliever_jh
12-05-2007, 10:52 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cWx5RK1G9c0

is this for real :s22:

anyway.. i still have faith in our club. yes i agree on papers we are top there...
and ppl keep saying newcastle is an underachievement club, means ppl also recognized that we have wat it takes to be up there.

time for me to hit breakfast..

dreamer75
12-05-2007, 11:11 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cWx5RK1G9c0

is this for real :s22:

anyway.. i still have faith in our club. yes i agree on papers we are top there...
and ppl keep saying newcastle is an underachievement club, means ppl also recognized that we have wat it takes to be up there.

time for me to hit breakfast..

saw this b4...dun think its true bah.... :s22:

Kilrach
12-05-2007, 12:28 PM
Guys, I am just curious.. All of U wanna 2 have Eriksson, Houllier or Big Sam as ur manager??

I think if I am a supporter, I'll rather go for Eriksson and Big Sam... Houllier only slow a team down w/some of his tactics...

Are you kidding? Look at what Houllier did with Liverpool and now Lyon. He would be the man amongst the 3 of them.

MrWeiWei
12-05-2007, 12:31 PM
Are you kidding? Look at what Houllier did with Liverpool and now Lyon. He would be the man amongst the 3 of them.
if u all want attacking football.... houllier is confirm out liaoz......

Wryer
12-05-2007, 12:35 PM
Houllier has the European experience. I don't think you can call Lyon a defensive team. Its the players that make the team.

Houllier for Newcastle would be great. But i think Newcastle will see Fat Sam.

MrWeiWei
12-05-2007, 12:37 PM
Houllier has the European experience. I don't think you can call Lyon a defensive team. Its the players that make the team.

b4 houllier goes to lyon, lyon was in fact an even more attacking minded team.....

Kennedy
12-05-2007, 12:50 PM

can't believe Newcastle are going for Big Sam instead of Houllier or Sven whom could be interested.

Sven led England to just 4 defeats in 67 competitive matches for England - I reckon Big Sam will led Newcastle to 4 defeats in less than 10 games.

Both Houllier and Sven are Michael Owen "football daddy" and if either take the job, Mickey could stay.

GetFuzzy
12-05-2007, 01:03 PM
I will go for Houllier!

Wryer
12-05-2007, 01:15 PM
b4 houllier goes to lyon, lyon was in fact an even more attacking minded team.....

But he did'nt change their style isn't it? He went on with the all out attack approach.

wj1990
12-05-2007, 08:35 PM
i predit owen will stay because of a word called "loyalty"

KWSW
12-05-2007, 08:39 PM
i predit owen will stay because of a word called "loyalty"

i hope so... i really wanna see owen become the next legend at newcastle :o

TrueBeliever_jh
12-05-2007, 09:49 PM
Allardyce on verge of Newcastle job

LONDON, May 12 (Reuters) - Former Bolton Wanderers manager Sam Allardyce appears poised to take over at Newcastle United, according to newspaper reports early on Saturday.

Allardyce, who ended an eight-year spell at Bolton when he quit the Premier League club last month, held talks with Newcastle chairman Freddy Shepherd on Friday. Shepherd likened the 52-year-old former central defender to Joe Harvey, who was at the helm when Newcastle last won a trophy in the 1969 Fairs Cup, the forerunner to the UEFA Cup. 'The club needs a lift and Sam is the nearest I've seen to a replica of Joe Harvey,' Shepherd was quoted as saying. 'I am excited, Sam is excited, and we are looking forward to making this work. 'We had a good meeting and will continue discussions over the weekend but everything went okay. You don't wrap up something like this in two minutes.' Former club captain Glenn Roeder resigned as Newcastle manager earlier this week. Newcastle, who finish the season with a visit to Watford on Sunday, are 13th in the Premiership.the wait is almost over. guess some of us will be very delighted while ppl liked me will feel disappointed. hasty hasty.. i must say. makes you think if Big Sam's resignation is a setup

United_Treble
12-05-2007, 09:55 PM
newcastle will beat watford tomo, no worries

TrueBeliever_jh
12-05-2007, 10:01 PM
newcastle will beat watford tomo, no worries
we have not win our last away match since the start of epl.. wat are you talking about?:crazy:

GetFuzzy
12-05-2007, 10:19 PM
Big Sam is taking over? I want Houllier!

United_Treble
12-05-2007, 10:23 PM
we have not win our last away match since the start of epl.. wat are you talking about?:crazy:thats doesnt mean u all cant win tomo

GetFuzzy
12-05-2007, 10:27 PM
I think it's a hasty decision to appoint Big Sam as the manager. :(

KWSW
12-05-2007, 10:33 PM
Big Sam is taking over? I want Houllier!

no Houllier at least get sven... Big Sam... I really dunno leh... :o

TrueBeliever_jh
12-05-2007, 10:34 PM
I think it's a hasty decision to appoint Big Sam as the manager. :(
i dun understand wats the rush man..
the season has ended...

jus sit back and re-evaluate wats wrong with the club for the past 10 years with 5 different managers.. are the managers to be blame... or the players to be blame.. or maybe the chairman is to be blame..

lets see wats the odds as in how long Big Sam will be holding on this position..

GetFuzzy
13-05-2007, 12:25 AM
You see, at least Houllier has won a few things. What has Big Sam got? Yes, he may have brought Bolton to a new level, but that may not be good enough for Newcastle. It's a bit too hasty. Big Sam might just be like the previous managers. Houllier could do a better job I think. I really don't know, good luck!

United_Treble
13-05-2007, 12:37 AM
with current newcastle woe, any manager come just accept dun pick. u guys r at wrong half of table, u guys have been cursing and blaming for years, u guys not tired meh, even new manager come still complain argue and choosy

Kilrach
13-05-2007, 12:45 AM
Cause we know we can get better managers?

dreamer75
13-05-2007, 03:09 AM
http://images.icnetwork.co.uk/upl/icnewcastle/may2007/1/5/5135C0BE-F6DE-7440-E5F4931B64E4D169.jpg

Sam Allardyce will sign a four-year contract worth £12m when he becomes Newcastle United manager next week.

United are facing a compensation claim from Bolton Wanderers regarding their former manager but Freddy Shepherd obviously believes that Allardyce is going to be worth every penny.

Shepherd is clearly confident that he has got his man after a leading national newspaper was tipped off over their meeting in Claridge's in London.

United could hardly have chosen a more public place to let the world know that they were meeting Allardyce, and it is in stark contrast to when they met Kenny Dalglish in a quiet hotel off the M6 when the Scot became their manager in 1997.

The Chronicle reported on Thursday that Allardyce would be unveiled by United in the middle of next week and this will be the case.

All that is needed is for Allardyce to mull over what happened in his talks with Shepherd yesterday and for his contract to be rubber-stamped at a board meeting at St James' Park on Monday.

And the fact that United have offered Allardyce a four-year contract rules out any chance of Alan Shearer returning to the club as manager in the immediate future.

However, what the immediate future holds for United is to see who Allardyce brings in as his backroom staff, although I expect him to offer Lee Clark the chance to stay as Reserve team coach.

Big Sam has always had a large backroom staff at the Reebok Stadium but with the question of compensation still to be sorted out, the last thing United will want to do is upset Bolton chairman Phil Gartside.

I have spoken to former United men Gary Speed and Neil McDonald this week, both of whom worked with Allardyce at the Reebok, and it would not surprise me if either - or indeed both - returned to St James' Park.

One of the things that has impressed Shepherd about the way Allardyce has worked at the Reebok Stadium is the lack of injuries Bolton have had in recent seasons.

Indeed, while United players have lost over 400 hours of playing time this season because of injuries, Bolton only lost 70.

And this was because Allardyce and his backroom staff came up with a formula to prevent injuries before they happen.

United fans will wait to see how much Allardyce is given to spend but it will not be a lot as the club has never really recovered financially from spending almost £30m in one week on Michael Owen and Albert Luque.

But Newcastle have not been letting the grass grow under their feet on the question of new players, and the Chronicle revealed yesterday that a delegation from St James' Park had a meeting with top European agent Mike Morris in Monte Carlo on Thursday night.

Shepherd and Allardyce plus their back-up men met in Claridge's for three hours and it's a fair bet a lot of time was spent discussing Michael Owen's situation at St. James' Park.

And I have to say there is a fair chance that Owen will not be a United player come the start of the season.

dreamer75
13-05-2007, 03:11 AM
SATURDAY: Newcastle United are beaten 2-0 by Blackburn Rovers at St James' Park - and there is a post-match demonstration by some fans against chairman Freddy Shepherd and manager Glenn Roeder.

SUNDAY: Roeder is summoned to St James' Park just before noon and the outcome is the parting of ways between the manager and the club.

By mid-afternoon, news filters through that Roeder is no longer manager of Newcastle United.

MONDAY: The Chronicle's Sam's The Man front page headline is beamed out on Sky Television by 10am and goes around the world.

TUESDAY: The Chronicle reports that Shepherd is ready to go to war with Bolton Wanderers over Allardyce about the tricky matter of compensation.

WEDNESDAY: The Chronicle reveals that both Sven-Goran Eriksson and Gerard Houllier are interested in replacing Roeder.

And that United would probably miss out on Steve Sidwell after Chelsea and Everton moved in on the Reading midfielder.

We also reported former United skipper Bobby Moncur's backing for Allardyce.

THURSDAY: The Chronicle said that United would unveil Allardyce in the middle of next week after a deal is rubber-stamped at a board meeting on Monday.

FRIDAY: The Chronicle reported that a United delegation had made a hush-hush trip to Monte Carlo to talk to top European agent Mike Morris, who did a lot of deals with Allardyce in his time as manager of Bolton Wanderers.

Chief operating officer Russell Cushing is spotted at the Central Station at the crack of dawn boarding a train for London and things start to hot up.

SATURDAY: Pictures are revealed of Shepherd and Allardyce meeting at a top London hotel and there is now no doubt that Big Sam will be named as Newcastle United manager next week.

martinweng
13-05-2007, 08:41 AM
G.Souness Number 2?

TrueBeliever_jh
13-05-2007, 09:55 AM
Owen not in his plan afterall i guess.... loyal this loyal that.. bullsh!t..

we got too much money to spend liaoz... 12m... he is more ex than my Martins now..

tmd.. FS didnt even think about other names and insisted on Big Sam... gg..

Freddy's £12m signing....

From the Sunday Telegraph:

Sam Allardyce has been offered a £3m-per-annum, four-year contract to take charge of Newcastle United and become the Premiership's third best paid manager behind Jose Mourinho and Sir Alex Ferguson.

Newcastle could have appointed the former Liverpool manager Gerard Houllier, now at Lyon, and even the ex-England coach Sven-Goran Eriksson for less. However, Freddy Shepherd, the St James' Park chairman, declined to take calls from their representatives last week, despite Houllier topping polls of Geordie fans asked to name their preferred choice as Glenn Roeder's successor. It is understood that Alan Shearer was sounded out but he is happy working for the BBC and travelling the world as an ambassador for the club.

With the board expected to ratify the former Bolton manager's £12 m deal at a specially convened meeting tomorrow, Allardyce - who had originally hoped to succeed Stuart Pearce at Manchester City - is poised to be formally appointed on Tuesday or Wednesday.

By then he could be fielding telephone calls from the Quest team run by Lord Stevens and in the final throes of completing their long-running investigation into corruption in football. Quest are apparently keen to question Allardyce for a third time, in this instance about the transfers of Israeli duo Tal Ben Haim and Idan Tal to Bolton, but with the Stevens inquiry due to make its final report to the Premier League this week and issue a public statement by the end of the month they are fast running out of time.

Newcastle are believed to have been reassured that Allardyce - who loomed large in a BBC Panorama special on abuse of the transfer system last year - has not been in receipt of illegal 'bungs'.

Quite apart from paying Allardyce roughly three times the salary afforded to Roeder, who resigned last Sunday, and around seven times the £400,000 Sheffield United's Neil Warnock has earned this season, Shepherd will almost certainly need to negotiate a compensation package with Bolton. Allardyce had two years remaining of his contract at the Reebok when he walked out a fortnight ago but a compromise may be reached if the new manager agrees not to poach key members of his former Bolton staff.

Bolton employ an unprecedented 21-strong, backroom team including sports scientists, psychologists and IT experts and have newly offered Mike Forde, their highly regarded performance director, an improved contract. Forde was regarded by many as Allardyce's key lieutenant and the in-coming Newcastle manager would seemingly like nothing better than to have him by his side on Tyneside.

Nevertheless Bolton are braced to lose Gary Speed, their newly-appointed player coach and a former Newcastle midfielder, to a similar role at St James' Park where the coaching staff could also be augmented by Neil McDonald, currently the Carlisle United manager. Allardyce apparently convinced an initially sceptical Shepherd of the need to employ so many assistants by comparing the number of potential playing hours Newcastle players have lost to injury this season with those forfeited by Bolton personnel.

While Roeder's squad spent a collective total of approximately 400 hours sidelined, Allardyce's men were indisposed for just 70. However, another statistic 'Big Sam' presumably did not mention over lunch with Shepherd at Claridges in London on Friday is that in his last 16 games in charge of the Wanderers they took just 16 points; in contrast, the unfortunate Roeder's Newcastle collected 17 points from his final 16 matches.

The worst of Newcastle's injuries was sustained on England duty by Michael Owen last summer and arguably cost Roeder - who last Sunday asked Shepherd to give him until Christmas to prove himself before realising resignation was his only option - the chance to implement the major re-structuring of the squad he was planning for this summer.

Allardyce, though, could be forced to cope without Owen, who seems increasingly likely to be sold after the revelation that his contract includes a release clause stating that the striker can leave for £9 million.

Perhaps partly in anticipation of this, a Newcastle delegation last week held a meeting in Monte Carlo with Mike Morris, a Monaco-based agent who has worked closely with Allardyce on transfers, to discuss potential new signings.

third best paid manager... he sure got lotsa proving to do.

dbchoong
13-05-2007, 11:24 AM
Somehow Newcastle are probably the most difficult club to manage. Even SBR who is probably the most successful manager for England in the past 40 years and who has managed clubs like PSV, Porto and Barca did not manage to win anything with Newcastle.

If you really check out Roeder's record, it is pretty good. He just was so unlucky with so many major injuries. Just see what happened to Chelsea when they had 1 (yes ONE) John Terry injured. Roeder had like 12 players injured at one time.

Let's see if Sam will become a success or not.

martinweng
13-05-2007, 01:49 PM
Somehow Newcastle are probably the most difficult club to manage. Even SBR who is probably the most successful manager for England in the past 40 years and who has managed clubs like PSV, Porto and Barca did not manage to win anything with Newcastle.

If you really check out Roeder's record, it is pretty good. He just was so unlucky with so many major injuries. Just see what happened to Chelsea when they had 1 (yes ONE) John Terry injured. Roeder had like 12 players injured at one time.

Let's see if Sam will become a success or not.

his record?

he caused gillingham, watford and west ham to relegate.

i will rather he be called a newbie manager.

ShaqONeal
13-05-2007, 04:09 PM
hopefully, Sam can solve our defence problem..

anyway, i personally think Sam should be okay.. but if Sven better.. woohoo..

KWSW
13-05-2007, 07:15 PM
and best is can keep owen as well :)

Natsairda
13-05-2007, 09:33 PM
heard espn sae owen going man u,viduka coming in newcastle

o0SpaceY0o
13-05-2007, 10:05 PM
hw come martins not playing?

TrueBeliever_jh
13-05-2007, 10:33 PM
not too sure man...

0-1 liaoz...

KWSW
13-05-2007, 11:02 PM
yup dyer scored...

GetFuzzy
13-05-2007, 11:04 PM
heard espn sae owen going man u,viduka coming in newcastleWTH! Sign McCarthy instead! LOL! Owen is leaving? :(

KWSW
13-05-2007, 11:13 PM
1 - 1... sianz

TrueBeliever_jh
13-05-2007, 11:17 PM
hahaha
1-1 liaoz..

TrueBeliever_jh
13-05-2007, 11:54 PM
you guys gonna see the stats of this game.... this is probably our most defensive game this season

KWSW
13-05-2007, 11:55 PM
0 shot off target 1 shot on target... 1 goal... sniper... haha... from teamtalk live score

GetFuzzy
14-05-2007, 12:13 AM
What a season for the Magpies. Let's hope for a better season ahead. :)

TrueBeliever_jh
14-05-2007, 05:56 AM
hmmm.. Owen got injured again... sigh:sad:
will this be the very last match to see Owen in our jersey...

dreamer75
14-05-2007, 10:02 AM
1-1 at bottom watford summed up our season :s27:

SecretZone
14-05-2007, 10:32 AM
at least the season finally ended.. look forward to the coming season :)

hoping for some good signing.. especially in the defence department..

mean while, waiting for champ league final.. AC Milan FTW!! :D

dreamer75
14-05-2007, 09:51 PM
http://images.icnetwork.co.uk/upl/icnewcastle/nov2006/6/4/E6747639-FD63-FD8E-CE6CAE170C994D18.jpg

May 14 2007

By Alan Oliver, The Evening Chronicle

Newcastle United's £10m man Obafemi Martins walked out on the club yesterday, putting his future at St James' Park in doubt.

And to add to United's misery, caretaker manager Nigel Pearson was forced to remove French midfielder Charles N'Zogbia from the subs' bench for the game at Watford during the pre-match team meeting in their Hertfordshire hotel.

Now United will be even more determined to push through the appointment of Sam Allardyce because it will take a manager of his standing to sort out the mess at St James' Park.

United flew back to Tyneside last night after their 1-1 draw with Watford without Martins. But N'Zogbia travelled back with the team group and at least had the good grace to look sheepish after his tantrum.

A United source told me today: "When the team reported on Saturday for training, Oba Martins declared himself unfit, even though the medical people could find nothing wrong with him.

"He did not want to travel, but Nigel Pearson and Lee Clark, who were in charge of the team, told him he had to get on the plane and that he would have to undergo a fitness test at Watford yesterday morning.

"On Sunday morning he did not have a fitness test but declared himself unfit. He said that he had no intention of going to Vicarage Road, even though he was ordered to by the coaches as he was still a member of the squad and everyone should stick together.

"As a result, Martins did not go to Vicarage Road. He did not fly back with the team and at this moment in time nobody knows where he is."

While all this was going on with Martins, N'Zogbia was infuriating senior members of the United team with his behaviour.

The source added: "In the team meeting, while Nigel Pearson and Lee Clark were going over tactics, N'Zogbia was texting on his mobile phone.

"Some of the senior palyers were furious, and as a result N'Zogbia was removed from the substitutes' bench."

In my view, N'Zogbia has contributed very little to United this season, and Glenn Roeder substituted him at half-time in the recent defeat at Portsmouth because of his attitude.

Martins has scored 17 goals in his first season for United, some of them truly fantastic, but in the nine games since the UEFA Cup defeat by AZ Alkmaar in Holland, he has only managed one.

In the first leg at St James' Park he scored twice and had a blinder, but he refused to go to the sponsors' lounge and accept his man of the match trophy. As a result, United have now implemented a rule that any player not meeting the sponsors - who pour millions of pounds into the club - will be fined a fortnight's wages.

Despite having some truly great professionals at the club like Shay Given, Steve Harper, Nicky Butt and youngsters Steven Taylor, James Milner and Peter Ramage, there is no doubt that morale and discipline has been lacking from some players in the latter part of the season.

Earlier in the season, Nobby Solano and Albert Luque had been ordered by Roeder to board the team bus going to Middlesbrough after they found out they were not in the manager's starting line-up.

In addition, Craig Moore has been conspicuous by his absence lately because United felt he was spending too much time in Glasgow.

And what about Kieron Dyer? His lack of celebration when he scored yesterday gave fans I have spoken to the impression that he could be on his way out of St James' Park in the summer.

And, in my opinion, so too will Michael Owen.

On the N'Zogbia situation, caretaker manager Nigel Pearson said: "He was on the bench originally, but I changed it. Charles did not really want to be there (on the bench).

"I have no idea whether he stayed at the ground to watch the game.

"You can make your own judgements about it, but it is very important that everyone associated with the club acts in a professional manner.

"Will there be disciplinary action taken? That is something for the coming week."

dreamer75
14-05-2007, 09:54 PM

AWOL..................

dreamer75
14-05-2007, 09:56 PM
http://images.icnetwork.co.uk/upl/icnewcastle/dec2004/0/3/000501A9-DB98-11CF-8D9F80BFB6FA0000.jpg

May 14 2007

By Alan Oliver, The Evening Chronicle

Newcastle United are hoping to announce the appointment of Sam Allardyce as their new manager on Wednesday.

After Freddy Shepherd's much-publicised meeting with Allardyce at Claridge's hotel in London on Friday, negotiations continued today in what is a D-Day for the club.

And a United source told me: "Both the chairman and Sam Allardyce are keen to push this through as quickly as possible, but it ain't over until the fat lady sings."

This latter reference is to the fact that Manchester City are expected to sack former United defender Stuart Pearce in the next 48 hours and Allardyce has always had a hankering to take charge at City.

Allardyce has been at Bolton Wanderers for eight years and his wife and family are settled in the North West, so a move to City would seem appealing in this respect.

But I understand that Allardyce has set his heart on St James' Park and he is most definitely the man Shepherd wants.

That's why Friday's meeting at Claridge's was leaked and why it was held in Mayfair and not in some cafe on the M6.

But United do not expect to be in a position to unveil Allardyce until Wednesday.

Allardyce was at the Reebok Stadium yesterday saying goodbye to Bolton Wanderers, and the phone wires will be hot between Tyneside and Lancashire today.

Allardyce's salary, the length of his contract, and the number in his backroom staff, will all be finalised.

The amount Big Sam will have to spend in the summer has already been discussed with reports ranging from £25m to £40m.

But really figures are just being plucked out of the air and I don't believe Allardyce, who is used to wheeling and dealing at Bolton, will have anywhere near either of these amounts.

When Glenn Roeder went so did United's hopes of signing Steve Sidwell, but it would not surprise me in the least if Newcastle's interest in Middlesbrough striker Mark Viduka was rekindled.

He is on freedom of contract and, after playing in front of all those empty seats at the Riverside, there is no doubt the Aussie international would relish the chance of coming to St James' Park.

Allardyce has already been linked with Abel Xavier and Joey Barton but, in the case of the latter, the Manchester City midfielder is waiting to hear whether he is going to charged with grievous bodily harm after his alleged attack on a team-mate last week.

dreamer75
14-05-2007, 10:01 PM
Perhaps Glenn Roeder shouldn't feel so bad about losing the backing of some of his squad. Because on this evidence, some of Newcastle United's over-pampered stars have shown us they aren't prepared to play for any manager on the planet.

Their apparent reluctance to play for the man in the hotseat extends further too.

It seems some don't want to play for the magnificent set of supporters who follow the black-and-whites through thick and thin, the board who make their fantastic careers a possibility, but most importantly of all, play for the famous club badge.

An emotionally-charged week - which has included a chase for incoming boss Sam Allardyce - was supposed to end with a low-key visit to relegated Watford at Vicarage Road.

But don't forget Newcastle United can't do low-key.

Two players cried off before the kick-off, United's prize asset left the field on a stretcher and, afterwards, two of the senior players in the squad, Nicky Butt and Shay Given, finally lost patience with some of their team-mates and read the riot act!

Fat chance of a quiet one here.

It was difficult to work out which side has been relegated at times.

Oba Martins claimed he was injured and refused to travel to Vicarage Road, after being reluctant to fly down at all.

Then we have Charles N'Zogbia - a player who seemingly had the world at his feet when he burst on to the scene two years ago after being discovered by Sir Bobby Robson.

The loss of his father last year and the departure of his close pal Jean Alain Boumsong hardly helped the young Frenchman's career at the start of this season.

And the arrival of left winger Damien Duff, coupled with a nasty knee injury at Chelsea in December, simply made matters worse.

Yet in the last six weeks, N'Zogbia has been one of United's least effective players.

At Portsmouth, he was hauled off at half-time, and yesterday refused to take his place on the bench.

Not content with that, N'Zogbia stormed away from Vicarage Road with his belongings only to return after the game to re-join the rest of the United squad.

ThuGx__
15-05-2007, 06:31 PM
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id=430368&cc=4716

dreamer75
15-05-2007, 06:46 PM
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id=430368&cc=4716

expected...........

dreamer75
15-05-2007, 06:49 PM
One of Allardyce's first jobs will be to tackle the dressing room unrest which came to the fore over the weekend when £10million striker Obafemi Martins and French midfielder Charles N'Zogbia were absent from the 16 for the final-day clash with Watford.

And perhaps even more pressing is the task of resolving Michael Owen's future at St James' Park, with the England striker having been linked with a £9million exit despite his season being almost completely wiped out by injury.

ShaqONeal
15-05-2007, 09:13 PM
did Owen said he wanna stay?? i will get piss off if he said he wanna leave..

I believe Sam can sort out the thing.. and he can be our manager longer.. and of course mange us better..

dreamer75
15-05-2007, 09:56 PM
May 15 2007

By The Evening Chronicle

New Newcastle United boss Sam Allardyce plans to sit down with Michael Owen and convince the England striker his future is at St James' Park.

There is so much for Big Sam to sort out in his new job, but Owen is undoubtedly at the top of his agenda.

The United manager told me today: "One of the first things I will be doing is sitting down with Michael Owen and having a little chat with him.

"I will be asking him does he want to stay with us or go? Obviously I would like him to stay because he has that rare commodity of being able to score goals.

"What I think Michael needs is more time to get on track for us and hopefully he will decide to take that time."

Allardyce revealed that he had been watching and listening to Owen's big mate Alan Shearer talking on television about what a new manager has to do at St James' Park.

He said: "I have been taking in what Alan Shearer has been saying and I can sense just how impatient everybody is for things to be put right here."

"I will expect all my staff to work 24-7 just like I will be doing.

"We will be working as a family unit and it does not matter if we don't like each other because our only aim to is bring success to this football club.

"In the end that comes down to the players on the field and everything I and my staff does will be designed to give the players all our support."

Meanwhile Allardyce laughed off criticism of his "long-ball tactics" at Bolton Wanderers.

He said: "This is a tag which has been labelled on Bolton Wanderers because we were so good at our jobs.

"The big teams like Arsenal, Liverpool and Newcastle United used to use it as an excuse because they could not beat us and it is a figment of their imagination.

"The only tactics I know are those which win matches and that's what we did at Bolton Wanderers and what I am hoping and expecting to do here. I feel I have achieved a little bit in my career, but I want to achieve a lot more here at Newcastle United."

---------------------------------------------------------

dreamer75
15-05-2007, 09:57 PM
Big Sam Factfile: Bolton and back via Sunderland and Tampa Bay

1954: October 19, born in Dudley.

1971: Joins Bolton.

1973: Makes Bolton debut.

1978: Wins Second Division title, his only playing honour.

1980: Joins Sunderland, plays 26 games 2 goals.

1981: Joins Millwall for £95,000.

1983: June - Joins Tampa Bay Rowdies. September - Joins Coventry.

1984: Joins Huddersfield.

1985: Returns to Bolton.

1986: Joins Preston.

1989: Joins West Brom as player coach.

1992: Returns to Preston as player coach, later becoming caretaker manager.

1994: Appointed Blackpool manager.

1996: Returns to Sunderland as director of youth under Peter Reid.

1997: Takes over at Notts County.

1998: Notts County win Division Three (right).

1999: Relegated from Division Two. October - appointed Bolton boss.

2001: Bolton win promotion to Premiership after beating Preston in play-off final.

2003: Bolton survive relegation on final day of season.

2004: Bolton beaten by Middlesbrough in Carling Cup final, but finish eighth in Premiership.

2005: Bolton finish sixth in Premiership to qualify for UEFA Cup for first time.

2006: Loses out on England job to Steve McClaren.

2007: April 29 - resigns as Bolton manager.

GetFuzzy
16-05-2007, 10:32 AM
If that's Newcastle's decision, so be it. Big Sam, make us proud!

bh0322
16-05-2007, 03:33 PM
from his cv, he did not manage any top clubs......... so wonder how can he transform nufc into epl top 4? would have prefer scolari or sven

Shadow04
16-05-2007, 04:09 PM
wow.. just realise our new manager shares the same birthday as me.. :eek:

KWSW
16-05-2007, 04:25 PM
i guess all we can do now is hope Big Sam does the club proud... first thing i guess is to keep ownes at st james park and settle the defence problem...

Tyer
16-05-2007, 05:19 PM
When will we expect the first signing to come through? I will expect a really busy summer.