View Full Version : Newcastle United - Toontalk
navarro_t
16-05-2007, 05:27 PM
hopes that he will strengthen the backline 1st....
o0SpaceY0o
16-05-2007, 05:48 PM
i never felt so confident since SBR...lets go newcastle!!!
New boss Sam Allardyce has wasted no time in wielding the axe at St James' Park and has released Titus Bramble and four other Newcastle stars.
source (http://www.teamtalk.com/football/story/0,16368,2483_2130119,00.html)
finally... :D
very_happy
16-05-2007, 07:31 PM
Sam Allardyce has started his overhaul of Newcastle by confirming the departures of five players, most notably Titus Bramble.
Allardyce swept into Tyneside on Tuesday and set out his stall to build a team the long-suffering Newcastle faithful could be proud of.
Defending has been an Achilles heel for Newcastle for a number of years and it comes as no surprise that Allardyce has opted to sweep the decks.
Defenders Bramble, Craig Moore, Olivier Bernard and keeper Pavel Srnicek have been informed their expiring contracts will not be renewed.
And the quartet have been followed through the exit door by American stopper Oguchi Onyewu who has been informed his loan stay at the club from Standard Liege will not be made permanent.
Bramble is the highest-profile casualty, as Newcastle shelled out £5million to sign him from Ipswich in 2002, but his career has been blighted by lapses in concentration and he will now have to seek out a new home for next term.
bh0322
16-05-2007, 07:50 PM
finally....... he should go long ago dont know y the previous managers still stick with him..... will we be seeing some good signings for the defence. I guess he will bring in a couple of players from bolton. hopefully not CAMPO!!! coz we dont want old players
dreamer75
16-05-2007, 07:55 PM
finally Bramble is gone.....lol
dreamer75
16-05-2007, 08:00 PM
New Newcastle United boss Sam Allardyce wants to bring "four or five players" to St James' Park this summer.
Sol Campbell
Jlloyd Samuel
Steve Sidwell
dreamer75
16-05-2007, 08:01 PM
Former Newcastle boss Ruud Gullit believes Sam Allardyce is the right man to take the club forward - and has told Michael Owen to prove himself before considering a move away from Tyneside.
Gullit's brief tenure at St James' Park promised much but delivered little before he departed in 1999.
However, the Dutch legend maintains he enjoyed his time with the club and expects former Bolton boss Allardyce to be a success.
"They need some quality players there," he said.
"Discipline is very important, and Sam is very good on discipline so I think he is the right man in the right place."
He added: "Michael Owen has been injured all the time.
"There has been talk about him leaving, but I don't know why he would leave because he's done nothing yet.
"This is the first time for him to show how good he is."
dreamer75
16-05-2007, 08:02 PM
New Newcastle boss Sam Allardyce has insisted he will not hesitate to be ruthless as he sets about his mission to bring success to Tyneside.
dreamer75
16-05-2007, 08:03 PM
http://www.talkofthetyne.net/mediac/400_300/media/Allardyce~2.JPG
dreamer75
16-05-2007, 08:05 PM
Should Sam Clearout The Backroom Boys?
It is expected Nigel Pearson, Lee Clark and Terry McDermott, Newcastle's present coaching team, are likely to remain in their posts for the time being. But should Sam clear out and start fresh?
sgpeasant
16-05-2007, 08:50 PM
bramble leaving?
阿彌陀佛
TrueBeliever_jh
16-05-2007, 09:04 PM
Should Sam Clearout The Backroom Boys?
It is expected Nigel Pearson, Lee Clark and Terry McDermott, Newcastle's present coaching team, are likely to remain in their posts for the time being. But should Sam clear out and start fresh? i hope he will start afresh.. and get gary speed back. he should retire with us.. not bolton
he cleared some defenders.. let's hope he can get some good defenders in...
interesting that Steve Sidwell's name pop up again.. isnt he on the way to Chelsea since GR left..
anyway.. good job Big Sam.. second day on the job (or was it first), he did some housekeeping liaoz.. hope more rumors pop in :D
o0SpaceY0o
16-05-2007, 09:32 PM
tot sidwell gonna be pack off to chelsea soon? any way any good center back out there now???
GetFuzzy
16-05-2007, 09:41 PM
There are quite a few good defenders in Portsmouth. :O Grab them!
dreamer75
16-05-2007, 09:56 PM
unfortunately, sidwell shld b joing chelsea with a 50k pounds weekly wage :s22:
ShaqONeal
16-05-2007, 11:13 PM
bramble leaving?
阿彌陀佛
老天有眼!!!!!!
donald83
17-05-2007, 01:07 AM
Finally Bramble is gone. SA has made a good decision man. Good start!
Shadow04
17-05-2007, 03:16 AM
always have no idea how Bramble manage to stay through 3 managers, nevermind how remain first team, throughout all these years.. about time we have someone with 'balls' to send him out of SJP.. good move by Sam, does wonders to put himself in good books with Toon fans i bet..
very_happy
17-05-2007, 07:17 AM
wow... newcastle activities in the transfer mkt will be the most interesting this time.
usjag_18
17-05-2007, 07:51 AM
You see, at least Houllier has won a few things. What has Big Sam got? Yes, he may have brought Bolton to a new level, but that may not be good enough for Newcastle. It's a bit too hasty. Big Sam might just be like the previous managers. Houllier could do a better job I think. I really don't know, good luck!
Even though Houllier won a few silverware but U cannot forget that's becos he's @ Liverpool leh... A time w/$ and lotsa of players to spare.. While Big Sam got no extra $ to spare or the facilities and yet he's able to make Bolton to do well since their promotion. This is something no one can deny I guess.. Afterall, he used wadever there's available for him...
I believed he can do something great for New Utd...
usjag_18
17-05-2007, 07:54 AM
Are you kidding? Look at what Houllier did with Liverpool and now Lyon. He would be the man amongst the 3 of them.
Hahaha.. Do U really think Houllier deserved the credits for wad happening in Lyon?? I think he's really slowing Lyon's pace down... Even before Houllier becoming Lyon's manager, Lyon is already doing very well under Paul Le Guen... I guess he's just 坐享其成 which means he's just enjoying the fruits of what PLG been doing and Lyon achieving under PLG's management...
Moreover, he DID SLOWED down the pace of Lyon if U compared to Lyon's pace in terms of attacking before he taken over till the time he took over...
always have no idea how Bramble manage to stay through 3 managers, nevermind how remain first team, throughout all these years.. about time we have someone with 'balls' to send him out of SJP.. good move by Sam, does wonders to put himself in good books with Toon fans i bet..
Think the reason why Bramble survive so long is coz of his transfer fee. No one dare to tell the chairman that we have to write off $5M worth of 'asset' ::)
hoon_ki
17-05-2007, 10:52 AM
老天有眼!!!!!!
:s13: abt time we get rid of that crappy titus fumble..
ShaqONeal
17-05-2007, 11:01 AM
Think the reason why Bramble survive so long is coz of his transfer fee. No one dare to tell the chairman that we have to write off $5M worth of 'asset' ::)may b they dun wann terminate the contract by paying him.. yet if sell liao nobody wan him..
even Roeder said he wont renew his contract.. of course Sam will not do it reversely...
i think Moore should be given chance?? heard he very hardworking.. he wont cost too much rite??
I will love Campbell to us.. woohoo.. hope he did us proud... to prove his value..
and of course, i hope Luque can get a new life in St James if he still got contract leftover..
think craig moore is going back to aus right?
Kennedy
17-05-2007, 12:26 PM
:s13: abt time we get rid of that crappy titus fumble..
I hope Titus Bramble find a EPL club asap.
will miss him a lot, Titus have alway provided laughs and comical moments with his awful defendings over the years.
Life isn't all about the fittest survive, EPL isn't all about the likes of Henry, Ronney, Gerrard, Terry, Ronaldo with their abilities. It's alway nice to see the likes of Bramble, Traore, Darren Fletcher, Jon Stead trying to cheat a living in the EPL.
bh0322
17-05-2007, 02:41 PM
yeah i would love to see luque to play for newcastle.........
Lagicity
17-05-2007, 03:47 PM
Newcastle are awesome ;) They got owen. He's a wonderful striker.
Heard Manchester United are buying him for 9 million pounds??
TrueBeliever_jh
17-05-2007, 03:55 PM
yeah i would love to see luque to play for newcastle.........
think he going off for loan liaoz.. epl doesnt suit him..
Bye bye Bramble....sick of his long ball
ShaqONeal
17-05-2007, 04:32 PM
will miss him a lot, Titus have alway provided laughs and comical moments with his awful defendings over the years.
Life isn't all about the fittest survive, EPL isn't all about the likes of Henry, Ronney, Gerrard, Terry, Ronaldo with their abilities. It's alway nice to see the likes of Bramble, Traore, Darren Fletcher, Jon Stead trying to cheat a living in the EPL.i dun mind other club get him.. lol.. but sure he done enuff jokes in St James Park already..
Kiwi8
17-05-2007, 04:33 PM
Life isn't all about the fittest survive, EPL isn't all about the likes of Henry, Ronney, Gerrard, Terry, Ronaldo with their abilities. It's alway nice to see the likes of Bramble, Traore, Darren Fletcher, Jon Stead trying to cheat a living in the EPL.
Haha.... pian chiak pian chiak eh? :s13: :s13: :s13: :s13:
dbchoong
17-05-2007, 05:37 PM
Bramble will be a great player if he plays for any other team. Many players become better after leaving Newcastle.
Eg. Saha, Hamman. Jon Dahl Tomasson
Shadow04
17-05-2007, 07:05 PM
Think the reason why Bramble survive so long is coz of his transfer fee. No one dare to tell the chairman that we have to write off $5M worth of 'asset' ::)
well.. we did 'write off' Carl Cort(freaking 7M pounds), didnt we?
i'm not really agaisnt him staying at the club, we can keep him at SJP to sign autographs(if anyone wants them) or ask him to fill the sub bench or play reserve matches, and you wont see me complaining.. but why the hell 3 managers see him as a first team player is the part that baffles me..
Shadow04
17-05-2007, 07:08 PM
think he going off for loan liaoz.. epl doesnt suit him..
i seriously hope Big Sam can turn Luque's career around like how he turned Diouf's failed career at Liverpool..
very_happy
17-05-2007, 08:28 PM
i seriously hope Big Sam can turn Luque's career around like how he turned Diouf's failed career at Liverpool..n perhaps also persuade shearer out of retirement?
TrueBeliever_jh
17-05-2007, 08:31 PM
n perhaps also persuade shearer out of retirement?:s13::s13::s13:
luque... lets see loh.. with his age.. abit hard now..
maybe not as a player but staff?
GetFuzzy
17-05-2007, 09:45 PM
What can Shearer do?
ShaqONeal
17-05-2007, 10:26 PM
we Toon fans sure good mood now.. lol
lets hope its not mis placed trust again... :D
TrueBeliever_jh
18-05-2007, 02:18 AM
lets hope its not mis placed trust again... :D
good mood when we clear our problematic defence and also not much news on the new signings:crazy:
Shadow04
18-05-2007, 03:21 AM
n perhaps also persuade shearer out of retirement?
nah, thats too far fetched...
but maybe he can build a time machine to bring Shearer back to his prime? :crazy:
Shadow04
18-05-2007, 03:24 AM
What can Shearer do?
Same Old Shearer, Always Scoring..
bah.. miss him lots~ :(
GetFuzzy
18-05-2007, 04:38 AM
Same Old Shearer, Always Scoring..
bah.. miss him lots~ :(I miss him too. :(
very_happy
18-05-2007, 06:51 AM
nah, thats too far fetched...
but maybe he can build a time machine to bring Shearer back to his prime? :crazy:haha... Sam works wonder with ageing players who r thought to be way past their prime liao.
like okacha,
djorkaeff,
hierro,
campo,
speed
etc etc
so i thought maybe shearer is a good addition to that list.
maybe shearer n sheringham in attack?
just kidding..
i think it be good if can get Phillipe Senderos, then pair him up with sol campbell
Then we will have the Arsenal center-pairing for last season. :)
daveaha
18-05-2007, 11:49 AM
I miss him too. :(
Everyone does....
Not only his scoring, but also his leadership...
hoon_ki
18-05-2007, 01:01 PM
Everyone does....
Not only his scoring, but also his leadership...
yeah.. one of the best we've ever had...
ShaqONeal
18-05-2007, 01:36 PM
i heard from a Toon fan.. tat SBR out of St James Park, bcos he wanna changed out Shearer.. then Shearer team up with Sherperd to send SBR out..
the news goes like SBR wanna revolute Toons.. may b change out SHearer.. i heard SBR was titled Sir during a ceremony, and SHearer and Sherperd left half way during the ceremony..
anyone ever heard about tat??
bh0322
18-05-2007, 03:21 PM
wow, looks like there are many sides to this story........ y is there still no rumours about new signings? wonder who will be bought in this couple of weeks. excited...........
xOxMxGx
18-05-2007, 03:47 PM
wow, looks like there are many sides to this story........ y is there still no rumours about new signings? wonder who will be bought in this couple of weeks. excited...........
he will most likely be interested to get his ben haim with him one. i guess thats one for u. :o
TrueBeliever_jh
18-05-2007, 04:01 PM
i heard from a Toon fan.. tat SBR out of St James Park, bcos he wanna changed out Shearer.. then Shearer team up with Sherperd to send SBR out..
the news goes like SBR wanna revolute Toons.. may b change out SHearer.. i heard SBR was titled Sir during a ceremony, and SHearer and Sherperd left half way during the ceremony..
anyone ever heard about tat??
really? SBR even name Shearer to be the captain before that Gulit wanted Shearer to be out.. oh way.. history is history..
no news leh...:(
but wonder if he will be playing it liked GR style... keeping everything secret that ram us with surprising/disappointing signings...
GetFuzzy
18-05-2007, 04:50 PM
How old is Gary Speed? Why was he sold last time? :(
Shadow04
18-05-2007, 05:19 PM
How old is Gary Speed? Why was he sold last time? :(
read from excerpts SBR's book that it was Shepherd's decision.. he wasnt even told of Speed's departure until he heard it from Gary Speed himself.. lots of undermining from Shepherd on SBR(iirc, signing Butt, Kluivert wasnt SBR's decision as well as sacking SBR's assistant manager without SBR's knowledge), details got kinda hazy now, but i was disgusted when i read how SBR was treated by Shepherd..
then again, its one man's word agaisnt another.. its really a matter of whose word will you choose to believe, Shepherd or SBR..
xOxMxGx
18-05-2007, 07:12 PM
see a few links
linked
Eidur Gudjohnsson
Ben Haim (Free)
Cisse
Gelson Fernandes
Mark BuiDiKa (Free)
Sol Campbell
out maybe
scott parker linked to west ham
source is from forums i visit one. those ang mors rumours.
GetFuzzy
18-05-2007, 08:08 PM
No way! I hate Cisse!
GetFuzzy
18-05-2007, 08:13 PM
I support Eidur Gudjohnsson and Ben Haim buys.
Kennedy
18-05-2007, 10:50 PM
then again, its one man's word agaisnt another.. its really a matter of whose word will you choose to believe, Shepherd or SBR..
Shepherd ( start of 2005/06 ) - I swore Michael Owen doesn't have any release clause or whatever release clauses in his contract. I can ensure all Newcastle fans, this is the truth!
Shepherd ( today ) - That Mickey, he think he can leave Newcastle by activating that 9Million get out clause in his contract or one of 1000 get out clauses otherwise.
dreamer75
18-05-2007, 11:40 PM
Sam Allardyce will take Newcastle United back into the Champions League.
That's the verdict of someone who knows Big Sam better than most and knows Newcastle United even better - Gary Speed.
dreamer75
18-05-2007, 11:43 PM
Newcastle United are hoping to succeed where they failed in August - by signing Aussie international striker Mark Viduka in the close season.
And the word from Tel Aviv is that Israeli international Ben Haim is ready to jump on a plane and join his former Bolton Wanderers boss Sam Allardyce at St James' Park.
Viduka has not signed a new contract for Middlesbrough and, like Ben Haim, would not cost United a penny in transfer fees, leaving money to be spent on other players.
TrueBeliever_jh
19-05-2007, 12:32 AM
Newcastle United are hoping to succeed where they failed in August - by signing Aussie international striker Mark Viduka in the close season.
And the word from Tel Aviv is that Israeli international Ben Haim is ready to jump on a plane and join his former Bolton Wanderers boss Sam Allardyce at St James' Park.
Viduka has not signed a new contract for Middlesbrough and, like Ben Haim, would not cost United a penny in transfer fees, leaving money to be spent on other players.
interesting... i am not a big fan of the aussie... but hope he is a good goal scorer if he managed to come through to us..since he is kinda proven in epl..
still no sign of defenders... hope he didnt forget he jus clear 4 defenders away...
those 2 other names... they are midfielders?
dreamer75
19-05-2007, 08:06 AM
Newcastle's Steven Taylor has told the club not to mess him about and give him a new contract. (Daily Mirror)
TrueBeliever_jh
19-05-2007, 08:40 AM
Newcastle's Steven Taylor has told the club not to mess him about and give him a new contract. (Daily Mirror)
S.Taylor deserved a long term contract. quite a quality defender if you ask me
dreamer75
19-05-2007, 09:01 AM
interesting... i am not a big fan of the aussie... but hope he is a good goal scorer if he managed to come through to us..since he is kinda proven in epl..
still no sign of defenders... hope he didnt forget he jus clear 4 defenders away...
those 2 other names... they are midfielders?
http://soccernet-akamai.espn.go.com/design05/i/players/19087.jpg
Tal Ben Haim
Born: March 30, 1982
Birthplace: Rishton Letzion, Israel
Height: 1.80m
Weight: 74 kg
Pos: D
xOxMxGx
19-05-2007, 09:17 AM
see a few links
linked
Eidur Gudjohnsson
Ben Haim (Free)
Cisse
Gelson Fernandes
Mark BuiDiKa (Free)
Sol Campbell
out maybe
scott parker linked to west ham
source is from forums i visit one. those ang mors rumours.
adding to the list.
Sami Hyypia
Jlloyd Samuel
very_happy
19-05-2007, 10:45 AM
how about
john terry,
frank lampard
since they quitting stanford bridge soon over wage dispute
xOxMxGx
19-05-2007, 11:45 AM
how about
john terry,
frank lampard
since they quitting stanford bridge soon over wage dispute
lol i take it ur kidding. as big rep big sam has, this 2 player including robben are ambitious. even if they leave, 120k newcastle willing to pay that? ok even if they pay that, any european game to offer? to ur qn = 0.00000000001% chance. there are teams who are willing to pay terry that wages and can offer european games. im sure of that :s13:
martinweng
19-05-2007, 02:39 PM
S.Taylor deserved a long term contract. quite a quality defender if you ask me
dunno leh...i hardly remember when was the last time newcastle grown a useful defender.
xOxMxGx
19-05-2007, 05:01 PM
Newcastle boss Sam Allardyce will make Bolton's Tal Ben Haim his first signing as the Magpies' manager. (Daily Star)
sammy lee is trying players big sam aiming. think they made out a list to watch and now in different clubs so vying out for these players.
u guys saw the news where they say owen have 3 matches to prove to united to get him at 11m? lol so interesting
ps: i not newcastle fan just find big sam new career interesting. :o
dreamer75
19-05-2007, 05:15 PM
Newcastle striker Michael Owen could be off to Man Utd in an £11m deal if he proves his fitness this summer. (The Sun)
dreamer75
19-05-2007, 05:16 PM
Newcastle boss Sam Allardyce will make Bolton's Tal Ben Haim his first signing as the Magpies' manager. (Daily Star)
TrueBeliever_jh
19-05-2007, 09:43 PM
Newcastle striker Michael Owen could be off to Man Utd in an £11m deal if he proves his fitness this summer. (The Sun)
of all... man u... got that Andy Cole feeling but Owen didnt score that much goals for us yet...
wat so special about our signing.. he good mah?
Will be good if Sam can get Tal Ben Haim and Viduka, both on free transfer. 2 good players and we don't even have to pay a cent for transfer fees.
dreamer75
20-05-2007, 12:56 AM
Will be good if Sam can get Tal Ben Haim and Viduka, both on free transfer. 2 good players and we don't even have to pay a cent for transfer fees.
i 2nd that......
hub007
20-05-2007, 01:36 AM
Dear pals,
For cable tv subscription of any 3 basic tiers(choosing from...
World News
13 BBC World
25 Bloomberg Television
97 CCTV-9
15 CNBC Singapore
14 CNN
Education
10 Animal Planet
12 Discovery Channel
16 Discovery Travel & Living
11 NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC CHANNEL
Entertainment
19 AXN
17 Hallmark Channel
20 MTV S.E.A.
18 STAR WORLD
Kids
35 Cartoon Network
33 Disney Channel
32 Nickelodeon
Chinese Infotainment
52 CTI TV
51 MTV Mandarin
50 Phoenix Chinese Channel
54 TVBS Asia
Chinese Entertainment
49 Asia Plus
56 / 256 E City / E City (+2)
46 STAR CHINESE CHANNEL
) + Sports Group(ESPN, Star Sports & SuperSports) for only $28.60nett/mth
+ $20 NTUC Voucher(Whilst Stock lasts!)
12 months contract.
Installation Waived.
Next day installation.
Rental of Digital Set-top Box inclusive in the price abovestated.
Price subjects to future Sports hike & GST increase.
No hidden charges.
Interested parties, please email me your contact number @ hub007@gmail.com(i dont read PM) and I shall response shortly.
FOR NEW SIGN UP ONLY.
Catch this fast!
Cheers!
TrueBeliever_jh
20-05-2007, 01:48 AM
good one... for new sign ups...
wat about old subscribers.. not needed?
:(
dreamer75
20-05-2007, 01:48 AM
Dear pals,
World News
13 BBC World
25 Bloomberg Television
97 CCTV-9
15 CNBC Singapore
14 CNN
Education
10 Animal Planet
12 Discovery Channel
Entertainment
19 AXN
17 Hallmark Channel
20 MTV S.E.A.
18 STAR WORLD
Kids
35 Cartoon Network
33 Disney Channel
32 Nickelodeon
Chinese Infotainment
52 CTI TV
51 MTV Mandarin
54 TVBS Asia
Chinese Entertainment
49 Asia Plus
46 STAR CHINESE CHANNEL
12 months contract.
Installation Waived.
Next day installation.
No hidden charges.
Interested parties, please email me your contact number @ hub007@gmail.com(i dont read PM) and I shall response shortly.
FOR NEW SIGN UP ONLY.
Catch this fast!
Cheers!
no advertising here leh :s22:
xOxMxGx
20-05-2007, 09:20 AM
of all... man u... got that Andy Cole feeling but Owen didnt score that much goals for us yet...
wat so special about our signing.. he good mah?
wow. seriously u dont watch soccer right? u just follow the team on paper? cos u nv heard of ben haim after his impressive display for bolton..
and owen 14games with 7 goals is 50%. if u see his scoring records he can score whereever he went. even at real madrid he as a sub, can score more frequent then their regulars in terms of hours played and goals. thats what so special about owen. u can count the % of the other strikers this season. drogba at 55%, benni maccarthy is at 48%. owen may do likewise if he werent injuried. thats why ppl want him to stay.
revenant
20-05-2007, 10:39 AM
Dear pals,
World News
13 BBC World
25 Bloomberg Television
97 CCTV-9
15 CNBC Singapore
14 CNN
Education
10 Animal Planet
12 Discovery Channel
Entertainment
19 AXN
17 Hallmark Channel
20 MTV S.E.A.
18 STAR WORLD
Kids
35 Cartoon Network
33 Disney Channel
32 Nickelodeon
Chinese Infotainment
52 CTI TV
51 MTV Mandarin
54 TVBS Asia
Chinese Entertainment
49 Asia Plus
46 STAR CHINESE CHANNEL
12 months contract.
Installation Waived.
Next day installation.
No hidden charges.
FOR NEW SIGN UP ONLY.
Catch this fast!
Cheers!
wow now for new subscribes so cheap huh? not available for existing subscribers? :(
TrueBeliever_jh
20-05-2007, 10:45 AM
wow. seriously u dont watch soccer right? u just follow the team on paper? cos u nv heard of ben haim after his impressive display for bolton..
and owen 14games with 7 goals is 50%. if u see his scoring records he can score whereever he went. even at real madrid he as a sub, can score more frequent then their regulars in terms of hours played and goals. thats what so special about owen. u can count the % of the other strikers this season. drogba at 55%, benni maccarthy is at 48%. owen may do likewise if he werent injuried. thats why ppl want him to stay.
those are paper stats lar..
i am talking about the number of goals..
sorrie.. i only watch my team.. i dun care about other clubs..
dreamer75
20-05-2007, 11:29 AM
http://images.icnetwork.co.uk/upl/icnewcastle/may2007/3/5/9410E0AB-E8AD-2FF4-8193DA7A408510BE.jpg
Sam Allardyce's first pre-season programme as Newcastle United manager will include a visit to St James' Park by Scottish champions Glasgow Celtic.
Gordon Strachan's side are heading to Gallowgate for a friendly on Thursday, July 26 and, bearing in mind Celtic's following, United are hoping for a bumper crowd.
Big Sam said today: "It is a big thrill to be the new manager of Newcastle and I am already looking forward to our pre-season matches. I am delighted we have arranged a game with Celtic because they do not usually regard any game as a friendly!
"As the Scottish champions and a side which did well in the Champions League last season, they will give us a hard match, which is exactly what we will be looking for.
"I am sure we will attract a big crowd and that will make for the kind of backing I am looking forward to in every home game."
ben hiam to partner taylor would be good... :)
dreamer75
20-05-2007, 11:32 AM
Linked so far:
Defenders
Curtis Davies
Leighton Baines
Sol Campbell
Sami Hyppia
JLloyd Samuel
Tal Ben Haim
Midfielders
Steve Sidwell
Lareya Kingston
Kevin Nolan
Gelson Fernandes
Strikers
Nicholas Anelka
Mark Viduka
dreamer75
20-05-2007, 11:35 AM
The biggest papers in the country wasted no time after Newcastle decided to end Roeder’s reign and hire Allardyce as the new black & white messiah. Infact they already let us know who the new man was looking to bring in before there even was a new man. Saying that I’m sure you won’t be suprised to hear that one of the biggest targets of the summer was already lost before he was even made a target. That man was obviously Middlesbrough’s star defender Abel Xavier. The hormone hungry portuguese was quick to turn down a proposed move to Newcastle and decided to follow Sir David Beckham to Los Angeles Galaxy.
Hardly supringing is the fact that everyone in the Bolton squad are being linked to Newcastle. So far atleast Kevin Nolan, Tal Ben Haim, Nicolas Anelka, Nicky Hunt and old Toon star Gary Speed have been linked with a possible move in various papers. I’m sure most of you have by now realised that papers don’t always know the truth but I can assure you we do. The trustworthy word from our man on the street says that Sam is indeed very interested in bringing Anelka & Nolan to St James’ Park. Just watch this space. Actually, stare at it for a while and let it sink in.
This same source also exclusively told me that Mr Allardyce is looking to sign Laryea Kingston, a Ghanaian international who currently works his magic on loan at Hearts. Kingston is described as a no-nonsense type of aggressive midfielder who plays in the middle or on the left. He could be a player perfectly suited for Allardyce’s long b…winning football. Apparently he has tracked Kingston for well over a year and was very keen on bringing him to Bolton.
The highlight of the past week came yesterday when the whole world was informed by the legend that is Alan Oliver that Chelsea might be interested in KIERON DYER if Lampard decides to join Real Madrid. You might think this is funny but I wouldn’t be suprised if Mourinho the teenage witch was playing a sick joke on Chelsea before dramatically taking over from Ferguson. If Dyer doesn’t fancy joining Chelsea’s blingbling brigade there will be other takers for the England superstar. According to the Guardian Spurs are considering a move for him and it would certanly make sense to break their tight wage structure to sign the flying attacking midfielder who is reportedly on £80k a week when the biggest earner at White Hart Lane is currently Robbie Keane with his £45k a week paycheck.
If you ask Big Freddy there is indeed something behind these rumours. Why else would the chairmen of these clubs not release a statement in the Sun denying it all? On the other hand they don’t ask for their players to ‘have their backsides smacked’ either. Puzzling, I know.
martinweng
20-05-2007, 04:02 PM
guys, got time go read the sunderland thread.
quite interesting :D
ShaqONeal
20-05-2007, 10:14 PM
wow now for new subscribes so cheap huh? not available for existing subscribers? :(EPL over liao mah.. so probably so cheap..
donald83
20-05-2007, 11:23 PM
I wonder how much funds do we have.
dreamer75
20-05-2007, 11:27 PM
I wonder how much funds do we have.
25 mil pounds?
dreamer75
20-05-2007, 11:30 PM
FREDDY SHEPHERD has been branded a "hypocrite" for appointing Sam Allardyce as manager of Newcastle.
The blast for the Toon chairman comes from former St James' Park assistant boss Kevin Bond, who is suing United for breach of contract.
Bond was sacked by Newcastle in September following a brief appearance in the BBC's Panorama programme which investigated alleged "bungs" in football. The piece was recorded while Bond was assistant manager at Portsmouth and he is suing the BBC for libel.
In contrast, former Bolton boss Allardyce was one of the main characters featured in the programme, yet that did not stop Shepherd handing him the top job at Newcastle on Tuesday.
Bond bounced back by becoming manager of Bournemouth and led them to safety in League One.
"The hypocrisy of Freddy Shepherd in appointing Sam is staggering," said Bond, who worked alongside recently axed boss Glenn Roeder.
"In no way am I criticising Sam because I have nothing but admiration and respect for him, and I believe he is the right man for the job.
"They need somebody strong and Nicky Butt was spot-on last week when he claimed some of his team-mates do not care about the club. I certainly detected that in the short time I was there. They need somebody strong who can bring in people capable of playing at a club as big as it is."
Bond can clearly recall being hit with the bombshell that he should "take some time off" before the controversial broadcast, and soon felt the writing was on the wall.
He said: "Initially, Glenn told me I needed to take some time off, so I asked for a meeting with Freddy Shepherd and he reiterated the fact he thought I needed a break to deal with all of it.
"He said I couldn't concentrate wholly on the job, which I disagreed with, and in fact I felt it hindered merather than helped me and I told him so.
"Nevertheless, he insisted on me taking some time off to deal with the allegations from the programme.
"You can call me naive, but at that time I took Freddy at his word and believed that, once the dust settled, I would be back at work and have everybody's backing, especially as I have never taken a bung in my life.
"I quickly realised that would not be the case. Soon after that I was called back in and relieved of my duties. I was hugely disappointed by the total lack of support I received from the club, especially as I was totally innocent."
Bond watched in amazement as Allardyce was unveiled at a St James' Park press conference last week. "Morals and integrity are only things that people stand on when it suits them, and they go right out the window when it doesn't," he said. "It was easy for Freddy to take the moral high ground with me, it suits him to take the opposite stance with Sam because he believes - as I do - that Sam is the right man for Newcastle.
"It is the biggest U-turn in somebody's stance on a matter that I have ever come across."
Al lardyce was one of the managers implicated in the Panorama programme who threatened to sue, but so far only Bond has lodged a claim.
David Price, Bond's lawyer, said: "My client is bringing this claim because he has not done anything wrong and his reputation has been destroyed."
A BBC spokesman said: "We have received legal correspondence and will respond accordingly."
Bond is suing the BBC for libel, claiming the broadcaster had a "catastrophic effect" on his career.
His lawyers say he was "seriously defamed, hurt and embarrassed" by claims that he would consider receiving illegal payments from a new "super agency".
The High Court action alleges that September's programme was deliberately edited to mislead viewers and make him appear sinister and corrupt.
His lawyers say Bond was misre presented by the programme's inclusion of a straight denial when he had provided them with a longer statement pointing out he was not involved in transfer negotiations and had not followed up the suggestions related to signing players made by the undercover reporter Knut Auf dem Berge.
He also offered an interview, which it refused to take up.
The High Court papers claim Panorama was under pressure to show bungs were rife in the Premiership to make it "sensational and newsworthy".
They say the evidence collated by the programme in its year-long investigation was "completely unreliable" and did not prove Bond had received a corrupt payment.
"Statements procured in informal conversation by a pushy agent provocateur without any action on the part of the victim to the set-up are inherently unreliable evidence of an intention to commit an act," the court papers said.
'It was easy for Freddy to take the moral high ground with me and it suits him to take the opposite stance with Sam
Natsairda
20-05-2007, 11:52 PM
i thought 15 mil pounds warchest?
SecretZone
21-05-2007, 09:46 AM
dunno leh...i hardly remember when was the last time newcastle grown a useful defender.
steve howey and steve watson? =:p they are not tat bad IMO
bh0322
21-05-2007, 12:43 PM
steve howey and steve watson? =:p they are not tat bad IMO
at least better than bramble and boumsong
dreamer75
21-05-2007, 01:27 PM
I hope he can bring us to CL football!!!:D
Newcastle manager Sam Allardyce has revealed he would have stayed at Bolton if they had finished in the top four this season.
Allardyce left the Reebok Stadium last month after guiding them to the brink of UEFA Cup qualification and feels he worked miracles during his spell in charge.
But when it became clear he would not be able to get Bolton into the Champions League, he decided he needed a fresh challenge.
He told the Sunday Sun: "I think I would have stayed at Bolton if we had got into the Champions League.
"To come that close with a club like Bolton was a miraculous achievement - but it was a bridge too far."
dreamer75
22-05-2007, 12:29 AM
Sylvain Distin is available for free now,
TrueBeliever_jh
22-05-2007, 12:48 AM
Sylvain Distin is available for free now,
good good.. take him back take him back
dreamer75
22-05-2007, 12:56 AM
good good.. take him back take him back
hope so but Portsmouth also bidding.
Think Portsmouth not giving up. Going for Bramble and Distin. And they are expected to keep Campbell as well.
lol bramble... give them ba...
TrueBeliever_jh
22-05-2007, 09:30 PM
omg.. he going to Portsmouth as the report states... wtf..
dreamer75
22-05-2007, 09:40 PM
he told me today: "If we could resolve the injury problems, that would be a major start.
"The leaky defence is the other side of the coin, and we've got to try and put that right.
"Not having scored a goal here in the last five league games - with the sort of players we've got already - is worrying.
"We have to make sure we're free-scoring, but also we have to make sure when we haven't got the ball that we're very resilient and not conceding silly goals."
dreamer75
22-05-2007, 09:41 PM
Arsenal are keeping tabs on the situation of Newcastle United striker Michael Owen at St James' Park.
And Arsene Wenger, fearing he may lose Thierry Henry to Spain in the next couple of months, will keep a close eye on the United striker when he plays for the England B side against Albania at Burnley on Friday night.
dreamer75
22-05-2007, 09:43 PM
Bayern Munich are expected to step up their bid for Newcastle United midfielder Emre following the departure of their England star Owen Hargreaves to Manchester United.
And reports today from Istanbul were also linking him with a summer move to Turkish champions Fenerbahce, the club who wanted him as a boy before he opted to join his boyhood heroes Galatasaray.
dreamer75
22-05-2007, 09:47 PM
Former Toon star John Beresford believes the Newcastle board must allow Sam Allardyce to see out his three-year contract if he is to have any chance of turning things around on Tyneside.
He said: "He is the best manager at the moment that Newcastle could even go for.
"For Sam Allardyce to be successful they have got to give him at least two or three years.
"He is not going to come in and all of a sudden get them in the top four. It's a big job but I think he's the right man for it, given time."
Beresford was a prominent player in the side built by Kevin Keegan which finished second in the Premier League in 1996 and 1997 and made the FA Cup final in 1998 under Kenny Dalglish.
And the 40-year-old believes fulfilling the expectations of the supporters - and not just the board - will prove another sizeable challenge for Allardyce.
"The biggest problem Sam has got is the expectation at Newcastle, they want instant success and that's why a lot of the managers have fallen by the wayside there," Beresford said.
"As much as Sam thinks he knows what he is in for he isn't until you have lived and breathed it up there. It is very intense. They expect a certain way of playing and a certain way of winning.
"They will allow him until Christmas but if they are in the bottom half he will see the monster raise its head because they are an impatient crowd.
"Probably they have been spoilt, especially from 10 years ago when I played and we played a certain style of football.
"Now the fans will put up with maybe not as much attractive football if they are winning. He has to try and find that balance."
Big-name arrivals like Marcelino, Hugo Viana, Albert Luque and Laurent Robert cost in excess of £30m but failed to deliver, while more recently injuries have prevented established Premiership names like Damien Duff and Michael Owen justifying their multi-million pound transfer fees.
dbchoong
22-05-2007, 09:57 PM
Sibierski leaving Toon - he rejects a one year contract extension. Looks like major overhaul. Next season will be pretty different.
Sky Sports (http://home.skysports.com/list.aspx?hlid=467910&CPID=8&clid=4&lid=2&title=Sibierski+shuns+Toon+deal&channel=football_home&)
TrueBeliever_jh
22-05-2007, 11:33 PM
I am a big fan of Laurent Robert.. he didnt fail to deliver.. jus that its his behaviour towards his manager that always gets him into trouble.. who can forget all this outside penalty box screamers..
2 - 3 years... can we tahan? :s22:
really a major facelift.. so many players going out..
Sibierski leaving Toon - he rejects a one year contract extension. Looks like major overhaul. Next season will be pretty different.
Sky Sports (http://home.skysports.com/list.aspx?hlid=467910&CPID=8&clid=4&lid=2&title=Sibierski+shuns+Toon+deal&channel=football_home&)
He will be a good role player to keep when we need height. He did really well this season in fact.
martinweng
22-05-2007, 11:48 PM
last time i wanted SBR to leave when he couldnt stick us into the big 4.
What a horrific thinking i have. Shepherd punishes me by employing Souness followed up Roeder.
now I just wan a normal Newcastle, in the top half pushing euro cup is gd enuff for me.
donald83
23-05-2007, 12:04 AM
why Sibierski wanna leave???
TrueBeliever_jh
23-05-2007, 12:41 AM
why Sibierski wanna leave???
cos he wanted a 2 years contract but we offering him 1 year only.. so he dulan :(
GetFuzzy
23-05-2007, 06:28 AM
I realized that Newcastle have been dumping away good players like - Solano(back in club, good grace), Gary Speed, Jenas(OMG), Lauren Robert, Bellamy(not sure about him).
dbchoong
23-05-2007, 07:56 AM
cos he wanted a 2 years contract but we offering him 1 year only.. so he dulan :(
Yeah, can't blame him. He's 33 years old this year and have 2 or 3 more playing years. So, if he only have a 1 year extension, then he'll find it tough to get a new club when he's 34.
He's a very useful and reliable player to have around. Too bad.
o0SpaceY0o
23-05-2007, 09:48 AM
Sidwell join chelski liao...lets see how is he going to rot over there...and Newcastle will bid for him next year...same case as parker..go Chelsea rot den come over :s13:
sgpeasant
23-05-2007, 09:58 AM
last time i wanted SBR to leave when he couldnt stick us into the big 4.
What a horrific thinking i have. Shepherd punishes me by employing Souness followed up Roeder.
now I just wan a normal Newcastle, in the top half pushing euro cup is gd enuff for me.
The only mistake that SBR ever did was to sign Fat Bram. Its equivalent to Fat Fred appointing Souness.
GetFuzzy
23-05-2007, 10:35 AM
Sidwell chose Chelsea over Newcastle. What an idiotic bench warmer.
donald83
23-05-2007, 10:55 AM
He's a bloody cock. So many talents have gone to Chelsea to warm their benches. Parker, Shaun Wright Philips etc.
haha their bench not enough people lah... too many out of action... so for face sake sign another bencher loh... :D
dreamer75
23-05-2007, 03:23 PM
Sidwell chose Chelsea over Newcastle. What an idiotic bench warmer.
some player juz dun think far...
studmufn
23-05-2007, 03:39 PM
bellamy leaving was all because of the m*therf*cker souness..
I realized that Newcastle have been dumping away good players like - Solano(back in club, good grace), Gary Speed, Jenas(OMG), Lauren Robert, Bellamy(not sure about him).
Natsairda
23-05-2007, 03:51 PM
jenas - he wanted to leave lor,say wat goldfish in a bowl
laurent robert - i tink is because of his attitude
Gary Speed - sbr tink he too old liao and too many midfield since butt come
donald83
23-05-2007, 05:27 PM
jenas - he wanted to leave lor,say wat goldfish in a bowl
laurent robert - i tink is because of his attitude
Gary Speed - sbr tink he too old liao and too many midfield since butt come
Gary Speed was sold by Freddy Shepard and Bobby Robson didn't even know anything about it till he was gone. Anyway it will be interesting to see who will SA bring in during the summer.
Anyway I just got sacked as a Newcastle in Football Manager. haha
GetFuzzy
23-05-2007, 06:17 PM
Gary Speed was sold by Freddy Shepard and Bobby Robson didn't even know anything about it till he was gone. Anyway it will be interesting to see who will SA bring in during the summer.
Anyway I just got sacked as a Newcastle in Football Manager. hahaWahahahahaha!
dreamer75
23-05-2007, 07:59 PM
Premiership - Defender Sylvain Distin has signed for Portsmouth on a three-year contract after leaving Manchester City and could also announce the signature of Sulley Muntari before the end of the day.
dreamer75
23-05-2007, 08:02 PM
Linked so far:
Defenders
Curtis Davies
Leighton Baines
Sol Campbell
Sami Hyppia
JLloyd Samuel
Tal Ben Haim
Midfielders
Steve Sidwell
Lareya Kingston
Kevin Nolan
Gelson Fernandes
Strikers
Nicholas Anelka
Mark Viduka
TrueBeliever_jh
23-05-2007, 10:25 PM
man.. has been awhile got so much rumors liaoz.. GR time.. no news at all one..
looking forward to the next season already:)
martinweng
23-05-2007, 11:14 PM
OMG! OMG!
TAKEOVER!!!
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id=432896&cc=4716
Billionaire Ashley launches Newcastle takeover
TrueBeliever_jh
23-05-2007, 11:30 PM
OMG! OMG!
TAKEOVER!!!
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id=432896&cc=4716
Billionaire Ashley launches Newcastle takeover
yes yes :D:crazy:
studmufn
24-05-2007, 12:20 AM
nothing exciting man.. unless u consider newcastle turning into bolton II as very exciting news.
donald83
24-05-2007, 12:20 AM
So Shepard goes? Will we have an Abramovich?
TrueBeliever_jh
24-05-2007, 12:24 AM
So Shepard goes? Will we have an Abramovich?
its a billionaire taking over... but dunno he got watch soccer or not one.. if not.. then jus probably business to business stuffs bah.. dun think will see lotsa changes in terms of transfer funds..
Natsairda
24-05-2007, 09:29 AM
but his fortune cannot compared wif roman
hoon_ki
24-05-2007, 09:48 AM
but his fortune cannot compared wif roman
roman is different.. we play fm2k7, he play it in real life :s13:
according to wiki, roman is 5x richer than this mike guy...
source: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sunday_Times_Rich_List_2007
Tokieda
24-05-2007, 11:35 AM
freddie still has the majority....
I think all we wanna know as fans, is what is the transfer budget if the takeover materialize.
dreamer75
24-05-2007, 02:45 PM
Newcastle have not yet discussed making an approach to in-demand Boro striker Mark Viduka. And the word from St James's Park is that the Magpies expect Viduka to agree a new deal at the Riverside.
Natsairda
24-05-2007, 04:03 PM
Shepherd fires takeover warning
Freddy Shepherd has warned billionaire Mike Ashley he will have to splash "a whole lot more" cash if he is to complete a takeover of Newcastle.
Ashley bought 41.6% of the club's shares from Sir John Hall and family on Wednesday and has offered the same price of 100p per share to Shepherd - who owns 29.8% - and the rest of the Magpies' shareholders.
Shepherd last week claimed that the St James' Park outfit was "impossible" to sell, but now that the Hall has found a willing buyer, he will find his resolve to stay at the club tested to the limit.
But Shepherd does not look likely to relinquish his stake quietly.
He said: "There is nothing Mike Ashley can do with this club unless he gets a 75% stake.
"He can't take full control, he can't change resolutions or the club's articles of association.
"He has spent £50m but he will have to spend a whole lot more, as he must now make an offer not just for my shares but the shares held by all the other shareholders."
The news also came as a surprise to manager Sam Allardyce, who has been at the helm only a matter of days after succeeding Glenn Roeder.
The former Bolton boss told The Sun: "I'm as shocked about this as chairman Freddy Shepherd.
"I didn't know this was going to happen. I will be talking to the chairman to see what it all means and we'll go from here."
Ashley's prospective takeover could leave Allardyce with a much-improved summer transfer kitty and the manager welcomed any such cash injection.
"I don't know anything about the person hoping to take over. But he must want good things for Newcastle if he's spending such an amount on the club," added Allardyce.
hope fat fred sell his shares.*fingers cross*
dreamer75
24-05-2007, 04:14 PM
Mike Ashley is the 25th richest man in England?
sgpeasant
24-05-2007, 09:57 PM
Reportedly worth 1.9bn pounds. And he paid the Halls in cold hard cash. Most importantly, he can clear the club's debts of 80m pounds. Unlike the Glazers I must say :D
dbchoong
24-05-2007, 10:37 PM
freddie still has the majority....
Freddie has about 30%. Ashley now has 41.6%. The rest of the shares is held by public which Ashley is trying to buy from.
Ashley must get 75% or more to gain full control of the club else whatever decisions for the club still have to go through the board of directors.
This is going to be some interesting times for Newcastle... :D
TrueBeliever_jh
24-05-2007, 10:51 PM
Freddie has about 30%. Ashley now has 41.6%. Ashley must get 75% or more to gain full control of the club else whatever decisions for the club still have to go through the board of directors.
This is going to be some interesting times for Newcastle... :D
lets see FS will give up the chairman position or not.. then we will see if he is the one that is holding the club back
GetFuzzy
25-05-2007, 01:39 AM
Seriously, get Fs the hell out of Newcastle.
SecretZone
25-05-2007, 10:10 AM
i believe every true nufc fan will wan FS out!! :D
go Ashley go!!
donald83
25-05-2007, 11:13 AM
How come Ashley owns more shares than FS then FS is still the chairman? Doesn't make sense.
TrueBeliever_jh
25-05-2007, 11:14 AM
cos haven reach 75%... if reach liaoz.. its a complete takeover.. fs hold 30%.. so no one can reach 75%
Tokieda
25-05-2007, 12:33 PM
is fs a real nufc fan or is he holding out for $$$$$$?
GetFuzzy
25-05-2007, 09:24 PM
cos haven reach 75%... if reach liaoz.. its a complete takeover.. fs hold 30%.. so no one can reach 75%So smart of him, how old is he?
martinweng
25-05-2007, 10:25 PM
for once i might be supporting freddie.
he is trying to prevent ashley from taking over the club.
which is going to make decisions on newcastle very much one-sided.
with more people, the decisions might not be that bad.
but den again, with ashley in control, we could really use his money.
GetFuzzy
25-05-2007, 11:18 PM
How much is 1% of Newcastle share?
ShaqONeal
26-05-2007, 09:08 AM
cos haven reach 75%... if reach liaoz.. its a complete takeover.. fs hold 30%.. so no one can reach 75%although he haben takeover.. but, he will may many power in boardroom.. then he probably can slowly puch sherperd aside.. unless other petty share holders support sherperd..
we probably will see some boardroom fighting soon.. sigh..
i heard Toon share is 99penny per share.. to buy 1 lot is 990 pound.. wow, tat's ex..
GetFuzzy
26-05-2007, 12:46 PM
Is the share opened to public? I would like to own some Newcastle's shares, someday. :D 1 lot = 10 shares? How much shares are there in total?
TrueBeliever_jh
26-05-2007, 01:15 PM
1 lot = 1000 share..
990 pound per lot
990 GBP = 2,999.79 SGD
hahaha
GetFuzzy
26-05-2007, 02:34 PM
Are the shares open to public? LOL!
dbchoong
27-05-2007, 07:59 AM
Are the shares open to public? LOL!
I think they are. It's public listed. :)
GetFuzzy
27-05-2007, 12:42 PM
I think they are. It's public listed. :)Cool... I would love to own some Newcastle shares, someday!
TrueBeliever_jh
27-05-2007, 12:44 PM
haha
okay.. so no more news liaoz.. portmouth liked grabbing all the available defenders in the league.. :(
4 defenders out... 0 in yet.. or they waiting for the official statement to see if FS is giving way or not..:(
GetFuzzy
27-05-2007, 01:39 PM
Send FS home.
haha
okay.. so no more news liaoz.. portmouth liked grabbing all the available defenders in the league.. :(
4 defenders out... 0 in yet.. or they waiting for the official statement to see if FS is giving way or not..:(
at least this time i can trust Big Sam to ensure he gets people in before the close of the window... :D
portmouth wanna pack the goal post with 10 defenders is it
Shadow04
27-05-2007, 03:49 PM
portmouth wanna pack the goal post with 10 defenders is it
they are doing what spuds are doing with midfielders, except they all kio free transfer~
ShaqONeal
27-05-2007, 04:47 PM
Cool... I would love to own some Newcastle shares, someday!dunno if the shares is traded here.. probably need to open account in England bah..
GetFuzzy
27-05-2007, 05:12 PM
dunno if the shares is traded here.. probably need to open account in England bah..I will do that in the future! Hooray!
sgpeasant
27-05-2007, 06:21 PM
One Season to make me proud
May 27 2007
By Neil Farrington, The Sunday Sun
Sam Allardyce will have just one season to prove he is the man to realise Mike Ashley's £400 million dream of turning Newcastle into a world footballing superpower.
That is the figure that Ashley has earmarked for his United revolution as he expects to convince chairman Freddy Shepherd to sell his stake in the club when they meet this week.
In anticipation of pushing through a takeover worth £133 million, Ashley - through his PR advisors - has assured the newly-appointed Allardyce that his job is safe.
But other sources close to the publicity-shy billionaire (right) last night revealed that he is yet to be convinced that Allardyce can establish Newcastle as one of the biggest clubs on the planet.
The Sunday Sun has been told of the big-money, five-year path to greatness which Ashley has mapped out for the Magpies.
The sports retail tycoon has budgeted an incredible £270 MILLION for winning the Premiership within three years and challenging for the Champions League within five years.
And although Allardyce will be given £45 million to spend this summer, he will be expected to push for Champions League qualification next season . . .
Or Ashley is prepared to follow Roman Abramovich's lead by parting company with Allardyce - as Chelsea's sugar-daddy did with Claudio Ranieri - after one season.
"Mike has huge respect for what Sam Allardyce achieved with limited resources at Bolton, but I can't stress enough just how big he hopes - and expects - Newcastle to become," a source told the Sunday Sun.
"Is Allardyce capable of taking the club not just up to the next level but into a whole different ballpark? That's yet to be seen.
"Of course, Allardyce will have the chance to prove himself. But he won't be allowed to hang around doing it. Mike wants big progress, fast."
Meanwhile, Shepherd - still in hospital yesterday recovering from pneumonia and a collapsed lung - is widely thought to be ready to accept the offer of 100p per share which persuaded the Halls to sell Ashley their 41.6 per cent share of United.
But the Sunday Sun has learned just how easily the Newcastle chairman could launch a rival bid for the club.
With his current 29.8 per cent stake, Shepherd is already within touching distance of the 30 per cent threshold which would oblige him to make an offer to buy all other shares.
And I understand he can count on being able to purchase low-key ally Len Hatton's 3.88 per cent stake at any time.
If Shepherd then approached United's institutional investors - who own around 22 per cent of the club - with an offer in excess of 100p per share, he would almost boost his holding to well over 50 per cent and leave Ashley himself with little choice but to sell up.
However, the timing of Ashley's purchase of the Hall family's 41.6 per cent stake - coinciding with a health scare serious enough to have left those around Shepherd badly shaken - has left the chairman seemingly poorly equipped to resist the newcomer's assault.
http://icnewcastle.icnetwork.co.uk/newcastleunited/sundaysun/tm_headline=one-season-to-make-me-proud%26method=full%26objectid=19206949%26siteid=50081-name_page.html
wah seh i love his ambition sia
revenant
27-05-2007, 07:22 PM
dunno if the shares is traded here.. probably need to open account in England bah..
heh no need. Newcastle shares are traded in the LSE, London Stock Exchange. Can open an account with poems.com.sg to buy :)
If he offer 45m of transfer budget even for this season, we could have a very good season already. Can imagine how Big Sam can do with the amount. I reckon he probably spend that amount at the whole of his time at Bolton.
donald83
27-05-2007, 09:47 PM
wow 45m is a huge amount. we can do lots with that.
Tokieda
27-05-2007, 09:53 PM
only black and white then i believe, all is speculation only...the faster settle the better, no one else left to buy...
yup dun be like a certain manager I know... aim so many targets but in the end never get anything... :o
dreamer75
27-05-2007, 10:31 PM
http://images.icnetwork.co.uk/upl/icnewcastle/may2007/1/0/BDC0E556-A853-2FCC-5F211A0AD966C92A.jpg
Newcastle United could make Wigan left-back Leighton Baines the first signing of a cash-laden era at St James' Park.
The 22-year-old Merseysider is thought to be high on the Toon shopping list, with the defender keen on progressing his career on the bigger stage.
Baines' £5m price tag would be a drop in the ocean for the 42-year-old billionaire, who is now being branded the Geordie Roman Abramovich.
Baines apparently feels that he has taken his career as far as he can with the Latics. He is concerned he will not progress into the full England set-up after 11 under-21 caps, having been overlooked by Steve McClaren in recent squads, unless he moves to a bigger club.
New Toon boss Sam Allardyce is believed to be a long-time admirer of Baines and it is no secret that United are seeking a new left-back, with Celestine Babayaro's future on Tyneside uncertain.
dreamer75
27-05-2007, 10:34 PM
Newcastle United are on the trail of Barcelona striker Eidur Gudjohnsen. It's no secret in football that former the former Bolton and Chelsea striker Gudjohnsen would like to quit Barca despite the glamour of the Nou Camp.
And it is thought that the Iceland international would favour a return to the Premiership after just one year in La Liga.
The 28-year-old was highly thought of at Chelsea during his six-year stint at Stamford Bridge, but he also struck up a rapport with Allardyce and his right-hand man Phil Brown to fire in 21 goals in his only season under the pair at Bolton.
Newcastle would face a fight for his signature and would have to pay £8m for his services from Barca.
dreamer75
27-05-2007, 10:36 PM
http://images.sportnetwork.net/images/70/78912_215_136
Newcastle striker Michael Owen has shown he is back to full fitness by playing 90 minutes for the England B side in Burnley this evening. He made a series of good runs his first coming just inside the first 6 minutes, but failed to hit the back of the net as team-mates Downing and Smith did the job.
dreamer75
27-05-2007, 10:41 PM
http://www.talkofthetyne.net/mediac/400_300/media/0000Hall~John~3.JPG
According to our sources in Spain, Sir John Hall was not a happy man when Freddy Shepherd doubted his loyalty to the Newcastle cause back in January, and so refused to sell him his shares so Shepherd could have full control.
As we all know, Freddy tends to put his size 16's in his mouth most times he opens his gob ... and Hall was furious when Shepherd went public saying "I don't know what the Halls are doing offering to sell their shares". And what was supposed to be talk behind closed doors suddenly came out into the open.
Shepherd said he was willing to buy Hall's share in Newcastle United to take full control of the club, but Sir John was obviously out to scupper the chairman's plans. So much so he was happy to take what Mike Ashley offered, in order to put Shepherd on the back foot.
Rumour has it Sir John thinks the current chairman has "£" signs in his eyes and was hoping to over-price the club to make a tidy sum to the highest bidder, rather than have the welfare of Newcastle United at heart.
Today Shepherd, as expected, has warned billionaire businessman Mike Ashley he will have to splash "a whole lot more" cash if he is to complete his takeover of the club.
Ashley yesterday bought 41.6% of the club's shares from Sir John and family and has offered the same price of 100p per share to Shepherd - who owns 29.8% - and the rest of the Magpies' shareholders.
Shepherd last week claimed that the St James' Park outfit was "impossible" to sell, but now that the Hall has found a willing buyer, he will find his resolve to stay at the club tested to the limit.
But Shepherd sees "a big earner" and you can picture him rubbing his hands with glee.
Shepherd: "There is nothing Mike Ashley can do with this club unless he gets a 75% stake. He can't take full control, he can't change resolutions or the club's articles of association.
"He has spent £50m but he will have to spend a whole lot more, as he must now make an offer not just for my shares but the shares held by all the other shareholders."
The news also came as a surprise to manager Sam Allardyce, who has been at the helm only a matter of days after succeeding Glenn Roeder.
Allardyce: "I'm as shocked about this as chairman Freddy Shepherd. I didn't know this was going to happen. I will be talking to the chairman to see what it all means and we'll go from here.
"I don't know anything about the person hoping to take over. But he must want good things for Newcastle if he's spending such an amount on the club."
TrueBeliever_jh
27-05-2007, 11:09 PM
hmmm.. a modern power struggle? haha
good good.. keep those news(rumors) coming..
Tokieda
27-05-2007, 11:23 PM
not good time for a power struggle to occur...
GetFuzzy
28-05-2007, 08:01 AM
This has become so exciting! Woo! So much anticipation!
But if we had 45m transfer budget for Sam, even before we had to sell anyone, we should be looking at a very exciting season ahead. Already starting to get excited.
GetFuzzy
28-05-2007, 02:04 PM
David Beckham may be coming to Newcastle on loan. More revenue coming!
http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?t=1623542
hoon_ki
28-05-2007, 03:18 PM
exciting indeed! i seriously hope the leighton baines rumour becomes reality.. his £5m tag seems reasonable too!
Yes, 5m seems reasonable to me as well. Considering Spurs got a teenager leftback, Bales for 10m If not, we can probably go for Bridge if Chelsea will sell.
GetFuzzy
28-05-2007, 03:48 PM
Bridge is not bad.
dreamer75
28-05-2007, 04:45 PM
But Beckham's future American employers Los Angeles Galaxy are to block any plans for him to go on loan to an English Premiership club next season in a bid to help him towards 100 England caps (The People)
sgpeasant
28-05-2007, 06:33 PM
Guys,
Meet our potential cash cow :D
Mike Ashley
http://images.icnetwork.co.uk/upl/icnewcastle/may2007/9/6/C300B64A-E084-4168-7B72D9FB058363B8.jpg
dreamer75
28-05-2007, 08:48 PM
http://images.teamtalk.com/07/05/190/Ashley_225477.jpg
donald83
28-05-2007, 09:51 PM
Guys,
Meet our potential cash cow :D
Mike Ashley
http://images.icnetwork.co.uk/upl/icnewcastle/may2007/9/6/C300B64A-E084-4168-7B72D9FB058363B8.jpg
SAVE US MY LORD
dreamer75
28-05-2007, 10:04 PM
Sam Allardyce's days of wheeling and dealing are nearing an end as the Newcastle boss prepares to receive the biggest transfer budget of his managerial career.
But the 52-year-old has been told to exclude David Beckham from his ambitious plans for St James's Park after the recalled England midfielder's MLS employers scotched suggestions he could be bound for Tyneside.
With Mike Ashley's proposed takeover bid understood to include provision for a £40m spending spree, Allardyce will be told to set his sights high and prove that his ambitions match those of United's new owners.
Allardyce will be given a bigger summer budget than any of his predecessors should Freddie Shepherd be persuaded to sell his 29.8% stake in the club this week. Such investment will come with certain riders attached though, with Ashley expecting unprecedented success in return for his money. The sportswear magnate is reported to have budgeted £270m for winning the Premiership within three years and challenging for the Champions League within five.
Allardyce will be given just 12 months to prove he has the capabilities to fulfil Ashley's ambitions. The Hertfordshire-based businessman is this week scheduled to meet the club's existing board and will hope that his attempts to ensure a smooth handover succeed. Should Shepherd accept Ashley's £1-a-share offer a full £133m takeover could be completed quickly. If not, Allardyce's recruitment plans will be more complicated.
Such a situation could be to the detriment of the club, although Ashley has always insisted he will not allow events in the boardroom to impact on matters on the pitch.
Should a resolution not be found this week, he will strive for a temporary strategy that will enable Allardyce to get on with his job unhindered.
The former Bolton boss has identified several prospective additions to his squad. Wigan's Leighton Baines and Liverpool's Sami Hyypia are among his defensive targets, while with the futures of Michael Owen and Obafemi Martins still uncertain, Charlton's Darren Bent is still in United sights.
And, like his predecessor Glenn Roeder, the new boss is understood to be interested in bringing Peter Crouch to the North-East. Newcastle have been linked with an interest in Eidur Gudjohnsen, although such suggestions have been rebuffed, with the player's agent and father insisting he will remain at Barcelona.
dreamer75
28-05-2007, 10:08 PM
The amount of cash Allardyce has available for transfers at the moment is unclear due to the uncertainty caused by last week's takeover bid by billionaire Mike Ashley and the impact this will have on the current board.
Therefore, it is more likely that the two out-of-contract players on United's radar may be the first new signings on board, with defender Ben Haim and striker Mark Viduka the most realistic targets for now.
dreamer75
28-05-2007, 10:14 PM
Never before at Newcastle United has the backroom team attracted so much attention.
But with new manager Sam Allardyce keen to get the very best out of his new squad at St James' Park, it appears the Magpies are about to step into a whole new space-age era when it comes to off-pitch techniques.
In years gone by what went on in the dug-out has been very much secondary to what happens on the field and the days of fans in the old Milburn paddock knocking on the back of Ossie Ardiles' dug-out to encourage substitutions now seem light years away.
At Bolton, Allardyce's backroom team grew from five to 28 covering coaching, medicine, sports science, performance analysis and administrative support between 1999 and 2007.
Allardyce is expected to bring with him to Newcastle a head of sport science and medicine and a strength and conditioning coach for starters.
His two main men in that field at Wanderers were Hartlepool-born Mark Taylor and Mark Howard as well as performance director Mike Forde - all of whom have been tipped to rejoin Allardyce at St James'.
Allardyce's big interest in performance and fitness analysis is already well documented in the football world but it all stems from his days playing in the United States.
In 1983 the former defender had a stint with Tampa Bay Rowdies, who were former members of the now defunct North American Soccer League.
Allardyce was fascinated by the off-field scientific approach to football and has already underlined how he intends to implement an injury-prevention scheme at St James' Park.
His ideas echo that of professional sports teams in the NFL, the NBA and the NHL in the US, with most clubs having a vast array of staff in the background supporting their playing rosters and squeezing every last piece of potential from their stars.
That news will be music to the ears of Toon fans who have continually seen their heroes miss week after week of Premiership action.
His theory is simple. Instead of having a player who, for example, is earning £50,000 a week sitting in the stands injured, it is better to employ a specialist working alongside him who earns, say, £40,000 per annum to keep prevent such injuries.
The longer that player spends off the pitch and on the sidelines, the more money is wasted. Therefore the salary of a performance or fitness analyst becomes a drop in the ocean in the big picture.
It is something that isn't uncommon across the Atlantic.
Toon chairman Freddy Shepherd has already stated that if the team from the Reebok Stadium can afford a 28-strong backroom staff, then so can Newcastle United.
In the US NFL it is common to have around 20-25 backroom staff to support the players meaning each individual player can get extra support if they need it.
Former Newcastle player Robbie Elliott, who played under Big Sam at Bolton, has already hailed the ideas of Allardyce, while his ex-Wallsend Boys' Club colleague Lee Clark says he is looking forward to some exciting new ideas at Gallowgate.
Elliott said: "It is great to know that if you have a specific problem there is somebody around to solve it."
dreamer75
28-05-2007, 10:15 PM
Mark Taylor
Head of Sport Science and Medicine
Currently Head of Sport Science at Bolton, Taylor hails from Hartlepool.
The 42-year-old played for Pools at the beginning of his professional career and has already worked for Blackburn, Crewe and Blackpool in a medical capacity.
Taylor arrived at Bolton early in the Big Sam era and quickly become one of Allardyce's main men amongst his 28 strong backroom staff.
Allardyce could well see Taylor as one of the main figures on Tyneside to finally rid the club of the extensive injury problems that dogged both Graeme Souness and Glenn Roeder, ultimately costing them their jobs.
Mike Forde
Performance Director
The 31-year-old is Wanderers' performance director and is another who Allardyce was keen to bring on board.
Forde's job basically involves a continual journey around the globe for innovations that may improve the football club.
But that doesn't extend only to football clubs or sports teams.
Forde has thrown his search for knowledge wide open and even visited Saatchi and Saatchi, the advertising agency in New York, to pick up new strategies to stay ahead of the game!
No matter what business Forde visits, his main aim is to sound them out on inside secrets from everything from scouting, psychology to people-management.
His travels have also included visits to dozens of NFL and NBA teams in the US to investigate their infrastructure.
When Allardyce arrived at Bolton the club he inherited a team with a out-of-date training ground and an average Championship side. By the end of his reign teams like the LA Lakers were visiting the Reebok Stadium to see what the secret of their success was, with some of that pulling power masterminded by Forde.
Mark Howard
Strength and Conditioning Coach
He joined the club in 2000-2001 as the club aimed to look into their medical approach to sports injuries and fitness techniques.
He works closely with players in overseeing the regular season workout programmes, pre-game warm-ups, post-match warm-downs and generally getting players in peak playing condition throughout the season.
Prozone: The technology Sam puts so much faith in
At the Reebok Stadium, Big Sam's special IT suite allowed him to call up passages of play on request in the dressing room at half time.
He could replay those incidents during the interval and use the 15 minutes break as a chance to exploit the opposition while they are in the opposite dressing room sucking oranges.
Prozone offers on-pitch analysis and England boss Steve McClaren is also a fan of the system.
Bolton were one of the first teams in the Premiership to adopt the player-tracking service which offers detailed data of every move, kick or spit that happens during a game.
Bolton performance guru Forde says: "Any club can have ProZone but some use it better than others.
"We have a fantastically talented analysis team who, on matchday, are wired up and give constant feedback.
"The future of sport is real-time science."
TrueBeliever_jh
28-05-2007, 10:30 PM
Becks is too big for the club.. but will be nice to see what he can do for us...
as expected.. FS is holding the club back... another quote here
Of course that can't happen until 75% is reached but with a 51% holding he can decide the make up of the board, chairman, executives and the dividend policy.
In other words, if Ashley reached 51%, Freddy can take £23m and walk away or he can hold on but without the limelight of being chairman, without the £1m a year salary, and without a £2m a year dividend.
sooner or later that will happened.. :s22:
maxmuzzer00
29-05-2007, 12:01 AM
please do not purchase Mark Viduka!
TrueBeliever_jh
29-05-2007, 12:13 AM
please do not purchase Mark Viduka!
2nd that.. why are we interesting in him in the first place..we jus need a strong striker.. our current lineup looks fragile
hoon_ki
29-05-2007, 09:11 AM
2nd that.. why are we interesting in him in the first place..we jus need a strong striker.. our current lineup looks fragile
if we really have 40m to spend then we probably don't need him.. but if we don't he'd be a gd bargain buy.. coming in for free means Big Sam can spend more of his funds shoring up our defence, so why not?
dreamer75
29-05-2007, 02:25 PM
Sam Allardyce is set to make the Ghana international Derek Boateng his first signing at Newcastle United. The expected arrival of the 24-year-old is a clear sign that the new manager wants to overhaul his midfield as well as defence with the injury-prone and high-earning Kieron Dyer, who has interested Tottenham Hotspur, unlikely to figure in Allardyce's plans.
Newcastle are also aware of West Ham United's strong interest in buying Scott Parker, who has failed to settle in the north-east and, according to sources, the club is prepared to let their captain go if they receive an acceptable bid. Newcastle want at least £7m for Parker.
Boateng, a striker who has been converted into an attacking midfielder, plays for the Israeli club Beitar Jerusalem. Allardyce has been tracking him for some time and had earmarked him as a recruit for Bolton.
Although the transfer fee is thought to be less than £1m, Boateng has had an outstanding season at Beitar, having moved there last summer when he signed a three-year contract. He had previously played in Greece and Sweden and represented Ghana in last summer's World Cup.
Boateng has yet to fulfil his potential although he has thrived in Israel. Four years ago Middlesbrough attempted to sign him but the bid failed because he could not secure a work permit. Since then he has become a regular international and now partners Michael Essien in the heart of midfield for his country.
dreamer75
29-05-2007, 02:26 PM
comments on Derek Boateng?
dreamer75
29-05-2007, 02:30 PM
Freddy Shepherd will be ousted as the Newcastle United chairman in the near future by the prospective owner, Mike Ashley, irrespective of whether he agrees to sell his 29 per cent stake, The Independent has learnt.
Ashley, 42, who amassed his £1.9bn fortune via his Sports World group of retail outlets and major brands, bought 41.6 per cent of the club from Sir John Hall on Wednesday, triggering a takeover bid for the rest of the shares.
]b\But Ashley only needs to cross the 50 per cent threshold to gain day-to-day control, including the power to change the board. Shepherd effectively faces a decision to either sell out and pocket around £39m, or refuse to sell and face the ignominy of having no influence.[/b]
Ashley's City advisers are working on the "reasonable assumption" that Newcastle's institutional shareholders (who hold around 20 per cent of the stock) will accept his 100p-per-share offer, as will many of the supporter-shareholders, who hold 10 per cent. That will give Ashley between 60 and 70 per cent of the company.
Ashley hopes Shepherd will sell his own stake and quietly move aside, but if Shepherd does not, sources say Ashley will press ahead with running the club as he sees fit anyway.
"Anywhere above 50 per cent ownership will give Mike effective control of the club," a source said. "Even if Freddy Shepherd does not sell, he will have no meaningful involvement."
sgpeasant
29-05-2007, 02:42 PM
Becks is too big for the club.. but will be nice to see what he can do for us...
as expected.. FS is holding the club back... another quote here
sooner or later that will happened.. :s22:
Look at Owen. No one is too big for Newcastle.
that FS ah... which part of its time to go does he not understand...
dreamer75
29-05-2007, 03:20 PM
that FS ah... which part of its time to go does he not understand...
time to FS to pack up and go....
GetFuzzy
29-05-2007, 04:49 PM
Derek Boateng, who is he? ._.
TrueBeliever_jh
29-05-2007, 09:00 PM
Derek Boateng, who is he? ._.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Derek_Boateng
so young.. went to quite a number of clubs liaoz...
i still waiting for our first signing..
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Derek_Boateng
so young.. went to quite a number of clubs liaoz...
i still waiting for our first signing..
i am hoping ben-haim will be the first :o
TrueBeliever_jh
29-05-2007, 09:12 PM
i am hoping ben-haim will be the first :o
same here.. first signing this first signing that..
where ben-haim?? :sad:
donald83
29-05-2007, 09:47 PM
Think they will need to sort out the backroom stuff first before Sam will make his move.
dreamer75
30-05-2007, 01:53 AM
Newcastle, Fulham, Reading and Wigan are fighting it out to sign Liverpool centre-back Sami Hyypia. (Mirror)
dreamer75
30-05-2007, 10:29 AM
http://eur.i1.yimg.com/eur.yimg.com//ng/sp/eurosport/20070529/16/3587705964.jpg
What is he stress about? Too much $$ to spend huh? :)
GetFuzzy
30-05-2007, 11:03 AM
Sign Ben Haim and Hyypia please, and make it fast. ._.
bentyx
30-05-2007, 05:36 PM
need defenders fast to replace the titus fumble
Natsairda
30-05-2007, 07:17 PM
Joey Geordie
talk resurfaces
From the Manchester Evening News, Wednesday:
Newcastle boss Sam Allardyce is considering a swoop for controversial City midfielder Joey Barton.
When it appeared that Barton might leave the Blues last season, Newcastle wined and dined the City man at St James' Park before a game against Chelsea in an attempt to lure him to Tyneside but on that occasion the 24-year-old decided to stay put.
Now Allardyce is set to renew interest as he sees the once-capped England international as the man to anchor the side in the same way Kevin Nolan did at Bolton.
The key to a move north east for Barton could well be the future of his England squad rival Scott Parker, reputedly a summer transfer target for West Ham who are ready to take him back to London for a fee of £7m.
That deal would appeal to Allardyce who could make a profit and arguably have a like-for-like full England international in his engine room.
The Newcastle boss faces his stiffest competition from Everton for the midfielder though the Merseysiders will want assurances about Barton's future conduct before they take the plunge.
City want the full £5.5m escape clause contained in Barton's contract before they do business with anyone and, if a realistic bid is not forthcoming, then they may leave the new manager and the courts to have the final say.
The Blues' internal enquiry, instigated by former manager Stuart Pearce, has been shelved pending the result of Greater Manchester Police's investigation of a training bust-up between the England international and Ousmane Dabo, who later filed a complaint.
As most of the witnesses who are expected to be interviewed are away on holiday, those investigations are highly unlikely to be completed before the players return for pre-season training in the first week of July.
A new boss will be at the helm by then and may even take a different view to that of Pearce, who had told Barton he would never play for a team of his again.
Given that these tales have again originated in the North West however, there appears to be some mileage in the theory this is an attempt to keep Barton's profile and availability in the news.
With Allardyce now back from his holiday and a month away from the start of pre-season training, the next few weeks should be interesting.
Depending on who one believes, either the current ownership wrangle at SJP will force him to acquire free transfers and low cost signings until things become clearer - or a mega million spend-athon looms.
sgpeasant
30-05-2007, 08:57 PM
we dun need a boxer at the club
TrueBeliever_jh
30-05-2007, 09:17 PM
FS finance claim
From The Sun on Wednesday, a story so thin it didn't even warrant a headline:
Freddy Shepherd has won a big ally in his battle with prospective Newcastle owner Mike Ashley.
A multi-millionaire friend of Toon chairman Shepherd is said to be considering offering £1.25 per share in a bid to trump Ashley’s valuation of £1.
Ashley has bought 41.8 per cent of the club from former owner Sir John Hall but needs 75 per cent of the shares for complete control.
Surely if someone else was willing to buy shares in NUFC (and didn't or couldn't take the Hall stake), then they would have done so when the price was at a fraction of its current level fairly recently?
here we go again... :s22:
sgpeasant
31-05-2007, 09:30 AM
sianz west ham tabled a bid for parker liao
think he wants to play under curbisilly again :(
martinweng
31-05-2007, 10:23 AM
sianz west ham tabled a bid for parker liao
think he wants to play under curbisilly again :(
let him go lor.
i still dun tink he's a gd captain for the club.
TrueBeliever_jh
31-05-2007, 01:43 PM
parker and dyer going out.. think only left Solano and Given that was from the original team that Bobby Robson goes with..
GetFuzzy
31-05-2007, 02:30 PM
WTH dyer want to leave Newcastle? ._. First, Jenas, now Dyer. ._.
dbchoong
31-05-2007, 03:02 PM
Viduka joining Newcastle on free transfer. Parker goes to West Ham for £8.5million.
Source: thesun.co.uk
sgpeasant
31-05-2007, 03:25 PM
let dyer leave loh
seriously come to newcastle for so long liao what has he contributed? injury prone leh.
wah lan viduka coming sure anot the sun ish tabloid leh
dbchoong
31-05-2007, 03:46 PM
thesun is tabloid but it's not always BS. Many times they've had real news. I think they could be right for this one.
o0SpaceY0o
31-05-2007, 06:06 PM
barton might be the first signing by SAM..how hw many times had we heard on the news that this player that player will be our FIRST signing...wun believe anyhting until saw it 1st hand at nufc.co.uk...till now nobody is coming to newcastle yet...
GetFuzzy
31-05-2007, 06:32 PM
So many news yet no official signing yet. They keep saying Ben Haim coming but still no official signing.
xOxMxGx
31-05-2007, 07:05 PM
So many news yet no official signing yet. They keep saying Ben Haim coming but still no official signing.
becos ur board is in a mess right now. hard to buy players.
sgpeasant
31-05-2007, 07:08 PM
parker on the verge of signing for hammers. spurs late bid denied.
Would be sad to see our captain leave. I rather sell dyer.
Natsairda
31-05-2007, 07:36 PM
Irons close in on £7m Parker deal
Hammers chief executive Scott Duxbury was involved in late-night talks with Parker's representatives after Spurs had declared their interest in the Newcastle captain.
It is understood that Parker is set to meet with West Ham officials on Thursday after the two clubs agreed a fee.
Irons boss Alan Curbishley sees Parker as a potential captain and the ideal replacement for current skipper Nigel Reo-Coker, who has handed in a transfer request.
Parker, who is celebrating the birth of his third child this week, is keen on a return to London where his family is based and a move to Upton Park would see him link up again with Curbishley, his old boss at Charlton.
Parker made his England debut in 2003 while playing under Curbishley at Charlton before completing a £10million move to Chelsea in January 2004.
At the end of that season Parker was named the Professional Footballers Association's Young Player of the Year but first-team opportunities grew increasingly limited at Stamford Bridge.
He moved to Newcastle in the summer of 2005 for £6.5million and was appointed captain at the start of last season.
Magpies manager Sam Allardyce is reported to be eyeing out-of-favour Manchester City midfielder Joey Barton as a potential replacement for Parker.
Natsairda
31-05-2007, 07:37 PM
Big Sam aims to seal double deal
Sam Allardyce will try to make the free-transfer captures of Mark Viduka and Tal Ben Haim the first signings of his Newcastle reign this week.
Middlesbrough hitman Viduka is currently in Australia but is believed to have verbally agreed to move to St James' Park this summer.
Portsmouth have also been heavily linked with the former Celtic and Leeds star - but the fact Viduka would not have to uproot his family and leave his North Yorkshire base appeals to the 31-year-old.
Magpies boss Allardyce has assessed his playing pool and wants Viduka as the powerful frontman he likes to have leading the line.
He is also hoping the arrival of Viduka will persuade Michael Owen to commit himself to the club.
The other area Allardyce is keen to strengthen is central defence, so has lined up Israeli hardman Ben Haim for a reunion when his Trotters contract runs out this summer.
Boro boss Gareth Southgate has all-but resigned himself to losing the services of Viduka so has already starting searching for his successor.
Viduka bagged 19 goals for the Teessiders last season so Southgate's number one target is prolific West Brom striker Diomansy Kamara, who is keen to leave The Hawthorns following their 1-0 defeat by Derby in the Championship play-off final at Wembley earlier this week.
The 26-year-old's 23-goal haul last season has won him a number of admirers, though, with Italian outfit Roma tipped to make a summer bid.
Albion signed Kamara from Portsmouth for £1.5million but will be looking for a handsome profit and a fee of around £6million, which may be out of Southgate's price range after he spent £7million signing Jonathan Woodgate on a permanent deal.
The Boro chief had targeted Crewe hitman Luke Varney but he has joined Charlton Athletic, so Oldham's Chris Porter - who top scored with 23 goals last season - is now firmly on his radar.
The 23-year-old has so far declined to sign a contract extension at Boundary Park and could sign for another club, though there would be a fee involved as he is under the age of 24.
TrueBeliever_jh
31-05-2007, 08:04 PM
so who is our first signing this time... Viduka? :s22:
makes me wonder whos going to be our captain... hoping its Butt..
Kilrach
31-05-2007, 08:50 PM
Time to rejoice.. Parker is finally gone :)
sgpeasant
31-05-2007, 09:10 PM
viduka deal is damn close to being sealed.
TitanSmall
31-05-2007, 09:47 PM
Time to rejoice.. Parker is finally gone :)
why u dun like parker? he not good?:s11:
donald83
31-05-2007, 10:11 PM
Yeah why you all don't like Parker? I think he's very hardworking. I don't know why he wants to leave Newcastle and why Sam wants to sell him. Think should just hold on Dyer first since he's fit right now. If he suffers another long injury layoff, time to sell him.
Think Ben haim and Viduka will be 2 shrewd buys
dreamer75
31-05-2007, 10:40 PM
if choose btw Dyer and Parker...
i would sell Dyer away...simply too injury-prone and sucking huge wages per week. :s27:
donald83
31-05-2007, 10:48 PM
if choose btw Dyer and Parker...
i would sell Dyer away...simply too injury-prone and sucking huge wages per week. :s27:
Yeah true on the injury part but when he's fit, he can make a difference for us man.
dreamer75
31-05-2007, 11:10 PM
Magpies ponder Ashley's offer
Newcastle's board have announced they are to "consider" an offer from Mike Ashley following discussions with the billionaire businessman.
http://www.teamtalk.com/football/story/0,16368,2483_2159746,00.html
dreamer75
31-05-2007, 11:12 PM
Mark Viduka is about to join Newcastle United and become Sam Allardyce's first signing after snubbing Middlesbrough's last-gasp bid to keep him on Teesside and turning down Harry Redknapp at Portsmouth.
dreamer75
31-05-2007, 11:16 PM
I think the problem here is we get confused between a player's ability and how they (are allowed to) play in a team. We have countless examples of players with great ability who perform wonders before they arrive at Newcastle (Duff, Emre, Owen, Oba etc etc.) and players who magically start to perform wonders when they leave us (Jenas and Bellamy two of a long list). It was obvious that nobody really had a clue what they should be doing as a team last season, and with little positive direction or meanigful strategy they turned up and tried to do their stuff. I will be sad to see Scottie Parker go. I thought he brought huge committment and energy to a pretty lacklustre team last season. True, he did tend to pass the ball back instead of forward, and many of his passes looked meaningless, but I don't blame him for this. I am sure he would have a great 2007/08 for us, but I am equally sure he will be doing the business for the Hammers next season and will join the list of the "well why couldn't they play like that for us?" players.
i always though parker just needed time to settle into the captain role... one thing he has that lots of the players dun have is commitment and fighting spirit... there goes another (i quote dreamer75) "well why couldn't they play like that for us?" player... sad sia...
Shadow04
01-06-2007, 04:06 AM
i tink Parker is fine, granted he was piss poor for much of the season, but being a new signing and then handed the captain's armband in his debut season doesnt really help settle the player down, too much expectation from fans when a player gets handed the cap armband in his debut season.. of cos it doesnt help his cause when we have a manager who doesnt have any tatical sense to begin with, wat is Parker to do? at least he doesnt give up hope, one of few players last season who actually play with a heart..
Dyer, on the other hand, i wont miss.. imo, talented as he may be, spends too much time on the sidelines.. and when he's fit, he rarely show the talent that we know he has.. in my books, over-rated, over-paid and player with an over-inflated ego.. yaya, i havent got over him snubbing SBR's request to play at the right wing.. SBR brought him to premiereship, hailed him as the next big thing, treat him like a son(Dyer's own word), and he wont even play at the right wing for SBR.. bet Dyer is so proud of himself then.. and yes, i know Dyer has since apologise, but meh~ :s22:
TrueBeliever_jh
01-06-2007, 08:19 AM
parker's position with us is nv defined properly.. defensive or attacking.. he is jus half half.. helping out at both ends..
guess its better for him to move on since we will be wasting an important position for him..
Owen, Parker, Dyer.. all England International going out..
man we got more news on ppl going off than coming in.. i still dun agree to the deal of Viduka.. but hope he can be liked Shearer and bring some stability to our strikeforce with his experience in EPL.. 31yo.... :s22:
At least I think Viduka will be better than Ameobi
hoon_ki
01-06-2007, 09:01 AM
At least I think Viduka will be better than Ameobi
absolutely agree with you on that.. and he's free anyway...
i'll miss parker more than dyer.. dyer can be fantastic at times, but too injury prone and high wages.. our wages are 5th highest in the EPL, with a bill of £52m (as reported by Today) whereas our performance simply doesnt justify that.. parker has been doing ok so far, at least i think the reason why he wasn't playing particularly well was cuz he wasn't given a clearly defined role under the tactical n00b GR.. should give him a chance to play under Big Sam before we reassess him again.. but apparently he himself fancies a move back to london la... too bad..
bh0322
01-06-2007, 09:18 AM
I dont know whether Sam is crazy or not. Parker has been a fierce tackler of the ball and winning balls from midfield. Nufc needs this type of player. But luckily Butt got to play more often I hope. Any news of luque as yet? Hope he will start more matches after the f roeder who refuse to play him.
donald83
01-06-2007, 09:49 AM
absolutely agree with you on that.. and he's free anyway...
i'll miss parker more than dyer.. dyer can be fantastic at times, but too injury prone and high wages.. our wages are 5th highest in the EPL, with a bill of £52m (as reported by Today) whereas our performance simply doesnt justify that.. parker has been doing ok so far, at least i think the reason why he wasn't playing particularly well was cuz he wasn't given a clearly defined role under the tactical n00b GR.. should give him a chance to play under Big Sam before we reassess him again.. but apparently he himself fancies a move back to london la... too bad..
****er man.. Made a capt for your team and you fancy a move elsewhere. Basket.. Dunno Luque got a chance to play or not.
Anyway Owen didn't commit himself to the club right?
hoon_ki
01-06-2007, 10:03 AM
****er man.. Made a capt for your team and you fancy a move elsewhere. Basket.. Dunno Luque got a chance to play or not.
Anyway Owen didn't commit himself to the club right?
his family based in london. and i read somewhere that he just had a 3rd kid recently.. probably keen on a move back so that he can spend more time with family?? i hope luque gets a chance under Big Sam.. another high wage earner that's earning $$ for doing nothing... hard to offload too since he commands such a high salary..
dreamer75
01-06-2007, 10:35 AM
his family based in london. and i read somewhere that he just had a 3rd kid recently.. probably keen on a move back so that he can spend more time with family?? i hope luque gets a chance under Big Sam.. another high wage earner that's earning $$ for doing nothing... hard to offload too since he commands such a high salary..
if its for family reasons that parker wanna leave then we cant blame him :)
sgpeasant
01-06-2007, 01:55 PM
luque last heard going to psv? now no news liao
TrueBeliever_jh
01-06-2007, 06:02 PM
luque last heard going to psv? now no news liao
another last minute turn around thing (remember the Milner to A.Villa deal?)
man.. luque didnt even make any appearance this season other than warming the bench.. total waste of money.. 9.5mil..
for me.. i will miss Dyer abit. cos he will give us the attacking edge when he penetrate into the defense... makes you wonder if Jenas is still with us.. what will our standing be..
SecretZone
01-06-2007, 07:17 PM
for me.. i will miss Dyer abit. cos he will give us the attacking edge when he penetrate into the defense... makes you wonder if Jenas is still with us.. what will our standing be..
if jenas is still with us, maybe he will spend the time in treatment room.. SJP is cursed with injuries :s27: hope Big sam can remove the curse
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.