PDA

View Full Version : Newcastle United - Toontalk

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 [81] 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109

TrueBeliever_jh
22-06-2007, 09:21 PM
look like we may not get rozehnal

From NUFCblog
wtf... i come home and see this kinda news liaoz :(

wtf again... Alan Smith for us? why? are we so not confidence of keeping our strikers?

Smith... he hasnt been playing a lot of soccer since that awful injury.. he still up to standard or not.. i dun wan us to be another Leeds Utd leh.. :(

dbchoong
22-06-2007, 10:22 PM
Wow!

Owen, Martins, Ameobi, Viduka, Smith, Kanoute. We'll have 6 strikers!!

So, we're really going to play 0-4-6 formation next season!!! :s13:

waitforyou
22-06-2007, 10:58 PM
2 star strikers with minimum release clause, hard not to get some strikers in as emergency.

Big Sam knows how to mould a team who can defend, so no need to worry so much

TrueBeliever_jh
22-06-2007, 11:17 PM
Newcastle ready to fight Man City interest in Owen

Newcastle are hopeful of fighting off any approach from Manchester City for England striker Michael Owen.

Click here
Uncertainty has mounted over the 27-year-old forward's future on Tyneside ever since it emerged he has a get-out clause in his contract which would allow him to leave St James' Park for as little as £9million.

Speculation that Sven-Goran Eriksson, who worked with the player during his spell as England boss, could try to take Owen to Manchester City should he be appointed by prospective new owner Thaksin Shinawatra has done little to ease the anxiety on Tyneside.

However, there is a growing feeling within the camp that the former Real Madrid frontman, who has made only 14 appearances for the club in two seasons because of injury problems, will still be wearing the black and white shirt next season.

Owen has yet to comment publicly on his future and has two years of his contract still to run.

However, manager Sam Allardyce has discussed his plans with the player, and while he admits there would be little he could do to prevent him leaving should another club trigger the clause, he will hope he has persuaded him to form a new-look strike force with summer signing Mark Viduka and perhaps Obafemi Martins.

The 22-year-old Nigerian also has an escape clause - set at £13million - but appears to have committed himself to the club after a controversial conclusion to his first season on Tyneside.

Allardyce would happily go into the new season with Owen, Martins, Viduka, Shola Ameobi and youngster Andy Carroll giving him options in attack.

However, he knows he needs a back-up plan and has been linked with the likes of Fredi Kanoute, Nicolas Anelka and El-Hadji Diouf, as well as former Newcastle striker Craig Bellamy.

But there was consternation on Tyneside and beyond today at reports that the club has sealed a move for Manchester United's Alan Smith.

Both the Magpies and the Smith camp were quick to play down the suggestion with the 26-year-old not due to return from holiday until early next month, when he will seek assurances about his future at Old Trafford.

Middlesbrough and Sunderland are understood to be interested in securing his services if he becomes available.

Meanwhile, Albert Luque has been told he could still have a future at St James' Park after the collapse of his proposed loan move to PSV Eindhoven.

New signing Joey Barton has been handed the 29-year-old's number seven shirt, but Allardyce is adamant he could yet force his way into contention after a desperately disappointing two years since his £9.5million switch from Deportivo la Coruna.

The manager said: 'I feel far too many players have got lost at this football club and it is my responsibility to make sure that does not happen to any current member of the staff or any new player I might bring in.

'One of the reasons I was successful at Bolton Wanderers was transforming a foreign player out of whatever country he had come from into a Premiership player.

'That's because we found out what problems he had as early as early as we possibly could.

'I don't want to be too critical of what has happened here in the past, but in my opinion, there has not be enough focus on what is happening in a player's life away from the training ground and the club.

'Has he got the right lifestyle? Is he living in the right place for him and his family? In fact, it's not just the player but his wife and family.

'But once that is sorted out, you get the best out of player and this is something I have got to try to work out with Albert Luque.

'He might be too far gone, who knows? But we might still be able to resurrect his career here. We will see.'

hoped to see some spanish soccer next season. I still believe in Luque

GetFuzzy
23-06-2007, 09:04 AM
Why the hell do we need so many strikers for? Owen, Martins and Viduka are good enough. I still find it a pity that we couldn't sign Tal Ben Haim.

KWSW
23-06-2007, 10:18 AM
Why the hell do we need so many strikers for? Owen, Martins and Viduka are good enough. I still find it a pity that we couldn't sign Tal Ben Haim.

becos our top 2 strikers have buy out amounts in their contract... anyway i believe luque is a good utility player who might make a good come back with SA in charge now...

dreamer75
23-06-2007, 11:01 AM
Magpies close in on Rozehnal

Newcastle are set to sign Czech international defender David Rozehnal from Paris St Germain, according to a report in his homeland.

Rozehnal, 26, who played for Czech side Olomouc before moving to Bruges and PSG, has played 34 times for his country.

"The definite agreement was reached - David goes to Newcastle," the player's agent Pavel Zika told Czech newspaper Idnes.

Newcastle were believed to have offered PSG £2million for Rozehnal earlier this month.

http://www.teamtalk.com/football/story/0,16368,2483_2443203,00.html

hoon_ki
23-06-2007, 11:08 AM
hoped to see some spanish soccer next season. I still believe in Luque
i'd love to see luque play for us next season.. glad that he is finally given a chance

dreamer75
23-06-2007, 11:13 AM
now Henry has left Arsenal. Will arsenal go for our Owen and MArtins?

we r in quite a dangerous position.

TrueBeliever_jh
23-06-2007, 11:24 AM
now Henry has left Arsenal. Will arsenal go for our Owen and MArtins?

we r in quite a dangerous position.
and we thought Henry will retired with Arsenal for good..

Owen/Martins for Arsenal? i dun see them fitting into the peekture for Arsenal...

now its a test of faith for both our players that we are always behind them since their arrival.

hoon_ki
23-06-2007, 11:43 AM
haha owen for arsenal, after he modelled our new kit... best......

anyway i've juz read an interview with steven taylor's father in today's TNP... feels good to know that we have such an exciting talent coming up.. do check it out..

dbchoong
23-06-2007, 11:48 AM
Guess even Henry has some kind of a buy out clause. He just re-signed a 4 year contract last season with Arsenal and now he's going.

£16m for Henry is really cheap even though he's 30 years old.

I agree with Shearer - that Owen will play for Newcastle at least for another season. I don't think any team will dare to pay £9m until he has proven to be fit for at least a few months of playing.

Martins is more likely to leave than Owen.

KWSW
23-06-2007, 01:15 PM

anyway i've juz read an interview with steven taylor's father in today's TNP... feels good to know that we have such an exciting talent coming up.. do check it out..

This is one player with lots of talent and commitment and fighting spirit... even with injury still play on for the under21s... respect sia... :D

BoyWithBigToy
23-06-2007, 01:16 PM
he damn zai ah..top scorer....

Tokieda
23-06-2007, 05:21 PM
NEWCASTLE United have unveiled their stylish new change kit for the 2007/08 season.
The light blue kit will be worn by the Magpies next term.

http://www.nufc.premiumtv.co.uk/javaImages/6/54/0,,10278~3298310,00.jpg

http://www.nufc.premiumtv.co.uk/javaImages/7/54/0,,10278~3298311,00.jpg

http://www.nufc.premiumtv.co.uk/javaImages/5/54/0,,10278~3298309,00.gif

Tokieda
23-06-2007, 05:26 PM
Rozehnal 'agrees' Magpies move

http://images.skysports.com/images/playerpics06_07/France/psg/rozehnal-new.jpg

David Rozehnal's agent has claimed that an agreement is in place to take the Paris Saint Germain defender to Newcastle.

The Magpies have been in negotiations with PSG in recent weeks, with manager Sam Allardyce keen to strengthen his defence before the start of the new season.

Reports suggested they were firm favourites to land the Czech Republic international, especially after Borussia Dortmund withdrew their interest.

Rozehnal's representative Pavel Zika announced earlier on Friday that Newcastle had a 50-50 chance of snapping up the player, with Sevilla the other club in the running.

But Zika has now told the Czech Republic media that Newcastle have won the race to sign Rozehnal.

"We have reached a final agreement. David moves to Newcastle," Zika told Idnes.

Although Alardyce has made it known he is keen on Rozehnal, there has been no announcement from Newcastle suggesting they are closer to bringing in the player.

Tokieda
23-06-2007, 05:27 PM
Big Sam to try fix Luque

http://images.skysports.com/images/playerpics06_07/Premiership/Newcastle/luque-albert_fist.jpg

Sam Allardyce will give every Newcastle player a fair chance to turn their careers around at St James' Park.

The former Bolton boss is confident he can resurrect a number of Magpies players' faltering careers over the coming season, including Spanish striker Albert Luque.

Allardyce was known for his ability to get the best out of stars who had lost their way while at The Reebok Stadium and he is confident the same will be the case at Newcastle.

Luque has had the biggest struggle since his £9.5million move from Deportivo La Coruna and almost ended his nightmare spell in the North East in January.

A move to PSV Eindhoven fell through and now Allardyce will bid to bring the best out of Luque by conducting a thorough investigation into his possible problems.

"I feel far too many players have got lost at this football club and it is my responsibility to make sure that does not happen to any current member of the staff or any new player I might bring in," Allardyce said.

"One of the reasons I was successful at Bolton Wanderers was transforming a foreign player out of whatever country he had come from into a Premiership player.

"That's because we found out what problems he had as early as we possibly could.

"I don't want to be too critical of what has happened here in the past, but in my opinion, there has not been enough focus on what is happening in a player's life away from the training ground and the club.

"Has he got the right lifestyle? Is he living in the right place for him and his family? In fact, it's not just the player but his wife and family.

"But once that is sorted out, you get the best out of player and this is something I have got to try to work out with Albert Luque.

"He might be too far gone, who knows? But we might still be able to resurrect his career here. We will see."

BoyWithBigToy
23-06-2007, 05:40 PM
sia lah...roeder stupid sia...buy him so ex then never use him...i think under allaryce newcastle can play Europe sure no problem

SecretZone
23-06-2007, 07:01 PM

yeh, some more he and his dad are pure geordies! confirm will stay in NUFC

SecretZone
23-06-2007, 07:05 PM
sia lah...roeder stupid sia...buy him so ex then never use him...i think under allaryce newcastle can play Europe sure no problem

he was sign by souness :s13:

Natsairda
23-06-2007, 08:32 PM
henry move to barcelona may make Arsenal make a move for martin or owen with the clause in their contract,sianz

Natsairda
23-06-2007, 08:34 PM

as far as i noe,roeder have never spend any of newcastle money,all his transfer either loan or free one

dbchoong
23-06-2007, 09:03 PM
as far as i noe,roeder have never spend any of newcastle money,all his transfer either loan or free one

He brought in Martins at £10m. Will make profit if he leaves (hopefully he won't leave).

:)

Natsairda
23-06-2007, 09:25 PM
He brought in Martins at £10m. Will make profit if he leaves (hopefully he won't leave).

:)haha forget abt him,thx for reminding me.I tink duff also for 5million

ShaqONeal
23-06-2007, 11:38 PM
henry move to barcelona may make Arsenal make a move for martin or owen with the clause in their contract,sianzdunno if arsene wenger will still in arsenal.. if yes, i dun think he will get owen.. martin?? i think probably not too.. there is more good strikers out there.. why not get Eto from Barca??

TrueBeliever_jh
23-06-2007, 11:51 PM
David done:
A whole lotta Rozy

The agent of defender David Rozehnal (pictured) has confirmed that Newcastle have beaten both Borussia Dortmund and Sevilla in the race to his sign his client from Paris St.Germain.

The 26 year-old Czech international is expected to show up on Tyneside this weekend for his medical and the formalities to be completed on a four year deal at a cost of around £3m.

Born in Sternbeck, the right-footed Rozenhal began his footballing career with Sigma Olomouc in the 1999/00 season, before joining Belgian side FC Bruges in 2003, playing in the side that won the title two years later.

His next stop was PSG where he won the French Cup in 2006, missing just one league game in his two seasons at the Parc Des Princes.

The first of Rozenhal's 34 international caps came in February 2004 against Italy in Palermo and he appeared in all three of the Czech Republic's games at the World Cup in 2006.
our first defender transfer in liaoz (almost)...

TrueBeliever_jh
23-06-2007, 11:54 PM
somemore
Ashley evictions:
Thank you
and goodnight

From The Chronicle, Saturday:

Newcastle United is set for a boardroom shake-up within days as Mike Ashley's St James' Park revolution gathers pace.

The Chronicle can exclusively reveal billionaire Mike Ashley will meet Toon directors to review their futures at the club.

The 42-year-old sports tycoon wants to replace the current board members with his own people and changes are expected to take place any day now.

He has written to directors asking for their resignations

Sir John Hall's children Douglas Hall and Allison Antonopoulos are set to confirm they are going on Monday.

Chairman Freddy Shepherd is expected to stay. But the Newcastle futures of his brother Bruce Shepherd and finance expert Timothy Revill are uncertain.

Key players from Mr Ashley's camp and the current board members will thrash out the details at St James' Park within days.

Once the changes have taken place Mr Ashley is expected to start splashing the millions he feels are necessary to transform the club into a leading force in world football.

A source close to Mr Ashley said: "This is all part of Mr Ashley's strategic review of Newcastle United.

"This is the first phase that will result in boardroom changes.

"It is all about getting his own people in there, people he knows and trusts with whom he has worked for many years.

"Now that he is the majority shareholder he has the power to do that."

He added: "These changes will give Mr Ashley a better feel for the business and help him to make it better and shape and develop it."

The board have two-year pay-off deals written into their contracts.

Douglas Hall can expect at least £827,092, while the other board members are looking at a minimum of around £60,000 to £70,000 each.

Mr Ashley wants to shake up the board as part of his bid to take the club into private ownership.

A source close to the club added: "There are going to be significant changes. There will be a new look at the top after this."

Mr Ashley now owns around 80% of the club and is driving forward to the 90% ownership mark, which will mean the remaining 10% will have to be sold to him under stock market rules.

City analysts said Mr Ashley cannot just wipe people off the current board as it is still a plc and they have contracts.

Until the club is taken back into private ownership, changes cannot be made without negotiating redundancy payments.

But city experts say Mr Ashley will want to get his own people in before he starts making any big investments.

Directors:

Freddy Shepherd
Bruce Shepherd (brother of Freddy)
Timothy Revill
Douglas Hall
Allison Antonopoulos (Dougie's sister)

PS: From The Independent, Saturday:

Mike Ashley may use the existence of buy-out clauses in the contracts of Michael Owen and Obafemi Martins to remove Freddy Shepherd as chairman of Newcastle United.

The reclusive businessman, who amassed his £1.9bn fortune through sports retailing, is expected to soon complete his £133m takeover of Newcastle and has already ordered a review of how the club is run.

The review will scrutinise every aspect of the club and will also examine the future of Shepherd who still holds the role of chairman - and wants to effectively take on a chief executive's role - despite selling his shares to Ashley.
and our unsettled striker duo

Emirates vacancy:
Who's it
Gunner be?

The confirmation of sell-on clauses in the contracts of both Obafemi Martins and Michael Owen has almost inevitably led to speculation that Arsenal will look to Tyneside to fill the Henry-sized hole in their front line.

Both strikers have allegedly interested Arsene Wenger recently, although Saturday's papers tipped Nicolas Anelka to become a Gunner for a second time by leaving Bolton for the Emirates.

While Owen has the smaller trigger fee (£9m as opposed to the £13m of Martins), the wage disparity in favour of the England man is substantial (a claimed £102K per week compared to a mere pittance of sixty grand).

Despite recent public declarations of loyalty, Martins is being linked a move back to Italy.

And with two Serie A clubs due on Tyneside for pre-season games in the shape of Juventus and Sampdoria, talk of interest in the ex-Inter striker from the latter keeps resurfacing.

Owen meanwhile has done no more than have friendly newspaper writers claim that he hasn't actually come out and said he's unhappy or wants a transfer.

Meanwhile Newcastle continue to be linked with a bewildering variety of strikers on a daily basis - while Mark Viduka waits to find out whether his choice of squad numbers for next season including the 9 and/or 10 jersey....

donald83
24-06-2007, 12:24 AM
Wow Boumsong coming back to play at St James. Haha.. Wonder how has he been?

SecretZone
24-06-2007, 12:51 AM
David Rozehnal has spoken of his imminent move to Newcastle, with the Czech defender excited by the chance to play at the same club as 'the legendary Alan Shearer'.

The Czech defender is expected to shun interest from Sevilla and sign a four-year deal at St James' Park on Monday when he jets into the North East for a medical.

The Magpies have come to an agreement with Rozehnal's club Paris Saint Germain and the international defender admits he is excited at the prospect of donning the famous black and white stripes.

"It seems that it is very close, so far I have not signed anything though," Rozehnal told Sport. "If nothing special happens, then I will most likely move to Newcastle.

"Certainly [I am happy that Newcastle have won the race]. I take it as an appreciation of my work.

"After the unsuccessful season with PSG I take it as a kind of award and I am glad that it is exactly this club.

"Newcastle have a rich history, great facilities and the club has a great name.

"My dream has always been to play in Spain, Nevertheless, when I was young I used to watch the Premier League as well.

"Manchester, Liverpool and Newcastle were all clubs I liked most. I remember the legendary Alan Shearer, Newcastle really are a huge club."

Rozehnal's agent Pavel Zika has also explained that Magpies boss Sam Allardyce was central to the player's decision to move to Tyneside.

"The interest of Newcastle has been on a long-term basis and very reputable," said Zika.

from skysport

dreamer75
24-06-2007, 01:15 AM
Meanwhile, Albert Luque has been told he could still have a future at St James' Park after the collapse of his proposed loan move to PSV Eindhoven.

New signing Joey Barton has been handed the 29-year-old's number seven shirt, but Allardyce is adamant he could yet force his way into contention after a desperately disappointing two years since his £9.5million switch from Deportivo la Coruna.

The manager said: "I feel far too many players have got lost at this football club and it is my responsibility to make sure that does not happen to any current member of the staff or any new player I might bring in.

"One of the reasons I was successful at Bolton Wanderers was transforming a foreign player out of whatever country he had come from into a Premiership player.

"That's because we found out what problems he had as early as early as we possibly could.

"I don't want to be too critical of what has happened here in the past, but in my opinion, there has not be enough focus on what is happening in a player's life away from the training ground and the club.

"Has he got the right lifestyle? Is he living in the right place for him and his family? In fact, it's not just the player but his wife and family.

"But once that is sorted out, you get the best out of player and this is something I have got to try to work out with Albert Luque.

"He might be too far gone, who knows? But we might still be able to resurrect his career here. We will see."

TrueBeliever_jh
24-06-2007, 01:33 AM

The manager said: "I feel far too many players have got lost at this football club and it is my responsibility to make sure that does not happen to any current member of the staff or any new player I might bring in.

"That's because we found out what problems he had as early as early as we possibly could.

"I don't want to be too critical of what has happened here in the past, but in my opinion, there has not be enough focus on what is happening in a player's life away from the training ground and the club.

actually i pasted this news 2 pages back.. :D

dreamer75
24-06-2007, 02:06 AM
actually i pasted this news 2 pages back.. :D

keke...+ve news....the more the merrier :D

dreamer75
24-06-2007, 02:07 AM
It appears that the Newcastle career of Alan O’Brien - the Republic of Ireland International left winger is over. It looks like Alan will be signing for Hibernian of Edinburgh. We feel that O’Brien was never given a fair chance at the club - and never had a run of games to see what he could do. We are sorry to see him leave but wish him the best for the future.

dreamer75
24-06-2007, 02:08 AM
News last night that David Rozehnal will be in Newcastle on Monday to sign a four year deal with the club. This transfer seems to have gone on and on and seems like it’s been like the Pavel Zika show - with agent Zika making multiple press statements every few days. But we are pleased we have captured David and think he will be an excellent center back for Newcastle in Sam’s new era.

dreamer75
24-06-2007, 02:09 AM
http://a1767.g.akamai.net/v/1767/2939/7d/imageserv.adtech.de/apps/261/Ad1426181St3Sz16Sq809894V0Id6/Change-Kit-2007-HPTO.JPG

sgpeasant
24-06-2007, 09:59 AM
Wow Boumsong coming back to play at St James. Haha.. Wonder how has he been?

Its amazing that Juventus were able to promote with him around. Is he a first-choice or benchwarmer?

dbchoong
24-06-2007, 01:00 PM
Its amazing that Juventus were able to promote with him around. Is he a first-choice or benchwarmer?

Amazingly first choice. Played 33 out of 40 games in the season. Scored 2 goals - not bad for a defender. One of his goals was a game winner Verona 0-1 Juve.

Like I've said - players become better after leaving Newcastle.

Natsairda
24-06-2007, 01:15 PM
any buddies wanna watch viduka featuring in Australia vs Singapore?NUFCSingapore is going there too.

SecretZone
24-06-2007, 01:53 PM
Amazingly first choice. Played 33 out of 40 games in the season. Scored 2 goals - not bad for a defender. One of his goals was a game winner Verona 0-1 Juve.

Like I've said - players become better after leaving Newcastle.

he was playing in serie B wif juve.. wait till next season then we will know how good he is :D

SecretZone
24-06-2007, 01:56 PM
any buddies wanna watch viduka featuring in Australia vs Singapore?NUFCSingapore is going there too.

my collegue jio me go.. so maybe going :) a few EPL player will be playing so quite worthwhile to go .. especially to see SG getting trash? :s13:

hmm the last "live" match i watch was long long ago, when NUFC vs S-league XI :s7:

sgpeasant
24-06-2007, 05:08 PM
Hope vid plays when i see them next week!

Rappelz
24-06-2007, 06:37 PM

when isit..?

SecretZone
24-06-2007, 07:11 PM
when isit..?

think is 30 june sat

dreamer75
25-06-2007, 01:40 AM
Magpies make late bid to land Diarra

Newcastle have made a late bid to sign Lyon midfielder Alou Diarra after the Frenchman admitted he was not keen on a move to Portsmouth.

Pompey agreed a £5.5million fee with the Ligue 1 side last week but Diarra urged Newcastle to make a bid after hearing of Sam Allardyce's interest.

dreamer75
25-06-2007, 01:41 AM
The Sunday Sun this morning is reporting that Mike Ashley has asked the current Board of Directors at Newcastle to resign. Only Freddy Shepherd will be retained to offer some continuity at the club. We run our own piece on this and basically it is good news - although a number of fans will be disappointed that Shepherd is staying (but probably not for too long).

dreamer75
25-06-2007, 01:42 AM
David Rozehnal has spoken (at last) about his opending move to Newcastle - and he talks glowingly about the club and it’s history. Calling the club huge he also talks about being where legend Alan Shearer played.

dreamer75
25-06-2007, 01:42 AM
News in the Sunday Express that Rafa Benitez has rejected a move for Newcastle’s Michael Owen - in exchange for Craig Bellamy and left-back John Arne Riise (Nice try Sam!). That would have been a great move for Newcastle but unfortunately for Sam - Rafa is not that stupid. Riise especially would have been an excellent capture for Newcastle.

dreamer75
25-06-2007, 01:43 AM
News from the People that Middlesbrough have had a ₤6M offer accepted by Manchester United for Alan Smith. We thought Alan was tied up at Newcastle - reported by a Daily Mirror exclusive only last Friday

TrueBeliever_jh
25-06-2007, 06:05 AM
another midfielder? so i guessed we are offloading one of our current midfielder..

good that we are not going for Alan Smith afterall..

sgpeasant
25-06-2007, 09:26 AM
dreamer75 u can actually lump them together instead of making separate posts

martinweng
25-06-2007, 09:47 AM
Magpies make late bid to land Diarra

Newcastle have made a late bid to sign Lyon midfielder Alou Diarra after the Frenchman admitted he was not keen on a move to Portsmouth.

Pompey agreed a £5.5million fee with the Ligue 1 side last week but Diarra urged Newcastle to make a bid after hearing of Sam Allardyce's interest.

oooo i like this signing.

but is he a former liverpool player?

currently the best diarra mohammed or something at R.Madrid. promising 1 Lassana at chelsea.

Rappelz
25-06-2007, 10:54 AM
oooo i like this signing.

but is he a former liverpool player?

currently the best diarra mohammed or something at R.Madrid. promising 1 Lassana at chelsea.

yup he was..
Houllier's era..
but i dun think he played....

ivanschitz27
25-06-2007, 11:59 AM
Hi, quite an interesting review of NUFC's season for Toon supporters..

http://www.theurbanwire.com/stories/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=1260&Itemid=65

ZhiQiang
25-06-2007, 08:50 PM
Owen, 27, suffered knee ligament damage against Sweden in the World Cup last summer and only returned to action in the Magpies' Premiership clash with Reading on May 1 this year.

Chairman Freddy Shepherd battled with FIFA and the FA to ensure he received what he felt was a just amount of compensation and the parties now appear to have reached a settlement.

A club source, quoted in the Evening Chronicle, said: "We have finally reached a comprise with FIFA and the FA regarding Michael Owen, and when you take into account the fact that his wages have been paid in full for two years and the compensation we have received, it'll amount to around £10million.

"And let's just say we are happy, and it has been well worth Freddy Shepherd's fight."

good leh... arsenal pls trigger his sell out clause... i hate owen...

ZhiQiang
25-06-2007, 08:51 PM
The 26-year-old, a £4million signing from Inter Milan two summers ago, had been linked with moves to former club Galatasaray and rivals Fenerbahce in Turkey, while German sides Bayern Munich and Hertha Berlin have also been touted as possible destinations.

However, Emre has signalled his intention to return to Tyneside and fight for his place under new boss Sam Allardyce, the third under whom he will have worked since leaving Italy.

He told the Turkish press: "I am very happy in England and I am not thinking about leaving Newcastle.

"I know all the Turkish newspapers will write my name in their headlines during the transfer window.

"But although I have received serious offers from Galatasaray and Fenerbahçe, I want to continue my career in England.

"The Premier League is famous all over the world and that's why I wanted to move there.

"I will stay at Newcastle. I have great respect for Sam Allardyce, the new coach."

Emre's future in England was placed under serious threat last season when he was hit with a racial abuse charge by the Football Association following a stormy encounter at Everton.

However, his club, and in particular, then manager Glenn Roeder, stood by him and he successfully fought against the charge.

Even so, it appeared the Turkey international's days at Newcastle could be numbered as Roeder planned for the new campaign.

But the manager's departure was quickly followed by that of skipper Scott Parker for West Ham, and although Roeder's successor Allardyce has already recruited Joey Barton, news that a player of vast experience is keen to stay and be part of his plans will come as a boost.

The manager will now hope for similar news from strikers Michael Owen and Obafemi Martins, who both have escape clauses in their contracts.

Thierry Henry's exit from Arsenal for Barcelona is certain to add velocity to the transfer merry-go-round and with Arsene Wenger an acknowledged admirer of both players, uncertainty persists at St James' Park.

good news!

ZhiQiang
25-06-2007, 08:53 PM
hello all newcastle fans, i am back... :D

hopefully big sam (not big phil :( ) and billionaire mike will take newcastle to greater heights...

i am hoping for a uefa cup spot finishing next yr...

KWSW
25-06-2007, 08:56 PM
Owen, 27, suffered knee ligament damage against Sweden in the World Cup last summer and only returned to action in the Magpies' Premiership clash with Reading on May 1 this year.

Chairman Freddy Shepherd battled with FIFA and the FA to ensure he received what he felt was a just amount of compensation and the parties now appear to have reached a settlement.

A club source, quoted in the Evening Chronicle, said: "We have finally reached a comprise with FIFA and the FA regarding Michael Owen, and when you take into account the fact that his wages have been paid in full for two years and the compensation we have received, it'll amount to around £10million.

"And let's just say we are happy, and it has been well worth Freddy Shepherd's fight."

good leh... arsenal pls trigger his sell out clause... i hate owen...

cool more money to spend on transfers...

TrueBeliever_jh
25-06-2007, 08:59 PM
more money? do we need to sell players to get more players in? i dun think we need to in this transfer window..

wat say you guys? Owen.. to have or not to have..

TrueBeliever_jh
25-06-2007, 09:07 PM
Update: The Sunday Sun's "insider" claims that Mike Ashley himself persuaded Freddy Shepherd to stay on after the chairman offered his resignation along with the rest of the board.

omg.. another sight of lousy management? :s22:

KWSW
25-06-2007, 09:12 PM
more money? do we need to sell players to get more players in? i dun think we need to in this transfer window..

wat say you guys? Owen.. to have or not to have..

was talking about the 10mil compensation... :o

dreamer75
25-06-2007, 09:21 PM
News today that there will be a Newcastle Board Meeting this morning at which all Directors except Freddy Shepherd will resign. Freddy is being offered a new role under a revamped set-up at Newcastle and news last night is that Freddy will accept that position. It is important we get some stability in the board room.

dreamer75
25-06-2007, 09:22 PM
Some good news today we think is that Emre has pledged his future to Newcastle with one big reason being that he respects Sam Allardyce so much. Emre was under pressure last season because of his alleged racial comments - but we expect he could be a reinvigorated player under Big Sam for us next season.

dreamer75
25-06-2007, 09:25 PM
Three Good Defenders Needed Urgently At Newcastle!

Here are some of the players we have been linked with in the past with a comment on whjat theyw ould add to the squad.

Nicky Shorey – Reading - ₤5M

http://nufcblog.com/wp-content/uploads/2007/06/nicky-shorey-23.thumbnail.jpg

He would be a good buy for us and we have been linked with him in the past - but it doesn’t appear we have yet lodged a bid with Reading. Stands at 5′9” and seems a solid player who played very well for Reading last year and made his England debut in the summer against Brazil.

Leighton Baines – Wigan - ₤5M

http://nufcblog.com/wp-content/uploads/2007/06/leighton-baines-21.thumbnail.jpg

Had a good run in the England Under-21 team that recently reached the semi-finals of the European Championships – and were only defeated on penalties by eventual winners Holland. One thing against him is his lack of height – Leighton stands at 5′ 7” tall but he has a good left foot and can hit a ball with ferocious power. A good defender.

Luke Young – Charlton - ₤3M

http://nufcblog.com/wp-content/uploads/2007/06/luke-young.thumbnail.jpg

Luke Young at £3M would also we feel be a good buy for Newcastle - although not all Newcastle fans seem convinced of this. Two other teams are in for Luke – Bolton – who can offer UEFA Cup football next season and Aston Villa. Luke is 6′ tall and has lots of premiership experience with Charlton and Spurs and would fit in nicely at right back.

dreamer75
25-06-2007, 09:35 PM
Habib Beye – Marseilles

http://nufcblog.com/wp-content/uploads/2007/06/habib-beye.thumbnail.jpg

Habib Beye is Senegalese and currently plays for French League giants Olympique de Marseille. He can play right back or center back and could be the experienced central defender Sam still needs. His preferred position seems to be right back - where he currently plays for Marseilles. He is one of the most accomplished defenders in France’s top tier and stands 6′ tall.

Bakari Sagna – Auxerre - ₤6M

http://nufcblog.com/wp-content/uploads/2007/06/bakari-sagna.thumbnail.jpg

Sagna is 24 years old and wants to to leave Auxerre as he wants to be playing for a top club to keep his place in the France team. Sagna would prefer Arsenal – but with Arsenal seemingly a bit at sea at the moment - following the Henry transfer to Barcelona - there may be an opening for us here. The fee for Bakari is around ₤6M – which is reasonable given he’s one of the best young right backs in Europe. Bakari is 5′9″ tall.

Sami Hyypia – Liverpool - nominal fee

http://nufcblog.com/wp-content/uploads/2007/06/sam-hyypia-2.thumbnail.jpg

Newcastle are still continually linked with Sami – who stands 6′5” tall. Not all Newcastle fans think Sami would be a good acquisition – thinking he is well past his sell-by date. Would provide defensive experience to the squad but would not be a starter.

So maybe the 3 defenders we need can come out of the above group. The dream three would probably be Nicky Shorey, Bakari Sagna and Habib Beye (although that may make us a bit lop-sided at right back). One central defender that would be great at Newcastle - but we haven’t been linked with yet - is Argentinian World Cup central defender Fabricio Coloccini from Deportivo La Coruna. Fabricio is 25, stands 6′ tall and has played over 25 times for the Argentinian national team.

TrueBeliever_jh
25-06-2007, 09:51 PM
Shorey deal blow for Magpies

By ANDREW HAIGH
June 25, 2007

COMMENT ON THIS STORY

NICKY SHOREY is set for a bumper new deal at Reading as Newcastle prepare a £5million bid.

The England left-back has also been linked with a move to West Ham.

But Royals' boss Steve Coppell reckons Shorey's new big-money contract will be worth every penny.

Coppell said: “Nicky’s success has dictated a new contract. It was discussed even before England came up.

“He may have only played because Wayne Bridge and Ashley Cole were injured, but all the England scouts must have given him a good report.

“And he proved himself with his level of performance – I thought he looked comfortable against one of the best teams in the world.”

Stephen Hunt's future at Reading is unsure after Coppell revealed the Royals will not enter talks about a new deal.

Coppell added: “We can’t do 20 contracts at a time. We are doing it on a rotational basis.

“Some may feel hard done by while others will think they are ahead of the game.

“But in all my time as a manager I have never known one player offer to give money back when they are playing crap!”

more on Shorey...

dreamer75
25-06-2007, 10:18 PM
more on Shorey...

argh.......

Natsairda
25-06-2007, 10:43 PM
Rozehnal arrives for Tyneside talks

Paris St Germain defender David Rozehnal has arrived on Tyneside with a view to completing a move to Newcastle United.

The 26-year-old Czech international was at St James' Park on Monday afternoon to hold talks and undergo a medical.

Manager Sam Allardyce hopes to be able to tie up what would be his third summer signing within 24 hours and take the first step towards rebuilding his defence.

A defender has finally arrived,at last

TrueBeliever_jh
25-06-2007, 11:03 PM
Rozehnal arrives for Tyneside talks

Paris St Germain defender David Rozehnal has arrived on Tyneside with a view to completing a move to Newcastle United.

The 26-year-old Czech international was at St James' Park on Monday afternoon to hold talks and undergo a medical.

Manager Sam Allardyce hopes to be able to tie up what would be his third summer signing within 24 hours and take the first step towards rebuilding his defence.

A defender has finally arrived,at last
still got medical and the actual penning.. so not yet.. remember Barton's case? delayed for some days.. but good lar.. we managed to land a star player from PSG...

hmm.. will he be good to us?

sgpeasant
26-06-2007, 08:56 AM
looks like vidic

hope he plays like him

ShaqONeal
26-06-2007, 09:43 AM
still got medical and the actual penning.. so not yet.. remember Barton's case? delayed for some days.. but good lar.. we managed to land a star player from PSG...

hmm.. will he be good to us?dunno how good is he.. some says good, but nothing to prove.. anyway, think Sam noe defensive more than previous 2 managers bah..

i tok Boumsong is okay until bad lucks struck us.. or r we demand too much from him?? may b English games jus not his type of football??

oh no.. seems rozehnal kind of old liao.. we still sign him on 3 millions and 4 yrs deal??????

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/players/international?id=12573&league=fifa.world&season=2006&cc=4716

Natsairda
26-06-2007, 10:34 AM
maybe boumsong influence by bramble easily make mistake

SecretZone
26-06-2007, 10:57 AM
dunno how good is he.. some says good, but nothing to prove.. anyway, think Sam noe defensive more than previous 2 managers bah..

i tok Boumsong is okay until bad lucks struck us.. or r we demand too much from him?? may b English games jus not his type of football??

oh no.. seems rozehnal kind of old liao.. we still sign him on 3 millions and 4 yrs deal??????

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/players/international?id=12573&league=fifa.world&season=2006&cc=4716
ok la, he onli 27 this year, 4 year on also onli 31.. for a defender still consider young :D

dbchoong
26-06-2007, 11:39 AM
ok la, he onli 27 this year, 4 year on also onli 31.. for a defender still consider young :D

Is there an error in Soccernet? It states Rozehnal was born in 1970... making him 37 years old this year!!

BoyWithBigToy
26-06-2007, 01:30 PM
ahahhaha tats damn old

SecretZone
26-06-2007, 01:39 PM
Is there an error in Soccernet? It states Rozehnal was born in 1970... making him 37 years old this year!!
soccernet cock up . should be 1980 :s13:

Natsairda
26-06-2007, 07:10 PM
Ashley hits 90% as board changes
Announcement to the Stock Exchange:

Following the recommended cash offer by St. James Holdings Limited being declared unconditional in all respects on 15 June 2007, Newcastle United PLC announces the resignation of Bruce Shepherd, Allison Antonopoulos, Tim Revill and Douglas Hall from the Board of Directors and the appointment of Chris Mort and Steve Hayward to the Board of Directors; all such changes to have immediate effect.

Recent trading has taken Mike Ashley to the magical 90% shareholding.

A further announcement to the London Stock Exchange is likely later today or tomorrow.

dreamer75
26-06-2007, 08:29 PM
News today from Sky Sports that Bakari Sagna wants a move to Arsenal and he has pleaded with his club - Auxerre - not to deny him such an opportunity. That doesn’t look good for Newcastle’s chances of signing Bakari - although the Arsenal club aren’t exactly stable right now - with Wenger’s future at the club in doubt.

dreamer75
26-06-2007, 08:30 PM
Alan O’Brien’s move to Hibernian. Looks like Sam made an attempt to keep the youngster by offering him better terms - but we have still lost him. Newcastle have to do a better job at giving our youngsters the chance they deserve. Alan didn’t get it - even when Duff and N’Zogbia were both out injured. The death knell at Newcastle for Alan was the signing of Duff from Chelsea - who we simply didn’t need. The priority at Newcastle has always been to the players we have brought in - and that is wrong.

Rappelz
26-06-2007, 10:36 PM
News today from Sky Sports that Bakari Sagna wants a move to Arsenal and he has pleaded with his club - Auxerre - not to deny him such an opportunity. That doesn’t look good for Newcastle’s chances of signing Bakari - although the Arsenal club aren’t exactly stable right now - with Wenger’s future at the club in doubt.

ohh.. this guy is from auxerre..... :s13: :s13:

usjag_18
27-06-2007, 09:18 AM
looks like vidic

hope he plays like him
How does he look likes Vidic??? My first look @ him, I felt he looks more alike w/his Czech national team-mate, Mr Petr Cech....
Hw can a Cech looks like a Serbian??? hahaha...

Anyway, I oso hope he plays like Vidic, den it will be more interesting when New Utd facing other clubs than having those silly goals conceded by some of the previous defenders that New Utd gotten.... Good luck to U guys...

ShaqONeal
27-06-2007, 12:06 PM
Is there an error in Soccernet? It states Rozehnal was born in 1970... making him 37 years old this year!!i really tok he's 36/7 liao.. darn.. then i always heard sam saying wanna get experience defenders to teach those younger like taylor... then i really tok he already near retired age... darn.

ShaqONeal
27-06-2007, 12:14 PM
maybe boumsong influence by bramble easily make mistakei oso think so.. our thinking alike..

aqf
27-06-2007, 01:53 PM
Can't wait for the new season to start. Hope we can play better football under Big Sam.

ghimpheng
27-06-2007, 03:20 PM
i like newcastle =D hopefully they will do well

knock arsenal off top 4 should be newcastle aim :D

sgpeasant
27-06-2007, 05:54 PM
Sam handed a £50m bonanza

Jun 27 2007

By Paul Gilder, The Journal

Sam Allardyce outside the box office at St James' Park

Sam Allardyce's squad restructuring programme will receive fresh impetus as Mike Ashley's management team turn their attentions to footballing affairs having completed a sweeping boardroom cull.

And having agreed to continue his Newcastle stewardship, Freddie Shepherd will turn his attentions to helping to negotiate a deal with Olympique Marseille for the Senegalese international Habib Beye.

Having captured David Rozehnal from Paris-Saint Germain, Allardyce is keen to continue his defensive overhaul and the versatile Beye is next on his wanted list. The 52-year-old has made three signings since succeeding Glenn Roeder last month. But as a billionaire who is closing in on the 90% stake that will enable him to complete his St James's Park takeover prepares to release significant funds for team strengthening, Allardyce is poised to step up his efforts in the transfer market.

The Journal understands an initial £50m budget has been set aside and a manager who will take his squad to a pre-season training camp in Austria next week is keen to start spending as soon as possible.

The uncertain situation in the boardroom has complicated Allardyce's efforts this summer. But following yesterday's announcement to the Stock Exchange that the club's management structure has undergone dramatic change, all obstacles have been removed.

Having accepted resignations from four United directors, Ashley's thoughts have turned to matters in the dressing room. Chris Mort - the senior man, whose initial role will involve reviewing the club's business practices - and Steve Hayward have joined a new-look board, while a familiar figure will continue to have an input.

Following a long meeting, Shepherd has agreed to Ashley's unexpected request that he remain in office at St James's Park. The Magpies chairman had offered to stand down following his decision to sell his stake in the club to the Sports Direct International magnate, but a businessman with no experience in running a football club is keen to utilise his expertise during the initial difficult bedding-in period.

Shepherd has made no public comment on the situation - with St James's Park officials last night confirming he will continue in his current role in a short statement. It remains to be seen whether Shepherd figures in Ashley's long-term plans, but his immediate objectives are clear.

United's chairman discussed Allardyce's recruitment plans in detail following the former Bolton manager's appointment last month. Yesterday's developments will enable the pair to press ahead, with the additional finances that will be available set to improve their prospects.

Although Rozehnal's capture has yet to be confirmed, the Czech international will start the forthcoming Premier League campaign as a Newcastle player following a £3m transfer from the Parc des Princes.

Allardyce will return to France as he attempts to strike a deal for another defender. Beye has long been a target and the United boss has received permission to make an approach for the Stade Velodrome captain. The 29-year-old is an accomplished performer at right-back and centre-half and his versatility appeals to a manager who is keen to add strength in both positions.

Having spent yesterday tying up loose ends, Rozehnal should finally be unveiled this morning and Allardyce will hope Beye is not far behind. Newcastle continue to be linked with Bordeaux's Julien Faubert, although the 23-year-old appears to be bound for Glasgow Rangers.

One player who is not heading to St James's Park this summer is Ryan Babel. The striker caught Allardyce's eye during the European Under-21 Championships but, having revealed his desire to join Arsenal in the future, the 20-year-old is adamant he will remain at Ajax next season.

Ghana's Laryea Kingston has revealed that he rejected a move to Newcastle this summer in order to join Hearts on a permanent basis. The midfielder, who had been on loan at Tynecastle from Russian side Terek Grozny, also turned down Bolton.

Allardyce will keep a close eye on events at Eastlands. With Sven-Göran Eriksson's appointment as Manchester City's next manager imminent, the former England coach is understood to have identified Michael Owen among his transfer targets and a bid for a player whose £9m release clause has become common knowledge is expected.

http://icnewcastle.icnetwork.co.uk/newcastleunited/journalsport/tm_headline=sam-handed-a-%2Dpound%2D50m-bonanza%26method=full%26objectid=19363088%26siteid=50081-name_page.html

song boh :D

Natsairda
27-06-2007, 07:08 PM
Big Sam hopes to snap up Geremi

Newcastle manager Sam Allardyce is closing in on a deal to take Chelsea utility man Geremi to St James' Park.

It is understood the Magpies are hopeful of securing the 28-year-old Cameroon international on a Bosman free transfer as he approaches the end of his four-year deal at Stamford Bridge.

Geremi, who spent a season on loan at Middlesbrough from Real Madrid earlier in his career, made 23 starts and five substitute appearances for the Blues last season.

However, with Paulo Ferreira and Lassana Diarra competing for the right-back spot and Jose Mourinho boasting an embarrassment of riches in midfield, his future chances look limited.

Boro have repeatedly been linked with their former player this summer, although the Teessiders have insisted they have not been in the market for him.

Ironically, the right-back spot is one in which they have cover, although midfielder Nolberto Solano was used as an emergency defender in that position last season when Stephen Carr was either injured or having to play on the left.

However, Geremi's versatility could prove invaluable as Allardyce re-shapes his squad.

The manager has also been pursuing an interest in Marseille captain Habib Beye after releasing Titus Bramble, Craig Moore, Oguchi Onyewu and Olivier Bernard within days of his arrival at St James'.

Geremi's arrival would see him follow the same path as Damien Duff, who left Chelsea for Newcastle in a £5million switch last summer.

Geremi in Toon
Chelsea's Cameroon international midfielder/ defender Geremi is reported as currently being at Newcastle's training ground for talks over a free transfer move.

There had been recent speculation that the 28 year-old could swap Stamford Bridge for a second stint at the Riverside - having played season 2002/03 for the Smoggies when on loan from Real Madrid.

SecretZone
27-06-2007, 08:20 PM
50mil alot sia.. but i think we dun need to spend that much. we wan quality players not expensive one :D

now tat ashley has fully control the club, its time for big sam to go all out to get us the players!! :s7:

dreamer75
27-06-2007, 08:21 PM
The news today is that Sam Allardyce has been given a £50M war chest to bring in new players. He will be supported in this over the next two months by Freddy Shepherd and new Vice-Chairman Chris Mort. Given that Sam has brought in three good players for a net outlay of £1.8M and is after Habib Beye now for £2M - one wonders what he can do with £50M - or even £40M

SecretZone
27-06-2007, 08:21 PM
Big Sam hopes to snap up Geremi

Newcastle manager Sam Allardyce is closing in on a deal to take Chelsea utility man Geremi to St James' Park.

It is understood the Magpies are hopeful of securing the 28-year-old Cameroon international on a Bosman free transfer as he approaches the end of his four-year deal at Stamford Bridge.

Geremi, who spent a season on loan at Middlesbrough from Real Madrid earlier in his career, made 23 starts and five substitute appearances for the Blues last season.

However, with Paulo Ferreira and Lassana Diarra competing for the right-back spot and Jose Mourinho boasting an embarrassment of riches in midfield, his future chances look limited.

Boro have repeatedly been linked with their former player this summer, although the Teessiders have insisted they have not been in the market for him.

Ironically, the right-back spot is one in which they have cover, although midfielder Nolberto Solano was used as an emergency defender in that position last season when Stephen Carr was either injured or having to play on the left.

However, Geremi's versatility could prove invaluable as Allardyce re-shapes his squad.

The manager has also been pursuing an interest in Marseille captain Habib Beye after releasing Titus Bramble, Craig Moore, Oguchi Onyewu and Olivier Bernard within days of his arrival at St James'.

Geremi's arrival would see him follow the same path as Damien Duff, who left Chelsea for Newcastle in a £5million switch last summer.

NUFC like very good term wif chelsea, kinda like to buy over their players :s22:

i would like to see wayne bridge donning our jersey!! :D

dreamer75
27-06-2007, 08:22 PM
News from yesterday’s meeting is that Sam’s key back-room staff from Bolton - Mark Taylor and Mike Forde will soon be joining Sam at Newcastle. Hopefully they can work their magic with reducing the injuries that have always plagued Newcastle - especially over the last two seasons. This will be key for next season - that we can somehow control these injuries - and understand why they occur.

dreamer75
27-06-2007, 08:23 PM
It certainly looks like it’s full steam ahead on the transfer market for Newcastle. The next target seems to be Habib Beye - from Marseilles - who is valued at £2M. Sam has the go ahead to speak to Habib - and he would be excellent signing for us and can play right back or center back.

dreamer75
27-06-2007, 08:26 PM
Sam is also ready to take the squad on a pre-season training camp to Austria next week and is said to be keen to start spending his transfer funds as soon as possible.

dreamer75
27-06-2007, 08:27 PM
guys, what's ur formation and starting XI for the new season?

dreamer75
27-06-2007, 08:49 PM
Mike Ashley is a businessman who "parks his tanks on other people's lawns". Only 39 days after staging what amounted to a coup d'état at Newcastle United, shocking the chairman Freddy Shepherd by buying Sir John Hall's 41% stake, Ashley yesterday moved closer to complete control and began appointing his own generals inside St James' Park. Christopher Mort and Steve Hayward previously had no profile in professional football. They do now.

Mort, a 38-year-old London lawyer, becomes deputy chairman of Newcastle but that title should not be taken to imply that he has anyone above him at the club aside from Ashley. Mort is now the key figure and decision-maker at Newcastle and he is the man to whom Sam Allardyce will answer on a daily basis.

An experienced corporate lawyer who advised Ashley on the recent £930m flotation of his Sports Direct company, Mort will be in charge of the strategic review of all aspects of the club. Yesterday Ashley also moved closer to the 90% shareholding that would mean a compulsory purchase of the last 10%. He will then de-list Newcastle from the Stock Exchange.

Mort lives with his family in north London and has been described as a fan of football rather than a supporter of any particular club. "I am delighted to take on this role," he said yesterday. "Newcastle United is a fantastic football club with a wonderful set of supporters. My first task is to lead a review of all aspects of the club and I look forward to starting that work immediately."

Mort's is an executive appointment whereas Hayward becomes a non- executive director. It may be considered that Hayward is on licence from Ashley's core Sports Direct business. He has a sports marketing background and Ashley is obviously keen to drive on the commercial aspect of the Newcastle United business.

The presence of both men at St James' impacts upon Shepherd. The chairman has chosen to remain in his post but his authority, if not his bank balance, has been reduced greatly and few expect that he will stay much beyond the closure of the transfer window at the end of August. That in turn should have some bearing on Shepherd's son Kenneth, whose exact role at the club was queried in the Stevens report.

As predicted in the past 72 hours, Shepherd's brother Bruce, along with Hall's son Douglas, resigned from the board yesterday, as did Douglas Hall's sister, Allison Antonopoulos, and Tim Revill. There has as yet been no public comment on the future of Steve Walton, recently appointed from Barclays Bank.

A statement released yesterday by Newcastle United plc confirmed "the resignation of Bruce Shepherd, Allison Antonopoulos, Tim Revill and Douglas Hall from the board of directors and the appointment of Chris Mort and Steve Hayward to the board of directors, all such changes to have immediate effect. Freddy Shepherd remains in his current role."

Allardyce can expect to feel the knock-on effect soon. Ashley's primary motivation in buying Newcastle remains unknown but even if it is fundamentally financial the manager can anticipate an injection of funds and a flurry of headline figures. But Monday's claim that Newcastle will receive £10m in compensation for the injury to Michael Owen is a gross exaggeration.

In playing terms, Allardyce has so far been able to buy Joey Barton from Manchester City for £5.8m and David Rozehnal from Paris Saint-Germain for £3m. Mark Viduka has arrived on a free transfer from Middlesbrough.

sgpeasant
27-06-2007, 08:50 PM
Toon eye Geremi swoop
By Alex Dunn - Created on 27 Jun 2007

Chelsea utility man Geremi looks to be on his way to Newcastle United, according to widespread reports.

Armed with a considerable transfer kitty, Newcastle boss Sam Allardyce is scouring England and abroad for fresh recruits, as he looks to rejuvenate fortunes at St James' Park.

Cameroon international Geremi has in the past been linked with a move to Middlesbrough, where he once spent a season on-loan, but it looks as though Newcastle have stolen a march on their North East rivals.

Allardyce is hopeful of quickly concluding a deal for the 28-year-old, who is approaching the end of his contract at Chelsea and, will be available on a free transfer.

Geremi has spent much of his time at Stamford Bridge on the bench and it is thought he is now ready to quit West London, in the pursuit of regular first team football.

http://home.skysports.com/list.aspx?hlid=474038&CPID=8&clid=8&lid=2&title=Toon+eye+Geremi+swoop&channel=football_home&

Looks like the real deal.I ish so sexcited :s22:

ShaqONeal
27-06-2007, 09:20 PM
wow.. we used to hear alot of rumours but not many players in for both SOuney and Roeder..

but after Sam and Arshley on board, wat we heard will be real unless someone snatch them away...

i am very excited.. really..

donald83
27-06-2007, 11:03 PM
Wah Geremi should be quite a gd signing. One of the most exciting seasons for us in recent years!

ceLsius
27-06-2007, 11:21 PM
LOL...... gotta thank Newcastle for snapping up Geremi, our midfield is really packed. :D
Geremi's season at CFC really not up to std. I dunno why so many nc fans like so excited abt Geremi, but he definitely not gd enuff to play for CFC. Good luck!

TrueBeliever_jh
27-06-2007, 11:37 PM
LOL...... gotta thank Newcastle for snapping up Geremi, our midfield is really packed. :D
Geremi's season at CFC really not up to std. I dunno why so many nc fans like so excited abt Geremi, but he definitely not gd enuff to play for CFC. Good luck!
okay.. noted with thanx..

Natsairda
27-06-2007, 11:41 PM
Geremi's season at CFC really not up to std. I dunno why so many nc fans like so excited abt Geremi, but he definitely not gd enuff to play for CFC. Good luck!:s22: :s22: :s22:

sgpeasant
28-06-2007, 12:13 AM

celsius strikes again

:s13: :s13:

Rappelz
28-06-2007, 12:35 AM

imo i think he was more of a right back at cfc recently.... which is a problem area for cfc..

dbchoong
28-06-2007, 09:49 AM
The Sun (http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2007290595,00.html) says Arsenal eyeing Martins. :s27:

BoyWithBigToy
28-06-2007, 10:21 AM
yup arsenal wans him...see Newcastle wan put anot

aqf
28-06-2007, 10:26 AM
yup arsenal wans him...see Newcastle wan put anot
I rather see Owen go

SecretZone
28-06-2007, 10:30 AM
I rather see Owen go
me too :s7:

ShaqONeal
28-06-2007, 10:33 AM
Geremi's season at CFC really not up to std. I dunno why so many nc fans like so excited abt Geremi, but he definitely not gd enuff to play for CFC. Good luck!no good in chelsea doesn't mean no good in other team.. if he really no good, why signed him in first place???

anyway, we have to agree tat we desperate need some decent defenders.. not top defenders may b.. but decent one who can defence good liao.. lol

probably next season, we snatch Terry from Chelsea.. lol.

ShaqONeal
28-06-2007, 10:35 AM
me too :s7:me three..

i really hope oba stayed with us.. we have done so many now.. so hope he convinced we will have better season next season..

pls stay.. OWEN, pls leave.. get any club to get u OUT.. (somehow no club approach him yet, wat an insult)

hoon_ki
28-06-2007, 03:19 PM
thanks to your club too for a cheap buy!! :D i can't believe we bought parker for 6.5m when u guys paid 10m for him.. hey, we profited a bit too when we sold him to west ham! oh, duff too, when u guys let us have him for 5m after splashing 17m on him!! and now, geremi for free! tell moanrinho to give big sam a call if he intends to sell fringe players like swp, wayne bridge etc... we can offer, say, 2m each??? =:p

aqf
28-06-2007, 03:55 PM
thanks to your club too for a cheap buy!! :D i can't believe we bought parker for 6.5m when u guys paid 10m for him.. hey, we profited a bit too when we sold him to west ham! oh, duff too, when u guys let us have him for 5m after splashing 17m on him!! and now, geremi for free! tell moanrinho to give big sam a call if he intends to sell fringe players like swp, wayne bridge etc... we can offer, say, 2m each??? =:p
It the other way around dude! Newcastle bought Parker for 6.5 million. Cfc bought him from charlton for 10 million

SecretZone
28-06-2007, 05:06 PM

u are welome! anymore of cfc expensive buys wanna sell us?
hmm i think i dun mind have shev to join us!! :s13: say... 5mil? dun play play hor , we help u clear those "unwanted" players... :o

ceLsius
28-06-2007, 06:36 PM
no good in chelsea doesn't mean no good in other team.. if he really no good, why signed him in first place???

anyway, we have to agree tat we desperate need some decent defenders.. not top defenders may b.. but decent one who can defence good liao.. lol

probably next season, we snatch Terry from Chelsea.. lol.

Don't take my words out of context leh. I didn't say he's no gd, I say he's not gd enuff for Chelsea. See the difference? I didn't say he won't perform better than in NC than in CFC.

Btw, last season Newcastle thought $5 million Duff is a steal buy ended up..... :o
Oh well...... Players that have left Chelsea - Gudjohsen, Duff, Gallas etc. doesn't seem to excel better than they were at CFC. :D

ahgohgoh
28-06-2007, 06:42 PM
Don't take my words out of context leh. I didn't say he's no gd, I say he's not gd enuff for Chelsea. See the difference? I didn't say he won't perform better than in NC than in CFC.

Btw, last season Newcastle thought $5 million Duff is a steal buy ended up..... :o
Oh well...... Players that have left Chelsea - Gudjohsen, Duff, Gallas etc. doesn't seem to excel better than they were at CFC. :D

alot of players left their club for chelsea... didn't seem to have excelled better than previous clubs...

shevchenko.... SWP.... tiago... smertin... wayne bridge... too many

ceLsius
28-06-2007, 06:44 PM
alot of players left their club for chelsea... didn't seem to have excelled better than previous clubs...

Our daddy got money can play FM, their daddy can play along or not? :s13:

Wryer
28-06-2007, 06:50 PM
Our daddy got money can play FM, their daddy can play along or not? :s13:

Get your taunting elsewhere. Try to engage someone in your own thread.

ceLsius
28-06-2007, 06:52 PM
Get your taunting elsewhere. Try to engage someone in your own thread.

How about ur thread? :s8:

Wryer
28-06-2007, 06:54 PM
How about ur thread? :s8:

Is that a challenge or a threat?

Are you a Newcastle fan? Are you a Arsenal fan?

Try harder.

ceLsius
28-06-2007, 07:01 PM
Is that a challenge or a threat?

Are you a Newcastle fan? Are you a Arsenal fan?

Try harder.

Holy cow.... maybe u wanna highlight to me which chapter, which page, which rule states that other fans are not allow to make comments in other club threads? Duh! :s8:

Wryer
28-06-2007, 07:12 PM
I don't care which chapter, which page, which rule it is stated.

All i know is trolls are condemned and i am here to help moderate the forums.

This is my last reply to you here. You can continue to troll, and i will continue to hound your posts.

Korn123
28-06-2007, 07:23 PM
I don't care which chapter, which page, which rule it is stated.

All i know is trolls are condemned and i am here to help moderate the forums.

This is my last reply to you here. You can continue to troll, and i will continue to hound your posts.

Let him be la... Look at the chelsea thread. Just him and his clone Ultimate12 talking to themselves. Must be pretty lonely down there to make him as delusional as he is.

Anyway, just block him off like United_Treble lor. Trolls are an ugly lot anyway. Thanks for the moderation too!

Back to more worthy issues, I suppose our club is doing just fine, with BSA not anxious to splash out the cash for overrated panic buys like what his predecessors (Souey, especially) would tend to do. And we're starting our transfers early, for once. The EPL starts in late Aug rite? NUFCblog is a godsend, with all the latest rumours/news relating to the Toon all in one spot.

ghimpheng
28-06-2007, 07:26 PM

SWP is a good player in an relegation-battling club man city but not good enough to start for chelsea

wayne bridge is still a world class left back don't understand why u think that he become lousier or something

Sheva - yet to adapt and family problems henry 1st season also never score that many goals nor have that many assists

Rappelz
28-06-2007, 07:33 PM

those players din really get a chance to prove their worth...

yourmother
28-06-2007, 07:38 PM
I see Chelsea fans are spreading their stupidity to the Newcastle forum. And little celsius balls shrink again after a few words with a mod. :s13:

Rappelz
28-06-2007, 07:42 PM
I see Chelsea fans are spreading their stupidity to the Newcastle forum. And little celsius balls shrink again after a few words with a mod. :s13:

be nice there... :D

BoyWithBigToy
28-06-2007, 07:59 PM
chelsea ma.....bo bian

KWSW
28-06-2007, 08:33 PM
chelsea ma.....bo bian

haha so whats new? :s13:

hoon_ki
28-06-2007, 10:19 PM
It the other way around dude! Newcastle bought Parker for 6.5 million. Cfc bought him from charlton for 10 million
lol bro i believe that was exactly what i said.. we got parker for 6.5m when chelsea spent 10m on him...

hoon_ki
28-06-2007, 10:34 PM
ok enough of the chelski crap already... here's some interesting news for the day.. big sam is apparently chasing edmilson frm barca.... he's pretty tall, can play as centreback or dmc and is on a free transfer... the only drawback, he's juz undergone a knee op which could sideline him for 4-6 mths...

also, there's speculation that rozehnal is going to be introduced with another player.... edmilson perhaps? or geremi??

source: http://nufcblog.com/newcastles-allardyce-after-brazils-edmilson-on-free-transfer/

Rappelz
28-06-2007, 10:34 PM
lol bro i believe that was exactly what i said.. we got parker for 6.5m when chelsea spent 10m on him...

u 2 made me confused there... :s13:

Rappelz
28-06-2007, 10:36 PM
ok enough of the chelski crap already... here's some interesting news for the day.. big sam is apparently chasing edmilson frm barca.... he's pretty tall, can play as centreback or dmc and is on a free transfer... the only drawback, he's juz undergone a knee op which could sideline him for 4-6 mths...

also, there's speculation that rozehnal is going to be introduced with another player.... edmilson perhaps? or geremi??

source: http://nufcblog.com/newcastles-allardyce-after-brazils-edmilson-on-free-transfer/

free not bad..
but edmilson quite old liao...
can play a season or 2...

dreamer75
28-06-2007, 10:45 PM
The big news today is that Arsene Wenger would like to take Oba Martins to Arsenal as a replacement for Thierry Henry. They are completely different players so we can only assume Wenger knows how he will be playing Oba. There is no doubt he has been an admirer of Oba for a number of years.

dreamer75
28-06-2007, 10:45 PM
Good news today on Geremi - he has been at Newcastle’s training ground to meet with Sam Allardyce. A Chelsea source last night said he thought Newcastle were the favorites to sign Geremi. Another great free transfer for Sam - if he can pull it off. We also mention the chase for Habib Beye - which we are also hoping will end in success. The acquisition of these two will go a long way to soothe the anxieties of some Newcastle fans who are concerned about the lack of defensive signings. If all goes well we could have Rozehnal, Geremi and Beye at the club by the time training starts next week - that would be great!

hoon_ki
28-06-2007, 10:48 PM
free not bad..
but edmilson quite old liao...
can play a season or 2...
he's 30, not too bad for a centreback/dmc.. just that i don't understand why big sam is chasing these freebies.. just spend the bloody 5m on baines pls!! he's worth it! :s13:

TrueBeliever_jh
28-06-2007, 11:05 PM
he's 30, not too bad for a centreback/dmc.. just that i don't understand why big sam is chasing these freebies.. just spend the bloody 5m on baines pls!! he's worth it! :s13:
then if the team fails.. he got something blame on mah.. haha

SecretZone
29-06-2007, 12:05 AM
i think he wan to keep his image as how he is able to get good player for low price :)
its quite a good thing.. consider tat we have spend quite alot for the past 10years.

dbchoong
29-06-2007, 12:12 PM
Imagine if Roeder resigned this week, maybe can get Fabio Capello in as manager instead of Big Sam. That guy has a record of winning the league title every club he has managed. :)

hoon_ki
29-06-2007, 12:21 PM
woah capello sacked?? ridiculous! but tink abt it, if GR resigned only this wk, we probably won't have barton, viduka and rozehnal in... he might have even offered titus fumble an extended contract! :s13:

dbchoong
29-06-2007, 12:21 PM
The Sun (http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2007290817,00.html) says: Manchester United are set to offer £4million plus Alan Smith for Owen, while Arsenal have already lined up a £13m bid for Martins.

aqf
29-06-2007, 12:44 PM
The Sun (http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2007290817,00.html) says: Manchester United are set to offer £4million plus Alan Smith for Owen, while Arsenal have already lined up a £13m bid for Martins.
The Sun is full of crap....

Kilrach
29-06-2007, 05:15 PM
wow so many things happened while i was away :s22:

sgpeasant
29-06-2007, 08:55 PM
Magpies 'agree' Edmilson deal
By Mark Buckingham - Created on 29 Jun 2007

Sky Sports News understands Newcastle United have agreed a deal, in principle, to sign Edmilson.

The versatile Barcelona man is currently recovering from knee surgery, but it has not deterred the Magpies from launching a bid.

Edmilson is likely to be out of action for four to six months, having undergone the operation last week.

A Newcastle delegation, headed by manager Sam Allardyce, travelled to Spain on Thursday to hold talks with Barcelona and Edmilson.

It now appears that Allardyce has come to an agreement with Edmilson, who can play at centre-half or in a midfield holding role.

Barcelona are reportedly willing to accept a nominal fee for the 30-year-old, with the Brazilian having 12 months remaining on his contract.

During the trip to Catalunya, Allardyce is also understood to be enquiring about the availability of former Chelsea striker Eidur Gudjohnsen.

http://home.skysports.com/list.aspx?hlid=474350&CPID=8&clid=4&lid=2&title=Magpies+'agree'+Edmilson+deal&channel=football_home&

how good is he? anyone watched him play before?

GetFuzzy
29-06-2007, 09:20 PM
Edmilson is likely to be out of action for four to six months, having undergone the operation last week.

Interesting. Signing an injury player. Die-hard habit of the Magpies?

donald83
29-06-2007, 09:30 PM
sign Edmilson for wat???

MaGpiEz
29-06-2007, 09:49 PM
y dun try signing saviola if they wanna sign ediur?

TrueBeliever_jh
29-06-2007, 10:10 PM
another midfielder???? so whos going off?

TrueBeliever_jh
29-06-2007, 10:17 PM
Chron cobblers:
Do we want our
Eds examined?

SkySportsNews are currently running the following breaking news:

Edmilson agrees in principle to join Newcastle from Barcelona.

While ITV run with:
Newcastle boss Sam Allardyce has flown to Barcelona to try to push through a move for World Cup winner Edmilson.

A delegation from St James' Park met the 30-year-old Brazilian on Thursday and was due to resume talks the next day.

Allardyce is keen to sign the defender, who can also play in the midfield holding role, even though he is currently sidelined after knee surgery.

Edmilson is likely to be out of action for between four and six months, but the Magpies believe he could play in October or November, and are ready to make a move for a man they believe is still a world-class performer.

Allardyce, chairman Freddy Shepherd's son Kenneth and European scout Paul Montgomery flew to Catalonia yesterday afternoon after Barca president Joan Laporte gave Newcastle permission to talk to the player.

He has a year left on his existing contract, but the Magpies are confident they can land him for a nominal fee, provided they can persuade him his future lies on Tyneside.

We originally wrote on Thursday:

Thursday's Chronicle led with a back page claiming that United "have made an ambitious move for Barcelona's Brazilian defender Edmilson" - accompanied by a front page pic of the player in his famous yellow strip.

It's correctly stated that the player isn't in the Brazil squad currently competing in the Copa America, but his omission is unexplained.

In fact Edmilson underwent his third operation in as many years on his troublesome right knee earlier this week - which will sideline him for six months.

Looks like we got this well and truly wrong - apologies to all, but why did nobody else but NUFC.com care to mention the injury and the operation when the story broke on Thursday?

Surely all those other sites and news outlets didn't just plagiarise Olly without doing even a moment's checking?

Forgive us if we don't understand the strange workings of football when injured players can be transferred - we were forgetting the precedent of Olivier Bernard - and Jonathan Woodgate....

Edmilson's Nou Camp career:

2004/05 4 league appearances
Oct 2004 Operation on right knee

2005/06 24 league appearances
June 2006 Operation on right knee

2006/07 22 league appearances
June 2007 Operation on right knee

Barcelona club doctor Ramon Cugat speaking earlier this week:

"This is a complicated injury with a slow recuperation."
done deal????

SecretZone
29-06-2007, 10:47 PM
think big sam trying to get more defensive player to cover the defence dept

aqf
29-06-2007, 10:54 PM
sam like to sign free players

TrueBeliever_jh
29-06-2007, 11:04 PM
sam like to sign free players
haha.. Sam wanna pocket the 50mill himself :o

SecretZone
29-06-2007, 11:23 PM
all the previous managers spend alot and never win anything.. he wan be different? spend little ... scally win us our first trophy! :D

TrueBeliever_jh
29-06-2007, 11:34 PM
all the previous managers spend alot and never win anything.. he wan be different? spend little ... scally win us our first trophy! :D
actually got win mah... UEFA cup :s22:

dreamer75
29-06-2007, 11:48 PM
There is a story in today’s Sun - an exclusive. It says that Manchester United want to offer Alan Smith plus ₤4M for Michael Owen. We take a look at this but are very wary of Sun exclusives. Only last week they said we had won the race for Smith at a fee of ₤3.4M. Then last Monday said Middlesbrough were in the lead for Smith with a bid of ₤6M - and that story didn’t even mention Friday’s story. We look at what these continual sensational stories mean to Newcastle - and it’s not good.

dreamer75
29-06-2007, 11:50 PM
oh pls dun sign a injured player lah.

dreamer75
29-06-2007, 11:52 PM
Sam Allardyce talked with Paul Gilder of the Journal last night on the release clauses in the contracts of Michael Owen and Oba Martins. You can hear the frustration coming out of Sam as he clearly expresses how bad these clauses are for the club and himself.

We’ll take a look at the sensible things Sam says. One thing is for certain – there will never be any more of these clauses in players’ contracts – as long as he is Newcastle’s manager.

Newcastle Boss Sam Allardyce
These release clauses are so stupid!

This is what Sam had to say to Gilder – talking on the release clauses:

“It leaves us in a position where, although we have long contracts with both players, we haven’t really got long contracts,” “If those clauses are invoked, there will be nothing we can do about it.

I’m planning to start next season with Michael and Obafemi here, but I’m in a position where at some point between now and August I might lose those players and that would be a massive blow for me and this football club.”

“When will someone come forward for the players with the clauses? At what point do they do it? How do I plan for it? I can’t control what happens in the outside world, I can only control what happens inside Newcastle United.

We are in a precarious position and all the speculation that’s flying around is difficult to cope with. Everyone knows about the clause situation and that leaves us in a poor situation as a football club. I’m disappointed but I have got to get on with it.”

We are impressed with Sam – that even in his frustration he doesn’t blame the players at all – he expresses that it leaves him in an almost untenable position – but not one bad word against his two players. It is this excellent man management that gets the players behind Sam (and Newcastle). If he can persuade both players to stay at the club and even renegotiate their contracts that would be a massive step forward for Sam for next season. That may be possible but you can bet Sam is ready to talk to both players next week. We were surprised to hear Sam say yesterday he didn’t need to talk to Owen next week - but now with this supposed bid from Manchester United - it would seem appropriate to sit down with Michael and talk these things over.

These clauses also cast doubt on Shepherd’s ability to negotiate with these top players and their agents. It appears we were willing to accede too much to their wishes to get them to Newcastle. That must stop – and it looks like it will with Sam Allardyce at the helm.

SecretZone
29-06-2007, 11:53 PM
actually got win mah... UEFA cup :s22:

u mean intertoto cup? :D i

haoki
30-06-2007, 12:11 AM
Magpies 'agree' Edmilson deal
By Mark Buckingham - Created on 29 Jun 2007

Sky Sports News understands Newcastle United have agreed a deal, in principle, to sign Edmilson.

The versatile Barcelona man is currently recovering from knee surgery, but it has not deterred the Magpies from launching a bid.

A Newcastle delegation, headed by manager Sam Allardyce, travelled to Spain on Thursday to hold talks with Barcelona and Edmilson.

It now appears that Allardyce has come to an agreement with Edmilson, who can play at centre-half or in a midfield holding role.

Barcelona are reportedly willing to accept a nominal fee for the 30-year-old, with the Brazilian having 12 months remaining on his contract.

During the trip to Catalunya, Allardyce is also understood to be enquiring about the availability of former Chelsea striker Eidur Gudjohnsen.

http://home.skysports.com/list.aspx?hlid=474350&CPID=8&clid=4&lid=2&title=Magpies+'agree'+Edmilson+deal&channel=football_home&

how good is he? anyone watched him play before?oh definately not gd enuf for newcastle. i reckon buy back bramble....he will solve all ur problems. oh oh...get back Marcelino 2.

haoki
30-06-2007, 12:16 AM
oh definately not gd enuf for newcastle. i reckon buy back bramble....he will solve all ur problems. oh oh...get back Marcelino 2.oh dammmmnn. i forget Boumsong. BEST PLAYER AROUND :D i think u guys can get him at arnd 8 million....but but u need to throw in performance related bonus. Newcastle is so rich...surely can afford 1

dreamer75
30-06-2007, 12:20 AM
The club have inquired too, about striker Eidur Gudjohnsen's situation with Thierry Henry's arrival from Arsenal sparking fresh speculation his days at the Nou Camp could be numbered.

The Iceland international, who has also been linked with derby rivals Sunderland and Manchester United this summer, worked briefly under Allardyce at Bolton Wanderers.

Newcastle currently have five senior forwards on the books - Michael Owen, Obafemi Martins, Mark Viduka, Shola Ameobi and Andy Carroll - but uncertainty over Owen and Martins, who both have get-out clauses in their contracts, has left the manager uncertain about their plans.

TrueBeliever_jh
30-06-2007, 12:55 AM
u mean intertoto cup? :D i
oh yah... hahaha.. its our first in many years..

SecretZone
30-06-2007, 12:57 AM
oh yah... hahaha.. its our first in many years..

yeh, hope it will start the ball rolling for more glory!
:s12:

hoon_ki
30-06-2007, 12:23 PM
y dun try signing saviola if they wanna sign ediur?
yah second that! he'll be much easier to get than gudjohnsen, plus he plays similar to owen/martins too.. but tink big sam wants gudjohnsen cuz of his EPL experience and the fact that he can play in midfield too...

BoyWithBigToy
30-06-2007, 12:35 PM
hmmm true.....he is quite tall too

Cressi
30-06-2007, 12:58 PM
hmmm true.....he is quite tall tooer dont think big sam will use gudjonsen height to play as a target man if thats what your saying. im a massive fan of gudjonsen. big sam prolly want him for his playmaking ablity in the final third of the pitch. saviola has a higher risk considering that he got no past experience of playing in epl but would be a great addition to replace if either owen or martin leave newscastle.

sgpeasant
30-06-2007, 01:16 PM
oh dammmmnn. i forget Boumsong. BEST PLAYER AROUND :D i think u guys can get him at arnd 8 million....but but u need to throw in performance related bonus. Newcastle is so rich...surely can afford 1

the moment i see your avatar, i can't help but laugh :s13:

need i buy u a yoyo for your club?

Shadow04
30-06-2007, 01:22 PM
i'm a keen admirer of Gudjonsen.. always loved to watch him play, a playmaking forward is hard to find these days.. if we really do get him, i wont mind losing Owen~

i would very much prefer Gudjonsen as opposed to Saviola..

dreamer75
30-06-2007, 02:13 PM
Saviola..might be bullied in EPL...but he has speed.

MaGpiEz
30-06-2007, 02:26 PM
i like saviola speed..power...

SecretZone
30-06-2007, 04:41 PM
seem like edmilson deal might not get thru, due to his high wage demand (80k/week)

aqf
30-06-2007, 06:53 PM
i like saviola speed..power...
Oba Martins is much faster....Keep him at all cost. We dun need another shortie. Sam only like big player.

Rappelz
30-06-2007, 07:06 PM
oba is stronger too...

ghimpheng
30-06-2007, 07:18 PM
http://www.newcastleutd-mad.co.uk/news/loadnews.asp?cid=TMNW&id=342298

Chelsea goalkeeper Petr Cech is given the credit for "selling" Newcastle to new signing David Rozehnal, saying the Premiership is the best league in the world and he would be a fool to give up the chance.

Article continues below

The 26-year-old Czech international defender signed a four-year deal after completing a move from Paris St Germain for £2.8m which could eventually amount to around £3.26million.

Rozehnal: "I spoke a lot with Petr Cech and he told me it can be a big experience and a big chance for me at Newcastle.

"I am really happy because my dream has come true. I have always dreamt about this competition - for me, the Premier League is one of the best in the world.

"Now it is about work and about showing everybody I am in the right place.

"For me, it will be another big step. From the Czech Republic to Belgium, from Belgium to France and now from France to the Premier League - I am really excited because I will play against the best footballers in the world.

"Now I have to show my best, and I hope I will do that.

"I know the coach was interested in me when he was at Bolton and I am really happy he is still interested in me.

"It is really important that the coach believes in me and has given me my chance. Now it is up to me, if I work hard, to show him and my team-mates that I can get into the team.

"I am really happy that everything is done and now I am ready to prepare for next week."

Rozehnal began his career with Czech side Sigma Olomouc, then played for Belgian club FC Bruges before going to France.

Toon boss Sam Allardyce says Rozehnal as a key signing in rebuilding his much-maligned defence. He joins other signs this summer, Joey Barton and Mark Viduka.

Allardyce: "David is a hugely experienced centre-back and has played at a high level in Europe.

"He has played plenty of games for his country, and at 26 he is at the right age to learn and to adjust to playing here in the best league in the world.

"Hopefully, he can adjust as quickly as possible and we will try to make that easier for him.

"He is a very useful player indeed and a smashing fellow. He speaks English and four other languages. He is a very valuable addition to us.

"We will be looking to ease him into a role rather than throw him straight in at the deep end. But he is a very ambitious person and a good character too."

The Czech defender could make his first appearance for the Toon at Hartlepool United on July 17.

TrueBeliever_jh
30-06-2007, 08:25 PM
oh no... the singapore players are tackling so hard on Viduka :(

Tokieda
30-06-2007, 08:36 PM
viduka damn good and strong targetman! finally a successor to shearer..

hoon_ki
30-06-2007, 08:52 PM
duke scores!

ShaqONeal
30-06-2007, 09:52 PM
sort of good news:

would be better if Oba remain oso..

Sam: Owen will be in Toon

Jun 30 2007

by Lee Ryder, Evening Chronicle

Michael Owen

SAM ALLARDYCE says he is “100%” convinced that Michael Owen will be a Newcastle United player come the first day of the Premiership season at his old club Bolton Wanderers.

Owen has been constantly linked with a move away from United all summer, and has a £9m release clause in his contract.

Manchester United, Liverpool and, more recently, Arsenal and even Manchester City have been linked with a move for the United striker.

But after meeting with Owen on more than one occasion, Allardyce is confident the England poacher will be back in action for Newcastle at the start of the new campaign.

Story continues Continue story
ADVERTISEMENT

When asked if the £17m star would be at St James’ Park, Allardyce told the Chronicle: “100% yes.”

And the new Toon chief is also keen on keeping Oba Martins alongside him despite speculation Arsenal are ready to activate a £13m clause.

Speaking on the attack at Gallowgate, including Mark Viduka who is away with Australia at the moment, Allardyce added: “I would love to say on August 11 we’ll start with Shola Ameobi, Oba, Michael and Mark Viduka.

“Of course, Mark’s playing in the Asian Cup at the moment.

“The start to the season, for him, could be difficult, having done a season at Middlesbrough and then going away at the end of June until the end of July.

“We might have to rest him at the start of the Premiership, so having four strikers of the quality we’ve got might be very important.

“We could ill afford any of those three to get injured if Mark comes back and is not capable of starting the season because of the demands of the Far East.”

United will embark on a week-long stint in Austria next week as part of their pre-season preparations.

The seven-day stretch is thought to be a bonding session for Allardyce and his new players and the manager has already said mobile phones will be switched off in order to get the squad’s full attention and focus ahead of his first term in charge.

However, the trip will also see Allardyce create fitness dossiers on all of his players as he begins to apply his scientific approach to football at St James’ Park.

And despite the fact Viduka, Steven Taylor and James Milner are already looking doubtful to start the new season in peak condition, Big Sam added: “We’ve got to try and work towards ensuring that I have everybody fit and available for selection come August 11.

“I probably won’t, but I’ve got to minimise it as much as possible and make sure we start the season by winning some points quickly.”

ShaqONeal
30-06-2007, 09:56 PM
suddenly we r like hot cake.. everyone wanna come... think those who can stay will stay.. it's really the best oppoturnity to break silverware drought (not counted inter toto cup)

dbchoong
30-06-2007, 09:57 PM
The Sun says: Manchester United are set to offer £4million plus Alan Smith for Owen, while Arsenal have already lined up a £13m bid for Martins.

The Sun is full of crap....

Today's Strait Times published what The Sun said above. The Sun is tabloid, but their sports news is not crap all the time (sometimes crap - but sometimes accurate).

Rappelz
30-06-2007, 10:00 PM
Today's Strait Times published what The Sun said above. The Sun is tabloid, but their sports news is not crap all the time (sometimes crap - but sometimes accurate).

anyhow whack sometimes will tio one..

ShaqONeal
30-06-2007, 10:04 PM
4 millions + Alan Smith???

pay us more, giv us 6 millions, sell owen immediately.. lol

Owen clause r time bomb, anytime he can leave.. better let him leave when we r prepared.. lol..

Oba? heard he said wanna remain, so his heart really with us.. then everything shud be ok.

ghimpheng
30-06-2007, 10:31 PM
duff and parker from chelsea to newcastle

geremi to follow their path ?

aqf
30-06-2007, 10:40 PM
priority need a solid leftback 1st

sgpeasant
30-06-2007, 11:12 PM
duff and parker from chelsea to newcastle

geremi to follow their path ?

seriously the goods that chelsea sold us are not that good leh

parker is history duff is injured babayaro is sh it

donald83
30-06-2007, 11:34 PM
Rozenhal deal confirmed liao? Soccernet nv report

ShaqONeal
30-06-2007, 11:42 PM

parker is history duff is injured babayaro is sh itdunno why get baba at the place.. dun think he's any good.

but think geremi shud be better... :)

ShaqONeal
30-06-2007, 11:49 PM
Rozenhal deal confirmed liao? Soccernet nv reportofficially signed.. check this at newcastle official website. http://www.nufc.premiumtv.co.uk/page/NewsDetail/0,,10278~1064531,00.html

soccernet dun report, bcos it's not news.. it's old news.. we got him

dreamer75
01-07-2007, 12:46 AM
I think David will be a success at Newcastle. He’s played 34 times for the Czech Republic - who are no slouches. It also looks like Sam may turn center-back - a big weakness at Newcastle over many years - to a strength. Should he be able to capture Edmilson, Beye and Hyypia - who still look to be his targets - there would be real competition for places at central defense. We also have our local boys Steven Taylor and Peter Ramage ready to fight it out to represent their home town team - and fight they certainly will. Both are first class young professionals - as Sam will soon find out.

dreamer75
01-07-2007, 12:48 AM
we should go after Eidur - because he is such a good professional and player - and would add value to Newcastle’s squad regardless. Also Gudjohnsen thinks highly of Sam - having worked with him at Bolton in the late 1990s before moving to Chelsea in a ₤4M deal in the summer of 2000. Newcastle - under Bobby Robson - were interested in Gudjohnsen at the time - but we got Carl Cort for ₤7M instead.

TrueBeliever_jh
01-07-2007, 12:55 AM
we should go after Eidur - because he is such a good professional and player - and would add value to Newcastle’s squad regardless. Also Gudjohnsen thinks highly of Sam - having worked with him at Bolton in the late 1990s before moving to Chelsea in a ₤4M deal in the summer of 2000. Newcastle - under Bobby Robson - were interested in Gudjohnsen at the time - but we got Carl Cort for ₤7M instead.
lol.. i still cant believe it under BR... we actually get Carl Cort.. sigh..

ghimpheng
01-07-2007, 01:05 AM

parker is history duff is injured babayaro is sh it

parker is an excellent dm dun know why newcastle decided to sell him big sam should have keep him

and newcastle training ground has been a problem i wonder if duff was injure because of that and duff is a top class left winger dude

geremi is an excellent addition to your team he can play alot of places in midfield and right back as well

ghimpheng
01-07-2007, 01:06 AM
Newcastle Transfer Update on Geremi
June 30th, 2007 ·

The news today is that Newcastle will have to battle with other clubs to secure the signature of utility player Geremi from Chelsea. Aston Villa have let two of their full backs go in ex-Newcastle player Aaron Hughes - to Fulham for ₤1M, and Jlloyd Samuels - to Bolton on a fee transfer.

It is reported today that Geremi is within their sights and will provide a real threat to Newcastle in their efforts to capture the Cameroon International.

The last we had any news on Geremi was last Wednesday when Sam Allardyce spoke about the potential deal. This is what Sam had to say at that time:

“Geremi is something we would like to pursue, but many other clubs in the Premier League will be doing exactly the same thing as Newcastle.

“Hopefully we can persuade him - if we get the opportunity - to join this football club and not the others who will be chasing him as well as us.

It is a long way from done, but there is an interest there and hopefully we can progress it over the next few days.”

Let’s hope we have made some progress with the Chelsea utility player (full back, defensive midfield) because the news is that Aston Villa owner Randy Lerner will be jetting in from the USA to assist Martin O’Neill to wrap up a couple of signings as soon as possible. Geremi is definitely one of their targets. Both Aston Villa and Newcastle have Billionaire owners in Lerner and Ashley -so it will be a fight to sell the vision of the club – plus what each club can offer in terms of wages. Geremi’s contract runs out today we understand and he will then be a free agent.

We’re not sure if Sam has talked directly yet with Geremi – certainly he hadn’t by last Wednesday. But maybe by now he’s at least managed to get to Geremi via cell phone - Geremi was said to be on vacation last week. One advantage we do have is that he enjoyed his year long loan deal at Middlesbrough and really likes the north-east area. Hopefully he’ll also enjoy playing in front of 52,000 fanatical Geordie fans at each home game – and that might just do it for us (crowds at Villa Park are still surprisingly weak).

But it’s a good way to judge the attractiveness of Newcastle under Ashley and Allardyce – to see which club Geremi finally chooses. We must still be in with a good chance.

Some playing information on the Cameroon International:

Geremi was part of the gold medal-winning Cameroon team at the 2000 Summer Olympics and also represented Cameroon at the 2002 World Cup and the 2004 and 2006 African Nations Cups.
Prior to joining Chelsea in 2003, Gérémi played for Cerro Porteño 6 games 0 goals), Genclerbirligi (57 games 9 goals), Real Madrid (45 games 0 goals), and Middlesbrough (on loan – 33 games 7 goals)).
He was Middlesbrough’s player of the season for 2002-03 and then in 2003, Geremi was taken to Chelsea by then Blues manager Claudio Ranieri after Chelsea agreed a ₤6M fee with Real Madrid.
He will be 29 years old in December and has represented his country Cameroon 60 times scoring 6 goals - and made his debut for them in 1996 at the age of 17.

In short – he would be an excellent acquisition for Newcastle United’s squad and we can only hope Sam’s persuasive powers can win the day for us.

i wish geremi good luck and be injury free whichever team he join

i would be happy for him if he join newcastle

dreamer75
01-07-2007, 01:38 AM
parker is an excellent dm dun know why newcastle decided to sell him big sam should have keep him

and newcastle training ground has been a problem i wonder if duff was injure because of that and duff is a top class left winger dude

geremi is an excellent addition to your team he can play alot of places in midfield and right back as well

Sam has broughy a gd physcio and training staff whom have work with him in Bolton. With them, we hope that we improve or resolve the injury-prone situaion in St James PArk.

TrueBeliever_jh
01-07-2007, 01:56 AM
Geremi...:s22:

more good years ahead?

dreamer75
01-07-2007, 01:57 AM
Rozehnal told the club's official website: "I spoke a lot with Petr Cech and he told me it can be a big experience and a big chance for me at Newcastle."

dreamer75
01-07-2007, 02:16 AM
Two goals from Mark Viduka helped Australia collect a comfortable win 3-0 in Singapore on Saturday night.

dreamer75
01-07-2007, 02:18 AM
Damien Duff will be out until November with a broken bone in his foot, sustained in April.

SecretZone
01-07-2007, 03:39 AM
Two goals from Mark Viduka helped Australia collect a comfortable win 3-0 in Singapore on Saturday night.

was at national stadium juz now.. think viduka play quite relax.. and still manage to get 2 goals :s13:

BoyWithBigToy
01-07-2007, 04:09 AM
lol yup...but credit to singapore for their determination!

sgpeasant
01-07-2007, 09:21 AM
was at national stadium juz now.. think viduka play quite relax.. and still manage to get 2 goals :s13:

did u see how big viduka is? i think he's 1/3 size bigger than precious, the african centre back??

ShaqONeal
01-07-2007, 11:11 AM
Sam has broughy a gd physcio and training staff whom have work with him in Bolton. With them, we hope that we improve or resolve the injury-prone situaion in St James PArk.tell the truth, i think previous managers r rushing the players back to field.. making many injured..

dun really blame them, when budget tied, with not so good result, they r under pressure to rush players to get points..

like sam said, he will let viduka rest, duff rest, and many rest first, he will sort out other things for our squad, cannot rush them..

BoyWithBigToy
01-07-2007, 11:55 AM
newcastle dark horse for next seasons top 4 spot

SecretZone
01-07-2007, 01:47 PM
did u see how big viduka is? i think he's 1/3 size bigger than precious, the african centre back??

yeh, he easily outjump singapore defenders for the goals :s22:
also easy to identify him on the pitch :D

ghimpheng
01-07-2007, 05:19 PM
Sam has broughy a gd physcio and training staff whom have work with him in Bolton. With them, we hope that we improve or resolve the injury-prone situaion in St James PArk.

no the problem is with the newcastle training pitch i beileve not the physio/s

ghimpheng
01-07-2007, 05:20 PM
Geremi...:s22:

more good years ahead?

can replace parker even though should not have sell him

BoyWithBigToy
01-07-2007, 05:35 PM
dunno geremi will come anot?

ceLsius
01-07-2007, 07:05 PM
newcastle dark horse for next seasons top 4 spot

Spurs having a higher chance being a dark horse then Newcastle for the 4th spot. :s7:

dreamer75
01-07-2007, 07:46 PM
In: Mark Viduka (Middlesbrough, free), Joey Barton (Man City, £5.8m), David Rozehnal (Paris St Germain, £2.9m).
Out: Scott Parker (West Ham, £7m), Titus Bramble (released), Antoine Sibierski (Wigan, free), Craig Moore (released), Olivier Bernard (released), Alan O’Brien (Hibernian, undisclosed), Pavel Srineck (released).

ShaqONeal
01-07-2007, 07:59 PM
no the problem is with the newcastle training pitch i beileve not the physio/spitch??? i tok the pitch oso changed.. after Bellamy complaint.. but thing still there..

the injury is never seen b4.. so i believe bcos we change back room staff too often..

dreamer75
01-07-2007, 08:57 PM
Big Sam stubs out Dyer exit talk

Newcastle manager Sam Allardyce has dismissed reports linking Kieron Dyer with a move to Tottenham, insisting he will remain at St James' Park.

dreamer75
01-07-2007, 08:58 PM
Newcastle Officials In Barcelona Again
Newcastle representatives are once again in Barcelona, hoping to strike a deal over the transfer of Edmilson.

His contract at the Camp Nou runs out next June, and he will not be available at least until November, something Newcastle are hoping will convince Barcelona to let him go on a free transfer.

The Catalans have already handed Gio van Bronckhorst a similar move to Feyenoord, which has since given the Tyneside club more hope.

They have, over the last two days, had their own medical experts examine Edmilson's injury report. Convinced that the player will be completely fit in November, they have once again sent three representatives to Barcelona.

Newcastle had been told that they will have to cough up at least 5 million euros to land the 31-year-old, and it remains unclear whether they will decide to meet that price today.

The player himself has already agreed to move to Tyneside, but the Catalans could choose to sell Thiago Motta and keep Edmilson as a back-up for Yaya Toure, unless a good offer comes in.

The purpose of Newcastle's trip is also to discuss a move for Eidur Gudjohnsen, though Allardyce will only sign him if either Obefami Martins or Michael Owen leave.

Barcelona want at least 10 million euros for the Iceland international, whom they signed for 12m last summer.

ShaqONeal
01-07-2007, 10:42 PM
Newcastle Officials In Barcelona Again
Newcastle representatives are once again in Barcelona, hoping to strike a deal over the transfer of Edmilson.

His contract at the Camp Nou runs out next June, and he will not be available at least until November, something Newcastle are hoping will convince Barcelona to let him go on a free transfer.

The Catalans have already handed Gio van Bronckhorst a similar move to Feyenoord, which has since given the Tyneside club more hope.

They have, over the last two days, had their own medical experts examine Edmilson's injury report. Convinced that the player will be completely fit in November, they have once again sent three representatives to Barcelona.

Newcastle had been told that they will have to cough up at least 5 million euros to land the 31-year-old, and it remains unclear whether they will decide to meet that price today.

The player himself has already agreed to move to Tyneside, but the Catalans could choose to sell Thiago Motta and keep Edmilson as a back-up for Yaya Toure, unless a good offer comes in.

The purpose of Newcastle's trip is also to discuss a move for Eidur Gudjohnsen, though Allardyce will only sign him if either Obefami Martins or Michael Owen leave.

Barcelona want at least 10 million euros for the Iceland international, whom they signed for 12m last summer.5 million euro is how much pound??

Tyer
01-07-2007, 11:17 PM
It should be under $3m pounds.

usjag_18
02-07-2007, 02:49 AM
It should be under $3m pounds.
Think it's approx. £3.375m, which means will be round off to £3.4m...

Tokieda
02-07-2007, 08:33 AM
Geremi in Toon

http://www.nufc.com/2006-07images/geremi-3.jpg

Sunday saw Cameroon international midfielder /defender Geremi spotted on Tyneside once again, amid fresh speculation that we had won the race to seal the signing on a free transfer from Chelsea.

The Northern Echo had claimed on Thursday that Geremi shared the same representation as Allardyce - agent Mark Curtis.

Geremi - full name Geremi Sorele Njitap Fotso - scored on his most recent international outing, as Cameroon beat Rwanda 2-1 last month.

That victory confirmed Cameroon's qualification for the African Cup of Nations finals, staged in Ghana between Jan 20th and Feb 10th 2008.

Before that, Cameroon play a friendly in Japan on Aug 22nd as preparation for their final qualifier against Equatorial Guinea on Sept 7th.

ghimpheng
02-07-2007, 03:49 PM
Toon clinch Geremi Signature

Newcastle United have clinched the signing of Cameroon star Geremi from Chelsea.

The player has passed a medical and will join felllow new boys Mark Viduka, Joey Barton and David Rozehnal at St James' Park next season.

TrueBeliever_jh
02-07-2007, 04:55 PM
hmm.. another chelsea player..

seriously i am not impressed by the previous transfers yet.

Natsairda
02-07-2007, 06:16 PM
Magpies set to seal Geremi deal

Chelsea utility man Geremi is expected to become Newcastle boss Sam Allardyce's fourth summer signing later on Monday.

The 28-year-old Cameroon international is understood to have agreed a three-year deal to secure a £2million switch to St James' Park.

He will follow Mark Viduka, Joey Barton and David Rozehnal to Tyneside as Allardyce moves swiftly to rebuild the squad he inherited from Glenn Roeder.

The former Real Madrid star, who spent a season on loan at Middlesbrough in 2002/3 before heading for Stamford Bridge, made 28 appearances for the Blues last season, but has struggled to hold down a regular place.

Allardyce, who was linked with moves for fellow Blues Wayne Bridge and Lassana Diarra over the weekend, has turned his attention to his rearguard in recent weeks.

The chairman's son, Kenneth Shepherd, is due to speak to Barcelona on Monday over Edmilson's proposed transfer to Newcastle.

Having been given permission to talk to the player on Thursday, the Magpies (http://www.teamtalk.com/football/story/0,16368,1780_2462113,00.html#) flew out to Catalonia and received an encouraging response from the 30-year-old Brazil international, who is currently recuperating from knee surgery.

However, while his recruitment was their main focus, they also took the opportunity to enquire about the possible availability of striker Eidur Gudjohnsen, and that is a matter they intend to pursue further.

sgpeasant
02-07-2007, 06:23 PM
isn't he out of contract?

so why the hell does he still cost 2m??

Tokieda
02-07-2007, 06:27 PM
he isn't out of contract yet...going to only

so just snap him up for 2m....

sgpeasant
02-07-2007, 06:35 PM
wah lau cannot wait until he out of contract meh not like he's damn good or wat

o0SpaceY0o
02-07-2007, 06:46 PM
cant wait for the season to start...it has been such a long time since i feel so confident

martinweng
02-07-2007, 07:12 PM

well its only 2m.

dreamer75
02-07-2007, 08:03 PM
isn't he out of contract?

so why the hell does he still cost 2m??

his contract ending next yr june.

dreamer75
02-07-2007, 08:05 PM
Sam Allardyce has made his career by maximising meagre resources. As a result, he’s developed an extensive network of contacts that help him pick up obscure talents. Unable to compete for star power, he’s gone after experience. Unable to compete for talent, he has ensured that the technical and training side of his management were top notch.

In short, Big Sam is a budget manager.

As such, he’s a big change for Newcastle. He’ll bring stability to the club - all that technical speak helps bring the Newcastle fans on Sam’s side but let’s face it, stabilising the Newcastle ship isn’t what fans want.

Fans want success, and it’s a big step up for Sam to turn from a budget manager to a championship-winning manager.

The Bolton mentality will help stop Newcastle from sliding backwards, but there are still more heartbreaks to come for Newcastle and it will take a big effort from Sam Allardyce to turn things around and deliver on the fans’ expectations.

dreamer75
02-07-2007, 08:08 PM
Will Newcastle break into the top 4? I’d consider it a remarkable achievement if they broke into the top 6. Top 8 should be their goal - forget history and potential, right now, considering the competition, Newcastle will do well to be in the top 8.

Champions League football in 08/09?

dreamer75
02-07-2007, 08:12 PM

Sam to be judged when new season starts.

dreamer75
02-07-2007, 08:13 PM
In: Mark Viduka (Middlesbrough, free), Joey Barton (Man City, £5.8m), David Rozehnal (Paris St Germain, £2.9m). Geremi (Chelsea, £2m)
Out: Scott Parker (West Ham, £7m), Titus Bramble (released), Antoine Sibierski (Wigan, free), Craig Moore (released), Olivier Bernard (released), Alan O’Brien (Hibernian, undisclosed), Pavel Srineck (released).

TrueBeliever_jh
02-07-2007, 08:16 PM
Sam to be judged when new season starts.
yes.. we shall put our judgement on him once the season starts.. 1 month plus to go.. do we have a countdown season start thread somewhere:D

dreamer75
02-07-2007, 08:16 PM
Geremi, who spent a season on loan at Middlesbrough from Real Madrid before joining Chelsea in a £7m move in 2003, is right-sided and can play at the back or in midfield.

dreamer75
02-07-2007, 08:17 PM
yes.. we shall put our judgement on him once the season starts.. 1 month plus to go.. do we have a countdown season start thread somewhere:D

u start a thread lor...sure got pple support u...:)

dreamer75
02-07-2007, 08:27 PM
can assemble these EPL players free transfers to be Newcastle reserves XI

1. Richard Wright
2. Rob Kozluk
3. Alsseandro Pistone
4. Joe O'Cearuill
5. Mark Delaney
6. Quinton Fortune
7. Florent Ngalula
8. Keith Gillespie
9. Jimmy Hasslebaink
10. Tomasz Radzinski
11. Lee Hendrie

Subs: Jersey Dudek, Chris Sutton, Michael Gray, David Thompson, David Unsworth

ShaqONeal
02-07-2007, 11:02 PM
Toon land £2m Geremi

Jul 2 2007

by Lee Ryder, Evening Chronicle

Geremi

NEWCASTLE United today completed the signing of Cameroon World Cup star Geremi.

The Chelsea defender has quit Stamford Bridge in favour of a switch to Tyneside, where he has been assured of more first-team opportunities under new Toon chief Sam Allardyce.

Although Geremi is out of contract, it is believed that United have paid him a signing-on fee of around £2m, and he has agreed a three-year deal after passing a medical at the club’s Benton HQ.

The player broke off from his holiday in Africa to fly to Tyneside, and was impressed by the set-up and the area.

Story continues Continue story
ADVERTISEMENT

Geremi is no stranger to the North East after spending time with Middlesbrough four years ago, an experience that will make his transition from the Blues an even easier one.

It takes United’s tally to four in the summer transfer window, with Aussie striker Mark Viduka already on board, having snubbed a new deal at Middlesbrough, and cash signings Joey Barton from Manchester City and Czech defender David Rozehnal also looking forward to the new season at Gallowgate.

However, the capture of the versatile Geremi will provide Allardyce with options at both right-back and midfield, as he has played in several different roles throughout his career at both international and club level.

And Geremi will bring plenty of experience with him too, after starring for Chelsea in both the Champions League and the Premiership, as well as playing in the World Cup and African Cup of Nations for his country.

Earlier in his career, Geremi also pulled on the famous shirt of Real Madrid before heading to Boro on loan in the 2002/03 season, where he picked up the accolade of player of the year on Teesside.

That was enough to persuade Claudio Ranieri to splash out £7m for his services, and under the Italian he enjoyed plenty of run-outs at first-team level.

Yet it has been a totally different story under Jose Mourinho, with the star struggling to nail down a regular place.

Boro dearly wanted to sign Geremi four years ago after his successful stint, and would loved to have done the same this summer on a permanent basis before United got there first again to trump them, just as they did with Aussie striker Viduka last month.

But after Allardyce made it crystal clear that he wanted Geremi to be part of his plans, the 28-year-old was excited by the prospect of joining Big Sam’s revolution on Tyneside and didn’t ponder too long once United made their move.

And the Chronicle understands that the carrot of regular first-team action finally swayed the player into joining the Magpies.

donald83
02-07-2007, 11:47 PM
can sign fowler also leh

SecretZone
02-07-2007, 11:56 PM
dun wan fowler la. he aleady long past his prime.

we are still short of people in terms of defence.. lately no much news abt the few defender that was link with us.. wonder is big sam gonna get them..

anyway good season ahead.. :)

TrueBeliever_jh
02-07-2007, 11:58 PM
true.. with our lag of defenders.. he will probably a starter.. and hope he dun screw it up..

fowler.. plus owen combo? haha.. reminds me.. last time we got Ian Rush and John Barnes.. 2 liverpool legends in our club.. wonder who signed them..

ghimpheng
03-07-2007, 12:16 AM
Gudjohnsen Linked with Newcastle!

Does anyone remember the days when Chelsea sold players to Southampton with regularity?

The Saints slowly became known as Chelsea-by-the-sea.

It seems Newcastle are now following the same thread.

Well, sat here typing away, it`s just been announced that Newcastle are about to enter the chase for our ex-legend, Eidur Gudjohnsen.

In fact, the announcement comes on the very day that Eidur has pledged to stay at Barcelona and fight for his place.

If I had to be brutally honest, I guess I`d prefer to see Eidur in the bar-code kit of Newcastle than the red of United.

Wouldn`t you?

ceLsius
03-07-2007, 12:19 AM
Big sam still targetting our Diarra and Wayne Bridge. :mad:

SecretZone
03-07-2007, 12:20 AM
true.. with our lag of defenders.. he will probably a starter.. and hope he dun screw it up..

fowler.. plus owen combo? haha.. reminds me.. last time we got Ian Rush and John Barnes.. 2 liverpool legends in our club.. wonder who signed them..

hmm i think was sign by kenny daglish rite? he bought quite a number of oldies tat time =:p

dreamer75
03-07-2007, 01:03 AM
hopes of signing Edmilson are thought to be threatened by interest from AC Milan who are set to raise their bid, while Gudjohnsen's agent and father has talked optimistically of how Eidur could dovetail effectively with high-profile Barca signing Thierry Henry.

BoyWithBigToy
03-07-2007, 01:17 AM
hope edmilson go newcastle...damn swee liao

sgpeasant
03-07-2007, 12:58 PM
dun wan fowler la. he aleady long past his prime.

we are still short of people in terms of defence.. lately no much news abt the few defender that was link with us.. wonder is big sam gonna get them..

anyway good season ahead.. :)

was he ever in his prime?

SecretZone
03-07-2007, 01:04 PM
was he ever in his prime?

got la, he was a legend b4 he left liverpool last time. :s22:

ghimpheng
03-07-2007, 01:21 PM
Newcastle eye a good Beye

Sam Allardyce is closing in on Marseille defender Habib Beye after the Newcastle manager landed Geremi from Chelsea for £2million last night.

Cameroon's Geremi, 28, broke off from his holiday in Africa to complete his medical and the move from Stamford Bridge

He is expected to join up with his new teammates next week.

Allardyce takes his squad to Austria for a 10-day training camp today and has set his sights on landing Senegal stopper Beye.

BoyWithBigToy
03-07-2007, 01:23 PM
got la, he was a legend b4 he left liverpool last time. :s22:

ya last time scoring machine

BoyWithBigToy
03-07-2007, 01:24 PM
Newcastle eye a good Beye

Sam Allardyce is closing in on Marseille defender Habib Beye after the Newcastle manager landed Geremi from Chelsea for £2million last night.

Cameroon's Geremi, 28, broke off from his holiday in Africa to complete his medical and the move from Stamford Bridge

He is expected to join up with his new teammates next week.

Allardyce takes his squad to Austria for a 10-day training camp today and has set his sights on landing Senegal stopper Beye.

shiok...newcastle v good

ghimpheng
03-07-2007, 01:36 PM
Newcastle director in Barcelona for Gudjohnsen talks
tribalfooball.com - July 02, 2007

Newcastle United boss Sam Allardyce spent part of yesterday attempting to strike a deal for Barcelona striker Eidur Gudjohnsen.

The Evening Chronicle says Toon director Kenneth Shepherd is in Spain to continue the Magpies' work in the transfer market this summer by speaking to the La Liga giants about Gudjohnsen.

The signing of the former Chelsea and Bolton star will cost United around the £7m mark with Barca keen to recoup as much as possible from the £8m fee they paid the London club 12 months ago, when Gudjohnsen signed a three-year deal and replaced Henrik Larsson.

SecretZone
03-07-2007, 01:47 PM
i think we dun need gudjohnsen..

latest new is tat owen has commit to us liao.. (for how long dunno)
unless big sam really anticipate a move for martin or owen .. with martin being the more likely person

of cos having another player of his calibre doesnt hurt :)

BoyWithBigToy
03-07-2007, 02:07 PM
dun think he is good

martinweng
03-07-2007, 02:09 PM
i think we dun need gudjohnsen..

latest new is tat owen has commit to us liao.. (for how long dunno)
unless big sam really anticipate a move for martin or owen .. with martin being the more likely person

of cos having another player of his calibre doesnt hurt :)

i dun care...buy all...the more the merrier.

BoyWithBigToy
03-07-2007, 02:10 PM
buy more means youth team less chance of coming up leh

SecretZone
03-07-2007, 02:37 PM
buy more means youth team less chance of coming up leh
last season we were quite expose due to the amount of injury players. mean to say we lack the depth.

further more, big sam have let go abt 7 senior players. so far 4 players in, mean still short of 3 to match last year small squad size :s22: